Table of Contents

39.02.03 – Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer's Principal Place of Business and Claims to the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund

000. L	egal Authority.	2
001. T	itle And Scope.	2
	Vritten Interpretations.	
	dministrative Appeals.	
	ncorporation By Reference.	
005. O	Office Office Hours Mailing And Street Address Phone Numbers	2
006. P	Public Records Act Compliance.	2
	009. (Reserved)	
010. D	Pefinitions	2
011	099. (Reserved)	3
100. G	General Provisions.	3
101	199. (Reserved)	4
200. Ic	daho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund Control Board Administration	4
300. P	Penalties.	5
301	999. (Reserved)	5

IDAPA 39 TITLE 02 CHAPTER 03

39.02.03 – RULES GOVERNING VEHICLE DEALER'S PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS AND CLAIMS TO THE IDAHO CONSUMER ASSET RECOVERY FUND

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

This rule is adopted under the authority of Section 49-201(1), Idaho Code and the Vehicle Dealer Act, Chapter 16, Title 49, Idaho Code. (12-26-90)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

- **01. Title**. This rule will be titled IDAPA 39.02.03, "Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer's Principal Place of Business and Claims to the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund." (8-22-19)T
- **02. Scope.** This rule clarifies terms used in the definition of "principal place of business" and provisions regarding these terms and payment of claims from the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund. (8-22-19)T

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.

There are no written interpretations for this chapter.

(3-29-12)

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.

Administrative appeals under this chapter will be governed by the rules of administrative procedure of the attorney general, IDAPA 04.11.01, "Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the Attorney General." (3-29-12)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

There are no documents incorporated by reference in this chapter.

(3-29-12)

005. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING AND STREET ADDRESS -- PHONE NUMBERS.

- **01. Street and Mailing Address**. The Idaho Transportation Department maintains a central office in Boise at 3311 W. State Street with a mailing address of PO Box 7129, Boise, ID 83707-1129. (3-29-12)
- **02. Office Hours**. Daily office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m. except Saturday, Sunday and state holidays. (3-29-12)
- **03. Telephone and Fax Numbers**. The central office may be contacted during office hours by phone at 208-334-8681 or by fax at 208-332-4183. (3-29-12)

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.

All records associated with this chapter are subject to and in compliance with the Idaho Public Records Act, as set forth in Title 74, Chapter 1, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)

007. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. **DEFINITIONS.**

- **01. Vehicle Dealer File System**. Books, records and files, necessary to conduct the business of a vehicle dealership. In accordance with the Vehicle Dealer Act, records shall be securely kept by the dealership in such order that they can be readily inspected by a Department Investigator. Such records and files may be kept electronically, as long as such records can be verified by the dealership as true and correct copies of the original records. Physical records or files retained by the dealership may be stored at an off-site location. The dealership must notify the department 30 days in advance of the address of the off-site location prior to moving such records. Records or files stored off-site must be made available to the department within 3 business days upon request. The files and records shall contain but are not limited to:

 (3-29-12)
 - a. Physical or electronic sales invoices for current and two (2) preceding years; (3-29-12)

Section 000 Page 2 IAC Archive 2019 C2

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Idaho Transportation Department

IDAPA 39.02.03 – Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer's Principal Place of Business

- **b.** Physical or electronic copies of purchase orders for vehicles purchased for current and two (2) preceding years; (3-29-12)
 - c. Physical or electronic copies of title application forms accessible in numerical order; (3-29-12)
- **d.** Written or electronic records of vehicles bearing new or used dealers' number plates and their use by a manufacturer, vehicle dealer, or full-time licensed salespersons searchable by date, time or plate number; (3-29-12)
 - e. Written or electronic records for loaner plates searchable by date, time or plate number; (3-29-12)
- **f.** Copies or electronic records of Wholesale Dealer Forms records showing, all transactions, as applicable searchable by date or name of consignee; (3-29-12)
 - g. Physical or electronic odometer disclosure records for non-exempt vehicles; and (3-29-12)
- **h.** Physical or electronic records of consignment agreements, as specified in Section 49-1636, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)
- i. All electronic records must be created in a secure manner to prevent such records from being altered. Electronic copies of records must be legible, complete, and an accurate reproduction of the original business record.

 (3-29-12)
- **j.** All electronic copies of records shall be supplemented with a back-up copy of the electronic records, either retained on-site or an off-site location, which permits the business record to be retrieved within three (3) business days. (3-29-12)
- **k.** Any device, server, network device, or any internal or external storage medium which stores the electronic records must have security access controls and physical security measures to protect the records from unauthorized access, viewing, or alteration. (3-29-12)
- l. Any dealer storing electronic or physical records that contain personal information shall ensure that disposal of any records be completed in a secure manner, by shredding, erasing, or otherwise modifying the personal information to make it unreadable or undecipherable through any means. (3-29-12)
- **O2. Vehicle Dealer Sign Requirements.** An exterior sign permanently affixed to the land or building, with clearly visible letters, visible to major avenue of traffic meeting local building or zoning codes with the trade name of the dealership clearly visible is required. Wholesale dealer signs may be painted on the window of the office next to the entrance door of sufficient size to be easily read by prospective customers. A suggested retail sign size is twenty-four (24) square feet, with a minimum of four (4) inch letters. (3-29-12)
- **03. Telephone**. A business phone that has a published business number and listing in a local telephone directory in the name of the dealership. Business phones shall be answered during declared business hours, in the name of the licensed dealer. The telephone may be answered in person, by an answering machine, or at a remote location in person.

 (3-29-12)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

- **O1. Physical or Electronic Records System Inspection**. A vehicle dealer shall make available all books, records and files maintained at the dealership location for immediate inspection for cause or complaint, or within three (3) business days if records are stored at an approved off-site location for random compliance review by a peace officer or authorized agent of the Department. (3-29-12)
- **02. Title Fee Disclosure**. A dealer may reflect the payment of a state-required title fee as specified by Section 49-202(2)(b), Idaho Code, however: (7-2-92)

Section 100 Page 3 IAC Archive 2019 C2

- a. The fee must be clearly identified as a "TITLE FEE"; (7-2-92)
- **b.** The fee must be shown as the exact amount required by law; (7-2-92)
- c. Any documentation fees charged must be clearly listed separately from other fees and identified to the customer as dealer document preparation fees that are subject to sales tax as part of the purchase price of the vehicle.

 (7-2-92)
- **03. Surety Bond**. A valid bond in the amount required by Section 49-1608D, Idaho Code, for three (3) years after initially licensed, unless otherwise provided by code; (4-11-15)

04. Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery (ICAR) Fund. (4-11-15)

- **a.** All licensed dealers will pay the annual fee as set by the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery (ICAR) Board as required by Section 49-1608C, Idaho Code, unless otherwise provided by code. (8-22-19)T
- **b.** The ICAR fund fee will be set by the ICAR Board annually to be effective the following January 1. Such fee shall be posted on the Department web site and all applicable forms for dealer licensing. (8-22-19)T
- **05. Liability Insurance**. A valid liability insurance policy as required by Section 49-1608A, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)
- **06. Declared Business Hours**. All licensed dealers shall declare in writing to the Department the regular business hours that their dealerships are open and when they are available to be contacted by the Department or their customers. All wholesale dealers shall declare in writing to the department the regular hours that their dealerships are open and when they are available to be contacted by the department or their customers. (3-25-16)
- **07. Vehicle Dealer License Suspension**. Any dealer not meeting the requirements of the Vehicle Dealer Act shall be subject to suspension of an existing dealer license or refusal by the Department to issue a new dealer license.

 (7-2-92)
 - a. The Department's agent will give written notice of deficiencies to the dealer or applicant. (12-26-90)
- **b.** At its discretion the Department may give the licensed dealership a reasonable amount of time to comply. (12-26-90)
 - c. Upon compliance, the license will be reinstated or issued. (8-22-19)T

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. IDAHO CONSUMER ASSET RECOVERY FUND CONTROL BOARD ADMINISTRATION.

- **Quorum**. A majority of the members of the Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Control (ICAR) Board established pursuant to Section 49-1608C, Idaho Code, constitutes a quorum. A quorum is required for voting on any ICAR claims. The ICAR Board chairman presides over ICAR Board meetings. The ICAR Board operates in compliance with Idaho open meeting laws.

 (8-22-19)T
- **O2. Voting.** All members of the ICAR Board constituting the quorum are entitled to vote in consideration of any payment of a claim pursuant to Section 49-1608F, Idaho Code. (8-22-19)T
- **03.** Actual Loss or Damages. As provided for in Section 49-1608E, Idaho Code, "actual loss or damages", means: The total cost to the purchaser, as set forth in a final judgement, of the loss directly resulting in a violation, by a dealer, of the provisions of Title 48, Chapter 5 or Title 49, Chapter 5 or Section 49-1418, Idaho Code; including such things as repairs, inspections and loss of resale value. The term includes the attorney fees and costs in bringing suit against the dealer, and includes pre-judgement, but not post-judgement interest. "Actual Loss or

Section 200 Page 4 IAC Archive 2019 C2

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Idaho Transportation Department

IDAPA 39.02.03 – Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer's Principal Place of Business

Damages" shall not include such things as treble damages, expectation damages nor consequential damages resulting from dealer fraud.

(8-22-19)T

- with the Idaho Transportation Department DMV Administrator. When a proper ICAR claim has been received, staff will review the claim for completeness and compliance with these rules and the provisions of Title 49, Chapter 16, Idaho Code. If the claim is complete and in compliance with statute and these rules, the ICAR Board will send notification per Section 49-1608F(5), Idaho Code, to the subject vehicle dealer with a demand that the dealer satisfy the judgement within thirty (30) days.

 (8-22-19)T
- a. Should the dealer fail to satisfy the judgment within thirty (30) days of notice from the ICAR Board, staff will provide the ICAR Board and the claimant a staff-recommended amount of the claim. If the claimant agrees with the staff-recommended payment amount, the ICAR Board will issue a final order either adopting or rejecting the staff recommended claim payment amount.

 (8-22-19)T
- **b.** Should the claimant disagree with the proposed amount to be paid on the claim, the claimant may request an administrative hearing under the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, within 10 business days of receipt of notification. The department will appoint a qualified hearing officer to hear the claim, take testimony and review evidence; and issue findings of fact, conclusions of law and provide a recommended order. (8-22-19)T
- c. Upon receipt of the recommended order from the hearing officer, the ICAR Board will issue a final order either adopting or rejecting the hearing officer's recommendation of the claim payment amount. (8-22-19)T
- **d.** Final orders of the ICAR Board may be subject to judicial review under the provision of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (8-22-19)T

300. PENALTIES.

A dealer violating this rule is subject to license suspension for a period not to exceed six (6) months. (8-22-19)T

301. -- 999. (RESERVED)

Section 300 Page 5 IAC Archive 2019 C2

Subject Index

```
Administrative Appeals 2
Definitions 2
    Telephone 3
    Vehicle Dealer File System 2
    Vehicle
                  Dealer
      Requirements 3
General Provisions 3
    Declared Business Hours 4
    Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery
      (ICAR) Fund 4
    Liability Insurance 4
    Physical or Electronic Records
      System Inspection 3
    Surety Bond 4
    Title Fee Disclosure 3
    Vehicle
                Dealer
                            License
      Suspension
Idaho Consumer Asset Recovery Fund
  Control Board Administration 4
    Actual Loss or Damages 4
    Complete & Complaint Claims 5
    Quorum 4
    Voting 4
Incorporation By Reference 2
Legal Authority
                0
Office -- Office Hours -- Mailing &
  Street Address -- Phone Numbers
    Office Hours 2
    Street & Mailing Address 2
    Telephone & Fax Numbers 2
Office -- Office Hours -- Mailing And
  Street Address -- Phone Numbers 2
Penalties 5
Public Records Act Compliance 2
Title & Scope 2
Written Interpretations 2
```