IDAPA 39 — IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
Division of Motor Vehicles

39.03.81 — Rules Governing Issuance of Temporary Permits
in Lieu of Full Registration

Who does this rule apply to?
Commercial vehicle transporters or owners both resident and non-resident requiring the issuance

of temporary permits for registered or non-registered vehicles.

» Resident commercial vehicle operators or owners needing a temporary weight increase permit
or temporary registration; and

* Non-Resident commercial vehicle operators or owners needing temporary registration in
Idaho.

What is the purpose of this rule?
This rule provides for temporary permits to be issued in lieu of requiring full registrations for

residents and non-residents for commercial vehicles and commercial vehicle combinations. These
permits can be issued for 120 hours to 30 days, and can be issued to registered vehicles for a
temporary weight increase and to non-residents needing to operate for up to 30 days (for a
maximum of 90 days) provided all requirements are met and proof of ownership is satisfied. The
purpose of the rule is to ensure safety to the traveling public and safety to the state’s
infrastructure.

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?
This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Motor Vehicles -
General:
* 49-201, Idaho Code — Duties of Board

Motor Vehicle Registration:
* 49-432, Idaho Code — Temporary Registration for Residents and Nonresidents — Fees

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Idaho Transportation Department
Monday — Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
P.O. Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

3311 West State Street

Phone: (208) 334-8000

itd.idaho.gov
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https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH2/SECT49-201/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH4/SECT49-432/
https://itd.idaho.gov/
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39.03.81 — RULES GOVERNING ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY PERMITS
IN LIEU OF FULL REGISTRATION

000. LEGALAUTHORITY.
This rule is adopted under authority of Sections 49-201 and 49-432, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. The rule is titled IDAPA 39.03.81, “Rules Governing Issuance of Temporary Permits In Lieu

of Full Registration.” (3-15-02)
02. Scope. This chapter clarifies the requirements governing the issuance of temporary permits for
resident and nonresident vehicle operators or owners. (3-15-02)

002. - 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Combination of Vehicles. A tractor or truck tractor and one (1) or more trailers and/or semitrailers.

(5-3-03)

02. First Available Location. The first vendor along an owner’s or operator’s route of travel from

whom one hundred twenty (120) hour temporary permits in lieu of registration can be purchased. (3-15-02)
03. Increased Registered Weight Temporary Permit. Temporary authority to exceed the registered
maximum gross weight of a vehicle as authorized by Section 49-432, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)
04. Licensed Vehicle. A vehicle currently registered in any jurisdiction. (3-15-02)

0s. One Hundred Twenty Hour Temporary Permit. A one hundred twenty (120) hour temporary
permit issued in lieu of an IFTA license/decal and/or vehicle licensing and registration as authorized by Section 49-
432, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

06. Single Vehicle. Any tractor, truck tractor, or motor vehicle that is not combined with nor towing
one (1) or more trailers and/or semitrailers. Additionally, any unlicensed trailer or semitrailer may be deemed a single
vehicle. (5-3-03)

07. Vendor. A governmental agency, private or commercial business which sells temporary permits as
an agent of the Idaho Transportation Department. (3-15-02)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)
100. GENERAL PROVISIONS.
01. Availability. One hundred twenty (120) hour temporary permits in lieu of registration are available

to owners or operators whose jurisdiction of residence allows temporary permits to like vehicles from the state of
Idaho. Increased registered weight temporary permits are available to currently registered vehicles capable of legally

operating at the higher gross vehicle weight as declared by the owner or operator. (3-15-02)
02. Purchase of Temporary Permits. (3-15-02)
a. Owners or operators electing to use increased registered weight temporary permits must purchase

permits prior to movement of vehicles on the public highways or roads. Failure to do so may result in enforcement
action and may include mandatory full licensing and registration of such vehicle as required by Section 49-434, Idaho
Code. The temporary permit shall be on a form prescribed by the department and prominently displayed on the
windshield of the permitted vehicle. (3-15-02)

b. One hundred twenty (120) hour temporary permits in lieu of registration must be purchased by
owners or operators of unlicensed vehicles prior to their movement on the highway. Licensed vehicles may purchase
one hundred twenty (120) hour permits in lieu of registration at the first available location as defined by this rule. The
temporary permit shall be on a form prescribed by the department and prominently displayed on the windshield of the
permitted vehicle. (3-15-02)
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 39.03.81 — Issuance of Temporary
Idaho Transportation Department Permits in Lieu of Full Registration

c. All temporary permits shall be made available for inspection by any law enforcement officer and
authorized personnel of the department upon request. (3-15-02)

d. Section 49-432, Idaho Code, provides that owners of motor vehicles or combinations of vehicles
subject to registration may, in lieu of licensing and registration, purchase a one hundred twenty (120) hour temporary
permit in lieu of registration for the operation of such vehicles for periods of one hundred twenty (120) hours.

(3-15-02)

e. Section 49-432, Idaho Code, provides that owners or operators of motor vehicles currently and
validly registered over fifty thousand (50,000) pounds gross vehicle weight may purchase an increased registered
weight temporary permit for the operation of such vehicles in excess of the registered maximum gross weight for
periods of thirty (30) days. Such permits shall be in addition to any other permit that may be required for excess
weight as specified by Section 49-1004, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

f. Section 49-432, Idaho Code, provides that owners or operators of motor vehicles currently and
validly registered may purchase an increased registered weight temporary permit for the operation of such vehicles in
excess of the registered maximum gross weight for periods of one hundred twenty (120) hours. Such permits shall be
in addition to any other permits that may be required for excess weight as specified by Section 49-1004, Idaho Code.

(3-15-02)
101. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS.
01. Proof of Ownership. An operator or owner of a vehicle shall show proof of ownership before a
permit is issued. (6-4-90)
a. Resident vehicle proof of ownership may be documented by: (3-15-02)
1. A copy of the Idaho title identifying the owner and vehicle; (3-15-02)
il A copy of a valid lease agreement identifying the owner and the vehicle; (3-15-02)
iil. A copy of an expired registration identifying the current owner and the vehicle; or (3-15-02)
iv. A copy of a valid bill of sale transferring ownership of the vehicle. (3-15-02)
b. Nonresident vehicle proof of ownership may be documented by: (3-15-02)
1. A copy of a valid registration from a base jurisdiction, which qualifies for a permit, identifying the
owner and the vehicle; (3-15-02)
ii. A copy of an expired lease agreement of an owner/operator not acting as a lessee which identifies
the owner and the vehicle; (3-15-02)
ii. A copy of a current lease agreement, providing the base jurisdiction qualifies for a permit, which
identifies the owner/operator; (3-15-02)
iv. A copy of a valid bill of sale transferring ownership of the vehicle; or (3-15-02)
V. A copy of the title identifying owner and vehicle. (3-15-02)
02. Weight of Vehicle. One hundred twenty (120) hour temporary permits in lieu of registration shall
authorize the legal operation of the permitted vehicle to the maximum combined gross weight of a vehicle, not to
exceed one hundred five thousand five hundred (105,500) pounds. (3-15-02)
03. Purchase of Multiple Permits. Residents or nonresidents who qualify for permits may purchase
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 39.03.81 — Issuance of Temporary
Idaho Transportation Department Permits in Lieu of Full Registration

more than one (1) permit at a time to cover a time period not to exceed ninety (90) days. Additional time periods must
be purchased in increments of one hundred twenty (120) hours or thirty (30) days and assessed the appropriate fees
for each increment. (3-15-02)

04. Permit Denial. Any person who has been notified by mail at his last known business address as it
appears on department records, that his registration has been suspended or revoked shall not be allowed to register in
Idaho by securing a temporary permit. Any person, having been duly notified, who purchases a permit and
subsequently operates a vehicle displaying such permit while his registration is suspended or revoked is in violation
of this rule. Any person failing to provide proof of current registration shall not be allowed to temporarily permit for
increased registered weight. Any person obtaining a temporary permit for increased registered weight without a
current registration is in violation of this rule. (3-15-02)

05. Violation of Permit. If an owner or operator of a vehicle exceeds the operating weight authorized
by temporary permit, such owner or operator may be issued a citation for violation of Section 49-438, Idaho Code.
The violation shall be limited to the difference between the amount of the actual operating weight and the operating
weight authorized by temporary permit. A single temporary permit in lieu of full registration may not be purchased
when operating in combination with one (1) or more trailers or semitrailers. Example: Registered or unregistered
trailer(s) operating in combination with an unregistered tractor or truck tractor will be required to purchase a
temporary permit for a combination of vehicles. (5-3-03)

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)
300. REFUND OF FEES.

01. Cause for Refund. The department will grant refunds for permits sold by its vendors or by Ports of
Entry, if the permit was sold as the result of an error made by the department or its vendors. (3-15-02)
02. Request for Refunds. Owners or operators shall address all requests for refunds of temporary
permit fees to the Idaho Transportation Department, Ports of Entry Section, P.O. Box 7129, Boise, Idaho 83707-1129.
(3-15-02)
03. Documentation for Refunds. The following documentation must accompany refund requests:
(6-4-90)
a. Both the yellow display copy and the white receipt copy of the permit; (6-4-90)
b. Proof that the vehicle held a valid Idaho registration at the time the permit was issued; and (6-4-90)
c. Proof that special fuel tax was paid at the pump or that the permitted vehicle was registered with the
Idaho Tax Commission for quarterly payment of fuel tax at the time the permit was sold. (6-4-90)
04. Denial of Refund. If the certificate of registration of the permitted vehicle was mailed from Motor

Carrier Services or the Division of Motor Vehicles to the correct address of the owner of the vehicle thirty (30) days
or more prior to the purchase of the permit or if cause for refund was not provided, a request for refund shall be
denied. (3-15-02)

301. - 399. (RESERVED)
400. TEMPORARY PERMIT VENDOR PROGRAM.

01. Vendor Authorization. Vendors may be established to sell temporary permits provided the vendor
meets state requirements. (3-15-02)

02. Payment to Vendor. Vendors shall be paid by the department at the rate of three dollars ($3) per
permit sold. Permits sold in multiple increments shall be deemed to be issued as one (1) permit for purposes of
payment or remuneration to the vendor. (3-15-02)
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 39.03.81 — Issuance of Temporary
Idaho Transportation Department Permits in Lieu of Full Registration

401. -- 499, (RESERVED)

500. ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS.
Any overlegal permit required pursuant to Section 49-1004, Idaho Code, shall be in addition to those required by this
rule. (3-15-02)

501. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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