IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Company Activities

18.01.02 – Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges

Who does this rule apply to?

This rule applies to insurers and individuals licensed, listed, or approved to do insurance business in the state of Idaho.

What is the purpose of this rule?

The purpose of this rule provides amounts to be collected for insurance fees, licenses, and miscellaneous charges.

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?

This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

- Title 41, Chapter 2, et seq., Idaho Code The Department of Insurance
- Title 41, Chapter 4, Idaho Code Fees and Taxes

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Department of Insurance 700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor Boise, ID 83720-0043

P.O. Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0043 Phone: 1(800) 721-3272 or (208) 334-4250 Fax: (208) 334-4398 Email: rulesreview@doi.idaho.gov Web: https://doi.idaho.gov/

IAC Archive 2023

Table of Contents

18.01.02 – Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges

000. Legal Authority.	. 3
001. Scope.	. 3
002 010. (Reserved)	. 3
011. Fees Payable In Advance.	. 3
012 019. (Reserved)	. 3
020. Insurer Fees.	
021 029. (Reserved)	. 4
030. Producer And Miscellaneous Licensing Fees.	. 4
031 039. (Reserved)	. 6
040. Miscellaneous Fees.	
041 049. (Reserved)	
050. Refunds.	. 6
051. Overpayments.	. 6
052 999. (Reserved)	. 6

000. Title 41		L AUTHORITY. rs 2 and 4, Idaho Code, Idaho Code.	(3-23-22)
001. The pur	SCOPE pose of the	E. his rule is to provide for the amounts to be collected for fees, licenses and miscellaneous c	charges. (3-23-22)
002	010		(3-23-22)
002 ((RESERVED)	
011. The dire		PAYABLE IN ADVANCE. collect in advance fees, licenses, and miscellaneous charges as outlined in this rule.	(3-23-22)
012 (019.	(RESERVED)	
020.	INSUR	ER FEES.	
or appro	01. oved to de	Annual Continuation Fee. All insurers and other entities (set forth in Section 020) licen o business in the state of Idaho will pay an annual continuation fee.	sed, listed, (3-23-22)
through	a. the follo	The annual continuation fee is due on March 1st each year and is payment of the insurer wing February.	's fees due (3-23-22)
in the s Februar		The annual continuation fee is charged at the time the insurer applies for admission to d laho. If the application is approved, the fee paid will cover the insurer's fees through the	
41, Cha	02. pter 3, Id	Fee for Insurers . For all insurance companies receiving a certificate of authority pursua laho Code, the annual continuation fee is as follows:	ant to Title (3-23-22)
(\$10,00	a. 0,000) - (If insurer's policy holders' surplus at the preceding December 31 is less than ten mill One thousand dollars (\$1,000).	ion dollars (3-23-22)
more, b	b. ut less th	If insurer's policy holders' surplus at the preceding December 31 is ten million (\$10,0 an one hundred million (\$100,000,000) Two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500).	00,000) or (3-23-22)
(\$100,0	c. 00,000) c	If insurer's policy holders' surplus at the preceding December 31 is one hundred or greater - Four thousand five hundred dollars (\$4,500).	ed million (3-23-22)
	03.	Fees of Other Entities. The following entities will be assessed an annual continuation for	ee: (3-23-22)
	a.	Five hundred dollars (\$500):	(3-23-22)
	i.	All reinsurers, listed pursuant to Section 41-515, Idaho Code.	(3-23-22)
	ii.	Authorized surplus line insurers.	(3-23-22)
	iii.	County mutual insurers.	(3-23-22)
	iv.	Fraternal benefit societies.	(3-23-22)
	v.	Hospital and/or professional service corporations.	(3-23-22)
	vi.	Self-funded health care plans.	(3-23-22)
	vii.	Domestic Risk retention groups.	(3-23-22)
	viii.	Petroleum clean water trusts.	(3-23-22)
	ix.	Rating organizations.	(3-23-22)

	NISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA of Insurance Schedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneous	18.01.02 Charges
x.	Advisory organizations.	(3-23-22
b.	One hundred dollars (\$100): Purchasing groups.	(3-23-22
04.	Fees Provide. The annual continuation fee includes, but is not limited to, the following:	(3-23-22
a.	Certificate of authority renewal, license renewal, and annual registration.	(3-23-22
b.	Arson, fire and fraud investigation costs.	(3-23-22)
c.	Annual statement filing.	(3-23-22)
d.	Agent appointment and renewal of appointment.	(3-23-22)
e. apany Syste	Filings under Title 41, Chapter 38, Idaho Code, Acquisitions of Control and Insurancems.	ce Holding (3-23-22)
f.	Filing of amendments to Articles of Incorporation.	(3-23-22)
g.	Filing of amendments to Bylaws.	(3-23-22)
h.	Amendments to Certificate of Authority.	(3-23-22)
i.	Filing of notice of significant transactions pursuant to Section 41-345, Idaho Code.	(3-23-22)
j.	Quarterly statement filing.	(3-23-22)
k.	Examination expenses.	(3-23-22)
05. the follow	Not Provided in Fees. Payment of the annual continuation fee will not exempt the insurving:	er or entity (3-23-22)
a.	Fees for application for producer license.	(3-23-22)
b.	Costs incurred by the Department for investigation of an applicant for producer license.	(3-23-22)
с.	Attorney's fees and costs incurred by the Department when allowed pursuant to Idaho C	code. (3-23-22)
d.	Costs incurred for experts and consultants when allowed by Idaho Code.	(3-23-22)
e.	Penalties or fines levied by or payable to the Department of Insurance.	(3-23-22)
f.	All fees set forth under Section 040.	(3-23-22)

06. Failure to Pay Fee. Failure to pay the annual continuation fee on or before March 1st each year will result in the expiration of the insurer's or entity's authority to do business in the state of Idaho pursuant to Section 41-324, Idaho Code. (3-23-22)

07. Reinstatement Fee. The reinstatement fee referenced in Section 41-324(3), Idaho Code, is the amount referenced above for the insurer or entity continuation fee. (3-23-22)

021. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. PRODUCER AND MISCELLANEOUS LICENSING FEES.

01. Original License Application. The following fees are due and need to be paid with the filing

Departi	ment c	of Insurance Schedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneou	us Charge
applicati	on for o	original license:	(3-23-22
	a.	Administrators three hundred dollars (\$300).	(3-23-22
	b.	Producers eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	c.	Designation as a managing general agent eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	d.	Adjusters and public adjusters eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	e.	Reinsurance intermediary eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	f.	Surplus line brokers eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	g.	Life settlement providers five hundred dollars (\$500).	(3-23-22
	h.	Life settlement brokers three hundred dollars (\$300).	(3-23-22
	i.	Independent review organization five hundred dollars (\$500).	(3-23-22
	j.	Vendor of portable electronics insurance, a type of limited lines producer:	(3-23-22
nore tha	i. In ten (1	A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic tra [0] locations in the state of Idaho one thousand dollars (\$1,000).	ansactions a (3-23-22
10) or f	ii. ewer lo	A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic transacations in the state of Idaho one hundred dollars (\$100).	actions at te (3-23-22
		Examination Fees. Each time a producer or adjuster's examination is taken for lice ers 10 and 11, Idaho Code, the applicant may pay a fee to a third-party testing vendor in ontract between the department and the vendor.	
\$80).	03.	Fingerprint Processing. Processing fingerprints (as applicable) not to exceed e	ighty dollar (3-23-22
continue	04.	License Renewal. The following fees are due and need to be paid for each license	to renew of (3-23-22
renewed	a. electro	Adjusters, public adjusters, and producers (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80), or sixty do nically.	ollars (\$60) i (3-23-22
more that	i. an ten (1	A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic tra 10) locations in the state of Idaho five hundred dollars (\$500).	ansactions a (3-23-22
(10) or f	ii. ewer lo	A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic transactions in the state of Idaho one hundred dollars (\$100).	actions at te (3-23-22
	b.	Redesignation as managing general agent (annual) eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	c.	Administrators (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22
	i.	Renewal form is filed on or before December 31.	(3-23-22
renewal	ii. fee.	Any renewal form postmarked after December 31 includes a penalty in an amount	equal to th (3-23-22
	iii.	A renewal form postmarked after January 31 needs to be submitted as a new app	lightion wit

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODEIDAPA 18.01.02Department of InsuranceSchedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneous Charges

supporting documents and the full application fee.

d. electronically.	Surplus line brokers (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80), or sixty dollars	(\$60) if renewed (3-23-22)
e.	Life settlement providers (biennial) three hundred dollars (\$300).	(3-23-22)
f.	Life settlement brokers (biennial) eighty dollars (\$80).	(3-23-22)
g.	Independent review organization (biennial) three hundred dollars (\$300).	(3-23-22)

031. -- 039. (**RESERVED**)

040. MISCELLANEOUS FEES.

(\$50). **Certified Copy**. Certified copy of certificate of authority, license or registration - Fifty dollars (3-23-22)

02. Certificate Under Seal. Director's certificate under seal (except for those under Subsection 040.01 of this rule) - Twenty dollars (\$20). (3-23-22)

03. Documents Filed. For each copy of a document filed in the DOI, a reasonable cost as fixed by the director. For rate and form filings not submitted electronically through the national System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing (SERFF) -- Twenty dollars (\$20) for each rate or form filed in excess of ten (10) per calendar year.

(3-23-22)

(3-23-22)

(3-23-22)

04. Insurer Service of Process. For receiving and forwarding copy of summons or other process served upon the director as process agent of an insurer -- Thirty dollars (\$30). (3-23-22)

05. Agent Service of Process. For receiving and forwarding copy of summons or other process served upon the director as process agent of a nonresident producer or other person for which the director is authorized to serve as statutory agent for service of process -- Thirty dollars (\$30). (3-23-22)

06. Continuing Education. Filing continuing education applications for approval and certification of subjects of courses (each application) -- Twenty-five dollars (\$25). (3-23-22)

041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. REFUNDS.

All fees, licenses, and miscellaneous charges are non-refundable except as noted.

051. OVERPAYMENTS.

Overpayments of published fees will be returned only when such overpayments exceed twenty dollars (\$20), or upon request of the payor. (3-23-22)

052. -- 999. (**RESERVED**)