# Table of Contents

20	$\alpha \alpha \alpha$	12	Dulas	Governing	Vahiala				f Dualman
.59	11/1	1.5 -	RIHES	Governing	venicie	Dealer S	Principal	PIACE O	t Business

000. Legal Authority.	2
001. Title And Scope.	2
002. Written Interpretations.	
003. Administrative Appeals.	
004. Incorporation By Reference.	
005. Office Office Hours Mailing And Street Address Phone Numbers	2
006. Public Records Act Compliance.	2
007 009. (Reserved)	2
007 009. (Reserved)	2
011 099. (Reserved)	(
100. General Provisions.	(
101 299. (Reserved)	4
300. Penalties.	4
301 999. (Reserved)	_

### IDAPA 39 TITLE 02 CHAPTER 03

#### 39.02.03 - RULES GOVERNING VEHICLE DEALER'S PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS

#### 000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

This rule is adopted under the authority of Section 49-201(1), Idaho Code and the Vehicle Dealer Act, Chapter 16, Title 49, Idaho Code. (12-26-90)

#### 001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

- **01. Title**. This rule shall be cited as IDAPA 39.02.03, "Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer's Principal Place of Business. (3-29-12)
- **02. Scope**. This rule clarifies terms used in the definition of "principal place of business" and provisions regarding these terms. (3-29-12)

# 002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.

There are no written interpretations for this chapter.

(3-29-12)

#### 003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.

Administrative appeals under this chapter shall be governed by the rules of administrative procedure of the attorney general, IDAPA 04.11.01, "Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the Attorney General." (3-29-12)

#### 004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

There are no documents incorporated by reference in this chapter.

(3-29-12)

# 005. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING AND STREET ADDRESS -- PHONE NUMBERS.

- **01. Street And Mailing Address**. The Idaho Transportation Department maintains a central office in Boise at 3311 W. State Street with a mailing address of PO Box 7129, Boise, ID 83707-1129. (3-29-12)
- **02. Office Hours**. Daily office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m. except Saturday, Sunday and state holidays. (3-29-12)
- **03. Telephone and Fax Numbers**. The central office may be contacted during office hours by phone at 208-334-8681 or by fax at 208-332-4183. (3-29-12)

#### 006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.

All records associated with this chapter are subject to and in compliance with the Idaho Public Records Act, as set forth in Sections 9-337 through 9-350, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)

# 007. -- 009. (RESERVED)

#### 010. **DEFINITIONS.**

- **01. Vehicle Dealer File System**. Books, records and files, necessary to conduct the business of a vehicle dealership. In accordance with the Vehicle Dealer Act, records shall be securely kept by the dealership in such order that they can be readily inspected by a Department Investigator. Such records and files may be kept electronically, as long as such records can be verified by the dealership as true and correct copies of the original records. Physical records or files retained by the dealership may be stored at an off-site location. The dealership must notify the department 30 days in advance of the address of the off-site location prior to moving such records. Records or files stored off-site must be made available to the department within 3 business days upon request. The files and records shall contain but are not limited to:

  (3-29-12)
  - **a.** Physical or electronic sales invoices for current and two (2) preceding years; (3-29-12)

Section 000 Page 2
Archive 2013

- **b.** Physical or electronic copies of purchase orders for vehicles purchased for current and two (2) preceding years; (3-29-12)
  - **c.** Physical or electronic copies of title application forms accessible in numerical order; (3-29-12)
- **d.** Written or electronic records of vehicles bearing new or used dealers' number plates and their use by a manufacturer, vehicle dealer, or full-time licensed salespersons searchable by date, time or plate number;
  - (3-29-12)
  - **e.** Written or electronic records for loaner plates searchable by date, time or plate number; (3-29-12)
  - **f.** A valid bond in the amount required by Section 49-1608, Idaho Code; (12-26-90)
- **g.** Copies or electronic records of Wholesale Dealer Forms records showing, all transactions, as applicable searchable by date or name of consignee; (3-29-12)
  - **h.** Physical or electronic odometer disclosure records for non-exempt vehicles; and (3-29-12)
- i. Physical or electronic records of consignment agreements, as specified in Section 49-1636, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)
  - j. A valid liability insurance policy as required by Section 49-1608A, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)
- **k.** All electronic records must be created in a secure manner to prevent such records from being altered. Electronic copies of records must be legible, complete, and an accurate reproduction of the original business record.

  (3-29-12)
- **l.** All electronic copies of records shall be supplemented with a back-up copy of the electronic records, either retained on-site or an off-site location, which permits the business record to be retrieved within three (3) business days. (3-29-12)
- **m.** Any device, server, network device, or any internal or external storage medium which stores the electronic records must have security access controls and physical security measures to protect the records from unauthorized access, viewing, or alteration. (3-29-12)
- **n.** Any dealer storing electronic or physical records that contain personal information shall ensure that disposal of any records shall be completed in a secure manner, by shredding, erasing, or otherwise modifying the personal information to make it unreadable or undecipherable through any means. (3-29-12)
- **Vehicle Dealer Sign Requirements**. An exterior sign permanently affixed to the land or building, with clearly visible letters, visible to major avenue of traffic meeting local building or zoning codes with the trade name of the dealership clearly visible is required. Wholesale dealer signs may be painted on the window of the office next to the entrance door of sufficient size to be easily read by prospective customers. A suggested retail sign size is twenty-four (24) square feet, with a minimum of four (4) inch letters.

  (3-29-12)
- **03. Telephone**. A business phone which has a published business number, and listing in a local telephone directory in the name of the dealership. Business phones shall be answered during declared business hours, in the name of the licensed dealer. The telephone may be answered in person, by an answering machine, or at a remote location in person. (3-29-12)

### 011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

# 100. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

**01. Physical or Electronic Records System Inspection**. A vehicle dealer shall make available all books, records and files maintained at the dealership location for immediate inspection for cause or complaint, or within three (3) business days if records are stored at an approved off-site location for random compliance review by

Section 100 Page 3
Archive 2013

# IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Idaho Transportation Department

# IDAPA 39.02.03 - Rules Governing Vehicle Dealer's Principal Place of Business

a peace officer or authorized agent of the Department.

(3-29-12)

- **02. Title Fee Disclosure**. A dealer may reflect the payment of a state-required title fee as specified by Section 49-202(2)(b), Idaho Code, however: (7-2-92)
  - **a.** The fee must be clearly identified as a "TITLE FEE";

(7-2-92)

**b.** The fee must be shown as the exact amount required by law;

(7-2-92)

- c. Any documentation fees charged must be clearly listed separately from other fees and identified to the customer as dealer document preparation fees that are subject to sales tax as part of the purchase price of the vehicle.

  (7-2-92)
- **O3. Vehicle Dealer License Suspension**. Any dealer not meeting the requirements of the Vehicle Dealer Act shall be subject to suspension of an existing dealer license or refusal by the Department to issue a new dealer license. (7-2-92)
  - **a.** The Department's agent shall give written notice of deficiencies to the dealer or applicant.

(12-26-90)

**b.** At its discretion the Department may give the licensed dealership a reasonable amount of time to comply. (12-26-90)

**c.** Upon compliance, the license shall be reinstated or issued.

(12-26-90)

101. -- 299. (RESERVED)

#### 300. PENALTIES.

A dealer violating this rule shall be subject to license suspension for a period not to exceed six (6) months.

(12-26-90)

**301. -- 999.** (RESERVED)

Section 300 Page 4

# Subject Index

```
\mathbf{D}
Definitions
  Telephone 3
  Vehicle Dealer File System 2
  Vehicle
                 Dealer
    Requirements 3
                G
General Provisions
  Physical or Electronic
                            Records
    System Inspection 3
  Title Fee Disclosure 4
  Vehicle
                Dealer
                            License
    Suspension 4
Penalties 4
```