IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
STATE BOARD OF MIDWIFERY
24.26.01 — Rules of the Idaho Board of Midwifery

Who doesthisrule apply to?
This rule applies to applicants and license holders for midwives.

What isthe purpose of thisrule?
This rule governs the practice of midwifery in Idaho to protect the public health, safety, and
welfare. This rule establishes:

* Minimum standards of competency and qualifications for applicants;
» Feesrelated to licensure;

» Continuing education for licensure;

* Provisionsfor obtaining and documenting informed consent;

* Requirements related to formulary drugs;

* Newborn transfer of care or consultation; and

* Scope and standards of practice

What isthelegal authority for the agency to promulgate thisrule?
This rule implements the following statute passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Professions, Vocations, and Businesses -
» 54-5501 through 54-5513, Idaho Code — Midwifery

Who do | contact for moreinformation on thisrule?

State Board of Midwifery

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses

8 am. to 5 p.m., Mountain Time (except Saturdays, Sundays and holidays)
Mailing: PO Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0063

Physical: 11351 W Chinden Blvd, Bldg 6, Boise, ID 83714

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945

E-mail: IBOL@IBOL.IDAHO.GOV

www:IBOL.Idaho.gov
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24.26.01 — RULES OF THE IDAHO BOARD OF MIDWIFERY

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Section 54-5504, |daho Code. (3-31-22)T
001. SCOPE.
These rules govern the licensure and regulation of the practice of midwifery in Idaho. (3-31-22)T

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
The following documents are incorporated by reference into these rules, and are available at the Board's office and
through the Board’ s website: (3-31-22)T

01. Prevention of Perinatal Group B Streptococcal Disease. Published by the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention, MMWR 2010;59 (No. RR 10), dated November 19, 2010. (3-31-22)T

02. Essential Documents of the National Association of Certified Professional Midwives.
Copyright date 2004. (3-31-22)T

03. 2016 Job Analysis Survey. Published by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM).
(3-31-22)T

003. -- 099. (RESERVED)
100. QUALIFICATIONSFOR LICENSURE.

01. Applications. Applications for licensure must be submitted on Board-approved forms. (3-31-22)T

02. Qualifications. Applicants for licensure must submit a completed application, required application
and licensing fees, and documentation, acceptabl e to the Board, establishing that the applicant: (3-31-22)T
a. Currently is certified asa CPM by NARM or a successor organization. (3-31-22)T
b. Has successfully completed Board-approved, MEAC-accredited courses in pharmacology, the
treatment of shock/IV therapy, and suturing specific to midwives. (3-31-22)T

101. -- 174. (RESERVED)

175. FEES.
Unless otherwise provided for, all fees are non-refundable.
FEE
APPLICATION (Not to Exceed)
Initial Application $200
Initial License $800 (amount will be refunded if license not issued)
Renewal $850 (amount will be refunded if license not renewed)
Reinstatement $50
(3-31-22)T
176. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. RENEWAL OF LICENSE.
01. Complete Practice Data. The information submitted by the licensed midwife must include
complete practice datafor the calendar year preceding the date of the renewal application. Such information includes:
(3-31-22)T
a. The number of clients to whom the licensed midwife has provided care; (3-31-22)T
b. The number of deliveries, including; (3-31-22)T
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i. The number of cesareans, (3-31-22)T
ii. The number of vaginal births after cesarean (VBACS); (3-31-22)T
C. The average, oldest, and youngest maternal ages, (3-31-22)T
d. The number of primiparae; (3-31-22)T
e All APGAR scores below five (5) at five (5) minutes; (3-31-22)T
f. The number of prenatal transfers and transfers during labor, delivery and immediately following
birth, including: (3-31-22)T
i. Transfers of mothers; (3-31-22)T
ii. Transfers of babies; (3-31-22)T
iii. Reasons for transfers; (3-31-22)T
iv. Transfers of al newborns being admitted to the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) for more than
twenty four (24) hours. (3-31-22)T
0. Any perinatal deaths occurring up to six weeks post-delivery, broken out by: weight, gestational
age, age of the baby, and stillbirths, if any. (3-31-22)T
h. Any significant neonatal or perinatal problem, not listed above, during the six (6) weeks following
birth. (3-31-22)T
02. Current Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification. A licensed midwife to renew their

license must certify on their renewal application that they possess a current certification in adult, infant, and child
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and in neonatal resuscitation obtained through completion of American Heart
Association or the Health and Safety Institute approved cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses and American
Academy of Pediatrics approved neonatal resuscitation courses. (3-31-22)T

03. Continuing Education Verification. When a licensed midwife submits a renewal application, the
licensed midwife must certify by signed affidavit that the annual continuing education requirements set by the Board
have been met. The Board may conduct such continuing education audits and require verification of attendance as
deemed necessary to ensure compliance with continuing education requirements. (3-31-22)T

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)
300. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.

01. Annual Continuing Education Requirement. A licensed midwife must successfully complete a
minimum of ten (10) continuing education hours per year for the year preceding renewal. Two (2) of these hours must
be in peer review participation as described in Subsection 300.06. One (1) continuing education hour equals one (1)
clock hour. A licensed midwife is considered to have satisfied the annual continuing education requirement for the
first renewal of theinitial license. (3-31-22)T

02. Subject Material. The subject material of the continuing education must be germane to the
practice of midwifery and either acceptable to NARM as counting towards recertification of alicensed midwife asa
CPM or otherwise approved by the Board. (3-31-22)T

03. Verification of Attendance. Each licensed midwife must maintain verification of attendance by
securing authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring institution
substantiating any hours attended. This verification must be maintained by the licensed midwife for no less than
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seven (7) years and provided to the Board upon request by the Board or its agent. (3-31-22)T

04. Distance Learning and Independent Study. The Board may approve a course of study for
continuing education credit that does not include the actua physical attendance of the licensed midwife in a face-to-
face setting with the course instructor. Distance Learning or Independent Study courses will be eligible for continuing
education creditsif approved by NARM or upon approval of the Board. (3-31-22)T

05. Requests for Board Approval. All requests for Board approval of educational programs must be
made to the Board in writing at least sixty (60) days before the program is scheduled to occur. Requests must be

accompanied by a statement that includes: (3-31-22)T
a. The name of the instructor or instructors; (3-31-22)T
b. The date and time and location of the course; (3-31-22)T
C. The specific agendafor the course; (3-31-22)T
d. The number of continuing education credit hours requested; and (3-31-22)T
e A statement of how the course is believed to be germane to the practice of midwifery. (3-31-22)T
06. Peer Review System. As part of the Board's annual continuing education requirement, each
licensed midwife must participate in peer review activities for aminimum of two (2) hours per year. (3-31-22)T
a. The purpose of peer review is to enable licensed midwives to retrospectively present and review
casesin an effort to further educate themselves about the appropriateness, quality, utilization, and ethical performance
of midwifery care. (3-31-22)T
b. Licensed midwives are responsible for organizing their own peer review sessions. At least three (3)
licensed midwives or CPMs must participate in a peer review session in order for the session to count towards a
licensed midwife's annual two-hour peer review activity regquirement. (3-31-22)T
C. Each licensed midwife must make a presentation that must include, without limitation, the
following information:; (3-31- 22)T
i Total number of clients currently in the licensed midwife's care; (3-31-22)T
ii. The number of upcoming due dates for clientsin the licensed midwife's practice; (3-31-22)T
iii. The number of women in the licensed midwife's practice that are postpartum; (3-31-22)T
iv. The number of births the licensed midwife has been involved with since the last peer review
session; and (3-31-22)T
V. One (1) or more specific cases arising since the licensed midwife’s last peer review session. The
licensed midwife must present any cases involving serious complications or the transport of a mother or baby to the
hospital. (3-31-22)T
d. The information presented in a peer review session is confidential. Theidentities of the client, other

health care providers, and other persons involved in a case may not be divulged during the peer review session.
(3-31-22)T
07. Carryover Hours. A licensed midwife may carryover a maximum of five (5) hours of continuing
education to meet the next year's continuing education requirement. (3-31-22)T
08. Hardship Waiver. The Board may waive the continuing education requirement for good cause.

The licensed midwife must request the waiver and provide the Board with any information requested to assist the
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Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses

Board in substantiating the claimed hardship. (3-31-22)T
301. -- 324. (RESERVED)
325. INFORMED CONSENT.

01. Informed Consent Required. A licensed midwife must obtain and document informed consent
from a client before caring for that client. The informed consent must be documented on an informed consent form,
signed and dated by the client, in which the client acknowledges, at a minimum, the provisions listed in Section 54-

5511, Idaho Code and the following: (3-31-22)T
a. Instructions for obtaining a copy of the Essential Documents of the NACPM and 2016 Job Analysis

Survey, published by NARM; (3-31-22)T
b. Instructions for filing complaints with the Board,; (3-31-22)T
02. Record of Informed Consent. All licensed midwives must maintain a record of all signed

informed consent forms for each client for aminimum of nine (9) years after the last day of care for such client.

(3-31-22)T
326. -- 350. (RESERVED)
351. USE OF FORMULARY DRUGS.

01. Protocols. A licensed midwife may use the drugs described in the midwifery formulary according
to the following protocol describing the indication for use, dosage, route of administration and duration of treatment:

Drug Indication Dose qute Of. Duration of Treatment
Administration
Maternal/Fetal 10-12 L/min. Bag and mask | Until maternal/fetal stabilization
Distress 10 L/min. Mask is achieved or transfer to hospital
Oxygen is complete
Neonatal 10-12 L/min. Bag and mask | Until stabilization is achieved or
Resuscitation 10 L/min. Mask transfer to a hospital is complete
1-2 doses
Oxytocin (Pitocin) Postpartum 10 Units/ml Iniggg=cularly Transport to hospital required if
hemorrhage only only
more than two doses are
administered
Local anesthetic
for use during
Percutaneous

Lidocaine HCI 2% | postpartum repair | Maximum 50 ml Completion of repair

. infiltration only
of lacerations or

episiotomy
Penicillin G 5 million units initial
Group B Strep dose, then 2.5 IVin>100mILR, | ..
- - . Birth of baby
(Recommended) Prophylaxis million units every NS or DsLR
4 hours until birth
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses

IDAPA 24.26.01

Rules of the Idaho Board of Midwifery

Drug Indication Dose qute Of. Duration of Treatment
Administration
Methegrine Postpartum Intramuscularly T_ransport 0 hospital required if
. 0.2mg/ml single dose does not stop
(Methylergonovine) | hemorrhage only only 1 dose
hemorrhage
v . . 2 grams initial
gapicillin Sodium Group B Strep dose, then 1 gram | IV in >100 mI NS Birth of bab
Prophylaxis every 4 hours until or LR y

(Alternative)

birth

Cefazolin Sodium
(drug of choice for
penicillin allergy with

Group B Strep

2 grams initial
dose, then 1 gram

IVin>100 ml LR,

Birth of baby

low risk for s> every 8 hours NS or DsLR
anaphylaxis)
Clindamycin
Phosphate
(drug of choice for Group B Strep 900 mg every 8 | IVin>100 mI NS Birth of baby
penicillin allergy with Prophylaxis hours (not LR)
high risk for
anaphylaxis)
Every 20 minutes or until
Treatment or emergency medical services
Epinephrine HCI post-exp_osure Subcutaneously arrve
1:1000 prevention of > or intramuscularl
’ severe allergic Y | Administer first dose then
reactions immediately request emergency
services
Lactated Ringer's To achieve Intravenousl
(LR) | - 2 liter bags : Y | Until maternal stabilization is
maternal with . .
e achieved or transfer to a hospital
. stabilization >18 gauge -
5% Dextrose in catheter is complete
Lactated Ringer's Firstliterruninata
solution (DsLR) wide-openrate, the
second liter titrated
to client’s condition
0.9% Sodium
Chloride (NS) Reconstitution of . .
S As directed . Birth of Baby
Sterile Water antibiotic powder As directed
1-2 doses
Rectally is the
Cytotec Postpartum 800 mcg preferred method | Transport to hospital required if

(Misoprostol)

hemorrhage only

Orally is allowed

more than one dose is
administered
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Drug Indication Dose qute Of. Duration of Treatment
Administration

Single dose at any gestation for
Rho (d) negative, antibody
negative women within 72 hours
of spontaneous bleeding or
abdominal trauma.

Prevention of Rho

Rho(d) Immune (d) sensitization in
Globulin Rho (d) negative

women

Single dose at 26-28 weeks
300 mcg Intramuscularly | gestation for Rho (d) negative,
antibody negative women

Single dose for Rho (d) negative,
antibody negative women within
72 hours of delivery of Rho (d)
positive infant, or infant with
unknown blood type

Prophylaxis for
Vitamin K
Deficiency

Bleeding

Phytonadione 1mg Intramuscularly |1 dose

0.5% Erythromycin Prophylaxis of . 4
Ophthalmic Neonatal L c:;lcrlhbl;og i Topical 1 dose
Ointment Ophthalmia y

(3-31-22)T

352. OBTAINING, STORING, AND DISPOSING OF FORM UL ARY DRUGS.
A licensed midwife must adhere to the following protocol for obtaining, storing, and disposing of formulary drugs

during the practice of midwifery. (3-31-22)T
01. Obtaining Formulary Drugs. A licensed midwife may obtain formulary drugs as allowed by law,
including, without limitation, from: (3-31-22)T
a. A person or entity that is licensed as a Wholesale Distributor by the Idaho State Board of
Pharmacy; and (3-31-22)T
b. A retail pharmacy, in minimal quantities for office use. (3-31-22)T
02. Storing Formulary Drugs. A licensed midwife must store all formulary drugs in secure areas

suitable for preventing unauthorized access and for ensuring a proper environment for the preservation of the drugs.
However, licensed midwives may carry formulary drugs to the home setting while providing care within the course
and scope of the practice of midwifery. (3-31-22)T

03. Disposing of Formulary Drugs. A licensed midwife must dispose of formulary drugs using means
that are reasonably cal cul ated to guard against unauthorized access by persons and harmful excretion of the drugsinto
the environment. The means that may be used include, without limitation: (3-31-22)T

a. Transferring the drugs to areverse distributor who is registered to destroy drugs with the U.S. Drug
Enforcement Agency; (3-31-22)T

b. Removing the drugs from their original containers, mixing them with an undesirable substance
such as coffee grounds or kitty litter, putting them in impermeable, non-descript containers such as empty cans or
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sealable bags, and throwing the containers in the trash; or (3-31-22)T

C. Flushing the drugs down the toilet if the accompanying patient information instructs that it is safe
to do so. (3-31-22)T

353. -- 354. (RESERVED)

355. MEDICAL WASTE.
A licensed midwife must dispose of medical waste during the practice of midwifery according to the following
protocol: (3-31-22)T

01. Containers for Non-Sharp, Medical Waste. Medical waste, except for sharps, must be placed in
disposable containers/bags which are impervious to moisture and strong enough to preclude ripping, tearing or
bursting under normal conditions of use. The bags must be securely tied so asto prevent |eakage or expulsion of solid
or liquid waste during storage, handling or transport. The containment system must have a tight-fitting cover and be
kept clean and in good repair. All bags used for containment of medical waste must be clearly identified by label or
color, or both. (3-31-22)T

02. Containers for Sharps. Sharps must be placed in impervious, rigid, puncture-resistant containers
immediately after use. Needles must not be bent, clipped or broken by hand. Rigid containers of discarded sharps
must either be labeled or colored like the disposable bags used for other medical waste, or placed in such labeled or
colored bags. (3-31-22)T

03. Storage Duration. Medical waste may not be stored for more than seven (7) days, unless the
storage temperature is below thirty-two (32) degrees Fahrenheit. Medical waste must never be stored for more than
ninety (90) days. (3-31-22)T

04. Waste Disposal. Medical waste must be disposed of by persons knowledgeable in handling of
medical waste. (3-31-22)T

356. SCOPE AND PRACTICE STANDARDS.
A licensed midwife must adhere to the following scope and practice standards when providing antepartum,
intrapartum, postpartum, and newborn care. (3-31-22)T

01. NACPM Scope and Practice Standards. The Board adopts the Essential Documents of the
National Association of Certified Professional Midwives as scope and practice standards for licensed midwives. All
licensed midwives must adhere to these scope and practice standards during the practice of midwifery to the extent
such scope and practice standards are consistent with the Board’ s enabling law, Chapter 55, Title 54, Idaho Code.

(3-31-22)T

02. Conditionsfor Which a Licensed Midwife May Not Provide Care. A licensed midwife may not
provide care for a client with conditions listed in Section 54-5505(1)(€)(i), daho Code. (3-31-22)T

03. Conditions for Which a Licensed Midwife May Not Provide Care Without Health Care
Provider Involvement. A licensed midwife may not provide care for a client with a history of the disorders,
diagnoses, conditions, or symptoms listed in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(ii), Idaho Code, unless such disorders, diagnoses,
conditions or symptoms are being treated, monitored or managed by a licensed health care provider. For purposes of
this Paragraph, in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(ii), Idaho Code, “history” means a “current history” and “illegal drug use’
means “illegal drug abuse or addiction.” Before providing care to such aclient, the licensed midwife must notify the
client in writing that the client must obtain the described physician care as a condition to the client’s eligibility to
obtain maternity care from the licensed midwife. The licensed midwife must, additionally, obtain the client’s signed
acknowledgment that the client has received the written notice. (3-31-22)T

04. Conditions for Which a Licensed Midwife Must Recommend Physician Involvement. Before
providing care for a client with a history of any of the disorders, diagnoses, conditions or symptoms listed in Section
54-5505(1)(e)(iii), Idaho Code, a licensed midwife must provide written notice to the client that the client is advised
to see a physician licensed under Chapter 18, Title 54, Idaho Code, or under an equivalent provision of the law of a
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state bordering ldaho, during the client’s pregnancy. Additionally, the licensed midwife must obtain the client’s
signed acknowledgment that the client has received the written notice. (3-31-22)T

05. Conditionsfor which a Licensed Midwife must Facilitate Hospital Transfer. (3-31-22)T

a. Conditions. A licensed midwife must facilitate the immediate transfer of a client to a hospital for
emergency care if the client has any of the disorders, diagnoses, conditions or symptoms listed in Section 54-
5505(1)(e)(iv), Idaho Code, and the following: (3-31-22)T

i Maternal fever in labor of more than 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit, in the absence of environmental
factors; (3-31-22)T

ii. Suggestion of fetal jeopardy, such as frank bleeding before delivery, any abnormal bleeding (with
or without abdominal pain), evidence of placental abruption, meconium with non-reassuring fetal heart tone patterns
where birth is not imminent, or abnormal fetal heart tones with non-reassuring patterns where birth is not imminent;

(3-31-22)T

b. Plan for Emergency Transfer and Transport. When facilitating a transfer under Subsection 356.05,
the licensed midwife must notify the hospital when the transfer is initiated, accompany the client to the hospital, if
feasible, or communicate by telephone with the hospital if the licensed midwife is unable to be present personally.
The licensed midwife must also ensure that the transfer of care is accompanied by the client’s medical record, which
must include items defined in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(v), ldaho Code, and if feasible, the licensed midwife's
assessment of the client’s current medical condition and description of the care provided by the licensed midwife
before transfer. (3-31-22)T

C. Transfer or Termination of Care. A midwife who deems it necessary to transfer or terminate care
pursuant to the laws and rules of the Board or for any other reason must transfer or terminate care and will not be
regarded as having abandoned care or wrongfully terminated services. (3-31-22)T
357. -- 359. (RESERVED)

360. NEWBORN TRANSFER OF CARE OR CONSULTATION.

01. Newborn Transfer of Care. Conditions for which a licensed midwife must facilitate the
immediate transfer of a newborn to a hospital for emergency care: (3-31-22)T
a. Respiratory distress defined as respiratory rate greater than eighty (80) or grunting, flaring, or
retracting for more than one (1) hour. (3-31-22)T
b. Any respiratory distress following delivery with moderate to thick meconium stained fluid.
(3-31-22)T
C. Central cyanosis or pallor for more than ten (10) minutes. (3-31-22)T
d. Apgar score of six (6) or less at five (5) minutes of age. (3-31-22)T
e Abnormal bleeding. (3-31-22)T
f. Any condition requiring more than six (6) hours of continuous, immediate postpartum eval uation.
(3-31-22)T
0. Any vesicular skin lesions. (3-31-22)T
h. Seizure-like activity. (3-31-22)T
i Any bright green emesis. (3-31-22)T
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j- Poor feeding effort due to lethargy or disinterest in nursing for more than two (2) hours

immediately following birth. (3-31-22)T

02. Newborn Consultation Required. Conditions for which a licensed midwife must consult a

Pediatric Provider (Neonatologist, Pediatrician, Family Practice Physician, Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, or

Physician Assistant): (3-31-22)T

a. Temperature instability, defined as a rectal temperature less than ninety-six point eight (96.8)

degrees Fahrenheit or greater than one hundred point four (100.4) degrees Fahrenheit documented two (2) times more

than fifteen (15) minutes apart. (3-31-22)T

b. Murmur lasting more than twenty-four (24) hours immediately following birth. (3-31-22)T

C. Cardiac arrhythmia. (3-31-22)T

d. Congenital anomalies. (3-31-22)T

e Birth injury. (3-31-22)T

f. Clinical evidence of prematurity, including but not limited to, low birth weight of less than two

thousand five hundred (2,500) grams, smooth soles of feet, or immature genitalia. (3-31-22)T
0. Any jaundice in the first twenty-four (24) hours after birth or significant jaundice at any time.

(3-31-22)T

h. No stool for more than twenty-four (24) hoursimmediately following birth. (3-31-22)T

i No urine output for more than twenty-four (24) hours. (3-31-22)T

j Development of persistent poor feeding effort at any time. (3-31-22)T

361. -- 449, (RESERVED)
450. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.
01. Standards of Conduct. If a licensed midwife or an applicant for licensure, renewal, or

reinstatement has engaged in unprofessional conduct, the Board may refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate the
applicant’ s license and may discipline the licensee. Unprofessional conduct includes, without limitation, those actions

defined in Section 54-5510, Idaho Code, and any of the following: (3-31-22)T
a. Having a license suspended, revoked, or otherwise disciplined in this or any other state or
jurisdiction; (3-31-22)T
b. Having been convicted of any felony, or of a lesser crime that reflects adversely on the person’s

fitnessto be alicensed midwife. Such lesser crimesinclude, but are not limited to, any crime involving the delivery of
health care services, dishonesty, misrepresentation, theft, or an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation of another to
commit afelony or such lesser crimes. (3-31-22)T

(o Violating any standards of conduct set forth in these rules, whether or not specifically labeled as
such, and including without limitation any scope and practice standards, record-keeping requirements, notice
requirements, or requirements for documenting informed consent. (3-31-22)T

02. Discipline. If the Board determines that a licensed midwife has engaged in unprofessional conduct,
it may impose discipline against the licensed midwife that includes, without limitation, the following: (3-31-22)T

a. Require that a licensed midwife practice midwifery under the supervision of another health care
provider. The Board may specify the nature and extent of the supervision and may require the licensed midwife to
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enter into a consultation, collaboration, proctoring, or supervisory agreement, written or otherwise, with the other

health care provider; (3-31-22)T
b. Suspend or revoke alicense; (3-31-22)T
(o Impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each violation of the Board's
laws and rules; and (3-31-22)T
d. Order payment of the costs and fees incurred by the Board for the investigation and prosecution of
the violation of the Board's laws and rules. (3-31-22)T

451. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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