IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

GENETIC COUNSELORS LICENSING BOARD

24.24.01 – Rules of the Genetic Counselors Licensing Board

Who does this rule apply to?

This rule applies to applicants, provisional license holders, and license holders for genetic counselors.

What is the purpose of this rule?

This rule governs the practice of genetic counseling in Idaho to protect the public health, safety, and welfare. This rule establishes:

- Minimum standards of competency and qualifications for applicants;
- Fees related to licensure;
- Continuing education for licensure; and
- Codes of ethics and standards of practice

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?

This rule implements the following statute passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Professions, Vocations, and Businesses -

• 54-5601 through 54-5616, Idaho Code – Genetic Counselors

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Genetic Counselors Licensure Board Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mountain Time (except Saturdays, Sundays and holidays) Mailing: PO Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0063 Physical: 11351 W Chinden Blvd, Bldg 6, Boise, ID 83714 Phone: (208) 334-3233 Fax: (208) 334-3945 E-mail: IBOL@IBOL.IDAHO.GOV www:IBOL.Idaho.gov

IAC Archive 2024

Table of Contents

24.24.01 – Rules of the Genetic Counselors Licensing Board

000. Legal Authority	3
001. Scope	
002. Incorporation By Reference.	
003 249. (Reserved)	
250. Fees.	
251 299. (Reserved)	
300. Requirements For Original Licensure.	
301 309. (Reserved)	
310. Requirements For Licensure By Endorsement.	4
311. Requirements For Provisional License	4
312. Inactive Status.	4
313 499. (Reserved)	. 4
500. Continuing Education.	4
501 699. (Reserved)	. 5
700. Unprofessional And Unethical Conduct.	5
701 899. (Reserved)	. 5
900. Discipline	5
901 999. (Reserved)	. 5

24.24.01 - RULES OF THE GENETIC COUNSELORS LICENSING BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 56, Idaho Code.

001. SCOPE.

These rules regulate the profession of genetic counseling in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare. (3-28-23)

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

The document titled "National Society of Genetic Counselors Code of Ethics," adopted January 1992 and revised December 2004, January 2006, and April 2017, is incorporated by reference into this rule and is available at the Board's office and on the Board's web site. (3-28-23)

003. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. FEES.

All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license fee is tendered but the Board does not issue a license, the respective license fee will be returned. Fees are established in accord with Section 54-5613, Idaho Code as follows:

FEE TYPE	AMOUNT (Not to Exceed)
Application	\$200
Original License	\$200
Annual Renewal	\$200
Provisional License	\$200
License by Endorsement	\$200
Examination	Determined by third-party examination administrator
Reinstatement	As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code

(3-28-23)

(3-28-23)

251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. REQUIREMENTS FOR ORIGINAL LICENSURE.

01. General. An applicant who in any state, territory or country has had a license revoked or suspended or has been otherwise disciplined by a Board, a government agency, or any other disciplinary body, or has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony or a lesser crime conviction must submit with his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for licensure. (3-28-23)

02. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board will consider the factors set forth in Section (3-28-23)

03. Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (3-28-23)

04. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant will bear the burden of establishing his current suitability for licensure. (3-28-23)

05. Education. An applicant must hold a master's degree or higher in genetics from an American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC), American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG), Accreditation Council for Genetic Counseling (ACGC), or National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) accredited program or master's degree or higher in a related field of study as approved by the Board. (3-28-23)

06. Examination. An applicant must pass an ABGC or ABMG administered genetic counselor certification exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective date of these rules. (3-28-23)

07. Certification. An applicant must provide proof of current certification from the ABGC or ABMG. (3-28-23)

301. -- 309. (RESERVED)

310. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who meets the following requirements: (3-28-23)

01. General. Meets the requirements prescribed in Subsection 300.01 of these rules; and (3-28-23)

02. Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current active license in the profession and at the level for which a license is being sought, issued by the authorized regulatory entity of another state, territory, or jurisdiction. The state, territory, or jurisdiction must have licensing requirements substantially equivalent to or higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure must be received by the Board from the issuing agency. (3-28-23)

311. REQUIREMENTS FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSE.

The Board may issue a provisional license to allow a person who has been granted active candidate status to engage in the practice of genetic counseling. The holder of a provisional license may only practice under the general supervision of a person fully licensed under this chapter or a physician licensed in this state. (3-28-23)

01. General. Meets the requirements prescribed in Subsection 300.01 of these rules; and (3-28-23)

02. Supervision. While the provisional licensee is providing genetic counseling services, the licensee's supervisor need not be physically present; however, the supervisor must be readily accessible to the provisional licensee by telephone or by electronic means for consultation and assistance. (3-28-23)

312. INACTIVE STATUS.

01. Request for Inactive Status. Licensees requesting an inactive status during the renewal of their active license must submit a written request and pay the established fee. (3-28-23)

02. Inactive License Status. All continuing education requirements will be waived for any year or portion thereof that a licensee maintains an inactive license and is not actively practicing in Idaho. (3-28-23)

03. Reinstatement to Full Licensure from Inactive Status. An inactive licensee may reinstate to active status by submitting a completed, board-approved application and paying the appropriate fee, provide proof of ABGC certification and one (1) year of continuing education immediately preceding application. (3-28-23)

313. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. CONTINUING EDUCATION.

All licensees must comply with the following continuing education requirements:

01. Requirement. Beginning with the second renewal of their license, a licensee will be required to complete a minimum of two (2) Continuing Education Units (CEUs) within the preceding twelve (12) months or one (1) CEU and one (1) Professional Activity Credit (PAC) within the preceding twelve (12) months. (3-28-23)

02. Documentation. Each licensee will maintain documentation verifying continuing education course attendance and curriculum, or completion of the educational activity for a period of five (5) years from the date of completion. This documentation will be subject to audit by the Board. (3-28-23)

a. Documented evidence of meeting the continuing education course requirement must be in the form of a certificate or letter from the sponsoring entity that includes verification of attendance by the licensee, the title of the activity, the subject material covered, the dates and number of hours credited, and the presenter's full name and

(3-28-23)

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses

professional credentials. Documented evidence of completing a continuing education activity must be in such form as to document both completion and date of the activity. (3-28-23)

b. A licensee must submit the verification documentation to the Board, if requested by the Board. If a licensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on the renewal application, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action. (3-28-23)

03. Waiver. The Board may for good cause waive the requirements of this rule. The licensee should request the waiver in advance of renewal and must provide any information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This waiver is granted at the sole discretion of the Board. (3-28-23)

04. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. CEUs and PACs not claimed in the current renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of two (2) CEUs or one (1) PAC and one (1) CEU may be carried forward from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one renewal year.

(3-28-23)

501. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. UNPROFESSIONAL AND UNETHICAL CONDUCT.

Unprofessional and unethical conduct is conduct that does not conform to the guidelines for genetic counseling contained within the (NSGC) Code of Ethics, incorporated by reference into Section 002 of these rules and approved by the Board as the Idaho Code of Ethics. (3-28-23)

701. -- 899. (RESERVED)

900. DISCIPLINE.

01. Disciplinary Action. If the Board determines that grounds for discipline exist for violations of Title 54, Chapter 56, Idaho Code, violations of these rules, or both, it may impose disciplinary sanctions against the licensee. (3-28-23)

901. -- 999. (RESERVED)