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IDAPA 17
TITLE 02
CHAPTER 11

17.02.11 - ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION UNDER THE WORKERS’
COMPENSATION LAW -- SECURITY FOR COMPENSATION -- SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are adopted and promulgated by the Industrial Commission pursuant to the provisions of Sections 72-
508, 72-301 and 72-304, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 17.02.11, “Administrative Rules of the Industrial Commission Under the
Workers' Compensation Law -- Security for Compensation -- Self-Insured Employers.” These rules shall apply to all
employers securing compensation under the Workers' Compensation L aw. (4-7-11)

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
No written interpretations of these rules exist. (4-7-112)

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
There is no administrative appeal from decisions of the Industrial Commission in workers' compensation matters, as

the Commission is exempted from contested-cases provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act. (4-7-12)

004. -- 011. (RESERVED).

012. DEFINITIONS.

For the purposes of this chapter, the following definitions are applicable; (4-7-11)
01. Indemnity Benefits. All payments made to or on behalf of workers compensation claimants,

including temporary or permanent disability benefits, permanent partial impairment benefits, death benefits paid to
dependents, retraining benefits, and any other type of income benefits, but excluding medical and related benefits.

(4-7-11)

02. Indemnity Claim. Any claim made for the payment of indemnity benefits. (4-7-11)

03. Payroll. The gross amount paid by an employer for salaries, wages or commissions earned by its

own direct employees, but not including any money paid to ancther entity or received from another entity for leased
employees. (4-7-11)

013. RULES GOVERNING QUALIFICATIONS OF SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS.
In order to be considered for approval by the Industrial Commission to self-insure under Section 72-301, Idaho Code,

an employer shall comply with the following requirements: (4-7-11)
01. Payroll. Have an average annual Idaho payroll over the preceding three (3) years of at least four
million dollars ($4,000,000); (4-7-12)

02. Application. Submit a completed application, available from the Industrial Commission’s Fiscal
Section, along with the application fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250), to the Idaho Industrial Commission,
Attention: Fiscal Section, at 700 S. Clearwater Lane, PO Box 83720-0041, Boise, |daho 83720-0041; telephone (208)

334-6000. (4-7-11)
03. Documentation. Submit documentation satisfactory to the Commission demonstrating the sound
financial condition of the employer, such as the most recent CPA reviewed or, if available, audited, financial
statement; (4-7-11)
04. Adjuster. Designate in writing alicensed Idaho resident adjuster; (4-7-11)
05. Previous Claims. Provide a history of workers' compensation claims filed with the employer or
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the employer’sworkers’ compensation carrier during the previous three (3) calendar years. (4-7-11)

06. Custodial Agreement. Set up acustodia agreement with the State Treasurer for securities required
to be deposited under Sections 72-301 and 72-302, Idaho Code; (4-7-11)

07. Supplemental Infor mation. Provide supplemental information as requested; (4-7-11)

08. Initial Security Deposit. Prior to final approval, deposit an initial security deposit with the Idaho
State Treasurer in the form permitted by Section 72-301, Idaho Code, or a self-insurer’s bond in substantially the
form set forth in Subsection 014.02, of thisrule, in the amount of one hundred and fifty thousand dollars ($150,000),
plusfive percent (5%) of thefirst ten million dollars ($10,000,000.00) of the employer’s average annual payroll in the
state of Idaho for the three (3) preceding years; along with such additional security as may be required by the
Commission based on prior claims history; (4-7-112)

09. Written Approval. Obtain written approval from the Industrial Commission. (4-7-11)

014. CONTINUING REQUIREMENTSFOR SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS.
Upon receiving the approval of the Industrial Commission to be a self-insured employer under Section 72-301, Idaho
Code, to continue such approval a self-insured employer shall comply with the following requirements: (4-7-112)

01. Payroll Requirements. Maintain an average annual ldaho payroll over the preceding three (3)
years of at least four million dollars ($4,000,000), if such employer was originaly approved by the Commission
subsequent to April 30, 1984, and two million dollars ($2,000,000) if such employer was originally approved by the
Commission prior to May 1, 1984; provided, however, that any employer who was an approved self-insured
employer on July 1, 1974 need not comply with the provisions of this section. Any self-insured employer that does
not meet the payroll requirements of this rule for two consecutive semi-annual premium tax reporting periods shall be
allowed to maintain their self-insured status for six (6) months from the end of the last reporting period in order to
permit them time to increase their payroll or obtain workers compensation coverage with an insurance carrier

authorized to write workers' compensation insurance in the state of 1daho. (4-7-11)
02. Security Deposit with Treasurer. (4-7-11)
a. Maintain a security deposit with the Idaho State Treasurer in the form permitted by Section 72-301,

Idaho Code, or a self-insurer’s bond in substantially the form set forth below, in the amount of one hundred fifty
thousand dollars ($150,000), plus five percent (5%) of the employers average annual payroll in the state of 1daho for
the three (3) preceding years, not in excess of ten million dollars ($10,000,000) if such employer was originally
approved by the Commission subsequent to April 30, 1984; and five million dollars ($5,000,000) if such employer
was originally approved by the Commission prior to May 1, 1984. In addition thereto, the self-insured employer shall
deposit additional security in an amount equal to all outstanding and unpaid awards of compensation under the

Workers' Compensation Law. (4-7-112)
b. All security deposited by the self-insured employer shall be maintained as provided by Section 72-
302, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

Any withdrawal or partial release of security deposited hereunder must be requested in writing and
approved by the Commission. (4-7-11)

SELF-INSURER'S COMPENSATION BOND

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, THAT , acorporation of the
State of , hereinafter called the Principal, as Principal, and the
surety corporation authorized to transact asurety business in the State of 1daho, as Surety, are held and firmly bound
unto the State of Idaho, for the use and benefit of all those employees of the Principal to whom or to the dependents of
whom the Principal may, during the life of this bond, become liable for benefits under the Idaho Workers
Compensation Law, as hereinafter more fully referred to, in the sum equal to and limited by the sum or sums that may
become due and/or payable by said Principal to said employees under the terms, provisions and limitations of said
Workers' Compensation Law, and in accordance with the terms, agreements, conditions and limitations of this
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obligation not exceeding, however, the sum of dollars, for the payment of which, well and truly
made, the Principal well and truly binds itself, its successors and assigns, and the Surety binds itself, its successors
and assigns, jointly and severally, well and truly by these presents.

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapters 1 to 8, both inclusive,
known as the Workers Compensation Law and all amendments thereto, and Principal has elected to secure
compensation to its employees by depositing and maintaining with the Industrial Commission of Idaho a surety bond
issued and executed by the surety herein named, which surety is duly qualified to transact such businessin the state of
Idaho subject to the approval of the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho.

NOW, THEREFORE, the condition of this obligation is such that if the said Principal shall pay
compensation according to the terms, provisions, and limitations of Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapter 1 to 8, both
inclusive, known as the Workers Compensation Law and all amendments thereto, to its injured employees or the
dependents of its killed employees contemplated by the terms of and covered under the said law, and shall furnish
medical, surgical, nursing and the hospital services and attention and funeral expenses as provided for in said law (all
of which shall be understood to be included in the term “compensation” as hereinafter used), then this obligation shall
be null and void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect, subject, however to the following express conditions
and agreements:

That any employee or the dependent of any employee of the Principal entitled to compensation under said
Workers' Compensation Law, shall have the right to enforce in his own name the liability of the Surety hereunder, in
whole or in part, for such compensation, either by at any time filing a separate claim against the Surety or by at any
time making the Surety a part of the original claim against the employer; provided, however, that payment in whole
or in part of such compensation by either the Principal or the Surety shall, to the extent thereof, be a bar to the
recovery against the other of the amount so paid.

That as between the employee and the Surety, notice to or knowledge of the occurrence of injury on the part
of the employer shall be deemed notice to or knowledge, as the case may be, on the part of the Surety; that the
obligation of the Surety, and the Surety, shall in all things be bound by and subject to the orders, findings, decisions or
awards rendered against the Principal for the payment of compensation under the provisions of the Workers
Compensation Law aforesaid, and that the insolvency or bankruptcy of the Principal and its discharge therein, shall
not relieve the Surety from the payment of compensation for injuries, including death resulting therefrom, sustained
during the life of this bond by an employee of the Principal covered under the Workers' Compensation Law.

That upon request of the Industrial Commission of 1daho, it will make such changes in this form of bond by
endorsement to be attached hereto or by the execution of a surety bond replacing this one, as the said Commission
may deem requisite, to bring this bond into conformity with its rulings as to the form of surety bond required of
employers under Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapters 1 to 8, both inclusive, known as the Workers Compensation Law
and all amendments thereto.

This bond isissued for an indefinite term to begin on the day of , 20, and will
continuein full force and effect until terminated in either of the following two manners: This bond may be cancelled
by the Surety by filing sixty (60) days written cancellation notice by registered mail with the Industrial Commission
of the State of Idaho. This bond may be cancelled by the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho by written
notice to the Surety hereon, which notice shall specify the date of termination of the bond.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, the said Principal and said Surety have caused these presents to be executed
in due form this day of ,20 .

Countersigned

By
Resident Agent Principal
SEAL
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SEAL By
By
Samples of this form are available from the Fiscal Section of the Industrial Commission, 700 S. Clearwater Lane, P.
0. Box 83720, Baise, Idaho 83720-0041, Telephone (208) 334-6000. (4-7-11)
03. Maintain a Licensed Resident Adjuster. Maintain a resident licensed claims adjuster located
within the state of 1daho who shall have full authority to service said claims on behalf of the employer including, but
not limited to, the following: (4-7-11)
a. Investigate and adjust all claims for compensation; (4-7-11)
b. Pay all compensation benefits due; (4-7-11)
C. Accept service of claims, applications for hearings, orders of the Commission, and all process
which may be issued under the Workers Compensation Law; (4-7-11)
d. Enter into compensation agreements and lump sum settlements with Claimants; (4-7-11)
e Provide at the employer’s expense necessary forms to any employee who wishes to file a claim
under the Workers' Compensation Law. (4-7-11)
04. File Reports. Report to the Industrial Commission at the end of each calendar quarter, or more
often as required by the Commission, all outstanding and unpaid awards of compensation. (4-7-112)
a. The report of outstanding and unpaid awards shall be filed with the Industrial Commission by the
end of the month following the end of each calendar quarter. (4-7-11)
b. The report shall be filed even if there are no outstanding awards. In that event, the employer shall
certify the fact that there are no outstanding awards to be reported. (4-7-11)
C. The report shall be submitted on or in a format that is substantially the same as Form 1C36B,

“Report of Outstanding Awards - Self-Insured Employers,” which follows this chapter as Appendix A. The report
may be produced as a computerized spreadsheet or database printout and shall be submitted to the Commission in
writing on paper no larger than eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 2" x 11") in size. (4-7-112)

d. The report shall be signed and certified to be correct by a corporate officer. If an employer has
designated more than one adjuster for workers' compensation claims in Idaho, a corporate officer of the employer
shall prepare, certify and file a consolidated report of all outstanding and unpaid compensation awards. (4-7-11)

e The report shall list al outstanding awards at the beginning and end of the reporting period,
commencing with the calendar quarter during which the award is made or benefits are first paid, whichever occurs
first, along with the amount of any compensation paid on each claim during the reporting period. (4-7-11)

f. A self-insured employer shall also make such other reports to the Commission as it may requirein
reference to matters under the Workers' Compensation Law. (4-7-11)

05. Submit to Audits by Industrial Commission. Each year a self-insured employer shall provide the
Industrial Commission with a copy of its annual financial statements, or other acceptable documentation. Each self-
insured employer shall submit to audit by the Commission or its designee at any time and as often as it requires to
verify the amount of premium such self-insured employer would be required to pay as premium to the State | nsurance
Fund, and to verify compliance with the provisions of these rules and the Idaho Workers' Compensation Law.

(4-7-12)

06. Comply with Law and Rules. Comply with the statutes of the state of 1daho and the rules of the
Industrial Commission to the end that payment of compensation shall be sure and certain and not unnecessarily
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delayed. The Commission may withdraw its approval of any employer to operate as a self-insurer if it shall appear to
the Commission that workers secured by said self-insured employer are not adequately protected and served, or the
employer is failing to comply with the provisions of these rules or the Workers' Compensation Law. (4-7-11)

015. -- 050. (RESERVED).

051. REQUIREMENTS FOR MAINTAINING IDAHO WORKERS COMPENSATION CLAIMS
FILES.

All self-insured employers and licensed adjustors servicing Idaho workers' compensation claims shall comply with
the following requirements: (4-7-11)

01. Idaho Office. All self-insured employers and licensed adjusters servicing ldaho workers
compensation claims shall maintain an office within the state of Idaho. The offices shall be staffed by adequate
personnel to conduct business. The self-insured employer shall designate a licensed adjuster to make decisions
regarding claims pursuant to Section 72-305, Idaho Code. As staffing changes occur and, at least annually, the self-
insured employer or licensed adjuster shall submit to the Industrial Commission Secretary the names of those
authorized to make decisions regarding claims pursuant to Section 72-305, Idaho Code. Answering machines,

answering services, or toll free numbers outside of the state will not suffice. (4-7-11)
02. Claim Files. All Idaho workers' compensation claim files shall be maintained within the state of

Idahoin either hard copy or immediately accessible electronic format. Claim files shall include, but are not limited to:
(4-7-12)

a. First Report of Injury and Claim for Benefits; (4-7-112)

b. Copies of bills for medical care; (4-7-11)

C. Copy of lost-time computations, if applicable; (4-7-11)

d. Correspondence reflecting reasons for any delays in payments (i.e., awaiting medical reports,
clarification, questionable items on hills, etc.), the resolution of such delays and acceptance or denial of
compensability; (4-7-11)
e Employer’s Supplemental Report; and (4-7-11)

f. Medical reports. (4-7-11)

03. Correspondence. All original correspondence involving adjusting decisions regarding ldaho
workers compensation claims shall be mailed from and maintained at in-state offices. (4-7-11)

04. Date Stamp. Each of the documents listed in Subsections 051.02 and 051.03 shall be date-stamped
with the name of the receiving office on the day received, and by each receiving agent or vendor acting on behalf of
the self-insured employer. (4-7-11)

05. Notice and Claim. All First Reports of Injury, Claims for Benefits, notices of occupational
illnesses and fatalities shall be sent directly to the in-state adjuster or self-insured employer. The original copy of the
First Report of Injury, Claim for Benefits and notices of occupational illness and fatality shall be sent directly to the

Industrial Commission. (4-7-11)
06. Compensation. All compensation, as defined by Section 72-102, Idaho Code, must be issued from
the in-state office. (4-7-11)
07. Checks and Drafts. Checks must be signed and issued within the state of ldaho; drafts are
prohibited. (4-7-11)
a. The Commission may, upon receipt of a written Application for Waiver, grant a waiver from the

provisions of Subsections 051.06 and 051.07 of this rule to permit a self-insured employer to sign and issue checks
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outside the state of 1daho. (4-7-11)

b. An Application for Waiver must be accompanied by an affidavit signed by an officer or principal of
the self-insured employer, attesting to the fact that the self-insured employer is prepared to comply with all statutes
and rules pertaining to prompt payment of compensation. (4-7-112)

C. All waivers shall be effective from the date the Commission issues the order granting the waiver. A
waiver shall remain in effect until revoked by the Industrial Commission. At least annually, staff of the Industrial
Commission may review the performance of any self-insured employer for which a waiver under this rule has been
granted to assure that the self-insured employer is complying with all statutes and rules pertaining to prompt payment
of compensation. (4-7-11)

d. If at any time after the Commission has granted a waiver, the Commission receives information
permitting the inference that the self-insured employer has failed to provide timely benefits to any claimant, the
Commission may issue an order to show cause why the Commission should not revoke the waiver; and, after
affording the self-insured employer an opportunity to be heard, may revoke the waiver and order the self-insured
employer to comply with the requirements of Subsections 051.06 and 051.07 of thisrule. (4-7-11)

08. Copies of Checks. Copies of checks and/or electronically reproducible copies of the information
contained on the checks must be maintained in the in-state files for Industrial Commission audit purposes. A copy of
the first check, showing signature and date, shall be sent to the Industrial Commission the same day of issuance.

(4-7-11)

09. Prompt Claim Servicing. Prompt claim servicing includes, but is not limited to: (4-7-11)

a. Payment of medical bills in accordance with the provisions of IDAPA 17.02.09, Medical Fees,

Sections 031, 032, 033, and 034. (4-7-11)
b. Payment of income benefits on aweekly basis, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.

(4-7-11)

10. Audits. The Industrial Commission will perform periodic audits to ensure compliance with the

above requirements. (4-7-11)

11. Non-Compliance. Non-compliance with the above requirements may result in the revocation of

the authority of a self-insured employer to self-insure its workers' compensation obligations in the state of Idaho, or

such lesser sanctions as the Industrial Commission may impose. (4-7-11)

052. -- 180. (RESERVED).
181. RULE PROHIBITING USE OF SICK LEAVE OR OTHER ALTERNATIVE COMPENSATION.

01. Employee Not Required to Take Sick Leave in Lieu of Compensation. No employer obligated
to pay workers compensation benefits to an employee as provided by the Workers Compensation Law may require
an employee to accept “sick leave” or other comparable benefit in lieu of the workers' compensation benefits
provided by law. Section 72-318(2), |daho Code, specifically provides that no agreement by an employee to waive his
rights to compensation under the Workers' Compensation Law shall be valid. (4-7-11)

02. Election of Sick Leave or Alternative Compensation Prohibited. Further, the Commission
construes Section 181 as preventing an employee from electing to accept “sick leave” or other comparable benefit
from an employer in lieu of workers' compensation benefits to which the employee is entitled under the Workers
Compensation Law, and therefore such elections or agreements are prohibited. (4-7-11)

182. -- 270. (RESERVED).

271 RULE GOVERNING REPORTING INDEMNITY PAYMENTS AND MAKING PAYMENT OF
INDUSTRIAL SPECIAL INDEMNITY FUND ASSESSMENT.
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Pursuant to Section 72-327, Idaho Code, every authorized self-insurer authorized to self-insure its workers
compensation obligations in Idaho shall report annually to the Industrial Commission the total gross amount of
indemnity benefits paid on Idaho workers' compensation claims during the applicable reporting period. (4-7-11)

01. Filing. The report of indemnity payments shall be filed with the Industrial Commission
simultaneously with the first Semi-Annual Premium Tax Report; which, pursuant to Section 72-523, Idaho Code, is

due each year on March 3rd. (4-7-11)

02. Form. The report of indemnity payments shall be submitted in writing on, or in a format
substantially the same as Form 1C327, “Report of Indemnity Payments,” contained in Appendix B at the end of this
chapter. (4-7-11)

03. Report Required When No Indemnity Paid. If an entity required to report under this rule has no
claims against which indemnity payments have been made during the reporting period, a report shall be filed so

indicating. (4-7-11)

04. Penalty for Late Filing. A penalty shall be assessed by the Commission for filing the report of

indemnity payments later than March 3 each year. (4-7-11)
a. A penalty of two hundred dollars ($200) shall be assessed for late filing of seven (7) daysor less.

(4-7-11)

b. A penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day shall be assessed for late filing of more than seven

(7) days. (4-7-11)

C. A penalty assessed by the Commission shall be payable to the Industrial Commission and shall be

submitted with the April 1 payment of the industrial specia indemnity fund assessment, following notice by the

Commission of the penalty assessment. (4-7-11)

05. Estimating Indemnity Payments for Entities That Fail to Report Timely. If an entity required
to report indemnity payments under these rules fails to report within the time allowed in these rules, the Commission
will estimate the indemnity payments for that entity by using the indemnity amount reported for the preceding
reporting period and adding twenty percent (20%). (4-7-112)

06. Adjustment for Overpayments or Under payments. Overpayments or underpayments, including
those resulting from estimating the indemnity payments of entities that fail to report timely, will be adjusted on the
billing for the subsequent period. (4-7-11)

272. -- 999. (RESERVED).

APPENDIX A

IC36B -- REPORT OF OUTSTANDING AWARDS - SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS

(Name of Self-Insured Employer)

Calendar Year:

For Calendar Quarter Ending: gMarch gJune gSeptember gDecember
(1) (2) e | @ | 6 ® | o | ®
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Industrial Commission

Date of | Claimant Name | Type of | Total Compensation | Total Adjust- | Unpaid
Injury (a shown on|Clam |Awards |Pad This| Compensation | ments | Balance
First Report of Report Period | Paid to Date [(4) minus
Injury) ®)
TOTALS

Send Original to: Fiscal Section, Industrial Commission, P. O. Box 83720, Boise, | daho 83720-0041

I, the undersigned corporate officer of the above named self-insured employer, do hereby certify that this
report is complete and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Corporate Officer’s Signature:

Title:

Printed Name:
Date:

Name and Title of Preparer:

Company:

Address:

Telephone: E-Mail Address:

Page Of

APPENDIX B

IC327 REPORT OF INDEMNITY PAYMENTS
EXHIBIT A to SEMI-ANNUAL PREMIUM TAX REPORT

Reporting Entity Name;
Reporting Period: January 1 - June 30 (Year)

July 1 - December 31 (Year)

Date of Preparation:

IDAPA 17.02.11 - Workers’ Compensation Law --
Security for Compensation -- Self-Insured Employers
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1. Total Claims:
2. Total Number of Indemnity Claims:
3. Payments Made During the Reporting Period on Indemnity Claims:
a. Total Amount of All Payments (including Medical):
b. Total Amount of All Indemnity Payments:

Certification
State of )

) ss.

County of )

I , being first duly sworn on oath, state that | have read the foregoing
report which setsforth certain information relati ng to indemnity payments made during the reporting period,
that | know the contents, and that | certify the report is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Preparer

Title of Preparer

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me on this day of ,

Notary Public for

Residing at

My term expires:
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