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IDAPA 13 – DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME
13.01.02 – RULES GOVERNING MANDATORY EDUCATION, MENTORED HUNTING, 

AND SHOOTING RANGES

DOCKET NO. 13-0102-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 36-103, 36-104, 36-401, 36-409, 36-412, 36-418 and 
36-1508.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanation of the reasons for adopting the pending fee 
rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee rule with an 
explanation of the reasons for the change.

This rule is being presented for authorization as part of the agency’s plan to review each rule chapter every five 
years, consistent with the Governor’s Executive Order 2020-01: Zero-Based Regulation. The fee portion of the 
rulemaking relates to fees for hunter, archery, and trapping education, and fees related to Commission-owned or 
Department-operated shooting ranges. Changes to current rule include fees the Department may charge for use of 
Commission/Department shooting ranges and for goods and services associated with these ranges. The non-fee 
portion of the rulemaking relates to criteria for mandatory hunting, archery, trapping, and wolf-specific trapping 
education; and allowances for mentored hunting and the hunter passport program for first-time hunters.

No one expressed interest in negotiated rulemaking, and no one asked for public hearing or commented on this 
rulemaking. The agency conducted a public input survey regarding mountain goat gender identification training in 
April 2022. There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete 
text of the proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2022 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-10, pages 266-
268.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or 
charge is being imposed pursuant to Sections 36-412 and 36-418, Idaho Code.

Under this rulemaking the Department would continue to charge a fee of $8.00 for each course enrollment in 
hunter, archery, trapper, or wolf trapper education. This fee has been in effect since March 24, 2017. This fee rule 
would also allow the Director to set a daily use fee for Commission-owned or Department-operated shooting ranges, 
not to exceed $10.00, and allows IDFG range program managers to set and charge reasonable fees for goods and 
services associated with these ranges.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no fiscal impact to the general fund associated with this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Amber Worthington, Deputy Director, at 208-334-3771.

DATED this 18th day of November, 2022.
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DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-2201
Mandatory Education, Mentored Hunting, & Shooting Ranges PENDING FEE RULE
Amber Worthington P.O. Box 25 Boise, ID 83707
Deputy Director Phone (208) 334-3771
Idaho Department of Fish and Game Fax (208) 334-4885
600 S. Walnut Street Email: rules@idfg.idaho.gov

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has initiated 
proposed rulemaking. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 36-103, 36-104, 36-401, 36-409, 36-412, 36-418, 
and 36-1508, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2022.

Any hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This rule is being presented for authorization as part of the IDFG plan to review each rule chapter every five 
years. Consistent with the Governor’s Executive Order 2020-01: Zero-Based Regulation, the agency has revised 
current rule language to improve clarity and reduce duplication.

The fee portion of the rulemaking relates to fees the Department charges for hunter, archery, and trapping 
education, and fees related to Commission-owned or Department-operated shooting ranges. Changes to current rule 
include fees the Department may charge for use of Commission/Department shooting ranges and for goods and 
services associated with these ranges.

The non-fee portion of the rulemaking relates to criteria for mandatory hunting, archery, trapping, and wolf-
specific trapping education; and allowances for mentored hunting and the hunter passport program for first-time 
hunters. Proposed changes from current rules allow parental acknowledgment for in-person classroom instruction of 
their children under 18 years of age, instead of a requirement for the parent or person designated by the parent to 
attend mandatory education instruction. Proposed changes include a requirement for mountain goat identification (via 
test available online) to obtain a mountain goat tag, to support future hunt opportunity by reducing take of female 
(nanny) goats during hunts.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Under this rulemaking the Department would continue to charge a fee of $8.00 for each course enrollment in 
hunter, archery, trapper, or wolf trapper education. This fee has been in effect since March 24, 2017. This fee rule 
would also allow the Director to set a daily use fee for Commission-owned or Department-operated shooting ranges, 
not to exceed $10.00, and allows IDFG range program managers to set and charge reasonable fees for goods and 
services associated with these ranges.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking:

There is no fiscal impact to the general fund associated with this rulemaking.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-2201
Mandatory Education, Mentored Hunting, & Shooting Ranges PENDING FEE RULE
NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, a Notice of Intent to Promulgate 
Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the April 6, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-4, page 17
under Docket No. 13-0102-2201. The Department held a public meeting for negotiated rulemaking on May 16, 2022. 
No persons identified themselves as interested in participating in negotiated rulemaking.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: Not Applicable.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions about the proposed rules, contact Amber Worthington, Deputy Director, at 208-334-3771.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 26, 2022.

DATED this 29th day of August, 2022.

13.01.02 – RULES GOVERNING MANDATORY EDUCATION, MENTORED HUNTING, 
AND SHOOTING RANGES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Sections 36-103, 36-104, 36-401, 36-409, 36-412, 36-418 and 36-1508. (        )

001. SCOPE.
These rules govern hunting, archery, and trapping education, mentored hunting and shooting ranges. (        )

002. – 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Accompany(ied). Close enough for conversation without shouting or using electronic devices.
(        )

02. Mentee. Holder of a Hunting Passport or Nonresident Junior Mentored License. (        )

011. – 100. (RESERVED)

101. HUNTING PASSPORT.

01. Hunting Passport. No person holding a Hunting Passport may hunt wildlife unless accompanied 
by an eligible mentor. Hunting Passports are licenses for carrying and exhibition purposes under Section 36-1201, 
Idaho Code, and authorize holders to hunt without mandatory hunter education. Hunting Passports expire December 
31 of the year for which they are valid. (        )

02. Passport Eligibility. (        )

a. Only persons eight (8) years of age or older, who have not previously possessed a Hunting 
Passport, hunting license, or equivalent license in any state or country, may possess a Hunting Passport. Youths may 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 13-0102-2201
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DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-2201
Mandatory Education, Mentored Hunting, & Shooting Ranges PENDING FEE RULE
possess additional Hunting Passport(s) each year until reaching ten (10) years of age. (        )

b. Hunting passport holders at least ten (10) years of age are eligible to obtain general hunt big game 
tags available for their residency. (        )

c. Hunting Passport holders are not eligible to apply for controlled hunts, except as designated by 
landowners for landowner permission or depredation hunts. (        )

d. Hunting Passport holders under eighteen (18) years of age are eligible to participate in youth-only 
seasons. (        )

102. HUNTING MENTOR.

01. Eligibility. No person may be a mentor unless they are eighteen (18) years of age or older and have 
a valid Idaho hunting license. A mentor may accompany no more than two (2) mentees at once. (        )

02. Game Tag. Mentees may not hunt for species requiring game tag(s) under Section 36-409, Idaho 
Code, unless the mentee has a valid tag for the hunt and the mentor has a tag for that species valid somewhere in 
Idaho during that calendar year. (        )

03. Mentor Hunting. Mentors may hunt while serving as mentors if eligible for that hunt. (        )

103. – 199. (RESERVED)

200. HUNTER AND ARCHERY EDUCATION.
Certification of hunter/archery education to comply with Section 36-411, Idaho Code, means presentation of 
Department-issued or equivalent certification. “Equivalent certification” for hunter/archery education means 
completed instruction by an authorized agency or association including firearms/archery safety, wildlife management 
and laws, hunter ethics, first aid, survival, and practical experience in handling and shooting firearms/archery 
equipment. (        )

201. TRAPPER EDUCATION.
Any person who did not possess an Idaho trapping license before July 1, 2011, is ineligible to obtain a trapping 
license unless they present Department-issued or equivalent certification of trapper education. “Equivalent 
certification” means completed instruction by an authorized agency or association including trapping safety, wildlife 
management and laws, non-target species avoidance techniques, trapper ethics and practical experience with trapping 
equipment. Wolf-only trapping education is not equivalent certification. (        )

202. WOLF TRAPPER EDUCATION.
No person may trap for wolves without successfully completing a Department-held wolf trapping education class.

(        )

203. – 209. (RESERVED)

210. PARENTAL PERMISSION.
Students under age eighteen (18) who are not emancipated may only attend in-person Department mandatory 
education instruction with signed permission of a parent or legal guardian. (        )

211. – 219. (RESERVED)

220. MOUNTAIN GOAT IDENTIFICATION.
No person may obtain a mountain goat tag unless they have completed the Department’s online mountain goat gender 
identification test with a passing score (eighty percent (80%) or higher). One may take this test repeatedly to pass.

(        )

221. – 249. (RESERVED)
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DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-2201
Mandatory Education, Mentored Hunting, & Shooting Ranges PENDING FEE RULE
250. EDUCATION FEES.
The Department will charge eight dollars ($8) for each course enrollment in hunter, archery, trapper, or wolf trapper 
education. (        )

251. –299. (RESERVED)

300. SHOOTING RANGE FEES.

01. Fee Schedule. The Director may set a daily use fee for Commission-owned or Department-
operated shooting ranges, not to exceed ten dollars ($10.00), which a person must pay to use the range. (        )

02. Goods and Services. Department range program managers have authority to set and charge 
reasonable fees for goods available for resale, equipment rentals, and services provided to enhance user experience 
unique to the range. (        )

301. –999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 20 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS
20.03.17 – RULES GOVERNING LEASES ON STATE-OWNED NAVIGABLE WATERWAYS

DOCKET NO. 20-0317-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and the Idaho State Board of Land Commissioners 
and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), 
Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution 
of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 58-104(6), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

Following Executive Order 2020-01, Zero-Based Regulation, this rule chapter is scheduled for a comprehensive 
review in 2022 with the goal of simplifying the rules for increased clarity and ease of use. The overall regulatory 
burden has been reduced by decreasing both total word count and the number of restrictive words in the new rule 
chapter. Application and assignment fees have been increased to cover the costs of reviewing applications. Late 
payment policy is updated, and payment extensions are eliminated. Appraisals, if needed, will now be paid for by the 
applicant and will not be performed by qualified Department staff.

There are no changes to the pending fee rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of 
the proposed rule was published in the September 7, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-9, pages 209-216. 
An unofficial strikethrough version of the proposed rule, which shows the changes made through the rulemaking 
process, is available on the agency website at https://www.idl.idaho.gov/rulemaking/docket-20-0317-2201/.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased.

The $150 application fee in place since 2008 is increased to $425. This fee is being imposed pursuant to Sections 
58-104, 58-127 and 58-603, Idaho Code. The $150 assignment fee is increased to $200. This fee is being imposed 
pursuant to Sections 58-104 and 58-127, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Eric Wilson at (208) 334-0261 or ewilson@idl.idaho.gov.

DATED this 18th day October, 2022.

Eric Wilson, Resource Protection and Assistance Bureau Chief
Idaho Department of Lands
300 N. 6th Street, Suite 103
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0050
Phone: (208) 334-0261
Fax: (208) 334-3698
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0317-2201
Rules Governing Leases On State-Owned Navigable Waterways PENDING FEE RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 58-104(6) and 58-105, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 21, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The Idaho Department of Lands initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order 2020-01: Zero-
Based Regulation. This rule chapter is scheduled for a comprehensive review in 2022 with the goal of simplifying 
and streamlining the rules for increased clarity and ease of use.

The overall regulatory burden has been reduced by decreasing both total word count (-17%) and the number of 
restrictive words (-23%) in the proposed rule. Application and assignment fees have been increased to cover the costs 
of reviewing applications. Late payment policy is updated, and payment extensions are eliminated. Appraisals, if 
needed, will now be paid for by the applicant and will not be performed by qualified Department staff.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

The $150 application fee in place since 2008 is increased to $425. This fee is being imposed pursuant to Sections 
58-104, 58-127 and 58-603, Idaho Code. The $150 assignment fee is increased to $200. This fee is being imposed 
pursuant to Sections 58-104 and 58-127, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the April 6, 2022, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-4, pages 39–40.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Eric Wilson at (208) 334-0261 or 
ewilson@idl.idaho.gov. 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 28, 2022.

DATED this 7th day of September, 2022.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0317-2201
Rules Governing Leases On State-Owned Navigable Waterways PENDING FEE RULE
20.03.17 – RULES GOVERNING LEASES ON STATE-OWNED NAVIGABLE WATERWAYS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This Chapter is adopted under the legal authorities of Title 58, Chapter 1, Idaho Code, Sections 58-104(6), 58-104(9), 
and 58-105; Title 58, Chapter 3, Idaho Code, Sections 58-304 through 58-312; Title 58, Chapter 6, Idaho Code; Title 
58, Chapter 12; and Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (        )

001. SCOPE.

01. Scope. These rules govern the issuance of leases on state-owned navigable waterways. While the 
State asserts the right to issue leases for all encroachments, navigational or non-navigational, upon, in or above the 
beds or waters of navigable lakes and rivers, nothing in these rules may be construed to vest in the state of Idaho any 
property, right or claim of such right to any private lands lying above the natural or ordinary high water mark of any 
navigable lake or river. (        )

02. Rules Applicable To All Existing And Proposed Uses And Encroachments. These rules apply to 
all existing and proposed uses and encroachments, whether or not authorized by permit under the Lake Protection 
Act, Title 58, Chapter 13, Idaho Code, or the Stream Channel Protection Act, Title 42, Chapter 38, Idaho Code. These 
rules provide that a lease may be required in addition to existing permits. See Section 020 of these rules for 
information about exceptions to lease requirements.  (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Board. The Idaho State Board of Land Commissioners or its designee. (        )

02. Commercial Marina. A commercial navigational encroachment whose primary purpose is to 
provide moorage for rental or for free to the general public. (        )

03. Commercial Navigational Encroachment. A navigational encroachment used for commercial 
purposes. (        )

04. Community Dock. A structure that provides private moorage for more than two (2) adjacent 
littoral owners, or other littoral owners possessing a littoral common area with littoral rights including, but not limited 
to, homeowners’ associations. No public access is required for a community dock. (        )

05. Department. The Idaho Department of Lands or its designee. (        )

06. Director. The director of the Idaho Department of Lands or his designee. (        )

07. Dock Surface Area. Includes docks, slips, piers, and ramps and is calculated in square feet. Dock 
surface area does not include pilings, submerged anchors, or undecked breakwaters. (        )

08. Encroachments in Aid of Navigation. Includes docks, piers, jet ski and boat lifts, buoys, pilings, 
breakwaters, boat ramps, channels or basins, and other facilities used to support water craft and moorage on, in, or 
above the beds or waters of a navigable lake, river or stream. The term “encroachments in aid of navigation” is used 
interchangeably with “navigational encroachments.” (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 20-0317-2201
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0317-2201
Rules Governing Leases On State-Owned Navigable Waterways PENDING FEE RULE
09. Encroachments Not in Aid of Navigation. Includes all other encroachments on, in, or above the 
beds or waters of a navigable lake, river or stream, including landfills, bridges, utility and power lines, or other 
structures not constructed primarily for use in aid of navigation. It also includes float homes and floating toys. The 
term “encroachments not in aid of navigation” is used interchangeably with “non-navigational encroachments.”

(        )

10. Market Value. The most probable price at a specified date, in cash, or on terms reasonably 
equivalent to cash, for which the property should bring in a competitive and open market under all conditions 
requisite to a fair sale, the buyer and seller each acting prudently and knowledgeably, and assuming the price is not 
affected by undue stimulus. (        )

11. Natural or Ordinary High Water Mark. The line that the water impresses upon the soil by 
covering it for a sufficient period of time to deprive the soil of its vegetation and destroy its value for agricultural 
purposes. If, however, the soil, configuration of the surface, or vegetation has been altered by man’s activity, the 
ordinary high water mark is located where it would have been if the alteration had not occurred. (        )

12. Person. An individual, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, association, trust, 
unincorporated organization or other legal entity qualified to do business in the state of Idaho and any federal, state, 
tribal, or municipal unit of government. (        )

13. Riparian or Littoral Rights. The rights of owners or lessees of land adjacent to navigable lakes, 
rivers or streams to maintain their adjacency to the lake, river, or stream and to make use of their rights as riparian or 
littoral owners or lessees in building or using aids to navigation but does not include any right to make any 
consumptive use of the waters. (        )

14. Single-Family Dock. A structure providing noncommercial moorage that serves one (1) waterfront 
owner whose waterfront footage is no less than twenty-five (25) feet. (        )

15. State-Owned Navigable Waterways and Navigable Waterways. As used in these rules, the beds 
of all navigable waterways up to the natural or ordinary high water mark as of the date Idaho was admitted into 
statehood. This includes any such bed that was formerly submerged and subsequently filled and is now uplands 
because of human activity (e.g., dikes, berms, jetties) or by natural processes, and includes islands within navigable 
waterways resulting from human activity or by natural processes. (        )

16. Submerged Lands. The state-owned beds of navigable lakes, rivers, and streams below the natural 
or ordinary high water marks. (        )

17. Temporary Permit. A revocable instrument authorizing a specific use on navigable waterways 
usually issued for five (5) years or less, but that may be issued for up to ten (10) years. (        )

18. Two-Family Dock. A structure providing noncommercial moorage that serves two (2) adjacent 
waterfront owners having a combined waterfront footage of no less than fifty (50) feet. Usually the structure is 
located on the common littoral property line. (        )

19. Uplands. The land bordering on navigable waterways. (        )

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. APPLICABILITY.
Leases are required for all encroachments defined in subsections 010.08 and 010.09 that are above, across, over, in, 
through, upon, and under the beds of navigable waterways except: (        )

01. Single -Family Docks. Single-family docks constructed: (        )

a. On or before July 1, 1993, that occupy less than eleven hundred (1,100) square feet of dock surface 
area, and for which all required permits and approvals have been obtained. (        )
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b. After July 1, 1993, that occupy less than seven hundred (700) square feet of dock surface area, and 
for which all required permits and approvals have been obtained. (        )

02. Two-Family Docks. Two-family docks that occupy less than eleven hundred (1,100) square feet of 
dock surface area, and for which all required permits and approvals have been obtained. (        )

03.  Noncommercial Encroachments Free to the Public. Noncommercial encroachments owned by 
any municipality, county, state, or federal agency for which the complete use is offered free to the public. (        )

04. Temporary Permits or Easements. Uses or encroachments that are customarily authorized by 
temporary permits or easements, such as roads, railroads, overhead utility lines, submerged cables, and pipelines. 
Information on easements can be found in IDAPA 20.03.09, “Easements on State-Owned Navigable Waterways.”

(        )

021. -- 024. (RESERVED)

025. POLICY.

01. Policy of the State of Idaho. It is the policy of the state of Idaho to regulate and control the use and 
disposition of the beds of navigable waterways so as to provide for their commercial, navigational, recreational or 
other public use; provided that the Board will take no action in derogation of or seeking to interfere with the riparian 
or littoral rights of upland landowners. (        )

02. Director May Grant Leases. The Director may grant leases for uses that are in the public interest 
and consistent with these rules. (        )

03. Requests or Inquiries Regarding Navigability. The State owns the beds of all lakes, rivers, and 
streams that were navigable in fact at statehood. Information about lakes, rivers, and streams deemed navigable by 
the State of Idaho is available from the Department. (        )

04. Stream Channel Alteration Permit or Encroachment Permit. Issuance of a lease is contingent 
upon the applicant obtaining a stream channel alteration permit if required by the Idaho Department of Water 
Resources, pursuant to Title 42, Chapter 38, Idaho Code, or an encroachment permit if required by the Department 
pursuant to the Lake Protection Act, Title 58, Chapter 13, Idaho Code. (        )

05. Submerged Lands Lease Required Upon Notification. All persons using submerged lands in a 
manner that requires a submerged land lease must obtain such a lease from the Director when notified to do so.

(        )

06. Term of Lease, Renewal of Lease. Leases are issued for a term of ten (10) years or as determined 
by the Board. Leases may be renewed for additional periods as determined by the Department based upon satisfactory 
performance during the present term. Renewals will be processed with a minimum of procedural requirements and 
will not be denied except in the most unusual circumstances or noncompliance with the terms and conditions of the 
previous lease. A lease application fee is required for leases that are renewed upon expiration. Lease renewals are 
initiated by the Department. (        )

07. Rights Granted. The lease grants only such rights as are specified in the lease. The right to use the 
navigable waterways for all other purposes that do not interfere with the rights authorized in the lease remains with 
the state. (        )

08. Waiver of Lease Requirements. The Director may, in his discretion, waive lease requirements for 
single-family or two-family dock encroachments whose dock surface areas exceed square footages described in 
Subsections 020.01 through 020.02 of these rules when the additional dock surface area square footage is necessary 
to gain or maintain access to water of sufficient depth to sustain dock use. (        )

09. Private Moorage at Commercial Marinas. (        )
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a. This Subsection does not apply to community docks. (        )

b. Private moorage at commercial marinas is allowed as long as the requirements of IDAPA 
20.03.04.015.03 are met. (        )

c. The sale, lease, or rental of private moorage is not an encumbrance on navigable waterways. All 
transactions related to private moorage are subject to the submerged lands lease’s terms. (        )

d. Acquisition of private moorage must be documented with a disclosure that the transaction does not 
convey navigable waterways and only conveys the right to use the designated portion of the marina. (        )

e. The Department does not regulate the cost of private moorage or resolve disputes between a marina 
and private moorage owners. (        )

026. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. LEASE APPLICATION, FEE, AND PROCEDURE.

01. Fee. The non-refundable lease application fee is four hundred twenty-five dollars ($425) for new 
and existing encroachments. (        )

02. Application to Lease and Fee. The lease application and fee must be submitted with the following 
information, in sufficient detail for the Department to determine an appropriate lease rate: (        )

a. A completed application form. (        )

b. A scale drawing of the proposed lease area with plans detailing all intended improvements, 
including reference to the nearest known property corner(s). An encroachment or stream channel alteration permit 
may satisfy this requirement. (        )

03. Notification of Approval or Denial. The Department will notify the applicant in writing if the 
lease application is approved or denied, and if any additional requirements will be included. (        )

031. -- 034. (RESERVED)

035. RENTAL.
Rental rates for submerged land leases are set by Board policy, which is available on the Department website at http:/
/www.idl.idaho.gov/. (        )

01. Standardized Rental Rates. The Board sets standard submerged land lease rental rates for 
common uses such as commercial marinas, community docks, float homes, restaurants, and retail stores. Rental rates 
for commercial marinas and other uses that produce revenue for the lessee will commonly be calculated as a 
percentage of gross receipts, however, other methods may be used as the Board deems appropriate. (        )

02. Nonstandard Rental Rates. The Board directs the Department to use a percentage of market value 
or gross receipts, or other methods determined appropriate by the Board, as the submerged lands lease rental rate for 
non-navigational encroachments or other uncommon uses. (        )

036. YEARLY REPORTING.

01. Annual Report. Lessees must provide an annual report to the Department that includes: (        )

a. A schedule of moorage rental rates, including moorage sizes and types. (        )

b. The number and size of all public boat and float home moorages. (        )
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c. The number and size of all private boat and float home moorages. (        )

d. Current proof of insurance as required by the lease. (        )

02. Failure to Report. Failure to provide the annual report information is a violation of these rules.
(        )

037. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. LATE PAYMENT.

01. Late Payment of Rent. Rent not paid by the due date is considered late and will result in the 
following monthly charges. (        )

a. A late charge of $25.00 or 1% of the unpaid principal obligation, whichever is greater. (        )

b. An interest charge of 1% on the unpaid principal obligation. (        )

02. Late Charge Accrual. The Department will send monthly statements with the outstanding balance 
that will remain on the account and will continue to accrue late charges and interest each month, or any portion of a 
month, until the balance is paid in full. All payments will be applied first to accrued interest and late charges, and then 
to principal. (        )

041. -- 044. (RESERVED)

045. APPRAISAL PROCEDURES.
Appraisals may be used to determine the market value of adjacent uplands for calculating submerged lease rental 
rates. An appraisal will be conducted by a licensed appraiser selected by the Department, although the applicant may 
propose an appraiser to the Department. The Department will provide appraisal instructions. The appraisal will be 
performed in a timely manner, and a copy sent to the Department and the applicant. The expense of the appraisal will 
be borne by the applicant. (        )

046. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. LEASE AMENDMENT.

01. Encroachment Amendment. A lease amendment must first be authorized through a lake 
encroachment or stream alteration permit or permit amendment, if required. (        )

02. Amendment of Existing Lease. Amendment of an existing lease will be processed in the same 
manner as a new lease application, but no fee will be required. Amendment includes change of use, location, size or 
scope of the lease site, but does not include ordinary maintenance, repair or replacement of existing structures or 
facilities. (        )

03. Modification of Interior Facilities. If the proposed changes to a facility do not require a new 
encroachment permit, a lease amendment may still be needed as described in Subsection 050.02 of these rules. The 
lessee must give written notice to the Department at least ten (10) days in advance of making such changes. The 
Department will determine if a lease amendment is needed due to the proposed changes. When requested, the lessee 
must also furnish one (1) set of as-built plans to the Department within thirty (30) days following completion of 
changes. (        )

051. -- 054. (RESERVED)

055. ASSIGNMENTS, ASSIGNMENT FEE.

01. Assignment of Lease. Leases may be assigned upon approval of the Director provided that the 
lease conforms with Subsection 025.02 and all other provisions of these rules. The assignor and assignee must 
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complete the Department’s standard assignment form and forward it to any Department office. (        )

02. Assignment Fee. The assignment fee is two hundred dollars ($200). (        )

03. Permit Assignment. The encroachment permit/stream alteration permit pertinent to a lease must 
be assigned to a purchaser simultaneously with a lease assignment. A lease assignment will not be approved unless 
the permit is assigned. (        )

04. Approval Required for Assignment. An assignment is not valid until it has been approved by the 
Director. (        )

056. -- 059. (RESERVED)

060. CANCELLATION AND ADDITIONAL REMEDIES.

01. Cancellation of Lease for Violation of Terms. Any violation of the lease by the lessee, including 
non-payment of rent or any violation by lessee of any rule now in force or hereafter adopted by the Board may subject 
the lease to cancellation. The Department will provide the lessee with written notification specifying the violation, 
corrective action necessary, and a reasonable time to make the correction. If the corrective action is not taken within 
the specified time, the Department will notify the lessee of cancellation of the lease no later than thirty (30) days prior 
to the cancellation’s effective date. (        )

02. Lease Reinstatement. A lease may be reinstated within ninety (90) days after cancellation for non-
payment by paying the rental, plus interest, and a reinstatement fee to be determined by the Board. (        )

03. Cancellation of Lease for Use Other Than Intended Purpose. A lease not used for the purpose 
for which it was granted may be canceled. The Department will notify the lessee in writing of any proposed 
cancellation. The lessee has thirty (30) days to reply in writing to the Department to show cause why the lease should 
not be canceled. Within sixty (60) days, the Department will notify the lessee of the Department’s decision in writing. 
The lessee has thirty (30) days to appeal an adverse decision to the Director. (        )

04. Removal of Improvements Upon Cancellation. Upon cancellation, the Director will provide the 
lessee with a specific amount of time, not to exceed six (6) months from the date of final notice, to remove any 
facilities and improvements. Failure to remove any facilities or structures within such time period established by the 
Director will be deemed a trespass on navigable waterways. (        )

05. Additional Remedies Available. In addition to termination of the lease for the material default of 
the lessee, the lease may provide for other remedies to non-monetary breach of the lease including, but not limited to:

(        )

a. Civil penalties as determined by the Board and to be collected as additional rent; (        )

b. The reasonable costs of remedial action undertaken by the Department as a result of the lessee’s 
failure to perform a requirement of the lease. These costs will be collected as additional rent; and (        )

c. Such other remedies as the Board deems appropriate. (        )

061. -- 064. (RESERVED)

065. BOND.

01. Bond Requirement Determined by Director. Bonds may be required for commercial 
navigational, community dock, and nonnavigational leases. The need for bond will be at the discretion of the 
Director, who will consider the potential for abandonment of the facility, harm to state-owned submerged land and 
water resources, the personal and real property of adjacent upland owners and the personal and real property owned 
by the encroachment owner that is appurtenant to and supportive of the encroachment. (        )
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02. Performance Bond. In the event a bond is necessary, the lessee must submit a performance bond 
in favor of the state of Idaho and in a format acceptable to the Director before a lease is issued. Acceptable bonds 
include surety, collateral, and letters of credit. The amount of bond is the estimated cost of restoration as established 
by the Director in consultation with the lease applicant on a case by case basis. To determine restoration costs, the 
Director may consider the potential for damage to land, to improvements, and the cost of structure removal. (        )

066. -- 074. (RESERVED)

075. OTHER RULES AND LAWS.
The lessee must comply with all applicable state, federal, and local rules and laws insofar as they affect the use of the 
lands described in the lease. (        )

076. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 37 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES / 
IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD
37.02.03 – WATER SUPPLY BANK RULES

DOCKET NO. 37-0203-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. This action is authorized pursuant to Sections 42-1762, 42-1734(19), and 42-1805(8), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

This rule governs the Idaho Water Resource Board’s operation and management of a Water Supply Bank 
provided for in Sections 42-1761 to 42-1766, Idaho Code. The purposes of the Water Supply Bank are to encourage 
the highest beneficial use of water, provide a source of adequate water supplies to benefit new and supplemental 
water uses, and generate funding for improving water user facilities and efficiencies.

There are no changes to the pending fee rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of 
the proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-10, pages 866–872.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Idaho Code §§ 42-1761, 42-1762, and 42-1765 authorizes the Idaho Water Resource Board to generate revenue 
through the operation of water supply bank and rental pools and to collect “lease” and “rental” fees in association 
with water supply bank and rental pool transactions. This Proposed Rule does not change current water supply bank 
and rental pool fees.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

DATED this 14th day of November, 2022.

Gary Spackman, Director
Idaho Department of Water Resources
322 E. Front Street
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 287-4800
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized pursuant to §§ 42-1762, 42-1734(19), and 42-1805(8), Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a non-technical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rule.

The Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR) and the Idaho Water Resource Board (IWRB) (the 
“Agencies”) initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order No. 2020-01, Zero-Based Regulation
(ZBR) (EO 2020-01), issued by Governor Little on January 16, 2020. Pursuant to EO 2020-01, each rule chapter 
effective on June 30, 2020, must be reviewed by the promulgating agency over a five-year period. This review is 
being conducted according to a schedule established by the Division of Financial Management, Office of the 
Governor (DFM), posted at https://adminrules.idaho.gov/forms_menu.html. This rule chapter was scheduled for 
review in 2022.

With this Notice, the Agencies propose a new chapter of water supply bank rules. The new chapter is 
approximately 7% shorter than the existing water supply bank rule chapter due to both internal agency analysis and 
external stakeholder negotiation, commentary, and editing. Changes to the rule come through a combination of (a) 
removal of obsolete provisions (such as outdated “order of consideration” processes), (b) removal of unnecessary 
provisions (such as definitions for “year” and “person”), and (c) modifications to existing rules regulating the 
processing of water supply bank leases and rentals.

Pursuant to the ZBR process, this Notice represents the promulgation of a new rule chapter. As a result, the 
proposed rule does not contain strike-out/underline text in legislative format. The old rule has been repealed and 
replaced in its entirety. However, the development of the proposed rule text through two publicly-released 
preliminary rule draft iterations may be viewed at: https://idwr.idaho.gov/legal-actions/rules/idwr-rulemaking-2022-
2023/. At the same website, the Agencies also developed and published rulemaking support documents, which 
provide the Agencies’ recommendations on rulemaking, rulemaking analysis, and responses to substantive comments 
received through the negotiated rulemaking process.

Citizens of the state of Idaho, water users, governmental agencies, and environmental groups may be interested 
in commenting on the proposed rule text. After consideration of public comments received in response to this 
Proposed Rule, the Agencies will present the final rule text to the Idaho Legislature in the late fall of 2022.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed:

Idaho Code §§ 42-1761, 42-1762, and 42-1765 authorizes the Idaho Water Resource Board to generate revenue 
through the operation of water supply bank and rental pools and to collect “lease” and “rental” fees in association 
with water supply bank and rental pool transactions. This Proposed Rule does not change current water supply bank 
and rental pool fees.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to § 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was conducted. 
The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the March 2, 2022, Idaho 
Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-3, pages 24-25.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to § 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis 
of why the incorporation by reference is necessary: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning this proposed 
rulemaking, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

Anyone can submit written comments regarding this proposed rule by mail to the address below or by email sent 
to rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov. The Department will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or 
before October 26, 2022.

Dated this 2nd day of September 2022

37.02.03 – WATER SUPPLY BANK RULES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Section 42-1762, Idaho Code. (        )

001.  SCOPE.
These rules govern the Board’s operation and management of a Water Supply Bank as provided for in Sections 42-
1761 to 42-1766, Idaho Code. These rules are to be used by the Board in considering the purchase, sale, lease or 
rental of natural flow or stored water, the use of any funds generated therefrom, and the appointment of local 
committees to facilitate the lease and rental of water from a rental pool. (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Board. The Idaho Water Resource Board. (        )

02. Board's Water Supply Bank. The water exchange market operated directly by the Board to 
facilitate marketing of water rights. (        )

03. Director. The Director of the Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

04. Department. The Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

05. Lease. To convey by contract a water right to the Board’s water supply bank or stored water to a 
rental pool operated by a local committee. (        )

06. Local Committee. A committee designated by the Board to facilitate marketing of stored water by 
operating a rental pool pursuant to Section 42-1765, Idaho Code. (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 37-0203-2201
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 19 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

https://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2022/03.pdf#page=24
mailto: mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov
mailto: rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov


IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES Docket No. 37-0203-2201
Water Supply Bank Rules PENDING FEE RULE
07. Natural Flow. Water or the right to use water that exists in a spring, stream, river, or aquifer at a 
certain time and which is not the result of the storage of water flowing at a previous time. (        )

08. Person. Any individual, partnership, corporation, association, governmental subdivision, or public 
or private organization or entity of any character. (        )

09. Rent. To convey by contract a water right or stored water from the Board’s water supply bank or 
rental pool. (        )

10. Rental Pool. A market operated by a local committee for exchange of stored water. (        )

11. Stored Water. Water made available by detention in surface reservoirs or storage space in a surface 
reservoir. (        )

12. Water Right. The legal right to divert and use or to protect in place the public waters of the state of 
Idaho, including any storage entitlement, where such right is evidenced by a decree, a permit or license issued by the 
Department. (        )

13. Water Supply Bank. The water exchange market operated by the Board pursuant to Sections 42-
1761 through 42-1766, Idaho Code, and these rules and is a general term which includes the Board’s water supply 
bank and rental pools. (        )

011. -- 024. (RESERVED)

025. ACQUISITION OF WATER RIGHTS FOR THE BOARD'S WATER SUPPLY BANK.

01. General. The Board may purchase, lease, accept as a gift or otherwise obtain rights to natural flow 
or stored water and credit them to the Board’s water supply bank. These water rights may then be divided or 
combined into more marketable blocks, if there is no injury to other right holders or enlargement of use of the water 
rights, and the change is in the local public interest. Any person proposing to sell or lease water rights, or to amend an 
existing lease contract, or to make water available through the water supply bank for the purposes of Section 42-
1763B, Idaho Code, shall file a completed application with the Director on forms established by the Department and 
include additional information required by the Board or Director to evaluate the proposed transaction. The completed 
application shall state the period a water right is offered for lease, or the period that storage water will be released for 
fish migration purposes in accordance with Section 42-1763B, Idaho Code, and the payment terms, if any, requested 
by the applicant. (        )

02. Application. Submitted with the completed application shall be: (        )

a. Evidence that the water right has been recorded through a court decree or a permit or license issued 
by the Department. If the right is included in an ongoing adjudication, a copy of the claim is required; (        )

b. Proof that the applicant currently owns the water right or has the owner’s authorization to submit 
the application. If the right to the use of the water, or the use of the diversion works or irrigation system is represented 
by shares of stock in a company or corporation, or if such works or system is owned or managed by an irrigation 
district, the written consent of such company, corporation, or irrigation district to the proposed sale or lease must 
accompany the application; (        )

c. Information that the water right has not been lost through forfeiture as defined in Section 42-
222(2), Idaho Code, or through abandonment; (        )

d. Evidence demonstrating the relative availability of water to satisfy the water right; and (        )

e. A lease application filing fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) per water right up to a maximum 
total of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for overlapping water rights which have a common place of use or common 
diversion rate or diversion volume. (        )
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03. Inadequate Application. If an application is not complete, the Director will correspond with the 
applicant to obtain the needed information. Failure to submit the requested information within thirty (30) days will be 
cause for the Director to void the application. (        )

04. Criteria. The board will consider the following in determining whether to accept a water right into 
its water supply bank: (        )

a. Whether the applicant is the current owner, title holder, or contract water user of the water right 
offered to the Board’s water supply bank or has authority to act on behalf of the owner; (        )

b. Whether all necessary consents have been filed with the Board; (        )

c. Whether the information available to the Board indicates that the water right may have been 
abandoned or forfeited; (        )

d. Whether the offering price or requested rental rate is reasonable; (        )

e. Whether acquisition of the water right will be contrary to the State Water Plan; (        )

f. Whether the application is in the local public interest as defined in Section 42-202B, Idaho Code;
(        )

g. The likelihood of selling or renting the water right from the Board’s water supply bank; and (        )

i. Other factors as determined by the Board. (        )

05. Resolution of Board. The Board may by resolution accept an application to sell or lease water 
rights to the Board’s water supply bank, or otherwise make water available through the water supply bank. An 
application to lease together with the resolution accepting it becomes a lease. Water rights associated with a lease are 
placed into the Board’s water supply bank upon adoption of the resolution. A resolution accepting an application to 
sell water rights to the Board’s water supply bank will provide authority for the chairman of the Board to enter an 
agreement to purchase the water rights. The resolution may include conditions of approval, including but not limited 
to, the following: (        )

a. A condition providing the length of time the water right will be retained in the Board’s water supply 
bank; (        )

b. A condition describing the terms for payment to the owner of the water right and the sale or rental 
price from the Board’s water supply bank; and (        )

c. Other conditions as the Board determines appropriate, including a condition recognizing that water 
is available through the water supply bank pursuant to the provisions of Section 42-1763B, Idaho Code, for purposes 
of fish migration. (        )

06. Placement of Water Right. Effect of placement of a water right into the Board’s water supply 
bank. (        )

a. Upon acceptance of a water right into the Board’s water supply bank, the owner of the water right is 
not authorized to continue the diversion and use of the right while it is in the Board’s water supply bank. (        )

b. A water right which has been accepted shall remain in the Board’s water supply bank for the period 
designated by the Board unless removed by resolution of the Board. (        )

c. The owner of the water right shall remain responsible to take actions required to claim the water 
right in an adjudication or other legal action concerning the water right and to pay taxes, fees, or assessments related 
to the water right. (        )
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d. The forfeiture provisions of Section 42-222(2), Idaho Code are tolled during the time the water 
right is in the Board’s water supply bank, pursuant to the provisions of Section 42-1764, Idaho Code. (        )

026. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. SALE OR RENTAL OF WATER RIGHTS FROM THE BOARD'S WATER SUPPLY BANK.

01. General. The Board may in its discretion initiate the process to sell or rent water rights from the 
Board’s water supply bank. An application to rent, or to amend an existing rental, shall be on forms established by the 
Director and shall include such additional information as required by the Board or Director to evaluate the proposed 
rental. The sale or rental price shall be the price, if any, as determined by the Board. (        )

02. Application. Submitted with the completed application shall be: (        )

a. Evidence of authority or permission to use water at the proposed place of use, to divert water at the 
proposed point of diversion, and to deliver water through the proposed conveyance system, including a canal, lateral, 
or ditch, for delivery of water; (        )

b. The proposed beneficial use of water and the quantity of water to be diverted during the rental, 
including the number of acres to be irrigated if the application is for irrigation; (        )

c. A map of sufficient scale to show the proposed points of diversion and proposed places of use, 
including the number of acres to be irrigated if the application is for irrigation; and (        )

d. If the rental application proposes to change the nature of use of a specific water right, evidence 
sufficient to establish historical consumptive use, as defined in Section 42-202B, Idaho Code, of the right proposed to 
be rented. (        )

03. Inadequate Application. If an application is not complete, the Director will correspond with the 
applicant to obtain the needed information. Failure to submit the requested information within thirty (30) days will be 
cause for the Director to void the application. (        )

04. Notice. The Director may give notice of an intended rental as he deems necessary, provided that 
prior to approving any application for purchase, or for rental for a period of more than five (5) years, he shall give 
notice as required in Section 42-222(1), Idaho Code. (        )

05. Consideration. All applications received on or prior to November 1 of the calendar year prior to 
the proposed rental start date will be considered as having been received at the same time. Applications received after 
November 1 may be considered only if sufficient water remains in the Board’s water supply bank. (        )

06. Application Evaluation Criteria. (        )

a. The Director will evaluate applications using the following: (        )

i. Whether the proposal would constitute an enlargement of the water right; (        )

ii. Whether the water will be put to a beneficial use; (        )

iii. Whether the water supply available from applicable rights in the Board’s water supply bank is 
sufficient for the use intended; (        )

iv. Whether the proposal is in the local public interest; and (        )

v. Other factors as determined by the Director or the Board. (        )

b. The Department may request additional information from a lessor or rental applicant as needed to 
evaluate the proposed rental relative to the criteria stated in this section. If the information requested from a lessor is 
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not received within thirty (30) days, the Department may consider a different lease to satisfy the proposed rental. If 
the information requested from a rental applicant is not received within thirty (30) days, the Director may void the 
rental application. (        )

c. For applications submitted pursuant to Section 42-1763B, Idaho Code, the Director will only make 
an evaluation as to whether the proposed use of water will cause injury to other water rights. (        )

d. The Director may defer the evaluation of potential injury to other water rights conditioned upon the 
right of any affected water right holder to petition the Director pursuant to Section 42-1766, Idaho Code, to revoke or 
modify the rental approval upon a showing of injury. (        )

e. The Director shall consider in determining whether to approve a rental of water for use outside of 
the state of Idaho those factors enumerated in Section 42-401(3), Idaho Code, except that this evaluation is not 
required for applications submitted pursuant to Section 42-1763B, Idaho Code. (        )

07. Authorized to Rent. The Director is authorized to rent water rights offered by the Board from the 
Board’s water supply bank for a period up to five (5) years, but shall submit applications for purchase, or rental for a 
period of more than five (5) years to the Board for action. The Director will advise the Board on applications which 
require Board approval under Rule Subsection 025.06. The Director will advise whether he can approve the 
application in whole or in part or with conditions to comply with Section 42-1763, Idaho Code. (        )

08. Board Review. The Board will review applications for purchase, or which propose the rental of 
water rights for a duration of more than five (5) years, and may approve, approve with conditions, or reject the 
applications as the Board determines to best meet the purposes of Section 42-1761, Idaho Code and promote the 
interest of the people of the state of Idaho. (        )

031. -- 034. (RESERVED)

035. HANDLING OF MONEY ASSOCIATED WITH THE BOARD'S WATER SUPPLY BANK.
Fees collected pursuant to Rules 025 and 030 from the acquisition, sale, or rental of water rights for or from the 
Board’s water supply bank do not apply to rental pools described in Rule 040 and will be handled as follows: (        )

01. Credited Amount. Ten percent (10%) of the gross amount received from the sale or rental of a 
water right from the Board’s water supply bank and the entire lease application fee received pursuant to Rule 025 
shall be credited to the Water Administration Account created by Section 42-238a, Idaho Code, or to the federal grant 
fund if the payment is received from a federal agency, for administrative costs of operating the Water Supply Bank.

(        )

02. Excess Funds. Any funds in excess of the amount needed to compensate the owner of the water 
right in accordance with the resolution accepting the water right into the Board’s water supply bank and the 
administrative charge of Rule Subsection 035.01.a shall be credited to the Water Management Account created by 
Section 42-1760, Idaho Code, for use by the Board. (        )

036. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL RENTAL POOL COMMITTEES.

01. Board Meetings for Committee Appointments. The Board may at any regular or special meeting 
consider appointing an entity to serve as a local committee to facilitate the lease and rental of stored water. At least 
ten (10) days prior to the meeting, the entity seeking appointment shall provide to the Director information 
concerning the organization of the entity, a listing of its officers, a copy of its bylaws and procedures, if applicable, a 
copy of the proposed local committee procedures, pursuant to which the local committee would facilitate the lease 
and rental of stored water, together with a copy of each general lease and rental form proposed to be used by the local 
committee. The local committee procedures must be approved by the Board and provide for the following: (        )

a. Determination of priority among competing applicants to lease stored water to the rental pool and 
to rent stored water from the rental pool; (        )
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b. Determination of the reimbursement schedule for those leasing stored water into the rental pool;
(        )

c. Determination of the rental price charge to those renting stored water from the rental pool; (        )

d. Determination of the administrative charge to be assessed by the local committee; (        )

e. Allocation of stored water leased to the bank but not rented; (        )

f. Notification of the Department and the watermaster of any rentals where stored water will be 
moved from the place of use authorized by the permit, license, or decree establishing the stored water right; (        )

g. Submittal of applications to rent water from the rental pool for more than five (5) years to the Board 
for review and approval as a condition of approval by the local committee; (        )

h. Prevention of injury to other water rights; (        )

i. Protection of the local public interest, except for applications submitted pursuant to Section 42-
1763B, Idaho Code; (        )

j. Consistency with the conservation of water resources within the state of Idaho, except for 
applications submitted pursuant to Section 42-1763B, Idaho Code; and (        )

k. Management of rental pool funds as public funds pursuant to the Public Depository Law, Chapter 1, 
Title 57, Idaho Code. (        )

02. Local Committee Procedures. The local committee procedures shall provide that a surcharge of 
ten percent (10%) of the rental fee charged per acre foot of stored water rented from the rental pool shall be assessed 
and credited to the revolving development account and the water management account established in Sections 42-
1752 and 42-1760, Idaho Code, in such proportion as the Board in its discretion shall determine. Such moneys, 
together with moneys accruing to or earned thereon, shall be set aside, and made available until expended, to be used 
by the Board for the purposes of Section 42-1761, Idaho Code, unless the surcharge is prohibited by statute, compact 
or inter-governmental agreement. (        )

03. Review by Director. The Director will review the local committee procedures and submit them 
along with the Director’s recommendation to the Board. The lease and rental form must receive the Director’s 
approval. The Board may designate the applying entity as the local committee for a period not to exceed five (5) 
years. A Certificate of Appointment will be issued by the Board. The Board may extend the appointment for 
additional periods up to five (5) years, upon written request of the local committee. The Board may revoke a 
designation upon request of the local committee, or after a hearing pursuant to the promulgated Rules of Practice and 
Procedure of the Board, if the Board determines that the local committee is no longer serving a necessary purpose or 
is not abiding by its own approved procedures, these rules or applicable statutes. (        )

04. Annual Report. The local committee shall report annually on the activity of the rental pool on 
forms provided by the Board. (        )

05. Submission of Amendments to Procedures to Board. Amendments to the approved procedures 
of an appointed local committee which change the amount charged for the rental of stored water shall be submitted to 
the Board by April 1st of any year. The amendment will be considered approved by the Board unless specifically 
disapproved at the first regular Board meeting following the amendment action of the local committee. The Board 
may, upon good cause being determined by the Board, specifically approve of amendments submitted after April 1 of 
any year. (        )

041. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 37 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES / 
IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

37.03.04 – DRILLING FOR GEOTHERMAL RESOURCES RULES

DOCKET NO. 37-0304-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. This action is authorized pursuant to Sections 42-1734(19), 42-1805(8), and 42-4010, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

This rule governs the drilling, operation, maintenance, and abandonment of all geothermal wells in the state. The 
rule also addresses other related operations and environmental hazards pertaining to the exploration and development 
of geothermal resources.

There are no changes to the pending rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-10, pages 873–882.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

IDAPA 37.03.04 governs the regulation of geothermal resource exploration and development and ensures that 
such activities occur in the public interest. The Rule ensures Idaho’s geothermal policy, “to maximize the benefits to 
the entire state which may be derived from the utilization of our geothermal resources, while minimizing the 
detriments and costs of all kinds which could results from their utilization” is met. The Rule also requires fees for 
geothermal exploratory wells, production wells, injection wells, and amendments to permits, as set forth in Idaho 
Code §§ 42-4003 and 42-4011.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

DATED this 14th day of November, 2022.

Gary Spackman, Director
Idaho Department of Water Resources
322 E. Front Street
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 287-4800
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized pursuant to §§ 42-1734(19), 42-1805(8), and 42-4010, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a non-technical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rule.

The Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR) and the Idaho Water Resource Board (IWRB) (the 
“Agencies”) initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order No. 2020-01, Zero-Based Regulation
(ZBR) (EO 2020-01), issued by Governor Little on January 16, 2020. Pursuant to EO 2020-01, each rule chapter 
effective on June 30, 2020, must be reviewed by the promulgating agency over a five-year period. This review is 
being conducted according to a schedule established by the Division of Financial Management, Office of the 
Governor (DFM), posted at https://adminrules.idaho.gov/forms_menu.html. This rule chapter was scheduled for 
review in 2022.

With this Notice, the Agencies propose a new chapter of drilling for geothermal resources rules. The new chapter 
is approximately 23% shorter than the existing drilling for geothermal resources rule chapter due to both internal 
agency analysis and external stakeholder negotiation, commentary, and editing. Changes to the rule come through a 
combination of (a) removal of obsolete provisions (such as the classification and treatment of “confidential” agency 
well construction records), (b) removal of unnecessary provisions (such as the definition and use of the term 
“production well”), and (c) modifications to existing rules regulating the processing of permits for the drilling of 
wells to use geothermal resources.

Pursuant to the ZBR process, this Notice represents the promulgation of a new rule chapter. As a result, the 
proposed rule does not contain strike-out/underline text in legislative format. The old rule has been repealed and 
replaced in its entirety. However, the development of the proposed rule text through two publicly-released 
preliminary rule draft iterations may be viewed at: https://idwr.idaho.gov/legal-actions/rules/idwr-rulemaking-2022-
2023/. At the same website, the Agencies also developed and published rulemaking support documents, which 
provide the Agencies’ recommendations on rulemaking, rulemaking analysis, and responses to substantive comments 
received through the negotiated rulemaking process.

Citizens of the state of Idaho, water users, governmental agencies, and environmental groups may be interested 
in commenting on the proposed rule text. After consideration of public comments received in response to this 
Proposed Rule, the Agencies will present the final rule text to the Idaho Legislature in the late fall of 2022.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed:

IDAPA 37.03.04 governs the regulation of geothermal resource exploration and development and ensures that 
such activities occur in the public interest. The Rule promotes Idaho’s geothermal policy, “to maximize the benefits to 
the entire state which may be derived from the utilization of our geothermal resources, while minimizing the 
detriments and costs of all kinds which could result from their utilization”. The Rule also requires fees for geothermal 
exploratory wells, production wells, injection wells, and amendments to permits, as set forth in Idaho Code §§ 42-
4003 and 42-4011.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to § 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was conducted. 
The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the March 2, 2022, Idaho 
Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-3, pages 26-27.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to § 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis 
of why the incorporation by reference is necessary: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning this proposed 
rulemaking, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

Anyone can submit written comments regarding this proposed rule by mail to the address below or by email sent 
to rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov. The Department will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or 
before October 26, 2022.

Dated this 2nd day of September 2022

37.03.04 – DRILLING FOR GEOTHERMAL RESOURCES RULES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY (RULE 0).
Section 42-4001 through Section 42-40l5, Idaho Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE (RULE 1).
These rules establish the framework for the drilling, operation, maintenance, and abandonment of all geothermal 
wells in the state. (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).
For these rules, the following definitions apply. (        )

01. Applicant. Any person applying to the Department of Water Resources for a permit for the 
construction and operation of any well or injection well. (        )

02. Board. The Idaho Water Resource Board. (        )

03. BOPE. An abbreviation for Blow Out Prevention Equipment which is designed to be attached to 
the casing in a geothermal well to prevent a blow out of the drilling mud. (        )

04. Completion. A well is completed thirty (30) days after drilling operations have ceased unless a 
suspension of operation is approved by the Director, or thirty (30) days after it has commenced producing a 
geothermal resource, whichever occurs first, unless drilling operations are resumed before the end of the thirty (30) 
day period or at the end of the suspension. (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 37-0304-2201
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05. Conductor Pipe. The first and largest diameter string of casing to be installed in the well. This 
casing extends from land surface to a depth great enough to keep surface waters from entering and loose earth from 
falling in the hole and to provide anchorage for blow out prevention equipment prior to setting surface casing.

(        )

06. Department. The Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

07. Director. The Director of the Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

08. Drilling Logs. The recorded description of the lithologic sequence encountered in drilling a well.
(        )

09. Drilling Operations. The actual drilling, redrilling, or recompletion of the well for production or 
injection including the running and cementing of casing and the installation of well head equipment. Drilling 
operations do not include perforating, logging, and related operations after the casing has been cemented. (        )

10. Exploratory Well. A well drilled for the discovery or evaluation of geothermal resources. (        )

11. Geothermal Area. The same general land area which in its subsurface is underlain or reasonably 
appears to be underlain by geothermal resources from or in a single reservoir, pool, or other source or interrelated 
sources, as such area or areas may be designated from time to time by the Director. (        )

12. Geothermal Field. An area which contains a well or wells capable of commercial production of 
geothermal resources. (        )

13. Geothermal Resource. The natural heat energy of the earth, the energy in whatever form which 
may be found in any position and at any depth below the surface of the earth, present in, resulting from, or created by, 
or which may be extracted from such natural heat and all minerals in solution or other products obtained from the 
material medium of any geothermal resource. Groundwater having a temperature of two hundred twelve (212) 
degrees Fahrenheit or more in the bottom of a well shall be classified as a geothermal resource. Geothermal resources 
are found and hereby declared sui generis, being neither a mineral resource nor a water resource but they are also 
found and hereby declared closely related to and possibly affecting and affected by water and mineral resources in 
many instances. (        )

14. Injection Well. Any special well, converted producing well, or reactivated or converted abandoned 
well employed for injecting material into a geothermal area or adjacent area to maintain pressures in a geothermal 
reservoir, pool, or other source, or to provide new material or to serve as a material medium therein, or for reinjecting 
any material medium or the residue thereof, or any by-product of geothermal resource exploration or development 
into the earth. (        )

15. Intermediate Casing. The casing installed within the well to seal out brackish water, caving zones, 
etc., below the bottom of the surface casing. Such casings may either be lapped into the surface casing or extend to 
land surface. (        )

16. Material Medium. Any substance including, but not limited to, naturally heated fluids, brines, 
associated gasses and steam in whatever form, found at any depth and in any position below the surface of the earth, 
which contains or transmits the natural heat energy of the earth, but excluding petroleum, oil, hydrocarbon gas, or 
other hydrocarbon substances. (        )

17. Notice of Intent (NOI). A written statement to the Director that the applicant intends to do work.
(        )

18. Observation Well. A small diameter well drilled strictly for monitoring purposes. In no case shall 
an observation well be completed for production of geothermal resources or for use as an injection well. (        )

19. Operator. Any person drilling, maintaining, operating, pumping, or in control of any well. The 
term operator also includes owner when any well is or has been or is about to be operated by or under the direction of 
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the owner. (        )

20. Owner. The owner of the geothermal lease or well and includes operator when any well is operated 
or has been operated or is about to be operated by any person other than the owner. (        )

21. Permit. A permit issued pursuant to these rules for the construction and operation of any well or 
injection well. (        )

22. Person. Any individual natural person, general or limited partnership, joint venture, association, 
cooperative organization, corporation, whether domestic or foreign, agency or subdivision of this or any other state or 
municipal or quasi-municipal entity whether or not it is incorporated. (        )

23. Production Casing. The casing or tubing through which a geothermal resource is produced. This 
casing extends from the producing zone to land surface. (        )

24. Surface Casing. The first casing run after the conductor pipe to anchor blow out prevention 
equipment and to seal out all existing groundwater zones. (        )

25. Suspension of Operations. The cessation of drilling, redrilling, or alteration of casing before the 
well is officially abandoned or completed. All suspensions must be authorized by the Director. (        )

26. Waste. Any physical waste including, but not limited to: (        )

a. Underground waste resulting from inefficient, excessive, or improper use, or dissipation of 
geothermal energy, or of any geothermal resource pool, reservoir, or other source; or the locating, spacing, 
constructing, equipping, operating, or producing of any well in a manner which results, or tends to result in reducing 
the quantity of geothermal energy to be recovered from any geothermal area in the state; (        )

b. The inefficient above-ground transporting and storage of geothermal energy; and the locating, 
spacing, equipping, operating, or producing of any well or injection well in a manner causing or tending to cause 
unnecessary or excessive surface loss or destruction of geothermal energy;  (        )

c. The escape into the open air from a well of steam or hot water more than what is reasonably 
necessary in the efficient development or production of a well. (        )

27. Well or Geothermal Resource Well. Any excavation or other alteration in the earth’s surface or 
crust by means of which the energy of any geothermal resource or its material medium is sought or obtained. (        )

011. -- 024. (RESERVED)

025. DRILLING (RULE 25).

01. General. All wells shall be drilled to protect or minimize damage to the environment, waters 
usable for all beneficial purposes, geothermal resources, life, health, or property. (        )

02. Permits and Notices. (        )

a. Permit to Drill for Geothermal Resources. Any person, owner, or operator who proposes to 
construct or alter a well to produce or explore for geothermal resources or to construct or alter an injection well shall 
first apply to the Director for permit. If the owner or operator plans to deepen, redrill, plug, or perform any operation 
that will in any manner alter the well, an application shall be filed with the Director and written approval must be 
received prior to beginning work. Application for permit shall be on a form approved by the Department. (        )

b. Application for Permit to Convert to Injection. If the owner plans to convert an existing geothermal 
well into an injection well with no change of mechanical condition, an application for permit shall be filed with the 
Director and written approval must be received prior to beginning injection. Application for permit shall be made on 
a form approved by the Department. (        )
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c. Amendment of Permit. No well may be owned or operated by any person whose name does not 
appear on the permit or permit application and no changes in departure from the procedures, location, data, or persons 
specified on the face of a permit shall be allowed until an amendment to such permit is approved by the Director. 
Application for amendment shall be made on a form approved by the Department. (        )

d. Notice to Other Agencies. Notice of applications, permits, orders, or other actions received or 
issued by the Director may be given to any other agency or entity which may have information, comments, or 
jurisdiction over the activity involved. The Director may execute a memorandum of understanding with other 
agencies to eliminate duplication of applications or other efforts. (        )

e. No application shall be accepted by the Director until the filing fee required by § 42-4003(5), Idaho 
Code has been deposited with the Director. (        )

03. Bonds. (        )

a. The Director shall require every operator or owner who engages in the construction, alteration, 
testing, operation, or abandonment of the well to provide to the Director evidence of good and sufficient security in 
the form and amounts required by Idaho Code § 42-4005(f). (        )

b. Bonds remain in force for the life of the well or wells and may not be released until the well or 
wells are properly abandoned, or another valid bond is substituted therefor. Any person who acquires the ownership 
or operation of any well or wells shall within thirty (30) days after acquisition provide to the Director evidence of 
good and sufficient security in the form and amounts required by Idaho Code § 42-4005(f). (        )

04. Well Spacing. (        )

a. Any well drilled for the discovery and production of geothermal resources or as an injection well 
shall be located more than one hundred (l00) feet from and within the outer boundary of the parcel of land on which 
the well is situated, or more than one hundred (l00) feet from a public road, street, or highway dedicated prior to the 
commencement of drilling. This requirement may be modified or waived by the Director upon written request.

(        )

b. For several contiguous parcels of land in one or different ownerships that are operated as a single 
geothermal field, the term outer boundary line means the outer boundary line of the land included in the field. In 
determining the contiguity of any such parcels of land, no street, road, or alley lying within the lease or field shall be 
determined to interrupt such contiguity. (        )

c. The Director shall approve the proposed well spacing programs or prescribe such modifications to 
the programs as he deems necessary for proper development giving consideration to such factors as, but not limited 
to, topographic characteristics of the area, hydrologic, geologic, and reservoir characteristics of the area, the number 
of wells that can be economically drilled to provide the necessary volume of geothermal resources for the intended 
use, minimizing well interference, unreasonable interference with multiple use of lands, and protection of the 
environment. (        )

d. Directional Drilling. Where the surface of the parcel of land containing one acre or more is 
unavailable for drilling, the surface well location may be located upon property which may or may not be contiguous. 
Such surface well locations shall not be less than twenty-five (25) feet from the outer boundary of the parcel on which 
it is located, nor less than twenty-five (25) feet from an existing street or road. The production or injection interval of 
the well shall not be less than one hundred (100) feet from the outer boundary of the parcel into which it is drilled. 
Directional surveys must be filed with the Director for all wells directionally drilled. (        )

05. Casing. (        )

a. General. All wells shall be cased in such a manner as to protect or minimize damage to the 
environment, usable ground waters, geothermal resources, life, health, and property. The permanent well head 
completion equipment shall be attached to the production casing or to the intermediate casing if production casing 
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does not reach the surface. No permanent well head equipment may be attached to any conductor or surface casing 
alone. The specification for casing strength shall be determined by the Director on a well-to-well basis. All casing 
reaching the surface shall provide adequate anchorage for blow out prevention equipment, hole pressure control, and 
protection for natural resources. Sufficient casing shall be run to reach a depth below all known or reasonably 
estimated groundwater levels to prevent blow outs or uncontrolled flows. The following casing requirements are 
general but should be used as guidelines in submitting applications for permit to drill. The casing schedule may 
consist of multiple casing strings (i.e., surface casing, intermediate casing, production casing) provided drilling depth 
does not exceed ten times the depth of last cemented casing. (        )

b. Conductor Pipe. A minimum of forty (40) feet of conductor pipe shall be installed. The annular 
space is to be cemented solid to the surface. A twenty-four (24) hour cure period for the grout must be allowed prior 
to drilling out the shoe unless additives sufficient, as determined by the Director, are used to obtain early strength. An 
annular blow out preventer shall be installed on all exploratory wells and on development wells when deemed 
necessary by the Department. (        )

c. Surface Casing. The surface casing hole shall be logged with an induction electrical log or 
equivalent or gamma-neutron log before running casing. This requirement may be waived by the Director. Permission 
to waive this requirement must be granted by the Director in writing prior to running surface casing. This casing shall 
provide for control of formation fluids, protection of usable groundwater, and for adequate anchorage for blow out 
prevention equipment. All surface casing shall be cemented solid to the surface. A twenty-four (24) hour cure period 
shall be allowed prior to drilling out the shoe of the surface casing unless additives sufficient, as determined by the 
Director, are used to obtain early strength. (        )

i. In areas of known high formation pressure, surface casing shall be set at the depth determined by 
the Director after a study of geologic conditions in the area. (        )

ii. In areas where subsurface geological conditions are variable or unknown, surface casing shall be in 
accordance with specifications as outlined in a. above. The casing must be seated through a sufficient series of low 
permeability, competent lithologic units such as claystone, siltstone, basalt, etc., to ensure a solid anchor for blow out 
prevention equipment and to protect usable groundwater from contamination. Additional casing may be required if 
the first string has not been cemented through a sufficient series of such beds, or a rapidly increasing thermal gradient 
or formation pressures are encountered. (        )

iii. The temperature of the return drilling mud shall be monitored continuously during the drilling of 
the surface casing hole. Either a continuous temperature-monitoring device shall be installed and maintained in a 
working condition or the temperature shall be read manually. In either case, the return temperature shall be entered 
into the logbook on thirty (30) foot increments. (        )

iv. BOPE capable of shutting in the well during any operation shall be installed on the surface casing 
and maintained ready for use at all times. BOPE pressure tests shall be performed by the operator for Department 
personnel on all exploratory wells prior to drilling out the shoe of the surface casing. The decision to perform BOPE 
pressure tests on other types of wells shall be made on a well-to-well basis by the Director. The Director must be 
notified five (5) days in advance of a scheduled pressure test. Permission to proceed with the test sooner may be given 
verbally by the Director upon request by the operator. (        )

d. Intermediate Casing. Intermediate casing shall be required for protection against anomalous 
pressure zones, cave-ins, washouts, abnormal temperature zones, uncontrollable lost circulation zones or other 
drilling hazards. Intermediate casing strings when installed shall be cemented solidly to the surface or to the top of the 
casing. (        )

e. Production Casing. Production casing may be set above or through the producing or injection zone 
and cemented either below or just above the objective zones. Sufficient cement shall be used to exclude overlying 
formation fluids from the geothermal zone, to segregate zones, and to prevent movement of fluids behind the casing 
into possible fresh groundwater zones. Production casing shall either be cemented solid to the surface or lapped into 
the intermediate casing if run. If the production casing is lapped into an intermediate casing, the casing overlap shall 
be at least fifty (50) feet, the lap shall be cemented solid, and the lap shall be pressure tested to ensure its integrity.

 (        )
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06. Electric Logging. All wells except observation wells shall be logged with an induction electrical 
log or equivalent or gamma-neutron log from the bottom of the hole to the bottom of the conductor pipe. This 
requirement may be modified or waived by the Director upon written request. (        )

026. ALTERNATIVE METHODS (RULE 26).
To accommodate the use of advanced or new technology, and in consideration of methods not specifically addressed 
in these rules, the Director may consider specific proposals for alternative methods of drilling and constructing 
geothermal resource wells. (        )

027. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. RECORDS (RULE 30).

01. General. The owner of any well shall keep or cause to be kept a careful and accurate log, core 
record, temperature logs, and history of the drilling of the well. These records shall be kept in the nearest office of the 
owner or at the well site and together with all other reports of the owner and operator regarding the well shall be 
subject to inspection by the Director during business hours. All records unless otherwise specified must be filed with 
the Director within thirty (30) days of completion of the well. (        )

02. Records to Be Filed with the Director. (        )

a. Drilling Logs and Core Record. Include the lithologic characteristics and depths of formations 
encountered, the depth and temperatures of water-bearing and steam-bearing strata, the temperatures, chemical 
compositions and other chemical and physical characteristics of fluids encountered as ascertained. The core record 
shall show the depth, lithologic character, and fluid content of the obtained cores. (        )

b. Well History. The well history shall describe in detail all significant daily operations carried out and 
equipment used during all phases of drilling, testing, completion, and abandonment of any well. (        )

c. Well Summary Report. The well summary report shall accompany the core record and well history 
reports. It is designed to show data pertinent to the condition of a well at the time of completion of work done.

(        )

d. Production Records. The owner of any well producing geothermal resources shall file with the 
Director on or before the 20th day of each month for the preceding month a statement of production utilized in such a 
form as the Director may designate. Copies of monthly geothermal energy report forms are available from the 
Director; however, production data can be submitted on non-department forms if previously approved by the 
Director. (        )

e. Injection Records. The owner of any well injecting geothermal fluids or wastewater for any 
purpose shall file with the Director on or before the twentieth day of each month for the preceding month a report of 
the injection in such form as the Director may designate. Copies of monthly injection report forms are available from 
the Director. Injection data may be submitted on non-department forms if previously approved by the Director.

(        )

f. Electric Logs and Directional Surveys. When conducted, electric logs and directional surveys shall 
be filed with the Director within sixty (60) days of completion, cessation of drilling operations, excluding any 
approved suspension of operations, or abandonment of any well. Like copies shall be filed upon recompletion of any 
well. Upon a showing of hardship, the Director may extend the time within which to comply for a period not to 
exceed six (6) additional months. (        )

031. -- 034. (RESERVED)

035. BLOW OUT PREVENTION (RULE 35).

01. BOPE. Must be capable of controlling the well under known and unknown reservoir conditions.
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 (        )

a. If reservoir conditions are unknown, data loggers shall be installed to continuously monitor and 
record the following conditions until the well has been drilled to total depth. (        )

i. Drilling mud temperature (in and out). (        )

ii. Drilling mud pit level. (        )

iii. Drilling mud pump volume. (        )

iv. Drilling mud weight. (        )

v. Drilling rate. (        )

vi. Hydrocarbon and hydrogen sulfide gas volume (with alarm). (        )

b. Annular BOPE with a minimum working pressure of one thousand (1,000) PSI shall be installed on 
the surface casing. If unusual conditions are anticipated, a BOPE may be required on the conductor pipe. (        )

c. If drilling mud temperature out reaches one hundred twenty-five (125) Degrees C (Celsius), drilling 
operations shall cease, drilling mud circulation will continue and the Director must be notified immediately. The 
operator must obtain the Director’s approval of his proposed course of action prior to resuming drilling operations.

(        )

d. When reservoir conditions are known, a gate valve with a minimum working pressure rating of 
three hundred (300) PSI may be installed on the well head. (        )

e. When reservoir conditions are known, the temperature of the return mud shall be monitored 
continuously. Either a continuous temperature monitoring device shall be installed and maintained in working 
condition or the temperature shall be read manually. In either case, return mud temperatures shall be entered into the 
logbook for each thirty (30) feet of depth drilled. (        )

f. The Director may approve BOPE modifications upon written request by the applicant. BOPE 
requirements under these rules may be modified by the Director depending upon the knowledge of the area. Such 
requirements may be set forth on the approved application for permit to drill a geothermal well or made in the field by 
Department personnel monitoring construction of the well. (        )

036. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. INJECTION WELLS (RULE 40).

01. Construction. The owner of a proposed injection well or series of injection wells shall provide the 
Director with such information he deems necessary for evaluation of the impact of such injection on the geothermal 
reservoir and other natural resources. Such information shall include existing reservoir conditions, method of 
injection, source of injection fluid, estimates of daily amount of material medium to be injected, zones or formations 
affected, and analysis of fluid to be injected and of the fluid from the intended zone of the injection. Such information 
shall be on a form approved or provided by the Director. (        )

02. Surveillance. (        )

a. When an owner proposes to drill or modify an injection well or convert a producing or idle well to 
an injection well, he shall be required to demonstrate to the Director by means of a test that the casing has complete 
integrity. This test shall be conducted in a method approved by the Director. (        )

b. To establish the integrity of the annular cement above the shoe of the casing, the owner shall make 
sufficient surveys within thirty (30) days after injection is started into a well to prove that all the injected fluid is 
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confined to the intended zone of injection. Thereafter, such surveys shall be made at least every two (2) years or more 
often if necessary. The Director shall be notified forty-eight (48) hours in advance of such surveys in order that a 
representative may be present if deemed necessary. If in the Director’s opinion such tests are not necessary, he may 
grant a waiver excepting the operator from such tests. (        )

c.  Department personnel may inspect the well site periodically after the well has been placed on 
injection. The Director may notify the operator or owner if any remediation work is necessary. Any remediation work 
must be performed within ninety (90) days of notification by the Director. The Director may rescind approval of the 
injection well for failure to perform necessary work. (        )

041. -- 044. (RESERVED)

045. ABANDONMENT (RULE 45).

01. Objectives. The objectives of abandonment are to block interzonal migration of fluids to: (        )

a. Prevent contamination of fresh water or other natural resources; (        )

b. Prevent damage to geothermal reservoirs; (        )

c. Prevent loss of reservoir energy; and (        )

d. Protect life, health, environment, and property. (        )

02. General Requirements. The following are general requirements which are subject to review and 
modification for individual wells or field conditions. (        )

a. A NOI to abandon geothermal resource wells is required to be filed with the Director five (5) days 
prior to beginning abandonment procedures. A permit to abandon may be given verbally by the Director provided the 
operator submits a written abandonment request on a form approved by the Director within twenty-four (24) hours of 
the verbal request. (        )

b. All wells abandoned shall be monumented with four (4) inch diameter pipe ten (10) feet in length 
of which four (4) feet shall be above ground. The remainder shall be embedded in concrete. The name, number, and 
location of the well shall be shown on the monument. Alternate methods of monumentation may be approved by the 
Director where land surface use indicates the above-described method is not satisfactory. (        )

c. Heavy drilling fluid or other seal material approved by the Director shall be used to replace any 
water in the hole and to fill all portions of the hole not plugged with cement. (        )

d. All cement plugs with a possible exception of the surface plug shall be pumped into the hole from 
the bottom up through drill pipe or tubing. (        )

e. All open annuli shall be filled with cement to the surface. (        )

f. A minimum of one hundred (100) feet of cement shall be emplaced straddling the interface or 
transition zone at the base of groundwater aquifers. (        )

g. One hundred (100) feet of cement shall straddle the shoe plug on all casings including conductor 
pipe. (        )

h. A surface plug of either neat cement or cement shall be emplaced from the top of the casing to at 
least fifty (50) feet below the top of the casing. (        )

i. All casing shall be cut off at least five (5) feet below land surface. (        )

j. Cement plugs shall extend at least fifty (50) feet over the top of any liner installed in the well.
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(        )

k. Other abandonment procedures may be approved by the Director if the owner can demonstrate that 
the geothermal resource, groundwaters, and other natural resources will be protected. Such approval must be given in 
writing by the Director prior to the beginning of any abandonment procedures. (        )

l. An abandonment report must be submitted to the Department within five (5) days after the 
completion of the abandonment. (        )

046. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. MAINTENANCE (RULE 50).

01. General. All well heads, separators, pumps, mufflers, manifolds, valves, pipelines, and other 
equipment used to produce geothermal resources shall be maintained in good condition in order to prevent loss of or 
damage to life, health, property, and natural resources. (        )

02. Corrosion. All surface well head equipment and pipelines and subsurface casing and tubing will be 
subject to periodic corrosion surveillance to safeguard health, life, property, and natural resources. (        )

03. Tests. The Director may require such tests or remediation necessary to prevent damage to life, 
health, property, and to protect geothermal and groundwater resources. Such tests may include, but are not limited to, 
casing tests, cementing tests, and equipment tests. (        )

051. -- 059. (RESERVED)

060. HEARINGS ON DENIED, LIMITED, OR CONDITIONED PERMIT OR OTHER DECISIONS OF 
THE DIRECTOR (RULE 60).
Pursuant to Idaho Code §§ 42-4004(c) and 42-4005(d), any applicant who is granted a limited or conditioned permit, 
or who is denied a permit or any person aggrieved by a decision of the Director may seek a hearing on said action of 
the Director by serving on the Director written notice and request for a hearing before the Board within thirty (30) 
days of service of the Director’s decision. Said hearing will be set, conducted, and notice given as set forth in the 
Rules promulgated by the Board under the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. Any applicant may appeal 
the decision of the Board to the District Court within thirty (30) days of service of the decision. (        )

061. -- 064. (RESERVED)

065. ENFORCEMENT (RULE 65).

01. Enforcement by Director. When the Director determines that any person is in substantial violation 
of any provisions of the Geothermal Resources Act (Chapter 40, Title 42, Idaho Code) or of any rule, permit, 
certificate, condition of approval or order issued or promulgated pursuant to the Geothermal Resources Act, the 
Director may commence an administrative enforcement action by issuing a written notice of violation in accordance 
with the provisions of Idaho Code §42-1701B. The Director may enforce any provision of the Geothermal Resources 
Act or any order or regulation issued or adopted pursuant thereto by an appropriate action in the district court. The 
Director may bring action in the District Court to enjoin noncompliance with any provision of this act. (        ) 

066. --999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 37 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES / 
IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

37.03.05 – MINE TAILINGS IMPOUNDMENT STRUCTURES RULES

DOCKET NO. 37-0305-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. This action is authorized pursuant to Sections 42-1710 and 42-1714, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

This rule governs the design review, bonding, and inspection of the construction and operation of mine tailings 
impoundment structures.

There are no changes to the pending rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-10, pages 883–893.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

IDAPA 37.03.05 establishes acceptable construction standards and governs IDWR’s design and technical review 
of mine tailing and water impoundment structures. This rule also supports the collection of a fee to review plans, 
drawings, and specifications pertaining to any mine tailings impoundment structure, as set forth in Idaho Code §§ 42-
1712 and 42-1713.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

DATED this 14th day of November, 2022.

Gary Spackman, Director
Idaho Department of Water Resources
322 E. Front Street
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 287-4800
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized pursuant to §§ 42-1710 and 42-1714, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a non-technical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rule.

The Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR) and the Idaho Water Resource Board (IWRB) (the 
“Agencies”) initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order No. 2020-01, Zero-Based Regulation
(ZBR) (EO 2020-01), issued by Governor Little on January 16, 2020. Pursuant to EO 2020-01, each rule chapter 
effective on June 30, 2020, must be reviewed by the promulgating agency over a five-year period. This review is 
being conducted according to a schedule established by the Division of Financial Management, Office of the 
Governor (DFM), posted at https://adminrules.idaho.gov/forms_menu.html. This rule chapter was scheduled for 
review in 2022.

With this Notice, the Agencies propose a new chapter of mine tailings impoundment structures rules. The new 
chapter is approximately the same length as the existing mine tailings impoundment structures rules. Only one 
change from the existing rule is proposed in this rule. The change addresses fixing an inconsistency between current 
statutory requirements and outdated requirements in the old rule concerning the inspection intervals of mine tailings 
impoundment structures. Rules 10.13 and 40.01 were updated to reconcile the inconsistency.

Pursuant to the ZBR process, this Notice represents the promulgation of a new rule chapter. As a result, the 
proposed rule does not contain strike-out/underline text in legislative format. The old rule has been repealed and 
replaced in its entirety. However, the development of the proposed rule text through two publicly-released 
preliminary rule draft iterations may be viewed at: https://idwr.idaho.gov/legal-actions/rules/idwr-rulemaking-2022-
2023/. At the same website, the Agencies also developed and published rulemaking support documents, which 
provide the Agencies’ recommendations on rulemaking, rulemaking analysis, and responses to substantive comments 
received through the negotiated rulemaking process.

Citizens of the state of Idaho, water users, governmental agencies, and environmental groups may be interested 
in commenting on the proposed rule text. After consideration of public comments received in response to this 
Proposed Rule, the Agencies will present the final rule text to the Idaho Legislature in the late fall of 2022.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed:

IDAPA 37.03.05 establishes acceptable construction standards and governs IDWR’s design and technical review 
of mine tailing and water impoundment structures. The Rule also supports the collection of a fee to review plans, 
drawings, and specifications pertaining to any mine tailings impoundment structure.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to § 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was conducted. 
The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the May 4, 2022, Idaho 
Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-5, page 84-85.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to § 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis 
of why the incorporation by reference is necessary: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning this proposed 
rulemaking, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

Anyone can submit written comments regarding this proposed rule by mail to the address below or by email sent to 
rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov. The Department will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or 
before October 26, 2022.

Dated this 2nd day of September 2022

37.03.05 – MINE TAILINGS IMPOUNDMENT STRUCTURES RULES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY (RULE 0).
These rules are adopted pursuant to Section 42-1714, Idaho Code. (        )

001. SCOPE (RULE 1).

01. Scope. (        )

a. These rules and standards will only apply to structures upon which construction, lift construction, 
enlargement, or alteration is underway on or after July l, 1978. Under no circumstances shall these rules be construed 
to deprive or limit the Director of the Department of Water Resources of any exercise of powers, duties and 
jurisdiction conferred by law, nor to limit or restrict the amount or character of data, or information which may be 
required by the Director from any owner of a mine tailings impoundment structure for the proper administration of 
the law. (        )

b. The design requirements listed are intended as a guide to establish acceptable standards of 
construction. They are not intended to restrict the application of other sound design principles by engineers. The 
Director will evaluate any deviation from the standards hereinafter stated as they pertain to the safety of any given 
mine tailings impoundment structure. Engineers are encouraged to submit new ideas which will advance the art and 
provide for the public safety. (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).
Unless the context otherwise requires, the following definitions govern these rules. (        )

01. Board. The Idaho Water Resource Board. (        )

02. Director. The Director of the Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

03. Department. The Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

04. Mine Tailings Impoundment Structure. Any artificial embankment which is or will be more than 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 37-0305-2201
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thirty (30) feet in height measured from the lowest elevation of the toe to the maximum crest elevation constructed for 
the purpose of storing mine tailings slurry. (        )

05. Mine Tailings Slurry. All slurry wastes from a mineral processing or mining operation. (        )

06. Mine Tailings Storage Capacity. The total storage volume of the impoundment when filled with 
tailings to the maximum approved design storage elevation. (        )

07. Borrowed Fill Embankment. Any embankment constructed of borrowed earth materials and 
which is designed for construction by conventional earth moving equipment. (        )

08. Reservoir. Any basin which contains or will contain the material impounded by the mine tailings 
impoundment structure. (        )

09. Owner. Includes any of the following who own, control, operate, maintain, manage, or propose to 
construct a mine tailings impoundment structure or reservoir. (        )

a. The state of Idaho and any of its departments, agencies, institutions and political subdivisions;
(        ) 

b. The United States of America and any of its departments, bureaus, agencies and institutions; 
provided that the United States of America shall not be required to pay any of the fees required by Section 42-1713, 
Idaho Code, and shall submit plans, drawings and specifications as required by Section 42-1721, Idaho Code, for 
information purposes only; (        )

c. Every municipal or quasi-municipal corporation; (        )

d. Every public utility; (        )

e. Every person, firm, association, organization, partnership, business, trust, corporation or company;
(        )

f. The duly authorized agents, lessees, or trustees of any of the foregoing; (        )

g. Receivers or trustees appointed by any court for any of the foregoing. (        )

10. Alterations, Repairs or Either of Them. Only such alterations or repairs as may directly affect 
the safety of the mine tailings impoundment structure or reservoir, as determined by the Director. (        )

11. Enlargement. Any change in or addition to an existing mine tailings impoundment structure or 
reservoir, which raises or may raise the storage capacity of the structure, as defined in Rule Subsection 010.06.

(        )

12. Days Used in Establishing Deadlines. Calendar days including Sundays and holidays. (        )

13. Certificate of Approval. A certificate issued by the Director for the mine tailings impoundment 
structure listing restrictions imposed by the Director, and without which no new mine tailings impoundment 
structures shall be allowed to impound mine tailings slurry or water and no existing impoundment shall be allowed to 
impound water or continue deposition of mine tailings slurry. The structure will be recertified following the site 
inspection scheduled according to the Hazard Classification assigned by the Department, unless the Director 
determines that the structure is unsafe. (        )

14. Engineer. A registered professional engineer, licensed as such by the state of Idaho. (        )

011. -- 024. (RESERVED)

025. AUTHORITY OF REPRESENTATIVE (RULE 25).
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When plans, drawings and specifications are filed by another person on behalf of an owner, written evidence of 
authority to represent the owner shall be filed with the plans, drawings and specifications. (        )

026. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. FORMS (RULE 30).
Forms required by these rules. (        )

01. Samples of Forms. Samples of all forms required by these rules are available from the Department 
to interested parties upon request. (        )

02. Form 1721. Construction of a mine tailings impoundment structure requires the filing of Form 
1721. (        )

031. -- 034. (RESERVED)

035. PLANS, DRAWINGS, AND SPECIFICATIONS (RULE 35).
The following provisions shall apply in submitting plans, drawings, and specifications. (        )

01. Submission of Plans, Drawings, and Specification. Any owner who shall desire to construct, or 
enlarge, or alter or repair any mine tailings impoundment structure shall submit duplicate copies of plans, drawings, 
and specifications prepared by an engineer for the proposed work to the Director with required fees. An owner who 
desires to construct a continuously raised tailings impoundment structure shall submit duplicate copies of plans, 
drawings, and specifications prepared by an engineer, showing the stages of lift height, by periods of time, and 
ultimate design height. (        )

02. Application for and Receipt of Written Approval. Construction of a new mine tailings 
impoundment structure or enlargement, or non-emergency alteration or repairs on existing mine tailings 
impoundment structures shall not be commenced until the owner has applied and obtained written approval of the 
plans, drawings, and specifications covering the work. In emergency situations, the owner shall make the required 
alterations or repairs necessary to relieve the emergency, and notify the Director. (        )

03. Preparation and Submission of Plans. Plans must be prepared on a good grade of tracing linen or 
a good quality vellum or mylar. Transparent copies reproducible by standard duplicating processes, if accurate, 
legible and permanent, will be accepted. Plans may initially be submitted in the form of nonreproducible paper prints. 
After reviewing the plans, the Director will notify the owner of any required changes. (        )

04. Scale of Plans and Drawings. Plans and drawings shall be of sufficiently large scale with an 
adequate number of views and proper dimensions, so that drawings may be readily interpreted and studied. (        )

05. Dimensions of Plans. All sheets for a set of plans shall have an outside dimension of twenty-four 
by thirty-six (24 x 36) inches. A margin of two (2) inches on the left-hand end and a margin of one-half (1/2) inch on 
the other three sides must be provided, making the available work space twenty-three (23) x thirty-three and one-half 
(33 1/2) inches. (        )

06. Plans. The plans shall include the following: (        )

a. A topographic map of the mine tailings impoundment structure site showing the location of the 
proposed mine tailings impoundment structure by section, township and range, and location of spillway or diversion 
structures, outlet works, and all borings, test pits, borrow pits; (        )

b. A profile along the mine tailings impoundment structure axis showing the locations, elevations, and 
depths of borings or test pits, including logs of bore hole and/or test pits; (        )

c. A maximum cross-section of the mine tailings impoundment structure showing elevation and width 
of crest, slopes of upstream and downstream faces, thickness of any proposed riprap, zoning of the earth embankment 
(if any), location of cutoff and bonding trenches, elevations, size and type of decant systems, valves, operating 
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mechanism, and dimensions of all other essential structural elements such as cutoff walls, filters, embankment zones, 
etc.; (        )

d. Detailed drawings describing the outlet system, i.e., decant line, barge pump system, siphon 
system; (        )

e. If a spillway is used, a curve showing the discharge capacity in cubic feet per second of the 
spillway vs. gage height of the storage pool level above the spillway crest up to the maximum high-water level, and 
the formula used in making such determinations; (        )

f. If a stream diversion is created, a tabulation of the discharge capacity in cubic feet per second of 
any diversion works and of the diversion channel vs. flow depth through the diversion works or channel up to 
maximum capacity of the system, and the formulas used in making such determinations; (        )

g. Where staged construction will take place and no spillway exists, a curve showing maximum safe 
operating level for the tailings as a function of embankment height and the design criteria used to arrive at this;

(        )

h. Detailed plans, including cross-sections and profile, of the spillway or diversion works and any 
associated channels; (        )

i. Plans for monitoring and/or recovering seepage from the reservoir in those instances where safety 
of the impoundment may be affected; (        )

j. An operation plan; (        )

k. An emergency procedure plan for protection of life and property; (        )

l. An abandonment plan that assures the Director to his satisfaction that, upon completion of the 
mining operation, the site will be in a safe maintenance-free condition. (        )

07. Specifications. Specifications shall include provisions acceptable to the Director for adequate 
observation, inspection and control of the work by a registered professional engineer during the period of 
construction. (        )

08. Provision Included with Plans. The specifications shall provide that the plans and specifications 
may not be materially changed without prior written consent of the Director. (        )

09. Provisions Included with Specifications. The specifications shall provide that certain stages of 
construction shall not proceed without the approval of the Director. Those stages requiring approval are as follows:

(        )

a. After clearing and excavation of foundation and prior to placing any fill material; (        )

b. After installation of the decant conduit and any proposed collars and before placing any backfill 
material around conduit; (        )

c. After construction is completed (first stage starter dike if staged construction) and before any water 
or mine tailings slurry is stored in the reservoir; (        )

d. Before each successive enlargement of the impoundment structure; (        )

e. After each stage of enlargement of the impoundment structure is completed and before storage is 
allowed to exceed the level approved for the previous approved stage; (        )

f. At such other times as determined necessary by the Director. The Director will, within seven (7) 
days after notification by the engineer, inspect and if satisfactory, approve the completed stage of construction. 
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Owners are encouraged to give prior notice to the Department, so that the inspection can be scheduled to prevent 
delays. (        )

10. Inspections, Examinations, and Tests. All materials and workmanship may be subject to 
inspection, examination and test by the Director at any and all reasonable times during manufacture and/or 
construction and at any and all places where such manufacture and/or construction are carried on. (        )

11. Rejection of Defective Material. The Director shall have the right to require the owner or engineer 
to reject defective material and workmanship or require its correction. Rejected workmanship shall be corrected and 
rejected material shall be replaced with proper material. (        )

12. Suspension of Work. The Director may order the engineer to suspend any work that may be 
subject to damage by climatic conditions. (        )

13. Responsibility of Engineer. These provisions shall not relieve the engineer of his responsibility to 
assure that construction is accomplished in accordance to approved plans and specifications or to suspend work on his 
own motion. (        )

14. Detailing Provisions of Specifications. The specifications shall state in sufficient detail, all 
provisions necessary to ensure that construction is accomplished in an acceptable manner and provide needed control 
for construction to ensure that a safe structure is constructed. (        )

15. Required Information. The following information shall be submitted with the plans and 
specifications. (        )

16. Engineer's Report. An engineer’s report giving details necessary for analysis of the structure and 
appurtenances. Included as a part of the report where applicable shall be the following: (        )

a. Formulas and assumptions used in designs; (        )

b. Hydrologic data used in determining runoff from the drainage areas; (        )

c. Engineering properties of each type of material to be used in the embankment and of the foundation 
areas; (        )

d. Stability analysis, including an evaluation of overturning, sliding, upstream and downstream slopes 
and foundation stability; (        )

e. Geologic description of reservoir area, including evaluation of landslide potential; (        )

f. Chemical analysis of all materials composing the slurry; (        )

g. Earthquake design loads must be evaluated at all sites located east of Range 22 E., Boise Meridian. 
This area corresponds to Seismic Zone 3 as designated by the Recommended Guidelines of the National Dam Safety 
Program. Earthquake analysis may be required at other impoundment structure sites if deemed necessary by the 
Director; (        )

h. A seepage analysis of the embankment and reservoir bottom; (        )

i. A hydraulic analysis of the outlet system and spillway, diversion work or diversion channel; (        )

j. Engineering properties and the weathering characteristics of the proposed tailings to be stored in 
the impoundment; (        )

k. Other information which would aid in evaluating the safety of the design. (        )

17. Filing of Additional Information. The Director may require the filing of such additional 
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information which in his opinion is necessary to assess safety or waive any requirement herein cited if in his opinion 
it is unnecessary. (        )

036. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. BONDING (RULE 40).
An active surety bond or other means of acceptable surety payable to the Director of the Department of Water 
Resources shall be on file with the Director throughout the active life of the tailings disposal site. The purpose of this 
bond is to provide a means by which the tailings impoundment can be placed in a safe maintenance-free condition if 
abandoned by the owner without conforming to an abandonment plan approved by the Director. (        )

01. Filing of Bond. The bond shall be filed prior to any issuance by the Director of a certificate of 
approval for use of the mine tailings impoundment structure to impound mine tailings slurry and shall run for the 
approval period covered on the certificate of approval. (        )

02. Provisions of Bond. Bond provisions shall provide that the surety may be held liable for a period 
of up to five (5) years following notice of default on the bond. (        )

03. Amount of Bond. The bond amount will be set by the Director and is subject to revision each time 
it is renewed. The owner must obtain approval for the amount of his surety bond prior to each renewal. (        )

04. Cost Estimate Submitted by Engineer. In order to provide a basis for setting the bond amount, 
the engineer shall submit a cost estimate acceptable to the Director, together with conceptual details needed to arrive 
at the estimate, for abandonment of the facility at each proposed stage of its construction. (        )

05. Current Costs for Abandonment. Bond amount will be based on current costs for abandonment 
of the facility based on the approved cost estimate for abandonment at the present construction condition or the next 
approved proposed stage, whichever represents the larger bond amount. (        )

06. Determination of Bond Amount. If the final abandonment is determined to be the most costly 
condition, the owner may elect to use this as a basis for bonding throughout the life of the project. The Director may, 
however, revise the bonding amount to reflect updated costs when he feels it is necessary in order to maintain a 
realistic bond. (        )

07. Filing Initial Bond. The initial bond shall be filed upon completion of the first stage of 
construction and before the required certificate of approval is issued to allow storage of mine tailings slurry in the 
impoundment. No certificate of approval shall be renewed prior to filing by the owner of a bond renewal in an 
amount approved by the Director. (        )

08. Filing Copy of Performance Bond. Upon the filing of a copy of a performance bond with the 
Director, covering the terms and conditions of a state of Idaho mineral lease or an approved reclamation plan, in 
which these documents specify compliance with a plan of restoration of all mining operations, including the tailings 
impounding structure, the Director may determine the bond required of this section has been met, if the amount of the 
bond accurately reflects the cost associated with the abandonment plan provided by the owner. (        )

041. -- 044. (RESERVED)

045. MINE TAILINGS IMPOUNDMENT STRUCTURES DESIGN CRITERIA (RULE 45).
The following minimum design criteria shall be used for all mine tailings impoundment structures designed for 
installation in Idaho. These limitations are intended to serve as guidelines for a broad range of circumstances, and 
engineers should not consider them as a restriction to the use of other sound design criteria. Deviation from this 
established criteria will be considered by the Director in approving plans and specifications. (        )

01. Embankment Slopes. (        )

a. For construction of borrowed fill embankments, in the absence of a stability analysis, the slopes 
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shall be:

(        )

b. Construction by the upstream method shall not be used in the area of the state east of Range 22 E., 
Boise Meridian, unless the engineer can provide evidence that the construction and operation of the tailings 
impoundment will achieve a relative density of sixty percent (60%) or greater in the embankment and tailings to 
prevent liquefaction during earthquake loading. (        )

c. Safety factors for the embankment shall be at least one and five-tenths (1.5) for static loads and a 
minimum of one (1) for the static plus the appropriate earthquake load. (        )

d. To insure sufficient permeability and stability of the embankment, designs will require utilizing 
materials other than the tailings, when the tailings materials: (        )

i. Contain greater than seventy-five percent (75%) passing the #200 standard U.S. sieve, or fifty 
percent (50%) passing the #325 standard U.S. sieve; (        )

ii. Contain phosphate clays; (        )

iii. The design calls for the water to be impounded against the embankment; (        )

iv. Have other properties which makes them unsuitable for use as construction materials. (        )

e. Embankments designed for the storage of hazardous levels of radioactive materials shall, in 
addition to any requirements of these regulations, meet the criteria outlined in the Nuclear Regulatory Commission 
Regulatory Guide 3.11 and the Idaho Radiation Control Regulations administered by the Idaho Department of 
Environmental Quality. (        )

f. The design shall consider the need for drains and/or operational procedures to promote 
consolidation and insure that a low phreatic surface is maintained within the embankment. Drainage pipe shall not be 
used beneath embankments where excessive or differential settlement may cause failure of the pipes and subsequent 
piping of the tailings or embankment. When the quality of the mine tailings slurry is such that it will adversely affect 
the quality of the existing ground water, the design should be coordinated with the Department and the Department of 
Environmental Quality to insure that all applicable permits are obtained. (        )

g. Instrumentation of the embankment and/or foundation will be required to insure that the structure is 
functioning satisfactorily. Standpipe piezometers with an inside diameter greater than one-half (1/2) inch will not be 
acceptable for use in fine-grained or cohesive soils in order to minimize response time. (        )

h. Tailings impoundment structures which are constructed using the tailings shall not be constructed 
or raised during freezing weather to prevent frost lenses in the embankment. Sufficient freeboard must be provided 
during the summer construction season if the disposal operation is to continue during the winter. (        )

i. If tailings are to be discharged during times of freezing weather and the embankment is to be 
constructed using either the upstream or centerline method, the pond shall be of sufficient size to insure that any ice 
formed in the tailings pond area melts during the next warm season. (        )

02. Top Width Embankment. (        )

a. In the absence of a stability analysis, the minimum top width for mine tailings impoundment 
structures shall be:

W = 2 (H to 1/2 power) + 4, minimum

Upstream slope 2:1 or flatter

Downstream slope 2:1 or flatter
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 44 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES Docket No. 37-0305-2201
Mine Tailings Impoundment Structures Rules PENDING FEE RULE
W = Top width
H = Embankment height (        )

b. The minimum top width for any tailings embankment is ten (10) feet. (        )

03. Cutoff Trenches or Walls. (        )

a. Cutoff trenches, if needed, shall be used to bond the fill through relatively pervious material to an 
impervious stratum or zone. The bond area shall extend up the abutments to the maximum high water or tailings 
impoundment elevation. Cutoff (keylock) trenches which are to be backfilled with compacted fill shall be wide 
enough to allow the free movement of excavation and compaction equipment. Side slopes shall be no steeper than 1:1 
for depths up to twelve (12) feet, and no steeper than one and one-half (1 1/2) to one (1) for greater depths to provide 
for proper compaction. Flatter slopes may be required for safety and stability. (        )

b. Concrete cutoff walls may be used to bond fills to smooth rock surfaces in a similar manner as 
cutoff trenches and they shall be entrenched in the rock to a depth approximately one-half (1/2) the thickness of the 
cutoff wall. Concrete cutoff walls shall be doweled into the rock a minimum of twelve (12) inches with a maximum 
spacing of eighteen (18) inches for three-quarter (3/4) inch steel dowels. Concrete walls shall have a minimum 
projection of three (3) feet perpendicular to the rock surface and shall have a minimum thickness of twelve (12) 
inches. (        )

04. Borrowed Fill Embankment. (        )

a. The approved earth materials (silt soils are seldom acceptable) shall be zoned as shown in the plans 
and placed in the embankment in continuous, approximately level layers. Compaction shall be based on ASTM D-
698 for cohesive soils and a minimum compaction of ninety-five percent (95%) of the laboratory Standard Proctor 
dry density is required. Compaction of cohesionless soils shall insure a relative density of sixty percent (60%) or 
greater. (        )

b. An acceptable working range of moisture content for the fill material shall be established and 
maintained. (        )

c. The material shall be compacted by means of a loaded sheepsfoot roller, vibratory roller, or other 
acceptable means, to the required density. (        )

d. No rock shall be left in the fill material which has a maximum dimension exceeding the lift 
thickness. The fill material shall be free of brush and organic materials. (        )

e. The fill shall be carried up simultaneously the full design width of the structure, and the top of the 
fill shall be kept substantially level at all times or slope slightly toward the reservoir. (        )

f. No frozen or cloddy fill material shall be used, and no material shall be place upon frozen, muddy 
or unscarified surfaces. (        )

g. All materials used in the embankment shall meet all the stability and seepage requirements as 
shown by a design analysis of the structure and shall be properly installed to meet these requirements. (        )

05. Riprap. (        )

a. All dams shall be protected from wave action. In cases where water is stored directly against the 
mine tailings impoundment structure or where wave action at maximum pool level during design inflow events would 
affect the integrity of the embankment, the Director may require use of riprap or other protective measures. (        )

b. If riprap is used the design shall specify the rock size and extent of blanket required to prevent 
erosion. (        )

06. Outlet Systems. (        )
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a. Reservoirs must safely handle the design inflow for all areas draining into the reservoir. This may 
be done either by storing the entire design inflow or by having an outlet system or combination of systems adequate 
to safely pass the design inflow. If the tailings reservoir is situated on a stream channel, an outlet system or an 
approved alternative system capable of meeting downstream flow requirements must be provided. (        )

b. The minimum design inflow for all reservoirs shall be the flood with one percent (1%) probability 
of occurrence. The Director may require a greater design inflow be used in instances of high hazard, for larger mine 
tailings impoundment structures, or when the inflow is to be entirely stored in the reservoir during the flood period.

(        )

c. The outlet system may be composed of one (1) or a combination of the following: decant line, 
spillway, or stream channel diversion to bypass the reservoir. The system will be determined by individual reservoir 
conditions. Unless removal of the mine tailings impoundment structure and reservoir is part of the abandonment plan, 
the outlet system shall be maintained in perpetuity, unless it is demonstrated that an outlet system is not needed.

(        )

d. Outlet systems will not be allowed if their use would release toxic, highly turbid, radioactive or 
otherwise hazardous flows from the reservoir. In these cases the design inflow must either be entirely stored or 
diverted around the reservoir. (        )

e. All spillways shall be stabilized to discharge flow through the use of concrete, masonry, riprap or 
sod, if not constructed in resistant rock. (        )

f. Wherever possible, the spillway shall be constructed independent of the impoundment structure. It 
shall lead the water far enough away from the mine tailings impoundment structure so as not to endanger the 
structure. (        )

g. A diversion system must not subject the mine tailings impoundment structure to erosion during the 
design inflow event. All stream diversions shall conform to the minimum standards for stream channel alterations as 
written by this Department. (        )

h. Decant conduits, if under the embankment, shall be laid on a firm, stable foundation and normally 
must not be placed on fill. They shall have a minimum inside diameter of twelve (12) inches and one (1) of the 
following provisions included in the design: (        )

i. The owner shall have the conduit inspected by photographic or video tape equipment and a copy of 
the inspection provided to the Department, if a problem is suspected; or (        )

ii. The conduit shall be completely plugged with concrete and/or suitable material, for that portion 
which extends through the embankment, if a nonrepairable problem occurs within the conduit. The conduit shall 
consist of material which has been shown to possess the qualities necessary to perform in the environment of the 
specific tailings impoundment. The design life of the conduit shall be greater than the life of the mine tailings 
impoundment structure. The portion of the conduit through the embankment shall be completely filled with concrete, 
or other suitable material, and the riser portion of the conduit capped, upon abandonment of the mine tailings 
impoundment structure. (        )

i. All decant conduits, if under the embankment, shall have a seepage path through the impervious 
zone at least equivalent in length to the maximum head above the downstream end of the system. Only one third (1/3) 
the horizontal distance through the impervious zone will be utilized when calculating the length of the seepage path. 
Collars may be used to satisfy this requirement, but all collars shall extend a minimum of three (3) feet outside the 
conduit. Collars shall be spaced at intervals of at least seven (7) times their height and no collar may be closer to the 
outer surface of the impervious zone than the distance it extends out from the conduit. (        )

j. More than two (2) decant conduits are not to be used, unless special conditions warrant. (        )

07. Freeboard. A minimum freeboard of two (2) feet plus wave height (H) shall be provided on the 
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crest of the mine tailings impoundment structure during passage of the design inflow.

H = 1.95 (F to 1/2 power)
F = Fetch in miles across water surface at a design maximum level. (        )

08. Records. All instrumentation shall be read and recorded on a regular basis, and all records must be 
available for inspection by Department personnel on request. (        )

09. Inspection and Completion Reports. (        )

a. It is the responsibility of the engineer to submit test reports along with periodic inspection and 
progress reports to the Director. (        )

b. Upon completion of each approved stage of construction, a letter shall be sent to the Director, 
giving a short, narrative account covering all items of work. As-built plans shall be submitted to the Director if the 
completed project was substantially changed from the plans originally approved. (        )

10. Abandonment. An abandonment plan which provides a stable, maintenance-free condition when 
the mine tailings impoundment is no longer being regularly maintained by the owner or the owner has ceased to use 
the site for disposal of mine tailings slurry, shall be submitted to the Director by the owner. The plan shall provide a 
safe condition by providing for removal of the tailings, or construction of a maintenance-free spillway or diversion 
works where needed to accommodate runoff. The plan shall include provisions to prevent water storage behind, and 
erosion of, the mine tailings impoundment structure and the impounded tailing. A conceptual plan which includes an 
engineering design report, detailed enough to provide the required cost estimate for bonding purposes, will be 
required prior to the approval of the proposed project. Detailed construction plans must be approved by the Director 
prior to implementation of any abandonment work. The Director shall notify the owner upon acceptance of 
completion of abandonment in accordance with the approved plan. (        )

046. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. DAMS STORING TAILING AND WATER (RULE 50).
Construction of dams intended to store water in excess of the water being decanted in the tailing placement operation 
shall also meet the requirements for water storage reservoirs specified in the Department’s Rules for the Safety of 
Dams. The Director may waive any or all of these requirements if, in the opinion of the Director, sound engineering 
design supplied by the owner indicates such requirements are not applicable. (        )

051. -- 054. (RESERVED)

055. PROVISIONS OF CHAPTER 17, TITLE 42, IDAHO CODE (RULE 55).
The provisions of Sections 42-1709 through 42-1721, Idaho Code, are a part of these rules. (        )

056. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

37.03.06 – SAFETY OF DAMS RULES

DOCKET NO. 37-0306-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. This action is authorized pursuant to Sections 42-1710 and 42-1714, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

This rule establishes acceptable standards for the construction of new and existing regulated dams and to 
establish guidelines for the inspection and safety evaluation of new or existing dams. The rules apply to all new dams, 
to existing dams to be enlarged, altered, or repaired, and maintenance of certain existing dams, as specifically 
provided in the rules.

The pending rule incorporates amendments to the definition and regulation of hazard classification, changes to 
seismic analyses requirements for new and existing dams, changes to emergency action plan requirements, changes to 
construction requirements for new dams, and removal of Rule 65 Dams Storing Tailings and Water. 

The text of the pending fee rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those 
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-10, pages 894–908.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

This rule establishes the collection of a fee to review plans, drawings, and specifications pertaining to the 
construction, enlargement, alteration, or repair of regulated dams, as set forth in Idaho Code §§ 42-1712 and 42-1713.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

DATED this 14th day of November, 2022.

Gary Spackman, Director
Idaho Department of Water Resources
322 E. Front Street
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 287-4800
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 48 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

https://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2022/10.pdf#page=894
mailto: mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/legislative_books/2023/LSOMemos/3703062201G88.pdf


IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES Docket No. 37-0306-2201
Safety of Dams Rules PENDING FEE RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized pursuant to §§ 42-1710 and 42-1714, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a non-technical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rule.

The Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR) and the Idaho Water Resource Board (IWRB) (the 
“Agencies”) initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order No. 2020-01, Zero-Based Regulation
(ZBR) (EO 2020-01), issued by Governor Little on January 16, 2020. Pursuant to EO 2020-01, each rule chapter 
effective on June 30, 2020, must be reviewed by the promulgating agency over a five-year period. This review is 
being conducted according to a schedule established by the Division of Financial Management, Office of the 
Governor (DFM), posted at https://adminrules.idaho.gov/forms_menu.html. This rule chapter was scheduled for 
review in 2022.

With this Notice, the Agencies propose a new chapter of safety of dams rules. The new chapter is approximately 
12% shorter than the existing safety of dams rule chapter due to both internal agency analysis and external 
stakeholder negotiation, commentary, and editing. Changes to the rule come through a combination of (a) removal of 
obsolete provisions (such as removal of unique design requirements for small dams), (b) removal of unnecessary 
provisions (such as the definition and use of the term “active storage” and “water storage elevation”), (c) reconciling 
inconsistencies between current statutory requirements and outdated requirements in the old rule concerning the 
inspection intervals of some dams, and (d) modifications to existing rules governing the size limits, hazard categories, 
and design requirements for various dams.

Pursuant to the ZBR process, this Notice represents the promulgation of a new rule chapter. As a result, the 
proposed rule does not contain strike-out/underline text in legislative format. The old rule has been repealed and 
replaced in its entirety. However, the development of the proposed rule text through two publicly-released 
preliminary rule draft iterations may be viewed at: https://idwr.idaho.gov/legal-actions/rules/idwr-rulemaking-2022-
2023/. At the same website, the Agencies also developed and published rulemaking support documents, which 
provide the Agencies’ recommendations on rulemaking, rulemaking analysis, and responses to substantive comments 
received through the negotiated rulemaking process.

Citizens of the state of Idaho, water users, governmental agencies, and environmental groups may be interested 
in commenting on the proposed rule text. After consideration of public comments received in response to this 
Proposed Rule, the Agencies will present the final rule text to the Idaho Legislature in the late fall of 2022.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed:

IDAPA 37.03.06 establishes acceptable standards for construction of dams and establishes guidelines for safety 
evaluation of new or existing dams. The Rule applies to all new dams, to existing dams to be enlarged, altered or 
repaired, and maintenance of certain existing dams, as specifically provided in the Rule. This chapter also establishes 
the collection of a fee to review plans, drawings, and specifications pertaining to the construction, enlargement, 
alteration, or repair of small high-risk, intermediate, or large dams.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to § 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was conducted. 
The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the May 4, 2022, Idaho 
Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-5, page 86-87.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to § 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis 
of why the incorporation by reference is necessary: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning this proposed 
rulemaking, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

Anyone can submit written comments regarding this proposed rule by mail to the address below or by email sent 
to rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov. The Department will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or 
before October 26, 2022.

Dated this 2nd day of September, 2022.

Substantive changes have been made in the pending rule.
Italicized red text indicates changes between the text of the proposed rule as adopted in the pending rule.

37.03.06 – SAFETY OF DAMS RULES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are adopted pursuant to Chapter 17, Section 42-1714, Idaho Code. (        )

001. SCOPE.
These rules establish acceptable standards for design and construction, and guidelines for evaluating the safety of 
new or existing dams. The rules apply to all new construction including existing structures considered for 
enlargement, alteration, modification, or repair as specifically provided in the rules. The Director will evaluate any 
deviation from the standards hereinafter stated as they pertain to the safety of any given dam. The standards listed 
herein are not intended to restrict the application of other sound engineering design principles that will provide for the 
public safety. Under no circumstances shall these rules be construed to deprive or limit the Director of any exercise of 
powers, duties and jurisdiction conferred by law, nor to limit or restrict the amount or character of data, or 
information which may be required by the Director from any owner of a dam or for the proper administration of the 
law. (        )

002. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
Any person aggrieved by an action of the Director and who has not previously been afforded an opportunity for a 
hearing on the matter is entitled to a hearing before the Director to contest the action pursuant to the provisions of 
Section 42-1701A(3), Idaho Code, and the Department’s adopted Rules of Procedure. (        )

003. – 009. (RESERVED)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 37-0306-2201
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010. DEFINITIONS.
Unless the context otherwise requires, the following definitions govern these rules. (        )

01. Alterations or Repairs. Any activity that may affect the safety or integrity of a dam. Alterations 
and repairs do not include routine maintenance items. (        )

02. Appurtenant Structures. Ancillary features (e.g., outlets, tunnels, gates, valves, spillways, 
auxiliary barriers, etc.) used for operation of a dam, which are owned or for which the owner has responsible control.

(        )

03. Artificial Barrier or Embankment. Any structure constructed to impede, obstruct, or store water.
(        )

04. Borrowed Fill Embankment. Any embankment constructed of borrowed earth materials, and 
which is designed for construction by conventional earth moving equipment. (        )

05. Certificate of Approval. A certificate issued by the Director for all existing dams listing 
restrictions imposed by the Director, and without which none shall be allowed to impound water. (        )

06. Conduit. A pipe or other constructed conveyance within a dam designed to release water or liquid 
in the reservoir. (        )

07. Core. A zone of relatively low permeability material within an embankment. (        )

08. Cutoff Trench. An excavation later to be filled with impermeable material during construction of a 
dam to limit seepage beneath the structure and through the foundation. (        )

09. Dam. Any artificial barrier together with appurtenant works, which is or will be ten (10) feet or 
more in height and has or will have an impounding capacity at maximum storage elevation of fifty (50) acre-feet or 
more. Height of a dam is defined as the vertical distance from the natural bed of the stream or watercourse at the 
downstream toe of the barrier, as determined by the Director, or from the lowest elevation of the outside limit of the 
barrier, if it is not across a stream channel or watercourse, to the maximum water storage elevation. Under Section 42-
1711, Idaho Code, the following are not included as regulated dams or are not considered dams for the purposes of 
Sections 42-1710 through 42-1721, Idaho Code: (        )

a. Barriers in a canal used to raise or lower water therein or divert water therefrom. (        )

b. Fills or structures determined by the Director to be designed primarily for highway or railroad 
traffic. (        )

c. Fills, retaining dikes or structures less than twenty (20) feet in height, which are under jurisdiction 
of the Department of Environmental Quality or the Department of Agriculture, determined by the Director to be 
designed primarily for retention or treatment of municipal, livestock, or domestic wastes, or sediment and wastes 
from produce washing or food processing plants. (        )

d. Levees, that store water regardless of storage capacity. (        )

10. Days. Calendar days including Sundays, Saturdays, and holidays. (        )

11. Department. The Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

12. Design Evaluation. The engineering analysis required to evaluate the performance of a dam 
relative to earthquakes, floods, or other site-specific conditions anticipated to affect the safety or operation of the 
dam, or appurtenant facilities. (        )

13. Director. The Director of the Department of Water Resources. (        )
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14. Embankment. An artificial barrier constructed of earth, sand, rock, or gravel used to impound 
water. (        )

15. Emergency Action Plan (EAP). A written plan with instructions to be taken to reduce the 
potential for property damage and loss of life in an area affected by a dam failure or uncontrolled release of stored 
contents. (        )

16. Enlargement. Any change in or addition to an existing dam which raises or may raise the elevation 
of the contents impounded by the dam. (        )

17. Factor of Safety. A ratio of available shear strength to shear stress, required for stability. (        )

18. Flashboards. Structural members of timber, concrete, steel, or other erosion resistant material 
placed across a channel or entrance to a spillway to temporarily raise the surface level of the reservoir. (        )

19. Flood. An increase in water surface elevation due to naturally occurring runoff or other rise in 
water levels that result in the inundation of areas not normally covered by water. As defined herein floods may be 
expressed in terms of average annual probability of exceedance, corresponding to values which may be described as 
flow rate, volume, or elevation (i.e., stage). (        )

20. Flood Surcharge. A variable volume of water temporarily detained in a reservoir, in the space (or 
part thereof) that is filled by excess runoff or flood water, above the approved design maximum storage elevation. 
Flood surcharge is passed through the reservoir and discharged downstream until the reservoir level has been drawn 
down to the design maximum storage elevation. (        )

21. Freeboard. Vertical height between the maximum design water surface elevation and the lowest 
elevation along the top of the dam. Freeboard can include a provision for variables such as wave height, flood 
surcharge, settlement, and flashboards. (        )

22. Hazard Classification. The potential adverse incremental consequences to downstream life,
property, and the environment resulting from the release of water or stored content due to dam failure or mis-
operation of the dam, exclusive of the size or the physical condition of the dam. Hazard Classifications shall be 
assigned to new and existing dams based on potential adverse incremental impacts in three categories: downstream 
development, estimated loss of life, and economic losses. (        )

23. Hydraulics. The study of the conveyance of liquid through pipes and channels. (        )

24. Hydrology. The study of precipitation, snowmelt, and runoff in relation to land surfaces. (        )

25. Inflow Design Flood (IDF). The flood specified for designing a dam, or appurtenant facility. 
Commonly expressed inflow design flood(s) include peak rate(s) of flow and volume(s) associated with floods 
having an annual exceedance probability of one percent (1%) (i.e., Q100) and zero point two percent (0.2%) (i.e., 
Q500), and the PMF (probable maximum flood). (        )

26. Intermediate Dams. Artificial barriers twenty (20) feet or more in height but less than forty (40) 
feet or capable of storing one hundred (100) acre-feet of water or more but less than four thousand (4,000) acre- feet.

(        )

27. Large Dams. Artificial barriers forty (40) feet or more in height or capable of storing four thousand 
(4,000) acre-feet or more of water. (        )

28. Levee. A retaining structure alongside a natural lake which has a length two hundred (200) times 
greater than its greatest height measured from the lowest elevation of the toe to the maximum crest elevation of the 
retaining structure. (        )

29. Lift Construction. Embankment enlargement by raising the elevation of the structure on a 
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continuous or recurring basis. Such practice will be considered under construction until the structure reaches its final 
crest elevation. (        )

30. Maximum Water Storage Elevation. The maximum design elevation of the water surface or 
stored contents which can be impounded by the dam. (        )

31. Operation Plan. A specific plan that promotes the safe operation of the dam for its intended 
purpose, and which provides specific limits and procedures for controlling inflow, storage, and/or release of water or 
slurry. (        )

32. Owner. Includes any of the following who own, control, operate, maintain, manage, or propose to 
construct a dam, or reservoir: (        )

a. The state of Idaho and its departments, agencies, institutions, and political subdivisions; (        )

b. The United States of America and any of its departments, bureaus, agencies and institutions; 
provided that the United States of America shall not be required to pay any of the fees required by Section 42-1713, 
Idaho Code, and shall submit plans, drawings and specifications as required by Section 42-1712, Idaho Code, for 
information purposes only; (        )

c. Every municipal or quasi-municipal corporation; (        )

d. Every public utility; (        )

e. Every person, firm, association, organization, partnership, business trust, corporation, or company;
(        )

f. The duly authorized agents, lessees, or trustees of any of the foregoing; or (        )

g. Receivers or trustees appointed by any court for any of the foregoing. (        )

33. Professional Engineer. A person licensed as a professional engineer by the Idaho Board of 
Licensure of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors under chapter 12, title 54, Idaho Code. For the 
purposes of this rule, the use of the term engineer implies a professional engineer consistent with this definition.

(        )

34. Release Capacity. The ability of a dam to pass excess water through the spillway(s) and outlet 
works, including the contribution from any designed conveyance through or around the dam. (        )

35. Reservoir. Any basin which contains or will contain the water impounded by a dam. (        )

36. Small Dams. Artificial barriers ten (10) feet or more in height but less than twenty (20) feet in 
height and that store fifty (50) acre-feet or more but less than one hundred (100) acre-feet of water. (        )

37. Spillway. A constructed channel or other approved feature over, through, or around a dam, which 
is designed to accommodate the net inflow design flood and thus prevent overtopping by the reservoir. (        )

38. Storage Capacity. The total storage in acre-feet at the maximum design storage elevation. (        )

011. – 014. (RESERVED)

015. AUTHORITY OF REPRESENTATIVE.
When plans, drawings, and specifications are filed by another person on behalf of an owner, written evidence of 
authority to represent the owner shall be filed with the plans, drawings, and specifications. (        )

016. – 019. (RESERVED)
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020. DAM SIZE CLASSIFICATION.

01. Size Classification. The following table defines the height and storage capacity limits used by the 
Department to classify dams regulated for the benefit of public safety:

(        )

02. Determination of Size. The Director shall determine the size classification of a new or existing 
dam. (        )

021. – 024. (RESERVED)

025. HAZARD CLASSIFICATION.

01. Hazard Classification. The following table describes categories of hazard used by the Department 
to classify dams relative to the potential failure consequences estimated for downstream locations. The listed hazard 
classifications are meant to serve as guidelines for implementing design, construction, and operation criteria, subject 
to final interpretation by the Director:

Dam Size Classification Height Storage Capacity

Small Dams and Reservoirs 
Ten (10) feet or more but 

less than twenty 
(20) feet 

and Fifty (50) acre-feet or more but less than one 
hundred (100) acre-feet. 

Intermediate Dams and Reservoirs 
Twenty (20) feet or more 

but less than forty 
(40) feet 

or 
One hundred (100) acre-feet or more but 

less than four thousand (4,000) 
acre-feet. 

Large Dams or Reservoirs Forty (40) feet or more or Four thousand (4,000) acre-feet or more. 

Hazard Classification Downstream Development Estimated 
Loss of Life Economic Losses

Low

Undeveloped property, no 
permanent or permanently 

occupied structures for human 
habitation.

No loss of life

Low economic losses generally 
limited to the owner; low damage to 

or disruption of transportation, 
utilities, or other public facilities or 
values including environmental loss.

Significant

No concentrated urban 
development, 1 or more 
permanent structures for 

human habitation within the 
flood zone that are potentially 
inundated with flood water at 
a depth of less than two (2) 

feet.

Loss of life is 
unlikely to 

occur

Moderate damage to agricultural, 
commercial, or industrial facilities; 

moderate damage to or the 
disruption of transportation, utilities, 

or other public facilities or values 
including environmental loss.

High

Urban development, or any 
structure for permanent or 

temporary human habitation 
which are potentially 

inundated with flood water at 
a depth of two (2) feet or 

greater.

High 
probability for 

loss of life

Severe damage to agricultural, 
commercial, or industrial facilities; 

damage to or the prolonged 
disruption of transportation, utilities, 

or other public facilities or values 
including environmental loss.
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(        )

02. Determination of Hazard Classification. The Director shall determine the hazard classification of 
a new or existing dam governed by these rules. Hazard classifications shall be assigned to new and existing dams 
based on the severity of failure consequences exclusive of the size or the physical condition of the dam. The 
designated hazard classification, as established by the Director, shall determine the applicable design and 
operational standards applied to the dam. (        )

026. – 029. (RESERVED)

030. FORMS.
Forms required by these rules are available from the Department to interested parties upon request. (        )

031. – 034. (RESERVED)

035. DESIGN REPORTS, DRAWINGS, AND SPECIFICATIONS.
The following provisions shall apply when submitting plans, drawings, reports, and specifications for dams to the 
Director for design review and approval, prior to commencing construction. (        )

01. Submission of Duplicate Plans, Drawings and Specifications. Any owner desiring to construct, 
enlarge, alter, or repair any dam, shall submit duplicate plans, drawings and specifications prepared by an engineer 
for the proposed work to the Director with required fees for approval prior to commencing construction. (        )

02. Applying for and Obtaining Written Approval. Construction of a new dam, or the enlargement, 
alteration, or repair of such shall not commence until the owner has applied for and obtained written approval of the 
plans, drawings, and specifications from the Director. (        )

03. Preparation and Submission of Plans. Plans and drawings shall be of a sufficient scale with an 
adequate number of views showing proper dimensions, so that the plans and drawings may be readily interpreted and 
so that the structure and appurtenances can be built in conformance with the approved design. Plans and drawings 
shall be submitted in both printed and digital format, with the printed version consisting of paper size eleven by 
seventeen (11 x 17) inches. After reviewing the plans, the Director will notify the owner of any required changes.

(        )

04. Information Included with Plans. Plans for new dams or the enlargement, alteration, or repair of 
such shall include as much of the following information as determined necessary by the Director to adequately 
describe the enlargement, alteration, or repair and the effect on the existing structure or its appurtenances: (        )

a. A topographic map of the project site showing the location of the proposed construction by section, 
township and range, and location of all borings, test pits, borrow pits and other locations of samples obtained for field 
or laboratory testing; (        )

b. A profile depicting the locations, elevations, and depths of borings or test pits, including the visual 
illustration of logs of bore holes, test pits, or borrow pits; (        )

c. A cross-section of the structure at maximum section showing elevation and width of crest, slopes of 
upstream and downstream faces, thickness of riprap, zoning of earth embankment, location of cutoff and bonding 
trenches, elevations and dimensional heights, size and type of conduits, valves, operating mechanism, and 
dimensions of all other essential elements deemed to be necessary for properly constructing the approved design;

(        )

d. Detailed drawings showing plans, cross and longitudinal sections of appurtenant features such as 
but not limited to the spillway, training walls, outlet conduits, valves, gates, trash rack, and control works; (        )

e. A curve or table showing the capacity of the reservoir or tailings impoundment in acre-feet vs. 
gauge height referenced to a common project datum and the computations used in making such determinations;

(        )
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f. A curve or table showing the outlet discharge capacity in cubic feet per second vs. gauge height of 
reservoir storage level, and the computations used in making such determinations; (        )

g. A curve or table showing the spillway discharge capacity in cubic feet per second vs. gauge height 
of the reservoir or flood surcharge level above the spillway crest and the computations used in making such 
determinations; (        )

h. Detailed drawings of spillway structure(s), including cross-sections of the channel entrance and 
exit points to and from the spillway and a spillway profile; (        )

i. Plans for flow measuring devices capable of providing an accurate determination of the flow of the 
stream above or below the reservoir, and a permanent reservoir or staff gauge near the outlet of the reservoir plainly 
marked in feet and tenths of a foot referenced to an approved datum; and (        )

j. Plans or drawings of instruments recommended by the owner or engineer to monitor the 
performance of the dam to assure safe operation, or as may be required by the Director as deemed necessary to 
monitor any structure for benefit of public safety regardless of size. (        )

05. Specifications. The engineer shall prepare specifications that include instructions for construction 
of the approved design in accordance with accepted engineering and industry standards of care, including provisions 
for adequate observation, inspection, and control of the work by an engineer during the period of construction.(        )

06. Changes to the Approved Design. The approved design shall not be materially changed without 
prior written consent of the Director. Design changes which may affect the stability, size, or integrity of the structure, 
while construction is underway, shall be submitted for the Director’s review and approval. In emergency situations, 
the owner shall make the required alterations or repairs necessary to relieve the emergency, and subsequently notify 
the Director of all alterations or repairs implemented. (        )

07. Inspections. The owner shall allow inspections by the Department to assure the dam and 
appurtenant structures are constructed in conformance with the approved plans and specifications, or as may be 
revised by the engineer and approved by the Director if there are unforeseen conditions discovered during site 
preparation or construction which potentially jeopardize the future integrity and safety of the project works. The 
Department may request of the owner that certain stages of construction not proceed without inspection and approval 
by the Director. (        )

08. Inspection, Examination and Testing of Materials. All materials and workmanship shall be 
subject to review, inspection, examination, or testing by the Director. (        )

09. Rejection of Defective Material. The Director may order the owner or engineer to reject defective 
material. The owner shall correct rejected workmanship and replace rejected material with approved material. (        )

10. Suspension of Work. The Director may order the engineer to suspend any work that is or is likely 
to be subject to damage by inclement weather conditions. (        )

11. Responsibility of Engineer. These provisions shall not relieve the engineer of their responsible 
charge to assure that construction is accomplished in accordance with their approved plans and specifications as 
mandated by Sections 54-1202(10) and (15), Idaho Code, or to unilaterally suspend work as deemed necessary.

(        )

12. Design Report. Owners proposing to construct, enlarge, alter, or repair a dam shall submit an 
engineering or design evaluation report to accompany the plans and specifications. The engineering report shall 
include as much of the following information as necessary to present the technical basis for the design and to describe 
the analyses used to evaluate performance of the structure and appurtenances. (        )

a. All technical reference(s), equations, calculations, and assumptions used in the design. (        )
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b. Hydrologic data used in determining runoff from the drainage areas, reservoir flood routing 
pertinent to the project location, and hydraulic evaluations of the outlet(s) and the spillway(s) as may be required for 
approval of the design plans and specifications. (        )

c. Investigation of site and subsurface conditions, to include the engineering properties of the 
foundation area and of each type of material to be encountered or used in the construction of the project works.

(        )

d. A stability analysis, including an evaluation of overturning, sliding, slope, and foundation stability;
(        )

i. An evaluation of seismic design loads may be included in the stability analysis for all dams as 
deemed necessary by the Director for benefit of public safety. The evaluation required for the design of large dams or 
high hazard structures shall use the maximum ground acceleration which could affect the dam. In the absence of a 
site-specific seismic hazard analysis, the Director may accept seismic analyses that reference published seismic 
hazard maps which determine seismic loads estimated for seismic events corresponding to a return interval of two 
percent (2)% in fifty (50) years. (        )

ii. Seismic analyses may be waived by the Director for new or existing dams if the consequence of 
failure is demonstrated to be sufficiently low or the critical features of design are demonstrated to be sufficiently 
conservative to allow minor deformation(s) without releasing the contents of the impounding structure. (        )

e. Geologic description of the dam and reservoir area, including evaluation of landslide potential near 
the dam; (        )

f. Engineering properties and the weathering characteristics of the contents proposed for storage in 
the impoundment, if applicable; (        )

g. Other information which would aid in evaluating the safety of the design. (        )

13. Additional Information/Waiver. The Director may require the filing of such additional 
information which in their opinion is necessary for the benefit of public safety or waive any requirement in these 
rules if available data demonstrates that it is unnecessary. (        )

14. Alternate Plans. The Director may accept plans and specifications for dams, or portions thereof 
prepared for other agencies which are determined to meet the requirements of Rule 35, including but not limited to 
the following: (        )

a. An operation plan; or (        )

b. An emergency action plan to help protect or mitigate the consequences of a dam failure on
downstream life and property. (        )

036. – 044. (RESERVED)

045. EMERGENCY ACTION AND OPERATION PLANS.
An Emergency Action Plan (EAP) is required for all Significant and High Hazard dams. The EAP shall establish 
emergency procedures for notification and response during unexpected or non-routine events that occur naturally, or 
in response to mechanical issues, or due to intentional vandalism or terrorism. The EAP may be a component of an 
Operation Plan that includes comprehensive guidelines and procedures for inspection, operation, maintenance, and 
monitoring of instruments required to record performance of the structure during normal operating cycles, critical 
filling, or flood periods, or as may be necessary for evaluating the effects of an earthquake. Before the initial filling of 
a reservoir, the owner shall file with the Director an EAP for review and approval. (        )

046. – 049. (RESERVED)

050. NEW DAMS AND RESERVOIRS.
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 57 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES Docket No. 37-0306-2201
Safety of Dams Rules PENDING FEE RULE
The following criteria shall be used by the Director as a basis to evaluate the design of new embankment dams and 
reservoirs. These guidelines are intended for a broad range of circumstances, and engineers should not consider them 
as a restriction to the use of other sound engineering design principles. Exclusion from these established criteria will 
be considered by the Director on a case-by-case basis during design review of plans, drawings, reports, and 
specifications submitted for approval prior to commencing construction. Structures which are or will be constructed 
of other materials, for example concrete, timber, steel, or combinations thereof shall comply with these criteria as 
found appropriate by the Director, and with other engineering design methods and construction standards of care 
approved by the Director. (        )

01. Embankment Stability. Slope stability analyses shall determine the appropriate upstream and 
downstream slopes. Unless a discrete slope stability analysis determines otherwise, the embankment slopes of earthen 
dams shall comply with the following:

(        )

a. Embankments shall be designed, constructed, and maintained to assure stability under static loads 
and prevent instability due to seepage or uplift forces, rapid drawdown conditions, and applied seismic loads. (        )

b. The design analysis shall consider the need for installing filters, including but not limited to 
chimney drains, blanket drains, or toe drains, to avoid developing saturated conditions and to protect against piping of 
the embankment fill material. Transmission of seepage through the embankment, abutments, and foundation shall be 
controlled to prevent internal erosion, the removal of material, or the creation of instability. (        )

c. The minimum factor of safety for a steady state loading condition shall be one point five (1.5.) The 
minimum factor of safety for rapid drawdown loading shall be one point two (1.2.) The minimum factor of safety for 
seismic loading shall be one point zero (1.0.) (        )

d. Seismic Stability. (        )

i. The stability of an embankment subjected to earthquake ground motions may be analyzed by the 
engineer using either a dynamic response or pseudo-static analyses. Pseudo-static analyses are acceptable for 
embankment dams and foundations composed of non-liquifiable soils that preclude the generation of excess pore 
water pressures due to shaking. Otherwise, the stability analysis shall employ a dynamic response method. (        )

ii. Slope deformation analyses are required for structures that are constructed of cohesionless soils 
exhibiting fine grain-size gradation and/or on foundations that may be subject to liquefaction. (        )

iii. The design analysis for regulated dams shall include in the seismic stability analysis peak ground 
accelerations obtained from Seismic Hazard Maps published by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) using a 
minimum return interval of 2 percent (2%) probability of exceedance in fifty (50) years, or greater interval, as 
determined by the Director. (        )

iv. The design analyses for large and high hazard dams shall include a report or report(s) covering 
geology, geologic hazard, and seismicity. The report(s) shall identify the location of faults, evaluate landslide 
potential, and include a history of seismicity. A comparison using deterministic and probabilistic analyses to calculate 
peak ground acceleration at the dam site may be required for geographic areas of the state showing evidence of 
seismic faults or faulting, as determined by the Director. (        )

e. Where in the opinion of the Director, embankment design or conditions warrant, the owner may be 
required to instrument their embankment or foundation. (        )

02. Top Width. The minimum top width for any embankment shall be twelve (12) feet to allow safe 

Upstream slope 3:1 or flatter

Downstream slope 2.5:1 or flatter
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access by wheeled vehicles or tracked equipment for maintenance or repair. (        )

03. Cutoff Trenches or Walls. Cutoff trenches shall be excavated into competent foundation material 
to bear on an approved stratum or zone, as site conditions require and when employed. (        )

a. The cutoff trench shall be backfilled with suitable material free from organic matter and debris and 
compacted to the specified moisture and density. The cutoff trench shall extend up the sides of both abutments to the 
design maximum storage elevation. (        )

b. Cutoff trenches shall be wide enough to allow the free movement of excavation and compaction 
equipment. To provide for proper compaction side slopes shall be no steeper than one to one (1:1) for shallow depths 
up to twelve (12) feet, and no steeper than one and one half to one (1.5:1) for greater depths. Flatter slopes may be 
required for safety and stability, as determined by the Director. (        )

c. Concrete cutoff walls may be used in a similar manner as cutoff trenches, with the base firmly 
entrenched in the underlying foundation material. Where suitable bedrock or suitable foundation material exists, 
concrete cutoff walls shall be doweled with steel rebar a minimum depth and spacing determined by the engineer 
necessary to create a structural bond with the underlying foundation. Concrete walls shall have a minimum vertical 
projection above the foundation surface of three (3) feet, oriented perpendicular to the surface, and shall have a 
minimum thickness of twelve (12) inches. Reinforcement of the concrete may be required in addition to being 
doweled into suitable foundation material(s). (        )

04. Impermeable Core Material. Soils used to construct the inner sectional core of an embankment 
shall consist of relatively impermeable cohesive materials approved by the engineer and compacted in strict 
accordance with the approved plans and specifications. A minimum ninety-five percent (95%) maximum dry density 
compacted in accordance with the American Society Testing Materials (ASTM) D-698 is required. The use of other 
relatively impermeable however non-cohesive material is subject to approval by the Director on a case-by-case basis.

(        )

05. Drains. Toe, blanket, or chimney drains consisting of approved free draining material or approved 
manufactured drainage geotextile shall be installed where necessary to maintain the phreatic line at or near the design 
level(s) within the embankment. (        )

a. Filter design for toe, blanket, or chimney drains, or any combination thereof shall be included in the 
design plans and specifications submitted by the engineer for review and approval by the Director. (        )

b. Perforated and slotted drainpipes must be four (4) inches diameter or greater and shall be 
surrounded by permeable drainage material to a distance equal to or greater than the outside pipe diameter. The 
maximum particle size of the drainage material shall be between one-half (1/2) inch to three-fourths (3/4) inch, or as 
specified by the design engineer based on the drainage filter analysis. Underdrains and collection pipes must be 
constructed of noncorrosive material, taking care to ensure slots and perforations are appropriately sized to avoid 
long-term migration of the drain material into the pipe. (        )

06. Freeboard. The elevation of the top of the embankment shall be constructed and maintained above 
the design flood surcharge level, including the vertical height of wind generated waves estimated for the greatest 
distance of open water measured perpendicular to the major axis of the dam. Camber estimated for post-construction 
settlement shall be included in the design and incorporated in the construction of the top of the embankment. (        )

a. The minimum freeboard shall be two (2) feet plus wave height as calculated for the design spillway 
flow capacity during passage of the one percent (1%) flood, or greater. (        )

07. Riprap. All embankments which are subject to erosion on either the upstream and downstream 
slope(s) shall be protected using riprap or other approved material. Pipes, cables, brush, tree growth, dead growth, 
logs, or floating debris are not acceptable substitutes for approved riprap. The engineer, with approval of the Director, 
shall determine the extent of slope protection as deemed necessary for existing site, seasonal, and operating 
conditions. (        )
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a. Where rock riprap or other approved material is used for erosion protection on the upstream slope, 
it shall be placed on an approved thickness of well-graded and free-draining granular bedding material. Riprap or 
other approved erosion protection material shall extend up the slope a sufficient height. (        )

08. Outlet Conduits. All reservoirs impounding water shall have an outlet conduit of sufficient 
capacity to prevent interference with natural streamflow through the reservoir to the injury of downstream 
appropriators. In addition to any natural flow releases, the outlet conduit should be of sufficient capacity to pass at the 
same time, the maximum water requirement of the owner. A larger outlet conduit may be required to provide 
adequate release capacity as determined by the Director. Upon recommendation n of the design engineer, the Director 
may waive this requirement for off channel reservoirs. (        )

a. Outlet conduits shall be laid on a firm and stable foundation material to avoid the likelihood of 
differential settlement or consolidation causing the separation or misalignment of the conduit. Outlet conduits shall be 
encased on all sides by concrete of approved compressive strength and having a minimum thickness of twelve (12) 
inches. During construction outlet conduits shall be properly aligned on an established grade and adequately 
supported to prevent movement or damage caused by placement of concrete or by compaction equipment. (        )

b. Unless otherwise required, the outlet conduit shall have a minimum inside diameter of twelve (12) 
inches. The conduits shall consist of approved material and composition as approved by the Director. Exceptions may 
be made only where conditions warrant, but in no case shall the reasonable life expectancy of the pipe be less than the 
design life of the embankment. (        )

09. Gates and Valves. (        )

a. Conduits shall be gated on the upstream end to avoid pressurizing the conduit inside the 
embankment. Designed pressurized conduits shall be fitted with both a guard gate and a control gate or valve. (        )

b. All conduits shall be vented directly behind the gate. (        )

c. All gate stem pedestals shall be securely founded to prevent future movement. (        )

d. At least one (1) of the sides of the inlet structure shall be open to allow water to flow into the outlet 
conduit. The opening shall be covered with a trash rack. (        )

e. Trash racks should be designed to facilitate cleaning of trash and debris. If fish screens are used, 
they shall be placed over the trash rack and shall be removable for cleaning or be self-cleaning. (        )

10. Outlet Controls. Outlet controls shall be installed at a stable location, on the crest or on an 
elevated platform, or within an enclosure when required, but secured to prevent unauthorized operation. Reservoirs 
storing water during the winter and subject to severe freezing conditions shall have inclined gate stems or other 
controlling mechanical or hydraulic features enclosed in a protective sleeve which is buried beneath the upstream 
slope to suitable depth, to prevent damage or movement caused by ice. (        )

11. Release Capacity. Based on the size of the dam and the downstream hazard classification assigned 
by the Director, the release capacity shall equal or exceed the inflow design flood as set forth in the following table. 
Where the table specifies an inflow design flood range, the governing inflow design flood shall be determined by the 
professional engineer in responsible charge of design and IDWR based on a site-specific review of the proposed dam, 
watershed conditions, and downstream hazard potential. The minimum flow capacity of the emergency spillway(s) 
shall be sized using the one-percent (1%) rate of flow (i.e., Q100 cfs) calculated for the contributing watershed 
upstream from the dam, plus two (2) feet of freeboard, plus wave height.

Hazard Classification Dam Size Classification Inflow Design Flood (IDF)

Low All Sizes Q100

Significant Small Q100
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(        )

a. All spillways shall be stabilized for the discharge of flow using concrete, masonry, riprap, or sod, if 
not constructed in resistant rock. (        )

b. For embankment dams, where site conditions allow, the spillway shall be constructed independent 
of the embankment. The spillway(s) shall guide the discharge of water away from the embankment. (        )

c. The minimum base width of an open-channel spillway shall be ten (10) feet, or greater to allow 
access by mechanical equipment. Siphon pipes or pumps are not acceptable substitutes for an open-channel spillway.

(        )

d. The effective flow capacity of spillways shall be undiminished by bridges, fences, pipelines, or 
other obstructions. (        )

e. The installation of stop logs or flashboards in the spillway is prohibited unless they are part of an 
approved design and included as an integral part of an approved operation plan. (        )

12. Reservoir Site. Prior to filling the reservoir, the site shall be cleared of all woody material, growth 
or debris that is large enough to lodge in the spillway, or outlet works. (        )

13. Inspection and Completion Reports. As construction proceeds, it is the responsibility of the 
engineer to submit test reports (e.g., soil material analyses, density tests, concrete strength tests, etc.) along with 
periodic inspection and progress reports to the Director. (        )

a. Upon completion of construction the owner or their engineer shall provide the Director a written 
narrative account of all items of construction. Record drawings (i.e., as-builts or as-constructed drawings) and revised 
specifications shall be submitted to the Director to accurately reflect the completed project works. (        )

b. The engineer, acting on behalf of and representing the owner, shall certify that the construction, 
reconstruction, enlargement, replacement, or repair of the embankment and appurtenances was completed in 
accordance with the record drawings and specifications. (        )

051. – 059. (RESERVED)

060. EXISTING DAMS AND RESERVOIRS.
All dams and reservoirs regulated by the Department shall be operated and maintained to retain the existing structural 
dimensions, to resist deformations or movement, and to maintain the hydraulic capacity of the outlet works, spillway, 
and other discharge features as designed and constructed, or as otherwise required by these rules. (        )

01. Analyses Required. The analyses required by Rule 035 shall apply to all existing dams when the 
Director specifically requires the analyses. Where applicable, non-embankment dams shall comply with the 
following criteria. (        )

a. Every dam shall have an overflow spillway with a capacity that will pass an inflow design flood of 
one percent (1%) probability of occurrence (i.e., Q100) or more, with the reservoir or the impoundment full to the 

Intermediate Q100 to Q500

Large Q500

High Small Q100 to Q500

Intermediate  Q500

Large Q500 to PMF

Hazard Classification Dam Size Classification Inflow Design Flood (IDF)
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spillway crest while maintaining the freeboard required by Rule 050.06. (        )

b. The Director may lessen or waive the spillway requirement for dams that demonstrate out-of-
stream (off-channel) storage. (        )

c. The release capability or discharge capacity can include the combined rates of flow for multiple 
appurtenances; for example, spillways, outlets, diversion facilities, or other constructed conveyance features. 
Approved operating procedures which can be shown to utilize upstream storage, diversion, and reservoir flood 
routing to reduce flood runoff events may also be considered. The remainder of the required release capacity, if any, 
may be met by the following: (        )

i. Reconstruction, enlargement or addition of spillways, outlets, diversion facilities, or other 
constructed conveyance features. (        )

ii. A showing acceptable to the Director that potential failure of the dam during a flood of the 
specified magnitude described in Rule 050.11 would be incrementally small in comparison to the flood being 
considered, and that the release of reservoir would not substantially increase downstream damages to life and 
property which are anticipated to result from any natural flood equal to or exceeding that magnitude. (        )

iii. A showing acceptable to the Director that limiting physical factors unique to the project site exist 
that prevent construction of a spillway or other release capability mechanisms during a flood of the specified 
magnitude described in Rule 050.11, and provided the owner implements storage operational procedures, or 
restrictions, or provides for emergency warning to protect life and property. (        )

d. Seismic loads shall be evaluated and applied to dam stability. The Director may require that 
evaluation of seismic loads for large and high hazard structures shall use the maximum ground motion/acceleration 
generated by the maximum credible earthquake. For any existing dam, the Director may accept maximum ground 
motion/acceleration corresponding to specified return intervals using a probabilistic evaluation of earthquake history 
in accordance with USGS hazard maps using a minimum return interval of 2 percent (2%) probability of exceedance 
in fifty (50) years, or greater interval, as determined by the Director. (        )

e. The Director may accept existing studies relative to requirements of Rule 060.01.a. and Rule 
060.01.d., if the Director determines the information provided fulfills the requirements of the rules. (        )

f. The Director may allow the owner of an existing dam a compliance period to complete structural 
modifications or implement other improvements deemed necessary to provide the necessary hydraulic capability.

(        )

g. The Director may allow the owner of an existing dam a compliance period to complete structural 
modifications or implement other improvements deemed necessary to resolve seismic stability or safety concerns.

(        )

h. Within thirty (30) days after completing the analyses required in Rules 060.01.a. or 060.01.d., the 
owner of an existing dam found deficient by either analyses shall file with the Director a plan and schedule for 
mitigating the deficiency. (        )

02. Other Requirements. (        )

a. Routine maintenance items include the following: (        )

i. Eradication of rodents and filling animal burrows; (        )

ii. Removal of vegetation and debris from the dam; (        )

iii. Restoring original dimensions of the dam by the addition of fill material; (        )

iv. Addition of bedding or riprap material which will not increase the height or storage capacity;
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(        )

v. Repair or replacement of gates, gate stems, seals, valves, lift mechanisms or vent pipes with similar 
equipment; or (        )

vi. Repair or replacement of wingwalls, headwalls or aprons including spalling concrete. (        )

b. The following are not routine maintenance items and are subject to design review and approval 
prior to commencing construction: (        )

i. Alteration or modification of embankment slopes; (        )

ii. Replacement, reconstruction, or extension of outlets; (        )

iii. Foundation stabilization; (        )

iv. Filter or drain construction or replacement; (        )

v. Spillway size alteration or modification; (        )

vi. Installation of instrumentation or piezometers; or (        )

vii. Release capability or reservoir storage modification. (        )

c. Items not specifically described in Rules 060.02.a. and 060.02.b. will be determined by the Director 
as either routine or non-routine upon receipt of a written request from the owner or their representative seeking such 
a determination. (        )

d. Where riprap is required to prevent erosion and to maintain a stable embankment, pipes, cables, 
brush, tree growth, logs, or floating debris are not acceptable substitutes for rock riprap and granular bedding 
material. Dams or portions thereof which are stable without riprap, are not required to have riprap. (        )

e. Upon completion of reconstruction of a dam or feature of a dam included in Rule 060.02.b., the 
owner or their engineer shall provide the Director a written narrative account of all items of work. Record drawings 
and revised specifications shall be submitted to the Director if the completed project has been substantially changed 
from the plans and construction specifications originally approved. (        )

f. Upon request, the owner of every dam shall provide their name and address to the Director and 
shall advise the Director of future changes in ownership. If the owner does not reside in Idaho, the owner shall 
provide the name and address of the person residing in Idaho who is responsible for the operation, maintenance, and 
repair of the dam. (        )

061. – 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

37.03.10 – WELL DRILLER LICENSING RULES

DOCKET NO. 37-0310-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. This action is authorized pursuant to Sections 42-238, 42-1734(19), and 42-1805(8), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

This rule establishes the requirements and procedures for obtaining and renewing authorization to drill wells in 
the state of Idaho. The rule also establishes the requirements and procedures for obtaining authorization to operate 
drilling equipment under the supervision of a licensed driller. The rule is applicable to all individuals and companies 
drilling or contracting to drill wells.

There are no changes to the pending fee rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of 
the proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-10, pages 909–919.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

IDAPA 37.03.10 establishes the requirements and procedures for obtaining and renewing authorization to drill 
wells in the state of Idaho. The rules also establish the requirements and procedures for obtaining authorization to 
operate drilling equipment under the supervision of a licensed driller. The licensing rules are applicable to all 
individuals and companies drilling or contracting to drill wells. The rules also implement the application licensing 
fees set forth in Idaho Code, § 42-238.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

DATED this 14th day of November, 2022.

Gary Spackman, Director
Idaho Department of Water Resources
322 E. Front Street
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 287-4800
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized pursuant to §§ 42-238, 42-1734(19), and 42-1805(8), Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a non-technical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rule.

The Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR) and the Idaho Water Resource Board (IWRB) (the 
“Agencies”) initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order No. 2020-01, Zero-Based Regulation
(ZBR) (EO 2020-01), issued by Governor Little on January 16, 2020. Pursuant to EO 2020-01, each rule chapter 
effective on June 30, 2020, must be reviewed by the promulgating agency over a five-year period. This review is 
being conducted according to a schedule established by the Division of Financial Management, Office of the 
Governor (DFM), posted at https://adminrules.idaho.gov/forms_menu.html. This rule chapter was scheduled for 
review in 2022.

With this Notice, the Agencies propose a new chapter of well driller licensing rules. The new chapter is 
approximately 30% shorter than the existing well driller licensing rule chapter due to both internal agency analysis 
and external stakeholder negotiation, commentary, and editing. Changes to the rule come through a combination of 
(a) removal of obsolete provisions (such as Rule 21 Construction and Use of Holes that are Not Wells), (b) removal of 
unnecessary provisions (such as the definition and use of the term “responsible charge”), and (c) modifications to 
existing rules governing the “experience requirements” to obtain a well drilling license.

Pursuant to the ZBR process, this Notice represents the promulgation of a new rule chapter. As a result, the 
proposed rule does not contain strike-out/underline text in legislative format. The old rule has been repealed and 
replaced in its entirety. However, the development of the proposed rule text through two publicly-released 
preliminary rule draft iterations may be viewed at: https://idwr.idaho.gov/legal-actions/rules/idwr-rulemaking-2022-
2023/. At the same website, the Agencies also developed and published rulemaking support documents, which 
provide the Agencies’ recommendations on rulemaking, rulemaking analysis, and responses to substantive comments 
received through the negotiated rulemaking process.

Citizens of the state of Idaho, water users, governmental agencies, and environmental groups may be interested 
in commenting on the proposed rule text. After consideration of public comments received in response to this 
Proposed Rule, the Agencies will present the final rule text to the Idaho Legislature in the late fall of 2022.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed:

IDAPA 37.03.10 establishes the requirements and procedures for obtaining and renewing authorization to drill 
wells in the state of Idaho. The rules also establish the requirements and procedures for obtaining authorization to 
operate drilling equipment under the supervision of a licensed driller. The licensing rules are applicable to all 
individuals and companies drilling or contracting to drill wells. The rules also implement the application licensing 
fees set forth in Idaho Code § 42-238.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to § 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was conducted. 
The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the April 6, 2022, Idaho 
Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-4, pages 51-52.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to § 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis 
of why the incorporation by reference is necessary: N/A.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning this proposed 
rulemaking, contact Mathew Weaver at mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov, (208) 287-4800.

Anyone can submit written comments regarding this proposed rule by mail to the address below or by email sent 
to rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov. The Department will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or 
before October 26, 2022.

Dated this 2nd day of September 2022

37.03.10 – WELL DRILLER LICENSING RULES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY (RULE 0).
Section 42-238, Idaho Code. (        )

001. SCOPE (RULE 1).
These rules establish the requirements and procedures for obtaining and renewing authorization to drill wells in the 
state of Idaho. The rules also establish the requirements and procedures for obtaining authorization to operate drilling 
equipment under the supervision of a licensed driller. The licensing rules are applicable to all individuals and 
companies drilling or contracting to drill wells. (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).
Unless the context otherwise requires, the following definitions govern these rules. (        )

01. Abandonment. See Decommissioned Well. (        )

02. Applicant. An individual who submits to the Department a complete application for a license or 
operator’s permit or a company that submits a complete application for a license. (        )

03. Area of Drilling Concern. An area designated by the director in accordance with Section 42-238, 
Idaho Code, within which special drilling procedures and equipment are needed to prevent waste or contamination of 
the ground water. (        )

04. Board. The Idaho Water Resource Board. (        )

05. Bond. A cash or surety bond obtained by a licensed driller or company (the principal) payable to 
the director (the obligee) to provide funding for decommissioning or repair should the driller fail to comply with well 
construction standards, and to allow information to be collected concerning the drilling of the well if the driller fails 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 37-0310-2201
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 66 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

https://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2022/04.pdf#page=51
mailto: mathew.weaver@idwr.idaho.gov
mailto: rulesinfo@idwr.idaho.gov


IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES Docket No. 37-0310-2201
Well Driller Licensing Rules PENDING FEE RULE
to submit a timely, accurate driller’s report. (        )

06. Bottom Hole Temperature of an Existing or Proposed Well. The temperature of the ground 
water encountered in the bottom of a well or borehole. (        )

07. Company. A firm, co-partnership, corporation, or association licensed in accordance with these 
rules to drill or contract to drill wells. (        )

08. Compliance History. An applicant’s record of compliance with the laws and rules of Idaho and 
other states relating to drilling of wells. (        )

09. Continuing Education. Education or training pertinent to the drilling industry and the 
construction, modification or decommissioning of wells. (        )

10. Continuing Education Committee (CEC). A committee whose purpose is to review and approve 
activities related to continuing education credit. (        )

11. Decommissioned (Abandoned) Well. Any well which has been permanently removed from 
service and filled or plugged in accordance with these rules. A properly decommissioned well will not: (        )

a. Produce or accept fluids; (        )

b. Serve as a conduit for the movement of contaminants inside or outside the well casing; or (        )

c. Allow the movement of surface or ground water into unsaturated zones, into another aquifer, or 
between aquifers. (        )

12. Department. The Idaho Department of Water Resources. (        )

13. Director. The director of the Idaho Department of Water Resources or his duly authorized 
representative. (        )

14. Drilling or Well Drilling. The act of constructing a new well, or modifying the construction, or 
decommissioning of an existing well. (        )

15. Drilling Permit. Authorization by the Department to drill a well as provided in Section 42-235, 
Idaho Code. (        )

16. Drilling Site. The location of the drill rig and immediate area where the drill rig and auxiliary 
equipment are set up to drill a well. (        )

17. Global Positioning System (GPS). A global navigational receiver unit and satellite system used to 
triangulate a geographic position. (        )

18. License. A certificate issued by the director to an individual or a company upon meeting the 
requirements of Section 42-238, Idaho Code, and these rules authorizing the drilling of wells permitted in accordance 
with Section 42-235, Idaho Code. (        )

19. Licensed Driller. An individual having a license to drill wells and who is authorized to supervise 
operators in the state of Idaho to assure compliance with well construction standards. (        )

20. Modify. To deepen a well, increase or decrease the diameter of the casing or the well bore, install a 
liner, place a screen, perforate existing casing or liners, alter the seal between the casing and the well bore, or alter the 
well from its original construction. (        )

21. Operator. Any person authorized to operate drilling equipment for a licensed company or licensed 
driller after obtaining an operator’s permit from the Director. (        )
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22. Operator’s Permit. A certificate issued by the director upon meeting the requirements of Section 
42-238, Idaho Code, and these rules authorizing the holder to operate drill equipment. (        )

23. Principal Driller. A licensed driller designated by a company to supervise the company’s drilling 
operations and activities. (        )

24. Start Card. An expedited drilling permit for the construction of cold-water Single Family 
residential wells. (        )

25. Well. An artificial excavation or opening in the ground more than eighteen (18) feet in vertical 
depth below land surface by which ground water of any temperature is sought or obtained. The depth of a well is 
determined by measuring the maximum vertical distance between the land surface and the deepest portion of the well. 
Any water encountered in the well is obtained for the purpose of these rules. Well also means any waste disposal and 
injection well as defined by Section 42-3902, Idaho Code. (        )

26. Well Construction Standards. IDAPA 37.03.09, “Well Construction Standards Rules,” adopted 
by the board. (        )

27. Well Driller’s Report or Driller’s Report. A report required by Section 42-238, Idaho Code, 
describing drilling of the well and supplying information required on forms provided by the Department. (        )

28. Well Log. A diary maintained at the drilling site consistent with Section 42-238, Idaho Code.
(        )

29. Well Rig or Drill Rig. Any power-driven percussion, rotary, boring, digging, jetting, augering, or 
any other power-driven mechanical equipment used in the drilling of a well. (        )

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. LICENSE APPLICABILITY (RULE 20).

01. Wells to be Drilled by Licensed Drillers. A well shall only be drilled by a licensed driller, or an 
operator working under the supervision of a licensed driller except that a property owner, who is not licensed, can 
construct a well on his property for his own use without the aid of power-driven mechanical equipment. (        )

02. Operators to Have Permits. Any person authorized to operate drilling equipment under the 
supervision of a licensed driller shall possess an operator’s permit as provided in these rules. (        )

03. Company to be Licensed. No company shall drill or contract to drill a well or wells unless the 
company has been issued a license and has employed a principal driller as described in accordance with these rules.

(        )

04. Decommissioning Wells. Only licensed drillers and operators may decommission wells, except 
that wells may be decommissioned by the owner after receiving a specific waiver from the Director. (        )

021. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. OBTAINING A DRILLER’S LICENSE (RULE 30).

01. Experience Requirements. (        )

a. An applicant for a driller’s license shall submit evidence to establish a minimum of twenty-four 
(24) months of drilling experience. Twelve (12) of the twenty-four (24) months of drilling experience must have 
occurred within the five (5) year period immediately preceding the filing of the application. An applicant will be 
credited with one (1) month of drilling experience for each one hundred sixty (160) hours of employment as a driller 
or operator, or the equivalent, as determined by the director. Experience drilling monitoring wells, geothermal wells 
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or other cased wells will be credited as experience by the Director if the equipment and drilling methods are 
applicable to water well construction. (        )

02. Application Requirements. An individual desiring a license shall file with the Department a 
completed application on a form provided by the Department accompanied by the following: (        )

a.  The application fee required by Section 42-238, Idaho Code. (        )

b. Written documentation of drilling experience and compliance history. (        )

c. Successful completion of classroom study in geology, well drilling, map reading, and other related 
subjects may be substituted for up to, but not exceeding, twelve (12) months of drilling experience. The director will 
determine the number of months of classroom study, up to twelve (12), to be credited as experience. (        )

d. The names and addresses of up to three (3) references to confirm the applicant’s drilling experience 
may be requested at the Department’s discretion. (        )

03. Examination. An applicant determined by the director to have adequate experience and an 
acceptable compliance history, as confirmed by references acceptable to the director, is eligible to take a written 
examination. (        )

031. OBTAINING A COMPANY LICENSE (RULE 31).

01. Application Requirements. A company shall file with the Department a complete application for 
a company license upon a form provided by the Department to be accompanied by the following: (        )

a. The names and addresses of up to three (3) persons not affiliated with the company, whom the 
Department can contact for information regarding the company’s past well drilling operations, may be requested at 
the Department’s discretion. (        )

b. Designation of a principal driller who shall be a full-time employee of the company and shall drill 
wells only for the company. A licensed driller who renders only occasional, part-time or consulting drilling services 
to or for a company may not be designated as the principal driller. (        )

c. The names and addresses of drillers and operators presently employed. (        )

032. OBTAINING AN OPERATOR’S PERMIT (RULE 32).

01. Experience Requirements.  (        )

a.  An applicant for an operator’s permit shall submit evidence to establish a minimum of 600 hours 
of well drilling experience acquired while in the presence of a licensed driller or operator. Evidence may include but 
is not limited to: payroll information, daily logs signed by a licensed driller or operator, or other documentation 
approved by the Director. (        )

02. Application Requirements. An individual desiring an operator’s permit shall file with the 
Department a completed application on a form provided by the Department accompanied by the following: (        )

a.  The fee required by Section 42-238, Idaho Code. (        )

b. Attendance records, completion certificates, or other documents that verify attendance and 
completion of two (2) continuing education credit hours, approved by the CEC, earned while in training to become an 
operator. (        )

03. Written Examination. Applicants for an operator’s permit shall pass an examination pursuant to 
these rules. (        )
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04. Operator Drills Only for Licensed Driller or Company. An operator shall drill only for the 
licensed driller or company approved by the director. If an operator changes employment to another licensed driller or 
company, a new operator’s permit application or transfer form shall be filed as provided in this rule. (        )

033. PROCESSING APPLICATION FOR A DRILLER’S LICENSE OR OPERATOR’S PERMIT 
(RULE 33).

01. Incomplete Application. If an application is incomplete, not properly signed, or does not include 
the information required by these rules, the Department will advise the applicant in writing of the deficiency. If the 
deficiencies are not satisfied within ninety (90) days of sending the notice of the deficiency, the application will be 
void. The application fee is not refundable. (        )

02. Issuance of License. If the director, upon review of the application, determines that an applicant 
for license is qualified and the driller has subsequently taken and passed an examination, a notice will be sent to the 
applicant requesting a bond, in an amount determined in accordance with Rule 60, be filed with the Department. 
Upon receipt of a satisfactory bond, the director will issue a license to the applicant. (        )

03. Issuance of Operator’s Permits. The Department will mail a notice and operator’s permit card to 
the principal driller on behalf of the applicant if the application is complete and the applicant meets the qualifications 
described in these rules. (        )

04. Driller’s License or Operator's Permit Issued With Conditions or Denial of License or 
Operator's Permit. The Director may issue a license or operator’s permit with specific conditions or limitations 
based on the applicant’s experience and compliance history. The Director may refuse to issue or renew a driller’s 
license permanently or for a designated period if the driller has previously constructed wells improperly or 
constructed a well without a valid driller’s license. If the Director determines that the applicant is not qualified, the 
Director will deny the application. Notice of a denied application or a conditioned license or operator’s permit will be 
given to the applicant in accordance with IDAPA 37.01.01, “Rules of Procedure of the Idaho Department of Water 
Resources.” (        )

034. EXAMINATION PROCEDURES (RULE 34).

01. Written Examination. Written examinations will be offered at Department offices on the first 
Monday of each quarter. If the first Monday is a legal holiday, written examination will be offered on the first 
Tuesday. Re-examination may be taken at a regularly scheduled examination date during a following quarter and 
shall be scheduled with the Department office originally testing the applicant. (        )

02. Verbal or Oral Examination. Successful passage of a verbal examination may satisfy all or a part 
of the written testing requirements under the following circumstances: (        )

a. The applicant requests a verbal examination and shows cause acceptable to the director why the 
examination should be verbal rather than written. Applicants desiring to take the examination verbally shall request 
that a verbal examination be scheduled allowing at least fifteen (15) days to set an examination date. (        )

b. The director determines that because of the applicant’s compliance history, additional testing is 
needed to determine the applicant’s qualifications. (        )

03. Examination Scoring. A score of seventy percent (70%) or higher is a passing score. (        )

04. Assistance Must Be Authorized. The use of written materials, equipment, or other individuals to 
assist an applicant during an examination is prohibited unless specifically authorized by the Department. An 
applicant receiving unauthorized assistance during an examination may be disqualified and the application may be 
rejected. An application filed by a disqualified applicant will not be processed for a period of up to one (1) year from 
the time of disqualification. (        )

035. EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL OF DRILLER LICENSES AND OPERATOR PERMITS (RULE 
35).
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01. Expiration of Licenses and Permits. All driller licenses and operator permits expire at the end of 
the licensing period for which they are issued. The licensing period begins April 1 and ends March 31 of the second 
year following issuance. (        )

02. Renewal Application. A license or operator permit may be renewed by submitting a renewal 
application including the following: (        )

a. A completed application on a form provided by the Department. An application for renewal shall 
be signed by the principal driller. (        )

b. The renewal fee required by Section 42-238, Idaho Code. (        )

c. A new bond or continuation certificate for an existing bond covering all drillers and operators 
employed by the company. (        )

03. Continuing Education Requirements. Credit hours not to exceed twenty (20) are required for 
renewal of a driller license or operator permit for any licensing period. (        )

036. PROCESSING APPLICATION TO RENEW LICENSE OR OPERATOR’S PERMIT (RULE 36).

01. Processing Applications for Renewal. The Department shall receive a complete application for 
renewal no later than March 15 to assure that the license or operator’s permit will remain in force without 
interruption. If the director determines that the application is complete and the applicant is qualified, the license or 
operator’s permit will be renewed for the period ending on March 31 of the second year after approval of the renewal.

(        )

02. Regulatory Compliance Required for Renewals. A license or operator’s permit will not be 
renewed if the applicant has not submitted all required driller’s reports, applications for drilling permits, fees, agreed 
civil penalties, has not complied with all orders requiring repair or decommissioning of improperly constructed wells 
or is not otherwise in compliance with Sections 42-235 and 42-238, Idaho Code, and the applicable rules. (        )

03. Compliance History. If the Director determines that the applicant has exhibited an unacceptable 
compliance history, the Director may deny renewal, refuse renewal for a specified time, or renew with conditions, 
including but not limited to an increased bond amount. (        )

04. Renewal of Expired Licenses or Operator’s Permits. A license or an operator’s permit which has 
expired or otherwise not been in effect for a period not exceeding three (3) years shall be renewed in accordance with 
the requirements of Rule 35. An applicant for renewal shall provide verification of earned credit hours required for 
the entire period since the license or operator’s permit was last issued. If a license or operator’s permit has been 
expired or otherwise not effective for a period of more than three (3) years, a new application shall be submitted in 
accordance with these Rules. The director may waive the examination requirement if the applicant has been 
previously licensed or permitted in the state of Idaho. (        )

05. Reuse of Identification Numbers. The identification number assigned to a license by the 
Department will not be reused if the license has been expired or otherwise not in effect for three (3) years or more 
except, at the director’s discretion, the number may be reissued to the original owner. (        )

06. Condition or Denial of an Application for Renewal. If the Director determines that the applicant 
has not or cannot fully comply with these rules, a license or operator’s permit may be issued with conditions. If the 
Director determines that the applicant is not qualified or has documented violations of well drilling laws and/or rules, 
the Director will deny the application. When there are documented violations of well drilling laws and/or rules, 
including well construction standards, the Director may issue a conditional license or operator's permit or deny an 
application based on the applicant's compliance history. Notice of a denied application or a conditioned license will 
be given as provided in IDAPA 37.01.01, “Rules of Procedure of the Idaho Department of Water Resources.” (        )

037. -- 049. (RESERVED)
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050. DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF DRILLERS, COMPANIES AND OPERATORS (RULE 
50).

01. Licensed Drillers and Principal Drillers. All licensed drillers and principal drillers shall: (        )

a. Allow drilling only by those authorized by and under the supervision required by these rules and 
according to any conditions of the license or permit. (        )

b. Complete each well in compliance with IDAPA 37.03.09, “Well Construction Standards Rules,” 
and drilling permit conditions. (        )

c. Maintain a valid cash or surety bond, as defined in Rule 60. (        )

d. Display the driller or company license number in a conspicuous place on the drill rig using a metal 
identification plate issued by the Department or other permanent marking approved by the director. If requested by 
the applicant, one plate will be issued upon initial licensure. Replacement plates or additional plates are available for 
a fee. (        )

e. Keep current the Department’s list of operators and drillers employed by the licensed driller or 
company, including current addresses for the company, drillers, and operators. The licensed driller or principal driller 
shall be held responsible for all drilling activity of a driller or operator under their supervision until such notification 
has been submitted in writing to the Department that the driller or operator is no longer employed by the licensed 
driller or company. (        )

f. Have at the drilling site the driller’s license and drilling permit or other written authorization from 
the director to drill the well. (        )

g. Obtain specific written authorization from the director to drill: (        )

i. In contaminated areas identified by the Department; (        )

ii. In areas of drilling concern designated by the Department; (        )

iii. A public drinking water supply well, as defined in IDAPA 58.01.08, “Idaho Rules for Public 
Drinking Water Systems”; (        )

iv. Low temperature geothermal resource wells; and (        )

v. Geothermal resource wells. (        )

h. Monitor and record bottom-hole temperature in areas where low temperature geothermal resources 
are known or suspected or when the well is being constructed pursuant to IDAPA 37.03.09, Rule 30, as a low 
temperature geothermal resource well. Bottom-hole temperature of every well being constructed pursuant to IDAPA 
37.03.09, Rule 30, must be measured, recorded, and reported on the well drillers report. (        )

i. Maintain a daily well log at the drilling site acceptable to the Department and as required by 
Section 42-238(11), Idaho Code. Pertinent data required to be recorded on the daily log must include information 
sufficient to complete a well drillers report acceptable to the Director. The driller shall retain the well log for at least 
one (1) year after the driller’s report is submitted to the Department. (        )

j. Submit driller’s reports, acceptable to the Director, on forms approved by the Department within 
thirty (30) days following removal of the drill rig from the drilling site at completion of the well. Driller’s reports 
shall be prepared from information recorded on the daily well log. Driller’s reports returned to the driller due to 
deficiencies must be corrected and returned to the Department within thirty (30) days of mailing by the Department.

(        )
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k. Attach a well tag supplied by the Department to every well drilled for which a drilling permit is 
required. The tag shall be affixed permanently to the casing, or other permanent object attached to the well, by a 
method approved by the Director prior to removing the well rig from the drilling site. (        )

l. Cause all drilling activity under the supervision of the driller to cease when the driller’s license 
expires, becomes invalid, or is suspended or revoked. (        )

02. Companies. Companies shall: (        )

a. Have a principal driller always designated with the Department and keep current the Department’s 
contact information to include a valid phone number for the principal driller. (        )

b. Notify the Department within ten (10) days of the principal driller leaving employment with the 
company. The company’s license shall immediately become void and of no effect when the principal driller leaves 
employment with the company and shall remain so until the Department has been notified in writing that a new 
principal driller has been employed and designated by the company. Failure to designate a principal driller within 
ninety (90) days of the departure of the designated principal driller is cause for the director to take action to cancel the 
company’s license. (        )

c. Always maintain a bond as required in Rule 60. (        )

03. Operators. Operators shall: (        )

a. Have in their possession a valid operator’s permit while operating drill rigs or drilling equipment.
(        )

b. Only drill wells as authorized by the operator’s permit. (        )

c. Maintain a complete and accurate well log at the drilling site. (        )

d. Co-sign a driller’s report with the licensed driller upon completion of the well.
(        )

051. -- 059. (RESERVED)

060. BONDING (RULE 60).

01. Bonding Requirements. Each licensed company shall submit a surety bond or cash bond in an 
amount determined by the director, within the limits of 42-238, Idaho Code, covering all drillers and operators 
employed by the company, payable to the director for the licensing period. If the licensed driller drills wells as an 
individual and not for a company, a separate bond must be filed with the director. (        )

a. The amount of the bond will be determined by the director based on the applicant’s compliance 
history, the size and depth of wells the applicant proposes to construct and is authorized to drill, the complexity of the 
wells, the resource to be recovered, the area of operation of the applicant, the number of drillers and operators 
employed by a company, and other relevant factors. (        )

b. The amount of the bond required prior to drilling in an area of drilling concern, and/or drilling 
monitoring wells, public water supply wells, or wells with a bottom hole temperature meeting the definition of a low 
temperature geothermal resource as defined by Section 42-233, Idaho Code, shall be the maximum amount allowed 
by Section 42-238, Idaho Code. (        )

c. All bonds and continuation certificates shall commence on April 1 or date of licensure for a new 
company and be valid until March 31 of the year the driller or company license expires. Bonds and continuation 
certificates must be on a form approved or provided by the Department. (        )

02. Cash Bonds. (        )
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a. Cash bonds shall be in a separate account readily accessible to the director for use as provided in 
these rules. The director will review cash bond proposals made by an applicant. Cash bonds shall be retained in 
financial institutions within the state of Idaho unless waived by the director. (        )

b. The director will retain cash bonds for two (2) years from the date the driller requests that the bond 
be released unless replaced by another bond or the director determines that all wells drilled by the driller satisfy well 
construction standards. The release of a cash bond must be requested in writing. (        )

03. License Void Without Bond. If the surety cancels a bond, the bond expires or otherwise becomes 
non-effective during the term of a license, the license shall immediately become void and of no further effect until an 
adequate replacement bond is received by the Department. (        )

061. -- 069. (RESERVED)

070. CONTINUING EDUCATION (RULE 70).

01. Requirements. Every licensed driller or operator must earn the applicable number of credit hours 
consistent with these rules. The credit hours must be obtained during the licensing period preceding the renewal 
application. (        )

02. Earning Credit Hours. Credit hours may be earned for time spent in attendance at workshops, 
seminars, short courses, and other educational opportunities devoted to well drilling or related subjects acceptable to 
the Director or approved by the continuing education committee (CEC) in compliance with the CEC guidelines. 
These may include completion of college courses, correspondence courses, or online courses. (        )

03. Documentation. Documentation in support of credit hours is the responsibility of each licensed 
driller and operator. Records required include but are not limited to: (        )

a. A log showing the type of course or activity, sponsoring organization, duration, instructor’s name, 
and credit hours. (        )

b. Attendance verification records in the form of completion certificates or other official documents 
providing evidence of attendance and completion. (        )

04. Submittal and Maintenance of Records. Copies of continuing education records for the 
preceding license period shall be submitted with applications to renew licenses or permits. These records shall be 
maintained by the applicant for a period of three (3) years and shall be available for review by the Department at the 
request of the director. (        )

05. Insufficient Credit Hours. If at the time of renewal, the applicant is unable to provide verification 
of the required credit hours, the director will deny renewal of the driller’s license or operator’s permit, except as 
follows: (        )

a. The director may withhold action on an application for renewal for a period not to exceed ninety 
(90) days to allow the applicant to provide verification of the required credit hours. The applicant is not authorized to 
drill until the verification is provided and the renewal is issued. (        )

b. The director may exempt an applicant from all or part of the continuing education requirements if 
the applicant served on active duty in the armed forces of the United States for one hundred twenty (120) consecutive 
days or more during the licensing period prior to filing the application for renewal; or the applicant suffered physical 
disability, serious illness, or other extenuating circumstances that prevented the applicant from earning the required 
units. (        )

06. Out-of-State Residents. The continuing education requirements for a driller’s license or operator’s 
permit are the same for both resident and non-resident applicants. (        )
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07. Responsibility for Education Development and Implementation. The Department’s 
responsibility to develop and implement a program for continuing education may, at the Director’s discretion, be 
delegated through a memorandum of understanding (MOU) and/or contract to external providers such as the Idaho 
Ground Water Association (IGWA). (        )

071. -- 089. (RESERVED)

090. ENFORCEMENT (RULE 90).

01. Violations. Violations of these rules or Sections 42-235 or 42-238, Idaho Code, will be enforced as 
provided in Sections 42-238 and 42-1701B, Idaho Code. (        )

02. Enforcement Procedures. Department procedures and guidance for administrative enforcement 
are published on the Department’s website and available upon request. (        )

091. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 58 – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
58.01.01 – RULES FOR THE CONTROL OF AIR POLLUTION IN IDAHO

DOCKET NO. 58-0101-2101 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo, Incorporation By Reference Synopsis (IBRS), & 

Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the Idaho Board of Environmental Quality (Board) and is now 
pending review by the 2023 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho 
Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the 
legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes 
final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution 
unless the rule is rejected. However, the deletion of Sections 517 through 527, Motor Vehicle Inspection and 
Maintenance Program, will not become effective until July 1, 2023; those sections will remain in effect until July 1, 
2023.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that the Board has adopted 
a pending rule. This rulemaking action is authorized by Sections 39-105, 39-107, 39-114, and 39-115. This 
rulemaking updates federal regulations incorporated by reference as mandated by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) for approval of Idaho’s Title V Operating Permit Program pursuant to 40 CFR Part 70 and fulfilling 
the requirements of Idaho’s delegation agreement with EPA under Section 112(l) of the Clean Air Act. It also updates 
citations to other federal regulations necessary to retain state primacy of Clean Air Act programs.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: A detailed summary of the reason for adopting the rule is set forth in the initial 
proposal published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, September 7, 2022, Vol. 22-9, pages 325 through 488.

After consideration of public comments, sections 002, 006.31, 008.02, 008.04, 009, 387, 791.01, and 794.02 
have been revised. The effective date of the deletion of Sections 517 through 527 due to legislative action has been 
clarified (see Senate Bill No. 1254.) The remainder of the rule has been adopted as initially proposed. The Board 
meeting documents are available at https://www.deq.idaho.gov/air-quality-docket-no-58-0101-2101/ or by contacting 
the undersigned.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: Not applicable.

FEE SUMMARY: With exception of the revised Title V permitting fees, this rulemaking does not impose a fee or 
charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously submitted to and reviewed by the Idaho Legislature 
in prior rules. The fee categories and statutory authorities are crop residue burn fee, Idaho Code § 39-114(4); and 
application fee for industrial or commercial air pollution source permits, Idaho Code § 39-115(3).

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning the rulemaking, contact 
the undersigned.

Dated this 7th day of December, 2022

Caroline Moores
Operations Senior Analyst
Department of Environmental Quality
1410 N. Hilton Street
Boise, Idaho 83706
Phone: (208)373-0149
caroline.moores@deq.idaho.gov
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This rulemaking action is authorized by Sections 39-105, 39-107, 39-114, and 39-115. 
This rulemaking updates federal regulations incorporated by reference as mandated by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) for approval of Idaho’s Title V Operating Permit Program pursuant to 40 CFR Part 70 and 
fulfilling the requirements of Idaho’s delegation agreement with EPA under Section 112(l) of the Clean Air Act. It 
also updates citations to other federal regulations necessary to retain state primacy of Clean Air Act programs.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Pursuant to Section 67-5222, Idaho Code, a public hearing has been scheduled 
and will be held as follows:

The meeting location will be accessible to persons with disabilities, and language translators will be made 
available upon request. To request accommodations for language translation, contact the undersigned by October 6, 
2022.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: DEQ initiated this rulemaking in compliance with Executive Order No. 2020-01, 
Zero-Based Regulation (EO 2020-01), issued by Governor Little on January 16, 2020. Pursuant to EO 2020-01, each 
rule chapter effective on June 30, 2020, shall be reviewed by the agency that promulgated the rule. The review will be 
conducted according to a schedule established by the Division of Financial Management, Office of the Governor 
(DFM). This is one of the DEQ rule chapters up for review in 2022.

The goal of the rulemaking is to perform a critical and comprehensive review of the entire chapter in an attempt 
to reduce overall regulatory burden, streamline various provisions, and increase clarity and ease of use.

This rulemaking updates federal regulations incorporated by reference with the July 1, 2022 Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR) effective date. The July 1, 2022 CFR is a codification of federal regulations published in the 
Federal Register as of July 1, 2022. To ensure that the state rules remain consistent with federal regulations, the Rules 
for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho, IDAPA 58.01.01, are updated annually to maintain consistency with the 
federal regulations implementing the Clean Air Act.

This rulemaking also includes the revised fee structure of a Clean Air Act mandated air permitting program 
negotiated under Docket No. 58-0101-1902. Sections 387 – 397. Major industrial sources of air pollution are required 
to have a Title V operating permit. In Idaho, the Title V permitting program is administered by DEQ. The Clean Air 
Act requires these industrial sources to pay on-going annual fees to cover all reasonable costs associated with the 
Title V permitting program (Clean Air Act 42 USC 7661a(b)(3) and implementation regulation at 40 CFR 70.9). In 
January 2018, the Idaho National Laboratory (INL) decreased its emissions such that it will no longer be required to 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

*Public Hearing*
Tuesday, October 11, 2022

2:30 p.m. (MT)
In-person participation is available at:

DEQ State Office
1410 N Hilton St

Conference Center
Boise, ID

Or
Join Zoom Meeting

The meeting link is available at: https://www.deq.idaho.gov/air-quality-docket-no-58-0101-2101/
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have a Title V operating permit and, therefore, will no longer pay Title V permitting fees. Since the inception of the 
Title V permitting program, the INL has paid a Title V permitting fee of $500,000, which covered far more than its 
share of program costs. Without this significant sum, it was necessary for DEQ to negotiate a revision to the current 
fee structure to ensure there is sufficient funding to cover the costs of administering the Title V program in Idaho.

Other than the incorporation by reference update and the Title V fee structure changes, no substantive changes 
were made in this proposed rule docket. Because this is the promulgation of a new rule chapter, the proposed rule 
does not contain strike-out/underline text. A document prepared by DEQ showing the proposed rule revisions in 
strike-out/underline format can be viewed here.

Members of the regulated community who may be subject to Idaho's air quality rules, facilities with Title V 
permits, special interest groups, public officials, and members of the public who have an interest in the regulation of 
air emissions from sources in Idaho may be interested in commenting on this proposed rule. After consideration of 
public comments, DEQ intends to present the final proposal to the Idaho Board of Environmental Quality (Board) in 
November 2022 for adoption of a pending rule. The rule is expected to be final and effective upon the conclusion of 
the 2023 legislative session if adopted by the Board and approved by the Idaho Legislature.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: The revised Title V fee structure was negotiated under Docket No. 58-0101-
1902. In May 2019, the Notice of Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, and 
the preliminary draft rule was posted on DEQ’s website. Meetings were held on May 7, 2019, August 24, 2021, and 
October 5, 2021.

In October 2021, the Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Zero-Based Regulation Negotiated Rulemaking for 
Docket No. 58-0101-2101 was published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, and the preliminary draft rule was 
posted on DEQ’s website. Meetings were held on October 28, 2021; November 30, 2021; and March 29, 2022. 

Stakeholders and members of the public participated by receiving email notifications, reviewing DEQ’s 
presentations and supporting information, attending meetings, and submitting comments. Key information was 
posted on DEQ’s website and distributed to persons who participated in the negotiated rulemaking.

All comments received during the negotiated rulemaking process were considered by DEQ when making 
decisions regarding the development of the rule. At the conclusion of the negotiated rulemaking process, DEQ 
inserted the revised Title V fee structure negotiated under Docket No. 58-0101-1902 and submitted the draft rule to 
DFM for review. DEQ formatted the draft for publication as a proposed rule and is now seeking public comment. The 
negotiated rulemaking record, which includes the negotiated rule drafts, documents distributed during the negotiated 
rulemaking process, and the negotiated rulemaking summary, is available at https://www.deq.idaho.gov/air-quality-
docket-no-58-0101-2101/.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the incorporation by reference is necessary:

Adoption of federal regulations is necessary to maintain program primacy. Incorporation by reference allows 
DEQ to keep its rules up to date with federal regulation changes and simplifies compliance for the regulated 
community. Information for obtaining a copy of the federal regulations is included in the rule.

In compliance with Idaho Code 67-5223(4), DEQ prepared a brief synopsis detailing the substantive differences 
between the previously incorporated material and the latest revised edition or version of the incorporated material 
being proposed for incorporation by reference. The Overview of Incorporations by Reference is available at https://
www.deq.idaho.gov/air-quality-docket-no-58-0101-2101/.

IDAHO CODE SECTION 39-107D STATEMENT: There are no changes to this proposed rule that regulate an 
activity not regulated by the federal government, nor are broader in scope or more stringent than federal regulations.

FEE SUMMARY: With exception of the revised Title V permitting fees, this rulemaking does not impose a fee or 
charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously submitted to and reviewed by the Idaho Legislature 
in prior rules. The fee categories and statutory authorities are crop residue burn fee, Idaho Code § 39-114(4); and 
application fee for industrial or commercial air pollution source permits, Idaho Code § 39-115(3).
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FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: Not applicable.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on questions concerning this proposed 
rulemaking, contact Carl Brown at carl.brown@deq.idaho.gov or (208) 373-0206.

SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed 
rule. The Department will consider all written comments received on or before October 11, 2022. Submit comments 
to:

Carl Brown
Air Quality Rules & Planning Coordinator
Department of Environmental Quality
1410 N. Hilton Street
Boise, Idaho 83706
carl.brown@deq.idaho.gov

Dated this 7th day of September, 2022

Substantive changes have been made to the pending rule.
Italicized red text indicates changes between the text of the proposed rule as adopted in the pending rule.

58.01.01 – RULES FOR THE CONTROL OF AIR POLLUTION IN IDAHO

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The Board of Environmental Quality is authorized to promulgate rules for the Department of Environmental Quality 
governing air pollution pursuant to Sections 39-105, 39-107, 39-114, and 39-115, Idaho Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE. 
These rules are titled IDAPA 58.01.01, Rules of the Department of Environmental Quality, IDAPA 58.01.01, “Rules 
for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho” and provide for the control of air pollution in Idaho. (        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
The Department of Environmental Quality has written statements that pertain to the interpretation of or compliance 
with these rules at 1410 N. Hilton, Boise, Idaho, the Department regional offices, and https://www.deq.idaho.gov.

(        )

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
Persons may be entitled to appeal agency actions authorized under this chapter pursuant to IDAPA 58.01.23, 
“Contested Case Rules and Rules for Protection and Disclosure of Records.” (        )

004. (RESERVED)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 58-0101-2101
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005. DEFINITIONS.
Definitions in federal statute, federal regulation, and Idaho Code are incorporated by reference unless otherwise listed 
below. The terms “air contaminant or contamination,” “air pollution,” “board,” “department,” “director,” “emission,” 
and “person” have the meaning provided for those terms in Section 39-103, Idaho Code. (        )

006. GENERAL DEFINITIONS.

01. Accountable. Any SIP emission trading program must account for the aggregate effect of the 
emissions trades in the demonstration of reasonable further progress, attainment, or maintenance. (        )

02. Actual Emissions. The actual rate of emissions of a pollutant from an emissions unit as determined 
below: (        )

a. Actual emissions as of a particular date equal the average rate, in tons per year, at which the unit 
emitted the pollutant during a consecutive 24-month period that precedes the particular date and is representative of 
normal source operation. The Department will allow the use of a different time period upon a determination that it is 
more representative of normal source operation. Actual emissions must be calculated using the unit’s actual operating 
hours, production rates, and types of materials processed, stored, or combusted during the selected time period.

(        )

b. The Department may presume that the source-specific allowable emissions for the unit are 
equivalent to actual emissions of the unit. (        )

c. For any emissions unit (other than an electric utility steam generating unit as specified below) 
which has not yet begun normal operations on the particular date, actual emissions equal the potential to emit of the 
unit on that date. (        )

d. For an electric utility steam generating unit (other than a new unit or the replacement of an existing 
unit) actual emissions of the unit following the physical or operational change equal the representative actual annual 
emissions of the unit, provided the source owner or operator maintains and submits to the Department, on an annual 
basis for a period of five (5) years from the date the unit resumes regular operation, information demonstrating that 
the physical or operational change did not result in an emissions increase. A longer period, not to exceed ten (10) 
years may be required by the Department if it determines such a period to be more representative of normal source 
post-change operations. (        )

03. Air Quality. The specific measurement in the ambient air of a particular air pollutant at any given 
time. (        )

04. Allowable Emissions. The allowable emissions rate of a stationary source or facility calculated 
using the maximum rated capacity of the source or facility (unless the source or facility is subject to federally 
enforceable limits that restrict the operating rate, or hours of operation, or both) and the most stringent of the 
following: (        )

a. The applicable standards set forth in 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63. (        )

b. Any applicable State Implementation Plan emissions limitation including those with a future 
compliance date; or (        )

c. The emissions rate specified as a federally enforceable permit condition, including those with a 
future compliance date. (        )

05. Ambient Air. That portion of the atmosphere, external to buildings, to which the general public has 
access. (        )

06. Ambient Air Quality Violation. Any ambient concentration that causes or contributes to an 
exceedance of a national ambient air quality standard as determined by 40 CFR Part 50. (        )
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 80 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title39/T39CH1/SECT39-103/


DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
07. Attainment Area. Any area which is designated, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7407(d), as having 
ambient concentrations equal to or less than national primary or secondary ambient air quality standards for a 
particular air pollutant or air pollutants. (        )

08. Commence Construction or Modification. Initiation of physical on-site construction activities on 
an emissions unit that are permanent. Such activities include, but are not limited to, fabrication, erection, installation, 
or modification of a stationary source or facility, installation of building supports and foundations, laying of 
underground pipework, and construction of permanent storage structures. With respect to a change in method of 
operation, this term refers to those on-site activities, other than preparatory activities, that mark the initiation of the 
change. (        )

09. Control Equipment. Any method, process or equipment which removes, reduces or renders less 
noxious, air pollutants discharged into the atmosphere. (        )

10. Controlled Emission. An emission which has been treated by control equipment to remove all or 
part of an air pollutant before release to the atmosphere. (        )

11. Criteria Air Pollutant. Any of the following: PM10; PM2.5; sulfur oxides; ozone, nitrogen 
dioxide; carbon monoxide; lead. (        )

12. Emission. Any controlled or uncontrolled release or discharge into the outdoor atmosphere of any 
air pollutants or combination thereof. Emission also includes any release or discharge of any air pollutant from a 
stack, vent, or other means into the outdoor atmosphere that originates from an emission unit. (        )

13. Emission Standard. A permit or regulatory requirement established by the Department or EPA 
which limits the quantity, rate, or concentration of emissions of air pollutants on a continuous basis, including any 
requirements which limit the level of opacity, prescribe equipment, set fuel specifications, or prescribe operation or 
maintenance procedures for a source to assure continuous emission reduction. (        )

14. Emissions Unit. An identifiable piece of process equipment or other part of a facility which emits 
or may emit any air pollutant. (        )

15. Environmental Remediation Source. A stationary source that functions to remediate or recover 
any release, spill, leak, discharge or disposal of any petroleum product or petroleum substance, any hazardous waste 
or hazardous substance from any soil, ground water or surface water, and has an operational life no greater than five 
(5) years from the inception of any operations to the cessation of actual operations. Nothing in this definition limits 
remediation projects to five (5) years or less of total operation. (        )

16. Existing Stationary Source or Facility. Any stationary source or facility that exists, is installed, or 
is under construction on the original effective date of any applicable provision of this chapter. (        )

17. Facility. All of the pollutant-emitting activities that belong to the same industrial grouping, are 
located on one (1) or more contiguous or adjacent properties, and are under the control of the same person (or persons 
under common control). Pollutant-emitting activities are considered as part of the same industrial grouping if they 
belong to the same Major Group (i.e. which have the same two-digit code) as described in the Standard Industrial 
Classification Manual. The fugitive emissions are not considered in determining whether a permit is required unless 
required by federal law. (        )

18. Federal Land Manager. The Secretary of the department with authority over the Federal Class I 
Area (or the Secretary's designee). (        )

19. Federally Enforceable. All limitations and conditions which are enforceable by EPA and the 
Department under the Clean Air Act, including those requirements developed pursuant to 40 CFR Parts 60 and 61 
requirements within any applicable State Implementation Plan, and any permit requirements established pursuant to 
40 CFR 52.21 or under regulations approved pursuant to 40 CFR Parts 51, 52, 60, or 63. (        )

20. Fuel-Burning Equipment. Any furnace, boiler, or other apparatus, including all stacks and 
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 81 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
appurtenances thereto, that burns fuel for the primary purpose of producing heat or power by indirect heat transfer.
(        )

21. Fugitive Dust. Fugitive emissions composed of particulate matter. (        )

22. Fugitive Emissions. Those emissions which could not reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, 
vent, or other functionally equivalent opening. (        )

23. Gasoline. Any mixture of volatile hydrocarbons suitable as a fuel for the propulsion of motor 
vehicles or motorboats. Gasoline also means aircraft engine fuels when used for the operation or propulsion of motor 
vehicles or motor boats and includes gasohol, but does not include special fuels, which is defined as fuel suitable for 
diesel engines; a compressed or liquefied gas obtained as a by-product in petroleum refining or natural gasoline 
manufacture, such as butane, isobutane, propane, propylene, butylenes, and their mixtures; and natural gas, either 
liquid or gas, and hydrogen, used for the generation of power for the operation or propulsion of motor vehicles.

(        )

24. Gasoline Cargo Tank. Any tank or trailer used for the transport of gasoline from sources of supply 
to underground gasoline storage tanks. (        )

25. Gasoline Dispensing Facility (GDF). Any facility with underground gasoline storage tanks used 
for dispensing gasoline. (        )

26. Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP). Any air pollutant listed pursuant to Section 112(b) of the Clean 
Air Act. Hazardous Air Pollutants are regulated air pollutants. (        )

27. Incinerator. Any source consisting of a furnace and all appurtenances thereto designed for the 
destruction of refuse by burning. “Open Burning” is not considered incineration. For purposes of these rules, the 
destruction of any combustible liquid or gaseous material by burning in a flare stack shall be considered incineration.

(        )

28. Integral Vista. A view perceived from within the mandatory Class I Federal Area of a specific 
landmark or panorama located outside the boundary of the mandatory Class I Federal Area. (        )

29. Mandatory Class I Federal Area. Any area identified in 40 CFR 81.400 through 81.437. (        )

30. Mercury Best Available Control Technology (MBACT). An emission standard for mercury 
(including elemental mercury and mercury compounds) based on the maximum degree of reduction practically 
achievable as specified by the Department on an individual case-by-case basis considering energy, economic and 
environmental impacts, and other relevant impacts specific to the source. A Department approved MBACT is valid 
until the source subject to the MBACT is modified. If the proposed modification to the source subject to MBACT 
occurs within ten (10) years of the MBACT determination, a new MBACT review is not triggered if the source can 
meet the existing MBACT requirements. If the proposed modification occurs more than ten (10) years after the 
MBACT determination, then the proposed modification will be subject to a new MBACT review. (        )

31. Modification. (        )

a. Any physical change in, or change in the method of operation of, a stationary source or facility that 
results in an emission increase as defined in Section 007 or that would result in the emission of any regulated air 
pollutant not previously emitted. (        )

b. Any physical change in, or change in the method of operation of, a stationary source or facility that 
would result in an increase in the emissions rate of any state only toxic air pollutant, or emissions of any state only 
toxic air pollutant not previously emitted. (        )

c. Fugitive emissions are not considered in determining whether a permit is required for a 
modification unless required by federal law. (        )
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d. Routine maintenance, repair and replacement are not considered physical changes and the 
following are not considered a change in the method of operation: (        )

i. An increase in the production rate if such increase does not exceed the operating design capacity of 
the affected stationary source, and if a more restrictive production rate is not specified in a permit; (        )

ii. An increase in hours of operation if more restrictive hours of operation are not specified in a 
permit; and (        )

iii. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material if the stationary source is specifically designed to 
accommodate such fuel or raw material before January 6, 1975, and use of such fuel or raw material is not 
specifically prohibited in a permit. (        )

32. National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS). National primary and secondary ambient air 
quality standards under Section 109 of the Clean Air Act (CAA) are set forth in 40 CFR Part 50 and incorporated by 
reference in Section 107. Primary standards define levels of air quality that EPA has determined, with an adequate 
margin of safety, to protect public health. Secondary standards define levels of air quality necessary to protect public 
welfare from any known or anticipated adverse effects of a pollutant. Pollutants subject to a NAAQS are termed 
criteria pollutants. Geographic areas are designated as unclassifiable, attainment, or nonattainment of the NAAQS. 
Section 110 of the CAA and 40 CFR Parts 51 and 52, incorporated by reference in Section 107, requires states to 
submit state implementation plans to meet, attain, and maintain the NAAQS. (        )

33. New Stationary Source or Facility. (        )

a. Any stationary source or facility, the construction or modification of which is commenced after the 
original effective date of any applicable provision of this chapter; or (        )

b. The restart of a non-operating facility is considered a new stationary source or facility if: (        )

i. The restart involves a modification to the facility; or (        )

ii. If after the facility has been in a non-operating status for a period of two (2) years, and the 
Department receives an application for a Permit to Construct in the area affected by the existing non-operating 
facility, then the Department will, within five (5) working days of receipt of the application notify the facility of 
receipt of the application for a Permit to Construct. To not be considered a new stationary source or facility within 
thirty (30) working days upon receipt of this notification, the facility must provide the Department with a schedule 
detailing the restart of the facility. The restart must begin within sixty (60) days of the date the Department receives 
the restart schedule. (        )

34. Nonattainment Area. Any area which is designated, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7407(d), as not 
meeting (or contributes to ambient air quality in a nearby area that does not meet) the national primary or secondary 
ambient air quality standard for the pollutant. (        )

35. Particulate Matter. Any material, except water in uncombined form, that exists as a liquid or a 
solid at standard conditions. Emissions are measured by an applicable reference method, or any equivalent or 
alternative method in accordance with Section 157. PM10 is all particulate matter in the ambient air with an 
aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to ten (10) micrometers. PM2.5 is all particulate matter in the ambient air 
with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to two point five (2.5) micrometers. (        )

36. Potential to Emit/Potential Emissions. The maximum capacity of a facility or stationary source to 
emit an air pollutant under its physical and operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on the capacity 
of the facility or source to emit an air pollutant, including air pollution control equipment and restrictions on hours of 
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, stored or processed, is treated as part of its design if the 
limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is state or federally enforceable. Secondary emissions do not count 
in determining the potential to emit of a facility or stationary source. (        )

37. Portable Equipment. Equipment designed to be dismantled and transported from one (1) job site 
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to another. (        )

38. Process or Process Equipment. Any equipment, device or contrivance for changing any materials 
whatever or for storage or handling of any materials, and all appurtenances thereto, including ducts, stack, etc., the 
use of which may cause any discharge of an air pollutant into the ambient air but not including that equipment 
specifically defined as fuel-burning equipment or refuse-burning equipment. (        )

39. Regulated Air Pollutant. (        )

a. For purposes of determining applicability of major source permit to operate requirements, issuing, 
and modifying permits pursuant to Sections 300 through 397, and in accordance with Title V of the federal Clean Air 
Act amendments of 1990, 42 U.S.C. Section 7661 et seq., “regulated air pollutant” has the same meaning as in Title V 
of the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 1990, and any applicable federal regulations promulgated pursuant to 
Title V of the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 1990, 40 CFR Part 70; (        )

b. For purposes of determining applicability of any other operating permit requirements, issuing, and 
modifying permits pursuant to Sections 400 through 409, the federal definition of “regulated air pollutant” as defined 
in Subsection 006.39.a. also applies; (        )

c. For purposes of determining applicability of permit to construct requirements, issuing, and 
modifying permits pursuant to Sections 200 through 227, except Section 214, and in accordance with Part D of 
Subchapter I of the federal Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 7501 et seq., “regulated air pollutant” means those air 
contaminants that are regulated in non-attainment areas pursuant to Part D of Subchapter I of the federal Clean Air 
Act and applicable federal regulations promulgated pursuant to Part D of Subchapter I of the federal Clean Air Act, 
40 CFR 51.165; and (        )

d. For purposes of determining applicability of any other major or minor permit to construct 
requirements, issuing, and modifying permits pursuant to 200 through 227, except Section 214, “regulated air 
pollutant” means those air contaminants that are regulated in attainment and unclassifiable areas pursuant to Part C of 
Subchapter I of the federal Clean Air Act, 40 CFR 52.21, and any applicable federal regulations promulgated 
pursuant to Part C of Subchapter I of the federal Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 7470 et seq. (        )

40. Replicable. Any SIP procedures for applying emission trading must be structured so that two (2) 
independent entities would obtain the same result when determining compliance with the emission trading 
provisions. (        )

41. Responsible Official. One (1) of the following: (        )

a. For a corporation: a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge of 
a principal business function, or any other person who performs similar policy or decision-making functions for the 
corporation, or a duly authorized representative of such person if the representative is responsible for the overall 
operation of one (1) or more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities applying for or subject to a permit and 
either: (        )

i. The facilities employ more than two hundred fifty (250) persons or have gross annual sales or 
expenditures exceeding twenty-five million dollars ($25,000,000) (in second quarter 1980 dollars); or (        )

ii. The delegation of authority to such representative is approved in advance by the Department.
(        )

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: a general partner or the proprietor, respectively. (        )

c. For a municipality, State, Federal, or other public agency: either a principal executive officer or 
ranking elected official. For the purposes of Section 123, a principal executive officer of a Federal agency includes 
the chief executive officer having responsibility for the overall operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency 
(e.g., a Regional Administrator of EPA). (        )
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d. For Phase II sources: (        )

i. The designated representative in so far as actions, standards, requirements, or prohibitions under 42 
U.S.C. Sections 7651 through 7651o or the regulations promulgated thereunder are concerned; and (        )

ii. The designated representative for any other purposes under 40 CFR Part 70. (        )

42. Secondary Emissions. Emissions that occur as a result of the construction, modification, or 
operation of a stationary source or facility, but do not come from the stationary source or facility itself. Secondary 
emissions must be specific, well defined, quantifiable, and affect the same general area as the stationary source, 
facility, or modification that causes the secondary emissions. Secondary emissions include emissions from any offsite 
support facility that would not be constructed or increase its emissions except as a result of the construction or 
operation of the primary stationary source, facility or modification. Secondary emissions do not include any 
emissions that come directly from a mobile source regulated under 42 U.S.C. Sections 7521 through 7590. (        )

43. Significant. In reference to a net emissions increase or the potential of a source to emit any of the 
following pollutants, a rate of emissions that would equal or exceed any of the following: (        )

a. Criteria Pollutant Significant emission rate.

(        )

b. Non criteria pollutant significant emission rate.

 Criteria Pollutant Emission Rate (tons/year)

CO 100

NOx 40

SO2 40

Ozone as NOx 40

Ozone as VOC 40

PM 25

PM10 15

PM2.5 10

PM2.5 as SO2 40

PM2.5 as NOx 40

Pb 0.6

Any regulated air pollutant not listed 
in this definition. Greater than 0

Non-Criteria Pollutant Emission Rate (tons/year) 

H2S 10

TRS (including H2S) 10

Reduced sulfur compounds (including H2S) 10

H2SO4 mist 7

Fluorides 3
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(        )

c. Other pollutants with a significant emission rate.

(        )

44. Significant Contribution. Any increase in ambient concentrations which would exceed the 
following:

(        )

45. Source. A stationary source. (        )

46. Source Operation. The last operation preceding the emission of air pollutants when this operation:
(        )

a. Results in the separation of the air pollutants from the process materials or in the conversion of the 
process materials into air pollutants, as in the case of fuel combustion; and (        )

b. Is not an air cleaning device. (        )

47. Stack. Any point in a source arranged to conduct emissions to the ambient air, including a chimney, 
flue, conduit, or duct but not including flares. (        )

48. Stationary Source. Any building, structure, facility, emissions unit, or installation which emits or 
may emit any air pollutant. The fugitive emissions shall not be considered in determining whether a permit is required 

Any regulated pollutant not listed in this definition and not a TAP Greater than zero

Other Measured as Emission rate (tons/year) 

Municipal waste combustor organics total tetra-through octa-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and dibenzofurans 3.5 × 10 -6

Municipal waste combustor metals Particulate matter 15

Municipal waste combustor acid 
gases SO2 and hydrogen chloride 40

Municipal solid waste landfills Nonmethane organic compounds 50

Any new or modified major source 
within 10 kilometers of a Class I area Any regulated air pollutant Any rate or net increase with a 24-

hour impact of ≥ 1 μg/m3

Pollutant Annual 
Averaging time (hours) 

24 8 3 1 

SO2 1.0 µg/m 3 5 µg/m 3 25 µg/m 3

PM10 1.0 µg/m 3 5 µg/m 3

PM2.5 0.3 µg/m 3 1.2 µg/m 3

NO2 1.0 µg/m 3

CO 0.5 mg/m 3 2 mg/m 3

Non-Criteria Pollutant Emission Rate (tons/year) 
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unless required by federal law. (        )

49. Tier I Source. Any of the following: (        )

a. Any source located at any major facility as defined in Section 008; (        )

b. Any source, including an area source, subject to a standard, limitation, or other requirement under 
42 U.S.C. Section 7411 or 40 CFR Part 60, and required by EPA to obtain a Part 70 permit; (        )

c. Any source, including an area source, subject to a standard or other requirement under 42 U.S.C. 
Section 7412, 40 CFR Part 61 or 40 CFR Part 63, and required by EPA to obtain a Part 70 permit, except that a source 
is not required to obtain a permit solely because it is subject to requirements under 42 U.S.C. Section 7412(r); (        )

d. Any Phase II source; and (        )

e. Any source in a source category designated by the Department. (        )

50. Toxic Air Pollutant. An air pollutant that has been determined by the Department to be by its 
nature, toxic to human or animal life or vegetation and listed in Section 585 or 586. (        )

51. TRS (Total Reduced Sulfur). Hydrogen sulfide, mercaptans, dimethyl sulfide, dimethyl disulfide 
and any other organic sulfide present. (        )

52. Unclassifiable Area. An area which, because of a lack of adequate data, is unable to be classified 
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7407(d) as either an attainment or a nonattainment area. (        )

53. Uncontrolled Emission. An emission which has not been treated by control equipment. (        )

007. DEFINITIONS FOR THE PURPOSES OF SECTIONS 200 THROUGH 228 AND 400 THROUGH 
461.

01. Agricultural Activities and Services. For the purposes of Subsection 222.02.f., the usual and 
customary activities of cultivating the soil, producing crops and raising livestock for use and consumption. 
Agricultural activities and services do not include manufacturing, bulk storage, handling for resale or the formulation 
of any agricultural chemical listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

02. Baseline Actual Emissions. The rate of emissions, in tons per year, of a regulated air pollutant as 
determined by the following provisions: (        )

a. For any existing electric utility steam generating unit, baseline actual emissions means the average 
rate, in tons per year, at which the unit actually emitted the regulated air pollutant during any consecutive twenty-four 
(24) month period selected by the owner or operator within the five (5) year period immediately preceding when the 
owner or operator begins actual construction of the project. The Department will allow the use of a different time 
period upon a determination that it is more representative of normal source operation. The average rate must: (        )

i. Include fugitive emissions to the extent quantifiable, and emissions associated with startups, 
shutdowns, and malfunctions. (        )

ii. Be adjusted downward to exclude any non-compliant emissions that occurred while the source was 
operating above any emission limitation that was legally enforceable during the consecutive twenty-four (24) month 
period. (        )

iii. For a regulated air pollutant, when a project involves multiple emissions units, use only one (1) 
consecutive twenty-four (24) month period to determine the baseline actual emissions for all the emissions units 
being changed. A different consecutive twenty-four (24) month period can be used for each regulated air pollutant.

(        )
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iv. Not be based on any consecutive twenty-four (24) month period for which there is inadequate 
information for determining annual emissions, in tons per year, and for adjusting this amount if required by 
Subsection 007.02.a.ii. (        )

b. For an existing emissions unit (other than an electric utility steam generating unit), baseline actual 
emissions means the average rate, in tons per year, at which the emissions unit actually emitted the regulated air 
pollutant during any consecutive twenty-four (24) month period selected by the owner or operator within the ten (10) 
year period immediately preceding either the date the owner or operator begins actual construction of the project, or 
the date a complete permit application is received by the Department for a permit required under these rules, 
whichever is earlier, except that the ten (10) year period must not include any period earlier than November 15, 1990. 
The average rate must: (        )

i. Include fugitive emissions to the extent quantifiable, and emissions associated with startups, 
shutdowns, and malfunctions. (        )

ii. Be adjusted downward to exclude any non-compliant emissions that occurred while the source was 
operating above an emission limitation that was legally enforceable during the consecutive twenty-four (24) month 
period. (        )

iii. Be adjusted downward to exclude any emission limitation with which the source must currently 
comply, had such source been required to comply with such limitations during the consecutive twenty-four (24) 
month period; however, if an emission limitation is part of a standard or other requirement under 40 CFR Part 63, the 
baseline actual emissions need only be adjusted if the Department has taken credit for such emissions reductions in an 
attainment demonstration or maintenance plan. (        )

iv. For a regulated air pollutant, when a project involves multiple emissions units, use only one (1) 
consecutive twenty-four (24) month period to determine the baseline actual emissions for all the emissions units 
being changed. A different consecutive twenty-four (24) month period can be used for each regulated air pollutant.

(        )

v. Not be based on any consecutive twenty-four (24) month period for which there is inadequate 
information for determining annual emissions, in tons per year, and for adjusting this amount if required by 
Subsections 007.02.b.ii. and 007.02.b.iii. (        )

c. For a new emissions unit, the baseline actual emissions for purposes of determining the emissions 
increase that will result from the initial construction and operation of such unit must: equal zero (0) and, thereafter, 
for all other purposes, equal the unit’s potential to emit. (        )

d. For a plant-wide applicability limit (PAL) for a stationary source, the baseline actual emissions 
must be calculated for existing electric utility steam generating units in accordance with the procedures contained in 
Subsection 007.02.a, for other existing emissions units in accordance with the procedures contained in Subsection 
007.02.b, and for a new emissions unit in accordance with the procedures contained in Subsection 007.02.c. (        )

03. Emissions Increase. The amount by which projected actual emissions exceed baseline actual 
emissions of an emissions unit. (        )

04. Net Emissions Increase. For purposes of Sections 204 and 205, a net emissions increase is defined 
by the federal regulations incorporated by reference. For purposes of Section 210, a net emissions increase is an 
emissions increase from a particular modification plus any other increases and decreases in actual emissions at the 
facility that are creditable and contemporaneous with the particular modification, where: (        )

a. A creditable increase or decrease in actual emissions is contemporaneous with a particular 
modification if it occurs between the date five (5) years before the commencement of construction or modification on 
the particular change and the date that the increase from the particular modification occurs. Any replacement unit that 
requires shakedown becomes operational only after a reasonable shakedown period, not to exceed one hundred and 
eighty (180) days; (        )
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b. A decrease in actual emissions is creditable only if it satisfies the requirements for emission 
reduction credits (Section 460) and has approximately the same qualitative significance for public health and welfare 
as that attributed to the increase from the particular modification and is federally enforceable at and after the time that 
construction of the modification commences. (        )

c. The increase in toxic air pollutant emissions from an already operating or permitted source is not 
included in the calculation of the net emissions increase for a proposed new source or modification if: (        )

i. The already operating or permitted source commenced construction or modification prior to July 1, 
1995; or (        )

ii. The uncontrolled emission rate from the already operating or permitted source is ten per cent (10%) 
or less of the applicable screening emissions level listed in Section 585 or 586; or (        )

iii. The already operating or permitted source is an environmental remediation source subject to or 
regulated by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 6901-6992k) and IDAPA 58.01.05, 
“Idaho Rules and Standards for Hazardous Waste,” (IDAPA 58.01.05.000 et seq.) or the Comprehensive 
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (42 U.S.C. 6901-6992k) or a consent order. (        )

05. Projected Actual Emissions. (        )

a. The maximum annual rate, in tons per year, at which an existing emissions unit is projected to emit 
a regulated air pollutant in any one (1) of the five (5) years (twelve (12) month period) following the date the unit 
resumes regular operation after the project, or in any one (1) of the ten (10) years following that date, if the project 
involves increasing the emissions unit’s design capacity or its potential to emit that regulated air pollutant and full 
utilization of the unit would result in a significant emissions increase or a significant net emissions increase at an 
existing major stationary source. (        )

b. In determining the projected actual emissions, the owner or operator of the stationary source:
(        )

i. Shall consider all relevant information including, but not limited to, historical operational data, the 
company’s own representations, the company’s expected business activity and the company’s highest projections of 
business activity, the company’s filings with state or federal regulatory authorities, and compliance plans under the 
approved state implementation plan; and (        )

ii. Shall include fugitive emissions to the extent quantifiable and emissions associated with startups, 
shutdowns, and malfunctions; and (        )

iii. Shall exclude, in calculating any increase in emissions that results from the particular project, that 
portion of the unit’s emissions following the project that an existing unit could have accommodated during the 
consecutive twenty-four (24) month period used to establish the baseline actual emissions and that are also unrelated 
to the particular project, including any increased utilization due to product demand growth; or (        )

iv. In lieu of using the method set out in Subsections 007.05.b.i. through 007.05.b.iii., may elect to use 
the emissions unit’s potential to emit, in tons per year. (        )

06. Reasonable Further Progress (RFP). Annual incremental reductions in emissions of the 
applicable air pollutant as identified in the SIP which are sufficient to provide for attainment of the applicable 
ambient air quality standard by the required date. (        )

07. Sensitive Receptor. Any residence, building or location occupied or frequented by persons who, 
due to age, infirmity or other health-based criteria, may be more susceptible to the deleterious effects of a toxic air 
pollutant than the general population including, but not limited to, elementary and secondary schools, day care 
centers, playgrounds and parks, hospitals, clinics and nursing homes. (        )

08. Short Term Source. Any new stationary source or modification to an existing source, with an 
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operational life no greater than five (5) years from the inception of any operations to the cessation of actual 
operations. (        )

008. DEFINITIONS FOR THE PURPOSES OF SECTIONS 300 THROUGH 386.

01. Affected States. All States: (        )

a. Whose air quality may be affected by the emissions of the Tier I source and that are contiguous to 
Idaho; or (        )

b. That are within fifty (50) miles of the Tier I source. (        )

02. Allowance. An authorization allocated to a Phase II source by the EPA to emit during or after a 
specified calendar year, one (1) ton of sulfur dioxide. (        )

03. Applicable Requirement. All of the following if approved or promulgated by EPA as they apply 
to emissions units in a Tier I source (including requirements that have been promulgated through rulemaking at the 
time of permit issuance but which have future-effective compliance dates): (        )

a. Any standard or other requirement provided for in the applicable state implementation plan, 
including any revisions to that plan that are specified in 40 CFR Parts 52.670 through 52.690. (        )

b. Any term or condition of any permits to construct issued by the Department pursuant to Sections 
200 through 223 or by EPA pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Sections 7401 through 7515; provided that terms or conditions 
relevant only to toxic air pollutants are not applicable requirements. (        )

c. Any standard or other requirement under 42 U.S.C. Section 7411 including 40 CFR Part 60;
(        )

d.  Any standard or other requirement under 42 U.S.C. Section 7412 including 40 CFR Part 61 and 40 
CFR Part 63; (        )

e. Any standard or other requirement of the acid rain program under 42 U.S.C. Sections 7651 through 
7651o; (        )

f. Any requirements established pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7414(a)(3), 42 U.S.C. Section 
7661c(b) or Sections 120 through 128; (        )

g. Any standard or other requirement governing solid waste incineration, under 42 U.S.C. Section 
7429; (        )

h. Any standard or other requirement for consumer and commercial products and tank vessels, under 
42 U.S.C. Sections 7511b(e) and (f); and (        )

i. Any standard or other requirement under 42 U.S.C. Sections 7671 through 7671q including 40 CFR 
Part 82. (        )

j. Any ambient air quality standard or increment or visibility requirement provided in 42 U.S.C. 
Sections 7470 through 7492, but only as applied to temporary sources receiving Tier I operating permits under 
Section 336. (        )

04. Designated Representative. A responsible person or official authorized by the owner or operator of 
a Phase II unit to represent the owner or operator in matters pertaining to the holding, transfer, or disposition of 
allowances allocated to a Phase II unit, and the submission of and compliance with permits, permit applications, and 
compliance plans for the Phase II unit. (        )

05. Draft Permit. The version of a Tier I operating permit that is made available by the Department for 
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public participation and affected State review. (        )

06. Final Permit. The version of a Tier I permit issued by the Department that has completed all 
review procedures required in Sections 364 and 366. (        )

07. General Permit. A Tier I permit issued pursuant to Section 335. (        )

08. Major Facility. A facility (as defined in Section 006) is major if the facility meets any of the 
following criteria. (        )

a. For hazardous air pollutants, the facility emits or has the potential to emit: (        )

i. Ten (10) tons per year (tpy) or more of any hazardous air pollutant, other than radionuclides, which 
has been listed pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7412(b); provided that emissions from any oil or gas exploration or 
production well (with its associated equipment) and emissions from any oil or gas pipeline compressor or pump 
station must not be aggregated with emissions from other similar emission units within the facility; or (        )

ii. Twenty-five (25) tpy or more of any combination of any hazardous air pollutants, other than 
radionuclides, which have been listed pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 7412(b); provided that emissions from any oil or gas 
exploration or production well (with its associated equipment) and emissions from any oil or gas pipeline compressor 
or pump station must not be aggregated with emissions from other similar emission units within the facility. (        )

b. For non-attainment areas, the facility is located in: (        )

i. A “serious” particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) nonattainment area and the facility has the 
potential to emit seventy (70) tpy or more of PM10 or PM2.5; (        )

ii. A “serious” carbon monoxide nonattainment area in which stationary sources are significant 
contributors to carbon monoxide levels and the facility has the potential to emit fifty (50) tpy or more of carbon 
monoxide; (        )

iii. An ozone transport region established pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7511c and the facility has the 
potential to emit fifty (50) tpy or more of volatile organic compounds; or (        )

iv. An ozone nonattainment area and, depending upon the classification of the nonattainment area, the 
facility has the potential to emit the following amounts of volatile organic compounds or oxides of nitrogen; provided 
that oxides of nitrogen are not included if the facility has been identified in accordance with 42 U.S.C. Section 
7411a(f)(1) or (2) if the area is “marginal” or “moderate,” one hundred (100) tpy or more, if the area is “serious,” fifty 
(50) tpy or more, if the area is “severe,” twenty-five (25) tpy or more, and if the area is “extreme,” ten (10) tpy or 
more. (        )

c. The facility emits or has the potential to emit one hundred (100) tons per year or more of any 
regulated air pollutant. The fugitive emissions are not considered in determining whether the facility is major unless 
the facility belongs to one (1) of the following categories: (        )

i. Designated facilities. (        )

ii. All other source categories regulated by 40 CFR Part 60, 61 or 63, but only with respect to those air 
pollutants that have been regulated for that category and only if determined by rule by the Administrator of EPA 
pursuant to Section 302(j) of the Clean Air Act. (        )

009. DEFINITIONS FOR THE PURPOSES OF 40 CFR PARTS 60, 61, AND 63.
Notwithstanding the definitions listed in Sections 006 through 008, the definitions in 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63 will 
have the meaning given in those Parts, except that the term “Administrator” means “Department.” (        )

010. -- 106. (RESERVED)
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107. INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE.

01. General. Unless expressly provided otherwise, any reference in these rules to any document 
identified in Subsection 107.03 constitutes the full incorporation into these rules of that document for the purposes of 
the reference, including any notes and appendices therein. The term “documents” includes codes, standards or rules 
which have been adopted by an agency of the state or of the United States or by any nationally recognized 
organization or association. (        )

02. Availability of Referenced Material. Copies of the documents incorporated by reference into 
these rules are available at the following locations: (        )

a. All federal publications: U.S. Government Printing Office at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR; 
and; (        )

b. Statutes of the state of Idaho: http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/TOC/IDStatutesTOC.htm; and
(        )

c. All documents herein incorporated by reference: (        )

i. Department of Environmental Quality, 1410 N. Hilton, Boise, Idaho 83706-1255 at 
www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

ii. State Law Library, 451 W. State Street, P.O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0051 at 
www.isll.idaho.gov. (        )

03. Documents Incorporated by Reference. The following documents are incorporated by reference 
into these rules: (        )

a. Requirements for Preparation, Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans, 40 CFR Part 51
revised as of July 1, 2022. All sections included in 40 CFR Part 51, Subpart P, Protection of Visibility, are excluded 
from incorporation except 51.301, 51.304(a), 51.307, and 51.308 are incorporated by reference into these rules.

(        )

b. National Primary and Secondary Ambient Air Quality Standards, 40 CFR Part 50, revised as of 
July 1, 2022. (        )

c. Approval and Promulgation of Implementation Plans, 40 CFR Part 52, Subparts A and N and 
Appendices D and E, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

d. Ambient Air Monitoring Reference and Equivalent Methods, 40 CFR Part 53, revised as of July 1, 
2022. (        )

e. Ambient Air Quality Surveillance, 40 CFR Part 58, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

f. Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources, 40 CFR Part 60, revised as of July 1, 2022.
(        )

g. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants, 40 CFR Part 61, revised as of July 1, 
2022. (        )

h. Federal Plan Requirements for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators Constructed on or 
Before December 1, 2008, 40 CFR Part 62, Subpart HHH, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

i. Federal Plan Requirements for Municipal Solid Waste Landfills That Commenced Construction On 
or Before July 17, 2014 and Have Not Been Modified or Reconstructed Since July 17, 2014, 40 CFR Part 62, Subpart 
OOO, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )
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j. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories, 40 CFR Part 63, 
revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

k. Compliance Assurance Monitoring, 40 CFR Part 64, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

l. State Operating Permit Programs, 40 CFR Part 70, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

m. Permits, 40 CFR Part 72, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

n. Sulfur Dioxide Allowance System, 40 CFR Part 73, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

o. Protection of Stratospheric Ozone, 40 CFR Part 82, revised as of July 1, 2022. (        )

p. Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. Sections 7401 through 7671g (1997). (        )

108. OBLIGATION TO COMPLY.
Receiving a permit to construct, a Tier I operating permit, a Tier II operating permit, a Permit by Rule, or a Certificate 
of Registration for portable equipment does not relieve any owner or operator of the responsibility to comply with all 
applicable local, state and federal statutes, rules and regulations. (        )

109. -- 120. (RESERVED)

121. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS BY DEPARTMENT.
Any person engaged in an activity that may violate the air quality provisions of the Act, violate an air quality order 
issued or entered in accordance with the Act or these rules, or violate any of these rules, may be required by the 
Department to do any of the following: (        )

01. Schedule. Prepare a proposed schedule whereby the unlawful activity will be brought into 
compliance over a specified period of time. (        )

02. Report. Submit periodic reports to the Department indicating progress in achieving compliance.
(        )

03. Records. Submit, keep and maintain appropriate records. (        )

04. Monitoring. Monitor air pollutants at the source, in the ambient air, or in vegetation to demonstrate 
compliance. (        )

05. Episode Plans. Develop emergency episode plans to help prevent ambient air pollution 
concentrations from reaching levels which would cause substantial endangerment to health or the environment.

(        )

122. INFORMATION ORDERS BY THE DEPARTMENT.
The Department may issue information orders as follows: (        )

01. Purpose. For the purpose of: (        )

a. Developing or assisting in the development of any implementation plan, any standard of 
performance, any emission standard or any rule; (        )

b. Determining whether any person is in violation of any standard of performance, any emission 
standard, any implementation plan or any rule; or (        )

c. Carrying out any air quality provisions of the Act, any air quality order issued or entered in 
accordance with the Act or rules, or any of these rules. (        )

02. Persons. The Department may issue an information order to any person who: (        )
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a. Owns or operates any emission source; (        )

b. Manufactures emission control equipment; (        )

c. The Department believes may have information necessary to meet the intent of these rules; or
(        )

d. Is subject to any requirement of these rules. (        )

03. Procedures. The information order may require the following on a one-time, periodic or 
continuous basis: (        )

a. Establish, maintain and submit records; (        )

b. Make reports; (        )

c. Install, use, and maintain monitoring equipment, and use audit procedures or methods; (        )

d. Sample emissions in accordance with procedures or methods, at such locations, at such intervals, 
during such periods and in such manner as the Department prescribes; (        )

e. Keep records on control equipment parameters, production variables or other indirect data when the 
Department determines that direct monitoring of emissions is impractical; (        )

f. Submit compliance certifications including: (        )

i. Identification of the applicable requirement that is the basis of the certification; (        )

ii. The method(s) or other means used by the owner or operator for determining the compliance status 
for each applicable requirement, and whether such methods or other means provide continuous or intermittent data; 
and (        )

iii. The status of compliance with each applicable requirement, based on the method or means 
designated in Subsection 122.03.f.ii. The certification must identify each deviation and take it into account in the 
compliance certification. The certification must also identify, as possible exceptions to compliance, any periods 
during which compliance is required and in which an excursion or exceedance as defined under 40 CFR Part 64 
occurred; and (        )

g. Provide such other information as the Department may require. (        )

123. CERTIFICATION OF DOCUMENTS.
All documents, including but not limited to, application forms for permits to construct, application forms for 
operating permits, progress reports, records, monitoring data, supporting information, requests for confidential 
treatment, testing reports or compliance certifications submitted to the Department must contain a certification by a 
responsible official. The certification must state that, based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, 
the statements and information in the document are true, accurate, and complete. (        )

124. (RESERVED)

125. FALSE STATEMENTS.
Persons are prohibited from knowingly making any false statement, representation, or certification in any form, 
notice, or report required under any permit, or any applicable rule or order in force pursuant thereto. (        )

126. TAMPERING.
Persons are prohibited from knowingly interfering with any monitoring device or method required under any permit, 
or any applicable rule or order in force pursuant thereto. (        )
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127. (RESERVED)

128. CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION.
Information obtained by the Department under these rules is subject to public disclosure pursuant to the provisions of 
Chapter 1, Title 74, Idaho Code and Section 39-111, Idaho Code. Information submitted under a trade secret claim 
may be entitled to confidential treatment by the Department as provided in Section 74-114, Idaho Code, and IDAPA 
58.01.23, “Contested Case Rules and Rules for Protection and Disclosure of Records.” If the information for which 
the person is requesting confidential treatment is submitted to the Department under Sections 300 through 386 or the 
terms or conditions of a Tier I operating permit, the person must also submit the same information directly to the 
EPA. (        )

129. (RESERVED)

130. STARTUP, SHUTDOWN, SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE, SAFETY MEASURES, UPSET AND 
BREAKDOWN.
Sections 130 through 136 establish procedures to be implemented in all excess emissions events and establish criteria 
to be applied by the Department in determining whether to take enforcement action to impose penalties for an excess 
emissions event where the excess emissions are caused by startup, shutdown, scheduled maintenance, upset, or 
breakdown of any emissions unit or that occur as a direct result of the implementation of any safety measure. Startup 
is defined as the normal and customary time period required to bring air pollution control equipment or an emissions 
unit, including process equipment, from a nonoperational status into normal operation. Shutdown is defined as the 
normal and customary time period required to cease operations of air pollution control equipment or an emissions 
unit beginning with the initiation of procedures to terminate normal operation and continuing until the termination is 
completed. Upset is defined as an unplanned disruption in the normal operations of any equipment or emissions unit 
that may cause excess emissions. Breakdown is defined as an unplanned failure of any equipment or emissions unit 
that may cause excess emissions. Scheduled maintenance is defined as planned upkeep, repair activities and 
preventative maintenance on any air pollution control equipment or emissions unit, including process equipment, and 
including shutdown and startup of such equipment. Safety measure is defined as any shutdown (and related startup) 
or bypass of equipment or processes undertaken to prevent imminent injury or death or severe damage to equipment 
or property which may cause excess emissions. (        )

131. EXCESS EMISSIONS.

01. Applicability. The owner or operator of a facility or emissions unit generating excess emissions 
must comply with Sections 131, 132, 133.01, 134.01, 134.02, 134.03, 135, and 136, as applicable. If the owner or 
operator anticipates requesting consideration under Subsection 131.02, then the owner or operator must also comply 
with the applicable provisions of Subsections 133.02, 133.03, 134.04, and 134.05. (        )

02. Enforcement Action Criteria. Where an excess emissions event occurs as a direct result of 
startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance, or an unavoidable upset or unavoidable breakdown, or the 
implementation of a safety measure, the Department will consider the sufficiency of the information submitted and 
the following criteria to determine if an enforcement action to impose penalties is warranted: (        )

a. Whether prior to the excess emissions event, the owner or operator submitted and implemented 
procedures pursuant to Subsections 133.02 and 133.03 or Subsections 134.04 and 134.05, as applicable; (        )

b. Whether the owner or operator complied with all relevant portions of Subsections 131, 132, 133.01, 
134.01, 134.02, 134.03, 135, and 136;

c. Whether the excess emissions event was part of a recurring pattern of excess emissions events 
indicative of inadequate design, operation or maintenance of the facility or emissions unit; and (        )

d. Where appropriate, whether the excess emissions event was caused by an activity necessary to 
prevent loss of life, personal injury or severe property damage. (        )

03. Effect of Determination. Any decision by the Department under Subsection 131.02 will not 
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excuse the owner or operator from compliance with the relevant emission standard and will not preclude the 
Department from taking an enforcement action to enjoin the activity causing the excess emissions. Any decision 
made by the Department under Subsection 131.02 does not preclude the Department from taking an enforcement 
action for future or other excess emission events. The affirmative defense for emergencies under Section 332 may be 
applied in addition to the provisions of Sections 130 through 136. (        )

132. CORRECTION OF CONDITION.
The person responsible for, or in charge of a facility during, an excess emissions event must, with all practicable 
speed, initiate and complete appropriate and reasonable action to correct the conditions causing such excess 
emissions event; to reduce the frequency of occurrence of such events; to minimize the amount by which the emission 
standard is exceeded; and must, as provided below or upon request of the Department, submit a full report of such 
occurrence, including a statement of all known causes, and of the scheduling and nature of the actions to be taken.

(        )

133. STARTUP, SHUTDOWN AND SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS.
The requirements in Subsection 133.01 apply in all cases where startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance of any 
equipment or emissions unit is expected to result or results in an excess emissions event. The owner or operator of the 
facility or emissions unit generating the excess emissions must demonstrate compliance with all of the requirements 
of Subsection 133.01, as well as the development and implementation of procedures pursuant to Subsections 133.02 
and 133.03 as a prerequisite to any consideration under Subsection 131.02. (        )

01. General Provisions. The following pertains to all startup, shutdown, and scheduled maintenance 
activities expected to result or resulting in excess emissions. The owner or operator of a source of excess emissions 
must: (        )

a. Ensure that no scheduled startup, shutdown, or maintenance resulting in excess emissions occurs 
during any period in which an Air Quality Advisory has been declared by the Department within an area designated 
by the Department as a PM10 nonattainment area, unless the permittee demonstrates that such is reasonably 
necessary to facility operations and cannot be reasonably avoided and the Department approves such activity in 
advance, to the extent advance approval by the Department is feasible. This prohibition on scheduled startup, 
shutdown or maintenance activities during Advisories does not apply to situations where shutdown is necessitated by 
urgent situations, such as imminent equipment failure, power curtailment, worker safety concerns or similar 
situations. (        )

b. Notify the Department of any startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance event that is expected 
to cause an excess emissions event. Such notification must identify the time of the excess emissions, specific 
location, equipment involved, and type of excess emissions event (i.e. startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance). 
The notification must be given as soon as reasonably possible, but no later than two (2) hours prior to the start of the 
excess emissions event unless the owner or operator demonstrates to the Department’s satisfaction that a shorter 
advanced notice was necessary. The Department may prohibit or postpone any scheduled startup, shutdown, or 
maintenance activity upon consideration of the factors listed in Subsection 134.03; (        )

c. Report and record the information required pursuant to Sections 135 and 136 for each excess 
emissions event due to startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance and (        )

d. Make the maximum reasonable effort, including off-shift labor where practicable to accomplish 
maintenance during periods of nonoperation of any related source operations or equipment. (        )

02. Excess Emissions Procedures. For all equipment or emissions unit from which excess emissions 
may occur during startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance, the facility owner or operator must prepare, 
implement and file with the Department specific procedures that will be used to minimize excess emissions during 
such events. Specific information for each of the types of excess emissions events (i.e. startup, shutdown and 
scheduled maintenance) must be established or documented for each piece of equipment or emissions unit and must 
include all of the following (which may be based upon the facility owner or operator’s knowledge of the process or 
emissions where measured data is unavailable). (        )

a. Identification of the specific equipment or emissions unit and the type of event anticipated. (        )
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b. Identification of the specific emissions in excess of applicable emission standards during the 
startup, shutdown, or scheduled maintenance period. (        )

c. The estimated amount of excess emissions expected to be released during each event. (        )

d. The expected duration of each excess emissions event. (        )

e. An explanation of why the excess emissions are reasonably unavoidable for each of the types of 
excess emissions events (i.e. startup, shutdown, and scheduled maintenance). (        )

f. Specification of the frequency at which each of the types of excess emissions events (i.e. startup, 
shutdown, and scheduled maintenance) are expected to occur. (        )

g. For scheduled maintenance, the owner or operator must also document detailed explanations of:
(        )

i. Why the maintenance is needed; (        )

ii. Why it is impractical to reduce or cease operation of the equipment or emissions unit during the 
scheduled maintenance period; (        )

iii. Why the excess emissions are not reasonably avoidable through better scheduling of the 
maintenance or through better operation and maintenance practices; and (        )

iv. Why, where applicable, it is necessary to by-pass, take offline, or operate equipment or emissions 
unit at reduced efficiency while the maintenance is being performed. (        )

h. Justification to explain why the piece of equipment or emissions unit cannot be modified or 
redesigned to eliminate or reduce the excess emissions that occur during startup, shutdown, and scheduled 
maintenance. (        )

i. Detailed specification of the procedures to be followed by the owner or operator that will minimize 
excess emissions at all times during startup, shutdown, and scheduled maintenance. These procedures may include 
such measures as preheating or otherwise conditioning the emissions unit prior to its use or the application of 
auxiliary equipment or emissions unit to reduce the excess emissions. (        )

03. Amendments. The owner or operator must amend, and the Department may require amendments 
to, the procedures established pursuant to Section 133 from time to time and as deemed reasonably necessary to 
ensure that the procedures are and remain consistent with good pollution control practices. (        )

04. Filing Procedures. (        )

a. Unless otherwise required by the Department, the failure to prepare or file procedures pursuant to 
Subsection 133.02 is not a violation of these rules. (        )

b. To the extent procedures or plans for excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or 
scheduled maintenance are required to be or are otherwise submitted to the Department with any permit application, 
such submission, if deemed adequate by the Department, fulfills the requirement under this Section to file plans and 
procedures with the Department. (        )

134. UPSET, BREAKDOWN AND SAFETY REQUIREMENTS.
The requirements in Subsections 134.01, 134.02, and 134.03 apply in all cases where upset or breakdown of 
equipment or an emissions unit, or the initiation of safety measures, result or may result in an excess emissions event. 
The owner or operator of the facility or emissions unit generating the excess emissions must demonstrate compliance 
with all of the requirements of Subsections 134.01, 134.02 and 134.03 as well as the development and 
implementation of procedures pursuant to Subsections 134.04 and 134.05 as a prerequisite to any consideration under 
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Subsection 131.02. Where the owner or operator demonstrates that because of the unforeseeable nature of the excess 
emissions event it is impractical to develop procedures pursuant to Subsection 134.04, the Department will exercise 
its enforcement discretion on a case-by-case basis. (        )

01. Routine Maintenance and Repairs. For all equipment or emissions units from which excess 
emissions may occur during upset conditions or breakdowns or implementation of safety measures, the facility owner 
or operator must: (        )

a. Implement routine preventative maintenance and operating procedures consistent with good 
pollution control practices for minimizing upsets and breakdowns or events requiring implementation of safety 
measures, and (        )

b. Make routine repairs in an expeditious fashion when the owner or operator knew or should have 
known that an excess emissions event was likely to occur. Off-shift labor and overtime must be utilized, to the extent 
practicable, to ensure that such repairs are made expeditiously. (        )

02. Excess Emissions Minimization and Notification. For all equipment or emissions units from 
which excess emissions result during upset or breakdown conditions, or for other situations that may necessitate the 
implementation of safety measures which cause excess emissions, the facility owner or operator must: (        )

a. Immediately undertake all appropriate measures to reduce and, to the extent possible, eliminate 
excess emissions resulting from the event and to minimize the impact of such excess emissions on the ambient air 
quality and public health; (        )

b. Notify the Department of any upset/breakdown/safety event that results in excess emissions. Such 
notification must identify the time, specific location, equipment or emissions unit involved, and (to the extent known) 
the cause(s) of the occurrence. The notification must be given as soon as reasonably possible, but no later than 
twenty-four (24) hours after the event, unless the owner or operator demonstrates to the Department’s satisfaction that 
the longer reporting period was necessary; and (        )

c. Report and record the information required pursuant to Sections 135 and 136 for each excess 
emissions event caused by an upset, breakdown, or safety measure. (        )

03. Discretionary Reduction or Cessation Provisions. During any period of excess emissions caused 
by upset, breakdown, or operation under facility safety measures, the Department may require the owner or operator 
to immediately reduce or cease operation of the equipment or emissions unit causing the excess emissions until such 
time as the condition causing the excess emissions has been corrected or brought under control. Such action by the 
Department will be taken upon consideration of the following factors and after consultation with the facility owner or 
operator: (        )

a. Potential risk to the public or the environment. (        )

b. Whether ceasing operations could result in physical damage to the equipment, emissions unit or 
facility, or cause injury to employees. (        )

c. Whether continued excess emissions were reasonably unavoidable as determined by the 
Department. (        )

d. The effect of the increase in pollution resulting from the shutdown and subsequent restart of the 
equipment or emissions unit or facility. (        )

e. The owner or operator is not required to reduce or cease operations at the entire facility if reducing 
or ceasing operations at a portion of the facility eliminates or adequately reduces the excess emissions. (        )

04. Procedures. For equipment or emissions units and process upsets and breakdowns and situations 
that require implementation of safety measures, events that can reasonably be anticipated to occur periodically but 
that cannot be reasonably avoided or predicted with certainty, the owner or operator must prepare, implement, and 
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file with the Department specific procedures that will be used to minimize such events and excess emissions during 
such events. To the extent possible and reasonably practicable (and based upon knowledge of the process or 
emissions where measured data is not available), specify the following information for each type of anticipated upset/ 
breakdown/safety event: (        )

a. The specific air pollution control equipment or emissions unit and the type of event anticipated.
(        )

b. The specific emissions in excess of applicable emission standards during the event. (        )

c. The estimated amount of excess emissions expected to be released during each event. (        )

d. The expected duration of each excess emissions event. (        )

e. An explanation of why the excess emissions are reasonably unavoidable. (        )

f. The frequency of the type of event, based on historic occurrences. (        )

g. Justification to explain why the piece of control equipment or emissions unit cannot be modified or 
redesigned to eliminate or reduce the particular type of event. (        )

h. Detailed specification of the procedures to be followed by the owner or operator that will minimize 
excess emissions at all times during such events, including without limitation those procedures listed under 
Subsection 134.05. (        )

05. Amendments to Procedures. The owner or operator must amend, and the Department may require 
amendments to, the procedures established pursuant to Section 134 from time to time and as deemed reasonably 
necessary to ensure that the procedures are and remain consistent with good pollution control practices. (        )

06. Filing Procedures. (        )

a. Failure to follow procedures filed with the Department does not preclude the Department from 
making a determination under Subsection 131.02 if the owner or operator demonstrates to the Department’s 
satisfaction that alternate and equivalent procedures were used and were necessitated by the exigency of the 
circumstances. (        )

b. Unless otherwise required by the Department, the failure to prepare or file procedures pursuant to 
Subsection 134.04 is not a violation of these rules in and of itself. (        )

c. To the extent procedures or plans for excess emissions resulting from upsets, breakdowns or safety 
measures are required to be or are otherwise submitted to the Department with any permit application, such 
submission, if deemed adequate by the Department, fulfills the requirement under this Section to file plans and 
procedures with the Department. (        )

135. EXCESS EMISSIONS REPORTS.

01. Submission Deadline. A written report for each excess emissions event must be submitted to the 
Department by the owner or operator no later than fifteen (15) days after the beginning of each such event. (        )

02. Report Contents. Each report must contain the following information: (        )

a. The time period during which the excess emissions occurred; (        )

b. Identification of the specific equipment or emissions unit that caused the excess emissions; (        )

c. An explanation of the cause, or causes, of the excess emissions and whether the excess emissions 
occurred as a result of startup, shutdown, scheduled maintenance, upset, breakdown or a safety measure; (        )
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d. An estimate of the emissions in excess of any applicable emission standard (based on knowledge of 
the process and facility where emissions data is unavailable); (        )

e. A description of the activities carried out to eliminate the excess emissions; and (        )

f. Certify compliance status with the requirements of Sections 131, 132, 133.01, 134.01 through 
134.03, 135, and 136. (        )

g. If requesting consideration under Subsection 131.02, certify compliance status with Sections 131, 
132, 133.01 through 133.03, 134.01 through 134.05, 135, and 136. (        )

136. EXCESS EMISSIONS RECORDS.

01. Record Retention. The owner or operator must maintain excess emissions records at the facility 
for the most recent five (5) calendar year period. (        )

02. Record Availability. The excess emissions records must be made available to the Department upon 
request. (        )

03. Record Contents. The excess emissions records must include the following: (        )

a. An excess emissions logbook for each emissions unit or piece of equipment containing copies of all 
reports that have been submitted to the Department pursuant to Section 135 for the particular emissions unit or 
equipment; and (        )

b. Copies of all startup, shutdown, and scheduled maintenance procedures and upset/breakdown/
safety preventative maintenance plans which have been developed by the owner or operator in accordance with 
Sections 133 and 134, and facility records as necessary to demonstrate compliance with such procedures and plans.

(        )

137. -- 154. (RESERVED)

155. CIRCUMVENTION.
No person may willfully cause or permit the installation or use of any device or use of any means that conceals 
emissions of pollutants that would otherwise violate the provisions of this chapter without resulting in a reduction in 
the total amount of emissions. (        )

156. TOTAL COMPLIANCE.
Where more than one (1) section of these rules applies to a particular situation, all such rules must be met for total 
compliance, unless otherwise provided for in these rules. (        )

157. TEST METHODS AND PROCEDURES.
This section establishes procedures and requirements for test methods and results unless otherwise specified in these 
rules, permit, order, consent decree, or prior written approval by the Department: (        )

01. General Requirements. If a source test is performed to satisfy a performance test requirement or a 
compliance test requirement imposed by state or federal regulation, rule, permit, order or consent decree, then the test 
methods and procedures must be conducted in accordance with the requirements of this section. (        )

a. Prior to conducting any emission test, owners or operators are encouraged to submit to the 
Department in writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance, the following for approval: (        )

i. The type of method to be used; (        )

ii. Any extenuating or unusual circumstances regarding the proposed test; and (        )
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iii. The proposed schedule for conducting and reporting the test. (        )

b. Without prior Department approval, any alternative testing is conducted solely at the owner’s or 
operator’s risk. If the owner or operator fails to obtain prior written approval by the Department for any testing 
deviations, the Department may determine the test does not satisfy the testing requirements. (        )

02. Test Requirements. Tests must be conducted in accordance with the following requirements.
(        )

a. The test must be conducted under operational conditions specified in the applicable state or federal 
regulation, rule, permit, order, consent decree or by Department approval. If the operational requirements are not 
specified, the source must test at worst-case normal operating conditions. Worst-case normal conditions are those 
conditions of fuel type, and moisture, process material makeup and moisture and process procedures that are 
changeable or that could reasonably be expected to be encountered during the operation of the facility and that would 
result in the highest pollutant emissions from the facility. (        )

b. The Department may impose operational limitations or require additional testing in a permit, order 
or consent decree if the test is conducted under conditions other than worst-case normal. (        )

c. The Department will accept the methods approved for the applicable pollutants, source type and 
operating conditions found in 40 CFR Parts 51, 60, 61, and 63 in determining the appropriate test method for an 
emission limit where one is not otherwise specified. (        )

d. The following requirements apply to owners or operators requesting minor changes in the test 
method. (        )

i. For federal emission standards codified at 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63, the Department will accept 
those minor changes that have received written approval of the U.S. EPA Administrator if the Department determines 
they are appropriate for the specific application. (        )

ii. For all other emission standards in these rules or for permit requirements, the Department will 
accept those minor changes that the Department determines are appropriate for the specific application. (        )

e. An owner or operator proposing to use an alternative test method not considered a minor change in 
Subsection 157.02.d. above, must: (        )

i. Demonstrate to the Department by comparative testing or sufficient analysis, that the alternative 
method is comparable and equivalent to the designated test method. (        )

ii. Submit the request for approval to use an alternative test method to the Department at least thirty 
(30) days in advance of a scheduled test. (        )

iii. Obtain, and submit to the Department, EPA approval for use of the alternative test method for 
emission standards in these rules (except for state only toxic air pollutant standards) or for federal emission standards 
codified at 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63. (        )

iv. Obtain verification that any prior approval of an alternative test method by the Department 
continues to be acceptable. Alternative methods may cease to be acceptable if new or different information indicates 
that the alternative test method is less accurate, less reliable, or not comparable with any current state or federal 
regulation, rule order, permit, or consent decree. (        )

f. Prior approval by the Department may not constitute Department approval for subsequent tests if 
new or different information indicates that a previously Department approved test method is less accurate, less 
reliable or not comparable with any current state or federal regulation, rule, order, permit or consent decree. (        )

03. Observation of Tests by Department Staff. The owner or operator must provide notice of intent 
to test to the Department at least fifteen (15) days prior to the scheduled test, or shorter time period as provided in a 
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permit, order, consent decree or by Department approval. The Department may, at its option, have an observer present 
at any emissions tests conducted on a source. (        )

04. Reporting Requirements. If the source test is performed to satisfy a performance test requirement 
imposed by state or federal regulation, rule, permit, order, or consent decree, a written report must: (        )

a. Be submitted to the Department within sixty (60) days of the completion of field sample collection;
(        )

b. Meet the format and content requirements specified by the Department in any applicable rule, 
regulation, guidance, permit, order, or consent decree. Any deviations from the format and contents specified require 
prior written approval from the Department. Failure to obtain such approval may result in the rejection of the test 
results; and (        )

c. Include all data required to be noted or recorded in any referenced test method. (        )

05. Test Results Review Criteria. The Department will make every effort to review test results within 
a reasonable time. The Department may reject tests as invalid for: (        )

a. Failure to adhere to the approved/required method; (        )

b. Using a method inappropriate for the source type or operating conditions; (        )

c. An incomplete written report; (        )

d. Computational or data entry errors; (        )

e. Clearly unreasonable results; (        )

f. Failure to comply with the certification requirements of Section 123; or (        )

g. Failure of the source to conform to operational requirements in orders, permits, or consent decrees 
at the time of the test. (        )

158. -- 160. (RESERVED)

161. TOXIC AIR POLLUTANTS.
Any contaminant that is by its nature toxic to human or animal life or vegetation must not be emitted in such 
quantities or concentrations as to alone, or in combination with other contaminants, injure or unreasonably affect 
human or animal life or vegetation. (        )

162. –163. (RESERVED)

164. POLYCHLORINATED BIPHENYLS (PCBS).

01. Prohibition on Burning. Burning any material containing greater than five (5) parts per million of 
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) is prohibited, except for incineration for the purpose of disposal. Incineration for 
disposal must comply with the following provisions: (        )

a. No person may commence construction or modification of a PCB incinerator without a permit 
issued according to Sections 200 through 225. (        )

b. The Department will provide opportunity for public comments prior to a final decision for a permit 
to construct or modify a new PCB incinerator. (        )

c. A permit issued according to Sections 200 through 225 for construction or modification of a PCB 
incinerator will require, as a minimum, best available control technology and monitoring instrumentation. (        )
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02. Prohibition on Sales. No person may sell, distribute or provide any materials containing greater 
than five (5) parts per million PCBs for home or commercial heating equipment. (        )

165. -- 174. (RESERVED)

175. PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMITS ESTABLISHING A FACILITY 
EMISSIONS CAP.
Sections 176 through 181 establish uniform procedures to obtain a Facility Emissions Cap (FEC) for stationary 
sources or facilities (hereinafter referred to as facility or facilities). A permit establishing a FEC will be issued 
pursuant to Sections 200 through 227 or Sections 400 through 409. (        )

176. FACILITY EMISSIONS CAP.

01. Optional Facility Emissions Cap. An owner or operator of a facility may request a FEC to 
establish an enforceable facility-wide emission limitation. (        )

02. Applicability. (        )

a. The owner or operator of any facility, which is not a major facility as defined in Sections 204 or 
205, may apply to the Department for a permit to establish a FEC. (        )

b. FECs are available for new and existing facilities that are not major as defined in Section 204 or 
205 or existing facilities undergoing a modification that does not make the facility a major facility as defined in 
Section 204 or 205. (        )

c. Facilities that become major facilities as defined in Section 204 or 205 are no longer eligible for a 
FEC under Section 176. (        )

03. Definitions. For the purposes of Sections 175 through 181, the following terms are defined as 
below. (        )

a. Baseline actual emissions. As defined in Section 007. (        )

b. Design concentration. The ambient concentration used in establishing the FEC. (        )

c. Facility emissions cap (FEC). A facility-wide emission limitation expressed in tons per year, for 
any criteria pollutant or hazardous air pollutant established in accordance with Sections 176 through 181. A FEC is 
calculated using baseline actual emissions plus an operational variability component and a growth component. A 
FEC, which is defined in tons per year on a twelve (12) month rolling basis, must be set below major facility 
thresholds as defined in Sections 204 and 205. (        )

d. FEC pollutant. The pollutant for which a FEC is established. (        )

e. Growth component. The level of emissions requested by the applicant and approved by the 
Department to allow for potential future business growth or facility changes that may increase emissions above 
baseline actual emissions plus the operational variability component. (        )

f. Operational variability component. The level of emissions up to the significant emission rate (SER) 
minus one (1) ton per year but no more than the facility’s potential to emit (PTE). If the proposed FEC pollutant does 
not have a SER listed in Section 006 or has a SER less than or equal to ten (10) tons per year, the operational 
variability component is the level of emissions requested by the applicant and approved by the Department. The 
operational variability component cannot be more than the facility's PTE. (        )

177. APPLICATION PROCEDURES.
In addition to the information required pursuant to Sections 202 or 402, whichever is applicable, applications 
requesting a FEC must include the information required under Sections 176 through 181 and Subsections 177.01 
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through 177.03. (        )

01. Estimates of Emissions. A proposed FEC for each pollutant requested by the facility, including the 
basis for calculating the FEC. (        )

02. Estimates of Ambient Concentrations. (        )

a. Estimates of ambient concentrations will be determined as described in Subsection 202.02. (        )

b. Estimates of ambient concentrations may include projections of alternative future changes within 
the proposed FEC. (        )

c. For a new, existing, or modified facility, a demonstration that for each FEC pollutant, the FEC will 
not cause or significantly contribute to a violation of any ambient air quality standard. (        )

d. For renewal of terms and conditions establishing a FEC, it is presumed that the previous permitting 
analysis is satisfactory, unless the Department determines otherwise. (        )

03. Monitoring and Recordkeeping. The application must include proposed means for the facility to 
determine facility emissions on a rolling twelve (12) month consecutive basis. (        )

178. STANDARD CONTENTS OF PERMITS ESTABLISHING A FACILITY EMISSIONS CAP.
In addition to the elements required by Sections 203 and 211 or Sections 403 and 405, whichever is applicable, the 
Department has the authority to impose, implement and enforce the terms in Subsections 178.01 through 178.05 and 
conditions establishing a FEC. (        )

01. Emission Limitations and Standards. All permits establishing use of a FEC will contain annual 
facility wide emissions limitations for each FEC pollutant. (        )

02. Monitoring. All permits establishing a FEC will contain sufficient monitoring to ensure 
compliance with the FEC on a rolling twelve (12) month consecutive basis. (        )

03. Recordkeeping. All permits establishing a FEC will include the following: (        )

a. Sufficient recordkeeping to assure compliance with the FEC. (        )

b. Retention of required monitoring records and support information for a period of at least five (5) 
years from the date of the monitoring sample, measurement, report or application. Supporting information includes, 
but is not limited to, calibration and maintenance records and original strip-chart recordings for continuous 
monitoring instrumentation and copies of all reports required by the permit. (        )

04. Reporting. All permits establishing a FEC will include the following: (        )

a. Sufficient reporting to assure compliance with the permit establishing the FEC. (        )

b. Submittal of an annual report each year on or before the anniversary date of permit issuance. All 
required reports must be certified in accordance with Section 123. (        )

05. Duration. Each permit establishing a FEC will state that the terms and conditions establishing the 
FEC are effective for a fixed term of five (5) years. (        )

179. PROCEDURES FOR ISSUING PERMITS ESTABLISHING A FACILITY EMISSIONS CAP.

01. General Procedures. Procedures for issuing permits establishing a FEC will follow Sections 209 
or 404, whichever is applicable. (        )

02. Renewal. The renewal of the terms and conditions establishing a FEC are subject to the same 
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procedural requirements for issuing permits (Subsection 179.01) and Subsections 179.02.a. through 179.02.d.:
(        )

a. The permittee must submit a complete application to the Department for a renewal of the terms and 
conditions establishing the FEC at least six (6) months before, but no earlier than eighteen (18) months before, the 
expiration date of the existing permit. To ensure that the term of the permit does not expire before the terms and 
conditions are renewed, the permittee is encouraged to submit the application nine (9) months prior to expiration.

(        )

b. If a timely and complete application for a renewal of the terms and conditions establishing the FEC 
is submitted, but the Department fails to issue or deny the renewal permit before the end of the term of the previous 
permit, then all the terms and conditions of the previous permit remain in effect until the renewal permit has been 
issued or denied. (        )

c. Expiration of the terms and conditions establishing a FEC may be grounds to terminate the 
facility’s right to operate pursuant to Sections 176 through 181, unless a timely and complete renewal application has 
been submitted. (        )

d. On renewal, the Department may adjust a FEC with an unused growth component in accordance 
with the Idaho Environmental Protection and Health Act, Chapter 1, Title 39, Idaho Code, and these rules. (        )

03. Reopening the FEC. The Department may reopen a FEC to: (        )

a. Reduce the FEC to reflect newly applicable federal requirements’ compliance dates after the 
issuance of the permit establishing the FEC. (        )

b. Reduce the FEC consistent with any other requirement that is enforceable as a practical matter, and 
that the state may impose on the facility under the Idaho Environmental Protection and Health Act, Chapter 1, Title 
39, Idaho Code, and these rules. (        )

04. FEC Termination. The Department may approve a revision of a permit establishing a FEC to 
terminate the FEC, provided the permittee complies with Subsections 209.04 or 404.04, as applicable, and 
Subsections 179.04.a. through 179.04.c.: (        )

a. The permittee may request a revision of the permit establishing the FEC to terminate the FEC at 
any time prior to the expiration of the permit. The permittee is encouraged to submit an application for a permit to 
construct or Tier I operating permit, as applicable, six (6) months prior to the time the permittee wishes to terminate 
the FEC. (        )

b. The FEC established in the permit remains in effect until the Department issues a new permit to 
construct or Tier I operating permit, as applicable. (        )

c. Nothing in Section 179 prohibits a permittee from requesting a permit revision to terminate the 
FEC during the permit renewal process. (        )

180. REVISIONS TO PERMITS ESTABLISHING A FACILITY EMISSIONS CAP.
Section 180 requires revisions to terms and conditions establishing a FEC. The permittee is exempt from Sections 
200 through 227 unless the permittee chooses to use those rules to process any change to the permit, except as 
provided in Subsection 180.02. (        )

01. Criteria. A permit revision is required for the following: (        )

a. A change to existing monitoring, reporting or recordkeeping requirements in the permit 
establishing the FEC; (        )

b. A change to the FEC; or (        )
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c. A change to the facility that would impose new requirements not included in the permit 
establishing the FEC. (        )

02. Permit Revision Application Procedures. A permittee may initiate a permit revision by 
submitting a permit revision application to the Department or by complying with other applicable sections (Sections 
200 or 400). For revision of terms and conditions establishing the FEC, it is presumed that the previous permitting 
analysis is satisfactory unless the Department determines otherwise. A permit revision application must: (        )

a. Meet the standard application requirements of Section 177; (        )

b. Describe the proposed permit revision; (        )

c. Describe and quantify the change in emissions above the FEC permit limit; and (        )

d. Identify new requirements resulting from the change. (        )

03. Permit Revisions. The Department will process permit revisions pursuant to Section 209 or 
Section 404. (        )

181. NOTICE AND RECORD-KEEPING OF ESTIMATES OF AMBIENT CONCENTRATIONS.
Section 181 authorizes facility changes that comply with the terms and conditions establishing the FEC, but that are 
not included in the estimate of ambient concentration analysis approved for the permit establishing the FEC. No 
permit revision is required for facility changes implemented in accordance with Section 181. (        )

01. Notice. For facility changes that comply with the terms and conditions establishing the FEC but are 
not included in the estimate of ambient concentration analysis approved for the permit establishing the FEC, the 
permittee must review the estimate of ambient concentration analysis. (        )

a. In the event that the facility change would result in a significant contribution above the design 
concentration determined by the estimate of ambient concentration analysis approved for the permit establishing the 
FEC but does not cause or significantly contribute to a violation to any ambient air quality standard, the permittee 
must provide notice to the Department in accordance with Subsection 181.01.b. (        )

b. Notice procedures. The permittee may make a facility change under Section 181 if the permittee 
provides written notification to the Department so that the notification is received at least seven (7) days in advance 
of the proposed change or, in the event of an emergency, the permittee provides the notification so that it is received 
at least twenty-four (24) hours in advance of the proposed change. For each such change, the written notification 
must: (        )

i. Describe the proposed change; (        )

ii. Describe and quantify expected emissions; and (        )

iii. Provide the estimated ambient concentration analysis. (        )

02. Recordkeeping. For facility changes that comply with the terms and conditions establishing the 
FEC but are not included in the estimate of ambient concentration analysis approved for the permit establishing the 
FEC, the permittee must review the estimate of ambient concentration analysis. In the event the facility change would 
not result in a significant contribution above the design concentration determined by the estimate of ambient 
concentration analysis approved for the permit establishing the FEC, the permittee must record and maintain 
documentation on-site of the review. (        )

03. Estimates of Ambient Concentrations. Estimates of ambient concentrations must be determined 
during the term of this permit using the same model and model parameters as used with the estimate of ambient 
concentration analysis approved for the permit establishing the FEC. The permittee must include any changes to the 
facility that are not included in the originally approved estimate of ambient concentration analysis. (        )
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 106 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
182. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMITS TO CONSTRUCT.
Sections 200 through 227 establish uniform procedures and requirements for the issuance of “Permits to Construct.” 
As used throughout Sections 200 through 227 and 578 through 581, major facility is defined as major stationary 
source in 40 CFR 52.21(b) and 40 CFR 51.165, incorporated by reference in Section 107, and major modification is 
defined as in 40 CFR 52.21(b) and 40 CFR 51.165, incorporated by reference in Section 107. These CFR sections 
have been codified in the electronic CFR which is available at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40. (        )

201. PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT REQUIRED.
No owner or operator may commence construction or modification of any stationary source, facility, major facility, or 
major modification without first obtaining a permit to construct from the Department that satisfies the requirements 
of Sections 200 through 227 unless the source is exempted in any of Sections 220 through 223, or the owner or 
operator complies with Section 213 and obtains the required permit to construct, or the owner or operator complies 
with Sections 175 through 181, or the source operates in accordance with all of the applicable provisions of a permit 
by rule. (        )

202. APPLICATION PROCEDURES.
Application for a permit to construct must be made using forms furnished by the Department, or by other means 
approved by the Department. The application must be certified by the responsible official in accordance with Section 
123 and be accompanied by all information necessary to perform any analysis or make any determination required 
under Sections 200 through 227. (        )

01. Required Information. Depending upon the proposed size and location of the new or modified 
stationary source or facility, the application for a permit to construct must include all the information required by one 
or more of the following provisions: (        )

a. For any new or modified stationary source or facility: (        )

i. Site information, plans, descriptions, specifications, and drawings showing the design of the 
stationary source, facility, or modification, the nature and amount of emissions (including secondary emissions), and 
the manner in which it will be operated and controlled. (        )

ii. A schedule for construction of the stationary source, facility, or modification. (        )

b. For any new major facility or major modification in a nonattainment area that would be major for 
the nonattainment regulated air pollutant(s): (        )

i. A description of the system of continuous emission control proposed for the new major facility or 
major modification, emission estimates, and other information as necessary to determine that the lowest achievable 
emission rate would be applied. (        )

ii. A description of the emission offsets proposed for the new major facility or major modification, 
including information on the stationary sources, mobile sources, or facilities providing the offsets, emission 
estimates, and other information necessary to determine that a net air quality benefit would result. (        )

iii. Certification that all other facilities in Idaho, owned or operated by (or under common ownership 
of) the proposed new major facility or major modification, are in compliance with all local, state or federal 
requirements or are on a schedule for compliance. (        )

iv. An analysis of alternative sites, sizes, production processes, and environmental control techniques 
that demonstrates that the benefits of the proposed major facility or major modification significantly outweigh the 
environmental and social costs imposed as a result of its location, construction, or modification. (        )

v. An analysis of the impairment to visibility of any federal Class I area, Class I area designated by 
the Department, or integral vista of any mandatory federal Class I area that the new major facility or major 
modification would impact (including the monitoring of visibility in any Class I area near the new major facility or 
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 107 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40


DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
major modification, if requested by the Department). (        )

c. For any new major facility or major modification in an attainment or unclassifiable area for any 
regulated air pollutant. (        )

i. A description of the system of continuous emission control proposed for the new major facility or 
major modification, emission estimates, and other information as necessary to determine that the best available 
control technology would be applied. (        )

ii. An analysis of the effect on air quality by the new major facility or major modification, including 
meteorological and topographical data necessary to estimate such effects. (        )

iii. An analysis of the effect on air quality projected for the area as a result of general commercial, 
residential, industrial, and other growth associated with the new major facility or major modification. (        )

iv. A description of the nature, extent, and air quality effects of any or all general commercial, 
residential, industrial, and other growth that has occurred since August 7, 1977, in the area the new major facility or 
major modification would affect. (        )

v. An analysis of the impairment to visibility, soils, and vegetation that would occur as a result of the 
new major facility or major modification and general commercial, residential, industrial, and other growth associated 
with establishment of the new major facility or major modification. The owner or operator need not provide an 
analysis of the impact on vegetation or soils having no significant commercial or recreational value. (        )

vi. An analysis of the impairment to visibility of any federal Class I area, Class I area designated by 
the Department, or integral vista of any mandatory federal Class I area that the new major facility or major 
modification would affect. (        )

vii. An analysis of the existing ambient air quality in the area that the new major facility or major 
modification would affect for each regulated air pollutant that a new major facility would emit in significant amounts 
or for which a major modification would result in a significant net emissions increase. (        )

viii. Ambient analyses as specified in Subsections 202.01c.vii., 202.01c.ix., 202.01c.x., and 
202.01c.xii., may not be required if the projected increases in ambient concentrations or existing ambient 
concentrations of a particular regulated air pollutant in any area that the new major facility or major modification 
would affect are less than the amounts listed under 40 CFR 52.21(i)(5)(i), or the regulated air pollutant is not listed 
therein. (        )

ix. For any regulated air pollutant that has an ambient air quality standard, the analysis must include 
continuous air monitoring data, gathered over the year preceding the submittal of the application, unless the 
Department determines that a complete and adequate analysis can be accomplished with monitoring data gathered 
over a period shorter than one (1) year, but not less than four (4) months, which is adequate for determining whether 
the emissions of that regulated air pollutant would cause or contribute to a violation of the ambient air quality 
standard or any prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) increment. (        )

x. For any regulated air pollutant that does not have an ambient air quality standard, the analysis must 
contain such air quality monitoring data that the Department determines is necessary to assess ambient air quality for 
that air pollutant in any area that the emissions of that air pollutant would affect. (        )

xi. If requested by the Department, monitoring of visibility in any Class I area the proposed new major 
facility or major modification would affect. (        )

xii. Operation of monitoring stations must meet the requirements of Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 58 or 
such other requirements as extensive as those set forth in Appendix B as may be approved by the Department.

(        )

02. Estimates of Ambient Concentrations. All estimates of ambient concentrations must be based on 
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the applicable air quality models, data bases, and other requirements specified in 40 CFR 51, Appendix W (Guideline 
on Air Quality Models).Where an air quality model specified in the “Guideline on Air Quality Models,” is 
inappropriate, the model may be modified or another model substituted, subject to written approval of the EPA 
Administrator and public comment pursuant to Subsection 209.01.c.; provided that modifications and substitutions of 
models used for toxic air pollutants will be reviewed by the Department. (        )

03. Additional Information. Any additional information, plans, specifications, evidence or documents 
that the Department may require to make the determinations required under Sections 200 through 225 shall be 
furnished upon request (        )

203. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW AND MODIFIED STATIONARY SOURCES.
No permit to construct will be granted for a new or modified stationary source unless the applicant shows to the 
satisfaction of the Department all of the following: (        )

01. Emission Standards. The stationary source or modification would comply with all applicable 
local, state or federal emission standards. (        )

02. NAAQS. The stationary source or modification would not cause or significantly contribute to a 
violation of any ambient air quality standard. (        )

03. Toxic Air Pollutants. Using the methods provided in Section 210, the emissions of toxic air 
pollutants from the stationary source or modification would not injure or unreasonably affect human or animal life or 
vegetation as required by Section 161. Compliance with all applicable toxic air pollutant carcinogenic increments and 
toxic air pollutant non-carcinogenic increments demonstrates preconstruction compliance with Section 161 with 
regards to the pollutants listed in Sections 585 and 586. (        )

204. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW MAJOR FACILITIES OR MAJOR MODIFICATIONS IN 
NONATTAINMENT AREAS.
New major facilities or major modifications proposed for location in a nonattainment area and which would be major 
for the nonattainment regulated air pollutant are considered nonattainment new source review (NSR) actions and are 
subject to the requirements in Section 204. Section 202 contains application requirements and Section 209 contains 
processing requirements for nonattainment NSR permitting actions. The intent of Section 204 is to incorporate the 
federal nonattainment NSR rule requirements. (        )

01. Incorporated Federal Program Requirements. Requirements contained in the following 
subparts of 40 CFR 51.165 are incorporated by reference in Section 107. Requirements contained in the following 
subparts of 40 CFR 52.21, are incorporated by reference in Section 107. These CFR sections have been codified in 
the electronic CFR at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40.

(        )

02. Additional Requirements. The applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Department 
the following: (        )

a. LAER. Except as otherwise provided in Section 204, the new major facility or major modification 
would be operated at the lowest achievable emission rate (LAER) for the nonattainment regulated air pollutant, 
specifically: (        )

40 CFR Reference 40 CFR Reference Title

40 CFR 51.165(a)(1) Definitions

40 CFR 51.165(a)(2)(ii) - 51.165(a)(3) Applicability Provisions

40 CFR 51.165(a)(6)(i) - (v) Applicability Provisions

40 CFR 52.21(aa) Actual PALs
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i. A new major facility would meet the lowest achievable emission rate at each new emissions unit 
that emits the nonattainment regulated air pollutant; and (        )

ii. A major modification would meet the lowest achievable emission rate at each new or modified 
emissions unit that has a net emissions increase of the nonattainment regulated air pollutant. (        )

b. Required offsets. Allowable emissions from the new major facility or major modification are 
offset by reductions in actual emissions from stationary sources, facilities, and/or mobile sources in the nonattainment 
area so as to represent reasonable further progress. All offsetting emission reductions must satisfy the requirements 
for emission reduction credits (Section 460) and provide for a net air quality benefit that satisfies the requirements of 
Section 208. If the offsets are provided by other stationary sources or facilities, a permit to construct will not be 
issued for the new major facility or major modification until the offsetting reductions are made enforceable through 
the issuance of operating permits. The new major facility or major modification may not commence operation, and an 
operating permit for the new major facility or major modification will not be effective before the date the offsetting 
reductions are achieved. (        )

c. Compliance status. All other sources in the State owned or operated by the applicant, or by any 
entity controlling, controlled by or under common control with such person, are in compliance with all applicable 
emission limitations and standards or subject to an enforceable compliance schedule. (        )

d. Effect on visibility. The effect on visibility of any federal Class I area, Class I area designated by 
the Department, or integral vista of a mandatory Class I Federal Area, by the new major facility or major 
modification, is consistent with making reasonable progress toward the national visibility goal referred to in 40 CFR 
51.300(a). The Department may take into account the costs of compliance, the time necessary for compliance, the 
energy and non-air quality environmental impacts of compliance and the useful life of the source. Any integral vista 
which the Federal Land Manager has not identified at least six (6) months prior to the submittal of a complete 
application, or which the Department determines was not identified in accordance with the criteria adopted pursuant 
to 40 CFR 51.304(a), may be exempted from Section 204 by the Department. (        )

03. Nonmajor Requirements. If the proposed action meets the requirements of an exemption or 
exclusion under the provisions of 40 CFR 51.165 or 40 CFR 52.21 incorporated in Section 204, the nonmajor facility 
or stationary source permitting requirements of Sections 200 through 227 apply, including the exemptions in Sections 
220 through 223. (        )

205. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW MAJOR FACILITIES OR MAJOR MODIFICATIONS IN 
ATTAINMENT OR UNCLASSIFIABLE AREAS.
The prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) program is a construction permitting program for new major 
facilities and major modifications to existing major facilities located in areas in attainment or in areas that are 
unclassifiable for any criteria air pollutant. Section 202 contains application requirements and Section 209 contains 
processing requirements for PSD permit actions. The intent of Section 205 is to incorporate the federal PSD rule 
requirements. (        )

01. Incorporated Federal Program Requirements. Requirements contained in the following 
subparts of 40 CFR 52.21 are incorporated by reference in Section 107. These CFR sections have been codified in the 
electronic CFR which is available at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40.

40 CFR Reference 40 CFR Reference Title

40 CFR 52.21(a)(2) Applicability Procedures

40 CFR 52.21(b) Definitions

40 CFR 52.21(i) Review of Major Stationary Sources and Major Modifications 
- Source Applicability and Exempting

40 CFR 52.21(j) Control Technology Review

40 CFR 52.21(k) Source Impact Analysis
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(        )

02. Effect on Visibility. The applicant must demonstrate that the effect on visibility of any federal 
Class I area, Class I area designated by the Department, or integral vista of a mandatory Class I Federal Area, by the 
new major facility or major modification, is consistent with making reasonable progress toward the national visibility 
goal referred to in 40 CFR 51.300(a). The Department may take into account the costs of compliance, the time 
necessary for compliance, the energy and non-air quality environmental impacts of compliance and the useful life of 
the source. Any integral vista which the Federal Land Manager has not identified at least six (6) months prior to the 
submittal of a complete application, or which the Department determines was not identified in accordance with the 
criteria adopted pursuant to 40 CFR 51.304(a), may be exempted from this requirement by the Department. (        )

03. Exception to Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 52.21. Every use of the word Administrator 
in 40 CFR 52.21 means the Department except for the following provisions, where the reference remains to the EPA 
Administrator: 40 CFR 52.21(b)(17), 52.21(b)(43), 52.21(b)(48)(ii)(c), 52.21(b)(50)(i) and 52.21(l)(2). (        )

04. Nonmajor Requirements. If the proposed action meets the requirements of an exemption or 
exclusion under the provisions of 40 CFR 52.21 incorporated in Section 205, the nonmajor facility or stationary 
source permitting requirements of Sections 200 through 227 apply, including the exemptions in Sections 220 through 
223. (        )

206. OPTIONAL OFFSETS FOR PERMITS TO CONSTRUCT.
The owner or operator of any proposed new or modified stationary source, new major facility, or major modification, 
that cannot meet the requirements of Subsections 202.01.c.vi., 203.02, 203.03, 204.02.d., 205.01 (40 CFR 52.21(k)), 
and 209.02.b.vi., may propose the use of an emission offset to meet those requirements and thereby obtain a permit to 
construct. Any proposed emission offset must satisfy the requirements for emission reduction credits, Section 460, 
and demonstrate, through appropriate dispersion modeling, that the offset will reduce ambient concentrations 
sufficiently to meet the requirements at all modeled receptors that could not otherwise have met the requirements.

(        )

207. REQUIREMENTS FOR EMISSION REDUCTION CREDIT.
In order to be credited in a permit to construct, any emission reduction credit must satisfy the requirements of Section 
460. (        )

208. DEMONSTRATION OF NET AIR QUALITY BENEFIT.
The demonstration of net air quality benefit must: (        )

01. VOCs. For trades involving volatile organic compounds, show that total emissions are reduced for 
the air basin in which the stationary source or facility is located; (        )

02. Other Regulated Air Pollutants. For trades involving any other regulated air pollutant, show 
through appropriate dispersion modeling that the trade will not cause an increase in ambient concentrations at any 
modeled receptor; (        )

03. Mobile Sources. For trades involving mobile sources, show a reduction in the ambient impact of 
emissions upon air quality by obtaining sufficient emission reductions to, at a minimum, compensate for adverse 
ambient impact where the major facility or major modification would otherwise cause or significantly contribute to a 
violation of any national ambient air quality standard. (        )

40 CFR 52.21(r) Source Obligation

40 CFR 52.21(v) Innovative Control Technology

40 CFR 52.21(w) Permit Rescission

40 CFR 52.21(aa) Actual PALS

40 CFR Reference 40 CFR Reference Title
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209. PROCEDURE FOR ISSUING PERMITS.

01. General Procedures. General procedures for permits to construct. (        )

a. Within thirty (30) days after receipt of the application for a permit to construct, the Department will 
determine whether the application is complete or whether more information is needed and will notify the applicant of 
its findings in writing. (        )

b. Within sixty (60) days after the application is determined to be complete the Department will:
(        )

i. Upon written request of the applicant, provide a draft permit for applicant review. Agency action on 
the permit under this Section may be delayed if deemed necessary to respond to applicant comments. (        )

ii. Notify the applicant in writing of the approval, or denial of the application if an opportunity for 
public comment is not required pursuant to Subsection 209.01.c. The Department will describe reasons for any 
denial; or (        )

c. An opportunity for public comment will be provided on all applications requiring a permit to 
construct. Public comment will be provided on an application for any new major facility or major modification, any 
new facility or modification that would affect any Class I area, any application that uses an interpollutant trade 
pursuant to Subsection 210.17, any application that the Department determines an opportunity for public comment is 
needed, and any application upon which the applicant or public so requests. (        )

i. The Department's proposed action, together with the information submitted by the applicant and 
the Department's analysis of the information, will be made available to the public in at least one (1) location in the 
region in which the stationary source or facility is to be located. (        )

ii. The availability of such materials will be made known by notice published in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the county(ies) in which the stationary source or facility is to be located. (        )

iii. A copy of such notice will be sent to the applicant and to appropriate federal, state and local 
agencies. (        )

iv. There will be a thirty (30) day period after initial publication for comment on the Department's 
proposed action, such comment to be made in writing to the Department. (        )

v. After consideration of comments and any additional information submitted during the comment 
period, and within forty-five (45) days after initial publication of the notice or notice of public hearing if one is 
requested under Subsections 209.02.b.iv. or 209.02.a.ii., unless the Department deems that additional time is required 
to evaluate comments and information received, the Department will notify the applicant in writing of approval, or 
denial of the permit. The Department will describe the reasons for any denial. (        )

vi. All comments and additional information received during the comment period, together with the 
Department's final determination, will be made available to the public at the same location as the preliminary 
determination. (        )

d. A copy of each permit will be sent to EPA. (        )

02. Additional Procedures for Specified Sources. (        )

a. For any new major facility or major modification in an attainment or unclassifiable area for any 
regulated air pollutant. (        )

i. The public notice issued pursuant to Subsection 209.01.c.ii. will indicate the degree of increment 
consumption that is expected from the new major facility or major modification; and (        )
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ii. The public notice issued pursuant to Subsection 209.01.c.ii. will indicate the opportunity for a 
public hearing for interested persons to appear and submit written or oral comments on the air quality effects of the 
new major facility or major modification, alternatives to it, the control technology required, and other appropriate 
considerations. All requests for public hearings during a comment period with an opportunity for a hearing must be 
requested in writing by interested persons within fourteen (14) days of the publication of the legal notice of the 
proposed permit to construct or within fourteen (14) days prior to the end of the comment period, whichever is later.

(        )

b. For any new major facility or major modification that would affect a federal Class I area or an 
integral vista of a mandatory federal Class I area. (        )

i. If the Department is notified of the intent to apply for a permit to construct, it will notify the 
appropriate Federal Land Manager within thirty (30) days; (        )

ii. A copy of the permit application and all relevant information, including an analysis of the 
anticipated effects on visibility in any federal Class I area, will be sent to the Administrator of the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency and the Federal Land Manager within thirty (30) days of receipt of a complete application and at 
least sixty (60) days prior to any public hearing on the application; (        )

iii. Notice of every action related to the consideration of the permit will be sent to the EPA 
Administrator (        )

iv. The public notice issued pursuant to Subsection 209.01.c.ii. will indicate the opportunity for a 
public hearing for interested persons to appear and submit written or oral comments on the air quality effect of the 
new major facility or major modification, alternatives to it, the control technology required, and other appropriate 
considerations. All requests for public hearings during a comment period with an opportunity for a hearing must be 
requested in writing by interested persons within fourteen (14) days of the publication of the legal notice of the 
proposed permit to construct or within fourteen (14) days prior to the end of the comment period, whichever is later.

(        )

v. The notice of public hearing, if required, will explain any differences between the Department's 
preliminary determination and any visibility analysis performed by the Federal Land Manager and provided to the 
Department within thirty (30) days of the notification pursuant to Subsection 209.02.b.ii. (        )

vi. Upon a sufficient showing by the Federal Land Manager that a proposed new major facility or 
major modification will have an adverse impact upon the air quality related values (including visibility) of any federal 
mandatory Class I area, the Department may deny the application notwithstanding the fact that the concentrations of 
regulated air pollutants would not exceed the maximum allowable increases for a Class I area. (        )

03. Revisions of Permits to Construct. The Director may approve a revision of any permit to 
construct provided the stationary source or facility continues to meet all applicable requirements of Sections 200 
through 227. Revised permits will be issued pursuant to procedures for issuing permits (Section 209), except that the 
requirements of Subsections 209.01.c., 209.02.a., and 209.02.b., only apply if the permit revision results in an 
increase in emissions authorized by the permit or if deemed appropriate by the Department. (        )

04. Permit to Construct Procedures for Tier I Sources. For Tier I sources that require a permit to 
construct, the owner or operator must either: (        )

a. Submit only the information required by Sections 200 through 214 for a permit to construct, in 
which case: (        )

i. A permit to construct or denial will be issued in accordance with Subsections 209.01.a. and 
209.01.b. (        )

ii. The owner or operator may construct the source after permit to construct issuance or in accordance 
with Subsection 213.02.c. (        )
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iii. The owner or operator may operate the source after permit to construct issuance so long as it does 
not violate any terms or conditions of the existing Tier I operating permit and complies with Subsection 380.02.

(        )
iv. Unless a different time is specified by these rules, the applicable requirements contained in a permit 

to construct will be incorporated into the Tier I operating permit during renewal (Section 369). Where an existing Tier 
I permit would prohibit such construction or change in operation, the source must obtain a permit revision before 
commencing operation. Tier I sources required to meet the requirements under Section 112(g) of the Clean Air Act 
(Section 214), or to have a permit under the preconstruction review program approved into the applicable 
implementation plan under Part C (Section 205) or Part D (Section 204) of Title I of the Clean Air Act, must file a 
complete application to obtain a Tier I permit revision within twelve (12) months after commencing operation.

(        )

v. The application or minor or significant permit modification request will be processed in accordance 
with timelines: Section 361 and Subsections 367.02 through 367.05. (        )

vi. The final Tier I operating permit action will incorporate the relevant terms and conditions from the 
permit to construct; or (        )

b. Submit all information required by Sections 200 through 214 for a permit to construct and Sections 
300 through 386 for a Tier I operating permit, or Tier I operating permit modification, in which case: (        )

i. Completeness of the application will be determined within thirty (30) days. (        )

ii. The Department will prepare a proposed permit to construct or denial in accordance with Sections 
200 through 214 and a draft Tier I operating permit or Tier I operating permit modification in accordance with 
Sections 300 through 386 within sixty (60) days. (        )

iii. The Department will provide for public comment and affected state review in accordance with 
Sections 209, 364 and 365 on the proposed permit to construct or denial and draft Tier I operating permit or Tier I 
operating permit modification. (        )

iv. Except as otherwise provided by these rules, the Department will prepare and issue to the owner or 
operator a final permit to construct or denial within fifteen (15) days of the close of the public comment period. The 
owner or operator may construct the source after permit to construct issuance or in accordance with Subsection 
213.02.c. (        )

v. The final permit to construct will be sent to EPA, along with the proposed Tier I operating permit or 
modification. The proposed Tier I operating permit or modification will be sent for review in accordance with Section 
366. (        )

vi. The Tier I operating permit, or Tier I operating permit modification, will be issued in accordance 
with Section 367. The owner or operator may operate the source after permit to construct issuance so long as it does 
not violate any terms or conditions of the existing Tier I operating permit and complies with Subsection 380.02; or

(        )

c. Submit all information required by Sections 200 through 219 for a permit to construct and Sections 
300 through 381 for a Tier I operating permit, or Tier I operating permit modification, in which case: (        )

i. Completeness of the application will be determined within thirty (30) days. (        )

ii. The Department will prepare a draft permit to construct or denial in accordance with Sections 200 
through 219 and that also meets the requirements of Sections 300 through 381 within sixty (60) days. (        )

iii. The Department will provide for public comment and affected state review in accordance with 
Sections 209, 364, and 365 on the draft permit to construct or denial. (        )

iv. The Department will prepare and send a proposed permit to construct or denial to EPA for review in 
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accordance with Section 366. EPA review of the proposed permit to construct or denial in accordance with Section 
366 can occur concurrently with public comment and affected state review of the draft permit, as provided in 
Subsection 209.05.c.iii. above, except that if the draft permit or denial is revised in response to public comment or 
affected state review, the Department must send the revised proposed permit to construct or denial to EPA for review 
in accordance with Section 366. (        )

v. Except as otherwise provided by these rules, the Department will prepare and issue to the owner or 
operator a final permit to construct or denial in accordance with Section 367. The owner or operator may construct 
the source after permit to construct issuance or in accordance with Subsection 213.02.c. (        )

vi. The permittee may, at any time after issuance, request that the permit to construct requirements be 
incorporated into the Tier I operating permit through an administrative amendment in accordance with Section 381. 
The owner or operator may operate the source or modification upon submittal of the request for an administrative 
amendment. (        )

05. Transfer of Permits to Construct. (        )

a. Transfers by Revision. A permit to construct may be transferred to a new owner or operator in 
accordance with Subsection 209.04. (        )

b. Automatic Transfers. Any permit to construct, with or without transfer prohibition language, may 
be automatically transferred if: (        )

i. The current permittee notifies the Department at least thirty (30) days in advance of the proposed 
transfer date; (        )

ii. The notice provides written documentation signed by the current and proposed permittees 
containing a date for transfer of permit responsibility, designation of the proposed permittee’s responsible official, 
and certification that the proposed permittee has reviewed and intends to operate in accordance with the permit terms 
and conditions; and (        )

iii. The Department does not notify the current permittee and the proposed permittee within thirty (30) 
days of receipt of the notice of the Department’s determination that the permit must be revised pursuant to Subsection 
209.04. If the Department does not issue such notice, the transfer is effective on the date provided in the notice 
described in Subsection 209.06.b.ii. (        )

210. DEMONSTRATION OF PRECONSTRUCTION COMPLIANCE WITH TOXIC STANDARDS.
In accordance with Subsection 203.03, the applicant must demonstrate preconstruction compliance with Section 161 
to the satisfaction of the Department. The accuracy, completeness, execution and results of the demonstration are all 
subject to review and approval by the Department. For purposes of this section, Toxic Air Pollutant Reasonably 
Available Control Technology (T-RACT) is an emission standard based on the lowest emission of toxic air pollutants 
that a particular source is capable of meeting by the application of control technology that is reasonably available, as 
determined by the Department, considering technological and economic feasibility. If control technology is not 
feasible, the emission standard may be based on the application of a design, equipment, work practice or operational 
requirement, or combination thereof. (        )

01. Identification of Toxic Air Pollutants. The applicant may use process knowledge, raw materials 
inputs, EPA and Department references and commonly available references approved by EPA or the Department to 
identify the toxic air pollutants emitted by the stationary source or modification. (        )

02. Quantification of Emission Rates. (        )

a. The applicant may use standard scientific and engineering principles and practices to estimate the 
emission rate of any toxic air pollutant at the point(s) of emission. (        )

i. Screening engineering analyses use unrefined conservative data. (        )
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ii. Refined engineering analyses utilize refined and less conservative data including, but not limited 
to, emission factors requiring detailed input and actual emissions testing at a comparable emissions unit using EPA or 
Department approved methods. (        )

b. The uncontrolled emissions rate of a toxic air pollutant from a source or modification is calculated 
using the maximum capacity of the source or modification under its physical and operational design without the 
effect of any physical or operational limitations. (        )

i. Examples of physical and operational design include but are not limited to the amount of time 
equipment operates during batch operations and the quantity of raw materials utilized in a batch process. (        )

ii. Examples of physical or operational limitations include but are not limited to shortened hours of 
operation, use of control equipment, and restrictions on production that are less than design capacity. (        )

c. The controlled emissions rate of a toxic air pollutant from a source or modification is calculated 
using the maximum capacity of the source or modification under its physical and operational design with the effect of 
any physical or operational limitation that has been specifically described in a written and certified submission to the 
Department. (        )

d. The T-RACT emissions rate of a toxic air pollutant from a source or modification is calculated 
using the maximum capacity of the source or modification under its physical and operational design with the effect 
of: (        )

i. Any physical or operational limitation other than control equipment that has been specifically 
described in a written and certified submission to the Department; and (        )

ii. An emission standard that is T-RACT. (        )

03. Quantification of Ambient Concentrations. (        )

a. The applicant may use the modeling methods provided in Subsection 202.02 to estimate the 
ambient concentrations at specified receptor sites for any toxic air pollutant emitted from the point(s) of emission.

(        )

b. The point of compliance is the receptor site that is estimated to have the highest ambient 
concentration of the toxic air pollutant of all the receptor sites that are located either at or beyond the facility property 
boundary or at a point of public access; provided that, if the toxic air pollutant is listed in Section 586, the receptor 
site is not considered to be at a point of public access if the receptor site is located on or within a road, highway or 
other transportation corridor transecting the facility. (        )

c. The uncontrolled ambient concentration of the source or modification is estimated by modeling the 
uncontrolled emission rate. (        )

d. The controlled ambient concentration of the source or modification is estimated by modeling the 
controlled emission rate. (        )

e. The approved net ambient concentration from a modification for a toxic air pollutant at each 
receptor is calculated by subtracting the estimated decreases in ambient concentrations for all sources at the facility 
contributing an approved creditable decrease at the receptor site from the estimated ambient concentration from the 
modification at the receptor. (        )

f. The approved offset ambient concentration from a source or modification for a toxic air pollutant at 
each receptor is calculated by subtracting the estimated decreases in ambient concentrations for all sources 
contributing an approved offset at the receptor from the estimated ambient concentration for the source or 
modification at the receptor. (        )

g. The T-RACT ambient concentration of the source or modification is estimated by using refined 
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modeling and the T-RACT emission rate. (        )

h. The approved interpollutant ambient concentration from a source or modification for a toxic air 
pollutant at each receptor is calculated as follows: (        )

i. Step 1: Calculate the estimated decrease in ambient concentrations for each toxic air pollutant from 
each source contributing an approved interpollutant trade at the receptor by multiplying the approved interpollutant 
ratio by the overall decrease in the ambient concentration of the toxic air pollutant at the receptor site. (        )

ii. Step 2: Calculate the total estimated decrease at the receptor by summing all of the individual 
estimated decreases calculated in Subsection 210.03.h.i. for that receptor. (        )

iii. Step 3: Calculate the approved interpollutant ambient concentration by subtracting the total 
estimated decrease at the receptor from the estimated ambient concentration for the source or modification at the 
receptor. (        )

04. Preconstruction Compliance Demonstration. The applicant may use any of the Department 
approved standard methods described in Subsections 210.05 through 210.08 and may use any applicable specialized 
method described in Subsections 210.09 through 210.12 to demonstrate preconstruction compliance for each 
identified toxic air pollutant. (        )

05. Uncontrolled Emissions. (        )

a. Compare the source's or modification's uncontrolled emissions rate for the toxic air pollutant to the 
applicable screening emission level listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

b. If the source's or modification's uncontrolled emission rate is less than or equal to the applicable 
screening emission level, no further procedures for demonstrating preconstruction compliance will be required for 
that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

06. Uncontrolled Ambient Concentration. (        )

a. Compare the source's or modification's uncontrolled ambient concentration at the point of 
compliance for the toxic air pollutant to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration listed in Sections 585 or 
586. (        )

b. If the source's or modification's uncontrolled ambient concentration at the point of compliance is 
less than or equal to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration, no further procedures for demonstrating 
preconstruction compliance will be required for that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

07. Controlled Emissions. (        )

a. Compare the source's or modification's controlled emissions rate for the toxic air pollutant to the 
applicable screening emission level listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

b. If the source's or modification's controlled emission rate is less than or equal to the applicable 
screening emission level, no further procedure for demonstrating preconstruction compliance is required for that 
toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

08. Controlled Ambient Concentration. (        )

a. Compare the source's or modification's controlled ambient concentration at the point of compliance 
for the toxic air pollutant to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

b. If the source's or modification's controlled ambient concentration at the point of compliance is less 
than or equal to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration, no further procedures for demonstrating 
preconstruction compliance will be required for that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )
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c. The Department will include an emission limit for the toxic air pollutant in the permit to construct 
that is equal to or, if requested by the applicant, less than the emission rate that was used in the modeling. (        )

09. Net Emissions. (        )

a. As provided in Section 007 (definition of net emissions increase) and Sections 460 and 461, the 
owner or operator may net emissions to demonstrate preconstruction compliance. (        )

b. Compare the modification's approved net emissions increase (expressed as an emission rate) for the 
toxic air pollutant to the applicable screening emission level listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

c. If the modification's approved net emissions increase is less than or equal to the applicable 
screening emission level, no further procedures for demonstrating preconstruction compliance will be required for 
that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

d. The Department will include emission limits and other permit terms for the toxic air pollutant in the 
permit to construct that assure that the facility will be operated in the manner described in the preconstruction 
compliance demonstration. (        )

10. Net Ambient Concentration. (        )

a. As provided in Section 007 (definition of net emission increase) and Sections 460 and 461, the 
owner or operator may net ambient concentrations to demonstrate preconstruction compliance. (        )

b. Compare the modification's approved net ambient concentration at the point of compliance for the 
toxic air pollutant to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

c. If the modification's approved net ambient concentration at the point of compliance is less than or 
equal to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration, no further procedures for demonstrating preconstruction 
compliance will be required for that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

d. The Department will include emission limits and other permit terms for the toxic air pollutant in the 
permit to construct that assure that the facility will be operated in the manner described in the preconstruction 
compliance demonstration. (        )

11. Toxic Air Pollutant Offset Ambient Concentration. (        )

a. As provided in Sections 206 and 460, the owner or operator may use offsets to demonstrate 
preconstruction compliance. (        )

b. Compare the source's or modification's approved offset ambient concentration at the point of 
compliance for the toxic air pollutant to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration listed in Sections 585 or 
586. (        )

c. If the source's or modification's approved offset ambient concentration at the point of compliance is 
less than or equal to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration, no further procedures for demonstrating 
preconstruction compliance will be required for that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

d. The Department will include emission limits and other permit terms for the toxic air pollutant in the 
permit to construct that assure that the facility will be operated in the manner described in the preconstruction 
compliance demonstration. (        )

12. T-RACT Ambient Concentration for Carcinogens. (        )

a. As provided in Subsections 210.12 and 210.13, the owner or operator may use T-RACT to 
demonstrate preconstruction compliance for toxic air pollutants listed in Section 586. This method may be used in 
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conjunction with netting (Subsection 210.09), and offsets (Subsection 210.11). (        )

b. Compare the source's or modification's approved T-RACT ambient concentration at the point of 
compliance for the toxic air pollutant to the amount of the toxic air pollutant that would contribute an ambient air 
cancer risk probability of less than one to one hundred thousand (1:100,000) (which amount is equivalent to ten (10) 
times the applicable acceptable ambient concentration listed in Section 586). (        )

c. If the source's or modification's approved T-RACT ambient concentration at the point of 
compliance is less than or equal to the amount of the toxic air pollutant that would contribute an ambient air cancer 
risk probability of less than one to one hundred thousand (1:100,000), no further procedures for demonstrating 
preconstruction compliance will be required for that toxic air pollutant as part of the application process. (        )

d. The Department will include emission limits and other permit terms for the toxic air pollutant in the 
permit to construct that assure that the facility will be operated in the manner described in the preconstruction 
compliance demonstration. (        )

13. T-RACT Determination Processing. (        )

a. The applicant may submit all information necessary to the demonstration at the time the applicant 
submits the complete initial application, or the applicant may request the Department to review a complete initial 
application to determine if Subsection 210.12 may be applicable to the source or modification. (        )

b. Notwithstanding Subsections 209.01.a. and 209.01.b., if the applicant requests the Department to 
review a complete initial application and Subsection 210.12 is determined to be applicable, the completeness 
determination for the initial application will be revoked until a supplemental application is submitted and determined 
complete. When the supplemental application is determined complete, the timeline for agency action will be 
reinitiated. (        )

14. T-RACT Determination. T-RACT will be determined on a case-by-case basis by the Department 
as follows: (        )

a. The applicant must submit information to the Department identifying and documenting which 
control technologies or other requirements the applicant believes to be T-RACT. (        )

b. The Department will review the information submitted by the applicant and determine whether the 
applicant has proposed T-RACT. (        )

c. The technological feasibility of a control technology or other requirements for a particular source 
will be determined considering several factors including, but not limited to: (        )

i. Process and operating procedures, raw materials and physical plant layout. (        )

ii. The environmental impacts caused by the control technology that cannot be mitigated, including, 
but not limited to, water pollution and the production of solid wastes. (        )

iii. The energy requirements of the control technology. (        )

d. The economic feasibility of a control technology or other requirement, including the costs of 
necessary mitigation measures, for a particular source will be determined considering several factors including, but 
not limited to: (        )

i. Capital costs. (        )

ii. Cost effectiveness, which is the annualized cost of the control technology divided by the amount of 
emission reduction. (        )

iii. The difference in costs between the particular source and other similar sources, if any, that have 
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implemented emissions reductions. (        )

e. If the Department determines that the applicant has proposed T-RACT, the Department will 
determine which of the options, or combination of options, will result in the lowest emission of toxic air pollutants, 
develop the emission standards constituting T-RACT and incorporate the emission standards into the permit to 
construct. (        )

f. If the Department determines that the applicant has not proposed T-RACT, the Department will 
disapprove the submittal. If the submittal is disapproved, the applicant may supplement its submittal or demonstrate 
preconstruction compliance through a different method provided in Section 210. If the applicant does not supplement 
its submittal or demonstrate preconstruction compliance through a different method provided in Section 210, the 
Department will deny the permit. (        )

15. Short Term Source Factor. For short term sources, the applicant may utilize a short-term 
adjustment factor of ten (10). For a carcinogen, multiply either the applicable acceptable ambient concentration 
(AACC) or the screening emission rate, but not both, by ten (10), to demonstrate preconstruction compliance. This 
method may be used for TAPs listed in Section 586 only and may be utilized in conjunction with standard methods 
for quantification of emission rates (Subsections 210.05 through 210.08). (        )

16. Environmental Remediation Source. (        )

a. For Remediation sources subject to or regulated by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 
(42 U.S.C. Sections 6901-6992k) and the “Idaho Rules and Standards for Hazardous Waste,” (IDAPA 58.01.05.000 et 
seq.) or the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (42 U.S.C. 6901-6992k) or a 
consent order, if the estimated ambient concentration at the point of impact is greater than the acceptable ambient 
impacts listed in Sections 585 and 586, Best Available Control Technology will be applied and operated until the 
estimated uncontrolled emissions from the remediation source are below the acceptable ambient concentration.

(        )

b. For Remediation sources not subject to or regulated by the Resource Conservation and Recovery 
Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 6901-6992k) and the “Idaho Rules and Standards for Hazardous Waste,” (IDAPA 
58.01.05.000 et seq.) or the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (42 U.S.C. 
6901-6992k) or a consent order, will, for the purposes of these rules, be considered the same as any other new or 
modified source of toxic air pollution. (        )

c. For an environmental remediation source that functions to remediate or recover any release, spill, 
leak, discharge or disposal of any petroleum product or petroleum substance, the Department may waive the 
requirements of Section 513. (        )

17. Interpollutant Trading Ambient Concentration. (        )

a. As provided in Subsections 209.01.c., 210.17 through 210.19, the owner or operator may use 
interpollutant trading to demonstrate preconstruction compliance. This method may be used in conjunction with 
netting (Subsection 210.10), and offsets (Subsection 210.11) (        )

b. Compare the source's or modification's approved interpollutant ambient concentration at the point 
of compliance for the toxic air pollutant emitted by the source or modification to the applicable acceptable ambient 
concentration listed in Sections 585 or 586. (        )

c. If the source's or modification's approved interpollutant ambient concentration at the point of 
compliance is less than or equal to the applicable acceptable ambient concentration listed in Sections 585 or 586, no 
further procedures for demonstrating preconstruction compliance will be required for that toxic air pollutant as part of 
the application process. (        )

d. The Department will include emission limits for all of the toxic air pollutants involved in the trade 
in the permit to construct. The Department will also include other permit terms in the permit to construct that assure 
that the facility will be operated in the manner described in the preconstruction compliance demonstration. (        )
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18. Interpollutant Trading Determination Processing. (        )

a. The applicant may submit all information necessary to the demonstration at the time the applicant 
submits the complete initial application, or the applicant may request the Department to review a complete initial 
application to determine if Subsection 210.17 may be applicable to the source or modification. (        )

b. Notwithstanding Subsections 209.01.a. and 209.01.b., if the applicant requests the Department to 
review a complete initial application and Subsection 210.17 is determined to be applicable, the completeness 
determination for the initial application will be revoked until a supplemental application is submitted and determined 
complete. When the supplemental application is determined complete, the timeline for agency action will be 
reinitiated. (        )

19. Interpollutant Determination. (        )

a. The applicant may request an interpollutant trade if the Department determines that: (        )

i. The facility complies with an emission standard at least as stringent as best available control 
technology (BACT); and (        )

ii. The owner or operator has instituted all known and available methods of pollution prevention at the 
facility to reduce, avoid or eliminate toxic air pollution prior to its generation including, but not limited to, recycling, 
chemical substitution, and process modification provided that such pollution prevention methods are compatible with 
each other, and the product or service being produced; and (        )

iii. The owner or operator has taken all available offsets; and (        )

iv. The owner or operator has identified all geographical areas and populations that may be impacted 
by the proposed interpollutant trade. (        )

b. Interpollutant trades will be approved or denied on a case-by-case basis by the Department. 
Approvals will be granted only if: (        )

i. The Department of Health and Welfare’s Division of Health approves the interpollutant trade; and
(        )

ii. The Department of Environmental Quality determines that the interpollutant trade will result in a 
overall benefit to the environment; and (        )

iii. An EPA approved database or other EPA approved reference provides relative potency factors, or 
comparable factors, or other data that is sufficient to allow for adequate review and approval of the proposed trade is 
submitted for all of the toxic air pollutants being traded; and (        )

iv. The reductions occur at the same facility where the proposed source or modification will be 
constructed; and (        )

v. The interpollutant trade will not cause an increase in the ambient concentrations of the carcinogenic 
toxic air pollutants involved in the particular interpollutant trade at any receptor site; and (        )

vi. The total cancer risk with the interpollutant trade will be less than the total cancer risk without the 
interpollutant trade; and (        )

vii. The total non-cancer health risk with the interpollutant trade will be less than the total non-cancer 
health risk without the interpollutant trade. (        )

20. 40 CFR Parts 60, 61 and 63 Sources. No demonstration of compliance with the toxic air pollutant 
provisions is required to obtain a permit to construct or to demonstrate permit to construct exemption criteria for a 
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new source or for modification of an existing source if the toxic air pollutant is also a listed hazardous air pollutant 
from: (        )

a. The equipment or activity covered by a 40 CFR Part 60, 61, or 63 rule; or (        )

b. The source category of equipment or activity addressed by a 40 CFR Part 60, 61, or 63 rule even if 
the equipment or activity is not subject to compliance requirements under the federal rule. (        )

211. CONDITIONS FOR PERMITS TO CONSTRUCT.

01. Reasonable Conditions. The Department may impose any reasonable conditions upon an 
approval, including conditions requiring the stationary source or facility to be provided with: (        )

a. Sampling ports of a size, number, and location as the Department may require; (        )

b. Safe access to each port; (        )

c. Instrumentation to monitor and record emissions data; (        )

d. Instrumentation for ambient monitoring to determine the effect emissions from the stationary 
source or facility may have, or are having, on the air quality in any area affected by the stationary source or facility; 
and (        )

e. Any other sampling and testing facilities as may be deemed reasonably necessary. (        )

02. Cancellation. The Department may cancel a permit to construct if the construction is not begun 
within two (2) years from the date of issuance, or if during the construction, work is suspended for one (1) year.

(        )

03. Notification to The Department. Any owner or operator of a stationary source or facility subject 
to a permit to construct must furnish the Department written notifications as follows: (        )

a. A notification of the anticipated date of initial start-up of the stationary source or facility not more 
than sixty (60) days or less than thirty (30) days prior to such date; and (        )

b. A notification of the actual date of initial start-up of the stationary source or facility within fifteen 
(15) days after such date. (        )

04. Performance Test. Within sixty (60) days after achieving the maximum production rate at which 
the stationary source or facility will be operated but not later than one hundred eighty (180) days after initial start-up 
of such stationary source or facility, the owner or operator of such stationary source or facility may be required to 
conduct a performance test in accordance with methods and under operating conditions approved by the Department 
and furnish the Department a written report of the results of such performance test. (        )

a. Such test will be at the expense of the owner or operator. (        )

b. The Department may monitor such test and may also conduct performance tests. (        )

c. The owner or operator of a stationary source or facility must provide the Department fifteen (15) 
days prior notice of the performance test to afford the Department the opportunity to have an observer present.

(        )

212. RELAXATION OF STANDARDS OR RESTRICTIONS.
At such time that a particular facility or modification becomes a major facility or major modification solely by virtue 
of a relaxation in any enforceable emission standard or restriction on the operating rate, hours of operation or on the 
type or amount of material combusted, stored or processed, that was used to exempt the facility or modification from 
certain requirements for a permit to construct, the requirements for new major facilities or major modifications will 
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apply to the facility or modification as though construction had not yet commenced. (        )

213. PRE-PERMIT CONSTRUCTION.
This section describes how owners or operators may commence construction or modification of certain stationary 
sources before obtaining the required permit to construct. (        )

01. Pre-Permit Construction Eligibility. Pre-permit construction approval is available for new 
sources and modifications that are not considered major as defined in 40 CFR 52.21 proposed in accordance with 
Subsection 213.01.d. Pre-permit construction is not available for any new source or modification that: uses emissions 
netting to stay below major source levels; uses optional offsets pursuant to Section 206; or would have an adverse 
impact on the air quality related values of any Class I area. Owners or operators may ask the Department for the 
ability to commence construction or modification of qualifying sources under Section 213 before receiving the 
required permit to construct. To obtain the Department’s pre-permit construction approval, the owner or operator 
must: (        )

a. Apply for a permit to construct in accordance with Subsections 202.01.a., 202.02, and 202.03 of 
this chapter. (        )

b. Consult with Department representatives prior to submitting a pre-permit construction approval 
application. (        )

c. Submit a pre-permit construction approval application that must contain, but not be limited to: a 
letter requesting the ability to construct before obtaining the required permit to construct, a copy of the notice 
referenced in Subsection 213.02; proof of eligibility; process description(s); equipment list(s); proposed emission 
limits and modeled ambient concentrations for all regulated air pollutants and toxic air pollutants, such that they 
demonstrate compliance with all applicable air quality rules and regulations. The models must be conducted in 
accordance with Subsection 202.02 and with written Department approved protocol and submitted with sufficient 
detail so that modeling can be duplicated by the Department. (        )

d. Owners or operators seeking limitations on a source’s potential to emit such that permitted 
emissions will be either below major source levels or below a significant increase must describe in detail in the pre-
permit construction application the proposed restrictions and certify in accordance with Section 123 that they will 
comply with the restrictions, including any applicable monitoring and reporting requirements. (        )

02. Permit to Construct Procedures for Pre-Permit Construction. (        )

a. Within ten (10) days after the submittal of the pre-permit construction approval application, the 
owner or operator must hold an informational meeting in at least one (1) location in the region in which the stationary 
source or facility is to be located. The informational meeting must be made known by notice published at least ten 
(10) days before the meeting in a newspaper of general circulation in the county(ies) in which the stationary source or 
facility is to be located. A copy of such notice must be included in the application. (        )

b. Within fifteen (15) days after the receipt of the pre-permit construction approval application, the 
Department will notify the owner or operator in writing of pre-permit construction approval or denial. The 
Department may deny the pre-permit construction approval application for any reason it deems valid. (        )

c. Upon receipt of the pre-permit construction approval letter issued by the Department, the owner or 
operator may begin construction at their own risk as identified in Subsection 213.02.d. Upon issuance of the pre-
permit construction approval letter, any and all potential to emit limitations addressed in the pre-permit construction 
application pursuant to Subsection 213.01.d. will become enforceable. The owner or operator must not operate those 
emissions units subject to permit to construct requirements in accordance with Section 200 unless and until issued a 
permit pursuant to Section 209. (        )

d. If the pre-permit construction approval application is determined incomplete or the permit to 
construct is denied, the Department will issue an incompleteness or denial letter pursuant to Section 209. If the 
Department denies the permit to construct, then the owner or operator will have violated Section 201 on the date it 
commenced construction as defined in Section 006. The owner or operator may not contest the final permit to 
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construct decision based on the fact that they have already begun construction. (        )

214. DEMONSTRATION OF PRECONSTRUCTION COMPLIANCE FOR NEW AND 
RECONSTRUCTED MAJOR SOURCES OF HAZARDOUS AIR POLLUTANTS.

01. Compliance with Federal MACT. All owners or operators of major sources of hazardous air 
pollutants that are subject to an applicable Maximum Available Control Technology (MACT) standard promulgated 
by EPA pursuant to Section 112 of the Clean Air Act and 40 CFR Part 63 must comply with the applicable MACT 
standard and such owners or operators are not subject to Subsections 214.04 and 214.05. (        )

02. Requirement to Obtain Preconstruction MACT Determination from the Department. No 
owner or operator may construct or reconstruct a major source of hazardous air pollutants unless such owner or 
operator has obtained a MACT standard determination from the Department. The Department will make the MACT 
standard determination on a case-by-case basis and in accordance with Section 112(g)(2)(B) of the Clean Air Act and 
40 CFR 63.40 through 63.44 as incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

03. Development of MACT by the Department After EPA Deadline. In the event that EPA fails to 
promulgate a MACT standard for a category or subcategory of major sources of hazardous air pollutants identified by 
the EPA under the Clean Air Act by the date established under Section 112(e) of the Clean Air Act, the owner or 
operator of any major source of hazardous air pollutants in such category or subcategory must submit an application 
to the Department for a MACT standard determination. The Department will make the MACT standard 
determination on a case-by-case basis and in accordance with Section 112(j) of the Clean Air Act and 40 CFR 63.50 
through 63.56 as incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

215. MERCURY EMISSION STANDARD FOR NEW OR MODIFIED SOURCES.
No owner or operator may commence construction or modification of a stationary source or facility that results in an 
increase in annual potential emissions of mercury of twenty-five (25) pounds or more unless the owner or operator 
has obtained a permit to construct under Sections 200 through 227. The permit to construct application must include 
an MBACT analysis for the new or modified source or sources for review and approval by the Department. A 
determination of applicability under Section 215 will be based upon the best available information. Fugitive 
emissions are not included in a determination of applicability under Section 215. (        )

01. Exemptions. New or modified stationary sources within a source category subject to 40 CFR Part 
63 are exempt from the requirements of Section 215. (        )

02. Applicability. Except as provided in Subsection 215.01, Section 215 applies to all new or modified 
sources. (        )

216. -- 219. (RESERVED)

220. GENERAL EXEMPTION CRITERIA FOR PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT EXEMPTIONS.

01. General Exemption Criteria. Sections 220 through 223 may be used by owners or operators to 
exempt certain sources from the requirement to obtain a permit to construct. Nothing in these sections precludes an 
owner or operator from choosing to obtain a permit to construct. For purposes of Sections 220 through 223, the term 
source means the equipment or activity being exempted. For purposes of Sections 220 through 223, fugitive 
emissions are not considered in determining whether a source meets the applicable exemption criteria unless required 
by federal law. No permit to construct is required for a source that satisfies all of the following criteria, in addition to 
the criteria set forth at Sections 221 and 223 or 222 and 223 (as required): (        )

a. The maximum capacity of a source to emit an air pollutant under its physical and operational 
design without consideration of limitations on emission such as air pollution control equipment, restrictions on hours 
of operation and restrictions on the type and amount of material combusted, stored or processed would not: (        )

i. Equal or exceed one hundred (100) tons per year of any regulated air pollutant. (        )

ii. Cause an increase in the emissions of a major facility that equals or exceeds the significant 
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emissions rates set out in the definition of significant at Section 006. (        )

b.  The source is not part of a proposed new major facility or part of a proposed major modification.
(        )

02. Record Retention. Unless the source is subject to and the owner or operator complies with Section 
385, the owner or operator of the source, except for those sources listed in Subsections 222.02.a. through 222.02.g., 
must maintain documentation on site that identifies the exemption determined to apply to the source and verify that 
the source qualifies for the identified exemption. The records and documentation must be kept for a period of time not 
less than five (5) years from the date the exemption determination has been made or for the life of the source for 
which the exemption has been determined to apply, whichever is greater, or until such time as a permit to construct or 
an operating permit is issued that covers the operation of the source. The owner or operator must submit the 
documentation to the Department upon request. (        )

221. CATEGORY I EXEMPTION.
No permit to construct is required for a source that satisfies the criteria set forth in Section 220 and the following:

(        )

01. Below Regulatory Concern. The maximum capacity of a source to emit an air pollutant under its 
physical and operational design considering limitations on emissions such as air pollution control equipment, 
restrictions on hours of operation and restrictions on the type and amount of material combusted, stored or processed 
must be less than ten percent (10%) of the significant emission rates set out in the definition of significant at Section 
006. (        )

02. Radionuclides. The source is not required to obtain approval to construct in accordance with the 
applicable radionuclides standard in 40 CFR Part 61, Subpart H. (        )

03. Toxic Air Pollutants. The source complies with Section 223. (        )

04. Mercury. The source has potential emissions that are less than twenty-five (25) pounds per year of 
mercury. Fugitive emissions are not to be included in the calculation of potential mercury emissions. (        )

222. CATEGORY II EXEMPTION.
No permit to construct is required for the following sources. (        )

01. Exempt Source. A source that satisfies the criteria set forth in Section 220 and is specified below:
(        )

a. Laboratory equipment used exclusively for chemical and physical analyses, research or education, 
including, but not limited to, ventilating and exhaust systems for laboratory hoods. To qualify for this exemption, the 
source must: (        )

i. Comply with Section 223. (        )

ii. Not be required to obtain approval to construct in accordance with the applicable radionuclides 
standard in 40 CFR Part 61, Subpart H. (        )

b. Environmental characterization activities including emplacement and operation of field 
instruments, drilling of sampling and monitoring wells, sampling activities, and environmental characterization 
activities. (        )

c. Stationary internal combustion engines of less than or equal to six hundred (600) horsepower and 
that are fueled by natural gas, propane gas, liquefied petroleum gas, distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, and diesel 
fuel; waste oil, gasoline, or refined gasoline may not be used. To qualify for this exemption, the source must be 
operated in accordance with the following: (        )

i. One hundred (100) horsepower or less -- unlimited hours of operation. (        )
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ii. One hundred one (101) to two hundred (200) horsepower -- less than four hundred fifty (450) hours 
per month. (        )

iii. Two hundred one (201) to four hundred (400) horsepower -- less than two hundred twenty-five 
(225) hours per month. (        )

iv. Four hundred one (401) to six hundred (600) horsepower -- less than one hundred fifty (150) hours 
per month. (        )

d. Stationary internal combustion engines used exclusively for emergency purposes that are operated 
less than five hundred (500) hours per year and are fueled by natural gas, propane gas, liquefied petroleum gas, 
distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, and diesel fuel; waste oil, gasoline, or refined gasoline may not be used. (        )

e. A pilot plant is defined as a stationary source located at least one quarter (¼) mile from any 
sensitive receptor; functions to test processing, mechanical, or pollution control equipment’s full-scale feasibility; and 
does not produce products for sale except in developmental quantities. It uses a slip stream of no more than ten 
percent (10%) from an existing process stream and satisfies the following: (        )

i. The source must comply with Section 223. For carcinogen emissions, the owner or operator may 
utilize a short-term adjustment factor of ten (10) by multiplying either the acceptable ambient concentration or the 
screening emissions level, but not both, by ten (10); (        )

ii. The source is not required to obtain approval to construct in accordance with the applicable 
radionuclides standard in 40 CFR Part 61, Subpart H; and (        )

iii. The exemption for a pilot plant terminates one (1) year after the commencement of operations and 
may not be renewed. (        )

02. Other Exempt Sources. A source that satisfies the criteria set forth in Section 220 and that is 
specified below: (        )

a. Air conditioning or ventilating equipment not designed to remove air pollutants generated by or 
released from equipment. (        )

b. Air pollutant detectors or recorders, combustion controllers, or combustion shutoffs. (        )

c. Fuel burning equipment for indirect heating and for heating and reheating furnaces using natural 
gas, propane gas, liquefied petroleum gas, or biogas (gas produced by the anaerobic decomposition of organic 
material through a controlled process) with hydrogen sulfide concentrations less than two hundred (200) ppmv 
exclusively with a capacity of less than fifty (50) million btu's per hour input. (        )

d. Other fuel burning equipment for indirect heating with a capacity of less than one million 
(1,000,000) btu's per hour input. (        )

e. Mobile internal combustion engines, marine installations and locomotives. (        )

f. Agricultural activities and services. (        )

g. Retail gasoline, natural gas, propane gas, liquefied petroleum gas, distillate fuel oils and diesel fuel 
sales. (        )

h. Used Oil Fired Space Heaters which comply with all the following criteria: (        )

i. The used oil-fired space heater burns only used oil that the owner or operator generates on site, that 
is derived from households, such as used oil generated by individuals maintaining their personal vehicles, or on-
specification used oil that is derived from commercial generators provided that the generator, transporter and owner 
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or operator burning the oil for energy recovery comply fully with IDAPA 58.01.05.015, “Rules and Standards for 
Hazardous Waste”; (        )

(1) For the purposes of Subsection 222.02.h., “used oil” refers to any oil that has been refined from 
crude oil or any synthetic oil that has been used and, as a result of such use, is contaminated by physical or chemical 
impurities. (        )

(2) For the purposes of Subsection 222.02.h., “used oil fired space heater” refers to any furnace or 
apparatus and all appurtenances thereto, designed, constructed and used for combusting used oil for energy recovery 
to directly heat an enclosed space. (        )

ii. Any used oil burned is not contaminated by added toxic substances such as solvents, antifreeze or 
other household and industrial chemicals; (        )

iii. The used oil-fired space heater is designed to have a maximum capacity of not more than one half 
(0.5) million BTU per hour; (        )

iv. The combustion gases from the used oil-fired space heater are vented to the ambient air through a 
stack equivalent to the type and design specified by the manufacturer of the heater and installed to minimize down 
wash and maximize dispersion; and (        )

v. The used oil-fired space heater is of modern commercial design and manufacture, except that a 
homemade used oil-fired space heater may be used if, prior to the operation of the homemade unit, the owner or 
operator submits documentation to the Department demonstrating, to the satisfaction of the Department, that 
emissions from the homemade unit are no greater than those from modern commercially available units. (        )

i. Multiple chamber crematory retorts used to cremate human or animal remains using natural gas 
exclusively with a maximum average charge capacity of two hundred (200) pounds of remains per hour and a 
minimum secondary combustion chamber temperature of one thousand five hundred (1500) degrees Fahrenheit while 
operating. (        )

j. Petroleum environmental remediation source by vapor extraction with an operation life not to 
exceed five (5) years (except for landfills). The short-term adjustment factor in Subsection 210.15 cannot be used if 
the remediation is within five hundred (500) feet of a sensitive receptor. Forms are available at the DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.idaho.gov, to help assist sources in this exemption determination. (        )

k. Dry cleaning facilities that are not major under, but subject to, 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart M. (        )

223. EXEMPTION CRITERIA AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT 
EMISSIONS.
No permit to construct for toxic air pollutants is required for a source that satisfies any of the exemption criteria 
below, the recordkeeping criteria in Subsection 220.02, and reporting criteria in Subsection 223.04: (        )

01. Below Regulatory Concern (BRC) Exemption. The source qualifies for a BRC exemption if the 
uncontrolled emission rate (refer to Section 210) for all toxic air pollutants emitted by the source is less than or equal 
to ten percent (10%) of all applicable screening emission levels listed in Sections 585 and 586. (        )

02. Level I Exemption. To obtain a Level I exemption, the source must satisfy the following criteria:

a. The uncontrolled emission rate (refer to Section 210) for all toxic air pollutants must be less than or 
equal to all applicable screening emission levels listed in Sections 585 and 586; or (        )

b. The uncontrolled ambient concentration (refer to Section 210) for all toxic air pollutants at the 
point of compliance must be less than or equal to all applicable acceptable ambient concentrations listed in Sections 
585 and 586. (        )

03. Level II Exemption. To obtain a Level II exemption, the maximum capacity of a source to emit a 
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 127 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

http://www.deq.idaho.gov


DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
toxic air pollutant under its physical and operational design considering limitations on emissions such as air pollution 
control equipment, restrictions on hours of operation and restrictions on the type and amount of material combusted, 
stored or processed at the point of compliance is less than or equal to ten percent (10%) of all applicable screening 
emission levels listed in Sections 585 and 586. (        )

04. Toxic Air Pollutant Exemption Report. The owner or operator of a source claiming a Level I or II 
exemption must submit a certified report, on or before May 1 for the previous calendar year, to the Department for 
each Level I or II exemption determination. The owner or operator is not required to annually submit a certified 
report for a Level I or II exemption determination previously claimed and reported. The report must state the date 
construction has or will commence and must include copies of all exemption determinations completed by the owner 
or operator for each Level I and II exemption. (        )

224. PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT APPLICATION FEE.
All applicants for a permit to construct must submit a permit to construct application fee of one thousand dollars 
($1,000) to the Department at the time of the original submission of the application. The permit to construct 
application fee is not required to be submitted for: (        )

01. Exemption Applicability Determinations. Exemption applicability determinations set forth in 
Sections 220 through 223; (        )

02. Typographical Errors. Changes to correct typographical errors; or (        )

03. Name or Ownership Change. A change in the name or ownership of the holder of a permit to 
construct when the Department determines no other review or analysis is required. (        )

225. PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT PROCESSING FEE.
A permit to construct processing fee, calculated by the Department pursuant to the categories provided in the 
following table, must be paid to the Department by the person receiving the permit. The applicable processing fee 
category is determined by adding together the amount of increases of regulated pollutant emissions and subtracting 
any decreases of regulated pollutant emissions as identified in the permit to construct. The fee calculation does not 
include fugitive emissions.

PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT CATEGORY FEE

General permit, no facility-specific requirements (Defined as a source category specific permit 
for which the Department has developed standard emission limitations, operating 
requirements, monitoring and recordkeeping requirements, and that require minimal 
engineering analysis. General permit facilities may include portable concrete batch 
plants, portable hot-mix asphalt plants and portable rock crushing plants.)

$500

New source or modification to existing source with increase of emissions of less than one (1) 
ton per year $1,000

New source or modification to existing source with increase of emissions of one (1) to less 
than ten (10) tons per year $2,500

New source or modification to existing source with increase of emissions of ten (10) to less 
than one hundred (100) tons per year $5,000

Nonmajor new source or modification to existing source with increase of emissions of one 
hundred (100) tons per year or more $7,500

New major facility or major modification $10,000

Permit modifications where no engineering analysis is required $250

Application submittals for exemption applicability determinations, typographical errors, and 
name and ownership changes as described in Subsections 224.01, 224.02, 224.03 $0.00
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(        )

226. PAYMENT OF FEES FOR PERMITS TO CONSTRUCT.

01. Fee Submittal. The permit to construct application fee must be submitted with the application. The 
permit to construct processing fee is payable upon receipt of an assessment sent to the person receiving a permit by 
the Department. Information for making payments is available at http://www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

02. Delinquency. No application for a permit to construct will be processed by the Department unless 
accompanied by a permit to construct application fee. No permit to construct will be issued by the Department until 
the Department has received the permit to construct processing fee. (        )

227. RECEIPT AND USAGE OF FEES.
Permit to construct application and processing fee receipts will be deposited by the Department into a stationary 
source permit account. Monies from this account will be used solely toward technical, legal and administrative 
support of the Department’s permit to Construct and Tier II permit programs and will not be used for those activities 
supported by the fund created for implementing the operating permit program required under Title V of the federal 
Clean Air Act. The permit to construct application fee payable under Section 227 will be retained by the Department 
regardless of whether a permit to construct is issued by the Department in response to an application. (        )

228. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS FOR TIER I OPERATING PERMITS.
Sections 300 through 397 establish requirements and procedures for the issuance of Tier I operating permits. Unless 
specifically identified in this Chapter, definitions for the Tier 1 operating permit program are located in 40 CFR Part 
70, incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

301. REQUIREMENT TO OBTAIN TIER I OPERATING PERMIT.

01. Prohibition. No owner or operator may operate any Tier I source without an effective Tier I 
operating permit. (        )

02. Exceptions. No Tier I operating permit is required if the owner or operator is in compliance with 
Sections 311 through 315 and the Department has not taken final action on the application. (        )

302. OPTIONAL TIER I OPERATING PERMIT.
Any facility listed in Section 301 not required to obtain a Tier I operating permit may opt to apply for a Tier I 
operating permit. (        )

303. -- 310. (RESERVED)

311. STANDARD PERMIT APPLICATIONS.
Sections 311 through 315 establish standard Tier I operating permit application procedures. (        )

312. DUTY TO APPLY.
For each Tier I source, the owner or operator must submit a timely and complete permit application in accordance 
with Sections 311 through 315. (        )

313. TIMELY APPLICATION.

01. New Tier 1 Operating Permits. For sources that become Tier I sources located at a facility not 
previously authorized by a Tier I operating permit, the owner or operator of the Tier I source must submit to the 
Department a complete application for a Tier I operating permit within twelve (12) months after becoming a Tier I 
source or commencing operation, unless the Department provides written notification of an earlier date to the owner 
or operator. (        )

02. Renewals of Tier I Operating Permits. The owner or operator of the Tier I source must submit a 
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complete application to the Department for a renewal of the Tier I operating permit at least six (6) months before, but 
no earlier than eighteen (18) months before, the expiration date of the existing Tier I operating permit. To ensure that 
the term of the operating permit does not expire before the permit is renewed, the owner or operator is encouraged to 
submit the application nine (9) months prior to expiration. (        )

03. Changes to Tier I Operating Permits. Sections 380 through 386 provide the requirements and 
procedures for changes at Tier I sources and to Tier I operating permits. (        )

314. REQUIRED STANDARD APPLICATION FORM AND REQUIRED INFORMATION.

01. General Requirements. (        )

a. Applications must be submitted on a form or forms provided by the Department or by other means 
specified by these rules or the Department. The application must be certified by the responsible official in accordance 
with Section 123. (        )

i. If the Tier I source is regulated under 42 U.S.C. Sections 7651 through 7651o, the owner or 
operator must also submit nationally standardized acid rain forms provided by EPA. (        )

b. All information must be in sufficient detail so that the Department may efficiently and effectively 
determine the applicability of requirements and make all other necessary evaluations and determinations. (        )

02. General Information for the Facility. (        )

a. Provide identifying information, including the name, address and telephone number of: (        )

i. The owner; (        )

ii. The operator; (        )

iii. The facility where the Tier I source is located; (        )

iv. The registered agent of the owner, if any; (        )

v. The registered agent of the operator, if any; (        )

vi. The responsible official, if other than the owner or operator; and (        )

vii. The contact person. (        )

b. Provide a general description of the processes used and products produced by the facility where the 
Tier I source is located, including any associated with each requested alternative operating scenario and trading 
scenario. The description must include narrative and applicable SIC codes. (        )

c. Provide a general description of each process line affecting a Tier I source. (        )

03. Specific Information for Each Emissions Unit. The owner or operator must provide, in an 
itemized format, all of the information identified in Subsections 314.04 through 314.11 for each emissions unit, 
unless the emissions unit is an insignificant activity. (        )

04. Emissions. (        )

a. Identify and describe all emissions of pollutants for which the source is major and all emissions of 
regulated air pollutants from each emissions unit. Fugitive emissions must be included in the application in the same 
manner as stack emissions, regardless of whether the source category is included in the list of sources contained in the 
definition of major facility (Section 008). (        )
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b. Emissions rates must be quantified in tons per year (tpy) and in such additional terms as are 
necessary to determine compliance consistent with the applicable test method. (        )

c. Identify and describe all points of emissions in sufficient detail to establish the basis for fees and 
applicability of requirements of the Clean Air Act. (        )

d. To the extent it is needed to determine or regulate emissions, identify and quantify all fuels, fuel 
use, raw materials, production rates, and operating schedules. (        )

e. Identify and describe all air pollution control equipment and compliance monitoring devices or 
activities. (        )

f. Identify and describe all limitations on source operation or any work practice standards affecting 
emissions. (        )

g. Provide the calculations on which the information provided under Subsections 314.04.a. through 
314.04.e. is based. (        )

05. Applicable Requirements. (        )

a. Cite and describe all applicable requirements affecting the emissions unit; and (        )

b. Describe or reference all methods required by each applicable requirement for determining the 
compliance status of the emissions unit with the applicable requirement, including any applicable monitoring, 
recordkeeping and reporting requirements or test methods. (        )

06. Other Requirements. Other specific information that may be necessary to determine the 
applicability of, implement or enforce any requirement of the Act, these rules, 42 U.S.C. Sections 7401 through 
7671q or federal regulations. (        )

07. Proposed Determinations of Nonapplicability. Identify requirements for which the applicant 
seeks a determination of nonapplicability and provide an explanation of why the requirement is not applicable to the 
Tier I source. (        )

08. Alternative Operating Scenarios. (        )

a. Identify all requested alternative operating scenarios. (        )

b. Provide a detailed description of all requested alternative operating scenarios. Include all the 
information required by Section 314 that is relevant to the alternative operating scenario. (        )

09. Compliance Certifications. (        )

a. Provide a compliance certification regarding the compliance status of each emissions unit at the 
time the application is submitted to the Department that: (        )

i. Identifies all applicable requirements affecting each emissions unit. (        )

ii. Certifies the compliance status of each emissions unit with each of the applicable requirements.
(        )

iii. Provides a detailed description of the method(s) used for determining the compliance status of each 
emissions unit with each applicable requirement, including a description of any monitoring, recordkeeping, reporting 
and test methods that were used. Also provide a detailed description of the method(s) required for determining 
compliance. (        )

iv. Certifies the compliance status of the emissions unit with any applicable enhanced monitoring 
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requirements. (        )

v. Certifies the compliance status of the emissions unit with any applicable enhanced compliance 
certification requirements. (        )

vi. Provides all other information necessary to determining the compliance status of the emissions unit.
(        )

b. Provide a schedule for submission of compliance certifications during the term of the Tier I 
operating permit. The schedule must require compliance certifications to be submitted no less frequently than 
annually, or more frequently if specified by the underlying applicable requirement or by the Department. (        )

10. Compliance Plans. (        )

a. Provide a compliance description as follows: (        )

i. For each applicable requirement with which the emissions unit is in compliance, state that the 
emissions unit will continue to comply with the applicable requirement. (        )

ii. For each applicable requirement that will become effective during the term of the Tier I operating 
permit that does not contain a more detailed schedule, state that the emissions unit will meet the applicable 
requirement on a timely basis. (        )

iii. For each applicable requirement that will become effective during the term of the Tier I operating 
permit that contains a more detailed schedule, state that the emissions unit will comply with the applicable 
requirement on the schedule provided in the applicable requirement. (        )

iv. For each applicable requirement with which the emission unit is not in compliance, state that the 
emissions unit will be in compliance with the applicable requirement by the time the Tier I operating permit is issued 
or provide a compliance schedule in accordance with Subsection 314.10.b. (        )

b. All compliance schedules must: (        )

i. Include a schedule of remedial measures leading to compliance, including an enforceable sequence 
of actions and specific dates for achieving milestones and achieving compliance. (        )

ii. Incorporate the terms and conditions of any applicable consent order, judicial order, judicial 
consent decree, administrative order, settlement agreement or judgment. (        )

iii. Be supplemental to, and not sanction noncompliance with, the applicable requirements on which it 
is based. (        )

c. Provide a schedule for submission to the Department of periodic progress reports no less frequently 
than every six (6) months or at a more frequent period if one (1) is specified in the underlying applicable requirement 
or by the Department. (        )

11. Trading Scenarios. (        )

a. Identify all requested trading scenarios authorized by Section 440. (        )

b. Provide a detailed description of all requested trading scenarios. Include all the information 
required by Section 314 that is relevant to the trading scenario and all the information required by Section 440, if 
applicable. Emissions trades must comply with all applicable requirements. (        )

c. Provide proposed replicable procedures and permit terms that ensure the emissions trades are 
quantifiable and enforceable. Emissions trades involving emissions units for which the emissions are not quantifiable 
or for which there are no replicable procedures to enforce the emissions trade will not be approved. (        )
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12. Additional Information. Provide additional information that the Department determines necessary 
to perform its functions efficiently and effectively. Such functions include, but are not limited to, determining the 
applicability of requirements for all regulated air pollutants, determining compliance with applicable requirements, 
developing or defining Tier I operating permit terms and conditions, defining all approved alternative operating 
scenarios, evaluating excess emissions procedures or making all necessary evaluations and determinations. (        )

315. DUTY TO SUPPLEMENT OR CORRECT APPLICATION.

01. Failure to Submit. Any applicant who fails to submit any relevant facts or who has submitted 
incorrect information in a permit application must, upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect submittal, 
promptly submit such supplementary facts or corrected information. (        )

02. Necessary Additional Information. If, while processing an application that has been determined 
or deemed to be complete, the Department determines that additional information is necessary to evaluate or take 
final action on that application, the Department may request such information in writing and set a deadline for a 
response. The applicant must submit the requested information on or before the deadline set by the Department.

(        )

03. Additional Information After Completeness. The applicant must promptly provide additional 
information as necessary to address any requirements that become applicable to the Tier I source after the date a 
complete application was filed but prior to release of a proposed action. (        )

316. EFFECT OF INACCURATE INFORMATION IN APPLICATIONS OR FAILURE TO SUBMIT 
RELEVANT INFORMATION.
Notwithstanding the shield provisions of Section 325, the owner or operator is subject to enforcement action for 
operation of the Tier I source without a Tier I operating permit if the owner or operator submitted an incomplete or 
inaccurate application or the Tier I source is later determined not to qualify for coverage under the conditions and 
terms of the Tier I operating permit. (        )

317. INSIGNIFICANT ACTIVITIES.

01. Applicability Criteria. This Section contains the criteria for identifying insignificant activities for 
the purposes of the Tier I operating permit program. Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, no emission 
unit or activity subject to an applicable requirement qualifies as an insignificant emission unit or activity. Applicants 
may not exclude from Tier I operating permit applications information that is needed to determine whether the 
facility is major or whether the facility is in compliance with applicable requirements. (        )

a. Presumptively insignificant emission units. (        )

i. Except as provided above, the activities listed in this section may be omitted from the permit 
application. (        )

(1) Blacksmith forges. (        )

(2) Mobile transport tanks on vehicles except for those containing asphalt and not including loading 
and unloading operations. (        )

(3) Natural gas pressure regulator vents, excluding venting at oil and gas production facilities. (        )

(4) Storage tanks, reservoirs and pumping and handling equipment of any size, limited to soaps, 
lubricants, lubricating oil, treater oil, hydraulic fluid, vegetable oil, grease, animal fat, aqueous salt solutions or other 
materials and processes using appropriate lids and covers where there is no generation of objectionable odor or 
airborne particulate matter. (        )

(5) Pressurized storage of oxygen, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, air, or inert gases. (        )
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(6) Storage of solid material, dust-free handling. (        )

(7) Boiler water treatment operations, not including cooling towers. (        )

(8) Vents from continuous emission monitors and other analyzers. (        )

(9) Vents from rooms, buildings and enclosures that contain permitted emissions units or activities 
from which local ventilation, controls, and separate exhaust are provided. (        )

(10) Internal combustion engines for propelling or powering a vehicle. (        )

(11) Recreational fireplaces including the use of barbecues, campfires and ceremonial fires. (        )

(12) Brazing, soldering, and welding equipment and cutting torches for use in cutting metal wherein 
components of the metal do not generate hazardous air pollutants or hazardous air pollutant precursors. (        )

(13) Atmospheric generators used in connection with metal heat treating processes using non-hazardous 
air pollutant metals as the primary raw material. (        )

(14) Non-hazardous air pollutant metal finishing or cleaning using tumblers. (        )

(15) Drop hammers or hydraulic presses for forging or metalworking. (        )

(16) Electrolytic deposition, used to deposit brass, bronze, copper, iron, tin, zinc, precious and other 
metals not listed as the parents of hazardous air pollutants. (        )

(17) Equipment used for surface coating, painting, dipping or spraying operations, except those that will 
emit volatile organic compound or hazardous air pollutant. (        )

(18) Process water filtration systems. (        )

(19) Portable electrical generators that can be moved by hand from one (1) location to another. Moved 
by hand means that it can be moved without the assistance of any motorized or non-motorized vehicle, conveyance, 
or device. (        )

(20) Plastic and resin curing equipment, excluding FRP and provided these activities are not related to 
the source’s primary business activity. (        )

(21) Extrusion equipment, metals, minerals, plastics, grain or wood used without solvents containing 
hazardous air pollutant. (        )

(22) Presses and vacuum forming, for curing rubber and plastic products or for laminating plastics 
without solvents containing hazardous air pollutants present. (        )

(23) Roller mills and calendars for use with rubber and plastics without solvents containing hazardous 
air pollutants. (        )

(24) Conveying and storage of plastic pellets. (        )

(25) Plastic compression, injection, and transfer molding and extrusion, rotocasting, pultrusion, 
blowmolding, excluding acrylics, PVC, polystyrene and related copolymers and the use of plasticizer. Only oxygen, 
carbon dioxide, nitrogen, air or inert gas allowed as blowing agent. (        )

(26) Plastic pipe welding. (        )

(27) Wax application in either a molten state or aqueous suspension. (        )
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(28) Plant maintenance and upkeep including routine housekeeping, janitorial activities, cleaning and 
preservation of equipment, preparation for and painting of structures or equipment, retarring roofs, applying 
insulation to buildings in accordance with applicable environmental and health and safety requirements and lawn, 
landscaping and groundskeeping activities. Provided these activities are not conducted as part of a manufacturing 
process, are not related to the source’s primary business activity, and not otherwise triggering a permit modification.

(        )

(29) Agricultural activities on a facility’s property that are not subject to registration or new source 
review by the permitting authority. (        )

(30) Maintenance of paved streets and parking lots including paving, stripping, salting, sanding, 
cleaning and sweeping of streets and paved surfaces. Provided these activities are not related to the source’s primary 
business activity, do not otherwise trigger a permit modification, and fugitive emissions are reasonably controlled as 
required in Section 808. (        )

(31) Ultraviolet curing processes. (        )

(32) Hot melt adhesive application with no volatile organic compounds or hazardous air pollutants in 
the adhesive formula. (        )

(33) Laundering, dryers, extractors, tumblers for fabrics, using water solutions of bleach and/or 
detergents except for boilers. (        )

(34) Steam cleaning operations. (        )

(35) Steam sterilizers. (        )

(36) Food service activities including cafeterias, kitchen facilities and barbecues located at a source for 
providing food service on premises. (        )

(37) Portable drums and totes. (        )

(38) Fluorescent light tube and aerosol can crushing in units designed to reduce emissions from these 
activities. (        )

(39) Flares used to indicate danger to the public. (        )

(40) General vehicle maintenance including vehicle exhaust from repair facilities provided these 
activities are not related to the source’s primary business activity and do not have applicable requirements under title 
VI of the Clean Air Act. (        )

(41) Comfort air conditioning or air-cooling systems, not used to remove air contaminants from specific 
equipment. (        )

(42) Natural draft hoods, natural draft stacks, or natural draft ventilators for sanitary and storm drains, 
safety valves, and storage tanks subject to size and service limitations expressed elsewhere in this section. (        )

(43) Natural and forced air vents for bathroom/toilet facilities. (        )

(44) Office activities. (        )

(45) Equipment used for quality control/assurance or inspection purposes, including sampling 
equipment used exclusively to withdraw materials for laboratory analyses and testing. (        )

(46) Fire suppression systems and similar safety equipment and equipment used to train firefighters 
including fire drill pits. (        )
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(47) Materials and equipment used by, and activity related to operation of infirmary; infirmary is not the 
source’s business activity except equipment subject to 40 CFR Part 61 for radionuclides. (        )

(48) Satellite Accumulation Areas (SAAs) and Temporary Accumulation Areas (TAAs) managed in 
compliance with RCRA. (        )

(49) Equipment for carving, cutting, routing, turning, drilling, machining, sawing, surface grinding, 
sanding, planing, buffing, shot blasting, sintering, or polishing: Ceramics, glass, leather, metals, plastics, rubber, 
concrete, paper stock, or wood provided that these activities are not conducted as part of a manufacturing process.

(        )

(50) Oxygen, nitrogen, or rare gas extraction and liquefaction equipment subject to other exemption 
limitation, e.g., internal and external combustion equipment. (        )

(51) Slaughterhouses, such as rendering cookers, boilers, heating plants, incinerators, and electrical 
power generating equipment. (        )

(52) Ozonation equipment. (        )

(53) Temporary construction activities at a facility provided that the installation or modification of 
emissions units must comply with all applicable federal, state, and local rules and regulations. (        )

(54) Batch loading and unloading of solid phase catalysts. (        )

(55) Pulse capacitors. (        )

(56) Gas cabinets using only gases that are not regulated air pollutants. (        )

(57) CO2 lasers, used only on metals and other materials that do not emit hazardous air pollutants in the 
process. (        )

(58) Structural changes not having air contaminant emissions. (        )

(59) Equipment used to mix, package, store and handle soaps, lubricants, vegetable oil, grease, animal 
fat, and non-volatile aqueous salt solutions, provided appropriate lids and covers are utilized. (        )

(60) Photographic process equipment by which an image is reproduced upon material sensitized to 
radiant energy, e.g., blueprint activity, photocopiers, mimeograph, telefax, photographic developing, and microfiche 
provided these activities are not related to the source’s primary business activity. (        )

(61) Pharmaceutical and cosmetics packaging equipment. (        )

(62) Paper trimmers/binders provided these activities are not related to the source’s primary business 
activity. (        )

(63) Bench-scale laboratory equipment and laboratory equipment used exclusively for physical or 
chemical analysis, including associated vacuum producing devices but excluding research and development facilities.

(        )

(64) Repair and maintenance shop activities not related to the source’s primary business activity. (        )

(65) Handling equipment and associated activities for glass and aluminum which is destined for 
recycling, provided these activities are not related to the source’s primary business activity. (        )

(66) Hydraulic and hydrostatic testing equipment. (        )

(67) Batteries and battery charging stations, except at battery manufacturing plants. (        )
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(68) Porcelain and vitreous enameling equipment. (        )

(69) Solid waste containers.

(70) Salt baths using nonvolatile salts that do not result in emissions of any regulated air pollutants.
(        )

(71) Shock chambers. (        )

(72) Wire strippers. (        )

(73) Humidity chambers. (        )

(74) Solar simulators. (        )

(75) Environmental chambers not using hazardous air pollutant gases. (        )

(76) Totally enclosed conveyors not including transfer points. (        )

(77) Steam vents and safety relief valves. (        )

(78) Air compressors, pneumatically operated equipment, systems, and hand tools. (        )

(79) Steam leaks. (        )

(80) Boiler blow-down tank. (        )

(81) Salt cake mix tanks at pulp mills. (        )

(82) Digester chip feeders at pulp mills. (        )

(83) Weak liquor and filter tanks at pulp mills. (        )

(84) Process water and white water storage tanks at pulp mills. (        )

(85) Demineralizer water tanks, demineralization, demineralizer vents, and oxygen scavenging 
(deaeration) of water. (        )

(86) Clean condensate tanks. (        )

(87) Alum tanks. (        )

(88) Broke beaters, repulpers, pulp and repulping tanks, stock chests and pulp handling. (        )

(89) Lime and mud filtrate tanks. (        )

(90) Hydrogen peroxide tanks. (        )

(91) Lime mud washer. (        )

(92) Lime mud filter. (        )

(93) Hydro and liquor clarifiers or filters and storage tanks and associated pumping, piping, and 
handling. (        )

(94) Lime grits washers, filters, and handing. (        )
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(95) Lime silos and feed bins. (        )

(96) Paper forming. (        )

(97) Starch cooking. (        )

(98) Pulp stock cleaning and screening. (        )

(99) Paper winders or other paper converting equipment. (        )

(100) Sludge dewatering and wet sludge handling. (        )

(101) Screw press vents. (        )

(102) Pond dredging. (        )

(103) Polymer tanks and storage devices and associated pumping and handling equipment, used for solids 
dewatering and flocculation. (        )

(104) Non-PCB oil filled circuit breakers, oil filled transformers and other equipment that is analogous 
to, but not considered to be, a tank. (        )

(105) Lab-scale electric or steam-heated drying ovens and autoclaves. (        )

(106) Sewer manholes, junction boxes, sumps and lift stations associated with wastewater treatment 
systems. (        )

(107) Water cooling towers processing exclusively noncontact cooling water. (        )

(108) Paper coating and sizing. (        )

(109) Process wastewater and ponds. (        )

(110) Outdoor firearms practice ranges. (        )

b. Insignificant activities on the basis of size or production rate. (        )

i. Units and activities listed in this section must be listed in the permit application. The following 
units and activities are determined to be insignificant based on their size or production rate: (        )

(1) Operation, loading and unloading of storage tanks and storage vessels, with lids or other 
appropriate closure and less than two hundred sixty (260) gallon capacity thirty five cubic feet (35cft), heated only to 
the minimum extend to avoid solidification if necessary. (        )

(2) Operation, loading and unloading of storage tanks, not greater than one thousand one hundred 
(1,100) gallon capacity, with lids or other appropriate closure, not for use with hazardous air pollutants, maximum 
(max.) vp five-hundred fifty (550) mm Hg. (        )

(3) Operation, loading and unloading of volatile organic compound storage tanks, ten thousand 
(10,000) gallons capacity or less, with lids or other appropriate closure, vp not greater than eighty (80) mm Hg at 
twenty-one (21) degrees C. Operation, loading and unloading of gasoline storage tanks, ten thousand (10,000) gallons 
capacity or less, with lids or other appropriate closure. (        )

(4) Operation, loading and unloading storage of butane, propane, or liquefied petroleum gas (LPG), 
storage tanks, vessel capacity under forty thousand (40,000) gallons. (        )
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(5) Combustion source, less than five million (5,000,000) Btu/hr, exclusively using natural gas, butane, 
propane, and/or LPG. (        )

(6) Combustion source, less than five hundred thousand (500,000) Btu/hr, using any commercial fuel 
containing less than four-tenths percent (.4%) by weight sulfur for coal or less than one percent (1%) by weight sulfur 
for other fuels. (        )

(7) Combustion source, of less than one million (1,000,000) Btu/hr, if using kerosene, No. 1 or No. 2 
fuel oil. (        )

(8) Combustion source, not greater than five hundred thousand (500,000) Btu/hr, if burning waste 
wood, wood waste or waste paper. (        )

(9) Welding using not more than one (1) ton per day of welding rod. (        )

(10) Foundry sand molds, unheated and using binders with less than twenty-five hundredths percent 
(.25%) free phenol by sand weight. (        )

(11) “Parylene” coaters using less than five hundred (500) gallons of coating per year. (        )

(12) Printing and silkscreening, using less than two (2) gallon/day of any combination of the following: 
Inks, coatings, adhesives, fountain solutions, thinners, retarders, or nonaqueous cleaning solutions. (        )

(13) Water cooling towers and ponds, not using chromium-based corrosion inhibitors, not used with 
barometric jets or condensers, not greater than ten thousand (10,000) gpm, not in direct contact with gaseous or liquid 
process streams containing regulated air pollutants. (        )

(14) Combustion turbines, of less than five hundred (500) HP. (        )

(15) Batch solvent distillation, not greater than fifty-five (55) gallons batch capacity. (        )

(16) Municipal and industrial water chlorination facilities of not greater than twenty million 
(20,000,000) gallons per day capacity. The exemption does not apply to wastewater treatment. (        )

(17) Surface coating, using less than two (2) gallons per day. (        )

(18) Space heaters and hot water heaters using natural gas, propane or kerosene and generating less than 
five million (5,000,000) Btu/hr. (        )

(19) Tanks, vessels, and pumping equipment, with lids or other appropriate closure for storage or 
dispensing of aqueous solutions of inorganic salts, bases and acids excluding: (        )

(a) Ninety-nine percent (99%) or greater H2SO4 or H3PO4. (        )

(b) Seventy percent (70%) or greater HNO3. (        )

(c) Thirty percent (30%) or greater HC1. (        )

(d) More than one (1) liquid phase where the top phase is more than one percent (1%) volatile organic 
compounds. (        )

(20) Equipment used exclusively to pump, load, unload, or store high boiling point organic material, 
material with initial boiling point (IBP) not less than one hundred fifty (150) degrees C or vapor pressure (vp) not 
more than five (5) mm Hg at twenty-one (21) degrees C with lids or other appropriate closure. (        )

(21) Smokehouses under twenty (20) square feet. (        )
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(22) Milling and grinding activities, using paste-form compounds with less than one percent (1%) 
volatile organic compounds. (        )

(23) Rolling, forging, drawing, stamping, shearing, or spinning hot or cold metals. (        )

(24) Dip-coating operations, using materials with less than one percent (1%) volatile organic 
compounds. (        )

(25) Surface coating, aqueous solution or suspension containing less than one percent (1%) volatile 
organic compounds. (        )

(26) Cleaning and stripping activities and equipment, using solutions having less than one percent (1%) 
volatile organic compounds by weight. On metallic substrates, acid solutions are not considered for listing as 
insignificant. (        )

(27) Storage and handling of water-based lubricants for metal working where the organic content of the 
lubricant is less than ten percent (10%). (        )

(28) Municipal and industrial wastewater chlorination facilities of not greater than one million 
(1,000,000) gallons per day capacity. (        )

(29) Domestic sewage treatment ponds with average flowrates less than four hundred (400) gpm or 
treating waste from less than three thousand (3000) people from non-residential sources. (        )

(30) An emission unit or activity with potential emissions less than or equal to the significant emission 
rate as defined in Section 006 and actual emissions less than or equal to ten percent (10%) of the levels contained in 
Section 006 of the definition of significant and no more than one (1) ton per year of any hazardous air pollutant.

(        )

318. -- 321. (RESERVED)

322. STANDARD CONTENTS OF TIER I OPERATING PERMITS.
All Tier I operating permits must contain and the Department has the authority to impose, implement and enforce, the 
following elements for all permitted operating scenarios and emissions trading scenarios. Fugitive emissions must be 
included in the Tier I operating permit in the same manner as stack emissions. All Tier 1 operating permits must:

(        )

01. Emission Limitations and Standards. Contain emission limitations and standards, including, but 
not limited to, those operational requirements and limitations that assure compliance with the applicable requirements 
identified in the application, or determined by the Department to be applicable to the source; (        )

02. Authority for and Form of Terms and Conditions. Specify and reference the origin of and 
authority for each term or condition, and identify any difference in form as compared to the applicable requirement 
upon which the term or condition is based; (        )

03. Terms or Conditions for Applicable Requirements. Contain at least one (1) permit term or 
condition for every applicable requirement specifically identified in the application or determined by the Department 
to be applicable to the source; (        )

04. Alternative Operating Scenarios. Contain terms and conditions to ensure compliance with all 
applicable requirements for each alternative operating scenario that was requested by the applicant and approved by 
the Department, including, but not limited to, a requirement that the owner or operator of the source, 
contemporaneously with making a change from one (1) operating scenario to another, record the change in an 
operating scenario log located and retained at the permitted facility; (        )

05. Trading Scenarios. (        )
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a. Contain terms and conditions for each trading scenario that was requested by the applicant and 
approved by the Department including, but not limited to, terms and conditions that ensure that any emission trade is 
quantifiable, accountable, enforceable and based on replicable procedures. (        )

b. State that no permit revision is required under approved economic incentives, marketable permits, 
emissions trading, and other similar programs or processes for changes that are provided for in the permit; and

(        )

c. At a minimum, include a requirement that the owner or operator of the source, contemporaneously 
with making a change from one (1) trading scenario to another, record the change in a trading scenario log located 
and retained at the permitted facility and provide notice to the Department in accordance with Section 383; (        )

06. Monitoring. Contain the following with respect to monitoring: (        )

a. Sufficient monitoring to ensure compliance with all of the terms and conditions of the Tier I 
operating permit; (        )

b. All emissions monitoring and analysis procedures or test methods required under the applicable 
requirements; (        )

c. If the applicable requirement does not require specific periodic testing or monitoring, terms and 
conditions requiring periodic monitoring, recordkeeping, or both, that is sufficient to yield reliable data for the 
relevant time periods that are representative of the emissions unit's compliance with the Tier I operating permit, as 
reported pursuant to Subsection 322.08, and ensuring the use of terms, test methods, units, averaging periods, and 
other statistical conventions consistent with the applicable requirement; and (        )

d. Requirements that the Department determines are necessary, concerning the use, maintenance and 
installation of monitoring equipment or methods; (        )

07. Recordkeeping. Incorporate by reference all applicable recordkeeping requirements and require 
the following: (        )

a. Sufficient recordkeeping to assure compliance with all the terms and conditions of the Tier I 
operating permit; (        )

b. Recording of monitoring information including but not limited to: (        )

i. The date, place (as defined in the Tier I operating permit) and time of sampling or measurements;
(        )

ii. The date(s) analyses were performed; (        )

iii. The company or entity that performed the analyses; (        )

iv. The analytical techniques or methods used; (        )

v. The results of such analyses; and (        )

vi. The operating conditions existing at the time of sampling or measurement; and (        )

c. Retention of all monitoring records and support information for a period of at least five (5) years 
from the date of the monitoring sample, measurement, report or application. Supporting information includes but is 
not limited to all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip-chart recordings for continuous 
monitoring instrumentation and copies of all reports required by the Tier I operating permit; (        )

08. Reporting. Incorporate by reference all applicable reporting requirements and require the 
following: (        )
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a. Sufficient reporting to assure compliance with all of the terms and conditions of the Tier I operating 
permit; (        )

b. Prompt reporting of deviations from permit requirements including, but not limited to, those 
attributable to excess emissions. If the deviation is an excess emission, the report must be submitted in accordance 
with the requirements of Sections 130 through 136. For all other deviations, the report must be submitted in 
accordance with Subsection 322.08.c. unless the permit specifies another time frame. The reports must describe the 
probable cause of such deviations and any corrective actions or preventative measures taken; and (        )

c. Submittal of reports for any required monitoring at least every six (6) months. All instances of 
deviations from Tier I operating permit requirements, which include monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting, must 
be clearly identified in such reports. All required reports must be certified in accordance with Section 123; (        )

09. Testing. Contain terms and conditions requiring sufficient testing to assure compliance with all of 
the terms and conditions of the Tier I operating permit; (        )

10. Compliance Schedule and Progress Reports. Contain terms and conditions regarding the 
compliance plan submitted in the application in accordance with Subsection 314.10 including: (        )

a. For each applicable requirement for which the source is not in compliance at the time of the permit 
issuance, terms and conditions consistent with the compliance schedule submitted by the applicant including all of 
the following: (        )

i. A schedule of remedial measures leading to compliance including an enforceable sequence of 
actions and specific dates for achieving the milestones and achieving compliance; (        )

ii. A requirement that the permittee submit periodic progress reports to the Department no less 
frequently than every six (6) months or at a more frequent period if one is specified in the underlying applicable 
requirement or by the Department; (        )

iii. A requirement that any progress report must include a statement of when the milestones and 
compliance were or will be achieved, an explanation of why any dates in the compliance schedule submitted by the 
applicant or in the terms or conditions of the Tier I operating permit were not or will not be met and a detailed 
description of any preventative or corrective measures undertaken by the permittee; (        )

iv. All terms and conditions of any applicable consent order, judicial order, judicial consent decree, 
administrative order, settlement agreement or judgment; and (        )

v. A statement that the terms and conditions regarding the compliance schedule are supplemental to, 
and do not sanction noncompliance with, the underlying applicable requirement; (        )

b. For each applicable requirement that will become effective during the term of the Tier I operating 
permit and that requires a detailed compliance schedule, the permit must include such compliance schedule; and

(        )

c. For each applicable requirement that will become effective during the term of the Tier I operating 
permit that does not require a detailed compliance schedule, the permit must include a statement that the permittee 
must meet, on a timely basis, all such applicable requirements; (        )

11. Periodic Compliance Certifications. Require submittal of compliance certifications during the 
term of the permit for each emissions unit to the Department and the EPA as follows: (        )

a. Compliance certifications for all emissions units must be submitted no less frequently than 
annually, or more frequently if specified by the underlying applicable requirement or by the Department; (        )

b. The compliance certification for each emissions unit must address all the terms and conditions 
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contained in the Tier I operating permit that are applicable to such emissions unit including emissions limitations, 
standards and work practices; (        )

c. The compliance certification must be in an itemized format providing: (        )

i. The identification of each term or condition of the Tier I operating permit that is the basis of the 
certification; (        )

ii. The identification of the method(s) or other means used by the owner or operator for determining 
the compliance status with each term and condition during the certification period. Such methods and other means 
must include, at a minimum, the methods and means required under Subsections 322.06, 322.07, and 322.08;

(        )

iii. The status of compliance with the terms and conditions of the Tier I operating permit for the period 
covered by the certification, including whether compliance during the period was continuous or intermittent. The 
certification must be based on the method or means designated in Subsection 322.11.c.ii. above, identify each 
deviation and take it into account in the compliance certification, and also identify as possible exceptions to 
compliance any periods during which compliance is required and in which an excursion or exceedance as defined 
under 40 CFR Part 64 occurred; and (        )

iv. Such information as the Department may require to determine the compliance status of the 
emissions unit; and (        )

d. All original compliance certifications must be submitted to the Department and a copy of all 
compliance certifications submitted to the EPA; (        )

12. Permit Conditions Regarding Acid Rain Allowances. Include all requirements for acid rain 
allowances. (        )

a. A permit condition prohibiting emissions exceeding any allowances that the source lawfully holds.
(        )

b. No limit is placed on the number of allowances held by the source and no permit revisions are 
required for increases in emissions that are authorized by allowances acquired pursuant to the acid rain program, 
provided that such increases do not require a permit revision under any other applicable requirement. (        )

c. The source may not use allowances as a defense to noncompliance with any other applicable 
requirement. (        )

d. Any such allowance must be accounted for according to the procedures established in 40 CFR Part 
72 and 40 CFR Part 73; (        )

13. Permit Duration. State that it is effective for a fixed term of five (5) years; (        )

14. Other Specific Requirements. Include any terms or conditions determined by the Department to 
be necessary for approval of the Tier I operating permit; and (        )

15. General Requirements. Contain provisions stating: (        )

a. The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation and is grounds for enforcement action; for permit revocation, termination, revocation and 
reissuance, or revision; or for denial of a permit renewal application; (        )

b. It is not a defense in an enforcement action that it would have been necessary to halt or reduce any 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit; (        )

c. This permit may be revised, revoked, reopened and reissued, or terminated for cause; (        )
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d. The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit revision, revocation and reissuance, or 
termination, or of a notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition;

(        )

e. This permit does not convey any property rights of any sort, or any exclusive privilege; (        )

f. The permittee must furnish all information requested by the Department, within a reasonable time, 
that the Department may request in writing to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing 
or terminating the permit or to determine compliance with the permit; (        )

g. Upon request, the permittee must furnish to the Department copies of records required to be kept by 
this permit; (        )

h. The provisions of this permit are severable, and if any provision of this permit to any circumstance 
is held invalid, the application of such provision to other circumstances, and the remainder of this permit is not 
affected thereby; (        )

i. The permittee must comply with Sections 380 through 386 as applicable; (        )

j. Unless specifically identified as a “State Only” provision, all terms and conditions in the permit, 
including any terms and conditions designed to limit a source's potential to emit, are enforceable: (        )

i. By the Department in accordance with State law; and (        )

ii. By the United States or any other person in accordance with Federal law; (        )

k. Provisions specifically identified as a “State Only” provision are enforceable only in accordance 
with State law. “State Only” provisions are those that are not required under the Federal Clean Air Act or under any of 
its applicable requirements or those provisions adopted by the State prior to federal approval; (        )

l. Upon presentation of credentials, the permittee must allow the Department or an authorized 
representative of the Department to do the following: (        )

i. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a Tier I source is located or emissions-related activity is 
conducted, or where records are kept under the conditions of this permit; (        )

ii. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that are kept under the conditions of this 
permit; (        )

iii. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and air pollution control 
equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and (        )

iv. Sample or monitor at reasonable times substances or parameters for the purpose of determining or 
ensuring compliance with this permit or applicable requirements; (        )

m. Nothing in this permit alters or affects the following: (        )

i. Any administrative authority or judicial remedy available to prevent or terminate emergencies or 
imminent and substantial dangers; (        )

ii. The liability of an owner or operator of a source for any violation of applicable requirements prior 
to or at the time of permit issuance; (        )

iii. The applicable requirements of the acid rain program, consistent with 42 U.S.C. Section 7651g(a); 
and (        )
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iv. The owner or operator's duty to provide information; (        )

n. The owner or operator of a Tier I source must pay registration fees to the Department in accordance 
with Sections 387 through 397, which are hereby incorporated by reference; (        )

o. All documents submitted to the Department must be certified in accordance with Section 123;
(        )

p. If a timely and complete application for a Tier I operating permit renewal is submitted, but the 
Department fails to issue or deny the renewal permit before the end of the term of the previous permit, then all the 
terms and conditions of the previous permit including any permit shield that may have been granted pursuant to 
Section 325 remains in effect until the renewal permit has been issued or denied; and (        )

q. The permittee must promptly report deviations from permit requirements including, but not limited 
to, those attributable to excess emissions. If the deviation is an excess emission, the report must be submitted in 
accordance with the requirements of Sections 130 through 136. For all other deviations, the report must be submitted 
in accordance with Subsection 322.08.c. unless the permit specifies another time frame. The reports must describe the 
probable cause of such deviations and any corrective actions or preventative measures taken. (        )

323. -- 324. (RESERVED)

325. ADDITIONAL CONTENTS OF TIER I OPERATING PERMITS -- PERMIT SHIELD.
Each Tier I operating permit will include provisions stating: (        )

01. General Permit Shield. Compliance with the terms and conditions of the Tier I operating permit, 
including those applicable to all alternative operating scenarios and trading scenarios, will be deemed compliance 
with all of the following: (        )

a. Applicable requirements as of the date of permit issuance that are specifically identified in the Tier 
I operating permit and have a corresponding term or condition in the Tier I operating permit. (        )

b. Non-applicable requirements. For a requirement to be a non-applicable requirement, all of the 
following criteria must be met: (        )

i. The permittee must have provided the information required by Subsection 314.08.b. in the 
application. (        )

ii. The requirement must be specifically identified in the Tier I operating permit as a non-applicable 
requirement. (        )

iii. The requirement must have been determined by the Department, in writing and in acting on the 
permit application or revision, to not be applicable to the Tier I source. (        )

iv. Tier I operating permit must include the Department's determination or a concise summary thereof.
(        )

02. Limitation on Permit Shield. Permit revisions and other actions authorized by Sections 300 
through 386 may eliminate, modify or suspend the permit shield. (        )

326. -- 331. (RESERVED)

332. EMERGENCY AS AN AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE REGARDING EXCESS EMISSIONS.

01. General. An emergency, defined as any situation arising from sudden and reasonably 
unforeseeable events beyond the control of the owner or operator, including acts of God, which situation requires 
immediate corrective action to restore normal operation and that causes the Tier I source to exceed a technology-
based emission limitation under the Tier I operating permit due to unavoidable increases in emissions attributable to 
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the emergency, constitutes an affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance with such technology-
based emission limitation if the conditions of Subsection 332.02 are met. An emergency will not include 
noncompliance to the extent caused by improperly designed equipment, lack of preventative maintenance, careless or 
improper operation, or operator error. (        )

02. Demonstration of Emergency. The affirmative defense of emergency must be demonstrated 
through properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence that: (        )

a. An emergency occurred and that the permittee can identify the cause(s) of the emergency; (        )

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated; (        )

c. During the period of the emergency, the permittee took all reasonable steps, as determined by the 
Department, to minimize levels of emissions that exceeded the emission standards, or other requirements in the 
permit; and (        )

d. The permittee submitted written notice of the emergency to the Department within two (2) working 
days of the time when emission limitations were exceeded due to the emergency. This notice must contain a 
description of the emergency, any steps taken to mitigate emissions, and corrective actions taken. Compliance with 
this section satisfies the written reporting requirements under Section 135 and Subsection 322.15.q. (        )

03. Burden of Proof. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to establish the occurrence 
of an emergency has the burden of proof. (        )

04. Applicability. Section 332 is in addition to any emergency or upset provision contained in any 
applicable requirement. (        )

333. -- 334. (RESERVED)

335. GENERAL TIER I OPERATING PERMITS AND AUTHORIZATIONS TO OPERATE.

01. Issuance of General Tier I Operating Permits. The Department may, after notice and opportunity 
for public participation provided in accordance with Section 364, issue a general Tier I operating permit covering 
numerous similar sources. (        )

02. Contents of General Tier I Operating Permits. Each general Tier I operating permit will: (        )

a. Include all terms and conditions identified in Sections 322 and 325. (        )

b. Include specific criteria by which sources may qualify for coverage under the general Tier I 
operating permit; and (        )

c. May provide for applications that deviate from the requirements of Sections 311 through 315, 
provided that such applications meet all other requirements of 42 U.S.C. 7661 through 7661f and include all 
information necessary to determine qualification for, and to ensure compliance with, the general Tier I operating 
permit. (        )

03. Applications for Authorizations to Operate. The owner or operator of a Tier I source may apply 
for an authorization to operate under the terms and conditions of a general Tier I operating permit by: (        )

a. Stating in the application submitted pursuant to Sections 311 through 315 that the owner or 
operator has determined that the Tier I source qualifies for coverage under a specifically identified general Tier I 
operating permit and that the owner or operator requests that operations of the Tier I source be authorized under a 
specifically identified general Tier I operating permit; or (        )

b. Complying with the specific application requirements, if any, provided in the general Tier I 
operating permit. (        )
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 146 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
04. Procedures for Issuing Authorizations to Operate. Without repeating the public participation 
procedures required under Section 364, the Department will issue an authorization to operate a Tier I source under a 
specifically identified general Tier I operating permit if the Department determines that the Tier I source qualifies for 
coverage. (        )

05. Review of Authorizations to Operate. The issuance of an authorization to operate is a final 
agency action for purposes of administrative and judicial review of the authorization. The general Tier I operating 
permit is not subject to administrative or judicial review upon the issuance of an authorization to operate. (        )

06. Phase II Sources. General Tier I operating permits are not authorized for Phase II sources under 
the acid rain program unless otherwise provided in 40 CFR Part 72. (        )

336. TIER I OPERATING PERMITS FOR TIER I PORTABLE SOURCES.

01. Portable Tier I Source Permit Issuance. (        )

a. The Department may issue a single Tier I operating permit authorizing emissions from similar 
operations of a portable Tier I source by the owner or operator at multiple temporary locations. (        )

b. The operation must be temporary and involve at least one (1) change of location for the portable 
Tier I source during the term of the Tier I operating permit. (        )

02. Phase II Sources. No Phase II source may be permitted as a portable Tier I source. (        )

03. Portable Tier I Source Permit Content. Tier I operating permits for portable Tier I sources will 
include the following: (        )

a. Terms and conditions that will ensure compliance with all applicable requirements at all authorized 
locations; (        )

b. Requirements that the owner or operator notify the Department at least ten (10) days in advance of 
each change in location in accordance with Section 500; and (        )

c. All terms and conditions identified in Sections 322,325, and 332. (        )

337. -- 359. (RESERVED)

360. STANDARD PROCESSING OF TIER I OPERATING PERMIT APPLICATIONS.
Sections 360 through 369 establish standard procedures and requirements for processing Tier I operating permits.

(        )

361. COMPLETENESS OF APPLICATIONS.

01. Criteria. Except as otherwise provided by these rules, the application must comply with Section 
314 including that the information must be in sufficient detail. (        )

02. Timelines for Completeness Determinations. The Department will send written notice to the 
applicant of whether the application is complete within sixty (60) days of receiving the application and, if the 
Department fails to send the written notice, the application will be deemed complete. (        )

03. Effects of Completeness Determination. (        )

a. The submittal of a complete application activates the application shield provided by Subsection 
361.02. (        )

b. The submittal of a complete Tier I operating permit application does not affect the permit to 
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 147 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
construct requirements of Sections 200 through 225 or 42 U.S.C. Sections 7401 through 7515. (        )

c. The timelines for final agency action provided in Subsections 367.02 and 367.03 begin on the date 
of the completeness determination. (        )

362. STATEMENT OF BASIS FOR TIER I OPERATING PERMITS.

01. Statement of Basis for Draft Permit. As part of its review of the Tier I operating permit 
application, the Department will prepare a statement of basis that sets forth the legal and factual basis for the draft 
Tier I operating permit terms and conditions (including references to the applicable statutory or regulatory 
provisions) or the draft denial. (        )

02. Revised Statement of Basis for Proposed Permit. If the Department revises its analysis, its 
conclusions or the terms or conditions of the Tier I operating permit in response to public comment, the Department 
may revise the statement of basis for the proposed permit or the proposed denial. (        )

03. Release of Statement of Basis. The statement of basis will be made available to the public in 
accordance with Section 364 and sent to the EPA with the proposed Tier I operating permit or proposed denial.

(        )

363. PREPARATION OF DRAFT PERMIT OR DRAFT DENIAL.
Except as otherwise provided in these rules, the Department will prepare a draft permit or draft denial as promptly as 
practicable or one hundred twenty (120) days before the deadline for final action, whichever is earlier. (        )

364. PUBLIC NOTICES, COMMENTS AND HEARINGS.

01. Generally. Except as otherwise provided in these rules, all Tier I operating permit proceedings will 
provide for public notice and public comment, including offering an opportunity for a hearing, on a draft permit or on 
a draft denial. (        )

02. Public Comment Package. A public comment package including the draft permit or draft denial, 
the technical memorandum and the application will be prepared and distributed to appropriate public locations, the 
applicant and affected States. (        )

03. Giving Notice. Notice will be given: by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the 
area where the Tier I source is located or in a State publication designed to give general public notice; by mailing the 
notice to persons on a mailing list developed by the Department, including those who request in writing to be on the 
list; by mailing the notice to all affected States; and by other means if necessary to ensure adequate notice to the 
affected public. (        )

04. Content of the Notice. The notice will identify the affected facility; provide the name and address 
of the permittee; provide the name and address of the Department processing the application; identify the draft permit 
action; identify the emissions change if the permit action is a permit revision or reopening; provide the locations 
where the public may locate a copy of the public comment package; provide the name, address, email address, and 
telephone number of a person from whom interested persons may obtain additional information that is relevant to the 
permit decision by filing a written public documents request and paying any costs; provide a brief description of the 
comment procedures, including the deadline for comments and the name and address of the person to whom written 
comments must be delivered; and state the time and place of any hearing that has been scheduled or provide 
information regarding how a person may request a hearing. (        )

05. Public Comment Procedures. (        )

a. The Department will provide at least thirty (30) days for public comment. (        )

b. The Department will give notice of any public hearing at least thirty (30) days in advance of the 
hearing. (        )
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c. The public hearing, if any, is an informal meeting, conducted by a hearing officer designated by the 
Department and transcribed. Written comments or supporting documents may be submitted during the hearing.

(        )

d. The public comments and additional information received during the comment period are available 
to the public upon the filing of a written public documents request and the payment of any costs. (        )

365. PREPARATION OF PROPOSED PERMIT OR PROPOSED DENIAL.

01. Timeline. Except as otherwise provided by these rules, the Department will prepare a proposed 
permit or proposed denial within thirty (30) days after the close of the public comment period, unless the Department 
determines that additional time is required to evaluate comments and information received. (        )

02. Availability. The proposed permit or proposed denial will be available to the public upon the filing 
a written public documents request and the payment of any costs. (        )

03. Notice to Affected States. If the Department refuses to accept all recommendations that an affected 
State submitted during the public comment period, the Department will send a copy of the notice sent to EPA in 
accordance with Subsection 366.01.d. to the affected State that submitted the recommendation. (        )

366. EPA REVIEW PROCEDURES.

01. Submittal of Proposal to EPA. Except as otherwise provided in these rules and unless EPA waives 
its opportunity to review a proposed permit, the Department will transmit the following to EPA: (        )

a. The proposed permit or proposed denial. (        )

b. The statement of basis, as revised if appropriate. (        )

c. The application including all supplements and corrections submitted by the applicant, unless the 
applicant has submitted the information under a claim of confidentiality or unless the Department has entered an 
agreement with EPA to submit only a summary form and relevant portions of the permit application. (        )

d. Notice of any refusal by the Department to accept all recommendations for the proposal that any 
affected State submitted during the public comment period. The notice will include the Department's reasons for not 
accepting any such recommendation. The Department is not required to accept recommendations that are not based 
on applicable requirements. (        )

02. Opportunity for EPA Objection. (        )

a. EPA may submit to the Department a written objection to the proposal within forty-five (45) days 
of receipt of the transmittal identified in Subsection 366.01. (        )

b. The written objection must state the EPA's reasons for the objection and provide the terms and 
conditions that the Tier I operating permit must include to respond to the objection or state that the permit must be 
denied. (        )

c. EPA must provide a copy of the written objection to the applicant. (        )

03. Response to EPA Objections. Within ninety (90) days of receiving a written objection from EPA, 
the Department will prepare a revised proposal and submit it to EPA in accordance with Subsection 366.01. If EPA 
determines that the revised proposal is objectionable, the Department will review the permit action taken by EPA and 
take a comparable final permit action in accordance with Section 367. (        )

04. Public Petitions to EPA. (        )

a. If the EPA does not object in writing under Subsection 366.02, any person may petition the EPA 
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within sixty (60) days after the expiration of the EPA's forty-five (45) day review period to make such objection.
(        )

b. Any such petition must be based only on objections to the draft permit or draft denial that were 
raised with specificity during the public comment period provided for in Section 364 unless the petitioner 
demonstrates that it was impracticable to raise such objections within such period, or unless the grounds for such 
objection arose after such period. (        )

c. If the EPA objects to the proposal in accordance with Subsection 366.02 as a result of a petition 
filed under Subsections 366.04.a. and 366.04.b., the Department will: (        )

i. Not issue a permit action until EPA's objection has been resolved, except that a petition for review 
does not stay the effectiveness of a Tier I operating permit or its requirements pending EPA's review of the petition 
and Department review of the objection if the Tier I operating permit was issued by the Department after the end of 
the forty-five (45) day review period and prior to an EPA objection initiated by a petition. (        )

ii. Process the objection in accordance with Subsection 366.03. (        )

367. ACTION ON APPLICATION.

01. Issuance Conditions. Except as otherwise provided by these rules, a Tier I operating permit, or any 
portion thereof, may be issued only if all of the following conditions have been met: (        )

a. The owner or operator has submitted a complete application in accordance with Section 361.
(        )

b. The public has been provided notice and opportunities for comment and a hearing in accordance 
with Section 364. (        )

c. Affected States have been provided notice in accordance with Section 364 and Subsection 365.03.
(        )

d. The terms and conditions of the Tier I operating permit comply with Sections 321 through 336 
including providing for compliance with all applicable requirements. (        )

e. The EPA has been provided with the proposal and an opportunity to object and the Department has 
responded as required by Section 366. (        )

02. Copy to EPA. The Department will send a copy of the final Tier I operating permit to EPA.
(        )

03. Original to Permittee. The Department will send the original Tier I operating permit to the 
permittee. (        )

368. EXPIRATION OF PRECEDING PERMITS.
If a timely and complete Tier I permit application is received by the Department and is not acted upon in a timely 
manner as prescribed by these rules, the permit to construct, Tier I operating permit or Tier II operating permit, if any, 
that has been previously issued to the owner or operator of the Tier I source by the Department or EPA continues in 
full force until the Department has completed action of the permit application. No Tier I operating permit will be 
considered to have expired due solely to the Department's inaction on a timely Tier I operating permit application.

(        )

369. TIER I OPERATING PERMIT RENEWAL.

01. Renewal Procedures. Tier I operating permits being renewed are subject to the same procedural 
requirements, including those for public participation, including affected State review, and EPA review, that apply to 
initial Tier I operating permit issuance. (        )
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02. Expiration and Renewal Application Shield. Tier I operating permit expiration terminates the 
source's right to operate unless a timely and complete renewal application has been submitted. (        )

370. -- 379. (RESERVED)

380. CHANGES TO TIER I OPERATING PERMITS.

01. Applicability. Sections 380 through 397 establish procedures and requirements for permit 
revisions and changes requiring notice. These provisions do not alter the requirements for permits to construct set 
forth at Sections 200 through 227. (        )

02. Changes Requiring Permit Revisions. Sections 381 through 383 establish procedures and 
requirements for Tier I operating permit revisions. A permit revision is required for changes that are not addressed or 
prohibited by the Tier I operating permit if such changes are subject to any requirements under Title IV of the Clean 
Air Act or are modifications under any provision of Title I of the Clean Air Act. (        )

03. Changes Requiring Notice. Sections 384 and 385 establish procedures and requirements for 
providing notice by the permittee to the Department and EPA of certain emission trades and changes that contravene 
a permit term (Section 384), or certain changes that are not addressed or prohibited by the permit (Section 385).

(        )

04. Reopening. Section 386 establishes procedures for reopening the permit for cause by the 
Department, EPA, or the permittee. (        )

05. Acid Rain. Changes regulated under Title IV of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. Sections 7651 
through 7651o, are governed by regulations promulgated under Title IV of the Act. (        )

381. ADMINISTRATIVE PERMIT AMENDMENTS.

01. Criteria. An administrative permit amendment is a permit revision that: (        )

a. Corrects typographical errors; (        )

b. Identifies a change in the name, address, or phone number of any person identified in the Tier I 
operating permit, or provides a similar minor administrative change at the Tier I source; (        )

c. Requires more frequent monitoring or reporting by the permittee; (        )

d. Allows for a change in ownership or operational control of a Tier I source where the Department 
determines that no other change in the Tier I operating permit is necessary, provided that a written agreement 
containing a specific date for transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability between the current and new 
permittee has been submitted to the Department; (        )

e. Incorporates into the Tier I operating permit the requirements from a permit to construct that was 
issued by the Department in accordance with Subsection 209.05.c.; or (        )

f. Is any other type of change that EPA and the Department have determined as part of the Part 70 
program to be similar to those in Subsections 381.01.a. through 381.01.d. (        )

02. Administrative Permit Amendment Application Procedures. (        )

a. If initiated by the permittee, the permittee must submit a request to the Department that: (        )

i. States at the beginning of the request that it is a “REQUEST FOR ADMINISTRATIVE PERMIT 
AMENDMENT.” (        )
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ii. Describes the proposed administrative permit amendment including any permit to construct to be 
incorporated; (        )

iii. States the date on which the proposed administrative amendment will occur at the facility; (        )

iv. Identifies any Tier I operating permit term or condition that is no longer applicable as a result of the 
change; and (        )

v. Identifies any applicable requirement that would apply to the Tier I source as a result of the change.
(        )

b. If initiated by the Department, the Department will notify the permittee that the Department is 
initiating an administrative permit amendment and provide a brief summary of the proposed administrative permit 
amendment including all of the information required by Subsection 381.02.a.i. through 381.02.a.v. (        )

c. The Department will, within sixty (60) days of the receipt of a request for an administrative permit 
amendment, take final action on the request and may incorporate such changes without providing notice to the public 
or affected States provided that the Department designates any such administrative permit amendment as having been 
made pursuant to Section 381. The Department will submit a copy of the revised permit, or an addendum, to the EPA 
and send the original to the permittee. (        )

03. Implementation Procedures. (        )

a. The permittee may implement the changes addressed in the request for an administrative permit 
amendment under Subsections 381.01.a. through 381.01.f. immediately upon submittal of the request. (        )

b. If the permittee obtains a permit to construct under Subsection 209.05.c., then so long as the change 
does not violate any terms or conditions of the existing Tier I operating permit, the permittee may operate the source 
described in the permit to construct immediately upon submittal of the request for an administrative permit 
amendment. (        )

04. Permit Shield. Upon final action by the Department, the permit shield described in Section 325 
extends only to administrative permit amendments identified in Subsection 381.01.e. (        )

382. SIGNIFICANT PERMIT MODIFICATION.

01. Criteria. Significant modification procedures are used for applications requesting permit revisions 
that do not qualify as minor permit modifications or as administrative amendments. Nothing herein will be construed 
to preclude the permittee from making changes consistent with this chapter that would render existing permit 
compliance terms and conditions irrelevant. A significant permit modification is a permit revision for changes that:

(        )

a. Violate an existing Tier I permit term or condition derived from an applicable requirement; (        )

b. Involve significant changes to existing monitoring, reporting or recordkeeping requirements in the 
permit. Every significant change in existing monitoring terms or conditions (except more frequent monitoring or 
reporting under Subsection 381.01.c.) and every relaxation of reporting or recordkeeping terms or conditions is 
considered significant; (        )

c. Require or change a case-by-case determination of an emission limitation or other standard; a 
source-specific determination for temporary sources of ambient impacts; or a visibility or increment analysis;

(        )

d. Seek to establish or change a permit term or condition for which there is no corresponding 
underlying applicable requirement and that the source has assumed to avoid an applicable requirement to which the 
source would otherwise be subject. Such terms and conditions include, but are not limited to, an enforceable 
emissions cap assumed to avoid classification as a modification under any provision of Title I of the Clean Air Act or 
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an alternative emissions limit for an early reduction of hazardous air pollutants that was approved pursuant to 
regulations promulgated under 42 U.S.C. Section 7412(i)(5) of the Clean Air Act; (        )

e. Constitute a modification under any provision of Title I of the Clean Air Act; or (        )

f. Could be processed as an administrative amendment or as a minor modification, except the 
permittee has requested the change be processed as a significant modification, including incorporating the 
requirements of a permit to construct that was issued by the Department in accordance with Subsection 209.05.a.

(        )

02. Significant Permit Modification Application Procedures. A permittee may initiate a significant 
permit modification by submitting a complete significant permit modification application to the Department. The 
application must: (        )

a. Request the use of significant permit modification procedures and state at the beginning of the 
request that it is a “REQUEST FOR SIGNIFICANT PERMIT MODIFICATION”; (        )

b. Meet the standard application requirements of Sections 314 and 315; (        )

c. Provide a summary sheet; (        )

i. Describing the proposed significant permit modification; (        )

ii. Describing and quantifying any change in emissions resulting from the significant permit 
modification including, but not limited to, an identification of any new regulated air pollutant(s) that will be emitted;

(        )

iii. Identifying any Tier I operating permit term or condition that will no longer be applicable as a 
result of the significant permit modification; and (        )

iv. Identifying new applicable requirement resulting from the change. (        )

d. Significant permit modifications will be issued in accordance with all procedural requirements as 
they apply to Tier I operating permit issuance and renewal, including those for applications (Sections 314 and 315), 
public participation (Section 364), review by affected States (Sections 364 and 365), and review by EPA (Section 
366). (        )

e. The Department will process the majority of significant permit modifications within nine (9) 
months of receiving a complete application. The Department will determine which significant permit modification 
applications will be processed within nine (9) months. (        )

03. Implementation Procedures. The permittee must comply with Sections 200 through 223 as 
applicable, including Subsection 209.05 governing permit to construct procedures for Tier I sources. (        )

04. Permit Shield. Upon final action by the Department, the permit shield described in Section 325 
will extend to significant permit modifications. (        )

383. MINOR PERMIT MODIFICATION.

01. Criteria. (        )

a. Minor permit modification procedures may be used for permit modifications involving economic 
incentives, marketable permits, emissions trading, and other similar approaches explicitly provided for in the SIP or 
applicable requirements promulgated by EPA. A permittee may not use minor modification procedures for changes 
described in Subsections 382.01.a. through 382.01.e. (        )

b. Any other permit modification that is not required to be processed as a significant permit 
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modification under Section 382. (        )

c. Groups of a permittee’s applications eligible for processing as minor permit modifications may be 
processed under minor permit modification procedures if collectively, the changes proposed in the minor 
modification applications do not exceed the lesser of: (        )

i. Ten percent (10%) of the emissions allowed by the existing Tier I operating permit for the 
emissions unit for which the change is requested; (        )

ii. Twenty percent (20%) of the major facility criteria in Section 008; or (        )

iii. Five (5) tons per year. (        )

02. Minor Permit Modification Application Procedures. A permittee may initiate a minor permit 
modification by submitting a complete standard application described in Section 314 to the Department. The 
application must: (        )

a. Request the use of minor permit modification procedures and state at the beginning of the request 
that it is a “REQUEST FOR MINOR PERMIT MODIFICATION,” designate either “INDIVIDUAL” or “GROUP” 
processing, and provide a summary sheet; (        )

i. Describing the proposed minor permit modification; (        )

ii. Stating the date on which the proposed minor permit modification will occur at the facility; (        )

iii. Describing and quantifying any change in emissions resulting from the minor permit modification 
including, but not limited to, an identification of any new regulated air pollutant(s) that will be emitted; (        )

iv. Identifying any Tier I operating permit term or condition that will no longer be applicable as a 
result of the minor permit modification; (        )

v. Identifying any new applicable requirement that is applicable to the Tier I source as a result of the 
minor permit modification; (        )

vi. Certifying by a responsible official under Section 123 that the proposed permit modification meets 
the criteria for a minor permit modification and, if applicable, the use of group processing procedures; and (        )

vii. Listing the permittee’s other pending applications awaiting group processing and a determination 
of whether the requested modification, aggregated with the other applications, equals or exceeds the thresholds under 
Subsection 383.01.c. above; (        )

b. Include completed forms for the Department to use to notify the EPA and affected States as 
required under Sections 364 and 366; and (        )

c. Include the applicant’s suggested draft Tier I permit with the minor permit modification. (        )

03. EPA and Affected State Notification Procedures. (        )

a. Within five (5) working days of receipt of a complete minor permit modification application, the 
Department will notify EPA and the affected States of the requested permit modification and forward the forms 
completed by the applicant and other required information, if any, to the EPA and affected States. Affected States and 
EPA review will occur simultaneously. (        )

b. On a quarterly basis or within five (5) working days of receiving an application demonstrating that 
the aggregate of a permittee’s pending applications equals or exceeds the threshold level established in Subsection 
383.01.c. above, whichever is earlier, the Department shall notify EPA and the affected States of the requested permit 
modification and forward the forms completed by the applicant and other required information, if any, to the EPA and 
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affected States. Affected States and EPA review shall occur simultaneously. (        )

c. The Department will promptly notify EPA and any affected States in writing including its reasons 
for not accepting any such recommendation if the Department refuses to accept all the timely recommendations 
submitted by affected States. (        )

d. The Department may not issue a final permit modification until after EPA’s forty-five (45) day 
review period or until EPA has notified the Department that EPA will not object to issuance of the permit 
modification, whichever is first; although the Department can approve the permit modification prior to that time.

(        )

e. Within ninety (90) days of the Department’s receipt of a complete minor permit modification 
application or within fifteen (15) days after the end EPA’s forty-five (45) day review period, whichever is later, the 
Department will take one (1) of the following actions: (        )

i. Issue the minor permit modification as proposed; (        )

ii. Deny the minor permit modification application; (        )

iii. Determine that the requested minor permit modification does not meet the minor permit 
modification criteria and should be reviewed under the significant modification procedures; or (        )

iv. Revise the proposed minor permit modification, transmit the revised proposal to the EPA in 
accordance with Section 366, and notify the permittee. (        )

f. Within one hundred and eighty (180) days of the Department’s receipt of a complete application for 
modifications eligible for group processing or within fifteen (15) days after the end of EPA’s forty-five (45) day 
review period, whichever is later, the Department will take one (1) of the actions specified in Subsections 383.03.e.i., 
383.03.e.ii., 383.03.e.iii., or 383.03.e.iv. (        )

04. Implementation Procedures. (        )

a. The permittee may make the change proposed in its minor permit modification immediately upon 
submittal of a complete application to the Department before final action by the Department. (        )

b. After the source makes the allowed change and until the Department takes any of the actions 
specified in Subsections 383.03.e.i., 383.03.e.ii., or 383.03.e.iii., the permittee must comply with both the applicable 
requirements governing the change and the proposed terms and conditions. (        )

c. During this time period, the permittee need not comply with the existing permit terms and 
conditions it seeks to modify; provided that, if the source fails to comply with the applicable requirements governing 
the change and the proposed revisions, the existing permit terms and conditions it seeks to modify may be enforced 
against it. (        )

05. Permit Shield. The permit shield described in Section 325 does not apply to any minor permit 
modification. (        )

384. SECTION 502(B)(10) CHANGES AND CERTAIN EMISSION TRADES.

01. Criteria. This section authorizes emission changes within a permitted facility without requiring a 
permit revision, if the changes are not modifications under any provision of the Title I of the Clean Air Act and the 
changes do not exceed the emissions allowable under the permit (whether expressed therein as a rate of emissions or 
total emissions). (        )

a. Changes authorized are changes that: (        )

i. Are Section 502(b)(10) changes; (        )
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ii. Are changes involving trades of increases and decreases of emissions within the permitted facility 
where the State Implementation Plan provides for such emissions trades without requiring a permit revision. SIP 
trades are allowed in compliance with this Section even if the Tier I operating permit does not already provide for 
such emission trading; or (        )

iii. Are changes made under the terms and conditions of the Tier I permit that authorize the trading of 
emissions increases and decreases within the permitted facility for the purpose of complying with a federally 
enforceable emissions cap that is established by the Department in the Tier I operating permit independent of 
otherwise applicable requirements. (        )

b. Changes constituting a modification under Title I of the Clean Air Act or subject to a requirement 
under Title IV of the Clean Air Act are not authorized by this Section. (        )

02. Notice Procedures. The permittee may make a change under this Section if the permittee provides 
written notification to the Department and EPA so that the notification is received at least seven (7) days in advance 
of the proposed change; or, in the event of an emergency, the permittee provides the notification so that it is received 
at least twenty-four (24) hours in advance of the proposed change. The permittee, the Department, and EPA will 
attach the notification to their copy of the Tier I operating permit. (        )

a. For each such change, the written notification must: (        )

i. State at the beginning of the notification “NOTIFICATION OF SECTION 502(b)(10) CHANGE” 
or “NOTIFICATION OF EMISSION TRADE”; (        )

ii. Describe the proposed change; (        )

iii. Provide the date on which the proposed change will occur; (        )

iv. Describe and quantify any expected change in emissions including identification of any new 
regulated air pollutant(s) that will be emitted; (        )

v. Identify any permit term or condition that is no longer applicable as a result of the change; (        )

vi. Specifically identify and describe the emergency, if any; and (        )

vii. Identify any new applicable requirement that would apply to the Tier I source as a result of the 
change. (        )

b. For changes described in Subsection 384.01.a.ii., the written notification must also include: (        )

i. Identification of the provisions in the SIP that provide for the emissions trade; (        )

ii. All of the information required by the provision in the SIP authorizing the emissions trade; (        )

iii. Specific identification of the provisions in the SIP with which the permittee will comply; and
(        )

iv. The pollutants subject to the trade. (        )

c. For changes described in Subsection 384.01.a.iii., the written notification must also describe how 
the change will comply with the terms and conditions of the permit. (        )

03. Permit Shield. The permit shield described in Section 325 only extends to changes made in 
accordance with Subsection 384.01.a.iii. (        )

385. OFF-PERMIT CHANGES AND NOTICE.
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01. Criteria. This section authorizes changes that are neither addressed nor prohibited by the Tier I 
operating permit to be made without a permit revision if each such change meets all applicable requirements and does 
not violate any existing permit terms or conditions. Changes constituting a modification under Title I of the Clean Air 
Act, or subject to a requirement under Title IV of the Clean Air Act are not off-permit changes. (        )

02. Notice Procedure. Sources must provide written notice to the Department and EPA of each such 
change except changes that qualify as insignificant under Section 317, within seven (7) days of making the off-permit 
change. (        )

a. The written notification provided to the Department and EPA must: (        )

i. State at the beginning of the notification “NOTIFICATION OF OFF-PERMIT CHANGE”; (        )

ii. Describe the off-permit change; (        )

iii. State the date on which the off-permit change will occur or has occurred; (        )

iv. Describe and quantify any change in emissions resulting from the off-permit change including, but 
not limited to, an identification of any new regulated air pollutant(s) that will be emitted; and (        )

v. Identify any new applicable requirement that is applicable to the Tier I source as a result of the off-
permit change. (        )

b. The permittee must keep a record at the facility describing all off-permit changes made at the Tier I 
source that result in emissions of a regulated air pollutant subject to an applicable requirement, but not otherwise 
regulated under the permit, and identifying the emissions resulting from those changes. (        )

03. Permit Shield Applicability. The permit shield described in Section 325 does not apply to any off-
permit change. (        )

386. REOPENING FOR CAUSE.
The Department will reopen a Tier I permit if cause exists. (        )

01. Criteria. Cause for reopening exists under any of the following circumstances: (        )

a. Additional applicable requirements become applicable to a major Tier I source with a remaining 
permit term of three (3) or more years; provided that no such reopening is required if the original effective date of the 
applicable requirement is later than the date on which the Tier I operating permit is due to expire and the original Tier 
I operating permit or any of its terms and conditions has not been extended pursuant to Section 368; provided further 
that the permittee must comply with the additional applicable requirement no later than the effective date; (        )

b. Whenever additional applicable requirements become applicable to an affected source, as defined 
for the purposes of the acid rain program; (        )

c. The Department or EPA determines that the Tier I operating permit contains a material mistake or 
inaccurate statements were used or considered in establishing the emissions standards or other terms or conditions of 
the Tier I operating permit; or (        )

d. The Department or EPA determines that the Tier I operating permit does not ensure compliance 
with the applicable requirements. (        )

02. Procedures for Reopenings. (        )

a. The Department will follow the same procedures for reopening as they apply to initial permit 
issuance and will affect only those parts of the permit for which cause to reopen exists. Reopenings will be made as 
expeditiously as practicable in accordance with Sections 360 through 379. (        )
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b. The Department will notify the permittee in writing of reopening and provide a brief summary of 
the reason for the reopening at least thirty (30) days prior to the reopening. (        )

c. The EPA may initiate reopenings for circumstances listed in Subsections 386.01.a. through 
386.01.d. by providing written notification to the Department and the permittee. (        )

i. The Department will within ninety (90) days after receipt of notification from EPA, forward to EPA 
a proposed determination of termination, revocation, revision, or revocation and reissuance, as appropriate. The 
Administrator may extend the ninety (90) day period for an additional ninety (90) days if EPA finds that a new or 
revised permit application is necessary or that the Department must require the permittee to submit additional 
information. (        )

ii. The EPA will review the proposed determination from the Department within ninety (90) days of 
receipt. (        )

iii. The Department will have ninety (90) days from receipt of an EPA objection to resolve any EPA 
objection and to terminate, modify, or revoke and reissue the permit. (        )

iv. If the Department fails to submit a proposed determination or fails to resolve any EPA objection, 
the EPA may terminate, modify, revoke and reissue the permit after taking the following actions: (        )

(1) Providing at least thirty (30) days’ notice to the permittee in writing of the reason for such action, 
and (        )

(2) Providing the permittee an opportunity for comment on the EPA’s proposed action and an 
opportunity for a hearing. (        )

387. TIER I REGISTRATION FEE.
Sections 387 through 397 set the procedures for the annual registration and fee assessment for Tier I sources, 
including facilities that obtained air quality permits that limited potential emissions below Tier I source levels during 
the previous year. Any person owning or operating a Tier I source during the previous calendar year must by April 1 
of each year, register with the Department and submit the following information described at http://
www.deq.idaho.gov: (        )

01. Facility Information. The name, address, telephone number and location of the facility; (        )

02. Owner/Operator Information. The name, address and telephone numbers of the owners and 
operators; (        )

03. Facility Emission Units. The number and type of emission units present at the facility or the Tier I 
permit number for the facility; and (        )

04. Pollutant Registration. The actual emissions from the previous calendar year for oxides of sulfur 
(SOx), oxides of nitrogen (NOx), particulate matter (PM10), and volatile organic compounds (VOC) calculated using 
methods to include, but not limited to, continuous emissions monitoring (CEMS), certified source tests, material 
balances (mass-balance), state/industry emission factors, or AP-42 emission factors applied to throughput, actual 
operating hours, production rates, in-place control equipment, or the types of materials processed, stored, or 
combusted. (        )

388. – 389. (RESERVED)

390. TIER I ANNUAL FEE.
A Tier I annual fee includes the following three components: (        )

01. Fixed Annual Fee. A fixed annual fee for Tier I sources emitting regulated air pollutants listed in 
Subsection 387.04 as follows:
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(        )

02. Fee Based on Presumptive Minimum. A fee based on the 40 CFR Part 70 presumptive minimum 
(https://www.epa.gov/title-v-operating-permits/permit-fees) is calculated by multiplying the presumptive minimum 
fee in effect on April 1 of each year by the sum of all air pollutant emissions listed in Subsection 387.04, but not to 
exceed the following maximum values:

(        )

03. Fee-for-Service. A fee for service that the Department will assess based on actual time expended 
and expenses incurred by the Department in the previous calendar year for 40 CFR Part 70 program activities in an 
amount not to exceed forty five thousand dollars ($45,000) per year. (        )

391.  (RESERVED)

392. REGISTRATION FEE ASSESSMENT.
All applicable facilities must pay to the Department an annual registration fee based on the information supplied by 
the registrant using the methods described in Section 390. If the facility fails to submit registration information, the 
Department will calculate the fee and assess both the fee and the costs of calculating the fee. No later than May 15 of 
each year, the Department will send to each registrant an assessment of the annual fee. (        )

393. PAYMENT OF TIER I REGISTRATION FEE.

The fee must be paid to and received by the Department no later than July 1 of each year. Information for making 
payments is available at http://www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

394. EFFECT OF DELINQUENCY ON APPLICATIONS. 
No permit to construct or operate will be processed by the Department for any facility or person having Tier I 
operating permit fees delinquent in full or in part. (        )

395.—396. (RESERVED)

Emissions (tons/year) Fixed Annual Fee

4500 and above $70,785

3000 – 4499 $47,190

1000 – 2999 $37,540

500 – 999 $18,235

200 – 499 $11,800

0 – 199 $5,900

Emissions (tons/year) Maximum Fee

4500 and above $181,000

3000 – 4499 $91,000

1000 – 2999 $44,400

500 – 999 $31,500

200 – 499 $13,500

0 – 199 $4,550
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397. LUMP SUM PAYMENTS OF REGISTRATION FEES.

01. Agreement. The Department may enter an agreement with any person for the lump sum payment 
of all, or any addition to, the registration fees in Section 390. (        )

02. Minimum Amount. The minimum amount for any lump sum agreement is three hundred thousand 
dollars ($300,000). (        )

03. Payment Waiver. Upon the execution and full performance of the agreement by the person, the 
Department will waive the payment requirements of Section 390. All other provisions of Sections 387 through 397 
remain applicable to the person. (        )

398. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS FOR TIER II OPERATING PERMITS.
Sections 400 through 409 establish uniform procedures for the issuance of “Tier II Operating Permits.” (        )

401. TIER II OPERATING PERMIT.

01. Optional Tier II Operating Permits. The owner or operator of any stationary source or facility 
not subject to (or wishes to accept limitations on the facility’s potential to emit so as to not be subject to) Sections 300 
through 399 may apply to the Department for an operating permit to: (        )

a. Authorize the use of an emission offset pursuant to Sections 204.02.b. or 206; (        )

b. Authorize the use of a potential to emit limitation, an emission reduction or netting transaction to 
exempt a facility or modification from certain requirements for a permit to construct; (        )

c. Authorize the use of a potential to emit limitation to exempt the facility from Tier I permitting 
requirements; and (        )

d. Bank an emission reduction credit pursuant to Section 461. (        )

02. Required Tier II Operating Permits. (        )

a. A Tier II operating permit is required for any stationary source or facility that has annual actual 
mercury emissions in excess of sixty-two (62) pounds. Fugitive emissions are not included in a determination of the 
actual mercury emissions. The owner or operator of the stationary source or facility must submit a Tier II permit 
application for review and approval by the Department, no later than twelve (12) months after becoming subject to 
Subsection 401.02.a., that includes an MBACT analysis for all sources that emit mercury. A determination of 
applicability under Subsection 401.02 will be based upon best available information. An MBACT analysis for review 
and approval by the Department must be included in a Tier II renewal application for any mercury emitting source not 
otherwise subject to MBACT. (        )

b. Stationary sources within a source category subject to 40 CFR Part 63 are exempt from the 
requirements of Subsection 401.02.a. (        )

03. Tier II Operating Permits Required by the Department. The Department may require or revise 
a Tier II operating permit for any stationary source or facility whenever the Department determines that: (        )

a. Emission rate reductions are necessary to attain or maintain any ambient air quality standard or 
applicable prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) increment; or (        )

b. Specific emission standards, or requirements on operation or maintenance are necessary to ensure 
compliance with any applicable emission standard or rule. (        )
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04. Tier II Operating Permits Establishing a Facility Emissions Cap. The owner or operator of any 
stationary source or facility may request a Tier II operating permit establishing a Facility Emissions Cap (FEC) 
pursuant to Sections 175 through 181. (        )

402. APPLICATION PROCEDURES.
Application for a Tier II operating permit must be made using forms furnished by the Department, or by other means 
approved by the Department. The application must be certified by the responsible official and be accompanied by all 
information necessary to perform any analysis or make any determination required under Sections 400 through 410.

(        )

01. Required Information. Site information, plans, description, specifications, and drawings showing 
the design of the stationary source, facility, or modification, the nature and amount of emissions (including secondary 
emissions), and the manner in which it will be operated and controlled. (        )

02. Additional Specific Information. (        )

a. For emission reduction credits, a description of the emission reduction credits proposed for use, 
including descriptions of the stationary sources or facilities providing the reductions, a description of the system of 
continuous emission control that provides the emission reduction credits, emission estimates, and other information 
necessary to determine that the emission reductions satisfy the requirements for emission reduction credits (Section 
460). (        )

b. For emission offsets, information on the air quality impacts of the traded emissions as necessary to 
determine the change in ambient air quality that would occur. (        )

c. For restrictions on potential to emit, a description of the proposed potential to emit limitations 
including the proposed monitoring and recordkeeping requirements that will be used to verify compliance with the 
limitations. (        )

03. Estimates of Ambient Concentrations. All estimates of ambient concentrations must be based on 
the applicable air quality models, data bases, and other requirements specified in 40 CFR Part 51 Appendix W 
(Guideline on Air Quality Models). Where an air quality model specified in the “Guideline on Air Quality Models” is 
inappropriate, the model may be modified or another model substituted, subject to written approval of the EPA 
Administrator and public comment pursuant to Subsection 404.01.c. (        )

04. Additional Information. Any additional information, plans, specifications, evidence or documents 
that the Department may require to make the determinations required under Sections 400 through 409 shall be 
furnished upon request. (        )

403. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR TIER II SOURCES.
No Tier II operating permit will be granted unless the applicant shows to the satisfaction of the Department that:

(        )

01. Emission Standards. The stationary source would comply with all applicable local, state or federal 
emission standards. (        )

02. NAAQS. The stationary source would not cause or significantly contribute to a violation of any 
ambient air quality standard. (        )

404. PROCEDURE FOR ISSUING PERMITS.

01. General Procedures. General procedures for Tier II operating permits. (        )

a. Within thirty (30) days after receipt of the application for a Tier II operating permit, the Department 
will determine whether the application is complete or whether more information must be submitted and will notify 
the applicant of its findings in writing. (        )
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b. Within sixty (60) days after the application is determined to be complete the Department will:
(        )

i. Notify the applicant in writing of the approval or denial of the application if an opportunity for 
public comment is not required pursuant to Subsection 404.01.c. The Department will set forth reasons for any 
denial; or (        )

ii. Issue a proposed approval or proposed denial. (        )

c. An opportunity for public comment will be provided on an application for any Tier II operating 
permit pursuant to Subsection 401.01 and any other application that the Department determines an opportunity for 
public comment should be provided. (        )

i. The availability of such materials will be made known by notice published in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the county(ies) in which the stationary source or facility is to be located. (        )

ii. A copy of such notice will be sent to the applicant and to appropriate federal, state and local 
agencies. (        )

iii. There will be a thirty (30) day period after initial publication for comment on the Department's 
proposed action, such comment to be made in writing to the Department. (        )

iv. After consideration of comments and any additional information submitted during the comment 
period, and within forty-five (45) days after initial publication of the notice, unless the Department deems that 
additional time is required to evaluate comments and information received, the Department will notify the applicant 
in writing of approval or denial of the permit. The Department will set forth the reasons for any denial. (        )

v. All comments and additional information received during the comment period, together with the 
Department's final determination, will be made available to the public at the same location as the preliminary 
determination. (        )

d. A copy of each proposed and final permit will be sent to EPA. (        )

02. Specific Procedures. Procedures for Tier II operating permits. (        )

a. The Department will send a notification to the proposed permittee by registered mail of his 
intention to issue a Tier II operating permit for the facility concerned. The notification will contain a copy of the 
proposed permit in draft form stating the proposed emission standards and any required action, with corresponding 
dates, that must be taken by the proposed permittee in order to achieve or maintain compliance with the proposed Tier 
II operating permit. (        )

b. The application and the Department's proposed Tier II operating permit will be made available to 
the public in at least one (1) location in the region in which the facility is located. The availability of such materials 
will be made known by notice published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county(ies) in which the facility 
is located. A copy of such notice will be sent to the applicant. There will be a thirty (30) day period after publication 
for comment on the Department's proposed Tier II operating permit. Such comment must be made in writing to the 
Department. (        )

c. A public hearing will be scheduled to consider the standards and limitations contained in the 
proposed Tier II operating permit if the proposed permittee files a request with the Department within ten (10) days of 
receipt of the notification, or if the Department determines that there is good cause to hold a hearing. (        )

d. After consideration of comments and any additional information submitted during the comment 
period or at any public hearing, the Department will render a final decision upon the proposed Tier II operating permit 
within thirty (30) days of the close of the comment period or hearing. At this time the Department may adopt the 
entire Tier II operating permit as originally proposed or any part or modification thereof. (        )
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e. All comments and additional information received during the comment period, together with the 
Department's final permit, will be made available to the public at the same location as the proposed Tier II operating 
permit. (        )

04. Permit Revision or Renewal. The Department may approve a revision of any Tier II operating 
permit or renewal of any Tier II operating permit provided the stationary source or facility continues to meet all 
applicable requirements of Sections 400 through 409. Revised permits will be issued pursuant to procedures for 
issuing permits (Section 404), except that the requirements of Subsection 404.01.c. only apply if the permit revision 
results in an increase in allowable emissions or if deemed appropriate by the Department. Renewed Tier II operating 
permits will be issued pursuant to procedures for issuing permits (Section 404), except that the requirements of 
Subsections 404.01.c., and 404.02.b. through 404.02.e. only apply if the permit revision results in an increase in 
allowable emissions or if deemed appropriate by the Department. The expiration of a permit will not affect the 
operation of a stationary source or a facility during the administrative procedure period associated with the permit 
renewal process. The permittee must submit a complete application to the Department for a renewal of the terms and 
conditions establishing the Tier II operating permit at least six (6) months before, but no earlier than eighteen (18) 
months before, the expiration date of the existing permit. To ensure that the term of the permit does not expire before 
the terms and conditions are renewed, the permittee is encouraged to submit the application nine (9) months prior to 
expiration. (        )

05. Transfer of Tier II Permit. (        )

a. Transfers by Revision. A Tier II permit may be transferred to a new owner or operator in 
accordance with Subsection 404.04. (        )

b. Automatic Transfers. Any Tier II permit, with or without transfer prohibition language, may be 
automatically transferred if: (        )

i. The current permittee notifies the Department at least thirty (30) days in advance of the proposed 
transfer date; (        )

ii. The notice provides written documentation signed by the current and proposed permittees 
containing a date for transfer of permit responsibility, designation of the proposed permittee’s responsible official, 
and certification that the proposed permittee has reviewed and intends to operate in accordance with the permit terms 
and conditions; and (        )

iii. The Department does not notify the current permittee and the proposed permittee within thirty (30) 
days of receipt of the notice of the Department’s determination that the permit must be revised pursuant to Subsection 
404.04. If the Department does not issue such notice, the transfer is effective on the date provided in the notice 
described in Subsection 404.05.b.ii. (        )

405. CONDITIONS FOR TIER II OPERATING PERMITS.

01. Reasonable Conditions. The Department may impose any reasonable conditions upon an 
approval, including conditions requiring the stationary source or facility to be provided with: (        )

a. Sampling ports of a size, number, and location as the Department may require; (        )

b. Safe access to each port; (        )

c. Instrumentation to monitor and record emissions data; (        )

d. Instrumentation for ambient monitoring to determine the effect emissions from the stationary 
source or facility may have, or are having, on the air quality in any area affected by the stationary source or facility; 
and (        )

e. Any other sampling and testing facilities as may be deemed reasonably necessary. (        )
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02. Performance Tests. Any performance tests required by the permit must be performed in 
accordance with methods and under operating conditions approved by the Department. The owner or operator must 
furnish to the Department a written report of the results of such performance test. (        )

a. Such test is at the expense of the owner or operator. (        )

b. The Department may monitor such test and may also conduct performance tests. (        )

c. The owner or operator of a stationary source or facility must provide the Department fifteen (15) 
days prior notice of the performance test to afford the Department the opportunity to have an observer present.

(        )

03. Permit Term. Tier II operating permits will be issued for a period not to exceed five (5) years. This 
five (5) year operating permit restriction does not apply to the provisions contained in Section 461.02. (        )

406. (RESERVED)

407. TIER II OPERATING PERMIT PROCESSING FEE.

01. Tier II Operating Permit Processing Fee. A Tier II operating permit processing fee, calculated by 
the Department pursuant to the categories provided in the following table, must be paid to the Department by the 
person receiving a Tier II permit or permit renewal. The fee calculation will not include fugitive emissions.

(        )

02. Tier II Operating Permit Processing Fee Not Required. If the Department determines no other 
review or analysis is required, the Tier II operating permit processing fee is not required to be submitted when:

(        )

a. A permit to construct issued within the last five (5) years is rolled into a Tier II permit; (        )

b. A change to correct typographical errors is requested; (        )

c. A change in the name or ownership of the holder of a Tier II operating permit is requested; or
(        )

d. A synthetic minor permit is issued and the Department’s processing costs can be charged against 
fees collected from the person receiving the permit under Title V of the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 1990.

TIER II OPERATING PERMIT CATEGORY FEE

General permit, no facility specific requirements (Defined as a source category specific 
permit for which the Department has developed standard emission limitations, 
operating requirements, monitoring and recordkeeping requirements, and that 
require minimal engineering analysis.)

$500

Stationary sources or facilities with permitted emissions of less than one (1) ton per year $1,250

Stationary sources or facilities with permitted emissions of one (1) to less than ten (10) 
tons per year $2,500

Stationary sources or facilities with permitted emissions of ten (10) to less than one hun-
dred (100) tons per year $5,000

Stationary sources or facilities with permitted emissions of one hundred (100) tons or more 
per year $10,000

Synthetic minor stationary sources with permitted emissions below a major threshold level $10,000
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(        )

408. PAYMENT OF TIER II OPERATING PERMIT PROCESSING FEE.

01. Fee Submittal. The Tier II operating permit processing fee is payable upon receipt of an 
assessment sent, along with the final permit or permit renewal, to the person receiving a permit or permit renewal by 
the Department. Information for making payments is available at http://www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

02. Delinquency. Failure to submit a Tier II operating permit processing fee within forty-five (45) days 
of receipt of an assessment by the Department will result in a monthly accrual of interest in the amount of twelve 
percent (12%) per annum on the outstanding balance until the fee is paid in full. (        )

409. RECEIPT AND USAGE OF FEES.
Tier II operating permit processing fee and delinquency interest receipts will be deposited by the Department into a 
stationary source permit account. Monies from this account are used solely toward technical, legal and administrative 
support of the Department’s Permit to Construct and Tier II permit programs and will not be used for those activities 
supported by the fund created for implementing the operating permit program required under Title V of the federal 
Clean Air Act amendments of 1990. (        )

410. -- 459. (RESERVED)

460. REQUIREMENTS FOR EMISSION REDUCTION CREDIT.
In order to be credited in a permit to construct, Tier I operating permit or Tier II operating permit any emission 
reduction must satisfy the following: (        )

01. Allowable Emissions. The proposed level of allowable emissions must be less than the actual 
emissions of the stationary source(s) or emission unit(s) providing the emission reduction credit. No emission 
reduction(s) can be credited for actual emissions that exceed the allowable emissions of the stationary source(s) or 
emission unit(s). (        )

02. Timing of Emission Reduction. In an attainment or unclassifiable area, any emission reduction 
that occurs prior to the minor source baseline date must have been banked with the Department prior to the minor 
source baseline date to be credited; in a nonattainment area the emission reduction must occur after the base year of 
any control strategy for the particular air pollutant. (        )

03. Emission Rate Calculation. The emission rate before and after the reduction must be calculated 
using the same method and averaging time and the characteristics necessary to evaluate any future use of the emission 
reduction credit must be described. (        )

04. Permit Issuance. A permit to construct, Tier I operating permit or Tier II operating permit will be 
issued to establish a new emission standard for the facility, or restrict the operating rate, hours of operation, or the 
type or amount of material combusted, stored or processed for the stationary source(s) or emission unit(s) providing 
the emission reductions. (        )

05. Imposed Reductions. Emission reductions imposed by local, state or federal regulations or permits 
will not be allowed for emission reduction credits. (        )

06. Mobile Sources. The proposed level of allowable emissions must be less than the actual emissions 
of the mobile sources or stationary sources providing the emission reduction credit. Mobile source emission reduction 
credits will be made state or federally enforceable by SIP revision. The form of the SIP revision may be a state or 
local regulation, operating permit condition, consent or enforcement order, or any mechanism available to the state 
that is enforceable. (        )

461. REQUIREMENTS FOR BANKING EMISSION REDUCTION CREDITS (ERC'S).

01. Application to Bank an ERC. The owner or operator of any facility may apply to the Department 
for a Tier I or Tier II operating permit (or a revision thereto) to bank an emission reduction credit. An application to 
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bank an emission reduction credit must be received by the Department no later than one (1) year after the reduction 
occurs. The Department may issue or revise such a Tier I or Tier II operating permit and a “Certificate of Ownership” 
for an emission reduction credit, provided that all emission reductions satisfy the requirements of Section 460.

(        )

02. Banking Period. Emission reduction credits may be banked with the Department. The banked 
emission reduction credits may be used for offsets, netting in accordance with the definition of net emissions increase 
at Section 007, or sold to other facilities. The use of banked emission reduction credits must satisfy the applicable 
requirements of the program in which they are proposed for use, including approval of a permit to construct or a Tier 
I or Tier II operating permit. (        )

03. Certificate of Ownership. Upon issuing or revising a Tier I or Tier II operating permit for an 
emission reduction credit, the Department will issue a “Certificate of Ownership” that will identify the owner of the 
credits, quantify the credited emission reduction and describe the characteristics of the emissions that were reduced 
and emissions unit(s) that previously emitted them. (        )

04. Adjustment by Department. If at any time the Department, or the owner or operator of a facility 
that has produced an emission reduction credit, finds that the actual reduction in emissions differs from that in the 
certificate of ownership, the Department will adjust the amount of banked emission reduction credits to reflect the 
actual emission reduction and issue a revised certificate of ownership. (        )

05. Proportional Discounts. If at any time the Department finds that additional emission reductions 
are necessary to attain and maintain any ambient air quality standard or applicable prevention of significant 
deterioration (PSD) increment, banked emission reduction credits at facilities in the affected area may be 
proportionally discounted by an amount that will not exceed the percentage of emission reduction required for that 
area. (        )

06. Transfer of Ownership. Whenever the holder of a certificate of ownership for banked emission 
reduction credits, sells or otherwise transfers ownership of all or part of the banked credits, the holder must submit the 
certificate of ownership to the Department. The Department will issue a revised certificate(s) of ownership that 
reflects the old and new holder(s) and amount(s) of banked emission reduction credits. (        )

07. Public Registry. The Department will maintain a public registry of all banked emissions reduction 
credits, indicating the current holder of each certificate of ownership and the amount and type of credited emissions.

(        )

462. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. REGISTRATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS FOR PORTABLE EQUIPMENT.

All existing portable equipment must be registered at least ten (10) days prior to relocating, using forms provided by 
the Department, except that no registration is required for mobile internal combustion engines, marine installations 
and locomotives. (        )

501. -- 509. (RESERVED)

510. STACK HEIGHTS AND DISPERSION TECHNIQUES.
Sections 510 through 514 establish criteria for good engineering practice for stack heights and dispersion techniques 
and apply to existing, new, and modified stationary sources and facilities. Sections 510 through 514 do not apply to 
stack heights in existence, or dispersion techniques implemented, on or before December 31, 1970, except where 
regulated or toxic air pollutant(s) are being emitted from such stacks or using such dispersion techniques by sources 
that were constructed, or reconstructed, or for which major modifications were carried out, after December 31, 1970. 
Definitions for Section 510 through 514 are found in 40 CFR 51.100 incorporated by reference in Section 107.

(        )

511. REQUIREMENTS.
The required degree of emission control of any regulated or toxic air pollutant must not be affected by the amount of 
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any stack height that exceeds good engineering practice (GEP) or by any other dispersion technique. (        )

512. OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING.
Whenever a new or revised emission limitation is to be based on a good engineering practice stack height that 
exceeds the height allowed by the GEP stack height formulae, the Department will notify the public of the availability 
of the demonstration study submitted and will provide an opportunity for public hearing on the demonstration study.

(        )

513. APPROVAL OF FIELD STUDIES AND FLUID MODELS.
Any field study or fluid model used to demonstrate GEP stack height and any determination of “excessive 
concentration” must be approved by the EPA prior to an emission limit being established. The construction of any 
new stack or any increase to the height of any existing stack determined by the GEP stack height formulae without 
completing a fluid model and a field study, must be approved by the EPA. (        )

514. NO RESTRICTION ON ACTUAL STACK HEIGHT.
Sections 510 through 514 do not restrict, in any manner, the actual stack height of any stationary source or facility.

(        )

515. –516. (RESERVED)

517. MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE PROGRAM.

01. Purpose. The purpose of Sections 517 through 527 is to set forth the minimum standards for a 
motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program, established pursuant to Section 39-116B, Idaho Code, for 
registered motor vehicles as defined in Section 49-123, Idaho Code. This program is designed to follow the basic 
inspection and maintenance program defined in 40 CFR 51.352. (        )

02. Applicability. Sections 517 through 527 apply only to the counties of Ada and Canyon and the 
cities of Boise, Eagle, Garden City, Meridian, Kuna, Star, Caldwell, Greenleaf, Melba, Middleton, Nampa, Notus, 
Parma, and Wilder. (        )

03. Options. (        )

a. Section 39-116B, Idaho Code, provides the counties and cities listed in Subsection 517.02 with the 
following implementation options. The counties and cities may: (        )

i. Enter into a joint exercise of powers agreement with the Director to implement a motor vehicle 
inspection and maintenance program; or (        )

ii. Obtain Department approval to implement an alternative motor vehicle emissions control strategy 
that will result in emissions reductions equivalent to that of a motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program.

(        )

b. If neither of the options listed in Subsection 517.03.a. are selected, the Department shall implement 
the motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program. (        )

04. Governing Authority. For the purpose of Sections 517 through 527, governing authority means 
the governing entity responsible for the development and implementation of the motor vehicle inspection and 
maintenance program. The governing entity may be the counties and cities listed in Subsection 517.02 or the 
Department. The governing authority shall adopt Sections 517 through 527 of these rules. (        )

05. Exemptions. Sections 517 through 527 do not apply to the following: (        )

Note: Sections 517 through 527 remain in effect until the repeal of Idaho Code § 39-116B on July 1, 2023 (see 
Senate Bill No. 1254).
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a. Electric or hybrid motor vehicles; (        )

b. Motor vehicles with a model year less than five (5) years old; (        )

c. Motor vehicles with a model year older than 1981; (        )

d. Classic automobiles as defined by Section 49-406A, Idaho Code; (        )

e. Motor vehicles with a maximum vehicle gross weight of less than fifteen hundred (1500) pounds;
(        )

f. Motor vehicles registered as motor homes as defined by Section 49-114, Idaho Code; (        )

g. Motorized farm equipment; and (        )

h. Registered motor vehicles engaged solely in the business of agriculture. (        )

518. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING AUTHORIZED INSPECTION STATIONS OR RETEST 
STATIONS.

01. General. (        )

a. No person or enterprise shall in any manner represent any place as an inspection station or retest 
station unless such station is operated under a valid license issued by the governing authority. (        )

b. No license for any inspection station or retest station may be assigned, transferred or used by other 
than the original applicant for that specific station. (        )

02. Applications for License. Applications for license as an inspection station or retest station shall be 
made on the forms provided by the governing authority. No license shall be issued unless the governing authority 
finds that the facilities, tools and equipment of the applicant comply with the requirements set forth in Subsections 
518.03 or 518.04. (        )

03. Requirements for Licensed Inspection Stations. In order to qualify for issuance and continuance 
of an inspection station license, an establishment must meet the following requirements: (        )

a. Must have a permanent location; (        )

b. Must ensure that at least one employee, who has been issued an emissions technician license by the 
governing authority, is on duty at all times of station operation; (        )

c. Must demonstrate the ability to perform the emissions test and comply with reporting and 
recordkeeping requirements established by the governing authority; (        )

d. Must obtain and maintain in force appropriate business liability insurance; and (        )

e. Must have the tools, equipment and supplies, as required by the governing authority, available for 
performance of the emissions test. (        )

04. Requirements for Licensed Retest Stations. In order to qualify for issuance and continuance of a 
retest station license, an establishment must meet the requirements listed in Subsection 518.03. (        )

05. Approval Procedure. (        )

a. Applications received by the governing authority will be reviewed for completeness and an 
inspection of the facility will be performed. An inspection report will be prepared for the governing authority’s 
review. (        )
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b. Stations which meet the requirements of Subsections 518.01 through 518.04 will be granted an 
inspection station license or retest station license and issued a station sign. The station sign and license shall be posted 
in a conspicuous place, readily visible to the public. The station sign and license shall remain the property of the 
governing authority. (        )

06. Revocation of Inspection Station or Retest Station License. The governing authority has the 
authority to issue warnings and suspend or revoke a station license upon a showing that emission tests are not being 
performed in accordance with these rules and any other specifications or procedures enacted by the governing 
authority. (        )

519. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING AUTHORIZED EMISSIONS TECHNICIANS.

01. Applications for License. Application for a license as an emissions technician shall be filed with 
the governing authority. Applications for the emissions technician license shall be completed on forms provided by 
the governing authority. (        )

02. Requirements for Issuance of an Emissions Technician License. An applicant must demonstrate 
the knowledge and skill necessary to perform an emissions test of motor vehicle engines. The governing authority 
shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.367, incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

03. Revocation of Emissions Technician License. The governing authority has the authority to issue 
warnings and suspend or revoke an emissions technician license upon a showing that emission tests are not being 
performed in accordance with these rules or any other specifications or procedures enacted by the governing 
authority. (        )

520. INSPECTION FREQUENCY.
The inspection shall occur no more than once every two (2) years. If the owner of the motor vehicle obtains a waiver 
pursuant to Section 526, the motor vehicle must be inspected the following year. (        )

521. TEST PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.357(a), incorporated by 
reference in Section 107. (        )

522. TEST STANDARDS.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.357(b), incorporated by 
reference in Section 107. (        )

523. TEST EQUIPMENT.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.358, incorporated by reference 
in Section 107. (        )

524. INSPECTION FEE.
The fee for a motor vehicle inspection, as established in Section 39-116B(2)(g), Idaho Code, shall not exceed twenty 
dollars ($20) per vehicle. This fee is necessary to carry out the provisions of Sections 517 through 527 and to fund an 
air quality public awareness and outreach program. (        )

525. PUBLIC OUTREACH.
The governing authority shall issue a pamphlet for distribution to owners of motor vehicles. The pamphlet shall 
include, but not be limited to, the reasons for and the methods of the inspection. The governing authority may also 
establish and operate an informational hotline, website, or any other means of outreach that is deemed to be efficient 
and effective by the governing authority. (        )

526. WAIVERS.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.360(a), incorporated by 
reference in Section 107. If the owner of the motor vehicle obtains a waiver, the motor vehicle must be inspected the 
following year. (        )
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01. Financial Hardship. If repairs required under Section 526 pose a financial hardship on the owner 
of the motor vehicle, the governing authority shall have the authority to issue a waiver without requiring expenditure 
of the amounts listed in 40 CFR 51.360(a). Such determination of hardship shall be made on a case-by-case basis by 
the governing authority. (        )

02. Public Service Vehicles Operating Less than 1,000 Miles Per Year. For public service vehicles 
owned by a governmental entity and operated less than one thousand (1,000) miles per year, the governing authority 
shall have the authority to issue a waiver without requiring expenditure of the amounts listed in 40 CFR 51.360(a).

(        )

527. EXTENSIONS.
The governing authority shall have the authority to grant extensions for vehicles or vehicle owners temporarily 
located outside of a testing area that cannot easily be returned to an area for testing. The extension shall not exceed 
one (1) year. For active-duty military personnel and their families stationed outside the applicable testing area 
specified in Subsection 517.02, a time extension not to exceed the testing period is available. Military extensions 
shall be renewed with current military orders. (        )

517. – 527. (RESERVED)

528. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. AIR QUALITY EPISODES.
Sections 550 through 562 define requirements for air quality episodes. (        )

551. -- 555. (RESERVED)

556. CRITERIA FOR DECLARING AIR QUALITY EPISODES.
 An air quality episode will be declared by the Department when pollutant concentrations reach, or are forecasted to 
reach, and persist, at or above the levels listed below. Pollutant concentrations will be determined by the Department 
through its analysis of meteorological and ambient air quality monitoring data.

Note: The deletion of Sections 517 through 527 is not effective until the repeal of Idaho Code § 39-116B on July 1, 
2023 (see Senate Bill No. 1254).

Pollutant Averaging Period Advisorya Alert Warning Emergencyb

CO 8 hour NA 15 ppm 30 ppm 40 ppm

NO2
1 hour NA 0.6 ppm 1.2 ppm 1.6 ppm

24 hour NA 0.15 ppm 0.3 ppm 0.4 ppm

O3 1 hour NA 0.2 ppm 0.4 ppm 0.5 ppm

SO2 24 hour NA 0.3 ppm 0.6 ppm 0.8 ppm

PM2.5
1 hour 80 µg/m3 NA NA NA

24 hour 50 µg/m3 NA NA NA

PM10
1 hour 385 µg/m3 NA NA NA

24 hour 150 µg/m3 350 µg/m3 420 µg/m3 500 µg/m3
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(        )

557. REQUIREMENTS DURING AIR QUALITY EPISODES.
All persons in an area under a declared air quality episode must comply with the following requirements. The 
Department may waive one (1) or more of the requirements at each episode level if, on the basis of information 
available, the requirement is an inappropriate response to the specific episode conditions that exist. (        )

01. Advisory. All open burning, as defined in Sections 600-624, is prohibited. No new ignition of open 
burning of any kind is allowed after an Advisory is declared. The Department may require, if practicable, or in an 
emergency situation, the cessation of any open burning. (        )

02. Alert. (        )

a. All open burning, as defined in Sections 600-624, is prohibited. (        )

b. The use of burners and incinerators for the disposal of any form of solid or liquid waste will be 
prohibited. (        )

c. Persons operating fuel-burning equipment that requires boiler lancing or soot blowing must 
perform such operations between the hours of 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 4:00 p.m. (        )

d. Commercial, industrial and institutional facilities utilizing coal or residual fuel oil are required to 
switch to natural gas or distillate oil if available. (        )

03. Warning. (        )

a. All open burning, as defined in Sections 600-624, is prohibited. (        )

b. The use of burners and incinerators for the disposal of any form of solid or liquid waste is 
prohibited. (        )

c. Persons operating fuel-burning equipment that requires boiler lancing or soot blowing must 
perform such operations between the hours of 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 4:00 p.m. (        )

d. Commercial, industrial and institutional facilities utilizing coal or residual fuel oil are required to 
either: (        )

i. Switch completely to natural gas or distillate oil; or (        )

ii. If these low sulfur fuels are not available, curtail the use of existing fuels to the extent possible 
without causing injury to persons or damage to equipment. (        )

04. Emergency. (        )

a. All open burning, as defined in Sections 600-624, is prohibited. (        )

Table Footnotes

a. The Department may call an Advisory, if it determines, after evaluating the pertinent meteorology, weather condi-
tions and air quality conditions such as visibility, and source parameters such as source type, strength, loca-
tion and projected duration, that an Advisory is required to protect the public health.

b. The Department will only declare an emergency with specific concurrence of Governor.

Pollutant Averaging Period Advisorya Alert Warning Emergencyb
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b. The use of burners and incinerators for the disposal of any form of solid or liquid waste is 
prohibited. (        )

c. Persons operating fuel-burning equipment that requires boiler lancing or soot blowing must 
perform such operations between the hours of 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 4:00 p.m. (        )

d. Commercial, industrial and institutional facilities utilizing coal or residual fuel oil are required to 
either: (        )

i. Switch completely to natural gas or distillate oil; or (        )

ii. If these low sulfur fuels are not available, curtail the use of existing fuels to the extent possible 
without causing injury to persons or damage to equipment. (        )

558. NOTIFICATION OF AIR QUALITY EPISODE.

01. Method of Communication. When the Department declares an air quality episode, it will utilize 
appropriate media to ensure that the following information is announced to the public, affected government, and 
commercial, industrial, institutional, and agricultural entities as practicable. (        )

02. Information to Be Given.

a.  Level of episode that is declared. (        )

b. Location and description of the designated area. (        )

c. Description of the cause of degraded air quality. (        )

d. Specific warnings and advice to those persons who, because of acute or chronic health problems, 
may be most susceptible to the effects of the degraded air quality. (        )

e. Air quality forecast for the following two (2) days. (        )

f. Duration of the episode and when the next statement from the Department will be issued. (        )

g. Listing of all requirements applicable to the public, commercial, institutional and industrial sectors.
(        )

559.—561. (RESERVED)

562. SPECIFIC AIR QUALITY EPISODE ABATEMENT PLANS FOR STATIONARY SOURCES.
In addition to the general rules presented in Section 557, the Department will require that specific stationary sources 
adopt and implement their own Air Quality Episode Abatement Plans in accordance with the criteria set forth in 
Section 556. An individual plan can be revised periodically by the Department after consultation between the 
Department and the owners and/or operators of the source. (        )

563 – 576. (RESERVED)

577. AMBIENT AIR QUALITY STANDARDS FOR FLUORIDES.
Primary and secondary air quality standards are those concentrations in the ambient air which result in a total fluoride 
content in vegetation used for feed and forage of no more than: (        )

01. Annual Standard. Forty (40) ppm, dry basis -- annual arithmetic mean. (        )

02. Bimonthly Standard. Sixty (60) ppm, dry basis -- monthly concentration for two (2) consecutive 
months. (        )
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03. Monthly Standard. Eighty (80) ppm, dry basis -- monthly concentration never to be exceeded.
(        )

578. (RESERVED)

579. BASELINES FOR PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT DETERIORATION.

01. Baseline Date(s). (        )

a. Major Source Baseline Date. (        )

i. In the case of PM10 and sulfur dioxide, January 6, 1975; (        )

ii. In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 1988; and (        )

iii. In the case of PM2.5, October 20, 2010. (        )

b. Minor Source Baseline Date. The earliest date after the trigger date on which a major stationary 
source or a major modification subject to prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) submits a complete 
application. The trigger date is: (        )

i. In the case of PM10 and sulfur dioxide, August 7, 1977; and (        )

ii. In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 1988. (        )

iii. In the case of PM2.5, October 20, 2011. (        )

c. The baseline date is established for each pollutant for which increments or other equivalent 
measures have been established if: (        )

i. The area in which the proposed source or modification would construct is designated as attainment 
or unclassifiable under Section 107(d) of the Clean Air Act for the pollutant on the date of its complete prevention of 
significant deterioration (PSD) application; and (        )

ii. In the case of a major stationary source, the pollutant would be emitted in significant amounts, or, 
in the case of a major modification, there would be a significant net emissions increase of the pollutant. (        )

d. Any minor source baseline date established originally for the TSP increments remains in effect and 
applies for purposes of determining the amount of available PM10 increments, except that the Department may 
rescind any such minor source baseline date where it can be shown, to the satisfaction of the Department, that the 
emissions increase from the major stationary source, or the net emissions increase from the major modification, 
responsible for triggering that date did not result in a significant amount of PM10 emissions. (        )

02. Baseline Area. Any intrastate area designated as attainment or unclassifiable under 42 U.S.C. 
Section 7407(d), in which the major facility or major modification establishing the minor source baseline date would 
construct or would have an air quality impact for the pollutant for which the baseline date is established, as follows: 
Equal to or greater than 1 µg/m3 (annual average) for SO2, NO2, or PM10; or equal or greater than 0.3 µg/m3 
(annual average) for PM2.5. (        )

03. Baseline Concentration. The ambient concentration for a particular regulated air pollutant which 
exists in the applicable baseline area on the applicable minor source baseline date. (        )

a. The baseline concentration represents: (        )

i. The actual emissions from sources in existence on the applicable minor source baseline date; and
(        )
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ii. The allowable emissions of major facilities and major modifications that commenced construction 
before the applicable major source baseline date, but were not in operation by the applicable minor source baseline 
date. (        )

b. The baseline concentration does not include the actual emissions of new major facilities and major 
modifications that commenced construction on or after the applicable major source baseline date. (        )

580. CLASSIFICATION OF PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT DETERIORATION AREAS.

01. Restrictions On Area Classification. Restrictions on classification are listed in 40 CFR 52.21(e).
(        )

02. Procedures for Redesignation of Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Areas. The 
Governor may submit to EPA a proposal to redesignate areas as a revision to the SIP. In preparing any such proposal 
the Department will: (        )

a. Consult with the elected leadership of local and other substate general purpose governments in the 
area covered by the proposed redesignation; (        )

b. Prepare a discussion of the reasons for the proposed redesignation, including a satisfactory 
description and analysis of the health, environmental, economic, social and energy effects of the proposal. This 
document will be made available for public inspection at least thirty (30) days prior to the public hearing on the 
proposed redesignation and the notice announcing the hearing will include notification of the availability of the 
document; (        )

c. Provide written notice to the appropriate Federal Land Manager of any federal lands proposed for 
redesignation and provide at least thirty (30) days for the Federal Land Manager to confer with the Department and to 
submit written comments and recommendations. If written comments and recommendations are submitted, the 
Department will publish a list of any inconsistency between the proposed redesignation and the comments and 
recommendations, including the reasons for making a redesignation against the recommendation of the Federal Land 
Manager; (        )

d. Notify other states, Indian governing bodies, and federal land managers whose land may be 
affected by the proposed redesignation at least thirty (30) days prior to the public hearing; (        )

e. For a redesignation to Class III: After consulting with the appropriate committees of the legislature, 
if it is in session, or the leadership of the legislature, if it is not in session, obtain specific approval by the Governor 
and by all general purpose units of local government representing a majority of the residents of the area to be 
redesignated; demonstrate that the redesignation would not cause, or contribute to, violations of any ambient air 
quality standard, or violations of PSD increments in any other area; and make available, for public inspection prior to 
the public hearing, any permit application and accompanying material for any major facility or major modification 
which could only be permitted if the area were designated as Class III; and (        )

f. Hold at least one (1) public hearing on the proposed redesignation. (        )

581. PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT DETERIORATION (PSD) INCREMENTS.
Section 581 establishes the allowable degree of deterioration for the areas within the State that have air quality better 
than the ambient standards. (        )

01. Incorporated Federal Program Requirements - Class I, II and III Areas. Class I, II, and III 
area PSD increment requirements contained in 40 CFR 52.21(c) are incorporated by reference in Section 107. These 
CFR sections have been codified in the electronic CFR at www.ecfr.gov. (        )

02. Exceedances. For any period other than an annual period, the applicable maximum allowable 
increase may be exceeded during one (1) such period per year at any one (1) location. (        )

03. Exclusions. The following concentrations will be excluded in determining compliance with the 
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 174 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK

www.ecfr.gov


DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
maximum allowable increases: (        )

a. Concentrations attributable to the increase in emissions from facilities that have converted from the 
use of petroleum products, natural gas, or both by reason of an order in effect under the Energy Supply and 
Environmental Coordination Act of 1974 (or any superseding legislation) or by reason of a natural gas curtailment 
plan in effect pursuant to the Federal Power Act, over the emissions from such facilities before the effective date of 
such order or plan; this does not apply more than five (5) years after the effective date of such order or plan;

(        )

b. Concentrations of PM-10 attributable to the increase in emissions from construction or other 
temporary emission-related activities of new or modified facilities; (        )

c. The increase in concentrations attributable to new facilities outside the United States over the 
concentrations attributable to existing facilities which are included in the baseline concentration; and (        )

d. Concentrations attributable to the temporary increase in emissions of sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 
dioxide, or particulate matter from facilities that are affected by a revision to the SIP approved by EPA; this exclusion 
may not exceed two (2) years unless a longer time is approved by EPA, is not renewable, and applies only to revisions 
that: (        )

i. Would not affect the applicable pollutant concentrations in a Class I area or an area where an 
applicable increment is known to be violated and would not cause or contribute to a violation of an ambient air 
quality standard; and (        )

ii. Require limitations to be in effect at the end of the approved time period that would ensure that the 
emissions from facilities affected by the revision would not exceed those concentrations occurring before the revision 
was approved. (        )

582. -- 584. (RESERVED)

585. TOXIC AIR POLLUTANTS NON-CARCINOGENIC INCREMENTS.
The screening emissions levels (EL) and acceptable ambient concentrations (AAC) for non-carcinogens are as 
provided in the following table. The AAC in this section are twenty-four (24) hour averages. (        )

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)

60-35-5 Acetamide (NY) -- 0.002 0.0003

64-19-7 Acetic acid 25 1.67 1.25

108-24-7 Acetic anhydride 20 1.33 1

67-64-1 Acetone 1780 119 89

75-05-8 Acetonitrile 67 4.47 3.35

540-59-0 Acetylene dichloride, See 1,2-Dichloroethylene

79-27-6 Acetylene tetrabromide 15 1 .75

107-02-8 Acrolein 0.25 0.017 0.0125

79-10-7 Acrylic acid 30 2 1.5

107-18-6 Allyl alcohol 5 0.333 .25

106-92-3 Allyl glycidyl ether 22 1.47 1.1

2179-59-1 Allyl propyl disulfide 12 0.8 0.6
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7429-90-5 Aluminum Including:

NA Metal & Oxide 10 0.667 0.5

NA Pyro powders 5 0.333 0.25

NA Soluble salts 2 0.133 0.10

NA Alkyls not otherwise classified 2 0.133 0.10

141-43-5 2-Aminoethanol, See Ethanolamine 

504-29-0 2-Aminopyridine 2 0.133 0.10

7664-41-7 Ammonia 18 1.2 0.9

12125-02-9 Ammonium chloride fume 10 0.667 0.5

3825-26-1 Ammonium perfluo-octanoate 0.1 0.007 0.05

7773-06-0 Ammonium sulfamate 10 0.667 0.5

628-63-7 n-Amyl acetate 530 35.3 26.5

626-38-0 Sec-Amyl acetate 665 44.3 33.25

7440-36-0 Antimony & compounds, as Sb (handling & use) 0.5 0.033 0.025

86-88-4 ANTU 0.3 0.02 0.015

7784-42-1 Arsine 0.2 0.013 0.01

86-50-0 Azinphos-methyl 0.2 0.013 0.01

7440-39-3 Barium, soluble compounds, as Ba 0.5 0.033 0.025

17804-35-2 Benomyl 10 0.67 0.5

7106-51-4 p-Benzoquinone, See Quinone 

94-36-0 Benzoyl peroxide 5 0.333 0.25

92-52-4 Biphenyl 1.5 0.1 0.075

1304-82-1 Bismuth telluride undoped 10 0.667 0.05

 NA Bismuth telluride if selenium doped 5 0.333 0.25

1303-96-4 Borates, tetra odium salts - Including:

NA Anhydrous 1 0.067 0.05

NA Decahydrate 5 0.333 0.25

NA Pentahydrate 1 0.067 0.05

1303-86-2 Boron oxide 10 0.667 0.5

10294-33-4 Boron tribromide 10 0.667 0.5

7637-07-2 Boron trifluoride 3 0.2 0.25

314-40-9 Bromacil 10 0.667 0.5

7726-95-6 Bromine 0.7 0.047 0.035

7789-30-2 Bromine penta-fluoride 0.7 0.047 0.035

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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75-25-2 Bromoform 5 0.333 0.25

109-79-5 Butanethiol, see Butyl mercaptan

78-93-3 2-Butanone, see Methyl ethyl ketone

112-07-2 2-butoxyethyl acetate --- 8.33 1.25

111-76-2 2-Butoxyethanol (EGBG) 120 8 6

123-86-4 n-Butyl acetate 710 47.3 35.5

105-46-4 sec-Butyl acetate 950 63.3 47.5

540-88-5 tert-Butyl acetate 950 63.3 47.5

141-32-2 Butyl acrylate 55 3.67 2.75

71-36-3 n-Butyl alcohol 150 10 7.5

78-92-2 Sec-Butyl alcohol 305 20.3 15.25

75-65-0 tert-Butyl alcohol 300 20 15

109-73-9 Butylamine 15 1 .75

124-17-4 Butyl carbitol acetate (ID) --- 0.846 .625

1189-85-1 tert-Butyl chromate, as CrO3 0.1 0.007 .005

2426-08-6 n-Butyl glycidyl ether 135 9 6.75

138-22-7 n-Butyl lactate 25 1.67 1.25

109-79-5 Butyl mercaptan 1.8 0.12 0.09

89-72-5 o-sec-Butylphenol 30 2 1.5

98-51-1 p-tert-Butyltoluene 60 4 3

1317-65-3 Calcium carbonate 10 0.667 0.5

156-62-7 Calcium cyanamide 0.5 0.033 0.025

1305-62-0 Calcium hydroxide 5 0.333 0.25

1305-78-8 Calcium oxide 2 0.133 0.1

1344-95-2 Calcium silicate (synthetic) 10 0.667 0.5

13397-24-5 Calcium sulfate 10 0.667 0.5

76-22-2 Camphor, synthetic 12 0.8 0.6

105-60-2 Caprolactam - Including:

 Dust 1 0.067 0.05

 Vapor 20 1.33 1.0

1333-86-4 Carbon black 3.5 0.23 0.175

2425-06-1 Captafol 0.1 0.007 0.005

133-06-2 Captan 5 0.333 0.25

463-58-1 Carbonyl sulfide 0.4 0.027 0.02

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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63-25-2 Carbaryl 5 0.333 0.25

1563-66-2 Carbofuran 0.1 0.007 0.005

75-15-0 Carbon disulfide 30 2 1.5

558-13-4 Carbon tetrabromide 1.4 0.093 0.07

75-44-5 Carbonyl chloride, See Phosgene

353-50-4 Carbonyl fluoride 5 0.333 0.25

120-80-9 Catechol 20 1.33 1.0

21351-79-1 Cesium hydroxide 2 0.133 0.10

133-90-4 Chloramben (PL) --- 887 133

8001-35-2 Chlorinated camphene 0.5 0.0333 0.025

31242-93-0 Chlorinated diphenyl oxide 0.5 0.033 0.025

7782-50-5 Chlorine 3 0.2 0.15

10049-04-4 Chlorine dioxide 0.3 0.02 0.015

7790-91-2 Chlorine trifluoride (CL) 0.38 0.025 0.002

107-20-0 Chloroacetaldehyde 0.32 0.021 0.015

78-95-5 Chloroacetone 0.38 0.0253 0.019

532-27-4 a-Chloroacetophenone 0.32 0.021 0.016

79-04-9 Chloroacetyl chloride 0.2 0.013 0.01

108-90-7 Chlorobenzene 350 23.3 17.5

510-15-6 Chlorobenzilate (PL1) --- 0.047 0.035

2698-41-1 O-Chlorobenzylidene malononitrile (CL) 0.4 0.0027 0.03

126-99-8 2-Chloro-1,3-butadiene, see B-Chloroprene

107-07-3 2-Chloroethanol, see Ethylene chlorohydrin

600-25-9 1-Chloro-1-nitro propane 10 0.667 0.5

95-57-8 2-Chlorophenol (and all isomers) (ID) --- 0.033 0.025

76-06-2 Chloropicrin 0.7 0.047 0.037

126-99-8 B-chloroprene 36 2.4 1.8

2039-87-4 o-Chlorostyrene 285 19 14.25

95-49-8 o-Chlorotoluene 250 16.7 12.5

1929-82-4 2-Chloro-6-(tri-chloromethyl) pyridine, see Nitrapyrin 

2921-88-2 Chlorpyrifos 0.2 0.013 0.01

7440-47-3 Chromium metal - Including: 0.5 0.033 0.025

 7440-47-3 Chromium (II) compounds, as Cr 0.5 0.033 0.025

 16065-83-1 Chromium (III) compounds, as Cr 0.5 0.033 0.025

CAS
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2971-90-6 Clopidol 10 0.667 0.5

NA Coal dust (<5% silica) 2 0.133 0.1

10210-68-1 Cobalt carbonyl as Co 0.1 0.007 0.005

16842-03-8 Cobalt hydrocarbonyl as Co 0.1 0.007 0.005

7440-48-4 Cobalt metal, dust, and fume 0.05 0.0033 0.0025

7440-50-8 Copper:

7440-50-8 Fume 0.2 0.013 0.01

7440-50-8 Dusts & mists, as Cu 1 0.067 0.05

95-48-7 o-Cresol 22 1.47 1.1

108-39-4 m-Cresol 22 1.47 1.1

106-44-5 p-Cresol 22 1.47 1.1

1319-77-3 Cresols/Cresylic Acid (isomers and mixtures) 22 1.47 1.1

123-73-9 Crotonaldehyde 5.7 0.38 0.285

299-86-5 Cruformate 5 0.333 0.25

98-82-8 Cumene 245 16.3 12.25

420-04-2 Cyanamide 2 0.133 0.1

592-01-8 Cyanide and compounds as CN 5 0.333 0.25

110-82-7 Cyclohexane 1050 70 52.5

108-93-0 Cyclohexanol 200 13.3 10

108-94-1 Cyclohexanone 100 6.67 5

110-83-8 Cyclohexene 1015 67.7 50.75

108-91-8 Cyclohexylamine 41 2.73 2.05

121-82-4 Cyclonite 1.5 0.1 0.075

542-92-7 Cyclopentadiene 200 13.3 10

287-92-3 Cyclopentane 1720 114.667 86

94-75-7 2,4-D 10 0.667 0.5

17702-41-9 Decaborane 0.3 0.02 0.015

8065-48-3 Demeton 0.1 0.007 0.005

123-42-2 Diacetone alcohol 240 16 12

39393-37-8 Dialkyl phthalate (ID) --- 16.4 2.46

107-15-3 1,2-Diaminoethane, See Ethylenediamine

333-41-5 Diazinon 0.1 0.007 0.005

334-88-3 Diazomethane 0.34 0.023 0.017

19287-45-7 Diborane 0.1 0.007 0.005

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
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(mg/m3)
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 179 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
102-81-8 2-N-Dibutylamino ethanol 14 0.933 0.7

2528-36-1 Dibutyl phenyl phosphate 3.5 0.233 0.175

107-66-4 Dibutyl phosphate 8.6 0.573 0.43

84-74-2 Dibutyl phthalate 5 0.333 0.25

7572-29-4 Dichloroacetylene 0.39 0.0026 0.0195

95-50-1 o-Dichlorobenzene 300 20 15

106-46-7 1,4-Dichlorobenzene 450 30 22.5

118-52-5 1,3-Dichloro-5, 5-dimethyl hydantoin 0.2 0.013 0.025

75-34-3 Dichloroethane 405 27 20.25

540-59-0 1,2-Dichloroethylene 790 52.7 39.5

111-44-4 Dichloroethyl ether 30 2 1.5

75-43-4 Dichlorofluoromethane 40 2.67 2

594-72-9 1, l-Dichloro-l-nitroethane 10 0.667 0.5

78-87-5 1,2-Dichloropropane, see Propylene dichloride

75-99-0 2,2-Dichloropropionic acid 6 0.4 0.3

62-73-7 Dichlorvos 1 0.067 0.05

141-66-2 Dicrotophos 0.25 0.017 0.125

77-73-6 Dicyclopentadiene 30 2 1.5

102-54-5 Dicyclopentadienyl iron 10 0.667 0.5

111-42-2 Diethanolamine 15 1 0.75

109-89-7 Diethylamine 30 2 1.5

100-37-8 2-Diethylamino-ethanol 50 3.33 2.5

111-40-0 Diethylene triamine 4 0.267 0.2

60-29-7 Diethyl ether 1200 80 60

96-22-0 Diethyl Ketone 705 47 35.25

84-66-2 Diethyl phthalate 5 0.333 0.25

2238-07-5 Diglycidyl ether (DGE) 0.53 0.035 0.0265

123-31-9 Dihydroxybenzene, see Hydroquinone

108-83-8 Diisobutyl ketone 145 9.67 7.25

108-18-9 Diisopropylamine 20 1.33 1

127-19-5 Dimethyl acetamide 35 2.33 1.75

124-40-3 Dimethylamine 9.2 0.613 0.46

60-11-7 Dimethyl aminoazo-benzene (NY) --- 0.002 0.0003

1300-73-8 Dimethylamino-benzene, see Xylidine

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL
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121-69-7 Dimethylaniline (N,N-Dimethylaniline) 25 1.67 1.25

1330-20-7 Dimethylbenzene, see Xylene

300-76-5 Dimethyl-1,2-dibromo-2-dichloroethyl phosphate, 
see Naled

68-12-2 Dimethylformamide 30 2 1.5

108-83-8 2,6-Dimethyl-4-heptanone, see Diisobutyl ketone

131-11-3 Dimethylphthalate 5 0.333 0.25

148-01-6 Dinitolmide 5 0.333 0.25

528-29-0 Dinitrobenzene 1 0.067 0.05

99-65-0 m (or) 1,3-Dinitrobenzene 1 0.067 0.05

100-25-4 p (or) 1,4-Dinitrobenzene 1 0.067 0.05

534-52-1 Dinitro-o-cresol 0.2 0.013 0.01

148-01-6 3,5-Dinitro-o-toluamide, see Dinitolmide 

117-84-0 N-Dioctyl Phthalate 5 0.333 0.25

78-34-2 Dioxathion 0.2 0.013 0.01

92-52-4 Diphenyl, see Biphenyl 

122-39-4 Diphenylamine 10 0.667 0.5

Diphenyl methane diisocyanate,
see Methylenediphenyl diisocyanate

 34590-94-8 Dipropylene glycol methyl ether 600 40 30

123-19-3 Dipropyl ketone 235 15.7 11.75

85-00-7 Diquat 0.5 0.033 0.01

97-77-8 Disulfiram 2 0.133 0.1

298-04-4 Disulfoton 0.1 0.007 0.005

128-37-0 2,6-Ditert. butyl-p-cresol 10 0.667 0.5

330-54-1 Diuron 10 0.667 0.5

108-57-6 Divinyl benzene 50 3.33 2.5

1302-74-5 Emery (corundum) total dust (> 1% silica) 10 0.667 0.5

115-29-7 Endosulfan 0.1 0.007 0.005

72-20-8 Endrin 0.1 0.007 0.005

13838-16-9 Enflurane 566 37.7 28.3

1395-21-7 Enzymes, see Subtilisins

2104-64-5 EPN (Ethoxy-4-Nitro-phenoxy phenylphosphine) 0.5 0.033 0.025

106-88-7 1,2-Epoxybutane (MI) --- 0.8 0.6

CAS
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75-56-9 1,2-Epoxypropane, see Propylene oxide

556-52-5 2,3-Epoxy-1-propanol, see Glycidol

75-08-1 Ethanethiol, see Ethyl mercaptan

141-43-5 Ethanolamine 8 0.533 0.4

563-12-2 Ethion 0.4 0.027 0.02

110-80-5 2-Ethoxyethanol 19 1.27 0.95

111-15-9 2-Ethoxyethyl acetate (EGEEA) 27 1.8 1.35

141-78-6 Ethyl acetate 1400 93.3 70

64-17-5 Ethyl alcohol 1880 125 94

75-04-7 Ethylamine 18 1.2 0.9

541-85-5 Ethyl amyl ketone 130 8.67 6.5

100-41-4 Ethyl benzene 435 29 21.75

74-96-4 Ethyl bromide 22 1.47 1.1

106-35-4 Ethyl butyl ketone 230 15.3 11.5

51-79-6 Ethyl carbamate (Urethane) (WA) --- 0.002 0.0015

75-00-3 Ethyl chloride 2640 176 132

107-07-3 Ethylene chlorohydrin 3 0.2 0.15

107-15-3 Ethylenediamine 25 1.67 1.25

107-06-2 Ethylene dichloride 40 2.667 2

107-21-1 Ethylene glycol vapor (CL) 127 0.846 6.35

628-96-6 Ethylene glycol denigrate 0.31 0.021 0.016

110-49-6 Ethylene glycol methyl ether acetate, 
see 2-Methoxyethyl acetate 

96-45-7 Ethylene thiourea (PL2) --- 0.047 0.035

109-94-4 Ethyl formate 300 20 15

16219-75-3 Ethylidene norbornene (CL) 25 0.167 1.25

75-08-1 Ethyl mercaptan 1 0.067 0.05

100-74-3 N-Ethylmorpholine 23 1.53 1.15

78-10-4 Ethyl silicate 85 5.67 4.25

22224-92-6 Fenamiphos 0.1 0.007 0.005

115-90-2 Fensulfothion 0.1 0.007 0.005

55-38-9 Fenthion 0.2 0.013 0.01

14484-64-1 Ferbam 10 0.667 0.5

12604-58-9 Ferrovanadium dust 1 0.067 0.05

CAS
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NA Fibrous glass dust 10 0.667 0.5

NA

Fine Mineral Fibers - Including: mineral fiber emissions 
from facilities manufacturing or processing glass, 
rock, or slag fibers (or other mineral derived 
fibers) of average diameter 1 micrometer or less. 
(ID)

-- 0.661 0.5

NA Fluorides, as F 2.5 0.167 0.125

7782-41-4 Fluorine 2 0.133 0.1

944-22-9 Fonofos 0.1 0.007 0.005

75-12-7 Formamide 30 2 1.5

64-18-6 Formic acid 9.4 0.627 0.47

98-01-1 Furfural 8 0.533 0.4

98-00-0 Furfuryl alcohol 40 2.67 2

7782-65-2 Germanium tetrahydride 0.6 0.04 0.03

NA Glass, Fibrous or dust, see Fibrous glass dust

111-30-8 Glutaraldehyde (CL) 0.82 0.0047 0.041

556-52-5 Glycidol 75 5 3.75

110-80-5 Glycol monoethyl ether, see 2-Ethoxyethanol

7440-58-6 Hafnium 0.5 0.033 0.025

110-43-0 2-Heptanone, see Methyl n-amyl ketone

106-35-4 3-Heptanone, see Ethyl butyl ketone

151-67-7 Halothane 404 26.9 20.2

142-82-5 Heptane (n-Heptane) 1640 109 82

77-47-4 Hexachlorocyclopentadiene 0.1 0.007 0.005

1335-87-1 Hexachloronaphthalene 0.2 0.013 0.010

684-16-2 Hexafluoroacetone 0.7 0.047 0.035

822-06-0 Hexamethylene diisocyanate 0.03 0.002 0.0015

680-31-9 Hexamethylphosphoramide (WA) --- 0.002 0.0015

110-54-3 Hexane (n-Hexane) 180 12 9

591-78-6 2-Hexanone, see Methyl n-butyl ketone

108-10-1 Hexone, see Methyl isobutyl ketone

108-84-9 sec-Hexyl acetate 300 20 15

107-41-5 Hexylene glycol (CL) 121 0.806 6.05

37275-59-5 Hydrogenated terphenyls 5 0.333 0.25

10035-10-6 Hydrogen bromide (CL) 10 0.0667 0.5

CAS
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7647-01-0 Hydrogen chloride (CL) 7.5 0.05 0.375

7722-84-1 Hydrogen peroxide 1.5 0.1 0.075

7783-06-4 Hydrogen sulfide 14 0.933 0.7

123-31-9 Hydroquinone 2 0.133 0.1

123-42-2 4-Hydroxy-4-Methyl-2-pentanone, see Diacetone alcohol 

999-61-1 2 -Hydroxypropyl acrylate 3 0.2 0.15

95-13-6 Indene 45 3 2.25

7440-74-6 Indium & compounds as In 0.1 0.007 0.005

7553-56-2 Iodine (CL) 0.1 0.0067 0.005

75-47-8 Iodoform 10 0.667 0.5

1309-37-1 Iron oxide fume (Fe2O3) as Fe 5 0.333 0.25

13463-40-6 Iron pentacarbonyl as Fe 0.8 0.053 0.04

7439-89-6 Iron salts, soluble, as Fe 1 0.067 0.05

123-92-2 Isoamyl acetate 525 35 26.25

123-51-3 Isoamyl alcohol 360 24 18

110-19-0 Isobutyl acetate 700 46.7 35

78-83-1 Isobutyl alcohol 150 10 6

26952-21-6 Isooctyl alcohol 270 18 13.5

78-59-1 Isophorone 28 1.867 1.4

4098-71-9 Isophorone diisocyanate 0.09 0.006 0.0045

109-59-1 Isopropoxyethanol 105 7 5.25

108-21-4 Isopropyl Acetate 1040 69.3 52

67-63-0 Isopropyl alcohol 980 65.3 49

75-31-0 Isopropylamine 12 0.8 0.6

643-28-7 N-Isopropylaniline 10 0.667 0.5

108-20-3 Isopropyl ether 1040 69.3 52

4016-14-2 Isopropyl glycidyl ether (IGE) 240 16 12

1332-58-7 Kaolin (respirable dust) 2 0.133 0.1

463-51-4 Ketene 0.9 0.06 0.045

7580-67-8 Lithium hydride 0.025 0.002 0.00125

546-93-0 Magnesite 10 0.667 0.5

1309-48-4 Magnesium oxide fume 10 0.667 0.5

121-75-5 Malathion 10 0.667 0.5

108-31-6 Maleic anhydride 1 0.067 0.05

CAS
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7439-96-5 Manganese as Mn Including: 

7439-96-5 Dust & compounds 5 0.333 0.25

7439-96-5 Fume 1 0.067 0.05

101-68-8 MDI, see Methylene diphenyl isocyanate

NA Mercaptans not otherwise listed (ID) --- 0.033 0.025

141-79-7 Mesityl oxide 60 4 3

79-41-4 Methacrylic acid 70 4.67 3.5

74-93-1 Methanethiol, see Methyl mercaptan

67-56-1 Methanol 260 17.3 13

16752-77-5 Methomyl 2.5 0.17 0.125

72-43-5 Methoxychlor 10 0.667 0.5

109-86-4 2-Methoxyethanol 16 1.07 0.8

110-49-6 2-Methoxyethyl acetate 24 1.6 1.2

150-76-5 4-Methoxyphenol 5 0.333 0.25

108-65-6 1-methoxy-2-propyl acetate (ID) n/a 24 3.6

79-20-9 Methyl acetate 610 40.7 30.5

74-99-7 Methyl acetylene 1640 109 82

NA Methyl acetylene-propadiene mix (MAPP) 1640 109 82

96-33-3 Methyl acrylate 35 2.33 1.75

126-98-7 Methylacrylonitrile 3 0.2 0.15

74-89-5 Methylamine 12 0.8 0.6

108-11-2 Methyl emyl alcohol, see Methyl isobutyl carbinol

110-43-0 Methyl n-amyl ketone 235 15.7 11.75 

100-61-8 N-Methyl aniline 2 0.133 0.1

74-83-9 Methyl bromide 19 1.27 0.95

591-78-6 Methyl n-butyl ketone 20 1.33 1

74-87-3 Methyl chloride 103 6.867 5.15

71-55-6 Methyl chloroform 1910 127 95.5

137-05-3 Methyl 2-cyano-acrylate 8 0.533 0.4

25639-42-3 Methylcyclohexanol 235 15.7 11.75

583-60-8 o-Methylcyclohexanone 230 15.3 11.5

8022-00-2 Methyl demeton 0.5 0.033 0.01

101-68-8 Methylenediphenyl diisocyanate (MDI) 0.05 0.003 0.0025

5124-30-1 Methylene bis (4-cyclohexyl isocyanate) 0.11 0.007 0.0055

CAS
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78-93-3 Methyl ethyl ketone (MEK) 590 39.3 29.5

1338-23-4 Methyl ethyl ketone peroxide (CL) 1.5 0.01 0.0075

107-31-3 Methyl formate 246 16.4 12.3

541-85-5 5-Methyl-3-heptanone, see Ethyl amyl ketone

110-12-3 Methyl isoamyl ketone 240 16 12

108-11-2 Methyl isobutyl carbinol 104 6.93 5.2

108-10-1 Methyl isobutyl ketone 205 13.7 10.25

624-83-9 Methyl isocyanate 0.05 0.003 0.0025

563-80-4 Methyl isopropyl ketone 705 47 35.25

74-93-1 Methyl mercaptan 0.5 0.033 0.025

80-62-6 Methyl methacrylate 410 27.3 20.5

298-00-0 Methyl parathion 0.2 0.013 0.01

107-87-9 Methyl propyl ketone 700 46.7 35

681-84-5 Methyl silicate 6 0.4 0.3

98-83-9 a-Methyl styrene 240 16 10.20

109-87-5 Methylal (dimethoxymethane) 3110 207 155.5

108-87-2 Methylcyclohexane 1610 107 80.5

21087-64-9 Metribuzin 5 0.333 0.25

7786-34-7 Mevinphos 0.1 0.007 0.005

12001-26-2 Mica (Respirable dust) 3 0.2 0.15

NA Mineral Wool Fiber (no asbestos) 10 0.667 0.5

7439-98-7 Molybdenum as Mo - Including:

NA Soluble compounds 5 0.333 0.25

NA Insoluble compounds 10 0.667 0.5

108-90-7 Monochlorobenzene, see Chlorobenzene

6923-22-4 Monocrotophos 0.25 0.017 0.0125

110-91-8 Morpholine 70 4.67 0.35

300-76-5 Naled 3 0.2 0.15

91-20-3 Naphthalene 50 3.33 2.5

54-11-5 Nicotine 0.5 0.033 0.025

1929-82-4 Nitrapyrin 10 0.667 0.5

7697-37-2 Nitric acid 5 0.333 0.25

100-01-6 p-Nitroaniline 3 0.2 0.15

98-95-3 Nitrobenzene 5 0.333 0.25

CAS
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100-00-5 p-Nitrochlorobenzene 3 0.2 0.15

79-24-3 Nitroethane 310 20.7 15.5

7783-54-2 Nitrogen trifluoride 29 1.93 1.45

55-63-0 Nitroglycerin 0.46 0.031 0.023 

75-52-5 Nitromethane 50 3.333 2.5

108-03-2 1-Nitropropane 90 6 4.5

99-08-1 m (or) 3-Nitrotoluene 11 0.733 0.55

88-72-2 o (or) 2-Nitrotoluene 11 0.733 0.55

99-99-0 p (or) 4-Nitrotoluene 11 0.733 0.55

76-06-2 Nitrotrichloromethane, see Chloropicrin

10024-97-2 Nitrous oxide 90 6 4.5

111-84-2 Nonane 1050 70 52.5

2234-13-1 Octachloronaphthalene 0.1 0.007 0.005

111-65-9 Octane 1400 93.3 70

NA Oil mist, mineral 5 0.333 0.25

20816-12-0 Osmium tetroxide as Os 0.002 0.0001 0.0001

144-62-7 Oxalic acid 1 0.067 0.05

7783-41-7 Oxygen difluoride (CL) 0.11 0.0007 0.0005

8002-74-2 Paraffin wax fume 2 0.133 0.1

4685-14-7 Paraquat 0.1 0.007 0.007

NA Paraquat, all Compounds 0.1 0.007 0.005

56-38-2 Parathion 0.1 0.007 0.005

19624-22-7 Pentaborane 0.01 0.001 0.0005

1321-64-8 Pentachloronaphthalene 0.5 0.033 0.025

82-68-8 Pentachloronitrobenzene 0.5 0.0333 0.025

87-86-5 Pentachlorophenol 0.5 0.033 0.025

109-66-0 Pentane 1770 118 88.5

107-87-9 2-Pentanone, see Methyl propyl ketone

594-42-3 Perchloromethyl mercaptan 0.8 0.053 0.04

7616-94-6 Perchloryl Fluoride 13 0.867 0.65

93763-70-3 Perlite 10 0.667 0.5

532-27-4 Phenacyl chloride, see a-Chloroacetophenone

108-95-2 Phenol 19 1.27 0.95

92-84-2 Phenothiazine 5 0.333 0.25

CAS
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108-45-2 m-Phenylenediamine 0.1 0.0067 0.005

106-50-3 p-Phenylenediamine 0.1 0.007 0.005

101-84-8 Phenyl ether, vapor 7 0.467 0.035

122-60-1 Phenyl glycidyl ether (PGE) 6 0.4 0.3

108-98-5 Phenyl mercaptan 2 0.133 0.1

638-21-1 Phenylphosphine (CL) 0.25 0.0017 0.00125

298-02-2 Phorate 0.05 0.003 0.001

7786-34-7 Phosdrin, see Mevinphos

75-44-5 Phosgene 0.4 0.027 0.02

7803-51-2 Phosphine 0.4 0.027 0.02

7664-38-2 Phosphoric acid 1 0.067 0.05

7723-14-0 Phosphorus 0.1 0.007 0.005

10025-87-3 Phosphorus oxychloride 0.6 0.04 0.030

10026-13-8 Phosphorus penta-chloride 1 0.067 0.05

1313-80-3 Phosphorus penta-sulfide 1 0.067 0.05

1314-56-3 Phosphorus pentoxide (ID) -- 0.067 0.05

7719-12-2 Phosphorus trichloride 1.5 0.1 0.075

85-44-9 Phthalic anhydride 6 0.4 0.3

626-17-5 m-Phthalodinitrile 5 0.333 0.25

1918-02-1 Picloram 10 0.667 0.5

88-89-1 Picric acid 0.1 0.006 0.005

83-26-1 Pindone 0.1 0.007 0.005

142-64-3 Piperazine dihydro-chloride 5 0.333 0.25

83-26-1 2-Pivaloyl-l,3-indandione, see Pindone

7440-06-4 Platinum - Including:

7440-06-4 Metal 1 0.067 0.05

NA Soluble salts, as Pt 0.002 0.0001 0.0001

65997-15-1 Portland cement 10 0.667 0.5

1310-58-3 Potassium hydroxide 2 0.133 0.1

107-19-7 Propargyl alcohol 2.3 0.153 0.115

123-38-6 Propionaldehyde (LA) 0.43 0.0287 0.0215

79-09-4 Propionic acid 30 2 1.5

114-26-1 Propoxur (Baygon) 0.5 0.033 0.025

109-60-4 n-Propyl acetate 840 56 42

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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71-23-8 Propyl alcohol 500 33.3 25

78-87-5 Propylene dichloride 347 23.133 17.35

6423-43-4 Propylene glycol dinitrate 0.34 0.023 0.017

107-98-2 Propylene glycol monomethyl ether 360 24 18 

75-56-9 Propylene oxide 48 3.2 2.4

627-13-4 n-Propyl nitrate 105 7 5.25

8003-34-7 Pyrethrum 5 0.333 0.25

110-86-1 Pyridine 15 1 0.75

120-80-9 Pyrocatechol, see Catechol

106-51-4 Quinone 0.4 0.027 0.02

121-84-4 RDX, see Cyclonite

NA Refractory Ceramic Fibers 
(see entry for specific content of emissions, ex: silica)

108-46-3 Resorcinol 45 3 2.25

7440-16-6 Rhodium - Including: 

7440-16-6 Metal 1 0.067 0.05

NA Insoluble compounds, as Rh 1 0.067 0.05

NA Soluble compounds, as Rh 0.01 0.001 0.0005

299-84-3 Ronnel 10 0.667 0.5

83-79-4 Rotenone (commercial) 5 0.333 0.25

8030-30-6 Rubber solvent (Naphtha) 1590 106 79.5

14167-18-1 Salcoine as CO 0.1 0.007 0.005

7782-49-2 Selenium 0.2 0.013 0.010

NA Selenium and compounds as Se 0.2 0.013 0.01

136-78-7 Sesone 10 0.667 0.5

7803-62-5 Silane, see silicon tectrahydride

NA Silica - amorphous - Including:

61790-53-2 Diatomaceous earth (uncalcined) 10 0.667 0.5

112926-00-8 Precipitated silica 10 0.667 0.5

112926-00-8 Silica gel 10 0.667 0.5

NA Silica, crystalline - Including:

14464-46-1 Cristobalite 0.05 0.0033 0.0025

14808-60-7 quartz 0.1 0.0067 0.005

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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60676-86-0 silica, fused 0.1 0.0067 0.005

 15468-32-3  tridymite 0.05 0.0033 0.0025

 1317-95-9  Tripoli 0.1 0.0067 0.005

7440-21-3 Silicon 10 0.667 0.5

409-21-2 Silicon carbide 10 0.667 0.5

7803-62-5 Silicon tetrahydride 7 0.467 0.35

7440-22-4 Silver - Including

7440-22-4 Metal 0.1 0.007 0.005

7440-22-4 Soluble compounds, as Ag 0.01 0.001 0.005

26628-22-8 Sodium azide (CL) 0.3 0.002 0.0015

7631-90-5 Sodium bisulfite 5 0.333 0.25

136-78-7 Sodium 2,4-dichloro-phenoxyethyl sulfate, see Sesone

62-74-8 Sodium fluoroacetate 0.05 0.003 0.0025

1310-73-2 Sodium hydroxide 2 0.133 0.1

7681-57-4 Sodium metabisulfite 5 0.333 0.25

NA Stearates (not including toxic metals) 10 0.667 0.5

7803-52-3 Stibine 0.5 0.033 0.025

8052-41-3 Stoddard solvent 525 35 26.25

57-24-9 Strychnine 0.15 0.01 0.0075

60-41-3 Strychnine sulfate as strichnine 0.15 0.01 0.01

100-42-5 Styrene monomer (ID) -- 6.67 1

1395-21-7 Subtilisins (Proteolytic enzymes as 100% 
pure crystalline enzyme) 0.00006 4.0E-07 3.0E-7

3689-24-5 Sulfotep 0.2 0.013 0.01

7664-93-9 Sulfuric acid 1 0.067 0.05

10025-67-9 Sulfur monochloride (CL) 6 0.04 0.03

5714-22-7 Sulfur pentafluoride (CL) 0.1 0.0007 0.0005

7783-60-0 Sulfur tetrafluoride (CL) 0.4 0.0027 0.002

2699-79-8 Sulfuryl fluoride 20 1.33 1

35400-43-2 Sulprofos 1 0.067 0.05

8065-48-3 Systox, see Demeton 

93-76-5 2,4,5-Trichlorophen-oxyacetic acid (2,4,5,-T) 10 0.667 0.05

7440-25-7 Tantalum 5 0.333 0.25

3689-24-5 TEDP, see Sulfotep

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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13494-80-9 Tellurium & Compounds as Te 0.1 0.007 0.005

7783-80-4 Tellurium hexafluoride as Te 0.2 0.013 0.01

3383-96-8 Temephos 10 0.667 0.5

107-49-3 TEPP (Tetraethyl-pyrophosphate) 0.05 0.003 0.0025

26140-60-3 Terphenyls 4.7 0.313 0.235

1335-88-2 Tetrachloronaphthalene 2 0.133 0.10

78-00-2 Tetraethyl Lead 0.1 0.007 0.005

597-64-8 Tetraethyltin as organic tin 0.1 0.007 0.005

109-99-9 Tetrahydrofuran 590 39.3 29.5

75-74-1 Tetramethyl lead, as Pb 0.15 0.01 0.0075

3333-52-6 Tetramethyl succinonitrile 3 0.2 0.15

509-14-8 Tetranitromethane 8 0.533 0.4

7722-88-5 Tetrasodium pyrophosphate 5 0.333 0.25

479-45-8 Tetryl 1.5 0.1 0.075

7440-28-0 Thallium, soluble Compounds, as Tl 0.1 0.007 0.005

96-69-5 4,4-Thiobis (6 tert, butyl-m-cresol) 10 0.667 0.5

68-11-1 Thioglycolic acid 4 0.267 0.2

7719-09-7 Thionyl chloride (CL) 4.9 0.0327 0.245

137-26-8 Thiram 5 0.333 0.25

7440-31-5 Tin - Including: 

7440-31-5 Metal 2 0.133 0.1

NA Oxide & inorganic compounds, except SnH4, as Sn 2 0.133 0.1

NA Organic compounds as Sn 0.1 0.007 0.005

108-88-3 Toluene (toluol) 375 25 18.75

584-84-9 Toluene-2,4-di-isocyanate (TDI) 0.04 0.003 0.002

10-41-54 p-Toluenesulfonic acid (ID) n/a 0.067 0.05

126-73-8 Tributyl phosphate 2.2 0.147 0.11

76-03-9 Trichloroacetic acid 7 0.467 0.35

120-82-1 1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene (CL) 37 2.47 1.85

79-01-6 Trichloroethylene 269 17.93 13.45

1321-65-9 Trichloronaphthalene 5 0.333 0.25

76-06-2 Trichloronitromethane, See Chloropicrin 

95-95-4 2,4,5-Trichlorophenol (MA) --- --- 0.0016

96-18-4 l,2,3-Trichloropropane 60 4 3

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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Quality. Not OEL based eight (8) hour TWA; MA: From MA Dept. of Environmental Protection, Div. of Air Quality 

121-44-8 Triethylamine 4.1 0.27 0.2

1582-09-8 Trifluralin (PL3) --- 7.7 1.15

552-30-7 Trimellitic anhydride 0.04 0.003 0.002

75-50-3 Trimethylamine 12 0.8 0.6

25551-13-7 Trimethyl benzene (mixed and individual isomers) 123 8.2 6.15

540-84-1 2,2,4-Trimethyl-pentane 350 23.3 17.5

121-45-9 Trimethyl phosphite 10 0.667 0.5

479-45-8 2,4,6-Trinitrophenyl-methylnitramine, see Tetryl

78-30-8 Triorthocresyl phosphate 0.1 0.007 0.005

603-34-9 Triphenyl amine 5 0.333 0.25

115-86-6 Triphenyl phosphate 3 0.2 0.15

7440-33-7 Tungsten - Including:

NA Insoluble compounds 5 0.333 0.25

NA Soluble compounds 1 0.067 0.05

8006-64-2 Turpentine 560 37.3 28

7440-61-1 Uranium (natural) Soluble & insoluble compounds as U 0.2 0.013 0.01

110-62-3 n-Valeraldehyde 175 11.7 8.75

1314-62-1 Vanadium, as V2O5
Respirable Dust & fume 0.05 0.003 0.0025

108-05-4 Vinyl acetate 35 2.3 1.75

25013-15-4 Vinyl toluene 240 16 12

8032-32-4 VM & P Naphtha 1370 91.3 68.5

81-81-2 Warfarin 0.1 0.007 0.005

1330-20-7 Xylene (o-, m-, p-isomers) 435 29 21.75

1477-55-0 m-Xylene a, a-diamine (CL) 0.1 0.0007 0.0005

1300-73-8 Xylidine 2.5 1.67 0.125

7440-65-5 Yttrium (Metal and compounds as Y) 1 0.067 0.05

7440-66-6 Zinc metal (ID) -- 0.667 0.5

7646-85-7 Zinc chloride fume 1 0.067 0.05

1314-13-2 Zinc oxide fume 5 0.333 0.05

1314-13-2 Zinc oxide dust 10 0.667 0.5

7440-67-7 Zirconium compounds as Zr 5 0.333 0.25

CAS
 NUMBER SUBSTANCE OEL

(mg/m3)
EL

(lb/hr)
AAC 

(mg/m3)
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Control. Not OEL based, annual averaging time, no UF; MI. From MI Dept. of Natural Resources, Air Quality Div. 
Based on toxicological data, annual averaging time, no UF.; NY: From New York Dept. of Conservation, Div. of Air 
Quality. Not OEL based, annual averaging. time no UF; OEL: Reference Occupational Exposure Level; PL: From 
Phil. Dept. of Air Management Services. Not OEL based, annual. averaging time no UF; PL1: From Phil. Dept. of 
Air Management Services. Unspecified OEL based, annual averaging time, UF=10; PL2: From Phil. Dept. of Air 
Management Services. Not OEL based annual averaging. time, UF=10; PL3: From Phil. Dept. of Air Management 
Services. Not OEL based, annual averaging. time, UF=1000.; TWA: Time Weighted Average; UF: Uncertainty 
Factor; WA: From Washington Dept. of Ecology, Air Programs. Acceptable Source Impact Level based. (        )

586. TOXIC AIR POLLUTANTS CARCINOGENIC INCREMENTS.
The screening emissions levels (EL) and acceptable ambient concentrations (AACC) for carcinogens are as provided 
in the following table. The AACC in this section are annual averages. (        )

CAS 
NUMBER SUBSTANCE URF EL

lb/hr
AACC
ug/m3

75-07-0 Acetaldehyde 2.2E-06 3.0E-03 4.5E-01

79-06-1 Acrylamide 1.3E-03 5.1E-06 7.7E-04

107-13-1 Acrylonitrile 6.8E-05 9.8E-05 1.5E-02

309-00-2 Aldrin 4.9E-03 1.3E-06 2.0E-04

62-53-3 Aniline 7.4E-06 9.0E-04 1.4E-01

140-57-8 Aramite 7.1E-06 9.3E-04 1.4E-01

NA Aroclor, all (PCB) (ID) --- 6.6E-05 1.0E-02

7440-38-2 Arsenic compounds 4.3E-03 1.5E-06 2.3E-04

1332-21-4 Asbestos (Fibers /M.L.) 2.3E-01 N/A 4.0E-06

71-43-2 Benzene 8.3E-06 8.0E-04 1.2E-01

92-87-5 Benzidine 6.7E-02 9.9E-08 1.5E-05

50-32-8 Benzo(a)pyrene 3.3E-03 2.0E-06 3.0E-04

7440-41-7 Beryllium & compounds 2.4E-04 2.8E-05 4.2E-03

106-99-0 1,3-Butadiene 2.8E-04 2.4E-05 3.6E-03

111-44-4 Bis (2-chloroethyl) ether 3.3E-04 2.0E-05 3.0E-03

542-88-1 Bis (chloromethyl) ether 6.2E-02 1.0E-07 1.6E-05

108-60-1 Bis (2-chloro-1-methyl- ethyl) ether 2.0E-05 3.3E-04 5.0E-02

117-81-7 Bis (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate 2.4E-07 2.8E-02 4.2E+00

7440-43-9 Cadmium and compounds 1.8E-03 3.7E-06 5.6E-04

56-23-5 Carbon tetrachloride 1.5E-05 4.4E-04 6.7E-02

57-74-9 Chlordane 3.7E-04 1.8E-04 2.7E-03

67-66-3 Chloroform 2.3E-05 2.8E-04 4.3E-02

18540-29-9 Chromium (VI) & compounds as Cr+6 1.2E-02 5.6E-07 8.3E-05

NA Coal Tar Volitiles as benzene

NA Coke oven emissions 6.2E-04 1.1E-05 1.6E-03
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8001-58-9 Creosote (ID) See coal tar volatiles as  
benzene extractables

50-29-3 DDT (Dichlorodi phenyltrichloroethane) 9.7E-05 6.8E-05 1.0E-02

96-12-8 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane 6.3E-03 1.0E-06 1.6E-04

75-34-3 1,1 dichloroethane 2.6E-05 2.5E-04 3.8E-02

107-06-2 1,2 dichloroethane 2.6E-05 2.5E-04 3.8E-02

75-35-4 1,1 dichloroethylene 5.0E-05 1.3E-04 2.0E-02

75-09-2 Dichloromethane (Methylenechloride) 4.1E-06 1.6E-03 2.4E-01

542-75-6 1,3 dichloropropene 4.0E-06 1.7E-03 2.5E-01

764-41-0 1,4-Dichloro-2-butene 2.6E-03 2.5E-06 3.8E-04

60-57-1 Dieldrin 4.6E-03 1.4E-06 2.1E-04

56-53-1 Diethylstilbestrol 1.4E-01 4.7E-08 7.1E-06

123-91-1 1,4 dioxane 1.4E-06 4.8E-03 7.1E-01

Dioxin and Furans (2,3,7,8,TCDD & mixtures) Dioxin and Furan emissions are considered as one TAP 
and expressed as an equivalent emission of 2,3,7,8, TCDD based on the relative potency of 
the isomers in accordance with US EPA guidelines. U.S. EPA, (2010) Recommended Toxicity 
Equivalence Factors (TEFs) for Human Health Risk Assessments of 2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorod-
ibenzo-p-dioxin and Dioxin-Like Compounds. Risk Assessment Forum, Washington, DC. 
EPA/600/R-10/005.

122-66-7 1,2-Diphenylhydrazine 2.2E-04 3.0E-05 4.5E-03

106-89-8 Epichlorohydrin 1.2E-06 5.6E-03 8.3E-01

106-93-4 Ethylene dibromide 2.2E-04 3.0E-05 4.5E-03

75-21-8 Ethylene oxide 1.0E-04 6.7E-05 1.0E-02

50-00-0 Formaldehyde 1.3E-05 5.1E-04 7.7E-02

76-44-8 Heptachlor 1.3E-03 5.1E-06 7.7E-04

1024-57-3 Heptachlor Epoxide 2.6E-03 2.5E-06 3.5E-04

118-74-1 Hexachlorobenzene 4.9E-04 1.3E-05 2.0E-03

87-68-3 Hexachlorobutadiene 2.0E-05 3.3E-04 5.0E-02

Hexachlorocyclo-hexane, Technical 5.1E-04 1.3E-05 1.9E-03

319-84-6 Hexachlorocyclohexane (Lindane) Alpha (BHC) 1.8E-03 3.7E-06 5.6E-04

319-85-7 Hexachlorocyclohexane (Lindane) Beta (BHC) 5.3E-04 1.3E-05 1.8E-03

58-89-9 Hexachlorocyclohexane (Lindane) Gamma (BHC) 3.8E-04 1.7E-05 2.6E-03

67-72-1 Hexachloroethane 4.0E-06 1.7E-03 2.5E-01

302-01-2 Hydrazine 2.9E-03 2.3E-06 3.4E-04

10034-93-2 Hydrazine Sulfate 2.9E-03 2.2E-06 3.5E-04

CAS 
NUMBER SUBSTANCE URF EL

lb/hr
AACC
ug/m3
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56-49-5 3-methylcholanthrene 2.7E-03 2.5E-06 3.7E-04

75-09-2 Methylene Chloride 4.1E-06 1.6E-03 2.4E-01

74-87-3 Methyl chloride 3.6E-06 1.9E-03 2.8E-01

101-14-4 4,4-Methylene bis(2-Chloroaniline) 4.7E-05 1.4E-04 2.1E-02

60-34-4 Methyl hydrazine 3.1E-04 2.2E-05 3.2E-03

7440-02-0 Nickel 2.4E-04 2.7E-05 4.2E-03

12035-72-2 Nickel Subsulfide 4.8E-04 1.4E-05 2.1E-02

7440-02-0 Nickel Refinery Dust 2.4E-04 2.8E-05 4.2E-02

79-46-9 2-Nitropropane 2.7E-02 2.5E-07 3.7E-05

55-18-5 N-Nitrosodiethylamine (diethylnitrosoamine) (DEN) 4.3E-02 1.5E-07 2.3E-05

62-75-9 N-Nitrosodimethylamine 1.4E-02 4.8E-07 7.1E-05

924-16-3 N-Nitrosodi-n-butylamine 1.6E-03 4.1E-06 6.3E-04

930-55-2 N-Nitrosopyrolidine 6.1E-04 1.1E-05 1.6E-03

684-93-5 N-Nitroso-N-methylurea (NMU) 3.5E-01 1.9E-08 2.9E-06

82-68-8 Pentachloronitrobenzene 7.3E-05 9.1E-05 1.4E-02

127-18-4 Perchloroethylene (see tetrachloroethylene)

NA Polyaromatic Hydrocarbons (except 7-PAH group) 7.3E-05 9.1E-05 1.4E-02

(Polycyclic Organic Matter or 7-PAH group) For emissions of the 7-PAH group, the following PAHs are 
considered together as one TAP, equivalent in potency to benzo(a)pyrene: benzo(a)anthra-
cene, benzo(b)fluoranthene, benzo(k)fluoranthene, dibenzo(a,h)anthracene, chrysene, inde-
nol(1,2,3,-cd)pyrene, benzo(a)pyrene. (WA) 

23950-58-5 Promanide 4.6E-06 1.5E-03 2.2E-01

50-55-5 Reserpine 3.0E-03 2.2E-06 3.3E-04

1746-01-6 2,3,7,8,-Tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin 
(2,3,7,8, -TCDD) 4.5.E+01 1.5E-10 2.2E-08

NA Soots and Tars (ID) See coal tar volatiles as 
benzene extractables.

79-34-5 1,1,2,2,Tetrachloro-ethane 5.8E-05 1.1E-05 1.7E-02

127-18-4 Tetrachloroethylene 4.8E-07 1.3E-02 2.1E+00

79-00-5 1,1,2 - trichloroethane 1.6E-05 4.2E-04 6.2E-02

62-56-6 Thiourea 5.5E-04 1.2E-05 1.8E-03

8001-35-2 Toxaphene 3.2E-04 2.0E-05 3.0E-03

79-01-6 Trichloroethylene 1.3E-06 5.1E-04 7.7E-01

88-06-2 2,4,6 - Trichlorophenol 5.7E-06 1.2E-03 1.8E-01

75-01-4 Vinyl chloride 7.1E-06 9.4E-04 1.4E-01

CAS 
NUMBER SUBSTANCE URF EL

lb/hr
AACC
ug/m3
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Washington Dept. of Ecology, Air Programs. Acceptable Source Impact Level based. (        )

587. -- 591. (RESERVED)

592. STAGE 1 VAPOR COLLECTION.
Sections 592 through 598 set requirements for Stage 1 vapor collection systems. Stage 1 vapor collection is used 
during the refueling of underground gasoline storage tanks to reduce hydrocarbon emissions. Vapors in the tank, 
which are displaced by the incoming gasoline, are routed through a hose into the gasoline cargo tank and returned to 
the terminal for processing. Section 599 sets the requirements for gasoline cargo tanks that deliver gasoline to those 
required to install and operate Stage 1 vapor collection systems. These sections apply to gasoline dispensing facilities 
(GDF) and gasoline cargo tanks in Ada and Canyon Counties only. Nothing in these rules is intended to supersede or 
render inapplicable any federal, state, or local laws, including, but not limited to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart CCCCCC.

(        )

593. AFFECTED EQUIPMENT OR PROCESSES.

01. Applicability. Sections 592 through 598 apply to transfers of gasoline to underground storage 
tanks with a tank capacity of ten thousand (10,000) gallons and not otherwise subject to 40 CFR 63.11118. The 
emission sources include the underground gasoline storage tanks and associated equipment components in vapor or 
liquid gasoline service at new, reconstructed, or existing GDFs. Pressure/vacuum vents on underground gasoline 
storage tanks and the equipment necessary to unload product from cargo tanks into the storage tanks at GDFs are 
covered emission sources. (        )

02. New Sources. A source is a new source if construction commenced on the source after April 1, 
2009. (        )

03. Reconstructed Sources. A source is reconstructed if meeting the criteria for reconstruction as 
defined in 40 CFR 63.2, incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

04. Existing Sources. A source is an existing source if it is not new or reconstructed. (        )

594. COMPLIANCE DATES.
For a new or reconstructed source, the owner or operator must comply with the standards in Sections 595 and 596 
upon startup. Owners or operators of new sources must install dual point systems. (        )

595. SUBMERGED FILL REQUIREMENTS.
The owner or operator must only load gasoline into underground storage tanks at the facility by utilizing submerged 
filling. (        )

01. Installed On or Before November 9, 2006. Submerged fill pipes installed on or before November 
9, 2006, must be no more than twelve (12) inches from the bottom of the storage tank. (        )

02. Installed After November 9, 2006. Submerged fill pipes installed after November 9, 2006, must 
be no more than six (6) inches from the bottom of the storage tank. (        )

596. VAPOR BALANCE REQUIREMENTS.
The owner or operator of a GDF must comply with the following: (        )

01. Loading. When loading an underground gasoline storage tank equipped with a vapor balance 
system, connect and ensure the proper operation of the vapor balance system whenever gasoline is being loaded.

(        )

02. Maintenance. Maintain all equipment associated with the vapor balance system to be vapor tight 
and in good working order. (        )

03. Inspection. Inspect the vapor balance equipment on an annual basis to discover potential or actual 
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equipment failures. A log form is available on the Department’s website at http://www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

04. Repair. Replace, repair or modify any worn or ineffective component or design element within 
twenty-four (24) hours to ensure the vapor-tight integrity and efficiency of the vapor balance system. If repair parts 
must be ordered, either a written or verbal order for those parts must be initiated within two (2) working days of 
detecting such a leak. Such repair parts must be installed within five (5) working days after receipt. (        )

597. TESTING AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.
The owner or operator of a GDF must comply with the following requirements within ninety (90) days of registration 
under Section 598 and every three (3) years thereafter. (        )

01. Testing. (        )

a. The owner or operator must demonstrate compliance in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11120(a)(1).
(        )

b. The owner or operator must demonstrate compliance with the static pressure performance 
requirement, specified in item 1(h) of Table 1 to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart CCCCCC, for the vapor balance system by 
conducting a static pressure test on the underground gasoline storage tanks using the test methods identified in 
paragraph 597.01.b.i. or 597.01.b.ii. in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11120(a)(2). (        )

02. Alternative Testing. The owner or operator of a GDF, choosing, under the provisions of 40 CFR 
63.6(g), to use a vapor balance system other than that described in Table 1 to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart CCCCCC, 
must demonstrate to the Department the equivalency of their vapor balance system to that described in Table 1 to 40 
CFR Part 63, Subpart CCCCCC in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11120(b). (        )

598. REGISTRATION, RECORDKEEPING, AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

01. Registration. (        )

a. Any GDF subject to these rules must: (        )

i. Within thirty (30) days of installation of the Stage 1 vapor collection system, the owner or operator 
of the GDF must submit to the Department a registration that provides, at a minimum, the operation name and 
address, signature of the owner or operator in accordance with Section 123, the location of records and reports 
required by Subsections 598.02 and 598.03 (including contact person’s name, address and telephone number), the 
number of underground gasoline storage tanks, the number of gasoline tank pipe vents, and the date of completion of 
installation of the Stage 1 vapor collection system and pressure/vacuum relief valve; and (        )

ii. The registration certification must be displayed at the GDF. (        )

b. Upon modification of an existing Stage 1 vapor collection system or pressure/vacuum relief valve, 
the owner or operator of the GDF must submit to the Department a registration that details the changes to the 
information provided in the previous registration and includes the signature of the owner or operator. The registration 
must be submitted to the Department within thirty (30) days after completion of such modification. (        )

c. A new registration must be submitted to the Department within thirty (30) days after any change in 
ownership of the GDF. (        )

02. Recordkeeping Requirements. (        )

a. Each owner or operator must keep the following records: (        )

i. Records of all tests performed under Section 597; (        )

ii. Records related to the operation and maintenance of vapor balance equipment required under 
Section 596. Any vapor balance component defect must be logged and tracked by station personnel on a monthly 
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basis using forms provided by the Department or a reasonable facsimile; and (        )

iii. Records of permanent changes made at the GDF and vapor balance equipment which may affect 
emissions. (        )

b. Records required under 598.02.a. must be kept for a period of five (5) years and must be made 
available for inspection by the Department upon request. (        )

03. Reporting Requirements. Each owner or operator subject to the management practices in Section 
596 must report to the Department the results of all volumetric efficiency tests required under Section 597. Reports 
submitted under these rules must be submitted within thirty (30) days of the completion of the performance testing.

(        )

599. GASOLINE CARGO TANKS.

01. Prohibitions. After a Stage 1 vapor collection system is installed and operating, owners or 
operators of gasoline cargo tanks that unload gasoline into an underground gasoline storage tank with a capacity of 
ten thousand (10,000) gallons or more, in Ada or Canyon Counties, must comply with Table 2 to 40 CFR Part 63, 
Subpart CCCCCC, incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

02. Recordkeeping and Reporting. (        )

a. The owner or operator of the gasoline cargo tank subject to Section 599 must maintain records of 
all certification testing and repairs. The records must identify the gasoline cargo tank; the date of the test or repair; 
and if applicable, the type of repair and the date of retest. The records must be maintained in a legible, readily 
available condition for at least two (2) years after the date of testing or repair was completed and must be available for 
inspection by the Department upon request. (        )

b. Copies of all tests required under Subsection 599.01 must be submitted to the Department within 
thirty (30) days of certification testing. (        )

600. RULES FOR CONTROL OF OPEN BURNING.
Sections 600 through 624 establish rules to protect human health and the environment from air pollutants resulting 
from open burning as well as to reduce the visibility impairment in mandatory Class I Federal Areas in accordance 
with the regional haze long-term strategy referenced at Section 667. (        )

601. FIRE PERMITS, HAZARDOUS MATERIALS, AND LIABILITY.
Compliance with the provisions of Sections 600 through 624 does not exempt or excuse any person from complying 
with applicable laws and ordinances of other jurisdictions responsible for fire control or hazardous material disposal 
or from liability for damages or injuries which may result from open burning. (        )

602. NONPREEMPTION OF OTHER JURISDICTIONS.
The provisions of Sections 600 through 624 are not intended to interfere with the rights of any city, county or other 
governmental entities or agencies to provide equal or more stringent control of open burning within their respective 
jurisdictions. (        )

603. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.
No person may allow, cause or permit any open burning operation unless the materials burned fall within an 
allowable category of open burning set forth in Sections 606-624, and do not contain any of the following prohibited 
materials listed in 603.01. (        )

01. Prohibited Materials. The fires must not include any of the following prohibited materials: (        )

a. Garbage, as defined in IDAPA 58.01.06 “Solid Waste Management Rules”. (        )

b. Dead animals, animal parts, or animal wastes (feces, feathers, litter, etc.) except as provided in 
Section 616. (        )
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c. Motor vehicles, or parts, or any materials resulting from a salvage operation, defined as any source 
consisting of any business, trade or industry engaged in whole or in part in salvaging or reclaiming any product or 
material, such as, but not limited to, reprocessing of used motor oils, metals, chemicals, shipping containers, or 
drums, and specifically including automobile graveyards and junkyards. (        )

d. Tires or other rubber materials or products. (        )

e. Plastics. (        )

f. Asphalt or composition roofing or any other asphaltic material or product. (        )

g. Tar, tar paper, waste or heavy petroleum products, or paints. (        )

h. Treated lumber or timbers coated with preservatives, paints or other protective material (        )

i. Trade waste, defined as any solid, liquid or gaseous material resulting from the construction or 
demolition of any structure, or the operation of any business, trade or industry including, but not limited to, wood 
product industry waste such as sawdust, bark, peelings, chips, shavings and cull wood, except as specifically allowed 
under Sections 600 through 624. (        )

j. Insulated wire. (        )

k. Pathogenic wastes. (        )

l. Hazardous wastes as classified according to IDAPA 58.01.05, “Rules and Standards for Hazardous 
Waste”. (        )

02. Air Quality Episodes. No person may allow, cause or permit any open burning during any level of 
an air quality episode declared by the Department in accordance with Sections 550 through 562. (        )

03. Emergency Authority. In accordance with Title 39, Chapter 1, Idaho Code, the Department has 
the authority to require immediate abatement of any open burning in cases of emergency requiring immediate action 
to protect human health or safety. (        )

604. -- 605. (RESERVED)

606. CATEGORIES OF ALLOWABLE BURNING.
Sections 606 through 624 establish categories of allowable open burning and applicable requirements. (        )

607. RECREATIONAL AND WARMING FIRES.
Fires used for the preparation of food or for recreational purposes (e.g. campfires, ceremonial fires, and barbecues), 
or small fires set for handwarming purposes. A small fire is defined as a fire in which the material to be burned is not 
more than four (4) feet in diameter nor more than three (3) feet high. (        )

608. WEED CONTROL FIRES.
Fires used for the purpose of weed abatement such as along fence lines, canal banks, rock piles and ditch banks.

(        )

609. TRAINING FIRES.
Fires used by fire and land management agencies as training for fire suppression and firefighting techniques, or to 
display certain fire ecology or fire behavior effects. Training facilities must notify the Department prior to igniting 
any training fires. Training fires must not be allowed to smolder after the training session has terminated. Training 
fires are exempt from Subsections 603.01.c. and 603.01.e. through 603.01.j. (        )

610. (RESERVED)
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611. RESIDENTIAL YARD WASTE FIRES.
Fire used for the disposal of yard waste, as defined in the IDAPA 58.01.06, “Solid Waste Management Rules,” at 
residential locations so long as the burning is conducted on the property where the yard waste was generated and not 
prohibited by local ordinances or rules. (        )

612. SOLID WASTE FACILITY FIRES.
Fire used for the disposal of solid waste at any solid waste landfill disposal site or facility only if conducted in 
accordance with IDAPA 58.01.06, “Solid Waste Management Rules,” or Chapter 74, Title 39, Idaho Code. (        )

613. ORCHARD FIRES.
Fire used for the disposal of orchard clippings when the burning is conducted on the property where the clippings 
were generated. (        )

614. PRESCRIBED FIRE.
Prescribed fire when the provisions of Section 614 are met. (        )

01. Prescribed Fire is defined as:
The controlled application of fire to wildland fuels in either their natural or modified state, under conditions of 
weather, fuel moisture and soil moisture that allow the fire to be confined to a predetermined area while producing the 
intensity of heat and rate of spread required to meet planned objectives, including: (        )

a. Fire hazard reduction; (        )

b. The control of pests, insects, or diseases; (        )

c. The promotion of range forage improvements; (        )

d. The perpetuation of natural ecosystems; (        )

e. The disposal of slash and woody debris resulting from any land management activity such as; 
logging operation, the clearing of rights of way, a land clearing operation, or a driftwood collection system; (        )

f. The preparation of planting and seeding sites for forest regeneration; and (        )

g. Other accepted natural resource management purposes. (        )

02. Burning Permits or Prescribed Fire Plans.

a. Whenever a burning permit or prescribed fire plan is required by the Department of Lands, 
U.S.D.A. Forest Service, or any other state or federal agency responsible for land management, any person who 
conducts or allows prescribed fire must meet all permit and/or plan conditions and terms which control smoke.

(        )

b. The Department will seek interagency agreements to assure permits or plans issued by agencies 
referred to in Subsection 614.01.a. provide adequate consideration for controlling smoke from prescribed fire.

(        )

03. Smoke Management Plans for Prescribed Fire. (        )

a. Whenever a permit or plan is not required by the Department of Lands, U.S.D.A. Forest Service, or 
any other state or federal agency responsible for land management, any person who conducts or allows prescribed fire 
must meet all conditions set forth in a Smoke Management Plan for Prescribed Fire. (        )

b. The Department will develop and put into effect a Smoke Management Plan for Prescribed Fire 
consistent with the purpose of Sections 600 through 616. (        )

04. Rights-of-Way Fires. The open burning of woody debris generated during the clearing of rights of 
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 200 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
way must be open burned according to Section 38-125, Idaho Code and Sections 606 through 616 of these rules.
(        )

615. DANGEROUS MATERIAL FIRES.
Fires ignited under the direction of a public or military fire chief to dispose of materials that in their current condition 
present a danger to life, valuable property or the public welfare, or to prevent a fire hazard when no practical 
alternative method of disposal or removal exists. (        )

616. INFECTIOUS WASTE BURNING.
Fires used to dispose of diseased animals or infested material, upon the order of and under the direction of a public 
health officer, are exempt from Subsection 603.01.k. (        )

617. CROP RESIDUE DISPOSAL.
Fire used to dispose of crop residue remaining in fields where the crops were grown if conducted in accordance with 
Section 39-114, Idaho Code, and Sections 618 through 624. (        )

618. PERMIT BY RULE.
No person may conduct an open burn of crop residue or pasture without obtaining the applicable permit by 

rule. Those persons applying for a spot burn, baled agricultural residue burn, or propane flaming permit must comply 
with the provisions in Section 624. Registration for a permit by rule must be made using forms furnished by the 
Department, or by other means prescribed by the Department. (        )

619. REGISTRATION.
Any person applying to burn crop residue must annually provide the following registration information to the 
Department at least thirty (30) days prior to the date provided in 619.05: (        )

01. Location of Requested Burn. The legal description of the location of the requested burn, using 
longitude and latitude coordinates; (        )

02. Applicant Information. Name, mailing address, and telephone number of the applicant, and the 
person who will be responsible for conducting the proposed burning of crop residue and the portable form of 
communication referenced in Subsection 622.01.c. of this rule; (        )

03. Type and Acreage of Crop Residue Requested to be Burned. The crop type and total area over 
which burning will be conducted (acres); (        )

04. Preventive Measures. A description of the measures that will be taken to prevent escaped burns or 
withhold additional material such that the fire burns down, including but not limited to, the availability of water and 
plowed firebreaks; and (        )

05. Date of Burning. The anticipated date(s) when the field will be ready and requested to be burned.
(        )

620. BURN FEE.

01. Burn Fee. The burn fee in Section 39-114, Idaho Code, must be paid in its entirety within thirty 
(30) days following the receipt of the annual burn fee invoice. See also Subsection 624.02.a. for registration and fee 
requirements for burning under a spot and baled agricultural residue burn permit. Information for making payments is 
available at http://www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

02. Effect of Delinquent Fee Payment. The Department will not accept or process a registration for a 
permit by rule to burn for any person or property location having burn fees delinquent, in full or in part. (        )

621. BURN APPROVAL.

01. Operating Guide. The Department will develop a Crop Residue Operating Guide to assist in the 
decision process for approving burns. (        )
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02. Permittee Approval Process. The permittee must obtain the Registration Receipt and Initial 
Permit Requirements from the Department at least twelve (12) hours in advance of the burn. The permittee must 
obtain final approval to burn from the Department the morning of the requested burn. (        )

03. Burn Approval Criteria. To approve a permittee’s request to burn, the Department must 
determine that ambient air quality levels do not exceed ninety percent (90%) of the ozone national ambient air quality 
standard (NAAQS) and seventy-five percent (75%) of the level of any other NAAQS on any day and are not 
projected to exceed such level over the next twenty-four (24) hours, and ambient air quality levels have not reached, 
and are not forecasted to reach and persist at, eighty percent (80%) of the one (1) hour action criteria for particulate 
matter under Section 556. In making this determination, the Department will consider the following: (        )

a. Expected emissions from all crop residue burns requested for the same dates; (        )

b. The proximity of other burns and potential emission sources within the area to be affected by the 
requested burn; (        )

c. Moisture content of the crop residue to be burned; (        )

d. Acreage, crop type, and fuel characteristics of the crop residue to be burned; (        )

e. Current and forecast meteorological conditions in the area of the requested burn; (        )

f. The proximity of the requested burn to institutions with sensitive populations, including public 
schools while in session; hospitals; residential health care facilities for children, the elderly or infirm; and other 
institutions with sensitive populations as approved by the Department. The Department will not approve a burn if 
conditions are such that institutions with sensitive populations will be adversely impacted or when the plume is 
predicted to impact such institutions; (        )

g. Proximity to public roadways; (        )

h. Proximity to airports; and (        )

i. Any other factors relevant to preventing exceedances of the air quality concentrations of Section 
621. (        )

04. Notification of Approval. The Department will post all crop residue approvals on its website. The 
burn approvals will include written notification of the approval and any specific conditions under which the burn is 
approved. Special conditions may include, but are not limited to: (        )

a. Conditions for burns near institutions with sensitive populations; (        )

b. The requirement to withhold additional material such that the fire burns down if the Department 
determines pollutant concentrations reach the levels in Subsection 621.03 of this rule; (        )

c. Conditions to ensure the burn does not create a hazard for travel on a public roadway; and (        )

d. The requirement to consult with the Department to determine actions to be taken if conditions at the 
burn site fail to satisfy the conditions specified in the notice of approval to burn. (        )

622. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

01. Burn Provisions. All persons conducting crop residue burning must comply with the following:
(        )

a. Burning of crop residue must not be conducted on weekends, federal or state holidays, or after 
sunset or before sunrise; (        )
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b. Burning of crop residue must not be conducted unless the Department has designated that day a 
burn day and the permittee has received individual approval in accordance with Subsection 621.02; (        )

c. The person conducting the burn must have in their possession a portable form of communication 
such as a cellular phone or radio of compatible frequency with the Department in order to receive burn approval 
information or information that might require measures to withhold additional material such that the fire burns down;

(        )

d. Crop residue must remain and be burned in the field where it was grown; (        )

e. When required by the conditions of the approval to burn, the permittee burning in proximity to 
institutions with sensitive populations must immediately extinguish the fire or withhold additional material such that 
the fire burns down, if the Department determines the burn is having or will have an adverse impact on such 
institutions; (        )

f. All persons burning crop residue must complete a grower crop residue burning training provided by 
the Department prior to their first burn and at least once every five (5) years thereafter; (        )

h. The use of reburn machines, propane flamers, or other portable devices to ignite or reignite a field 
for the purposes of crop residue burning is considered an allowable form of open burning; (        )

j. All persons burning crop residue must submit a burn report to the Department that includes the 
following: the date burning was conducted, actual number and location of acres burned, and other information as 
required by the Department. The Department may restrict further burning by a permittee until burn reports are 
submitted; and (        )

k. The open burning of crop residue must be conducted in accordance with the specific conditions in 
the permittee’s burn approval. (        )

02. Annual Report. The Department will develop an annual report that will include, at a minimum, an 
analysis of the causes of each exceedance of a limitation in Section 621 of this rule, if any, and an assessment of the 
circumstances associated with any reported endangerment to human health associated with a burn. The report will 
include any proposed revisions to these rules or the Crop Residue Operating Guide deemed necessary to prevent 
future exceedances. (        )

03. Advisory Committee. The Department will assemble an advisory committee consisting of 
representatives from environmental organizations, farming organizations, health organizations, tribal organizations, 
the Idaho State Department of Agriculture, the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality, and others to discuss 
open burning of crop residue issues. (        )

623. PUBLIC NOTIFICATION.

01. Designation of Burn Days. The Department will designate for a given county or airshed within a 
county burn or no-burn days. (        )

02. Posting on Website. The Department will post daily on its website: (        )

a. Whether a given day is a burn or no-burn day; (        )

b. The location and number of acres permitted to be burned; (        )

c. Meteorological conditions and any real time ambient air quality monitoring data; and (        )

d. A toll-free number to receive requests for information (        )

03. E-Mail Update Service. The Department will provide an opportunity for interested persons to sign 
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up to receive automatic e-mail updates for information regarding the open burning of crop residue. (        )

624. SPOT AND BALED CROP RESIDUE BURN AND PROPANE FLAMING REQUIREMENTS.

01. Applicability. (        )

a. Spot Burn. A spot burn includes no more than one (1) acre of evenly distributed crop residue or two 
(2) tons of piled crop residue. The open burning of weed patches, spots of heavy residue, equipment plugs and dumps, 
pivot corners of fields, and pastures may constitute a spot burn. Spot burn does not include the open burning of wind 
rows. (        )

b. Baled Crop Residue Burn. An open burn used to dispose of broken, mildewed, diseased, or 
otherwise pest-ridden bales still in the field where they were generated. (        )

c. Propane Flaming. The use of flame-generating equipment to briefly apply flame and/or heat to the 
topsoil of a cultivated field of pre-emerged or plowed-under crop residue with less than five hundred fifty (550) 
pounds of burnable, non-green residue per acre in order to control diseases, insects, pests, and weed emergence.

(        )

02. Spot and Baled Crop Residue Burn Permit. (        )

a. Any person applying for a spot and baled crop residue burn permit under Section 624 must:
(        )

i. Provide the registration information listed in Subsections 619.01 and 619.02; and (        )

ii. Pay a nonrefundable fee of twenty dollars ($20) to the Department (see Section 620) at least 
fourteen (14) days prior to the date the applicant proposes to conduct the first burn of the calendar year. (        )

b. A spot and baled crop residue burn permit is valid for the calendar year in which it is issued and 
permits: (        )

i. Burning of a cumulative total of no more than ten (10) acres of spots and/or equivalent piled or 
baled crop residue during the year; and (        )

ii. No more than one (1) acre of spots and/or equivalent piled or baled crop residue per day. Two (2) 
tons of piled or baled crop residue is assumed to be equivalent to one (1) acre. (        )

03. Propane Flaming. Persons conducting propane flaming as defined under Subsection 624.01.c. 
must comply with the applicable provisions in Subsections 624.04 and 624.05. (        )

04. General Provisions. All persons intending to burn under Section 624 must comply with the 
provisions of Subsections 622.01.c., 622.01.d., 622.01.f., through 622.01.i., and 622.01.k. in addition to the 
following: (        )

a. The permittee is responsible to ensure that adequate measures are taken so the burn does not create 
a hazard for travel on a public roadway. (        )

b. Burning is not allowed if the burn location is within three (3) miles of an institution with a sensitive 
population and the surface wind speed is greater than twelve (12) miles per hour or if the smoke is adversely 
impacting or is expected to adversely impact an institution with a sensitive population. (        )

c. Burning must not be conducted unless the Department has designated that day a burn day, which 
for purposes of Section 624 may include weekends and holidays, and the permittee burns within the burn window 
provided on the Department’s website. Spot and baled crop residue burns must not smolder and create smoke outside 
of the designated time period burning is allowed. (        )
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05. Recordkeeping. Permittees must record the date, time frame, type of burn, type of crop, and 
amount burned on the date of the burn. Records of such burns must be retained for two (2) years and made available 
to the Department upon request. (        )

625. VISIBLE EMISSIONS.
A person must not discharge any air pollutant into the atmosphere from any point of emission for a period or periods 
aggregating more than three (3) minutes in any sixty (60) minute period which is greater than twenty percent (20%) 
opacity as determined by this section. (        )

01. Exemptions. The provisions of this section will not apply to: (        )

a. Kraft Process Lime Kilns, if operating prior to January 24, 1969; or (        )

b. Carbon Monoxide Flare Pits on Elemental Phosphorous Furnaces, if operating prior to January 24, 
1969; or (        )

c. Liquid Phosphorous Loading Operations, if operating prior to January 24, 1969; or (        )

d. Kraft Process Recovery Furnaces; or (        )

e. Calcining Operations Utilizing an Electrostatic Precipitator to Control Emissions, if operating prior 
to January 24, 1969. (        )

02. Standards for Exempted Sources. For sources exempted from the provisions of this section, a 
person must not discharge into the atmosphere from any point of emission, for any air pollutant for a period or 
periods aggregating more than three (3) minutes in any sixty (60) minute period which is greater than forty percent 
(40%) opacity as determined by this section. (        )

03. Exception. The provisions of this section do not apply when the presence of uncombined water, 
nitrogen oxides and/or chlorine gas are the only reason(s) for the failure of the emission to comply with the 
requirements of this rule. (        )

04. Test Methods and Procedures. The appropriate test method under this section is EPA Method 9 
(contained in 40 CFR Part 60) with the method of calculating opacity exceedances altered as follows: (        )

a. Opacity evaluations must be conducted using forms available from the Department or similar forms 
approved by the Department. (        )

b. Opacity must be determined by counting the number of readings in excess of the percent opacity 
limitation, dividing this number by four (4) (each reading is deemed to represent fifteen (15) seconds) to find the 
number of minutes in excess of the percent opacity limitation. This method is described in the Procedures Manual for 
Air Pollution Control, Section II (Evaluation of Visible Emissions Manual), September 1986. (        )

c. Sources subject to New Source Performance Standards must calculate opacity as detailed above 
and as specified in 40 CFR Part 60. (        )

05. Applicability. Section 625 does not apply to the open burning of crop residue. (        )

626. -- 649. (RESERVED)

650. RULES FOR CONTROL OF FUGITIVE DUST.
The purpose of Sections 650 through 652 is to require that all reasonable precautions be taken to prevent the 
generation of fugitive dust defined as fugitive emissions composed of particulate matter. (        )

651. GENERAL RULES.
All reasonable precautions must be taken to prevent particulate matter from becoming airborne. In determining what 
is reasonable, consideration will be given to factors such as the proximity of dust emitting operations to human 
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habitations and/or activities, the proximity to mandatory Class I Federal Areas and atmospheric conditions that might 
affect the movement of particulate matter. Some of the reasonable precautions may include, but are not limited to, the 
following: (        )

01. Use of Water or Chemicals. Use, where practical, of water or chemicals for control of dust in the 
demolition of existing buildings or structures, construction operations, the grading of roads, or the clearing of land.

(        )

02. Application of Dust Suppressants. Application, where practical, of asphalt, oil, water or suitable 
chemicals to, or covering of dirt roads, material stockpiles, and other surfaces that can create dust. (        )

03. Use of Control Equipment. Installation and use, where practical, of hoods, fans and fabric filters 
or equivalent systems to enclose and vent the handling of dusty materials. Adequate containment methods should be 
employed during sandblasting or other operations. (        )

04. Covering of Trucks. Covering, when practical, open bodied trucks transporting materials likely to 
give rise to airborne dusts. (        )

05. Paving. Paving of roadways and their maintenance in a clean condition, where practical. (        )

06. Removal of Materials. Prompt removal of earth or other stored material from streets, where 
practical. (        )

652. AGRICULTURAL ACTIVITIES.
For agricultural activity purposes, operating in conformance with generally recognized agricultural practices 
constitutes reasonable control of fugitive dust. For the purpose of Section 652: (        )

01. Agricultural Activity. An “agricultural activity” means any activity that is exempt from the 
requirement to obtain a permit to construct under Subsection 222.02.f., wherein “agricultural activities and services” 
is defined in Section 007, that occurs in connection with the production of agricultural products for food, fiber, fuel, 
feed and other lawful purposes, and including, but not limited to: (        )

a. Preparing land for agricultural production; (        )

b. Applying or handling pesticides herbicides, or other chemicals, compounds or substances labeled 
for insects, pests, crops, weeds, water or soil; (        )

c. Planting, irrigating, growing, fertilizing, harvesting or producing agricultural, horticultural, 
floricultural and viticulture crops, fruits and vegetable products, field grains, seeds, hay, sod and nursery stock, and 
other plant products, plant by-products, plant waste and animal compost; (        )

d. Breeding, hatching, raising, producing, feeding and keeping livestock, dairy animals, swine, fur-
bearing animals, poultry, eggs, fish and other aquatic species, and other animals, animal products and animal by-
products, animal waste, animal compost, and bees, bee products and bee by-products; (        )

e. Transporting agricultural products to or from an agricultural facility; (        )

f. Grinding, chopping, cubing, or any other means of preparing or converting a commodity for animal 
feed; and (        )

g. Piling, stacking or other means of storing commodities outdoors. (        )

02. Generally Recognized Agricultural Practices. “Generally recognized agricultural practices” 
means economically feasible practices that are customary among or appropriate to farms and ranches of a similar 
nature in the local area. In determining whether an agricultural activity is consistent with generally recognized 
agricultural practices, the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality will consult with the Idaho Department of 
Agriculture. (        )
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653. -- 664. (RESERVED)

665. REGIONAL HAZE RULES.
Sections 665 through 667 address regional haze visibility impairment in mandatory Class I Federal Areas in 
accordance with 40 CFR 51.301, 307, and 308 incorporated by reference in Section 107. (        )

666. REASONABLE PROGRESS GOALS.
The Department will establish reasonable progress goals expressed in deciviews for each mandatory Class I Federal 
Area located within Idaho. (        )

667. LONG-TERM STRATEGY FOR REGIONAL HAZE.
The Department will submit to EPA a long-term strategy that meets the requirements in 40 CFR 51.308(d)(3) and 
308(f)(2). (        )

668. -- 674. (RESERVED)

675. FUEL BURNING EQUIPMENT -- PARTICULATE MATTER.
Sections 675 through 681 establish particulate matter emission standards for fuel burning equipment. (        )

676. STANDARDS FOR NEW SOURCES.
A person must not discharge into the atmosphere from any fuel burning equipment with a maximum rated input of ten 
(10) million BTU's per hour or more, and commencing operation on or after October 1, 1979, particulate matter in 
excess of the concentrations shown in the following table:

The effluent gas volume must be corrected to the oxygen concentration shown. (        )

677. STANDARDS FOR MINOR AND EXISTING SOURCES.
A person must not discharge into the atmosphere from any fuel burning equipment in operation prior to October 1, 
1979, or with a maximum rated input of less than ten (10) million BTU per hour, particulate matter in excess of the 
concentrations shown in the following table:

The effluent gas volume must be corrected to the oxygen concentration shown. (        )

678. COMBINATIONS OF FUELS.
When two (2) or more types of fuel are burned concurrently, the allowable emission are determined by proportioning 
the gross heat input and emission standards for each fuel. (        )

679. AVERAGING PERIOD.

FUEL TYPE ALLOWABLE PARTICULATE gr/dscf EMISSIONS Oxygen

Gas .015 3%

Liquid .050 3%

Coal .050 8%

Wood Product .080 8%

FUEL TYPE ALLOWABLE PARTICULATE gr/dscf EMISSIONS Oxygen

Gas .015 3%

Liquid .050 3%

Coal .100 8%

Wood Product .200 8%
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For purposes of Sections 675 through 680, emissions are averaged according to the following, whichever is the lesser 
period of time: (        )

01. One Cycle. One (1) complete cycle of operation; or (        )

02. One Hour. One (1) hour of operation representing worst-case conditions for the emission of 
particulate matter. (        )

680. ALTITUDE CORRECTION.
For purposes of Sections 675 through 680, standard conditions must be adjusted for the altitude of the source by 
subtracting one-tenth (0.10) of an inch of mercury for each one hundred (100) feet above sea level from the standard 
atmospheric pressure at sea level of twenty-nine and ninety-two one hundredths (29.92) inches of mercury. (        )

681. TEST METHODS AND PROCEDURES.
The appropriate test method under Sections 675 through 680 is EPA Method 5 contained in 40 CFR Part 60 or such 
comparable and equivalent method approved in accordance with Subsection 157.02.d. Test methods and procedures 
must also comply with Section 157. (        )

682. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. PARTICULATE MATTER -- PROCESS WEIGHT LIMITATIONS.

01. Particulate Matter Emission Limitations. Sections 700 through 703 establish particulate matter 
emission limitations for process equipment and include the following definitions: (        )

a. Process weight is defined as the total weight of all materials introduced into any source operation 
that may cause any emissions of particulate matter. Process weight includes solid fuels charged, but does not include 
liquid and gaseous fuels charged or combustion air. Water that occurs naturally in the feed material is considered part 
of the process weight. (        )

b. Process weight rate is established as follows: (        )

i. For continuous or long-run steady-state source operations, the total process weight for the entire 
period of continuous operation or for a typical portion thereof, divided by the number of hours of such period or 
portion thereof; and (        )

ii. For cyclical or batch source operations, the total process weight for a period that covers a complete 
cycle of operation or an integral number of cycles, divided by the hours of actual process operation during such a 
period. Where the nature of any process or operation or the design of any equipment is such as to permit more than 
one (1) interpretation of this definition, the interpretation that results in the minimum value for allowable emission 
applies. (        )

02. Minimum Allowable Emission. Notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 701 and 702, no 
source will be required to meet an emission limit of less than one (1) pound per hour. (        )

03. Averaging Period. For the purposes of Sections 701 through 703, emissions must be averaged 
according to the following, whichever is the lesser period of time: (        )

a. One (1) complete cycle of operation; or (        )

b. One (1) hour of operation representing worst-case conditions for the emissions of particulate 
matter. (        )

04. Test Methods and Procedures. The appropriate test method under Sections 700 thought 703 is 
EPA Method 5 contained in 40 CFR Part 60 or such comparable and equivalent methods approved in accordance with 
Subsection 157.02.d. Test methods and procedures must comply with Section 157. (        )
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701. PARTICULATE MATTER -- NEW EQUIPMENT PROCESS WEIGHT LIMITATIONS.

01. General Restrictions. No person may emit into the atmosphere from any process or process 
equipment commencing operation on or after October 1, 1979, particulate matter in excess of the amount shown by 
the following equations, where E is the allowable emission from the entire source in pounds per hour, and PW is the 
process weight in pounds per hour. (        )

a. If PW is less than 9,250 pounds per hour, (        )
E = 0.045(PW)0.60

b. If PW is equal to or greater than 9,250 pounds per hour, (        )
E = 1.10(PW)0.25

02. Exemption. The provisions of Section 701 do not apply to fuel burning equipment. (        )

03. Emission Standards. The following table illustrates the emission standards set forth in Section 
701.

(        )

702. PARTICULATE MATTER -- EXISTING EQUIPMENT PROCESS WEIGHT LIMITATIONS.

01. General Restrictions. No person may emit into the atmosphere from any process or process 
equipment operating prior to October 1, 1979, particulate matter in excess of the amount shown by the following 
equations, where E is the allowable emission from the entire source in pounds per hour, and PW is the process weight 
in pounds per hour: (        )

a. If PW is less than 17,000 pounds per hour, (        )
E = 0.045 (PW)0.60

b. If PW is equal to or greater than 17,000 pounds per hour, (        )
E = 1.12 (PW)0.27.

PROCESS WEIGHT
ALLOWABLE 

EMISSIONS FROM 
ENTIRE SOURCE

PROCESS WEIGHT EMISSIONS FROM 
ENTIRE SOURCE

lb/hr lb/hr lb/hr lb/hr

175 or less 1 20,000 13.08

200 1.08 40,000 15.56

400 1.64 60,000 17.22

600 2.09 80,000 18.50

800 2.40 100,000 19.56

1,000 2.84 200,000 23.26

2,000 4.30 400,000 27.66

4,000 6.52 600,000 30.61

6,000 8.32 800,000 32.90

8,000 9.89 1,000,000 34.79

10,000 11.00 2,000,000 41.37
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02. Exemptions. The provisions of Section 702 do not apply to: (        )

a. Fuel burning equipment; or (        )

b. Equipment used exclusively to dehydrate sugar beet pulp or alfalfa. (        )

03. Emission Standards. The following table illustrates the emission standards set forth in Section 
702.

(        )

703. PARTICULATE MATTER -- OTHER PROCESSES.

01. Other Processes. No person with processes exempt under Subsection 702.02.b. may emit 
particulate matter to the atmosphere from any process or process equipment in excess of the amount shown in the 
following equations, where E is the total rate of emission from all emission points from the source in pounds per hour 
and P is the process weight rate in pounds per hour. (        )

a. If P is less than sixty thousand (60,000) pounds per hour, E = 0.02518(P)0.67 (        )

b. If P is greater than or equal to sixty thousand (60,000) pounds per hour, E = 23.84(P)0.11 - 40
(        )

02. Emission Standards. The following table illustrates the emission standards set forth in Section 
703.

PROCESS WEIGHT EMISSIONS FROM 
ENTIRE SOURCE PROCESS WEIGHT EMISSIONS FROM 

ENTIRE SOURCE

lb/hr lb/hr lb/hr lb/hr

175 or less 1 20,000 16.24

200 1.08 40,000 19.58

400 1.64 60,000 21.84

600 2.09 80,000 23.61

800 2.48 100,000 25.07

1,000 2.84 200,000 30.23

2,000 4.30 400,000 36.46

4,000 6.52 600,000 40.67

6,000 8.32 800,000 43.96

8,000 9.89 1,000,000 46.69

10,000 11.30 2,000,000 56.30 
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(        )

704. -- 724. (RESERVED)

725. RULES FOR SULFUR CONTENT OF FUELS.
 The reference test method for measuring fuel sulfur content is ASTM method, D129-95 Standard Test for Sulfur in 
Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method) or such comparable and equivalent method approved in accordance 
with Subsection 157.02.d. Test methods and procedures must comply with Section 157. (        )

01. Definitions. (        )

a. ASTM. American Society for Testing and Materials. (        )

b. Distillate Fuel Oil. Any oil meeting the specifications of ASTM Grade 1 or Grade 2 fuel oils.
(        )

c. Residual Fuel Oil. Any oil meeting the specifications of ASTM Grade 4, Grade 5 and Grade 6 fuel 
oils. (        )

ALLOWABLE RATE OF EMISSION BASED ON PROCESS WEIGHT RATE

Process Weight
Rate Rate of Emission Process Weight

Rate
Rate of

Emission

Lb/Hr Lb/Hr Lb/Hr Lb/Hr

100 0.551 16,000 16.5

200 0.877 18,000 17.9

400 1.40 20,000 19.2

600 1.83 30,000 25.2

800 2.22 40,000 30.5

1,000 2.58 50,000 35.4

1,500 3.38 60,000 40.0

2,000 4.10 70,000 41.3

2,500 4.76 80,000 42.5

3,000 5.38 90,000 43.6

3,500 5.96 100,000 44.6

4,000 6.52 120,000 46.3

5,000 7.58 140,000 47.8

6,000 8.56 160,000 49.0

7,000 9.49 200,000 51.2

8,000 10.4 1,000,000 69.0

9,000 11.2 2,000,000 77.6

10,000 12.0 6,000,000 92.7

12,000 13.6
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02. Residual Fuel Oils. No person may sell, distribute, use or make available for use, any residual fuel 
oil containing more than one and three-fourths percent (1.75%) sulfur by weight. (        )

03. Distillate Fuel Oil. No person may sell, distribute, use or make available for use, any distillate fuel 
oil containing more than the following percentages of sulfur: (        )

a. ASTM Grade 1. ASTM Grade 1 fuel oil - zero point three percent (0.3%) by weight. (        )

b. ASTM Grade 2. ASTM Grade 2 fuel oil - zero point five percent (0.5%) by weight. (        )

04. Coal. No person may sell, distribute, use or make available for use, any coal containing greater 
than one percent (1.0%) sulfur by weight. (        )

05. Alternative. The Department may approve in a permit issued in accordance with these rules an 
alternative fuel sulfur content if the applicant demonstrates that, through control measures or other means, sulfur 
dioxide emissions (based on a one (1) hour averaging period) are equal to or less than those resulting from the 
combustion of fuels complying with the limitations of Subsections 725.01 through 725.04. (        )

726. -- 749. (RESERVED)

750. RULES FOR CONTROL OF FLUORIDE EMISSIONS.
This section prevents the emission of fluorides such that the accumulation of fluorine in feed and forage for livestock 
does not exceed the safe limits specified below. (        )

01. Emission Limitations -- Phosphate Fertilizer Plants. No person may allow, suffer, cause or 
permit the discharge into the atmosphere of total fluoride emissions in gaseous and in particulate form, expressed as 
fluoride (F-), from the phosphate fertilizer plant sources listed in Subsection 750.03 in excess of thirty hundredths 
(0.30) pounds of fluoride per ton of P2O5 input to the calciner operation, calculated at maximum rated capacity.

(        )

02. Monitoring, Testing, and Reporting Requirements. Compliance with Subsection 750.01 will be 
adjudged upon the results of the continuing program of fluoride sampling of potential grazing areas and alfalfa 
growing areas required by the Department. Sampling conducted by any person subject to Section 750 will be 
accepted for determining compliance with Subsection 750.01 if such sampling is conducted at sites approved by the 
Department in advance of sampling, using analytical procedures appearing in the Procedures Manual for Air 
Pollution Control, Section I (Source Test Methods) or equivalent methods approved by the Department in advance of 
sampling. Compliance with Subsection 750.01 must be demonstrated by testing methods approved in advance by the 
Department. When approved by the Department in advance of sampling, engineering calculations may be submitted 
in lieu of emission data. Monitoring and reporting requirements will be included in operating permits granted to each 
facility. (        )

03. Source Specific Permits. To assure compliance with Subsection 750.01, the Department will 
specify methods for calculating total allowable emissions and issue source specific permits containing emission 
limitations for the following sources within phosphate fertilizer plants: (        )

a. Calciner operation; and (        )

b. Wet phosphoric acid plants; and (        )

c. Super phosphoric acid production; and (        )

d. Diammonium phosphate plants; and (        )

e. Monoammonium phosphate production; and (        )

f. Triple super phosphate (mono calcium phosphate) production. (        )
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04. Exemptions. The provisions of Subsections 750.01, 750.02, and 750.03 do not apply to any 
phosphate fertilizer facility that produces mono ammonium phosphate exclusively if no animal feed is grown or if no 
animal grazing occurs or if the animal feed and forage meets the ambient air quality standards for fluorides specified 
in Section 577 within a three (3) mile radius of such facility. This exemption only applies if the owner or operator of 
the facility, on an annual basis: (        )

a. Conducts a fluoride sampling program of potential grazing areas at locations approved in advance 
of sampling by the Department, using analytical techniques appearing in the Procedures Manual for Air Pollution 
Control, Section I (Source Test Methods); and (        )

b. Submits the results of such sampling program to the Department as soon as they become available.
(        )

751. -- 759. (RESERVED)

760. RULES FOR THE CONTROL OF AMMONIA FROM DAIRY FARMS.
Sections 760 through 764 establish the requirements for the control of ammonia through best management practices 
(BMPs) for certain size dairy farms licensed by the Idaho State Department of Agriculture to sell raw milk for human 
consumption. Compliance with these sections does not relieve the owner or operator of a dairy farm from the 
responsibility of complying with all other federal, state and local applicable laws, regulations, and requirements, 
including, but not limited to, Sections 161, 650 and 651. Registration forms and guidance documents relating to these 
rules are located at www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

761. GENERAL APPLICABILITY.
The requirements of Sections 760 through 764 apply to the following size dairy farms:

(        )

762. PERMIT BY RULE.

01. General Requirement. Owners and operators of dairy farms are deemed to have a permit by rule if 

SUMMARY: Animal Unit (AU) or mature cow threshold to produce 100 ton NH3/year

Animal Unit (AU) Basis Drylot Free Stall/Scrape Free Stall/Flush

AU (100 t NH3) Threshold

No land app 7089 3893

229327% volatilization 1 6842 3827

80% volatilization 2 6397 3700

Cow Basis (1400 lbs) Drylot Free Stall/Scrape Free Stall/Flush

Total Cows (100 t NH3) Threshold

No land app 5063 2781

163827% volatilization 1 4887 2733

80% volatilization 2 4569 2643

1 Assumes: Expected level of N->NH3 volatilization for: drop-hose or ground level 
liquid manure application

2 Assumes: Expected level of N->NH3 volatilization for: center pivot or other con-
ventional sprinkler irrigation liquid manure application
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they comply with all of the applicable provisions of Sections 760 through 764. Owners and operators of dairy farms 
subject to Sections 760 through 764 must not operate without obtaining the applicable permit by rule within the time 
frame specified. (        )

02. Optional Permit by Rule. Nothing in Sections 760 through 764 precludes any owner or operator 
of a dairy farm from requesting and obtaining an air quality permit pursuant to Section 200, nor do Sections 760 
through 764 preclude an owner or operator of a dairy farm below the threshold size in Section 761 from complying 
with Sections 760 through 764 and thereby obtaining a permit by rule. (        )

03. Exemption. If a dairy farm not subject to Sections 760 through 764 otherwise would become 
subject to those sections as a result of an emergency, the dairy farm must notify the Department in writing within 
fourteen (14) days of the emergency. The notification must include an explanation of the emergency circumstances. 
The dairy farm is exempt from the requirements of Sections 760 through 764 as long as the consequences of the 
emergency continue (but in no case for more than one (1) year) unless for good cause the Department determines it is 
appropriate to limit, condition or revoke the exemption. For the purpose of this rule “emergency” is defined as a 
serious situation or occurrence that happens unexpectedly and demands immediate action. (        )

763. REGISTRATION FOR PERMIT BY RULE.

01. Registration Process. Any owner or operator of a new dairy farm subject to sections 760 through 
764, or an existing dairy farm that becomes subject to these sections due to change in size or type of operation, must 
register prior to fifteen (15) days of triggering the threshold for which a permit is required. (        )

02. Registration Due Date. Any owner or operator of an existing dairy farm subject to Sections 760 
through 764 must register within fifteen (15) days of the effective date of Sections 760 through 764. (        )

03. Registration Information. The following information must be provided by the registrant to the 
Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of Agriculture: (        )

a. Name, address, location of dairy farm, and telephone number. (        )

b. Information sufficient to establish that the dairy farm is of the size and type described in Section 
761. (        )

c. Information describing what BMPs, as described in Section 764, are employed to total twenty-
seven (27) points. (        )

04. Exemption from Registration Fee. Dairy farms subject to Sections 760 through 764 are exempt 
from paying the permit by rule registration fee set forth in Section 800. (        )

05. Inspection. Within thirty (30) days of receipt of the registration information, the state of Idaho will 
conduct a qualifying inspection to ensure the requisite point total of BMPs are employed. (        )

764. DAIRY FARM BEST MANAGEMENT PRACTICES.

01. BMPs. Each dairy farm subject to Sections 760 through 764, or that otherwise obtains a permit by 
rule under these sections, must employ BMPs for the control of ammonia to total twenty-seven (27) points. Points 
may be obtained through third party export with sufficient documentation. The table located at Subsection 764.02. 
lists available BMPs and the associated point value. As new information becomes available or upon request, the 
Department may determine a practice not listed in the table constitutes a BMP and assign a point value. (        )

02. Table - Ammonia Control Practices for Idaho Dairies.
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Ammonia Control Practices for Idaho Dairies

Ammonia Control Effectiveness1

System Component Open 
Lot

Freestall 
Scrape

Freestall 
Flush

Compliance 
Method3

Waste 
Storage and 
Treatment 
Systems

Synthetic Lagoon Cover 15 20 20 1

GeoteXtile Covers 10 13 13 1

Solids Separation 3 3 3 3, 4

Composting 4 4 4 1

Separate Slurry and Liquid Manure 
Basins 6 10 - 1

In-House Separation 0 12 0 1

Direct Utilization of Collected Slurry 6 10 - 1, 3, 4

Direct Utilization of Parlor Wastewater 10 10 10 1

Direct Utilization of Flush Water 8 0 13 3, 4

Anaerobic Digester - - - -

Anaerobic Lagoon - - - -

Aerated Lagoon 10 12 15 2

Sequencing-Batch Reactor 15 20 20 2

Lagoon Nitrification/Denitrification 
Systems 15 20 20 2

Fixed-Media Aeration Systems 15 20 20 2

Zeolite Treatment of Liquid Manure 
1lb/cow/day 4 5 5 2

Zeolite Treatment of Liquid Manure 
2lb/cow/day 8 10 10 2

General 
Practices

Vegetative or Wooded Buffers  
(established) 7 7 7 1

Vegetative or Wooded Buffers  
(establishing) 2 2 2 1

Alternatives to Copper Sulfate - - - -

Freestall 
Barns Scrape Built Up Manure - 3 3 1

Frequent Manure Removal UD UD UD -
S – RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 215 2023 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-2101
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE
Tunnel Ventilation - - - -

Tunnel Ventilation w/Biofilters - 10 10 1

Tunnel Ventilation w/Washing Wall - 10 10 3, 4

Open Lots 
and Corrals Rapid Manure Removal 4 2 2 1, 2

Corral Harrowing 4 2 2 1

Surface Amendments 10 5 5 2

In-Corral Composting / Stockpiling 4 2 2 1

Summertime Deep Bedding 10 5 5 1

Animal 
Nutrition Manage Dietary Protein 2 2 2 2

Composting 
Practices Alum Incorporation 12 8 6 2

Carbon:Nitrogen Ratio (C:N) Ratio 
Manipulation 10 7.5 5 2

Composting with Windrows - - - -

Composting Static Pile 6 4.5 3 1

Forced Aeration Composting 10 7.5 5 1

Forced Aeration Composting 
with Biofilter 12 8 6 1

Zeolite Incorporation 12 8 6 2

Land 
Application2 Soil Injection - Slurry 10 15 7.5 2

Incorporation of Manure within 24 hrs 10 10 10 2

Incorporation of Manure within 48 hrs 5 5 5 2

Nitrification of Lagoon Effluent 10 10 15 3, 4

Low Energy/Pressure Application 
Systems 7 7 10 1

Freshwater Dilution 5 8 8 1, 2

Pivot Drag Hoses 8 8 10 1

Ammonia Control Practices for Idaho Dairies

Ammonia Control Effectiveness1

System Component Open 
Lot

Freestall 
Scrape

Freestall 
Flush

Compliance 
Method3
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(        )

765. -- 789. (RESERVED)

790. RULES FOR THE CONTROL OF NONMETALLIC MINERAL PROCESSING PLANTS.
Sections 790 through 799 establish the requirements for nonmetallic mineral processing plants, frequently referred to 
as rock crushers. Definitions for nonmetallic mineral processing plants can be found in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart 
OOO. Compliance with Section 790 does not relieve the owner or operator of a nonmetallic mineral processing plant 
from the responsibility of complying with other federal, state, and local applicable laws, regulations, and 
requirements. (        )

791. GENERAL CONTROL REQUIREMENTS.

01. Prohibition. No owner or operator of a nonmetallic mineral processing plant may allow, suffer, or 
cause the emissions of any air pollutant to the atmosphere in such quantity of such nature and duration and under such 
conditions as would be injurious to human health or welfare, to animal or plant life, or to property, or to interfere 
unreasonably with the enjoyment of life or property. (        )

02. Control of Fugitive Dust. In accordance with Sections 650 and 651, owners and operators of 
nonmetallic mineral processing plants must take all reasonable precautions to prevent the generation of fugitive dust. 
In determining what is reasonable, consideration will be given to factors such as the proximity to human habitations 
and/or activities and atmospheric conditions that might affect the movement of particulate matter. (        )

792. (RESERVED)

793. EMISSIONS STANDARDS FOR NONMETALLIC MINERAL PROCESSING PLANTS NOT 
SUBJECT TO 40 CFR PART 60, SUBPART OOO.
Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants that are not subject to a 40 CFR Part 60 requirement 
must comply with the emissions standards set forth in Section 793. (        )

Subsurface Drip Irrigation 10 10 12 1

Notes:
1. The ammonia emission reduction effectiveness of each practice is rated numerically based on practical year-

round implementation. Variations due to seasonal practices and expected weather conditions have been 
factored into these ratings. Not implementing a BMP when it is not practicable to do so, does not reduce 
the point value assigned to the BMP, nor does it constitute failure to perform the BMP. UD indicates that 
the practice is still under development.

2. Land application practices assume practice is conducted on all manure; points will be pro-rated to reflect actual 
waste treatment; points can be obtained on exported material with sufficient documentation.

3. Method used by inspector to determine compliance
1=Observation by Inspector
2=On-Site Recordkeeping Required
3, 4=Deviation Reporting Required. Equipment upsets and/or breakdowns must be recorded in a deviation 

log and if repaired in a reasonable timeframe does not constitute non-compliance with this rule.

Ammonia Control Practices for Idaho Dairies

Ammonia Control Effectiveness1

System Component Open 
Lot

Freestall 
Scrape

Freestall 
Flush

Compliance 
Method3
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01. Processing Plants Not Regulated by 40 CFR Part 60. Fixed or portable plants that commenced 
construction, reconstruction, or modification before August 31, 1983, are not subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO.

(        )

02. Emissions Standards for Fugitive Emissions. Emissions that exhibit greater than twenty percent 
(20%) opacity must not be discharged in the atmosphere from any crusher, grinding mill, screening operation, bucket 
elevator, belt conveyor, conveying system, transfer point, vent, capture system, storage bin, stockpile, truck dumping 
operation, vehicle traffic on an affected paved public roadway, vehicle traffic on or wind erosion of an unpaved haul 
road, or other source of fugitive emissions. Opacity must be determined using the test methods and procedures in 
Section 625. The plant is not required to have a certified opacity reader. (        )

794. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS.
No owner or operator may commence construction, reconstruction, modification or operation of any nonmetallic 
mineral processing plant regardless of whether or not the source is an affected facility pursuant to 40 CFR 60.670(e) 
without first obtaining a permit or complying with Sections 795 through 799. The owner or operator must comply 
with the permitting requirements of Subsection 794.02 or Subsection 794.03 and the applicable portions of 
Subsection 794.04 and/or Subsection 794.05. (        )

01. Permit by Rule Eligibility. New major facilities or major modifications subject to Sections 204 
and 205 are not eligible for a Permit by Rule. (        )

02. Permit by Rule. Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants that meet all the 
applicable requirements set forth in Sections 795 through 799 are deemed to have a permit by rule (PBR) and are not 
required to obtain a permit to construct under Sections 200 through 227. (        )

03. Permit to Construct. Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants that do not 
meet all of the requirements set forth in Sections 795 through 799, or that operate or intend to operate a nonmetallic 
mineral processing plant at a single site of operations for more than twelve (12) consecutive months, or that choose to 
construct and operate under specific permit requirements rather than the provisions of the permit by rule must obtain 
a permit to construct pursuant to Sections 200 through 227. An existing permit to construct will be considered valid 
until the permit is modified, incorporated into a Tier II operating permit, or terminated by the Department. (        )

04. Tier I Operating Permits. Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants that are 
affected facilities subject to a requirement of 40 CFR Part 60 are Tier I sources as defined in Section 006. Tier I 
sources must comply with the applicable permitting requirements of Sections 300 through 397. (        )

05. Tier II Operating Permits. Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants that 
are required by the Department or choose to obtain a Tier II operating permit pursuant to Sections 400 through 409 
must operate in accordance with the specific provisions of the Tier II operating permit until such time as the operating 
permit is terminated in writing by the Department. The Department may require owners and operators of nonmetallic 
mineral processing plants to obtain a Tier II operating permit whenever the Department determines that: (        )

a. Emission rate reductions are necessary to attain or maintain any ambient air quality standard or 
applicable prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) increment; or (        )

b. Specific emissions standards, or requirements on operation or maintenance are necessary to ensure 
compliance with any applicable emission standard or rule. (        )

795. PERMIT BY RULE REQUIREMENTS.
Sections 795 through 799 establish the requirements for a permit by rule for nonmetallic mineral processing plants.

(        )

796. APPLICABILITY.

01. Permit by Rule. Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants are deemed to 
have a permit by rule if they comply with all of the applicable provisions of Sections 795 through 799. Nothing in 
Sections 795 through 799 precludes any owner or operator from obtaining a permit. Portable sources that operate or 
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may be operated at a single location or site of operations for more than twelve (12) consecutive months must obtain a 
permit to construct. (        )

02. Permit Option. Owners and operators of nonmetallic mineral processing plants that hold a valid 
permit to construct or a Tier II operating permit must comply with the terms and conditions of the permit and are not 
subject to the requirements of the permit by rule in Sections 795 through 799. (        )

797. REGISTRATION FOR PERMIT BY RULE.

01. Registration Process. Any owner or operator of a nonmetallic mineral processing plant that opts to 
operate under the permit by rule must register in the following manner: (        )

a. Any new or modified processing plant must register fifteen (15) days prior to commencing 
operation or modification. The Department will acknowledge registration in writing within fifteen (15) days. (        )

b. Any permitted processing plant must register with the Department and request termination of the 
current permit to construct or Tier II operating permit. The Department will normally act on the request within fifteen 
(15) days and notify the registrant in writing. (        )

Registration for permit by rule does not relieve the owner or operator of portable equipment from the registration and 
relocation requirements of Section 500. (        )

02. Registration Information. The following information must be provided by the registrant using 
forms furnished by the Department, or by other means approved by the Department. (        )

a. For all crushers and grinding mills, the registrant shall supply information on the manufacturer, 
crusher type (such as jaw, cone), serial number, date of manufacture, and maximum throughput capacity. (        )

b. For all screen decks, the registrant shall supply manufacturer name, physical size of screen, number 
of decks, serial number, and date of manufacture. (        )

c. For all electrical generators, the registrant shall supply manufacturer name, rated output, and fuel.
(        )

798. ELECTRICAL GENERATORS.
The following requirements apply to all electrical generators used to provide electrical power to any nonmetallic 
mineral processing plant. The requirements apply to each site of operations. (        )

01. Fuel Type. Only ASTM (American Society of Testing and Materials) Grade 1 or 2 fuel oil may be 
used. The sulfur content of the fuel used must not exceed the percentages of sulfur given in Section 725. (        )

02. Generator Operating Requirements. For the purposes of Sections 790 through 799, the 
following apply to all electrical generators.

Rated Output 
Capacities

(kW)

Allowable Operating Hours
(hr/day)

Allowable Operating Hours
(hr/yr)

Attainment
Unclassifiable

Areas

PM-10
Nonattainment

Areas

Attainment
Unclassifiable

Areas

PM-10
Nonattainment

Areas

0 - 454 24 8 8760 2880

455 - 1000 24 24 8760 8760

1001 - 2000 24 24 5200 5200
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(        )

03. Generator Opacity Limit. Visible emissions from any generator stack, vent, or other functionally 
equivalent opening must not exceed twenty percent (20%) opacity for a period or periods aggregating more than three 
(3) minutes in any sixty (60) minute period. Opacity must be determined using the test methods and procedures 
contained in Section 625. (        )

04. Monitoring and Recordkeeping Requirements. (        )

a. The owner or operator must monitor and record the following information. (        )

i. The rated output capacity, in kilowatts (kW), of the electrical generator(s) used; (        )

ii. Operating hours on a monthly and annual basis so compliance can be continuously determined for 
the previous twelve (12) month period; and (        )

iii. Vendor receipts of the fuel oil purchased clearly identifying the ASTM Grade. (        )

b. Records of monitoring and recordkeeping requirements for current operations must be maintained 
at the site of operations for the duration of operations at that location and must be available to Department 
representatives upon request. Records for previous sites of operation must be kept for the most recent two (2) year 
period at a location where they can be reasonably accessed and be made available to the Department upon request.

(        )

799. NONMETALLIC MINERAL PROCESSING PLANT FUGITIVE DUST BEST MANAGEMENT 
PRACTICE.
The owner or operator of a nonmetallic mineral processing plant must use the Best Management Practices (BMP) 
contained in Section 799 to control the emissions of fugitive dust. Fugitive dust emissions must be reasonably 
controlled as required by Sections 650 and 651. It is the responsibility of the owner or operator to reasonably control 
fugitive emissions at each site of operations but only for the duration of operations at each site under the control of 
the owner or operator. (        )

01. Generally Applicable Requirements. All reasonable precautions must be taken to prevent 
particulate matter from becoming airborne. (        )

a. The owner or operator of a nonmetallic mineral processing plant must at all times be observant of 
all sources of fugitive dust emissions and monitor control strategies at least once per day when operating. The 
following events will trigger initiation of the prescribed control strategy or control strategies to control the fugitive 
dust emissions. (        )

i. When fugitive dust emissions are observed at any time to be exceeding any control strategy trigger 
specified in Subsections 799.02 through 799.06, that event triggers initiation of the prescribed control strategy or 
control strategies to control the fugitive dust emissions. (        )

ii. Citizen complaints of failure to reasonably control fugitive dust must be expeditiously evaluated by 

kW = kilowatts
hr/day = hours per day
hr/yr = hours per year

Rated Output 
Capacities

(kW)

Allowable Operating Hours
(hr/day)

Allowable Operating Hours
(hr/yr)

Attainment
Unclassifiable

Areas

PM-10
Nonattainment

Areas

Attainment
Unclassifiable

Areas

PM-10
Nonattainment

Areas
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the owner or operator for merit. If the owner or operator determines the complaint has merit, the progressive strategy 
must be expeditiously employed to reasonably control fugitive dust. The Department may review the complaint 
records and investigate citizen complaints as appropriate. If the Department finds that a complaint has merit, it may 
determine additional control measures are required. (        )

b. A progressive control strategy must be used to reasonably control the emissions of fugitive dust. 
Progressive control strategy means that if the initial control strategy or strategies chosen do not adequately control 
fugitive dust emissions, the owner or operator must employ successive control strategies as listed until fugitive dust 
control is achieved. Fugitive dust control must be applied on a frequency such that visible emissions do not exceed 
any emission standard specified in Sections 790 through 799. (        )

c. The owner or operator must maintain a record of each event where a control strategy is triggered. 
The trigger must be recorded with a summary of the control strategy employed. If the trigger is a citizen complaint, 
the owner or operator must record the complaint, an evaluation of whether the complaint has merit, and a summary of 
the corrective action taken. The record must be maintained on forms provided by the Department or other forms that 
contain similar information. Records for current operations must be maintained at the site of operations for the 
duration of operations at that location and must be available to Department representatives upon request. Records for 
previous sites of operation must be kept for the most recent two (2) year period at a location where they can be 
reasonably accessed and must be made available to the Department upon request. (        )

02. Requirements for Paved Public Roadways. (        )

a. Definitions. (        )

i. A paved public roadway means a roadway accessible to the general public having a surface of 
asphalt or concrete. (        )

ii. Track-out means the deposition of mud, dirt, or similar debris onto the surface of a paved public 
roadway from the tires and/or undercarriage of any vehicle associated with the operation of a nonmetallic mineral 
processing plant. (        )

b. Control strategy triggers that require initiation of a strategy or strategies to control fugitive dust 
emissions from track-out include, but are not limited to: (        )

i. Visible deposition of mud, dirt, or similar debris on the surface of a paved public roadway. (        )

ii. Visible fugitive emissions from vehicle traffic on an affected paved public roadway that approach 
twenty percent (20%) opacity for a period or periods aggregating more than one (1) minute in any sixty (60) minute 
period. (        )

c. The following are control strategies for track-out. (        )

i. Prompt removal of mud, dirt, or similar debris from the affected surface of a paved public roadway.
(        )

ii. Water flush, and/or water flush and vacuum sweep, the affected surface of the paved public 
roadway. Runoff must be controlled so it does not saturate the surface of the adjacent unpaved haul road such that 
track-out is enhanced. If runoff is not, or cannot be controlled, gravel must be applied to the surface of the adjacent 
unpaved haul road over an area sufficient to control track-out. (        )

iii. Apply gravel to the surface of the adjacent unpaved haul road. The area of application must be 
sufficient to control track-out. (        )

iv. Apply an environmentally safe chemical soil stabilizer or chemical dust suppressant to the surface 
of the adjacent unpaved haul road. The area of application must be sufficient to control track-out. (        )

v. Other control strategy or strategies as approved by the Department. (        )
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03. Requirements for Unpaved Haul Roads. (        )

a. Unpaved haul roads are defined as any unsurfaced roadway within the physical boundary of a 
nonmetallic mineral processing facility that is used as a haul road, access road, or similar. (        )

b. Control strategy triggers that require initiation of a strategy or strategies to control fugitive dust 
emissions from unpaved haul roads include, but are not limited to visible fugitive emissions from vehicle traffic on 
unpaved haul roads that approach twenty percent (20%) opacity for a period or periods aggregating more than one (1) 
minute in any sixty (60) minute period. (        )

c. The following are control strategies for fugitive dust emissions from unpaved haul roads. (        )

i. Limit vehicle traffic on unpaved haul roads. (        )

ii. Limit vehicle speeds on unpaved haul roads. If a speed limit is imposed, signs must be posted along 
the haul road route and clearly indicate the speed limit. Signs must be placed so they are visible to vehicles entering 
and leaving the site of operations. (        )

iii. Apply water to the surface of the unpaved haul road. Runoff must be controlled so it does not 
saturate the surface of the unpaved haul road such that it causes track-out. If runoff is not, or cannot be controlled, 
gravel must be applied to the surface of the unpaved haul road over an area sufficient to control track-out. (        )

iv. Apply gravel to the surface of the unpaved haul road. (        )

v. Apply an environmentally safe chemical soil stabilizer or chemical dust suppressant to the surface 
of the unpaved haul road. (        )

vi. Other control strategy or strategies as approved by the Department. (        )

04. Requirements for Transfer Points, Screening Operations, and Stacks and Vents. (        )

a. In addition to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOO, incorporated by reference in 
Section 107, for applicable facilities, the following control strategy triggers require initiation of a strategy or 
strategies to control fugitive dust emissions from transfer points, belt conveyors, bucket elevators, screening 
operations, conveying systems, capture systems, and building vents. (        )

i. Opacity greater than twenty percent (20%) from any transfer point on a belt conveyor, conveying 
system, bucket elevator, or screening operation. (        )

ii. For any transfer point on a belt conveyor, conveying system, bucket elevator, or screening 
operation located within a building, opacity greater than twenty percent (20%) from any building vent. (        )

iii. Opacity greater than twenty percent (20%) from any capture system stack. (        )

b. The following are control strategies for transfer points, belt conveyors, bucket elevators, screening 
operations, conveying systems, capture systems, and building vents. Controls must be applied on a frequency such 
that visible fugitive emissions do not exceed any applicable opacity limit. (        )

i. Limit drop heights of materials such that there is a homogeneous flow of material. (        )

ii. Install, operate, and maintain water spray bars to control fugitive dust emissions at transfer points 
on belt conveyors, conveying systems, bucket elevators, and screening operations as necessary. (        )

iii. Other control strategy or strategies as approved by the Department. (        )

05. Requirements for Crushers and Grinding Mills. (        )
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a. Control strategy triggers that require initiation of a strategy or strategies to control fugitive dust 
emissions from any crusher, grinding mill, building vent, or capture system stack include the requirements of 40 CFR 
Part 60, Subpart OOO, for applicable facilities and the following. (        )

i. Opacity greater than twenty percent (20%) from any crusher or grinding mill at which capture 
system is not used. (        )

ii. For any crusher or grinding mill located within a building, opacity greater than twenty percent 
(20%) from any building vent. (        )

iii. Opacity greater than twenty percent (20%) from any capture system stack. (        )

b. The following are control strategies for any crusher, grinding mill, building vent, or capture system 
stack. Controls must be applied on a frequency such that visible fugitive emissions do not exceed any applicable 
opacity limit. (        )

i. Limit drop heights of materials such that there is a homogeneous flow of material. (        )

ii. Install, operate, and maintain water spray bars to control fugitive dust emissions at crusher drop 
points as necessary. (        )

iii. Other control strategy or strategies as approved by the Department. (        )

06. Requirements for Stockpiles. (        )

a. Control strategy triggers that require immediate initiation of a strategy or strategies to control 
fugitive dust emissions from stockpiles include, but are not limited to visible fugitive emissions from wind erosion of 
any stockpile that approaches twenty percent (20%) opacity for a period or periods aggregating more than one (1) 
minute in any sixty (60) minute period. (        )

b. The following are control strategies for stockpiles. (        )

i. Limit the height of the stockpiles. (        )

ii. Limit the disturbance of the stockpiles. (        )

iii. Apply water onto the surface of the stockpile. (        )

iv. Other control strategy or strategies as approved by the Department. (        )

800. REGISTRATION FEE FOR PERMIT BY RULE.
A registration fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) must be submitted to the Department with each permit by rule 
registration. (        )

801. PAYMENT OF FEES FOR PERMITS BY RULE REGISTRATION.
The permit by rule registration fee must be paid in its entirety at the time the required registration form is submitted to 
the Department. Information for making payments is available at http://www.deq.idaho.gov. (        )

802. RECEIPT AND USAGE OF FEES.
Permit by rule registration fee receipts will be deposited by the Department into a stationary source permit account. 
Monies from this account will be used solely toward technical, legal and administrative support of the Department’s 
Permit to Construct and Tier II permit programs and will not be used for those activities supported by the fund created 
for implementing the operating permit program required under Title V of the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 
1990. Fees payable under Section 800 will be retained by the Department regardless of whether a permit by rule 
registration is accepted by the Department in response to a registration request. (        )
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803. -- 814. (RESERVED)

815. RULES FOR CONTROL OF KRAFT PULP MILLS.
Sections 815 through 818 establish emission standards for recovery furnaces and notification and reporting 
requirements for low volume high concentration (LVHC) and high volume low concentration (HVLC) gas venting at 
kraft pulp mills. (        )

816. RECOVERY FURNACE TRS STANDARD.
The average daily emissions of total reduced sulfur (TRS) from each recovery furnace must not exceed fifteen (15) 
ppm expressed as hydrogen sulfide on a dry basis. Recovery furnaces at kraft pulp mills subject to 40 CFR Part 60 
TRS standards are exempt from the requirements of Section 816. (        )

817. RECOVERY FURNACE TRS MONITORING AND RECORDKEEPING.
Owners and operators of each recovery furnace subject to the TRS emission standard in Section 816 must maintain 
and operate equipment to continuously monitor and record the daily average TRS concentrations. (        )

818. KRAFT PULP MILL LVHC AND HVLC GAS VENTING NOTIFICATION AND REPORTING.
Section 818 is applicable to kraft pulp mill LVHC and HVLC gas venting from sources required to be controlled 
pursuant to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart S. For purposes of Sections 130 through 136, an excess emission is defined as a 
continuous uncontrolled gas venting in excess of five (5) minutes. Excess emissions notification and reporting must 
be conducted pursuant to the requirements contained in Sections 130 through 136 and the permit issued to the kraft 
pulp mill. (        )

819. -- 834. (RESERVED)

835. RULES FOR CONTROL OF RENDERING PLANTS.
No person may allow, cause, or permit: (        )

01. Cookers. The operation or use of any device, machine, equipment, or other contrivance to cook 
inedible animal or marine matter unless all gases, vapors, and gas entrained effluents from these processes are passed 
through condensers to remove all steam and other condensable materials. All noncondensibles, defined as gases and 
vapors from processes that are not condensed at standard temperature and pressure unless otherwise specified, 
passing through the condensers must then be incinerated at one thousand two hundred degrees Fahrenheit (1,200) for 
a minimum of three-tenths (0.3) seconds, or treated in an equally effective manner. (        )

02. Expellers. The installation or operation of an expeller unless it is properly hooded and all exhaust 
gases are ducted to odor control equipment. (        )

03. Plant Air. The installation or operation of a rendering plant unless plant ventilation air is collected 
and ducted to odor control equipment except if it can be demonstrated that without ducting plant ventilation air to the 
odor control equipment no noticeable odors from the plant can be detected at the property line. (        )

836. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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