# Table of Contents

## 07.01.02 – Rules Governing Fees For Electrical Permits And Inspections

000. Legal Authority.	2
001. Title And Scope.	
002. Written Interpretations.	2
003. Administrative Appeals.	2
004. Incorporation By Reference.	2
005. Office – Office Hours – Mailing Address And Street Address.	2
006. Public Records Act Compliance.	2
007. Definitions.	2
008 010. (Reserved)	2
011. Fees For Electrical Permits And Inspections.	2
012 999. (Reserved)	5

Page 1

#### IDAPA 07 TITLE 01 CHAPTER 02

## 07.01.02 – RULES GOVERNING FEES FOR ELECTRICAL PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS

## 000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

The Idaho Electrical Board is authorized under Section 54-1006(5), Idaho Code, to adopt rules concerning the fees to be charged for permits and inspections of electrical systems. (2-26-93)

## 001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

These rules are titled IDAPA 07.01.02, "Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Permits and Inspections," Division of Building Safety. These rules include criteria for the fees to be charged for permits and inspections of electrical systems. (4-1-19)

#### 002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.

This agency has no w	written interpretations of this chapter.	(2-26-93)

## 003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.

This chapter does not allow administrative relief of the provisions outlined herein. (2-26-93)

## 004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (4-1-19)

## 005. OFFICE - OFFICE HOURS - MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.

The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho 83642. (4-1-19)

## 006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.

The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, and are public records. (4-1-19)

## 007. **DEFINITIONS.**

01. Person. Includes an individual, company, firm, partnership, corporation, association, or other (4-1-19)

## 008. -- 010. (RESERVED)

## 011. FEES FOR ELECTRICAL PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS.

Electrical permit fees are to cover the cost of electrical inspections as provided by Section 54-1005, Idaho Code; any person making an electrical installation coming under the provisions of Section 54-1001, Idaho Code, shall pay to the Division of Building Safety a permit fee as provided in the following schedule. The type of electrical permit a person may purchase shall be limited to the scope of work for which the person is licensed (4-1-19)

**01.** Temporary Construction Service (Temporary Power) Permit. To be installed for construction purposes only, for a period not to exceed one (1) year: (4-1-19)

**a.** Two hundred (200) amp or less, one (1) location: sixty-five dollars (\$65). (3-26-08)

**b.** All others shall be calculated using Subsection 011.06, Other Installation (Including Industrial and Commercial) Permit, of these rules. (4-1-19)

02. New Residential. (Includes associated buildings with wiring being constructed on each property.)

## Reauthorized Rules Temporary Effective Date (6-30-19)T

New – One-Family Dwellings					
Up to 1,500 square feet of living space	-	\$130			
1,501 to 2,500 square feet of living space	-	\$195			
2,501 to 3,500 square feet of living space	-	\$260			
3,501 to 4,500 square feet of living space	-	\$325			
Over 4,500 square feet of living space	-	\$325 plus \$65 for each additional 1,000 square feet or portion thereof			
New – Two- and Multi-Family Dwellings					
Two-family dwellings	-	\$260			
Multi-family dwellings	-	\$130 per building plus \$65 per unit			

(4-1-19)

**a.** Existing dwelling unit permit: sixty-five dollars (\$65) plus ten dollars (\$10) for each additional branch circuit up to the maximum of the corresponding square footage of the dwelling unit. (4-1-19)

**b.** Residential Dwelling unit spa, hot tub, hydro massage tub, and swimming pool permit: sixty-five dollars (\$65) for each trip to inspect. (For all other installations of spas, hot tubs, hydro massage tubs, and swimming pools, use Subsection 011.06, Other Installation (Including Industrial and Commercial) Permit, of these rules.) (4-1-19)

03. Residential Electric Space Heating and Air Conditioning. When not part of a new residential construction permit, or heat/ventilating/air conditioning permit with no additional wiring: sixty-five dollars (\$65). (3-26-08)

**04. Domestic Water Pump Permit**. See Subsection 011.06 - Pump (Water, Domestic Water, Irrigation, Sewage) -- Each Motor Permit, of these rules. (4-1-19)

05. Mobile/Manufactured Home Permit. Sixty-five dollars (\$65) basic fee plus ten dollars (\$10) for each additional circuit. Mobile home and RV parks for distribution wiring including pedestal, service conductors and lot supply to individual units come under Subsection 011.06, Other Installation (Including Industrial and Commercial) Permit, of these rules. (4-1-19)

06. Other Installation (Including Industrial and Commercial) Permit. The permit fees listed in this section shall apply to any and all electrical installations not specifically mentioned elsewhere in this schedule. The electrical cost shall be the cost to the owner of all labor charges and all other costs that are incurred in order to complete the installation of any and all electrical wiring and equipment installed as part of the electrical system, factory assembled industrial machinery to be operated by electrical energy shall not be included in calculating these fees. (4-1-19)

**a.** Wiring cost not exceeding ten thousand dollars (\$10,000): sixty dollars (\$60) plus two percent (2%) of total wiring cost. (3-26-08)

**b.** Wiring cost over ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) but not exceeding one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000): two hundred sixty dollars (\$260) plus one percent (1%) of wiring cost in excess of ten thousand dollars (\$10,000). (3-26-08)

c. Wiring cost over one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000): one thousand one hundred sixty dollars (\$1,160) plus one-half of one percent (.5%) of the portion of wiring costs exceeding one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000). (3-26-08)

Section 011

## Reauthorized Rules Temporary Effective Date (6-30-19)T

## IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Division of Building Safety

## IDAPA 07.01.02 – Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Permits & Inspections

d. All fees calculated under this schedule must be calculated on the total wiring cost of the job, and this figure must be shown on the permit. The permit fees listed in this Subsection shall apply to any and all electrical installations not specifically mentioned elsewhere in this schedule. The wiring cost shall be the cost to the owner of all labor charges and all wiring materials and equipment installed as part of the wiring system. When labor is performed by the owner, such labor cost shall be based upon the market value of said labor and used or reused materials shall be based at fifty percent (50%) of the column 3 pricing as published by Trade Service Publication or National Price Service Pricing or the actual cost, whichever is greater. For all owner-supplied, factory assembled electrical infrastructural equipment to be installed, the inspection will be based on one-half of one percent (.5%) of total cost of the equipment OR an hourly rate of one hundred thirty dollars (\$130) for the first hour of each inspection and sixty-five dollars (\$65) for each subsequent hour. Factory assembled machinery to be operated by electrical energy shall not be included when calculating these fees. (4-1-19)

e. Small work not exceeding two hundred dollars (\$200) in cost and not involving a change in service connections: ten dollars (\$10). (3-30-06)

To 25 HP	-	\$65				
26 to 200 HP	-	\$95				
Over 200 HP	-	\$130				
For phase inverters and roto phase equipment, use Subsection 011.06, in addition to the pump motor fee.						

## 07. Pump (Water, Domestic Water, Irrigation, Sewage) -- Each Motor Permit.

(4 - 1 - 19)

**08.** Electrically-Driven Irrigation Machine Permit. Center Pivot: sixty-five dollars (\$65) plus ten dollars (\$10) per tower or drive motor. Other types: sixty-five dollars (\$65) plus ten dollars (\$10) per motor. (Note: No additional fee required for underground feeder). (4-1-19)

**09.** Electric Sign and Outline Lighting Permit. Electric signs: sixty-five dollars (\$65) per sign; Outline lighting: sixty-five dollars (\$65) per each occupancy. (4-1-19)

10.Requested Inspection Permit. A base fee of sixty-five dollars (\$65) plus an additional sixty-five<br/>dollars (\$65) for each hour, or portion thereof, in excess of one (1) hour including travel time. Out-of-state travel<br/>expenses shall be paid by the requesting party.(4-1-19)

**11.** Additional Fees and Reinspection Fees. A base fee of sixty-five dollars (\$65) plus an additional sixty-five dollars (\$65) for each additional hour, or portion thereof, in excess of one (1) hour including travel time, shall also be paid before approval of the installation if the following services are necessary: (3-26-08)

a. Trips to inspect when the permit holder had given notice to the inspector that the work is ready for inspection when it was not. (4-1-19)

**b.** Trips to inspect when the permit holder has not clearly or correctly given the location of the installation either by directions, maps, coordinates, or correct address and posting a copy of the permit at the service or other conspicuous location on the property or the inspector cannot gain access to make the inspection. (4-1-19)

c. Trips to inspect corrections required by the inspector as a result of the submitter improperly (1-14-87)

**d.** Each trip necessary to remove a red tag from the jobsite. (1-14-87)

e. Trips to conduct a reinspection because corrections have not been made in the prescribed time, unless an extension has been requested and granted. (4-1-19)

Section 011

IAC Archive 2019 C2

## Reauthorized Rules Temporary Effective Date (6-30-19)T

12. No Permit. Failure to purchase an electrical permit before work is commenced, may result in the imposition of a double permit fee. (4-1-19)

**13. Plan Check Fee**. Sixty-five dollars (\$65) minimum for one (1) hour or less. Over one (1) hour: sixty-five dollars (\$65) plus sixty-five dollars (\$65) for each hour, or portion thereof, in excess of one (1) hour. (3-26-08)

14. Fees for Temporary Amusement/Industry Electrical Inspections. Each time a ride, concession, or generator is set up: sixty-five dollars (\$65) base fee plus ten dollars (\$10) for each ride, concession, or generator. (3-26-08)

15. Expiration of Permits. Every permit issued by the Electrical Bureau shall expire by limitation and become null and void if the work authorized by such permit is not commenced within ninety (90) days from the date of issuance of such permit or if the work authorized by such permit is suspended or abandoned at any time after work is commenced for a period of one hundred eighty (180) days. A permit may be renewed for an additional year upon receipt of Bureau approval and sixty-five dollars (\$65) renewal fee. (3-26-08)

16. Transferring a Permit. An electrical permit may be transferred to another eligible party if such party provides to the Division of Building Safety written authorization signed and notarized by the original permit holder consenting to the transfer itself and assignment of all the responsibilities and conditions incorporated into the original permit issuance. A permit may be transferred to the owner of the property on which the electrical work is to be performed and for which the permit was issued, or such owner's designated legal agent, in cases where such owner has terminated his legal relationship with the electrical contractor who originally obtained the permit. An administrative fee in the amount of forty-five dollars (\$45) for the transfer of the permit shall be assessed by the Division of Building Safety. (4-1-19)

17. **Refunds of Permits**. The administrator of the Division of Building Safety may authorize a refund for any permit fee paid on the following bases: (4-1-19)

**a.** The administrator may authorize a refund of the entire permit fee paid when no work has been performed related to the installations or electrical work covered by a permit issued by the Division. A lesser amount up to fifty percent (50%) of the permit fee amount may be refunded if work has commenced and the project is less than fifty percent (50%) complete as determined by the Division; and (4-1-19)

**b.** The administrator shall not authorize a refund of any permit fee paid except upon written application for such filed by the original permit holder or the property owner's representative not less than one hundred eighty (180) days after the date the permit was issued. (4-1-19)

## 012. -- 999. (RESERVED)

Section 011

## Subject Index

## D

Definitions 2 Person 2

## F

Fees For Electrical Permits & Inspections 2 Additional Fees & Reinspection Fees 4 Domestic Water Pump Permit 3 Electric Signs & Outline Lighting Permit 4 Electrically-Driven Irrigation Machine Permit 4 Expiration of Permits 5 Fees for Temporary Amusement/ Industry Electrical Inspections 5 Mobile/Manufactured Home Permit 3 New Residential 2 No Permit 5 Other Installation (Including Industrial & Commercial) Permit 3 Plan Check Fee 5 Pumps (Water/Domestic Water/ Irrigation, Sewage) Each Motor Permit 4 Refunds of Permits 5 Requested Inspection Permit 4 Residential Electric Space Heating & Air Conditioning 3 Temporary Construction Service (Temporary Power) Permit 2 Transferring a Permit 5

## Ι

Incorporation By Reference 2

#### 0

Office – Office Hours – Mailing Address & Street Address 2

## Р

Public Records Act Compliance 2