IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES IDAHO LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS SAFETY BOARD

24.22.01 – Rules of the Idaho State Liquefied Petroleum Gas Safety Board

Who does this rule apply to?

This rule applies to applicants, and license holders for:

- Liquefied Petroleum Gas Dealers; and
- Liquefied Petroleum Gas Storage Facility under 10,000 gallons/cap, over 10,000 gallons/cap, and bulk storage facility over 10,000 gallons/cap

What is the purpose of this rule?

This rule governs the practice of liquefied petroleum gas dealers in Idaho to protect the public health, safety, and welfare. This rule establishes:

- Minimum standards of competency and qualifications for applicants;
- Fees related to licensure;
- Standards of practice

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?

This rule implements the following statute passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Professions, Vocations, and Businesses -

• 54-5301 through 54-5318, Idaho Code – Idaho Liquefied Petroleum Gas Public Safety Act

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Idaho Liquefied Petroleum Gas Safety Board

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses

8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mountain Time (except Saturdays, Sundays and holidays)

Mailing: PO Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0063

Physical: 11351 W Chinden Blvd, Bldg 6, Boise, ID 83714

Phone: (208) 334-3233 Fax: (208) 334-3945

E-mail: IBOL@IBOL.IDAHO.GOV

www.IBOL.Idaho.gov

Table of Contents

24.22.01 – Rules of the Idaho State Liquefied Petroleum Gas Safety Board		
000. Legal Authority.	. 3	
001. Scope		
002. – 003. (Reserved)		
004. Incorporation By Reference.		
005 174. (Reserved)		
175. Fees		
176. – 224. (Reserved)		
225. Approved Education And Examinations		
226 249. (Reserved)		
250. Practical Experience.		
251 349. (Reserved)		
350. Facility Licensure.		
351 354. (Reserved)		
355. General Liability Insurance Requirement.		
356 374. (Reserved)		
375. Inspection Rules		
376 399. (Reserved)	5	
400. Endorsement	. 5	
401 449. (Reserved)	5	
450. Discipline		
451 000 (Pasaryod)	5	

24.22.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS SAFETY BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Section 54-5310, Idaho Code.

(3-28-23)

001. SCOPE.

These rules govern the Idaho Liquefied Petroleum Gas Public Safety Act.

(3-28-23)

002. - 003. (RESERVED)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

The document titled Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code, 2017 Edition, commonly known as NFPA 58, published by National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), is herein incorporated by reference and is available for public inspection at the Board's office. Copies of the 2017 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code are available for purchase from the National Fire Protection Association, 11 Tracy Drive, Avon, MA 02322. (3-28-23)

005. -- 174. (RESERVED)

175. FEES.

All fees are non-refundable:

FEE TYPE	AMOUNT (Not to Exceed)	RENEWAL (Not to Exceed)
Application	\$30	
Individual License	\$75	\$75
Endorsement	\$75	
Dealer-in-training	\$50	
Facility License	\$100	\$100
Bulk Storage Facility	\$400	\$400
Facility Reinspection	\$125	

(3-28-23)

176. – 224. (RESERVED)

225. APPROVED EDUCATION AND EXAMINATIONS.

Each applicant must provide certified proof that they have successfully completed the following:

(3-28-23)

- **01. Basic Education**. The Basic Certified Employee Training Program (CETP) provided by the National Propane Gas Association or the equivalent as determined by the Board within the thirty-six (36) months immediately preceding application. (3-28-23)
- **02. Licensure Examination**. Receipt of a passing grade on the Basic Certified Employee Training Program (CETP) examination provided by the National Propane Gas Association or the equivalent as determined by the Board within the thirty-six (36) months immediately preceding application. (3-28-23)

226. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE.

- 01. Supervised Practical Experience. Each applicant must provide certified proof that the applicant has successfully obtained at least one (1) year of practical experience in a Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) facility while the applicant was under supervision of a licensed dealer. A person in the process of meeting the practical experience requirement must complete the education and examination requirements and apply for a dealer license within eighteen (18) months of beginning to obtain supervised experience. (3-28-23)
- **02. Dealer-in-Training License**. An individual may not begin obtaining supervised practical experience until the individual has applied for and obtained a dealer-in-training license from the board. Such license

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses

IDAPA 24.22.01 – Rules of the Idaho State Liquefied Petroleum Gas Safety Board

is issued on a non-renewable basis and is for the purpose of enabling the individual to gain the supervised practical experience that the person must obtain to become an LPG dealer. The dealer-in-training license is valid for eighteen (18) months from the date of issue. (3-28-23)

251. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. FACILITY LICENSURE.

01. Facility Licensure and Operation Requirements.

(3-28-23)

- a. Application for a facility license must include a certificate of general liability insurance set forth in these rules and plans and specifications complying with local ordinances and zoning requirements. All applications must be submitted to the Board for approval and a license must be issued before a new facility may open for business;
- **b.** Each facility application must clearly identify and designate a location adequate to allow the facilities safe operation and the selling, filling, refilling, or commercial handling or commercial storage of liquefied petroleum gas; (3-28-23)
 - **c.** Each facility must meet all requirements of NFPA 58.

(3-28-23)

02. Facility Changes in Ownership or Location.

- (3-28-23)
- a. Whenever a change of ownership or location of a facility occurs, an original application must be submitted, the fee must be paid and compliance with all rules concerning a new facility documented, before a new license will be issued. FACILITY LICENSES ARE NOT TRANSFERABLE. (3-28-23)
 - **b.** Deletion of an owner from multiple ownership does not constitute a change in ownership.

(3-28-23)

- c. Addition of an owner to multiple ownership does constitute a change in ownership. (3-28-23)
- d. Whenever any facility ceases operation at the licensed location, the owner(s) must notify the Board in writing that the facility is out of business and the facility license must be submitted to the Division. A new facility license will not be issued for any location that is currently licensed as a facility at the time of application. (3-28-23)

351. -- 354. (RESERVED)

355. GENERAL LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENT.

No facility license will be issued without a certificate showing proof of a current general liability insurance policy in the sum of not less than one million dollars (\$1,000,000) for an occurrence. The Board may conduct random audits of facility licenses and request documentation of a current general liability insurance policy. (3-28-23)

- **01. Original Facility License Application**. An application for facility license will not be considered complete without a certificate of general liability insurance showing a current policy. The policy must be kept in full force and effect. (3-28-23)
- **02.** Renewal of Facility License. All licenses being renewed must certify that the facility holds a current general liability insurance policy. (3-28-23)

356. -- 374. (RESERVED)

375. INSPECTION RULES.

All facilities are subject to inspection by the Board or its agents at any time without notice to insure the safe operation of each facility and to insure continued compliance with the requirements of NFPA 58 and the Idaho laws and rules. The Board may adopt a form which establishes for the facility those material rules of NFPA 58 which will be inspected, and a level of compliance necessary for issuance or retention of a license or disciplinary action. The Board

Section 350 Page 4 IAC Archive 2024

may further determine the time frame a facility may be granted in order to comply with NFPA 58, but still continue to operate, or pursue disciplinary action for a failure to comply. In the event of non-compliance necessitating reinspection, the Board may assess a re-inspection fee. (3-28-23)

376. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. ENDORSEMENT.

Any person who holds a current, unsuspended, unrevoked or otherwise nonsanctioned license in another state or country that has licensing requirements substantially equivalent to or higher than those in Idaho may, submit the required application, supporting documentation, and required fee, for Board consideration. Those applicants who received their professional education or experience outside of the United States must provide such additional information concerning their professional education or experience as the Board may request. The Board may, in its discretion, require successful completion of additional course work or examination for any applicant under this provision.

(3-28-23)

401. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. DISCIPLINE.

- **01. Civil Fine.** The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000) upon a licensed LPG dealer or a licensed LPG facility for each violation of Section 54-5315, Idaho Code. (3-28-23)
- **O2.** Costs and Fees. The Board may order a licensed LPG dealer or a licensed LPG facility to pay the costs and fees incurred by the Board in the investigation or prosecution of the licensee for violation of Section 54-5315, Idaho Code. (3-28-23)

451. -- 999. (RESERVED)