IDAPA 39 — IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
Division of Motor Vehicles

39.02.03 — Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer’s Principal Place of Business and
Claims to the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund

Who does this rule apply to?

Those licensed in the business of selling vehicles or vessels in the State of Idaho and physical
location requirement. This rule also provides the requirements for the Idaho Consumer Asset
Recovery (ICAR) Board to review claims made by consumers against a licensed dealer as it
relates to a court judgment and to determine the amount of payout.

» Dealers of Vehicles or Vessels including off-highway vehicles;
* Physical location requirements;

* Record Retention;

*  Consumers/Claimants; and

» ICAR Board Provisions

What is the purpose of this rule?

Rule establishes the requirements for licensed dealer physical locations and required record
retention. Additionally this rule outlines the provisions for the ICAR Board in reviewing and
determining payout amounts for consumers who have been awarded court judgments against a
licensed dealer who has failed to provide title or violated a provision of Title 49, Chapter 5 or 16;
harming the consumer.

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?
This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Motor Vehicles -
e 49-201, Idaho Code — General: Duties of Board
» Title 49, Chapter 16, Idaho Code — Dealer and Salesmen Licensing

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Idaho Transportation Department
Monday — Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
P.O. Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

3311 West State Street

Phone: (208) 334-8000

itd.idaho.gov
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39.02.03 - RULES GOVERNING VEHICLE DEALER’S PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS
AND CLAIMS TO THE IDAHO CONSUMER ASSET RECOVERY FUND

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This rule is adopted under the authority of Section 49-201(1), Idaho Code and the Vehicle Dealer Act, Chapter 16,
Title 49, Idaho Code. (3-31-22)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. This rule will be titled IDAPA 39.02.03, “Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer’s Principal Place
of Business and Claims to the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund.” (3-31-22)

02. Scope. This rule clarifies terms used in the definition of “principal place of business” and
provisions regarding these terms and payment of claims from the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund. (3-31-22)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Vehicle Dealer File System. Books, records and files, necessary to conduct the business of a
vehicle dealership. In accordance with the Vehicle Dealer Act, records shall be securely kept by the dealership in such
order that they can be readily inspected by a Department Investigator. Such records and files may be kept
electronically, as long as such records can be verified by the dealership as true and correct copies of the original
records. Physical records or files retained by the dealership may be stored at an off-site location. The dealership must
notify the department 30 days in advance of the address of the off-site location prior to moving such records. Records
or files stored off-site must be made available to the department within 3 business days upon request. The files and

records shall contain but are not limited to: (3-31-22)
a. Physical or electronic sales invoices for current and two (2) preceding years; (3-31-22)
b. Physical or electronic copies of purchase orders for vehicles purchased for current and two (2)
preceding years; (3-31-22)
c. Physical or electronic copies of title application forms accessible in numerical order; (3-31-22)
d. Written or electronic records of vehicles bearing new or used dealers’ number plates and their use

by a manufacturer, vehicle dealer, or full-time licensed salespersons searchable by date, time or plate number;
(3 31-22)
e. Written or electronic records for loaner plates searchable by date, time or plate number; (3-31-22)
f. Copies or electronic records of Wholesale Dealer Forms records showing, all transactions, as
applicable searchable by date or name of consignee; (3-31-22)
g. Physical or electronic odometer disclosure records for non-exempt vehicles; and (3-31-22)
h. Physical or electronic records of consignment agreements, as specified in Section 49-1636, Idaho
Code. (3-31-22)
i. All electronic records must be created in a secure manner to prevent such records from being
altered. Electronic copies of records must be legible, complete, and an accurate reproduction of the original business
record. (3-31-22)
j- All electronic copies of records shall be supplemented with a back-up copy of the electronic
records, either retained on-site or an off-site location, which permits the business record to be retrieved within three
(3) business days. (3-31-22)
k. Any device, server, network device, or any internal or external storage medium which stores the
electronic records must have security access controls and physical security measures to protect the records from
unauthorized access, viewing, or alteration. (3-31-22)
L. Any dealer storing electronic or physical records that contain personal information shall ensure that

disposal of any records be completed in a secure manner, by shredding, erasing, or otherwise modifying the personal
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 39.02.03 — Rules Governing Vehicle
Idaho Transportation Department Dealer’s Principal Place of Business

information to make it unreadable or undecipherable through any means. (3-31-22)

02. Vehicle Dealer Sign Requirements. An exterior sign permanently affixed to the land or building,
with clearly visible letters, visible to major avenue of traffic meeting local building or zoning codes with the trade
name of the dealership clearly visible is required. Wholesale dealer signs may be painted on the window of the office
next to the entrance door of sufficient size to be easily read by prospective customers. A suggested retail sign size is
twenty-four (24) square feet, with a minimum of four (4) inch letters. (3-31-22)

03. Telephone. A business phone that has a published business number and listing in a local telephone
directory in the name of the dealership. Business phones shall be answered during declared business hours, in the
name of the licensed dealer. The telephone may be answered in person, by an answering machine, or at a remote
location in person. (3-31-22)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)
100. GENERAL PROVISIONS.
01. Physical or Electronic Records System Inspection. A vehicle dealer shall make available all

books, records and files maintained at the dealership location for immediate inspection for cause or complaint, or
within three (3) business days if records are stored at an approved off-site location for random compliance review by

a peace officer or authorized agent of the Department. (3-31-22)
02. Title Fee Disclosure. A dealer may reflect the payment of a state-required title fee as specified by
Section 49-202(2)(b), Idaho Code, however: (3-31-22)
a. The fee must be clearly identified as a “TITLE FEE”; (3-31-22)
b. The fee must be shown as the exact amount required by law; (3-31-22)
c. Any documentation fees charged must be clearly listed separately from other fees and identified to
the customer as dealer document preparation fees that are subject to sales tax as part of the purchase price of the
vehicle. (3-31-22)
03. Surety Bond. A valid bond in the amount required by Section 49-1608D, Idaho Code, for three (3)
years after initially licensed, unless otherwise provided by code; (3-31-22)
04. Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery (ICAR) Fund. (3-31-22)
a. All licensed dealers will pay the annual fee as set by the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery (ICAR)
Board as required by Section 49-1608C, Idaho Code, unless otherwise provided by code. (3-31-22)
b. The ICAR fund fee will be set by the ICAR Board annually to be effective the following January 1.
Such fee shall be posted on the Department web site and all applicable forms for dealer licensing. (3-31-22)
05. Liability Insurance. A valid liability insurance policy as required by Section 49-1608A, Idaho
Code. (3-31-22)
06. Declared Business Hours. All licensed dealers shall declare in writing to the Department the

regular business hours that their dealerships are open and when they are available to be contacted by the Department
or their customers. All wholesale dealers shall declare in writing to the department the regular hours that their
dealerships are open and when they are available to be contacted by the department or their customers. (3-31-22)

07. Vehicle Dealer License Suspension. Any dealer not meeting the requirements of the Vehicle
Dealer Act shall be subject to suspension of an existing dealer license or refusal by the Department to issue a new
dealer license. (3-31-22)

a. The Department’s agent will give written notice of deficiencies to the dealer or applicant.
(3-31-22)
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 39.02.03 — Rules Governing Vehicle

Idaho Transportation Department Dealer’s Principal Place of Business
b. At its discretion the Department may give the licensed dealership a reasonable amount of time to
comply. (3-31-22)
c. Upon compliance, the license will be reinstated or issued. (3-31-22)

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. IDAHO CONSUMER ASSET RECOVERY FUND CONTROL BOARD ADMINISTRATION.
01. Quorum. A majority of the members of the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Control (ICAR) Board

established pursuant to Section 49-1608C, Idaho Code, constitutes a quorum. A quorum is required for voting on any
ICAR claims. The ICAR Board chairman presides over ICAR Board meetings. The ICAR Board operates in

compliance with Idaho open meeting laws. (3-31-22)
02. Voting. All members of the ICAR Board constituting the quorum are entitled to vote in
consideration of any payment of a claim pursuant to Section 49-1608F, Idaho Code. (3-31-22)

03. Actual Loss or Damages. As provided for in Section 49-1608E, Idaho Code, “actual loss or
damages”, means: The total cost to the purchaser, as set forth in a final judgement, of the loss directly resulting in a
violation, by a dealer, of the provisions of Title 48, Chapter 5 or Title 49, Chapter 5 or Section 49-1418, Idaho Code;
including such things as repairs, inspections and loss of resale value. The term includes the attorney fees and costs in
bringing suit against the dealer, and includes pre-judgement, but not post-judgement interest. “Actual Loss or
Damages” shall not include such things as treble damages, expectation damages nor consequential damages resulting
from dealer fraud. (3-31-22)

04. Complete and Complaint Claims. All ICAR claims will be initiated by filing the complete claim
with the Idaho Transportation Department DMV Administrator. When a proper ICAR claim has been received, staff
will review the claim for completeness and compliance with these rules and the provisions of Title 49, Chapter 16,
Idaho Code. If the claim is complete and in compliance with statute and these rules, the ICAR Board will send
notification per Section 49-1608F(5), Idaho Code, to the subject vehicle dealer with a demand that the dealer satisfy
the judgement within thirty (30) days. (3-31-22)

a. Should the dealer fail to satisfy the judgment within thirty (30) days of notice from the ICAR
Board, staff will provide the ICAR Board and the claimant a staff-recommended amount of the claim. If the claimant
agrees with the staff-recommended payment amount, the ICAR Board will issue a final order either adopting or
rejecting the staff recommended claim payment amount. (3-31-22)

b. Should the claimant disagree with the proposed amount to be paid on the claim, the claimant may
request an administrative hearing under the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, within 10 business days
of receipt of notification. The department will appoint a qualified hearing officer to hear the claim, take testimony and

review evidence; and issue findings of fact, conclusions of law and provide a recommended order. (3-31-22)
c. Upon receipt of the recommended order from the hearing officer, the ICAR Board will issue a final
order either adopting or rejecting the hearing officer’s recommendation of the claim payment amount. (3-31-22)
d. Final orders of the ICAR Board may be subject to judicial review under the provision of Title 67,
Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (3-31 22)
201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. PENALTIES.
A dealer violating this rule is subject to license suspension for a period not to exceed six (6) months. (3-31-22)

301. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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