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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY – IDAHO HEATING, VENTILATION, 
AND AIR CONDITIONING BOARD

24.39.70 – Rules Governing Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Systems

Who does this rule apply to?
This rule applies to those who make HVAC installations, including licensed HVAC and specialty 
HVAC contractors, and the journeyman and apprentice HVAC technicians employed by such. It 
also applies to homeowners and facility owners who are authorized to make HVAC installations 
on their property. 

What is the purpose of this rule?
The rule prescribes the requirements for licensing of HVAC and HVAC specialty contractors to 
perform various types of HVAC installations in Idaho. It also sets forth the requirements and 
process to obtain a permit and inspection from the Division for such HVAC work. The rules adopt 
the International Residential, Fuel Gas and Mechanical Codes as the standard to which all HVAC 
work must be installed, and also provides penalties that may be imposed for violations of the 
HVAC statutes or rules. 

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?
This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Professions, Vocations, and Businesses - 
• Title 54, Chapter 50, Idaho Code – Installation of Heating, Ventilation and  

Air Conditioning Systems
• 54-5005, Idaho Code – Powers and Duties of the Board

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 334-3950
Fax: (877) 810-2840
Email: customer.service@dbs.idaho.gov
Website: https://dbs.idaho.gov/
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A

24.39.70 – RULES GOVERNING INSTALLATION OF HEATING, VENTILATION, 

AND AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The rules are promulgated pursuant to Sections 54-5001, 54-5004, 54-5005, 54-5006, 54-5007, 54-5010, 54-5016, 
67-2604, 67-2614, 67-9406 and 67-9409, Idaho Code. (3-28-23)

001. SCOPE.
The rules establish the minimum standards for heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) installation practice, 
certification, registration, and educational programs. (3-28-23)

002. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. CERTIFICATES OF COMPETENCY AND REGISTRATION.

01. Apprentice and Specialty Apprentice Registration and Renewal. To register or renew an 
apprentice or specialty apprentice registration, a person shall comply with Section 54-5012(4), Idaho Code. A 
specialty apprentice’s scope of work is limited as set forth in Rule 100.04.a. (3-28-23)

02. Journeyman Certificate of Competency. An applicant must pass an examination designated by 
the Board and either (a) submit evidence of a minimum of eight thousand (8,000) hours of work experience as an 
apprentice making HVAC installations in accordance with the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the applicant 
obtained the experience and satisfactory completion of 576 hours of a board-approved course of instruction, or (b) 
submit proof of sixteen thousand (16,000) hours of HVAC experience in accordance with the requirements of the 
jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience. (3-28-23)

a. Examination. An applicant may sit for the exam after showing proof of completion of either 576 
hours of board-approved course of instruction or 16,000 hours of HVAC experience. (3-28-23)

b. Educational Lab Work. Time spent by an applicant performing lab work in a board-approved 
course of instruction may be credited toward the eight thousand (8,000) hour work experience requirement.(3-28-23)

03. Contractor and Specialty Contractor Certificate of Competency. An applicant must 
successfully pass an examination designated by the Board and provide a compliance bond in the amount of two 
thousand dollars ($2,000) which is effective for the duration of the certificate period. The specialty contractor’s scope 
of work is limited as set forth in Rule 100.04.a. (3-28-23)

04. Specialty Journeyman Certificate of Competency. An applicant must submit evidence of a 
minimum of two thousand (2,000) hours of specialty-related experience in accordance with the requirements of the 
jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience, and either (a) pass an examination designated by the 
Board, or (b) submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a minimum of sixty (60) hours of education in fuel gas 
code and piping installation methods. (3-28-23)

a. Permitted Scope of Work. Permitted to install hearth appliances, and non-duct connected oil 
furnaces, the associated fuel gas piping, and venting dedicated exclusively thereto. Does not include any plumbing, 
electrical or duct work. (3-28-23)

101. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. CIVIL PENALTIES.
The acts described in this section subject the violator to a civil penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for 
each separate count or offense. (3-28-23)

01. Statute or Rule. Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 50, Title 54, Idaho Code or 
Board Rule.  (3-28-23)

02. Certification or Registration. Except as provided by Section 54-5002, Idaho Code, performance 
of HVAC without an active certificate of competency or registration as required by Idaho Code 54-5008. (3-28-23)

03. Performance Outside Scope. Performance of any HVAC installation, alteration, or maintenance 
by a specialty contractor or specialty journeyman outside the scope of the specialty certificate of competency.

(3-28-23)
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.39.70 – Installation of Heating,
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 04. Employees. Knowing employment of a person who does not hold an active certificate of 
competency or registration as required by Idaho Code 54-5008 and 54-5009 to perform HVAC work. (3-28-23)

05. Supervision. Working as an apprentice or specialty apprentice without the required journeyman 
supervision or employing an apprentice or specialty apprentice without providing the required journeyman 
supervision. (3-28-23)

06. Fees, Permits, and Inspections. Failure to obtain a required permit, pay applicable fees, properly 
post a permit, or request an inspection of any installation, alteration, improvement, or extension of any piping, 
venting, ductwork, appliances and appurtenances in connection with any HVAC system or subsystem of such.

(3-28-23)

07. Corrections. Failure to make corrections in the time allotted in the notice on any HVAC 
installation. (3-28-23)

08. Misrepresentation of Fees. Misrepresentation of the permit or inspection fees to the customer. 
(3-28-23)

09. Advertising. Advertising to engage in the business, trade, practice, or work of a HVAC contractor 
as defined in Section 54-5009, Idaho Code, without holding a current and valid HVAC contractor certificate of 
competency issued by the Division or advertising without including the contractor certificate of competency number 
in the advertisement. Advertising includes, but is not limited to: newspaper, telephone directory, community flier ads 
or notices; telephone, television, radio, internet, or door-to-door solicitations. (3-28-23)

10. Order. Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Board or Division administrator.  (3-28-23)

301. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS.

01. Permits. (3-28-23)

a. Permits will be furnished to a HVAC contractor upon submission of a complete application and 
proper permit fee. For commercial or industrial HVAC work, a verified copy of bid acceptance must be submitted 
with the application. Permit serial numbers must be registered in the name of the HVAC contractor and are 
transferable only as provided herein these rules. (3-28-23)

b. Homeowners making HVAC installations on their own premises under the provisions of Section 
54-5002(1)(a), Idaho Code, must secure a HVAC permit by making application to the Division as provided by 
Section 54-5016, Idaho Code. (3-28-23)

c. Expiration. Every permit issued shall expire and become null and void after three hundred sixty-
five (365) days from the purchase date or last inspection. A permit may be renewed for an additional year upon 
receipt of Division approval and payment of a sixty-five dollar ($65) renewal fee. (3-28-23)

d. Transferring a Permit. A HVAC permit may be transferred to another eligible party if such party 
provides to the Division written authorization signed and notarized by the original permit holder consenting to the 
transfer itself and assigning all responsibilities and conditions incorporated into the original permit issuance. A 
permit may be transferred to the owner of the property on which the HVAC work is to be performed and for which the 
permit was issued, or such owner’s designated legal agent in cases where the property owner has terminated his legal 
relationship with the HVAC contractor who originally obtained the permit. An administrative fee in the amount of 
forty-five dollars ($45) for the transfer of a permit must be paid to the Division. (3-28-23)

02. Permit Fee Schedule.

a. Residential. Includes all buildings with HVAC systems being installed on each property. The 
following permit fees apply to all residential single and duplex installations:
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(3-28-23)

b. Miscellaneous. The following permit fees apply for the types of permits listed:

(3-28-23)

c. Other Installations Including Multifamily, Industrial and Commercial. The following fees shall 
apply to multifamily, industrial, and commercial installations and installations not specifically mentioned elsewhere 
in this Fee Schedule. The HVAC system cost is the cost to the owner of labor charges and other costs incurred to 
complete the installation of equipment and materials installed as part of the HVAC system. All permit fees calculated 
under this Subsection are based on the total HVAC system cost, which must be listed on the permit:

(3-28-23)

d. Additional Fees. A fee of sixty-five dollars ($65) per hour or portion thereof shall apply to trips to 
inspect when the permit holder has given notice to Division that the work is ready for inspection and it is not; if the 
permit holder has not accurately identified the work location; if the inspector cannot gain access to make the 
inspection; if corrections are required by the inspector as a result of the permit holder improperly responding to a 
corrective notice; or when corrections have not been made in the prescribed time, unless an extension has been 
requested and granted. (3-28-23)

03. Required Inspections. (3-28-23)

a. Inspection Tags. Inspectors certify to the permit holder that an inspection was completed by 

Type Fee

Base permit $100

Furnace, furnace-air conditioner combination, heat pump, air conditioner, evapo-
rative cooler, unit heater, space heater, decorative gas-fired appliance, incinera-
tor, boiler, pool heater, mini-split system, free-standing solid-fuel stove, factory-
built gas fireplace, or similar fixture or appliance, including ducts, vents, and 
flues attached thereto

Plus $30 per first fixture or appli-
ance
Plus $15 per additional fixture or 
appliance

Exhaust duct or ventilation duct, including dryer vents, range hood vents, cook 
stove vents, bath fan vents, and similar exhaust ducts or ventilation ducts

Plus $15 per first duct
Plus $5 per additional duct

Fuel gas piping system Plus $5 per appliance outlet

Hydronic systems Plus $5 per zone

Type Fee

Requested inspection $65 per hour or portion thereof plus costs of out-of-state travel

Mobile or manufactured home
$65 per inspection

Modular building

Plan check or technical service $65 per hour or portion thereof

HVAC System Cost Fee

Up to $10,000 $60 plus 2% of HVAC system cost

$10,000 to $100,000 $260 plus 1% of HVAC system cost exceeding $10,000

Over $100,000 $1,160 plus 5% of HVAC system cost exceeding $100,000
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securely attaching the inspection tag in a prominent location. (3-28-23)

b. Final Inspection Tags. An inspection tag indicating a final inspection was performed is attached 
when the HVAC installation as specified on the permit is complete and conforms to the requirements of the code and 
rules. (3-28-23)

c. Inspection Tags for Unacceptable HVAC Installations. “Notice of Correction” inspection tags are 
attached to indicate that the HVAC installation is not acceptable and corrections are required. A reinspection and 
reinspection fee for such installations shall be required. (3-28-23)

d. Work-in-Progress Tag. An inspection tag indicating a work-in-progress inspection was performed 
is attached following inspection of groundwork, rough-in work, or any portion of the installation that is to be covered 
or otherwise concealed before completion of the entire HVAC installation as specified on the permit. (3-28-23)

501. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. IDAHO MECHANICAL CODE.
Pursuant to Section 54-5001, Idaho Code, the Board adopts, as the Idaho Mechanical Code, the following 
international codes with identified amendments: (3-28-23)

01. International Mechanical Code. The 2018 Edition, including appendix A, with the following 
amendments: (3-28-23)

a. Section 109. Delete. (3-28-23)

b. Section 202 Definitions. Amend the definitions provided in the code for the terms identified herein 
this paragraph by the following: (3-28-23)

i. Add “conveyorized pizza” between the terms “standard” and “bake” in the definition of Light-duty 
appliances. (3-28-23)

ii. Remove the following definition of “Medium-duty Cooking Appliance”: electric and gas conveyor 
pizza ovens. (3-28-23)

02. International Fuel Gas Code. The 2018 Edition, including appendices A, B, C, and D, with the 
following amendments: (3-28-23)

a. Section 109. Delete. (3-28-23)

b. Section 406.4. Change the last sentence to: Mechanical gauges used to measure test pressure must 
have a range such that the highest end of the scale is not greater than two (2) times the test pressure nor lower than 
one and one-half (1.5) times the test pressure. (3-28-23)

c. Section 406.4.1. Test Pressure. Not less than twenty (20) psig (140kPa gauge) test pressure is 
required for systems with a maximum working pressure up to ten (10) inches water column. For systems with a 
maximum working pressure between ten (10) inches water column and ten (10) psig (70kPa gauge); not less than 
sixty (60) psig (420kPa gauge) test pressure is required. For systems over ten (10) psig (70kPa gauge) working 
pressure, minimum test pressure may be no less than six (6) times working pressure. (3-28-23)

d. Section 406.4.2. The test duration may not be less than twenty (20) minutes. (3-28-23)

e. Add new section 503.4.1.2 as follows: Testing. All plastic pipe within a dwelling used for venting 
flue gases must be tested at five (5) psi for fifteen (15) minutes. (3-28-23)

f. Section 505.1.1. Addition. An interlock between the cooking appliance and the exhaust hood 
system is not required for appliances that are of the manually operated type and are factory equipped with standing 
pilot burner ignition systems. (3-28-23)
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 03. International Residential Code. The 2018 Edition, Part V (Mechanical) and Part VI (Fuel Gas) 
and appendices A, B, C, and D, for one (1)- and two (2)- family dwellings with the following amendments: (3-28-23)

a. Add new section M1203.1. Carbon monoxide alarms. Where work requiring a permit occurs in 
existing dwellings, an approved carbon monoxide alarm must be installed outside of each separate sleeping area in 
the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms in dwelling units where a fuel fired appliance is installed. (3-28-23)

b. Section M1401.3. Add “in new, one- and two-family dwellings” between “appliances” and “shall”. 
(3-28-23)

c. Delete Section M1502.4.2 Duct Installation and replace with the following: Exhaust ducts must be 
supported at four (4) foot (1,219 mm) intervals and secured in place. The insert end of the duct must extend into the 
adjoining duct or fitting in the direction of airflow. Ducts must not be joined with screws or similar fasteners that 
protrude into the inside of the duct. (3-28-23)

d. Section M1601.1. Add “in new, one- and two-family dwellings” between “equipment” and “shall”.
(3-28-23)

e. Section G2417.4 (406.4). Change the last sentence to: Mechanical gauges used to measure test 
pressure must have a range such that the highest end of the scale is not greater than two (2) times the test pressure nor 
lower than one and one-half (1.5) times the test pressure. (3-28-23)

f. Section G2417.4.1 (406.4.1). Test Pressure. Not less than twenty (20) psig (one hundred forty (140) 
kPa gauge) test pressure is required for systems with a maximum working pressure up to ten (10) inches water 
column. For systems with a maximum working pressure between ten (10) inches water column and ten (10) psig 
(seventy (70) kPa gauge), not less than sixty (60) psig (four hundred twenty (420) kPa gauge) test pressure is 
required. For systems over ten (10) psig (seventy (70) kPa gauge) working pressure, minimum test pressure may be 
no less than six (6) times working pressure. (3-28-23)

g. Section G2417.4.2 (406.4.2). The test duration may not be less than twenty (20) minutes. (3-28-23)

h. Add new section G2427.4.1.2. Testing. All plastic pipe within a dwelling used for venting flue 
gases must be tested at five (5) psi for fifteen (15) minutes. (3-28-23)

601. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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