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IDAPA 16 – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE
16.03.03 – RULES GOVERNING CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES

DOCKET NO. 16-0303-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 7-1206, 32-1207, 32-1209, 32-1214G, 32-1217, 56-
203A, and 56-1004, Idaho Code. 

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule:

The Department needs to comply with amendments to the Social Security Act that require an increase to the 
annual federal fee and the threshold of when this fee is imposed. The annual federal fee increases from $25 to $35 and 
amount of when a fee is imposed is being increased to $550. 

There are no changes to the pending fee rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of 
the proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 157 and 
158.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or 
charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 56-203A, Idaho Code.

Fees will be increased for the annual child support services from a $25 fee to $35 fee; and the threshold of when 
this fee is imposed is being increased to $550.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

Non-custodial parents who pay at least $550 in child support in a fiscal year will pay an annual fee of $35. Based 
on current data, it is anticipated that approximately 35,000 child support cases will qualify for this fee increase. The 
total estimated increase will result in an increase of $350,000 per each federal fiscal year. The state pays 66% of the 
total fees assessed to the federal Office of Child Support Enforcement for federal match, which equals $231,000. The 
state retains any amount collected above the federal share, which equals up to $119,000. 

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Robert Rinard at (208) 334-0620.

Dated this 16th day of November, 2018.

Tamara Prisock
DHW – Administrative Rules Unit
450 W. State Street – 10th Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036
Phone: (208) 334-5500 / Fax: (208) 334-6558
E-mail: dhwrules@dhw.idaho.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE Docket No. 16-0303-1801
Rules Governing Child Support Services PENDING FEE RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 7-1206, 32-1207, 32-1209, 
32-1214G, 32-1217, 56-203A, and 56-1004, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The Department needs to comply with amendments to the Social Security Act that require an increase to the 
annual federal fee and the threshold of when this fee is imposed. The annual federal fee increases from $25 to $35 and 
amount of when a fee is imposed is being increased to $550.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Fees will be increased for the annual child support services from a $25 fee to $35 fee; and the threshold of when 
this fee is imposed is being increased to $550.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking:

Non-custodial parents who pay at least $550 in child support in a fiscal year will pay an annual fee of $35. Based 
on current data, it is anticipated that approximately 35,000 child support cases will qualify for this fee increase. The 
total estimated increase will result in an increase of $350,000 per each federal fiscal year. The state pays 66% of the 
total fees assessed to the federal Office of Child Support Enforcement for federal match, which equals $231,000. The 
state retains any amount collected above the federal share, which equals up to $119,000. 

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted and deemed not feasible because these changes are being made to keep Idaho in compliance with new 
federal requirements under Section 454(6)(B)(ii) of the Social Security Act.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: No materials are being incorporated by reference in this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Robert Rinard at (208) 334-0620.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 31st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost Benefit Analysis (CBA)

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE Docket No. 16-0303-1801
Rules Governing Child Support Services PENDING FEE RULE
304. FEES.

01. Application Fee. At the time of application for child support services, a written application must 
be completed and a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) must be paid. The fee must be paid in advance of any services to 
be provided and is not refundable. (7-1-98)

02. Income Tax Offset Fees. A fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) will be deducted each time child 
support is collected as a result of an income tax offset. (7-1-98)

03. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Referral Fees. A fee of one hundred twenty-two dollars and fifty 
cents ($122.50) shall be charged for a referral to the IRS for full collection of the child support obligation. (7-1-98)

04. Locate Fees. Child Support Services may charge an applicant/recipient a fee of ten dollars ($10) 
for referral to FPLS for location of a non-custodial parent when no other child support services are being provided. 
Child Support Services may also charge a fee of four dollars ($4) for referral to the FPLS for a social security number 
search. Child Support Services may charge a fee of seventy cents ($.70) for referral to FPLS for location of a non-
custodial parent. (7-1-98)

05. Federally Mandated Annual Service Fees. Child Support Services must charge an annual fee of
twenty thirty-five dollars ($235) for each Title IV-D support enforcement case in which Child Support Services it has 
collected and disbursed at least five hundred fifty dollars ($5050) of support in the federal fiscal year. The fee will be 
billed to the child support obligor once five hundred dollars ($500) of support has been collected during the relevant 
federal fiscal year provided the case otherwise qualifies. The fee parent ordered to pay support, but will not be 
collected assessed on any case in which the applicant/recipient an individual has ever received benefits under a State 
or Tribal Title IV-A program, or from any child support obligor who is currently required to participate in Title IV-D 
services as an eligibility requirement for Food Stamps participation the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
program. (4-9-09)(        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 16-0303-1801
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IDAPA 24 – BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
24.12.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST EXAMINERS

DOCKET NO. 24-1201-1802

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 

Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2305(12), 54-2318, and 54-2320, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The 2017 Legislature passed House Bill 212, which allows licensed psychologists who meet certain educational, 
examination, and experience requirements to be granted prescriptive authority to prescribe medications to treat 
certain medical conditions. This pending rule establishes the qualifications for provisional certification of 
prescriptive authority and certification of prescriptive authority. These include minimum requirements for a clinical 
practicum as part of the educational program, supervised practice requirements, and the adoption of the national 
competency examination. This rule also sets a formulary for the medications that may be prescribed. Finally, the rule 
establishes standards of practice for prescriptive authority and collaboration between the prescribing psychologist and 
a patient’s licensed medical provider.

The changes to the pending rule include providing additional clarity on continuing education requirements and 
increased flexibility for carrying over continuing education obtained in one year to the following year; changing the 
format and frequency of supervision for provisional certification holders; clarifying language regarding endorsement 
applicants who hold a certification of prescriptive authority in another state to ensure that the applicant meets Idaho’s 
requirements; and ensuring that a patient is being treated by a licensed medical provider for any primary illness when 
a prescribing psychologist is treating the secondary illness.

The text of the pending fee rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those 
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The original text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 304-316.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or 
charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 54-2318, Idaho Code.

The Board operates on dedicated funds and must be self-supporting. The following fees are established in 
accordance with Section 54-2318, Idaho Code, as follows: original application fee of $250 for certification or 
provisional certification for prescriptive authority; and renewal fee of $250 for certification or provisional 
certification for prescriptive authority.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 2nd day of November, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief 700 W. State Street
Bureau of Occupational Licenses P.O. Box 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233 / Fax: (208) 334-3945 Boise, ID 83720
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1201-1802
Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners PENDING FEE RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2305(12), 54-2318, and 
54-2320, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The 2017 Legislature passed House Bill 212, which allows licensed psychologists who meet certain educational, 
examination, and experience requirements to be granted prescriptive authority. This proposed rule establishes the 
qualifications for provisional certification of prescriptive authority and certification of prescriptive authority. These 
include minimum requirements for a clinical practicum as part of the educational program, supervised practice 
requirements, and the adoption of the national competency examination. This rule also sets a formulary for the 
medications that may be prescribed. Finally, the rule establishes standards of practice for prescriptive authority and 
collaboration between the prescribing psychologist and a patient’s licensed medical provider.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

The Board operates on dedicated funds and must be self-supporting. The following fees are established in 
accordance with Section 54-2318, Idaho Code, as follows: original application fee of $250 for certification or 
provisional certification for prescriptive authority; and renewal fee of $250 for certification or provisional 
certification for prescriptive authority.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the proposed rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the advisory panel and the 
Board. As required by statute, the rules were developed in conjunction with an advisory panel consisting of a 
psychiatrist and a pediatric psychiatrist recommended by the Idaho state board of medicine, a pharmacist 
recommended by the Idaho state board of pharmacy, and two psychologists licensed in Idaho.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 30th day of August, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1201-1802
Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners PENDING FEE RULE
LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost Benefit Analysis (CBA)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).

01. Board. The Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners as prescribed in Section 54-2301, Idaho 
Code. (7-1-93)

02. Bureau. The Bureau means the Bureau of Occupational Licenses, as prescribed in Sections 54-605 
and 67-2602, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

03. Certificate of Professional Qualification. A certificate of professional qualification shall mean 
the certificate of professional qualification granted to a psychologist by the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards. (3-15-02)

04. Collaboration or Collaborative Relationship. Collaboration or collaborative relationship means 
a cooperative working relationship between a prescribing psychologist and a licensed medical provider in the 
provision of patient care, including cooperation in the management and delivery of physical and mental health care, 
to ensure optimal patient care. (        )

05. Controlled Substance. Any substance defined, enumerated, or included in federal or state statute 
or regulations 21 C.F.R. 1308.11-15 or article II, chapter 27, Title 37, Idaho Code. (        )

06. Drug. Drug has the same meaning as defined in Section 37-2701, Idaho Code. (        )

07. Geriatric Patient. A person sixty-five (65) years of age or older. (        )

08. Licensed Medical Provider. A physician or physician assistant licensed pursuant to chapter 18, 
title 54, Idaho Code, or an advanced practice registered nurse licensed pursuant to chapter 14, title 54, Idaho Code.

(        )

09. Medication. Medication has the same meaning as drug. (        )

10. Mental, Nervous, Emotional, Behavioral, Substance Abuse, and Cognitive Disorders. 
Disorders, illnesses, or diseases listed in either the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association or those listed in the International Classification 
of Diseases published by the World Health Organization. (        )

11. Pediatric Patient. A person seventeen (17) years of age or younger. (        )

12. Prescribing Psychologist. A person who holds a license to practice psychology issued by the 
Board and who holds a Certification or Provisional Certification of Prescriptive Authority issued by the Board under 
Sections 54-2317, 54-2318, 54-2319, Idaho Code, and these rules. (        )

13. Supervising Physician. A board-certified psychiatrist, neurologist, or other physician with 
specialized training and experience in the management of psychotropic medication and who is licensed under chapter 
18, title 54, Idaho Code, or an equivalent licensing provision of the law of a state adjoining Idaho. (        )

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 24-1201-1802
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1201-1802
Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners PENDING FEE RULE
100. CREDENTIALS TO BE FILED BY ALL APPLICANTS APPLICATION (RULE 100).

01. Completed Filing an Application. An application shall be completed by all applicants for 
licensure upon a form prescribed by the State Board of Psychologist Examiners. No application shall be accepted or 
considered by the Board prior to the date the required doctoral degree was conferred upon the applicant Applicants 
for licensure or certification or provisional certification of prescriptive authority shall submit a complete application, 
verified under oath, to the Board at its official address. The application shall be on the forms approved by the Board 
and submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation. (3-20-04)(        )

02. Official Transcripts Supporting Documents. All applicants shall arrange for official transcripts 
of all credits earned, at each approved college or university, to be transmitted by the registrars of the educational 
institutions directly to the Board The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any supporting third party 
documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license being sought. (7-1-93)(        )

a. Any third party documents, including letters of reference, must be received by the Board directly 
from the third party. (        )

b. One (1) of the two (2) years of supervised experience as required by Section 2307(b), Idaho Code, 
for initial licensure may be pre-doctoral. The second year must be post-doctoral work under appropriate supervision 
and must be verified by the appropriate supervisor. (        )

03. Letters of Reference Applications Must Be Complete. Letters of reference, regarding the 
character, training, and experience of the applicant shall be returned to the Board by the references before decision is 
rendered on the application Applications shall not be considered complete until all required information, documents, 
and fees are received by the Board. An application shall not be considered complete until the required degree(s) has 
been conferred upon the applicant. (7-1-93)(        )

04. Supervised Experience Application Deadline Date. One (1) of the two (2) years of supervised 
experience as required by Section 2307(b), Idaho Code, may be pre-doctoral. The second year must be post-doctoral 
work under appropriate supervision and must be verified by the appropriate supervisor Applications for licensure or 
certification or provisional certification of prescriptive authority received fewer than thirty (30) days prior to a Board 
meeting may be held over to the next regular board meeting. (3-29-10)(        )

05. Official Documentation Lack of Activity. Official documentation of meeting the requirements of 
Chapter 23, Title 54, Idaho Code and IDAPA 24.12.01, must be received by the Board directly from the entity or 
person responsible for providing such official documentation. Applicants are responsible for requesting the required 
documentation from the appropriate entities and persons If an applicant fails to respond to a Board request or an 
application has been on file with the Board for a period in excess of five (5) years, the application on file with the 
Board will be deemed denied and will be terminated upon a thirty (30) day written notice, unless good cause is 
demonstrated to the Board. (3-15-02)(        )

06. Applications on File. Applications on file with the Board for a period in excess of five (5) years 
from the date of receipt by the Bureau shall be terminated unless good cause is demonstrated to the Board. (3-20-04)

07. Deadline. To be considered by the Board, a properly completed application together with all 
supporting documentation and required fees must be received by the Bureau at least seven (7) calendar days prior to 
the next scheduled meeting of the Board. (5-8-09)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

150. FEES (RULE 150).

01. Annual Renewal Fee. Annual renewal fee -- two hundred fifty dollars ($250). (3-24-16)
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1201-1802
Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners PENDING FEE RULE
02. Annual Renewal Fee for Inactive License. Annual renewal fee - one hundred twenty-five dollars 
($125). (3-24-16)

03. Original Application Fee For Licensure by Exam. Application fee - one hundred fifty dollars 
($150). (3-24-16)

04. Original Application Fee For Licensure by Endorsement/Senior Psychologist. Original 
application fee for licensure by endorsement/senior psychologist fee - two hundred fifty dollars ($250). (3-24-16)

05. Original Application Fee for Provisional Certification of Prescriptive Authority. Original 
application fee for provisional certification of prescriptive authority – two hundred and fifty dollars ($250). (        )

06. Annual Renewal Fee for Provisional Certification of Prescriptive Authority. Annual renewal 
fee – two hundred fifty dollars ($250). (        )

07. Original Application Fee for Certification of Prescriptive Authority. Original application fee 
for certification of prescriptive authority – two hundred fifty dollars ($250). (        )

08. Annual Renewal Fee for Certification of Prescriptive Authority. Annual renewal fee – two 
hundred fifty dollars ($250). (        )

09. Original Application Fee For Certification of Prescriptive Authority by Endorsement. 
Original application fee for certification of prescriptive authority by endorsement – two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(        )

105. Service Extender Application Fee. Application fee - one hundred dollars ($100). (3-19-07)

0611. Service Extender Annual Renewal Fee. Annual renewal fee - one hundred dollars ($100).
(3-19-07)

0712. Examination and Reexamination Fee. Examination and reexamination fees are those charged by 
the national examining entity plus a processing fee of twenty-five dollars ($25). (5-3-03)

0813. Examination and Reexamination in Addition to Application Fee. The examination or 
reexamination fee are in addition to the application fee and must accompany the application. (3-19-07)

0914. Reinstatement Fee. Reinstatement fee is as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (3-24-16)

105. Fees are Non-Refundable. All fees are non-refundable. (3-29-10)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

201. EXAMINATION FOR PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 
(RULE 201).
The approved examination for provisional certification of prescriptive authority shall be the Psychopharmacology 
Examination for Psychologists (PEP). (        )

01. Passing Score. A passing score will be determined by the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards (ASPPB). (        )

02. Date of Exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective date of these 
rules. (        )

03. Time and Place of Exam. The examination will be conducted at a time and place specified by the 
administrator of the PEP. (        )
S – HEALTH & WELFARE COMMITTEE PAGE 10 2019 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1201-1802
Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners PENDING FEE RULE
2012. -- 249. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

251. ENDORSEMENT FOR CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY (RULE 251).
The Board may grant a provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority by endorsement to an 
applicant who completes an application as set forth in Section 100 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the 
following requirements: (        )

01. Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current and unrestricted license to 
practice psychology in another state and in Idaho; (        )

02. Holds a Current Certificate of Prescriptive Authority. (        )

a. The applicant must be the holder of a current and unrestricted certification of prescriptive authority 
from another state; or (        )

b. The applicant must have training from the United States department of defense demonstration 
project or other similar program developed and operated by any branch of the armed forces that imposes substantially 
equivalent educational and training requirements as those contained in Sections 54-2317 and 54-2318, Idaho Code, 
and these rules. (        )

03. Credit Toward Requirements. In the event that an applicant has not met the requirements for 
certification of prescriptive authority, the Board may consider an applicant’s experience in prescribing in another 
state as meeting a portion of the requirements necessary to qualify for provisional certification or certification of 
prescriptive authority in this state. In that event, the Board may require additional education, supervision, or both to 
satisfy the requirements to obtain a provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority in this state.

(        )

04. Advisory Panel. The Advisory Panel, as established in Section 54-2320, Idaho Code, will review 
the education and training of an applicant seeking certification by endorsement and advise the Board as to its 
sufficiency to meet the requirements for provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority under 
Chapter 23, Title 54, Idaho Code, and these rules. (        )

2512. -- 259. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

401. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RELICENSURE IN PSYCHOLOGY (RULE 
401).

01. Number of Hours Required. All licensed psychologists, in order to renew their license, must have 
accumulated twenty (20) hours per year of continuing education credits. All prescribing psychologists, in order to 
renew their provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority, must have accumulated twenty (20) 
hours per year of continuing education credits in psychopharmacology or psychopharmacotherapy offered in 
accordance with Subsection 402.01 of these rules. Continuing education credits for a prescribing psychologist are in 
addition to the continuing education credits required to renew their psychologist license. At the time of renewal of the 
psychologists’ licenses and prescribing psychologists’ certifications, they will certify that they are aware of the 
requirements for continuing education and that they have met those requirements for the preceding year. At the time 
of reinstatement of a psychologist’s license or a prescribing psychologist’s provisional certification or certification, 
they psychologist shall provide proof that they have met of meeting the requirements for continuing education for the 
preceding year. A minimum of four (4) hours credit in ethics, standards of care, and/or review of laws pertaining to 
S – HEALTH & WELFARE COMMITTEE PAGE 11 2019 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1201-1802
Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners PENDING FEE RULE
the practice of psychology is required every three (3) years. Areas covered may include practice, consultation, 
research, teaching, and/or supervision. These units may be used as part of the continuing education credit required.

(3-24-16)(        )

02. Professional Level of Continuing Education -- Time Period Records Kept - Audit. This 
continuing education experience must be at an appropriate level for professional training in psychology. The 
licensees have responsibility for demonstrating the relevance and adequacy of the educational experience they select. 
The licensees are also responsible for keeping an accurate record of their own personal continuing education hours 
for a period of five (5) years. A random audit may be conducted to insure compliance. (7-1-93)

03. Newly Licensed Individuals. Newly licensed individuals will be considered to have satisfied the 
continuing education requirements for the remainder of the year in which their license is granted. (7-1-93)

04. Certificates of Satisfactory Attendance and Completion. Certificates of satisfactory attendance 
and completion, cancelled checks, participant lists, transcripts from universities, letters of certification on instructor’s 
letterhead, and other reasonably convincing proof of the submitted activities may serve as documentation when 
persons audited are required to submit proof of continuing education. (7-1-93)

05. Licensees Who Do Not Fulfill the Continuing Education Requirements. Licensees who do not 
fulfill the continuing education requirements may be subject to disciplinary action. (7-1-93)

06. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education courses not claimed for CE 
credit in the current renewal year, may be credited for the next renewal year. A maximum of twenty (20) hours may 
be carried forward from the immediately preceding year. (5-3-03)

07. Special Exemption. The Board has the authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual 
hardship including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good cause. The licensee must provide any 
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole 
discretion of the Board. Request for special exemption must be made prior to licensure renewal. (3-29-10)

402. GUIDELINES FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS (RULE 402).

01. Continuing Education Credit. Continuing education credit will be given to formally organized 
workshops or classes with an attendance roster and preassigned continuing education credit offered in association 
with or under the auspices of: (7-1-93)

a. Regionally accredited institutions of higher education. (7-1-93)

b. The American Psychological Association. (7-1-93)

c. A Regional Psychological Association. (7-1-93)

d. A State Psychological Association. (7-1-93)

e. For prescribing psychologists, in addition to the approved organizations above, workshops or 
classes may be offered in association with or under the auspices of: (        )

i. The American Medical Association; (        )

ii. A regional medical association; (        )

iii. A state medical association; or (        )

iv. Offered by sponsors accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education 
(ACCME). (        )

ef. Credit will be given for the number of credit hours preauthorized by the sponsoring agency with no 
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upper limit on the number of hours. (7-1-93)

02. Credit for International, National and Regional Meetings of Psychological Organizations. Six 
(6) hours of continuing education credit will be allowed for documented attendance at international, national and 
regional meetings of psychological organizations. (7-1-93)

03. Credit for Other Relevant Workshops, Classes or Training Experiences. Other relevant 
workshops, classes or training experiences when not offered, approved, or provided by an entity in Subsection 
402.01, may receive up to six (6) hours of credit per experience provided they are conducted by a licensed or 
reputable psychologist or other mental health professional. Each documented hour of training experience counts as 
one (1) hour of continuing education experience. (4-4-13)

04. Presentation of Papers. Presentation of papers at international, national, regional or state 
psychological or other professional associations may be counted as equivalent to six (6) hours per event. Only actual 
presentation time may be counted; preparation time does not qualify for credit. The licensee must provide the Board 
with a letter from a sponsor, host organization, or professional colleague, copy of the program, and a summary of the 
evaluations from the event. (3-29-10)

05. Self-Study, Lectures or Public or Professional Publications and Presentations. The Board also 
recognizes the value of self-study, lectures or public or professional publications and presentations (including for 
example, in the case of the university faculty, preparation of a new course). Therefore, the Board will allow credit for 
six (6) hours of individual study per year. (7-1-93)

a. Self-Study. The reading of a publication may qualify for credit with proper documentation 
verifying completion. A licensee seeking credit for reading a publication must submit results from a test on the 
information contained within the publication. If a test is not available, the licensee must seek pre-approval of the 
Board. (3-29-10)

b. Professional publications. Publication activities are limited to articles in professional journals, a 
chapter in an edited book, or a published book. The licensee must provide the Board with a copy of the cover page of 
the article or book in which the licensee has been published. For chapters of an edited book, licensees must submit a 
copy of the table of contents. (3-29-10)

06. Board Assessment of Continuing Education Activities. The Board of Psychologist Examiners 
may avail itself of help and consultation from the American Psychological Association or the Idaho Psychological 
Association in assessing the appropriateness of continuing education activities. (3-29-10)

07. On-Line Education. A maximum of ten (10) on-line continuing education hours relevant to the 
practice of psychology may be counted during each reporting period. (3-29-10)

a. Continuing education credit will be given to on-line education offered in association with or under 
the auspices of the organizations listed in Subsections 402.01.a. through 402.01.d. of these rules. (3-29-17)

b. The licensee must provide the Board with a copy of the certification, verified by the authorized 
signatures from the course instructors, providers, or sponsoring institution, substantiating any hours completed by the 
licensee. (3-29-10)

08. Teleconferences. To qualify for credit, teleconferences must feature an interactive format. 
Interactive conferences are those that provide the opportunity for participants to communicate directly with the 
instructor or that have a facilitator present at the conference site. The licensee must provide the Board with a copy of 
the certificate, or a letter signed by course instructors, providers, or sponsoring institution, substantiating any hours 
attended by licensee. (4-4-13)

a. When offered, approved, or provided by entities in Subsection 402.01, the number of hours that 
may be counted during each reporting period is not limited. (4-4-13)

b. When not offered, approved, or provided by an entity in Subsection 402.01, a maximum of six (6) 
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hours may be counted during each reporting period. (4-4-13)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

651. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. QUALIFICATIONS FOR PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 
(RULE 700).
The Board may grant a provisional certification of prescriptive authority to an applicant who holds a current license 
to practice psychology in Idaho, who completes an application as set forth in Section 100 of these rules, pays the 
required fee, and who meets the following educational and training qualifications. (        )

01. Doctoral Degree. The applicant must have been awarded a doctoral degree in psychology from an 
institution of higher education that meets the requirements in Section 54-2317(2), Idaho Code. (        )

02. Master’s Degree. The applicant must have been awarded a master’s degree in clinical 
psychopharmacology from an accredited program that meets the requirements in Section 54-2317(3), Idaho Code.

(        )

03. Clinical Experience. An applicant must have successfully completed clinical experience as part of 
the master’s clinical psychopharmacology program that includes a diverse population of patients. (        )

a. Clinical experience must include a minimum of four hundred (400) hours consisting of direct 
patient contact and collaboration with licensed medical providers involving a minimum of one hundred (100) 
separate patients. (        )

b. A diverse population of patients includes diversity in: (        )

i. Gender; (        )

ii. Different ages throughout the life cycle, including adults, children/adolescents, and geriatrics, as 
possible and appropriate; (        )

iii. Range of disorders listed in the most recent diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders 
published by the American psychiatric association and acute and chronic disorders; (        )

iv. Ethnicity; (        )

v. Socio-cultural background; and (        )

vi. In-patient and out-patient settings, as possible and appropriate. (        )

04. Examination. An applicant must successfully pass the national examination in 
psychopharmacology, as approved by the Board under Section 201 of these rules. (        )

05. Supervision Agreement. An applicant must submit to the Board a supervision agreement that 
identifies the supervising physician(s) who will directly supervise the applicant’s prescribing under a provisional 
certification of prescriptive authority. The documentation submitted to the Board must also identify: (        )

a. For each supervising physician, the supervisor’s name, address, license number, state in which 
granted, licensure status, length of licensure, and area of specialization; (        )

b. For each supervising physician, documentation of the physician’s board-certification as a 
psychiatrist or neurologist or of specialized training and experience in the management of psychotropic medication;

(        )
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c. For an applicant seeking to prescribe for pediatric or geriatric patients, the supervising 
physician(s)’ specialized training and experience in treating the patient population for which the applicant seeks to 
prescribe; (        )

d. Designate a primary supervising physician when more than one (1) supervising physician is 
identified. The primary supervising physician will be responsible for coordinating between the other supervising 
physician(s) to obtain written progress reports at least every six (6) months concerning how the provisional 
prescribing psychologist is performing in the domains for supervision. (        )

e. The types of cases for which each supervisor will be responsible for supervising and in which the 
supervisor has specialized training and experience. (        )

f. The number of provisional certification holders supervised by each supervising physician. A 
supervising physician may not concurrently supervise more than three (3) provisional certification holders unless 
otherwise approved by the Board; and (        )

g. The name and nature of setting in which the applicant will practice; (        )

h. Prior to a change in supervisors or a change in the supervision agreement, the supervisee must 
notify the Board and the change must be approved by the Board, or a designated member of the Board, prior to the 
commencement of supervision by a new supervisor or implementation of the change. (        )

701. SUPERVISED PRACTICE OF PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATION HOLDER (RULE 701).
A holder of a provisional certification of prescriptive authority may only prescribe under the supervision of 
physician(s) approved by the Board. Prior to application for a certification of prescriptive authority, a provisional 
certification holder must complete two (2) years of satisfactory prescribing, which includes: (        )

01. Hours of Supervision. A minimum of two thousand (2,000) hours acquired in not less than 
twenty-four (24) months and not more than forty-eight (48) months. (        )

a. The two thousand (2,000) hours may consist of direct patient contact, supervision, case 
consultations, and collaboration with licensed health care providers for the purpose of evaluation and treatment of 
patients with medication(s) within the formulary set forth in Section 730 of these rules. (        )

b. Supervised practice time during which the supervisor(s) deem(s) a supervisee’s performance to 
have been unsatisfactory shall not be credited towards the required supervised practice hours. A supervisor who 
believes the supervisee’s practice is unsatisfactory must notify the supervisee and the primary supervisor as soon as 
possible and identify the basis for such conclusion including, but not limited to, specific domains or issues needing 
remediation. (        )

02. Number of Patients. A minimum of fifty (50) separate patients who are seen for the purpose of 
evaluation and treatment with those medications that are within the formulary established in Section 730 of these 
rules. (        )

03. Amount of Supervisory Contact. Supervision on a one-to-one basis for a minimum of four (4) 
hours each month and a minimum of a total of forty-six (46) hours each year. One-to-one supervision must be 
provided either face-to-face, telephonically, or by live video communication. (        )

04. Domains for Supervision. Supervision must include assessment of the provisional certification 
holder with regard to each of the following domains: (        )

a. Basic science; (        )

b. Neurosciences; (        )

c. Physical assessments and laboratory exams; (        )
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d. Clinical medicine and pathophysiology; (        )

e. Clinical and research pharmacology and psychopharmacology; (        )

f. Clinical pharmacotherapeutics; (        )

g. Research; and (        )

h. Professional, ethical, and legal issues. (        )

702. QUALIFICATIONS TO PRESCRIBE FOR PEDIATRIC OR GERIATRIC PATIENTS (RULE 702).
A prescribing psychologist may not prescribe for pediatric or geriatric patients unless approved by the Board. The 
Board may grant prescriptive authority for pediatric patients or geriatric patients to an applicant for certification of 
prescriptive authority who has completed one (1) year of satisfactory prescribing, as attested to by the supervising 
physician, for the patient population for which the prescribing psychologist seeks to prescribe. (        )

01. Credit Toward Certification. The one (1) year of satisfactory prescribing for a pediatric or 
geriatric population may be counted as one (1) year of the two (2) years of satisfactory prescribing required to qualify 
for a certification of prescriptive authority. (        )

02. Hours of Supervision. One (1) year of satisfactory prescribing includes a minimum of one 
thousand (1,000) hours acquired in not less than twelve (12) months and not more than twenty-four (24) months.

(        )

a. The one thousand (1,000) hours may consist of direct patient contact, supervision, case 
consultations, and collaboration with licensed medical providers for the purpose of evaluation and treatment of 
patients with medication(s) within the formulary set forth in Section 730 of these rules. A minimum of eight 
hundred (800) hours of the one thousand (1,000) hours must be directly related to the population for which the 
prescribing psychologist seeks to prescribe. (        )

b. Supervised practice time during which the supervisor(s) deem(s) a supervisee’s performance to 
have been unsatisfactory shall not be credited towards the required supervised practice hours. A supervisor who 
believes the supervisee’s practice is unsatisfactory must notify the supervisee and the primary supervisor as soon as 
possible and identify the basis for such conclusion including, but not limited to, specific domains or issues needing 
remediation. (        )

02. Number of Patients. One (1) year of satisfactory prescribing includes a minimum of twenty-five 
(25) separate patients in the population for which the prescribing psychologist seeks to prescribe and who are seen for 
the purpose of evaluation and treatment with those medications that are within the formulary established in Section 
730 of these rules. For a prescribing psychologist who seeks to prescribe for pediatric patients, a minimum of ten (10) 
separate patients must be twelve (12) years of age or younger and a minimum of ten (10) separate patients must be 
between thirteen (13) years of age and seventeen (17) years of age. (        )

03. Amount of Supervisory Contact. Supervision shall be provided in accordance with Subsection 
701.03 of these rules, and under a supervision agreement approved by the Board in accordance with Subsection 
700.05 of these rules. (        )

04. Domains for Supervision. Supervision must include assessment in each of the domains set forth in 
Subsection 701.04 of these rules. (        )

703. -- 709. (RESERVED)

710. QUALIFICATIONS FOR CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY (RULE 710).
The Board may grant a certification of prescriptive authority to an applicant who completes an application as set forth 
in Section 100 of these rules and who meets the following educational and training qualifications. (        )
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01. Holds a License to Practice Psychology. The applicant must hold a current license to practice 
psychology issued by the Board. (        )

02. Holds Provisional Certification. The applicant must hold a provisional certification of 
prescriptive authority issued by the Board. (        )

03. Supervision. The applicant must have successfully completed at least two (2) years of satisfactory 
prescribing under supervision that meets the requirements of Section 701 of these rules, as attested to by the 
supervising physician(s). (        )

711. -- 719. (RESERVED)

720. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY (RULE 720).
A prescribing psychologist who issues a prescription for medication to a patient must collaborate with the patient’s 
licensed medical provider and follow standards of practice as set forth in these rules. (        )

01. Licensed Medical Provider. A prescribing psychologist may only prescribe medication to a 
patient who has a licensed medical provider. If a patient does not have a licensed medical provider, the prescribing 
psychologist must refer the patient to a licensed medical provider prior to prescribing medication. (        )

a. In the event a patient terminates the relationship with the patient’s licensed medical provider, with 
whom the prescribing psychologist has established a collaborative relationship, and the patient declines to secure a 
new licensed medical provider, the prescribing psychologist must advise the patient that the prescribing psychologist 
cannot continue to psychopharmacologically manage the patient. (        )

b. The prescribing psychologist shall document that the psychologist has made every reasonable effort 
to encourage the patient to maintain or establish a relationship with a licensed medical provider. (        )

c. In those cases, in which an abrupt discontinuation of a psychopharmacologic medication could 
represent a health risk or result in adverse effects, the prescribing psychologist, with concurrence from the previously 
established licensed medical provider, may prescribe the medication in a manner that is customarily recognized as a 
discontinuation regimen until the medication has been completely discontinued. The prescribing psychologist must 
document the discontinuation regimen in the patient’s medical records. (        )

02. Release of Information. A prescribing psychologist must obtain a release of information from the 
patient or the patient’s legal guardian authorizing the psychologist to contact the patient’s licensed medical provider. 
If the patient or the patient’s legal guardian refuses to sign a release of information for the patient’s licensed medical 
provider, the prescribing psychologist must inform the patient or the patient’s legal guardian that the psychologist 
cannot treat the patient pharmacologically without an ongoing collaborative relationship with the patient’s licensed 
medical provider. The psychologist must refer the patient to another mental health care provider who is not required 
to maintain an ongoing collaborative relationship with a licensed medical provider. (        )

03. Initial Collaboration with Licensed Medical Provider. Prior to prescribing medication, a 
prescribing psychologist must contact the patient’s licensed medical provider as provided in these rules and receive 
the results of the licensed medical provider’s assessment. (        )

a. The prescribing psychologist must inform the licensed medical provider of: (        )

i. The medication(s) the prescribing psychologist intends to prescribe for mental, nervous, emotional, 
behavioral, substance abuse, cognitive disorders; and (        )

ii. Any laboratory tests that the prescribing psychologist ordered or reviewed. (        )

b. The prescribing psychologist must discuss with the licensed medical provider the relevant 
indications and contraindications to the patient of prescribing the medication(s) that the prescribing psychologist 
intends to prescribe. (        )
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c. The prescribing psychologist shall document the date and time of contacts with the licensed 
medical provider, a summary of what was discussed, and the outcome of the discussions or decisions reached. (        )

04. Ongoing Collaboration with Licensed Medical Provider. After the initial collaborative 
relationship with the patient’s licensed medical provider is established, the prescribing psychologist must maintain 
and document the collaborative relationship to ensure that relevant information is exchanged accurately and in a 
timely manner. At a minimum the prescribing psychologist must: (        )

a. Contact the licensed medical provider for any changes in medication not previously discussed with 
the licensed medical provider. (        )

b. Contact the licensed medical provider if and when the patient experiences adverse effects from 
medications prescribed by the psychologist that may be related to the patient’s medical condition for which he or she 
is being treated by a health care practitioner. (        )

c. Contact the licensed medical provider regarding results of laboratory tests related to the medical 
care of the patient that have been ordered by the psychologist in conjunction with psychopharmacological treatment.

(        )

d. Inform the licensed medical provider as soon as possible of any change in the patient’s 
psychological condition that may affect the medical treatment being provided by the licensed medical provider.

(        )

e. Request that as part of the collaborative relationship, the licensed medical provider inform the 
prescribing psychologist of any new medical diagnosis or changes in the patient’s medical condition that may affect 
the treatment being provided by the prescribing psychologist. (        )

f. Request that as part of the collaborative relationship, the licensed medical provider inform the 
prescribing psychologist of any psychotropic medications prescribed or discontinued by the licensed medical 
provider or other licensed medical provider, of which the licensed medical provider is aware, the dates of any 
subsequent changes in psychotropic medications prescribed by the licensed medical provider or other licensed 
medical provider, of which the licensed medical provider is aware, and the efforts to coordinate the mental health care 
of the patient as soon as possible. (        )

05. Disagreement between Prescribing Psychologist and Licensed Medical Provider. If the 
licensed medical provider and the prescribing psychologist do not agree about a particular psychopharmacological 
treatment strategy, the prescribing psychologist must document the reasons for recommending the 
psychopharmacological treatment strategy that is in disagreement and must inform the licensed medical provider of 
that recommendation. If the licensed medical provider believes the medication is contraindicated because of a 
patient’s medical condition, the prescribing psychologist shall defer to the judgment of the licensed medical provider 
and may not prescribe that psychopharmacological treatment strategy. (        )

06. Prohibited Agreements with Licensed Medical Providers. A prescribing psychologist is 
prohibited from employing a licensed medical provider or entering into an independent contractor or similar 
contractual or financial relationship with a licensed medical provider with whom the prescribing psychologist 
collaborates, unless approved by the Board. The Board may grant an exception to this requirement on a case-by-case 
basis where the prescribing psychologist shows that such relationship is structured so as to prohibit interference with 
the licensed medical provider’s relationship with patients, the licensed medical provider’s exercise of independent 
medical judgment, and satisfaction of the obligations and responsibilities in Chapter 23, Title 57, Idaho Code, and 
these rules. (        )

07. Prescriptions. All prescriptions issued by a prescribing psychologist shall comply with all 
applicable federal and state laws, rules and regulations and these rules. (        )

08. Emergencies. If a prescribing psychologist determines that an emergency exists that may 
jeopardize the health or well being of the patient, the prescribing psychologist may, without prior consultation with 
the patient’s licensed medical provider, prescribe psychotropic medications or modify an existing prescription for 
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psychotropic medication previously written for that patient by that prescribing psychologist. The prescribing 
psychologist shall consult with the licensed medical provider as soon as possible. The prescribing psychologist must 
document in the patient’s psychological evaluation/treatment records the nature and extent of the emergency and the 
attempt(s) made to contact the licensed medical provider prior to prescribing or other reason why contact could not be 
made. (        )

09. Disaster Areas. If a prescribing psychologist is working in a declared emergency/disaster area, the 
on-site medical staff can serve as the evaluating licensed medical provider. (        )

721. -- 729. (RESERVED)

730. FORMULARY (RULE 730).
A prescribing psychologist may prescribe medications and controlled substances that are recognized in or 
customarily used in the diagnosis, treatment and management of individuals with mental, nervous, emotional, 
behavioral, substance abuse and cognitive disorders and that are relevant to the practice of psychology or other 
procedures directly related thereto under the following limitations. (        )

01. Prohibited Medications and Controlled Substances. A prescribing psychologist may not 
prescribe: (        )

a. Any medication or controlled substance designated or included as a Schedule I controlled 
substance; or (        )

b.  Any opioid. (        )

02. Disorders and Conditions. A prescribing psychologist may not prescribe medication to treat a 
primary endocrine, cardiovascular, orthopedic, neurologic, gynecologic, obstetric, metabolic, hematologic, 
respiratory, renal, gastrointestinal, hepatic, dermatologic, oncologic, infectious, ophthalmologic, or rheumatologic 
illness or disorder. The provisions of this rule do not prohibit a prescribing psychologist from prescribing to treat a 
mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, substance abuse or cognitive disorder that arises secondary to a primary 
physical illness, provided that the primary illness is being treated and the prescribing psychologist collaborates with 
the patient’s licensed medical provider, as provided in these rules. (        )

65731. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 27 – BOARD OF PHARMACY
27.01.02 – RULES GOVERNING LICENSURE AND REGISTRATION

DOCKET NO. 27-0102-1802

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1717.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending fee rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of 
the proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 385 
through 389.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or 
charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 54-1720, Idaho Code.

The fee for a nonresident pharmacist registration is being increased from $250 to $290. The Board eliminated the 
requirement for pharmacists to obtain a controlled substances registration as of July 1, 2018. This proposed rule 
adjusts the nonresident pharmacist registration to $290. Nonresident pharmacists who previously held both the 
pharmacist registration and a separate controlled substance registration will still realize a net savings of $20 per year.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Alex Adams, Executive Director, at (208) 334-2356.

Dated this 25th day of October, 2018.

Alex J. Adams, Pharm D, MPH
Executive Director
Board of Pharmacy
1199 W. Shoreline Ln., Ste. 303
P. O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0067
Phone: (208) 334-2356
Fax: (208) 334-3536
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1717, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as follows:

Written comments received by October 15, 2018, will be included in the Board’s distributed meeting materials 
for consideration. Written comments received between October 15, 2018, and October 24, 2018, will be printed and 
distributed to Board members at the meeting. For those planning to attend the open, public meeting, written and 
verbal comments will be accepted by and/or presented before the Board.

The hearing site will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

With the proposed repeal of IDAPA 27.01.06, “Rules Governing Durable Medical Equipment (DME), 
Manufacturing, and Distribution,” updates are needed in this chapter to retain critical rules from the chapter related to 
pharmaceutical manufacturer registration. The rules also eliminate the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam 
(MPJE) as a precondition to pharmacist licensure, a change that is consistent with nearly every other Idaho health 
profession. Additional technical corrections are made.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

This fee is being imposed pursuant to Section 54-1720, Idaho Code. The fee for a nonresident pharmacist 
registration is being increased from $250 to $290. The Board eliminated the requirement for pharmacists to obtain a 
controlled substances registration as of July 1, 2018. This proposed rule adjusts the nonresident pharmacist 
registration to $290. Nonresident pharmacists who previously held both the pharmacist registration and a separate 
controlled substance registration will still realize a net savings of $20 per year.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year as a result of this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 156-157.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

PUBLIC HEARING
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 – 1:00 p.m. (MDT)

Idaho State Capitol Building
Room WW53

700 W. Jefferson Street
Boise, ID 83702
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Alex Adams, Executive Director, at (208) 334-2356. 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018 as described above.

Dated this 30th day of August 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost Benefit Analysis (CBA)

023. FEE SCHEDULE.

01. Licenses and Registrations -- Professionals.

(7-1-18)(        )

02. Certificates of Registration and Licensure -- Facilities.

(7-1-18)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 27-0102-1802

License/Registration Initial Fee Annual Renewal Fee

Pharmacist License $140 $130

Nonresident Pharmacist PIC Registration $2590 $2590

Pharmacist Intern $50 $50

Technician $35 $35

Practitioner Controlled Substance Registration $60 $60

License/Registration Initial Fee Annual Renewal Fee

Drug Outlet (unless otherwise listed) $100 $100

Wholesale License $180 $180

Wholesale Registration $150 $150

Central Drug Outlet (Nonresident) $500 $250

Mail Service Pharmacy $500 $250

Durable Medical Equipment Outlet $50 $50

Outsourcing Facility (Nonresident) $500 $250

Manufacturer $150 $150

Veterinary Drug Outlet $35 $35
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03. Late Fees and Reinstatements.

(7-1-18)

04. Administrative Services.

(7-1-18)

024. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. DETERMINATION OF NEED FOR PHARMACIST LICENSE, NONRESIDENT 
REGISTRATION, OR NEITHER.

01. Practice in Idaho. All pharmacists practicing pharmacy in the state of Idaho must be licensed 
according to the Board’s laws. (7-1-18)

02. Nonresident Pharmacists. All nonresident pharmacists practicing pharmacy into the state of Idaho 
must be licensed in their state of practice and must additionally be licensed or registered in Idaho as follows:(7-1-18)

a. Independent Practice. Pharmacists must be licensed if engaged in the independent practice of 
pharmacy across state lines and not practicing for an Idaho registered drug outlet. (7-1-18)

b. Practice for an Idaho Registered Drug Outlet. A nonresident pharmacist serving as the PIC for an
Idaho registered nonresident drug outlet must be licensed or registered to practice into Idaho. All other nonresident 
pharmacists who are employed by, or affiliated with, and practicing for the Idaho registered nonresident drug outlet, 
but who are not the PIC, are exempt from license and registration requirements for practice into Idaho.

(7-1-18)(        )

03. Exemption from Separate Controlled Substance Registration. All pharmacists who are 
practicing in or into Idaho are exempt from obtaining a separate controlled substance registration, but must maintain 
compliance with all requirements under Title 37, Chapter 27, Idaho Code. (7-1-18)

031. PHARMACIST LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION.
To be considered for licensure, a person must satisfy the requirements of Section 54-1722(1)(a) through (e), Idaho 
Code, and submit to the Board an application for licensure by examination. (7-1-18)

01. Graduates of U.S. Pharmacy Schools. An applicant must be a graduate of an ACPE-accredited 
school or college of pharmacy within the United States. (7-1-18)

02. Graduates of Foreign Pharmacy Schools. An applicant who is a graduate of a school or college 
of pharmacy located outside of the United States must submit certification by the FPGEC, and verification of 
completion of a minimum of seventeen hundred forty (1,740) experiential hours. An Idaho State Board of Pharmacy 
Employer’s Affidavit certifying the experiential hours of a foreign pharmacy graduate must be signed by a 
pharmacist licensed and practicing in the United States and submitted to the Board. The Board may also request 
verifiable business records to document the hours. (7-1-18)

Category Fee

Late payment processing fee $50

License or registration reinstatement fee One-half (1/2) of the amount of the annual renewal

Category Fee

Experiential hours certification $25

Duplicate pharmacist certificate of licensure $35
S – HEALTH & WELFARE COMMITTEE PAGE 23 2019 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



BOARD OF PHARMACY Docket No. 27-0102-1802
Rules Governing Licensure & Registration PENDING FEE RULE
03. Licensure Examinations. Qualified applicants must pass the NAPLEX and the MPJE in 
accordance with NABP standards. A candidate who fails the NAPLEX three (3) times must complete at least thirty 
(30) hours of continuing education accredited by an ACPE-accredited provider prior to being eligible to sit for each 
subsequent reexamination. Candidates are limited to five (5) total NAPLEX attempts to pass each exam.

(7-1-18)(        )

032. PHARMACIST LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY.
An applicant for pharmacist licensure by reciprocity must satisfy the requirements of Section 54-1723, Idaho Code, 
and this rule to obtain an Idaho license. An applicant whose pharmacist license is currently restricted by a licensing 
entity in another state must appear before the Board to petition for licensure by reciprocity. (7-1-18)

01. Transfer Application. The applicant must submit a preliminary application for licensure transfer 
through NABP. (7-1-18)

02. MPJE. The applicant must pass the Idaho-based MPJE within five (5) total attempts. (7-1-18)

032. Intern Hours. An applicant not actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy during the year 
preceding the date of application may also be required to complete intern hours for each year away from the practice 
of pharmacy. (7-1-18)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

034. PHARMACIST LICENSE: REINSTATEMENT.
The Board may, at its discretion, consider reinstatement of a pharmacist license upon receipt of a completed 
application, background check, and payment of the reinstatement and other fees due or delinquent at the time 
reinstatement is requested. (7-1-18)

01. Satisfactory Evidence. Reinstatement applicants must provide satisfactory evidence of completion 
of a minimum of thirty (30) CPE hours within the twenty-four (24) months prior to reinstatement and compliance 
with any direct orders of the Board. (7-1-18)

02. Additional Requirements. A pharmacist reinstatement applicant may be required to appear before 
the Board. If a pharmacist license has lapsed for more than twenty-four (24) months, the applicant must pass the 
MPJE prior to returning to practice. The Board may also, at its discretion, impose additional requirements on a 
pharmacist reinstatement applicant who has not practiced as a pharmacist for the preceding twelve (12) months or 
longer that may include taking and passing an examination, completion of intern hours, completion of additional CPE 
hours, or other requirements determined necessary to acquire or demonstrate professional competency.

(7-1-18)(        )

035. NONRESIDENT PHARMACIST PIC REGISTRATION TO PRACTICE PHARMACY INTO 
IDAHO.
To be registered to practice pharmacy into Idaho as a nonresident PIC, an applicant must submit an application on a 
Board form including, but not limited to: (7-1-18)(        )

01. Individual License Information. Current pharmacist licensure information in all other states, 
including each state of licensure and each license number; (7-1-18)

02. Facility License Information. The license or registration number of the facility for which the 
applicant will be practicing. (7-1-18)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
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080. MANUFACTURER REGISTRATION.

01. Resident Manufacturers. A manufacturer located in Idaho must be inspected and registered by the 
Board prior to engaging in drug manufacturing. (        )

02. Nonresident Manufacturers. Non-resident manufacturers must be registered as follows: (        )

a. Those that ship, mail, or deliver dispensed prescription drugs or devices to an Idaho resident must 
be registered by the Board as a mail service pharmacy. (7-1-18)(        )

b. Those engaged in wholesale distribution must be registered as a manufacturer and comply with the 
Idaho Wholesale Drug Distribution Act and rules, as applicable. (        )
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