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IDAPA 04 – OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
DOCKET NO. 04-0000-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 48-1006(1) and 48-1106, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter(s) under IDAPA 04, rules of the Office of the Attorney General:

IDAPA 04
• 04.02.02, Idaho Rules of Telephone Solicitations and Pay-Per-Telephone-Call Services

The text of the pending fee rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those 
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The original text of the 
proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin (Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, 
pages 638-651. The Office of the Attorney General has adopted these rules as pending fee rules. The changes made to 
these pending fee rules form the proposed rule text consist of non-substantive changes to limit redundancies, remove 
out dated language, and otherwise streamline these rules.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules. The fees set forth in these rules impose a fifty-dollar ($50) registration fee upon telephone solicitors 
required to register with the Attorney General. For those solicitors renewing their registration, the fee is twenty-five 
dollars ($25). This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 48-1006(3), Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

This rulemaking is not anticipated to have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget 
has already been set by the Legislature, and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees 
being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Brett DeLange, Chief, Consumer Protection Division, Office of the Attorney General. Mr. DeLange can 
be reached at (208) 334-4114 or at brett.delange@ag.idaho.gov.

Dated this 31st day of October, 2019.

Brett T. DeLange, Division Chief Boise, ID 83720-0010
Consumer Protection Division Phone: (208) 334-4114
Office of the Attorney General Fax: (208) 334-4151
954 W. Jefferson St., 2nd Floor brett.delange@ag.idaho.gov 
P. O. Box 83720
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OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL Docket No. 04-0000-1900F
IDAPA 04 OMNIBUS PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is June 
30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Sections 48-1006(1) and 48-1106, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 04, rules of the Office of the Attorney General:

IDAPA 04
• 04.02.02, Idaho Rules of Telephone Solicitations and Pay-Per-Telephone-Call Services

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found (and the Attorney General concurs) that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the 
following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules.

These rules govern important matters related to Idaho’s marketplace as regards to telephone solicitations and 
pay-per-telephone-call services. 

The fee or charge imposed by the rules, expressly authorized by Section 48-1006(3)(b), Idaho Code, is necessary 
to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been 
previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part 
of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The 
FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of 
these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these 
fee rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and 
services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. These 
rules and the fees set forth therein are necessary in order to assure that laws and rules regulating the practices of 
telephone solicitors are enforced.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. The fess set forth in these rules impose 
a fifty-dollar ($50) registration fee upon telephone solicitors required to register with the Attorney General. For those 
solicitors renewing their registration, the fee is twenty-five dollars ($25).

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL Docket No. 04-0000-1900F
IDAPA 04 OMNIBUS PENDING FEE RULE
FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Brett DeLange, Chief, Consumer 
Protection Division, Office of the Attorney General. Mr. DeLange can be reached at (208) 334-4114 or 
brett.delange@ag.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 04-0000-1900F
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04.02.02 – IDAHO RULES OF TELEPHONE SOLICITATIONS AND PAY-PER-TELEPHONE-
CALL SERVICES, OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
Subchapter A -- General Provisions
(Rules 0 - 19)

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY (RULE 0).
This chapter is adopted under the legal authority of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, and pursuant to Sections 48-
1006(1), 48-1106, and 48-604, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE (RULE 1).

01. Title. These rules are titled “Idaho Rules of Telephone Solicitations and Pay-Per-Telephone-Call 
Services, Office of the Attorney General,” IDAPA 04, Title 02, Chapter 02. (7-1-93)

02. Scope. These rules are intended to safeguard persons against deceit and financial hardship, to 
insure, foster, and encourage competition and fair dealings among telephone solicitors by requiring adequate 
disclosure, and to prohibit representations that have the capacity, tendency, or effect of misleading a purchaser acting 
reasonably under the circumstances. Further, these rules are intended to provide reasonable guidance to persons doing 
telephone solicitations and providing pay-per-telephone-call services either from or to locations in the state of Idaho.

(7-1-93)

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS -- AGENCY GUIDELINES (RULE 2).
In accordance with Section 67-5201(19)(b)(iv), Idaho Code, this agency has written statements that pertain to the 
interpretation of the rules of this chapter, or to the compliance with the rules of this chapter. The document is 
available for public inspection and copying at cost at the Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection Unit.

(7-1-93)

003. RULES OF CONSTRUCTION (RULE 3).
Without limiting the scope of any section of the ITSA or the IPTCA, or any other rule or law, these rules shall be 
liberally construed and applied to promote the general purposes and policies of these Acts. (7-1-93)

004. NON-INCLUSIVE (RULE 4).
These rules are not intended to cover all trade practices that violate the provisions of the ITSA or the IPTCA. Other 
areas of illegal telephone solicitations or pay-per-telephone-call services not specifically encompassed by these rules 
are still actionable under the ITSA, the IPTCA, or the Idaho Consumer Protection Act, codified at Title 48, Chapter 6, 
Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

005. CUMULATIVE (RULE 5).
These rules are intended to be cumulative in effect and supplementary to each other as well as to the Idaho Consumer 
Protection Rules, codified at IDAPA 04.02.01. If acts or practices are governed by more than one rule under either 
these rules or the Idaho Consumer Protection Rules, compliance with all applicable rules is required. (7-1-93)

006. NON-EXCLUSIVE (RULE 6).
These rules are in addition to, and do not affect, any other rights or obligations that may exist by statute or judicial 
decision. (7-1-93)

007. EXCEPTIONS TO THESE RULES (RULE 7).
Exempted telephone solicitors are exempt from subchapters C, D, and H, and TSR 056 and TSR 057. Exempted 
information providers are exempt from subchapter F. (7-1-93)

008. -- 019. (RESERVED)

Subchapter B -- Definitions
(Rules 20 -- 29)

020. DEFINITIONS (RULE 20).
The definitions set forth in Sections 48-1002 and 48-1102, Idaho Code, apply with full force and effect to all 
provisions and sections of these rules. Terms not defined in these rules, the Idaho Consumer Protection Rules, 
codified at IDAPA 04.02.01.000, or Sections 48-1002, 48-1102, or 48-602, Idaho Code, shall be construed in 
accordance with general principles of Idaho law. As used in this chapter: (7-1-93)
Section 000 Page 7  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 04.02.02 – Telephone Solicitations
Office of the Attorney General & Pay-per-Telephone Call Services
01. Advertisement (Including Words of Similar Meaning or Import). Any oral, written, graphic, or 
pictorial representation, statement, or public notice, however made or utilized, including, without limitation, by 
publication, dissemination, solicitation or circulation, in the course of trade and commerce. (7-1-92)

02. Business Days. All days of the week except Saturdays and Sundays and all other legal holidays as 
defined by Section 73-108, Idaho Code. (7-1-92)

03. Clear and Conspicuous Disclosure. A statement, representation, or term which is disclosed in a 
manner that is: (7-1-92)

a. Reasonably close to any statement, representation or term it clarifies, modifies, explains, or to 
which it otherwise relates; (7-1-92)

b. Reasonably noticeable; (7-1-92)

c. Reasonably understandable by the persons to whom it is directed; and (7-1-92)

d. Not contradictory to any terms it purports to clarify, modify, or explain. (7-1-92)

04. Conducting Business. Making telephone solicitations either to or from locations within the State 
of Idaho. (7-1-92)

05. Exempted Information Providers. Any telephone corporation that provides basic local exchange 
service or message telecommunication service, as defined by Section 62-603, Idaho Code, which transmits pay-per-
telephone-call services but does not control the content of the information transmitted. (7-1-93)

06. Exempted Telephone Solicitors. A person: (7-1-93)

a. Engaging in telephone solicitations where: (7-1-93)

i. The solicitation is an isolated transaction and not done in the course of a pattern of repeated 
transactions of like nature; or (7-1-92)

ii. Less than sixty percent (60%) of such person’s prior year’s sales were made as a result of telephone 
solicitations. (7-1-92)

b. Making a telephone solicitation where the purchaser contacted has previously purchased goods or 
services from the person or the business entity for which the person is calling. (7-1-93)

c. Making a telephone solicitation: (7-1-93)

i. Without the intent to make or obtain provisional acceptance of a purchase during the telephone 
solicitation; and (7-1-92)

ii. Who only makes the major sales presentation or arranges for the major sales presentation to be 
made at a later face-to-face meeting between the person and the purchaser, and the later face-to-face meeting is not 
for the purpose of collecting the payment or delivering any item purchased. (7-1-92)

d. Whose business is licensed by any federal or state of Idaho governmental agency, except the 
secretary of state office, which has the power to revoke any license issued by the agency. (7-1-93)

e. Making a telephone solicitation solely for purposes of selling a subscription to or advertising in a 
newspaper or telephone directory of general circulation. (7-1-93)

f. Making a telephone solicitation solely for purposes of selling a magazine, periodical, book or 
musical or video recordings: (7-1-93)
Section 020 Page 8  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 04.02.02 – Telephone Solicitations
Office of the Attorney General & Pay-per-Telephone Call Services
i. Under which the telephone solicitor provides the purchaser with a form which the purchaser may 
use to instruct the telephone solicitor not to ship the merchandise; and (7-1-92)

ii. Which complies with the Federal Trade Commission’s “Use of Negative Option Plans by Sellers in 
Commerce Rule,” 16 C.F.R. 425, or a continuity plan, subscription arrangement, series arrangement or single 
purchase unless the telephone solicitor ships goods to a purchaser who has consented in advance to receive such 
goods and the purchaser is given the opportunity to review the goods for at least seven (7) days and to receive a full 
refund for return of the undamaged goods. (7-1-93)

g. Who has at least one (1) business location in the state of Idaho under the same name as that used in 
connection with telephone solicitations and ninety percent (90%) of the person’s business involves the purchaser’s 
obtaining services and products at the person’s business location. (7-1-93)

h. Who is an issuer or subsidiary of an issuer that has a class of securities which is subject to Section 
12 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. Section 781, and which is either registered or exempt from 
registration under paragraphs (A), (B), (C), (E), (F), (G), or (H) of Subsection (g)(2) of that section. (7-1-93)

i. Who solicits sales by periodically publishing and delivering a catalog of the person’s merchandise 
to purchasers if the catalog: (7-1-93)

i. Contains a written description or illustration of each item offered for sale; (7-1-93)

ii. Includes the business address or home office address of the telephone solicitor; (7-1-92)

iii. Includes at least twenty-four (24) pages of written material and illustration and is distributed in 
more than one (1) state; and (7-1-93)

iv. Has an annual circulation by mailing of not less than two hundred fifty thousand (250,000).
(7-1-92)

07. Free (Including Words of Similar Meaning or Import). Without charge or cost, monetary or 
otherwise, to the recipient, and includes terms of essentially identical import, such as “give away” or 
“complimentary.” (7-1-92)

08. Goods. Any property, tangible or intangible, real, personal or mixed, and any other article, 
commodity, or thing of value. (7-1-92)

09. Information Provider. Any person that controls the content of a pay-per-telephone-call service.
(7-1-92)

10. ITSA. Idaho Telephone Solicitation Act, codified at Title 48, Chapter 10, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

11. IPTCA. Idaho Pay-Per-Telephone-Call Act, codified at Title 48, Chapter 11, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

12. Newspaper of General Circulation. A newspaper which holds a second class mailing permit from 
the United States Postal Service, has at least two hundred (200) subscribers, is made up of at least four (4) pages of at 
least five (5) columns, is not produced through any type of mimeographic process, and has been published or 
distributed within the State of Idaho on a weekly basis for at least seventy-eight (78) consecutive weeks, or on a daily 
basis, which is defined to be no less than five (5) days of any one (1) week, for at least twelve (12) months 
immediately preceding any telephone solicitation done by or on behalf of such newspaper. (7-1-92)

13. Offer. Any solicitation, invitation, or proposal by a telephone solicitor to a purchaser through 
which a telephone solicitor, either directly or indirectly, attempts or intends to sell, rent, or lease goods or services or 
to induce a purchaser to purchase, rent, or lease goods or services. (7-1-92)

14. Pay-per-Telephone-Call Service. Any telecommunications service which permits simultaneous 
Section 020 Page 9  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 04.02.02 – Telephone Solicitations
Office of the Attorney General & Pay-per-Telephone Call Services
calling by a number of callers to a single telephone number and for which the calling party is assessed, by virtue of 
completing the call, a charge that is not dependent on the existence of a presubscription relationship and for which the 
caller pays a per-call or per-time-interval charge that is greater than, or in addition to, the charge for transmission of 
the call. (7-1-92)

15. Person. Natural persons, partnerships, both limited and general, corporations, both foreign and 
domestic, companies, trusts, business entities, associations, both incorporated and unincorporated, and any other legal 
entity or any group associated in fact although not a legal entity, or any agent, assign, heir, servant, employee or 
representative thereof. (7-1-92)

16. Preamble Message. A statement communicated to a person at the beginning of any pay-per-
telephone-call service that contains the following: (7-1-92)

a. All per-call charges. If the call is billed on a usage sensitive basis, all rates, by minute or other unit 
of time, any minimum charges and the total cost for calls to that service must be disclosed if the duration of the pay-
per-telephone-call service can be determined; (7-1-92)

b. The name of the information provider; (7-1-92)

c. An accurate description of the information, goods, or services that the person will receive for the 
charge; and (7-1-92)

d. A statement that billing will begin only after a specific identified event following the disclosure 
message, such as a signal tone. (7-1-92)

17. Purchaser. A person who is solicited to become or does become obligated to a telephone solicitor 
or information provider. (7-1-92)

18. Services. Any work, labor, help, assistance, or instruction wherever provided or performed.
(7-1-92)

19. Telephone Directory of General Circulation. A directory containing telephone numbers of 
individual residents and/or businesses which is published on a community-wide or regional basis and which is widely 
available to persons residing in such community or region through free distribution or direct purchase of said 
directory without the requirement of other purchases or affiliations. (7-1-92)

20. Telephone Solicitation. A telephone solicitation is: (7-1-92)

a. Any unsolicited telephone call or facsimile transmission to a purchaser for the purpose of asking, 
inducing, inviting, requesting, or encouraging the purchaser to purchase or invest in goods or services; or (7-1-92)

b. Any communication in which: (7-1-92)

i. A free gift, award, or prize is offered, or in which it is advertised or implied that goods or services 
are offered below the regular price of the goods or services; (7-1-92)

ii. A return telephone call is invited or the communication is followed up by a call to the purchaser by 
the telephone solicitor; and (7-1-92)

iii. It is intended during the course of the return or follow-up call with the purchaser that a purchase or 
an agreement to purchase is made. (7-1-92)

iv. For purposes of TSR 020.20.b., “any communication” means a written or oral statement or 
notification or advertisement transmitted to the purchaser through any means. (7-1-93)

21. Telephone Solicitor. Any person who, on his own behalf or through other persons or through use 
of an automatic dialing-announcing device, engages in a telephone solicitation. (7-1-92)
Section 020 Page 10  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 04.02.02 – Telephone Solicitations
Office of the Attorney General & Pay-per-Telephone Call Services
22. Verifiable Retail Value. A price at which a telephone solicitor can demonstrate that a substantial 
number of goods or services have been sold at retail by a person other than the telephone solicitor. If such 
substantiation described herein is not available to a telephone solicitor, verifiable retail value shall be no more than 
one and one-half (1.5) times the amount the telephone solicitor paid for the goods or services. (7-1-93)

23. Written Confirmation. A writing that includes the following information: the date of purchase, 
the telephone solicitor’s complete address and registration number, a listing of all goods and/or services purchased, a 
listing of the price of each good and service purchased, the total obligation incurred by the purchaser, and the notice 
of cancellation as set forth in Section 48-1004, Idaho Code, and TSR 057. (7-1-93)

021. -- 029. (RESERVED)

Subchapter C -- Registration
(Rules 30 -- 39)

030. REGISTRATION (RULE 30).
Telephone solicitors shall register with the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General at least 
ten (10) days prior to conducting business in Idaho by filing the information required by subchapter D and a 
nonrefundable filing fee of fifty ($50) dollars. The information shall be submitted on a form and pursuant to 
instructions provided by the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General. (7-1-93)

031. VERIFICATION (RULE 31).
The information required by subchapter D shall be verified by a declaration signed by each principal of the telephone 
solicitor under penalty of perjury. The declaration shall specify the date and location of signing. Information 
submitted pursuant to TSR 040.10 and/or TSR 040.11 shall be clearly identified and appended to the filing. (7-1-93)

032. RENEWAL (RULE 32).
Registration of a telephone solicitor shall be valid for one (1) year from the effective date thereof and may be 
annually renewed by filing a new registration form provided by the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the 
Attorney General and paying a nonrefundable renewal fee of twenty-five ($25) dollars to the Consumer Protection 
Unit of the Office of the Attorney General. (7-1-93)

033. AMENDED INFORM (RULE 33).
Whenever, prior to expiration of a telephone solicitor’s annual registration, there is a material change in the 
information required by subchapter D, the telephone solicitor shall, within ten (10) business days of the material 
change, file an addendum updating the information with the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney 
General. (7-1-93)

034. REGISTRATION (RULE 34).
Upon receipt of a properly filed registration application or registration renewal application and the filing fee pursuant 
to TSR 030 or TSR 032, the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General shall register the 
telephone solicitor. If the telephone solicitor has more than one (1) business location, the registration shall be sent to 
the principal business location identified by the telephone solicitor in his or her registration application in sufficient 
number so that the telephone solicitor has one (1) for each location. (7-1-93)

035. POSTING OF REGISTRATION (RULE 35).
Upon receipt of the registration, the telephone solicitor shall post it in a conspicuous place at each of the telephone 
solicitor’s business locations and shall have available for inspection by any governmental agency at each location a 
copy of the entire registration application which had been filed with the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the 
Attorney General. (7-1-93)

036. DEFECTIVE REGISTRATION (RULE 36).
Any registration form which is not properly signed under penalty of perjury and completed properly with all 
necessary forms attached shall be rejected and returned to the telephone solicitor, and the telephone solicitor shall be 
deemed not to have filed a registration form with the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General. 

(7-1-93)
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037. REGISTRATION TIME PERIOD (RULE 37).
Within twenty (20) days of the date of receipt of the registration form, the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of 
the Attorney General will either register the telephone solicitor, request additional information, or deny the 
registration. (7-1-93)

038. -- 039. (RESERVED)

Subchapter D -- Telephone Solicitor Disclosure -- Office of the Attorney General
(Rules 40 -- 49)

040. INFORMATION DISCLOSURE (RULE 40).
Each filing pursuant to subchapter C shall contain the following information, to be provided on forms prepared by the 
Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General: (7-1-93)

01. Name. The name or names of the telephone solicitor, including the name under which the 
telephone solicitor is doing or intends to do business, and the name of any parent or affiliated organization that will 
engage in business transactions with purchasers relating to offers by the telephone solicitor or that accepts 
responsibility for statements made by, or acts of, the telephone solicitor relating to offers of the telephone solicitor.

(7-1-92)

02. Business Status. The telephone solicitor’s place of organization and, if the telephone solicitor is a 
corporation, a copy of its articles of incorporation and bylaws and amendments thereto; or, if a partnership, a copy of 
the partnership agreement; or, if operating under a fictitious business name, the location where the fictitious name has 
been registered. All the same information shall be included for any parent or affiliated organization disclosed 
pursuant to TSR 040.01. (7-1-93)

03. Location. The complete street address or addresses of all locations, designating the principal 
location from which the telephone solicitor will be conducting business. (7-1-92)

04. Telephone Numbers. A listing of all telephone numbers to be used by the telephone solicitor and 
the address where each telephone using each of these telephone numbers is located. (7-1-92)

05. Owners and Officers. The name of, and the office held by, the telephone solicitor’s officers, 
directors, trustees, general and limited partners, sole proprietor, and owners, as the case may be, and the names of 
those persons who have management responsibilities in connection with the telephone solicitor’s business activities.

(7-1-92)

06. Owners and Officers Identification. The complete address of the principal residence, the date of 
birth and the driver’s license number and state of issuance of each of the persons whose names are disclosed pursuant 
to TSR 040.05. (7-1-93)

07. Designated Responsible Persons. The name and principal residence address of each person the 
telephone solicitor leaves in charge at each location from which the telephone solicitor conducts business, and the 
business location that each of these persons is or will be in charge of. (7-1-92)

08. Background. A statement, as to both the telephone solicitor, whether a corporation, partnership, 
firm, association, joint venture, or any other type of business entity (and whether identified pursuant to TSR 040.05 or 
TSR 040.07), and as to any person identified pursuant to TSR 040.05 or TSR 040.07 who: (7-1-93)

a. Has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, fraudulent 
conversion, or misappropriation of property. For purposes of this paragraph, a plea of nolo contendere is a conviction; 

(7-1-92)

b. Has had entered against him or her a final judgment or order in a civil or administrative action, 
including a stipulated judgment or order, if the complaint or petition in the civil or administrative action alleged acts 
constituting a violation of the federal Trade Commission Act, or a state’s consumer protection or unfair and deceptive 
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practices act, fraud, theft, embezzlement, fraudulent conversion, or misappropriation of property, the use of untrue or 
misleading representations in an attempt to sell or dispose of real or personal property, or the use of unfair, unlawful 
or deceptive business practices; (7-1-92)

c. Is subject to any currently effective injunction or restrictive court order relating to business activity 
as the result of an action brought by a federal, state, or local public agency or unit thereof; or (7-1-92)

d. Has at any time during the previous seven (7) tax years filed for bankruptcy, been adjudged a 
bankrupt, been reorganized due to insolvency, or been a principal, director, officer, trustee, general or limited partner, 
or had management responsibilities of any other corporation, partnership, joint venture, or business entity, that has so 
filed or was so adjudicated or reorganized, during or within one (1) year after the period that the person held that 
position; (7-1-92)

e. For purposes of TSR 040.08.a., TSR 040.08.b., and TSR 040.08.c., the statement required by TSR 
040.08 shall identify the telephone solicitor or person, the court or administrative agency rendering the judgment or 
order, the docket number of the matter, the date of the judgment or order, and the name of the governmental agency, if 
any, that brought the action resulting in the judgment or order. For purposes of TSR 040.08.d., the statement required 
by this rule shall include the name and location of the telephone solicitor or person filing in bankruptcy, adjudged a 
bankrupt, or reorganized due to insolvency, and shall include the date thereof, the court which exercised jurisdiction, 
and the docket number of the matter; (7-1-93)

09. Financial Information. The name of the financial institution and account number for each of the 
telephone solicitor’s demand accounts, checking accounts, and merchant accounts used for the deposit of any credit 
card charge slips, including but not limited to, credit cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, Discover, American 
Express, Diners Club or Carte Blanche; (7-1-92)

10. Items for Sale. A description of the items the telephone solicitor is offering for sale and a copy of 
all sales scripts the telephone solicitor requires salespersons to use when soliciting prospective purchasers, or if no 
sales script is required to be used, a statement to that effect. (7-1-92)

11. Sales Literature. A copy of all sales information and literature (including but not limited to scripts, 
outlines, instructions, and information regarding how to conduct sales, sample introductions, sample closings, 
product information, and contest or premium-award information) provided by the telephone solicitor to salespersons 
or of which the telephone solicitor informs salespersons, and a copy of all written materials the telephone solicitor 
sends to any prospective or actual purchaser. (7-1-92)

12. Incentive Promotions. If the telephone solicitor represents or implies, or directs salespersons to 
represent or imply, to purchasers that the purchaser will receive certain specific items (including a certificate of any 
type which the purchaser must redeem to obtain the item described in the certificate) or one or more items from 
among designated items, whether the items are denominated as gifts, premiums, bonuses, prizes, or by other terms of 
similar meaning, the filing shall include the following: (7-1-92)

a. A list of the items offered; (7-1-92)

b. If the purchaser is not guaranteed of receiving any particular item: (7-1-92)

i. The odds a single purchaser has of receiving each item offered; (7-1-92)

ii. The manner in which the telephone solicitor decides which item or items a particular purchaser is to 
receive; and (7-1-92)

iii. The name and address of each recipient who has, during the preceding twelve (12) months (or if the 
telephone solicitor has not been in business that long, during the period the telephone solicitor has been in business), 
received the item having the greatest value and the item with the smallest odds of being received; (7-1-92)

c. The verifiable retail value of each item the purchaser has been offered, awarded or may be 
awarded, and the basis for the valuation; (7-1-92)
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d. All rules, regulations, terms, and conditions a purchaser must meet in order to receive the item; and, 
(7-1-93)

e. The price paid by the telephone solicitor to its supplier for each of these items and the name, 
address, and telephone number of each item’s supplier. (7-1-92)

041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

Subchapter E -- Telephone Solicitor Disclosure -- Purchaser
(Rules 50 -- 59)

050. MATERIAL DISCLOSURES (RULE 50).
At the time the telephone solicitation is made and prior to consummation of any sales transaction, the telephone 
solicitor shall disclose material terms of the transaction to each purchaser. Subchapter E identifies information that is 
material for various types of telephone solicitation promotions. (7-1-93)

051. INCENTIVE PROMOTIONS (RULE 51).
If the telephone solicitor represents or implies that a purchaser will receive, without charge therefor, certain specific 
items or one (1) item from among designated items, whether the items are denominated as gifts, premiums, bonuses, 
prizes, or by other terms of similar meaning, the telephone solicitor shall provide the following: (7-1-92)

01. Odds. The information required to be filed by TSR 040.12.b.i., TSR 040.12.b.ii., TSR 040.12.c., 
and 040.12.d. (7-1-93)

02. Address. The complete street address of the location from which the salesperson is calling the 
purchaser and, if different, the complete street address of the telephone solicitor’s principal location. (7-1-92)

03. Prize Winners. The total number of individuals who have actually received from the telephone 
solicitor, during the preceding twelve (12) months (or if the telephone solicitor has not been in business that long, 
during the period the telephone solicitor has been in business), the item having the greatest verified retail value, and 
the item with the smallest odds of being received. (7-1-92)

04. No Purchase Necessary. That no purchase is necessary in order to receive the goods or services 
that have been offered to the consumer as an inducement to attend the in-person sales presentation or contact the 
seller by telephone or by mail, but only if the seller follows up the consumer’s mail contact with a telephone contact.

(7-1-93)

052. PRECIOUS STONES AND MINERAL PROMOTIONS (RULE 52).
If the telephone solicitor is offering to sell any metal, stone, or mineral, the telephone solicitor shall provide the 
following information: (7-1-92)

01. Telephone Solicitor Address. The complete street address of the location from which the 
salesperson is calling the purchaser and, if different, the complete street address of the telephone solicitor’s principal 
location. (7-1-92)

02. Precious Ore Location. The address of each location where the metal, stone, or material will be 
kept. If the metal, stone, or material is not kept on premises owned by the telephone solicitor or at an address or 
addresses set forth in compliance with TSR 040.03, the name of the owner of the business at which the metal, stone, 
or mineral will be kept. (7-1-93)

03. Earning Claims. If the telephone solicitor makes any representations as to the earning or profit 
potential of purchases of any metal, stone, or mineral, all data which substantiates the claims made. If the 
representation relates to previous sales made by the telephone solicitor or a related entity, substantiating data shall be 
based on the experiences of at least fifty percent (50%) of the persons who have purchased the particular metal, stone, 
or mineral from the telephone solicitor or related entity during the preceding six (6) months (or if the telephone 
solicitor or related entity has not been in business that long, during the period the telephone solicitor or related entity 
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has been in business) and shall include the raw data upon which the representation is based, including, but not limited 
to, all of the following: (7-1-92)

a. The length of time the telephone solicitor or related entity has been selling the particular metal, 
stone, or mineral being offered; (7-1-92)

b. The number of purchasers thereof from the telephone solicitor or related entity known to the 
telephone solicitor or related entity to have made at least the same earnings or profit as those represented; and

(7-1-92)

c. The percentage that the number disclosed pursuant to TSR 052.03.b., represents of the total number 
of purchasers from the telephone solicitor or related entity of the particular metal, stone, or mineral. (7-1-93)

053. OIL, GAS, AND MINERAL FIELD PROMOTIONS (RULE 53).
If the telephone solicitor is offering to sell an interest in oil, gas, mineral fields, wells, or exploration sites the 
telephone solicitor shall provide the following information: (7-1-92)

01. Telephone Solicitor Address. The complete street address of the location from which the 
salesperson is calling the purchaser and, if different, the complete street address of the telephone solicitor’s principal 
location. (7-1-92)

02. Telephone Solicitor's Ownership Interest. The telephone solicitor’s ownership interest, if any, in 
each field, well, or site being offered for sale. (7-1-92)

03. Number of Interests. The total number of interests to be sold in each field, well, or site being 
offered for sale. (7-1-92)

04. Earning Claims. If the telephone solicitor makes any representation as to the earning or profit 
potential of purchases of any interest in these fields, wells, or sites, the filing shall include data to substantiate the 
claims made. If the representation relates to previous sales made by the telephone solicitor or a related entity, the 
substantiating data shall be based on the experiences of at least fifty percent (50%) of the purchasers of the particular 
interests from the telephone solicitor or the related entity during the preceding six (6) months (or if the telephone 
solicitor has not been in business that long, during the period the telephone solicitor or related entity has been in 
business) and shall include the raw data upon which the representation is based, including, but not limited to, all of 
the following: (7-1-92)

a. The length of time the telephone solicitor or related entity has been selling the particular interests in 
the fields, wells, or sites being offered; (7-1-92)

b. The number of purchasers of the particular interests from the telephone solicitor or related entity 
known to the telephone solicitor to have made at least the same earnings as those represented; and (7-1-92)

c. The percentage which the number disclosed pursuant to TSR 053.04.b., represents of the total 
number of purchasers of the particular interests from the telephone solicitor or related entity. (7-1-93)

054. OFFICE SUPPLIES AND EQUIPMENT PROMOTIONS (RULE 54).
If the telephone solicitor represents that office equipment or supplies are being offered at prices below those usually 
charged for these items, the telephone solicitor shall provide the following information: (7-1-92)

01. Telephone Solicitor Address. The complete street address of the location from which the 
salesperson is calling the purchaser and, if different, the complete street address of the telephone solicitor’s principal 
location. (7-1-92)

02. Manufacturer. The name of the manufacturer of each of the items the telephone solicitor has 
represented for sale and in which the purchaser expresses interest. (7-1-92)

055. COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 48-603A, IDAHO CODE (RULE 55).
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A telephone solicitor shall comply with the provisions of Section 48-603A, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

056. ORAL NOTICE OF CANCELLATION AND TELEPHONE SOLICITOR IDENTIFICATION 
(RULE 56).
If a sale or purchase is completed, the telephone solicitor must orally inform the purchaser of his or her cancellation 
rights as provided by Section 48-1004(2), Idaho Code, state the telephone solicitor’s registration number issued by 
the attorney general, and give the full street address, including the telephone number, of the telephone solicitor.

(7-1-93)

057. NOTICE OF CANCELLATION (RULE 57). 
Unless the purchaser has an unqualified right to return the goods or cancel the services and receive a full refund, the 
telephone solicitor shall send a written confirmation to the purchaser, which shall contain the following statement in 
ten (10) point bold face type, which sets forth a purchaser’s right to cancel any agreement made pursuant to a 
telephone solicitation:

NOTICE OF CANCELLATION

You may cancel this transaction, without any penalty or obligation whatsoever, within three (3) business 
days of the date on which you receive this written confirmation.

If you cancel, all payments or other consideration which have already been made by you will be returned 
within ten (10) business days following receipt by the telephone solicitor of your cancellation notice.

If you cancel, you must return the goods to the telephone solicitor at the address listed below and at the 
telephone solicitor’s risk and expense within twenty-one (21) days of the date you receive back from the telephone 
solicitor the payments or consideration you have already made.

To cancel this transaction, deposit in the mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice 
or any other written notice to (name of telephone solicitor), at (address of seller’s place of business) not later than 
midnight of the third business day after which you received this notice.

I hereby cancel this transaction.

(Date) (Buyer’s signature) (7-1-92)

058. -- 059. (RESERVED)

Subchapter F -- Information Provider Disclosures
(Rules 60 -- 69)

060. PREAMBLE MESSAGE (RULE 60).
An information provider that offers pay-per-telephone-call services to persons in this state shall include at the 
beginning of its service a preamble message. The preamble message shall be clearly understandable and audible. No 
preamble message shall be required if the total charge for the pay-per-telephone-call service is less than two dollars 
($2). (7-1-92)

061. PAY-PER-TELEPHONE-CALL SERVICES AIMED AT CHILDREN (RULE 61).
Any pay-per-telephone-call service that is aimed at or of likely interest to children under the age of eighteen (18), 
must contain a statement that the caller should hang up unless he or she has parental permission. (7-1-92)

062. BYPASS (RULE 62).
A telephone caller may be provided the means to bypass the preamble message after the first call, provided that the 
caller has sole control of that capability, except that any bypass device or mechanism shall be disabled for a period of 
thirty (30) days following the effective date of a price increase for the pay-per-telephone-call service. Instructions on 
how to bypass the preamble message shall either be at the end of the preamble message or at the end of the pay-per-
telephone-call service. (7-1-92)
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063. PREAMBLE MESSAGE MODIFICATION (RULE 63).
If the pay-per-telephone-call service originates and terminates within local exchange areas served by the same 
telephone company within the state of Idaho, the information provider may apply to the Attorney General for 
permission to modify the preamble message. The Attorney General may grant such permission if he is satisfied that 
the modified message will adequately disclose sufficient material facts which will safeguard the public against deceit 
and financial hardship and does not have the capacity, tendency, or effect of misleading a person acting reasonably 
under the circumstances. The Attorney General’s decision is final and nonreviewable. (7-1-92)

064. ADVERTISEMENT DISCLOSURES (RULE 64).
If the total charge for the pay-per-telephone-call service is more than two dollars ($2), advertisements for pay-per-
telephone-call services must clearly and conspicuously disclose in the advertisement all per-call charges, and contain 
the information required to be set forth in TSR 020.16.a. For purposes of TSR 064, a listing in any section of a 
telephone directory of general circulation or any other directory in which businesses or professions are listed 
alphabetically and which are not published more than twice in a consecutive twelve (12) month period of time does 
not constitute an advertisement. Information providers who advertise pay-per-telephone-call service in such a 
directory shall clearly and conspicuously disclose that the service is a pay-per-telephone-call service, but need not 
disclose the price or cost of the service. (7-1-93)

065. -- 069. (RESERVED)

Subchapter G -- Unlawful Acts
(Rules 70 -- 79)

070. INTIMIDATION (RULE 70).
It is an unlawful act for a telephone solicitor to intimidate or torment any person of normal and reasonable 
sensitivities in connection with a telephone solicitation. For purposes of TSR 070, intimidate or torment includes, but 
is not limited to, contacting a purchaser after the purchaser has requested that the telephone solicitor not call the 
purchaser again or contacting the purchaser within ninety (90) days after the purchaser has twice declined a telephone 
solicitation. (7-1-93)

071. REFUSAL TO HANG UP (RULE 71).
It is an unlawful act for a telephone solicitor to refuse to hang up and free a purchaser’s line immediately once 
requested to do so by the purchaser. (7-1-92)

072. MISREPRESENTATIONS (RULE 72).
It is an unlawful act for a telephone solicitor to: (7-1-92)

01. Price, Quality, or Availability Misrepresentations. Misrepresent the price, quality, or availability 
of the goods or services being offered to the purchaser. (7-1-92)

02. Material Disclosures. Fail to disclose all material matters relating directly or indirectly to the 
goods or services. (7-1-92)

03. Idaho Registration. Advertise or imply that the telephone solicitor has a valid Idaho registration 
number when the solicitor does not. (7-1-92)

04. Attorney General Approval. Represent or imply that the fact that the telephone solicitor has 
registered with the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General constitutes endorsement or 
approval of the telephone solicitor, the telephone solicitor’s goods or services, or the promotion the telephone 
solicitor is offering. (7-1-92)

073. COMPLIANCE WITH RULES (RULE 73).
It is an unlawful act for a telephone solicitor or an information provider to violate any applicable provisions or 
requirements of the ITSA, the IPTCA, or these rules. (7-1-93)

074. -- 079. (RESERVED)
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Subchapter H -- Service of Process
(Rules 80 -- 89)

080. APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEY GENERAL AS AGENT FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS (RULE 
80).
Every telephone solicitor shall, in conjunction with subchapters C and D, file with the Consumer Protection Unit of 
the Office of the Attorney General an irrevocable consent appointing the Attorney General as an agent to receive civil 
process in any action, suit, or proceeding brought under the ITSA, or these rules. The consent shall be on a form 
provided by the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General. (7-1-93)

081. SERVICE OF PROCESS (RULE 81).
Service of process may be effected on any telephone solicitor for any action, suit, or proceeding brought under the 
ITSA, or these rules, by leaving a copy of the summons and complaint in the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office 
of the Attorney General. Service is not effective and complete, however, until five (5) days after the plaintiff, who 
may be the Attorney General: (7-1-93)

01. Notice. Sends notice of the summons and complaint by registered mail to the telephone solicitor at 
its last address on file with the Consumer Protection Unit of the Office of the Attorney General. (7-1-92)

02. Affidavit. Files an affidavit of compliance with the provisions of Section 48-1006(2)(d), Idaho 
Code. (7-1-93)

082. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 11 – IDAHO STATE POLICE
RACING COMMISSION
DOCKET NO. 11-0400-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2506, 54-2507, 54-2508, 54-2509, 54-2512, 54-
2513, and 54-2514, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapters under IDAPA 11, rules of the Idaho State Police, Idaho State Racing Commission:

IDAPA 11
• 11.04.02, Rules Governing Simulcasting 
• 11.04.03, Rules Governing Licensing and Fees 
• 11.04.05, Rules Governing Advanced Deposit Wagering
• 11.04.07, Rules Governing Racing Associations 
• 11.04.11, Rules Governing Equine Veterinary Practices, Permitted Medications, Banned Substances 

and Drug Testing of Horses 
• 11.04.15, Rules Governing Controlled Substance and Alcohol Testing of Licensees, and Applicants

 These rules provide regulatory safeguards for the integrity of imminent horse races, the safety of horses and 
personnel involved in races, and the prevention of monetary fraud upon racing industry members and the public. The 
changes to these rules were clean up in nature, which in some instances consolidated and/or eliminated definitions; 
combined, re-ordered and re-numbered similar sections; and removed office hours and other information included on 
the coversheet. All the changes maintain the intent, scope, and purpose intended and previously approved.

Any amendments to the text of the pending rule have been made in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho 
Code. The original text of the proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin 
(Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, pages 1447-1512.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules.

IDAPA 11.04.02
• 11.04.02.015.03 – Daily Simulcast License Fee 
• 11.04.02.015.03.a. – Daily Simulcast License Fee 
• l l.04.02.015.03.b. – Daily Simulcast License Fee 
• l l.04.02.015.03.c. – Daily Simulcast License Fee  

IDAPA 11.04.03
• 11.04.03.050.01 – Applicant License (fingerprint fee) 
• 11.04.03.050.03 – Applicant License (fingerprint fee) 
• 11.04.03.095 – Applicant License Add-on Fees
• 11.04.03.095.01 – Applicant License Add-on Fees
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• 11.04.03.095.02 – Applicant License Add-on Fees
• 11.04.03.330.05 – Supplemental Hair Testing Fee
• 11.04.03.600 – General Licensing Fee Schedule 

IDAPA 11.04.05
• 11.04.05.010.19 – Source Market Fee Definition
• 11.04.05.060 – Source Market Fee 

IDAPA 11.04.07
• 11.04.07.110 – Racing Association License Fees 

IDAPA 11.04.11.
• 11.04.11.160.03 – Shipping and Testing Fees For Split Samples 

IDAPA 11.04.15
• 11.04.15.150.02 – Costs Associated With Retesting of the Sample
• 11.04.15.300 – Alcohol/Drug Testing Expense

This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Sections 54-2506, 54-2508, 54-2512, 54-2513, 54-2515, and 54-
2517, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Ardie Noyes at phone (208) 884-7080, Fax (208) 884-7098, or email ardie.noyes@isp.idaho.gov.

Dated this 15th day of October, 2019.

Charlie Spencer
Police Services Major
Rules Review Officer
Idaho State Police 
700 S. Stratford Dr.
Meridian, ID 83642
charlie.spencer@isp.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 884-7203
Fax: (208) 884-7290

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2506, 54-2507, 54-2508, 54-2509, 54-2512, 54-2513, and 54-2514, Idaho Code.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 11, rules of the Idaho State Police, Idaho State Racing Commission:

IDAPA 11
• 11.04.02, Rules Governing Simulcasting  

- except for Subsections 010.06 and 010.13, Sections 047, 049 through 057
• 11.04.03, Rules Governing Licensing and Fees 
• 11.04.05, Rules Governing Advanced Deposit Wagering
• 11.04.07, Rules Governing Racing Associations 
• 11.04.11, Rules Governing Equine Veterinary Practices, Permitted Medications,  

Banned Substances and Drug Testing of Horses 
• 11.04.15, Rules Governing Controlled Substance and Alcohol Testing of Licensees, Employees, and Applicants

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. Specifically, the expiration of these rules on June 30, 2019 would occur during the 
middle of the already underway 2019 racing season, which is currently slated to end in September 2019. As such, 
expiration of these rules would immediately and effectively remove regulatory safeguards for the integrity of 
imminent horse races, the safety of horses and personnel involved in races, and the prevention of monetary fraud 
upon racing industry members and the public. Also, the expiration of these rules on June 30, 2019 would create 
inconsistent enforcement for the season, resulting in further injustice to the racing industry and the public.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. 

Per Section 54-2515, Idaho Code, payment of salaries, travel, operating costs and any other expenses necessary 
for the Racing Commission to carry out the provisions of this act are to come from the licensees (save office 
accommodations furnished by the state), and no salary, wages, expenses or compensation of any kind shall be paid by 
the state of Idaho for, or in connection with, the work of the Racing Commission in carrying out the provisions of the 
Idaho Racing Act. Because of this prohibition on state funding, the lost revenue from the expiration of fee rules 
cannot be absorbed by state funds. This inability to absorb will, in turn, immediately result in the failure of the Racing 
Commission to meet not only its general overhead costs, but also its expenses directly and necessarily incurred for 
specific incidences of enforcing the provisions of the Idaho Racing Act. In addition to the general foregoing, the 
following are specific findings as to each chapter imposing a fee:

IDAPA CHAPTER 11.04.02 “Rules Governing Simulcasting”
Daily simulcast license fees are generally mandated by Sections 54-2508 and 54-2506, Idaho Code. Part of those 
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fees are used to supplement the Idaho Public School Fund, and expiration of those fees will also result in a loss of 
revenue thereto.

IDAPA CHAPTER 11.04.03 “Rules Governing Licensing and Fees”
Section 54-2506, Idaho Code, mandates that the Racing Commission shall determine which persons are required 

to be licensed and that the Racing Commission shall set fees for such licensure. Moreover, the supplemental hair 
testing fee in IDAPA 11.04.03.330.05 is necessary to absorb the increased costs incurred by testing hair.

Hair testing rules were adopted in 2018 by the Racing Commission at the specific behest of the racing industry to 
further protect the integrity of horse racing. Expiration of this fee would result in no hair testing for subsequent races, 
would remove that requested safeguard, and, per the industry, would then discourage compliant owners and trainers 
from entering their horses into races.

IDAPA CHAPTER 11.04.05 “Rules Governing Advanced Deposit Racing”
Section 54-2512(10), Idaho Code, specifically mandates the source market fee as set forth in IDAPA 

11.04.05.060.

IDAPA CHAPTER 11.04.07 “Rules Governing Racing Associations”
The $25.00 Racing Association fee is generally mandated by Section 54-2508, Idaho Code.

IDAPA CHAPTER 11.04.11 “Rules Governing Equine Veterinary Practices, Permitted Medications, 
Banned Substances and Drug Testing of Horses”

IDAPA 11.04.11.160 affords a trainer or owner an additional due process procedure when a test returns positive 
for non-permitted substances in the horse by allowing them to request a second testing of a split sample collected 
from the horse at the same time as the sample first tested. The fee rule in Subsection 160.03 of this rule is necessary 
to reimburse the veterinarian for shipping costs and the Racing Commission for additional laboratory testing costs. 
Because of this due process mechanism, expiration of the fee rule portion would require the Racing Commission to 
bear those additional costs and would create a shortfall in meeting the Racing Commission’s other financial and 
regulatory obligations.

IDAPA CHAPTER 11.04.15 “Rules Governing Controlled Substance and Alcohol Testing of Licensees, 
Employees, and Applicants”

IDAPA 11.04.15.150.02 similarly affords a due process retesting procedure for licensees, employees, or 
applicants who initially test positive for alcohol or unauthorized controlled substances. The fee rule portion of this 
subsection is necessary to reimburse the Racing Commission for the additional testing costs. Because of this due 
process mechanism, expiration of the fee rule portion would require the Racing Commission to bear those additional 
costs and would create a shortfall in meeting the Racing Commission’s other financial and regulatory obligations.

IDAPA 11.04.15.300 delineates what testing and treatment costs are born between the Racing Commission and 
tested individuals. Expiration of this rule would create uncertainty and potential litigation over financial 
responsibility for those costs.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules.

11.04.02.015.03 Daily Simulcast License Fee
11.04.02.015.03a Daily Simulcast License Fee
l l.04.02.015.03b Daily Simulcast License Fee
l l.04.02.015.03c Daily Simulcast License Fee
11.04.03.050.01 Applicant License (fingerprint fee)
11.04.03.050.03 Applicant License (fingerprint fee)
11.04.03.095 Applicant License Add-on Fees
11.04.03.095.01 Applicant License Add-on Fees
11.04.03.095.02 Applicant License Add-on Fees
11.04.03.330.05 Supplemental Hair Testing Fee
11.04.03.600 General Licensing Fee Schedule
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11.04.05.010.19 Source Market Fee Definition
11.04.05.060 Source Market Fee 
11.04.07.110 Racing Association License Fees 
11.04.11.160.03 Shipping and Testing Fees For Split Samples
11.04.15.150.02 Costs Associated With Retesting of the Sample
11.04.15.300 Alcohol/Drug Testing Expense

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Ardie Noyes at phone (208) 884-7080, 
Fax (208) 884-7098, or e-mail ardie.noyes@isp.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 10th day of May, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 11-0400-1900F
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IDAHO STATE RACING COMMISSION
11.04.02 – RULES GOVERNING SIMULCASTING
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted pursuant to the legal authority of Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 11.04.02, “Rules Governing Simulcasting,” of the Idaho State 
Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

02. Scope. These rules regulate simulcasting within Idaho and all aspects of simulcasting. (4-9-09)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
In addition to the definitions in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code, the following apply: (        )

01. Authorized User. A person authorized by the Racing Commission to receive, decode, and use for 
legal purposes the encrypted simulcast signal of pari-mutuel events. (4-9-09)

02. Breakage. The odd cents rounded down to the lowest multiple of ten cents ($.10) in a positive pool 
and down to the lowest multiple of five cents ($.05) in a minus pool. (4-9-09)

03. Downlink. A receiving antenna coupled with an audio-visual signal receiver that is compatible 
with and capable of receiving simultaneous audio-visual signals or data emanating from a host association. This 
includes the electronic transfer of received signals from the receiving antenna to TV monitors within the satellite 
facility. (4-9-09)

04. Enclosure, Enclosure-Public. Includes all enclosed areas of the simulcast wagering facility.
(4-9-09)

05. Encryption. The scrambling or other manipulation of the audio-visual signals to mask the original 
content of the signal and so cause such signals to be indecipherable and unrecognizable to any person receiving such 
signal. (4-9-09)

06. Guest, Guest Association or Simulcast Operator. A simulcast licensee authorized by the Racing 
Commission to offer, sell, cash, redeem or exchange pari-mutuel tickets on races being run at a host association.

(4-9-09)

07. Handle or Gross Handle. Total amount of money wagered on a race less refunds and cancels.
(4-9-09)

08. Horse. Includes filly, mare, colt, horse or gelding in general; when referring to sex, filly becomes a 
mare when five (5) years old; a horse is an intact male when five (5) years old or older. (4-9-09)

09. Host or Host Association. The racing association conducting a licensed horse racing meeting 
when it is authorized by the Racing Commission to simulcast its racing program. It may also be considered the 
sending track which means any track from which simulcast signals originate. (4-9-09)

10. Hub. A facility that acts as an intermediary between pari-mutuel wagering facilities for the 
transmission of wagering data and that is responsible for generating all reports necessary for the reconciliation of 
payments. (4-9-09)

11. Intrastate Simulcasting Wagering. Pari-mutuel wagering at an Idaho guest association on Idaho 
horse racing events run at an Idaho host association. (4-9-09)

12. Racing Association. Any person licensed by the Racing Commission to conduct a race meet and 
pari-mutuel wagering. (4-9-09)

13. Simulcast Facility. The physical premises, structure and equipment utilized by a guest or host 
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association for conducting pari-mutuel wagering on horse racing events and permitted pari-mutuel events. Such 
facility must be a part of the license granted to the guest or host association. (4-9-09)

14. Simulcast Service Supplier. (4-9-09) 

a. A person engaged in providing service, supplies or equipment necessary to the operation of 
intrastate, interstate or out-of-state simulcast wagering for use by a host association, guest association, simulcast 
operator, or authorized user, including pari-mutuel wagering terminals, uplink, downlink, television receivers and 
related equipment. (4-9-09) 

b. It does not include persons authorized by the Federal Communications Commission to provide 
telephone service or space segment time on satellite transponders. (4-9-09)

15. Satellite Transponder, Transponder. Leased space segment time of an earth-orbit communication 
satellite. (4-9-09)

16. Take or Takeout. Money deducted from mutuel pools that is shared by the track and local and state 
governing bodies in the form of a tax. (4-9-09)

17. Terminal. The device connected to the pari-mutuel system used to place wagers. (3-20-14)

18. Totalizator. A computer that, directly or indirectly through one (1) or more other totalizators, 
receives pari-mutuel wagering information, calculates pay-offs for winning tickets and generates reports with respect 
to such information, and may refer to the linked computers of the hub and the track. (4-9-09)

19. Uplink. An earth station broadcasting facility, whether mobile or fixed, which is used to transmit 
audio-visual signals or data on Federal Communication Commission-controlled frequencies, and includes any 
electronic transfer of the audio-visual signals from within the racing enclosure to the location of the transmitter at the 
uplink. (4-9-09)

011. -- 014. (RESERVED)

015. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE OF A SIMULCAST FACILITY.

01. General. Any racing association or simulcast operator authorized under these rules to conduct pari-
mutuel wagering who desires to display the simulcast of pari-mutuel events on which pari-mutuel betting will be 
permitted, in the manner and subject to the conditions provided for under these rules, may apply to the Racing 
Commission for a license. (4-9-09)

02. Application for License. The application for a license must be in such form as may be prescribed 
by the Racing Commission and contain such information or other material or evidence as the Racing Commission 
may require. (4-9-09)

03. Daily Simulcast License Fee. The fee for such license is based upon the weekly handle. (4-9-09)

a. If the handle is greater than thirty thousand dollars ($30,000), the fee will be one hundred dollars 
($100) per day of simulcast operation payable by the licensee to the Racing Commission. Seventy-five dollars ($75) 
of this fee will be paid to the Idaho State Racing Commission and twenty-five ($25) will be deposited in the Public 
School Income Fund. (4-9-09)

b. If the weekly handle is at least fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), but less than thirty thousand 
dollars ($30,000), the fee will be fifty dollars ($50) per day of simulcast operation payable by the licensee to the 
Racing Commission. Twenty-five dollars ($25) of this fee will be deposited in the Public School Income Fund and 
twenty-five dollars ($25) will be paid to the Idaho State Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

c. If the weekly handle is less than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), the fee will be twenty-five 
dollars ($25) which will be deposited in the Public School Income Fund. (4-9-09)
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04. Review and Approve. Before the Racing Commission grants such license, it will review and 
approve a plan of operation submitted with a license application including, but not limited to, the following 
information: (4-9-09)

a. A feasibility study denoting the revenue earnings expected from the simulcast facility and the costs 
expected to operate such a facility. The feasibility study includes: (4-9-09)

i. The number of simulcast races to be displayed; (4-9-09)

ii. The types of wagering to be offered; (4-9-09)

iii. The level of attendance expected and the area from which such attendance will be drawn; (4-9-09)

iv. The level of anticipated wagering activity; (4-9-09)

v. The source and amount of revenues expected from other than pari-mutuel wagering; (4-9-09)

vi. The cost of operating the simulcast facility and the identification of costs to be amortized and the 
method of amortization of such costs; and (4-9-09)

vii. The probable impact of the proposed operation on revenues to local government. (4-9-09)

b. The security measures to be employed to protect the facility, to control crowds, to safeguard the 
transmission of wagering data to effectuate common wagering pools. (4-9-09)

c. The type of data processing, communication and transmission equipment to be utilized. (4-9-09)

d. The description of the management groups responsible for the operation of the simulcast facility.
(4-9-09)

e. The system of accounts to maintain a separate record of revenues collected by the simulcast facility, 
the distribution of such revenues and the accounting of costs relative to the simulcast operation. (4-9-09)

f. The location of the facility and a written confirmation from appropriate local officials that the 
location of such facility and the number of patrons expected to occupy such facility are in compliance with all 
applicable local ordinances, along with approval by appropriate county or city officials. (4-9-09)

016. CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL OF APPLICATION FOR SIMULCAST OPERATOR.
The Racing Commission uses the following decisional criteria in the approval or disapproval of an application for 
simulcast operator. (4-9-09)

01. General Benefit to the State. The operator’s general benefit to the state of Idaho. (4-9-09)

02. General Benefit to Horse Racing Industry. The operator’s general benefit to the state of Idaho’s 
horse racing industry. (4-9-09)

03. Operator’s Integrity. The operator’s integrity, including: (4-9-09)

a. Individual and corporate conduct; (4-9-09)

b. Criminal history; and (4-9-09)

c. Betting and gaming industry conduct. (4-9-09)

04. Operator's Credibility. The operator’s credibility, including: (4-9-09)
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a. Accuracy of a feasibility study; and (4-9-09)

b. Experience and expertise of the operator in the simulcast industry. (4-9-09)

05. Financial Stability. The operator’s financial stability. (4-9-09)

017. -- 025. (RESERVED)

026. HOST ASSOCIATION.

01. Contract. Subject to Racing Commission approval of a simulcast contract, a host association 
licensed by the Racing Commission may simulcast its horse races to intrastate, interstate and out-of-state authorized 
users for the purpose of pari-mutuel wagering. (4-9-09)

02. Content. A racing association is responsible for the content of its simulcast and needs to use all 
reasonable effort to present a simulcast that offers the viewers an exemplary depiction of its racing program, a 
periodic display of wagering information, and continuity programming between horse racing events. (        )

03. Video. Unless otherwise permitted by the Racing Commission, every simulcast needs to contain in 
its video content a digital display of the actual time of day, the name of the host facility from where it emanates, the 
number of the horse race being displayed, and the minutes to post. (        )

04. Security Controls. As a condition of contract approval, or when deemed necessary by the Racing 
Commission, the host association may be required to provide and maintain security controls, including encryption 
over its uplink and communications systems. (4-9-09)

027. GUEST ASSOCIATIONS.

01. Contract Approval. Guest racing associations that are licensed by the Racing Commission and 
subject to contract approval by the Racing Commission may receive simulcast races for the purpose of pari-mutuel 
wagering from one (1) or more host associations. (4-9-09)

02. Plan for Testing. A plan that is subject to approval by the Racing Commission must be submitted 
by a guest racing association for testing the transmission, encryption and decoding, and data communication to assure 
proper system function prior to the commencement of each simulcast program or race from a host association.

(4-9-09)

028. INTERSTATE COMMON POOL WAGERING.
Subject to contract approval by the Racing Commission, a racing association may participate in common pool 
wagering by accepting wagers placed in other jurisdictions or by offering wagers on races run in other jurisdictions. 
Contract approval requirements include, but may not be limited to, the following: (4-9-09)

01. Licensing Requirement. A contract to participate in interstate common pool wagering must 
include evidence that the authorized user in the other jurisdiction is licensed or otherwise authorized or approved by 
the pari-mutuel authority or equivalent in that jurisdiction. (4-9-09)

02. Pari-Mutuel Systems Requirement. A contract to participate in interstate common pool wagering 
must: (4-9-09)

a. Include evidence that the authorized user in the other jurisdiction utilizes a pari-mutuel wagering 
system fully compliant with requirements for totalizator systems used by licensed racing associations in Idaho;

(4-9-09)

b. Specify the regulatory authority responsible for granting a license to the racing association serving 
as host for purposes of aggregation of common pool wagering; (4-9-09)

c. Specify the name and location of the racing association that is the host for the common pool, and 
the individuals and contact information for matters relating to the contract and common pool wagering; and (4-9-09)
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d. Specify the name of the totalizator company, location of the totalizator facility utilized to receive 
wagers and aggregate pools for the purpose of common pool wagering and the individuals and contact information 
for matters relating to the contract and common pool wagering. (4-9-09)

03. Access to Reports and Wagering Information Requirement. A contract to participate in 
interstate common pool wagering must include evidence that the authorized user in the other jurisdiction will provide 
full and prompt access to, and cooperation in providing, all reports and information that may be requested by the 
Racing Commission. This includes wagering transaction data in either a hard copy report or a standard electronic data 
format acceptable to the Racing Commission. Such requirement apply to all wagering on races run in Idaho and all 
wagering pools that accept wagers placed from Idaho. (4-9-09)

04. Breakage. The contract must include provisions specifying the distribution of breakage consistent 
with the requirement for wagers placed in Idaho. (4-9-09)

029. NET POOL PRICING.

01. Takeout Rates. If takeout rates are not the same for all jurisdictions and net pool pricing is utilized, 
the contract must specify net pool pricing. (4-9-09)

a. Individual wagering transactions are deemed to be made at the point of sale in the state where 
placed unless otherwise specified by statute or court ruling. (4-9-09)

b. Any surcharges or withholdings in addition to the takeout may only be applied in the jurisdiction 
otherwise imposing such surcharges or withholdings. (        )

c. In determining whether to approve an interstate common pool which does not include the host track 
or which includes races from more than one racing association, the Racing Commission will consider and may 
approve use of a bet type which is not utilized at the host association, application of a takeout rate not in effect at the 
live event track, or other factors which are presented to the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

d. The content and format of the visual display of racing and wagering information at facilities in 
other jurisdictions where wagering is permitted in the interstate common pool need not be identical to the similar 
information permitted or required to be displayed under these rules. (4-9-09)

02. Guest Participation in Interstate Common Pools. (4-9-09)

a. The Racing Commission may approve a takeout from the pari-mutuel pools identical to that of 
other jurisdictions participating in a merged pool. (4-9-09)

b. Rules, either Live or Historic, as established in the host state will apply to the merged pool.
(3-20-14)

c. The simulcast operator must designate which one of the following procedures it will use if it 
becomes impossible to successfully merge the corresponding pools into the interstate common pool, and publish their 
designated procedure in the printed program: (4-9-09)

i. Compute payouts in accordance with payout prices that would have been in effect if prices for the 
pool of bets were calculated without regard to wagers placed elsewhere; or (4-9-09)

ii. With permission of the Racing Commission, pay winning tickets at the payout prices at the host 
track; or (4-9-09)

iii. Declare such accepted bets void and make refunds in accordance with the applicable rules.(4-9-09)

030. HOST PARTICIPATING IN INTERSTATE COMMON POOLS.
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01. Rules of Racing Established. Rules of racing established for races held in Idaho will also apply to 
interstate common pools unless the Racing Commission has specifically determined otherwise. (4-9-09)

02. When Impossible to Merge Pools. Any contract for interstate common pools must contain a 
provision that states that if, for any reason, it becomes impossible to successfully accept placed wagers or to merge 
corresponding pools into the interstate common pool formed by the pari-mutuel pool host and the Racing 
Commission’s or the pari-mutuel pool host’s representative determines that accepting wagers or attempting to effect 
transfer of pool data from the guest association may endanger the integrity of the pool or the timely processing of 
payouts, the pari-mutuel pool host will have no liability for guest’s wagers or corresponding pools not being accepted 
into the host pool. (4-9-09)

031. -- 034. (RESERVED)

035. LICENSES FOR SIMULCAST OPERATORS.

01. License. Every person acting as a simulcast operator within Idaho must procure a license from the 
Racing Commission and no person will act in the capacity of a simulcast operator without a valid license. Such 
license may be renewed annually unless the application is denied for any cause that justifies the suspension or 
revocation of the license for violation of these rules. (4-9-09)

02. Responsibilities of Applicant. Each applicant must: (4-9-09)

a. Submit a financial statement as required by the Idaho State Racing Commission; (4-9-09)

b. Post with the Racing Commission a surety, in the amount and in such form as the Racing 
Commission may require, that is sufficient to ensure payment of distributable amounts of pari-mutuel pools pursuant 
to statute, operational costs, salaries, wages, benefits, and related financial obligations; and (4-9-09)

c. Demonstrate experience or adequate knowledge of the conduct of simulcast wagering or pari-
mutuel wagering operations. (4-9-09)

03. Simulcast License Application. The simulcast operator intending to conduct wagering on an out-
of-state race must file with the Racing Commission a completed simulcast application. The application will be 
provided and approved by the Racing Commission. At a minimum the application will require the applicant to 
provide the following information: (4-9-09)

a. The number of live races projected in the current year; (4-9-09)

b. The number of live races run in the preceding year; (4-9-09)

c. Documentation that the required bond has been posted; (4-9-09)

d. Documentation that the appropriate public liability insurance has been obtained; (4-9-09)

e. Evidence of approval from the appropriate county or city officials; (4-9-09)

f. A signed contract from a local horsemen’s group. The horsemen’s group must be one that meets the 
definition of a horsemen’s group as defined in Section 54-2502, Idaho Code. The contract cannot conflict with any of 
the provisions of Sections 3001 through 3007 of Title 15 of the United States Code or any other federal laws;

(        )

g. A statement setting forth the date and time it intends to commence accepting wagers on out-of-state 
race or races; and (4-9-09)

h. Any other written or oral approvals required by the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

04. Restrictions. (4-9-09)
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a. No license will be granted to any person or entity that has failed, refused or neglected to comply 
with any rule, condition of license, or order of the Racing Commission or its stewards that is reasonably related to its 
conduct as a simulcast operator. (4-9-09)

b. No license will be granted to any person or entity that has engaged in any activity that is grounds 
for denial, suspension or revocation of license pursuant to the rules of the Racing Commission or whose general 
partners, officers, directors, or employees have engaged in any unlawful activity determined to be conduct 
detrimental to the best interest of horseracing. (4-9-09)

c. Additionally, no license will be granted to a person or entity that has failed, refused or neglected to 
enter into an agreement with a horsemen’s group as defined in Section 54-2502, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

05. No Limitation. There will be no limitation as to the number of days a licensee may operate except 
as may otherwise be provided for within these rules or the Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

036. SIMULCAST PURSE MONEY COLLECTION AND DISTRIBUTION.

01. Designated Purse Monies. Each simulcast operator licensed by the Racing Commission must 
remit to the Racing Commission those monies designated by the horsemen’s agreement as purse monies. Payment 
must be made on a timely basis as provided in said agreement which will in no event be greater than thirty (30) days 
after accrual to the simulcast facility. (4-9-09)

02. Dual Signature Insured Account. Each horsemen’s group signatory to a horsemen’s agreement 
authorizing simulcasting must open and maintain a dual signature insured account, hereinafter called a “purse 
accumulation account.” (4-9-09)

03. Deposit into Appropriate Account. Prior to commencement of the live race meet, the Racing 
Commission will annually deposit into the appropriate purse accumulation account those funds paid to the Racing 
Commission by the respective simulcast operator(s). The Racing Commission has the authority to approve more 
frequent payments, if requested by said horseman’s group. (4-9-09)

04. Sanctions. In addition to all available sanctions, any person or licensee who receives monies 
designated as purse monies as described in these rules, and who violates these rules, can be ordered to pay a monetary 
penalty as set forth in Section 54-2509(4), Idaho Code, and daily interest accrued thereupon at the rate set by the 
Idaho State Treasurer. (4-9-09)

037. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. DUTIES OF SIMULCAST OPERATOR.

01. General. A simulcast operator conducts and operates a pari-mutuel wagering system at one (1) or 
more guest associations on the results of horse races being held or conducted and simulcast from the enclosures of 
one (1) or more host associations pursuant to its agreement with such guest and host association and with the approval 
of the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

02. Provisions. A simulcast operator must provide: (4-9-09)

a. Adequate transmitting or receiving equipment that does not interfere with the closed circuit TV 
system of the host association. All equipment must be of acceptable broadcast quality and meet applicable Federal 
Communications Commission and Racing Commission rules and orders. Said equipment may include approved 
microwave transmitters, with appropriate safeguards, as approved by the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

b. Pari-mutuel terminals, pari-mutuel odds display, modems or switching units enabling pari-mutuel 
data transmissions, and data communication between the sending and the receiving racing associations. (4-9-09)

03. Pari-Mutuel Inspector. The Racing Commission will appoint at least one (1) state pari-mutuel 
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inspector to monitor all approved simulcast facilities and may require additional pari-mutuel inspectors as is 
reasonably necessary for the protection of the public interest. The state pari-mutuel inspector, as well as a member or 
members of the Racing Commission, must: (4-9-09)

a. Be given free access to all of the books, papers and records of the simulcast operator’s simulcast 
operations during normal business hours. (4-9-09)

b. Be empowered to direct the simulcast operator to adopt such rules and to install such methods and 
systems of operating the mutuel department as may be deemed reasonably necessary so as to ensure compliance with 
the law and the rules of the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

c. The state pari-mutuel inspector must report to the Racing Commission any failure of the licensee to 
comply with the provision hereof or any violation of the law or any of the rules of the Racing Commission which may 
come to his attention, including in his reports, recommendations with respect to the revocation of the licenses of any 
employee of the simulcast operator for failure to comply with the rules of the Racing Commission, or for fraud, 
dishonesty, or incompetency. (4-9-09)

04. Video Record. Upon the request of the Racing Commission the simulcast operator must make its 
best effort to provide the Racing Commission with a copy of the simulcast race requested. (4-9-09)

05. Test Program. Not less than thirty (30) minutes prior to the commencement of transmission of the 
racing program for each day or night, the simulcast operator must initiate a test program of its transmitter, encryption 
and decoding, and data communication to assure proper operation of the system. (4-9-09)

06. Locations Listing. At the request of any representative of the Racing Commission the Racing 
Association must provide a listing of all locations within this state enabled to receive the simulcast in decoded forms. 
Failure to do so is grounds for immediate summary suspension of license and immediate cessation of simulcasting 
activities. (4-9-09)

07. Security. The Racing Association must maintain such security controls over its uplink and 
communications system as directed by the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

08. Filing. Every simulcast operator at the request of the Racing Commission must file an annual 
report of its simulcast operations, and an audited balance sheet and income statement prepared according to Generally 
Accepted Accounting Principles. (4-9-09)

09. Compliance. The simulcast operator must comply with Section 54-2512, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

041. PROHIBITION OF SIMULCAST SIGNAL.
Pertaining to the simulcasting of greyhound racing, should substantial, competent evidence of cruelty to or 
misconduct in the treatment of greyhounds occur at a site under the jurisdiction of another state regulatory agency, the 
Racing Commission will prohibit the retransmission of any and all simulcast signals until appropriate action has been 
taken by the other state regulatory agency. (4-9-09)

042. -- 044. (RESERVED)

045. DISTRIBUTION OF DEPOSITS.
The Racing Commission will distribute deposits generated by simulcast races in accordance with the provisions of 
Section 54-2507 and 54-2513, Idaho Code, as applicable. (4-9-09)

046. CONFLICT OF LAWS.
In the event of a conflict between the laws of the host track and the laws or rules of the state of Idaho, the laws or 
rules of the state of Idaho will apply. (4-9-09)

047. TOTALIZATOR OR OTHER APPROVED EQUIPMENT REQUIRED.
Pari-mutuel wagering on live horse races may only be conducted through the use of a totalizator or other similar 
mechanical equipment approved by the Commission. (        )
048. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted pursuant to the legal authority of Title 54, Chapter 25, of the Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 11.04.03, “Rules Governing Licensing and Fees,” of the Idaho 
State Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

02. Scope. These rules govern licensing procedures and the fees charged for licenses by the Idaho State 
Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
In addition to the definitions in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code, the following apply: (        )

01. Admissions. A racing association employee who collects admission money for entrance to the 
racetrack. (4-9-09)

02. Authorized Agent. A person appointed by a written instrument signed and acknowledged before a 
notary public empowered to transact the business of a stable owner or horse breeder. (4-9-09)

03. Apprentice Jockey. A jockey who has not ridden a certain number of winners within a specified 
period of time. (4-9-09)

04. Announcer. A person employed by a racing association to announce during the running of the 
races. (4-9-09)

05. Assistant Starter. The employee of a racing association who, under direct supervision of the 
starter, helps place the starting gate for a race, leads horses into the gate, helps jockeys and handles horses while in the 
gate until the start. (4-9-09)

06. Chart Person. An official who compiles the statistical “picture” of a race which shows the position 
and margin of each horse at designated points of call during the race and other data. (4-9-09)

07. Clerk of Scales. The employee of a racing association responsible for sequestering all jockeys each 
racing day, weighing all jockeys out and in from races, checking their assigned riding weights versus their actual 
weights, and reporting all changes. (4-9-09)

08. Clocker. A person who times workouts and races. (4-9-09)

09. Concessionaire. A person that offers goods or services for sale to the public at a racetrack.
(4-9-09)

10. Concession Employee. An employee of a concessionaire or a racing association employee offering 
goods or services for sale to the public. (4-9-09)

11. Duplicate. Replacement license for a license that has been lost or destroyed. (4-9-09)

12. Emergency Medical Technician. An emergency responder trained and certified to provide 
emergency medical services to the critically ill and injured person. (4-9-09)

13. Exercise Person. A rider who exercises horses at a racetrack. (4-9-09)

14. Groom. A person hired by a trainer who cares for a horse at a racetrack. (4-9-09)

15. Horsemen’s Bookkeeper. A bonded racing association employee who manages the horsemen’s 
accounts which covers all monies due horseman in regards to purses, stakes, rewards, claims and deposits. (4-9-09)

16. Identifier. The employee of a racing association who checks the lip tattoo, other identification, and 
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markings of each horse as it enters the paddock to make sure the correct horses are running in the race. (4-9-09)

17. Jockey. A professional rider licensed to ride in races. (4-9-09)

18. Jockey Agent. A person who helps a jockey obtain mounts in return for a portion of the jockey’s 
earnings. (4-9-09)

19. Jocks Room Custodian. A racing association employee authorized to regulate the conduct of the 
jockeys, ensure good order is maintained, and monitors the jockeys. (4-9-09)

20. Maintenance. A racing association employee hired to maintain the grounds and facility of the 
racetrack. (4-9-09)

21. Medical Professional. A doctor, physician’s assistant, or emergency medical technician licensed or 
certified in the state of Idaho. (4-9-09)

22. Mutuel Employee. A racing association employee that accepts the patrons’ money and issues the 
betting ticket. (4-9-09)

23. Office Personnel. A racing association employee who works in the office of the racetrack.
(4-9-09)

24. Official. Persons licensed by the state to ensure the rules of racing are enforced. (4-9-09)

25. Outrider. The employee of a racing association who leads the post parade at a racetrack and gets 
the horses and jockeys to the starting gates on time. (4-9-09)

26. Owner. The person that has legal title to, or has financial control of, a horse utilized for racing in 
Idaho. However, an interest in the winnings of a horse does not itself constitute ownership. (4-9-09)

27. Owner/Trainer. An owner who conditions and prepares his own horse for racing, with the absolute 
responsibility to ensure the physical condition and eligibility of the race horse. (4-9-09)

28. Paddock Judge. The employee of a racing association responsible for getting jockeys and horses 
in order to go to the starting gate; also checks the equipment used by each horse and supervises the saddling of the 
horses. (4-9-09)

29. Photographer. A person who takes photographs of the winning horses in the winner’s circle.
(4-9-09)

30. Plater. A blacksmith who shoes horses at a racetrack. (4-9-09)

31. Pony Person. A person on horseback who accompanies a horse and jockey to the starting gate.
(4-9-09)

32. Racetrack. The grounds and enclosures of any racing association where horse racing or pari-
mutuel betting occurs under the authority and supervision of the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

33. Racing Association. Any person licensed by the Racing Commission to conduct a race meet and 
pari-mutuel wagering. (4-9-09)

34. Racing Secretary. The employee of a racing association, who writes the conditions for the races, 
assigns the weights for handicap races, receives entries, conducts the draw, and is responsible for the operation and 
organization of the race office. (4-9-09)

35. Stable Name. An assumed business name used by a person for his horse racing operation. (4-9-09)
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36. Stall Superintendent. A racing association employee hired to assign applicants such stabling as 
deemed proper to be occupied by horses in preparation for racing and determines all conflicting claims to stable 
space. (4-9-09)

37. Starter. The employee of a racing association responsible for dispatching the horses for a race.
(4-9-09)

38. State Veterinarian. A veterinarian employed by the Racing Commission to serve as professional 
adviser and consultant to the Racing Commission on veterinary matters including all regulatory aspects of the 
application and practice of veterinary medicine at racetracks. (4-9-09)

39. Steward. A horse racing official who presides over a race meeting, has jurisdiction over all racing 
officials, rules on protests and claims of foul, and imposes fines and suspensions. (4-9-09)

40. Tote Employee. An employee of a company providing the automated pari-mutuel system that 
dispenses and records betting tickets, calculates and displays odds and payoffs, and provides the mechanism for 
cashing winning tickets. (4-9-09)

41. Track Superintendent. The employee of a racing association responsible for maintaining 
acceptable racing and training track conditions during a race meet. (4-9-09)

42. Track Security. A person responsible to provide security at a racetrack. (4-9-09)

43. Trainer. The person who conditions and prepares a race horse for racing, with the absolute 
responsibility to ensure the physical condition and eligibility of the race horse. (4-9-09)

44. Valet. A person who attends riders and keeps their wardrobe and equipment in order. (4-9-09)

45. Veterinarian. A private veterinary practitioner employed by owners or trainers on an individual 
case or contract basis. (4-9-09)

46. Vet Assistant. A person who assists a state veterinarian. (4-9-09)

47. Video Employee. An employee hired by a photo/video provider to operate the equipment during 
the running of horse races for the benefit of the stewards and racetracks. (4-9-09)

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. APPLICABILITY.
Pursuant to Section 54-2506, Idaho Code, these rules apply to any person that participates, directly or indirectly, in 
any race meet. (4-9-09)

021. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. REFUSAL TO ISSUE LICENSE.
The Racing Commission may refuse to issue a license and may revoke any license already issued to any person:

(4-9-09)

01. Convicted. Who has been convicted of any felony and whose civil rights have not yet been restored 
pursuant to Section 18-310(2), Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

02. Felony Probation. Who is on probation, or parole for a conviction or withheld judgment for any 
felony. (4-9-09)

03. Misrepresentation. Who has made any material misrepresentation or false statement to the Racing 
Commission or its agents in his application for license or otherwise, or who fails to answer any material question on 
any application for a license. (4-9-09)
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04. Unqualified. Who is unqualified by age, skill, knowledge or ability to engage in the activities for 
which a license is required. (4-9-09)

05. Ownership. Who fails to disclose the true ownership or interest in any or all horses as required by 
any application. (4-9-09)

06. Ejection. Who is subject to exclusion or ejection from the racing enclosure or is within the classes 
of persons prohibited from participating in pari-mutuel wagering. (4-9-09)

07. Conduct. Who has committed an act or acts demonstrating financial instability, intemperate habits 
or has a bad reputation for truth, honesty and integrity, or other similar conduct contrary to the best interest of racing.

(4-9-09)

08. Narcotics. Who has been convicted of possession, use, or sale of any narcotic, dangerous drug, or 
marijuana if such conviction was a misdemeanor, within two (2) years prior to the date of making application for any 
license. (4-9-09)

09. Drug Probation. Who is on probation or parole for a conviction or withheld judgment for 
misdemeanor possession, use, or sale of any narcotic, dangerous drug, or marijuana. (4-9-09)

10. Not Permitted. Who is not permitted by law or statute to engage in the occupation for which the 
license is sought. (4-9-09)

11. Violated Rules. Who has violated or who aids or abets or conspires with any person to violate any 
provision of the Racing Commission rules or of Sections 54-2501 through 54-2516, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

12. Age. No person under sixteen (16) years of age may be issued a license by the Racing Commission 
with the exception that a person under sixteen (16) years of age may be licensed as a co-owner with a parent or 
guardian if the person under sixteen (16) years of age submits an Assumption of Liability form signed by the parent 
or guardian and notarized by a notary public. This co-ownership is not intended to allow an underage person access to 
any areas of the track facility. (4-9-09)

13. Deny or Revoke. The Racing Commission may deny a license to, or revoke the license of, any 
person who has had a license revoked or denied by any recognized racing jurisdiction. (4-9-09)

031. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. CRUELTY TO ANIMALS.
No licensee may violate Title 25, Chapter 35, Idaho Code, “Cruelty to Animal,” while on the grounds of a racing 
association. The stewards will be the sole judges of whether or not a violation of Title 25, Chapter 35, Idaho Code, 
has occurred on racing association grounds. The penalty for a first offense may include a fine or a suspension or both. 
A second violation within a calendar year will include a mandatory suspension, the length of which will be at the 
discretion of the stewards. (4-9-09)

041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. FINGERPRINTS.
All persons between the ages of eighteen (18) and sixty-nine (69) applying for licensing pursuant to this chapter are 
required to submit information and fingerprints necessary to obtain criminal history information from the Idaho State 
Police Bureau of Criminal Identification and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The Idaho State Racing 
Commission (ISRC) may receive criminal history information from the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and from the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of evaluating the fitness of applicants 
pursuant to Section 54-2508, Idaho Code. Pursuant to state and federal law, further dissemination or other use of the 
criminal history information is prohibited. (3-24-17)

01. License Applicants. Any person that applies for a license from the Racing Commission who has 
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not been fingerprinted within the past five (5) years must be fingerprinted prior to a license being issued. Pursuant to 
Section 67-3008, Idaho Code, the ISRC will submit a set of fingerprints obtained from the applicant and the required 
fees to the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification for a criminal records check of state and national 
databases. (3-24-17)

02. Existing Licensees. Any person that currently holds a valid license from the ISRC must be re-
fingerprinted at least every five (5) years in accordance with the procedures outlined in Subsection 050.01 of these 
rules. (3-24-17)

03. Fees. The cost of taking and processing such fingerprints is the responsibility of the applicant. Fees 
for taking and processing fingerprints are in accordance with the amount(s) charged by the Idaho State Police Bureau 
of Criminal Identification pursuant to Section 67-3010, Idaho Code. (3-24-17)

051. -- 089. (RESERVED)

090. APPLICATIONS.
All application forms must be filled out completely and legibly. (4-9-09)

01. Application Forms. All applications must be submitted to the Racing Commission on forms 
obtained from the Racing Commission, and all persons applying for licenses shall submit completed applications 
meeting all requirements, including obtaining necessary signatures as indicated on the form or otherwise noted in this 
chapter. License types are listed in the License Fee section of this chapter. (        )

02. Other Forms. All other forms to be submitted to the Racing Commission by this chapter must be 
of a type approved by the Racing Commission. (        )

03. Age. Applicants between sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) years of age are required to submit an 
Assumption of Liability Form signed by their guardian and notarized by a notary public. (4-9-09)

091. -- 094. (RESERVED)

095. ADD-ON.
Any qualified person may add an additional license category to an existing license by paying the add-on fee unless:

(4-9-09)

01. Higher Fee. The fee for the category added is higher than the fee for the existing license category.
(4-9-09)

02. Additional License. If the fee for the license category that is requested is higher than the fee for the 
existing license category, the person must pay the Racing Commission the higher fee. (4-9-09)

096. DUPLICATE LICENSE.
The Racing Commission may issue a duplicate license in the event an existing license has been lost or destroyed.

(4-9-09)

097. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. LICENSES REQUIRING RACING ASSOCIATION SIGNATURES.
The following application types are also signed by a racing association: (        )

01. Admissions. (        )

02. Announcer. (        )

03. Clocker. (        )

04. Clerk of Scales. (        )
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05. Horsemen’s Bookkeeper. (        )

06. Identifier. (        )

07. Jocks Room Custodian. (        )

08. Maintenance. (        )

09. Office Personnel. (        )

10. Outrider. (        )

11. Paddock Judge. (        )

12. Racing Secretary. (        )

13. Stall Superintendent. (        )

14. Starter. (        )

15. Track Superintendent. (        )

16. Valet. (        )

101. -- 109. (RESERVED)

110. APPRENTICE JOCKEY LICENSE.
The application is also signed by a steward and an apprentice jockey certificate signed by a licensed starter, two (2) 
licensed jockeys, a licensed outrider, and a steward. (        )

111. -- 129. (RESERVED)

130. ASSISTANT STARTER LICENSE.
The application is also signed by a licensed starter. (        )

131. -- 139. (RESERVED)

140. AUTHORIZED AGENT LICENSE.
A notarized authorized agent form is submitted with the application. (        )

01. Each Owner Represented. A separate authorized agent form must be filed for each owner 
represented. (4-9-09)

02. Written Instrument. A written instrument signed by the owner must accompany the application 
and clearly set forth the delegated powers of the authorized agent. The owner's signature on the written instrument 
must be acknowledged before a notary public. (4-9-09)

03. Power of Attorney. If the written instrument is a power of attorney, it must be filed with the 
Racing Commission and attached to the regular application form. (4-9-09)

04. Changes. Any changes must be made in writing and filed with the Racing Commission as 
described in Subsection 140.02 of these rules. (4-9-09)

05. Termination. The authorized agent's appointment may be terminated by the owner, in writing, 
acknowledged before a notary public and filed with the Racing Commission whereupon the license is no longer valid.

(4-9-09)

141. -- 144. (RESERVED)
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145. BAD CHECKS.
Any licensee who make, draw, order or deliver a check, draft or order for the payment of money to another Idaho 
licensee, Racing Association, Racing Commission or employee of said Association, Racing Association or Racing 
Commission, which check, draft or order for the payment of money is invalid on its face or non-negotiable, or there 
are not sufficient funds on deposit for full payment of such check, draft or order, may be subject to suspension or 
disciplinary action, or both, by the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

146. -- 159. (RESERVED)

160. CONCESSIONAIRE LICENSE.
The application includes: (        )

01. Names of Owners. The names and addresses of all of the principal owners. (4-9-09)

02. Proof of Financial Stability. A financial statement of assets and liabilities. (4-9-09)

03. Type of Business. The type of business generally engaged in by the applicant. (4-9-09)

161. -- 165. (RESERVED)

166. CONCESSION EMPLOYEE LICENSE.
The application is also signed by a licensed concessionaire. (        )

167. -- 189. (RESERVED)

190. EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN LICENSE.
All persons applying for an emergency medical technician license must submit a completed application signed by a 
racing association and a copy of Emergency Medical Technician Certification. (4-9-09)

191. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. EXERCISE PERSON LICENSE.
A Steward must also sign the application for a first time licensee. (        )

201. -- 209. (RESERVED)

210. GROOM LICENSE.
The application signed by a licensed trainer. (        )

211. -- 239. (RESERVED)

240. JOCKEY LICENSE.

01. Application for License. The application includes a current physical evaluation from a medical 
professional. (        )

02. First Time Licensed. The application for a person that has not been previously licensed as a jockey 
in Idaho is also signed by a steward. (        )

241. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. JOCKEY AGENT LICENSE.
The application contains a list of licensed jockeys represented. Each jockey agent may represent no more than two (2) 
jockeys and one (1) apprentice jockey. (        )

251. -- 279. (RESERVED)
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280. MUTUEL EMPLOYEE LICENSE.
The application is also signed by a racing association and the applicant is at least eighteen (18) years of age. (        )

281. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. OFFICIAL LICENSE.
The application is also signed by a racing association or Racing Commission. (        )

301. -- 329. (RESERVED)

330. OWNER LICENSE.
All persons listed on the registration papers must obtain an owners license. (        )

01. Financial Responsibility. If the Racing Commission has reason to doubt the financial 
responsibility of an applicant for an owner's license, the applicant may be required to complete a verified financial 
statement. (4-9-09)

02. Transfer of Horse Prohibited. The Racing Commission may refuse, deny, suspend or revoke an 
owner's license for the spouse or member of the immediate family or household of a person ineligible to be licensed 
as an owner, unless there is a showing on the part of the applicant or licensed owner, and the Racing Commission 
determines that participation in racing will not permit a person to serve as a substitute for an ineligible person. The 
transfer of a horse to circumvent the intent of a Racing Commission rule or ruling is prohibited. (4-9-09)

03. Multiple Owners. If the legal owner of any horse is a partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, syndicate or other racing association or entity, each shareholder, member or partner must be licensed as an 
owner. (4-9-09)

04. Lease Agreements. A horse may be raced under lease provided a completed breed registry or other 
lease form acceptable to the Racing Commission is attached to the certificate of registration and on file with the 
Racing Commission. The lessee must be licensed as a horse owner. (4-9-09)

05. Supplemental License Fee. When submitting a horse for hair testing as required in IDAPA 
11.04.11, “Rules Governing Equine Veterinary Practices, Permitted Medications, Banned Substances and Drug 
Testing of Horses,” the owner(s) must pay a supplemental license fee of two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) per 
hair test. The Racing Commission, its Executive Director, or its Business Operations Manager are authorized to, and 
will designate the individual(s) responsible for collecting the supplemental fee. The owner or trainer must submit 
payment to said designated individual prior to testing. (        )

331. -- 359. (RESERVED)

360. PLATER LICENSE.
The application for a first time plater license includes a letter of recommendation from an owner or trainer. (        )

361. -- 369. (RESERVED)

370. PONY PERSON LICENSE.
If the application is for a first time pony person license, the application is also signed by a steward. (        )

371. -- 389. (RESERVED)

390. STABLE NAME LICENSE.
The application includes the identity or identities of the ownership interests involved in the horse racing operation.

(        )

01. Changes of Ownership. Any change in ownership of the horse racing stable must be reported 
immediately to and approved by the Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

02. Trainer. A trainer who is licensed as an owner or part owner may use a stable name as owner or 
part owner. However, no trainer may be licensed as a trainer other than in his legal name. (4-9-09)
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391. STABLE NAME CHANGE.

01. Cancellation. Any person who has been granted a stable name license may at anytime cancel the 
stable name license if written notice has been submitted to the Racing Commission and the Racing Commission 
approves the cancellation. (4-9-09)

02. Name Change. A stable name may be changed at anytime by canceling the existing stable name 
and submitting a new stable name application with the appropriate fee. (4-9-09)

392. STABLE NAMES PROHIBITED.
No stable name may be: (4-9-09)

01. Registered. Registered by any other person with a racing association conducting a recognized 
meeting, or the Jockey Club (N.Y.) or with another racing authority; (4-9-09)

02. Real Name. The real name of any owner of race horses nor the real or assumed name of any 
prominent person not owning race horses; (4-9-09)

03. Misleading. Misleading to the public or unbecoming to the sport; (4-9-09)
04. Distinguishable. All stable names must be plainly distinguishable from all other licensed stable 

names. (4-9-09)

05. One Name. No individual may license more than one (1) stable name. (4-9-09)

393. -- 419. (RESERVED)

420. STATE VETERINARIAN LICENSE.
The applicant must have a signed contract on file in the Racing Commission office. (        )

421. -- 429. (RESERVED)

430. STEWARD LICENSE.
All persons applying for a steward license must meet the Stewards Qualifications, as set down in IDAPA 11.04.06, 
“Rules Governing Racing Officials,” Section 050, and must submit a completed license application signed by the 
Racing Commission. (4-9-09)

431. -- 459. (RESERVED)

460. TRACK SECURITY LICENSE.
The application is also signed by their employer. (        )

461. -- 469. (RESERVED)

470. TRAINER LICENSE.
All persons applying for a trainer license for the first time in Idaho must pass the trainer’s test and have their 
application signed by a steward, or have a current valid trainers license from another recognized jurisdiction. (        )

471. -- 489. (RESERVED)

490. VETERINARIAN LICENSE.
The applicant must have a current valid license to practice veterinary medicine from the state of Idaho. (        )

491. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. VET ASSISTANT LICENSE.
The application is also signed by a state veterinarian. (        )
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501. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. LICENSE FEES.
All persons must submit completed applications when applying for license types listed below and pursuant to this 
chapter and also pay the Racing Commission the fee associated with the type of license being sought before any 
license will be issued.

(        )

601. -- 989. (RESERVED)

990. PENALTIES.
Any person violating any of the provisions of this chapter is subject to the penalties provided for in Title 54, Chapter 
25, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

991. -- 999. (RESERVED)

LICENSE FEE LICENSE FEE

Add-ons - $10 Official - $50

Admission - $15 Outrider - $25

Announcer - $25 Owner - $50

Apprentice Jockey - $50 Owner/Trainer - $65

Assistant Starter - $25 Paddock Judge - $25

Authorized Agent - $50 Photographer - $25

Chart Person - $25 Plater - $50

Clerk of Scales - $25 Pony Person - $25

Clocker - $25 Racing Secretary - $35

Concession Employee - $15 Stable Registration - $50

Concessionaire - $50 Stall Superintendent - $25

Duplicate - $10 Starter - $25

EMT - $25 State Veterinarian - $0

Exercise Person - $25 Steward - $50

Groom - $25 Tote Employee - $15

Horsemen’s Bookkeeper - $35 Track Security - $25

Identifier - $25 Track Superintendent - $25

Jockey - $50 Trainer - $50

Jockey Agent - $50 Valet - $10

Jocks Room Custodian - $25 Veterinarian - $50

Maintenance $15 Vet Assistant - $15

Mutuel Employee - $15 Video Employee - $15

Office Personnel - $15 -
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000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted pursuant to the legal authority of Title 54, Chapter 25, of the Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 11.04.05, “Rules Governing Advanced Deposit Wagering.”
(3-29-10)

02. Scope. These rules govern advanced deposit wagering in Idaho. (3-29-10)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
In addition to the definitions in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code, the following apply: (        )

01. Account. An account for advanced deposit wagering with a specific identifiable record of credits, 
debits, deposits, wagers, and withdrawals established by an account holder and managed by the advanced deposit 
wagering operator. (3-29-10)

02. Account Holder. A natural person who successfully completed an application and for whom the 
advance deposit wagering operator has opened an account. (3-29-10)

03. Advance Deposit Wagering Facility. An actual location, equipment, and staff of an advance 
deposit wagering operator involved in the management, servicing and operation of advance deposit wagering.

(3-29-10)

04. Advance Deposit Wagering Operator. Those persons or entities licensed by the Idaho State 
Racing Commission with the authority to accept deposits and wagers, issue a receipt or other confirmation to the 
account holder evidencing such deposits and wagers, and transfer credits and debits to and from accounts. (3-29-10)

05. Confidential Information. Confidential information includes: (3-29-10)

a. The amount of money credited to, debited from, withdrawn from, or present in any particular 
account holder's account; (3-29-10)

b. The amount of money wagered by a particular account holder on any race or series of races;
(3-29-10)

c. The account number and secure personal identification code of a particular account holder;
(3-29-10)

d. The identities of particular entries on which the account holder is wagering or has wagered;
(3-29-10)

e. Unless otherwise authorized by the account holder, the name, address, and other information in the 
possession of the advance deposit wagering operator that would identify the account holder to anyone other than the 
Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

06. Credits. All positive inflow of money to an account. (3-29-10)

07. Debits. All negative outflow of money from an account. (3-29-10)

08. Deposit. A payment of money by cash, check, money order, credit card, debit card, or electronic 
funds transfer made by an account holder to the account holder's account. (3-29-10)

09. Natural Person. Any person at least eighteen (18) years of age, but does not include any 
corporation, partnership, limited liability company, trust, or estate. (3-29-10)

10. Principal Residence Address. That place where the natural person submitting an application for 
an account resides at least fifty percent (50%) of the time during the calendar year. (3-29-10)
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11. Proper Identification. A form of identification accepted in the normal course of business to 
establish that the person making a transaction is the account holder. (3-29-10)

12. Secure Personal Identification Code. An alpha-numeric character code chosen by an account 
holder as a means by which the advance deposit wagering operator may verify a wager or account transaction as 
authorized by the account holder. (3-29-10)

13. Source Market Fee. That part of a wager, made outside of the state by an Idaho resident, that is 
returned to the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

14. Withdrawal. A payment of money from an account by the advance deposit wagering operator to 
the account holder when property requested by the account holder. (3-29-10)

15. Withdrawal Slip. A form provided by the advance deposit wagering operator for use by an 
account holder in withdrawing funds from an account. (3-29-10)

011. -- 014. (RESERVED)

015. LICENSING FOR ADVANCED DEPOSIT WAGERING.
No person may conduct advanced deposit wagering activities within Idaho prior to receiving an advance deposit 
wagering license from the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

016. -- 019 (RESERVED)

020. ADVANCED DEPOSIT WAGERING LICENSE.
Any person may request a license from the Racing Commission to conduct advanced deposit wagering in accordance 
with Section 54-2512(5), Idaho Code, and these rules. As part of the request, such person must submit a detailed plan 
of how its proposed advance deposit wagering system would operate. The Racing Commission may require changes 
in a proposed plan of operations as a condition of granting a request. No subsequent changes in the system's operation 
may occur unless ordered by the Racing Commission or until approval is obtained from the Racing Commission after 
it receives a written request. (3-29-10)

021. -- 024. (RESERVED)

025. ADVANCE DEPOSIT WAGERING LICENSE APPLICATION.
An applicant for an advance deposit wagering operator license must provide the following information as part of the 
application: (3-29-10)

01. Legal Name. The legal name of the person seeking the license. (3-29-10)

02. Corporation. If the person seeking a license is a corporation: the names, addresses of all directors 
and officers, the date of incorporation and the place of incorporation;. (3-29-10)

03. Partnership. If the person seeking a license is a partnership: the names, addresses of all partners. If 
a partner is a corporation the date of incorporation, the place of incorporation and the names and addresses of all 
directors and officers. (3-29-10)

04. Race Tracks. The names of the race tracks the advance deposit wagering operator has contracts 
with that allow the applicant to provide wagering on the product. (3-29-10)

05. Financial Information. Financial information that demonstrates the financial resources to operate.
(3-29-10)

06. Budget. A detailed budget showing anticipated revenue, expenditures and cash flows by month 
during the license period. (3-29-10)
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07. Number of Days. The number of days of planned operation during the fiscal year in which they are 
seeking to be licensed. (3-29-10)

026. DETAILED PLAN OF OPERATION FOR ADVANCED DEPOSIT WAGERING.

01. Detailed Plan of Operation. The detailed plan of operation for an advanced deposit wagering 
license must include, but is not limited to, the following information: (3-29-10)

a. The manner in which the wagering system will operate; (3-29-10)

b. Programs for responsible wagering; and (3-29-10)

c. Mitigation for the effects of advance deposit wagering on the source market in which the account 
holder resides. (3-29-10)

02. Requirements for Accounts Established and Operated for Persons Whose Principal 
Residence is Outside of the State of Idaho. The Racing Commission may require changes in a proposed plan of 
operations as a condition of granting a license. No subsequent changes in the system's operation may occur unless 
ordered by the Racing Commission or until approval is obtained from the Racing Commission after it receives a 
written request. (3-29-10)

027. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. INVESTIGATIONS OR INSPECTIONS.
The Racing Commission may conduct investigations and inspections and request additional information from the 
advanced deposit wagerer as it deems appropriate. (3-29-10)

031. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. CLAIMS OF NON-PAYMENT.

01. Claim of Non-Payment. An account holder, who is claiming that non-payment has occurred, must 
make a claim of non-payment to the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Investigation of Claim. The Racing Commission will investigate the claim and provide the 
advance deposit wagering operator with an opportunity to respond thereto and submit any supporting documents or 
evidence it needs to defend the claim. (3-29-10)

03. Commission Determination. If the Racing Commission determines that the account holder is 
entitled to restitution, the advance deposit wagering operator has ten (10) days to pay the amount determined by the 
Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. PROMOTE AND ADVERTISE.
An applicant licensed under these rules may enter into such agreements, for what it deems good and sufficient 
reasons, that are necessary to promote, advertise, and further the sport of racing, or that may be necessary for the 
effective operation of interstate account wagering, including, without limitation, television production and 
telecommunications services. Such agreements are reviewed by the Racing Commission and may be denied.

(3-29-10)

051. -- 059. (RESERVED)

060. OUT-OF-STATE PROVIDERS.
Any advance deposit wagering by an account holder with a provider outside of the State by telephone or other 
electronic means is illegal, unless that provider is licensed by the Racing Commission and provides a source market 
fee of not less than ten percent (10%) of the handle forwarded monthly to the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)
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061. -- 069. (RESERVED)

070. RESIDENCE OUTSIDE THE STATE OF IDAHO.
Requirements for the establishment and operation of accounts for individuals whose principle residence is outside of 
the state of Idaho must be set forth in the operation plan as stated in these rules. (3-29-10)

071. -- 079. (RESERVED)

080. ESTABLISHING AN ACCOUNT.

01. Establishing an Account. The application for establishing the account must be authorized in a 
manner acceptable to the Racing Commission and include the applicant's: (3-29-10)

a. Full legal name; (3-29-10)

b. Principal residence address; (3-29-10)

c. Telephone number of their permanent residence; (3-29-10)

d. Social security number; and (3-29-10)

e. Proper identification or certification demonstrating that the applicant is at least eighteen (18) years 
of age. (3-29-10)

02. Other Information. As needed, any other information required by the Racing Commission or the 
advance deposit operator must be included. (3-29-10)

081. ACCOUNT INFORMATION.
Each application for an advance deposit wagering account may be subject to verification. (3-29-10)

082. IDENTIFYING AN ACCOUNT NUMBER.
Each account must have a unique identifying account number. The identifying account number may be changed at 
any time by the advance deposit wagering operator provided the advance deposit wagering operator informs the 
account holder in writing prior to the change. (3-29-10)

01. Secure Personal Identification Code. The applicant must supply the advance deposit wagering 
operator with an alpha-numeric code to be used as a secure personal identification code when the account holder is 
placing an account wager. The account holder has the right to change this code at any time. (3-29-10)

02. Principle Residence. The principal residence address will be established by reliance on the 
information submitted on the application form provided and certified by the applicant. (3-29-10)

03. Upon Approval Account Holder Receives. The account holder will receive, at the time the 
account is approved: (3-29-10)

a. A unique account identification number; (3-29-10)

b. A copy of the advance deposit wagering rules and such other information and material that is 
pertinent to the operation of the account; and (3-29-10)

c. Such other information as the advance deposit wagering operator or Racing Commission may deem 
appropriate. (3-29-10)

04. Name of Natural Persons. The advance deposit wagering operator will accept accounts in the 
name of a natural person only. (3-29-10)
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05. Nontransferable. The account is nontransferable between natural persons. (3-29-10)

083. -- 089. (RESERVED)

090. CLOSE OR REFUSE TO OPEN AN ACCOUNT.
The advance deposit wagering operator may close or refuse to open an account, for what it deems good and sufficient 
reason, and will order an account closed if it is determined that information that was used to open an account was 
false, or that the account has been used in violation of these rules. (3-29-10)

091. -- 094. (RESERVED)

095. ACCOUNT HOLDER RESPONSIBILITIES.

01. Personal Use Only. Accounts are for the personal use of the account holder. (3-29-10)

02. Security. The account holder is responsible for maintaining the secrecy of the account number and 
secure personal identification code. (3-29-10)

03. Account Losses. Except where the advance deposit wagering center or its employees or agents act 
without good faith or fail to exercise ordinary care, the advance deposit wagering center is not be responsible for any 
loss arising from the use by any other person or persons of an account holder's account. (3-29-10)

04. Notification of Account Security Breach. The account holder must immediately notify the 
advance deposit wagering center of a breach of the account's security. (3-29-10)

096. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. OPERATION OF AN ACCOUNT.

01. Operator May Refuse Deposits. The advance deposit wagering operator may refuse deposits to an 
account for what it deems good and sufficient reason. (3-29-10)

02. Operator May Suspend or Close Account. The advance deposit wagering operator may suspend 
or close any account at any time provided that within five (5) business days of closing the account the advance 
deposit wagering operator returns to the account holder all monies then on deposit by sending it to the principal 
residence address as listed on the application. (3-29-10)

101. -- 104. (RESERVED)

105. CREDITS TO AN ACCOUNT.
After the initial establishment of an account, credits to an account may be made as follows: (3-29-10)

01. Deposits. Deposits to an account by an account holder must be made in the following forms:
(3-29-10)

a. Cash given to the staff of an advance deposit wagering operator; (3-29-10)

b. Personal or cashier check, or money order given or sent to an advance deposit wagering operator;
(3-29-10)

c. Charges made to an account holder's credit card or debit card upon the direct and personal 
instruction of the account holder. Such instructions may be given by telephone or any electronic device to the advance 
deposit wagering facility by the account holder if the use of the card has been approved by the advance deposit 
wagering operator; or (3-29-10)

d. Transfer by means of an electronic funds transfer from a monetary account controlled by an 
account holder to his account. The account holder is liable for any charges imposed by the transmitting or receiving 
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entity with such charges to be deducted from the account. (3-29-10)

02. Credit for Winnings. Credit for winnings from wagers placed with funds in an account and credit 
for account wagers on entries that are scratched will be posted to the account by the advance deposit wagering 
operator. (3-29-10)

03. Accordance with Financial Institution. Checks, money orders and other negotiable instruments 
will be posted to the credit of the account holder in accordance with financial institution funds availability schedules.

(3-29-10)

106. DEBITS TO AN ACCOUNT.

01. Debits to an Account. Debits to an account are made as follows: (3-29-10)

a. Upon receipt by the advance deposit wagering operator of an account wager, the advance deposit 
wagering center debits the account in the amount of the wager; or (3-29-10)

b. For fees for service or other transaction-related charges by the advance deposit wagering operator.
(3-29-10)

02. Account Withdrawals. An advance deposit wagering operator may authorize a withdrawal from 
an account when one (1) of the following exists: (3-29-10)

a. The account holder of an account appears personally at the advance deposit wagering operators 
location and provides the following: (3-29-10)

i. Proper identification; (3-29-10)

ii. The correct secure personal identification code; and (3-29-10)

iii. A properly completed and signed withdrawal slip. (3-29-10)

b. The account holder sends to the advance deposit wagering operator a properly completed and 
signed withdrawal slip by any means, electronic or otherwise. (3-29-10)

i. Upon receipt of a properly completed and signed withdrawal slip, and if there are sufficient funds 
in the account to cover the withdrawal, the advance deposit wagering operator must, within five (5) business days of 
its receipt, send a check to the account holder. The check is payable to the holder of the account and in the amount of 
the requested withdrawal. (        )

ii. If funds are not sufficient to cover the withdrawal, the account holder will be notified in writing and 
those funds in the account will be withdrawn and sent to the account holder within the five (5) business day time 
period. Electronic funds transfers may be used for withdrawals in lieu of a check at the discretion of the account 
holder and the advance deposit wagering operator subject to the same conditions described for electronic funds 
transfer credits. (3-29-10)

c. The advance deposit wagering operator may close accounts in which there has been no activity for 
at least six (6) months, returning funds remaining therein to the account holder at his principal residence address.

(3-29-10)

d. In the event an account holder is deceased, funds accrued in the account will be released to the 
decedent's legal representative upon receipt of a copy of a valid death certificate, tax releases or waivers, probate 
court authorizations or other documents required by applicable laws. (3-29-10)

107. WAGERS IN EXCESS OF ACCOUNT BALANCE.
The advance deposit wagering operator will not accept wagers from an account holder in an amount in excess of the 
account balance. (3-29-10)
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108. ACCOUNTS WILL NOT BEAR ANY INTEREST.
Monies deposited with the advance deposit wagering operator for advance deposit wagering must not bear any 
interest to the account holder. (3-29-10)

109. PAYMENTS ON WINNING PARI-MUTUEL WAGERS.
Payments on winning pari-mutuel wagers and credits for account wagers on entries which are scratched must be 
posted to the credit of the account holder as soon as practicable after the race is declared official. (3-29-10)

110. MAILING ADDRESS.
The principal residence address, provided in writing by the account holder at the time of application, is deemed to be 
the proper address for the purposes of mailing checks, statements of account, account withdrawals, notices, or other 
appropriate correspondence. The mailing of checks or other correspondence to the address given by the account 
holder is at the sole risk of the account holder. (3-29-10)

111. -- 119. (RESERVED)

120. POWERS OF THE RACING COMMISSION TO REVIEW AND AUDIT RECORDS. 
The Racing Commission or its staff will be given access to all records and financial information of the advance 
deposit wagering operator for review and audit. The Racing Commission may require that the advance deposit 
wagering operator annually submit to the Racing Commission audited financial statements of the advance deposit 
wagering system. (3-29-10)

121. -- 124. (RESERVED)

125. CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION. 
No confidential information related to the placing of any wager or to the operation of the advance deposit wagering 
center may be divulged by any employee or agent of the advance deposit wagering center, except, as required by 
these rules, to the account holder or the Racing Commission, or as otherwise required by state or federal law or 
regulation or rules of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

126. -- 129. (RESERVED)

130. APPLICABLE LAWS, RULES, AND REGULATIONS.
All advance deposit wagering operators must adhere to all applicable state and federal laws, rules, and regulations.

(3-29-10)

131. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted pursuant to the legal authority of Title 54, Chapter 25, of the Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 11.04.07, “Rules Governing Racing Associations.” (3-29-10)

02. Scope. This rule governs conduct and licensing of racing associations. (3-29-10)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
In addition to the definitions in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code, the following apply: (        )

01. Bookmaker. A person who makes a business of accepting the bets of others on the outcome of any 
sports contest including horse racing. (3-29-10)

02. Breed Association. A group organized under Idaho law to receive breeder awards. (3-29-10)

03. Breeder. Breeder of a horse is determined by the definition of breeder used by the registry of the 
particular breed of that horse. (3-29-10)

04. Chemical. A substance composed of chemical elements or obtained by chemical processes.
(3-29-10)

05. Claiming Race. A race in which any horse entered therein may be claimed in conformity with the 
rules. (3-29-10)

06. Conditions. Qualifications and requirements set by the Racing Association which determine a 
horse’s eligibility to be entered in a race. (3-29-10)

07. Drug. Any chemical compound or any noninfectious biological substance not used for its 
mechanical properties, which may be administered to or used on or for patients, either human or animal, as an aid in 
diagnosis, treatment or prevention of disease or other abnormal condition, for the relief of pain or suffering, or to 
control or improve any physiological or pathological condition. (        )

08. Entry. Means, according to the requirements of the text: (3-29-10)

a. A horse made eligible to run a race. (3-29-10)

b. Two (2) or more horses that are entered or run in a race and are coupled because of common ties or 
ownership. Where two (2) or more horses owned by separate owners but trained by the same Trainer are entered in 
the same race, the horses may run as separate betting interests. (3-29-10)

09. Forfeit. Money due because of an error fault, neglect of duty, breach of contract or a penalty.
(3-29-10)

10. Grounds. Any area owned or leased by any licensed Association, Corporation, or Race Track 
which is operated for the purpose of conducting pari-mutuel racing. (3-29-10)

11. Handbook. A method of soliciting and recording wagers on the outcome of a sports contest 
including a horse race. (3-29-10)

12. Horse. Includes filly, mare, colt, horse and gelding in general; when referring to sex, a filly 
becomes a mare when five (5) years old; a horse is an entire male when five (5) years old or older. (3-29-10)

13. Horsemen’s Agreement. An agreement approved by the Racing Commission between the Racing 
Association and the authorized horsemen’s group. (3-29-10)

14. Idaho Bred. A foal dropped by a mare in Idaho. (3-29-10)
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15. Jockey. A race rider, whether a licensed Jockey, apprentice, or amateur. (3-29-10)

16. Meet. The entire consecutive period for which a license to race has been granted to any one (1) 
association by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

17. Month. A calendar month. (3-29-10)

18. Owner. Includes the owner, part owner and lessee of any horse. An interest only in the earnings of 
a horse does not constitute ownership. In case of husband and wife, it is presumed that joint ownership exists.

(3-29-10)

19. Place. Means first, second or third and in that order is called “Win,” “Place,” and “Show.”
(3-29-10)

20. Purse Race. A race for money or any other prize to which the owners of the horses do not 
contribute. (3-29-10)

21. Racing Association. Any person licensed by the Racing Commission to conduct live or simulcast 
pari-mutuel wagering. (3-29-10)

22. Racing Dates. The number of racing dates authorized by the Racing Commission in a Racing 
Association license. (3-29-10)

23. Ruled Off. An action by the racing stewards, under these rules, to suspend a license for a violation 
of these rules. (3-29-10)

24. Starter. (3-29-10)

a. The individual approved to dispatch the horses in a race. (3-29-10)

b. The horse is a “starter” for a race when the stall doors of the starting gate open in front of it at the 
time the starter dispatches the horses. (3-29-10)

25. Stewards. The Stewards of the meet or their duly appointed deputies. (3-29-10)

26. Winner. Winner of a single race of a certain sum or value unless otherwise expressed in the 
conditions. (3-29-10)

27. Year. A calendar year. (3-29-10)

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. ENTER, SEARCH AND INSPECT.
Every Racing Association, the Racing Commission, the Stewards or trained and qualified agents of the Idaho State 
Police, have the right to enter, search and inspect the buildings, stables, rooms and other places where horses which 
are eligible to race are kept, or where property and effects of the licensee are kept within the grounds of the Racing 
Association. Any licensee accepting a license is deemed to have consented to such search and to the seizure of any 
non-approved or prohibited materials, chemicals, drugs or devices and anything apparently intended to be used in 
connection therewith. (3-29-10)

021. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. RACING COMMISSION.

01. Visit and Inspection. The Racing Commission or designated representatives will visit and inspect 
the race meets. Each Racing Association conducting a race meet must make available to the Racing Commission a 
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box of four (4) seats for each day of the race meet. The private cars of Racing Commissioners or designated 
representatives will have access to the restricted parking area of all tracks. (3-29-10)

02. Association Office. Each Racing Association must furnish and provide an adequate office for the 
use of the Racing Commission or its designated representatives. (3-29-10)

041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. EMPLOYEES.

01. Licenses. Any Racing Association that employs any person in a capacity that is required to be 
licensed by the Racing Commission prior to the Racing Commission granting such a license may be subject to 
suspension or a fine, or both. (3-29-10)

02. Suspension or Fine. The extent of said suspension or fine, or both, is determined by the Board of 
Stewards. (3-29-10)

03. Report to Stewards. Any licensee who harbors anyone not licensed by the Racing Commission 
will be immediately reported to the Stewards of the race meet so that they may make investigation thereof and report 
the fact to the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

051. -- 054. (RESERVED)

055. DISTURBING THE PEACE.
No person will in any manner or at any time disturb the peace or behave in a disorderly manner on the grounds of a 
Racing Association; nor will any person interfere with the performance of the duties of a racing official or any 
employee or representative of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

056. -- 059. (RESERVED)

060. RULED OFF.

01. Admittance to Grounds. No person or horse ruled off, or under suspension by any recognized 
racing authority, will be admitted to or allowed to remain upon the grounds of any Racing Association. (3-29-10)

02. Persons Ruled Off a Track Ineligible. When a person is ruled off a course or suspended, every 
horse owned in whole or part by him, or under his care, management, training or superintendence, is ineligible to 
enter or to start in any race until the rescinding of said person’s penalty, or by the placement of the horse or horses in 
the hands of a licensed Trainer approved by the Stewards. (3-29-10)

061. -- 069. (RESERVED)

070. PROHIBITED PRINTED MATERIAL.
No unauthorized tip sheet, pamphlet or other printed matter, other than official programs, the Daily Racing Form and 
general newspapers, are to be sold on the Racing Association grounds. (3-29-10)

01. Copies. Copies of all such materials offered for sale in the parking area or elsewhere on or off the 
grounds of the Racing Association must be furnished daily to the Presiding State Steward, not later than two (2) hours 
before first post. (3-29-10)

02. Publishers. All tip sheet publishers and vendors must be licensed by the Racing Commission.
(3-29-10)

071. -- 074. (RESERVED)

075. HANDBOOKS.
No person may make a handbook or a foreign book, or solicit a bet with a handbook or a foreign book on the grounds 
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of a Racing Association. (3-29-10)

076. -- 079. (RESERVED)

080. BOOKMAKERS.

01. Entry Prohibited. The following persons will not be allowed entry into or remain upon the 
premises of any Racing Association: (3-29-10)

a. A person who is a bookmaker or who is known or reputed to be a bookmaker;  (3-29-10)

b. A person who is a vagrant within the meaning of the laws of Idaho; (3-29-10)

c. A person who is a fugitive from justice; (3-29-10)

d. A person whose conduct now or heretofore has been improper, obnoxious, unbecoming or 
detrimental to the best interest of racing. (3-29-10)

02. Ejection. Upon discovery or recognition, all such persons described in Subsection 080.01 of these 
rules will be ejected by the Racing Association or representatives and agents of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

03. License Revocation. Associating with a person or persons such as described in Subsection 080.01 
of these rules may be grounds for the revocation of any license. (3-29-10)

081. -- 089. (RESERVED)

090. IDAHO BRED RACES.
At least one (1) race each day at each race meet must be limited to Idaho bred horses. If a sufficient class of horses is 
not available to fill the race, said race may be opened to Idaho bred preferred. (3-29-10)

01. Number of Races. The Racing Secretary must alternate among breeds according to the applicable 
horsemen’s agreement. (3-29-10)

02. Certificate of Registration. The owners’ certificate of registration is proof that horses entered in 
such races were bred in Idaho. (3-29-10)

091. BREEDER AWARDS.
A sum equal to ten percent (10%) of the first place purse money won by an Idaho bred horse must be paid by the 
Racing Association to the breeder of such horse. All purse moneys derived from pari-mutuel racing and all purse 
enhancement moneys from the Idaho State Racing Commission are included in the calculation of these breeder 
payments. All nominating and sustaining fees, and any moneys from outside sponsors are excluded from the 
calculation of these breeder payments. (3-29-10)

092. -- 094. (RESERVED)

095. BREED ASSOCIATIONS.
Pursuant to Section 54-2513, Idaho Code, on or before December 15 of each year, representatives of each breed 
which received money the preceding year must file a financial report showing disposition of any funds thus received.
 (3-29-10)

01. Failure to File. Failure to file such report is grounds for the Racing Commission to deny approval 
of any future disbursement to that breed. (3-29-10)

02. Representatives. “Lawfully constituted representatives of each breed” is the designated 
representative of the one (1) recognized breed organization for each breed racing in Idaho that has established itself as 
the traditional breed acknowledged by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)
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096. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. RACING ASSOCIATION LICENSE.
No person may conduct a live race meet unless they possess a valid Racing Association license issued by the Racing 
Commission. (3-29-10)

101. -- 109. (RESERVED)

110. RACING ASSOCIATION LICENSE FEES. 
Every Racing Association conducting a race meet in Idaho must pay a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) for each day of 
racing, except as otherwise provided in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

111. -- 119. (RESERVED)

120. RACING ASSOCIATION LICENSE APPLICATIONS.
Applications for Racing Association licenses must be made on forms approved by the Racing Commission. The 
Racing Commission sets the application date. (3-29-10)

121. -- 129. (RESERVED)

130. APPLICATIONS FOR SUCCEEDING SEASONS.
Applications for a license to conduct a race meet during the next succeeding season must be filed with the Racing 
Commission over the signature of an executive officer of the Racing Association. The Racing Commission sets the 
application date. (3-29-10)

131. -- 139. (RESERVED)

140. HORSEMEN’S AGREEMENT.
Every Racing Association must have in effect a signed Horsemen’s Agreement. (3-29-10)

141. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. RACING ASSOCIATIONS OPERATION.

01. Requirements. The scope of the Racing Associations operation and plant facilities will determine 
the Racing Commission’s requirements for the following: (3-29-10)

a. Proof of financial stability; (3-29-10)

b. Names of stockholders; (3-29-10)

c. Medical and veterinary facilities; (3-29-10)

d. Lodging facilities; and (3-29-10)

e. Protective facilities. (3-29-10)

02. Additional Information. The Racing Commission or Idaho State Police may require additional 
background information of applicants or licensees. (3-29-10)

151. -- 159. (RESERVED)

160. REPORT OF FUNDS.
Pursuant to Section 54-2513, Idaho Code, prior to or at the time of making application for licensing Racing 
Associations which received money the preceding year must file a financial report with the Racing Commission 
showing disposition of any funds thus received. (3-29-10)
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161. -- 169. (RESERVED)

170. APPROVAL OF RACING ASSOCIATION LICENSES.
The Racing Commission will consider each application for a Racing Association license individually and decide 
whether to grant the license or not on a case by case basis. (3-29-10)

171. -- 179. (RESERVED)

180. LICENSE GRANTED UPON CONDITIONS.
Every Racing Association license is granted upon the condition that the licensee accept, observe and enforce the 
Racing Commission rules. (3-29-10)

01. Duty. It is the duty of each and every officer to observe and enforce the Racing Commission rules.
(3-29-10)

02. Investigations. The Racing Commission may require background investigations, fingerprints and 
photographs of Racing Association officers, stockholders or employees. (3-29-10)

181. -- 189. (RESERVED)

190. REFUSAL TO ISSUE LICENSE.
The Racing Commission may refuse to issue a Racing Association license when such refusal appears to be for the 
best interest of racing and of the public. The Racing Commission will, in deciding upon applications for Racing 
Association licenses, consider the following matters: (3-29-10)

01. Properly Develop. The opportunity for the sport to properly develop. (3-29-10)

02. Competition. The avoidance of competition with established tracks in Idaho. (3-29-10)

03. Community Support. The extent of community support for the promotion and continuance of the 
tracks. (3-29-10)

04. Reputation. The character and reputation of the persons identified with the Racing Association.
(3-29-10)

05. Safety. The general conditions and safety of the Racing Association facilities. (3-29-10)

191. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. FINGERPRINTS -- PHOTOGRAPH.
Every person holding a Racing Association license in Idaho, and every person that holds such a license who is an 
officer or director of a Racing Association that is in any capacity connected to any extent with the pari-mutuel 
wagering business in this State, must, on demand, furnish his fingerprints and photograph to the Racing Commission 
for its files. Fingerprints and photograph are to be taken at such time and place and in such manner as the Racing 
Commission may from time to time direct and prescribe. (3-29-10)

201. -- 209. (RESERVED)

210. RACING DATES.
Application for racing dates must be made on forms approved by the Racing Commission. Application for racing 
dates does not commit the Racing Commission to the granting of a license to conduct race meets upon the dates 
requested. (3-29-10)

211. -- 219. (RESERVED)

220. LICENSE NOT TRANSFERABLE.
No Racing Association license or any part thereof is transferable or assignable without the consent of the Racing 
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Commission and said license is not valid for any racing days other than those set out therein. (3-29-10)

221. -- 239. (RESERVED)

240. PROPOSED OFFICIALS.
Thirty (30) days prior to the first day of a race meet the Racing Association must submit in writing to the Racing 
Commission all names and personal data of proposed officials for processing for licensing. No official may act until 
approved by the Racing Commission. A Racing Commission representative at the track will process substitutions. 
The required form will be provided by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

01. Hardship. To avoid undue hardship the Racing Commission may authorize Racing Associations to 
allow officials other than Stewards to act in dual capacities. (3-29-10)

241. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. RACING ASSOCIATIONS: GENERAL RULES.

01. Laws and Rules. The laws of Idaho and the rules promulgated by the Racing Commission 
supersede the conditions of the race or the regulations of a race meet. (3-29-10)

02. Racing Hours. Each Racing Association may conduct horse racing only between the hours of 
12:00 noon and 12:00 midnight, unless otherwise specifically authorized by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

03. Conditions of Races. Each Racing Association must file with the Racing Commission the 
conditions of races it proposes to hold together with the stakes, purse or rewards. (3-29-10)

04. Open Market. Owners and stables participating in race meets operating under license of the 
Racing Commission may purchase feed and supplies on the open market. No Racing Association may grant exclusive 
concessions which will interfere with this right. (3-29-10)

05. Toilets and Other Facilities. Each Racing Association must on every racing day provide and 
maintain adequate toilet facilities and facilities for furnishing drinking water for its patrons and persons having 
business at the track. (3-29-10)

06. Tampering. Each Racing Association must provide protection facilities to prevent tampering with 
horses or any other corrupt practices at licensed race meets. The Racing Commission may at any time require Racing 
Associations to expand their protective services. (3-29-10)

07. Fire Regulations Posted. Every Racing Association must post in the stable area of its premises the 
fire regulations applicable on its grounds and state the location of the nearest fire alarm box and the telephone number 
of the fire department or other pertinent instructions as to the method for reporting a fire in the area. Such notices 
must be posted no more than one hundred (100) feet apart or as approved by the local fire authority. No Racing 
Association or other person may violate the posted fire regulations specified by the Racing Commission. (        )

08. Credentials. A full record of credentials issued by the Racing Association must be compiled and 
open to inspection at all times with all additions made to or changes in the list of employees of any Racing 
Association reported promptly to the Racing Commission in writing. (        )

09. Horse Ambulance. Racing Associations must furnish, maintain, and have available a horse 
ambulance, as required by the Racing Commission, for each day that the track is open for racing or exercising during 
the race meet. (3-29-10)

10. Human Emergency Medical Response Vehicle. Racing Associations must furnish and maintain a 
human emergency medical response vehicle, as required by the Racing Commission, for each day that the track is 
open for racing or exercising during the race meet. If the human emergency medical response vehicle is being used to 
transport an individual, the Racing Association may not conduct a race until the ambulance is replaced. (3-29-10)
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11. Medical Professionals. Racing Associations must have a licensed physician, registered nurse, 
paramedic or licensed emergency medical technician on duty at the track on each day of racing and also provide 
adequate first aid and medical facilities to protect patrons and participants at licensed race meets. (3-29-10)

12. Comfort and Safety. Racing Associations must at all times maintain the premises in good 
condition and properly secured, with special consideration for the comfort and safety of the public, of the horses and 
of all others present. (3-29-10)

13. Violators. Violators of any rules are subject to ejection from the grounds, fine, suspension, being 
ruled off or any combination of the preceding. (3-29-10)

14. Post Notices. Racing Associations must promptly post Racing Commission notices in places that 
can be easily viewed by licensees. (3-29-10)

251. -- 259. (RESERVED)

260. HORSEMEN’S ACCOUNT.
Unless otherwise authorized by the Racing Commission and consistent with the Horsemen’s agreement pertaining to 
the Horsemen’s account, each Racing Association must keep an account, to be known as the “Horsemen’s Account,” 
with sufficient funds at all times in such account to cover all monies due horsemen in regard to purses, stakes, 
rewards, claims and deposits. (3-29-10)

01. Subject to Review or Audit. The account is at all times be subject to review or audit by the Racing 
Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Bonded. The horsemen’s bookkeeper is in charge of such an account and must be insured against 
crime or employee dishonesty in a manner approved by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

261. -- 269. (RESERVED)

270. PURSE MONEY.
Purse money must be made available to the winners promptly following release by the Racing Commission or its 
representative. (3-29-10)

01. Release. Release will be given when test results of the horse’s urine, blood or other specimens have 
been reported to the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Breeder’s Awards. Breeder’s awards will be payable when the purse is cleared. (3-29-10)

03. Weekly Remittance. The one-half (1/2) of one percent (1%) to benefit owners or breeders is to be 
remitted weekly by the Racing Association to the Racing Commission for distribution quarterly to the representatives 
of each breed. (3-29-10)

271. -- 279. (RESERVED)

280. COMMUNICATION.

01. Communication System. Racing Associations must provide and maintain in good working order a 
communication system between racing officials and locations as determined by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Public Address System. Racing Associations must provide and maintain a public address system 
capable of clearly transmitting announcements to the patrons and to the stable area. (3-29-10) 

281. -- 289. (RESERVED)

290. DOCUMENTS FILED WITH RACING COMMISSION.
Not less than thirty (30) days before opening a race meet each Racing Association must file with the Racing 
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Commission the following: (3-29-10)

01. Bond. A bond signed by a surety company licensed to do business in this State in such form and in 
the sum as may be required by the Racing Commission, conditioned that the association will pay to the state of Idaho 
all money due under the provisions of Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

02. Liability Insurance. Proof of public liability insurance by a company licensed to do business in 
this State in such form and in the amount as may be required by the Racing Commission for the protection of the 
public, the exhibitors and visitors. (3-29-10)

03. Accident Insurance or Workmen’s Compensation Insurance. Proof of an accident insurance 
policy or workmen’s compensation insurance policy issued by a company licensed to do business in Idaho for the 
protection of Jockeys and exercise persons for injuries incurred in connection with race meets in such form and 
amount as may be required by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

291. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. HORSE RACE TRACKS.

01. Track Width. A minimum of twenty (20) feet of track width must be allowed for the first two (2) 
horses in a race, with an additional five (5) feet for each added starter. (3-29-10)

02. Implements. Racing Associations must provide adequate equipment and personnel to maintain the 
track surface in a safe training and racing condition and provide back-up equipment for maintaining the track surface.

(        )

03. Limit on Number of Horses. No more than eight (8) horses may start in any race on a one-half (1/
2) mile track. (3-29-10)

04. Racing Surface. The surface of a racetrack, including the cushion, subsurface and base, must be 
designed, constructed and maintained to provide for the safety of the jockeys and horses. (3-29-10)

05. Rails. Race tracks must have inside and outside rails, including gap rails, designed, constructed and 
maintained to provide for the safety of jockeys and horses. The design and construction of rails must be approved by 
the Racing Commission prior to the first race meet at the track. (3-29-10)

301. -- 309. (RESERVED)

310. JOCKEY ROOM.
Each Racing Association must provide a room reserved for jockeys to prepare for a race. (3-29-10)

311. -- 319. (RESERVED)

320. OFFICIALS’ STANDS. 
Racing Associations must provide adequate stands for officials to have a clear view of the racetrack. The location and 
design of the stands must be approved by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

321. -- 329. (RESERVED)

330. PHOTO FINISH DEVICES.
Racing Associations must provide two (2) electronic photo finish devices with mirror image to photograph the finish 
of each race and record the time of each horse in at least hundredths of a second. (3-29-10)

01. Location. The location and operation of the photo finish devices must be approved by the Racing 
Commission before its first use in a race. (3-29-10)

02. Posting Photographs. The Racing Association must promptly post a photograph of each photo 
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finish for win, place or show in an area accessible to the public. (3-29-10)

03. Devices Calibrated. The Racing Association must ensure that the photo finish devices are 
calibrated before the first day of each race meet and at other times as required by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

04. Print Provided. On request by the Racing Commission, the Racing Association must provide, 
without cost, a print of a photo finish to the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

05. Records. Photo finish records of each race must be maintained by the Racing Association for not 
less than six (6) months after the end of the race meet, or such other period as may be requested by the stewards or the 
Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

331. -- 339. (RESERVED)

340. VIDEOTAPING SYSTEM.
Racing Associations must provide a videotaping system approved by the Racing Commission. Cameras must be 
located to provide clear panoramic and head-on views of each race. (3-29-10)

01. Monitors. Separate monitors that simultaneously display the images received from each camera 
and are capable of simultaneously displaying a synchronized view of the recordings of each race for review must be 
provided in the stewards’ stand. (3-29-10)

02. Location. The location and construction of video towers must be approved by the Racing 
Commission. (3-29-10)

03. Stewards. The stewards may, at their discretion, direct the video camera operators to videotape the 
activities of any horses or persons handling horses prior to, during or following a race. (3-29-10)

04. Oval Track. Races run on an oval track must be recorded by at least three (3) video cameras.
(3-29-10)

05. Straight Course. Races run on a straight course must be recorded by at least two (2) video 
cameras. (3-29-10)

06. Videotape Copy. Racing Associations must, upon request, provide to the Racing Commission, 
without cost, a copy of a videotape of a race. (3-29-10)

07. Videotapes Maintained. Videotapes recorded prior to, during and following each race must be 
maintained by the Racing Association for not less than six (6) months after the end of the race meet, or such other 
period as may be requested by the stewards or the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

08. Objection. Following any race in which there is an inquiry or objection, the Racing Association 
must display to the public on designated monitors the videotaped replays of the incident in question which were 
utilized by the stewards in making their decision. (3-29-10)

341. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. STARTING GATE.
All horse races must utilize a starting gate approved by the Racing Commission, except that with permission of the 
Stewards a race may be started with or without a gate. When the starting gate is used, it must be placed on the track at 
the direction of the Starter. (3-29-10)

01. Training Hours. Racing Associations must make at least one (1) starting gate and qualified 
starting gate personnel available for schooling during designated training hours. (3-29-10)

02. Backup Equipment. If a race is started at a place other than in a chute, the Racing Association 
must provide and maintain in good operating condition backup equipment for moving the starting gate. The backup 
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equipment must be immediately available to replace the primary moving equipment in the event of failure. (3-29-10)

351. -- 359. (RESERVED)

360. DISTANCE MARKERS.
Racing Associations must provide starting point markers and distance poles in a size and position that is clearly seen 
from the stewards’ stand. (3-29-10)

361. -- 369. (RESERVED)

370. BARNS.
Racing Associations must provide barns containing a sufficient number of stalls to accommodate all horses approved 
to race and all other horses approved to be on the grounds. The Racing Association's stable area configuration and 
facilities must be approved by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

01. Good Repair. Racing Associations must ensure that the barns are kept clean and in good repair, 
have a water supply available, be well-ventilated, have proper drainage, and be constructed to be comfortable during 
the race meet. (        )

02. Stall Size. Racing Associations must ensure that each horse is stabled in an individual box stall 
with minimum dimensions of ten feet by ten feet (10’ x 10’). (3-29-10)

371. -- 379. (RESERVED)

380. TEST AREA.
Racing Associations must provide a test area for taking specimens of urine, blood or other bodily substances or 
tissues for testing, and limit access to the test area to persons authorized by the commission veterinarian. (        )

381. -- 389. (RESERVED)

390. ISOLATION AREA.
Racing Associations must provide an isolation area, approved by the Racing Commission, for the care and treatment 
of a horse that is ordered isolated by the commission veterinarian. (3-29-10)

391. -- 899. (RESERVED)

900. SECURITY.
Racing Associations conducting live race meets must maintain security controls over their grounds. Security controls 
are subject to the approval of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

01. Restricted Areas. Racing Associations must restrict access of licensees or their guests to certain 
areas of the grounds. Those restricted areas are the Paddock, Jockey Room, Veterinarian’s Test Area, the Steward’s 
Stand, the Mutuel Room, racing offices and any other area the Racing Association feels should be limited access.

(3-29-10)

02. Escort Guests. Any licensee may escort an unlicensed guest through the enclosure of a Racing 
Association except restricted areas. The licensee and the guest must sign in and out and identify all such persons. The 
licensee by signing accepts full responsibility for the safety and actions of the guest while in the enclosure. (3-29-10)

03. Passes. Racing Associations may establish a system or method of issuing credentials or passes to 
restrict access to its restricted areas or to ensure that all participants at its race meet are licensed as required by these 
rules. (3-29-10)

04. Prevent Access. Racing Associations must prevent access to and remove or cause to be removed 
from its restricted areas any person who is unlicensed, or who has not been issued a visitor's pass or other identifying 
credential, or whose presence in such restricted area is unauthorized. (3-29-10)
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05. List of Security Personnel. On request by the Racing Commission, a Racing Association must 
provide a list of the security personnel, including the name, qualifications, training, duties duty station and area 
supervised by each employee. (3-29-10)

06. Daily Reports. Each day, the chief of security for a Racing Association must deliver a written 
report to the stewards regarding occurrences on Racing Association grounds on the previous day. Not later than 
twenty-four (24) hours after an incident occurs requiring the attention of security personnel, the chief of security must 
deliver to the stewards a written report describing the incident. The report must include the name of each individual 
involved in the incident, the circumstances of the incident and any recommended charges against each individual 
involved. (3-29-10)

901. -- 909. (RESERVED)

910. COMPLAINTS.
Racing Associations must promptly notify the Racing Commission of any complaints regarding: (3-29-10)

01. Violations. Alleged violation of Section 54-2501, Idaho Code, ordinances or statutes, or a rule of 
the Racing Commission; (3-29-10)

02. Accidents or Injuries. (3-29-10)

03. Unsafe Conditions. Unsafe or unsanitary conditions for patrons, licensees or horses. (3-29-10)

911. -- 919. (RESERVED)

920. EXCLUSION AND EJECTION.
Racing Associations must immediately, upon notification by the Racing Commission, take steps to bar admittance to 
the racing grounds to any person who is subject to an exclusion order of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

01. Lawful Reason. Racing Associations may eject or exclude a person for any lawful reason. Racing 
Associations must immediately notify the stewards and the Racing Commission in writing of any person ejected or 
excluded by the Racing Association and the reasons for the ejection or exclusion. (3-29-10)

02. Readmission. Any person ejected from the grounds of a Racing Association will be denied 
readmission to said grounds until permission has been approved by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

921. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted pursuant to the legal authority of Title 54, Chapter 25, of the Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are cited as IDAPA 11.04.11, “Rules Governing Equine Veterinary Practices, 
Permitted Medications, Banned Substances and Drug Testing of Horses.” (3-29-10)

02. Scope. These rules governs the practices of veterinarians licensed by the Racing Commission, 
permitted medication of horses and drug testing of horses by the Idaho State Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS AND ABBREVIATIONS.
In addition to the definitions in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code, the following apply: (        )

01. Bleeder List. A list maintained by the commission veterinarian with all horses that have 
demonstrated external evidence of exercise induced pulmonary hemorrhage from one (1) or both nostrils during or 
after a race or workout. (3-29-10)

02. Calendar Year. A calendar year beginning January 1 and ending December 31. (3-29-10)

03. Colt. An intact male horse under five (5) years of age. (3-29-10)

04. Commission Veterinarian. A Racing Commission appointed veterinarian having authority to 
enforce the Racing Commission’s rules relating to veterinary practices. (3-29-10)

05. DMSO. Dimethyl Sulfoxide. (3-29-10)

06. Filly. A female horse that has not reached five (5) years of age. (3-29-10)

07. Gelding. An altered male horse of any age. (3-29-10)

08. Horse. Includes filly, mare, colt, horse or gelding in general; when referring to sex, a horse is an 
intact male five (5) years old or older. (3-29-10)

09. Hypodermics. Any hypodermic instrument, hypodermic syringe or hypodermic hollow needle 
used for injection of substances into the body of a horse. (3-29-10)

10. Inspection of Horses. A veterinarian inspection to assess the racing condition of every horse 
entered in an official race. (3-29-10)

11. Mare. A female horse that has reached the age of five (5) years. (3-29-10)

12. Medication Report Form. A form signed by the treating veterinarian disclosing the identity of the 
horse, the permitted drug being used with dosage or procedure administered, the time administered and the name of 
the trainer. (3-29-10)

13. Needle and Syringe. See Hypodermics - Subsection 010.08 of this rule. (3-29-10)

14. Owner. The person that has legal title to, or has financial control of, a horse utilized for racing in 
Idaho. However, an interest in the winnings of a horse does not itself constitute ownership. (3-29-10)

15. Penalties. For this chapter, a penalty issued against an individual(s) found guilty of medication and 
drug violations. (3-29-10)

16. Primary Laboratory. A laboratory approved by the Racing Commission to conduct testing and 
official analysis of post-race samples. (3-25-16)
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17. Prohibited Substances. Medication and drugs that should not be administered to a horse.
(3-29-10)

18. Racing Association. Any person licensed by the Racing Commission to conduct live or simulcast 
pari-mutuel wagering. (3-29-10)

19. Racing Condition. The physical ability to race of a horse determined by the commission 
veterinarian. (3-29-10)

20. Referee Laboratory. Laboratory approved by the Racing Commission to conduct split sample 
testing. (3-25-16)

21. Sample. A blood, urine, saliva, hair, or any other acceptable specimen taken from a horse at the 
direction of the commission veterinarian. (        )

22. Split Sample. A blood, urine, saliva, hair, or any other acceptable specimen taken from a horse that 
is greater than the minimum sample requirement. (        )

23. Suspension. Punishment for violation of the Racing Commission rules. The offender is denied 
privileges of the racing facilities for a specified period of time. (3-29-10)

24. Test Area. A secured testing area provided by a racing association used for taking samples of 
blood, urine, saliva, hair, or any other acceptable specimen for testing. (        )

25. Trainer. The person who conditions and prepares a race horse for racing, with the absolute 
responsibility to ensure the physical condition and eligibility of the race horse. (3-29-10)

26. Veterinarian’s List. A list of all horses which are ineligible to be entered in any race due to a 
physical condition. (3-29-10)

27. Veterinarians’ Reports. The Medication Report Form completed by every veterinarian who treats 
a racehorse at any location under the jurisdiction of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10) 

28. Veterinarian. Practicing Private practitioner employed by owners and trainers on an individual 
case or contract basis. (3-29-10)

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. ENTER, SEARCH AND INSPECT.
Every Racing Association, the Racing Commission, the Stewards or trained and qualified agents of the Idaho State 
Police, have the right to enter, search and inspect the buildings, stables, rooms and other places where horses which 
are eligible to race are kept, or where property and effects of the licensee are kept within the grounds of the Racing 
Association. Any licensee accepting a license is deemed to have consented to such search and to the seizure of any 
non-approved or prohibited materials, chemicals, drugs or devices and anything apparently intended to be used in 
connection therewith. (3-29-10)

021. AUTHORITY OF THE COMMISSION VETERINARIAN.
The Commission Veterinarian has the authority to supervise the actions of veterinarians licensed by the Racing 
Commission while they are practicing at any location under the jurisdiction of the Racing Commission. The 
commission veterinarian recommends to the Stewards or the Racing Commission disciplinary actions for any 
veterinarian who violates any Racing Commission rule. (3-29-10) 

022. REPORT OF DISEASE.
All practicing veterinarians must promptly notify the commission veterinarian of any reportable disease and any 
unusual incidence of a communicable illness in any horse in his charge. (3-29-10)

023. RESTRICTIONS OF WAGERING.
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A practicing veterinarian may not wager on the outcome of any race if the practicing veterinarian has treated a horse 
participating in the race within the past thirty (30) days. (3-29-10)

024. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. TREATMENT RESTRICTIONS.
Except as otherwise provided by these rules, no person other than a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary 
medicine in Idaho and licensed by the Racing Commission may administer a prescription or controlled medication, 
drug, chemical or other substance, including any medication, drug, chemical or other substance by injection, to a 
horse at any location under the jurisdiction of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

031. ADMINISTRATION OF NON-INJECTABLE SUBSTANCES.
These rules do not apply to the administration of the following substances in approved quantitative levels present in 
post-race samples, if any, or as they may interfere with post-race testing: (3-29-10)

01. Nutritional Supplement. A recognized non-injectable nutritional supplement or other substance 
approved by the commission veterinarian; (3-29-10)

02. Prescription. A non-injectable substance on the direction or by prescription of a licensed 
veterinarian; or (3-29-10)

03. Non-Prescription. A non-injectable non-prescription medication or substance. (3-29-10)

032. -- 034. (RESERVED)

035. HYPODERMIC NEEDLES.

01. Possession Prohibited. No person may possess a hypodermic needle, syringe or injectable of any 
kind on Racing Association grounds, unless approved by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Disposable Needles. At any location under the jurisdiction of the Racing Commission, licensed 
veterinarians may use only one-time disposable needles, and must dispose of them in a manner approved by the 
Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

03. Medical Condition. If a person has a medical condition that makes it necessary to have a syringe at 
any location under the jurisdiction of the Racing Commission, that person must: (3-29-10)

a. Request permission of the Stewards or the Racing Commission in writing; (3-29-10)

b. Furnish a letter from a licensed physician explaining why it is necessary for the person to possess a 
syringe; and (3-29-10)

c. Comply with any conditions and restrictions set by the Stewards or the Racing Commission.
(3-29-10)

036. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. BANNED SUBSTANCES.

01. Banned Substances. Any medication, drug, chemical, narcotic, anesthetic, or analgesic that is not 
specifically permitted by these rules is banned from use in horses that are eligible to race in Idaho and are located on 
the grounds of a racing association. (3-29-10)

02. Administration by Veterinarians. All practicing veterinarians administering drugs, medications 
or other substances are responsible for ensuring that the drugs, medications or other substances and the veterinary 
treatment of horses are administered in accordance with these rules. (3-29-10)
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041. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. NON-PERMITTED MEDICATION.
If the Stewards find that any non-permitted medication, drug, chemical, narcotic, anesthetic, or analgesic has been 
administered to a horse in such a manner that it is present in a pre-race or post-race test sample, such presence 
constitutes prima facie evidence of a violation of these rules. (3-29-10)

051. -- 059. (RESERVED)

060. MEDICATIONS.

01. Taking Samples. The Commission Veterinarian, the Racing Commission, or any member of the 
Board of Stewards may take samples of any medicines or other materials suspected of containing improper 
medication, drugs or chemicals that would affect the racing condition of a horse in a race. (3-29-10)

02. Location. Any substances found in stables or elsewhere on the grounds of a racing association or in 
the possession of any person connected with racing are subject to sampling. (3-29-10)

03. Testing. Substances sampled must be delivered to a laboratory designated by the Racing 
Commission for testing. (3-29-10)

061. -- 069. (RESERVED)

070. ANTI-ULCER MEDICATIONS.
The following anti-ulcer medications are permitted to be administered, at the stated dosage, up to twenty-four (24) 
hours prior to the race in which the horse is entered: (3-29-10)

01. Cimetidine (Tagamet®). Dosage 8-20 mg/kg PO BID-TID. (3-29-10)

02. Omeprazole (Gastrogard®). Dosage 2.2 grams PO SID. (3-29-10)

03. Ranitidine (Zantac®). Dosage 8 mg/kg PO BID. (3-29-10)

071. -- 074. (RESERVED)

075. ENVIRONMENTAL CONTAMINANTS AND SUBSTANCES OF HUMAN USE.
The following substances can be environmental contaminants in that they are endogenous to the horse or that they can 
arise from plants traditionally grazed or harvested as equine feed or are present in equine feed because of 
contamination during the cultivation, processing, treatment, storage or transportation phases. (3-29-10)

01. Caffeine. Caffeine is recognized as a substance of human use and could be found in the horse due 
to its close association with humans. The regulatory threshold for caffeine is 100 nanograms of caffeine per milliliter 
of serum or plasma. (3-29-10)

02. Positive Test. If the preponderance of evidence presented in a hearing shows that a positive test is 
the result of environmental contamination or inadvertent exposure due to human drug use it should be considered as a 
mitigating factor in any disciplinary action taken against the affected trainer. (3-29-10)

076. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. TESTING FACILITIES.
The Racing Commission may require the Racing Association to provide such facilities for medication, drug or other 
tests of a horse as may be required by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

101. -- 104. (RESERVED)

105. LABORATORY MINIMUM STANDARDS.
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Laboratories conducting either primary or split post-race sample analysis must meet at least the following minimum 
standards: (3-29-10)

01. Lab Accreditation. A testing laboratory must be accredited by a recognized accrediting body to 
any standards set forth and required by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Instrumentation for Screening. A testing laboratory must have, or have access to, LC/MS 
instrumentation for screening or confirmation purposes, or both. (3-29-10)

03. Standards of Detection. A testing laboratory must be able to meet minimum standards of 
detection, which is defined as the specific concentration at which a laboratory is expected to detect the presence of a 
particular drug or metabolite, or both, or by the adoption of a regulatory threshold. (3-29-10)

106. -- 109. (RESERVED)

110. TESTING.

01. Testing. The official winning horse and any other horse ordered by the Racing Commission or the 
Stewards must be taken to the testing area to have a blood, urine, saliva, hair, or any other acceptable specimen taken 
at the direction of the Commission Veterinarian. (        )

02. Examination. Examination of the race winner or other designated horses must be made by the 
Commission Veterinarian or his assistant. (3-29-10)

03. Specimens. All specimens must be collected by the Commission Veterinarian or his assistant.
(3-29-10)

111. OUT-OF-COMPETITION TESTING.

01. Racing Commission Authority to Request Test. The Racing Commission may request an out-of-
competition testing (OCT) sample be collected and screened for any violation of Section 600 of these rules. (        )

02. Conditions for Racing Commission Request. The Racing Commission may request any owner or 
trainer currently licensed by the Racing Commission to allow for an OCT sample be collected under any of the 
following conditions: (        )

a. The horse is stabled on the grounds of a licensed race meet. (        )

b. The horse is nominated or eligible for a stake or handicap race. (        )

c. The registration certificate of the horse is currently on file with the racing association. If the horse 
selected is not currently stabled on the grounds, the owner or trainer shall present the horse to the test barn at a time 
designated by the commission. (        )

03. Horse Selection. Horses will be selected for OCT by a Racing Commission veterinarian, steward, 
or executive secretary. (        )

04. Sample Collection and Split Samples. Sample collection and split samples will be done in 
accordance with Sections 110 through 180 of these rules. (        )

05. Refusal to Submit. Refusal to submit to an OCT sample request will result in penalties consistent 
with Sections 501, 990, and 995 of these rules. (        )

06. Qualified Horse. If a horse that qualifies under Subsection 111.02 of this rule is selected for testing 
and is not stabled at a race meet licensed by the Racing Commission, the Racing Commission may approve a 
regulatory veterinarian from another jurisdiction to collect and submit the sample providing the process complies 
with Sections 110 through 180 of these rules. (        )
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07. Penalties. Penalties for a report of a positive laboratory finding in violation of this Section 111 will 
be consistent with Sections 501, 990, and 995 of these rules. (        )

112. -- 114. (RESERVED)

115. RANDOM OR EXTRA TESTING.
Random or extra testing may be required by the Stewards or the Racing Commission at any time on any horse on 
Racing Association grounds. Unless otherwise directed by the Stewards or the Commission Veterinarian, a horse that 
is selected for testing must be taken directly to the testing area. (3-29-10)

116. -- 119. (RESERVED)

120. TRAINER PRESENT.

01. Present During Testing. The Trainer, or his authorized representative, must be present in the 
testing area when a blood, urine, saliva, hair, or any other acceptable specimen is taken from a horse. (        )

02. Tag Signed. The sample tag must be signed by the Trainer or his representative, as witness to the 
taking of the specimen. (3-29-10)

03. Refusal. Willful failure to be present at or a refusal to allow the taking of such specimen, or any act 
or threat to impede or prevent or otherwise interfere therewith, subjects the person or persons doing so to immediate 
suspension by the Stewards and the matter will be referred to the Racing Commission for such further penalty as may 
be determined. (3-29-10)

121. -- 129. (RESERVED)

130. SPECIMENS.

01. Delivery to Approved Laboratory. All specimens taken by or under direction of the Commission 
Veterinarian, or other authorized representative of the Racing Commission, must be delivered to the laboratory 
approved by the Racing Commission for official analysis. (3-29-10)

02. Number and Date. Each specimen must be marked by number and date and may also bear such 
information as may be essential to its proper analysis. (3-29-10)

03. Identity. The identity of the horse from which the specimen was taken or the identity of its Owner, 
Trainer, Jockey, or stable must not be revealed to the laboratory. (3-29-10)

04. Container. The container of each specimen must be sealed as soon as the specimen is placed 
therein and must bear the name of the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

131. -- 139. (RESERVED)

140. DETERMINATION OF SAMPLE.

01. Minimum Sample. The commission veterinarian will determine a minimum sample requirement 
for the primary testing laboratory. (3-29-10)

02. Less Than The Minimum. If the specimen obtained from a horse is less than the minimum sample 
requirement, the entire specimen must be sent to the primary testing laboratory. (3-29-10) 

03. More Than The Minimum. If a specimen obtained is greater than the minimum sample 
requirement, the portion of the sample that is greater than the minimum sample requirement may be secured as the 
split sample if proper storage capabilities exist. (3-25-16)
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141. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. STORAGE AND SHIPMENT OF SPLIT SAMPLES.
Split samples obtained in accordance with Subsection 140.03 of these rules, must be secured and made available for 
further testing in accordance with the following procedures: (3-29-10)

01. Secured. A split sample must be secured under the same manner as the portion of the specimen 
acquired for shipment to a primary laboratory until such time as specimens are packed and secured for shipment to 
the primary laboratory. (3-29-10)

02. Transfer of Samples. Split samples must then be transferred to a freezer or other approved storage 
container, at a secure location approved by the Racing Commission. (        )

151. -- 159. (RESERVED)

160. TESTING SPLIT SAMPLES.
After having been notified that a written report from a primary laboratory stating that a prohibited substance has been 
identified in a specimen obtained pursuant to these rules, a trainer or owner of a horse may request that a split sample, 
corresponding to the portion of the specimen tested by the primary laboratory, be sent to another laboratory approved 
by the Racing Commission. (3-25-16)

01. Submission of Testing Request. A formal request for split sample testing must be made in writing 
and delivered to the Stewards not later than three (3) business days after the trainer of the horse receives written 
notice of the findings of the primary laboratory. The request must include the requesting trainer or owner's top three 
(3) referee laboratory choices. Any request for split sample testing not received by the specified deadline, and/or 
without all the required information, is considered invalid. (        )

02. Lab's Willingness to Test. Upon receipt of the written request for split sample testing, the Racing 
Commission will confirm the referee laboratory has agreed to accommodate the request and provide official test 
results to the Racing Commission. The Racing Commission will identify the confirmed referee laboratory to the 
requesting owner or trainer to arrange for payment of shipping costs and testing services costs. (        )

03. Shipping and Testing Fees. The requesting owner or trainer is entirely responsible for all costs and 
fees associated with sample shipment and testing services. Payment for sample shipment must be made to the 
Commission Veterinarian, or his authorized designee, prior to shipment of the split sample. Once the Racing 
Commission has received confirmation of payment of necessary fees required for split sample testing, the requested 
split samples will be shipped to the referee laboratory within ten (10) business days. Shipments are mailed only on 
Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday to avoid the samples sitting in a warehouse unrefrigerated over a weekend if there is 
a problem in transit. (        )

04. Unforeseen Circumstances. (3-25-16)

a. If the Racing Commission is unable to secure the services of a referee laboratory, the Racing 
Commission has the option to request the primary laboratory to conduct the split sample testing. The owner and 
trainer affected will be notified by the Racing Commission. (        )

b. If the Racing Commission is unable to contact the affected trainer or owner by telephone or last 
known location, the Racing Commission may proceed with split sample testing by the primary laboratory. (3-25-16)

c. If an Act of God, power failure, accident, strike, or other action that is beyond the control of the 
Racing Commission prevents a split sample from being tested, the test results of the primary laboratory will be 
accepted as prima facie evidence. (        )

05. Split Sample Test Results. The referee laboratory sends the results of the split sample test to the 
Racing Commission and the Racing Commission will forward those results simultaneously to the requesting owner or 
trainer as quickly as possible. (        )
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a. If the split sample testing confirms the findings of the primary laboratory, it is considered a prima 
facie violation of the applicable provisions of this chapter. (        )

b. If the split sample testing does not substantially confirm the findings of the primary laboratory, it 
does not constitute a prima facie violation of this chapter and no penalty will be imposed by the Racing Commission.

(        )

161. -- 179. (RESERVED)

180. CHAIN OF CUSTODY.
The Racing Commission will provide a split sample chain of custody verification form. (3-29-10)

181. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. NON-STEROIDAL ANTI-INFLAMMATORY DRUGS.

01. Exception. No horses may be entered into a race utilizing a Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory 
Drug, except DMSO, unless: (3-29-10)

a. The Trainer and Veterinarian of the horse submit to the Commission Veterinarian the Non-Steroidal 
Anti-Inflammatory Drug Request Form; and (3-29-10)

b. The Commission Veterinarian has granted written approval for the use. (3-29-10)

02. Procedures. The Commission Veterinarian must establish and publish reasonable procedures 
pertaining to use of the Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug Request Form. (3-29-10)

03. Posted. A copy of the established procedures must be posted in the office of the Racing Secretary.
(3-29-10)

201. -- 209. (RESERVED)

210. NON-STEROIDAL ANTI-INFLAMMATORY DRUG REQUEST FORM.
The Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug Request Form submitted to the Commission Veterinarian must include 
and be processed as follows: (3-29-10)

01. Name of Horse. The name, age, sex and breed of the horse; (3-29-10)

02. Name of Trainer and Veterinarian. The name of the licensed Trainer and veterinarian; (3-29-10)

03. Nature of Injury. The nature of the horse's injury or disease as determined by an examination by a 
qualified and duly licensed veterinarian; (3-29-10)

04. Name of Drug Requested. The name of the Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory drug requested and 
the proposed time and method of administration; (3-29-10)

05. Signature. Signature of Trainer and veterinarian attending the horse and the Commission 
Veterinarian. (3-29-10)

06. Filing. The trainer or veterinarian attending the horse must file the completed request form with the 
racing secretary. (3-29-10)

211. -- 219. (RESERVED)

220. APPROVAL OF NON-STEROIDAL ANTI-INFLAMMATORY DRUG REQUEST.
The Commission Veterinarian will approve the Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug request only if: (3-29-10)
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01. Professional Judgment. In the exercise of his professional judgment, a need for the use of the 
Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug for the particular horse's injury or disease has been satisfactorily 
demonstrated. (3-29-10)

02. Professional Diagnosis. In arriving at the decision, the Commission Veterinarian may take into 
account or rely upon the written professional diagnosis made by a qualified and duly licensed veterinarian. (3-29-10)

221. -- 229. (RESERVED)

230. EXPIRATION OF APPROVAL. 
Approved medication may be discontinued with permission of the Commission Veterinarian. (3-29-10)

231. -- 239. (RESERVED)

240. PERMITTED NON-STEROIDAL ANTI-INFLAMMATORY DRUGS.
The only Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs permitted by these rules are: (3-29-10)

01. Phenylbutazone (Butazoladin); (3-29-10)

02. Mechlofenamic Acid (Arquel); (3-29-10)

03. Flunixin (Banamine); and (3-29-10)

04. Ketoprofen (Ketofen). (3-29-10)

241. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. DAILY RACING PROGRAM.
Horses that are on a Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug must be indicated on the daily racing programs or any 
other publications and a list of horses on a Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug will be posted at a location 
designated by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

251. -- 259. (RESERVED)

260. NON-STEROIDAL ANTI-INFLAMMATORY DRUG ADMINISTRATION.
No Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug may be administered to the horse later than twenty-four (24) hours prior 
to the time the horse is scheduled to race. Only one (1) Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug may be in a horse’s 
system on race day. (3-29-10)

261. -- 264. (RESERVED)

265. BLEEDER TREATMENT.

01. Written Approval Needed. Epistaxis treatment for bleeders is permitted as a race day medication 
provided that written approval of the Commission Veterinarian is obtained prior to race day treatment on the 
Medication Request Form. (3-29-10)

02. Bleeders. Bleeders that have been running under Epistaxis treatment must obtain written approval 
of the Commission Veterinarian prior to entry in any race before running without similar treatment. (3-29-10)

03. Premarin. Premarin is a permissible Epistaxis treatment and may be used up to two (2) hours 
before post time. (3-29-10)

04. Lasix. Lasix is a permissible Epistaxis treatment. (3-29-10)

266. -- 269. (RESERVED)
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270. IDAHO BLEEDER LIST.
Any horse which exhibits symptoms of Epistaxis or respiratory tract hemorrhage is eligible for placement on the 
Idaho Bleeder List and for treatment on race days with approved medication to prevent or limit bleeding during 
racing. (3-29-10)

01. Placed on Idaho Bleeder List. To be placed on the Idaho Bleeders List a horse must be found to 
have shed free blood from one (1) or both nostrils or bled internally in the respiratory tract during or immediately 
following a race or workout. The Commission Veterinarian, following his personal examination of a horse or after 
consulting with the horses' private veterinarian, may certify a horse as a bleeder. (3-29-10)

02. Bleeder. (3-29-10)

a. Any horse that bleeds a second time in Idaho will not be able to race for a period of thirty (30) days 
from the date of the second bleeding offense. (3-29-10)

b. Any horse that bleeds a third time in Idaho, and each time thereafter, will be suspended from racing 
for a period of one (1) year from the date of each bleeding offense. (3-29-10)

03. Bleeder from Another Jurisdiction. A bleeder horse shipped into Idaho from another racing 
jurisdiction must comply with Racing Commission rules. Any horse on a bleeder list in another racing jurisdiction 
may be placed on the Idaho Bleeder List provided a current certificate from the jurisdiction where it was confirmed 
on the bleeder list, or a letter from the horses private veterinarian, who is currently licensed by the racing jurisdiction, 
is presented to the Commission Veterinarian for his approval. (3-29-10)

04. Removal from Bleeder List. The Commission Veterinarian may remove a horse from the Idaho 
Bleeder List, provided the proper paperwork is complete and it is the recommendation of the licensed veterinarian 
treating the horse, or after an examination by the Commission Veterinarian, it is determined that the horse is not a 
bleeder and is no longer eligible for the Bleeder List. (3-29-10)

271. -- 279. (RESERVED)

280. URINE SAMPLES.

01. Phenylbutazone. No urine sample taken from a horse authorized to use phenylbutazone may 
exceed one hundred sixty-five (165) micrograms total of phenylbutazone or its metabolites per milliliter of urine.

(3-29-10)

02. Lasix. Any horse whose post-race urine creatinine is less than forty (40) milligrams creatinine per 
one hundred (100) milliliters urine, and the ratio of urine furosemide to urine creatinine does not exceed fifteen 
hundredths (.15), with urine furosemide being measured in micrograms per milliliter of urine will be said to be 
positive for Lasix overage. (3-29-10)

281. -- 289. (RESERVED)

290. BLOOD SAMPLES.
No blood sample taken from a horse authorized to use the following substances may exceed these limits: (3-29-10)

01. Phenylbutazone. May not exceed five (5) micrograms of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone per 
milliliter of plasma; (3-29-10)

02. Flunixin (Banamine). May not exceed twenty (20) nanograms per milliliter of plasma. (3-29-10)

03. Mechlofenamic Acid (Arquel). May not exceed one (1) microgram per milliliter of plasma.
(3-29-10)

04. Ketoprofen (Ketofen). May not exceed ten (10) nanograms per milliliter of plasma. (3-29-10)
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05. Lasix (Furosemide) May not exceed one hundred (100) nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of 
plasma. (3-29-10)

291. HAIR TESTING.
No hair sample taken from a horse may contain any prohibited drug or other non-approved medication. (        )

01. Racing Commission Authority. The Racing Commission is authorized to collect and submit hair 
samples for testing in quarter horses and mixed breed races. Hair samples will be collected consistent with Section 
111 of these rules. (        )

02. Presence of Prohibited Substances. The presence of any prohibited substances that appears in a 
pre or post-race sample including, but not limited to, Clenbuterol, Zilpaterol, and Ractopamine in Quarter Horse and 
mixed breed races will constitute a violation. Any report of prohibited or non-permitted medication in a hair sample 
will result in the horse being placed on a stewards list for sixty (60) days. A horse must provide a negative hair test 
prior to removal from list. (        )

03. Positive Finding for Prohibited Substance. Samples collected for out-of-competition testing in 
Quarter Horses and mixed breed horses that result in a positive finding for a prohibited substance as listed in Section 
600 of these rules will be reported to the Board of Stewards and considered a violation. The presence of Clenbuterol 
in an out-of-competition test in a Quarter Horse will result in the horse being placed on the official veterinarians list 
for a minimum of sixty (60) days or until a sample is submitted and is reported as negative for the presence of 
Clenbuterol. If, at the owner’s request, a sample is submitted for screening for removal from the official veterinarians 
list, the owner is responsible for the cost of the testing. (        )

04. Hair Sample. If a horse is selected for hair testing and the mane is less than four and one-half 
inches (4 1/2”) in length, the Racing Commission may elect to collect a hair sample using the tail. (        )

292. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. LASIX ADMINISTRATION. 

01. Time of Treatment. Horses on the Bleeder List must be treated at least four (4) hours prior to post 
time with the bleeder medication furosemide (ie. Lasix). (3-29-10)

02. Dosage. Bleeder medication must be administered in the manner and at a dose level approved by 
the Commission Veterinarian, such dosage not to exceed two hundred fifty (250) mg. (3-29-10)

03. Witness. At his request, the Commission Veterinarian or his designee may witness the 
administration of Lasix by the trainer's private licensed veterinarian. (3-29-10)

04. Reporting. Administration of Lasix must be reported in writing, on the form designated by the 
Racing Commission, to the Commission Veterinarian no later than three (3) hours prior to the scheduled post time of 
the last live race of the program. (3-29-10)

301. -- 319. (RESERVED)

320. HORSES NOT STABLED ON GROUNDS.
Any horse on the Idaho Bleeder List that is not stabled on the actual grounds of the Racing Association where it is to 
race must be brought on to the grounds of the Racing Association where it is scheduled to race at least five (5) hours 
prior to the post time for the race for which it is entered. (3-29-10)

321. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. BICARBONATE TESTING.

01. Administration Prohibited. No bicarbonate-containing substance or alkalizing substance that 
effectively alters the serum or plasma pH or concentration of bicarbonates or carbon dioxide in a horse may be 
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administered to a horse on race day. (3-29-10)

02. Positive Test Level. Test samples collected from a horse either before or within one (1) hour 
following a race may not exceed thirty-seven point zero (37.0) millimoles of total carbon dioxide concentration per 
liter of serum or plasma. A serum total carbon dioxide level exceeding this value constitutes a positive test. (3-29-10)

03. Collection of Test Samples. The Commission Veterinarian, the Board of Stewards, or the 
Executive Director acting on behalf of the Racing Commission may at their discretion and at any time order the 
collection of test samples from any horses ordered to the test area to determine the serum or plasma pH or 
concentration of bicarbonate, carbon dioxide, or electrolytes. A sample consisting of at least thirteen (13) ml in a SST 
tube must be taken from any horse either just prior to a race or up to one (1) hour after a race to determine the serum 
total carbon dioxide concentration. If the primary testing laboratory finds that the total carbon dioxide levels in the 
tubes exceed the standard test values of thirty-seven point zero (37.0) millimoles per liter, this may be grounds for 
disciplinary action. (3-29-10)

04. Split Sample Testing Prohibited. When taking samples for total carbon dioxide levels, split 
samples are prohibited. The procedures for split sample testing does not apply to bicarbonate testing procedures.

(3-29-10)

401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. PROTECTION OF HORSES.
The Trainer, groom and any other person having charge, custody or care of a horse is obligated to properly protect the 
horse and guard it against actual or attempted administration of drugs. If the Stewards find that any person has failed 
to properly protect and guard a horse, they may impose such penalty and take such other action as they deem proper.

(3-29-10)

501. ILLEGAL PRACTICES BY TRAINER.

01. Disciplinary Sanctions. A trainer who is found to have committed illegal practices under the 
statutes or rules, or both, that govern live horse racing in Idaho is subject to disciplinary sanctions, which may be 
levied by a fine up to two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), license suspension or license revocation. (        )

02. Disqualification for Non-Permitted Substance. If a horse tests positive for any substance 
(medication, drug, chemical, narcotic, anesthetic, or analgesic) not specifically permitted by these rules by either a 
pre- or post-race laboratory test, that horse is deemed ineligible to have raced in the race and will be disqualified 
retroactively to the start of the affected race. If such disqualification occurs, the horse’s owner(s) shall, within five (5) 
calendar days, return the entire amount of the purse or sweepstakes or trophy that was awarded in the affected race 
and the same will be redistributed. If the affected race is a qualifying race for a subsequent race and if a horse is 
disqualified, the eligibility of other horses that ran in the affected race and that have started in the subsequent race 
before announcement of such disqualification will not in any way be affected. (        )

502. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. NON-APPROVED MEDICATION.

01. Administration by Owner or Trainer. A horse owner or trainer found to have administered any 
non-approved medication substances is in violation of these rules. (        )

02. Clenbuterol. A finding of Clenbuterol is prohibited in blood, urine, saliva, hair, or any other 
acceptable specimen. (        )

601. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. MEDICATION REPORT FORM.

01. Submission of Medication Report Form. All practicing licensed Veterinarians must submit daily 
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to the Commission Veterinarian a Medication Report Form furnished by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

02. Content of Medication Report Form. The form must contain the following information:
(3-29-10)

a. The name, age, sex and breed of the horse; (3-29-10)

b. The permitted drug used; (3-29-10)

c. The time the permitted drug was administered; and (3-29-10)

d. The route and dosage of the administration. (3-29-10)

03. Signed and Dated. The report must be dated and signed by the licensed Veterinarian so 
administering the medication. (3-29-10)

04. Confidential. Any such report is confidential and its content may not be disclosed except in a 
proceeding before the Stewards or the Racing Commission or in the exercise of the Racing Commission's 
jurisdiction. (3-29-10)

701. -- 989. (RESERVED)

990. PENALTIES.
Any person violating any of the provision of these rules is subject to the penalties provided for in Title 54, Chapter 25 
Idaho Code and any of the Racing Commission rules. (3-29-10)

991. -- 994. (RESERVED)

995. VIOLATIONS.
Any person violating any of the provisions of these rules is subject to the penalties provided for in Title 54, Chapter 
25, Idaho Code and any of the Racing Commission rules. (3-29-10)

01. First Violation. The first violation of these rules will result in the issuance of a fine to the horse's 
Trainer and such other penalty deemed appropriate. (3-29-10)

02. Second Violation. The second violation of this chapter by the same Trainer during the same 
calendar year will result in a suspension, a fine and such other penalty deemed appropriate. (3-29-10)

03. Third Violation. A third violation of this chapter will be referred to the Racing Commission for 
appropriate action up to and including revocation of license. (3-29-10)

04. Not Detected. If a Non-Steroidal Anti-inflammatory Drug other than DMSO is  not detected in the 
urine or in any other specimen taken from a horse authorized to use the Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug, a 
fine up to five hundred dollars ($500) may be imposed upon the horse's Trainer without loss of purse. (3-29-10)

05. Detected. If a Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug is detected in the urine or in any other 
specimen taken from a horse not authorized to use the Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug, the violation will 
result in loss of purse and the horse's Trainer is subject to such penalties deemed appropriate. (3-29-10)

996. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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OF LICENSEES AND APPLICANTS
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted pursuant to the legal authority of Title 54, Chapter 25, of the Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are cited as IDAPA 11.04.15, “Rules Governing Controlled Substance and 
Alcohol Testing of Licensees and Applicants,” of the Idaho State Racing Commission. (        )

02. Scope. These rules govern controlled substance and alcohol testing of licensees and applicants by 
the Idaho State Racing Commission. (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
In addition to the definitions in Title 54, Chapter 25, Idaho Code, the following apply: (        )

01. Alcohol. The intoxicating agent in beer, wine, or liquor, as the terms are defined in Title 23, Idaho 
Code, and includes ethyl, methyl, and isopropyl alcohols. (3-29-10)

02. Applicant. Any person who has applied to the Racing Commission for a license. (3-29-10)

03. Controlled Substance. A drug, substance, or immediate precursor listed in schedules I through V 
of Article II of Title 37, Chapter 27, Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

04. Licensee. Any person who has been issued a license by the Racing Commission. (3-29-10)

05. Person. Any individual, association, partnership, firm, joint stock company, joint venture, trust, 
estate, political subdivision, public or private corporation, or any legal entity, which is recognized by law as the 
subject of rights and duties. (3-29-10)

06. Racing Association. Any person licensed by the Racing Commission to conduct live horse races 
and pari-mutuel wagering. (3-29-10)

07. Reasonable Suspicion. Behavior or pattern of behavior indicates that the licensee or applicant is 
under the influence of a controlled substance or alcohol. The basis of the suspicion may be a specific, 
contemporaneous event or conduct that has been observed over a period of time. (        )

08. Suspension. A temporary remedial measure designed to protect the safety and integrity of the horse 
racing industry and the participants therein. (3-29-10)

09. Sample. A urine sample collected for the purpose of drug testing, or a blood, breath, or saliva 
sample collected for the purpose of alcohol testing. (3-29-10)

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. PRIMARY PURPOSE.
In order to protect the integrity of horse racing in the state of Idaho, to protect the health and welfare of licensees and 
applicants engaged in horse racing within the state of Idaho, to prevent exploitation of the public, licensees and 
applicants engaged in horse racing in the state of Idaho, to foster fairness of competition within the racing industry 
and in order to protect public safety within the state of Idaho, the Racing Commission intends to regulate the use of 
any controlled substance and alcohol at all race meets licensed by it. (        )

021. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. USE OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES.
No licensee or applicant may have within their body any unauthorized controlled substance while within the 
enclosure of or on the premises managed by any racing association or the Racing Commission. (        )

051. -- 059. (RESERVED)
Section 000 Page 74  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 11.04.15 – Controlled Substance
Idaho State Police/Racing Commission & Alcohol Testing of Licensees & Applicants
060. CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL.
No jockey, starter, assistant starter, pony person, outrider, or racing official may have present within his body any 
amount of alcohol while participating in any horse race held that day. (3-29-10)

061. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. TESTING.
The Board of Stewards, or the Racing Commission acting through the executive director, may require any licensee or 
applicant to provide blood, urine, or saliva samples for the purpose of drug or alcohol analysis under either of the 
following circumstances: (        )

01. Random Testing. As part of a random testing program. (3-29-10)

02. Reasonable Suspicion. When the Board of Stewards finds that there is reasonable suspicion to 
believe that the proposed testee has used any controlled substance. (3-29-10)

101. -- 119. (RESERVED)

120. POST-ACCIDENT TESTING.
At its discretion the Board of Stewards may conduct post-accident controlled substance or alcohol testing of any 
licensee or applicant who is involved in a racing or job-related accident on the track or on racing association grounds 
that requires treatment away from the scene of the accident. (        )

121. -- 129. (RESERVED)

130. REFUSAL TO TEST.

01. Refusal to Supply a Sample. When any licensee or applicant is requested to submit to a drug test 
in a manner prescribed in these rules, the person must do so in a prompt manner. Refusal to supply such sample will 
result in: (        )

a. The immediate suspension of the licensee or applicant; and (        )

b. A hearing before the Board of Stewards in accordance with IDAPA 11.04.04, “Rules Governing 
Disciplinary Hearings and Appeals,” Section 050. (3-29-10)

02. Suspended from Racing for Refusal to Test. (3-29-10) 

a. If the Board of Stewards finds at the hearing that said refusal to test occurred, the licensee or 
applicant will be suspended from racing for seven (7) calendar days and be subject to random testing for one (1) year.

(        )

b. In the event of a finding of just cause the licensee or applicant must submit to a test immediately 
once the conditions which justly prevented testing abate or can be eliminated. (        )

03. Subject to Random Testing. In the event a licensee or applicant refuses to test when requested 
after previously refusing to test or previously testing positive for drugs, that licensee or applicant will be suspended 
from racing for a period of ninety (90) calendar days and subject to random testing for a period of one (1) year.

(        )

131. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. TESTING PROCEDURE.

01. Accordance with Established Procedures. Testing must be done in accordance with established 
medical and law enforcement procedures in the state of Idaho. (3-29-10)
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02. Retesting. The sample may be retested at the request of the licensee or applicant at either the 
laboratory used by the Racing Commission or a separate laboratory selected from a list provided by the Racing 
Commission. The licensee or applicant is responsible for all costs associated with the retesting of the sample. (        )

151. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. A POSITIVE TEST.
On receiving written notice from the approved laboratory that a sample has been found positive for a controlled 
substance, the Racing Commission will initiate the following procedure: (3-29-10)

01. Notification. The Racing Commission, through the Executive Director, will notify the presiding 
Steward and forward the test results to the Board of Stewards. (3-29-10)

02. Hearing Set. The Board of Stewards will set a hearing in accordance with IDAPA 11.04.04, “Rules 
Governing Disciplinary Hearings and Appeals,” within the next two (2) racing days or seven (7) calendar days, 
whichever is less, after they receive notice of a positive test from the Executive Director. (3-29-10)

03. Written Notice. (3-29-10)

a. Notice of Hearing. Written notice of the hearing must be given to the licensee or applicant as soon 
as the hearing date is set. The hearing may be held within a shorter or longer period of time if the licensee, employee, 
or applicant named and the Board of Stewards agree. (        )

b. Service of Notice. Service must be to the licensee or applicant personally by leaving the notice at 
the person’s residence with someone of reasonable age and discretion residing therein, or by mail to the person’s last 
known address. If by mail, service is deemed completed on the third day after mailing. (        )

04. Opportunity for Explanation. The hearing will conducted before the Board of Stewards pursuant 
to IDAPA 11.04.04, “Rules Governing Disciplinary Hearings and Appeals.” At the hearing, the licensee or applicant 
will be provided an opportunity to present evidence and explain the positive test. (        )

05. Confidentiality. The Board of Steward’s hearing must be closed and the facts therein will be kept 
confidential, unless for use with respect to any subsequent contested hearing or order by the Racing Commission or 
judicial hearing with regard to such facts. Closure of the hearing and confidentiality of the proceedings may be 
waived by the licensee, employee, or applicant. (3-29-10)

06. Lacking Satisfactory Explanation. Lacking a satisfactory explanation and documentation or upon 
the licensee or applicant agreeing with the test results, the Board of Stewards will suspend the licensee or applicant in 
accordance with Section 220 of these rules. (        )

201. -- 219. (RESERVED)

220. PROCEDURES FOLLOWING A POSITIVE CHEMICAL ANALYSIS.

01. First Positive Test. For a licensee’s or applicant’s first positive drug test he will not be allowed to 
participate in racing for seven (7) calendar days and until such time as he has received a substance abuse evaluation 
and has begun the recommended rehabilitation program. Additionally, the licensee or applicant will be subject to 
random testing for a period of one (1) year from the date the positive sample was taken. (        )

02. After Evaluation. After such evaluation, but not before the tolling of the seven (7) calendar days 
awarded in Subsection 220.01 of these rules, if said licensee’s or applicant’s condition proves non-addictive and not 
detrimental to the best interest of racing, said licensee or applicant will be allowed to participate in racing provided he 
can produce a negative test result from a laboratory approved by the Racing Commission and agrees to further testing 
at the discretion of the Stewards or designated Racing Commission representative to ensure his unimpairment.

(        )

03. Second Violation. For a licensee’s or applicant’s second violation, he will be suspended for ninety 
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(90) consecutive days and until he provides the Stewards with documentation that he has enrolled and is progressing 
satisfactorily in a certified drug rehabilitation program approved by the Racing Commission. (        )

04. Third Violation. For a licensee’s or applicant’s third violation, he will be suspended and the case 
referred to the Racing Commission for consideration of revocation of the individual’s license. (        )

221. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. CONFIDENTIALITY OF TEST RESULTS.
All test results are obtained as part of an inquiry into a person’s fitness to be granted or to retain a license and are 
exempt from public disclosure pursuant to Section 9-304C, Idaho Code. A statistical summary will be made available 
annually. (3-29-10)

251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. TESTING EXPENSE.
Except for retesting requested by a licensee or applicant, all testing ordered pursuant to these rules, whether blood, 
urine, or breath, will be at the expense of the Racing Commission. All expense of drug or alcohol evaluation, 
treatment, reports, and fees will be at the expense of the licensee or applicant undergoing such evaluation or 
treatment. (        )

301. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 15 – OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR
IDAHO MILITARY DIVISION

DOCKET NO. 15-0600-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant Section 46-804, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter promulgated as a proposed rule under this docket number under IDAPA 15.06, rules of the Military Division:

IDAPA 15.06
• 15.06.03, Public Safety Communications Systems Installation and Maintenance Fee Rules

Any amendments to the text of the pending rule have been made in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho 
Code. The original text of the proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin 
(Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, pages 1884 –1887. The pending rule differs from the proposed text as the fee 
schedules are removed. The previous text directed that the fee schedules were minimum rates that could be adjusted 
annually based on the Consumer Price Index and/or as contracts are negotiated or renewed. Agency representatives 
sought this change, because the published fee schedule has not been used; rather, the fees have been negotiated to 
meet mission needs.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules. The rule allows fees to be negotiated various fees associated with fleet communication services or 
emergency communication services. Those fees include: Fleet Vehicle Equipment Installation, Time and Materials 
Rate, Microwave Communication Services, Building Space Rental, Radio Communication Equipment Space Rental, 
and Radio Communication Services. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 46-804, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Major Lauren Tschampl at (208) 422-5399.

Dated this 3rd day of October, 2019.

Michael J. Garshak
The Adjutant General
Idaho Military Division
4040 W. Guard, Building 600
Boise, Idaho 83705
(208) 422-5242
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IDAPA 15.06 OMNIBUS PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Section 46-804, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code. 

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 15.06, rules of the Military Division:

IDAPA 15.06.03
• 15.06.03, Public Safety Communications Systems Installation and Maintenance Fee Rules

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. These rules establish fees for the installation and maintenance of public safety 
communications systems for local, state, federal, and tribal agencies, emergency, and first responders. These systems 
give emergency and first responders the ability to respond to normal and emergency situations and carry out normal 
and emergency operations in the protection of life, property, and civil authority.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. These rules establish fees for the installation and maintenance of 
public safety communications systems for local, state, federal, and tribal agencies, emergency, and first responders.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. The rule lists fee schedules for Fleet 
Vehicle Equipment Installation, Time and Materials Rate, Microwave Communication Services, Building Space 
Rental, Radio Communication Equipment Space Rental, and Radio Communication Services.
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FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Major Lauren Tschampl, (208) 42-5399.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 15-0600-1900F
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15.06.03 – PUBLIC SAFETY COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEMS INSTALLATION 
AND MAINTENANCE FEE RULES
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
This chapter is adopted under the authority of Section 46-804, Idaho Code. (3-20-14)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. This chapter is titled IDAPA 15.06.03, “Public Safety Communications Systems Installation 
and Maintenance Fee Rules.” (3-20-14)

02. Scope. These rules establish fees for the installation and maintenance of public safety 
communications systems for local, state, federal, and tribal agencies, emergency, and first responders. (3-20-14)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Public Safety Communications. The ability to transmit voice, video and data sent electronically 
by means of radio, wireless, data, fiber, leased lines circuits, and digital transmission for emergency and first 
responders. (3-20-14)

02. Public Safety Communications Systems. Equipment used in providing interoperable means of 
communications between local, state, federal, and tribal agencies. These systems are designed to give emergency and 
first responders the ability to respond to normal and emergency situations and carry out normal and emergency 
operations in the protection of life, property and civil authority. (3-20-14)

03. Interoperable Communications. The ability of emergency response officials to share information 
via voice and data signals on demand, in real time, when needed, and as authorized, and may include one (1) or more 
forms of wireless communications and microwave systems. (3-20-14)

04. Wireless Communications. Is the ability to transfer information over distance utilizing 
electromagnetic waves through space as the medium to send voice, video, data, and information. Wireless 
communications for interoperability specifically refers to the ability of emergency response officials to share 
information via voice and data signals on demand, in real time, when needed, and as authorized. (3-20-14)

a. Radio Systems. These wireless systems are typically known as Land Mobile Radio. Land Mobile 
Radio Systems are the main wireless communications systems deployed by public safety communications for 
emergency and first responders. (3-20-14)

b. Data Systems. These wireless systems are used to transmit data at rates typically from 1.2 kilobit up 
to approximately 1 megabit. These systems are used to send data and text messaging utilized by emergency and first 
responders. (3-27-13)

c. Video Systems. These wireless systems are used to transmit video and closed circuit television 
(cctv) for use by emergency and first responders. These systems also carry full motion video for broadcast use such as 
Idaho Public Television. (3-27-13)

d. Broadband Systems. These wireless systems are used to transmit voice, video, and data information 
in multiple applications. These systems can either be point-to-point links or point to multi-point systems deployed 
today by emergency and first responders. (3-27-13)

05. Microwave Systems. Equipment or apparatus that utilize electromagnetic wavelengths between 1 
meter down to 1 millimeter with the equivalent operating frequency between 0.3 GHz and 300 GHz to transmit and 
receive information. These transmissions are sent on micro-wave links which is a communications system operating 
between 0.3 GHz – 300 GHz that use electromagnetic waves to send voice, video and data information over distances 
ranging from a few feet to several hundred miles. (3-27-13)

011. FEES.
All fees for or associated with fleet communication services or emergency communication services will be 
determined using the Idaho Military Division standard fee schedule or as negotiated or renewed. (        )

012. -- 999. (RESERVED)
Section 000 Page 81  



IDAPA 15 – OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR
IDAHO STATE LIQUOR DIVISION

DOCKET NO. 15-1000-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 23-206(b), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter under IDAPA 15, Administrative Rules of the Office of the Governor:

IDAPA 15.10
• 15.10.01, Rules of the Idaho State Liquor Division

The text of the pending fee rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those 
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The original text of the 
proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin (Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, pages 
1,888-1,899. The rule making was prompted by the expiration of the rules. The Idaho State Liquor Division has 
considered the Red Tape Reduction Act and the continued efforts to clarify and streamline the rules. Minor 
housekeeping edits are intended to make the rules consistent with any recent statutory changes, clarify and simplify 
existing language, eliminate redundancies, and reduce or eliminate unnecessary or obsolete restrictions.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. IDAPA 15.10.01 Section 022 allows the 
following fees to be charged by the Division:

1. Cost Reimbursement. The Division may seek cost reimbursement, as determined by the Division, 
from Supplier Representatives for mailing, shipping, or other expenses incurred by the Division to distribute 
information or displays to liquor stores at the request of a Supplier Representative.

2. Maximum Fee for Samples. There will be a maximum fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) per case 
charged to Supplier Representatives for Samples.

3. Maximum Fee for Annual Supplier Representative Permit. There will be a maximum fee of 
fifty dollars ($50) charged to Supplier Representatives each January for an annual permit.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Tony Faraca, Chief Deputy Director, at (208) 947-9414.
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GOVERNOR’S OFFICE – STATE LIQUOR DIVISION Docket No. 15-1000-1900F
IDAPA 15.10 OMNIBUS PENDING FEE RULE
Dated this 1st day of October, 2019.

Jeffrey Anderson
Director
Idaho State Liquor Division
Office Hours 8:30AM to 5:00PM
1349 E. Beechcraft Court
Boise, ID 83716
Ph. (208) 947-9400
Fax (208) 947-9401

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is June 
30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Section 23-206(b), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code. 

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 15.10.01, Rules of the Idaho State Liquor Division:

IDAPA 15.10
• 15.10.01, Rules of the Idaho State Liquor Division - with the following modifications:

• 15.10.01.021.03.a. is deleted. This section of the rule contradicts with authority granted the Director in 
Statute and Rule and places impractical burdens on the Division to receive finished product that may be 
intended for out-of-state distribution.

• 15.10.01.021.03.b. is modified to read, “It is a violation of Sections 23-203(a), 23-203(b) and 23-207(d), 
Idaho Code, for any Supplier or other party to ship Liquor into the state of Idaho for purposes not  
authorized by the Director.” Deleted is a portion of this section that reads, “or to any location other than 
the Division’s Warehouse.” This section of rule contradicts with authority granted the Director in  
Statute and Rule and places impractical burdens on the Division to receive unfinished product that is in a 
non-commercially marketable state, and it impedes Idaho industry from receiving raw material and  
converting it to a finished and marketable product. Deleting this section removes confusing language and 
clarifies the Director’s authority over liquor shipments and storage within Idaho.

• 15.10.01.033. is deleted in its entirety. This rule is redundant in that the parameters for rule petitions are 
already addressed in Section 67-5230, Idaho Code.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
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These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. These established and instrumental rules outline the powers and duties of the Director 
of the Idaho State Liquor Division and of the Division, itself. These rules provide nuanced guidelines and establish a 
legal framework for a myriad of operational matters that are not adequately addressed by Idaho Code. They help to 
clarify the powers and duties of the Idaho State Liquor Division that enable the Division to safely and efficiently 
oversee the manufacturing, importation, marketing, distribution, and sale of distilled spirits in Idaho. The fee rules 
specifically allow for the appropriate cost reimbursements and the assessment of permit and sample fees for the 
efficient management and oversight of liquor suppliers and manufacturers that conduct business within Idaho.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. Fee rules outlined here offset costs incurred by the Division to 
adequately administer and exercise oversight of the liquor suppliers who conduct business within Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. IDAPA 15.10.01, Section 022. allows 
the following fees to be charged by the Division:

1. Cost Reimbursement. The Division may seek cost reimbursement, as determined by the Division, 
from Supplier Representatives for mailing, shipping, or other expenses incurred by the Division to distribute 
information or displays to liquor stores at the request of a Supplier Representative.

2. Maximum Fee for Samples. There will be a maximum fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) per case 
charged to Supplier Representatives for Samples.

3. Maximum Fee for Annual Supplier Representative Permit. There will be a maximum fee of 
fifty dollars ($50) charged to Supplier Representatives each January for an annual permit.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Tony Faraca, Chief Deputy Director, at 
(208) 947-9414.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 15-1000-1900F
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15.10.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE LIQUOR DIVISION
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are adopted by the Director of the Idaho State Liquor Division pursuant to Section 23-206(b), Idaho 
Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
This chapter is titled IDAPA 15.10.01, “Rules of the Idaho State Liquor Division,” Office of the Governor. These 
rules provide guidance regarding operational aspects of the Division and support and enforce applicable terms in the 
Idaho Liquor Act, Title 23, Idaho Code. (        )

002. DEFINITIONS.
The following terms, whenever used in these rules, have the meanings ascribed thereto, unless the context in which 
they are used clearly requires otherwise. (3-20-97)

01. Bailment. A system of storing Supplier-owned inventory in state-operated Warehouses. The 
Division holds the Liquor in trust until stock is needed at retail. (3-29-12)

02 Central Office. The main business office and Warehouse of the Idaho State Liquor Division.
(3-20-97)

03. Close Relative. A person related by blood or marriage within the second degree of kinship.
(3-20-97)

04. Delisting. The process of discontinuing any product offered for sale resulting in the product’s 
removal from the Division’s Product Line. The decision to retain or delist a product rests solely with the Director.

(3-29-12)

05. Director. The chief executive officer of the Division. (3-29-12)

06. Division. The Idaho State Liquor Division. (3-20-97)

07. Distressed Liquor. Liquor which is not in its original state of packaging. (3-20-97)

08. Distributing Station. A privately owned business that sells Liquor. It operates under an Agreement 
with the Division pursuant to Title 23, Chapter 3, Idaho Code. Distributing Stations may also be termed Contract 
Stores. (3-29-12)

09. Distillery Distributing Station. A privately owned business that holds a permit issued by the 
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), a manufacturer’s license pursuant to Section 23-507, Idaho 
Code, and sells Liquor to retail customers pursuant to a Special Distributor Agreement with the Division in 
accordance with Title 23, Chapter 3, Idaho Code. Distillery Distributing Stations are “manufacturers of distilled 
spirits” under Section 23-509A, Idaho Code. Distillery Distributing Stations may also be termed Contract Stores for 
purposes of retail sales of Liquor within the state of Idaho. (4-11-15)

10. Liquor. Liquor controlled by the Division has the definition ascribed to it by Section 23-105, Idaho 
Code, excluding certain beers as defined in Section 23-1002, Idaho Code, and certain Wines as defined in Section 23-
1303, Idaho Code. (3-20-97)

11. Licensee. Person authorized to sell beer or Wine by the drink or by the bottle, Liquor by the drink, 
or any combination thereof. (3-20-97)

12. Listing (Listed). Liquor that is carried or approved to be carried in the Division’s Product Line.
(3-20-97)

13. Political Office. A public office for which partisan politics is a basis for nomination, election, or 
appointment. (3-20-97)

14. Price Quotation. Written verification of detailed product information submitted to the Division by 
Suppliers. (3-29-12)

15. Product Line. Items offered for sale by the Division. (3-29-12)
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16. Promotional Samples. Liquor furnished by the liquor industry to local representatives for the 
purpose of promoting the product that are attached to another Liquor product in the liquor store as a value added 
promotion. (3-29-12)

17. Retail Store. Any State Store or Distributing Station. (3-20-97)    

18. Samples. Liquor furnished by the liquor industry to Supplier Representatives for the purpose of 
promoting the product. (3-29-12)

19. Shortage. Any amount of cash or Liquor less than the true balance as maintained by the Central 
Office. Liquor Shortages are based on current retail value. (3-20-97)

20. Special Distributor (Distributor). A private business owner authorized to operate a Distributing 
Station. A Special Distributor is not a state employee. (3-20-97)

21. Special Distributor Agreement (Agreement). The contract signed by a Special Distributor 
acknowledging the conditions and terms for operation of a Distributing Station in accordance with Idaho Code and 
the rules of the Division. (3-20-97)

22. Special Order. Any item not regularly offered as part of the Division’s Product Line. (3-29-12)

23. State Store. A Retail Store that sells Liquor. It is operated by state employees under the direct 
supervision of the Division. (3-20-97)

24. Supplier. Any manufacturer, rectifier, importer, wholesaler or Supplier of Liquor, Wine, or related 
products offered for sale by the Division. (3-29-12)

25. Supplier Representative. An individual, company, or entity authorized to represent a Supplier in 
the state of Idaho. A Supplier Representative may be an individual, a group of individuals operating as a brokerage 
firm or may be a direct employee of the Supplier. (        )

26. Warehouse. The main Division distribution center and satellite distribution points. (        )

27. Wine. Alcoholic beverages defined in Section 23-1303, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)

28. Wine Gallon. The liquid measure equivalent to the volume of two hundred thirty-one (231) cubic 
inches or one hundred twenty-eight (128) ounces. (3-20-97)

003. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. RETAIL STORES.

01. Site Location. Based on the criteria set forth in this section and in accordance with Sections 23-301 
and 23-302, Idaho Code, the Division will select an appropriate Retail Store site to adequately serve the community.

(3-20-97)

02. Site Selection Criteria. The following criteria will be used in selecting a location for a new Retail 
Store. (3-20-97)

a. Public acceptability of location in accordance with Sections 23-301 and 23-302, Idaho Code.
(3-20-97)

b. Location and suitability of premises. (3-20-97)

c. Lease amount may not be the sole determining factor in site selection; final selection will be 
determined at the discretion of the Director. (3-20-97)
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d. Compliance with local zoning. (3-20-97)

03. Customer Refunds and Exchanges. No refunds will be authorized without prior approval of the 
Director or his authorized agent. (        )

a. Liquor may be exchanged for other Liquor of the same price upon approval of the store manager 
and presentation of a valid receipt. (        )

b. Liquor brought in for exchange or refund must have been purchased in Idaho through the Division.
(        )

c. A re-shelving charge may be assessed on returned items in accordance with Section 23-311, Idaho 
Code. (        )

04. Disabled Customers. Appropriate special services, in accordance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, will be provided to disabled customers. (3-20-97)

05. Prices. All prices will be in accordance with the published price list set by the Director in 
accordance with Section 23-207(g), Idaho Code. (3-20-97)

06. Distressed Liquor. Price adjustments can be made on Distressed Liquor with the approval of the 
Director or his authorized agent. (3-20-97)

07. Hours and Days of Operation. Retail Store hours and days of business operation will be set by the 
Director in accordance with Section 23-307, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)

08. Audits. Designated personnel will perform periodic inspections of all Retail Stores. Such 
inspections may be on an unannounced basis and may include physical inventory counts with the assistance of the 
store manager or authorized agent to assess the suitability of inventory levels and product mix and other evaluation 
procedures. (3-20-97)

09. Admission to State Store. Division personnel may refuse entry or take actions as are appropriate to 
cause the removal of a person from a State Store where such person is disrupting performance of the Division’s duties 
or is inconsistent with the Division’s charge to curtail the intemperate use of alcoholic beverages. (        )

011. DISTRIBUTING STATIONS.

01. Term of Agreement. Special Distributor Agreements are valid for a specified period as determined 
at the discretion of the Director. (3-20-97)

02. Transfer of Agreement. A Special Distributor Agreement is a personal privilege and is not 
considered property nor is it assignable or transferable. (3-20-97)

03. Agreement Renewal. If a Distributing Station’s operation exceeds Division expectations, 
agreement renewals may be allowed. (3-20-97)

04. Agreement Evaluations. Periodic evaluation of the agreement, in accordance with the guidelines 
set in Subsection 011.06 of these rules, will be considered to insure reasonable, uniform and non-discriminatory 
criteria and procedures for selection and renewal of special Distributing Stations pursuant to Section 23-302, Idaho 
Code. These criteria are applicable to the replacement of an existing Distributing Station and to the establishment of a 
new Distributing Station. (3-20-97)

05. Acceptance of Applications. Applications for Distributing Stations are accepted only in response 
to public notices. Unsolicited applications may not be held on file pending future openings. (3-20-97)

06. Applicant Selection. The selection of the most qualified applicant for a Distributing Station will be 
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made by the Director in accordance with Section 23-304, Idaho Code. The Director reserves the right to refuse to 
select any and all applicants. Applicant selection will be based on the following criteria: (3-20-97)

a. Public acceptability in accordance with Section 23-302, Idaho Code. (3-20-97)

b. Location and suitability of premises. (3-20-97)

c. An applicant who has been convicted of, or has plead guilty to, a felony or a crime of moral 
turpitude (an element of which is dishonesty or fraud) under the laws of any state, U.S. Territory or protectorate, the 
District of Columbia, or the United States will not be allowed to operate a Distributing Station. (3-20-97)

d. An applicant may not be a Close Relative of, or have a partnership or other close business 
relationship with any person employed by the Division who has the responsibility for establishing, approving, or 
influencing policies of the Division. (3-20-97)

e. An applicant may be a spouse, child, employee, blood relative, relative through marriage, or 
business associate of the retiring or deceased Distributor. (3-20-97)

f. Distributing Stations will not be established in a business that has a license to sell Liquor, Wine or 
beer by the drink. (3-20-97)

g. Where a new Distributing Station is created by the conversion of a State Store, an employee of that 
former state store can be chosen by the Division as the Special Distributor. (3-20-97)

h. If an existing Distributing Station is sold, the purchaser may, at the sole and absolute discretion of 
the Division, continue to operate the Distributing Station under comparable terms and conditions applied to the 
previous Special Distributor. (3-20-97)

07. General Operational Obligations. Special Distributors will: (        )

a. Furnish an adequate building or facility with suitable shelving, display counters and storeroom 
facilities. It must be kept clean and sanitary at all times. (        )

b. Not permit a person under the age of nineteen (19) to perform any acts for the Division. (        )

c. Keep the Distributing Station open for business in accordance with Section 23-307, Idaho Code.
(        )

d. Not hold a partisan state elective political office. He cannot be a Close Relative of, or be in a 
business partnership with a person in a partisan state elective Political Office. (        )

e. Not present his views as being representative of the views of the Division and not attempt to 
politically influence customers in any manner. (        )

f. Make and transmit all reports as required by the Division in the time frame established by the 
Division. (        )

g. Be responsible for and account to the Division for all Liquor furnished by the Division. (        )

h. Only sell Liquor received from the Division. (        )

i. Only sell the Liquor at prices set by the Division in accordance with Section 23-207(h), Idaho 
Code. (        )

j. Not deliver Liquor off premise without explicit authorization of the Director. (        )

08. Days and Hours of Operation. (3-20-97)
Section 011 Page 89  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 15.10.01
Idaho State Liquor Division Rules of the Idaho State Liquor Division
a. Standard store hours will be in accordance with Subsection 010.07 of these rules. (        )

b. The Distributor will not exceed the maximum legal selling hours as set by the Director. (        )

09. Fiduciary Responsibility. Any and all unremitted monies collected in trust for the Division, and 
upon their receipt, are assigned to the Division in accordance with Section 23-401, Idaho Code. (        )

10. Liquor Shortage. The Distributor must pay the monetary value of any Shortage immediately after 
receipt of the request for payment from the Division showing its calculation of the Shortage. (        )

a. If the Distributor disputes Liquor or cash Shortages, he may request a hearing before the Director.
(        )

b. Any payment made by the Distributor for Liquor shortages may be refunded in whole or in part if 
the Distributor's position is upheld by the Director. (        )

11. Compensation. The compensation paid by the Division to the Special Distributor will be full 
payment for the furnishing of all facilities, operating costs and expenses incidental to the operation of the Distributing 
Station, as well as full consideration for all services provided by the Distributor. Such compensation will be 
uniformly applied statewide in accordance with Section 23-305, Idaho Code. (3-20-97)

12. Supplies. The Division will furnish books, forms, and equipment for use by the distributor in 
transacting the business of the Division as required by law or as deemed necessary by the Director. (        )

13. Voluntary Agreement Termination. (3-20-97)

a. The Distributor Agreement may be voluntarily terminated by the Distributor upon written notice by 
certified mail or personal delivery to the Division or its specified representative specifying the date of termination.

(3-20-97)

b. The Distributor will allow reasonable time for the Division to conduct a final inventory audit and to 
remove all Liquor. (3-20-97)

c. The sale of the Distributor’s business to any other party, the forfeiture of the business to a lien 
holder, or the foreclosure upon the business will be considered voluntary Agreement termination. (3-20-97)

14. Automatic Agreement Termination. Upon the death of the Distributor, the Distributor’s estate, 
assisted by the Division, will be responsible for the operation of the Distributing Station until the termination date, as 
established by the Director. (        )

15. Agreement Termination for Cause. The Division may terminate the Special Distributor 
Agreement for cause which includes, but is not limited to, any of the following: (        )

a. A Distributor who at any time becomes insolvent or experiences a substantial change in financial 
condition that, in the judgment of the Director, creates a financial risk to the Division. (        )

b. Significant breach of Distributor’s obligations to manage the Distributing Station properly.
(3-20-97)

c. Intoxication of the Distributor while in discharge of his duties as a representative of the Division.
(3-20-97)

d. Participation of the Distributor in misappropriation of any assets of the Division. (3-20-97)

e. Distributor having been found guilty of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.
(3-20-97)
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f. Conduct detrimental to the good order of the Division as defined in IDAPA 15.04.01, “Rules of the 
Division of Human Resources and Personnel Commission,” regarding classified conduct unbecoming state classified 
employees. Note - this Subsection in no way confers employee status on such Special Distributors, however outlines 
a specifically referenced standard of conduct. (3-20-97)

16. Agreement Termination Procedure. (3-20-97)

a. The Division will notify the distributor in writing, by certified mail or personal delivery, specifying 
the reasons for the proposed termination and its effective date. (        )

b. The Division may notify the Distributor that he is immediately suspended pending final 
determination of the proposed termination. At the time of notification, the Division reserves the right to conduct a 
final audit and remove all Division property pending a final determination. (3-20-97)

c. If the Distributor wishes a hearing on the proposed termination to present information relative to 
the reason given for termination, he will notify the Division in writing within twenty (20) days after receiving the 
notice of the proposed termination. (        )

d. Upon termination of this agreement, the Division will: (        )

i. Remove all property owned by it; and (        )

ii. Cease compensation to the Distributor as of the date of termination. (        )

012. DISTILLERY DISTRIBUTING STATIONS.

01. Sample Tasting. Distillery Distributing Stations may offer sample tastings on the premises of its 
distillery in accordance with Section 23-509A, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)

02. Retail Sales. Distillery Distributing Stations may sell Liquor manufactured on premises of such 
distillery to customers outside the state of Idaho in accordance with Section 23-507, Idaho Code. Distillery 
Distributing Stations may sell Liquor manufactured on the premises that is purchased from the Division to customers 
on the premises of its distillery in accordance with and pursuant to a Special Distributor Agreement with the Division. 
The Special Distributor Agreement will include governing terms and conditions for retail sale of Liquor 
manufactured on the premises within the state of Idaho in accordance with Title 23, Chapter 3, Idaho Code, and 
applicable rules of the Division governing retail sale operations. (4-11-15)

013. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. STORE CONVERSIONS.
The Division reserves the right at any time to convert a State Store to a Distributing Station or to convert a 
Distributing Station to a State Store. However, this right will not be arbitrarily applied and will not be exercised until 
relevant facts presented to the Director have been reviewed and there has been reasonable time during which 
appropriate public notice has been given. (3-20-97)

021. SUPPLIERS.

01. Price Quotations. All Suppliers must submit a Liquor Price Quotation, on forms prescribed by the 
Division, for every item they have Listed with the Division. (        )

02. Warranties. Supplier warranties will conform to the requirements of the Tax and Trade Bureau of 
the U.S. Department of Treasury. (        )

03. Liquor Shipments. Pursuant to Sections 23-203(a), 23-203(b) and 23-207(d), Idaho Code, all 
Liquor transported into the state of Idaho is under the direction of the Division. (3-20-97)
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a. It is a violation of Sections 23-203(a), 23-203(b) and 23-207(d), Idaho Code, for any Supplier or 
other party to ship Liquor into the state of Idaho for purposes not authorized by the Director. (        )

b. The Division reserves the right to select the mode of transportation for all Liquor within the state of 
Idaho. (3-20-97)

04. Title to Liquor, Wines and Related Products. Title to Product Line items delivered to the 
Division passes from the Supplier to the Division when the Division accepts the product, unless Product Line items 
are delivered directly to Bailment status. (3-29-12)

a. The Division reserves the right to conduct quality tests, or to inspect products directly ordered or 
withdrawn from Bailment. (3-29-12)

b. The Division reserves the right at any time to reject any Product Line item if, upon tests and 
inspections, it does not conform to requirements. (3-29-12)

c. In the event the Division rejects any delivery, ownership of products refused will remain with the 
Supplier. It will be the Supplier’s responsibility to remove or relocate any refused products. (3-29-12)

05. Product Returns. Liquor, Wine, or related products may be returned to Suppliers by the Division, 
in full or partial cases, for “ordinary and usual commercial reasons” in accordance with the Tax and Trade Bureau of 
the U.S. Department of Treasury regulations. (        )

a. The Supplier will reimburse the Division the full invoice cost plus an additional amount, fixed by 
the Division, as reimbursement for the Division’s expense in shipping to and from its stores and Warehouse. (        )

06. New Listings. New Listings will be added at the discretion of the Director pursuant to Sections 23-
203 and 23-207, Idaho Code. (        )

07. Delisting. Delistings are at the discretion of the Director pursuant to Sections 23-203 and 23-207, 
Idaho Code. (        )

08. Resident Supplier Representatives. All Suppliers doing business with the Division will have 
resident representation. A resident Supplier Representative cannot have been convicted of any felony. (        )

09. Supplier Representative Permits. Supplier Representatives will obtain a permit from the 
Division, that is renewed annually. (        )

a. Permits will not be issued to any holder of a bartender’s permit, retail licensee, a distributor of 
restaurant or bar supplies, a distributor of beer or Wine, or to a food wholesaler. (3-20-97)

b. Supplier Representatives may represent more than one (1) Supplier without additional permit fees.
(3-29-12)

10. Facility Visitations. Supplier Representatives, or anyone acting in that capacity, will obtain prior 
approval from the Director or his authorized agent to conduct business at any State Store or Distributing Station.

(        )

11. Samples. Samples are limited to ten (10) Wine Gallons per month and the sizes of Samples are that 
which are permitted by federal regulation or statute. (3-20-97)

12. Promotional Samples. Promotional Samples are limited to fifty (50) ml size bottles unless 
specified otherwise by the Director. (3-20-97)

13. Contact With Licensees. No Supplier Representative, or anyone acting in that capacity, will 
deliver any Liquor, Wine, or beer sold by the Division to a Licensee’s place of business, other than Samples that are:

(        )
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a. Limited to sizes permitted by federal regulation or statute. (        )

b. Only those items not carried in that Licensee’s Product Line. (        )

14. Liquor Displays. The Division will regulate all Retail Store Liquor displays. (        )

15. Advertising. Advertising in all Retail Stores will be in accordance with Section 23-607, Idaho 
Code. (        )

16. Violations. Any Supplier Representative, or anyone acting in that capacity, who violates Title 23, 
Idaho Code, or any rule of the Division, may subject the manufacturer’s, wholesaler’s or Distributor’s products to 
removal from the Division’s Product Line or; the Director, at his discretion, may suspend (temporarily or 
permanently) their Supplier Representative permit. (        )

022. SCHEDULE OF FEES.
The following fees may be charged by the Division. (3-20-97)

01. Cost Reimbursement. The Division may seek cost reimbursement, as determined by the Division, 
from Supplier Representatives for mailing, shipping, or other expenses incurred by the Division to distribute 
information or displays to liquor stores at the request of a Supplier Representative. (3-29-12)

02. Maximum Fee for Samples. There will be a maximum fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) per case 
charged to Supplier Representatives for Samples. (3-29-12)

03. Maximum Fee for Annual Supplier Representative Permit. There will be a maximum fee of 
fifty dollars ($50) charged to Supplier Representatives each year for an annual permit. (        )

023. -- 030. (RESERVED)

031. STATE STORES SOLICITATION AND PROMOTIONAL PRESENTATIONS.
No school, church, fraternal, civic, political or charitable organization or individual is allowed to solicit for donations 
or advertise for any purpose within any State Store. (3-20-97)

032. WINES.
Wines may be sold in any State Store or Distributing Station at the discretion of the Director pursuant to Section 23-
1305, Idaho Code. All rules of the Division applicable to Liquor are also applicable to Wines and beer sold by the 
Division. (3-29-12)

033. LIQUOR FUND.
Determination of the final annual amount of cash available for distribution in the liquor account under Section 23-
404, Idaho Code, is the amount of the Division’s annual net income determined in accordance with Generally 
Accepted Accounting Principles, consistently applied. Notwithstanding the above, cash reserves are allowed under 
Section 23-403, Idaho Code. Further, the Director with the concurrence of the State Controller may hold back from 
distribution additional cash reserves needed for prudent operation of the Division. Such final annual amount of 
available cash will be disbursed no later than ninety (90) days following each fiscal year end. (3-20-97)

034. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 24 – BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
24.02.01 – RULES OF THE STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 24-0201-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-406, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter(s) under IDAPA 03.01.01, rules of the State Athletic Commission:

IDAPA 24.02.01
• 24.02.01, Rules of the State Athletic Commission 

(formerly IDAPA 03.01.01, Rules of the State Athletic Commission).

The Idaho Administrative Code expired on June 30, 2019, including IDAPA 24.02.01. In order to protect the 
public health, safety, and welfare a temporary and proposed version of the Rules of the State Athletic Commission 
was published. This pending rule will allow the Legislature to review for codification IDAPA 24.02.01, the Rules of 
the State Athletic Commission. The Commission considered the Licensing Freedom Act of 2017, Executive Order 
No. 2017-06, Licensing Freedom Act of 2019, Executive Order No. 2019-01; and the Red Tape Reduction Act, 
Executive Order No. 2019-02 and the continued efforts to clarify and streamline its rules. This pending rule removes 
redundant language, moves fees into an easier to read tabular format, and adds the phrase “not to exceed” before fee 
amounts, which allows for flexibility in decreasing and increasing commission fees within authorized limits to 
maintain commission liquidity.

Any amendments to the text of the pending rule have been made in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho 
Code. The original text of the proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin 
(Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, pages 4559 - 4602.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. Fees are established in accordance with 
Sections 54-406, 54-410, and 54-416, Idaho Code, as follows: 

Application fee for a combatant: not to exceed $150; 
Application fee for a non-combatant: not to exceed $150; 
Application fee for a matchmaker: not to exceed $250; 
Application fee for a promoter: not to exceed $1,000; 
Application fee for a sanction permit: not to exceed $200; 
Application fee for a ring official: not to exceed $150; 
Annual renewal fee for a combatant: not to exceed $150; 
Annual renewal fee for a non-combatant: not to exceed $150; 
Annual renewal fee for a matchmaker: not to exceed $250; 
Annual renewal fee for a promoter: not to exceed $750; 
Annual renewal for a ring official: not to exceed $150.
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FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Rob McQuade (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 16th day of October, 2019.

Kelley Packer
Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Section 54-406, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 03.01.01, re-designated as IDAPA 24.02.01, Rules of the State Athletic 
Commission:

IDAPA 24
• 24.02.01, Rules of the State Athletic Commission — All rules except Sections/Subsections 010.01, 010.04, 

010.05, 010.09, 010.10, 107.03.d., 107.03.f., 112, 150, 305, 315, 316, 412, 414, 701.02, 702.01, 707.02, 
707.03, and 906.

This chapter was formerly designated at IDAPA 03.01.01. It has been moved under the administration of the 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses and is hereby re-designated IDAPA 24.02.01.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. These rules establish and govern the standards and practices of the Idaho Athletic 
Commission, which oversees boxing, mixed martial arts, and wrestling contests. Allowing these rules to expire would 
deny the Commission the ability to sanction permits and admit licensees; and elimination of the standards that protect 
combatants in sanctioned contests would harm the health, safety, and welfare of combatants.

The fees or charges imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges 
reauthorized in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and 
reviewed and approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state 
budget, which makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the 
Legislature and passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s 
obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger 
to the state budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and the immediate danger of a 
violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. Absent the ability to impose the fees 
outlined in this chapter, the Commission would not be able to remain self-sufficient, contrary to its statutory mandate.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. Fees are established in accordance with 
Sections 54-406, 54-410, and 54-416, Idaho Code, as follows: application fee for a combatant: $150; application fee 
for a non-combatant: $150; application fee for a matchmaker: $250; application fee for a promoter: $1,000; 
application fee for a sanction permit: $200; application fee for a ring official: $150; annual renewal fee for a 
combatant: $150; annual renewal fee for a non-combatant: $150; annual renewal fee for a matchmaker: $250; annual 
renewal fee for a promoter: $750; and annual renewal for a ring official: $150.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
General Fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state General Fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the Legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.
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Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 24-0201-1900F
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24.02.01 – RULES OF THE STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Rulemaking authority is vested in the Athletic Commission in Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho Code. (3-3-94)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are to be known and cited at IDAPA 24.02.01, “Rules of the State Athletic Commission.” These rules are 
intended to provide clarification on the methods and restrictions of unarmed combat in Idaho. (3-3-94)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Champion. A person who has been formally acknowledged supreme in a branch of athletics or 
game of skill and who is ready to contend with any qualified challenger. (3-3-94)

02. Combatant. Any boxer, kickboxer, martial artist, or wrestler who takes part as a competitor in an 
event. A “combatant” sometimes is referred to as a “contestant” in these rules. (4-7-11)

03. Event. A program of one (1) or more unarmed combat contests or exhibitions. (3-29-10)

a. An “amateur event” is an event in which the only combatants are amateur combatants. (3-29-10)

b. A “professional event” is an event in which the only combatants are professional combatants.
(3-29-10)

c. A “pro-am” is an event in which combatants include professional combatants and amateur 
combatants. Professional combatants may not compete against amateur combatants in “pro-am” events. (3-29-10)

04. Main Event. The headline or marquee contest or exhibition scheduled to occur at an event.
(3-29-10)

05. Mixed Martial Arts (MMA). A full contact sport that allows a wide variety of unarmed combat 
techniques from a mixture of martial arts traditions to be used in competitions. (5-8-09)

06. Stub. That part of the ticket retained by a person entering the arena in which an event is held after 
the ticket has been collected. (3-26-08)

07. Ticket. That document issued by the promoter allowing a person’s entrance and attendance at an 
event and may include that part of the ticket retained by the promoter documenting a person’s entrance to an event.

(3-26-08)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. LICENSING.

01. Application for License. Applicants will submit a complete, Commission-approved, application 
verified under oath, including the fee and any necessary supporting documentation to the Bureau for each of the 
following licenses: (        )

a. Combatant; (3-29-10)

b. Promoter; (3-3-94)

c. Matchmaker; (3-3-94)

d. Manager; (3-3-94)

e. Second, including a trainer; (3-29-10)

f. Ring Official; or (3-29-10)
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g. Sanctioning permit for an event. (3-29-10)

101. AGE AND PHYSICAL CONDITION.

01. Age of Combatant. The Commission will review all complete applications for a combatant license 
so that the applicant’s experience and fitness may be considered before a license is issued, if the applicant has:

(        )

a. Not reached eighteen (18) years of age; or (3-3-94)

b. Reached thirty-six (36) years of age. (3-3-94)

02. Poor Vision. The Commission will not issue a license to engage in unarmed combat to any 
applicant who is found to be blind in one (1) eye or whose vision in one (1) eye is so poor that a physician 
recommends that no license be granted. Exceptions will not be made due to exemplary vision in the good eye.

(3-26-08)

03. Cerebral Hemorrhage. The Commission will not issue a license to engage in unarmed combat to 
any person who has suffered a cerebral hemorrhage. (3-26-08)

04. Serious Head Injuries. The Commission will review the application of any person who has 
suffered a serious head injury before a license is issued to that person. (3-3-94)

102. ABILITY OF COMBATANT.

01. Satisfy Commission. Before a combatant license is issued by the Commission to any person, the 
Commission must be satisfied of the person’s ability to compete. (3-26-08)

02. Questioned Ability. If a combatant’s ability to perform is questioned for any reason, the 
Commission may hold a hearing to determine: (3-26-08)

a. Whether the person’s license should be revoked; or (3-26-08)

b. Whether he should be granted a license. (3-26-08)

103. PHYSICAL EXAMINATION OF COMBATANT.

01. Examination by Physician. Any combatant who has applied for a license or a renewal of his 
license must be examined by a physician. The physician will establish the combatant’s physical and mental fitness for 
competition. (5-8-09)

02. Additional Examination. Any combatant licensed by the Commission who participates in a 
contest outside of the state of Idaho may need to take this examination again before being allowed to compete in 
Idaho. (        )

03. Drug Abuse. The Commission will not issue a license to an athlete who has a recent history of 
drug abuse, without proof of participation in a recognized drug rehabilitation program and/or submission to 
urinalysis. (3-3-94)

04. Blood Testing. The Commission will not issue a license to an athlete, or allow an athlete to 
compete in an event, if the athlete, within the six (6) months immediately preceding the application for licensure or 
the event at which the licensee wishes to compete, has tested positive for the HIV virus, Hepatitis B Surface Antigen 
and Hepatitis C Antibody, or illegal drugs or other substances. Accordingly, upon application for a license, the athlete 
will submit with the application a blood test report from a blood test conducted within the six (6) months preceding 
the application date. The blood test must have tested the athlete for HIV virus, Hepatitis B Surface Antigent, Hepatitis 
C Antibody, and illegal drugs and substances. Additionally, each combatant who is to compete in an event will, at the 
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start of the event, provide the Commission with a blood test report from a blood test conducted within the six (6) 
months immediately preceding the event. Additional blood tests may be requested by the Commission in its 
discretion. (        )

104. FEES.

(        )

105. HONORING ACTIONS OF REGULATORY AGENCIES IN OTHER JURISDICTIONS.
The Commission may honor the following actions of agencies in other jurisdictions which regulate boxing, wrestling, 
martial arts, or combination thereof: (5-8-09)

01. Suspension. A suspension of a combatant ordered for: (3-26-08)

a. Medical safety; (3-3-94)

b. A violation of a law or rule governing boxing, wrestling, martial arts, or combination thereof which 
also exists in this state; or (5-8-09)

c. Any other conduct which discredits boxing, wrestling, martial arts, or combination thereof as 
determined by the Commission. (5-8-09)

106. TIME BETWEEN CONTESTS.
In no case may a combatant (excluding wrestlers) participate in more than one (1) contest or exhibition in any twenty-
four (24) hour period. Without the special permission of the Commission, a combatant may not compete in this state 
unless: (5-8-09)

01. Four Days. Four (4) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest lasted not 
more than four (4) rounds. (3-26-08)

02. Seven Days. Seven (7) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest lasted 
five (5) or six (6) rounds. (3-26-08)

03. Fourteen Days. Fourteen (14) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest 
lasted seven (7) or eight (8) rounds. (3-26-08)

04. Twenty-One Days. Twenty-one (21) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the 
contest lasted nine (9) or ten (10) rounds. (3-26-08)

05. Forty-Five Days. Forty-five (45) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest 
lasted eleven (11) or twelve (12) rounds. (3-26-08)

107. FEMALE COMBATANTS.

01. Qualifications. Only female combatants qualified to perform as a combatant may enter a contest.
(        )

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Combatant $150.00 $150.00
Non-combatant $150.00 $150.00
Matchmaker $250.00 $250.00
Promoter $1,000.00 $750.00
Sanction permit $200.00 $250.00
Ring official $150.00 $150.00
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02. Limitation. A female combatant will not engage in a contest with a male combatant. (5-8-09)

03. General Requirements. In addition to meeting such requirements of this chapter as are applicable 
to combatants generally, a female applicant will: (        )

a. Submit to pregnancy test within fourteen (14) days of the contest. (5-8-09)

b. Use a mouthpiece specially designed for her mouth; (3-3-94)

c. Wear ten (10) ounce gloves in a boxing contest; and (3-26-08)

d. Have her hair secured in a manner that does not interfere with the vision or safety of either 
combatant; (3-26-08)

04. Addendum Requirement. A female combatant will, in addition to signing the contract, sign an 
addendum certifying that the combatant is not pregnant and that the contest will not take place during a menstrual 
period. (5-8-09)

05. Limitation on Contest. A contest between female combatants is limited to ten (10) rounds of two 
(2) minutes duration. (3-26-08)

06. Separate Dressing Rooms. The promoters of a contest between female combatants will provide 
them with adequate separate dressing rooms. (5-8-09)

108. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE AS A PROMOTER.

01. Requirements. Any person applying for a license as a promoter may need to appear before the 
Commission and be prepared to prove his: (3-3-94)

a. Integrity; (3-3-94)

b. Financial stability; and (3-3-94)

c. Knowledge of the responsibilities involved in the promotion of relevant combative programs.
(3-26-08)

02. Provide Waivers. The applicant, or Commission approved designee, will provide all waivers 
necessary to the conduct of the Commission’s investigation of the applicant’s suitability. (        )

109. AMATEUR ATHLETIC SANCTIONING ORGANIZATIONS.
The Commission may approve an entity as an officially recognized amateur athletic sanctioning organization that 
may sanction amateur events. The Commission is the final authority on whether an entity may be an amateur athletic 
sanctioning organization. (4-7-11)

01. Application for Approval. In order to be considered for approval as an officially recognized, 
amateur athletic sanctioning organization under Section 54-406(3)(b)(iii), Idaho Code, an entity will: (4-7-11)

a. Meet the Criteria for Eligibility set forth in Subsection 109.02 of these rules; (3-29-10)

b. Submit to the Bureau a completed application form, supplied by the Commission, on which the 
person signing the application verifies under oath that he is an officer or other person authorized to sign on behalf of 
the entity, that the information on the application and submitted with the application is true and correct, and that the 
entity meets the Criteria for Eligibility set forth in Subsection 109.02 of these rules; (3-29-10)

c. Pay the appropriate fees, which are: (4-7-11)
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i. Initial application processing fee: Two hundred fifty dollars ($250); and (4-7-11)

ii. Initial approval fee: Five hundred dollars ($500). (4-7-11)

d. Provide the Bureau with such documentation as the Bureau may request in the course of reviewing 
the application, and including, without limitation, a list of the entity’s officers and persons claiming an ownership 
interest in the entity, any requested bylaws, constitution, medical forms, contracts, rules, policies, and procedures 
used by the entity; and (3-29-10)

e. If requested, appear before the Commission to answer, to the Commission’s satisfaction, any 
questions the Commission may have about the entity or the application, including, without limitation, any questions 
regarding whether the entity meets the Criteria for Eligibility set forth in Subsection 109.02 of these rules; (3-29-10)

02. Criteria for Eligibility. An entity is eligible for approval as an amateur athletic sanctioning 
organization if it demonstrates, to the Commission’s satisfaction, that it meets the Commission's eligibility criteria. 
An approved entity’s failure to consistently meet these criteria may result in Commission action to suspend or revoke 
the entity’s approved status. The eligibility criteria to be met are: (        )

a. The entity is incorporated or otherwise legally recognized under the law of its domicile; (3-29-10)

b. The entity, if not incorporated or otherwise domiciled in Idaho, is authorized to transact business in 
Idaho; (3-29-10)

c. The entity and its predecessor entity, if any, have never had an application for approval as an 
amateur sanctioning authority, organization, or similar body denied or disapproved, or an approval as an amateur 
sanctioning authority, organization, or similar body suspended, revoked, or restricted in any way, by any state, 
territory, country, or subdivision thereof. (3-29-10)

d. No officer or person having an ownership interest in the entity has had a license, of the types issued 
by the Commission, suspended, revoked, or disciplined in any way by any state, territory, country, or subdivision 
thereof. (3-29-10)

e. All sanctioned events will be conducted in accordance with the sanctioning bodies’ rules as 
approved by the Commission. The entity must adopt and consistently enforce rules that: (3-29-10)

i. Ensure that contests and exhibitions do not unreasonably endanger the health of combatants or 
other participants; (3-29-10)

ii. Provide for the medical safety and care of participants in events; (3-29-10)

iii. Exclude the medically unfit from the contests and exhibitions; (3-29-10)

iv. Require the presence of an ambulance and EMT’s on site at all times, and the attendance of an 
Idaho-licensed medical doctor or osteopathic physician at ringside. (3-29-10)

v. Require the event promoter to obtain health insurance sufficient to cover the medical, surgical, and 
hospital care of all event participants, other than the promoter, for injuries sustained while participating in the event. 
The insurance obtained must meet the requirements specified in Section 299 of these rules. (4-7-11)

vi. Require drug testing and blood testing consistent with the Commission’s rules for events regulated 
by the Commission. The entity will submit the results of such testing to the Commission within forty-eight (48) hours 
after the event sanctioned by the entity ends. (3-29-10)

vii. Restrict the types of blows that can be delivered; (3-29-10)

viii. Exclude professional combatants from its contests and exhibitions, and not allow combatants to 
receive any type of purse payment or compensation except as approved by the Commission; (        )
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ix. Limit the time and frequency of contests and exhibitions, including, without limitation, the times 
specified in Section 54-407, Idaho Code; (3-29-10)

x. Require that the entity oversee weigh-ins, the hand wrapping, the glove placement after inspecting 
the gloves as required by the entity’s rules as approved by the Commission; (3-29-10)

xi. Require that the entity inspect and approve the contest area before the contest starts; (3-29-10)

xii. Require prompt investigation and resolution of complaints for participants, interested persons, and 
the Commission; (3-29-10)

xiii. Have a system of review to ensure the entity fairly applies its rules, policies, and procedures;
(3-29-10)

xiv. Require the identification of the entity on all advertisements, programs, or handbills issued, used, 
or distributed in Idaho; (3-29-10)

xv. Require cooperation with the Commission, including without limitation, at least thirty (30) days 
advance notification to the Commission of sanctioned events to occur in Idaho, and admission of Commission 
representatives and agents without charge to any sanctioned event, and to any portion of the event. (3-29-10)

xvi. Require that event participants, and the entity, report to the Commission any violations of the 
entity’s rules arising out of a sanctioned event; (3-29-10)

xvii. Require all participants, officials, and the entity to appear at reasonable times before the 
Commission and truthfully answer any lawful inquiry of the Commission; (3-29-10)

xviii. Ensure that all ring officials, including, without limitation, all timekeepers, judges, referees, and 
glovers, and all promoters who ask an entity to sanction an event, are licensed by the Commission; (3-29-10)

xix. Set an appropriate fee schedule for ring officials. (3-29-10)

xx. Require the event promoter to obtain a bond or other form of financial security, payable to the State 
of Idaho, and otherwise consistent with Section 300 of these rules. (4-7-11)

xxi. Require the event promoter to obtain liability insurance for the event, which insurance must 
adequately cover the promoter, venue, entity, and the Commission. (3-29-10)

xxii. Otherwise require sufficient health and safety standards before, during and after contests and 
exhibitions to ensure the health, safety, and well-being of any participating amateur combatants. The entity’s health 
and safety standards must be no less stringent than the Commission’s health and safety standards for contests and 
exhibitions for which the Commission may issue a sanctioning permit under Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho Code. 
Sections 731 through 799 of these rules establish the minimum safety requirements for MMA events in Idaho. The 
entity’s health and safety standards for sanctioned MMA events must, at a minimum, comport with the Section 731 
through 799 requirements. (3-29-10)

f. For each event to be sanctioned by the entity, the entity will ensure that true and correct copies of 
the following documents are presented to the Bureau at least thirty (30) days before the event: (3-29-10)

i. The event promoter’s bond or other form of financial security as referenced in Subparagraph 
109.02.e.xx. of these rules. (3-29-10)

ii. The health insurance certificate for health insurance obtained by the promoter as referenced in 
Subparagraph 109.02.e.v. The deductible amount, claims submission instructions, and insurer contact information 
must also be provided. (3-29-10)
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iii. The liability insurance certificate for liability insurance obtained by the promoter as referenced in 
Subparagraph 109.02.e.xxii. of these rules. (3-29-10)

g. The entity does not sanction events where: (3-29-10)

i. Financial ties exist between the promoter and the entity, including, without limitation, when anyone 
serves as an officer, principal, or manager in both the entity and promotion company, or have an ownership interest in 
both the entity and the promotion company: (3-29-10)

ii. Any ring official, employee, or agent that works for both the promoter and the entity. (3-29-10)

iii. The entity or any of its officers, principals, managers, owners, or employees manages or trains any 
of the combatants. (3-29-10)

03. Violations. The Commission may suspend or revoke its approval of an amateur athletic sanctioning 
organization if the approved entity or its officers, owners, or agents engage in any conduct that violates or is 
inconsistent with any of the requirements of this Section or reflects serious discredit on the sport of boxing, or uses 
dishonest methods to affect the outcome of any contest. (4-7-11)

04. Annual Review of Approval. An entity’s approval to be an amateur athletic sanctioning 
organization automatically expires one (1) year after issuance. If the entity wishes to remain as an approved amateur 
sanctioning organization, the entity will submit a timely and complete review application on forms approved by the 
Commission, along with the appropriate fees. To be timely, a review application and any supporting documentation 
must be received by the at least thirty (30) days before the automatic expiration date. After receiving a timely review 
application, the Commission will evaluate the application using the process and criteria set forth in Subsections 
109.01 and 109.02. If the Commission is satisfied that the applicant has satisfied all requirements, then the 
Commission will renew the applicant’s approval for another year term. The fees to be paid are: (4-7-11)

a. Annual application processing fee: Two hundred fifty dollars ($250); and (4-7-11)

b. Annual approval fee: Five hundred dollars ($500). (4-7-11)

110. MANAGER ACTING AS SECOND.
A manager licensed by the Commission may act as a second without having a second’s license. (3-3-94)

111. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE AS RING OFFICIAL.

01. Qualifications. To qualify for a license as a ring official of contests, an applicant will: (5-8-09)

a. Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. The Commission may, for good cause shown, lower the 
minimum age limit for a particular applicant to eighteen (18) years of age; (3-29-10)

b. Have no record of conviction of a felony or other crime involving moral turpitude unless approved 
by the commission; (3-26-08)

c. Have had at least one (1) year experience in either amateur or professional contest as a ring official;
(5-8-09)

d. Submit verifications from three (3) persons of his proficiency as a ring official; and (5-8-09)

e. Provide proof that the applicant meets the other requirements of the commission law and rules.
(3-26-08)

02. Equivalent Qualifications. In lieu of the above qualifications, the Commission may accept 
satisfactory evidence of equivalent qualifications possessed by an applicant who: (5-8-09)

a. Is currently licensed in another state or country; or (3-3-94)
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b. Formerly held an Idaho license which lapsed in good standing. (3-26-08)

03. Other Functions. A person holding a current Idaho license or who formerly held an Idaho license 
which lapsed in good standing may be licensed by the Commission without examination or internship to perform an 
officiating function other than that for which he is or was licensed if the Commission determines that he is qualified 
to perform that function. (3-3-94)

04. Ring Officials Determination. The Commission will determine when additional ring officials are 
needed and when licensing examinations for ring officials will be conducted. (3-3-94)

05. Validity of Licenses. Each license issued by the commission is annually renewable in accordance 
with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. The renewal of a license is not automatic. The applicant’s past performance and 
abilities may be considered in evaluating an application for renewal. (5-8-09)

112. (RESERVED)

113. APPLICANTS, LICENSEES, AND OFFICIALS.
The Commission may direct any ring official, any person licensed by the Commission and any applicant for a license 
to submit to the Commission any forms, records, and statements at the times and manner as directed. (        )

114. GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE.
The Commission may deny an application or suspend or revoke a license or take such other disciplinary action 
deemed appropriate if it finds that the applicant or licensee or any partner, officer, director, stockholder, or employee 
of the applicant or licensee has: (3-26-08)

01. Subject to Discipline. Performed any act which constitutes a violation of the laws or rules of the 
commission. (3-26-08)

02. Specific Conduct. (3-26-08)

a. Has been convicted of a felony; (3-3-94)

b. Engages in illegal bookmaking; (3-3-94)

c. Engages in any illegal gambling activity; (3-3-94)

d. Engages in any fraud or misrepresentation in the application process; (3-26-08)

e. Has a recent history of drug abuse or fails a drug test or refuses to submit to a drug test; (3-26-08)

f. Is under suspension from any other commission; or (3-3-94)

g. Is engaged in any activity or practice which is detrimental to the best interests of a contest regulated 
by the commission. (3-26-08)

115. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. CONTRACT BETWEEN MANAGER AND COMBATANT.

01. Contractual Obligations. The Commission may refuse to honor a contract between a manager and 
combatant unless it complies with the requirements Section 200 of this rule. A contract between a manager and a 
combatant will be for a term of not more than four (4) years. Such a contract may contain an option which permits the 
manager, at the expiration of the initial term, to renew the contract for an additional period of not more than two (2) 
years. (3-26-08)

02. After Contract Services. A manager may not contract to receive the services of a combatant under 
Section 113 Page 105  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.02.01
Bureau of Occupational Licenses Rules of the State Athletic Commission
his management for a match which is scheduled to take place after the expiration of the contract. (3-26-08)

03. Options. A contract between a combatant and a manager may provide for voluntary binding 
arbitration of disputes by the Commission. If so agreed, the arbitration will be conducted by a member of the 
Commission mutually agreed upon by the two (2) parties or, if there is no agreement, by a member of the 
Commission appointed by the chairman. The arbitration will be conducted pursuant to generally accepted arbitration 
standards. (3-26-08)

04. Contract Approval. The Commission may approve a contract entered into in another jurisdiction 
by a person who is not a resident of Idaho if the terms of the contract comply with the requirements of this section. If 
the terms of the contract exceed the limitations contained in this section, the Commission may honor the contract to 
the extent of those limitations. (3-26-08)

05. Manager Limitations. A manager may not negotiate or sign for matches for a combatant who is 
not under contract to him. Any combatant who does not have a contract with a licensed manager must sign for his 
own contest and sign the receipt for his own purse. A manager or managers may not participate separately or 
collectively in more than thirty-three and one-third percent (33 1/3%) of the combatant’s earnings in the ring.

(3-26-08)

06. Manager Responsibilities. If a manager signs only for a combatant’s appearance at a contest, a 
copy of the manager’s authorization to negotiate and sign for the combatant must accompany the contract which he 
concluded with the promoter. If the manager does not send a copy of his authorization, the Commission may deny any 
application received from the combatant or manager pending a hearing before the Commission. (3-26-08)

201. MANAGER'S ADVANCES -- ACCOUNTING.
Any manager who advances or lends any money to any combatant or incurs indebtedness on behalf of a combatant 
will furnish an accounting in writing to the combatant every ninety (90) days. The accounting will be verified by the 
manager and set forth each item of indebtedness owed by the combatant, the date that the indebtedness occurred, the 
purpose of the indebtedness, and the name of the person to whom the debt is owed. (3-26-08)

202. CONTRACT BETWEEN PROMOTER AND COMBATANT.

01. Gate Receipts. A promoter may not deduct any amount from the gate receipts, other than for any 
federal taxes and the fees prescribed herein until all combatants who are to be paid a percentage of the receipts have 
been paid, unless the amount to be paid to the combatant is specified in the contract. (3-26-08)

02. Contract Prohibitions. (3-3-94)

a. A contract which provides that a combatant fight exclusively for or at the option of one (1) 
promoter is prohibited. (3-26-08)

b. A contract which provides that a combatant is to pay for the services of an opponent is prohibited.
(3-26-08)

203. FILING CERTAIN CONTRACTS WITH COMMISSION.

01. Main and Semi-Main Events. A contract between a promoter and a combatant for the main and 
semi-main events of a program will be filed with the Commission at least seven (7) working days before the event 
unless the Commission gives special approval for filing the contract closer to the time of weighing in. (        )

02. Other Combatants. Contracts for all combatants who will be contending in the program will be 
filed before the scheduled time for weighing in. (        )

03. Disciplinary Action. A promoter or matchmaker who fails to file a contract for any participant 
whose name is released to the news media is subject to disciplinary action. (3-3-94)

04. Media Contracts. Any contract by the promoter for the sale, lease or other use of rights to 
broadcast, televise including a right to make a closed-circuit telecast, or take motion pictures of a contest will be filed 
Section 201 Page 106  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.02.01
Bureau of Occupational Licenses Rules of the State Athletic Commission
with the Commission at least five (5) working days before the event unless the promoter obtains special approval 
from the Commission for filing the contract at a time closer to the event. (        )

204. PERCENTAGE OF GATE RECEIPTS TO COMBATANT.
Each combatant working on a percentage basis, will be paid on the basis of the net receipts of each exhibition after 
state and federal taxes, ring expenses and the price of complimentary tickets upon which a price is specified, have 
been deducted. (3-26-08)

205. PROMOTER'S ADVANCES TO COMBATANT OR MANAGER OR OCCURRENCE OF DEBT 
ON HIS BEHALF.

01. Restrictions. A promoter licensed by the Commission will not directly or indirectly make any loan 
or advance to any combatant or manager except as provided in this rule. (3-26-08)

02. Any Indebtedness Restricted. A promoter will not, directly or indirectly, create any indebtedness 
which becomes the obligation of a combatant or manager unless the promoter has the express written permission of 
the Commission for that action. (3-26-08)

206. FAILURE OF COMBATANT TO APPEAR.
Any combatant who fails to appear in an event in which the combatant signed a contract to appear, without a written 
excuse determined to be valid by the Commission or a certificate from a physician designated by the Commission in 
advance in case of physical disability is subject to disciplinary action. Any combatant who files a certificate from a 
physician designated by the Commission stating that he is unable to fulfill a contract because of physical disability 
shall, on being restored to the eligible list, fulfill his contract with the same opponent or a suitable substitute specified 
in the contract within a reasonable time, that period to be set by the Commission, unless the combatant is released 
from the contract by mutual agreement. (3-26-08)

207. PAYMENT OF COMBATANT.

01. Payment in Full. Every combatant will be paid in full according to the combatant’s contract, and 
no part of the combatant’s remuneration may be withheld except by order of the Commission, nor may any part of the 
combatant’s remuneration be returned through arrangement with the combatant’s manager to any matchmaker or 
promoter, except as otherwise provided in this section. (3-26-08)

02. Prior Written Commitments. With the prior written permission of a member of the Commission, 
a promoter may withhold from the purse of a combatant money advanced to the combatant for transportation and 
maintenance in preparation for a contest, if their agreement so provides. (3-26-08)

03. Manager's Share. A manager’s share of the purse may be deducted and paid directly to the 
manager if the contract so specifies. (3-3-94)

04. Pending Action. If arbitration of a contract entered into by a manager and combatant is pending 
before the Commission or if the contract is in litigation in a court of competent jurisdiction, the Commission may:

(3-26-08)

a. Withhold the amount in dispute in the Commission’s trust fund until resolution of the dispute; or
(3-3-94)

b. Pay the disputed amount to the clerk of the court in which the litigation is pending. (3-3-94)

05. Prior Approval of Commission. Neither a combatant nor his manager may assign his share of the 
purse, or any portion thereof, without the approval of the Commission. If a combatant or manager wants to assign his 
share of the purse, he must file a written request with the Commission at least seven (7) working days before the 
contest. (3-26-08)

208. PAYMENT OF PURSE.
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01. Payment Made. All payment of purses will be made: (3-3-94)

a. Immediately after the contest or exhibition; or (3-3-94)

b. If the combatant is to receive a percentage of the net receipts, immediately after that percentage is 
determined by a person designated by the Commission, unless otherwise ordered by the Commission. (3-26-08)

02. Signatures. Immediately after the contest or exhibition, the person designated by the Commission 
will release the checks or cash to the entitled persons and will obtain their signatures on a list in which they 
acknowledge the payment. (3-3-94)

03. Reconciliation. The promoter may withhold an amount of not more than ten percent (10%) of the 
purse for payment of expenses incurred by the combatant. A reconciliation of those expenses and payment of the 
undistributed portion of the purse will be made to the Commission on the Commission’s form within seven (7) 
working days after the contest. The reconciliation must bear written approval of the combatant before it is submitted. 
If good cause is shown, the chairman of the Commission may grant an extension of the date for reconciliation for a 
period not to exceed thirty (30) days after the contest. (3-26-08)

04. Alternative Payment. The Commission may permit a form of payment other than those specified 
in this section. A promoter who wishes to pay the purse by an alternative method of payment will: (3-3-94)

a. Submit a written request to the Commission at least thirty (30) days before the contest. (3-26-08)

b. Describe in detail the alternative method of payment contemplated. (3-3-94)

c. Show good cause for a waiver of the provisions as outlined in Section 208 of this rule. (3-26-08)

d. Comply with all requirements of the Commission regarding the production of relevant information.
(3-3-94)

e. Follow precisely the procedural directives of the Commission if the request is granted. (3-3-94)

05. Non-Payment of Amateurs. Consistent with Section 54-402, Idaho Code, a promoter may not 
compensate any amateur for participating in or being associated in any way with the promoter’s event. This ban 
absolutely bars a promoter from paying an amateur to sell tickets or merchandise or provide services related to an 
event. (4-7-11)

209. RETAINING PORTION OF PURSE PENDING DETERMINATION OF WHETHER PENALTY 
WILL BE CHARGED.
At any time before the award of a purse to a contestant, a Commissioner may specify any amount not to exceed 
twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) to be retained from the contestant’s purse and transferred from the promoter 
to the Commission. The money will not be given to the contestant until the Commission determines that no penalty in 
lieu of revoking the contestant’s license will be charged for any action or condition of the contestant. Any amount so 
specified is not a limitation upon the amount of a penalty which may be charged. (3-3-94)

210. -- 298. (RESERVED)

299. HEALTH INSURANCE.
An event promoter will obtain health insurance sufficient to cover the medical, surgical, and hospital care of all event 
participants, other than the promoter, for injuries sustained while participating in the event. The insurance shall 
provide primary coverage for each such participant, and the minimum amount coverage per participant will be ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000). The participant may not be required to pay a deductible associated with care provided 
under this insurance. If a participant pays for the medical, surgical or hospital care, the insurance proceeds must be 
paid to the participant or the participant’s beneficiaries for reimbursement for the payment. (4-7-11)

300. SURETY BOND OR OTHER SECURITY.
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01. Requirement. Every promoter who applies for a sanctioning permit shall furnish a surety bond or 
other form of financial security to the Commission consistent with Section 54-408, Idaho Code. The bond or other 
form of financial security will be in an amount deemed by the Commission to be adequate to guarantee payment of all 
taxes, fees, fines, and other moneys due and payable under Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho Code and the Commission’s 
rules, including reimbursement to the purchasers of tickets for the event. (4-7-11)

02. Various Locations. The promoter may apply one (1) bond or other form of financial security to 
multiple locations if only one (1) of the covered locations is scheduled for an event on any given calendar date.

(3-29-10)

03. Total Sum. Each bond or other form of financial security must be conditioned for the payment to 
the Commission of a sum equivalent to the total sale of tickets: (3-29-10)

a. If the main event is not held on the date advertised, unless the event is subsequently held on a date 
fixed by the Commission; and (3-3-94)

b. If the main event is neither held on the original date advertised nor on a subsequent date fixed by 
the Commission. (3-3-94)

04. Sum Due. The sum is due within fifteen (15) days after default, to ensure reimbursement to the 
purchasers of tickets for the event, if the reimbursement of ticket holders is ordered by the Commission. (3-3-94)

301. APPROVAL OF EVENTS.

01. Prior Approval. No contest will be held without the prior approval of the Commission. A 
promoter will submit a completed application on a form provided by the Bureau for a sanctioning permit to hold an 
event on a specific date, and a permit be issued by the commission before the event may be announced or advertised.

(        )

02. Deadline. A complete application for a sanctioning permit together with application fees, 
applicable bond amount, proof of insurance, and information regarding the combatants named in the main and semi-
main contest must be received by the commission no less than thirty (30) days prior to the date requested for the event 
named in the application. Combatants named in contests may be changed at the discretion of the commission.

(5-8-09)

03. Cancellation. The failure of the promoter to notify the Commission of a cancellation at least seven 
(7) calendar days before the date for the program will result in the forfeiture of all fees and will be grounds for 
disciplinary action. (5-8-09)

302. (RESERVED)

303. PROGRAM FOR CHARITY.

01. Application. A person who wishes to present a program or event under the jurisdiction of the 
commission for charitable purposes will submit to the Commission a sanction application to present the program. The 
application will contain the name of the charity, charitable fund or organization which is to benefit from the program 
and the amount or percentage of the receipts of the program which is to be paid to the charity. (        )

02. Certified, Itemized Statement. Within seventy-two (72) hours after such a program is held, the 
promoter will furnish to the Commission a certified itemized statement of the receipts and expenditures in connection 
with the program and the net amount paid to the charitable fund or organization. If the promoter fails to file the 
statement within the prescribed time, the Commission: (3-3-94)

a. May suspend or revoke the promoter’s license. (3-3-94)

b. Shall not thereafter issue a permit to the promoter for the holding of any program for charitable 
purposes. (3-3-94)
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304. ARRANGEMENT OF CONTEST FOR PROMOTER.
A contest may not be arranged on behalf of any promoter except by a licensed matchmaker. (5-8-09)

305. – 306. (RESERVED)

307. CERTAIN PERSONS RETAINED MUST HAVE LICENSES.
No person will be retained for any of the following positions unless currently licensed by the Commission: (5-8-09)

01. Second. (3-3-94)

02. Combatant. (3-26-08)

03. Matchmaker. (3-3-94)

04. Ring Official. (5-8-09)

308. OFFICIALS OF EVENTS.

01. Officials Described. The officials of events are the referee, judges, timekeeper, physician, and the 
Commission’s agents. (5-8-09)

02. Commission Involvement. The Commission will approve and assign all the officials. The 
promoter may select the announcer, subject to the Commission’s approval. (        )

309. REFEREES.

01. Selection. The Commission will select the referee for the main event in championship events and 
for events that the Commission considers to be special events. The Commission will set the fee and reasonable 
expenses that the referee is entitled to receive for an event. (3-26-08)

02. Protests. If any licensee of the Commission protests the assignment of a referee, the protesting 
licensee will be given a hearing by the Commission if time permits. If time does not permit, the matter will be heard 
by two (2) Commissioners in order to make such disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. Protests not made 
in a timely manner may be summarily rejected. (3-3-94)

03. Physical Examination. Each referee licensed by the Commission will annually undergo a 
complete physical examination, including an eye examination conducted by an optometrist or ophthalmologist. At the 
request of the Commission, the licensee will produce all records of the examination. (        )

310. JUDGES.

01. Selection. The Commission will select the judges for the main event in championship events and 
for any other events which the Commission considers to be special events. (3-26-08)

02. Protests. If any licensee of the Commission protests the assignment of a judge, the protesting 
license will be given a hearing by the Commission if time permits. If time does not permit, the matter will be heard by 
two (2) Commissioners in order to make such disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. Protests not made in 
a timely manner may be summarily rejected. (3-3-94)

03. Fees. The Commission will set the fee and reasonable expenses which the judges are entitled to 
receive for an event. (3-26-08)

04. Station of Judges. Judges will be stationed ringside at places designated by the Commission.
(3-3-94)

05. Physical Examination. Each judge licensed by the Commission may be required to submit to or 
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provide proof of a complete physical examination, including an eye examination. (3-3-94)

311. ADMISSION OF LICENSEES AND AGENTS TO EVENTS.
The promoter of any event under the jurisdiction of the commission will admit the following to said event without a 
ticket: (3-26-08)

01. Participants. Any individual who is licensed by the Commission and who has been authorized by 
the commission to participate in said event upon such individual’s presentation of a current and valid license issued 
by the commission. (3-26-08)

02. Commissioner or Agent. The Athletic Commissioner, any Deputy Commissioner, and any agent 
of the Bureau upon presentation of valid identification that identifies the holder as a member of the commission or an 
agent of the Bureau. (3-26-08)

312. PAYMENT OF FEE TO OFFICIAL DESIGNATED BY COMMISSION.
A promoter will pay the fee and reasonable expenses set by the Commission to any person whom the Commission 
directs to officiate in an event promoted by that promoter. (3-26-08)

313. POSTPONEMENT OF PROGRAM.

01. Prior Approval. A promoter may not postpone a sanctioned event unless the postponement is 
approved by the Commission. (3-26-08)

02. No Fault Postponement. If a postponement of a sanctioned event becomes necessary through no 
fault of the promoter, the Commission will grant an extension of the contracts and set a new date. (3-26-08)

03. Limitations on Postponement. A small advance sale is not a legitimate reason for postponement. 
Indoor boxing and wrestling programs may not be called off or canceled on account of storms or for any other reason 
not expressed in this chapter except as approved by the Commission. (3-26-08)

04. Advance Notice. A promoter may not call off a sanctioned event without one (1) week prior 
written approval of the Commission. (        )

314. MAIN AND SEMI-MAIN EVENTS.
This section applies to the main and semi-main events. (5-8-09)

01. Notice. The promoter must request Commission approval of any change in an announced or 
advertised program for the main and semi-main events at least one (1) week before the event. Notice of any change or 
substitution must also be conspicuously posted at the box office of the premises where the program is to be held and 
announced from the ring before the opening contest. (5-8-09)

02. Refunds. If such change occurs and any patron desires a refund of the ticket price, the promoter 
will provide a refund upon presentation of the ticket or the ticket stub at the box office before the event is scheduled 
to begin. The box office must remain open a reasonable length of time to redeem such tickets. (3-26-08)

03. Substitutions. A combatant may not substitute for another combatant in a contest which is the 
main and semi-main events unless the Commission approves the substitution. (5-8-09)

315. CONTAINERS.
All drinks at an event will be dispensed in paper or plastic cups. (5-8-09)

316. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. ADMISSION FEE AT QUARTERS WHERE COMBATANT TRAINS.

01. Fee. An admission fee may not be charged to enter the quarters where a combatant is training 
unless the Commission has authorized the charging of admission. Where such an admission fee is charged, the 
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Commission will consider the charge to be for the privilege of seeing an exhibition. (5-8-09)

02. State Fee. The state fee on those gross receipts, exclusive of any federal taxes paid thereon, will be 
sent to the Commission with the report. (3-3-94)

401. APPROVAL OF FACILITIES BY COMMISSION BEFORE TICKETS MAY BE SOLD.
The sale of tickets for any proposed contest or exhibition is prohibited until: (3-3-94)

01. Approval. Plans and statements showing the seating arrangements, the location of tickets of each 
price, and other aspects of the physical layout of the ring and apron have been approved by the Commission; and

(3-26-08)

02. Other Considerations. The aisle spacing, exit facilities, and the location of appliances to 
extinguish fires have been approved by the appropriate county or municipal authority. (3-3-94)

402. TICKETS LIMITED TO SEATING CAPACITY OF ARENA.
The sale of tickets for an event may not exceed the seating capacity of an indoor arena and no ticket may be issued for 
standing room. A person may not be sold the right of admission without a ticket. (3-3-94)

403. TICKETS.

01. Inventory. The ticket outlet shall report to the Commission an inventory, which he affirms under 
oath to be correct, of all the tickets issued. (        )

02. Notification. The promoter will notify the ticket outlet of the requirements of this section. (3-3-94)

404. CONTENTS OF TICKETS.

01. General. Every ticket will have the price, name of the promoter, and date of the program plainly on 
it. (3-3-94)

02. Changes. Requests for changes in ticket prices or dates of programs will be made in writing to the 
Commission for approval. (3-3-94)

03. License to Sell. Tickets may not be sold by any person except through an agency holding a license 
to sell the tickets unless the sale is first approved by the Commission. (3-3-94)

405. COMPLIMENTARY TICKETS.

01. Limitation. A promoter may not issue complimentary tickets for more than two percent (2%) of 
the seats in the house without the Commission’s written authorization. The Commission does not consider 
complementary tickets which it authorizes under this section to constitute part of the total gross receipts from 
admission fees for the purposes of calculating the Commission taxes. (3-3-94)

02. More Than Two Percent Issued. If complimentary tickets are issued for more than two percent 
(2%) of the tickets sold: (3-26-08)

a. Each combatant who is working on a percentage will be paid his percentage of the normal price of 
all complimentary tickets in excess of two percent (2%) of the tickets sold unless the contract between him and the 
promoter provides otherwise and stipulates the number of complimentary tickets which will be issued; and (3-26-08)

b. If a service charge is made for complimentary tickets, the combatant is entitled to be paid his 
percentage of that service charge, less any deduction for federal taxes and fees. (3-26-08)

406. PROVISIONS OF TICKETS WITHOUT CHARGE OR AT REDUCED RATES.

01. Without Charge. Each promoter will provide tickets without charge to holders of lifetime passes 
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issued by the Commission. (3-26-08)

02. No Fees. Persons who receive tickets pursuant to this section are not liable for the payment of any 
fees for those tickets. (3-3-94)

03. Optional Charges. Each promoter may provide tickets without charge or at a reduced rate to:
(3-3-94)

a. Any of his employees, and if the promoter is a corporation, to a director or officer, who is regularly 
employed or engaged in promoting such programs, whether or not his duties require him to be admitted to the 
particular program and whether or not he is on duty at the time of that program; (3-3-94)

b. A journalist who is performing his duties as such; and (3-3-94)

c. A fireman or police officer who is performing his duties as such. (3-3-94)

04. Duties Required. Each promoter will perform the following duties in relation to the issuance of 
complimentary tickets issued: (3-3-94)

a. Each ticket issued to a journalist will be clearly marked “PRESS.” No more tickets may be issued 
to journalists than will permit comfortable seating in the press area. (3-3-94)

b. The promoter may allocate seats for the media, subject to the commission’s final approval of the 
allocation. Seating at the press tables or in the press area will be limited to journalists who are actually covering the 
contest and to other persons designated by the Commission. (3-26-08)

c. A list of passes issued to journalists must be submitted to the Commission. (3-3-94)

d. Only one (1) complimentary ticket may be issued to any one (1) manager, second, combatant, or 
other person licensed by the Commission. (3-26-08)

e. The Commission will approve in advance any credential issued by the promoter which allows an 
admission to the event without a ticket. Requests for the issuance of such credentials must be made at least five (5) 
hours before the first contest on the program. (        )

05. Admission Criteria. Admission of any person who does not hold a ticket or who is not specifically 
exempted pursuant to this section is grounds for suspension or revocation of the promoter’s license or the assessment 
of a penalty. (3-26-08)

06. Fees. The Commission will collect all fees and taxes due on any ticket which is not specifically 
exempt pursuant to this section, and for any person who is admitted without a ticket in violation of this section.

(3-3-94)

407. SPECULATION IN TICKETS PROHIBITED.

01. Prevent Speculation. A promoter who holds programs or events under the jurisdiction of the 
commission shall exercise extraordinary caution to prevent speculation in tickets. (3-26-08)

02. No Other Price. The promoter may not sell any tickets for a price other than the price printed 
thereon. (3-26-08)

a. The promoter may not, without the Commission’s written permission, change the price of tickets at 
any time after they have been placed on sale or sell them at any time during the program for a different price than 
tickets for the same seats were offered or sold before the program commenced. (3-26-08)

b. Any ticket sold for other than the price printed on the ticket will be over stamped with the actual 
price charged. The over stamp must be placed on the printed face of the ticket as well as the stub retained by the 
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holder of the ticket. (3-26-08)

03. Exchange. A person may only exchange tickets at the box office. A ticket may not be redeemed 
after the show has taken place. Tickets that have not sold will be returned to the box office not later than one (1) hour 
before the show is scheduled to begin. (3-26-08)

04. Removal and Possession of Stub. A holder of a ticket for a program or event will not be allowed:
(3-26-08)

a. To pass through the gate of the premises where the program is being held unless his ticket is 
separated from the stub; or (3-26-08)

b. To occupy a seat unless in possession of the stub. (3-26-08)

05. Tickets for Readmission. A promoter may not issue a ticket to any person for the purpose of 
readmission due to leaving the arena and later reentering the arena, useless the promoter has obtained the 
commission’s written permission for such an issuance. (3-26-08)

408. – 414. (RESERVED)

415. TICKETS: REMOVAL AND RETENTION AFTER MATCH; DESTRUCTION.

01. Removal. All tickets and stubs sold or unsold, other than unsold reel tickets, used for any program 
or event may be removed to the office of the Bureau by the Commission after the Commission has completed the 
computation of gate receipts and tax due thereon. (3-26-08)

02. Destruction. After the tickets and stubs have been held for at least fifteen (15) days by the 
Commission, the Commission will destroy them. If the tickets are not taken by the Commission, they must be 
retained by the promoters for at least six (6) months. Those tickets may be destroyed after they have been held for at 
least thirty (30) days and written permission has been granted by the Commission for the destruction of such tickets. 
Tickets need to be kept in separate packages for each show so that an audit can be made at any time by the 
Commission. (3-26-08)

416. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. SANITATION.

01. Sanitary Conditions. Each promoter is responsible for and must correct any violation of the 
regulations of the Commission or the public health district regarding the sanitary condition of dressing rooms, 
showers, water bottles, towels or other equipment. (3-26-08)

02. Reporting. Physicians and the Commission or its agents will make a particular examination before 
or during each program or event to discover any violation of such regulations, and any such violation will be reported 
to the Commission immediately. (3-26-08)

501. REQUIRED NUMBER OF AMBULANCES; NOTICE TO AMBULANCE SERVICE AND 
HOSPITAL.

01. Required Number of Ambulances. The following number of ambulances must be present at the 
site of any program or event under the jurisdiction of the commission: (3-26-08)

a. Where the anticipated attendance is four thousand (4,000) persons or more but less than eight 
thousand (8,000) persons, one (1) ambulance. (3-3-94)

b. Where the anticipated attendance is eight thousand (8,000) persons or more, two (2) ambulances.
(3-3-94)
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02. Promoter Requirements. Each promoter of a program or event will, without regard to the size of 
the anticipated attendance: (3-26-08)

a. Give notice of the time, date and site of the program to the ambulance service or emergency 
medical service which is located nearest to the site of the program and ascertain from the service the length of time 
for one (1) of its ambulances to reach the site. (3-3-94)

b. Give such a notice to the nearest hospital and the persons in charge of its emergency room.
(3-3-94)

c. Before the start of the program or event, certify to a member of the Commission that the 
requirements of this section have been met. (3-26-08)

502. DRESSING ROOMS -- ONLY AUTHORIZED PERSONS ARE ALLOWED TO ENTER.

01. Authorized Persons to Enter. On the day of a contest only the following people are allowed in the 
dressing room of a combatant; (3-3-94)

a. The combatant’s manager; (3-26-08)

b. The combatant’s seconds; (3-26-08)

c. Any authorized agent of the promoter; and (3-26-08)

d. Members of the Commission or its agent. (3-26-08)

02. Other Persons. The promoter will furnish a doorman or doormen at the entrance to the dressing 
rooms to enforce this section. (3-3-94)

503. BOXING GLOVES.
The gloves used in a boxing contest must meet the following requirements: (3-3-94)

01. General. The gloves will be examined by the Commission and the referee. If padding in any of the 
gloves is found to be misplaced or lumpy or if any of the gloves are found to be imperfect, they must be changed 
before the contest starts. No breaking, roughing or twisting of gloves is permitted. (3-26-08)

02. Glove Specifications. The gloves for every main event will be new, of the same brand for both 
combatants, furnished by the promoter, and of the size specified by the Commission. (3-26-08)

03. Sanitary. If gloves to be used in preliminary contests have been used before, they will be whole, 
clean and in sanitary condition. The gloves are subject to inspection by the referee or the Commission. If found to be 
unfit, they will be immediately discarded and replaced with gloves meeting the requirements of this section.

(3-26-08)

04. Extra Set. Each promoter will have an extra set of gloves of the appropriate weight available at the 
glove table to be used in case gloves are broken or otherwise damaged during the course of a contest. (3-26-08)

05. Weight of Gloves. Each combatant will wear gloves that are not less than eight (8) ounces and not 
more than ten (10) ounces in weight except that the Commission will set the weight of gloves to be used in a 
championship fight. Eight (8) ounce gloves will be used for all weight classes through welterweight (one hundred 
forty-seven (147) lbs). Super welterweight (above one hundred forty-seven (147) lbs) and above must use ten (10) 
ounce gloves. (5-8-09)

06. Distal Portion. All gloves will have the distal portion of the thumb attached to the body of the 
glove so as to minimize the possibility of injury to an opponent’s eye. (3-3-94)

504. BANDAGING OF COMBATANT'S HANDS.
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01. General. Bandages may not exceed one (1) winding of surgeon’s adhesive tape, not over one and 
one-half (1 1/2) inches wide, placed directly on the hand to protect the part of the hand near the wrists. The tape may 
cross the back of the hand twice but may not extend within three-fourths (3/4) inch of the knuckles when the hand is 
clenched to make a fist. (3-3-94)

02. Additional Requirements. Each combatant will use soft surgical bandage not over two (2) inches 
wide, held in place by not more than six (6) feet of surgeon’s adhesive tape for each hand. Up to one (1) fifteen (15) 
yard roll of bandage may be used to complete the wrappings for each hand. Strips of tape may be used between the 
fingers to hold down the bandages. (3-26-08)

03. Witnesses. Bandages must be adjusted in the dressing room in the presence of the Commission and 
both combatants. Either combatant may waive his privilege of witnessing the bandaging of the opponent’s hands.

(3-26-08)

505. EQUIPMENT OF THE CHIEF SECOND.

01. Equipment. The chief second will equip himself with: (3-3-94)

a. A clear plastic water bottle; (3-3-94)

b. A bucket containing ice; (3-3-94)

c. A solution of a kind approved by the Commission for stopping hemorrhaging; (3-3-94)

d. Adhesive tape; (3-3-94)

e. Gauze; (3-3-94)

f. Scissors; and (3-3-94)

g. One (1) extra mouthpiece. (3-3-94)

02. Ammonia. No ammonia may be used in the ring. (3-3-94)

03. Ring Physician. The ring physician or the Commission may at any time inspect the contents of the 
chief second’s first-aid kit. (3-26-08)

506. BOXING RING.
A boxing ring will meet the following requirements: (3-3-94)

01. Ring Dimensions. The ring will be not less than sixteen (16) feet square not more than twenty-four 
(24) feet square within the ropes. The ring floor will extend at least eighteen (18) inches beyond the ropes. The ring 
floor will be padded with ensolite or another similar closed-cell foam. Padding will extend beyond the ring ropes and 
over the edge of the platform, with a top covering of canvas, duck or similar material tightly stretched and laced to the 
ring platform. Material that tends to gather in lumps or ridges must not be used. (3-3-94)

02. Ring Platform. The ring platform will not be more than four (4) feet above the floor of the 
building, and will be provided with suitable steps for use of contestants. Ring posts will be of metal, not more than 
three (3) inches in diameter, extending from the floor of the building to a height of fifty-eight (58) inches above the 
ring floor. Rings posts will be at least eighteen (18) inches away from the ropes. (3-3-94)

03. Ropes. There will be four (4) padded ring ropes, not less than one (1) inch in diameter and wrapped 
in soft material. The lower rope will be eighteen (18) inches above the ring floor and offset four (4) inches to the 
outside of the ring from the ropes above. (3-3-94)

507. BELL OR GONG.
Section 505 Page 116  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.02.01
Bureau of Occupational Licenses Rules of the State Athletic Commission
There will be a bell or gong at the ring no higher than the floor level of the ring. The bell or gong will produce a clear 
tone easily heard by the contestants. (3-3-94)

508. EQUIPMENT OF A TIMEKEEPER.
Every timekeeper will have the equipment prescribed by the Commission and will carry out the duties directed by the 
Commission. (3-26-08)

509. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. WEIGHTS AND CLASSES OF COMBATANTS.

01. Classes and Weights. The classes and weights for each class are shown in the following schedule:
(3-3-94)

a. Strawweight -- up to one hundred five (105) pounds. (3-3-94)

b. Light-Flyweight -- over one hundred five (105) to one hundred eight (108) pounds. (3-3-94)

c. Flyweight -- over one hundred eight (108) to one hundred twelve (112) pounds. (3-3-94)

d. Super Flyweight -- over one hundred twelve (112) to one hundred fifteen (115) pounds. (3-3-94)

e. Bantamweight -- over one hundred fifteen (115) to one hundred eighteen (118) pounds. (3-3-94)

f. Super Bantamweight -- over one hundred eighteen (118) to one hundred twenty-two (122) pounds.
(3-3-94)

g. Featherweight -- over one hundred twenty-two (122) to one hundred twenty-six (126) pounds.
(3-3-94)

h. Super Featherweight -- over one hundred twenty-six (126) to one hundred thirty (130) pounds.
(3-3-94)

i. Lightweight -- over one hundred thirty (130) to one hundred thirty-five (135) pounds. (3-3-94)

j. Super Lightweight -- over one hundred thirty-five (135) to one hundred forty (140) pounds.
(3-3-94)

k. Welterweight -- over one hundred forty (140) to one hundred forty-seven (147) pounds. (3-3-94)

l. Super Welterweight -- over one hundred forty-seven (147) to one hundred fifty-four (154) pounds.
(3-3-94)

m. Middleweight -- over one hundred fifty-four (154) to one hundred sixty (160) pounds. (3-3-94)

n. Super Middleweight -- over one hundred sixty (160) to one hundred sixty-eight (168) pounds.
(3-3-94)

o. Light-Heavyweight -- over one hundred sixty-eight (168) to one hundred seventy-five (175) 
pounds. (3-3-94)

p. Cruiserweight -- over one hundred seventy-five (175) to one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds.
(3-3-94)

q. Heavyweight -- all over one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds. (3-3-94)

02. Exceeding Weight Allowances. No contest may be scheduled and no combatant may engage in a 
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boxing contest without the approval of the Commission if the difference in weight between combatants exceeds the 
allowance shown in the following schedule: (3-26-08)

a. Up to one hundred eighteen (118) pounds -- not more than three (3) pounds. (3-3-94)

b. One hundred eighteen (118) to one hundred twenty-six (126) pounds -- not more than five (5) 
pounds. (3-3-94)

c. One hundred twenty-six (126) to one hundred thirty-five (135) pounds -- not more than seven (7) 
pounds. (3-3-94)

d. One hundred thirty-five (135) to one hundred forty-seven (147) pounds -- not more than nine (9) 
pounds. (3-3-94)

e. One hundred forty-seven (147) to one hundred sixty (160) pounds -- not more than eleven (11) 
pounds. (3-3-94)

f. One hundred sixty (160) to one hundred seventy-five (175) -- not more than twelve (12) pounds.
(3-3-94)

g. One hundred seventy-five (175) to one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds -- not more than twenty 
(20) pounds.  (3-3-94)

h. One hundred ninety-five (195) pounds and over -- no limit. (3-3-94)

03. Weigh-Ins on Day of Contest. If a weigh-in is scheduled on the day of the contest, weight loss in 
excess of two (2) pounds after the time of the weigh-in is not permitted. (3-3-94)

601. CHAMPIONS.

01. General. This section applies to a boxer who has been declared the champion of his class. (3-3-94)

02. Title Not at Stake. A champion may engage in a contest in which his title is not at stake if the 
Commission consents to the contest. (3-3-94)

03. Title at Stake. The title of a champion is at stake if at the official weigh-in his opponent shows and 
is determined to be within the maximum weight limit of the class. Contests for the championship of the state will be 
held at twelve (12) rounds. If a champion in a match which has been approved by the Commission for the 
championship of the state has, within two (2) hours after the scheduled time for the weigh-in, failed to make the 
specified weight, his title must be declared vacant. (3-26-08)

04. Fighting a Boxer from Heavier Class. The Commission may permit a champion to fight a boxer 
belonging to a heavier class, but no restriction of minimum weight may be placed on the opponent to prevent his 
weighing in as a contender for the title. The difference in weight between the combatants may not exceed twenty (20) 
pounds unless both weigh over one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds. (3-26-08)

05. Commission Names Champions. The Commission may name professional boxing champions of 
the state each year in each weight class. A championship may be lost by default, forfeit or inability to make the 
weight, but a championship may only be won in a contest. (3-3-94)

06. Defending a Title. The titles of champions of the state will be defended at least once every six (6) 
months. If a boxer does not defend his title within this period, his title is automatically vacated. (3-3-94)

07. Presentation of Championship Belt to Commission Before Title Contest. Every boxer who 
holds a belt for winning the championship of the state will present the belt to the Commission when the title is being 
defended. Any donor of a championship belt will be approved by the Commission. (3-26-08)
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602. WEIGH-IN, EXAMINATION OF COMBATANT MAY BE ORDERED BY THE COMMISSION.
Any combatant who has signed a contract to box on a promoter’s program is subject to an order by the Commission to 
appear at any time to be weighed or examined by any physician designated by the Commission. (5-8-09)

603. ADVANCE APPEARANCE OF COMBATANT SCHEDULED TO FIGHT IN MAIN EVENT.

01. When to Appear. Each combatant who is scheduled to fight in a main event, except a combatant in 
a regularly scheduled weekly contest, must be present in any place specified by the promoter at least three (3) days 
before the scheduled day of the contest for the purpose of training, publicity, and whatever other purpose the 
promoter may desire, unless the combatant has the Commission’s express written approval to be absent. (5-8-09)

02. Expenses. Unless otherwise provided for in the contract, the combatant’s expenses for this purpose 
will be borne by the promoter. If a boxer fails to comply with this requirement, the promoter, subject to approval of 
the Commission, may deduct ten percent (10%) of the offending combatant’s purse. (5-8-09)

604. WEIGHING IN OF COMBATANTS.

01. Attendees and Scales Used at Weigh-In. Each combatant will be weighed in the presence of the 
public, the other combatant, the Commission and an official representing the promoter, on scales approved by the 
Commission at any place designated by the Commission. (3-26-08)

02. Attire. The combatant will have all weights stripped from his body before he is weighed in, but he 
may wear shorts. (5-8-09)

03. Attendance by Media. Representatives of newspapers and the electronic news media who provide 
official identification as such will be admitted to each official weighing in of a combatant. (5-8-09)

04. Security. The owner or operator of the premises in which the weighing in is held will provide 
adequate security for the combatant and other persons who are present. (5-8-09)

605. FORFEITURE FOR FAILURE TO MAKE WEIGHT.

01. Failure to Make Weight. Any combatant who fails to make the weight agreed upon in his contract 
forfeits: (3-26-08)

a. Ten percent (10%) of his purse if no lesser amount is set by the Commission; or (3-26-08)

b. A lesser amount set by the Commission, unless the weight difference is one (1) pound or less.
(3-3-94)

02. Dividing Forfeit. A forfeit will be divided equally between the other combatant and the 
Commission. (3-26-08)

03. Exception. Except as otherwise provided, if, during the two (2) hours following the time of the 
weigh-in, a combatant is able to make the weight or weighs less than one (1) pound outside the agreed limits, no 
forfeit may be imposed or fine assessed upon him. (3-26-08)

606. PHYSICAL AND EYE EXAMINATION OF COMBATANTS.
A physician designated by the Commission must give each combatant a thorough physical and eye examination 
within thirty-six (36) hours, but not less than two (2) hours, before the contest or exhibition in which the combatant 
will participate. (3-29-10)

607. PHYSICIAN -- SUITABLE PLACE TO EXAMINE CONTESTANT; FEE; EMERGENCY 
TREATMENT.

01. Suitable Examination Place. The promoter will provide the physician designated by the 
Commission a suitable place to examine each contestant. (3-3-94)
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02. Fees. The physician is entitled to receive a fee for his services at a bout. (3-3-94)

03. Emergency Treatment. The physician will give any injured contestant temporary or emergency 
treatment in the arena or dressing room and no additional fee may be charged. (3-3-94)

608. PHYSICIAN'S DETERMINATION OF FITNESS OF COMBATANTS AND REFEREE; 
CERTIFICATION; REPORT.

01. Determination of Physician. The physician who examines any combatant or referee who has 
contracted to participate in an event will determine that a combatant or referee will not participate in the event and 
must immediately report such finding to the promoter and the Commission if: (5-8-09)

a. The combatant is unfit for competition; or (3-26-08)

b. The referee is unfit for officiating. (3-3-94)

02. Written Certification. If the examining physician finds that the combatants and referees are in 
good physical condition, the physician will, one (1) hour before the start of the event, give written certification of 
those findings to the Commission. (5-8-09)

03. Physician's Written Report. Within twenty-four (24) hours after the event ends, the physician will 
mail or deliver to the Commission his written report on every licensee he examined. The report will be on a form 
furnished by the Commission. (5-8-09)

609. COMBATANT’S REPORT OF OWN ILLNESS OR INJURY; EXAMINATION; FEE.

01. Combatant’s Report of Non-Participation to Commission. When a licensed combatant is unable 
to take part in a contest for which he is under contract because of injury or illness, he will immediately report the fact 
to the Commission and submit to an examination by a physician designated by the Commission. (5-8-09)

02. Payment of Fees to Physician. The fee for the physician’s examination will be paid by the 
promoter if he has requested the examination, otherwise the fee will be paid by the combatant. (5-8-09)

610. SUSPENSION OF LICENSEE FOR MEDICAL REASON.

01. Not Fit for Competition or Officiating. Any licensee who is determined to be unfit to compete or 
officiate will be suspended until it is shown that he is fit for further competition or officiating. (3-3-94)

02. Medical Suspension -- Thirty Days. Any boxer suspended for thirty (30) days for his medical 
protection will take the same examination upon the expiration of his suspension as is required annually, unless the 
Commission directs him to submit to further tests of his physical condition. The physician may require any other 
procedures during the examination, including an electroencephalogram if indicated. (3-3-94)

611. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. COMBATANTS MUST REPORT.
Each combatant will report to the Commission in the dressing rooms at least one (1) hour before his scheduled time 
of the first match. (3-26-08)

701. BOXER'S COSTUME AND EQUIPMENT.

01. Costume. Each combatant on a program will provide himself with the ring costume selected and 
approved by the Commission. (3-26-08)

02. Fit. The trunks must be loose fitting and made of a lightweight cloth similar to an athlete’s 
“running pants.” The belt of the trunks must not extend above the waist line. (3-3-94)
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03. Other Equipment. Each combatant will wear: (3-26-08)

a. A mouthpiece which has been individually fitted; and (3-26-08)

b. An abdominal cup which will protect him against injury from a foul blow. (3-3-94)

702. COMBATANT'S PHYSICAL APPEARANCE.

01. Grease or Foreign Substances. The excessive use of grease or any other foreign substance may 
not be used on the face of a combatant. The referees or the Commission will cause any excessive grease or foreign 
substance to be removed. (3-26-08)

02. Hair. The Commission will determine whether head or facial hair presents any hazard to the safety 
of the combatant or his opponent or will interfere with the supervision and conduct of the contest. (3-26-08)

703. PROCEDURE FOR USE OF SCORECARDS.

01. Scorecards. The Commission will, before the start of the contest, give scorecards to each judge.
(3-26-08)

02. Scoring by Judges. The judges will score each round of the contest on an individual scorecard and 
sign it. The referee will pick up the scorecard from each judge and turn in the scorecards at the Commission’s desk 
before the start of each round. (3-26-08)

03. Presentation of Scorecards to Press After Contest. The Commission may show the scorecards to 
accredited representatives of the press after the completion of the contest. (3-26-08)

04. Delivery of Scorecards to Commission. The Commission will mail or deliver the scorecards 
together with required reports regarding the contest to the Bureau. (3-26-08)

05. Report of Each Contest. Reports of each contest will be kept on file in the office of the Bureau.
(3-26-08)

704. METHOD OF JUDGING.

01. Scoring by Judges. Each judge will score every contest and determine the winner through the use 
of the following system: (3-3-94)

a. The better combatant of a round receives ten (10) points and his opponent proportionately less.
(3-26-08)

b. If the round is even, each combatant receives ten (10) points. (3-26-08)

c. No fraction of points may be given. (3-3-94)

d. Points for each round will be awarded immediately after the end of the round. (3-3-94)

02. Majority Opinion. After the end of the contest the announcer will pick up the scores of the judges 
from the Commission’s desk. The majority opinion in conclusive and if there is no majority the decision is a draw.

(3-3-94)

03. Announcing a Winner. When the Commission has checked the scores, the announcer will be 
informed of the decision, and the announcer will inform the audience of the decision over the available public address 
system. (3-26-08)

705. INTRODUCTION FROM RING.
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Only a combatant or person officially identified with the contest may be introduced from the ring at an event, except 
with specific authority to do so from the Commission. (5-8-09)

706. REFEREE'S INSTRUCTIONS TO COMBATANTS.
The referee will, before starting a contest, ascertain from each combatant the name of his chief second, who will be 
responsible for the conduct of the assistant seconds during the progress of the contest. The referee will call 
combatants together before each contest for final instructions, at which time each combatant will be accompanied by 
his chief second only. (3-26-08)

707. LIMITATIONS ON SECONDS.

01. Number of Seconds. No contestant will have more than three (3) seconds except that in a contest 
for a world title the Commission may authorize four (4) seconds. (3-3-94)

02. Excessive Use of Water. Any excessive or undue spraying or throwing of water on any boxer by a 
second between rounds is prohibited. (3-3-94)

708. CONTINUOUS PRESENCE OF PHYSICIAN AT RINGSIDE.

01. Presence of Physician at Ringside. The physician designated by the Commission will sit at the 
immediate ringside at every event. A contest may not proceed unless the physician is in his seat at ringside. The 
physician must not leave until released by the Commission. He will be prepared to assist if any serious emergency 
arises and will render temporary or emergency treatments for cuts and minor injuries sustained by the combatants.

(5-8-09)

02. Injury to Boxer During Round. When a combatant appears to have been injured during the course 
of a round, his manager or second cannot attempt to render aid to him before the physician has had an opportunity to 
examine him. (5-8-09)

709. WARNING BEFORE START OF ROUND.
Ten (10) seconds before the beginning of each round the timekeeper will give warning to the seconds of the 
combatants by blowing a whistle. (5-8-09)

710. DURATION OF ROUND.
A round of boxing is three (3) minutes in duration. (3-3-94)

711. PERSONS ALLOWED IN RING.
No persons other than the contestants and the referee may be in the ring during the progress of a round. (3-3-94)

712. FAIR BLOWS AND FOULS.

01. Fair Blow. A fair blow is one delivered with the padded knuckle part of the glove on the front or 
side of the head or the front or side of the body above the belt. (3-3-94)

02. Fouls. The following acts constitute fouls in boxing: (3-3-94)

a. Hitting below the belt. (3-3-94)

b. Hitting an opponent who is down or is getting up after being down. (3-3-94)

c. Holding an opponent with one hand and hitting with the other. (3-3-94)

d. Holding or deliberately maintaining a clinch. (3-3-94)

e. Wrestling or kicking. (3-3-94)

f. Butting with the head or shoulder or using the knee. (3-3-94)
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g. Hitting with the open glove, the butt of the hand, the wrist or the elbow, and all backhand blows.
(3-3-94)

h. Purposely going down without being hit. (3-3-94)

i. Striking deliberately at that part of the body over the kidneys. (3-3-94)

j. Deliberately using the rabbit punch. (3-3-94)

k. Jabbing the opponent’s eyes with the thumb of the glove. (3-3-94)

l. Using abusive language in the ring. (3-3-94)

m. Engaging in any unsportsman like trick or action which causes injury to an opponent. (3-3-94)
 

n. Hitting on the break. (3-3-94)

o. Hitting after the bell has sounded the end of the round. (3-3-94)

p. Hitting an opponent whose head is between and outside of the ropes. (3-3-94)

q. Pushing an opponent about the ring or into the ropes. (3-3-94)

713. UNFAIR PRACTICES; DUTIES OF REFEREES.

01. Enforcing the Rules. A referee is responsible for enforcing the rules of the contest. He cannot 
permit unfair practices that may cause injury to a combatant. (5-8-09)

02. Warnings. The referees will warn the combatants whenever they are committing fouls. (5-8-09)

03. Deducting Points. If a combatant persists in committing fouls after he has been warned, the referee 
will deduct points from him or disqualify him. (5-8-09)

714. FOULS: DEDUCTION FOR POINTS; EFFECT OF CLAIMING LOW BLOW BY OPPONENT.

01. Deducting Points Because of Fouls. If a contestant repeatedly fouls his opponent during a contest 
or commits any other infraction, the referee may penalize him by deducting a point from his score, whether or not the 
foul or infraction was intentional. (3-3-94)

02. Notification of Point Deduction. When the referee determines that it is necessary to deduct a point 
because of a foul or infraction, he will inform the offender, the scoring table and the judges of the penalty to be 
assessed. (3-3-94)

03. Deduction of Points in Round Foul Occurs. Any point or points to be deducted for any foul or 
infraction are deducted in the round in which the foul or infraction occurred, and may not be deducted from the score 
of any subsequent round. (3-3-94)

04. Contestant Claiming Low Blow. A contestant may not be declared the winner of a contest on the 
basis of his claim that his opponent committed a foul by hitting him below the belt. If a contestant falls to the floor of 
the ring or otherwise indicates that he is unwilling to continue because of a claim of a blow to be a technical knockout 
in favor of the contestant who is willing to continue. (3-3-94)

715. FOULS: DISQUALIFICATION OF COMBATANT AND WITHHOLDING OF PURSE.
Any combatant guilty of a foul in a contest may be disqualified by the referee and the participant’s purse ordered 
withheld by the Commission. Disposition of the purse and the penalty to be imposed upon the combatant will be 
determined by the Commission. (5-8-09)
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716. ACCIDENTAL FOULING.

01. Accidental Foul. If a contest is stopped because of an accidental foul, the referee will determine 
whether the combatant who has been fouled can continue or not. If the combatant’s chance of winning has not been 
seriously jeopardized as a result of a foul, the referee may order the contest continued after a reasonable interval. 
Before the contest begins again, the referee must inform the Commission of his determination that the foul was 
accidental. (5-8-09)

02. Contest Stopped Due to Accidental Foul. If the referee determines that the contest may not 
continue because of an injury suffered as the result of an accidental foul, the bout will be declared a draw if the foul 
occurs during one-half (1/2) of the total scheduled rounds. (3-26-08)

03. Contest Stopped by Referee. If an injury inflicted by an accidental foul later becomes aggravated 
by fair blows and the referee orders the contest stopped because of the injury, the outcome is determined by scoring 
the completed rounds and the round during which the referee stops the contest. (3-26-08)

717. STOPPING OF CONTEST: INJURY TO COMBATANT.
The referee, in consultation with the ring physician designated by the Commission, will determine whether a contest 
should be stopped because of an injury to a combatant. (5-8-09)

718. STOPPING OF CONTEST: ONE-SIDED CONTEST; RISK OF INJURY; EXAMINATION BY 
PHYSICIAN.

01. One-Sided Contested. The referee may stop a contest at any stage if he considers it too one-sided 
or if either combatant is in such a condition that to continue might subject him to serious injury. (5-8-09)

02. Risk of Injury and Examination by Physician. If a combatant sustains any injury which the 
referee believes may incapacitate him, the referee will call the physician into the ring to examine the combatant. The 
physician will give his opinion to the referee before the referee renders his decision in the matter. (5-8-09)

719. STOPPING THE CONTEST: COMBATANT NOT HONESTLY COMPETING.
If the referee decides that a combatant is not honestly competing, he may stop the contest before its scheduled 
completion, disqualify the combatant and recommend the purse of that combatant be held pending investigation by 
the Commission. The announcer will then inform the audience that no decision has been rendered. (5-8-09)

720. FAILURE OF COMBATANT TO RESUME.
A combatant may not leave the ring during any one (1) minute rest period between rounds. If any combatant fails or 
refuses to resume the contest when the bell sounds signaling the commencement of the next round, the referee will 
award a decision of technical knockout to his opponent as of the round which has last been finished, unless the 
circumstances indicate to the referee the need for investigation or punitive action, in which event the referee will not 
give a decision and will recommend the purse or purses of either or both combatants to be withheld. (5-8-09)

721. GLOVES TO BE WIPED BY REFEREE AFTER BOXER FALLS.
Before a boxer may resume boxing after having been knocked or having fallen or slipped to the floor of the ring, the 
referee shall wipe any accumulated resin from the boxer’s gloves with a damp towel or the referee’s shirt. (3-3-94)

722. KNOCKDOWN OF COMBATANT; PROCEDURE FOR COUNTING.

01. Knockdown. When a combatant is knocked down, the referee will order the opponent to retire to 
the farthest neutral corner of the ring, pointing to the corner, and immediately begin the count over the combatant 
who is down. The referee will audibly announce the passing of the seconds, accompanying the count with motions of 
his arm, the downward motion indication the end of each second. (5-8-09)

02. Timekeeper. The timekeeper, by effective signaling, will give the referee the correct one (1) 
second interval for his count. The referee’s count is the official count. Once the referee picks up the count from the 
timekeeper, the timekeeper will cease counting. No combatant who is knocked down may be allowed to resume 
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boxing until the referee has finished counting to eight (8). The combatant may take the count either on the floor or 
standing. (5-8-09)

03. Failure of Opponent to Stay in Farthest Neutral Corner. If the opponent fails to stay in the 
farthest neutral corner, the referee will cease counting until he has returned to his corner and will then go on with the 
count form the point at which it was interrupted. If the combatant who is down arises during the count, the referee 
may step between the combatants long enough to assure himself that the combatant just arisen is in condition to 
continue. If so assured, he will, without loss of time, order both combatants to go on with the contest. During the 
intervention by the referee the striking of a blow by either combatant may be ruled a foul. (5-8-09)

04. Knock-Out. When a combatant is knocked out, the referee will perform a full ten (10) second 
count unless, in the judgment of the referee, the safety for the combatant would be jeopardized by such a count. If the 
combatant who is knocked down is still down when the referee calls the count of ten (10), the referee will wave both 
arms to indicate that he had been knocked out and will raise the hand of the opponent as the winner. (5-8-09)

05. Both Combatants Down. If both combatants go down at the same time, the count will be 
continued as long as one (1) is still down. If both combatants remain down until the count of ten (10), the contest is 
stopped and the decision is a technical draw. (5-8-09)

06. Combatants Down -- Referee Counting. If a combatant is down as a result of a legal blow at or 
near the end of a round, the ring official will continue the count. The combatant cannot be saved by the bell. (5-8-09)

07. Knockdown After Bell Has Sounded. If a legal blow struck in the final seconds of a round causes 
a combatant to go down after the bell has sounded, that knockdown will be regarded as having occurred during the 
round just ended and the appropriate count will continue into the rest period following the bell. (3-26-08)

08. Three Knockdowns in Same Round. There is no three (3) knockdown limit. (5-8-09)

723. RESUMING COUNT ON BOXER.
If a knockdown occurs before the normal termination of a round and the boxer who is down stands up before the 
count of ten (10) is reached and then falls down immediately without being struck, the referee will resume the count 
where it was left off. (3-3-94)

724. ADJUDICATION OF TECHNICAL KNOCKOUT.

01. Contest Termination. It must be adjudged a technical knockout to the credit of the winner if a 
contest is terminated because a combatant is: (5-8-09)

a. Unable to continue; (3-3-94)

b. Not honestly competing; (3-3-94)

c. Injured; or (3-3-94)

d. Disqualified. (3-3-94)

02. Win by Other Than Full Count. A contest which is won by other than a full count of ten (10) or 
the scoring of the judges will be adjudged a technical knockout to the credit of the winner. (3-3-94)

725. PROCEDURE WHEN COMBATANT IS KNOCKED OUT; PERIOD BEFORE HIS NEXT 
CONTEST; EXAMINATION IN CASE OF HEAD INJURY.

01. Combatant Who Has Been Knocked Out. A combatant who has been knocked out will be kept in 
a prone position until he has recovered. Except for the referee or chief second who may remove his mouthpiece, no 
one may touch him until the ring physician enters the ring, attends him and issues any instructions to his handlers.

(3-26-08)
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02. Decision of Technical Knockout Rendered by Referee. If the referee has rendered a decision of 
technical knockout against a combatant, the participant will be placed on the ill and unavailable list for a period 
designated by the Commission after consulting the Commission’s physician, but that period will not be less than 
fifteen (15) days. The combatant may not engage in any contact boxing during this period without the approval of the 
Commission. (3-26-08)

03. Knockout from Blow to Head. If a combatant has been knocked out by a blow to the head, he will 
be placed on the ill and unavailable list for at least thirty (30) days. Before he is reinstated, he must satisfactorily pass 
an examination performed with a computerized tomographic scanning device or an electroencephalogram, or both, if 
the Commission or its physician finds that such an examination is necessary to determine his condition. (3-26-08)

04. Head Injury. Whenever it appears that a combatant may have suffered a head injury, he will 
undergo such an examination if directed to do so by the Commission or its physician. (3-26-08)

726. WHEN COMBATANT FALLS FROM RING DURING ROUND.

01. Combatant Knocked or Falls from Ring Platform. A combatant who has been knocked or has 
fallen through the ropes and over the edge of the ring platform during the contest may be helped back by anyone 
except his seconds or manager, and the referee may allow a reasonable amount of time for the combatant to return to 
the ring. If the combatant is on the ring platform outside the ropes, he must enter the ring immediately where he may 
resume the contest or take a count. The referee will start the count as soon as the combatant who had fallen is back in 
the ring. (5-8-09)

02. Stalling Outside Ropes. If the combatant stalls for time outside the ropes, the referee will start the 
count without waiting for him to reenter the ring. (5-8-09)

03. Combatant to Neutral Corner. When one (1) combatant has fallen through the ropes, the other 
combatant will retire to the farthest corner and stay there until ordered to continue the contest by the referee. (5-8-09)

04. Penalty. A combatant who deliberately wrestles or throws an opponent from the ring, or who hits 
when he is partly out of the ring and is prevented by the ropes from assuming a position of defense, may be penalized.

(5-8-09)

727. WHEN A BOXER SHALL BE DEEMED DOWN.

01. Feet Off Floor. A boxer is deemed to be down when any part of his body other than his feet is on 
the floor. (3-3-94)

02. Hanging over Ropes. A boxer is deemed to be down when he is hanging over the ropes without 
the ability to protect himself and he cannot fall to the floor. A referee may count a contestant out if he is on the floor 
or is being held up by the ropes. (3-3-94)

728. ANNOUNCEMENT OF WINNER OF BOUT.
At the termination of each boxing bout the announcer will announce the winner and the referee will raise the winner’s 
hand. (3-29-10)

729. CHANGE OF DECISION IN CONTEST.
The Commission will not change a decision rendered at the end of any contest unless: (3-29-10)

01. Collusion. The Commission determines that there was collusion affecting the result of the contest;
(3-3-94)

02. Error in Scoring. The compilation of scorecards of the judges discloses an error which shows that 
the decision was given to the wrong combatant; or (3-29-10)

03. Error in Interpretation of Rules. As a result of an error in interpreting a provision of this chapter, 
the referee has rendered an incorrect decision. (3-3-94)
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04. Failure of Drug Test. The Commission determines that there was a violation of Section 900.
(5-8-09)

730. PHYSICIAN'S REPORT TO COMMISSION AFTER CONTEST.
On the report which the physician designated by the Commission files after a contest, he shall list each case in which 
the boxer or wrestler: (3-3-94)

01. Injury. Was injured during the contest; or (3-3-94)

02. Applies for Medical Aid. Has applied for medical aid after the contest. (3-3-94)

731. MARTIAL ARTS AND MIXED MARTIAL ARTS (MMA).

01. Regulation of Marital Arts and MMA. Except to the extent set forth under Rules 731-799, all 
requirements and the limitations relating to combatants and licenses (as set forth within Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho 
Code, and in the remaining rules of the Commission) will apply to all martial arts and MMA contests and exhibitions. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, at its sole discretion, the Commission may (by specific reference in the sanctioning 
permit) allow the use of other requirements and limitations during a particular martial arts contest or exhibition.

(5-8-09)

02. Practices, Belt Promotions, and Non-Contact Demonstrations. Martial arts practices, belt 
promotion testing and demonstrations (as used herein the term demonstrations means displays that do not involve 
combative contact between combatants or between participants) conducted by martial arts schools are not considered 
to be boxing. Such practices, testing, and demonstrations are exempt from the licensing requirements of Title 54, 
Chapter 4, Idaho Code, and persons do not need a license to participate in such practices, testing, and demonstrations.

(3-29-10)

03. Licensing Exemption. Martial arts schools that meet the conditions set forth within Section 54-
406(3)(b), Idaho Code, may apply to the Commission for exemption from licensing and sanctioning permit 
requirements relating to exhibitions and contests. (3-29-10)

04. Use of Official Rules for Art. Martial arts contests and exhibitions will be conducted pursuant to 
the official rules of the particular art. The sponsoring organization or promoter must file a copy of the official rules 
with the Commission before the Commission will issue a sanctioning permit for the contest or exhibition. (4-6-05)

05. Boxing Gloves. The requirement set forth in Section 54-414, Idaho Code, of wearing boxing 
gloves applies to kickboxing but will not apply to any other form of martial art unless the use of boxing gloves is 
required by the official rules of that particular art. Any gloves utilized must be in good condition as approved by the 
commission. For the main and semi main events, gloves will be in new condition and of the same brand for 
combatants. (5-8-09)

732. MMA EQUIPMENT.
The Commission is the final authority in all equipment matters. The following is a list of required equipment for 
MMA contests: (5-8-09)

01. Commission Approved Mouthpiece. All combatants will wear a mouthpiece during the contest. It 
is strongly recommended that all combatants have two (2) form fitted mouthpieces available for use in each contest.

(5-8-09)

a. To Begin the Round. The round cannot begin if the mouthpiece is not inside the combatant’s mouth 
and set in place. (5-8-09)

b. During the Contest. The mouthpiece will be inside the combatant’s mouth and properly set at all 
times during the contest. (5-8-09)

c. Dislodged Mouthpiece. If the mouthpiece is dislodged during the contest, the referee will wait until 
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the first opportune moment, without interfering with the action, call time out, and have the mouthpiece replaced.
(5-8-09)

d. Violations. At the discretion of the referee, points may be deducted or a disqualification rendered in 
the following situations: (5-8-09)

i. When the mouthpiece is not being properly kept inside of the combatant’s mouth; (5-8-09)

ii. When the mouthpiece is purposely spit out; or (5-8-09)

iii. When the corner fails to have the combatant resume competition with the mouthpiece in place or 
delays in replacing the mouthpiece after it becomes dislodged. (5-8-09)

02. Commission Approved MMA Gloves. (5-8-09)

a. General. The gloves will be examined by the Commission and the referee. If padding in the gloves 
is found to be misplaced or lumpy, or if any gloves are found to be imperfect, they must be changed before the contest 
starts. No breaking, roughing or twisting of gloves is permitted. (5-8-09)

b. Weight: Each combatant will wear gloves that are not less than four (4) ounces in weight; (5-8-09)

c. Specifications. Each combatant will wear open finger gloves that have no padding in the palm or 
fingertip area and that are appropriate in weight for the combatant’s hand size. Under no circumstances will a 
combatant be allowed to wear bag gloves or any other gloves with metal or plastic inserts. (5-8-09)

03. Commission Approved Attire. (5-8-09)

a. Each combatant will wear a foul-proof groin protector. (5-8-09)

b. Each female combatant will wear Commission-approved form fitting breast support protection. 
Supports may not have brace, metal or hard material of any kind. (5-8-09)

c. For male combatants, no body shirts or pants are allowed. Female combatants will wear fighting 
shorts and rash guard. (5-8-09)

d. Combatant may only use soft materials to tie hair. (5-8-09)

04. Prohibited Equipment and Attire. (5-8-09)

a. The following equipment and attire are prohibited: (5-8-09)

i. Shoes; (5-8-09)

ii. Facial hair, if determined by the Commission to pose a health, safety or sanitary issue; (5-8-09)

iii. Tar material on any part of the body; (5-8-09)

iv. Henna-type tattoos; (5-8-09)

v. Piercing accessories; and (5-8-09)

vi. Makeup of any kind. (5-8-09)

b. Masks, costumes, and props must be approved by the Commission prior to usage. (5-8-09)

c. Fingernails and toenails must be cut and trimmed prior to a contest. (5-8-09)
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733. FAIR TECHNIQUES AND FOULS IN MMA EVENTS.

01. Fair Techniques. Fair MMA techniques include the use of striking and grappling techniques, 
either while standing or on the ground, subject to techniques designated by the rules as fouls. (5-8-09)

02. Fouls. The following actions will constitute fouls during any MMA event: (3-29-10)

a. Head-butting or striking with the head in any manner. Any use of the head as a striking instrument 
whether head to head, head to body or otherwise is illegal. (3-29-10)

b. Eye-gouging by means of fingers, chin, or elbow. Legal strikes or punches that contact the 
combatant’s eye socket are not eye gouging and will be considered legal attacks. (3-29-10)

c. A combatant must recognize that a referee may not be able to physically observe some actions and 
must make the referee aware if they are being bitten during an exhibition of unarmed combat. (3-29-10)

d. Hair Pulling. A combatant may not grab hold of an opponent’s hair in order to control the opponent 
in any way. (3-29-10)

e. Fishhooking, meaning using the fingers to attack an opponent’s mouth, nose, or ears, or stretching 
the skin to that area. Fishhooking generally is the placing of fingers into the mouth of an opponent and pulling the 
hands in opposite directions while holding onto the skin of the opponent. (3-29-10)

f. Groin attacks, including striking, grabbing, pinching or twisting the groin area. (3-29-10)

g. Smothering an opponent by cupping a hand over an opponent’s mouth and nose. (3-29-10)

h. Elbows thrown from a vertical angle. Elbows thrown from any other angle are legal, except that 
strikes with the elbow point from any angle are illegal during a contest or exhibition in which an amateur combatant 
participates. (3-29-10)

i. Knee strikes of any kind to an amateur combatant’s head. Further, when any combatant goes to the 
ground, only knees to the body are allowed. (3-29-10)

j. Strikes to the back of the head. The back of the head is considered from the crown of the head down 
the centerline of the skull into the spine, with a one (1) inch variance to each side, similar to a mohawk haircut. 
Strikes that are thrown to areas behind the ears but not within the mohawk limitation are legal strikes. (3-29-10)

k. Hand Chokes. A combatant may not attack an opponent with a choke utilizing only his hand or 
hands in an attempt to submit an opponent. A common phrase for this type of choke is the “C clamp” choke wherein 
the thumb is placed on one side of an opponent’s neck with the fingers on the opposite side. (3-29-10)

l. Placing one’s fingers into an open laceration on an opponent in an attempt to enlarge the cut. A 
combatant may not place his fingers into an opponent’s nose, ears, mouth, or any body cavity. (3-29-10)

m. Small Joint Manipulation. Fingers and toes are small joints. Wrists, ankles, knees, shoulders and 
elbows are all large joints. (3-29-10)

n. Spine Attacks. Illegal spine attacks include, without limitation, locks, such as the “Twister,” and 
strikes to the spine. (3-29-10)

o. Throat strikes of any kind including, without limitation, grabbing the trachea. (3-29-10)

i. No directed throat strikes are allowed. A directed attack would include a combatant pulling an 
opponent’s head in a way to open the neck area for a striking attack. Directed throat attacks are not punches that 
connect during an exchange from the standing position while combatants are engaged in combat. (5-8-09)
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ii. A combatant may not gouge his fingers or thumb into an opponent’s neck or trachea in an attempt 
to submit the opponent. (5-8-09)

iii. All arm chokes such as the “rear naked,” “guillotine” and “bar arm” are legal. (5-8-09)

p. Skin Clawing. Any attack that targets the combatant’s skin by clawing at the skin or attempting to 
pull or twist the skin to apply pain. (3-29-10)

q. Kicking the head or groin of a grounded opponent. A grounded opponent is any combatant who has 
more than just the soles of the feet on the ground. If the referee determines that a combatant would be a grounded 
combatant, but not solely because the ring ropes or cage fence has held the combatant up from the ground, the referee 
can instruct the combatants that the combatant held up solely by the cage or ropes is being treated as a grounded 
combatant. A combatant can be kicked to the body when he is on the ground with any type of legal kick, but may not 
be kicked in the head or groin. (3-29-10)

r. Stomping, meaning any type of striking action with the feet wherein the combatant lifts his leg, 
bending it at the knee, and initiates a striking action with the bottom of the foot or heal. This includes stomping the 
feet while both combatants are standing. Axe kicks are not stomps. (3-29-10)

s. Pile-driving an opponent into the mat. (3-29-10)

i. A pile driver is considered to be any throw wherein a combatant controls an opponent’s body by 
placing the opponent’s feet straight up in the air and the head straight down and then forcibly driving the opponent’s 
head into the canvas or flooring material. (5-8-09)

ii. It should be noted that if a combatant is placed into a submission hold by his opponent and the 
combatant is capable of elevating his opponent, the combatant may bring his opponent down in any manner because 
he is not in control of his opponent’s body. The combatant who is attempting the submission can either adjust his 
position or let go of the hold before being slammed to the canvas. It is crucial that referees are properly advised and 
trained on this and that the combatants fully understand this at the rules meeting. (5-8-09)

t. Purposely throwing an opponent out of the ring or caged area. A combatant will not intentionally or 
purposely throw an opponent out of the ring or cage. (3-29-10)

u. Holding the shorts or gloves of an opponent. A combatant may not control an opponent’s 
movement by holding onto the opponent’s shorts or gloves. A combatant may hold onto or grab an opponent’s hand 
as long as the combatant is not controlling the opponent’s hand by using only the material of the glove but is actually 
gripping the hand. It is legal for a combatant to hold onto his own gloves or shorts. (3-29-10)

v. Engaging in any unsportsmanlike conduct is not allowed. Any type of behavior or conduct 
observed or heard by the referee that can be considered detrimental or disrespectful towards an opponent or the sport 
of MMA. This includes, but is not limited to, spitting at an opponent, using abusive language or abusive gestures, etc.

(3-29-10)

w. Holding the ropes or the fence. (3-29-10)

i. A combatant may put his hands on the fence and push off at any time. A combatant may place his 
feet onto the cage and have his toes go through the fencing material at any time. If a combatant’s fingers go through 
the cage and he grabs hold of the fence and starts to control either his body position or his opponent’s body position, 
it is an illegal action. A combatant may not grab the ropes or wrap his arms over the ring ropes at any time. (5-8-09)

ii. If a combatant is caught holding the fence, cage or ring rope material the referee will issue a one-
point (1) deduction from the offending combatant’s scorecard. (5-8-09)

iii. If a point deduction for holding the fence occurs, and the fouling combatant ends up in a superior 
position due to the foul, the combatants will be re-started, standing in a neutral position. (5-8-09)
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x. Attacking an opponent on or during the break. A combatant will not engage an opponent in any 
manner during a time-out or break of action in competition. (3-29-10)

y. Engaging an opponent in any manner while the opponent is under the referee’s care or handling.
(3-29-10)

z. Failing to follow the referee’s instructions. Any deviation or non-compliance may result in the 
combatant’s disqualification. (3-29-10)

aa. Timidity, meaning any action by a combatant that is used to avoid contact with his opponent or to 
run away from the action of the fight. Timidity, includes, without limitation, intentionally avoiding contact with an 
opponent or consistently dropping the mouthpiece or faking an injury. The referee may also call timidity on a 
combatant for attempting to receive time by falsely claiming a foul or injury, for purposely dropping or spitting out 
his mouthpiece, or for committing any other action designed to stall the contest. (3-29-10)

bb. Interference by the corner, meaning any action or activity by a corner aimed at disrupting the 
contest or causing an unfair advantage to a combatant. Corners are not allowed to distract the referee or influence the 
actions of the referee in any manner. (3-29-10)

03. Time Considerations for Fouls. (5-8-09)

a. A combatant who has been struck with a low blow is allowed up to five (5) minutes to recover from 
the foul and can continue on in the contest if allowed to by the ringside physician. (5-8-09)

i. If the combatant states that they can continue on before the five (5) minute time allotment has 
expired, then as soon as is practical the referee will restart the contest. (5-8-09)

ii. If the combatant goes over the five (5) minute time allotment, the contest cannot be restarted and is 
stopped. The outcome is determined by the round and time in which the contest was stopped. (5-8-09)

b. If a combatant is fouled by a blow that the referee deems illegal, the referee will stop the action and 
call for time. The referee will take the injured combatant to the ringside physician and have the ringside physician 
examine the combatant to determine the combatant’s ability to continue on in the contest. The ringside physician has 
up to five (5) minutes to make his determination. If the ringside physician determines that the combatant can continue 
on in the contest, then as soon as is practical the referee will restart the contest. Unlike the low blow foul, the 
combatant does not have the five (5) minute time allotment to use at his discretion. (5-8-09)

c. If the referee stops the contest and employs the use of the ringside physician, the ringside 
physician’s examination cannot exceed five (5) minutes. If five (5) minutes is exceeded, the contest cannot be re-
started and is stopped. (5-8-09)

d. If the ringside physician deems a combatant unfit to continue, the referee must immediately stop 
the contest. If the combatant is deemed unfit to continue by the ringside physician and part of the five (5) minute foul 
time is remaining, the combatant cannot use the remaining time. This will be enforced for all listed fouls, with the 
exception of a low blow foul. (5-8-09)

04. Intentional Fouling. (5-8-09)

a. When a contest is interrupted due to an injury caused by an intentional foul, the referee, in 
consultation with the ringside physician, will determine whether the intentionally fouled combatant can continue or 
not. If it is determined that the intentionally fouled combatant’s chance of winning has not been seriously jeopardized 
as a result of the foul, the referee may order the contest continued after a reasonable interval. A combatant who is 
fouled with a low blow has up to five (5) minutes to recover. (3-29-10)

b. If the referee, in consultation with the ringside physician, determines at any time during the contest 
that the intentionally fouled combatant’s chance of winning has been seriously jeopardized or the combatant is unable 
to continue the contest as a result of the foul, or by any aggravation to an injury caused by the foul, the intentionally 
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fouled combatant wins by “technical decision.” (3-29-10)

05. Accidental Fouling. (5-8-09)

a. When a contest is interrupted due to an injury caused by an accidental foul, the referee, in 
consultation with the ringside physician, will determine whether the combatant who has been fouled can continue or 
not. If it is determined that a combatant has been accidentally fouled and the combatant’s chance of winning has not 
been seriously jeopardized as a result of a foul, the referee may order the contest continued after a reasonable interval. 
A combatant who is fouled with a low blow has up to five (5) minutes to recover. (3-29-10)

b. If the referee or the ringside physician, or both, determine that the contest may not continue 
because of an injury suffered as the result of an accidental foul or because of an injury inflicted by an accidental foul 
which later becomes aggravated by fair blows, and if less than two (2) rounds have been completed in the contest, 
then a “no contest” will be entered. If two (2) or more rounds have been completed in the contest, then the combatant 
who is ahead on the scorecards wins by “Technical Decision.” (3-29-10)

06. Fouls or Unsportsmanlike Conduct During the One Minute Rest Period in MMA Contest.
(5-8-09)

a. If a combatant fouls or acts in an unsportsmanlike manner during the one (1) minute rest period, the 
referee will deduct points from the offending combatant based on the severity of the offense. (5-8-09)

b. The Chief Second is responsible for all corner activities. Any illegal activity may cause the Chief 
Second to be immediately removed from the corner from the entire contest. (5-8-09)

07. Concussive Head Impact Fouls in MMA Contest. Before allowing a contest to continue, the 
referee should consult with the ringside physician in all cases involving concussive head fouls. The referee, in 
conjunction with the ringside physician, will determine the length of time needed to evaluate the affected combatant’s 
suitability to continue. (5-8-09)

a. If the referee determines that a foul to the head was intentional, he must follow the Intentional Foul 
rule. The referee will consider that allowing the contest to continue may subject the combatant to a severe injury.

(3-29-10)

i. If the affected combatant is not badly injured and his chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized because of the foul, the contest may be allowed to continue. If the contest is allowed to continue, the 
offending combatant will be issued an official warning and have one (1) point deducted from his score in the round.

(5-8-09)

ii. If the referee determines that the affected combatant cannot continue, the offending combatant will 
lose by “Disqualification.” (5-8-09)

b. If the referee determines that a foul to the head was accidental, he will follow the Accidental Foul 
rule. The referee must consider that allowing the contest to continue may subject a combatant to a severe injury.

(3-29-10)

i. If the affected combatant is not badly injured and his chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized because of the foul, the contest may be allowed to continue. (5-8-09)

ii. If the contest cannot continue the Technical Decision rule will be applied. (5-8-09)

08. Low Blow in MMA Contest. (5-8-09)

a. If the referee determines that the low blow foul was intentional, he will follow the Intentional Foul 
rule. (3-29-10)

i. If the offended combatant is not badly injured and their chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized because of the foul, the Five (5) Minute rule may be applied. (5-8-09)
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ii. If the referee determines that the athlete cannot continue, the offending combatant will lose by 
“Disqualification.” (5-8-09)

b. When a combatant is hit with an accidental low blow and claims injury, the referee, at his 
discretion, may apply the Five (5) Minute rule. If the injured combatant cannot resume fighting before the recovery 
period ends, the injured combatant will lose the contest by “No Contest.” (3-29-10)

c. The Five (5) Minute Rule is only applicable to low blow fouls. (5-8-09)

09. Disqualification. A combatant will lose by “Disqualification” when he: (5-8-09)

a. Intentionally fouls and causes harm to his opponent; (5-8-09)

b. Continually refuses to follow the rules; or (5-8-09)

c. Continually disobeys the referee. (5-8-09)

10. Referee Action on Fouls in MMA Contest. (5-8-09)

a. The referee will inform the Commission Representative as soon as possible of the following:
(5-8-09)

i. The type of foul; (5-8-09)

ii. If the foul was accidental or intentional; (5-8-09)

iii. If points will be deducted from the offending combatant; (5-8-09)

iv. If the offending combatant will be disqualified; (5-8-09)

v. If the Five (5) Minute rule will or will not be applied; (5-8-09)

vi. If the contest will be delayed to evaluate a combatant; or (5-8-09)

vii. If the contest will or will not continue. (5-8-09)

b. The referee will declare whether a blow is legal or a foul. If declared a foul, he will declare if it was 
Accidental or Intentional. Point deductions for fouls will be done at the time of the infraction. If an intentional foul 
causes injury and the injury is severe enough to immediately terminate the bout, the combatant causing the injury 
loses by “Disqualification.” (5-8-09)

c. Point deductions for an intentional foul is mandatory. If an intentional foul causes an injury and the 
fouled combatant can continue, the referee at his discretion will deduct points from the offending combatant.

(5-8-09)

734. SUSPENSION OF MMA CONTEST FOR UNFORSEEN REASONS.

01. Unforeseen Reasons. If a contest has to be suspended for any reason other than the actions of the 
combatants, the referee will have the clock stopped and attend to the issue. The referee, Commission or 
Commission’s representative will decide the length of time allotted to address the issue. All reasonable efforts are 
made to resume the contest as soon as possible. It is expected that the responsible party or parties make a true effort to 
resolve the issue. (5-8-09)

02. Suspicious Circumstances. If the contest is unexpectedly stopped under suspicious circumstances, 
all or part of the following actions may take place: (5-8-09)
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a. If a combatant or his corner is involved, the offending combatant may be disqualified. (5-8-09)

b. The combatant may be subject to investigation and discipline in the event of a violation of these 
rules. (5-8-09)

c. In certain circumstances the matter may be referred to the appropriate law enforcement agency or 
the courts, or both. (5-8-09)

735. STANDING EIGHT COUNT IN MMA CONTEST.
No standing eight (8) count is permitted under any circumstances. Referee’s are responsible for combatant safety and 
will stop a contest when a combatant is unable to intelligently defend himself, or is unresponsive, timid, or 
mismatched in competition, or when the referee feels the combatant’s safety is jeopardized. (5-8-09)

736. WEIGHT CATEGORIES - MIXED MARTIAL ARTS.
Commissions may use their discretion to approve certain matches out-of-weight class contests. The following 
comprises the full list of usable weight categories in any MMA contest.

(5-8-09)

737. MMA EVENT ROUNDS.

01. Length of Rounds. Rounds for contests or exhibitions in which amateur combatants participate are 
three (3) minutes long. Rounds for contests or exhibitions in which professional combatants participate are five (5) 
minutes long. (3-29-10)

02. Number of Rounds. Non-title contests consists of three (3) rounds. Title contests consist of five 
(5) rounds. (5-8-09)

MEN’S DIVISIONS:

Featherweight Up to 135 lbs.
Lightweight 135.1 to 155 lbs.

Welterweight 155.1 to 170 lbs.
Middleweight 170.1 to 185 lbs.

Light Heavyweight 185.1 to 205 lbs.
Heavyweight 205.1 to 265 lbs.

Super Heavyweight 265.1 lbs. and above

WOMEN’S DIVISONS:

Flyweight 95 lbs. and below
Featherweight 95.1 to 115 lbs.

Lightweight 115.1 to 125 lbs.
Welterweight 125.1 to 135 lbs.
Middleweight 135.1 to 145 lbs.

Light Heavyweight 145.1 to 155 lbs.
Cruiserweight 155.1 to 165 lbs.
Heavyweight 165.1 to 185 lbs.

Super Heavyweight 185.1 and above
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738. METHODS OF WINNING MMA CONTEST.

01. Knockout (KO). A knockout is declared when a combatant is unable to intelligently defend 
himself following a strike. (5-8-09)

02. Technical Knockout (TKO). A technical knockout is declared when the licensed ringside 
physician or referee decides the combatant cannot continue due to a cut or other injury. (5-8-09)

03. Submission. When a combatant submits by tapping out on the opponent or the mat as a result from 
a choke, lock, or any other legal technique or strike. A combatant may call out defeat when unable to tap out.

(5-8-09)

04. Referee Stoppage. The referee may stop the contest if a combatant can no longer defend himself or 
cannot or will not tap out, or for any other reason to preserve the health and safety of the combatants. (5-8-09)

05. Decision. When the contest ends after the specified time period and there is no winner, or ends due 
to a foul or fouls that cause injury, or ends due to unforeseen circumstance, it will be scored by the three (3) judges.

(5-8-09)

a. Decisions made via a scorecard in MMA contest will be: (5-8-09)

i. A “Unanimous Decision” in which all three (3) judges agree on winner. (5-8-09)

ii. A “Split Decision” in which two (2) judges agree on one (1) combatant and one (1) judge scores for 
the other combatant. (5-8-09)

iii. A “Majority Decision” in which two (2) judges agree on one (1) combatant and one (1) judge 
scores a draw. (5-8-09)

b. A “Draw” may be: (5-8-09)

i. A “Unanimous” decision in which all three (3) judges score the contest a draw; (5-8-09)

ii. A “Majority” decision in which two (2) judges score the contest a draw and one (1) judge scores for 
a combatant; or (5-8-09)

iii. A “Split” decision in which one (1) judge scores for a combatant, one (1) judge scores for the other 
combatant and one (1) judge scores the contest a draw. (5-8-09)

c. Other scorecard decisions are: (5-8-09)

i. Technical Decision; (5-8-09)

ii. Technical Draw; or (5-8-09)

iii. No Contest. (5-8-09)

d. A “Disqualification” can result from fouling or unsportsmanlike conduct as determined by the 
referee. (5-8-09)

06. Inability of Opponent to Continue or Throws in Towel. If the opponent is unable or unwilling to 
continue the contest or the combatant’s corner decides that the combatant is unable to continue and indicates this by 
throwing the towel into the ring or cage, a TKO will result against this combatant. (5-8-09)

739. MMA CONTEST SCORING.
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01. 10 Point Must System. All contests will be evaluated and scored by three (3) judges. In exigent 
circumstances, or at the discretion of the Commission, a referee may be allowed to judge a contest. The 10 Point Must 
System will be the standard system of scoring a contest. In the event that a contest ends by technical decision, the 
judges will score the partial round. (5-8-09)

02. Method of Judging. (5-8-09)

a. Scoring by Judges. Each judge will score every contest and will determine the winner using the 
following scoring system: (5-8-09)

i. The better combatant of a round receives ten (10) points and his opponent proportionately fewer 
points. (5-8-09)

ii. If the round is even, each combatant receives ten (10) points. (5-8-09)

iii. No point fractions may be given. (5-8-09)

iv. Points for each round are awarded immediately after the end of the round. (5-8-09)

b. Majority Opinion. After the end of the contest the announcer will pick up the scores of the judges 
from the Commission’s desk. The majority opinion is conclusive. If there is no majority decision, the contest is 
declared a technical draw. (5-8-09)

c. Announcing a Winner. When the Commission has checked the scores, the announcer will be 
informed of the decision, and the announcer will inform the audience of the decision over the available public address 
system. (5-8-09)

03. Primary Scoring Considerations. The following are primary scoring considerations for scoring 
an amateur MMA competition: (5-8-09)

a. Legal striking. Clean, effective strikes in the legal scoring zone - number and quality of legal 
scoring blows; (5-8-09)

b. Legal takedowns, throws or knockdowns; (5-8-09)

c. Near completed submission; (5-8-09)

d. Overall control and dominance; and (5-8-09)

e. Damage. (5-8-09)

740. COMBATANT DOWN AFTER THE SOUND OF THE BELL.

01. End of Round. The round ends when the bell sounds to end the round. (5-8-09)

02. Combatant Down After Round Has Ended. If during the round legal blows negatively affect a 
combatant and the combatant goes down after the bell has sounded ending the round, the referee will consider the 
round ended and the one-minute rest period started. The referee may then allow the combatant’s corner to assist the 
downed combatant or he may summon the ringside physician to evaluate the combatant, or both. (5-8-09)

741. BLOWS AT OR AFTER THE BELL IN MMA CONTEST.

01. Legal Blow. A blow that strikes a combatant concurrent with the sounding of the bell is deemed to 
be a legal blow. (5-8-09)

02. Illegal Blow. A blow that strikes a combatant after the sounding of the bell is deemed to be a foul. 
The referee will determine if it was accidental or intentional foul. (5-8-09)
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742. TERMINATION OF A CONTEST DUE TO A FAIR BLOW IN MMA CONTEST.
If an athlete sustains an injury from a fair blow and the injury is severe enough to immediately terminate the contest, 
the injured combatant will lose by “Technical Knockout (TKO)”. (5-8-09)

743. COMBAT PLATFORMS (RING/CAGE).
All MMA contests will take place in either a cage or a ring that has been approved by the Commission. The cage or 
ring will be subject to inspection prior to each contest by the Commission, a Commission representative, or a referee.

(5-8-09)

744. -- 799. (RESERVED)

800. WRESTLING: SPECIAL LICENSE IS REQUIRED FOR A CONTEST.
Unless a special license has been obtained, all professional wrestling programs under the supervision and authority of 
the Commission are only exhibitions and not contests, and those exhibitions cannot be advertised or announced as 
contests. (3-3-94)

801. WRESTLING: DISQUALIFICATION FOR DANGEROUS TACTICS.

01. Restrictions. The referee will not permit physically dangerous conduct or tactics by any wrestler. 
Any wrestler who fails to discontinue those tactics, after being warned by the referee, will be disqualified and have 
his purse held up and paid to the Commission. (3-3-94)

02. Professionalism. A referee cannot participate in an exhibition to the extent that the Commission or 
the referee is made to look ridiculous. (3-3-94)

802. LICENSEE'S DUTIES AT WRESTLING EXHIBITION.

01. Conduct. The referee, promoter and his agents, attaches and employees, and participants in any 
wrestling exhibition will maintain peace, order and decency in the conduct of the exhibition. (3-3-94)

02. No Abusive Behavior. A person who is involved in such exhibition will not abuse the referee or an 
official of the Commission. (3-3-94)

03. Decision and Appeal. The Commission will hear any complaint about a referee or an official.
(3-26-08)

803. WRESTLERS -- PHYSICAL EXAMINATION.
Any person applying for or renewing a license as a wrestler will first be examined by a physician approved by the 
Commission to establish physical and mental fitness. A wrestler will be furnished a list of approved examining 
physicians by the Commission. The Commission may order the examination of any wrestler for the purpose of 
determining whether the wrestler is fit and qualified to engage in further exhibitions. (3-3-94)

804. -- 899. (RESERVED)

900. ADMINISTRATION OR USE OF ALCOHOL, DRUGS, STIMULANTS.

01. Prohibitions. The administration of or use of any of the following, in any part of the body either 
before or during an event, to or by any combatant is prohibited: (3-26-08)

a. Alcohol; (3-3-94)

b. Drugs; (3-3-94)

c. Injection; or (3-3-94)

d. Stimulant. (3-3-94)
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02. Urinalysis. A combatant will submit to a urinalysis of chemical test before or after a contest if the 
Commission directs him to do so. (3-26-08)

03. Suspension. No combatant will be allowed to box if his urinalysis testing reveals the presence of 
illegal substance(s). (3-26-08)

04. Procedure for Testing for Illegal Substance(s). (3-3-94)

a. The Commission reserves the right to conduct random drug testing. A combatant with a recent 
history of drug abuse may be specifically required to test. Both combatants in the title contest will be tested by urine 
specimen or blood test at the discretion of the commission. (3-26-08)

b. The combatant to be tested shall go directly to the dressing room after the end of the fight. Only 
water may be consumed until the test sample has been taken. The Commission’s approved physician or agent will 
give each combatant the specimen container and observe the combatant give the specimen into the container. The 
container will be sealed and labeled by the physician or agent. The Chain of Custody Form is signed by the 
combatant, or manager, and the physician or agent will also sign and date the form. The physician or agent will 
transport the sample to the testing laboratory as selected by the Commission. Any other person taking custody of the 
sample will sign and date The Chain of Custody Form. After completion of the test, the Chain of Custody Form will 
be returned to the Commission with the test results. (3-26-08)

05. Subject to Disciplinary Action. A licensee who violates any provision of this Section is subject to 
disciplinary action by the Commission. (3-3-94)

901. PREPARATIONS TO STOP HEMORRHAGING.
The Commission will periodically review the preparations available to stop hemorrhaging. Only the preparations 
which are approved by the Commission may be used to stop hemorrhaging on the ring. Avetine and Thrombin are the 
only Commission approved preparations to stop hemorrhaging. (5-8-09)

902. COMBATANT NOT TO HAVE PROMOTER OR CERTAIN OTHERS ACT AS MANAGER OR 
HOLD FINANCIAL INTEREST.
A combatant may not have a promoter or any of its members, stockholders, officials, matchmakers or assistant 
matchmakers: (3-26-08)

01. Manager. Act directly or indirectly as manager; or (3-26-08)

02. Financial Interest. Hold any financial interest in the management of the combatant’s earnings.
(3-26-08)

903. REPORT TO COMMISSION OF SOLICITATION TO CONDUCT CONTEST FRAUDULENTLY.
When any person who is licensed by the Commission is approached with a request or suggestion that a contest not be 
conducted honestly, that person must immediately report that matter to the Commission. Failure to do so is a ground 
for disciplinary action. (3-26-08)

904. SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE -- DEBTS IN CONNECTION WITH TRAINING.
Any boxer, wrestler or manager may have his license suspended by the Commission if he fails to pay any legitimate 
debt which he contracted in connection with training and use of a gymnasium. (3-3-94)

905. GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION.
Any person who is licensed by the Commission may have his license suspended or revoked, or be fined or otherwise 
disciplined by the Commission for any of the following: (3-26-08)

01. Violation of Laws. Having violated the laws of Idaho, except for minor traffic violations.
(3-26-08)

02. Violation of Rules. Having violated any provisions of this chapter. (3-26-08)
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03. Valid Orders of Commission. Failed or refused to comply with a valid order of the Commission.
(3-26-08)

04. Good Conduct. Conduct at any time or place in a manner which is deemed by the Commission to 
reflect discredit to boxing or wrestling. (3-26-08)

906. (RESERVED)

907. LICENSEES PROHIBITED FROM DEALING WITH PERSONS WHOSE LICENSES ARE 
SUSPENDED OR REVOKED.
A person who is licensed by the Commission will not have any dealings related to boxing or wrestling with any 
person whose license had been suspended or revoked by the Commission. (3-3-94)

908. SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF LICENSES.

01. Comply with Suspensions. Every promoter and matchmaker will take notice of the bulletins of 
suspension sent out by the Commission and will not permit any person under suspension to take any part as a 
participant or in arranging or conducting matches or exhibitions during the period of suspension. (3-3-94)

02. Additional. Every person whose license has been suspended or revoked by the Commission will 
refrain from participating in or matchmaking or holding contests during the period of suspension or after the 
revocation. (3-3-94)

03. Specific Actions. Any person whose license has been suspended or revoked is barred from:
(3-3-94)

a. The dressing rooms at the premises where any program of boxing is being held; (3-3-94)

b. Occupying any seat within six (6) rows of the ring platform; (3-3-94)

c. Approaching within six (6) rows of seats from the ring platform; and (3-3-94)

d. Communicating in the arena or near the dressing rooms with any of the principals in the contests, 
their managers, their seconds, of the referee, whether directly or by a messenger, during any program. (3-26-08)

e. Any person who violates a provision of Subsection 908.03 of this rule may be ejected from the 
arena or building where the program is being held, and the price paid for admission refunded upon presentation of the 
ticket stub at the box office. Thereafter, he is barred entirely from all premises used for contests or exhibitions while 
the programs are being held. (3-26-08)

04. Dishonest Methods. If a license issued by the Commission has been suspended because the holder 
used dishonest methods to affect the outcome of any contest or because of any conduct reflecting serious discredit 
upon the sport of boxing, the Commission will not reinstate the license for six (6) months in the case of first offense. 
In the case of a second offense, the holder’s license will be revoked. (3-26-08)

05. Temporary Suspension. Any manager who is under temporary suspension is considered to have 
forfeited all rights in this state under the terms of any contract with a combatant licensed by the Commission. Any 
attempt by a suspended manager to exercise those contract rights will result in a permanent suspension of his license. 
The license of any combatant, matchmaker, or promoter who continues to engage in any contractual relations with a 
manager whose license has been suspended by the Commission may be indefinitely suspended. (3-26-08)

06. Continuation. A combatant whose manager has been suspended may continue to compete 
independently during the term of that suspension, signing contracts for matches. Payment of a combatant’s earnings 
may not be made by any promoter to a manager who is under suspension, or to a suspended manager’s agent, but will 
be paid in full to the combatant. (3-26-08)
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07. Cancellation of Contract Rights. Revocation of a manager’s license automatically cancels all 
contract rights in this state under any contracts with combatants made under the authority of the Commission. If such 
a revocation occurs, a combatant may operate independently and make contracts for matches or enter into contracts 
with other managers licensed by the Commission. (3-26-08)

909. PENALTIES FOR CERTAIN VIOLATIONS; REVIEW BY COMMISSION.

01. Penalties General. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the Commission may charge a 
penalty not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for: (5-8-09)

a. Any violation of the provisions of these rules (IDAPA 24.02.01, “Rules of the Athletic 
Commission”); or (5-8-09)

b. Being late or failing to appear for a weigh-in or contest. (3-26-08)

02. Later Review. Any disciplinary action taken pursuant to Subsection 909.01 of these rules will be 
reviewed at a later date by the Commission. (5-8-09)

910. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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DOCKET NO. 32-0101-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 57-728(2) of the Idaho Code, which gives the 
Endowment Fund Investment Board (EFIB) authority to promulgate rules necessary to discharge EFIB’s duties for 
the administration of the Credit Enhancement Program for School District Bonds.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter promulgated as a proposed rule under this docket number under IDAPA 32, rules of the Endowment Fund 
Investment Board:

IDAPA 32 
• 32.01.01, Rule Governing the Credit Enhancement Program for School District Bonds

Any amendments to the text of the pending rule have been made in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho 
Code. The original text of the proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin 
(Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, pages 5323 through 5324. The rule governing the Credit Enhancement Program for 
School District Bonds is beneficial for Idaho’s public schools because it lowers the cost of financing associated with 
the construction or remodeling of public schools.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules. The Endowment Fund Investment Board charges school districts an application fee of $500 and a one-
time bond guarantee fee equal to two one hundredths of one percent (0.02% or two basis points) of the Total Debt 
Services. The EFIB may charge a pass-through fee if it incurs expenses related to the review of an application. EFIB 
will not invoice a school district for pass-through fees without the prior approval of a school district. These fees or 
charges are imposed pursuant to Section 57-728, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance or technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Chris Anton at (208) 334-3312.

Dated this 23rd day of September, 2019.

Chris Anton, Manager of Investments
Endowment Fund Investment Board
816 West Bannock Street, Suite 301
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: (209) 334-3312
Fax: (208) 334-3786
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule(s) listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Section 57-728(2) of the Idaho Code, which gives the Endowment Fund Investment Board 
(EFIB) authority to promulgate rules necessary to discharge EFIB’s duties for the administration of the Credit 
Enhancement Program.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 32, Title 01, Chapter 01, rules of the Endowment Fund Investment 
Board:

IDAPA 32.01.01, Rules Governing the Credit Enhancement Program for School Districts

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. The rule governing the Credit Enhancement Program for School Districts is beneficial 
for Idaho’s public schools because it lowers the cost of financing associated with the construction of new schools.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. 2010 Idaho Attorney General Opinion 01 concludes that EFIB 
must charge fees to offset the cost of the Credit Enhancement Program to the Endowments.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. The Endowment Fund Investment 
Board charges school districts an application fee of $500 and a one-time bond guarantee fee equal to two one-
hundredths of one percent (0.02% or two basis points) of the Total Debt Service.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Chris Anton at (208) 334-3312.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 32-0101-1900F
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32.01.01 – RULES GOVERNING THE CREDIT ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Section 57-728(2), Idaho Code, gives the Endowment Fund Investment Board authority to promulgate rules 
necessary to the discharge of the EFIB’s duties for the administration of the Credit Enhancement Program. 2010 
Idaho Attorney General Opinion 01 concludes that the EFIB must charge fees to offset the costs of the Credit 
Enhancement Program to the Endowments. (4-7-11)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 32, Title 01, Chapter 01, “Rules Governing the Credit 
Enhancement Program for School Districts.” (4-7-11)

02. Scope. These rules contain the provisions for implementation of the Credit Enhancement Program.
(4-7-11)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES.

01. Administrative Fees. Application Fees and Pass-through Fees charged to School Districts 
applying for and receiving guarantees under the Credit Enhancement Program. (4-7-11)

02. Application Fee. The amount determined by the EFIB and set forth in this chapter as the cost of 
reviewing applications to the Credit Enhancement Program and administering the Credit Enhancement Program.

(4-7-11)

03. Credit Enhancement Program. The Credit Enhancement Program for School District Bonds 
established in Section 57-728, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

04. EFIB. Endowment Fund Investment Board. (4-7-11)

05. Endowments. The trusts granted to the state of Idaho by the Idaho Admission Bill, 26 Statutory 
Laws 215, chapter 656 as amended. The Endowments include the Public School Endowment established by Idaho 
Admission Bill sections 4 and 13. (4-7-11)

06. Guarantee Fee. The amount determined by the EFIB and set forth in this chapter as the cost of 
guaranteeing a school bond under the Credit Enhancement Program. The cost of guaranteeing a school bond includes 
the difference in the investment return to the Public School Endowment projected by the EFIB to arise from the 
guarantee and additional costs to the Endowments arising from investment of the Public School Endowment in the 
Credit Enhancement Program. (4-7-11)

07. Guaranty Program. The Idaho School Bond Guaranty Program established in Title 33, Chapter 
53, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

08. Pass-Through Fee. A direct cost to the EFIB for reviewing an application to the Credit 
Enhancement Program or for issuing a note to pay a debt service payment under the Credit Enhancement Program. 
Direct costs include the costs billed to the EFIB by legal, accounting, and financial professionals. (4-7-11)

09. School District. As defined in Section 33-5302, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

10. Total Debt Service. The total amount to be repaid to bond purchasers over the stated maturity of 
the School District bond (principal plus interest). (4-7-11)

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. APPLICATION.

01. Required Materials. School Districts must submit the following application materials to the EFIB:
(4-7-11)
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a. Correspondence from the Idaho State Treasurer certifying that the School District has been 
approved to participate in the Guaranty Program and setting forth the maximum credit enhancement amount available 
to the School District within the limitations set forth in Section 57-728(8), Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

b. A fully completed application form as prescribed by the EFIB from time to time executed by a 
party authorized to bind the School District. (4-7-11)

c. Copies of the complete audited financial statements of the School District prepared pursuant to 
Section 33-701, Idaho Code, for the preceding three (3) fiscal years and the adopted budget for the current fiscal year.

(4-7-11)

d. Upon request of the EFIB, documentation substantiating the information set forth in materials 
submitted pursuant to Subsection 020.01 of these rules. (4-7-11)

02. Submission Deadlines. School Districts may submit an application at any time. (4-7-11)

021. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. FEES.

01. Guarantee Fee. School Districts must remit to the EFIB a one-time fee equal to two one-
hundredths of one percent (0.02% or two basis points) of the Total Debt Service. When Paid. School Districts must 
remit the Guarantee Fee to the EFIB within five (5) days of the sale of bonds guarantied by the Credit Enhancement 
Program. The EFIB will deposit the Guarantee Fee in the Public School Endowment. (4-7-11)

02. Administrative Fees. (4-7-11)

a. Application Fee. School Districts shall submit to the EFIB an Application Fee of five hundred 
dollars ($500). School Districts shall submit the Application Fee to the EFIB with the application materials. The 
EFIB will use Application Fees to pay costs of reviewing applications and administering the Credit Enhancement 
Program. At the conclusion of each fiscal year, the EFIB will deposit unexpended Application Fees in the Public 
School Endowment. (4-7-11)

b. Pass-through Fee. The EFIB may incur a Pass-through Fee related to the review of an application in 
its discretion. The EFIB will not invoice a School District for Pass-through Fees related to the review of an 
application without the prior written approval of the School District. The EFIB may incur a Pass-through Fee related 
to the issuance of a note without prior approval of the School District. The EFIB will invoice School Districts for the 
full amount of any Pass-through Fees related to the issuance of a note. School Districts shall remit each invoiced 
Pass-through Fee to the EFIB within thirty (30) days of invoice. The EFIB will use a Pass-through Fee to pay the 
direct costs to the EFIB under the Credit Enhancement Program giving rise to the fee. (4-7-11)

031. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. APPROVAL AND DENIAL OF APPLICATIONS.

01. Review Periods. The EFIB will provide written approval or denial of an application within twenty 
(20) days of the submission of all required materials. If the Board requests substantiating documentation, the EFIB 
will provide written approval or denial of the application within twenty (20) days of the submission of the 
substantiating documentation. (4-7-11)

02. Delegation of Review and Approval. (4-7-11)

a. Staff Review. The EFIB may delegate review of applications to EFIB staff. (4-7-11)

b. Experts. The EFIB may engage experts to review an application. Experts include legal, accounting, 
and financial professionals. (4-7-11)
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c. Staff Approval. The EFIB may delegate approval of applications to the EFIB’s manager of 
investments. (4-7-11)

03. Discretionary Investment. The EFIB will invest in a School District bond issuance under the 
Credit Enhancement Program in its sole discretion and within its fiduciary responsibilities as trustees of the financial 
assets of the Endowments. The EFIB may deny an application for participation in the Credit Enhancement Program if 
the EFIB determines the investment is not in the best interests of one (1) or more of the Endowments. (4-7-11)

04. Denial of Application for Unpaid Fees. The EFIB may deny an application for participation in the 
Credit Enhancement Program if a School District has not paid a fee under a pending application or a prior guarantee 
issued by the Credit Enhancement Program. (4-7-11)

041. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 34 – SECRETARY OF STATE
DOCKET NO. 34-0000-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 67-903(9) and 28-9-526, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts previously approved and codified chapter(s) promulgated as proposed rules under 
this docket number under IDAPA 34, rules of the Secretary of State:

IDAPA 34
• 34.05.01, Rules Governing Farm Products Central Filing System
• 34.05.02, Rules governing Liens in Crops for Seed or Liens in Crops for Farm Labor
• 34.05.03, Rules Governing Requests for Information – Form UCC-4-Fees
• 34.05.06, Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC

This pending rule vacates the following proposed rule previously promulgated as part of the omnibus proposed 
rulemaking under IDAPA 34, rules of the Secretary of State:

• (VACATED) 34.04.01, Corporate Name Reservation Renewals

Any amendments to the text of the pending rule have been made in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho 
Code. The original text of the proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin 
(Special Edition), Vol. 19-6SE, pages 5,362-5,400.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules.

UCC Search
• The fee for searching online is $3.
• The fee for copies of individually identified UCC documents of four or more pages is $.25 per page.
• The fee for copies of individual documents is $1 per page.

Federal Tax Lien
• The fee for filing is $6.
• The fee for additional attachment is $1 per page.
• The fee for a search for information only is $6.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information only is $10.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information and copies is $16.

State Tax Lien
• There is no fee for filing.
• The fee for a search for information only is $6.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information only is $10.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information and copies is $16.
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State Agencies
• The fee for a search for information only is $6.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information only is $10.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information and copies is $16.

Seed and Farm Labor Liens
• The fee for filing online is $4.
• The fee for a search for information only is $6.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information only is $10.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information and copies is $16.

Agriculture Commodity Liens
• The fee for filing is $5.
• The fee for a search for information only is $6.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information only is $10.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information and copies is $16.

Farm Product Liens
• The fee for filing online is $10.
• The fee for filing is handwritten is $14.
• The fee for a search for information only is $6.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information only is $10.
• The fee for combination searches available with UCC search for information and copies is $16.
• The fees are being imposed pursuant to Section 28-9-525, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Chad Houck at (208) 334-2852.

Dated this 10th day of October, 2019.

Chad Houck, Deputy Secretary of State
Administrative Division
700 West Jefferson Street, Room E205
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0080
(208) 334-2852

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Sections 67-903(9), 28-9-523(g), 28-9-524, 28-9-526, 45-313(3), 45-316, Title 28 Chapter 9 
Part 4, Title 45 Chapters 2 and 3 and Title 67 Chapter 52, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 34, rules of the Secretary of State:

IDAPA 34
• 34.04.01, Corporate Name Reservation Renewals
• 34.05.01, Rules Governing Farms Products Central Filing System
• 34.05.02, Rules Governing Liens in Crops for Seed or Liens in Crops for Farm Labor
• 34.05.03, Requests for Information-Form UCC-4-Fees
• 34.05.06, Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. As these rules provide the basis for fees charged and processes and definitions used 
for the filing of specific name reservations, liens, and lien search requests, their expiration would leave Idaho citizens 
without the means to protect their interests in these areas.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. As all of these fees collected by the Secretary of State are 
deposited to the state’s General Fund, the lack of authority for the Secretary of State to collect such fees would have 
an immediate and negative impact on State revenues.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules.

• 34.04.01, Corporate Name Reservation Renewals fee 
• 34.05.01, Farms Products Central Filing System filing fees and search fees as previously provided
• 34.05.02, Liens in Crops for Seed or Liens in Crops for Farm Labor filing fees and search fees as  

previously provided
• 34.05.03, Requests for Information-Form UCC-4 - search fees as previously provided 
• 34.05.06, Lien Filings Under the UCC – all fees and cross references to fees found in other sections
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FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Chad Houck at (208) 332-2962.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 34-0000-1900F
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34.05.01 – RULES GOVERNING FARM PRODUCTS CENTRAL FILING SYSTEM
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
In accordance with Sections 67-903(9), 28-9-523(g), and 28-9-524, Idaho Code, the Secretary of State has authority 
to promulgate administrative rules in order to execute the duties of the Office of the Secretary of State. This authority 
includes rules to implement and maintain the USDA certified Idaho Central Filing System, in accordance with P.L. 
99-198, Section 1324 of the Federal Food Security Act (1985) and Title 9, CFR Part 205 (2010). (4-7-11)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 34.05.01, “Rules Governing Farm Products Central 
Filing System,” IDAPA 34, Title 05, Chapter 01. (4-7-11)

02. Scope. These rules shall govern the requirements for the filing of Farm Products Financing 
Statements, for the filing of amendments to Farm Products Financing Statements, and for the compilation and 
distribution of a master list of Farm Products Financing Statements, and portions of the master list. (4-7-11)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
The definitions set forth in Section 28-9-102, Idaho Code, apply with full force and effect to all provisions and 
sections of these rules. Where terms used in this rule are not explicitly or completely defined herein, definitions and 
usage of terms from the Legal Authority in Section 000 of these rules are applicable. (4-7-11)

01. Crop Year. (7-1-93)

a. For a plant or plant product, the calendar year in which it is harvested or to be harvested. (7-1-93)

b. For mammals, the calendar year in which they are born or acquired. (7-1-93)

c. For bees and worms, the calendar year in which they are alive in adult form. (7-1-93)

d. For poultry and the products of mammals, poultry, and bees (i.e., milk, eggs, and honey), the 
calendar year in which they are sold or to be sold. (4-7-11)

e. For fish and other aquaculture, the calendar year in which they are harvested or to be harvested.
(7-1-93)

02. Farm Products Financing Statement. A financing statement covering farm products. (4-7-11)

03. Item on a Master List or Portion of a Master List. An entry on a master list or portion of a 
master list relating to one (1) Farm Products Financing Statement and one (1) debtor listed thereon. (4-7-11)

04. PML Grouping. That related group of farm products which will appear on one (1) PML. (4-7-11)

011. ABBREVIATIONS.
Where abbreviations used in these rules are not explicitly or completely defined herein, definitions and usage of 
abbreviations from the Legal Authority in Section 000 of these rules are applicable. (4-7-11)

01. CS. A cumulative supplement to a PML which contains all additions to, changes to, and deletions 
from the PML which have been filed since the most recent publication of the complete PML. (4-7-11)

02. PML. A portion of the master list, which covers Farm Products Financing Statements relating to a 
particular farm product or group of farm products. (4-7-11)

03. SOS. Idaho Secretary of State. (4-7-11)

04. USDA. United States Department of Agriculture. (4-7-11)

012. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. UNIQUE IDENTIFIER NUMBER (UIN).
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01. UIN System. The Secretary of State’s Office shall use a UIN system that has been approved and 
certified by the USDA for the Idaho Central Filing System in place of the former use of complete social security 
numbers as a means of debtor identification. (4-7-11)

02. Social Security Numbers and Tax Identification Numbers. With the use of UINs, as approved 
by the USDA, the SOS will no longer require or accept social security numbers or tax identification numbers, in total, 
on Farm Products Financing Statements. Only the last four (4) digits shall be required and used. The SOS will not 
provide social security numbers or tax identification numbers, in total, to any person or business entity, in any format, 
from Farm Products Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

021. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. FARM PRODUCTS FINANCING STATEMENT REQUIREMENTS.

01. Form. A Farm Products Financing Statement must meet the requirements of Section 28-9-502, 
Idaho Code, and must be filed on SOS form “UCC-1F.” (4-7-11)

02. Completion of Form. Form UCC-1F must be completed in accordance with instructions provided 
by the SOS. (4-7-11)

101. AMENDMENT, ASSIGNMENT, CONTINUATION, AND TERMINATION OF A FARM 
PRODUCTS FINANCING STATEMENT.

01. Form. An amendment, assignment, or continuation of a Farm Products Financing Statement must 
be filed on SOS form “UCC-3F.” (4-7-11)

02. Completion of Form. Form UCC-3F must be completed in accordance with instructions provided 
by the SOS. (4-7-11)

03. Termination. Termination of a Farm Products Financing Statement will be done either by the 
secured party’s signature on the termination signature line on the original of the UCC-1F or by checking the 
termination box on the UCC-3F. (4-7-11)

102. FARM PRODUCTS FINANCING STATEMENTS UNDER THE UNIFORM COMMERCIAL 
CODE.
Unless otherwise provided for in this chapter, Farm Products Financing Statements shall be governed by IDAPA 
34.05.06, “Administrative Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC,” with the following exceptions: (4-7-11)

01. IDAPA 34.05.06.101.05 “File Number.” Subsection 101.05 only applies in that a unique number 
shall be assigned. For Farm Products Financing Statements, the filing type shall be designated as “F” followed by a 
number that is assigned sequentially. The filing number bears no relation to the time of filing and is not an indicator 
of priority. (4-7-11)

02. IDAPA 34.05.06.108 “Acceptable Forms.” Section 108 does not apply to Farm Products 
Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

03. IDAPA 34.05.06.111 “Filing Fees.” Section 111 does not apply to Farm Products Financing 
Statements. (4-7-11)

04. IDAPA 34.05.06.115.01 “Individually Identified Documents.” Subsection 115.01 does not apply 
to Farm Products Financing Statements. Copies of Farm Products Financing Statements shall be made available 
either from a computer terminal in the reception area in the filing office or through any medium otherwise accepted 
by the filing office. There is a charge of one dollar ($1) per page for copies of Farm Products Financing Statements 
pursuant to Section 28-9-523(k), Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

05. IDAPA 34.05.06.202.02 “Additional Debtor Identification.” Subsection 202.02 does not apply to 
Farm Products Financing Statements. (4-7-11)
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06. IDAPA 34.05.06.301.01 “Identification Numbers.” Subsection 301.01 applies, however, each 
Farm Products Financing Statement is identified by its file number as described in Subsection 102.01 of these rules.

(4-7-11)

07. IDAPA 34.05.06.301.05 “Status of Financing Statement.” Subsection 301.05 does not apply to 
Farm Products Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

08. IDAPA 34.05.06.302.01 “Individual Name Fields.” Subsection 302.01 applies, however, no 
indicator is used to distinguish the name as that of an individual. (4-7-11)

09. IDAPA 34.05.06.302.05 “No Assumed Business Names.” Subsection 302.05 does not apply to 
Farm Products Financing Statements. However, if an assumed business name is used as the debtor name, the required 
information shall be as indicated in Subsection 020.02 of these rules. (4-7-11)

10. IDAPA 34.05.06.303.01 “Single Field.” Subsection 303.01 applies, however, no indicator is used 
to distinguish the name as that of an organization. (4-7-11)

11. IDAPA 34.05.06.303.03 “No Assumed Business Name.” Subsection 303.03 does not apply to 
Farm Products Financing Statements. However, if an assumed business name is used as the debtor name, the required 
information shall be as indicated in Subsection 020.02 of these rules. (4-7-11)

12. IDAPA 34.05.06.306.02 “Status of Debtor.” Subsection 306.02 does not apply to Farm Products 
Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

13. IDAPA 34.05.06.306.03 “Status of Financing Statement.” Subsection 306.03 does not apply to 
Farm Products Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

14. IDAPA 34.05.06.310 “Termination.” Section 310 does not apply to Farm Products Financing 
Statements. (4-7-11)

15. IDAPA 34.05.06.312 “Procedure Upon Lapse.” Section 312 only applies to Farm Products 
Financing Statements in that a Farm Products Financing Statement lapses on its lapse date. Upon lapse of a Farm 
Products Financing Statement, the information management system shall cause the Farm Products Financing 
Statement to no longer be made available to the searcher. (4-7-11)

16. IDAPA 34.05.06.407 “Data Entry of Names - Designated Fields.” Section 407 applies to Farm 
Products Financing Statements, however, the filer is not required to designate whether a name is an individual or an 
organization. (4-7-11)

17. IDAPA 34.05.06.408 “Data Entry of Names - No Designated Fields.” Section 408 does not 
apply to Farm Products Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

18. IDAPA 34.05.06.410.02 “Name and Address of Each Debtor.” Subsection 410.02 applies to 
Farm Products Financing Statements, however, each debtor name is removed from the searchable index upon lapse or 
termination. (4-7-11)

19. IDAPA 34.05.06.411.03 “Amendment Financing Statement Lapses.” Subsection 411.03 applies 
to Farm Products Financing Statements, however, each debtor name is removed from the searchable index upon lapse 
or termination. (4-7-11)

20. IDAPA 34.05.06.413 through IDAPA 34.05.06.504. Sections 413 through 504 do not apply to 
Farm Products Financing Statements. (4-7-11)

103. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. COLLATERAL INFORMATION CODES.
Section 200 Page 153  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 34.05.01
Secretary of State Farm Products Central Filing System
Codes are used to describe farm product collateral on the Farm Products Financing Statements and amendments, on 
the master list maintained by the SOS, and on the PMLs distributed to registered buyers, commission merchants, and 
selling agents. Assignment of farm product codes and PML Groupings, county codes, and farm product unit codes 
shall be done by the SOS. The SOS will provide a list of the established codes upon request. (3-29-12)

01. PML Groupings and Farm Product Codes. The table of PML Groupings, farm products, and 
their codes is as follows:

PML No. PML Grouping FP Code  FP Name

01 Wheat and Buckwheat 010 Wheat

011 Buckwheat

02 Feed and Oil Grains 020 Barley

021 Rye (including Triticale)

022 Oats

023 Sorghum Grain

024 Flaxseed

025 Safflower

026 Rape (including Canola)

027 Field Corn

028 Millet

03 Hay 030 Hay

04 Ensilage 040 Ensilage

05 Potatoes 050 Potatoes

06 Sugar Beets 060 Sugar Beets

07 Dry Beans 070 Dry Beans

08 Dry Peas, Lentils and Garbanzos 080 Dry Peas

081  Lentils

082 Garbanzos (Chick Peas)

09 Sweet Corn 090 Sweet Corn
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10 Onions and Garlic 100 Onions

101 Onion Seed

102 Garlic

11 Mint 110 Mint

12 Hops 120 Hops

13 Popcorn & Sunflower Seeds 130 Popcorn

131  Sunflower Seeds

14 Soybeans 140 Soybeans

15 Rice 150 Rice

16 Seeds 160 Grass for Seed

161 Alfalfa for Seed

162 Other Hay Legumes for Seed

163 Garden Vegetables and Flower Seeds

164 Seed Potatoes

165 Row Crops for Seed

17 Vegetables & Melons 170 Green Peas

171 Tomatoes

172 Lettuce

173 Cucumbers

174 Broccoli

175 Cauliflower

176 Lima Beans

177 Green Beans

178 Melons

179 Carrots

180 Turnips

181 Asparagus

PML No. PML Grouping FP Code  FP Name
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182 Spinach and Collards

183 Pumpkins and Squash

184 Radishes

185 Peppers

186 Herbs

19 Fruits 190 Apples

191 Apricots

192 Cherries

193 Nectarines

194 Peaches

195 Pears

196 Plums

20 Berries 200  Strawberries

201 Raspberries

21 Nursery Products 210  Sod

211  Nursery Stock (Trees and Shrubs)

212 Christmas Trees

213 Flowers and Potted Plants

22 Mushrooms 220  Mushrooms

23 Grapes 230 Grapes

50 Beef Animals 500 Beef Cattle and Calves

501 Beefalo

502 Bison

51 Sheep, Wool 510 Sheep and Lambs Goats and Llamas

511 Wool

512 Goats

513 Llamas

PML No. PML Grouping FP Code  FP Name
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52 Hogs 520 Hogs

53 Dairy 530 Dairy Cattle

531 Milk

54 Equines 540 Horses

541 Mules

542 Donkeys and Burros

55 Chickens and Eggs 550 Chickens

551 Eggs

56 Other Fowl 560 Turkeys

561 Ducks

562 Geese

563 Game Birds

564 Ostriches, Emus, and Rheas

57 Mink, Rabbits and Fox 570 Mink and Pelts

571 Rabbits

572 Fox and Pelts

58 Apiary Products 580 Bees

581 Honey

582 Bees Wax

59 Fish and Other Aquaculture 590 Fish and Other Aquaculture

60 Big Game Animals (Deer and Elk) 600 Big Game Animals (Deer and Elk)

61 Worms 610 Worms

62 Semen 620 Cattle Semen

PML No. PML Grouping FP Code  FP Name
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(3-29-12)

02. County Codes. The table of county codes is as follows. Unless otherwise indicated, counties are in 
Idaho.

(3-24-16)

03. Unit Codes. The table for codes for units used to indicate the amount of a FP covered is as follows:

(3-29-12)

201. REGISTRATION OF BUYERS, COMMISSION MERCHANTS, AND SELLING AGENTS -- 
SUBSCRIPTION TO A PML.

01. Form. Registration of buyers, commission merchants, and selling agents must be on SOS form 
“UCC-5F.” (4-7-11)

02. Right to Subscribe - Number. Registration entitles the registrant to subscribe for PMLs. Each 

621 Horse Semen

00 All Idaho Counties

01 Ada 16 Cassia 31 Lewis 46 Garfield, Wa.

02 Adams 17 Clark 32 Lincoln 47 Pend Orielle, Wa.

03 Bannock 18 Clearwater 33 Madison 48 Spokane, Wa.

04 Bear Lake 19 Custer 34 Minidoka 49 Whitman, Wa.

05 Benewah 20 Elmore 35 Nez Perce 50 Malheur, Or.

06 Bingham 21 Franklin 36 Oneida 51 Elko, Nv.

07 Blaine 22 Fremont 37 Owyhee 52 Box Elder, Ut.

08 Boise 23 Gem 38 Payette 53 Cache, Ut.

09 Bonner 24 Gooding 39 Power 54 Rich, Ut.

10 Bonneville 25 Idaho 40 Shoshone 55 Lincoln, Wy.

11 Boundary 26 Jefferson 41 Teton 56 Teton, Wy

12 Butte 27 Jerome 42 Twin Falls 57 Beaverhead, Mt.

13 Camas 28 Kootenai 43 Valley 58 Lincoln, Mt

14 Canyon 29 Latah 44 Washington 59 Sanders, Mt.

15 Caribou 30 Lemhi 45 Asotin, Wa. 99 Not in Table

A - acres G - gallons T - tons

B - bushels H - head V - hives

C - hundred weight L - pounds W - lugs

E - cases N - bins X - boxes

F - flats S - sacks Z - stubs

PML No. PML Grouping FP Code  FP Name
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registrant will be assigned a permanent registration number by the SOS. (7-1-93)

03. Duration. Registration is effective for a period of one (1) year. Renewal of registration may be 
filed at any time after ninety (90) days prior to expiration of a current registration period. The registrant must indicate 
his registration number on the renewal registration form. (7-1-93)

04. Change of Name or Address. Notice of a registrant’s change of name or address must be made in 
writing to the SOS. (7-1-93)

05. Initial Subscription. Subscriptions for PMLs may be made at the time of registration or at any 
time during the period for which the registrant is registered, provided that no subscription for a PML will run beyond 
the calendar quarter in which the registration period expires. Subscriptions made at the time of registration must be 
made on the UCC-5F. (4-7-11)

06. Other Subscription. Subscriptions made other than at the time of registration must be made on 
SOS form “UCC-6F.”The registrant must indicate his registration number on the subscription form. (4-7-11)

07. Period of Subscription. A subscription for any PML may be annual or by calendar quarter or 
quarters, which quarter or quarters may be at a specified time in the future. (7-1-93)

08. Initial Distribution. If a subscription starts at any time other than the start of a calendar quarter, the 
registrant will receive the most recent complete compilation of the PML, and all distributions of PMLs for the 
remainder of the calendar quarter. (4-7-11)

09. Special Subscription. If the registrant subscribes for a PML for fewer than all counties or crop 
years, the registrant must indicate the county codes of the desired counties or the desired crop years, or both. If no 
county codes or crop years are indicated, the PML will cover all counties and crop years. (4-7-11)

10. Copy of Rules. At the time of registration, each registrant will be provided with a copy of these 
rules. (4-7-11)

202. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. FORM AND DISTRIBUTION OF A PML AND CS.

01. Content of List. Each PML includes data from all Farm Products Financing Statements which 
cover a particular PML Grouping. (4-7-11)

02. PML Publication Dates. Each PML is published in complete form on the first regularly scheduled 
bi-weekly publication date in each calendar quarter. A PML may at other times be published in complete form at the 
discretion of the SOS when that appears to be more economical than to publish a CS. (7-1-93)

03. Supplementation. At bi-weekly intervals following the publication of each PML, the SOS 
publishes a CS for each PML. The CS includes all additions, deletions and changes which have occurred since the 
publication of the last complete PML. Additions are in the same form and cross-indexed in the same way as items on 
the PML. Deletions and changes need only refer to the affected item in either the PML or the “addition” section of the 
CS, and state what action has been taken or what change has been made to that item. (7-1-93)

04. Cut-Off. In order to be included on a PML or CS, a Farm Products Financing Statement must be 
received by the SOS at least one (1) business day prior to publication. (4-7-11)

05. Schedule. At the beginning of each calendar quarter, the SOS distributes to each registrant a 
schedule of proposed publication dates for that calendar quarter. The SOS may, for good cause, deviate from the 
schedule, but every PML and CS will be clearly marked with the actual date of publication. In no case will there be 
more than eighteen (18) days between publications of PMLs and associated CSs. (4-7-11)

301. GENERATION OF AD HOC INFORMATION REPORTS.
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01. Options. Upon the request of any person, the SOS will provide a list organized or limited 
according to: (7-1-93)

a. An individual farm product or a PML Grouping; (4-7-11)

b. Alphabetical order by debtor name; (7-1-93)

c. By order of UIN; (4-7-11)

d. County; or (7-1-93)

e. Crop year. (7-1-93)

02. Internal Organization. When the request is for organization or limitation on the criteria specified 
in Paragraphs 301.01.a., 301.01.d., and 301.01.e., of these rules, the list will be organized alphabetically within each 
resulting group unless the request specifies otherwise. (4-7-11)

03. Additional Criteria. The request may specify additional criteria for further organization or 
limitation within the first grouping. (7-1-93)

302. REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION.
Requests for information on Farm Products Financing Statements will comply with IDAPA 34.05.03, “Rules 
Governing Requests For Information -- Form UCC-4 -- Fees.” (4-7-11)

303. FEES.

01. Farm Products Financing Statement. Farm Products Financing Statement and changes thereto 
(UCC-1F, UCC-2F and UCC-3F). (4-7-11)

a. The fee for filing either a UCC-1F or a UCC-3F is provided in IDAPA 34.05.06, “Administrative 
Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC - Farm Product Liens,” Section 606. (4-7-11)

b. There is no charge for filing a complete termination of a Farm Products Financing Statement.
(4-7-11)

02. Registration of Buyers, Commission Merchants, and Selling Agents. (4-7-11)

a. The fee for the annual registration of each buyer, commission merchant, or selling agent is thirty 
dollars ($30). (4-7-11)

b. The registration fee must be paid at the time of registration. (7-1-93)

c. There is no fee for filing notice of a registrant’s change of name or address. (7-1-93)

03. Subscription to PMLs by Buyers, Commission Merchants, and Selling Agents. (4-7-11)

a. The fee for subscribing to one (1) PML for one (1) year is:

(3-24-16)

b. New subscriptions purchased at any time after the beginning of a registration period will be 
prorated to the current or next fiscal quarter, such that the end of the new subscription coincides with the end of the 

Internet Download (DL) CD-ROM (CD) Paper
$30 $40 $200
Section 302 Page 160  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 34.05.01
Secretary of State Farm Products Central Filing System
customer's registration period. (3-24-16)

c. The subscription fee must be paid at the time the subscription is made. (4-7-11)

04. Ad Hoc Lists. (7-1-93)

a. The fee for generating an ad hoc list as provided in Section 301 of these rules, is thirty-five dollars 
($35) per hour for programming and analysis and eighty-five dollars ($85) per hour of computer time required to 
produce the list. In addition thereto, there is a fee of one dollar ($1) per printed page of the list so generated. (4-7-11)

b. The fee for the generation of the list must be paid prior to or upon receipt of the list. (7-1-93)

05. Fees for Requests for Information. The fees for requests for information on Farm Products 
Financing Statements, both written and verbal, and for copies of Farm Products Financing Statements reported on the 
certificate, are provided in IDAPA 34.05.03, “Rules Governing Requests For Information -- Form UCC-4 -- Fees.”

(4-7-11)

304. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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OR LIENS IN CROPS FOR FARM LABOR
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
In accordance with Sections 67-903(9), 45-313(3), and 45-316, Idaho Code, the Secretary of State has authority to 
promulgate administrative rules in order to execute the duties of the Office of the Secretary of State. (4-7-11)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 34.05.02, “Rules Governing Liens in Crops for Seed or 
Liens in Crops for Farm Labor,” IDAPA 34, Title 05, Chapter 02. (4-7-11)

02. Scope. These rules shall govern the requirements for the filing, amendment, or termination of liens 
in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor, as well as the creation and distribution of a master list of liens in 
crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor. (4-7-11)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
The definitions set forth in Section 45-302, Idaho Code, apply with full force and effect to all provisions and sections 
of these rules. Where terms used in this rule are not defined herein, definitions and usage of terms from the Legal 
Authority in Section 000 of these rules are applicable. (4-7-11)

01. Family. A group of related persons living together as one economic unit, comprised of parents and 
children, including step-children. (7-1-93)

02. Farm Laborer. Anyone who provides farm labor used in the production of crops. When a business 
entity contracts for and provides such labor, e.g., aerial spraying or custom harvesting, the entity and not its individual 
employees shall be deemed to be the farm laborer. When individuals provide such labor directly to a producer, each 
individual is a farm laborer, whether or not they have been organized as a work crew or are members of a family 
which works as a unit. (7-1-93)

03. Notice of Claim of Lien. A written notice on the public record of a claimant’s lien in the crops of a 
producer. (4-7-11)

04. SOS. Idaho Secretary of State. (4-7-11)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. REQUIREMENTS FOR NOTICE OF CLAIM OF LIEN.

01. Form. The form for a notice of claim of lien shall be designated “SL-1.” (4-7-11)

a. Form SL-1 must be completed in accordance with instructions provided by the SOS. (4-7-11)

b. Collateral information codes shall be used to indicate the crop and the county where the crop is 
grown. The collateral information codes shall be assigned by the SOS. The SOS will provide a list of the established 
codes upon request. (4-7-11)

02. Supplement. If there is insufficient space on the form SL-1 for all producer and claimant 
information, the excess will be entered on a supplement form designated “SL-2.” (7-1-93)

101. AMENDMENT, ASSIGNMENT, EXTENSION, AND RELEASE OF CLAIM OF LIEN.

01. Form. The form for amendment, assignment, extension, and release of claim of lien shall be 
designated “SL-3.” (4-7-11)

a. Form SL-3 must be completed in accordance with instructions provided by the SOS. (4-7-11)

b. Collateral information codes shall be used to indicate the crop and the county where the crop is 
grown. The collateral information codes shall be assigned by the SOS. The SOS will provide a list of the established 
codes upon request. (4-7-11)
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02. Supplement. If there is insufficient space on the first page of the form SL-3 for all information, the 
excess shall be entered on an attached second page SL-3. (7-1-93)

102. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. REGISTRATION AND SUBSCRIPTION FOR LIST OF LIENS IN CROPS FOR SEED OR LIENS 
IN CROPS FOR FARM LABOR.
Any person may register and subscribe for regular distribution of lists of all presently effective notices of claim of 
liens in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor which have been filed under this rule. Unless otherwise set forth 
in this chapter, the registration and subscription for the list of liens in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor 
shall be administered by the rules as set forth in IDAPA 34.05.01, “Rules Governing Farm Products Central Filing 
System,” Section 201. (4-7-11)

201. LIST OF NOTICES OF CLAIM OF LIEN (LIST).

01. Compilation and Distribution. The SOS shall compile and distribute to subscribers therefore, a 
list which shall include all presently effective notices of claim of liens in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm 
labor. (4-7-11)

02. Schedule. The list will be published on a bi-weekly schedule to be established by the SOS.
(4-7-11)

03. Cut-Off. In order to be included on a list, a notice of claim of lien must be received by the SOS at 
least one (1) business day prior to publication. (4-7-11)

04. Schedule. At the beginning of each quarter, the SOS will distribute to each registrant a schedule of 
proposed publication dates for that calendar quarter. The SOS may, for good cause, deviate from the schedule, but 
every list will be marked with the actual date of publication. In no case will there be more than eighteen (18) days 
between publications of lists. (4-7-11)

202. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. REQUEST FOR INFORMATION.
Requests for information on notices of claim of liens in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor, both written 
and verbal, will comply with IDAPA 34.05.03, “Rule Governing Requests For Information -- Form UCC-4 -- Fees.”

(4-7-11)

301. FEES.

01. Notice of Claim of Lien. (4-7-11)

a. The fee is four dollars ($4) if the form is typed or machine printed, and is eight dollars ($8) if hand 
written. (4-7-11)

b. The fee shall be paid at the time of filing. (7-1-93)

02. Notice of Amendment, Assignment, or Extension. (4-7-11)

a. The fee is four dollars ($4) if the form is typed or machine printed, and is eight dollars ($8) if hand 
written. (4-7-11)

b. The fee shall be paid at the time of filing. (7-1-93)

03. Notice of Release. No fee charged. (7-1-93)

04. Registration and Subscription for List of Notices. The fees for registration and subscription shall 
be as set forth in IDAPA 34.05.01, “Rules Governing Farm Products Central Filing System,” Subsections 303.02 and 
303.03. (4-7-11)
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05. Fees for Requests for Information. The fees for requests for information on notices of claim of 
liens in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor, both written and verbal, and for copies of notices of claim of 
liens in crops for seed or liens in crops for farm labor reported on the certificate, are provided in IDAPA 34.05.03, 
“Rules Governing Requests For Information -- Form UCC-4 -- Fees.” (4-7-11)

302. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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000. LEGAL AUTHORITY AND REFERENCES.

01. Title 28, Chapter 9, Part 4, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

02. Title 45, Chapters 2 and 3, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

03. Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

04. IDAPA 34, Title 05, Chapter 01, “Farm Products Central Filing System.” (7-1-93)

05. IDAPA 34, Title 05, Chapter 02, “Liens in Crops, For Seed and Farm Labor.” (7-1-93)

001. -- 003. (RESERVED)

004. DEFINITIONS.

01. SOS. Secretary of State. (7-1-93)

02. EFS. An effective financing statement relating to farm products, as described in IDAPA 34.05.01, 
“Rules Governing Farm Products Central Filing System, Office of the Secretary of State.” (7-1-93)

03. Notice of Lien in Crops. A notice of claim of lien in crops for seed or farm labor, as described in 
IDAPA 34.05.02, “Rules Governing Liens in Crops, For Seed, and Farm Labor,” Office of the Secretary of State.

(7-1-93)

04. Notice of Federal Lien. A notice of lien in personal property filed by the Internal Revenue Service 
or other federal entity pursuant to Title 45, Chapter 2, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

05. UCCFS. A financing statement filed pursuant to Sections 28-9-402 and 28-9-403, Idaho Code, 
other than one relating to farm products. (7-1-93)

06. Notices. A collective term used in this rule to include all of the notices and financing statements 
described in the foregoing Subsections 004.02 through 004.05, as well as all ancillary documents pertaining thereto.

(7-1-93)

07. Debtor. As used in this rule, “Debtor” shall include a lienee under Title 45, Chapter 2, Idaho Code, 
and a producer under Title 45, Chapter 3, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

08. Secured Party. As used in this rule, “Secured Party” shall include the federal government under 
Title 45, Chapter 2, Idaho Code and a claimant under Title 45, Chapter 3, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

005. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION.

01. Content. Upon the request of any person, the SOS shall issue a certificate showing all notices of 
the types included in a request naming a particular debtor. The certificate shall include the date and hour of filing of 
each notice, and the name and address of each secured party named therein. If the requested notices include EFS’s or 
notices of liens in crops, the certificate shall further include other information described in IDAPA 34.05.01, 
Subsection 017.03, “Rules Governing Farm Products Central Filing System,” Office of the Secretary of State, and 
IDAPA 34.05.02, Subsection 015.04, “Rules Governing Liens in Crops, For Seed and Farm Labor,” Office of the 
Secretary of State, as applicable. (7-1-93)

02. Form. The SOS shall prescribe an approved form for such requests, designated “UCC-4.”Other 
forms may be used, provided they contain all the necessary information and provided that the fee for use of a non-
standard form is paid. After January 31, 1993, only the form UCC-4 with a revision date of 10/92 or later will be held 
to be a standard form. Prior to that date, previously approved forms UCC-4 and UCC-4F will be held to be standard 
forms for the purposes for which they were intended; e.g. a form UCC-4F may be used to request information on 
EFS’s, notices of liens in crops, or both; an old UCC-4 may be used to request information on UCCFS’s, and if noted 
on the UCC-4, on notices of federal liens. A verbally conveyed request will be treated as a non-standard form request. 

(7-1-93)
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012. VERBAL REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION.

01. SOS Responsibility. Upon the verbal request of any person, the SOS shall provide, within twenty-
four (24) hours, a verbal report of the filing of any notices naming a particular debtor. The SOS will include in the 
report as much of the information described in Section 011, supra., as the requesting party wants. (7-1-93)

02. Time Computation. In computing the twenty-four (24) hour period, weekends and holidays shall 
not be counted, pursuant to Section 59-1007, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

03. Attempts to Respond. If the verbal report is to be made telephonically and the requesting party 
cannot be reached at the stated telephone number within the twenty-four (24) hour period, the SOS shall attempt to 
reach the requesting party over an additional twenty-four (24) hour period. If at the end of that time the requesting 
party has not been reached, the SOS shall be deemed to have fulfilled his obligation to make a timely verbal report. A 
log of each attempted call shall be maintained by the SOS. At least three (3) attempts to reach the requesting party 
shall be made in each twenty-four (24) hour period, if the requesting party cannot be reached earlier. (7-1-93)

04. Written Confirmation. The SOS shall follow the verbal report with written confirmation, which 
shall be in the form of a certificate in response to a non-standard information request as prescribed in Section 011, 
supra. (7-1-93)

013. FEES.

01. Single Type. The fee for the certificate of the SOS showing all notices of a single type is six dollars 
($6). (7-1-93)

02. Multiple Types. The fee for the certificate of the SOS showing all notices of more than one (1) 
type is ten dollars ($10). (7-1-93)

03. Copies. The fee for requesting copies of the notices reported on the certificate is six dollars ($6).
(7-1-93)

04. Non-Standard. The fee for use of a non-standard form or for submission of a form which is not 
typed is four dollars ($4). (7-1-93)

05. Verbal Report. The fee for providing a verbal report of notices naming a particular debtor is ten 
dollars ($10). (7-1-93)

06. Single Copies. The fee for a copy of any notice, when the requesting party provides the document 
number to the SOS, is one dollar ($1) per page. (7-1-93)

07. Service Suspension. Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, cash payment in advance 
will be required from a requesting party against whom the SOS holds an account receivable more than sixty (60) days 
past due or which exceeds one hundred dollars ($100). (7-1-93)

014. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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000. LEGAL AUTHORITY AND REFERENCES.
In accordance with Sections 67-903(9) (1977) and 28-9-526 (2001), Idaho Code, the Secretary of State has authority 
to promulgate administrative rules in order to execute the duties of the Office; this authority includes rules to 
implement Revised Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, House Bill 205 (2001). (3-15-02)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 34.05.06, “Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the 
UCC,” IDAPA 34, Title 05, Chapter 06. (3-15-02)

02. Scope. These rules shall govern the filing, acceptance, indexing and searching of financing 
statements in the Secretary of State’s Office under Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as amended in 2001.

(3-15-02)

002. -- 100. (RESERVED)

SECTION 1 -- GENERAL PROVISIONS

101. DEFINITIONS.
For the purpose of the rules contained in this chapter, the following definitions apply: (3-15-02)

01. Amendment. A UCC document that purports to amend the information contained in a financing 
statement. Amendments include assignments, continuations and terminations. (3-15-02)

02. Assignment. An amendment that purports to reflect an assignment of all or a part of a secured 
party’s power to authorize an amendment to a financing statement. (3-15-02)

03. Continuation. An amendment that purports to continue the effectiveness of a financing statement.
(3-15-02)

04. Correction Statement. A UCC document that purports to indicate that a financing statement is 
inaccurate or wrongfully filed. (3-15-02)

05. File Number. The unique identifying information assigned to an initial financing statement by the 
filing officer for the purpose of identifying the financing statement and UCC documents relating to the financing 
statement in the filing officer's information management system. For a financing statement with an initial financing 
statement filed on or prior to June 30, 2001, the file number includes the seven-digit (7) number assigned to the 
financing statement by the filing officer. For a financing statement with an initial financing statement filed on or after 
July 1,2001, the file number includes three (3) segments; the year of filing expressed as a four-digit (4) number, 
followed by a unique seven-digit (7) number assigned to the financing statement by the filing office and ending with 
a one-digit (1) verification number assigned by the filing office but algorithmically derived from the numbers in the 
first two (2) segments. The filing number bears no relation to the time of filing and is not an indicator of priority. 

(3-15-02)

06. Filing Office and Filing Officer. The Idaho Secretary of State’s Office. (3-15-02)

07. Financing Statement. An initial financing statement and all UCC documents that relate to the 
initial financing statement. (3-15-02)

08. Individual. A human being, or a decedent in the case of a debtor that is such decedent's estate.
(3-15-02)

09. Initial Financing Statement. A UCC document containing the information required to be in an 
initial financing statement pursuant to Section 2 of these rules which, when filed, causes the filing office to establish 
the initial record of the existence of a financing statement in the filing office's UCC information management system.

(3-15-02)

10. Organization. A legal person who is not an individual under Subsection 101.08. (3-15-02)

11. Remitter. A person who tenders a UCC document to the filing officer for filing, whether the person 
Section 000 Page 167  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 34.05.06
Secretary of State Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC
is a filer or an agent of a filer responsible for tendering the document for filing. “Remitter” does not include a person 
responsible merely for the delivery of the document to the filing office, such as the postal service or a courier service 
but does include a service provider who acts as a filer's representative in the filing process. (3-15-02)

12. Secured Party of Record. With respect to a financing statement, a secured party or representative 
of a secured party named on the initial financing statement or, if an assignee is designated on the initial financing 
statement, instead shall mean the secured party or representative named as such assignee, and shall mean each other 
secured party or secured party representative named as an additional or substitute secured party on any amendment. 
Revised Article 9 provides that a person remains a secured party of record until the authorized filing of an amendment 
indicating that the person is no longer a secured party or secured party representative. However, as the filing officer 
cannot determine if such an amendment is in fact authorized, a secured party of record on a financing statement is not 
deleted from the filing officer’s information management system until the financing statement lapses. (3-15-02)

13. Termination. An amendment intended to indicate that the related financing statement has ceased to 
be effective with respect to the secured party authorizing the termination. (3-15-02)

14. UCC. The Uniform Commercial Code as enacted in this state, Section 28-11-101, et seq., Idaho 
Code. (3-15-02)

15. UCC Document. An initial financing statement, a correction statement or any amendment, 
including an assignment, a continuation, or a termination. The word “document” in the term “UCC document” shall 
not be deemed to refer exclusively to paper or paper-based writings. In due time, UCC documents may be expressed 
or transmitted electronically or through media other than such writings. (Note: this definition is used for the purpose 
of these rules only. The use of the term “UCC document” in these rules has no relation to the definition of the term 
“document” in Section 28-9-102(a)(30), Idaho Code.) (3-15-02)

102. SINGULAR AND PLURAL FORMS.
Singular nouns shall include the plural form, and plural nouns shall include the singular form, unless the context 
otherwise requires. (3-15-02)

103. PLACE OF FILING.
The Secretary of State’s Office is the filing office for filing UCC documents relating to all types of collateral except 
for timber to be cut, as-extracted collateral (Section 28-9-102(a)(6), Idaho Code) and, when the relevant financing 
statement is filed as a fixture filing, goods which are or are to become fixtures. (3-15-02)

104. FILING OFFICE IDENTIFICATION.
In addition to the promulgation of these rules, the filing office will disseminate information of its location, mailing 
address, telephone and facsimile numbers, and its internet and other electronic “addresses” through usual and 
customary means. (3-15-02)

105. OFFICE HOURS.
Although the filing office maintains regular office hours, it receives transmissions by facsimile twenty-four (24) 
hours per day, three hundred sixty-five (365) days per year, except for scheduled maintenance and unscheduled 
interruptions of service. Electronic filings may be available in the near future, and will be possible twenty-four (24) 
hours per day, three hundred sixty-five (365) days per year, except for scheduled maintenance and unscheduled 
interruptions of service. (3-15-02)

106. UCC DOCUMENT DELIVERY.
UCC documents may be tendered for filing at the filing office as follows: (3-15-02)

01. Personal Delivery, at the Filing Office’s Street Address. The file time for a UCC document 
delivered by this method is when delivery of the UCC document is accepted by the filing office (even though the 
UCC document may not yet have been accepted for filing and subsequently may be rejected). (3-15-02)

02. Courier Delivery, at the Filing Office’s Street Address. The file time for a UCC document 
delivered by this method is, notwithstanding the time of delivery, the next close of business following the time of 
delivery (even though the UCC document may not yet have been accepted for filing and may be subsequently 
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rejected). A UCC document delivered after regular business hours or on a day the filing office is not open for 
business will have a filing time of the close of business on the next day the filing office is open for business.

(3-15-02)

03. Postal Service Delivery to the Filing Office’s Mailing Address. The file time for a UCC 
document delivered by this method is the next close of business following the time of delivery (even though the UCC 
document may not yet have been accepted for filing and may be subsequently rejected). A UCC document delivered 
after regular business hours or on a day the filing office is not open for business will have a filing time of the close of 
business on the next day the filing office is open for business. (3-15-02)

04. Facsimile Delivery to the Filing Office’s Facsimile Filing Telephone Number. The file time for 
a UCC document delivered by this method is, notwithstanding the time of delivery, 5 p.m. on the day the filing office 
is open to the public next following the time of delivery (even though the UCC document may not yet have been 
accepted for filing and may be subsequently rejected). A UCC document delivered after regular business hours or on 
a day the filing office is not open for business will have a filing time of the close of business on the next day the filing 
office is open for business. (3-15-02)

107. SEARCH REQUEST DELIVERY.
UCC search requests may be delivered to the filing office by any of the means by which UCC documents may be 
delivered to the filing office. Requirements concerning search requests are set forth in Section 501. UCC search 
requests upon a debtor named on an initial financing statement may be made by an appropriate indication on the face 
of the initial financing statement form if the form is entitled to be filed with the standard form fee and the relevant 
search fee is also tendered with the initial financing statement (3-15-02)

108. ACCEPTABLE FORMS.
The forms set forth in Section 28-9-521, Idaho Code, shall be accepted by the filing office. Forms approved by the 
International Association of Corporation Administrators on or prior to July 1, 2001, and forms approved by the filing 
office shall be accepted. (3-15-02)

109. -- 110. (RESERVED)

111. FILING FEES.
Section 28-9-525, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

01. Filing Fee. The fee for filing and indexing a UCC document of one (1) or two (2) pages 
communicated on paper or in a paper-based format (including facsimiles) is six dollars $(6). If there are additional 
pages, the fee is twelve dollars ($12). When available, the fee for filing and indexing a UCC document communicated 
by a medium authorized by these rules which is other than on paper or in a paper-based format shall be three dollars 
($3). (3-15-02)

02. UCC Search Fee. The fee for a UCC search request communicated on paper or in a paper-based 
format is twelve dollars ($12). (3-15-02)

112. (RESERVED)

113. METHODS OF PAYMENT.
Filing fees and fees for public records services may be paid by the following methods: (3-15-02)

01. Cash. Payment in cash shall be accepted if paid in person at the filing office. (3-15-02)

02. Checks. Personal checks, business checks, bank-certified checks or cashiers checks and money 
orders shall be accepted for payment if they are drawn on a bank acceptable to the filing office or if the drawer is 
acceptable to the filing office. (3-15-02)

03. Prepaid Account. A remitter may open an account for prepayment of filing fees by submitting an 
application furnished by the filing officer. Fees may be prepaid in amounts not less than fifty dollars ($50). The filing 
officer shall issue an account number to be used by a remitter who chooses to pay filing fees in advance. The filing 
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officer shall deduct filing fees from the remitter's prepaid account when authorized to do so by the remitter. (3-15-02)

114. OVERPAYMENT AND UNDERPAYMENT POLICIES.

01. Overpayment. The filing officer shall refund the amount of an overpayment exceeding two dollars 
($2) to the remitter. The filing officer shall refund an overpayment of two dollars ($2) or less only upon the written 
request of the remitter. (3-15-02)

02. Underpayment. Upon receipt of a document with an insufficient fee, the filing officer shall do one 
(1) of the following. (3-15-02)

a. A notice of the deficiency shall be sent to the remitter and the document shall be held for a period 
of ten (10) days from the date of the notice, in anticipation of receipt of the fee. Upon receipt of the fee, the document 
will be filed as of the time and date of receipt of the full filing fee. If the fee has not been received within ten (10) 
days of the date of the notice, the document shall be returned to the remitter with a written explanation for the refusal 
to accept the document; or (3-15-02)

b. The document shall be returned to the remitter as provided in Section 205. A refund of a partial 
payment may be included with the document or delivered under separate cover. (3-15-02)

115. PUBLIC RECORDS SERVICES.
Public records services are provided on a non-discriminatory basis to any member of the public on the terms 
described in these rules. The following methods are available for obtaining copies of UCC documents and copies of 
data from the UCC information management system. (3-15-02)

01. Individually Identified Documents. Copies of individually identified UCC documents are 
available either from a computer terminal in the reception area in the filing office or through any medium otherwise 
accepted by the filing office. There is a charge of twenty-five cents ($.25) per page for printed information, but only 
if four (4) or more pages are printed. (3-15-02)

02. Bulk Copies of Documents. Bulk copies of UCC documents are available in TIF (image) format 
on CD-ROM. (3-15-02)

03. Data from the Information Management System. A list of available data elements from the UCC 
information management system, and the file layout of the data elements, are available from the filing officer upon 
request. Data from the information management system is available as follows: (3-15-02)

a. Full Extract. A bulk data extract of information from the UCC information management system is 
available on a monthly basis. (3-15-02)

b. Format. Extracts from the UCC information management system are available in ASCII .txt format 
on CD-ROM. (3-15-02)

04. Direct On-Line Services. On-line services providing UCC information are available on a 
subscription basis from the State’s Internet Portal Manager, Idaho Information Consortium, Inc., d/b/a Access Idaho. 
A description of subscription services is available from the filing officer or Access Idaho. (3-15-02)

116. FEES FOR PUBLIC RECORDS SERVICES.
Fees for public records services are established as follows: (3-15-02)

01. Charge for Paper Copies. The charge for paper copies of individual documents is twenty-five 
cents ($.25) per page if no staff assistance is utilized and one dollar ($1) per page with staff assistance. Facsimile 
charge is an additional fifty cents ($.50) per page. (3-15-02)

02. Data From the Information Management System. The charge for a full extract is one hundred 
twenty-five dollars ($125) per monthly delivery. (3-15-02)
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117. NEW PRACTICES AND TECHNOLOGIES.
The filing officer may adopt practices and procedures to accomplish receipt, processing, maintenance, retrieval and 
transmission of, and remote access to, Article 9 filing data by means of electronic, voice, optical and/or other 
technologies, and, without limiting the foregoing, to maintain and operate, in addition to or in lieu of a paper-based 
system, a non-paper-based Article 9 filing system utilizing any of such technologies. In developing and utilizing 
technologies and practices, the filing officer shall, to the greatest extent feasible, take into account compatibility and 
consistency with technologies, practices, policies and regulations adopted in connection with Article 9 filing systems 
in other states. (3-15-02)

118. -- 199. (RESERVED)

SECTION 2 -- ACCEPTANCE AND REFUSAL OF DOCUMENTS

200. ROLE OF FILING OFFICER.

01. Duties and Responsibilities. The duties and responsibilities of the filing officer with respect to the 
administration of the UCC are ministerial. (3-15-02)

02. What the Filing Officer Does Not Do. In accepting for filing or refusing to file a UCC document 
pursuant to these rules, the filing officer does not: (3-15-02)

a. Determine the legal sufficiency or insufficiency of a document. (3-15-02)

b. Determine that a security interest in collateral exists or does not exist. (3-15-02)

c. Determine that information in the document is correct or incorrect, in whole or in part. (3-15-02)

d. Create a presumption that information in the document is correct or incorrect, in whole or in part.
(3-15-02)

201. DUTY TO FILE.
Provided that there is no ground to refuse acceptance of the document under Section 202, a UCC document is filed 
upon its receipt by the filing officer with the filing fee and the filing officer shall promptly assign a file number to the 
UCC document and index it in the information management system. (3-15-02)

202. GROUNDS FOR REFUSAL OF UCC DOCUMENT.
The following grounds are the sole grounds for the filing officer's refusal to accept a UCC document for filing. As 
used herein, the term “legible” is not limited to refer only to written expressions on paper: it requires, when 
appropriate, a machine-readable transmission for electronic transmissions and an otherwise readily decipherable 
transmission in other cases. (3-15-02)

01. Debtor Name and Address. An initial financing statement or an amendment that purports to add a 
debtor shall be refused if the document fails to include a legible debtor name and address for a debtor, in the case of 
an initial financing statement, or for the debtor purporting to be added in the case of such an amendment. If the 
document contains more than one debtor name or address and some names or addresses are missing or illegible, the 
filing officer shall index the legible name and address pairings, and provide a notice to the remitter containing the file 
number of the document, identification of the debtor name(s) that was (were) indexed, and a statement that debtors 
with illegible or missing names or addresses were not indexed. (3-15-02)

02. Additional Debtor Identification. An initial financing statement or an amendment adding one or 
more debtors shall be refused if the document fails to identify whether each named debtor (or each added debtor in 
the case of such an amendment) is an individual or an organization, if the last name of each individual debtor is not 
identified, or if, for each debtor identified as an organization, the document does not include in legible form the 
organization’s type, state of organization and organization number (or a statement that it does not have an 
organization number). UCC documents, including the UCC1 and UCC3, should not contain Social Security Account 
Numbers or other Taxpayer identification numbers although there are spaces for this information on the approved 
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UCC1 and UCC3 form. If these numbers are entered on the forms, the filing officer shall cause them not to be 
readable on the scanned image retained by the filing office. (3-15-02)

03. Secured Party Name and Address. An initial financing statement, an amendment purporting to 
add a secured party of record, or an assignment, shall be refused if the document fails to include a legible secured 
party (or assignee in the case of an assignment) name and address. If the document contains more than one secured 
party (or assignee) name or address and some names or addresses are missing or illegible, the filing officer shall 
index the legible name and address pairings, and provide a notice to the remitter containing the file number of the 
document, identification of the secured party (or assignee) names that were indexed, and a statement that secured 
parties with illegible or missing names or addresses were not indexed. (3-15-02)

04. Lack of Identification of Initial Financing Statement. A UCC document other than an initial 
financing statement shall be refused if the document does not provide a file number of a financing statement which 
exists in the UCC information management system and which has not lapsed. (3-15-02)

05. Other Required Information. A UCC document that does not identify itself as an initial financing 
statement or as another type of UCC document shall be refused. (3-15-02)

06. Timeliness of Continuation. A continuation shall be refused if it is not received during the six (6) 
month period concluding on the day upon which the related financing statement would lapse. (3-15-02)

a. First Day Permitted. The first day on which a continuation may be filed is the date of the month 
corresponding to the date upon which the financing statement would lapse, six (6) months preceding the month in 
which the financing statement would lapse. If there is no such corresponding date during the sixth month preceding 
the month in which the financing statement would lapse, the first day on which a continuation may be filed is the last 
day of the sixth month preceding the month in which the financing statement would lapse, although filing by certain 
means may not be possible on such date if the filing office is not open on such date. (3-15-02)

b. Last Day Permitted. The last day on which a continuation may be filed is the date upon which the 
financing statement lapses. (3-15-02)

07. Fee. A document shall be refused if the document is accompanied by less than the full filing fee 
tendered by a method described in Section 113. (3-15-02)

08. Means of Communication. UCC documents communicated to the filing office by a means of 
communication not authorized by the filing officer for the communication of UCC documents shall be refused.

(3-15-02)

203. (RESERVED)

204. TIME LIMIT.
The filing officer shall determine whether criteria exist to refuse acceptance of a UCC document for filing not later 
than the second business day after the date the document would have been filed had it been accepted for filing and 
shall index a UCC document not so refused within the same time period. (3-15-02)

205. PROCEDURE UPON REFUSAL.
If the filing officer finds any basis under Section 202 to refuse acceptance of a UCC document, the filing officer shall 
return the document, if written, to the remitter and refund the filing fee. The filing office shall send a notice that 
contains the date and time the document would have been filed had it been accepted for filing (unless such date and 
time are stamped on the document), and a brief description of the reason(s) for refusal to accept the document under 
Section 202. The notice shall be sent to a secured party or the remitter as provided in Subsection 401.02.b. no later 
than the second business day after of the determination to refuse acceptance of the document. A refund may be 
delivered with the notice or under separate cover. (3-15-02)

206. ACKNOWLEDGMENT.

01. When Filing Is a Paper or Paper-Based UCC Document. At the request of a filer or remitter 
Section 204 Page 172  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 34.05.06
Secretary of State Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC
who files a paper or paper-based UCC document, the filing officer shall either: (3-15-02)

a. Send to said filer or remitter an image of the record of the UCC document showing the file number 
assigned to it and the date and time of filing; or (3-15-02)

b. If such filer or remitter provides a copy of such UCC document, note the file number and the date 
and time of filing on the copy and deliver or send it to said filer or remitter. (3-15-02)

02. When Filing Is Not a Paper or Paper-Based UCC Document. When appropriate for UCC 
documents not filed in paper or paper-based form, the filing officer shall communicate to the filer or remitter the 
information in the filed document, the file number and the date and time of filing. (3-15-02)

207. OTHER NOTICES.
Nothing in these rules prevents a filing officer from communicating to a filer or a remitter that the filing officer 
noticed apparent potential defects in a UCC document, whether or not it was filed or refused for filing. However, the 
filing office is under no obligation to do so and may not have the resources to do so. THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR 
THE LEGAL EFFECTIVENESS OF FILING RESTS WITH FILERS AND REMITTERS AND THE FILING 
OFFICE BEARS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR SUCH EFFECTIVENESS. (3-15-02)

208. REFUSAL ERRORS.
If a secured party or a remitter demonstrates to the satisfaction of the filing officer that a UCC document that was 
refused for filing should not have been, the filing officer will file the UCC document as provided in these rules with a 
filing date and time assigned when such filing occurs. The filing officer will also file a filing officer statement that 
states the effective date and time of filing which shall be the date and time the UCC document was originally tendered 
for filing. The lapse date shall be calculated based upon the date the UCC document was originally tendered.

(3-15-02)

209. -- 299. (RESERVED)

SECTION 3 -- UCC INFORMATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

300. POLICY STATEMENT.
The filing officer uses an information management system to store, index, and retrieve information relating to 
financing statements. The information management system includes an index of the names of debtors named on 
financing statements which have not been lapsed for more than one (1) year. (3-15-02)

301. PRIMARY DATA ELEMENTS.
The primary data elements used in the UCC information management system are the following: (3-15-02)

01. Identification Numbers. (3-15-02)

a. Each initial financing statement is identified by its file number as described in Subsection 101.05. 
Identification in the form of the file number of the initial financing statement is stamped on written UCC documents 
or is otherwise permanently associated with the record maintained for UCC documents in the UCC information 
management system. A record is created in the information management system for each initial financing statement 
and all information comprising such record is maintained in such system. Such record is identified by the same 
information assigned to the initial financing statement. (3-15-02)

b. A UCC document other than an initial financing statement is identified by a unique file number 
assigned by the filing officer. In the information management system, records of all UCC documents other than initial 
financing statements are linked to the record of their related initial financing statement. (3-15-02)

02. Type of Document. The type of UCC document from which data is transferred is identified in the 
information management system from information supplied by the remitter. (3-15-02)

03. Filing Date and Filing Time. The filing date and filing time of UCC documents are stored in the 
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information management system. Calculation of the lapse date of an initial financing statement is based upon the 
filing date or the effective filing date as provided in Section 208 of these rules. (3-15-02)

04. Identification of Parties. The names and addresses of debtors and secured parties are transferred 
from UCC documents to the UCC information management system using one (1) or more data entry or transmittal 
techniques. (3-15-02)

05. Status of Financing Statement. In the information management system, each financing statement 
has a status of active or inactive. (3-15-02)

06. Lapse Indicator. An indicator is maintained by which the information management system 
identifies whether or not a financing statement will lapse and, if it does, when it will lapse. The lapse date is 
determined as provided in Section 404. (3-15-02)

302. NAMES OF DEBTORS WHO ARE INDIVIDUALS.
The definition of “individual” is found in Subsection 101.08. This rule applies to the name on a UCC document of a 
debtor or a secured party who is an individual. (3-15-02)

01. Individual Name Fields. The names of individuals are stored in the same files as the names of 
organizations. Separate data entry fields are established for first (given), middle (given), and last names (surnames or 
family names) of individuals, and an indicator is marked with “I” to distinguish the name as that of an individual. The 
filing officer assumes no responsibility for the accurate designation of the components of a name but will accurately 
enter the data in accordance with the filer's designations. (3-15-02)

02. Titles and Prefixes Before Names. Titles and prefixes, such as “Doctor,” “Reverend,” “Mr.,” and 
“Ms.,” should not be entered in the UCC information management system. However, as provided in Section 407, 
when a UCC document is submitted with designated name fields, the data will be entered in the UCC information 
management system exactly as it appears. (3-15-02)

03. Titles and Suffixes After Names. Titles or indications of status such as “M.D.” and “esquire” shall 
not be entered in the UCC information management system. Suffixes, such as “Sr.,” “Jr.,” “I,” “II,” and “III,” and 
“Est” (estate) are entered in a field designated for name suffixes. (3-15-02)

04. Truncation -- Individual Names. Personal name fields in the UCC database are fixed in length. 
Although filers should continue to provide full names on their UCC documents, a name that exceeds the fixed length 
is entered as presented to the filing officer, up to the maximum length of the data entry field. The length of data entry 
name fields are as follows. (3-15-02)

a. First name: Fifty (50) characters. (3-15-02)

b. Middle name: Fifty (50) characters. (3-15-02)

c. Last name: Two hundred fifty-five (255) characters. (3-15-02)

d. Suffix: Ten (10) characters. (3-15-02)

05. No Assumed Business Names. An assumed business name, whether or not on file under Chapter 5, 
Title 53, Idaho Code, is not the legal name of the individual using the assumed business name. (3-15-02)

303. NAMES OF DEBTORS THAT ARE ORGANIZATIONS.
This rule applies to the names of organizations which are debtors or secured parties on a UCC document. (3-15-02)

01. Single Field. The names of organizations are stored in the same files as the names of individuals. 
The name of an organization is stored in the last-name field only, and an indicator is marked with “O” to distinguish 
the name as that of an organization. The filing officer assumes no responsibility for the accurate designation of an 
organizational name but will accurately enter the data in accordance with the filer's designations. (3-15-02)
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02. Truncation-Organization Names. The organization name field in the UCC database is fixed in 
length. The maximum length is two hundred fifty-five (255) characters. Although filers should continue to provide 
full names on their UCC documents, a name that exceeds the fixed length is entered as presented to the filing officer, 
up to the maximum length of the data entry field. (3-15-02)

03. No Assumed Business Names. An assumed business name, whether or not on file under Chapter 5, 
Title 53, Idaho Code, is not the legal name of the organization using the assumed business name. (3-15-02)

304. ESTATES.
Although they are not human beings, estates are treated as if the decedent were the debtor under Section 302. “Est” 
should be entered in the suffix field. (3-15-02)

305. TRUSTS.
If the trust is named in its organic document(s), its full legal name, as set forth in such document(s), is used. Such 
trusts are treated as organizations. If the trust is not so named, the name of the settlor is used. If a settlor is indicated 
to be an organization, the name is treated as an organization name. If the settlor is an individual, the name is treated as 
an individual name. A UCC document that uses a settlor's name should include other information provided by the 
filer to distinguish the debtor trust from other trusts having the same settlor and all financing statements filed against 
trusts or trustees acting with respect to property held in trust should indicate the nature of the debtor. If this is done in, 
or as part of, the name of the debtor, it will be entered as if it were a part of the name under Sections 407 and 408.

(3-15-02)

306. INITIAL FINANCING STATEMENT.
Upon the filing of an initial financing statement the status of the parties and the status of the financing statement shall 
be as follows: (3-15-02)

01. Status of Secured Party. Each secured party named on an initial financing statement shall be a 
secured party of record, except that if the UCC document names an assignee, the secured party/assignor shall not be a 
secured party of record and the secured party/assignee shall be a secured party of record. (3-15-02)

02. Status of Debtor. The status of a debtor named on the document shall be active and shall continue 
as active until one (1) year after the financing statement lapses. (3-15-02)

03. Status of Financing Statement. The status of the financing statement shall be active. A lapse date 
shall be calculated, five (5) years from the file date, unless the initial financing statement indicates that it is filed with 
respect to a public-financing transaction or a manufactured-home transaction, in which case the lapse date shall be 
thirty (30) years from the file date; or, if the initial financing statement indicates that it is filed against a transmitting 
utility, in which case there shall be no lapse date. A financing statement remains active until one (1) year after it 
lapses, or if it is indicated to be filed against a transmitting utility, until one (1) year after it is terminated with respect 
to all secured parties of record. (3-15-02)

307. AMENDMENT.
Upon the filing of an amendment the status of the parties and the status of the financing statement shall be as follows:

(3-15-02)

01. Status of Secured Party and Debtor. An amendment shall affect the status of its debtor(s) and 
secured party(ies) as follows: (3-15-02)

a. Collateral Amendment or Address Change. An amendment that amends only the collateral 
description or one (1) or more addresses has no effect upon the status of any debtor or secured party. If a statement of 
amendment is authorized by less than all of the secured parties (or, in the case of an amendment that adds collateral, 
less than all of the debtors), the statement affects only the interests of each authorizing secured party (or debtor).

(3-15-02)

b. Debtor Name Change. An amendment that changes a debtor's name has no effect on the status of 
any debtor or secured party, except that the related initial financing statement and all UCC documents that include an 
identification of such initial financing statement shall be cross-indexed in the UCC information management system 
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so that a search under either the debtor's old name or the debtor's new name will reveal such initial financing 
statement and such related UCC documents. Such a statement of amendment affects only the rights of its authorizing 
secured party(ies). (3-15-02)

c. Secured Party Name Change. An amendment that changes the name of a secured party has no effect 
on the status of any debtor or any secured party, but the new name is added to the index as if it were a new secured 
party of record. (3-15-02)

d. Addition of a Debtor. An amendment that adds a new debtor name has no effect upon the status of 
any party to the financing statement, except the new debtor name shall be added as a new debtor on the financing 
statement. The addition shall affect only the rights of the secured party(ies) authorizing the statement of amendment.

(3-15-02)

e. Addition of a Secured Party. An amendment that adds a new secured party shall not affect the status 
of any party to the financing statement, except that the new secured party name shall be added as a new secured party 
on the financing statement. (3-15-02)

f. Deletion of a Debtor. An amendment that deletes a debtor has no effect on the status of any party to 
the financing statement, even if the amendment purports to delete all debtors. (3-15-02)

g. Deletion of a Secured Party. An amendment that deletes a secured party of record has no effect on 
the status of any party to the financing statement, even if the amendment purports to delete all secured parties of 
record. (3-15-02)

02. Status of Financing Statement. An amendment shall have no effect upon the status of the 
financing statement, except that a continuation may extend the period of effectiveness of a financing statement.

(3-15-02)

308. ASSIGNMENT OF POWERS OF SECURED PARTY OF RECORD.

01. Status of the Parties. An assignment shall have no effect on the status of the parties to the 
financing statement, except that each assignee named in the assignment shall become a secured party of record.

(3-15-02)

02. Status of Financing Statement. An assignment shall have no effect upon the status of the 
financing statement. (3-15-02)

309. CONTINUATION.

01. Continuation of Lapse Date. Upon the timely filing of one (1) or more continuations by any 
secured party(ies) of record, the lapse date of the financing statement shall be postponed for five (5) years. (3-15-02)

02. Status of Parties. The filing of a continuation shall have no effect upon the status of any party to 
the financing statement. (3-15-02)

03. Status of Financing Statement. Upon the filing of a continuation statement, the status of the 
financing statement remains active. (3-15-02)

310. TERMINATION.

01. Status of Parties. The filing of a termination shall have no effect upon the status of any party to the 
financing statement. (3-15-02)

02. Status of Financing Statement. A termination shall have no effect upon the status of the financing 
statement and the financing statement shall remain active in the information management system until one (1) year 
after it lapses, unless the termination relates to a financing statement that indicates it is filed against a transmitting 
utility, in which case the financing statement will become inactive one (1) year after it is terminated with respect to all 
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secured parties of record. (3-15-02)

311. CORRECTION STATEMENT.

01. Status of Parties. The filing of a correction statement shall have no effect upon the status of any 
party to the financing statement. (3-15-02)

02. Status of Financing Statement. A correction statement shall have no effect upon the status of the 
financing statement. (3-15-02)

312. PROCEDURE UPON LAPSE.
If there is no timely filing of a continuation with respect to a financing statement, the financing statement lapses on its 
lapse date but no action is then taken by the filing office. On the first anniversary of such lapse date, the information 
management system renders or is caused to render the financing statement inactive and the financing statement will 
no longer be made available to a searcher unless inactive statements are requested by the searcher and the financing 
statement is still retrievable by the information management system. (3-15-02)

313. -- 399. (RESERVED)

SECTION 4 -- FILING AND DATA ENTRY PROCEDURES

400. POLICY STATEMENT.
This section contains rules describing the filing procedures of the filing officer upon and after receipt of a UCC 
document. It is the policy of the filing officer to file promptly a document that conforms to these rules. Except as 
provided in these rules, data is transferred from a UCC document to the information management system exactly as 
the data is set forth in the document. Personnel who create reports in response to search requests type search criteria 
exactly as set forth on the search request. No effort is made to detect or correct errors of any kind. (3-15-02)

401. DOCUMENT INDEXING AND OTHER PROCEDURES BEFORE ARCHIVING.

01. Cash Management. Transactions necessary to payment of the filing fee are performed. (3-15-02)

02. Document Review. The filing office determines whether a ground exists to refuse the document 
under Section 202. (3-15-02)

a. File Stamp. If there is no ground for refusal of the document, the document is stamped or deemed 
filed and a unique identification number and the filing date is stamped on the document or permanently associated 
with the record of the document maintained in the UCC information management system. The sequence of the 
identification number is not an indication of the order in which the document was received. (3-15-02)

b. Correspondence. If there is a ground for refusal of the document, notification of refusal to accept 
the document is prepared as provided in Section 205. If there is no ground for refusal of the document, an 
acknowledgment of filing is prepared as provided in Section 206. Acknowledgment of filing or notice of refusal of a 
UCC document is sent to the secured party (or the first secured party if there are more than one (1)) named on the 
UCC document or to the remitter if the remitter so requests by regular mail or by overnight courier if the remitter 
provides a prepaid waybill or access to the remitter's account with the courier. (3-15-02)

402. FILING DATE.
The filing date of a UCC document is the date the UCC document is received with the proper filing fee if the filing 
office is open to the public on that date; or, if the filing office is not so open to the public on that date, the filing date 
is the next date the filing office is so open, except that, in each case, UCC documents received after 5 p.m. shall be 
deemed received on the following day. The filing officer may perform any duty relating to the document on the filing 
date or on a date after the filing date. (3-15-02)

403. FILING TIME.
The filing time of a UCC document is determined as provided in Section 106. (3-15-02)
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404. LAPSE DATE AND TIME.
A lapse date is calculated for each initial financing statement (unless the debtor is indicated to be a transmitting 
utility). The lapse date is the same date of the same month as the filing date in the fifth year after the filing date or 
relevant subsequent fifth anniversary thereof if a timely continuation statement is filed, but if the initial financing 
statement indicates that it is filed with respect to a public-finance transaction or a manufactured-home transaction, the 
lapse date is the same date of the same month as the filing date in the thirtieth year after the filing date. The lapse 
takes effect at midnight at the end of the lapse date. The relevant anniversary for a February 29 filing date shall be 
March 1 in the fifth year following the year of the filing date. (3-15-02)

405. ERRORS OF THE FILING OFFICER.
The filing office may correct the errors of filing officer personnel in the UCC information management system at any 
time. If the correction is made after the filing officer has issued a certification date that includes the filing date of a 
corrected document, the filing officer shall file a filing officer statement in the UCC information management system 
identifying the record to which it relates, the date of the correction and explaining the nature of the corrective action 
taken. The notation shall be preserved as long as the record is preserved in the UCC information management system.

(3-15-02)

406. ERRORS OTHER THAN FILING OFFICE ERRORS.
An error by a filer is the responsibility of such filer. It can be corrected by filing an amendment or it can be disclosed 
by a correction statement. (3-15-02)

407. DATA ENTRY OF NAMES – DESIGNATED FIELDS.
A filing should designate whether a name is a name of an individual or an organization and, if an individual, also 
designate the first, middle and last names and any suffix. When this is done, Subsections 407.01 the through 407.03 
shall apply: (3-15-02)

01. Organization Names. Organization names are entered into the UCC information management 
system exactly as set forth in the UCC document, even if it appears that multiple names are set forth in the document 
or if it appears that the name of an individual has been included in the field designated for an organization name.

(3-15-02)

02. Individual Names. On a form that designates separate fields for first, middle, and last names and 
any suffix, the filing officer enters the names into the first, middle, and last name and suffix fields in the UCC 
information management system exactly as set forth on the form. (3-15-02)

03. Designated Fields Encouraged. The filing office encourages the use of forms that designate 
separate fields for individual and organization names and separate fields for first, middle, and last names and any 
suffix. Filers should be aware that the inclusion of a name in an incorrect field or the failure to transmit a name 
accurately to the filing office may cause a filing to be ineffective. (3-15-02)

408. DATA ENTRY OF NAMES -- NO DESIGNATED FIELDS.
A UCC document that is an initial financing statement or an amendment that adds a debtor to a financing statement 
and that fails to specify whether the debtor is an individual or an organization shall be refused by the filing office. If it 
is accepted for filing in error, the following rules in Subsections 408.01 through 408.04 shall apply: (3-15-02)

01. Identification of Organizations. A name is treated as an organization name if it contains words or 
abbreviations that indicate status such as the following and similar words or abbreviations in foreign languages: 
association, church, college, company, co., corp., corporation, inc., limited, ltd., club, foundation, fund, L.L.C., 
limited liability company, institute, society, union, syndicate, GmBH, S.A. de C.V., limited partnership, L.P., limited 
liability partnership, L.L.P., trust, business trust, co-op, cooperative and other designations established by statutes to 
indicate a statutory organization. In cases where organization or individual status is not designated by the filer and is 
not clear, the filing officer will use his own judgment. (3-15-02)

02. Identification of Individuals. A name is entered as the name of an individual and not the name of 
an organization when the name is followed by a title substantially similar to one (1) of the following titles, or the 
equivalent of one (1) of the following titles in a foreign language: proprietor, sole proprietor, proprietorship, sole 
proprietorship, partner, general partner, president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, M.D., O.D., D.D.S., attorney at 
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law, Esq., accountant, CPA. In such cases, the title is not entered. (3-15-02)

03. Individual and Organization Names on a Single Line. Where it is apparent that the name of an 
individual and the name of an entity are stated on a single line and not in a designated individual name field, the name 
of the individual and the name of the entity shall be entered as two (2) separate debtors, one (1) as an individual and 
one (1) as an entity. Additional filing fees for the amendment to add additional debtor name(s) may be required.

(3-15-02)

04. Individual Names. The failure to designate the last name of an individual debtor in an initial 
financing statement or an amendment adding such debtor to a financing statement should cause a filing to be refused. 
If the filing is accepted in error, or if only the last name is designated, the following data entry rules apply: (3-15-02)

a. Freestanding Initials. An initial in the first position of the name is treated as a first name. An initial 
in the second position of the name is treated as a middle name. (3-15-02)

b. Combined Initials and Names. An initial and a name to which the initial apparently corresponds is 
entered into one (1) name field only [e.g. “D. (David)” in the name “John D. (David) Rockefeller” is entered as 
“John” (first name); “D. (David)” (middle name); “Rockefeller” (last name)]. (3-15-02)

c. Multiple Individual Names on a Single Line. Two (2) individual names contained in a single line 
are entered as two different debtors [e.g. the debtor name “John and Mary Smith” is entered as two (2) debtors: “John 
Smith” and “Mary Smith”]. (3-15-02)

d. One Word Names. A one (1) word name is entered as a last name [e.g. “Charro” is treated as a last 
name]. (3-15-02)

e. Nicknames. A nickname is entered in the name field together with the name preceding the 
nickname, or if none, then as the first name (e.g., “William (Bill) Jones”). (3-15-02)

409. VERIFICATION OF DATA ENTRY.
The filing officer uses double key entry to verify the accuracy of data entry tasks. (3-15-02)

410. INITIAL FINANCING STATEMENT.

01. New Record Bears the Unique UCC File Number. A new record is opened in the UCC 
information management system for each initial financing statement. The new record bears the unique file number of 
the financing statement and the date and time of filing. (3-15-02)

02. Name and Address of Each Debtor. The name and address of each debtor that are legibly set forth 
in the financing statement are entered into the record of the financing statement. Each such debtor name is included in 
the searchable index and is not removed until one (1) year after the financing statement lapses. (3-15-02)

03. Name and Address of Each Secured Party. The name and address of each secured party that are 
legibly set forth in the financing statement are entered into the record of the financing statement. (3-15-02)

04. Record Is Indexed According to the Name of the Debtor. The record is indexed according to the 
name of the debtor(s) and is maintained for public inspection. (3-15-02)

05. Lapse Date. A lapse date is established for the financing statement, and the lapse date is 
maintained as part of the record. No lapse date is established for a financing statement which indicates it is filed 
against a transmitting utility. (3-15-02)

411. AMENDMENT.

01. Date and Time of Filing Amendment. A record is created for the amendment that bears the file 
number for the amendment and the date and time of filing. (3-15-02)
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02. Amendment Initial Financing Statement. The record of the amendment is associated with the 
record of the related initial financing statement in a manner that causes the amendment to be retrievable each time a 
record of the financing statement is retrieved. (3-15-02)

03. Amendment Financing Statement Lapses. The name and address of each additional debtor and 
secured parties are entered into the UCC information management system in the record of the financing statement. 
Each such additional debtor name is added to the searchable index and is not removed until one (1) year after the 
financing statement lapses. (3-15-02)

04. New Lapse Date Is Established. If the amendment is a continuation, a new lapse date is 
established for the financing statement and maintained as part of its record. (3-15-02)

412. CORRECTION STATEMENT.
A record is created for the correction statement that bears the file number for the correction statement and the date 
and time of filing. The record of the correction statement is associated with the record of the related initial financing 
statement in a manner that causes the correction statement to be retrievable each time a record of the financing 
statement is retrieved. (3-15-02)

413. GLOBAL FILINGS.

01. Filing a Single UCC Document.The filing officer may accept for filing a single UCC document 
for the purpose of amending more than one (1) financing statement, for one (1) or both of the following purposes:

(3-15-02)

a. Amendment to change secured party name; or (3-15-02)

b. Amendment to change secured party address. (3-15-02)

02. Global Filing. A global filing shall consist of a written document describing the requested 
amendment on a form approved by the filing office. Acceptance of a global filing is conditioned upon the 
determination of the filing officer and is within the filing officer's sole discretion. (3-15-02)

414. NOTICE OF BANKRUPTCY.
The filing officer shall take no action upon receipt of a notification, formal or informal, of a bankruptcy proceeding 
involving a debtor named in the UCC information management system. (3-15-02)

415. -- 499. (RESERVED)

SECTION 5 -- SEARCH REQUESTS AND REPORTS

500. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.
The filing officer maintains for public inspection a searchable index for all records of UCC documents that provides 
for the retrieval of a record by the name of the debtor and by the file number of the initial financing statement to 
which the record relates and which associates each initial financing statement and each filed UCC document relating 
to the initial financing statement. (3-15-02)

501. SEARCH REQUESTS.
Search requests shall contain the following information: (3-15-02)

01. Name Searched. A search request should set forth the full correct name of a debtor or the name 
variant desired to be searched and must specify whether the debtor is an individual or an organization. The full name 
of an individual should consist, whenever possible, of a first, middle, and last name, followed by any suffix that may 
apply to the name. The full name of an organization shall consist of the name of the organization as stated on the 
articles of incorporation or other organic documents in the state or country of organization or the name variant desired 
to be searched. A search request will be processed using the name in the exact form it is submitted. (3-15-02)
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02. Requesting Party. The name and address of the person to whom the search report is to be sent.
(3-15-02)

03. Fee. The appropriate fee shall be enclosed, payable by a method described in Section 113.
(3-15-02)

502. OPTIONAL INFORMATION.
A UCC search request may contain any of the following information: (3-15-02)

01. Copies of Documents. A request that copies of documents referred to in the report be included 
with the report. The request may limit the copies requested by limiting them by reference to the city of the debtor, the 
date of filing, or a range of filing dates on the financing statements located by the related search. The request may ask 
for copies of UCC documents identified on the primary search response. (3-15-02)

02. Debtor Name. A request that the search of a debtor name be limited to debtors in a particular city. 
A report created by the filing officer in response to such a request shall contain the following statement: “A search 
limited to a particular city, the date of filing, or a range of filing dates may not reveal all filings against the debtor 
searched and the searcher bears the risk of relying on such a search.” (3-15-02)

03. Mode of Delivery. Instructions on the mode of delivery requested, if other than by ordinary mail, 
will be honored if the requested mode is at the time available to the filing office. (3-15-02)

503. RULES APPLIED TO SEARCH REQUESTS.
Search results are created by applying standardized search logic to the name presented to the filing officer by the 
person requesting the search. Human judgment does not play a role in determining the results of the search, except 
with respect to supplemental responses regarding individual debtor names that are not automated. The following, and 
only the following, rules are applied to conduct searches: (3-15-02)

01. No Limit on Number of Search Matches. There is no limit to the number of matches that may be 
returned in response to the search criteria. (3-15-02)

02. Not Case Sensitive. No distinction is made between upper and lower case letters. (3-15-02)

03. Punctuation. Punctuation marks and accents are disregarded. (3-15-02)

04. Words and Abbreviations at the End of a Name. Words and abbreviations at the end of a name 
that indicate the existence or nature of an organization as set forth in the “Ending Noise Words” list as promulgated 
and adopted by the International Association of Corporation Administrators, as amended from time to time, are 
disregarded (e.g., company, limited, incorporated, corporation, limited partnership, limited liability company or 
abbreviations of the foregoing). (3-15-02)

05. “The” Disregarded. The word “the” at the beginning of the search criteria is disregarded.
(3-15-02)

06. Spaces. All spaces are disregarded. (3-15-02)

07. Initials. For first and middle names of individuals, initials are equated with all names that begin 
with such initials, and no middle name or initial is equated with all middle names and initials. (3-15-02)

08. Names Searched On. After taking the preceding rules into account to modify the name of the 
debtor requested to be searched and to modify the names of debtors contained in active financing statements in the 
UCC information management system, the search will reveal only names of debtors that are contained in active 
financing statements and, as modified, exactly match the name requested, as modified. (3-15-02)

504. SEARCH RESPONSES.
Reports created in response to a search request shall include the following: (3-15-02)
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01. Filing Officer. Identification of the filing officer and the certification of the filing officer required 
by the UCC. (3-15-02)

02. Report Date. The date the report was generated. (3-15-02)

03. Name Searched. Identification of the name searched. (3-15-02)

04. Certification Date. The certification date applicable to the report; i.e., the date and time through 
which the search is effective to reveal all relevant UCC documents filed on or prior to that date. (3-15-02)

05. Identification of Initial Financing Statements. Identification of each unlapsed initial financing 
statement filed on or prior to the certification date and time corresponding to the search criteria, by name of debtor, by 
identification number, and by file date and file time. (Lapsed financing statements remain active for one (1) year after 
the lapse date and may be requested on the search form.) (3-15-02)

06. History of Financing Statement. For each initial financing statement on the report, a listing of all 
related UCC documents filed by the filing officer on or prior to the certification date. (3-15-02)

07. Copies. Copies of all UCC documents revealed by the search and requested by the searcher.
(3-15-02)

505. -- 599. (RESERVED)

SECTION 6 -- OTHER NOTICES OF LIENS

600. POLICY STATEMENT.
The purpose of the rules in this section is to describe non-UCC liens maintained by the filing office. These liens are 
treated by the filing officer in a manner similar to UCC documents and are included, on request, with the reports 
described in Sections 504 and 505. (3-15-02)

601. NOTICE OF FEDERAL TAX LIEN.

01. Filing. Pursuant to Section 45-202, Idaho Code, federal tax liens on business entities, estates, and 
trusts are filed at the Secretary of State’s Office. (3-15-02)

a. Fee. (3-15-02)

i. The fee for filing is six dollars ($6); (3-15-02)

ii. If there is an attachment there is an additional fee of one dollar ($1) per page. (3-15-02)

b. Duration. Pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code, federal tax liens have a duration of ten (10) years.
(3-15-02)

02. Mechanics of Search. (3-15-02)

a. Fee for Search. (3-15-02)

i. Six dollars ($6) for information only; (3-15-02)

ii. Twelve dollars ($12) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

b. Combination Search Available with UCC Search: (3-15-02)

i. Ten dollars ($10) for information; (3-15-02)
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ii. Sixteen dollars ($16) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

602. NOTICE OF STATE TAX LIEN.

01. Filing. (3-15-02)

a. Where to File. The Secretary of State accepts electronic filings from the Idaho Tax Commission 
pursuant to Chapter 19, Title 45, Idaho Code, and Title 63, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

b. Fee. None. (3-15-02)

c. Duration. Five (5) years. (3-15-02)

02. Mechanics of Search. (3-15-02)

a. Fee for Search. (3-15-02)

i. Six dollars ($6) for information only; (3-15-02)

ii. Twelve dollars ($12) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

b. Combination Search Available with UCC Search: (3-15-02)

i. Ten dollars ($10) for information; (3-15-02)

ii. Sixteen dollars ($16) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

603. NOTICE OF OTHER LIEN IN FAVOR OF A GOVERNMENTAL BODY (NATURE AND 
DURATION).

01. State Agencies. Generally under Chapter 19, Title 45, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

a. Department of Commerce and Labor, Chapter 13, Title 72, Idaho Code (unemployment insurance-
five year duration). (3-15-02)

b. Department of Commerce and Labor, Chapter 6, Title 45, Idaho Code (wage claims-five (5) year 
duration). (3-15-02)

c. Department of Health and Welfare, Chapter 12, Title 7, Idaho Code (child support-indefinite 
duration). (3-15-02)

d. Department of Health and Welfare, Chapter 2, Title 56, Idaho Code (medical assistance-five (5) 
year duration). (3-15-02)

02. Counties. Chapter 35, Title 31, Idaho Code (indigent medical-indefinite duration). (3-15-02)

03. Mechanics of Search. (3-15-02)

a. Fee for Search. (3-15-02)

i. Six dollars ($6) for information only; (3-15-02)

ii. Twelve dollars ($12) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

b. Combination Search Available with UCC Search: (3-15-02)

i. Ten dollars ($10) for information; (3-15-02)
Section 602 Page 183  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 34.05.06
Secretary of State Rules Governing Lien Filings Under the UCC
ii. Sixteen dollars ($16) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

604. SEED AND FARM LABOR LIENS.

01. Mechanics of Filing. Seed and farm labor liens pursuant to Chapter 3, Title 45, Idaho Code are 
filed in the same manner as initial financing statements and may use only forms prescribed by the Secretary of State’s 
Office. They are indexed by debtor name and will be revealed, on request, by searches under Sections 504 and 505.

(3-15-02)

a. Where to File. Seed and farm labor liens are filed with the filing office. (3-15-02)

b. Fee. (3-15-02)

i. Four dollars ($4), if typed; (3-15-02)

ii. Eight dollars ($8), if handwritten. (3-15-02)

c. Duration. (3-15-02)

i. Farm labor liens remain in effect for twelve (12) months after filing and may be extended for six (6) 
months. (3-15-02)

ii. Seed liens remain in effect for sixteen (16) months and may be extended for six (6) months.
(3-15-02)

02. Mechanics of Search. (3-15-02) 

a. Fee for Search. (3-15-02)

i. Six dollars ($6) for information only; (3-15-02)

ii. Twelve dollars ($12) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

b. Combination Search Available with UCC Search: (3-15-02)

i. Ten dollars ($10) for information; (3-15-02)

ii. Sixteen dollars ($16) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

605. AGRICULTURE COMMODITY LIENS.

01. Mechanics of Filing. Agricultural commodity liens pursuant to Chapter 18, Title 45, Idaho Code 
are filed in the same manner as initial financing statements and may use only forms prescribed by the Secretary of 
State’s Office. These types of liens are indexed by debtor name and will be revealed, on request, by searches under 
Sections 504 and 505. (3-15-02)

a. Fee. Five dollars ($5). (3-15-02)

b. Duration. Ninety (90) days. (3-15-02)

02. Mechanics of Search. Fee for search: (3-15-02)

a. Five dollars ($5), if combined with other searches; (3-15-02)

b. Ten dollars ($10) for information; (3-15-02)
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c. Sixteen dollars ($16) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

606. FARM PRODUCT LIENS.

01. Mechanics of Filing. (3-15-02)

a. Pursuant to Section 28-9-526, Idaho Code, farm product liens are filed in the same manner as initial 
financial statements and may use only forms prescribed by the Secretary of State’s Office. They are indexed by debtor 
name and will be revealed, on request, by searches under Sections 504 and 505. (3-15-02)

b. Where to File. Farm product liens are filed with the filing office. (3-15-02)

c. Fee. (3-15-02)

i. Ten dollars ($10), if typed; (3-15-02)

ii. Fourteen dollars ($14), if handwritten; (3-15-02)

iii. For attachments, it is an additional one dollar ($1) per printer page. (3-15-02)

d. Duration. Farm product liens remain in effect for five (5) years and may be extended to five (5) 
years if continuation is received six (6) months prior to lapse. (3-15-02)

02. Mechanics of Search. (3-15-02)

a. Fee for Search: (3-15-02)

i. Six dollars ($6) for information only; (3-15-02)

ii. Twelve dollars ($12) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

b. Combination Search Available with UCC Search: (3-15-02)

i. Ten dollars ($10) for information; (3-15-02)

ii. Sixteen dollars ($16) for information and copies. (3-15-02)

607. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 38 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOCKET NO. 38-0000-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-5708, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter under IDAPA 38, rules of the Idaho Department of Administration:

IDAPA 38
• 38.04.04, Rules Governing Capitol Mall Parking

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules.

• Elected Officials Parking Permits – The Governor may request four additional parking permits at the cost of 
the reserved parking permit monthly fee not to exceed forty dollars ($40) per month.

• Directors of Executive Branch Departments will be provided a reserved parking space at a cost not to exceed 
forty dollars ($40) per month.

• Reserved parking permits shall not exceed forty dollars ($40) per month.
• General parking permits shall not exceed ten dollars ($10) per month.
• State-Owned vehicles belonging to tenant departments will receive a permit for a fee not to exceed fifteen 

dollars ($15) per month.
• Replacement permits if lost, stolen or destroyed the official, Legislator, or Capitol Mall employee will be 

charged a fee equal to the general permit monthly fee for a new permit.
• Enforcement:
- A ticket may be issued by Capitol Mall Parking for a fine of at lease two dollars ($2), but no more than twenty-

five dollars ($25).
- If an individual is determined to have altered, counterfeited or otherwise misused a parking permit, a ticket may 

be issued by Capitol Mall Parking, or its authorized representative, for a fine not to exceed fifty dollars ($50).

This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 67-5708, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Keith Reynolds at 208-332-1812.

Dated this 10th day of September, 2019.
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Keith Reynolds, Deputy Director 
Department of Administration
650 West state Street, Room 100
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0004
Phone: 208-332-1812
Fax: 208-334-2307

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Sections 67-5708, Idaho Code.
 
PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 38, rules of the Department of Administration:

IDAPA 38
• 38.04.04, Rules Governing Capitol Mall Parking

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. This rule contains provisions for Capitol Mall parking permits for Reserved spaces 
(not to exceed 25% of available spaces); Legislator; Disabled Employee, Carpool; State-Owned Vehicles; and 
General Parking. This rule also governs the number of spaces designated for Elected Officials and Directors of 
Executive Branch Departments.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. Proceeds from the rental of parking spaces at the Capitol Mall 
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shall be deposited and credited into the permanent building fund. Said proceeds shall not be expended without an 
appropriation and shall only be appropriated for the security, maintenance and upkeep of the property generating the 
proceeds. 

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules.

• Elected Officials Parking Permits – The Governor may request four additional parking permits at the cost of 
the reserved parking permit monthly fee not to exceed forty dollars ($40) per month.

• Directors of Executive Branch Departments will be provided a reserved parking space at a cost not to exceed 
forty dollars ($40) per month.

• Reserved parking permits shall not exceed forty dollars ($40) per month.
• General parking permits shall not exceed ten dollars ($10) per month.
• State-Owned vehicles belonging to tenant departments will receive a permit for a fee not to exceed fifteen dol-

lars ($15) per month.
• Replacement permits if lost, stolen or destroyed the official, Legislator, or Capitol Mall employee will be 

charged a fee equal to the general permit monthly fee for a new permit.
• Enforcement:
- A ticket may be issued by Capitol Mall Parking for a fine of at lease two dollars ($2), but no more than twenty-

five dollars ($25).
- If an individual is determined to have altered, counterfeited or otherwise misused a parking permit, a ticket may 

be issued by Capitol Mall Parking, or its authorized representative, for a fine not to exceed fifty dollars ($50).

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Keith Reynolds at (208) 332-1812.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 38-0000-1900F
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IDAPA 38 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

38.04.04 – RULES GOVERNING CAPITOL MALL PARKING
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The following rules are promulgated pursuant to the authority of Section 67-5708, Idaho Code, and Senate 
Concurrent Resolution No. 135 (1976). (3-29-10)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 38.04.04, “Rules Governing Capitol Mall Parking.” (3-29-10)

02. Scope. These rules govern parking in the Capitol Mall. (3-29-10)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Capitol Mall. The Capitol Mall consists of the following buildings: State Capitol (700 W. Jefferson 
Street), Joe R. Williams (700 W. State Street), Len B. Jordan (650 W. State Street), State parking garage #1 (550 W. 
State Street), Pete T. Cenarrusa (450 W. State Street), Division of Public Works (502 N. 4th Street), Alexander House 
(304 W. State Street), State Library (325 W. State Street), 954 Jefferson (954 W. Jefferson Street), Capitol Annex (514 
W. Jefferson Street), Blind Commission (341 W. Washington Street), Borah Building (304 N. 8th Street), State 
Parking Garage #2 (608 W. Washington Street); and Idaho Supreme Court (451 W. State Street). (4-6-15)

02. Capitol Mall Employee. A state employee whose assigned work area is in the Capitol Mall, and 
who receives a state of Idaho-issued paycheck from a tenant of the Capitol Mall. (3-29-10)

03. Carpool. A vehicle carrying two (2) or more Capitol Mall employees who work at the Capitol Mall 
at least four (4) work days per week. (4-6-15)

04. Employee with a Disability. An employee with a disability as defined in Section 49-117(7)(b), 
Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

05. Executive Branch Departments. Pursuant to Section 67-2402, Idaho Code, and for purposes of 
this rule, the following are the departments of the executive branch: Department of Administration, Department of 
Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Correction, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Department of Finance, Department of Fish and Game, Department of Health and Welfare, Idaho State Police, Idaho 
Transportation Department, Industrial Commission, Department of Insurance, Department of Juvenile Corrections, 
Department of Labor, Department of Lands, Department of Parks and Recreation, Department of Revenue and 
Taxation, State Board of Education and Department of Water Resources. This definition excludes the Department of 
Self-Governing Agencies. (4-6-15) 

06. Facilities Services. Bureau of Facilities Services, Division of Public Works, Department of 
Administration. (3-29-10)

07. General Parking. A parking space used for all Capitol Mall employees registered for general 
parking. (3-29-10)

08. Legislative Personnel. An employee hired by the Legislative branch that receives a state of Idaho-
issued paycheck during the Legislative session or is a year round employee of the Legislative branch. (4-6-15)

09. Legislator. A member of the Idaho Senate or the Idaho House of Representatives for the state of 
Idaho. (3-29-10)

10. Reserved Parking. A parking space assigned to a specific person, vehicle or agency. (4-6-15)

11. State Elected Officials. The governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, 
state controller, state treasurer and superintendent of public instruction, for the state of Idaho. (3-29-10)

12. Temporary Contract Employee. An employee of a temporary employment service company who 
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is working temporarily for a tenant of the Capitol Mall, and who does not receive a pay check issued by the state of 
Idaho. (4-6-15)

13. Visitor. Any person visiting the Capitol Mall to carry out state business or attend a state-sponsored 
event. (3-29-10)

011. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. PARKING LOT LOCATIONS.
All Capitol Mall parking lots will be identified by signage. Capitol Mall Parking manages the state-owned parking 
lots at the following locations: 550 W. State Street Parking Garage, State Parking Garage #1; 608 W. Washington 
Street, State Parking Garage #2; 10th and Jefferson Streets, 8th Street between State and Jefferson Streets, and 3rd and 
Washington Streets. Capitol Mall Parking also manages parking spaces in and around the following Capitol Mall 
buildings: Capitol Annex, Len B. Jordan, Pete T. Cenarrusa, Division of Public Works, Borah Building and Idaho 
State Library. (4-6-15)

021. TYPES OF AVAILABLE PARKING.
Designated parking spaces are available for reserved parking, state elected officials and directors of executive branch 
departments, Legislators, carpool, disabled employees and state agency vehicles. All other parking spaces, unless 
designated as public or visitor parking, are considered general parking. (3-29-10)

022. PARKING SPACE ALLOCATION.

01. Reserved Parking Spaces. (3-29-10)

a. Reserved parking spaces are available for state elected officials and directors of executive branch 
departments as defined in Subsections 010.05 and 010.11 of these rules. Capitol Mall Parking will assign a reserved 
space to each state elected official and director of executive branch departments upon request. (4-6-15)

b. Reserved parking spaces will be made available to the Senate pro-tem, and the speaker of the 
House of Representatives. Capitol Mall Parking will assign a reserved space to each individual. (3-29-10)

c. All other Capitol Mall employees may apply for a reserved parking space. General reserved 
parking spaces are assigned to Capitol Mall employees on a first-come, first-served basis when designated reserved 
parking spaces become available. (3-29-10)

d. Reserved parking spaces for state elected officials, directors of executive branch departments and 
Capitol Mall employees are located in the following parking lots only: the first floor of State Parking Garage #1; the 
first and second floors of State Parking Garage #2, the Pete T. Cenarrusa Building parking lot, and the 8th Street 
parking lot between State and Jefferson Streets. (4-6-15)

e. Capitol Mall Parking will determine the location of all reserved parking spaces. (3-29-10)

f. Reserved parking spaces for state elected officials, directors of executive branch departments and 
Capitol Mall employees will not exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of parking spaces available within the Capitol 
Mall. (4-6-15)

g. Capitol Mall employees may not sell, trade or barter the right to use their assigned reserved parking 
space. Capitol Mall Parking retains the right to assign, reassign, suspend or revoke Capitol Mall employees’ reserved 
parking spaces at any time. (3-29-10)

02. Legislators’ Parking Spaces. During Legislative sessions and special sessions, Capitol Mall 
Parking will make available up to one hundred three (103) reserved Legislator parking spaces to Legislators.

(4-6-15)

a. Each Legislator will be assigned a reserved Legislator parking space. A Legislator who elects to 
park in the Capitol Mall is required to pay the fee for the reserved parking permit. (4-6-15)
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b. During the Legislative session, Legislator reserved parking spaces will be on the third floor of State 
Parking Garage #1, 8th Street parking lot, and the Capitol Annex parking lot and will be clearly marked. The 
Legislator reserved parking permit is only valid in the assigned reserved parking space; the permit is not valid in any 
other CMP general parking space during the Legislative session. When the Legislature is not in session, all Legislator 
parking spaces will be redesignated as general parking spaces. (3-25-16)

c. When the Legislature is not in session, Legislators or Legislative personnel who hold a valid 
Capitol Mall parking permit, may park in any general parking space. (4-6-15)

03. Disabled Employee Parking Spaces. Capitol Mall Parking will make available reserved disabled 
employee parking spaces for employees who have a proven disability. (3-29-10)

a. A temporarily or permanently disabled employee who has obtained an Americans with Disabilities 
Act (ADA) placard issued by the Idaho Transportation Department may request a reserved disabled employee 
parking space as close as possible to the employee’s work location. (3-29-10)

b. A disabled employee requesting a reserved disabled employee parking space must provide either a 
copy of his Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) placard issued by the Idaho Transportation Department or a copy 
of the application to the Idaho Department of Transportation for an Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) placard.

(3-29-10)

c. A temporary reserved disabled employee parking space will be provided to any eligible employee 
who has applied for an Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) placard with the Idaho Department of Transportation 
but has not yet received the placard. A temporary reserved disabled parking space will be made available for five (5) 
working days only per disabled employee. (4-6-15)

d. Reserved disabled employee parking spaces will be marked with signage. (3-29-10)

e. A permit for a reserved disabled employee parking space will be the same fee as a permit for a 
general parking space. (3-29-10)

04. Carpool Parking Spaces. Capitol Mall Parking will make available an indeterminate number of 
carpool parking spaces, which will be clearly marked, to employees who carpool at least four (4) work days per week.

(3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall employees who carpool may request a carpool parking permit from Capitol Mall 
Parking to use a designated carpool space. (3-29-10)

b. Carpool parking spaces will be available on a first-come, first-served basis for vehicles carrying 
two (2) or more Capitol Mall employees. All carpooling employees must be employees of the Capitol Mall and at 
least one (1) carpooling employee must have a general parking space permit. (3-29-10)

c. A permit for a carpool parking space will be the same fee as a permit for a general parking space.
(3-29-10)

d. All unoccupied reserved carpool parking spaces will be redesignated as general parking spaces 
after 9 a.m. work days. (3-29-10)

e. It is a parking violation to park in a reserved carpool parking space when the vehicle is carrying less 
than two (2) Capitol Mall employees before 9 a.m. (3-29-10)

05. State-Owned Vehicles Parking Spaces. Capitol Mall Parking will make available designated 
state-owned vehicle parking spaces. (3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall Parking will make available an indeterminate number of designated state-owned 
vehicle parking spaces to department tenants of the Capitol Mall. (3-29-10)
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b. Designated state-owned vehicle parking spaces will be on the fifth level of the State Parking 
Garage #1, and will be clearly marked “State Vehicle Only.” (4-6-15)

c. A Capitol Mall employee may park his personal vehicle in a designated state-owned vehicle 
parking space when removing a state vehicle for state purposes. The Capitol Mall employee’s personal vehicle must 
display the reserved state-owned vehicle parking space permit. (3-29-10)

d. A visiting agency employee conducting official business at the Capitol Mall may park a state 
vehicle in an unoccupied designated state-owned vehicle parking space or in any Capitol Mall visitor parking space.

(4-6-15)

06. Motorcycle Parking Spaces. Capitol Mall Parking will make available designated motorcycle 
parking spaces. (3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall employees may request a special motorcycle parking permit for motorcycles, at no 
additional cost, to park in the designated motorcycle parking areas. (3-29-10)

b. In order to receive a motorcycle permit, the Capitol Mall employee must possess a valid general or 
reserved parking permit. (3-29-10)

07. General Parking Spaces. All other undesignated parking is considered general parking. (3-29-10)

a. All Capitol Mall employees whose parking fees are deducted from their paychecks by the State 
Controller’s Office may request a general parking permit from Capitol Mall Parking. (4-6-15)

b. General parking spaces are available on a first-come, first-served basis, and possession of a valid 
general parking permit does not guarantee the Capitol Mall employee a general parking space. (3-29-10)

08. Visitor Parking Spaces. Capitol Mall Parking will make available a limited number of parking 
spaces for visitors and the public visiting the Capitol Mall. (3-29-10)

a. Non-metered three (3) hour visitor parking spaces will be available at the parking lot at the Capitol 
Annex at 514 W. Jefferson Street and on the south side of the parking lot at the State Library Building at 325 W. State 
Street, and will be clearly marked. (3-25-16)

b. State-owned vehicles that do not belong to the departments’ tenants of the Capitol Mall, and non-
Capitol Mall employees visiting the Capitol Mall on business, may park in visitor parking spaces. (3-29-10)

c. Capitol Mall employees may not park in visitor parking spaces between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday 
through Friday, excluding legal holidays with the exception of Human Rights Day and Presidents’ Day. (4-6-15)

d. The maximum period of use of visitor parking spaces in the Capitol Mall is three (3) hours per day 
per vehicle. A change from one visitor parking space to another visitor parking space does not increase the maximum 
period of use for each vehicle beyond three (3) hours per day. (3-25-16)

023. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. PARKING PERMITS.
Capitol Mall Parking will issue applicable parking permits to all eligible persons who apply for a permit. (4-6-15)

01. Parking Permits for Reserved, Legislator, Disabled Employee, Carpool, State-Owned 
Vehicles and General Parking. (3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall Parking will reissue parking permits once a year. Outdated parking permits must be 
returned to Capitol Mall Parking. (3-29-10)
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b. Capitol Mall Parking will issue the applicable parking permit to each Capitol Mall state elected 
official, director of an executive branch department, Legislator or employee, with the exception of the carpool 
parking permit and the special motorcycle parking permit. (4-6-15)

c. Capitol Mall Parking will issue only one (1) parking permit per employee. Capitol Mall Parking 
will not provide duplicate general parking permits. State elected officials, directors of executive branch departments, 
and Capitol Mall employees with reserved parking spaces may request a duplicate reserved parking permit for a one-
time fee equal to the general permit monthly fee. (4-6-15)

d. All individuals and department tenants are responsible for displaying the parking permit in the front 
windshield or other prominent location of the parked vehicle at all times. (3-29-10)

e. In the event that a parking permit is stolen, lost or destroyed, the official, Legislator or employee 
must sign a statement attesting that the parking permit was lost, stolen or destroyed and pay a replacement fee before 
Capitol Mall Parking will issue a new permit. The replacement fee is equal to the general permit monthly fee.

(4-6-15)

02. Temporary Monthly Parking Permits. (4-6-15)

a. An individual performing work or providing services to a department tenant as a Temporary 
Contract Employee in the Capitol Mall, but who does not receive a state of Idaho-issued paycheck, may purchase a 
general monthly parking permit at the same cost as a general parking permit from Capitol Mall Parking. (4-6-15)

b. Upon request and receipt of the general parking permit fee, Capitol Mall Parking may issue a 
monthly general parking permit to the following: (3-25-16)

i. Individuals who do not receive a paycheck issued by the state of Idaho but are performing work or 
providing services to a department tenant in the Capitol Mall. This includes, but is not limited to, employees of the 
Idaho Central Credit Union, employees of vendors of the Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired, and 
Capitol Mall tenant departments’ temporary contract employees. (3-25-16)

ii. Individuals who are employed by the state of Idaho, whose assigned work area is in the Capitol 
Mall, and who receive a state of Idaho-issued paycheck that is not issued by the State Controller's Office. This 
includes, but is not limited to, employees of the University of Idaho whose assigned work area is the Capitol Annex 
occupied by the University of Idaho. (3-25-16)

03. Temporary Meeting Parking Permits. Upon submission of an application by a department tenant 
in the Capitol Mall, Capitol Mall Parking may issue temporary daily parking permits for meetings hosted by the 
department tenant. Parking will be allowed only in a limited number of parking spaces in the area designated by the 
permit and for the date set forth on the permit. (3-25-16)

031. PARKING PERMIT FEES.
Pursuant to Sections 67-5701 and 67-5708, Idaho Code, parking permit fees will be established by the Department of 
Administration and administered by Capitol Mall Parking. (4-6-15)

01. Elected Officials Parking Permits. The governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney 
general, state controller, state treasurer, superintendent of public instruction, Senate pro-tem, and the speaker of the 
House of Representatives will be provided a reserved parking space at no charge. Additionally, upon request, Capitol 
Mall Parking will provide the governor four (4) additional reserved parking spaces. The fee for each additional 
reserved parking space provided to the governor will be the reserved parking permit monthly fee. (4-6-15)

02. Directors of Executive Branch Departments. Directors of executive branch departments will be 
provided a reserved parking space at a cost not to exceed forty dollars ($40) per month. Executive branch 
departments will be charged for the reserved parking spaces annually by Capitol Mall Parking. (4-6-15)

03. Reserved Parking Permits. The fee for a reserved parking space permit will not exceed forty 
dollars ($40) per month. (4-6-15)
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04. General Parking Permits. The fee for a general parking space permit will not exceed ten dollars 
($10) per month. (4-6-15)

05. Payment for Parking Permits. Capitol Mall employees will be charged the respective permit fee 
in the first paycheck of each month through a payroll deduction or as determined by the State Controller. (4-6-15)

06. Legislators. Legislators who request a Legislator parking space permit must pay the parking permit 
fee. Legislators and Legislative personnel who request parking spaces must pay the associated space fee for every 
month that the Legislature is in session. (4-6-15)

07. State-Owned Vehicles. State-owned vehicles belonging to the tenant departments will receive state 
vehicle parking permits for a monthly fee not to exceed fifteen dollars ($15). (4-6-15)

08. Replacement Permits. If a parking permit is lost, stolen or destroyed, the official, Legislator, or 
Capitol Mall employee will be charged a fee equal to the general permit monthly fee for a new permit. A statement 
attesting that the parking permit was lost, stolen or destroyed must be signed before Capitol Mall Parking will issue a 
new permit. (4-6-15)

032. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. PARKING LOT VIOLATIONS.

01. Driving Violations. Any driving violation in a Capitol Mall parking lot or garage may result in the 
suspension or loss of parking privileges. (3-29-10)

a. It is a violation of these rules to drive or operate a personal vehicle negligently or recklessly in any 
Capitol Mall parking lot or garage. It is a violation of these rules to drive or operate a vehicle under the influence of 
illegal substances or alcohol in any Capitol Mall parking lot or garage. (3-29-10)

b. It is a violation for any individual to drive above the posted speed limits or drive against posted 
directional arrows. (3-29-10)

02. Parking Violations. Any parking violation in a Capitol Mall parking lot or garage may result in the 
suspension or loss of parking privileges. (3-29-10)

a. It is a violation of these rules to park in a location that is not marked as a parking space within the 
Capitol Mall. This includes, but is not limited to, parking in or on a driveway, sidewalk or other common driving 
areas of any parking lot or garage. It is also a violation to park one (1) vehicle in more than one (1) parking space.

(3-29-10)

b. It is a violation to park in a Legislator parking space without displaying the appropriate reserved 
parking permit during the Legislative session or to park in a general parking space without displaying the appropriate 
general parking permit. (3-25-16)

c. It is a violation to park in a reserved parking space, in a reserved disabled employee parking space, 
ADA space, or in a reserved carpool parking space before 9 a.m., without displaying the appropriate parking permit.

(4-6-15)

d. It is a violation to park a motorcycle in any space not designated for motorcycle parking, unless a 
valid reserved parking permit is displayed and the motorcycle is parked in the designated reserved parking space.

(4-6-15)

e. It is a violation to park or store a personal trailer in a Capitol Mall parking lot. (4-6-15)

f. It is a violation of these rules to: (3-29-10)
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i. Use an invalid parking permit; (3-29-10)

ii. Use a parking permit reported lost or stolen; (3-29-10)

iii. Fail to properly display a valid Capitol Mall parking permit; or (3-29-10)

iv.  Transfer an invalid permit to another person. (3-29-10)

g. It is a violation of these rules to park in one or more visitor parking spaces for a period in excess of 
the maximum period of use set forth in these rules. (3-25-16)

h. It is a violation of these rules for a CMP permit holder to park in a visitor parking space at any time.
(3-25-16)

03. Other Violations. The Capitol Mall parking lots and garages are private property, and any 
tampering or other physical defacement of any vehicle parked on the lots or in the garage is considered a violation.

(4-6-15)

a. The distribution of flyers or other materials on vehicles parked on Capitol Mall parking lots and in 
State Parking Garages #1and #2 is prohibited, and violators will be escorted off the property. (4-6-15)

b. Any individual engaging in suspicious activity or threatening behavior, or an individual loitering in 
a Capitol Mall parking lot or in State Parking Garages #1 and #2, will be escorted off the property. (4-6-15)

c. Public access is not allowed in State Parking Garages #1 and #2 before 6 a.m. and after 6 p.m. 
Violators will be considered trespassers. (4-6-15)

04. Administrative Appeals. Alleged violations of these rules are not subject to the provisions of Title 
67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, regarding administrative appeals. (4-6-15)

041. ENFORCEMENT.

01. Security and Patrol. Capitol Mall parking lots and State Parking Garages #1 and #2 are secured 
and patrolled by Capitol Mall Parking, or its authorized representative. (4-6-15)

02. Notice of Violation. Upon witnessing or finding a violation of these rules, Capitol Mall Parking, or 
its authorized representative, will leave notice with the occupant of the vehicle or on the vehicle parked in violation of 
these rules. (4-6-15)

a. Notice may be in the form of a warning or a ticket. The warning or ticket will indicate the date and 
hour of the violation, the nature of the violation, and the name of the Capitol Mall Parking employee or its authorized 
representative. A warning or ticket may be issued only for those violations that do not cause the loss of a parking 
space and do not cause a safety hazard. (4-6-15)

b. A ticket may be issued by Capitol Mall Parking, or its authorized representative, for a fine of at 
least two dollars ($2), but not more than twenty-five dollars ($25). (4-6-15)

c. If an individual is determined to have altered, counterfeited or otherwise misused a parking permit, 
a ticket may be issued by Capitol Mall Parking, or its authorized representative, for a fine not to exceed fifty dollars 
($50). (3-29-10)

d. All tickets issued by Capitol Mall Parking, or its authorized representative, will be forwarded to the 
city of Boise, county of Ada, for collection or prosecution. (3-29-10)

e. Capitol Mall Parking retains the right to suspend or revoke an individual’s parking privileges if the 
warnings or tickets have been issued or fines imposed for repeated violations. (4-6-15)

042. SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PARKING PRIVILEGES.
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01. Delinquent Payment. Capitol Mall Parking may suspend or revoke any individual’s parking 
permit if the parking permit fee is unpaid and at least thirty (30) days delinquent. Upon payment in full, Capitol Mall 
Parking will restore the individual’s parking permit. (3-29-10)

02. Parking Privileges Suspension. (3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall Parking may suspend an individual’s parking permit and privileges for up to six (6) 
months for a violation of these rules. (3-29-10)

b. Any Capitol Mall Parking permit holder, including a temporary parking permit holder, who has 
been cited for three (3) violations of these rules within six (6) months, may have his parking permit and privileges 
revoked for up to twelve (12) months. (3-29-10)

03. Towing and Impounding. (3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall Parking or its authorized representative may tow any vehicle from any Capitol Mall 
parking lot or the or State Parking Garages #1 and #2, belonging to an individual who has been cited for three (3) or 
more Capitol Mall parking violations within a twelve-month period. The owner of the vehicle is liable for any service 
fee owed for releasing the towed and impounded vehicle. (4-6-15)

b. In the event that a vehicle is considered a security risk, Capitol Mall Parking will make reasonable 
efforts to locate the owner of the vehicle before it is towed. (4-6-15)

04. Reactivating a Suspended Permit. A suspended parking permit may be reactivated after the 
applicable suspension period ends by reapplying for the automatic payroll deduction plan through Capitol Mall 
Parking and paying in full of any delinquent parking fees. (4-6-15)

043. SURRENDER OF PARKING PERMIT.

01. Surrender of Permit. When an official, Legislator or Capitol Mall employee no longer works in 
the Capitol Mall or no longer needs to utilize Capitol Mall parking, the individual must submit a request to Capitol 
Mall Parking to cease automatic payroll deduction or billing for Capitol Mall parking. The individual must surrender 
the parking permit to Capitol Mall Parking within ten (10) days of the effective date of termination. (3-29-10)

02. Cancellation of Automatic Payroll Deduction. (3-29-10)

a. Capitol Mall Parking will notify the individual’s agency’s payroll clerk to cease the monthly 
parking fee deduction. Capitol Mall Parking will not refund a monthly parking fee after a monthly payroll deduction 
has been made. (3-29-10)

b. Agency payroll clerks must receive a written request from Capitol Mall Parking prior to deleting 
the monthly parking fee from the employee’s payroll deduction schedule. (3-29-10)

044. -- 049. (RESERVED)

050. LOADING ZONE PARKING SPACES.
Capitol Mall Parking will designate and mark a limited number of parking spaces to be used for short-term collection 
or delivery services or by authorized service contractors. It is a violation to park in loading zone parking spaces for 
any unauthorized purpose. (4-6-15)

051. WAIVER OF RULES.
Pursuant to Section 67-5708, Idaho Code, the administrator for the Division of Public Works may waive any or all of 
the provisions of these rules if the administrator determines that application could result in discrimination among 
employees or otherwise violate law. (3-29-10)

052. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 52 – IDAHO STATE LOTTERY COMMISSION
DOCKET NO. 52-0000-1900F

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final 
and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed 
or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-7408(1), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed fee rule and the text of the pending 
fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending fee rule adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified 
chapter(s) under IDAPA 52, rules of the Idaho State Lottery Commission:

IDAPA 52
• 52.01.03, Rules Governing Operations of the Idaho State Lottery Commission.

This pending rule vacates the following proposed rule previously promulgated under this docket number as part 
of the omnibus proposed rulemaking under IDAPA 52, rules of the Idaho State Lottery Commission:

• (VACATED) *52.01.02, Gaming Rules of the Idaho State Lottery Commission – (consolidated, in their 
entirety, into IDAPA 52.01.03, Rules Governing Operations of the Idaho Lottery Commission).

The rule making was prompted by the expiration of the rules. The Commission considered the Red Tape 
Reduction Act and the continued efforts to clarify and streamline the rules. Minor housekeeping edits are intended to 
simplify existing language and reduce or eliminate unnecessary restrictions.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This rulemaking 
does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the 
prior rules. Sub Area 501 allows for an application fee for participating organizations and follow up fees based upon 
annual gross revenues. Sub Area 601 allows for an annual license fee imposed upon vendors, those businesses or 
persons who manufacture, sell, distribute, furnish or supply gaming devices to Charitable Gaming organizations. Sub 
Area 201 allows for an application fee for applicants interested in selling break open (PullTab) products. Rule 205.13 
allows for a reduced application fee if a current Lottery product retailer is interested in adding break open (PullTab) 
products to their portfolio. These fees or charges are being imposed pursuant to Section 67-7412, 67-7706, 67-7712 
and 67-7715, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Becky Schroeder, Chief Operating Officer, at (208) 780-2501.

Dated this 7th day of October, 2019.
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IDAPA 52 OMNIBUS PENDING FEE RULE
Jeffrey R. Anderson, Director
Idaho State Lottery
1199 Shoreline Lane, Suite 100
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: (208) 780-2500

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule(s) listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is 
June 30, 2019.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Section 67-7408(1), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with 
Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously 
approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 52, rules of the Idaho State Lottery Commission:

IDAPA 52
• IDAPA 52.01.02, Gaming Rules of the Idaho State Lottery Commission – A technical modification was made 

to Section 003 to incorporate content previously included in IDAPA 52.01.01.
• IDAPA 52.01.03, Rules Governing Operations of the Idaho State Lottery Commission – All rules except  

Section 203.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the 
state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the 
orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and 
processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the 
benefit intended by these rules. These rules offer guidelines and operational direction more detailed than Idaho Code. 
These long established and instrumental rules outline the powers and duties of the Director of the Lottery 
Commission and the powers and duties of the Idaho State Lottery Commission. The fee rules specifically direct 
appropriate application and participation fees for retailers and vendors.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized 
in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and 
approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which 
makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and 
passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state’s obligations and 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. Fee rules outlined here offset legally mandated background 
criminal and credit checks, and are anticipated in the Idaho State Lottery Commission's 2020 budget.

FEE SUMMARY: The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge 
imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or 
charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules. Section 301. allows for an application 
fee for participating organizations and follow up fees based upon annual gross revenues. Section 401. allows for an 
annual license fee imposed upon vendors, those businesses or persons who manufacture, sell, distribute, furnish or 
supply gaming devices to Charitable Gaming organizations. Subsection 201 allows for an application fee for 
organizations interested in selling Lottery products. Subsection 205.12 allows for a Retailer application fee for 
applicants interested in selling break-open (PullTab) products. Subsection 205.13 allows for a reduced application fee 
if a current Lottery product retailer is interested in adding break-open (PullTab) products to their portfolio.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to 
have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, 
and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being 
re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these 
rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously 
promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 
67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the 
agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material 
may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached 
hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Becky Schroeder, Chief Operating 
Officer, at (208) 780-2501.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), 
Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this 
Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 52-0000-1900F
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52.01.03 – RULES GOVERNING OPERATIONS OF THE IDAHO STATE LOTTERY
SUBCHAPTER A - INTRODUCTORY PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are adopted under the general legal authority of Title 67, Chapter 74, Idaho Code, and the specific legal 
authority of Sections 67-7401, 67-7404, 67-7406, 67-7408, and 67-7411, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
The title of these rules is IDAPA 52.01.03, “Rules Governing Operations of the Idaho State Lottery.” The rules 
govern operations of the Idaho State Lottery. The rules also set forth which bingo games and raffles are legal in the 
state of Idaho and to bring all legal bingo games and raffles in the state of Idaho under the control of the Lottery.

 (        )

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
As used throughout these rules these terms have the following definitions: (3-26-08)

01. Commission. The Idaho State Lottery Commission established and appointed according to
Sections 67-7402, 67-7404(2) and 67-7405, Idaho Code. See Section 67-7702(4), Idaho Code. (        )

02. Commissioner. A member of the Idaho State Lottery Commission. (3-26-08)

03. Director. The Director of the State Lottery appointed and confirmed according to Section 67-7407, 
Idaho Code. (        )

04. Lottery. The Idaho State Lottery created by Section 67-7402, Idaho Code, and, as context requires, 
the Lottery Commission and the Lottery’s officers and employees. (        )

05. Person. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (        )

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

SUBCHAPTER B - OPERATIONS OF THE IDAHO STATE LOTTERY

100. DEFINITIONS.
These rules apply to Subchapter B only: (        )

01. Administrative Costs. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

02. Benefit. Any thing, property or money, favorable consideration or advantage, profit, privileges, 
gain or interest to which a person is not otherwise entitled. (3-26-08)

03. Certificate. The signed document issued by the Director authorizing a retailer to sell Lottery 
products. (3-26-08)

04. Control Person. A person in a position of authority that is primarily defined according to 
organizational type. The following are control persons: (3-26-08)

a. In a privately-owned corporation, the officers, directors, and stockholders of the parent company 
who own five percent (5%) or more of the company’s stock and, if applicable, any of its subsidiaries. (3-26-08)

b. In a publicly-owned corporation, the officers and directors of the parent company and each of its 
subsidiaries. Additionally, stockholders who own five percent (5%) or more of the corporation’s stock are control 
persons. (3-26-08)

c. In a trust, the trustee and all persons entitled to receive income or benefit from the trust. (3-26-08)

d. In an association, the members, officers, and directors. (3-26-08)
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e. In a partnership or joint venture, the general partners, limited partners, or joint venturers. (3-26-08)

f. A member of the immediate family of any of who is a control person under Paragraphs 010.06.a. 
through 06.e. of this definition. (3-26-08)

g. A subcontractor of a vendor if the subcontractor performs more than half of the vendor’s contract 
with the Lottery. (3-26-08)

05. Executive Staff. The director of Lottery Security Division and the deputy directors appointed by 
the Director. (3-26-08)

06. Expenses. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

07. Fiscal Year. The Lottery’s fiscal year of twelve (12) months beginning on July 1 and ending on 
June 30. (3-26-08)

08. Gift. A transfer, exchange or delivery of anything, property or money, of any value whatsoever, 
with or without an expectation by the giver to receive anything, tangible or intangible, in return. (3-26-08)

09. Immediate Family. A natural person’s spouse, children, brother, sister, or parent by blood, 
marriage, or adoption who resides as a member of the same household in the principal place of residence of any 
contractor, vendor, retailer, member, or employee of the State Lottery. (3-26-08)

10. Instant Game. A game in which a ticket is purchased and upon removal of a latex or similar secure 
covering on the front of the ticket, the ticket bearer determines his or her winnings, if any. (3-26-08)

11. Invitation to Bid. The solicitation of competitive offers in which specifications, price, and delivery 
(or project completion) will be the predominant award criteria. (3-26-08)

12. Lottery Contract or Contract. Any contract entered into either by the Lottery or for the Lottery 
by another public agency, for the purchase, lease, or sale of goods or services. (3-26-08)

13. Lottery Contractor or Contractor. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

14. Lottery Employee or Employee. Any person who works full- or part-time for the Lottery.
(3-26-08)

15. Lottery Game or Game. Any procedure authorized by the Commission whereby prizes are 
distributed among persons who have paid, or unconditionally agreed to pay, for tickets or shares which provide the 
opportunity to win such prizes. Lottery game themes must be approved by the Commission, be consonant with the 
dignity of the state. (3-26-08)

16. Lottery Game Retailer or Retailer. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

17. Lottery Revenue. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

18. Lottery Vendor or Vendor. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

19. Low, Medium and High Tier Claims. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

20. Major Procurement. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

21. Net Income. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

22. On-Line System. The Lottery’s on-line computer wagering system consisting of ticket issuing 
terminals, central processing equipment, and a communications network. (3-26-08)
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23. Play Symbols. The numbers or symbols appearing in the designated area under the removable 
covering on the front of the ticket. (3-26-08)

24. Prize. Any award, financial or otherwise, awarded by the Director for successfully playing a 
Lottery game. (3-26-08)

25. Redemption Value. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

26. Request for Proposal. The solicitation of competitive proposals, or offers, to be used in part as a 
basis for making an acquisition, or entering into a contract, when specification and price will not necessarily be the 
predominant award criteria. (3-26-08)

27. Retailer Validation Code. The symbols found under the removable rub-off covering over the play 
symbols on the front of each ticket. (3-26-08)

28. Sensitive Procurement. Those procurement actions or contracts, other than “major procurements,” 
that may either directly or indirectly affect the integrity, security, honesty, and fairness of the operation and 
administration of the Lottery. A typical example of this class of procurement is the acquisition of security systems 
that protect the security and integrity of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

29. Share. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

30. State Lottery Act of 1988 or Act. The Act approved by the legislature creating the Lottery, which 
became effective November 23, 1988, as amended, which is codified at Title 67, Chapter 74, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

31. Subcontractor. Any third party not in the employment of a contractor, who is performing all or 
part of the work in the contractor’s agreement with the Lottery under a separate contract with the contractor. The term 
“subcontractor” means subcontractor of any tier. (3-26-08)

32. Temporary Retailer. A retailer under contract with the Lottery for a temporary or seasonal period. 
A temporary contract may be subject to special conditions or limitations that the Director deems prudent. These 
limitations or conditions may include, but are not limited to: (3-26-08)

a. Length of ticket sale period; (3-26-08)

b. Hours or days of sale; (3-26-08)

c. Location of sale; (3-26-08)

d. Specific persons who may sell Lottery tickets; (3-26-08)

e. Specific sporting, charitable, social, or other special events where Lottery tickets may be sold.
(3-26-08)

33. Provisional Retailer. A retailer granted a provisional certificate in accordance with these rules. A 
provisional certificate may contain some or all of the restrictions of a temporary retailer and additional restrictions 
deemed necessary by the Director. (3-26-08)

34. Ticket. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

35. Ticket Bearer. The person who has signed the ticket or has possession of the unsigned ticket.
(3-26-08)

36. Ticket Validation Number or Validation Number. The multidigit number found on the front of 
the ticket. It is either uncovered or found underneath the “Do Not Remove” area on the ticket or any stub. (3-26-08)

37. Total Annual Revenue or Annual Revenue. The sum of all of the Lottery’s proceeds and accrued 
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income that is characterized as a reduction or recovery of expenses. (3-26-08)

38. Unclaimed Prize. Any award, financial or otherwise, of more than twenty-five dollars ($25) for 
which there is physical, tangible evidence of eligibility but for which the prize has not been paid within one (1) year.

(3-26-08)

39. Value. See definition in Section 67-7404, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

101. OPERATING PROVISIONS.

01. Purpose. These rules are established by the Commission to define and regulate the operation and 
administration of the Lottery and the Commission. (3-26-08)

02. Lottery Commission. The Commission is charged with the authority and duty to regulate Lottery 
activities in the state of Idaho, consistent with the Idaho Constitution and the enabling legislation. The headquarters 
of the Commission and of the Lottery is in Boise. (3-26-08)

03. Powers and Duties of the Commission. (3-26-08)

a. Rule Promulgation. The Commission promulgates rules and conditions under which the statewide 
Lottery will be conducted. Subjects covered in such rules include but need not be limited to: (3-26-08)

i. The types of Lottery games to be conducted; (3-26-08)

ii. The prices of tickets in the Lottery; (3-26-08)

iii. In general the numbers and sizes of prize disbursements, the manner and frequency of prize 
drawings, and the manner in which payment will be made to holders of winning tickets; (3-26-08)

iv. The locations at which Lottery tickets may be sold, the manner in which they are to be sold, and 
contracting with Lottery vendors, retailers and contractors; (3-26-08)

v. The manner in which Lottery sales revenues are to be collected; (3-26-08)

vi. The amount of compensation to be paid to retailers; (3-26-08)

vii. Other areas relating to the efficient and economical operation and administration of a statewide 
Lottery consonant with the public interest. (3-26-08)

b. Delegation to Director. In addition to those duties assigned to the Director in the Act, the 
Commission may, insofar as is consistent with the Idaho Constitution and the Act, delegate the performance of 
executive or administrative functions to the Director. (3-26-08)

04. Time and Place of Meetings. (3-26-08)

a. Regular meetings of the Commission will be held at least quarterly; the date, time, and place will be 
set by the Commission and, if possible, with at least two (2) weeks’ advance notice. The Commission may meet with 
the Director to make recommendations and set policy, to approve or reject reports of the Director, to adopt rules, and 
to transact other business. (3-26-08)

b. Additional meetings necessary to discharge the business of the Commission may be called from 
time to time by the chairman or by a quorum of the Commission. (3-26-08)

05. Open Meeting Law. All meetings of the Commission will be held in accordance with Idaho’s 
Open Meeting Law, Sections 67-2340, et seq., Idaho Code, and in accordance with Section 67-7442, Idaho Code. All 
meetings of the Commission are open to the public, except when executive session is allowed for part of the meeting 
under the Open Meeting Law. (3-26-08)
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06. Director. The Director is responsible for the operation of the Lottery and for managing the affairs 
of the Commission. A Deputy Director designated by the Director may act for the Director in the absence of the 
Director. If there is a vacancy in the office of Director, the Commission will designate the Deputy Director as Interim 
Director until the vacancy can be filled. (3-26-08)

07. Powers and Duties of the Director. (3-26-08)

a. The Director has the authority to implement and execute procedures that he may deem appropriate 
for the efficient administration of the Lottery. The Director may also recommend rules governing the establishment, 
administration, and operation of the Lottery to the Commission for its approval; (3-26-08)

b. The Director is authorized to employ sufficient staff as may be required to carry out the functions of 
the Commission and the Lottery; (3-26-08)

c. The Director may contract with retailers for the sale of Lottery games and will suspend or terminate 
any contract in accordance with the provisions of the Act and the rules of the Commission; (3-26-08)

d. The Director will continuously study and investigate all matters pertinent to the efficient operation 
of the Lottery; and (3-26-08)

e. The Director will maintain full and complete records of the operation of the Lottery and report on at 
least a monthly basis to the Commission and to the governor on the status of the Lottery. (        )

f. The duties and responsibilities of the Director that are not otherwise specified in Idaho law or the 
rules adopted by the Commission may be maintained as a policy of the Commission for the purpose of establishing a 
working relationship between the Director and the Commission. (3-26-08)

08. Lottery Budgets and Financial Statements. The Director must: (3-26-08)

a. Submit quarterly financial statements to the Commission, the governor, the state treasurer, and the 
legislature. The quarterly financial statements must be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles and include a balance sheet, a statement of operations, a statement of changes in financial position, and 
related footnotes. The quarterly financial statements must be provided within forty-five (45) days of the last day of 
each quarter. (3-26-08)

b. Submit annual financial statements to the Commission, the governor, the state treasurer, and each 
member of the legislature. The annual financial statements must be prepared in accordance with generally accepted 
accounting principles and must include a balance sheet, a statement of operations, a statement of changes in financial 
position, and related footnotes. The annual financial statements must be examined by the state controller or a firm of 
independent certified public accountants in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards and must be 
provided within ninety (90) days of the last day of the Lottery’s fiscal year. (3-26-08)

09. Contingency Reserve. (3-26-08)

a. The Director may, with the approval of the Commission, allot from moneys available to pay 
administrative expenses an amount to be transferred to a contingency reserve established by the Commission. The 
money allotted can include amounts retained to fund specific future expenses or can be undesignated as to purpose.

(3-26-08)

b. When the Commission approves a contingency reserve, it must determine the amount necessary for 
a reasonable contingency reserve. (3-26-08)

c. Upon approval of the Commission, money in the contingency reserve may be authorized to be used 
for specific purposes of the Lottery or to be used to fund general administrative expenses if there is a revenue 
shortfall. Expenses funded from the contingency reserve cannot be included with other administrative expenses for 
purposes of determining compliance with current administrative expenditure limitations. (3-26-08)
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10. Special Drawings. (3-26-08)

a. The Director may authorize special drawings to award prizes, such as vacation trips, automobiles, 
or other tangible items in addition to, or in lieu of, cash awards. The Director will determine the nature and number of 
awards for each special drawing. Special drawings for promotional awards may be held independently of the 
Lottery’s regular prize drawings or may be incorporated therein. The promotional drawings may be cosponsored and 
conducted in conjunction with Lottery retailers or other independent businesses. In view of the temporary nature and 
indeterminate frequency of the promotional awards drawings, a press announcement and normal advertising media 
will be used to inform the public of the rules and prizes for each special drawing. (3-26-08)

b. Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph 100.11.a. of this rule, the Director may, at his 
discretion, award in-lieu equivalent cash awards to the winners of tangible items, in those instances where the 
Director deems it appropriate. The value of noncash items will be estimated by using either the cost of the item or its 
fair-market value. (3-26-08)

11. Retail Drawings. The Director and his designee may authorize retailers to conduct drawings using 
non-winning Lottery tickets in conjunction with a particular Lottery game. Such authorization will be in writing, 
specify the type of drawing to be conducted, and forth the methodology to be used in conducting the drawing.

(3-26-08)

12. Retail Ticket Price Discounts. (3-26-08)

a. Notwithstanding the price adopted for the retail sale of a ticket in the rules for a specific Lottery 
game, the Commission may offer discounts for the retail sale of Lottery tickets. (3-26-08)

i. Discounts for the retail sale of Lottery tickets may be offered to the public through the use of 
coupons approved by the Director or by any other method approved by the Director. (3-26-08)

ii. Coupons that offer a discount on the retail price of Lottery tickets will be distributed using methods 
designed to reach the public. (        )

b. Rules for a promotion conducted by the Lottery using retail ticket discounts will be published by 
the Director and made available at the Lottery’s offices and retailer locations. (        )

13. Allocation of Revenues for Prizes. (3-26-08)

a. Purpose: The primary objective of the Lottery is to produce the maximum amount of net revenues 
to benefit the public purpose of raising revenue consonant with the dignity of the state and the sensibilities of its 
citizens. In accomplishing this objective, at least forty-five percent (45%) of the total annual revenues will be 
returned in the form of prizes. The Lottery may design and conduct games that return more than forty-five percent 
(45%) of the revenues received from the sale of tickets in the form of prizes as an incentive to increase the total 
amount of game sales over the level of sales that otherwise would have been reasonably expected using a lower prize 
percentage. Games may also be authorized that return less than forty-five percent (45%) of that game’s revenues so 
long as forty-five percent (45%) of the total annual revenues is returned as prizes. (3-26-08)

b. Prize payments: In addition to cash prize payments, money set aside by the Lottery and restricted 
for the payment of prizes is considered in satisfying the requirement of returning at least forty-five percent (45%) of 
total revenues to the public in the form of prizes. (3-26-08)

c. Averaging game prize payments: Notwithstanding the prize structure adopted for a Lottery game, 
the amount of revenue returned for prizes among all the games offered by the Lottery may be reallocated so long as at 
least forty-five percent (45%) of the total revenue earned from all games is returned to the public in the form of prizes 
on an annual basis. The Director will report to the Commission on any reallocations made pursuant to Section 100 of 
these rules. (3-26-08)

14. Ownership of Lottery Tickets. (3-26-08)
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a. Except for tickets claimed jointly in accordance with the provisions of Paragraph 100.14.d. of this 
rule, until a name is printed or placed upon a Lottery ticket in the designated area, the ticket is owned by the bearer, 
who is entitled to any prize attributable to the ticket. (        )

b. If more than one (1) name appears on a ticket, the ticket must be claimed in accordance with the 
joint ownership procedures listed in Paragraph 100.14.d. of this rule. (3-26-08)

c. Groups, family units, clubs, or other organizations may claim a winning ticket if the organization 
possesses a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) issued by the Internal Revenue Service and that number 
is shown on the claim form. (3-26-08)

d. If a ticket is claimed to be owned by two (2) or more people, the following steps will be taken for 
payment of the prize: (3-26-08)

i. All people claiming ownership must complete and sign a claim form and declare their percentage 
of the prize prior to processing the claim. After the claim form is submitted to the Lottery, the percentage cannot be 
amended. The percentages claimed must add up to one hundred percent (100%) of the prize. (4-4-13)

ii. At least one (1) of the people claiming ownership of the ticket must sign the ticket and also sign the 
claim form. (        )

iii. The Lottery reserves the right to issue a single prize check instead of multiple prize checks to the 
owners of a ticket if the value of each individual prize check would be less than fifty dollars ($50). (3-26-08)

iv. Multiple winners of a Lottery prize will be paid only through the Boise Lottery office. Lottery 
retailers will not be required to pay more than one (1) winner of a single prize. (3-26-08)

15. Claims. (3-26-08)

a. Liability. By submitting a claim, the player agrees that the state, the Commission, the Lottery and 
all officials, officers, and employees of each are discharged from all further liability upon payment of the prize.

(3-26-08)

b. Publicity. By submitting a claim, the player also agrees that the Lottery may use the prize winner’s 
name and photograph for publicity purposes. (3-26-08)

c. Claim period. Prizes may be claimed for a period of one hundred eighty (180) days after the 
drawing in which the prize was won or from the last day tickets from the specific instant game were sold. Prizes won 
through an electronic terminal are payable in accordance with the Lottery’s rules. If a claim is not made for the prize 
within the applicable period, the prize money may be added to future prize pools, to be used in addition to prize 
allotments already allocated, except as provided in Section 67-7433, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

d. Invalid tickets. If a ticket presented to the Lottery is invalid pursuant to the terms of these rules or 
the specific game rules, the ticket is not entitled to prize payment. (3-26-08)

e. Ticket a bearer instrument. A ticket is a bearer instrument until signed in the space designated on 
the ticket for signature. The person who signs the ticket is considered the owner of the ticket. Payment of any prize 
may be made to a person in possession of an unsigned ticket. All liability of the state, the Commission, the Lottery, 
the Director, and Lottery employees terminates upon payment. (        )

f. Time of prize payment. All prizes will be paid within a reasonable time after a claim is verified by 
the Lottery and a winner is determined. The date of the first installment payment of any prize to be paid in installment 
payments is the date the claim is validated and processed, unless a different date is specified for a particular game in 
these rules or in the specific game rules. Later installment payments will be made approximately weekly, monthly, or 
annually, from the date the claim is processed and validated in accordance with the type of prize won and the rules 
applicable to the prize. The Lottery may, at any time, delay any prize payment in order to review a change in 
Section 101 Page 206  



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 52.01.03
Idaho State Lottery Commission Rules Governing Operations of the Idaho State Lottery
circumstances concerning the prize awarded, the payee, or the claim. (3-26-08)

g. Prizes payable for winner’s life. If any prize is for the life of the winner, only an individual may 
claim and receive the prize for life. If a group, corporation, or other organization is the winner, the life of the winner 
is deemed to be twenty (20) years. (3-26-08)

16. Prizes Payable After Death of Winner. All prizes, and portions of prizes, that remain unpaid at 
the time of the prize winner’s death will be payable to the personal representative of the prize winner’s estate once 
satisfactory evidence of the personal representative’s appointment has been provided, and the Director is satisfied that 
payment to the personal representative is lawful and proper. The Director may rely on a certified copy of a court order 
appointing a personal representative (or similar person responsible for the prize winner’s estate, whether denominated 
an administrator, executor, executrix, or other representative of the prize winner’s estate) or may petition the court to 
determine the proper payee. Payment to the personal representative of the estate of the deceased owner of any prize 
winnings will absolve the Director and the Lottery’s employees of any further liability for payment of prize winnings.

(3-26-08)

17. Disability of Prize Winner. The Lottery may petition any court of competent jurisdiction for a 
determination of the rightful payee for the payment of any prize winnings that are or may become due to a person 
under a disability including, but not limited to, mental deficiency, or physical or mental incapacity. (        )

18. Stolen or Lost Tickets. The Lottery has no responsibility for paying prizes attributable to stolen or 
lost tickets. (3-26-08)

19. Effect of Game Rules. In purchasing a ticket the player agrees to comply with Title 67, Chapter 
74, Idaho Code, these rules, the specific game rules, Lottery instructions and procedures, and the final decisions of 
the Lottery. The Lottery’s decisions and judgments in respect to the determination of winning tickets or any other 
dispute arising from the payment or awarding of prizes will be final and binding upon all participants in the Lottery. 
If a dispute between the Lottery and a player occurs as to whether a ticket is a winning ticket and the prize is not paid, 
the Lottery may, solely at the Director’s option, replace the ticket with an unplayed ticket of an equivalent price from 
any game or refund the price of the ticket. This will be the sole and exclusive remedy of the player. (3-26-08)

20. Disputed Prizes. If there is a dispute, or it appears that there may a dispute concerning payment or 
ownership of any prize or any other legal issue involving the prize, the Lottery may refrain from making payment of 
the prize pending a final determination by the Lottery or by a court of competent jurisdiction as to the proper payment 
of the prize. (3-26-08)

21. Sale of Lottery Tickets. Lottery tickets may be sold for cash, check, money order, credit card, 
electronic funds transfer, or debit card. (5-8-09)

102. CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY.

01. Persons Subject to Conflict of Interest Policy. Every Commissioner, the Director, every Deputy 
Director, and every other Lottery officer and employee is considered a person subject to this rule on conflict of 
interest. If a statutory provision, rule, or policy applicable to the Lottery conflicts with Section 67-7443, Idaho Code, 
the more stringent provision applies. (3-26-08)

02. Statements For Economic Interest. Every person listed in Subsection 110.01 of this rule, is 
prohibited from directly or indirectly, individually, or as a member of a partnership, or as a shareholder of a 
corporation, or as a participant in a joint venture or association with any other person, having an interest in dealing in 
a Lottery game or in the ownership or leasing of property used by or for a Lottery game. (3-26-08)

03. Persons Ineligible For Prizes. Except as provided in Section 67-7440, Idaho Code, the following 
persons are disqualified from purchasing a Lottery ticket or share, and from receiving a Lottery prize: (        )

a. Every person listed in Subsection 110.01 of this rule; (3-26-08)

b. Any officer, director, or employee of any vendor of Lottery tickets or manufacturer of equipment 
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used to determine winners in computerized Lottery games, and any of their subcontractors who may affect the 
security, integrity, or honesty of the Lottery; (3-26-08)

c. Any Lottery contractor or consultant under agreement with the Lottery to review the Lottery’s 
security procedures, and any other contractor or consultant that the Director deems ineligible if the Director 
reasonably determines that the security, honesty, and integrity of the Lottery may be adversely affected; (3-26-08)

d. An immediate family member of any individual described in Paragraphs 110.03.a., 110.03.b., or 
110.03.c. of this rule who is a member of the same household. (3-26-08)

04. Gift Prohibitions. (3-26-08)

a. Except as provided in Paragraph 110.03.b. of this rule, every person listed in Subsection 110.01 of 
this rule, including members of their immediate family, are prohibited from soliciting or receiving, directly or 
indirectly, a gift in excess of fifty dollars ($50) from any person who might reasonably be expected to receive a 
benefit from the Lottery. (3-26-08)

b. In appearances before civic groups and other organizations it is permissible to accept a meal if it is 
offered and it is the established practice of that group or organization. (3-26-08)

05. Persons Prohibited From Providing Services. The following individuals and entities are 
prohibited from being a Lottery game retailer, Lottery vendor, or Lottery contractor, and shall not provide audits or 
study services as specified by Title 67, Chapter 74, Idaho Code: (3-26-08)

a. Every person listed in Subsection 110.01 of this rule; (3-26-08)

b. A member of the immediate family who is a member of the same household of any person listed in 
Subsection 110.01 of this rule; (3-26-08)

06. Outside Activities Restricted. (3-26-08)

a. The Director, all Deputy Directors, and all full-time Lottery officers and employees are required to 
render full-time service to the duties of their positions. Part-time, temporary, or seasonal Lottery employees are 
required to render service to the extent of their employment with the Lottery and are prohibited from accepting other 
employment that may conflict with the integrity of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

b. Except when assisting another state lottery, no Commissioner, Director, Deputy Director or other 
Lottery officer or employee may provide consulting or contractual services, or accept an honorarium related to his 
State Lottery expertise. (3-26-08)

c. When assisting another state lottery, it is permissible for the other state to reimburse normal travel 
costs to the individual providing the service, but no honorarium or pay to the individual will be accepted. If the other 
state has a policy of paying for the time of another state’s employee while providing assistance, the payment will be 
made to the State Lottery. (3-26-08)

d. Nothing contained in Paragraphs 110.06.a. through 110.06.c. of this rule precludes the Lottery from 
negotiating contracts in which the vendor to the Lottery must bear the expense of Lottery personnel making on-site 
inspections of the vendor’s products or manufacturing facility, auditing the vendor, or other legitimate business 
reasons for traveling to the vendor’s place of business or site of the vendor’s records, and person listed in Subsection 
110.01 of this rule may engage in travel at the vendor’s expense for those legitimate business purposes. Nothing 
contained in Paragraphs 110.06.a. through 110.06.c. of this rule prevents a Commissioner, Director, Deputy Director 
or other Lottery officer or employee from participating in and traveling to educational or industry related programs. 
Actual expenses incurred may be reimbursed by a sponsoring entity if the integrity of the State Lottery is not 
adversely impacted. (3-26-08)

07. Conduct of Commission Business. Business transactions conducted by the Commission, the 
Director, Deputy Directors, and all other Lottery officers and employees with Lottery vendors should be conducted in 
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the Lottery’s offices to the maximum extent possible. (3-26-08)

08. Personal Conduct. Personal conduct that is illegal or generally considered improper or brings 
discredit to the Lottery may be subject to appropriate disciplinary action by the Director. (3-26-08)

09. Use of Lottery Property. Every person listed in Subsection 110.01 of this rule is prohibited from 
using any Lottery vehicle or other Lottery property for personal use, except that telephones, computers, etc., may be 
used for personal use in the manner ordinarily accepted in an office setting when that use does not result in additional 
expense to the Lottery and when that use does not contravene state policy. (3-26-08)

10. Signature of Conflict Policy Required. Every person listed in Subsection 110.01 of this rule is 
required to sign the following conflict of interest policy as a condition of employment. “I have read and understand 
the pertinent Sections of Idaho Constitution Article 7, Section 10, and Title 59, Chapter 7, Idaho Code, and these 
conflict of interest policies.”

Signature
Typed Name
Date (3-26-08)

103. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. LOTTERY CONTRACTING RULES.

01. Classification of Lottery Contracts. (3-26-08)

a. Lottery contracts for the acquisition of materials, supplies, services and personal and professional 
services are classified according to relative sensitivity, which in turn determines the level of review, procurement 
method and the extent of disclosure required by Lottery vendors or if no disclosure is required as in the case of 
Lottery contractors. The three (3) levels of procurement are as follows: (3-26-08)

i. General procurements: These procurements are the least sensitive and are for materials, supplies, 
equipment, services and personal and professional services required to satisfy the day-to-day administrative, 
ministerial and operating needs of the Lottery. Disclosure filings by Lottery vendors are not normally required for this 
class of procurements. Lottery contractors may supply general procurement items. The Lottery may use formal 
invitations to bid, informal competitive quotes and requests for proposals to solicit contracts for these acquisitions, as 
may be determined by the Director to be the most appropriate process for a specific acquisition. (3-26-08)

ii. Sensitive procurements: These procurements are of intermediate sensitivity and are for materials, 
supplies, equipment, services and personal and professional services which may have direct or indirect impact upon 
the security, credibility and integrity of the Lottery. Also included are special studies and services required by statute 
(demographic, communications and performance studies). The normal procedure for acquiring the materials and 
services is by request for proposal; however, the Director may authorize the use of competitive quotes when the cost 
of the acquisition is less than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000). The Director may prescribe special disclosure 
requirements governing Lottery contractors or vendors for this class of contracts. (3-26-08)

iii. Major procurements: This class is the most sensitive of Lottery contracts. The Lottery Act requires 
these procurements to be let by the Commission and the filing of comprehensive disclosure statements by Lottery 
vendors. (3-26-08)

b. The procedures for announcing or soliciting various classes of Lottery contracts outlined in 
Paragraph 200.01.a. of this rule are intended to be advisory only and do not limit the Commission or the Director in 
the selection of the most appropriate process to acquire a given product or service. (3-26-08)

02. General Policy. (3-26-08)

a. In all decisions affecting the Lottery, the Commission and Director are specifically directed by 
statute to take into consideration the particularly sensitive nature of the Lottery and to act in a manner to promote and 
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insure the integrity, security, honesty and fairness of the Lottery. Additionally, the Director, in awarding contracts in 
response to solicitations for proposals, must award the contracts to the responsible contractor or vendor submitting 
the lowest and best proposal that provides maximum benefits to the state in relation to cost in the areas of security, 
competence, experience, timely performance, and maximization of net revenues to benefit the public purpose of the 
Lottery. Consistent with these statutory directives, it is the policy of the Lottery, to the extent possible, to conduct its 
contracting affairs in an open, competitive manner. However, the security and integrity of the Lottery are fundamental 
and overriding considerations in all decisions. (3-26-08)

b. Although the Lottery is exempt from the provisions of Section 67-5715, Idaho Code, it is the policy 
of the Lottery to conduct its contracting affairs generally in accordance with the state’s competitive bidding principles 
contained in Section 67-5715 et seq., Idaho Code, and consistent with the specific directives contained in Paragraph 
200.02.a. of this rule. In implementing this policy, the Lottery reserves the right to use the procedures developed by 
the Department of Administration as guidelines to govern its procurement actions. Notwithstanding this reservation, 
the Lottery also reserves the right to use alternate contracting and purchasing practices that take account of market 
realities and modern or innovative contracting and purchasing methods that are also consistent with the public policy 
of encouraging competition. These methods may include, but are not limited to, specialized vendor prequalifications, 
competitive negotiations, performance incentives and disincentives, life cycle costing and solicitations emphasizing 
the request for proposal process. (3-26-08)

c. When the Lottery uses a Request for Proposal (RFP) for a planned acquisition, the major 
considerations in determining the contract award will be the quality of the product or service, the likelihood of timely 
performance, and price. Qualitative factors normally address issues like the Vendor’s demonstrated experience in 
performing comparable projects, performance credibility, availability of qualified personnel and equipment, and other 
special factors as may apply to a particular contract. The RFP will normally specify the criteria that will be used in the 
evaluation of offers and the award of the contract. (3-26-08)

d. Because of the specialized character of Lottery contracts, the Lottery will not normally advertise 
bid proposals. Rather, the Lottery will circulate bid and proposal requests for materials, equipment and services to 
vendors known to specialize in the required procurement or to vendors that the Lottery may reasonably expect to have 
an interest in providing such services. The Lottery will develop its mailing lists as the service need arises. (3-26-08)

e. The Director may prepare standard terms and conditions to govern the acquisition of materials, 
supplies and services by the State Lottery. To the extent possible, the standard terms and conditions should be as 
uniform as possible with the standard terms and conditions governing contracts entered into by other state agencies.

(3-26-08)

f. All major departures from the state contracting guidelines referred to in Paragraph 200.02.b. of this 
rule will be approved by the Commission. If there is a conflict between the state guidelines and the Lottery’s adopted 
rules, the Lottery’s rules take precedence. (3-26-08)

03. Delegation of Purchasing Authority. (3-26-08)

a. Authority is granted to the Director to initiate all purchase actions and enter into and execute 
contracts for materials, supplies and services, on behalf of the Commission and the Lottery, except as follows:

(3-26-08)

i. General contracts having an estimated one-time or annual cost in excess of fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000); (3-26-08)

ii. Contracts defined as Sensitive Procurements having a one-time or annual cost of more than fifty 
thousand dollars ($50,000); (3-26-08)

iii. Contracts defined as Major Procurements; (3-26-08)

iv. All personal service contracts other than major or sensitive procurements having a one-time or 
annual cost in excess of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000); and (3-26-08)
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v. Procurement actions which are executed in a manner other than as provided in the contract 
exemption guidelines. (3-26-08)

b. Notwithstanding the provisions of Subparagraph 200.03.a.i. of this rule, the Commission, having 
once approved a planned procurement action involving a general contract acquisition, grants authority to the Director 
to execute a contract or contracts for the purchase or service without further action by the Commission. (3-26-08)

c. The Commission, having once approved a particular contract, delegates authority to the Director to 
make all disbursements and payments as provided in the contract, without further, specific approval action by the 
Commission. (3-26-08)

d. The Commission grants authority to the Director to enter into emergency contracts when 
immediate and decisive action is required to protect the security, credibility or integrity of the Lottery or a Lottery 
game. All emergency contracts let by the Director in which the cost exceeds the delegated authority contained in 
Paragraph 200.03.a. of this rule, must be reported to the Commission within five (5) days of the contract award date, 
or at the next scheduled Commission meeting, whichever is sooner. Such procurement actions may be taken without 
competitive bid. The dollar value of a contract awarded by the Director under the provisions of this section may not 
exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). Any emergency contract for a major procurement in which the cost exceeds 
fifty thousand dollars ($50,000), if not acted upon at a regularly scheduled Commission meeting, is subject to 
Commission approval by telephonic or electronic vote. (3-26-08)

04. State Central Services Agenda. As provided in Section 67-7408, Idaho Code, the Lottery may 
contract with other state agencies for the performance of contracting responsibilities that may be required by the 
Lottery. Those services may include, but are not limited to, the acquisition of Fidelity and Faithful Performance 
Bonds covering the Commissioners, officers, and employees of the Lottery; bonding of retailers, annuity contracts; 
general equipment and supplies; equipment financing agreements; and disposal of surplus Lottery property. The 
Lottery is bound by all statutes and rules governing the actions of the state agency when the Lottery uses such 
services. (3-26-08)

05. Idaho Preference. (3-26-08)

a. In all contracts, the Lottery will prefer goods or services that have been manufactured or produced 
in this state if price, fitness, availability and quality are otherwise equal. (3-26-08)

b. Where a Lottery contract is awarded to a foreign contractor and the contract price exceeds ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000), the contractor must promptly report to the Idaho Tax Commission (ITC) on forms to be 
provided by ITC the total contract price, terms of payment, length of contract and such other information as the ITC 
may require before final payment can be received on the Lottery contract. The Lottery must satisfy itself that the 
requirements of this Paragraph have been complied with before it issues a final payment on a Lottery contract. For the 
purposes of this Paragraph, a foreign contractor is one who is not domiciled in or registered to do business in Idaho.

(3-26-08)

06. Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Contracts. The Lottery is an equal opportunity employer 
and also participates in any on-going state affirmative action programs. (3-26-08)

07. Personal Services Contract. (3-26-08)

a. Contracts between the Lottery and persons or firms such as advertising agencies, security 
consultants, auditors, other consultants required to conduct or prepare special studies and reports and other personal 
services contracts that may be required to fulfill the Lottery’s responsibilities, will be awarded as outlined in this 
Subsection. The award of contracts will be either direct, informal or formal depending upon the sensitivity and 
estimated dollar value of the contract. In awarding personal services contracts, the Lottery will consider the 
contractor’s qualifications in similar areas of demonstrated competency, availability, experience in successfully 
performing comparable projects, availability of qualified personnel, likelihood of timely performance, history of cost 
containment, compensation requirements and other special factors that may apply to a particular contract. (3-26-08)

b. Direct Award Procedures. (3-26-08)
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i. Any personal services contract having an estimated one-time or annual value of ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000) or less may be awarded directly by the Director if the Director believes reasonable steps have been 
taken to obtain competitive quotes, if feasible, and the award will not negatively affect the security, credibility or 
integrity of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

ii. The Director, with the approval of the Commission, may directly award personal services contracts 
in any appropriate or reasonable amount, without competitive solicitations, when the project consists of work that has 
been substantially described, planned or otherwise studied in an earlier Lottery contract and the new contract would 
be a continuation of the earlier project, provided that the earlier contract was awarded by a formal selection 
procedure. In awarding contracts under this provision the Commission and Director will take into account the effects 
of that action on the security, credibility and integrity of the Lottery and further ensure that the contract awards will 
not encourage favoritism or substantially diminish competition and will result in substantial cost savings to the 
Lottery. (3-26-08)

iii. The Director, with the approval of the Commission, may directly award personal service contracts 
without competitive solicitation when an emergency or other condition exists that requires prompt and decisive 
action. The Commission and Director may exercise the provisions of this Paragraph only when immediate action is 
required to correct a situation that would threaten integrity, security, honesty, and fairness in the operation and 
administration of the Lottery or the objective of raising net revenues for the benefit of the public purpose described in 
the Act. (3-26-08)

c. Informal Award Procedure: The Director may award any personal services contract having an 
estimated one-time annual value of more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), but not more than twenty-five thousand 
dollars ($25,000), if the following informal award procedure is followed: (3-26-08)

i. An attempt is made to obtain a minimum of three (3) competitive quotes. If three (3) quotes are not 
available, fewer will suffice provided a written record is made of the effort to obtain three (3) quotes. (3-26-08)

ii. A written record must be maintained of the source and amount of quotes received. (3-26-08)

iii. The contract award will be made to the lowest priced vendor who best meets the contract award 
criteria of Paragraph 200.07.a. of this rule. (3-26-08)

iv. The Director maintains work papers documenting the basis of the award to ensure that the award 
will not negatively affect the security, credibility and integrity of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

d. Formal Award Procedures: Unless otherwise awarded under the provisions of Subparagraphs 
200.07.b.ii. or 200.07.b.iii. of this rule, all personal services contracts having an estimated one-time or annual cost of 
more than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) must be awarded according to the formal award procedure, as 
follows: (3-26-08)

i. The Lottery will distribute copies of the proposal (usually a Request for Proposal) to Lottery 
vendors or to appropriate contractors who have indicated an interest, or are anticipated to have an interest, in 
providing the required service to the Lottery. Every Request for Proposal will include a response deadline date. All 
responses received by the Lottery after the deadline may be rejected. (3-26-08)

ii. The Director will appoint an evaluation panel consisting of at least four (4) persons, at least two (2) 
of whom are members of the Lottery’s staff. The Director of Lottery Security will be one of the appointees to evaluate 
the responses for any project involving the security of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

iii. The evaluation panel must develop a system to evaluate the vendor responses and score each 
vendor’s response. Based upon this evaluation, the evaluation panel must rank the three (3) best responses and 
develop an award recommendation. (3-26-08)

iv. The contract will be awarded to the vendor who best meets the award criteria. (3-26-08)
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e. No contract or other agreement for the purpose of providing services to the Lottery may be entered 
into, renewed, or extended with any person, unless the person certifies in writing, under penalty of perjury, that the 
person is not in violation of any Idaho tax laws on a form prescribed by the Idaho Tax Commission (ITC). A copy of 
the certification form may be obtained from the Lottery or the ITC. The original certification must be retained in the 
Lottery’s contract file as required by the state’s records retention guidelines. (3-26-08)

08. Major Procurements. (3-26-08)

a. All bid announcements, invitations, or proposals covering major procurements will identify that the 
planned acquisition is classified as a major procurement. (3-26-08)

b. All contracts or procurement actions classified as major procurements will be subject to the 
disclosure requirements specified in Section 67-7421, Idaho Code. Subsection 010.05 of these rules defines the term 
“control person” for purposes of disclosure requirements. The Lottery will enclose a copy of the disclosure 
requirements with each bid announcement or proposed request for such procurement. All disclosure filings are 
subject to the review and approval of the Director of the Lottery Security Division. Failure of any Lottery vendor to 
properly execute or timely submit the disclosure requirement may be grounds for rejection of the bid or proposal.

(3-26-08)

c. No contract for a major procurement with any Lottery vendor may be entered into if any control 
person of that Lottery vendor has been convicted of a crime, other than traffic infractions. Background checks must 
be made by the Director of Lottery Security to rigorously enforce this requirement. (3-26-08)

d. The Lottery may prequalify Lottery vendors as having met the disclosure filing requirements for 
major procurements. The disclosure prequalifications may be renewed by July 1 of each year. The prequalifications 
will satisfy the disclosure requirements of the Act, providing a certification is received from the Lottery vendor at the 
time of submitting any subsequent bid, proposal or offer and that no changes have occurred in the vendor’s status, or 
that of its control persons, since the last filing of the complete disclosure statement. (3-26-08)

e. Each Lottery vendor for a major procurement must maintain its disclosure filing in a current status 
during the tenure of the contract. Unless otherwise provided in the contract document, any changes in the status of the 
vendor, any of its listed control persons or additional control persons, must be reported to the Director within fourteen 
(14) days of the known change, and will require written submission of the same disclosure information to the 
Commission. (3-26-08)

f. Each Lottery vendor for a major procurement is required to post a performance bond with the 
Commission as provided in Section 67-7427, Idaho Code. The performance bond must be issued by a surety licensed 
to do business in this state and be for the duration specified in the procurement announcement. (3-26-08)

09. Sensitive Procurements. (3-26-08)

a. All bid announcements, invitations, or Requests for Proposal covering sensitive procurements as 
defined in Subparagraph 200.01.a.ii. of this rule will identify that the planned acquisition is a sensitive procurement 
and will be subject to the provisions of this rule. (3-26-08)

b. The Director may establish special disclosure requirements governing State Lottery contracts for 
sensitive procurements that will be included in the procurement announcement. Failure of any Lottery vendor or 
contractor to properly execute or timely submit the disclosure requirement may be grounds for rejection of the bid or 
proposal. All disclosure filings are subject to the review and approval of the Director of Lottery Security. (3-26-08)

c. No contract for a major procurement with any Lottery vendor may be entered into if any control 
person of that Lottery vendor has been convicted of a crime, other than traffic infractions. Background checks must 
be made by the Director of Lottery Security to rigorously enforce this requirement. (3-26-08)

d. The Lottery may prequalify Lottery vendors as having met the disclosure requirements of this rule. 
The prequalification will satisfy the disclosure filing requirement providing a certification is received from the 
Lottery vendor, at the time of submitting any subsequent bid, proposal or offer, that no changes have occurred in the 
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vendor’s status or any of its principals since the last filing of the full disclosure statement. (3-26-08)

e. Each Lottery vendor for a sensitive procurement must maintain its disclosure filing in a current 
status during the tenure of the contract. Unless otherwise provided in the contract document, any changes in the 
vendor’s status or any of its principals, must be reported to the Director within fourteen (14) days of the known 
change, and will require written submission of the same disclosure information to the Commission. (3-26-08)

f. Each Lottery contractor for a sensitive procurement may be required to post a performance bond 
with the Lottery. The performance bond must be issued by a surety licensed to do business in this state and be for the 
amount and duration specified in the procurement announcement. (3-26-08)

10. Advertising and Promotional Contract. Because advertising and promotional contracts involve 
unique marketing strategies for Lottery games, the acquisition of these services and purchases may be made directly 
without using competitive procurement procedures. The prudent person rule will apply in the award of these contracts 
or the acquisition of these services. This exemption applies to all advertising and promotional contracts, whether 
placed through the Lottery’s advertising agency or directly by the Commission or the Director. For the purpose of this 
rule, advertising and promotional contracts include but are not limited to: agreements with radio and television 
stations, acquisition of prizes, media selection, placement of advertising contracts, promotional printing, art work and 
development and placement of all forms of commercials and display presentations. (3-26-08)

11. Investment Contracts. The Lottery may enter into contracts for the acquisition of structured 
settlements, place investments or acquire annuities related to the pay-off of major prize winners without following 
competitive bidding procedures. The Lottery will follow the prudent person rule in the placement of such 
investments. (3-26-08)

12. Prequalification of Annuity Vendors. (3-26-08)

a. For the purpose of acquiring annuities related to the pay-off of major prize winners, the Lottery will 
maintain an ongoing prequalification list of annuity vendors. A vendor must first be prequalified by the Lottery 
before submitting a bid to the Lottery for the award of an annuity contract. Vendors may submit their qualifications to 
the Lottery for evaluation any time in the year. (3-26-08)

b. The following criteria must be met by each vendor before being placed on the prequalification list:
(3-26-08)

i. Each bidder must be an insurance company licensed to do business in Idaho and have been in 
business for a period of two (2) years immediately before submitting its bid. (3-26-08)

ii. An insurance company must be a Best’s “A+” rated company and have at least a Best’s Class VII 
financial size classification. (3-26-08)

iii. Each bidder’s request for qualification must contain: (3-26-08)

(1) The name, address, telephone number and contact person for the bidder. (3-26-08)

(2) The current financial statement of the bidder certified by an independent certified public 
accountant. (3-26-08)

(3) The names, addresses and telephone numbers of three (3) current or past annuity client references 
whom the Lottery may contact. (3-26-08)

c. After a vendor has been prequalified, the vendor may submit bids to the Lottery in accordance with 
the procedures established by the Director. Furthermore, a vendor must keep its qualifications current by promptly 
reporting any changes in their status to the Lottery. (3-26-08)

d. The total amount of annuities awarded to an insurance company cannot exceed five percent (5%) of 
its stated surplus. (3-26-08)
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e. Nothing contained in this rule will preclude a brokerage company from representing or submitting 
a bid on behalf of a qualified bidder. (3-26-08)

201. CRITERIA FOR REVIEW OF RETAILER APPLICATIONS AND CONDUCT OF OPERATIONS.

01. Retailer’s Application. Any person interested in obtaining a contract for a certificate to sell 
Lottery tickets must first file an application on forms provided by the Director. The forms will require disclosure of, 
but are not limited to, an applicant’s personal, financial, and criminal history, and an authorization to investigate the 
applicant’s criminal and credit history. (3-26-08)

02. Fees, Procedure, and Criteria Precluding Issuing Contract. (3-26-08)

a. All certificate applications must be accompanied by a minimum, nonrefundable, fee of twenty-five 
dollars ($25). If a certificate is awarded, an additional, nonrefundable, certificate fee of one hundred dollars ($100) 
must be paid. (3-26-08)

b. A current retailer may be required to complete an additional application or application 
supplements. If a current retailer requests that the existing certificate be modified to allow the sale of additional 
Lottery products, no additional application fee will be charged. (        )

c. The Lottery may waive the payment of any certificate fee to facilitate an experimental program or a 
research project. (3-26-08)

03. Provisional Certifications. (3-26-08)

a. The Lottery may issue a provisional certificate to an applicant for a Lottery certificate after receipt 
of a fully completed certificate application, the authorization of a complete personal background check, completion 
of a credit check, and completion of a preliminary background check. The provisional certificate will expire at the 
time of issuance of the requested certificate or ninety (90) days from the date the provisional certificate was issued, 
whichever occurs first, unless the provisional certificate is extended by the Lottery. (3-26-08)

b. No contract shall be made with an applicant: (        )

i. Who is under eighteen (18) years of age; (3-26-08)

ii. Who will be engaged exclusively in the business of selling tickets; (3-26-08)

iii. Who is an employee of the Lottery; (3-26-08)

iv. Who is, or is owned or controlled or affiliated with, a supplier of instant tickets or a manufacturer 
of computer equipment used to operate instant or on-line games, or both; (3-26-08)

v. Who is not a resident of Idaho, or a corporation that is not incorporated in Idaho or not authorized 
to do business in Idaho; (3-26-08)

vi. Who has been found to have violated any rule, regulation, or order of the Commission or the 
Director; (3-26-08)

vii. When any person, firm, association, or corporation other than the applicant will participate in the 
management of the affairs of the applicant. (3-26-08)

04. Criteria That May Be Grounds For Refusal. Before contracting with an applicant, the Director 
will consider the factors set out below. In considering these factors, the Director will seek to determine which 
applicants will best serve the economical and efficient operation of a statewide Lottery through their ticket sales. If 
any of these factors lead the Director to determine that contracting with the applicant would not promote the 
economical and efficient operation of a statewide Lottery consonant with the public interest, or would not serve the 
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public interest, convenience, or trust, the Director may deny the application. (3-26-08)

a. The Director will consider the financial responsibility and security of the person and the person’s 
business or activity and consider the person’s credit worthiness and integrity in past financial transactions. The 
Lottery may investigate the credit worthiness of the applicant by using the services of a commercial credit reporting 
agency. The Director may also consider the physical security of the applicant’s place of business to determine 
whether tickets that will be sold to the applicant and the proceeds from ticket sales will be kept safe. (        )

b. The Director will consider the accessibility to the public of an applicant’s place of business or 
activity. The Director will contract only with applicants who have regular contact with significant numbers of persons 
at the applicant’s place of business. Before contracting with any organization that has restricted membership policies, 
the Director must determine whether the restrictions are generally acceptable to the public and whether contracting 
with that group or organization or similar groups or organizations would best serve the interests of the Lottery.

(3-26-08)

c. The Director will consider the sufficiency of existing retailers to serve the public interest. The 
Director may seek to maximize total ticket sales by encouraging retailers with the highest potential volume in a 
particular area or neighborhood. (3-26-08)

d. The Director will consider the volume of expected sales by the applicant. In determining the 
anticipated actual sales volume of the applicant, the Director may rely upon the experience and knowledge of the 
Lottery’s staff as well as any other available professional expertise. The Director will determine whether the volume 
of an applicant’s sales is likely to be sufficient that contracting with the applicant will be economically feasible.

(3-26-08)

e. The Director will consider the types of products, services, or entertainment offered at the 
applicant’s place of business. The Director will determine whether the applicant’s products, services, or entertainment 
are generally acceptable to the public and whether they would bear adversely upon the general credibility, integrity, 
and reputation of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

f. The Director will consider the experience, character, or general fitness of the applicant. Entering 
into a contract with the applicant must be consistent with the public interest, convenience, and trust. (3-26-08)

g. The Director will consider the veracity and completeness of the information submitted with the 
retailer’s application. The Director will consider the criminal history of the applicant and any person whose name is 
required to be disclosed under Section 67-7412, Idaho Code, of the Act and may refuse to enter into a contract with 
any applicant when the applicant or such person has been convicted of violating any of the gambling laws of this 
state, general or local, or has been convicted at any time of any crime other than traffic infraction. (3-26-08)

05. Reporting Changes in Circumstances of The Retailer. Every change of business structure of a 
certificated business, such as from a sole proprietorship to a corporation, and every change in the name of a business, 
must be reported to the Lottery before the change. Substantial changes in the ownership of a certificated business 
must also be reported to the Lottery before the change. A substantial change of ownership is defined as the transfer of 
ten percent (10%) or more equity in the certificated business from or to another single individual or legal entity. If a 
change involves the addition or deletion of one (1) or more existing owners or officers, the certificate holder must 
submit a certificate application reflecting the change and any other documentation that the Lottery may require. All 
changes will be reviewed by the Lottery to determine if the existing certificate should be continued. (3-26-08)

06. Certificate Not a Vested or Legal Right. The possession of a certificate issued by the Lottery to 
any person to act as a retailer in any capacity is a privilege personal to that person and is not a vested or legal right. 
The possession of a certificate issued by the Lottery to any person to act as a retailer in any capacity does not 
automatically entitle that person to sell tickets or obtain materials for any particular game. (3-26-08)

07. Suspension or Revocation of a Certificate. The Lottery may suspend or revoke any certificate 
issued pursuant to these rules for one (1) or more of the following reasons: (3-26-08)

a. Failing to meet or maintain the eligibility criteria for certificate application and issuance 
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established by Title 67, Chapter 74, Idaho Code, or these rules; (3-26-08)

b. Violation of any of the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 74, Idaho Code, these rules, or the certificate 
terms and conditions; (3-26-08)

c. Failing to file any return or report or to keep records required by the State Lottery (3-26-08)

d. Failing to maintain an acceptable level of financial responsibility as evidenced by the financial 
condition of the business, incidents of failure to pay taxes or other debts, or by the giving of financial instruments 
which are dishonored; (3-26-08)

e. Fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or other conduct prejudicial to the public confidence in the 
Lottery; (3-26-08)

f. If the public convenience is adequately served by other certificate holders, failure to sell a 
minimum number of tickets as established by the Lottery; (3-26-08)

g. A history of thefts or other forms of losses of tickets or revenue from the business; (3-26-08)

h. Violating federal, state, or local law or allowing the violation of any of these laws on premises 
occupied by or controlled by any person over whom the retailer has substantial control; (3-26-08)

i. Obtaining a certificate by fraud, misrepresentation, concealment or through inadvertence or 
mistake; (3-26-08)

j. Making a misrepresentation of fact to the Commission or the Lottery on any report, record, 
application form, or questionnaire required to be submitted to the Commission or the Lottery; (3-26-08)

k. Denying the Lottery or its authorized representative, including authorized local law enforcement 
agencies, access to any place where a certificate activity is conducted; (3-26-08)

l. Failing to promptly produce for inspection or audit any book, record, document, or other item 
required to be produced by law, these rules, or the terms of the certificate; (3-26-08)

m. Systemically pursuing economic gain in a manner or context that is in violation of the criminal or 
civil public policy of this state if there is cause to believe that the participation of such person in these activities is 
inimical to the proper operation of the authorized Lottery; (3-26-08)

n. Failing to follow the instructions of the Lottery for the conduct of any particular game or special 
event; (3-26-08)

o. Failing to follow security procedures of the Lottery for the management of personnel, handling of 
tickets, or for the conduct of any particular game or special event; (3-26-08)

p. Misrepresenting a fact to a purchaser, or prospective purchaser, of a ticket, or to the general public 
with respect to the conduct of a particular game or special event; (3-26-08)

q. Allowing activities on the licensed premises that could compromise the dignity of the state.
(3-26-08)

08. Surrender of Certificate Upon Revocation. Upon revocation or suspension of a retailer’s 
certificate, the retailer must surrender to the Lottery, by a date designated by the Lottery, the certificate and all other 
Lottery property. (3-26-08)

09. Certified Retailers. All Lottery retailers must be certified in the manner provided in these rules. 
Retailers are required to abide by all applicable laws and administrative rules, the terms and conditions of the contract 
and certificate, and all other directives and instructions issued by the Lottery. (3-26-08)
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10. Requirements For The Sale of Tickets. (3-26-08)

a. Retailers must be knowledgeable about the Lottery and Lottery products and may be required to 
take training in the operation of Lottery games. Retailers must make the purchase of tickets convenient to the public.

(3-26-08)

b. Tickets must be sold at the price designated by the Lottery. Retailers cannot sell tickets for a greater 
amount than the amount specified by the Lottery. Retailers may sell tickets for a lesser amount for promotional 
purposes if authorized by the Lottery. (3-26-08)

c. No retailer or any employee or member of a retailer shall attempt to identify a winning ticket before 
sale of the ticket. (3-26-08)

d. When a retailer is required by its contract with the Lottery to pay a prize to a winner, the retailer 
must pay the prize whenever the winner tenders a winning ticket during the retailer’s normal business hours at the 
location designated on the retailer’s certificate. (3-26-08)

e. Retailers are prohibited from purchasing tickets previously sold by the retailer. (3-26-08)

11. Display of Certificate and Other Materials. Retailers must display the Lottery certificate in an 
area visible to the general public wherever tickets are being sold and also display point-of-sale material provided by 
the Lottery in a manner that is readily seen by and available to the public. Retailers may advertise and use or display 
other appropriate promotional and point-of-sale material. The Lottery may require the removal of objectionable 
material or the discontinuance of objectionable advertising that may have an adverse impact on the Lottery. (        )

12. Dishonored Checks and Electronic Fund Transfers. Any payment made to the Lottery by an 
applicant for a certificate or by a certificated retailer either by a check that is dishonored or by an electronic funds 
transfer (EFT) that is not paid by the depository, is grounds for immediate denial of the application for a certificate or 
for suspension or revocation of an existing certificate. The Lottery may assess a surcharge for each dishonored check 
or EFT. The Lottery may also alter the payment terms of a retailer’s certificate and require a retailer to reimburse the 
Lottery for costs that occur as a result of a dishonored check or EFT. (        )

13. Inspection of Lottery Materials and Retailer Premises. Retailers must allow the Lottery to enter 
upon the retailer’s certificated premises in order to inspect Lottery materials, tickets, and the premises. All books and 
records pertaining to the retailer’s Lottery activities must be available to the Lottery for inspection and copying 
during the normal business hours of the retailer and between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. All books 
and records pertaining to the retailer’s Lottery activities are subject to seizure by the Lottery without prior notice.

(3-26-08)

202. GENERAL INSTANT TICKET GAME OPERATING RULES.

01. Instant Games -- Authorized -- Director’s Authority. The Commission hereby authorizes instant 
games that meet the criteria set forth in these rules. The Director is hereby authorized to select, operate, and contract 
relating to and for the operation of instant games that meet the criteria set forth in these rules. (3-26-08)

02. Definitions. As used in Section 202 of these rules, these terms have the following definitions:
(3-26-08)

a. Instant Ticket Validation Bar Code. The bar code that enables retailers to validate instant tickets.
(3-26-08)

b. ITA System. The Instant Ticket Automation system that validates winning instant tickets.
(3-26-08)

c. Pack. A package of instant game tickets with a designated number of tickets that may be (but do not 
have to be) fanfolded and attached to each other by perforations, which perforations the retailer tears when selling a 
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ticket, and that are packaged in plastic shrink-wrapping, foil or some similar outer wrapping material. (3-26-08)

d. Pack-Ticket Number. The number printed on the ticket. A game identification number must be 
included in the book-ticket number. (3-26-08)

e. Play Symbol Caption. The small printed material appearing below each play symbol which repeats 
or explains the play symbol. One (1) and only one (1) play symbol captions appears under each play symbol.

(3-26-08)

f. Play Symbols. Figures printed in approved ink that appear under each of the rub-off spots on the 
front of the ticket. (3-26-08)

g. Retailer Validation Code. The small letters found under the removable rub-off covering over the 
play symbols on the front of the ticket, which the ticket retailer uses to verify winners of twenty-five dollars ($25) or 
less. The letters appear in varying locations beneath the removable rub-off covering and among the play symbols.

(3-26-08)

h. Ticket. An Idaho instant game ticket. (3-26-08)

i. Ticket Validation Number. The unique number on the front of the ticket. (3-26-08)

03. Sale of Tickets. (3-26-08)

a. No person other than a retailer under a contract for the sale of tickets with the Lottery may sell 
Lottery tickets, except that nothing in this section prevents a person who may lawfully purchase tickets from making 
a gift of Lottery tickets to another. (        )

b. Unless authorized by the Lottery, tickets may not be sold at a location other than the address listed 
on the retailer’s contract with the Lottery. (3-26-08)

c. Nothing in this section prohibits the Commission from designating certain of its agents and 
employees to sell Lottery tickets directly to the public. (        )

04. Instant Games Ticket Price. The price of an instant game ticket will be set by the Director. No 
person may sell a ticket at a price other than that established in accordance with these rules. (3-26-08)

05. Prize Structures. The Director will provide to all Lottery game retailers a detailed tabulation of the 
estimated number of prizes of each particular prize denomination that are expected to be awarded in each Lottery 
game and a close approximation of the odds of winning the prizes. (3-26-08)

06. Number and Value of Instant Ticket Prizes. Lottery game prize structures, odds of winning, 
number of tickets, number and value of prizes, play symbol and captions used for validation will not be adopted by 
administrative rules. Rather, the Director will submit proposed games to the Commission, who must approve each 
game’s general format before the initiation of each game. All instant games must be conducted in accordance with the 
rules of the Commission. (3-26-08)

07. Official Start of Game. (3-26-08)

a. Games with a prize structure adopted by the Commission pursuant to Subsection 202.07 of this rule 
may be started at a time selected by the Director. The Director will publicly announce the starting date of a new game 
by use of a press release or any other appropriate means. The Director may also issue game information that includes 
a description of the game, odds of winning a prize, the number and value of prizes, and the play symbols and captions 
used for prize validation. (3-26-08)

b. Games using a prize structure other than a prize structure previously approved by the Commission 
must be approved by the Commission before game tickets can be sold to the public. (3-26-08)
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08. Determination of Winners. (3-26-08)

a. Winners of an instant game are determined by the matching or specified alignment of the play 
symbols on the tickets. The play symbols are revealed by scratching or rubbing off the latex or similar secure material 
that covers spots on the ticket. The ticket bearer must notify the retailer or the Lottery of the win and submit the 
winning ticket to the retailer or the Lottery as provided in these rules. The winning ticket must be validated by the 
Lottery through use of the validation number or by any other means specified by the Director. (3-26-08)

b. Unless otherwise provided by game rules, only the highest instant prize amount will be paid on a 
given ticket. (3-26-08)

c. No portion of the play symbol captions, retailer validation codes, display printing nor any 
extraneous matter whatever will be usable or playable as a part of the instant game. (3-26-08)

d. The ticket validation number or any portion thereof is not a play spot and is not usable or playable 
as such. (3-26-08)

e. In all Lottery games, the determination of prize winners is subject to the general ticket validation 
requirements set forth in Subsection 200.14, et seq., and Subsection 202.11 of this rule, and the requirements set out 
on the back of each instant game ticket. (3-26-08)

f. The length of operation of an instant game will be determined by the Director. The start date and 
closing date of the instant game will be publicly announced. (3-26-08)

09. Payment of Prizes. The procedures for claiming instant ticket prizes are as follows: (3-26-08)

a. Instant ticket prizes of less than six hundred dollars ($600) may be claimed by one (1) of the 
following methods: (3-26-08)

i. The claimant may present the winning ticket to any Lottery retailer. The retailer must verify the 
claim and, if acceptable, make payment of the amount due the claimant. A retailer may pay prizes in cash or by 
business check, or money order, or any combination thereof. A retailer that pays a prize with a check that is 
dishonored may be subject to suspension or termination of the retailer’s contract. (3-26-08)

ii. If the retailer cannot verify the claim, the claimant must fill out a claim form and the retailer must 
present the completed form and the disputed ticket to the Director. If the claim is validated, a check will be forwarded 
to the claimant in payment of the amount due. If the claim is not validated, the claim will be denied and the claimant 
will be promptly notified. (        )

iii. The claimant may bring the ticket to the Lottery office or complete a claim form and mail it with 
the ticket to the Idaho State Lottery (registered mail recommended). Claim forms may be obtained from any Lottery 
game retailer or from the Lottery. (        )

b. To claim an instant prize of six hundred dollars ($600) or more, the claimant must either bring the 
winning ticket to the Lottery office or complete a claim form and mail the completed form together with the winning 
ticket to the Idaho State Lottery (registered mail recommended). (        )

c. Prizes of six hundred dollars ($600) or more can be paid only from the Boise Lottery office. Upon 
validation by the Director, a check will be forwarded to the claimant in payment of the amount due, less any 
applicable federal income tax withholding. (3-26-08)

d. Any ticket not passing all the validation checks is void and ineligible for any prize and will not be 
paid. However, the Director may, solely at the Director’s option, replace an invalid ticket with an unplayed ticket (or 
ticket of equivalent sales price from any other current game). If a defective ticket is purchased, the only responsibility 
or liability of the Lottery is the replacement of the defective ticket with another unplayed ticket (or ticket of 
equivalent sale price from any other current game). (3-26-08)
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e. All prizes will be paid within a reasonable time after they are awarded and after the claims are 
verified by the Director. For each prize requiring annual payments, all payments after the first payment will be made 
on the anniversary date of the first payment in accordance with the type of prize awarded. The Director may, at any 
time, delay any payment in order to review a change of circumstances concerning the prize awarded, the payee, the 
claim, or any other matter that may have come to his attention. All delayed payments will be brought up to date 
immediately upon the Director’s confirmation and continue to be paid on each original anniversary date thereafter.

(3-26-08)

10. Ticket Validation Requirements. In addition to meeting all of the other requirements in these 
rules or as may be printed on the back of each instant game ticket, the following validation requirements apply with 
regard to instant game tickets: (3-26-08)

a. To be a valid instant game ticket, the ticket must: (        )

i. Have been issued by the Director in an authorized manner. (3-26-08)

ii. Not be altered, unreadable, or tampered with in any manner. (3-26-08)

iii. Not be counterfeit in whole or in part. (3-26-08)

iv. Not be stolen nor appear on any list of omitted tickets on file with the Lottery. (3-26-08)

v. Be complete and not blank (or partially blank), miscut, misregistered, defective, or printed or 
produced in error. (3-26-08)

vi. Under the opaque covered play area, have play symbols and the correct corresponding captions, 
exactly one (1) pack-ticket number, exactly one (1) agent verification code, and exactly one (1) validation number as 
required by each approved set of game rules, all of which must be present in their entirety, legible, right-side up, and 
not reversed in any manner. (3-26-08)

vii. The validation number of an apparent winning ticket must appear on the Lottery’s official list of 
validation numbers of winning tickets; and a ticket with that validation number cannot have been previously paid.

(3-26-08)

viii. Pass all additional confidential validation requirements established by the Director. (3-26-08)

ix. Be signed if the prize is for six hundred dollars ($600) or more. (        )

b. Any ticket not passing all the validation checks in Paragraph 202.11.a. of this rule is void and 
ineligible for any prize and shall not be paid. However, the Director may, solely at the Director’s option, replace an 
invalid ticket with an unplayed ticket (or tickets of equivalent sales price) from any other current Lottery game. If a 
defective ticket is purchased, the only responsibility or liability of the Lottery will be the replacement of the defective 
ticket with another unplayed ticket (or ticket of equivalent sales price from any other current Lottery game).

(3-26-08)

c. The Director may authorize reconstruction of an alleged winning ticket that was not received or 
cannot be located by the Lottery, provided, the person requesting reconstruction must submit to the Lottery sufficient 
evidence to enable reconstruction and submit a claim for the prize, if any, for that ticket. If the reconstructed ticket is 
a winning ticket and meets the validation requirements of Paragraph 202.11.a. of this rule and any specific validation 
requirements contained in the rules for its specific game, the Director may authorize payment of the prize. Provided, 
the ticket will not be validated nor the prize paid before the one hundred eighty-first (181) day following the official 
end of that instant game. A ticket(s) validated pursuant to this Subsection will not entitle the claimant to be entered 
into the grand prize drawing, if any, for that or any subsequent instant game. (3-26-08)

11. Prize Rights Unassignable. No person’s right to a prize already drawn is assignable, except that 
payment of any prize already drawn may be paid to the estate of a deceased prize winner, and a person other than the 
prize winner may be paid the prize to which the winner is entitled as provided by court order. The Director will be 
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discharged of all liability upon payment of a prize pursuant to this rule. (3-26-08)

12. Payment of Prizes to Persons Under Eighteen Years of Age. If a person entitled to a prize for a 
winning ticket is under the age of eighteen (18) years, the Director may direct payment of the prize to an adult 
member of the minor’s family or to the minor’s guardian by a check or draft payable to the adult member of the 
minor’s family or the minor’s guardian. The adult member of the minor’s family or the minor’s guardian will have the 
same duties and powers as a person designated as a custodian in accordance with Idaho law. For purposes of this 
Subsection, the terms “adult member of a minor’s family” and “guardian of a minor” have the same meaning as in the 
Idaho Gifts to Minors Law. The Director will be discharged of all liability upon payment of a prize to a minor 
pursuant to this rule. (3-26-08)

13. Prizes Payable After Death or Disability of Owner. (3-26-08)

a. All prizes, and portions of prizes that remain unpaid at the time of the prize winner’s death will be 
payable to the personal representative of the prize winner’s estate once satisfactory evidence of the personal 
representative’s appointment has been provided, and the Director is satisfied that payment to the personal 
representative is lawful and proper. The Director may rely on a certified copy of a court order appointing a personal 
representative (or similar person responsible for the prize winner’s estate, whether denominated an administrator, 
executor, executrix, or other representative of the prize winner’s estate) or may petition the court to determine the 
proper payee. Payment to the personal representative of the estate of the deceased owner of any prize winnings will 
absolve the Director and the Lottery’s employees of any further liability for payment of prize winnings. (3-26-08)

b. The Lottery may petition any court of competent jurisdiction for a determination of the rightful 
payee for the payment of any prize winnings that are or may become due to a person under a disability including, but 
not limited to, mental deficiency, or physical or mental incapacity. (        )

14. Governing Law. In purchasing a ticket, the customer agrees to comply with, and abide by, Idaho 
law, and all rules and final decisions of the Lottery, and all procedures and instructions established by the Lottery or 
the Director for the conduct of the game. (3-26-08)

15. Discharge of All Liability Upon Payment. The state of Idaho, its agents, officers, employees, and 
representatives, the Lottery, its Director, agents, officers, employees and representatives, will be discharged of all 
liability upon payment of a prize or any one (1) installment thereof to the holder of any winning Lottery ticket or in 
accordance with the information set forth on the claim form supplied by the Director. If there is a conflict between the 
information on a winning Lottery ticket and the information on the claim form, the Lottery may rely on the claim 
form after the ticket for which it has been filed has been validated as a winning ticket and, in so doing, it will be 
relieved of all responsibility and liability in the payment of a prize in accordance with the information set forth 
therein. The Lottery’s decisions and judgments in respect to the determination of a winning ticket or of any other 
dispute arising from payment or awarding of prizes are final and binding upon all participants in the Lottery unless 
otherwise provided by law or these rules. If a question arises concerning the winning ticket, a claim form, the 
payment, or the awarding of any prize, the Lottery may deposit the prize winnings into an escrow fund until it 
determines the controversy and reaches a decision, or it may petition a court of competent jurisdiction for instructions 
and a resolution of the controversy. (3-26-08)

16. Unclaimed Prize Money. Any prize not claimed within the specified period will be forfeited and 
placed into the State Lottery Account. (3-26-08)

17. Disclosure. The Lottery may use the names, addresses, and photographs of winners in any Lottery 
promotional or publicity campaign. The address used will not contain the winner’s street or house number without the 
winner’s consent. The Lottery may condition payment of the prize upon agreement to these terms and conditions.

(3-26-08)

18. Confidentiality of Tickets. All retailers and their employees and agents are prohibited from 
attempting to ascertain the numbers or symbols appearing in the designated areas under the removable latex or similar 
secure coverings or otherwise attempting to identify winning tickets. (3-26-08)

19. Official End of Game. (3-26-08)
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a. The official end of an instant game will be announced by the Lottery. Prizes may be claimed up to 
one hundred eighty (180) days after the official end of the game. If the final day of the claim period falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or a state holiday, the claim period will be extended to the end of the next business day. A player 
may submit a winning ticket claim for prize payment up to one hundred eighty (180) days after the official end of the 
game. Depending on the prize amount, the ticket should be submitted to the location specified in Subsection 202.10 
of this rule, “Payment of Prizes.” To participate in one (1) of the Lottery’s special drawings, if any, a player must 
redeem a ticket that qualifies for entry into that special drawing within the time limits specified by the Director.

(3-26-08)

b. A retailer must return to the Lottery all unsold Lottery tickets for each game within ninety (90) days 
of the official end of that game in order to receive credit from the Lottery as provided in retailer’s contract. The 
Lottery has no obligation to grant credit for tickets returned after the time limit specified in the contract. (3-26-08)

203. (RESERVED)

204. ON-LINE COMPUTER GAMES.

01. On-Line Games -- Authorized -- Director’s Authority. The Commission hereby authorizes the 
Director to select and operate on-line games which meet the criteria set forth in these rules. (3-26-08)

02. Definitions. As used in Rule 204 these terms have the following definitions: (3-26-08)

a. “Drawing.” The procedure determined by the Director by which the Lottery selects the winning 
combination in accordance with the rules of the game. Drawings are open to the public. (4-4-13)

b. “On-line Game.” (4-4-13)

i. A Lottery game in which a player selects a combination of numbers or symbols, the type of game 
and amount of play, and the drawing date by use of a computer. In return for paying the appropriate price, the player 
receives a computer-generated ticket with the player’s selection printed on it. Each ticket bearer whose valid ticket 
includes a winning combination will be entitled to a prize if claim is submitted within the specified time period.

(        )

ii. On-line terminal (OLT) instant ticket game having characteristics as defined in Paragraphs 
202.02.a., 202.02.b., 202.02.d. and 202.02.i. of these rules. (4-4-13)

c. “On-line Retailer.” A person or business authorized by the Lottery to sell on-line tickets. (3-26-08)

d. “On-line Terminal (OLT).” The computer hardware by which an on-line retailer or player enters the 
combination selected by the player and by which on-line tickets are generated and claims are validated. (3-26-08)

e. “On-line Ticket.” A computer-generated ticket issued by an on-line terminal to a player as a receipt 
for the combination a player has selected. That ticket is the only acceptable evidence of the combination of numbers 
or symbols selected. (3-26-08)

f. “Ticket Bearer.” The person who has signed the on-line ticket or who has possession of an unsigned 
ticket. (3-26-08)

g. “Validation.” The process of determining whether an on-line ticket presented for payment is a 
winning ticket. (3-26-08)

h. “Winning Combination.” One (1) or more numbers or symbols randomly selected by the State 
Lottery or its designee in a public drawing. (3-26-08)

03. Distribution of Tickets. (3-26-08)
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a. Tickets will be sold by retailers selected by the Director. (3-26-08)

b. The Director is authorized to arrange for the distribution of OLTs, player-activated terminals 
(PATs), ticket stock, and supplies to certificated retailers. (3-26-08)

04. Sale of Tickets. (3-26-08)

a. No person other than a retailer under a contract for the sale of tickets with the Lottery may sell on-
line Lottery tickets, except that nothing in this section will be construed to prevent a person who may lawfully 
purchase tickets from making a gift of Lottery tickets to another. (3-26-08)

b. Tickets may not be sold at a location other than the address listed on the retailer’s contract with the 
Lottery. (3-26-08)

c. Nothing in this section prohibits the Director from designating certain of its agents and employees 
to sell Lottery tickets directly to the public. (3-26-08)

05. On-Line Games Criteria. (3-26-08)

a. The base price of an on-line ticket will not be less than fifty cents ($.50), except to the extent of 
discounts authorized by the Commission. (3-26-08)

b. The price for a ticket in any particular on-line game will be set out in the game rules adopted by the 
Commission for that game. No person may sell a ticket at a price other than that established in accordance with these 
rules. On the average, the total of all prizes available to be won in an on-line game will not be less than forty-five 
percent (45%) of the on-line game’s projected revenue. (3-26-08)

c. The manner and frequency of drawings may vary with the type of on-line game as defined in 
Subparagraph 204.02.b.i. of these rules. (4-4-13)

d. The times, locations, and drawing procedures will be determined by the Director. (3-26-08)

e. OLT instant ticket game as defined in Subparagraph 204.02.b.ii. of these rules will operate with a 
finite number of tickets per game and a predetermined and guaranteed prize structure approved by the Director.

(4-4-13)

f. A ticket bearer entitled to a prize must submit the winning ticket as specified by the Director. The 
winning ticket must be validated by the Lottery or an on-line retailer through use of the validation number and any 
other means specified by the Director. (3-26-08)

06. Payment of Prizes. (3-26-08)

a. To claim an on-line game prize of less than six hundred dollars ($600) the claimant may present the 
winning on-line ticket to any on-line retailer, or to the Lottery office: (3-26-08)

i. If the claim is presented to an on-line retailer, the on-line retailer must validate the claim and, if 
determined to be a winning ticket, pay the amount due the claimant. If the on-line retailer cannot validate the claim, 
the claimant may obtain and complete a claim form and submit it with the disputed ticket to the Lottery by mail or in 
person. Upon determination that the ticket is a winning ticket, the Lottery will present or mail a check to the claimant 
in payment of the amount due. If the ticket is determined to be a non winning ticket, the claim will be denied and the 
claimant will be promptly notified. Non-winning tickets will not be returned to the claimant. (3-26-08)

ii. If the claim is presented to the Lottery office, the claimant will be required to complete a claim 
form and submit it with the winning ticket, either by mail or in person. Upon determination that the ticket is a 
winning ticket, the Lottery will present or mail a check to the claimant in payment of the amount due, less any 
withholding required by the Internal Revenue Code. If the ticket is determined to be a non-winning ticket, the claim 
will be denied and the claimant will be promptly notified. Non-winning tickets will not be returned to the claimant.
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(3-26-08)

b. To claim an on-line prize of six hundred dollars ($600) or more, the claimant must obtain and 
complete a claim form and submit it with the winning ticket to the Lottery office by mail or in person. Prizes of six 
hundred dollars ($600) or more can be paid only from the Lottery office. Upon determination that the ticket is a 
winning ticket, the Lottery will present or mail a check to the claimant in payment of the amount due, less any 
withholding required by the Internal Revenue Code and the state of Idaho. The amount due will be calculated 
according to the rules adopted for the particular on-line game. If the ticket is determined to be a non-winning ticket, 
the claim will be denied and the claimant will be promptly notified. Non-winning tickets will not be returned to the 
claimant. (        )

c. All prizes must be claimed within one hundred eighty (180) days from the drawing in which the 
prize was won. If the final day of the one hundred eighty (180) day period falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a state 
holiday, the claim period will be extended to the end of the next business day. Any prize not claimed within the 
specified period will be forfeited and placed into the State Lottery account. (3-26-08)

07. Drawings and End of Sales Prior to Drawings. (3-26-08)

a. Drawings will be conducted in a location and at days and times designated by the Director.
(3-26-08)

b. For each type of on-line game, the Director will establish a time before the drawing for the end of 
sales. (3-26-08)

c. The Director will designate the type of equipment to be used and will establish procedures to 
randomly select the winning combination for each type of on-line game. Drawing procedures will include provisions 
for the substitution of backup drawing equipment if the primary drawing equipment malfunctions or fails for any 
reason. (3-26-08)

d. The equipment used to determine the winning combination will not be electronically or otherwise 
connected to the central computer or to any tapes, discs, files, etc., generated or produced by the central computer. 
The drawing results, including sales, number of winners and numbers drawn, will be audited and reviewed after each 
drawing to assure proper operation and lack of tampering or fraud. (4-11-19)

e. All drawings may be broadcast live on television, provided the facilities for such broadcasts are 
available and operational and can be done at a reasonable cost. (5-8-09)

f. The Director will establish procedures governing the conduct of drawings for each type of on-line 
game. The procedures must include provisions for deviations that include but are not limited to: (3-26-08)

i. Malfunction of the drawing equipment before determination of the winning combination;(3-26-08)

ii. Fouled drawing; (3-26-08)

iii. Delayed drawing; and (3-26-08)

iv. Other equipment, facility or personnel difficulties. (3-26-08)

g. If a deviation occurs, the drawing will be completed under the supervision of the Lottery or its 
designee. The winning combination will be provided to the public. (4-11-19)

h. If, during any live-broadcasted drawing for a game, a mechanical failure or operator error causes an 
interruption in the selection of all numbers or symbols, a “foul” will be called by Lottery security or the Lottery’s 
designee. Any number drawn before a “foul” is called will stand and be deemed official after passing inspection and 
certification by Lottery security or the Lottery’s designee. (4-11-19)

i. The Director will delay payment of all prizes if any evidence exists or there are grounds for 
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suspicion that tampering or fraud has occurred. Payment will be made after an investigation is completed and the 
drawing approved by Lottery security or the Lottery’s designee. If the drawing is not approved, it will be void and 
another drawing will be conducted to determine the actual winner. (4-11-19)

08. Validation Requirements. (3-26-08)

a. To be a valid winning on-line ticket, the ticket must: (        )

i. Have all printing on the ticket in its entirety, be legible, and correspond, using the computer 
validation file, to the combination and the date printed on the ticket. (3-26-08)

ii. Be intact, not be mutilated, altered, or tampered with in any manner. (        )

iii. Not be counterfeit or an exact duplicate of another winning ticket. (3-26-08)

iv. Have been issued by an authorized on-line retailer or dispensed by a player-activated terminal in an 
authorized manner. (3-26-08)

v. Not have been stolen or cancelled. (3-26-08)

vi. Not have been previously paid. (3-26-08)

vii. Pass all other confidential security checks of the Lottery. (3-26-08)

viii. Be signed if the prize is for six hundred dollars ($600) or more. (        )

b. A ticket failing any of the validation requirements listed in Paragraph 204.08.a. of this rule is 
invalid and ineligible for a prize. The final decision on whether a prize is paid will be made by the Director.

(3-26-08)

c. If there is a dispute between the Director and a claimant whether a ticket is a winning ticket, and if 
the Director determines that the ticket is not valid and a prize is not paid, the Director may replace the disputed ticket 
with a ticket of equivalent sales price for a future drawing of the same type of game. This will be the sole and 
exclusive remedy of the claimant. (3-26-08)

d. If a defective on-line ticket is purchased, the only responsibility or liability of the Lottery or of the 
on-line retailer is the replacement of the defective on-line ticket with another on-line ticket of equivalent value for a 
future drawing of the same type of game. (3-26-08)

09. Retailer Duties. Retailers with an on-line terminal (OLT) must perform the following duties:
(3-26-08)

a. Pay costs associated with providing a telephone line or internet or similar connection that must be 
located as specified by the Lottery. Payment of the telephone line or internet or similar connection is nonrefundable 
after installation, except if the Lottery denies, through no fault of retailer, the installation of the on-line terminal.

(5-8-09)

b. Pay the Lottery for the local monthly telephone or internet or similar charges per OLT as specified 
by the Lottery. The Lottery will pay for the mileage charges (if any) between the retailer’s location and the Lottery’s 
central site. (3-26-08)

c. Hold funds generated from the sale of on-line tickets in trust for the Lottery. At a time specified by 
the Lottery, the retailer must pay these funds to the Lottery plus the monthly communications charge specified above 
in Paragraph 204.09.b. of this rule, less: (3-26-08)

i. Prizes paid; (3-26-08)
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ii. Any credit; and (3-26-08)

iii. The retailer discount. (3-26-08)

d. Locate the OLT within the retailer’s premises at a point-of-sale location approved by the Lottery. 
The retailer is prohibited from moving an OLT unless the retailer follows the procedures established by the Director, 
including reimbursing the State Lottery for any telephone or internet or similar charges associated with the change of 
OLT location if the retailer requested the change. (3-26-08)

e. Provide dedicated AC power to within approximately five (5) feet of the terminal. Dedicated AC 
power means that there is no other equipment on the line that is to be used for the on-line terminal. The retailer is 
responsible for all costs associated with providing dedicated AC power. The Lottery will provide a schematic of 
outlet requirements to the retailer’s electrical contractor. (3-26-08)

f. Sell all Lottery games, including but not limited to instant game tickets offered by the Lottery. The 
retailer agrees to continue the sale of instant tickets from all cash registers or other points of purchase. (3-26-08)

g. Conduct the sale of on-line tickets during all hours and days that the retailer’s business is open and 
the on-line system is functioning. The retailer must post the hours that redemption of winning tickets may take place 
if these hours are different from the retailer’s normal business hours. The retailer must monitor ticket supply levels 
and give timely notice when any item is in short supply. (3-26-08)

h. Post winning numbers prominently where tickets are sold as soon as possible following the 
drawing. (3-26-08)

i. Provide secure storage for OLT supplies and a secure area for the OLT. (3-26-08)

j. Exercise due diligence in the operation of the OLT and immediately notify the Lottery and the 
central computer facility of any telephone line, internet, radio, or OLT malfunction, such as the issuance of invalid 
on-line Lottery ticket, inability to sell or redeem an on-line ticket, and non-issuance of an on-line ticket. The retailer 
is prohibited from performing mechanical or electrical maintenance on the OLT. (3-26-08)

k. Replace ribbons and on-line or instant ticket stock and clear paper jams as required for the OLT per 
the instructions provided by the Lottery. (3-26-08)

l. Pay, without reimbursement, all electricity charges in connection with the operation of OLT.
(3-26-08)

10. Payment of Prizes by On-Line Retailers. (3-26-08)

a. An on-line retailer must pay to the ticket bearer on-line games prizes of less than six hundred 
dollars ($600) for any validated claims presented to that on-line retailer. These prizes must be paid during all normal 
business hours of the on-line retailer, unless redemption hours differ from normal business hours that have been 
posted pursuant to Paragraph 204.09.g. of this rule, provided, that the on-line system is operational and claims can be 
validated. (3-26-08)

b. An on-line retailer may pay prizes in cash or by business check, certified check, money order, or 
any combination thereof. An on-line retailer that pays a prize with a check that is dishonored may be subject to 
suspension or termination of its contract. (3-26-08)

11. Retailer Settlement. (3-26-08)

a. On-line retailers must establish an account for deposit of monies derived from on-line games with a 
financial institution that has the capability of electronic funds transfer (EFT). (        )

b. The amount deposited must be sufficient to cover monies due the Lottery. The Lottery will 
withdraw by EFT the amount due the Lottery on the day specified by the Director. If the day specified for withdrawal 
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falls on a state holiday, withdrawal may be delayed until the next business day. (3-26-08)

12. Prize Rights Unassignable. No right of any person to a prize drawn is assignable, except that 
payment of any prize drawn may be paid to the estate of a deceased prize winner, and that any person may be paid the 
prize to which the winner is entitled pursuant to an appropriate judicial order. The Director will be discharged of all 
liability upon payment of a prize pursuant to this rule. (3-26-08)

13. Payment of Prizes to Persons Under Eighteen Years of Age. If a person entitled to a prize for a 
winning ticket is under the age of eighteen (18) years, the Director may direct payment of the prize to an adult 
member of the minor’s family or to the minor’s guardian by a check or draft payable to the adult member of the 
minor’s family or to the minor’s guardian. The adult member of the minor’s family or the minor’s guardian will have 
the same duties and powers as a person designated as a custodian in accordance with Idaho Law. For purposes of this 
Subsection the terms “adult member of a minor’s family” and “guardian of a minor” have the same meaning as in the 
Idaho Gifts to Minors Law. The Director will be discharged of all liability upon payment of a prize to a minor 
pursuant to this rule. (3-26-08)

14. Prizes Payable After Death or Disability of Owner. (3-26-08)

a. All prizes, and portions of prizes, that remain unpaid at the time of the prize winner’s death will be 
payable to the personal representative of the prize winner’s estate once satisfactory evidence of the personal 
representative’s appointment has been provided, and the Director is satisfied that payment to the personal 
representative is lawful and proper. The Director may rely on a certified copy of a court order appointing of a 
personal representative (or similar person responsible for the prize winner’s estate, whether denominated an 
administrator, executor, executrix, or other representative of the prize winner’s estate) or may petition the court to 
determine the proper payee. Payment to the personal representative of the estate of the deceased owner of any prize 
winnings will absolve the Director and the Lottery’s employees of any further liability for payment of prize winnings.

(3-26-08)

b. The Lottery may petition any court of competent jurisdiction for a determination of the rightful 
payee of any prize winnings that are or may be due to a person under a disability including, but not limited to, 
minority, mental deficiency, physical or mental incapacity. (3-26-08)

15. Discharge of State Lottery Upon Payment. The state of Idaho, its agents, officers, employees and 
representatives, the Lottery, its Director, agents, officers, employees and representatives are discharged of all liability 
upon payment of a prize or any one (1) installment thereof to the holder of any winning Lottery ticket or in 
accordance with the information set forth on the claim form supplied by the Director. If there is a conflict between the 
information on a winning Lottery ticket and the information on the claim form, the Lottery may rely on the claim 
form after the ticket for which it has been filed has been validated as a winning ticket and, in so doing, it will be 
relieved of all responsibility and liability in the payment of a prize in accordance with the information set forth 
therein. The Lottery’s decisions and judgments in respect to the determination of a winning ticket or of any other 
dispute arising from payment or awarding of prizes will be final and binding upon all participants in the Lottery 
unless otherwise provided by law or these rules. If a question arises concerning the winning ticket, a claim form, the 
payment, or the awarding of any prize, the Lottery may deposit the prize winnings into an escrow fund until it 
determines the controversy and reaches a decision, or it may petition a court of competent jurisdiction for instructions 
and a resolution of the controversy. (3-26-08)

16. Disclosure. The Lottery may use the names, addresses, and photographs of winners in any Lottery 
promotional or publicity campaign. The address used will not contain the winner’s street or house number without the 
winner’s consent. The Lottery may condition payment of the prize upon agreement to these terms and conditions.

(3-26-08)

205. BREAKOPEN INSTANT TICKET GAMES.
The Commission hereby authorizes the Director to select and operate breakopen instant ticket games that meet the 
criteria set forth in these rules. (3-26-08)

01. Definitions. As used in Section 205 of these rules, these terms have the following definitions:
(3-26-08)
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a. “Authorized Dispensing Device” means any machine, or mechanism designed for use of vending or 
dispensing of breakopen instant tickets. These devices may include mechanical, electrical, electro-mechanical or 
other devices approved by the Director of the Lottery pursuant to Section 100 of these rules. (3-26-08)

b. “Box” means a group of breakopen instant tickets with the same unique serial number. (3-26-08)

c. “Breakopen Instant Ticket” means a single folded or banded ticket or a card, the face of which is 
initially covered or otherwise hidden from view to conceal numbers or symbols, or both, a few of which numbers or 
symbols have been designated in advance and at random as prize winners when, for the opportunity to obtain each 
such folded or banded ticket or card, view the numbers or symbols thereon and possibly obtain a prize, a person pays 
an established price to a breakopen instant ticket retailer. (3-26-08)

d. “Breakopen Instant Ticket Game” means a group of breakopen instant ticket boxes with the same 
thematic design and prize structure. (3-26-08)

e. “Breakopen Instant Ticket Retailer” means any person who has been approved, certified and 
contracted with by the Lottery to sell breakopen instant tickets. (3-26-08)

f. “Breakopen Instant Ticket Vendor” means any person who produces and provides breakopen 
instant tickets to the Lottery. (3-26-08)

g. “Distributor” means any person who purchases or otherwise obtains authorized dispensing devices 
for use in breakopen instant ticket games from any person and sells or otherwise furnishes such device to another 
person for the resale of or the display or operation of that device. (3-26-08)

i. As used in these rules, the term “distributor” includes a person who services and repairs authorized 
dispensing devices, so long as the person performing such servicing or repairs is approved by the distributor or 
distributor’s representative, and makes no addition to, or modification or alteration of, the authorized device.

(3-26-08)

ii. A manufacturer who sells or otherwise furnishes authorized dispensing devices not manufactured 
by him to any other person for resale or for display or operation of that authorized device is also a “distributor.”

(3-26-08)

h. “Distributor’s Representative” means any individual who represents a distributor in any of the 
distributor’s activities in connection with the sale or furnishing of authorized dispensing device for use in breakopen 
instant ticket activities. (3-26-08)

i. “Flare” means a vendor-provided informational sign that, at a minimum, displays the prize 
structure, the serial number of the sleeve in play, the odds of winning a prize, and the price of the ticket. (3-26-08)

j. “Manufacturer” means any person who assembles from raw materials or subparts a completed 
authorized dispensing device or pieces of the authorized device for use in breakopen instant ticket activities and who 
sells or otherwise furnishes the same to any distributor or retail outlet. (3-26-08)

k. “Manufacturer’s representative” means any person who represents a manufacturer in any one of the 
manufacturer’s activities in connection with the sale or furnishing of authorized dispensing device for use in 
breakopen instant ticket activities. (3-26-08)

l. “Sleeve” is a portion of a box; and is the smallest unit offered. (3-26-08)

02. Breakopen Instant Ticket Special Inspection. The Director or authorized representative has the 
authority to select any breakopen instant ticket sleeve and examine the quality and integrity of the sleeve in any 
manner, including pulling all chances remaining thereon: Provided, that if the sleeve so inspected is thereby altered 
by such inspection in any manner and no defect, alteration, deceptive condition, or other violation is discovered, then 
the owner shall be reimbursed by the Lottery at the owner’s cost for the sleeve or portion thereof, and the sleeve will 
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become the property of the Lottery. Provided further, that for each sleeve inspected which is found to be defective in 
any area related to a vendor’s quality control deficiency, a fee may be assessed by the Director against the vendor of 
the breakopen instant ticket. (        )

03. Breakopen Instant Ticket Operation. (3-26-08)

a. No person under the age of eighteen (18) years is allowed to play or sell any breakopen instant 
tickets. It is the responsibility of the retailer to determine that no unauthorized person is allowed to play or sell 
breakopen instant tickets. (3-26-08)

b. No retailer is permitted to display or operate any breakopen instant ticket that has in any manner 
been marked, defaced, tampered with or otherwise placed in a condition, or operated in a manner, that may deceive 
the public or that affects the chances of winning or losing upon the taking of any chance thereon. (3-26-08)

c. All records, reports, receipts and any unsold tickets relating to a breakopen instant ticket sleeve 
must be retained on the retailer’s premises at least ninety (90) days after the sleeve is removed from play and be made 
available on demand to representatives of the Idaho Lottery. (3-26-08)

04. Breakopen Instant Ticket Price per Play to Be Posted. No breakopen instant ticket sleeve may 
be placed for public play unless the cost to the player for each ticket is clearly posted on the flare. The price per ticket 
will be determined by the Director. (3-26-08)

05. Claiming of Prizes. Prizes must be redeemed on the same day as purchased at the location where 
the winning ticket was purchased, and prizes will be awarded in cash or by check. (3-26-08)

06. Limitation on Breakopen Instant Ticket Dispensing. No ticket once placed in an authorized 
dispensing device out for public play may be removed from the authorized device until the sleeve is permanently 
removed from public play, except only: (3-26-08)

a. Those tickets actually played by players; (        )

b. Those tickets removed by representatives of the Lottery inspecting the device or sleeve; and
(3-26-08)

c. Those tickets temporarily removed during necessary repair or maintenance of the device. Excepting 
only tickets removed under Paragraphs 205.06.b. and 205.06.c. of this rule, once a ticket has been removed from 
public play it cannot again be put out for public play. (3-26-08)

07. All Devices Must Comply With Requirements. No retailer may display or put out for play, and 
no distributor or manufacturer or their representatives may sell or otherwise furnish any device for the dispensing of 
breakopen instant tickets, unless the device is approved for use by the Director, thereby making it an authorized 
device. (3-26-08)

a. No person may sell or transfer to another person in this state or for use within this state, nor shall 
place out for public play, any device for the dispensing of breakopen instant tickets that is not constructed to allow a 
consumer to clearly see each ticket within the device before playing the device. (3-26-08)

b. No person may put out for public play any device for the dispensing of breakopen instant tickets 
that is not constructed to provide for at least one (1) sleeve in play in the device. (3-26-08)

c. No person may put out for public play any device for the dispensing of breakopen instant tickets 
that is designed, used, or constructed, in a manner that detracts from the breakopen instant tickets or that is deceptive 
in any way, as determined by the Director. (3-26-08)

08. Breakopen Instant Ticket Series Assembly and Packaging. Vendors of breakopen instant ticket 
games must manufacture, assemble and package each game sleeve in a manner that none of the winning tickets, nor 
the location or approximate location of any of the winning tickets, can be determined in advance of opening the 
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tickets. All breakopen instant ticket games must be approved and will be distributed and sold exclusively by the 
Lottery. The Lottery may adopt quality control standards for the manufacture of breakopen instant ticket games.

(3-26-08)

09. Standards For Flares. The flare advertising prizes available from the operation of any sleeve of 
breakopen instant tickets must: (3-26-08)

a. Be placed near or upon the upper face, or on the top, of any authorized device used to dispense 
breakopen instant tickets in a manner clearly visible to the public; and (3-26-08)

b. Clearly set out each of the prizes available and the combination of numbers or symbols which win 
prizes. Each flare describing the prizes and winning number or symbols for a sleeve of breakopen instant tickets in 
play must clearly set out the sleeve number assigned to that sleeve by the vendor. The sleeve number will be placed 
upon the flare by the vendor. The total number of tickets originally in the sleeve will be placed upon the flare by the 
vendor. (3-26-08)

10. Prize Structure. The Director will establish a prize structure detailing the estimated number of 
prizes that are expected to be awarded in each sleeve and a close approximation of the odds of winning such prizes.

(3-26-08)

11. Retailers Eligible to Sell Breakopen Tickets. Any person interested in obtaining a contract for a 
certificate to sell Lottery tickets must file an application on forms provided by the Director that includes, but is not 
limited to, requiring an applicant’s personal, financial, and criminal history, and an authorization to investigate the 
applicant’s criminal and credit history. (        )

12. Retailer Application and Fee. All applications to sell breakopen instant tickets must be 
accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of twenty-five dollars ($25). If a certificate is awarded to sell only breakopen 
instant tickets, no additional certificate fee is necessary. (        )

13. Certificate Modification. (3-26-08)

a. Certified instant ticket retailers may apply for a certificate modification to allow for the sale of 
breakopen instant tickets. A current instant ticket retailer will be required to complete an additional application or 
application supplements. If a current instant ticket retailer requests that the existing certificate be modified to allow 
for the sale of breakopen instant tickets, no additional application fee will be charged upon approval. (3-26-08)

b. Certified breakopen instant ticket retailers may apply for a certificate modification to allow for the 
sale of instant tickets. A current breakopen instant ticket retailer will be required to complete an additional 
application or application supplements. If a current breakopen instant ticket retailer requests that the existing 
certificate be modified to allow for the sale of instant tickets, an additional certificate fee of one hundred dollars 
($100) may be charged upon approval. (3-26-08)

206. -- 299. (RESERVED)

SUBCHAPTER C - CHARITABLE GAMING RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE LOTTERY 

300. DEFINITIONS.
As used in these rules, each word defined in this Section has the meaning given here unless a different meaning is 
clearly required from context: (4-2-08)

01. Audit. The review of documents or other records pertaining to operation of bingo or raffles, 
including, but not limited to, ledgers, bank statements, checks and deposit records, nightly logs, receipts, register 
tapes, computer records, contracts and leases, records showing use of all revenues for charitable activities, and tax 
records, by representatives of the Lottery, the attorney general, other law enforcement agencies, or independent 
auditors. (2-19-09)
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02. Autodaubing Features or Autodaubing. Electronic bingo card daubers, including software or 
equipment interfaced with electronic bingo cards that automatically daub the numbers as called without requiring the 
player to manually input the number called. (4-2-08)

03. Bingo. The traditional game of chance using a card with five (5) rows and five (5) columns 
containing numbers from a range of one (1) to seventy-five (75) and played for a prize determined before the game 
begins, as elaborated in Subsection 010.03 of these rules, and other games authorized by Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho 
Code, and by these rules, for example, “U-Pick Em.” See Section 67-7702(1), Idaho Code: (4-2-08)

a. Bingo Cards, Regular. Regular bingo cards (reusable or disposable) contain five (5) rows and five 
(5) columns of squares arranged in a five-by-five (5x5) grid; each square is imprinted with randomly placed numbers 
from a range of one (1) through seventy-five (75), except for the center square, which may be a free space. The letters 
“B-I-N-G-O” must also be imprinted on the card in order with one (1) letter above each of the five (5) columns (the 
letter “B” above the first column and so on). (4-2-08)

b. Bingo Cards, Electronic, or Face. An electronic facsimile of a regular bingo card. See Section 67-
7702(6), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

c. Play Method. Players who have paid consideration for the cards that they are holding compete for a 
prize by covering numbers on their cards when designators with the same number are randomly drawn and called. 
The balls or other designators in the selection device are numbered in the same manner as the possible numbers on the 
bingo cards, from one (1) through seventy-five (75). The winner is the first player to cover a predetermined 
arrangement of numbers on the players’ cards, for example, any row, column or diagonal of the five (5) rows and (5) 
columns and two (2) diagonals of the bingo card. Upon approval of the Bingo-Raffle Advisory Board there may be 
other forms of bingo games allowed, such as, but not limited to, Blackouts, Bonanza, and “U-Pick Em” games. The 
game begins when the first number is called and ends when a player has covered the previously designated 
arrangement and declares a bingo. Each winning card must be independently verified by a floor worker and another 
player by calling back the winning combination of numbers in the predetermined arrangement or by entering the 
serial number printed on the bingo card into an electronic verification system that can verify whether a card is a 
winner. (4-2-08)

d. Exclusions from Bingo. Bingo does not include “instant bingo,” which is a game of chance played 
by the selection of one (1) or more prepackaged cards, with the winner determined by the appearance of a preprinted 
winning designation on the card. (4-2-08)

04. Bingo-Raffle Advisory Board or Board. The board established and appointed according to 
Sections 67-7702(2), 67-7703, and 67-7704, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

05. Blackout. A game of bingo where all numbers are covered on a bingo card. This game is also 
referred to as “coverall.” (4-2-08)

06. Bonanza. A game of bingo that is played on a prefolded card or on another kind of card on which 
the numbers are not revealed until the card is purchased and in which a designated number of balls are emitted from 
the machine in the usual manner and displayed. If there is no “Bingo” called on these numbers, the game may 
continue with one (1) additional ball emitted at a time until there is a winner. (4-2-08)

07. Charitable Contribution Acknowledgement Report Form or CCARF. A form, prepared by the 
Director, upon which the recipient of a donation for a charitable purpose must indicate the charitable purpose for 
which the donation will be used; the name, address, and phone number of the person receiving the donation; and 
acknowledgement that the recipient will provide any and all information necessary in order for the Director or his 
representatives to verify that the donation was used for a charitable purpose, as well as any other information needed 
by the Director to assure that the donation is used for a charitable purpose. See Section 67-7709(2), Idaho Code.

(4-2-08)

08. Charitable Donation Reporting Form. A form prepared by the Director, upon which each 
licensed organization shall record all charitable donations made from the proceeds of charitable bingo or raffles held 
during the license year on which they are reporting. This report shall require the names, addresses, contact person’s 
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name, contact person’s telephone number, dollar amount and purpose of the donation. This report will be submitted to 
the Lottery along with the Annual Bingo Report or Annual Raffle Report and will be subject to audit as defined in 
Subsection 010.01. (2-19-09)

09. Charitable Organization. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

10. Charitable Purpose. A purpose of supporting a bona fide charitable organization, as defined by 
Section 67-7702(3), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

11. Concessions. Food and beverages or other incidental items (for example, caps or tee-shirts) 
unrelated to gaming that are sold to players at bingo games. (4-2-08)

12. Disposable Paper Bingo Card. A non-reusable, paper bingo card. (4-2-08)

13. Distributor. Any person who purchases or otherwise obtains or supplies equipment for use in 
conducting gaming activities, including, but not limited to, bingo or raffles, from any person or entity, and sells or 
otherwise furnishes such equipment or supplies to any person or entity who engages in gaming activity. (4-2-08)

14. Duck Race. A charitable raffle as defined in Section 67-7702(5), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

15. Electronic Bingo Device. An electronic device used to monitor bingo games as defined by Section 
67-7702(7), Idaho Code. Electronic bingo devices may be used to monitor bingo cards (“mind cards”) only if they 
meet the requirements of Section 67-7702(7)(a), Idaho Code. No devices described in Section 67-7702(7)(b), Idaho 
Code, can be lawfully used in a bingo operation. (4-2-08)

16. Electronic Gaming Devices. Gaming or gambling devices electronically operated by inserting a 
coin or token and then pulling a handle or pushing a button to activate the game. Electronic gaming devices can 
generate points or payout slips for accumulated wins. (4-2-08)

17. Gaming. Gambling as defined in Section 18-3801, Idaho Code, including gaming authorized by 
Title 67, Chapters 74 and 77, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

18. Gross Revenues. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

a. For Bingo. All moneys paid by players during a bingo game or session of play bingo, including fees 
for use of electronic bingo cards or electronic bingo devices, but excluding money paid for concessions. Gross 
revenues are calculated before any deductions for prizes or other expenses. (4-2-08)

b. For Raffles and Other Gaming Authorized by Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code. All moneys or 
other value paid to or due to any operator of a raffle or other gaming authorized by Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, 
activity for any chance taken or other fees for participation in the raffle or other gaming activity. Gross revenues are 
calculated before any deductions for prizes or other expenses. (4-2-08)

19. Hard Bingo Cards. Reusable bingo cards with sliding windows or shutters to cover the numbers 
on the cards. Hard cards are legal in sessions with less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) of annual gross revenue or 
for special occasions. (4-2-08)

20. Host System. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

21. Instant Bingo. A Lottery game played by the use of premarked cards which, when opened, 
scratched or otherwise revealed, determine whether the cardholder is a winner without any competition among 
players. “Instant Bingo” is not a game of “Bingo” as defined by these rules. (4-2-08)

22. License. A permission issued by the Director of the Lottery to operate bingo games or raffles or to 
manufacture, sell, distribute, furnish or supply gaming machines, equipment or material. (4-2-08)

23. Licensed Game Operator. A person who qualifies as a nonprofit or charitable organization who 
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may operate bingo or raffles and who is licensed pursuant to Section 67-7711, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

24. Licensed Vendor. A person who manufactures, sells, distributes, furnishes or supplies gaming 
machines, equipment or material who is licensed pursuant to Section 67-7715, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

25. Manufacturer. Any person who fabricates or assembles a completed piece of gaming equipment 
or pieces of gaming equipment, or supplies completed gaming equipment, or pieces of gaming equipment for use in 
gaming activities, including, but not limited to, bingo and raffles, and who sells or otherwise furnishes the completed 
gaming equipment or pieces of gaming equipment to any distributor, operator, or retail outlet. (4-2-08)

26. Net Proceeds of a Charitable Raffle. The gross revenues of a charitable raffle less the cost of 
prizes awarded. Net proceeds of a duck race mean gross revenues less the cost of prizes awarded and the rental cost of 
the ducks used in the race (if there are rental costs). See Section 67-7710(3), Idaho Code. Donated prizes are 
considered to have no cost and do not reduce the receipts when calculating net proceeds. (3-20-14)

27. Nonprofit Organization. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

28. Organization. A charitable organization or a nonprofit organization. (2-19-09)

29. Raffle. An event in which prizes are won by random drawings or other selections of a ticket, duck 
or other means of identifying the one (1) or more persons purchasing chances. See Section 67-7702(14), Idaho Code. 
Duck races are a form of raffles. See Sections 67-7702(5) and 67-7702(9), Idaho Code. (3-20-14)

30. Reusable Bingo Cards. Bingo cards constructed out of a durable material that use sliding windows 
or shutters or chips to cover the numbers and that can be reused from one (1) game to another. (4-2-08)

31. Separate Bank Account. A bank account in the name of, and controlled by, a charitable or 
nonprofit organization established for purposes of complying with the accounting requirements of Section 67-
7709(1), Idaho Code, regarding accounting for revenues and disbursements for bingo operations. All gross revenues 
received in connection with licensed bingo games must be placed in the separate bank account. Concessions and 
other moneys received (if any) from non-gaming revenues should not be deposited in the separate bank account.

(3-20-14)

32. Session. A period of time not to exceed eight (8) hours in any one (1) day in which players are 
allowed to participate in bingo games operated by a charitable or nonprofit organization. See Sections 67-7702(15) 
and 67-7708, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

33. Site System. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

34. Tracking. The documentation of sales by sequentially numbered bingo paper or numbered tickets 
in raffles. See Section 67-7709(3), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

35. U-Pick Ems. A game where players select their own numbers on a two (2) part duplicated bingo 
card. One (1) copy is retained by the player and used as a bingo card. Numbers are called until there is a winner. The 
winner is determined by the first player to cover the numbers on a “U-Pick-Em” card. (4-2-08)

36. Vendor. See definition in Section 67-7702, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

SUB AREA: CONDUCT OF BINGO GAMES

301. BINGO BY CHARITABLE OR NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS.
All organizations operating bingo games, whether licensed or unlicensed, must abide by these rules. It is unlawful to 
conduct bingo sessions or bingo games in violation of Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, or in violation of these rules, 
and persons doing so may be subject to administrative, civil or criminal penalties. See Section 67-7707, Idaho Code. 
Sections 301 through 306 of these rules apply to all bingo operators. Sections 307 through 310 of these rules apply to 
operators using paper bingo cards. Sections 311 through 313 of these rules apply to operators using electronic bingo 
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machines, as defined in Section 311 of these rules. Sections 306 through 309 of these rules apply to all bingo 
operators. (4-2-08)

302. NUMBER OF SESSIONS PER WEEK.
Licensed operators of bingo games are limited to a maximum of three (3) bingo sessions per any calendar week 
(Sunday-Saturday). None of these sessions may exceed eight (8) consecutive hours in any one (1) day. See Section 
67-7708, Idaho Code. A session is determined by the sale of paper for a continuous series of bingo games offered for 
a predetermined period of time. For special sessions it is permissible to extend the hours past midnight, but all hours 
past midnight up to 2 a.m. on the following day will count as hours for the day during which the session started.

(2-19-09)

303. POSTING OF LICENSE AND HOURS.
The organization’s current charitable gaming license issued by the Lottery must be displayed during bingo games and 
bingo sessions in plain view for all players and interested persons. Lottery Gaming Rules must be kept on site and 
available during all sessions. Days/hours of operation must be posted in plain view for all players and interested 
persons. If days or times change, it is the responsibility of the organization to provide written notice to the Lottery. 
House rules pertaining to bingo must be posted in plain view for all players and interested persons. (3-30-01)

304. MEMBERS OF ORGANIZATION IN ATTENDANCE -- TRAINING OF EMPLOYEES.
At least one (1) member or representative of the licensed organization must be in attendance at each session of bingo 
to supervise all bingo-related activities of a licensed organization. See Section 67-7711(3), Idaho Code. All bingo 
game employees, volunteers, and managers of all organizations, whether licensed or unlicensed, must be trained in 
the proper conduct of the game and the control of funds. (3-20-14)

305. EMPLOYEES INELIGIBLE TO PLAY.
All bingo game employees and managers are prohibited from playing in any game or in any session for which the 
employee or manager takes part as employee or manager. There should be no conflict of interest perceived by the 
public. (7-1-97)

306. MINORS.
Persons under the age of eighteen (18) years are prohibited from playing bingo in a game in which a cash prize is 
offered, or where the prize exceeds twenty-five dollars ($25) in value for merchandise, or where any merchandise is 
redeemable, in whole or in part, for cash. See Section 67-7707(2), Idaho Code. Bingo operators may allow minors to 
work in a bingo game or session as per local house rules. (3-20-14)

307. TRACKING REQUIREMENTS IN GAMES USING PAPER BINGO CARDS.

01. Bingo Paper -- For Whom Required. All licensed organizations operating bingo sessions that use 
paper bingo cards and all organizations exempt from licensing under Section 67-7713, Idaho Code, that use paper 
bingo cards must track their bingo sales for each session by using sequentially numbered/colored bingo paper. Each 
such organization must keep a ledger of the numbers of all bingo papers used. The non-reusable colored paper cards 
must be manufactured with a pre-printed series and a pre-printed serial number on each card. These cards may be 
assembled in multiple card sheets, single sheets, or packets. A sequential series and serial number must be printed on 
each individual card. (4-2-08)

02. Tracking by Game For Bingo Paper. The tracking may vary according to games sold at each 
session (packets, specials, singles, six (6) ons, three (3) ons, etc.) and may be designated by game name or color of 
paper. (4-2-08)

03. Tracking By Bingo Paper Packet. If sales are completed by packet, then those packets must not 
be separated for sale as singles. Individual games or packets sold must be recorded sequentially for effective tracking. 
The tracking records must be retained with permanent records. Tracking records are not required to be submitted with 
the Annual Bingo Report form. (4-2-08)

04. Late Players When Bingo Paper Used. Packets of bingo paper sold to late players must have the 
previously played games sheets removed and voided. The tracking must account for sheets removed and voided.

(4-2-08)
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05. Designation of Bingo Paper Color For Games. Each game is assigned a particular color of paper 
card. Other colors will not be accepted. (4-2-08)

06. Documentation For Bingo Paper. All bingo paper must be tracked as either sold, damaged, 
donated, or omitted from the original distributor or manufacturer. Invoices from the distributor or manufacturer and 
other documentation of transactions involving bingo funds must be kept with the records for that bingo operation. 
Operators may contact the Lottery Security Division for clarification concerning proper documentation to track sold, 
damaged, donated, or omitted bingo paper. (3-20-14)

308. DUTIES OF BINGO CALLER AND EMPLOYEES OR VOLUNTEERS IN GAMES USING PAPER 
BINGO CARDS.

01. Pre-Game Duties. Before selecting or calling the first number in any game, the bingo caller must 
check the machine and balls for defects. This can be done by running all of the balls through the machine and placing 
them in their assigned slots to determine that there is one (1) ball for each number and only one (1) ball for each 
number. The caller will draw numbers for the Bonanza, Progressive or Hot Ball games if used and verified by a 
player. The caller must announce the color of paper card assigned to each game, the pattern or arrangement of squares 
to be covered to win the game, and the prize amount. (4-2-08)

02. Displaying Numbers During Play. Each time that a number is selected, the bingo caller must 
display the ball or other designator in a receptacle to prevent it from being placed back into the selection pool. If 
electronic display boards are used the placement of the selected ball should activate the number or if not, the operator 
is required to manually activate each number on the board. (4-2-08)

03. End of Game. After a winner has been verified as set forth in Section 108 of these rules, the caller 
must ask if there are additional winners. After asking for and verifying whether there are additional winners, the game 
is declared to be completed, and the ball machine must be cleared for the next game. (        )

309. DETERMINING WINNERS WHEN A PLAYER USING A PAPER BINGO CARD CLAIMS TO BE 
A WINNER.

01. Winning Cards. A winning card is a card upon which the numbers drawn by the caller cover the 
previously designated arrangement of winning squares. (4-2-08)

02. Player’s Responsibility. It is the player’s responsibility to notify the game operator or caller that 
the player has a winning card by yelling “bingo” loud enough for the caller to hear the player. (        )

03. Game Stops to Verify Winner. When a player announces a winning card, the game must stop for 
winner verification before the next number is selected. The game must be secured so that it can be continued if the 
declaration of a winning bingo card is incorrect. If a player mistakenly announces a winning card and the card is not a 
winner, the game proceeds until a winner is declared. (4-2-08)

04. Verification of Winning Card. To verify a winning card a bingo operator’s employee or volunteer 
must call back the combination of numbers in the assigned pattern and the color of the paper card. The caller must 
verify the numbers called back. Electronic verifying devices may be used by entering the serial number of the 
winning card. A monitor must reveal the card and the winning pattern to verify its status as a valid bingo or an invalid 
bingo. Once a winner is declared the caller must announce “one (1) good winner” or “two (2)” or more if it applies to 
the game. (4-2-08)

05. Prizes For Multiple Winners. If more than one (1) winner is declared, cash prizes must be divided 
equally, and merchandise prizes of equal value awarded. (4-2-08)

310. MISCELLANEOUS RULES FOR GAMES USING NON-ELECTRONIC BINGO CARDS.

01. Hard Cards. Unlicensed charitable or nonprofit organizations with an annual gross bingo revenue 
of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less may use hard cards. A licensed organization may request a special one (1) 
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time use of hard cards for community fund-raising projects that it is sponsoring. No hard cards are allowed to be 
reserved for any players, with the exception of Braille cards. (4-2-08)

02. Braille Cards. Braille cards are allowed in any bingo game for use by individuals who need them.
(3-30-01)

03. Two Part Disposable Cards. Two (2) part disposable cards may be used in “U-Pick-Em” games, 
if: (7-1-97)

a. Original and Duplicate Copies. The cards are printed on two (2) part, self-duplicating paper that 
provides for an original and duplicate copy; (7-1-97)

b. Operating Controls. Players mark their numbers on each card in a distinct, clear and legible manner 
before separation of the duplicate and original card, and operators establish and set forth in plain view house rules 
setting out any conditions by which an entry may be added, deleted or changed before separation, and changes are 
verified by a worker authorized by the bingo manager; and (7-1-97)

c. Retention and Play of Duplicate Copy. The player retains and plays the duplicate copy, and all 
winning cards and their duplicate copies are retained by the operator as part of the operator’s daily bingo records.

(7-1-97)

04. Card-Minding Devices. Card-minding devices are prohibited unless they meet the requirement for 
allowable electronic bingo devices set forth in Section 67-7702(7)(a)(i) through 67-7702(7)(a)(iv), Idaho Code.

(4-2-08)

05. Autodaubing Features. Autodaubing features are prohibited. (3-30-01)

06. Use of Nonreusable Cards. With the exception of Braille bingo cards authorized for use pursuant 
to Subsection 310.02 of these rules, every organization that uses nonreusable paper bingo cards must use only 
nonreusable colored bingo paper or electronic bingo paper so that all sales can be tracked. Nonreusable colored bingo 
paper must have a series and serial number on each card. After each bingo session, an organization using nonreusable 
bingo paper must track its bingo sales for that session by recording the series and serial numbers of all paper sold, 
damaged, donated, used for promotion, or omitted by the manufacturer or distributor. See Section 67-7709(3), Idaho 
Code. (4-2-08)

311. BINGO OPERATIONS USING ELECTRONIC BINGO MACHINES.

01. Electronic Bingo Machines Defined. Electronic bingo cards, electronic bingo devices, host 
systems, or site systems are individually and collectively called electronic bingo machines in these rules. (4-2-08)

02. Use of Approved Hardware and Software. All organizations that offer or use any electronic 
bingo machines during play must use hardware or software, or both, approved by the Commission, provided that 
printers used in connection with site systems may be obtained from any source. See Sections 67-7716 and 67-
7719(1), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

03. List of Approved Hardware and Software. The Director will maintain a list of approved 
hardware and software for electronic bingo machines and promptly update the list after any changes. (        )

04. Requirements For Approved Site Systems. All site systems licensed by the Commission must 
have the ability to track, either with or without input from the bingo game’s operators, the number of games played 
that are connected to the site system, revenue from the games played that are connected to the site system, the number 
of winners who are connected to the site system, and the distribution of cash and merchandise prizes to winners 
connected to the site system for each session played using the site system. (4-2-08)

05. Inspection and Testing. All electronic bingo machines used by bingo game operators and all 
records that the electronic bingo machines generate must be available to be inspected or tested, or both, to determine 
whether the electronic bingo machines are properly functioning. Any agency or officer listed in Section 67-7709(5), 
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Idaho Code, or their representative, is authorized to conduct an inspection and testing. See Sections 67-7717(8) and 
67-7717(9), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

06. Pre-Game Testing. The Director or Lottery Security Division may by letter or other written 
communication prescribe appropriate pre-game testing procedures for electronic bingo machines as in their judgment 
are necessary for the particular hardware and software used. (4-2-08)

312. REQUIREMENTS FOR BINGO GAME OPERATIONS USING ELECTRONIC BINGO 
MACHINES.

01. Maximum Number of Faces. Electronic bingo devices are hereby prohibited from monitoring 
more than fifty-four (54) faces (electronic bingo cards) per game. All electronic bingo devices are required to be 
restricted by their hardware or software so that they can monitor no more than fifty-four (54) faces per game. See 
Section 67-7717(1), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

02. Identification Number. Every electronic bingo device that requires a site system to download 
electronic bingo cards to the device must comply with the requirements of Section 67-7717(2), Idaho Code, 
concerning identification numbers. (4-2-08)

03. Erasing Numbers. Every electronic bingo device must be programmed to erase electronic bingo 
cards and bingo card face numbers after a session has been completed, as required by Section 67-7717(3), Idaho 
Code. (4-2-08)

04. Players Cannot Choose Numbers. No electronic bingo device that allows bingo players to design 
their own bingo cards by choosing, rearranging, or placing numbers on a card is permitted. See Section 67-7717(4), 
Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

05. Connections to Site System. Site systems are prohibited from engaging in sales, voids, or reload 
transactions for an electronic bingo device unless the device is connected to and communicating with the site system. 
See Section 67-7717(5), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

06. Printouts. Site systems must be electronically connected to an on-site printer that upon request is 
capable of printing a transaction log for each player that shows the device identification number and all bingo cards 
and face numbers loaded into the device. The site system must be able to record and print on-site a receipt showing 
the device identification number, the date of the bingo session, the number of electronic bingo cards purchased or 
loaded, and the total amount charged for each of the electronic bingos cards. This receipt must be given to the player 
on request or as required by any agency or officer listed in Section 67-7709(5), Idaho Code, or their representative. 
See Section 67-7717(6), Idaho Code. The site system must be connected to an on-site printer that can print the 
winning game combinations on demand for the entire bingo session. See Section 67-7717(7). (        )

07. Malfunctioning Electronic Bingo Machines. (4-2-08)

a. Whenever the Lottery or any agency or officer listed in Section 67-7709(5), Idaho Code, or their 
representative, detects or discovers a malfunction or other problem with an electronic bingo machine that could affect 
the security or integrity of a bingo game or of an electronic bingo machine, every bingo operator using such a 
malfunctioning electronic bingo machine must discontinue its use as directed by a representative of the Lottery or 
correct the malfunction or other problem as directed by a representative of the Lottery. Failure to take the directed 
action may result in confiscation or seizure of the electronic bingo machine that is malfunctioning or has other 
problems. See Section 67-7717(8), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

b. Whenever a manufacturer, a distributor, a licensed bingo operation, a player, or any other person 
detects or discovers a malfunction or other problem with an electronic bingo machine that could affect the security or 
integrity of a bingo game or of an electronic bingo machine, every bingo operator using such a malfunctioning 
electronic bingo machine must discontinue the use of that electronic bingo machine and notify the Commission by 
telephone no later than the next working day of the action taken and the nature of the malfunction or other problem. 
The Commission may request further written explanation as necessary. See Section 67-7717(9), Idaho Code. For 
purposes of this paragraph, notification to an officer or employee of the Lottery Security Division will be considered 
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notification to the Commission. (4-2-08)

08. Receipts. The cash register or the site system must provide a receipt for the sale of all bingo cards 
used in conjunction with an electronic bingo device. Additional paper bingo cards must be separately receipted. The 
cash register receipt and the player’s receipt must identify and show the sale of disposable paper bingo cards 
separately from receipts for electronic bingo cards. See Section 67-7719(12), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

313. PLAY USING ELECTRONIC BINGO MACHINES.

01. No Player-Owned Devices. Use of player-owned electronic bingo devices is prohibited. See 
Section 67-7719(2), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

02. Provision of Devices. Only the bingo game operator can provide electronic bingo devices. The 
operator may charge for the use of an electronic bingo device. If there is a charge for use of an electronic bingo 
device, the fee must be separately stated on the cash register and the bingo player’s receipt and be included in the 
gross revenues. See Section 67-7719(3) and (11), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

03. Use of Devices On Premises. A player using an electronic bingo device must be on the premises 
during play to be eligible to play bingo or to win a prize. See Section 67-7719(3), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

04. Available Devices. Electronic bingo devices must be made available on a first-come, first-served 
basis, and no device can be reserved for any player, except a device may be reserved for players with a disability 
(within the meaning of the Americans with Disabilities Act) if the disability would restrict or impair the player’s 
ability to mark bingo cards. A bingo game operator may provide and reserve electronic bingo devices exclusively for 
persons with disabilities and forbid their use by all other persons. See Section 67-7719(5), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

05. One Device Per Player. It is prohibited for any player to use more than one (1) electronic bingo 
device at a time. See Section 67-7719(6), Idaho Code. No electronic bingo device can be used to monitor hard bingo 
or shutter cards. See Section 67-7719(7), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

06. Reserve Devices. Every bingo game operator using electronic bingo devices must keep at least one 
(1) electronic bingo device in reserve as a backup in case a device in use malfunctions. See Section 67-7719(4), Idaho 
Code. A reserve device is not considered an available device under Subsection 302.04 of this rule. If a reserve device 
is put in use to replace a malfunctioning electronic bingo device, and if there are no more unused electronic bingo 
devices available to serve as a reserve device, the operator is not required to take an electronic bingo device from a 
player that is then using the device in order to maintain a reserve device, and the operator may continue to offer bingo 
games without a reserve device throughout the remainder of the session, unless one (1) or more electronic bingo 
devices are turned in before the session ends, in which case a device that was turned in will then become the reserve 
device. (4-2-08)

07. Loading Electronic Bingo Devices. A bingo operator using an electronic bingo device is 
prohibited from downloading electronic bingo cards into an electronic bingo device before payment by the player. 
The player must be on the bingo operator’s premises when the device is downloaded with electronic bingo cards. The 
device can only be downloaded with electronic bingo cards during the session. See Section 67-7719(10), Idaho Code. 
Players are prohibited from choosing or rejecting individual electronic bingo cards loaded into an electronic bingo 
device. See Section 67-7719(8), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

08. Additional Paper Cards. When a player who has purchased fifty-four (54) bingo cards per game 
is using an electronic bingo device to monitor up to fifty-four (54) cards, a bingo operator may allow the player to 
purchase additional disposable paper bingo cards to play using a manual daubing or marking method. See Section 67-
7719(9), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

09. Other Requirements. The Director or the Director of Lottery Security, or his designee may by 
letter or other written communication prescribe appropriate procedures for play and determination of winners and 
other matters generally covered by Sections 307 through 309 of these rules for paper bingo cards whenever it is 
necessary to do so in conjunction with the use or playing characteristics or other attributes of a given hardware or 
software. These letters are public records within the meaning of Title 74, Chapter 1, Idaho Code. (        )
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314. MAXIMUM PRIZES.
Maximum prizes are defined in Section 67-7708, Idaho Code. (7-1-97)

315. (RESERVED)

316. LIMITS ON BINGO OPERATION’S PRIZE PAYOUT RATIOS AND ADMINISTRATIVE 
EXPENSES.

01. Applicability. All organizations conducting bingo games, whether licensed or unlicensed, must 
adhere to the required limits of statute and of this rule in dedicating their gross revenues from bingo operations. These 
limits or percentages, or both, pertain to annual gross revenues during a twelve (12) month license year. See Section 
67-7708, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

02. Donated Merchandise. Donated merchandise offered as prizes is not included in the prize 
amounts paid out when calculating the prize payout ratio. The organization conducting the bingo game must 
document the value of the donated items, describe the donated items, and list the donated items on the daily reports as 
prizes. (7-1-97)

03. Donated Cash Funds Prohibited. Donated cash may not be offered as prizes in bingo games nor 
deposited into the separate bingo account. (7-1-97)

317. PAYMENT OF EXPENSES, WINNINGS, AND CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS.
All payments for expenses and donations for charitable purposes must be paid by check from the Separate Bank 
Account and recorded in the bingo operation’s general ledger. See Section 67-7709, Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

318. MINIMUM CHARITABLE OR NONPROFIT DONATION.
A minimum of twenty percent (20%) of annual gross revenues of a bingo operation must be paid to a charitable or 
nonprofit organization to be used for charitable purposes. The licensed bingo operation must maintain records 
showing the charitable activities to which the proceeds are applied. See Section 67-7709, Idaho Code. Organizations 
are permitted and encouraged to donate more than twenty percent (20%) of their gross revenues from bingo 
operations to charitable or nonprofit organizations to be used for charitable purposes. No part of this twenty percent 
(20%) can be used, whether directly or indirectly, for any bingo expense. (2-19-09)

319. MAXIMUM PRIZES.
By this rule the Commission exercises is authority over maximum prizes are set forth in Section 67-7708, Idaho 
Code. (4-2-08)

01. Maximum Prize For One Game. The maximum prize in cash and merchandise that may be 
offered for any one (1) bingo game is three thousand dollars ($3,000). (4-2-08)

02. Maximum Prizes For One Session. The total of the maximum prizes in cash and merchandise that 
may be offered at any one (1) bingo session is twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). (4-2-08)

320. (RESERVED)

321. ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING REQUIRED.
Every organization conducting bingo games, whether licensed or unlicensed, must comply with the accounting 
requirements of Sections 121 through 126 of these rules. (7-1-97)

322. SEPARATE BANK ACCOUNT AND LIMITATIONS ON USE.

01. Establishment of Account. All net proceeds received in connection with a bingo game required to 
be licensed under Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, and by these rules must be placed in a Separate Bank Account. 
See Section 67-7709(1), Idaho Code. Only bingo funds generated from bingo games may be distributed as prizes, 
administrative expenses, or charitable/nonprofit donations. (3-30-01)
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02. Disbursements Use of Funds. All disbursements must be documented as defined in Section 67-
7709(1), Idaho Code, and by these rules. (7-1-97)

323. GENERAL LEDGER.

01. Establishment of General Ledger. A general ledger must be established to account separately for 
the bingo operation and track all transactions for the funds generated from bingo. (        )

02. Documentation. The accounting of revenues from sales of bingo cards or other entry fees and all 
disbursements must be documented. The accounting should include, but not be limited to, total prize payouts per 
session, and bingo related expenses per session, charitable contributions per session, wages, date and purpose or 
payee for each entry. (7-1-97)

03. Annual Report. Copies of general ledgers must accompany the Annual Bingo Report filed with 
the Lottery. Copies of the Charitable Contribution Acknowledgement Report Forms and Charitable Donation 
Reporting Form shall also accompany the Annual Bingo Report. All disbursements shall be recorded in the general 
ledger. (2-19-09)

04. Retention of Records. An accounting of all gross revenues and disbursements required by statute 
and these rules must be retained in records with the organization for a period of five (5) years, including the date and 
amount of each transaction, as well as the name and address of each payee for all prize payments exceeding one 
hundred dollars ($100). A copy of each CCARF and the Charitable Donation Reporting Form shall be retained in 
permanent records of the organization. (3-20-14)

324. ANNUAL REPORT.

01. When Due. Every licensed charitable or nonprofit organization conducting bingo games shall 
prepare an annual report within thirty (30) days after the close of its license year and file the annual report with the 
Lottery. See Section 67-7709(2), Idaho Code. (3-30-01)

02. Information Required By Forms. The nightly reports, receipts, winner records, and payouts must 
be documented and kept with the organization’s records for five (5) years along with any further information required 
by the forms prescribed by the Lottery pursuant to statute and rule. (        )

03. Independent Audit. Organizations that exceed two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) in annual 
gross revenue from bingo games, raffle events, or bingo games and raffles combined must submit an independent 
audit performed by a certified public accountant licensed in Idaho and who meets peer review requirements set forth 
by the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. This independent audit must be submitted within ninety (90) days of the 
end of the licensed organization’s license year. (3-20-14)

325. RECORDS OF PRIZE DISBURSEMENTS.
Organizations conducting bingo games must record names and addresses of winners for prize disbursements 
exceeding one hundred dollars ($100). Any prizes exceeding one thousand one hundred ninety-nine dollars ($1,199) 
must have a W2-G on file for a gaming income for these amounts as required by the Internal Revenue Service. See 26 
U.S.C. Section 6041 and 26 CFR 7.6041-1 and 35a.9999-3 (question and answer 19). (7-1-97)

326. ACCOUNTING OF REVENUES AND EXPENSES.

01. Deposit of Receipts. Bingo funds received in check form must be payable to the organization. All 
funds must be deposited in a Separate Bank Account. (3-20-14)

02. Ledger Entries and Receipts For Expenses. All ledger entries must track disbursements of cash 
and checks with expenses documented with receipts. The receipts shall include the payee’s name and address, date, 
and an authorized signature from the licensed organization. (        )

03. Recording of Wages. Wages paid must be recorded on expense records as gross amounts before 
withholding of taxes or other withholding and net amount paid, with each item of withholding shown. Wages paid 
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must be documented with copies of pay stubs, or other records showing gross wages and withholding. (7-1-97)

04. Submission With Annual Report. Copies of ledgers containing the documentation of all 
transactions must be submitted with the Annual Bingo Report. Inventory tracking of sequentially numbered paper 
must be retained in records for a period of five (5) years and kept available for examination. All documents must be 
legible and compiled in an orderly manner. (        )

327. INSPECTION OF FINANCIAL RECORDS AND DOCUMENTS.
All financial records and documents of an organization shall be kept as required by these rules and be open to 
inspection by the county sheriff of the county where the bingo games were held, the chief of police of the city where 
the bingo games were held, the prosecuting attorney of the county where the bingo games were held, the Attorney 
General or the Lottery, or any of their agents, at reasonable times and during reasonable hours. All records must be 
kept for five (5) years. (        )

328. -- 399. (RESERVED)

SUB AREA: CONDUCT OF RAFFLES

400. REQUIREMENTS FOR ORGANIZATIONS CONDUCTING RAFFLES.
All organizations conducting raffles, whether licensed or unlicensed, must abide by these rules. It is unlawful to 
conduct raffles in violation of Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, or in violation of these rules, and persons doing so 
may be subject to administrative, civil or criminal penalties. See Section 67-7710, Idaho Code. (7-1-97)

401. LIMITATION ON ANNUAL NUMBER OF RAFFLES.
Charitable or non-profit organizations are limited to conducting twelve (12) raffle events per year, provided that this 
limitation shall not apply to public or private elementary or secondary schools located in the state. See Section 67-
7710(2), Idaho Code. (3-30-01)

402. OWNERSHIP OF PRIZES.
Organizations must be able to substantiate ownership of all prizes or other legally enforceable rights to obtain the 
prizes to be offered in a raffle prior to advertising or selling tickets for such prizes. Proof of ownership of prizes or 
other legally enforceable rights to obtain prizes must be provided to the Lottery upon request. (2-19-09)

403. MAXIMUM PRIZES.
The maximum aggregate value of cash prizes that may be offered or paid for any single raffle event, which is not a 
duck race, is one thousand dollars ($1,000). There is no limit on the maximum value of merchandise that may be 
offered as raffle prizes if the merchandise is not redeemable for cash. There is no limit on the maximum amount of the 
aggregate cash prizes for a duck race if the cash prize is underwritten by insurance, otherwise the maximum 
aggregate cash prize for a duck race is one thousand dollars ($1,000). There is no limit on the maximum value for the 
merchandise used as prizes for a duck race if the merchandise is not redeemable for cash. See Section 67-7710(2), 
Idaho Code. (3-20-14)

404. REQUIREMENTS FOR DONATION TO CHARITY -- LIMITATION ON EXPENSES.
At least eighty percent (80%) of the net proceeds from sales of raffle tickets or chances and duck races must be 
donated to a charitable or nonprofit organization to be used for a charitable purpose. (Net proceeds are defined in 
Subsection 301.30 of these rules.) The name and address of the charitable or nonprofit organizations awarded these 
funds must be listed on the annual raffle report submitted to the Lottery. The annual raffle report must also include the 
charitable purpose for which the charitable donation was used by the charitable organization or non-profit 
organization. A maximum of twenty percent (20%) of net proceeds is allowed for expenses. See Section 67-7710(3), 
Idaho Code. (4-4-13)

405. GENERAL LEDGER AND RECORDKEEPING.
Every organization conducting a raffle event must establish a general ledger for the raffle. The organization must 
keep records that show the total number of tickets or chances sold, the revenues from tickets or chances sold, the 
expenses of conducting the raffle, and the prizes for each raffle. (7-1-97)
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406. ANNUAL RAFFLE REPORT.
Every licensed organization conducting a raffle shall prepare an annual raffle report and Charitable Donation Report 
and submit both reports to the Lottery within thirty (30) days after the close of its license year. See Section 67-7710, 
Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

407. INDEPENDENT AUDIT OF LARGE RAFFLES.
Every charitable or non-profit organization whose gross annual revenues exceed two hundred thousand dollars 
($200,000) from the operation of raffles shall provide the Commission with a copy of an annual report of raffle 
events. The audit shall be performed by a certified public accountant licensed in Idaho and who meets the peer review 
requirements set forth by the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. The audit must be submitted within ninety (90) days 
after the end of the organizations license year. (3-20-14)

408. -- 499. (RESERVED)

SUB AREA: LICENSING AND LICENSE FEES FOR ORGANIZATIONS 
CONDUCTING BINGO GAMES OR RAFFLES

500. APPLICATION.
All persons required by statute and by these rules to obtain a license before operating a bingo game or conducting a 
raffle must pay the license fees and apply for and receive a license under the rules in this sub area. See Section 67-
7711(1), Idaho Code. (        )

501. LICENSE FEES.
Each organization that applies to the Lottery for a license under these rules shall pay annually to the Lottery a 
nonrefundable license fee that is due upon submission of the application. An application approved by the Lottery, 
complete with all required information, must be submitted along with the appropriate fee to the Lottery Security 
Division. See Section 67-7712(1), Idaho Code. These non-refundable fees are based on flat initial fee for applicants 
without a license and a fee based on annual gross revenues from bingo sessions or raffle events for applicants with a 
license as follows: 

(7-1-97)

502. INFORMATION TO BE PROVIDED IN APPLICATION.

01. Background Check of Applicants. The application for an initial license and for a renewal license 
to operate a bingo game or to conduct a raffle will be reviewed and relevant background investigations will be 
conducted on all persons listed on the application as officers, directors or members of the charitable or nonprofit 
organization. The signature from the organization’s representative on the application gives the Lottery authority to 
conduct the required investigations. The persons listed on the application must be officers or directors of the 
organization applying for a license and the application must be signed by an officer of the organization. (3-20-14)

02. Proper Identification. The application must list the name, address, date of birth, driver’s license 
number and social security or tax identification number of the applicant, if applicable. If the applicant is a 
corporation, association or similar legal entity, the application must also list the full name, current home address and 
phone number, date of birth, social security number, driver’s license number and state of issuance, of each listed 
officer and director in order to conduct background investigations. See Section 67-7711(2)(a) and (b), Idaho Code.

(3-20-14)

03. Charitable Organizations. The application of a charitable organization must include a copy of the 
application for recognition of exemptions and a determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service that indicates 

$100 fee - initial application

$100 fee - up to $25,000 annual gross revenues

$200 fee - up to $75,000 annual gross revenues

$300 fee - over $75,000 annual gross revenues
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that the organization is a charitable organization and that states the section of the tax code under which the exemption 
is granted, except that if the organization is a state or local branch, lodge, post of chapter or a national organization, a 
copy of the determination letter of the national organization will satisfy this requirement. See Section 67-
7711(2)(c)(i), Idaho Code. The applicant must also provide verifiable documentation to prove charitable function, 
purpose and activities. Acceptable documentation includes, but is not limited to, meeting minutes, donation 
documentation, and membership list. (2-19-09)

04. Incorporated Nonprofit Organizations. The application of an incorporated nonprofit 
organization must include a copy of the certificate of existence issued by the secretary of state pursuant to Title 30, 
Chapter 3, Idaho Code, establishing the organization’s good corporate standing in the state. See Section 67-
7711(2)(c)(ii), Idaho Code. The applicant must also provide verifiable documentation to prove charitable function, 
purpose and activities. Acceptable documentation includes, but is not limited to, meeting minutes, donation 
documentation, and membership list. (2-19-09)

05. Locations. The application must list the location or locations at which the applicant will conduct 
bingo games or bingo sessions or drawings for raffles. See Section 67-7711(2)(d), Idaho Code. (7-1-97)

06. Raffle Drawings. Raffle drawings must be held in Idaho and conducted within the license year for 
licensed organizations or within twelve (12) months from the date the first ticket was sold for unlicensed 
organizations. (3-20-14)

07. License Year and Fiscal Year. An organization may apply for a license to coincide with the 
organization’s fiscal year. See Section 67-7711(5), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

08. Failure to Provide Information. Failure to provide all information required for an application 
may result in a delay in considering an application or denial or dismissal of an application for a bingo/raffle license. 
See Section 67-7711(1), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

503. MULTIPLE CHAPTERS LICENSED TOGETHER.
Different chapters of an organization may apply for and share one (1) raffle license so long as the information 
required in Subsections 502.01 through 502.06 of these rules is provided to the Lottery before the issuance of the 
license. See Section 67-7711(4), Idaho Code. When two (2) or more chapters share a license, in aggregate they are 
subject to the limitations of a single organization with a license; multiple chapters sharing a license are not entitled to 
multiples of the event or prize limits for a license. (7-1-97)

504. COMPENSATION OF CERTAIN PERSONS AND CONTRACTS WITH CERTAIN PERSONS 
PROHIBITED.
Persons listed on the application as officers or directors and their relatives and members of their household are 
prohibited from being compensated for their participation in the organizations bingo operation. No organization shall 
contract with any person not employed by, or a volunteer for, the organization for the purpose of conducting a bingo 
game or raffle on the organizations behalf. See Section 67-7711(3), Idaho Code. (7-1-97)

505. ACTION ON LICENSES.

01. Applications For Licenses. An application for a license will be approved, denied or dismissed in 
writing within fifteen (15) days of receipt of the written application and all other required documentation, except as 
provided in Section 67-7712(2)(j), Idaho Code, when a criminal prosecution of an applicant is pending or an appeal 
from a criminal prosecution of an applicant is pending. The application will be denied if the applicant does not meet 
the requirements of statute and of these rules. If an application is not received thirty (30) days in advance of a 
proposed event, it is possible that a license may not be granted before the event, and the event will not be allowed to 
proceed without a license. See Section 67-7711(1), Idaho Code. (2-19-09)

02. Issuance of Licenses. A license will be issued when an application for a license is approved. A 
license expires one (1) year after its issuance. See Section 67-7711(1), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

03. Notice of Intended Actions. If the Lottery intends to deny an application for a license or the 
renewal of a license or intends to revoke, cancel, rescind or suspend a license, it will provide fifteen (15) days’ 
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written notice to the applicant or to the licensee of the general basis for its intended action. If the applicant or licensee 
does not agree to the Lottery’s intended action, the applicant or licensee must in writing request a hearing within the 
fifteen (15) day notice period. If a timely written request for a hearing is made, the hearing will be conducted in the 
same manner as a contested case hearing under Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. If a timely written request for a 
hearing is not made, the intended action is final and not subject to appeal. See Section 67-7712(3), Idaho Code.

(        )

506. SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE -- CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES.
Violation of the bingo and raffle statutes or of these bingo/raffle rules or of any conditions of a license may be 
grounds for administrative, civil or criminal actions, including, but not limited to, placement on probationary status, 
suspension of operations, license revocation, penalties, or fines. See Section 67-7707, Idaho Code. See also Sections 
500 through 504 of these rules. (3-20-14)

507. EXEMPTION FROM LICENSING AND LICENSING FEES.
Section 67-7713, Idaho Code, exempts charitable and non-profit organizations operating certain low-stakes bingo or 
raffle games from licensing. (4-2-08)

01. Low-Stakes Bingo. A charitable or nonprofit organization conducting a bingo game does not need 
to obtain a license if its gross annual bingo sales (gross revenues from bingo operations) are less than ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000). (4-2-08)

02. Low-Stakes Raffle. A charitable or nonprofit organization does not need to obtain a license to 
conduct a raffle if the maximum aggregate value of merchandise awarded as prizes for the raffle does not exceed five 
thousand dollars ($5,000). (3-20-14)

03. Exemption From Licensing Not Exemption From Rules. Organizations exempt from licensing 
under this rule must still comply with applicable requirements of statute and bingo/raffle rules. This information is 
available by contacting the Lottery. (7-1-97)

508. RULES AND FORMS.
The Lottery will provide forms and reports necessary in regulating the charitable or nonprofit bingo and raffle events. 
The Commission is authorized to promulgate rules consistent with and in compliance with Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho 
Code. (7-1-97)

509. -- 599. (RESERVED)

SUB AREA: VENDORS AND VENDORS’ LICENSES AND FEES
 -- APPROVED GAMING DEVICES

600. VENDOR’S LICENSE REQUIRED.
All businesses or persons who manufacture, sell, distribute, furnish, or supply to any person or organization any 
gaming devices, equipment, or materials in this state shall first obtain a vendor’s license from the Lottery. See Section 
67-7715, Idaho Code. Vendors must file an application and submit all required forms for background investigations.

(7-1-97)

601. LICENSE FEES.
Each initial application for a vendor’s license must be accompanied by a five hundred dollar ($500) non-refundable 
annual license fee that is due upon submission of the application. An application form approved by the Lottery, 
completed with all required information, must be submitted with the appropriate fee to the Director of Lottery 
Security, or his designee. See Section 67-7715(3)-(5), Idaho Code. (        )

602. INFORMATION TO BE PROVIDED IN APPLICATION.

01. Identification of Applicants. The application for initial license and for renewal of a license must 
list: (4-2-08)
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a. The name, address, date of birth, driver’s license number and social security number of the 
applicant, and if the applicant is a corporation, proprietorship, association, partnership or other similar legal entity, 
the name, home address, date of birth, driver’s license number and social security number of each of the officers of 
the corporation and their spouses, as well as the name and address of the directors and their spouses, or other persons 
similarly situated and the financial information required to complete the application form. See Section 67-7715(3)(a), 
Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

b. The locations from which or persons with which the applicant will provide any gaming devices, 
equipment or material in this state or for use in this state. See Section 67-7715(3)(b), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

02. Incomplete Applications. Financial reports submitted with the license application will be 
reviewed as part of the background investigation. All requested data must be included on the application to avoid any 
delay. The application may be dismissed if it is incomplete. (4-2-08)

603. APPROVAL, DENIAL OR DISMISSAL OF APPLICATION FOR ISSUANCE OF LICENSE.
The Lottery will approve, deny or dismiss an application for a vendor’s license, within fifteen (15) days. At the 
applicant’s request the Lottery may defer decision for a longer time. The application will be approved, denied or 
dismissed in writing. The Lottery will issue vendor licenses to successful applicants. See Section 67-7715, Idaho 
Code. (        )

604. SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE.
Any licensed vendor in violation of statute or of these rules or of any conditions of its license may face suspension or 
revocation of its vendor’s license. (4-2-08)

605. -- 609. (RESERVED)

610. GAMING DEVICES, EQUIPMENT OR MATERIALS.
Gaming devices, equipment, and materials include but are not limited to: (7-1-97)

01. Number Selectors and Related Equipment. Number selection machines, manual mixing drums, 
or computerized random selectors, site systems, host systems or other electronic bingo machines used to select 
numbers for bingo or raffles are gaming devices, equipment or materials. (4-2-08)

02. Bingo Cards. Numbered paper bingo cards and hard bingo cards as described in Paragraphs 
310.03.a. and 301.19 of these rules, including Bonanza cards, “U-Pick-Ems,” and electronic bingo cards, are gaming 
devices, equipment or materials. (        )

03. Miscellaneous. Daubers, raffle tickets, record keeping materials, electronic bingo devices and 
other items used in the operation of bingo or raffles are gaming devices, equipment or materials. (4-2-08)

611. PAPER BINGO CARD MANUFACTURERS STANDARDS.
Card manufacturers must follow these standards for paper cards: (4-2-08)

01. Quality of Paper. The paper must be of sufficient weight and quality to allow for clearly readable 
numbers and to prevent ink from spreading or bleeding through a packet and obscuring other numbers or cards.

(4-2-08)

02. Random Assignment of Numbers. Numbers printed on the card must be randomly assigned.
(4-2-08)

03. Serial Numbers. Each set of cards must be comprised of cards bearing the same serial number. No 
serial number may be duplicated by a manufacturer in a given calendar year. (        )

04. Packet Assembly. Cards assembled in books or packets must be glued, not stapled. (4-2-08)

05. Labeling. A label must be placed on the exterior of each carton of bingo paper listing the type of 
product, number of packets or loose sheets, serial numbers, per (series) numbers, number of cases, cut of paper, and 
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color of paper. (4-2-08)

06. Packing Slips. A packing slip inside each case must list the same information as listed on the label.
(4-2-08)

07. Invoice. All orders must be accompanied by an invoice which lists the type of product, number of 
packets or loose sheets, serial numbers of all packets or loose sheets, per (series) numbers, number of cases, cut of 
paper, color of paper and pricing by item. The invoice must also include the supplier (vendor) name, and the name 
and address of the organization purchasing the paper. (2-19-09)

612. NUMBER SELECTORS.
All number selectors for bingo operations must be approved by the Commission after review and advice by the 
Bingo-Raffle Advisory Board. Electronic random selectors must interact with players. Auto daubing systems for 
paper bingo cards are prohibited. (4-2-08)

613. DISTRIBUTION AND USE OF ELECTRONIC BINGO MACHINES.

01. Approved Sources. A licensed distributor of electronic bingo machines must purchase, rent, lease 
or otherwise provide electronic bingo machines only from a licensed manufacturer and purchase, lease, rent, or 
otherwise provide only electronic bingo machines that have been approved by the Commission. See Section 67-
7718(1), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

02. Approved Users. A licensed distributor of electronic bingo machines is permitted to sell, rent, 
lease or otherwise provide electronic bingo machines only to licensed bingo operators. See Section 67-7718(2), Idaho 
Code. (4-2-08)

03. Initial Use. The licensed distributor of electronic bingo machines must notify the Commission in 
writing of the sale, rental, lease, provision or installation of any electronic bingo machines before a licensed bingo 
operator’s first use of the machines as follows: (        )

a. The complete name and address of the licensed bingo operator and their license number. (4-2-08)

b. The type of equipment and the serial numbers of equipment that was sold, rented, leased, provided 
or installed. (4-2-08)

c. The expected date upon which the licensed bingo operator will begin to use the equipment.
(4-2-08)

d. A copy of any and all agreements or contracts between the licensed distributor and the licensed 
bingo operator regarding use of the equipment. (4-2-08)

04. Installation, Maintenance, Service and Repair. The licensed distributor must be the initial 
contact for installation, service, maintenance or repair of electronic bingo machines and for ordering electronic bingo 
cards. The distributor may enlist the manufacturer’s assistance for installation, service, maintenance or repair of 
electronic bingo machines. With the Commission’s approval, a licensed manufacturer may authorize or subcontract 
with others for service, repair or maintenance of electronic bingo machines, but the licensed manufacturer retains 
ultimate responsibility and liability for service, maintenance and repair. See Section 67-7718(4), Idaho Code.

(4-2-08)

05. Invoices and Payments. The licensed distributor of electronic bingo machines must be the person 
who invoices for and collects payments for a licensed bingo operator’s use of electronic bingo machines. The 
manufacturer may generate the invoice. All payments must be to the distributor and not the manufacturer. The invoice 
must contain the licensed distributor’s name, complete address and license number of the licensed bingo operator. See 
Section 67-7718(5), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

06. Transportation Of Electronic Bingo Devices. A licensed distributor may transport electronic 
bingo devices from one (1) location to another for use by one (1) or more licensed bingo operator after the distributor 
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has notified the Commission in writing of its schedule for rotating the electronic bingo devices from one (1) location 
to another. The notification must list the locations at which the devices will be used and name the licensed bingo 
operators that will be using the devices at each location. See Section 67-7718(6), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

07. Site Systems and Transportation of Site Systems. Each licensed bingo operator that uses a site 
system must have its own site system. A licensed bingo operator that uses a site system cannot transport its site 
system from one (1) location to another or allow another bingo operator to use its site system without prior written 
approval from the Commission. See Section 67-7718(6), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

614. -- 699. (RESERVED)

SUB AREA: SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, OR DENIAL OF A LICENSE

700. SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OR DENIAL OF LICENSE.
Any licensee or applicant for a license found by a court of competent jurisdiction or by the Lottery pursuant to the 
procedures of Section 67-7712, Idaho Code, to be in violation of any statutes or rules governing operating, supplying 
of equipment for, participating in, or establishing of gaming in the state of Idaho may be subject to suspension, 
revocation or denial of its license. See Sections 67-7712 and 67-7715, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

701. GROUNDS FOR SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OR DENIAL OF LICENSE.
The Lottery may suspend, revoke or deny a license if it finds that the licensee or applicant for a license has violated 
any provision of Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, any of these rules, or any county ordinance adopted pursuant to 
Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, (See Section 67-7712(2), Idaho Code). (7-1-97)

702. COMPLAINT AGAINST AND INVESTIGATION OF LICENSEES.
The Lottery may, upon its own motion, or upon a written verified complaint of any other person, investigate the 
operation of any gaming purportedly authorized by Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, or by these rules, whether the 
gaming is conducted by a licensed or an exempt operation, and whether gaming equipment or supplies comply with 
the requirements of Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code. If the Lottery has reasonable cause to believe that any gaming 
described in Title 67, Chapter 77, Idaho Code, or in these rules, violates the provisions of the Idaho Code or of these 
rules, in its discretion it may under the procedures set forth in Section 67-7712(3), Idaho Code, and as provided by 
these rules propose to revoke, cancel, rescind or suspend any license for a period not to exceed one (1) year, or refuse 
to grant a renewal of the license, or take other action as may be appropriate under Idaho Code or these rules. See 
Section 67-7712(3), Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

703. PROCEDURE UPON FINDING OF REASONABLE CAUSE.
If the Lottery refuses to grant a license or refuse to grant a renewal of a license or revoke, cancel, rescind or suspend 
a license, it shall give the applicant or licensee fifteen (15) calendar days’ written notice of its intended action stating 
generally the basis for its action. Within the fifteen (15) calendar days’ notice period, the applicant or licensee shall 
indicate its acceptance of the decision of the Lottery or request a hearing to be held in the same manner as hearings in 
contested cases pursuant to Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. See Section 67-7712(3), Idaho Code. (7-1-97)

704. CONDUCT OF HEARING IN CONTESTED CASE.
The hearing in a contested case shall be conducted within twenty-one (21) days of the request. The applicant or 
licensee may appeal the decisions of the Lottery after the hearing pursuant to Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. 
Failure to make the request for hearing as provided in these rules shall render the decision of the Lottery final and not 
subject to further appeal. See Section 67-7712(3), Idaho Code. (7-1-97)

705. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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