# PENDING FEE RULES COMMITTEE RULES REVIEW BOOK

# Submitted for Review Before House Education Committee

65th Idaho Legislature Second Regular Session – 2020



**Prepared by:** 

*Office of the Administrative Rules Coordinator Division of Financial Management* 

January 2020

# HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES REVIEW Table of Contents

## 2020 Legislative Session

## IDAPA 08 – STATE BOARD OF AND STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Docket No. 08-0000-1900F	3
08.01.11 – Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions and Proprietary Schools	
08.02.02 – Rules Governing Uniformity	12
08.02.03 – Rules Governing Thoroughness	15

## **IDAPA 08 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION**

### DOCKET NO. 08-0000-1900F

#### NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

#### LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2020 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

**AUTHORITY:** In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 33-118, 33-130, 33-1205, 33-2402 and 2403, Idaho Code.

**DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY:** The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 08, rules of the State Board of Education:

#### IDAPA 08

- 08.01.11, Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions and Proprietary Schools:
  - Subsection 200.07 Registration Fee, Postsecondary Educational Institutions
  - Subsection 300.06 Registration Fee, Proprietary Schools
- 08.02.02, Rules Governing Uniformity:
  - Section 066 Fees, Educator Certification
  - Subsection 075.03, Fingerprinting and Background Investigation Checks
- 08.02.03, Rules Governing Thoroughness:

• Section 128, Curricular Materials Selection and Online Course Approval

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in the June 19, 2019 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 19-6SE, pages 1172-1183.

**FEE SUMMARY:** The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 33-118, 33-130, 33-1205, 33-2402 and 2403, Idaho Code, Idaho Code.

This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules.

#### IDAPA 08.01.11

Annual registration fee for initial registration or renewal of registration is equal to one-half of one percent (.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition revenue of the institution during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 - Dec 31), but not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars (\$5,000).

#### IDAPA 08.02.02.066

- Initial Certificate \$75
- Renewal Certificate \$75
- Alternate Route Authorization \$100
- Additions or Changes to an Existing Certificate \$25
- Replace an Existing Certificate \$10

#### IDAPA 08.02.02, Background Check/Fingerprinting

- Fingerprinting Processing Fee, All Applicants (excluding volunteers) \$28.25
- Fingerprinting Processing Fee, Volunteers \$26.25

#### IDAPA 08.02.03

• Curricular Materials Review submission fee \$60 or an amount equal to the retail price of each curricular material.

**FISCAL IMPACT:** The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

This rulemaking is not anticipated to have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

**ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS:** For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee rule, contact Tracie Bent, Chief Planning and Policy Officer, at (208) 332-1582 or tracie.bent@osbe.idaho.gov.

Dated this 27th day of November, 2019.

Tracie Bent Chief Planning and Policy Officer Office of the State Board of Education 650 W. State Street P.O. Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0037 Phone: (208) 332-1582 Fax: (208) 334-2632

#### THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** The effective date of the temporary rules listed in the descriptive summary of this notice is June 30, 2019.

**AUTHORITY:** In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted temporary rules, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 33-118, 33-130, 33-1205, 33-2402 and 2403, Idaho Code.

**PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE:** Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

**DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY:** The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This temporary and proposed rulemaking adopts and re-publishes the following existing and previously approved and codified chapters under IDAPA 08, rules of the State Board of Education:

#### IDAPA 08

- 08.01.11, Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions and Proprietary Schools:
  - Subsection 200.07 Registration Fee, Postsecondary Educational Institutions
  - Subsection 300.06 Registration Fee, Proprietary Schools

# STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION IDAPA 08

- 08.02.02, Rules Governing Uniformity
  - Section 066 Fees, Educator Certification
  - Subsection 075.03, Fingerprinting and Background Investigation Checks
- 08.02.03, Rules Governing Thoroughness
  - Section 128, Curricular Materials Selection and Online Course Approval

**TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION:** Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and confer a benefit on its citizens. These previously approved and codified rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine the public health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.

Chapter 24, Title 33, Idaho Code requires the State Board of Education to register postsecondary educational institutions and proprietary schools and to assure these institutions and schools meet certain requirements to provide for protection of the students who purchase educational services from them. The authorized fee is used to process, evaluate, and investigate the assurances provided through the registration process to assure for a reasonable amount of consumer protection.

Section 33-1205, Idaho Code, authorizes the State Board of Education to set fees related to the maintenance of educator certification records and ethic reviews, such fees are used for the payment of expenses for the Professional Standards Commission in performing its statutory duties, including these ethics reviews along with certification standards reviews. These standards are critical in assuring the quality of our educators and the ethical behavior of individuals educating our public school students.

Section 33-130, Idaho Code, requires all individuals who have unsupervised contact with public school student to have a criminal background check and requires the Department of Education to charge these individuals the necessary fee to cover the cost of undergoing a criminal history check. These criminal history checks are necessary to provide for the safety of the students in our public school system.

Curricular materials may be selected from of a state list of materials that have been reviewed and found in alignment with our state content standards or through a process at the local level. At the state level this process is conducted through the curricular materials review committee. Section 33-118, Idaho Code requires the State Board of Education to determine the process for the review and to set any fees necessary to defray the cost of such reviews. The fee set pursuant to Section 33-118, Idaho Code is necessary to defray the costs of these state level reviews. The state reviews provide a list of material school districts can select from, allowing them to identify quality material aligned to the standards without having to incur the expense of the reviews at the local level.

The fee or charge imposed by the rules is necessary to avoid immediate danger. The fees or charges reauthorized in this rulemaking are currently existing and have been previously promulgated by the agency and reviewed and approved by the Legislature. These fees and charges are part of the dedicated fund portion of the state budget, which makes up a material portion of the FY2020 budget. The FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature and passed into law. That budget relies upon the existence of these fees and charges to meet the state's obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these fee rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho's constitutional requirement that it balance its budget. These fees are necessary to cover the cost of performing the specified statutory functions, failure to collect these fees would result in the inability for the State Board of Education to fulfill the applicable statutory requirements and reduce the protection provided for individuals purchasing educational services and the health and safety of students in the public school system.

**FEE SUMMARY:** The preceding section and the attached rules provide a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased by this rulemaking. This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously approved and codified in the prior rules.

#### IDAPA 08.01.11

Annual registration fee for initial registration or renewal of registration is equal to one-half of one percent (.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition revenue of the institution during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 - Dec 31), but not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars (\$5,000).

#### IDAPA 08.02.02.066

- Initial Certificate \$75.00
- Renewal Certificate \$75.00
- Alternate Route Authorization \$100
- Additions or Changes to an Existing Certificate \$25
- Replace an Existing Certificate \$10

#### IDAPA 08.02.02, Background Check/Fingerprinting

- Fingerprinting Processing Fee, All Applicants (excluding volunteers) \$28.25
- Fingerprinting Processing Fee, Volunteers \$26.25

#### IDAPA 08.02.03

• Curricular Materials Review submission fee \$60 or an amount equal to the retail price of each curricular material

**FISCAL IMPACT:** The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2020 budget has already been set by the Legislature, and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rules and fees being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

**NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING:** Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not feasible because of the need to adopt the rules as temporary, and because these existing chapters of IDAPA are being re-published and re-authorized. Negotiated rulemaking also is not feasible because of the need to implement these rules before they expire; the rules form the regulatory framework of the laws of this state and have been previously promulgated and reviewed by the legislature pursuant to the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 52, Title 67, Idaho Code; and because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

**INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE:** Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the temporary and proposed rules attached hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Tracie Bent, Chief Planning and Policy Officer, at (208)332-1582 or tracie.bent@osbe.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

Dated this 19th day of June, 2019.

### THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 08-0000-1900F

#### IDAPA 08 TITLE 01 CHAPTER 11

#### 08.01.11 – REGISTRATION OF POSTSECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROPRIETARY SCHOOLS

#### (BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

#### 200. REGISTRATION OF POSTSECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS.

**01. Delegation**. Section 33-2403, Idaho Code, provides that a postsecondary educational institution must hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. The Board delegates authority to its Executive Director and the Office of the State Board of Education to administer the registration of postsecondary educational institution, in accordance with Title 33, Chapter 24, Idaho Code, and this rule. (3-29-12)

#### 02. Registration Requirement.

**a.** Unless exempted by statute or this rule, as provided herein, a postsecondary educational institution which maintains a presence within the state of Idaho, or that operates or purports to operate from a location within the state of Idaho, shall register and hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. An institution shall not conduct, provide, offer, or sell a course or courses of study, or degree unless registered. (3-29-12)

**b.** Registration shall be for the period beginning on the date a certificate of registration is issued and continue through June 30 of the next succeeding year. A registered postsecondary educational institution must renew its certificate of registration annually, and renewal of registration is not automatic. (3-29-10)

**c.** Renewal of registration shall be for the period beginning on July 1 of any year, and continue through June 30 of the next succeeding year. (4-9-09)

**d.** A new or start-up entity that desires to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in Idaho but which is not yet accredited by an accreditation organization recognized by the Board must register and operate as a proprietary school until accreditation is obtained. A new or start-up entity that is accredited and authorized to operate in another state, and which desires to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in Idaho offering degrees for which specialized program accreditation is required, may be granted approval to operate subject to the successful attainment of such program accreditation within the regular program accreditation cycle required by the accreditor. (3-29-12)

e. There is no inherent or private right to grant degrees in Idaho. That authority belongs only to institutions properly authorized to operate in Idaho under these rules. (3-29-12)

#### 03. Idaho Presence.

**a.** An institution shall be deemed to have a presence in Idaho, or to be operating or purporting to be operating from a location within the state of Idaho, if it owns, rents, leases, or uses any office or other type of physical location in Idaho, including a mailing or shipping center, or if it represents in any way, such as on an electronic or Internet website, to have an Idaho street or mailing address, including a post office box in Idaho, for purposes of conducting, providing, offering or selling a course or courses of study or degrees. (3-29-12)

**b.** Idaho presence shall include medical/osteopathic education clinical instruction occurring in the state of Idaho as part of a course of study leading to a degree pursuant to a formal multi-year arrangement or agreement between such clinic and an institution providing medical/osteopathic education instruction where eleven (11) or more students of the institution are physically present simultaneously at a single field site. (4-11-15)

(3-29-12)

### must submit to the Board office an application for registration (either an application for initial registration or renewal

06.

of registration, as applicable), on the form provided by the Board office. The application must include a list of each course, course of study, and degree the applicant institution intends to conduct, provide, offer, or sell in Idaho during the registration year. (3-29-10)Registration Fees. The Board shall assess an annual registration fee for initial registration or

renewal of registration of a postsecondary educational institution. The registration fee must accompany the application for registration, and shall be in the amount of one-half of one percent (.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition revenue of the institution during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 - Dec 31), but not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars (\$5,000). The institution must provide financial documentation to substantiate the amount of revenue reported. Registration fees are nonrefundable. (4-4-13)

**08**. Deadline for Registration. An initial application for registration may be submitted to the Board at anytime. An institution should expect the Board's review process for an initial registration to take approximately three (3) to five (5) months. An application for renewal of registration must be submitted to the Board on or before the first business day of May that precedes the registration year. The renewal will be processed within thirty (30) days. Institutions that do not adhere to this schedule and whose renewals are not processed by July 1st must cease all

Section 200

#### IDAPA 08.01.11 – Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions & Proprietary Schools

Idaho presence shall not include: c.

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

State Board of Education

Distance or online education delivered by an institution located outside of the state of Idaho to i students in this state when the institution does not otherwise have physical presence in Idaho, as provided in Subsection 200.03.a. of this rule; (3-29-12)

Medical education instruction occurring in the state of Idaho by an institution pursuant to a medical ii. education program funded by the state of Idaho; (3-29-12)

Internship or cooperative training programs occurring in the state of Idaho where students are employed by or provide services to a business or company in this state and receive course credit from an institution related to such activities; or (3-29-12)

Activities limited to the recruiting or interviewing of applicants or potential students in the state of Idaho, whether conducted by a compensated employee, agent, or representative of an institution, or by volunteer alumnus of an institution, even if such individual is physically located in this state. (3-29-12)

#### 04. Institutions Exempt from Registration.

Idaho public postsecondary educational institutions. Section 33-2402(1), Idaho Code, provides that a. a public institution supported primarily by taxation from either the state of Idaho or a local source in Idaho shall not be required to register. (4-9-09)

b. Certain Idaho private, nonprofit, postsecondary educational institutions. A private, nonprofit, postsecondary educational institution that is already established and operational as of the date when this rule first went into effect (Brigham Young University - Idaho, College of Idaho, Northwest Nazarene University, New Saint Andrews College, Boise Bible College), and located within the state of Idaho, and that is accredited by an accreditation organization recognized by the Board, as set forth in Section 100 of this rule, shall not be required to register. A private, nonprofit, institution is located within the state of Idaho only if it has been lawfully organized in the state of Idaho and its principal place of business is located within the state of Idaho. An institution exempt under this subsection may voluntarily register by following the procedure for registration provided herein.  $(\bar{3}-29-12)$ 

Idaho religious institutions. A religious institution located within the state of Idaho that is owned, controlled, operated, and maintained by a religious organization lawfully operating as a nonprofit religious corporation and that grants only religious degrees shall not be required to register. (3-29-12)

Institutions That Must Register. Unless exempt under Subsection 200.04 of this rule, any entity 05. that desires to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in Idaho must register as provided herein. (3-29-12)

Application. A postsecondary educational institution that is required to register under this rule

(3-29-12)

#### IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE State Board of Education

#### IDAPA 08.01.11 – Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions & Proprietary Schools

active operation	s until approval of registration is received.	(3-29-12)	
09.	Information Required.	(3-29-12)	
<b>a.</b> An application must include all the information requested on the application form, as well following information: (3-			
i.	Copy of most recent accreditation letter showing the period of approval;	(4-7-11)	
ii. Current list of chief officers - e.g. president, board chair, chief academic officer, chief fisca			
iii.	Enrollment data for current and past two (2) years;	(4-9-09)	
iv. Copy of annual audited financial statement, or other financial instrument as establi executive director;			

v. Any additional information that the Board may request. (4-9-09)

vi. All advertising, pamphlets, and other literature used to solicit students and all contract forms must accurately represent the purpose of the school, its courses or courses of study, and other relevant information to assist students in making an informed decision to enroll. Institutions offering courses or courses of study which require clinical, practicum or internship components must provide students in writing information regarding the number of clinical, practicum or internship positions available and the location of said positions. Institutions with courses or courses of study that have not been fully accredited must disclose to prospective students in these courses of study the accreditation status of the program and anticipated date for full accreditation. (4-4-13)

**b.** The Board may, in connection with a renewal of registration, request that an institution only submit information that documents changes from the previous year, provided that the institution certifies that all information and/or documentation submitted in a previous registration year remains current. The annual registration fee, described in Subsection 200.07 of this rule, shall remain applicable. (3-29-12)

### (BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

#### **300. REGISTRATION OF PROPRIETARY SCHOOLS.**

01. Delegation. Section 33-2403, Idaho Code, provides that a proprietary school must hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. The Board delegates authority to its Executive Director and the Office of the State Board of Education to administer the registration of proprietary schools, in accordance with Title 33, Chapter 24, Idaho Code, and this rule. (3-29-12)

#### 02. Registration Requirement.

a. Unless exempted by statute or this rule, as provided herein, a proprietary school which maintains a presence within the state of Idaho, or which operates or purports to operate from a location within the state of Idaho, shall register annually and hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. A school shall not conduct, provide, offer, or sell a course or courses of study unless registered. A school shall not solicit students for or on behalf of such school, or advertise in this state, unless registered. (3-29-10)

**b.** Registration shall be for the period beginning July 1 of any year and continue through June 30 of the next succeeding year. For a school that has not previously registered with the Board, registration shall be for the period beginning on the date of issuance of a certificate of registration and continue through June 30 of the next succeeding year. A registered proprietary school must renew its certificate of registration annually and renewal of registration is not automatic. (3-29-12)

**c.** Renewal of registration shall be for the period beginning on July 1 of any year, and continue through June 30 of the next succeeding year. (4-9-09)

#### 03. Idaho Presence.

**a.** A school shall be deemed to have a presence in Idaho, or to be operating or purporting to be operating from a location within the state of Idaho, or if it owns, rents, leases, or uses any office or other type of physical location in Idaho, including a mailing or shipping center, or if it represents in any way, such as on an electronic or Internet website, to have an Idaho street or mailing address, including a post office box in Idaho, for purposes of conducting, providing, offering or selling a course or courses of study or degrees. (3-29-12)

**b.** Idaho presence shall not include: (3-29-12)

i. Distance or online education delivered by an institution located outside of the state of Idaho to students in this state when the institution does not otherwise have physical presence in Idaho, as provided in Subsection 300.03.a. of this rule; (3-29-12)

ii. Internship or cooperative training programs occurring in the state of Idaho where students are employed by or provide services to a business or company in this state and receive course credit from an institution related to such activities; or (3-29-12)

iii. Activities limited to the recruiting or interviewing of applicants or potential students in the state of Idaho, whether conducted by a compensated employee, agent, or representative of an institution, or by volunteer alumnus of an institution, even if such individual is physically located in this state. (3-29-12)

04. Exemptions from Registration. The following individuals or entities are specifically exempt from the registration requirements of this rule: (4-9-09)

**a.** An individual or entity that offers instruction or training solely avocational or recreational in nature, as determined by the Board. (3-29-12)

**b.** An individual or entity that offers courses recognized by the Board which comply in whole or in part with the compulsory education law. (4-9-09)

**c.** An individual or entity that offers a course or courses of study sponsored by an employer for the training and preparation of its own employees, and for which no tuition fee is charged to the student. (4-9-09)

**d.** An individual or entity which is otherwise regulated, licensed, or registered with another state agency pursuant to Title 54, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

e. An individual or entity that offers intensive review courses designed to prepare students for certified public accountancy tests, public accountancy tests, law school aptitude tests, bar examinations or medical college admissions tests, or similar instruction for test preparation. (4-9-09)

**f.** An individual or entity offering only workshops or seminars lasting no longer than three (3) calendar days and offered no more than four (4) times per year. (3-29-12)

**g.** A parochial or denominational institution providing instruction or training relating solely to religion and for which degrees are not granted. (4-9-09)

**h.** An individual or entity that offers postsecondary credit through a consortium of public and private colleges and universities under the auspices of the Western Governors University. (3-29-12)

i. An individual or entity that offers flight instruction and that accepts payment for services for such training on a per-flight basis after the training occurs, or that accepts advance payment or a deposit for such training in a de minimus amount equal to or less than fifteen (15) percent of the total course or program cost. (3-29-12)

(3-29-12)

#### IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE State Board of Education

#### IDAPA 08.01.11 – Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions & Proprietary Schools

**05. Application**. A proprietary school that is required to register under this rule must submit to the Board office an application for registration (either an application for initial registration, or renewal of registration, as applicable), on a form provided by the Board office. The application must include a list of each course or courses of study the applicant school intends to conduct, provide, offer or sell in Idaho during the registration year. (3-29-10)

06. Registration Fees. The Board shall assess an annual registration fee for initial registration or renewal of registration. The registration fee must accompany the application for registration, and shall be one-half of one percent (.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition revenue of the school during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 - Dec 31), but not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars (\$5,000). The school shall provide documentation to substantiate the amount of revenue reported. Registration fees are nonrefundable. (4-4-13)

07. Deadline for Registration. An initial application for registration may be submitted to the Board at anytime. A school should expect the Board review process for an initial registration to take approximately three (3) to five (5) months. An application for renewal of registration must be submitted to the Board on or before the first business day of May that precedes the registration year. The renewal will be processed within thirty (30) days. Institutions that do not adhere to this schedule and whose renewals are not processed by July 1st must cease all active operations until approval of registration is received. (3-29-12)

**08.** Information Required. Such application must include all the information requested on the application form. In addition, a school must attest by signature of the primary official on the application form that it is in compliance with Standards I through V set forth in Section 301 of this rule and must provide verification of compliance with Standards I through V set forth in Section 301 of this rule upon request. The Board may, in connection with a renewal of registration, request that a school only submit information that documents changes from the previous year, provided that the school certifies that all information and/or documentation submitted in a previous registration year remains current. The annual registration fee, described in Subsection 300.06 of this rule, shall remain applicable. (3-29-12)

#### IDAPA 08 TITLE 02 CHAPTER 02

### 08.02.02 - RULES GOVERNING UNIFORMITY

#### (BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

#### 066. FEES.

The state Department of Education shall maintain a record of all certificates issued, showing names, dates of issue and renewal, and if revoked, the date thereof and the reason therefor. A nonrefundable fee shall accompany each application for a prekindergarten through grade twelve (12) certificate, alternate certificate, change in certificate or replacement as follows: (3-16-04)01. **Initial Certificate.** All types, issued for five (5) years -- seventy-five dollars (\$75). (3-16-04)02. **Renewal Certificate.** All types, issued for five (5) years -- seventy-five dollars (\$75). (3-16-04)03. Alternate Route Authorization. All types, issued for one (1) year -- one hundred dollars (\$100). (3-16-04)Additions or Changes During the Life of an Existing Certificate. Twenty-five dollars (\$25). 04. (3-16-04)

**05.** To Replace an Existing Certificate. Ten dollars (\$10). (3-16-04)

### (BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

## 075. FINGERPRINTING AND BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION CHECKS (SECTIONS 33-130 AND 33-512, IDAHO CODE).

All individuals who are required by the provisions of Section 33-130, Idaho Code, must undergo a background investigation check. (3-28-18)

#### 01. Definitions.

**a.** Applicant. An individual completing a background investigation check as identified in Subsection (3-28-18)

**b.** Background Investigation Check. The submission of a completed applicant fingerprint card or scan by an authorized entity submitted under an enacted state statute/local ordinance or federal law, approved by the Attorney General of the United States allowing a search of the state and federal criminal history indices for noncriminal justice purposes including employment suitability, licensing determinations, immigration and naturalization matters, and national security clearances. (3-28-18)

c. Background Investigation Check Result. The response to a state and federal background investigation check initiated by a fingerprint submission from an authorized entity for non-criminal justice purposes. Results are returned to the submitting authorized entity by the state criminal history repository (Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Investigation). (3-28-18)

**d.** Break-in-Service. A voluntary or involuntary termination in employment, including retirement.

(4-9-09)

e. Candidate. An individual attending a postsecondary program. (4-9-09)

**f.** Contractor. An agency, company/business, or individual that has signed a contract or agreement to provide services to an LEA and private or parochial school. (4-9-09)

**g.** Employee. A person who is hired for a wage, salary, fee, or payment to perform work for an (3-28-18)

**h.** Fingerprint Card or Scan. The process for obtaining impressions of an individual's fingerprint images, both ten (10) individual finger impressions rolled from nail to nail and slap or flat impressions taken simultaneously without rolling. Fingerprints may be recorded utilizing either an inked standard fingerprint card or using a livescan device. Standard fingerprint cards may also be scanned for submission to the state repository for background investigation check purposes. (3-28-18)

i. Rejected Fingerprint Cards or Scans. A fingerprint card or scan that has been returned by the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification or Federal Bureau of Investigation for poor quality prints. (3-28-18)

j. Unsupervised Contact. Direct contact or interaction with students not under the direct supervision of an LEA employee in a K-12 setting. This includes contact or interaction with students in scheduled school activities that occur outside of the school or outside of normal school hours. (3-28-18)

02.	Individuals Required to Complete a Background Investigation Check.	(3-28-18)
a.	All applicants for certificates;	(3-28-18)
b.	Certificated and noncertificated employees;	(3-28-18)

c. Substitute teachers; (3-28-18)

**d.** Contractors who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting, including contractors who are providing student services; (3-28-18)

e. Student teachers or any postsecondary candidates who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting; (3-28-18)

f. Volunteers who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting; (3-28-18)

g. Any individuals who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting. (3-28-18)

03. Fee. The SDE shall charge a fee for undergoing a background investigation check pursuant to Section 33-130, Idaho Code. (3-28-18)

#### 04. Rejected Fingerprint Cards or Scans. (4-9-09)

**a.** When a fingerprint card has been rejected a new completed fingerprint card is required. (4-9-09)

**b.** The rejected fingerprint card will be sent back to the originating LEA, private or parochial school, contractor, postsecondary program, or individual. (3-28-18)

**c.** A new fingerprint card must be completed by a law enforcement agency to ensure legible fingerprints. Both the rejected fingerprint card and the new fingerprint card must be returned to the SDE within thirty (30) calendar days. (3-28-18)

**d.** If the new fingerprint card and rejected fingerprint card are returned after thirty (30) calendar days, a fee, pursuant to Subsection 075.03 of these rules, is required to be paid. (3-28-18)

#### IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 08.02.02 State Board of Education **Rules Governing Uniformity**

**Background Investigation Checks for Certification.** 

Secured Background Investigation Check Website. The SDE will maintain a background 05. investigation check website listing the background investigation check results for review by the LEA, private or parochial school, contractor or postsecondary program. Each LEA, private or parochial school, contractor and postsecondary program will have access to the background investigation check secure site listing their employees, statewide substitute teacher list, and student teacher list. (3-28-18)

The SDE will make the final determination if an applicant is eligible for Idaho certification. a.

If the SDE makes a determination that the applicant is not eligible for Idaho certification, the SDE h. may deny the applicant Idaho certification. Upon receiving the written denial, the applicant may request a hearing pursuant to Section 33-1209, Idaho Code. (4-9-09)

Substitute Teachers. Substitute teachers as defined in Section 33-512(15), Idaho Code, must 07. undergo a background investigation check. The SDE shall maintain a statewide substitute teacher list. To remain on the list a substitute teacher shall undergo a background investigation check every five (5) years in accordance with Section 33-512, Idaho Code. (3-28-18)

#### 08. Break In Service.

06.

a. When an employee returns to any LEA, private or parochial school, or contractor after a break in service, a new background investigation check must be completed pursuant to Section 33-130, Idaho Code. (3-28-18)

When an employee changes employment between LEAs a new background investigation check b. must be completed pursuant to Section 33-130, Idaho Code. (3-28-18)

#### 09. Postsecondary.

The postsecondary program will submit a completed fingerprint card or scan for all candidates who a. are applying for unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting including student teaching, internships, or other types of candidate training.  $(4-11-\bar{1}9)$ 

The SDE will make a preliminary determination based on the CHC result if the candidate is eligible h. for certification in Idaho. This decision will be forwarded to the postsecondary program concerning the eligibility of their candidate. (4-9-09)

(4-9-09)

(3-28-18)

(4-9-09)



#### 08.02.03 – RULES GOVERNING THOROUGHNESS

#### (BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

## **128.** CURRICULAR MATERIALS SELECTION AND ONLINE COURSE APPROVAL (SECTIONS 33-118; 33-118A, IDAHO CODE).

The State Board of Education will appoint a committee to select curriculum materials. Committee appointments will be for a period of five (5) years. Committee appointments shall consist of not less than ten (10) total members from the following stakeholder groups: certified Idaho classroom teachers, Idaho public school administrators, Idaho higher education officials, parents, trustees, local board of education members, members of the Division of Career Technical Education, and State Department of Education personnel. The Executive Secretary will be an employee of the State Department of Education and will be a voting member of the committee. The State Department of Education shall charge publishers submission fees of sixty dollars (\$60) or equal to the retail price of each, whichever is greater, to defray the costs incurred in the curricular material review and adoption process. (3-27-13)

01. Subject Areas. Curricular materials are adopted by the State Board of Education for a period of six (6) years in the following subject areas: reading, English, spelling, speech, journalism, languages other than English, art, drama, social studies, music, mathematics, business education, career education and counseling, vocational/ technical education, science, health, physical education, handwriting, literature, driver education, limited English proficiency. (3-25-16)

#### **02.** Multiple Adoptions. Multiple adoptions are Made in Each Subject Area. (4-5-00)

**03. Bids**. Each publisher must deliver, according to the committee schedule, a sealed bid on all curricular materials presented for adoption. (4-5-00)

04. Depository. The State Board will appoint a depository for the state-adopted curricular materials. Resource materials are a local option. (4-5-00)

**05. Local Policies**. School districts will follow their own policies for adoption in subject areas offered by a school district for which materials are not covered by the state curriculum materials committee. (4-5-00)

06. Online Course Review and Approval Process. The State Department of Education shall administer the review and approval of online course providers and courses. Reviewers shall be certified Idaho classroom teachers. Online course providers are approved for a period of four (4) years. The State Department of Education shall charge online course providers submission fees based on the number of courses offered, not to exceed the actual costs incurred in the online course and course provider review and approval process. (3-20-14)