IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Company Activities

18.01.02 - Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges

Who does this rule apply to?

This rule applies to insurers and individuals licensed, listed, or approved to do insurance business in the state of Idaho.

What is the purpose of this rule?

The purpose of this rule provides amounts to be collected for insurance fees, licenses, and miscellaneous charges.

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?

This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

- Title 41, Chapter 2, et seq., Idaho Code The Department of Insurance
- Title 41, Chapter 4, Idaho Code Fees and Taxes

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Department of Insurance 700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor Boise, ID 83720-0043

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0043

Phone: 1(800) 721-3272 or (208) 334-4250

Fax: (208) 334-4398

Email: rulesreview@doi.idaho.gov

Web: https://doi.idaho.gov/

Table of Contents

18.01.	02 – Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges	
	000. Legal Authority.	3
	001. Scope.	3
	002 019. (Reserved)	3
	020. Insurer or Other Entity Annual Continuation Fees.	
	021. Insurer Fee.	
	022. Other Entity Fee.	3
	023 029. (Reserved)	4
	030. Producer License And Related Fees.	4
	031 039. (Reserved)	5
	040. Miscellaneous Charges.	5
	041 049. (Reserved)	5
	050. Refunds.	5
	051. Overpayments.	5
	052 999. (Reserved)	5

18.01.02 - SCHEDULE OF FEES, LICENSES, AND MISCELLANEOUS CHARGES

LEGAL AUTHORITY. Sections 41-211 and 41-401, Idaho Code. (7-1-24)001. SCOPE. This rule provides for the amounts to be collected for fees, licenses and miscellaneous charges. (7-1-24)002. -- 019. (RESERVED) INSURER OR OTHER ENTITY ANNUAL CONTINUATION FEES. 020. Annual Continuation Fee. No later than March 1 each year, each insurer or other entity listed under Section 022, licensed, listed, or approved to do business in Idaho will pay an annual continuation fee ("ACF"). The ACF covers March through the following February. (7-1-24)a. The ACF is charged at the time the insurer or other entity applies for admission. (7-1-24)The ACF is the reinstatement fee referenced in Section 41-324(3), Idaho Code. b. (7-1-24)The ACF provides for but is not limited to: renewal of the certificate of authority or license, or annual registration; all filings required of insurers or other entities not expressly subject to a fee; agent appointment and renewals; arson, fire, and fraud investigation costs or examination expenses, notwithstanding Subsection 020.01.d. (7-1-24)The ACF does not provide for, or will not exempt the insurer or entity from: fees listed under Sections 030 and 040; penalties or fines levied by or payable to the Department; any express authority in Idaho Code that allows charges or expenses may be paid or reimbursed to the Department, such as for investigation, examination, engaging experts and consultants, or Attorney's costs incurred by the Department. (7-1-24)Failure to Pay Fee. Failure to pay the ACF by March 1 each year will result in the expiration of the insurer's or other entity's authority to do business in Idaho pursuant to Section 41-324, Idaho Code. (7-1-24)INSURER FEE. An insurer with a certificate of authority will pay the ACF as follows: (7-1-24)Surplus is Less Than 10 Million Dollars (\$10,000,000). If policy holders' surplus at the preceding December 31 is less than ten million dollars (\$10,000,000) - One thousand dollars (\$1,000). (7-1-24)Surplus is 10 Million Dollars (\$10,000,000) or More. If policy holders' surplus at the preceding December 31 is ten million (\$10,000,000) or more, but less than one hundred million (\$100,000,000) -- Two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500). Surplus is One Hundred Million Dollars (\$100,000,000) or More. If policy holders' surplus at the preceding December 31 is one hundred million (\$100,000,000) or greater - Four thousand five hundred dollars (\$4,500).(7-1-24)022. OTHER ENTITY FEE. The following entities will be assessed an ACF of: (7-1-24)01. Five hundred dollars (\$500). (7-1-24)All reinsurers, under Section 41-515, Idaho Code. (7-1-24)a. b. Authorized surplus line insurers. (7-1-24)c. County mutual insurers. (7-1-24)d. Fraternal benefit societies. (7-1-24)Hospital and/or professional service corporations. (7-1-24)e. f. Self-funded health care plans. (7-1-24)

	MINISTRATIVE CODE IDA nt of Insurance Schedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneo	PA 18.01.02 us Charges
g.	Domestic Risk retention groups.	(7-1-24)
h.	Petroleum clean water trusts.	(7-1-24)
i.	Rating organizations.	(7-1-24)
į.	Advisory organizations.	(7-1-24)
02.	Forty dollars (\$40): Purchasing groups.	(7-1-24)
023 029.	(RESERVED)	, ,
030. PR	ODUCER LICENSE AND RELATED FEES.	
01.	Original Application. The following fee is due at the time of original application for	the following (7-1-24)
a.	Third party Administrators three hundred dollars (\$300).	(7-1-24)
b.	Producers, including limited line producers eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
c.	Managing general agent eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
d.	Adjusters, independent or public eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
e.	Reinsurance intermediary eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
f.	Surplus line brokers eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
g.	Life settlement providers five hundred dollars (\$500).	(7-1-24)
h.	Life settlement brokers three hundred dollars (\$300).	(7-1-24)
i.	Independent review organization five hundred dollars (\$500).	(7-1-24)
j.	Vendor of portable electronics insurance, a separate type of limited lines producer:	(7-1-24)
i.	More than ten (10) locations in the state of Idaho one thousand dollars (\$1,000).	(7-1-24)
ii.	Ten (10) or fewer locations in the state of Idaho one hundred dollars (\$100).	(7-1-24)
k.	Pharmacy Benefit Managers three hundred dollars (\$300).	(7-1-24)
	Examination Fee . Each time a producer or adjuster licensing examination is taken and 11, Idaho Code, the applicant may pay a fee to a third-party testing vendor in the amount of the Department and the vendor.	
03.	Fingerprinting. Fingerprinting (as applicable) not to exceed eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
04. indicated in	License Renewal . The following renewal fees are owed either annually or biannual the Department's renewal form for each of the following license types:	ly and due as (7-1-24)
a.	Third Party Administrators (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)
b. if renewed e	Producers, including limited lines producers (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80), or sixty lectronically.	dollars (\$60) (7-1-24)

Section 030 Page 4 IAC Archive 2024

	c.	Managing general agent (annual) eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)		
electron	d. nically.	Adjusters, independent or public (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80), or sixty dollars (\$60) if	renewed (7-1-24)		
	e. nically.	Surplus line brokers (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80), or sixty dollars (\$60) if	renewed (7-1-24)		
	f.	Life settlement providers (biennial) three hundred dollars (\$300).	(7-1-24)		
	g.	Life settlement brokers (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80).	(7-1-24)		
	h.	Independent review organization (biennial) three hundred dollars (\$300).	(7-1-24)		
	i.	Vendor of portable electronics insurance, a separate type of limited lines producer with (bit	iennial): (7-1-24)		
	i.	More than ten (10) locations in the state of Idaho five hundred dollars (\$500).	(7-1-24)		
	ii.	Ten (10) or fewer locations in the state of Idaho one hundred dollars (\$100).	(7-1-24)		
031 039.		(RESERVED)			
040.	040. MISCELLANEOUS CHARGES.				
(\$50)	01.	Certified Copy. Certified copy of certificate of authority, license or registration - Fift	y dollars		

- (\$50). Certified Copy. Certified copy of certificate of authority, license or registration Fifty dollars (7-1-24)
 - **02.** Certificate Under Seal. Director's certificate under seal Twenty dollars (\$20). (7-1-24)
- **03. Insurer Service of Process**. For receiving and forwarding copy a of summons or other process served upon the director as process agent of an insurer -- Thirty dollars (\$30). (7-1-24)
- **04. Agent Service of Process.** For receiving and forwarding a copy of summons or other process served upon the director as process agent of a nonresident producer or other person for which the director is authorized to serve as statutory agent for service of process -- Thirty dollars (\$30). (7-1-24)
- **05. Continuing Education**. Filing continuing education applications for approval and certification of subjects of courses (each application) -- Twenty-five dollars (\$25). (7-1-24)

041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. REFUNDS.

All fees and miscellaneous charges are non-refundable except as noted.

(7-1-24)

051. OVERPAYMENTS.

Overpayments of published fees will be returned only when such overpayments exceed twenty dollars (\$20), or upon request of the payor. (7-1-24)

052. -- 999. (RESERVED)