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IDAPA 39 — IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT

39.02.22 - RULES GOVERNING REGISTRATION AND PERMIT FEE ADMINISTRATION AND
TEMPORARY VEHICLE CLEARANCE FOR CARRIERS

DOCKET NO. 39-0222-2201 (ZBR CHAPTER REWRITE)
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost/Benefit Analysis (CBA)

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2023 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed
through this rulemaking. The pending rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or
upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 40-312 and 49-201, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

There are no changes to the pending fee rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. In support of the
Governor’s Red Tape Reduction Initiative, eight chapters under IDAPA Title 39 were up for review this year per the
Zero-Based Regulation E. O. 2020-01 and the Department’s 5-year review schedule. The goal of these rulemakings is
to make changes and modifications that remove obsolete language, eliminate unnecessary restrictions, provide clarity
and update the respective chapters.

The original text of the proposed rule was published in the August 3, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol.
22-8, pages 72-79.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: No fees or
charges are being increased.

This rule provides for installment payment plans for commercial motor vehicle registrations. It covers
administrative costs for services provided by the Department, which includes a $50 fee for setting up each installment
payment plan. To reinstate a payment plan that has been suspended, a $40 fee is required. If there are insufficient
funds, the rule allows the Department to collect a $20 insufficient funds fee and provides the Department with the
ability to collect a $40 fee for reinstatement of a revoked or suspended commercial motor vehicle registration.

In Subchapter A, the rule allows the Department to authorize and issue temporary clearance for a carrier who
needs to immediately operate a commercial motor vehicle and who is in the process of obtaining and submitting
requirements for full issuance of vehicle registration and license plates. This temporary permit provides for a 45-day
intermediate clearance. The $18 fee for this permit has been struck from this rule, as it is already defined in 49-
202(2)(m), Idaho Code. (See §49-434 and §49-501, Idaho Code).

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

This rulemaking is not anticipated to have any fiscal impact on the state general fund.
ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee
rule, contact Colby Cameron at (208) 334-8849.

DATED this 7th Day of December 2022.
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Colby Cameron

Office of Governmental Affairs
Idaho Transportation Department
11331 W. Chinden Blvd., Bldg. 8
208.334.8849
colby.cameron@itd.idaho.gov

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 40-312 and 49-201, Idaho
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 17, 2022.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

In support of the Governor’s Red Tape Reduction Initiative, eight chapters under IDAPA Title 39 were up for
review this year per the Zero-Based Regulation E. O. 2020-01 and the Department’s 5-year review schedule. The goal
of these rulemakings is to make changes and modifications that remove obsolete language, eliminate unnecessary
restrictions, provide clarity and update the respective chapters.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: No fees or
charges are being increased.

This rule provides for installment payment plans for commercial motor vehicle registrations. It covers
administrative costs for services provided by the Department, which includes a $50 fee for setting up each installment
payment plan. To reinstate a payment plan that has been suspended, a $40 fee is required. If there are insufficient
funds, the rule allows the Department to collect a $20 insufficient funds fee and provides the Department with the
ability to collect a $40 fee for reinstatement of a revoked or suspended commercial motor vehicle registration.

In Subchapter A, the rule allows the Department to authorize and issue temporary clearance for a carrier who
needs to immediately operate a commercial motor vehicle and who is in the process of obtaining and submitting
requirements for full issuance of vehicle registration and license plates. This temporary permit provides for a 45-day
intermediate clearance at a cost of $18. (See §49-434 and §49-501, Idaho Code)

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was
conducted under docket 39-ZBRR-2201. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules — Negotiated Rulemaking was
published in the May 4, 2022, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 22-5, pages 88-89.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A.
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, please contact Ramon S. Hobdey-Sanchez at (208) 334-8810.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 24, 2022.

DATED this 7th Day of July 2022.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF ZBR FEE DOCKET NO. 39-0222-2201

39.02.22 - RULES GOVERNING REGISTRATION AND PERMIT FEE ADMINISTRATION AND
TEMPORARY VEHICLE CLEARANCE FOR CARRIERS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

Sections 49-201, 49-202, 49-434, 49-439 and 49-501, Idaho Code. ( )
001. SCOPE.

This rule clarifies the procedures for administering registration and permit fees and provides for temporary vehicle
clearance (TVC) procedures in Idaho. ( )
002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Combination of Vehicles. A tractor or truck tractor and one (1) or more trailers and/or semitrailers.
« )
02. Nonsufficient Funds (NSF). NSF will be the abbreviation as it pertains to checks written on
personal and/or business checking accounts without sufficient funds to cover the check, for payment to the
department. ( )
03. Non-Reducible Load. Defined in IDAPA 39.03.01, Rules Governing Definitions Regarding
Special Permits. ( )
04. Quarterly Report. The form for registrants to report the laden miles traveled on Idaho highways
during the preceding three (3) months when transporting non-reducible vehicles/loads under annual overweight/
oversize permits. ( )
05. Revocation of Registration. The termination of a registrant’s vehicle registrations and authority to

operate on Idaho highways for failure to comply with requirements specified by the Department and Idaho Code.
« )
06. Registrant. A person, firm, or corporation in whose name a vehicle or vehicles are registered, with
an Idaho account number assigned by the department. ( )
07. Road Use Fee. The fee per mile paid for non-reducible vehicles or combinations of vehicles
hauling non-reducible loads. The fees are based on the number of axles on the vehicle or combination of vehicles and
the total gross weight, in addition to the registration fee. ( )
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IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT Docket No. 39-0222-2201
Registration & Permit Fee Administration/Temporary Vehicle Clearance PENDING FEE RULE

08. Suspension of Registration. The temporary withdrawal of a registrant’s vehicle registrations and
authority to operate on Idaho highways for failure to comply with requirements specified by the Department and
Idaho Code. ( )

011. - 099. (RESERVED)

100. QUARTERLY ROAD USE FEE REPORTS FOR ANNUAL OVERWEIGHT PERMITS.

To comply with Section 49-1001, Idaho Code, the customer will make quarterly reports of laden only mileage to the
department for the movements of non-reducible vehicle/loads, at the appropriate permitted weight level of the annual
special permits. These fees are in addition to the registration fees. Mileage and road use fees for single trip special
permits are calculated and collected at the time of issuance and are not reported quarterly. ( )

101. QUARTERLY ROAD USE FEE REPORTING.

01. Quarterly Reporting Forms Issued. The department will generate an online quarterly report form
for each valid annual special permit issued to them. ( )

02. Use of Quarterly Reporting Form. The customer will report each quarter’s information on the
Department’s form with all requested information completed on or before the specified due date, even when reporting
zero (0) miles traveled. «C )

a. If the customer does not receive a quarterly report form or report their information online, it is the
customer’s responsibility to notify the Department allowing adequate time to submit the report before the due date.

«C )

b. Any report transmitted through the US Postal Service is considered filed and received by the
department on the date shown by the post office cancellation mark stamped on the envelope or wrapper containing
the report. A postage meter cancellation is not considered as a post office cancellation mark. ( )

c. If the quarterly report form due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date will
be extended to the next business day. ( )

d. Quarterly reports not submitted will result in the account being suspended. ( )
102. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. INSTALLMENT PAYMENTS FOR COMMERCIAL VEHICLE REGISTRATION.

The department offers a Payment Plan for registrants in compliance with Sections 49-434, Idaho Code. ( )
01. Requirements to Participate in Installment Payments. ( )
a. Participant must sign participation contract agreement. ( )
b. Only Full Fee and Idaho IRP registration fees are included in the payment plan. Other jurisdictions’
IRP fees will not be included. ( )
c. Only full annual registration fees will be included in payment plan. Registrations for less than one
full year will not be included. ( )
d. Vehicles not registered within thirty (30) days after the previous year registration has expired will

not be eligible for the installment payment option. Submitted applications for registration that have been invoiced, but
not paid for, by the last day of the registration effective month will not be eligible for the installment payment option.

)

e. Installment contract requirements do not provide opportunity for registrant to opt out of any
remaining installment payments. The balance of the payment plan may continue to be paid even if the truck is not
being operated. ( )
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IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT Docket No. 39-0222-2201
Registration & Permit Fee Administration/Temporary Vehicle Clearance PENDING FEE RULE

f. If registrant meets the criteria in Section 300 of this rule, the prorated portion of the Idaho fee will
be credited toward the installment plan or refunded if the plan has been paid in full. ( )

g. Registrant may not participate in installment payment plan if the registrant’s account has previously
been suspended as stated in Subsection 200.06 of this rule. ( )

h. The contract will stipulate the payment periods and the installment payment vouchers will stipulate
the due dates of each subsequent payment. ( )

i. An installment payment plan fee of fifty dollars ($50) will be required and collected at the time of
setup for each installment payment plan created. ( )

02. Billings, Payments and Due Dates of Installment Plan. ( )
a. The department will upon acceptance of the contract by the registrant, receive one-quarter of the

annual registration fee along with the installment payment plan fee, and then will bill the registrant for three (3) equal
installments based upon the previously set payment periods outlined in the contract, which are due by the end of the

third, sixth, and ninth months after the effective date of the registration. ( )
b. Installment payment vouchers will be provided with the initial invoice. ( )
c. US Postal Service postmark may be used to determine if payment is received on time. If the
envelope is postmarked on or before the last day of the month, the payment will be considered “on time.” ( )
d. If the last day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the next business day will
be considered the due date. ( )
e. Failure to retain provided payment vouchers does not relieve the burden of the registrant to pay the
installment amount by the due date. ( )
03. Failure to Pay Installment Payment by Due Date. ( )
a. The department may send out courtesy pre-suspension notices approximately five (5) days after the
due date to registrants who have failed to remit payment by the due date printed on the quarterly billing. (
b. The pre-suspension letter will contain a late penalty fee of ten percent (10%) of the amount due and
an additional one percent (1%) for each month or portion of a month that the payment is past due. ( )
c. Registrant will pay installment amount portion that is due, plus assessed penalties and interest.
«C )
04. Suspension of Registrant’s Account Due to Non-Payment of Payment Plan. Approximately
two (2) weeks after pre-suspension notices are mailed to the registrant, the department may suspend accounts of
registrant’s that have failed to remit installment payment and/or interest and penalty. ( )
05. Reinstatement Fee for Payment Plan Registration. ( )
a. A forty dollar ($40) reinstatement fee will be applied to all payment plan accounts that have been
suspended. ( )
b. Registrant must pay quarterly payment portion, penalty and interest, if applicable, and
reinstatement fee before suspension will be cleared from account. (
06. Repetitive Suspensions Result. ( )
a. After the registrant’s account has been suspended for delinquent installment payments two (2) or
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IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT Docket No. 39-0222-2201
Registration & Permit Fee Administration/Temporary Vehicle Clearance PENDING FEE RULE

more times, the registrant will not be allowed to participate in future payment plan programs unless; ( )

i. Customer has twelve (12) consecutive months of no suspensions related to the account starting
from the month the account is cleared; and ( )

ii. Customer requests in writing to the department to participate in future installment payment plans
and will be allowed to do so.

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)
300. REFUNDS.

01. Fees Eligible for Refund. Registrants may make a request for refunds if appropriate information is
submitted to the Department in the following instances: ( )
a. Commercial vehicle registration is eligible for refund when the criteria in Section 49-434, Idaho
Code, are met. ( )
b. If account has been overpaid, and no other fees are owed to the department. ( )
c. Unexpired portion of Idaho based fees are refundable for: ( )
i A vehicle that has been sold or repossessed; ( )
ii. A vehicle that has been damaged beyond repair; or ( )
ii. A vehicle on which the lease has been terminated. ( )
iv. Other refund requests will be reviewed and approved or denied on a case by case basis. ( )
02. Fees Not Eligible for Refunds. Other jurisdiction’s fees are not refundable by Idaho. ( )

301. -- 399. (RESERVED)
400. NONSUFFICIENT FUNDS.

01. Payment With Insufficient Fund Check. If a customer pays a fee by check and the check is
returned to the department as NSF, the transaction will be cancelled. The department reserves the right to not accept
checks from a customer who has written two (2) or more NSF checks within four (4) years to the department. That
customer will have to pay with cash, or verifiable check, or credit card. ( )

02. Suspension of Account. The department will suspend the customer's account until the customer
has paid the amount of the NSF check, along with the twenty dollar ($20) NSF fee. ( )

03. No Further Transactions. The department will not complete further transactions with the
customer until the customer has paid the amount of the NSF check along with the twenty dollar ($20) NSF fee.
)
401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION.
The department will suspend the vehicle registration(s) by notifying the registrant in writing sent via first class pre-

paid mail to the registrant’s last known address if: ( )
01. Failure to Comply. The registrant fails to comply with a billing letter requesting payment of fees
and penalties. ( )
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IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT Docket No. 39-0222-2201

Registration & Permit Fee Administration/Temporary Vehicle Clearance PENDING FEE RULE
02. Non-Filing by the Registrant. The registrant does not file quarterly reports or make installment
payments to the department. ( )

501. REVOCATION OF REGISTRATION.
The department may revoke the vehicle registration(s) if the registrant fails to comply with a suspension notice within
fifteen (15) days of receipt of the notice. ( )

502. REQUIREMENTS FOR REINSTATEMENT OF REVOKED OR SUSPENDED VEHICLE
REGISTRATION.

01. Revocation. In the case of a revocation, a registrant must pay all fees due and a forty dollar ($40)
reinstatement fee to be reinstated and must also re-register to resume operating. ( )

02. Suspension. In the case of a suspension all fees, reports, and records required prior to the
suspension must be provided to the department, including a forty dollar ($40) reinstatement fee. ( )

503. REQUIREMENTS FOR COLLECTIONS.

All unpaid amounts owed to the department may be sent to an external collection agency. Collection agencies may
charge a fee for their efforts in collection of a debt as per Section 67-2358, Idaho Code. Accounts that have been
assigned to a collection agency must pay the collection agency all fees due. The department will not accept the
payment once assigned to the collection agency. ( )

504. -- 599. (RESERVED)
600. ENFORCEMENT.

01. Delayed Movement. If the registration of a vehicle is suspended the Ports of Entry may delay
movement of the vehicle until such time as the registrant complies with the condition(s) that caused the suspension.

«C )

02. Revoked Registrations. If a registrant’s registrations are revoked for failure to respond to a

suspension notice, the motor vehicle cannot be operated on Idaho highways until the registrant complies with Section
702 of this rule. Registrants with outstanding balances owed to the department or revoked registrations are not
eligible to purchase trip permits. ( )
601. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. APPEAL PROCEDURE.

01. Filing of Appeal. A registrant wishing to contest a penalty or suspension of a registration or an
account may file an appeal within ten (10) days of receipt of the notice. ( )

701. -- 799. (RESERVED)

SUBCHAPTER A - RULES GOVERNING TEMPORARY VEHICLE CLEARANCE FOR CARRIERS
800. ADMINISTRATION.
Temporary Vehicle Clearances are valid for a maximum of forty-five (45) days or to the registration year expiration
date and may be issued to a carrier whose account is in good standing upon payment of the fee. If self-issued by the
carrier online, the temporary vehicle clearance fee is waived. ( )
801. -- 899. (RESERVED)
900. ISSUANCE OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION (CAB CARD) AND LICENSE PLATE(S).

01. Issuance of Vehicle Registration & License Plate(s). The vehicle registration and license plate(s)
may be issued when: ( )
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IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT Docket No. 39-0222-2201

Registration & Permit Fee Administration/Temporary Vehicle Clearance PENDING FEE RULE
a. The online application is received by the Department, all applicable fees are paid and all licensing
requirements are met. ( )
02. Permanent Identification. When all criteria are met, a registration, license plate and sticker (if
applicable) will be issued. ( )
901. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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