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IDAPA 07 — DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.01.02 — RULES GOVERNING FEES FOR ELECTRICAL INSPECTIONS
DOCKET NO. 07-0102-1801
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending fee rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of
the proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 67
through 71.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or
charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 54-1006, Idaho Code.

This rulemaking allows for and adds a fee of forty-five dollars ($45) for transferring electrical permits. There
will be a positive fiscal impact to the Electrical Board fund as a result of fees imposed for transferring electrical
permits. There is no fiscal impact, positive or negative, to any other state funds, including the state general fund.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator — Administration
Division of Building Safety

1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150

P. O. Box 83720

Meridian, ID 83642

Phone: (208) 332-7150

Fax: (877) 810-2840
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0102-1801
Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Inspections PENDING FEE RULE

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

Many provisions in IDAPA 07.01.02 have not been updated to account for changes in technology, terminology
and procedures used by the Division of Building Safety in issuing electrical permits. Further, recent amendments to
Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology and procedures for issuing electrical permits.

This rulemaking updates procedures and terminology for issuing electrical permits in IDAPA 07.01.02. These
updates align IDAPA 07.01.02 with technology, terminology and procedures currently used by the Division of
Building Safety in issuing electrical permits and with recently passed amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho
Code. This rulemaking also allows and adds a fee for transferring electrical permits.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

This rulemaking allows for and adds a fee of forty-five dollars ($45) for transferring electrical permits. The
imposition of this fee is authorized by Section 54-1006, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules — Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 32-33.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208)
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost Benefit Analysis (CBA)
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0102-1801
Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Inspections PENDING FEE RULE

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0101-1801

IDAPA 07
TITLE 01
CHAPTER 02

07.01.02 - RULES GOVERNING FEES FOR ELECTRICAL PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 07.01.02, “Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Permits and Inspections,”
Division of Building Safety. These rules include criteria for the fees to be charged for permits and inspections of

electrical systems. 2-26-93K )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. ( )

005. OFFICE — OFFICE HOURS — MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.

The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau. 1090 E. Watertower Street,
Meridian, Idaho 83642. ( )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code,
and are public records. ( )

007. DEFINITIONS.

01. Person. Includes an individual, company, firm, partnership, corporation, association, or other
organization. ( )

0048.--010.  (RESERVED)

011. FEES FOR ELECTRICAL PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS.

Electrical inspeetion permit fees are to cover the cost of electrlcal 1nspect10ns as provided by Section 54-1005, Idaho
Code; any person;perin i firH 2 + making an electrical installation coming
under the provisions of Sectlon 54 1001 Idaho Code shall pay to the Efeetrieal-Bureanan-inspeetion Division of
Building Safety a permit fee as prov1ded in the followmg schedule. The type of electrical permit a person may
purchase shall be limited to the scope of work for which the person is licensed H4-S7) )

01. Temporary Construction Services (Temporary Power) Permit. To be installed for construction
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0102-1801
Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Inspections PENDING FEE RULE

purposes only, for a period not to exceed one (1) year: 348995 )
a. Two hundred (200) amp or less, one (1) location: sixty-five dollars ($65). (3-26-08)

b. All others shall be calculated using Subsection 011.06, Other Installations (Including Industrial and
Commercial) Permit, of these rules. B18-99K )

02. New Residential—Single Family-Dwelling. (Includes ¢# associated buildings with wiring being
constructed on each property.)

New Residential - Single One-Family Dwellings

Up to 1,500 square feet of living space - $130
1,501 to 2,500 square feet of living space - $195
2,501 to 3,500 square feet of living space -  $260

3,501 to 4,500 square feet of living space - $325

$325 plus $65 for each additional 1,000

Over 4,500 square feet of living space " square feet or portion thereof

New Residential - Two- and Multi-Family Dwellings
Duplex-Apartment Two-family dwellings - $260

Three{Sl-ormerem ) - .
Multi-family #nits dwellings $130 per building plus $65 per unit

4-9-09(__)

a. Existing residentiat dwelling unit permit: sixty-five dollars ($65) plus ten dollars ($10) for each
additional branch circuit up to the maximum of the corresponding square footage of the residential-building dwelling
unit. B326-68(__ )
b. Residential Dwelling unit spas, hot tubs, hydro massage tubs, and swimming pools permit: sixty-

five dollars (865) for each trip to inspect. (For all QOther thean—residential installations of spas, hot tubs hydro
massage tubs, and swimming pools, use Subsection 011.06, Other Installations (Including Industrial and

Commercial) Permit, of these rules.) {3-26-05) )

03. Residential Electric Space Heating and Air Conditioning. When not part of a new residential
construction permit, or heat/ventilating/air conditioning permit with no additional wiring: sixty-five dollars ($65).

(3-26-08)

04. Domestic Water Pumps Permit. See Subsection 011.076 - Pumps (Water, Domestic Water,

Irrigation, Sewage) -- Each Motor Permit, of these rules. B315-99) )

05. Mobile/Manufactured Homes Permit. Sixty-five dollars ($65) basic fee plus ten dollars ($10) for
each additional circuit.

- Mobile home and RV parks for distribution wiring including pedestal, service conductors and lot
supply to individual units come under Subsection 011.06, Other Installations (Including Industrial and Commercial)

Permit, of these rules. B18-99K )

06. Other Installations (Including Industrial and Commercial) Permit. The i#speetion permit fees
listed in this section shall apply to any and all electrical installations not specifically mentioned elsewhere in this
schedule. The electrical cost shall be the cost to the owner of all labor charges and all other costs that are incurred in
order to complete the installation of any and all electrical wiring and equipment installed as part of the electrical
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0102-1801
Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Inspections PENDING FEE RULE

system, factory assembled industrial machinery to be operated by electrical energy shall not be included in

calculating these fees. B3-26-09(__ )

a. Wiring cost not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000): sixty dollars ($60) plus two percent (2%)
of total wiring cost. (3-26-08)

b. Wiring cost over ten thousand dollars ($10,000) but not exceeding one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000): two hundred sixty dollars ($260) plus one percent (1%) of wiring cost in excess of ten thousand dollars
($10,000). (3-26-08)

c. Wiring cost over one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000): one thousand one hundred sixty dollars
($1,160) plus one-half of one percent (.5%) of the portion of wiring costs exceeding one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000). (3-26-08)

d. All fees calculated under this schedule must be calculated on the total wiring cost of the job, and
this figure must be shown on the permit. The éxspeetion permit fees listed in this Subsection shall apply to any and all
electrical installations not specifically mentioned elsewhere in this schedule. The wiring cost shall be the cost to the
owner of all labor charges and all wiring materials and equipment installed as part of the wiring system. When labor
is performed by the owner, such labor cost shall be based upon the market value of said labor and used or reused
materials shall be based at fifty percent (50%) of the column 3 pricing as published by Trade Service Publication or
National Price Service Pricing or the actual cost, whichever is greater. For all owner-supplied, factory assembled
electrical infrastructural equipment to be installed, the inspection will be based on one-half of one percent (.5%) of
total cost of the equipment OR an hourly rate of one hundred thirty dollars ($130) for the first hour of each inspection
and sixty-five dollars ($65) for each subsequent hour. Factory assembled machinery to be operated by electrical

energy shall not be included when calculating these fees. 3-26-68)( )
e. Small work not exceeding two hundred dollars ($200) in cost and not involving a change in service
connections: ten dollars ($10). (3-30-06)

07. Pumps (Water, Domestic Water, Irrigation, Sewage) -- Each Motor Permit.

To 25 HP - $65
26 to 200 HP - $95
Over 200 HP - $130

For Pphase inverters and roto phase equipment, use
Subsection 011.06, in addition to the pump motor fee.

3-26-085(_)

08. Electrically-Driven Irrigation Machine Permit. Center Pivot: sixty-five dollars ($65) plus ten
dollars ($10) per tower or drive motor. Other types: sixty-five dollars ($65) plus ten dollars ($10) per motor. (Note:
No additional fee required for underground feeder). 3-26-68)( )

09. Electric Signs and Outline Lighting Permit. Electric signs: sixty-five dollars ($65) per sign;
Outline lighting: sixty-five dollars ($65) per each occupancy. 3-26-68)( )

10. Requested Inspections Permit. A base fee of sixty-five dollars ($65) plus an additional sixty-five
dollars ($65) for each hour, or portion thereof, in excess of one (1) hour including travel time. Out-of-state travel

expenses shall be paid by the requesting party. 3-26-08)( )
11. Additional Fees and Reinspection Fees. A base fee of sixty-five dollars ($65) plus an additional

sixty-five dollars ($65) for each additional hour, or portion thereof, in excess of one (1) hour including travel time,
shall also be paid before approval of the installation if the following services are necessary: (3-26-08)

a. Trips to inspect when the subntitter-ofthe permit holder had given notice to the inspector that the
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0102-1801

Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Inspections PENDING FEE RULE
work is ready for inspection when it was not;-e#if. H—44-87H )
b. Trips to inspect when the submitter permit holder has not clearly or correctly given the location of

the installation either by directions. # maps, coordinates, or correct address and posting a copy of the permit at the
service or other conspicuous location on the property or # the inspector cannot gain access to make the inspection.

48D )

be. Trips to inspect corrections required by the inspector as a result of the submitter improperly
responding to a corrective notice. (1-14-87)
ed. Each trip necessary to remove a red tag from the jobsite. (1-14-87)

de. Hhen Trips to conduct a reinspection because corrections have not been made in the prescribed

time, unless an extension has been requested and granted. H4-S7) )

12 No pPermlt -—fFallure to pe&t—e;%end purchase an electrical permit
; i afety before work is commenced, may result in the

aﬁeﬁmem mposmon ofa double permlt fee 3—S5-99K )

123. Plan Check Fee. Sixty-five dollars ($65) minimum for one (1) hour or less. Over one (1) hour:
sixty-five dollars ($65) plus sixty-five dollars ($65) for each hour, or portion thereof, in excess of one (1) hour.
(3-26-08)

134. Fees for Temporary Amusement/Industry Electrical Inspections. Each time a ride, concession,
or generator is set up: sixty-five dollars ($65) base fee plus ten dollars ($10) for each ride, concession, or generator.
(3-26-08)

145. Expiration of Permits. Every permit issued by the Electrical Bureau shall expire by limitation and
become null and void if the work authorized by such permit is not commenced within ninety (90) days from the date
of issuance of such permit or if the work authorized by such permit is suspended or abandoned at any time after work
is commenced for a period of one hundred eighty (180) days. A permit may be renewed for an additional year upon
receipt of Bureau approval and sixty-five dollars ($65) renewal fee. (3-26-08)

16. Transferring a Permit. An electrical permit may be transferred to another eligible party if such
party provides to the Division of Building Safety written authorization signed and notarized by the original permit
holder consenting to the transfer itself and assignment of all the responsibilities and conditions incorporated into the
original permit issuance. A permit may be transferred to the owner of the property on which the electrical work is to
be performed and for which the permit was issued. or such owner’s designated legal agent, in cases where such owner
has terminated his legal relationship with the electrical contractor who originally obtained the permit. An
administrative fee in the amount of forty-five dollars ($45) for the transfer of the permit shall be assessed by the
Division of Building Safety. ( )

17. Refunds of Permits. The administrator of the Division of Building Safety may authorize a refund
for any permit fee paid on the following bases:

)

a. The administrator may authorize a refund of the entire permit fee paid when no work has been
performed related to the installations or electrical work covered by a permit issued by the Division. A lesser amount
up to fifty percent (50%) of the permit fee amount may be refunded if work has commenced and the project is less
than fifty percent (50%) complete as determined by the Division: and

T

b. The administrator shall not authorize a refund of any Dermlt fee paid except upon written
application for such filed by the original permit holder or the property owner’s representative not less than one
hundred eighty (180) days after the date the permit was issued. ( )
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IDAPA 24 —- BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
24.18.01 — RULES OF THE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD
DOCKET NO. 24-1801-1802
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-4106, 54-4113, 54-4124, and 54-4132, Idaho
Code, and Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989, United States Code
(“FIRREA™).

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule fee and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The Real Estate Appraiser Board operates on dedicated funds derived primarily from licensing and registration
fees. It is recommended that boards maintain a balance equivalent to 100-150% of their annual budget. The Board’s
balance exceeds that amount. Accordingly, the pending rule lowers fees and leaves more money in the hands of
licensees.

There are no changes to the pending fee rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of
the proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 336-337.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or
charge is being imposed pursuant to Sections 54-4106, 54-4113, 54-4124, and 54-4132, Idaho Code.

Section 150 of these rules will reduce the application fee from $250 to $200, original license fee from $140 to
$100, and license renewal fee from $365 to $275 for certified general appraisers, certified residential appraisers, and
licensed general appraisers. Section 150 of these rules will also reduce the registration fee for Appraisal Management
Companies (AMCs) from $1,200 to $1,000, and reduce the AMC renewal fee from $1,200 to $900. In addition, the
temporary permit fee will be reduced from $100 to $75.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 8th day of November, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W. State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1801-1802
Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board PENDING FEE RULE

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-4106, 54-4113, 54-4124,
and 54-4132, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

The Real Estate Appraiser Board operates on dedicated funds derived primarily from licensing and registration
fees. It is recommended that boards maintain a balance equivalent to 100-150% of their annual budget. The Board’s
balance exceeds that amount. Accordingly, the proposed rule lowers fees and leaves more money in the hands of
licensees.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Section 150 will reduce the application fee from $250 to $200, original license fee from $140 to $100, and
license renewal fee from $365 to $275 for certified general appraisers, certified residential appraisers, and licensed
general appraisers. Section 150 will also reduce the registration fee for Appraisal Management Companies (AMCs)
from $1,200 to $1,000, and reduce the AMC renewal fee from $1,200 to $900. In addition, the temporary permit fee
will be reduced from $100 to $75.

The proposed rule will have no impact on the General Fund. The estimated impact on the Bureau of
Occupational Licenses’ dedicated fund will be a reduction of approximately $98,030.00 per year.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the proposed changes to these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 29th day of August, 2018.
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1801-1802
Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board PENDING FEE RULE

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost Benefit Analysis (CBA)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 24-1801-1802

150. FEES (RULE 150).

Fees are established in accord with Sections 54-4113, 54-4124 and 54-4134, Idaho Code, as follows: (3-24-17)
01. Application. Application fee for License and Registration — two hundred fif dollars ($2500).
B2417( )
02. Original License. Original License — one hundred fo## dollars ($1400)*. (3-24-17) )
03. Original AMC Registration. Original Registration — One thousand #ve—hundred dollars
($1,2000)**. (3-24-17) )
04. License Renewal. License renewal — three two hundred s#xty seventy-five dollars ($36275)*.
(3-21-12) )
0s. AMC Registration Renewal. Registration renewal — One—thousand—+weo nine hundred dollars
($52900)**. (3-24-17) )
06. Reinstatement. Reinstatement fee is as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (3-24-16)
07. Application for Reciprocity. Application for reciprocity — two hundred ## dollars ($2500%).
(3-30-01)( )
08. Original License Via Reciprocity. Original License via reciprocity — one hundred dollars ($100)*.
(3-21-12)
09. Temporary Permit. Temporary permit — one-hundred scventy-five dollars ($46675).
(7-1-93)( )
10. Trainee Registration Fee. Trainee registration fee — fifty dollars ($50). (3-13-02)
11. Examination and Reexamination Fees. Examination and Reexamination fees will be calculated
based on the actual cost of the examination. Successful applicants will be notified of the fees at the time they are
scheduled for examination. (7-1-97)
12. Continuing Education Provider Application Fee. Continuing Education Provider Application
fee - one hundred dollars ($100). (3-21-12)
13. Fees are Non-Refundable. Fees are non-refundable. (7-1-93)
14. Fees Followed By One Asterisk (*) Means. Proposed fees for these categories marked with an

asterisk (*) include forty dollars ($40) to be submitted by the state to the federal government. Title XI, Section 1109
of the FIRREA as amended requires each state to submit a roster listing of state licensed appraisers to the Appraisal
Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council “no less than annually.” The state is also
required to collect from such individuals who perform appraisals in federally related transactions an annual registry
fee of “not more than eighty-five dollars ($85),” such fees to be transmitted by the state to the federal government on
an annual basis. This fee is subject to change by the Appraisal Subcommittee. (3-21-12)
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1801-1802
Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board PENDING FEE RULE

15. Fees Followed By Two Asterisks (**) Means. The fees for the categories marked with two (2)
asterisks (**) do not include additional fees assessed pursuant to Title XI, Section 1109 of the FIRREA, as amended,
including, but not limited to, an AMC registry fee, such fees to be collected from AMCs by the state and transmitted
to the federal government on an annual basis. (3-22-18)
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IDAPA 24 —- BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
24.28.01 - RULES OF THE BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SERVICES LICENSING BOARD
DOCKET NO. 24-2801-1802 (NEW CHAPTER)
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-5807 and 54-5822, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

Senate Bill 1324, which passed during the 2018 Legislative Session, combined the Boards of Barber Examiners
and Cosmetology. The new Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board is adopting rules to implement the
new law. These rules are based upon public protection, portability of licenses, and eliminating barriers to
employment. The pending rules implement Senate Bill 1324, which reduced the minimum hours of instruction
required for cosmetology, barber-stylist, and electrology licenses; created a new certificate for individuals who only
want to practice make-up artistry; and created a registration for retail thermal styling equipment dealers to do limited
demonstration on potential customers. The rules also specify what services a licensee may perform outside a licensed
establishment; provide for the transfer of instructional hours between professions; and modernize safety and
disinfection requirements.

The changes to the pending rule specify that a licensed instructor may maintain a single license to practice and
instruct; allow the Board to place an establishment or facility license out of business after a thirty-day written notice
to the owner(s) when the Board has documentation or evidence that the establishment is out of business; expressly
allow a student to count a certain number of instructor-approved hours for outside of school activities toward
instructional hour requirements; and clarify language that was unclear or determined to be unnecessary.

The text of the pending fee rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The original text of the
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 349-375.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or
charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 54-5822, Idaho Code.

The Board operates on dedicated funds and must be self-supporting. The following fees are established in
accordance with Section 54-5822, Idaho Code, as follows: original license fee for individual licenses: $25; original
license fee for instructors: $30; original license fee for establishments: $20; original license fee for schools: $300;
original license or registration fee for facilities: $20; renewal fee for individual licenses: $25; renewal fee for
instructors: $30; renewal fee for establishments: $20; renewal fee for schools: $85; renewal fee for facilities: $20;
registration fee for apprentice: $25; certificate for makeup artist: $25; and license by endorsement fee: $35.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 5th day of November, 2018.
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Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W. State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-5807 and 54-5822, Idaho
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

Senate Bill 1324, which passed during the 2018 Legislative Session, combined the Boards of Barber Examiners
and Cosmetology. The new Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board is adopting rules to implement the
new law. These rules are based upon public protection, portability of licenses, and eliminating barriers to
employment.

The proposed rules implement Senate Bill 1324, which reduced the minimum hours of instruction required for
cosmetology, barber-stylist, and electrology licenses; created a new certificate for individuals who only want to
practice make-up artistry; and created a registration for retail thermal styling equipment dealers to do limited
demonstration on potential customers. The rules also specify what services a licensee may perform outside a licensed
establishment; provide for the transfer of instructional hours between professions; and modernize safety and
disinfection requirements.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

The Board operates on dedicated funds and must be self-supporting. The following fees are established in
accordance with Section 54-5822, Idaho Code, as follows: original license fee for individual licenses: $25; original
license fee for instructors: $30; original license fee for establishments: $20; original license fee for schools: $300;
original license or registration fee for facilities: $20; renewal fee for individual licenses: $25; renewal fee for
instructors: $30; renewal fee for establishments: $20; renewal fee for schools: $85; renewal fee for facilities: $20;
registration fee for apprentice: $25; certificate for makeup artist: $25; and license by endorsement fee: $35.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the proposed changes to these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.
The Board also requested input from licensed schools and stakeholders who had expressed interest in the rules.
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INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be

directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 30th day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Cost Benefit Analysis (CBA)

Italicized red text that is underscored indicates
amendments to the proposed text in the pending rule.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 24-2801-1802

IDAPA 24
TITLE 28
CHAPTER 01

24.28.01 - RULES OF THE BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SERVICES LICENSING BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Barber and Cosmetology
Services Licensing Board by the provisions of Section 54-5807, Idaho Code. ( )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. The rules shall be cited as IDAPA 24.28.01, “Rules of the Barber and Cosmetology Services
Licensing Board.” ( )

02. Scope. These rules implement the purposes and intent of Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, to
regulate the professions of barbering and cosmetology in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare. ( )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.

In accordance with Section 67-5201(19)(b)(iv), Idaho Code, the Board may have written statements that pertain to the
interpretation of the rules of this chapter, or to the documentation of compliance with the rules of this chapter. Such
interpretations, if any, are available for public inspection and copying at cost in the main office of the Bureau of
Occupational Licenses. ( )
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003.  ADMINISTRATIVE APPEAL.
Administrative appeals shall be governed by the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 52, Title 67, Idaho Code, and
IDAPA 04.11.01, “Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the Attorney General.” ( )

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents incorporated by reference into this rule. ( )

00s. OFFICE - OFFICE HOURS - MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.

01. Location and Contact Information. The office of the Barber and Cosmetology Services
Licensing Board is located within the Bureau of Occupational Licenses, 700 W. State Street, Boise, [daho 83702, P.O.
Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0063. The telephone number of the Board is (208) 334-3233 and the fax number is
(208) 334-3945. The Board’s email address is bcb@ibol.idaho.gov. The Board’s official website can be found at http:/

/www.ibol.idaho.gov. ( )
02. Office Hours. The office is open between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Mountain Time
each day except Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays. ( )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein are subject to and in compliance with the Idaho Public Records Act, Chapter 1, Title 74,
Idaho Code. The records associated with the Board are subject to the provisions of the Public Records Act.  ( )

007. OPEN MEETINGS.
This Board operates pursuant to the Idaho Open Meetings Law, Chapter 2, Title 74, Idaho Code. ( )

008. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
01. Board. Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board. ( )
02. Bureau. Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses. ( )

03. Clean. Removal of visible or surface debris, washing with soap and water, detergent or chemical
“cleaner.” Cleaning reduces the number and slows the growth of pathogens on both porous and non-porous surfaces.
Cleaning prepares non-porous items for disinfection, but cleaning does not make multi-use items safe for use. ( )

04. Clinical Services or Clinical Work. Performing hands-on acts or techniques within the scope of
practice of a profession regulated by the Board. ( )

0s. Disinfect. The process of making a non-porous item safe for use. Disinfecting requires the use of a
chemical intended to kill or denature a bacteria, virus or fungus. Items to be disinfected must be cleaned prior to
disinfection. Ultraviolet (UV) light is not acceptable for disinfection. ( )

06. Disinfectant. Disinfectant registered by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
and is bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal with effectiveness against staphylococcus aureus (including methicillin-
resistant staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)), human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and hepatitis B (HEPB). This
includes EPA registered Sodium Hypochlorite 5.25% or higher (household bleach) with instructions for disinfection,
diluted as instructed on the label and observing the five (5) minute contact time listed on the manufacturer’s label.
Bleach must be active (not expired) with a manufacture date of less than six (6) months prior to use. ( )

07. Establishment. Establishment means a place licensed under Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code,
other than a licensed school or licensed facility, where barber-styling, cosmetology, or electrology is practiced.( )

08. Facility. A retail cosmetics dealer, a retail thermal styling equipment dealer, or a makeover or
glamour photography business. ( )
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09. First-Aid Kit. First-aid kit means a packaged and identifiable assortment of medical supplies,
including adhesive bandages, skin antiseptic, disposable gloves, and gauze. ( )

10. Makeup. Makeup means makeup, cosmetics, or any pigment product that is used to cover,
camouflage, or decorate the skin. ( )

11. Patron. Patron means any person who receives the services of anyone licensed, certificated or
otherwise regulated by the provisions of Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. ( )

12. Record of Instruction. The final documentation of total hours and operations completed by a
student that is maintained by a school or, in the case of an apprentice, by the instructor. ( )

13. Single-Use. Any non-electrical item that cannot be properly cleaned and disinfected is considered
single-use. This includes, but is not limited to, pumice stones, buffing blocks, wooden cuticle pushers, cotton balls,
pads or swabs, toe separators and flip flops, and all nail files or emery boards that are not made entirely of metal,

glass, or crystal. ( )
14. Sterilize. The eradication of all microbial life through the use of heat, steam or chemical sterilants.
Items to be sterilized must be cleaned prior to sterilization. ( )

15. Sterilant. Autoclaves or dry heat sterilizers approved by the United States Food and Drug
Administration and spore tested through an independent lab at least once every thirty (30) days. Sterilants must be
used only as instructed by the manufacturer. Spore testing results and maintenance records for the most recent twelve
(12) months must be kept onsite at the establishment. ( )

011. UPDATE OF RECORDS.

Applicants, licensees, registrants, and certificants are responsible for keeping their records updated with the Bureau.
All changes including name changes and change of address must be submitted in writing to the Bureau within thirty
(30) days. The most recent mailing address on file with the Bureau will be used for purposes of all written
communication with a licensee, registrant, or certificant including notification of renewal and notices related to
disciplinary actions. ( )

012. -- 099. (RESERVED)
100. ORGANIZATION AND OPERATIONS OF THE BOARD.

01. Meetings. The Board shall meet at least annually and at other such times and places as designated
by the Chairman, upon the request of the governor, or upon the written request of a majority of the members of the
Board. ( )

a. A minimum of four (4) Board members shall constitute a quorum and shall be required for the

transaction of business, provided at least one (1) board member of the relevant profession is present when any board
action is taken that affects the profession, its licensees, or its applicants. A majority vote of the quorum present at a

meeting shall be considered the action of the Board as a whole. ( )
b. The Chairman shall be a voting member. ( )
02. Organization. At the first meeting of each fiscal year, the Board shall elect from its members a
Chairman, who shall assume the duty of the office immediately upon such selection. ( )
a. The Chairman shall preside at all meetings when present, appoint all committees with the consent
of the Board, and otherwise perform all duties pertaining to the office of Chairman. ( )
b. The Bureau shall act as an agent of the Board and shall be the official keeper of all records of the
Board. The Bureau shall provide such services as may be authorized by Chapter 26, Title 67, Idaho Code, and as
defined under contract between the Bureau and the Board. ( )
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200. APPLICATION.

01. Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration shall submit a
complete application, verified under oath, to the Board at its official address. The application shall be on the forms
approved by the Board and submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation. ( )

02. Supporting Documents. The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any supporting
third party documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license, certificate, or registration being
sought. ( )

03. Applications Must Be Complete. Applications shall not be considered complete until all required
information, documents, and fees are received by the Board. ( )

04. Application Deadline Date. Applications received less than seven (7) days prior to a Board
meeting may be held over to the next meeting. ( )

0s. Lack of Activity. If an applicant fails to respond to a Board request or an application has lacked
activity for twelve (12) consecutive months, the application on file with the Board will be deemed denied and will be
terminated upon a thirty (30) day written notice, unless good cause is demonstrated to the Board. ( )

250. FEES.
Fees are established in accordance with Section 54-5822, Idaho Code, as follows: ( )

01. Fees. ( )

a. Original License Fee for Individual Licenses. The fee for an original license as a barber, barber-
stylist, cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, haircutter, or nail technician is twenty-five dollars ($25). ( )

b. Original License Fee for Instructors. The fee for an original instructor license is thirty dollars ($30).

)

c. Original License Fee for Establishments. The fee for an original license as a primary establishment
or contiguous establishment is twenty dollars ($20). ( )

d. Original License Fee for Schools. The fee for an original license as a barber or cosmetology school
is three hundred dollars ($300). ( )

e. Original License or Registration Fee for Facilities. The fee for an original license as a retail
cosmetics dealer or makeover or glamour photography business or an original registration as a retail thermal styling
equipment dealer is twenty dollars ($20). ( )

f. Annual Renewal Fee for Individual Licenses. The annual renewal fee for a license as a barber,
barber-stylist, cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, haircutter, or nail technician is twenty-five dollars ($25).

« )

g. Annual Renewal Fee for Instructors. The annual renewal fee for a license as an instructor is thirty
dollars ($30). «C )

h. Annual Renewal Fee for Establishments. The annual renewal fee for a license as a primary
establishment or a contiguous establishment is twenty dollars ($20). ( )

i. Annual Renewal Fee for Schools. The annual renewal fee for a license as a barber or cosmetology
school is eighty-five dollars ($85). ( )

je Annual Renewal Fee for Facilities. The annual renewal fee for a license as a retail cosmetics dealer
or makeover or glamour photography business or a registration as a retail thermal styling equipment dealer is twenty
dollars ($20). ( )
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k. Registration Fee for Apprentice. The fee for a registration as an apprentice is twenty-five dollars

($25). «C )

L Certificate for Makeup Artist. The fee for a certificate as a makeup artist is twenty-five dollars

(825). «C )
02. License by Endorsement Fee. The fee for licensure by endorsement is thirty-five dollars ($35).

«C )

03. Duplicate License Fee. The fee for a duplicate license is ten dollars ($10). ( )

04. Reinstatement Fee. Reinstatement fee is as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. ( )

05. Examination Fee. The fee for those examinations administered by a third party administrator shall

be that fee determined by the administrator and shall be paid directly to the administrator by the applicant.  ( )
06. Refund of Fees. All fees are non-refundable. ( )
251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ALL LICENSES OR CERTIFICATES FOR INDIVIDUALS.
In addition to other qualifications set forth in these rules, each applicant for licensure or certification must meet the

following general qualifications: ( )
01. Age. Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 '%) years of age. ( )
02. Education. Successful completion of at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an
equivalent education as determined by the Board as evidenced by: ( )
a. High school transcripts, a copy of a high school diploma, or a letter written on high school
stationery, signed by an officer of the high school, indicating that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the tenth
grade and is eligible to commence the eleventh grade; or ( )
b. Documents establishing admission to or graduation from an associates, bachelors, or graduate
degree program from an accredited college or university; or ( )
c. Successful passage of the General Educational Development (G.E.D.) Test; or ( )
d. Any test approved by the Department of Education to establish education equivalency shall be
approved by the Board when an applicant receives a score approved by the Department of Education as meeting the
equivalency requirement; or ( )
e. Other proof of satisfactory completion of the tenth grade with eligibility to commence the eleventh
grade. ( )
03. Good Moral Character. ( )
a. An applicant must certify that he/she has not been found guilty, been convicted, or received a

withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude. If the apphcant has been
found guilty, been convicted, or received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for such a crime, the applicant
must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure or certification as set forth in Section 312 of these rules.

«C )

b. An applicant must certify that he/she or his/her license has not been subject to any disciplinary
action by a regulatory entity in another state, territory, or country including, but not limited to, having an application
for licensure denied. If the applicant or his/her license has been subject to discipline, the apphcant must submit a
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written statement of suitability for licensure or certification as set forth in Section 312 of these rules. ( )

301. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL BARBER LICENSE.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a barber who completes an application as set forth in
Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and who meets the following general, education, experience, and
examination qualifications: ( )

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of barbering consisting of not
less than nine hundred (900) hours of instruction in a licensed barber school, or the following equivalent instruction:

« )

a. For a currently licensed cosmetologist, a licensed barber school must credit eight hundred (800)
hours toward the required nine hundred (900) hours for a barber course. The school must submit for the Board’s
approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining hours of instruction will be allotted
among the subjects in the barber course curriculum, provided that the remaining hours of instruction must at a

minimum include the following: ( )
i Barber theory, including male haircuts; and ( )
il. Shaving. ( )
b. For a currently licensed barber in another state, territory, possession or country, and who does not
meet the qualifications for licensure by endorsement, fifty (50) hours of instruction may be credited for each three (3)
months of practical experience in barbering. ( )
03. Examination. Successful passage of a barber examination approved by the Board. ( )

302. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL BARBER-STYLIST LICENSE.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a barber-stylist who completes an application as set
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination
qualifications: ( )

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of barber-styling consisting of
not less than one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of instruction in a licensed barber school, or the following
equivalent instruction: ( )

For a currently licensed cosmetologist, a licensed barber school must credit of one thousand four
hundred (1 ,400) hours toward the required one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours for a barber-stylist course. The
school must submit for the Board’s approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining hours
of instruction will be allotted among the subjects in the barber-stylist course curriculum, provided that the remaining

hours of instruction must at a minimum include the following: ( )
i Barber theory, including male haircuts; and ( )
ii. Shaving. ( )
b. For a currently licensed barber-stylist in another state, territory, possession or country, fifty (50)
hours of instruction may be credited for each three (3) months of practical experience in barber-styling. (
03. Examination. Successful passage of a barber-stylist examination approved by the Board. ( )

303. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a cosmetologist who completes an application as set
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forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination
qualifications: ( )

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of cosmetology consisting of
not less than one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school or completed at
least three thousand two hundred (3,200) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the requirements of Section 550 of
these rules, or the following equivalent instruction: ( )

a. For a currently licensed barber-stylist, a licensed cosmetology school must credit one thousand
three hundred (1,300) hours toward the required one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours for a cosmetology course.
The school must submit for the Board’s approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining
hours of instruction will be allotted among the subjects in the cosmetology course curriculum, provided that the

remaining hours of instruction must at a minimum include the following: ( )
1. Nail technology; ( )
ii. Esthetics; and ( )
iil. Cosmetology theory, including female hairstyling. ( )
b. For a currently licensed barber, a licensed cosmetology school must credit nine hundred (900)

hours toward the required one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours for a cosmetology course. The school must submit
for the Board’s approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining hours of instruction will
be allotted among the subjects in the cosmetology course curriculum, provided that the remaining hours of instruction

must at a minimum include the following: ( )
1. Working on the hair with chemicals; ( )
ii. Nail technology; ( )
iii. Esthetics; and ( )
iv. Cosmetology theory, including female hairstyling. ( )
c. A currently licensed esthetician, haircutter, or nail technician must be given credit of two hundred
(200) hours toward the required one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours for a cosmetology course or four hundred
(400) hours toward the required three thousand two hundred (3,200) hours as a cosmetology apprentice. ( )
d. For a currently certificated makeup artist in this state, a licensed cosmetology school may credit up
to fifty (50) hours toward the required instructional hours for a cosmetology course, or a licensed instructor may
credit up to one hundred (100) hours toward the required apprenticeship hours. ( )
e. For an esthetician, haircutter, or nail technician student, a licensed cosmetology school may credit
eighty percent (80%) of accumulated hours, but no more than two hundred (200) hours, toward the required
instructional hours for a cosmetology course. ( )
f. For a currently licensed cosmetologist in another state, territory, possession or country, one hundred
(100) hours of instruction or two hundred (200) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month period of
practical experience in cosmetology. ( )
03. Examination. Successful passage of the cosmetology examination approved by the Board. ( )

304. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as an electrologist who completes an application as set
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination
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qualifications: ( )
01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )
02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of electrology consisting of not

less than six hundred (600) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school approved to teach electrology or
successful completion of at least one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the
requirements of Section 550 of these rules. For a currently licensed electrologist in another state, territory, possession
or country, forty (40) hours of instruction or eighty (80) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month

period of practical experience in electrology. ( )
03. Examination. Successful passage of the electrologist examination conducted or approved by the
Board. ( )

305. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL ESTHETICIAN LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as an esthetician who completes an application as set forth
in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination

qualifications: ( )
01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )
02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of esthetics consisting of not

less than six hundred (600) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school or successful completion of at least
one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the requirements of Section 550 of these

rules, or the following equivalent instruction: ( )
a. For a currently certificated makeup artist in this state, a licensed cosmetology school may credit up
to fifty (50) hours toward the required instructional hours for an esthetlcs course or, a licensed instructor may credit
up to one hundred (100) hours toward the required apprenticeship hours. ( )
b. A licensed cosmetology school may credit one-seventh (1/7) of accumulated hours toward the
required instructional hours for an esthetics course for a cosmetology student. ( )
c. For a currently licensed esthetician in another state, territory, possession or country, sixty (60)
hours of instruction or one hundred twenty (120) hours as an apprentice may be given for each six-month period of
practical experience in esthetics. ( )
03. Examination. Successful passage of the esthetician examination approved by the Board.  ( )

306. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL HAIRCUTTER LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a haircutter who completes an application as set forth
in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination

qualifications: ( )
01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )
02. Education. Successful completion of and graduation from a program of haircutting consisting of
not less than nine hundred (900) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school or the following equivalent
instruction: ( )
a. A licensed cosmetology school may credit one-seventh (1/7) of accumulated hours toward the
required instructional hours for a haircutter course for a cosmetology student. ( )
b. For a currently licensed haircutter in another state, territory, possession or country, ninety (90)
hours of instruction or one hundred twenty (120) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month period of
practical experience in haircutting, hair design, or cosmetology. ( )
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307. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a nail technician who completes an application as set
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination

qualifications: ( )
01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )
02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of nail technology consisting of

not less than four hundred (400) hours of instruction in a cosmetology school approved by the Board or completed at
least eight hundred (800) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the requirements of Section 550 of these rules, or the

following equivalent instruction: ( )

a. A licensed cosmetology school may credit one-seventh (1/7) of accumulated hours toward the

required instructional hours for a nail technology course for a cosmetology student. ( )

b. For a currently licensed nail technician in another state, territory, possession or country, forty (40)

hours of instruction or eighty (80) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month period of practical

experience in nail technology. ( )
03. Examination. Successful passage of the nail technician examination approved by the Board.

«C )

308. QUALIFICATIONS FOR MAKEUP ARTIST CERTIFICATE.
The Board may grant a certificate to an applicant for certification as a makeup artist who completes an application as
set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general and education/training

requirements: ( )
01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )
02. Education/Training. Successful completion of instruction of not less than one hundred (100)

hours in makeup artistry, which must include instruction and practical experience in safety and infection control.
Hours may be classroom instruction, training, practical experience, or a combination. Instruction may be received

from one or more of the following sources: ( )
a. A cosmetology school licensed in this state or another state, territory, possession, or country;( )
b. A cosmetology or esthetics instructor licensed in this state or another state, territory or possession;
)
c. A retail cosmetics dealer licensed in this state or another state, territory or possession; or  ( )
d. Other source of instruction that includes: ( )
i. Knowledgeable and experienced instructor with a record of safe practices; ( )
ii. Instruction in client safety and safe product selection; and ( )
iil. Hands-on practice and training in infection control. ( )
e. Any combination of the sources listed in Subsections 308.02.a. through d. of these rules.  ( )
03. Documentation of Education/Training. An applicant may present proof of education/training in
makeup artistry in the following ways: ( )
a. A current cosmetology or esthetician license from another state, territory, possession or coun(try. )
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b. Transcripts or records of instruction. ( )
c. Documentation of work history and training as an employee for a retail cosmetics dealer licensed in
this state or another state, territory or possession of the United States. ( )
d. Membership in the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees Make-Up Artists and Hair
Stylists Guild or other similar organization whose membership requirements meet or exceed the requirements of
these rules. ( )
e. Documentation of other training/experience must include: ( )
i. Identity and qualifications of the person delivering the instruction/training; ( )
ii. Method of instruction/training and amount of hands-on training provided; and ( )
iil. Subject matters covered, particularly pertaining to topics listed in Subsection 308.02.d. of these
rules. ( )
04. Additional Education/Training. The Board may require an applicant who does not have a
documented record of sufficient training in safety and infection control to obtain additional training or other
demonstration of competency in that area. ( )

309. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL BARBER OR BARBER-STYLIST INSTRUCTOR
LICENSE.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a barber instructor or barber-stylist instructor who
completes an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following
licensure, education, experience, and examination qualifications: ( )

01. Licensure. Hold a current barber license for a barber instructor applicant or hold a current barber-
stylist or cosmetologist license for a barber-stylist instructor applicant. ( )

02. Education and Experience. At least five (5) years of experience as a licensed barber for a barber
instructor applicant or as a licensed barber-stylist for a barber-stylist instructor applicant or have satisfactorily
completed: ( )

a. A minimum six (6) month course of barber instructing for a barber instructor applicant or barber-
stylist instructing for a barber-stylist instructor applicant as a student in a licensed barber school, provided that the
course consist of no less than nine hundred (900) hours; or ( )

b. A minimum three (3) month course of barber instructing for a barber instructor applicant or barber-
stylist instructing for a barber-stylist instructor applicant as a student in a licensed barber school, if the applicant has
at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed barber for a barber instructor applicant or as a barber-stylist for a

barber-stylist instructor applicant, provided that the course consist of no less than five hundred (500) hours; or( )
c. Hold a cosmetology instructor license in this state. ( )
03. Examination. Successful passage of the instructor examination approved by the Board. ( )
04. Single License Required to Practice and Instruct. The holder of a license issued by the board who

is subsequently issued an instructor license is permitted to maintain a single license to practice. An instructor license
issued by the board permits the holder to both practice and instruct only within the scope of the license(s) held under
Subsection 01 of this rule. The holder of a cosmetologist license who is subsequently issued a barber-stylist instructor
license may not practice or instruct elements of barbering or barber-styling that are outside the definition of
cosmetology unless the licensee also has been issued a license as a barber or barber-stylist by the board. ( )

310. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as an instructor of cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or
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nail technology who completes an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and
meets the following licensure, education, experience, and examination qualifications: ( )
01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. ( )
02. Licensure. Hold a current license as a cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, or nail techni(cian. )
03. Education or Equivalent. Earned twelve (12) college credit hours or the equivalent. Credit hours

must be obtained from the Education Department, Speech Communications Department or from the Psychology/
Sociology Department and other credit at the discretion of the Board. Equivalency is determined as:

a. Completion of teaching seminars focusing on cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics, or
electrology approved by the Board. Fourteen (14) clock hours is equivalent to one (1) semester college credit hour in
an approved seminar. Verification of satisfactory completion must be submitted to the Board for its approval,; or

)
b. Verified satisfactory teaching as a qualified instructor from another state for one (1) of the previous

three (3) years immediately prior to application, or
c. Successful passage of the instructor examination approved by the Board. ( )
04. Experience. At least five (5) years of experience as a licensed cosmetologist, electrologist,
esthetician, or nail technician, which must be immediately preceding the application, or have satisfactorily
completed: ( )
a. A minimum six (6) month course of cosmetology instructing as a student in a licensed cosmetology
school, provided that the course consist of no less than nine hundred (900) hours; or ( )
b. A minimum three (3) month course of cosmetology instructing as a student in a licensed
cosmetology school, if the applicant has at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed cosmetologist, electrologist,
esthetician, or nail technician, provided that the course consist of no less than five hundred (500) hours; or  ( )
c. Hold a barber or barber-stylist instructor license in this state. ( )
05. Single License Required to Practice and Instruct. The holder of a license issued by the Board who

is subsequently issued an instructor license is permitted to maintain a single license to practice. An instructor license
issued by the Board permits the holder to both practice and instruct only within the scope of the license(s) held under
Subsection 310.02 of this rule. ( )

311. APPROVED EXAMINATION.

Approved examinations shall be the written and practical examination provided by the National Interstate Council of
State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) for the discipline for which licensure is sought. A passing score must be obtained
on both the written and practical examination. A passing score will be determined by NIC. ( )

312. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION.

An applicant who or whose license has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a
felony or crime involving moral turpitude, or has been subject to discipline in another state, territory or country must
submit with his/her application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his/her current

suitability for licensure or certification. ( )
01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board shall consider the following factors or
evidence: ( )
a. The severity or nature of the crime or discipline; ( )
b. The period of time that has passed since the crime or discipline under review; ( )
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c. The number or pattern of crimes or discipline or other similar incidents; ( )
d. The circumstances surrounding the crime or discipline that would help determine the risk of
repetition; ( )
e. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of barbering or cosmetology; ( )
f. The applicant's activities since the crime or discipline under review, such as employment,
education, participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors which may be evidence of current
rehabilitation; and ( )
g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. ( )
02. Interview. The board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. ( )

03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing his/her current
suitability for licensure or certification. ( )

313. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an application as set forth

in Section 200 of these rules and meets the following requirements: ( )
01. General Requirements. The applicant must: ( )
a. Be at least eighteen (18) years of age; ( )
b. Meet the education requirements set forth in Subsection 300.02 of these rules; and ( )
c. Meet the good moral character requirements set forth in Subsection 300.03 of these rules.  ( )
02. Hold a Current License and Have Experience. The applicant must be the holder of a current

active license or certificate of qualification in the profession and at the level for which a license is being sought,
issued by the authorized regulatory entity in another state, territory, possession, or foreign country. The certification
of licensure must be received by the Board from the issuing agency; and ( )

a. Must show that the state, territory, possession, or foreign country has licensing requirements
substantially equivalent to or higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho; or ( )

b. Document at least one (1) year of actual practice under certification or licensure in the three (3)
years immediately prior to application in the profession for which a license is being sought. ( )

314. - 324. (RESERVED)

325. LICENSURE AND OPERATION OF PRIMARY AND CONTIGUOUS ESTABLISHMENTS.

Except as otherwise provided in statute and these rules, a licensed individual must practice within a licensed
establishment. An establishment may be licensed as a primary establishment or a contiguous establishment that
operates within a primary establishment. ( )

01. Primary Establishment License. A primary establishment license may be issued and annually
renewed only under the following conditions: ( )

a. Application for establishment license shall be made on forms furnished by the Board and shall
include plans and specifications complying with the Board’s safety and disinfection requirements. The fully
completed application form, with the required fees, must be submitted to the Board and a license issued prior to the
opening or operation of any barber or cosmetology primary establishment; and ( )
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b. There is a clearly defined and designated working floor space of adequate dimension to allow the
safe and sanitary practice of any one (1) or combination of defined practices of cosmetology or barber-styling for all
individual stations that may be in operation in addition to any restroom and access areas; and ( )

c. There is an approved hot and cold running water source and drainage system that is available to any
contiguous establishment or other establishment or facility that may exist; and must be within the perimeters of the
licensed establishment and separate from the toilet facilities; and ( )

d. There are restroom facilities conveniently located and accessible from within the building in which
the primary establishment is located and which shall be accessible from the primary area and to all areas designated
for the operation of contiguous establishments. Restroom facilities shall contain an approved hot and cold running
water source and approved drainage system. The water source shall be in addition to the work area facilities; and

« )

e. Any areas designated by the primary establishment for the operation of contiguous establishments
shall be clearly defined and fixed, and shall provide adequate dimension to allow the safe and sanitary practice of any
one or a combination of the defined practices of cosmetology or barber-styling for all stations that may be operated in
that area. ( )

f. The holder of the primary establishment license is responsible for complying with the safety and
disinfection requirements and all other applicable statutes and rules for the designated licensed area of the primary
establishment, including areas that are cooperatively or jointly used as “common areas” such as shampoo bowls,
restrooms, entrance or reception areas. ( )

02. Contiguous Establishment License. A contiguous establishment license may be issued and
annually renewed only under the following conditions: ( )

a. Application for establishment license shall be made on forms furnished by the Board. The fully
completed application form, with the required fees, must be submitted to the Board and a license issued prior to the
opening or operation of any barber or cosmetology contiguous establishment; and ( )

b. The contiguous establishment is associated with a currently licensed primary establishment and a
holder of the primary establishment license provides proof that the primary shop is equipped to meet the safety and
disinfection requirements and rules of the Board; and ( )

c. The contiguous establishment shall only operate in the contiguous establishment designated areas
within the associated primary establishment. ( )

d. The holder of the contiguous establishment license will be responsible for complying with the
safety and disinfection requirements and all other applicable statutes and rules for the contiguous designated area
where it operates. ( )

03. Businesses Other Than a Licensed Establishment or Facility. Businesses other than one
licensed under Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, and living quarters shall be separate and apart. Home establishments
must provide a separate outside entrance dlrectly into the establishment and substantial partitions or walls shall
extend from the floor to not less than seven (7) feet high, separating the establishment from adjoining rooms used for

business or domestic purposes. All doors to an establishment from adjacent rooms shall be closed. ( )
04. Conditions for Issuance. No primary establishment license may be issued which includes or
overlaps all or any portion of an existing establishment license. ( )

326. ESTABLISHMENT CHANGES IN OWNERSHIP OR LOCATION.

Whenever a change of ownership or fixed location of an establishment occurs, an original license fee must be paid
and compliance with all rules concerning a new establishment must be met before a new license will be issued.
Establishment licenses are not transferable. ( )

01. Board Must Be Informed of All Changes. The Board must be informed in writing of any and all
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changes of ownership and location of establishments. ( )
02. Deletion of an Owner. Deletion of an owner in a multiple ownership may be effected by filing a
written statement with the Board signed by the person withdrawing and the remaining owner(s). ( )
03. Transfer of Ownership. If the transfer involves change of corporate structure or deleting one (1)
or more owners, a written notarized statement signed by all former owners as registered with the Board shall be
accepted. ( )
04. Addition of an Owner. Addition of an owner to a multiple ownership constitutes a change in
ownership and the requirements for a new establishment apply. ( )
05. Out of Business. Whenever any establishment ceases operation at the licensed location, the
owner(s) or authorized agent of the establishment shall notify the Board by submitting: ( )
a. A signed letter by the owner(s) or authorized agent advising that the establishment is out of
business; or ( )
b. The establishment license bearing the signature of the owner(s) or authorized agent and marked
out-of-business; or ( )
c. For a contiguous establishment license, a signed statement by the associated primary establishment
advising that the contiguous establishment is out of business. ( )
d. In the event that the Board has not been notified about the cessation of operations pursuant to this

rule and documentation or evidence has been obtained that an establishment has ceased operation at the licensed
location, the Board may cancel the establishment license upon a thirty (30) day written notice to the owner(s) or

authorized agent of the establishment. ( )
06. License Status. A new primary establishment license will not be issued for any location that is
currently licensed as a primary establishment at the time of application. ( )

327. RETAIL COSMETICS DEALER LICENSE.

The Board may grant a retail cosmetic dealer license to allow the application of cosmetic products to customers’ faces
in connection with the sale of the products. An applicant for a retail cosmetic dealer license must complete an
application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pay the required fee, and meet the following requirements:

« )

01. Requirements. All retail cosmetic dealers shall provide an area within the business premises for
disinfection and storage of equipment and supplies necessary to perform any cosmetic application services provided.
The business premises must have: ( )
a. Access to hot and cold running water; ( )

b. Access to restroom facilities; ( )

c. Disinfectants, as defined in these rules; ( )

d. Single-use samples, wipes, spatulas or other dispensing techniques designed to prevent
contamination of the cosmetic product; and ( )
e. First-aid kit. ( )

02. Change in Ownership or Location. Licenses are not transferable. Whenever a change of
ownership or location of a facility occurs, a new application for a facility license must be submitted together with the
required fee to the Board, and all the facility requirements must be met. ( )
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03. Cessation of Operation. Whenever any facility ceases operation at the licensed location, the
owner(s) shall notify the Board in writing that the facility is out of business and the facility license shall be submitted
to the Bureau. /n the event that the Board has not been notified about the cessation of operations pursuant to this rule
and documentation or evidence has been obtained that the facility has ceased operation at the licensed location, the
Board may cancel the facility license upon a thirty (30) day written notice to the owner(s) or authorized agent of the
facility. ( )

328. RETAIL THERMAL STYLING EQUIPMENT DEALER REGISTRATION.
The Board may grant a registration as a retail thermal styling equipment dealer to an applicant who completes an
application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pay the required fee, and meet the following requirements:

C )

01. Training. The dealer is responsible to train all employees on the proper and safe use of the thermal
styling equipment and all disinfection related to the demonstration of the equipment prior to permitting an employee’s
use of the equipment on customers. ( )

02. Requirements. All retail thermal styling equipment dealers shall provide the equipment and
supplies necessary to perform any demonstration of the thermal styling equipment. The area where the demonstration
is being performed must have: ( )

a. Disinfectants, as defined in these rules; and ( )
b. First-aid kit. ( )

03. Change in Ownership or Location. Registrations are not transferable. Whenever a change of
ownership or location of a facility occurs, a new application for a registration must be submitted together with the
required fee to the Board, and all the facility requirements must be met. ( )

04. Cessation of Operation. Whenever any facility ceases operation at the licensed location, the
owner(s) shall notify the Board in writing that the facility is out of business and the registration shall be submitted to
the Bureau. In the event that the Board has not been notified about the cessation of operations pursuant to this rule
and documentation or evidence has been obtained that the facility has ceased operation at the registered location, the
Board may cancel the facility registration upon a thirty (30) day written notice to the owner(s) or authorized agent of
the facility. ( )

329. - 399. (RESERVED)

400. RENEWAL OR EXPIRATION OF LICENSE.

A licensee must renew his/her/its license annually as set forth in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code, and may reinstate his/
her/its license within five (5) years after expiration as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. ( )
401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL REQUIREMENTS.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure to operate a barber or cosmetology school who completes
an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and who meets the following

requirements: ( )
01. Premises. The premises of a barber or cosmetology school must: ( )
a. Possess sufficient apparatus and equipment for the proper and full teaching of all subjects or its

curriculum. Each barber school must have at least one (1) barber chair that shall be of such construction that it may
be readily cleaned and it shall be mechanically workable and in good working order. Space between barber chairs and
the workstand or wall shall be adequate so that no student will be hampered in the performance of his/her work.

( )
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b. Provide adequate space, ventilation, lighting, and facilities to safely accommodate all students,

instructors, and customers. ( )

c. Have classroom and training areas equipped with sufficient seating capacity and work stations for

all enrolled students. ( )
d. Provide a restroom with a sink with hot and cold running water and approved drainage system.

)

02. Faculty or Instructors. A school must be under the direct, personal supervision at all times of a

licensed cosmetology instructor if a cosmetology school or a licensed barber or barber-stylist instructor if a barber
school and must employ and maintain a licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students or fraction thereof, with an

instructor trainee counting as an instructor for the purposes of the student-instructor ratio. ( )
a. An instructor shall teach only those subject areas for which the instructor /as been issued a license
by the Board to practice. ( )
b. Instructors must devote their time during school or class hours to instructing students rather than
engaging in occupational practice. ( )
03. Operations. A barber or cosmetology school must: ( )
a. Maintain regular class and instruction hours, establish grades and hold monthly examinations. This
information will be transferred to the record of instruction; ( )
b. Prescribe a school term for training in all aspects of the practice being taught; and ( )
c. Offer school hours for the purpose of instruction on at least five (5) days per week. ( )
04. Curriculum. A school must submit a curriculum and course catalog that covers the subjects, as set

forth in Section 54-5815(1)(g), Idaho Code, relating to the profession for which the school is seeking approval to
teach. Any proposed changes to a curriculum or catalog must be approved by the Board. The submission must

identify what specific changes are being made to the curriculum. ( )
05. Clinical Work. Each school shall advertise to the public that it is a school and that all work is done
by students. The clinic area shall not have connecting entrances to establishments or businesses other than barber or
cosmetology schools. ( )
a. Students shall not be permitted to render any clinical service to patrons until students have
completed at least five percent (5%) of the required hours of instruction. ( )
b. All clinical work shall be performed under the supervision of a licensed instructor. ( )
c. Clinical work shall be recorded on the record of instruction for each month. ( )
06. Outside School Activities. Schools may credit a student with a maximum of thirty (30) hours
toward the required hours of instruction for a course of instruction for activities that take place outside the school.
These hours must be approved by the instructor. ( )
07. Student Records To be Maintained by the School. A school must maintain the following records
for each enrolled student: ( )
a. Proof of age showing student is no less than sixteen and one-half (16 '2) years of age; ( )
b. Proof of showing student has satisfactorily completed two (2) years of high school (tenth grade) or
having equivalent education as evidenced in a manner identified in Subsection 300.02 of these rules; ( )
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c. Daily attendance record for each student; ( )
d. Record of instruction for each student showing the classroom hours, the clinical hours, and
operations done for each month in which the student is enrolled; and ( )
e. When a student’s course of instruction has been completed or terminated, the completed operations,
and number of hours of instruction are to be recorded by the school on the record of instruction form. This form is to
be provided to the student and maintained by the school for five (5) years from completion or termination.  ( )
08. Change in Ownership or Location. ( )
a. Licenses are not transferable. ( )
b. A new application must be submitted to the Board and a license issued for a new or additional
location or a change of ownership of an existing school. ( )
09. Cessation of School. When a school ceases to operate as a school, the school must provide each
enrolled student his/her records of instruction at or before the cessation of operations. ( )

501. RULES FOR COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS APPROVED TO TEACH ELECTROLOGY.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant to operate an electrology school to an applicant who completes an
application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following requirements:

)

01. Premises. Schools provide a minimum of three hundred (300) square feet of designated floor space

per six (6) students. ( )
02. Required Equipment. Each school shall have the following equipment, which is considered the
minimum equipment necessary for the proper instruction of students. This amount of equipment is based on six (6)
students. ( )
a. Work stations equal to seventy-five percent (75%) of total enrollment; ( )

b. Two (2) brands of machines, one (1) of which has three (3) method capability: Galvanic,
Thermolysis, and Blend; )
c. Two (2) treatment tables and adjustable technician chairs; ( )

d. Two (2) swing arm lamps with magnifying lens; ( )

e. Two (2) magnifying glasses; ( )

f. Tweezers; ( )

g. One (1) basin with approved water source; ( )

h. Necessary sanitation equipment for implements; and ( )

i. Closed storage cabinet. ( )

03. Student Supplies. Each student is to be issued a basic kit containing two (2) tweezers, disposable

probes, eye shields, disposable gloves, before treatment solution, after treatment lotion, hair pins or clips, and one (1)
sharps container. ( )
04. Faculty or Instructors. A school must be under the direct, personal supervision at all times of one

(1) licensed electrologist instructor for every six (6) students or portion thereof being trained therein. ( )
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05. Curriculum. A school must submit a curriculum and course catalog that covers the subjects
relating to electrology as set forth in Section 54-5815(1)(g)(iv), Idaho Code. Any changes to a curriculum or catalog
must be approved by the Board prior to implementing the proposed changes. The submission must identify what

specific changes are being made to the curriculum. ( )
06. Clinical Work. A cosmetology school approved to teach electrology must meet the same

requirements regarding clinical work as a school of cosmetology as set forth in Subsection 500.05 of these rules.
«C )

07. Student Records To be Maintained by the School. Records required of cosmetology schools
approved to teach electrology shall be maintained in accordance with the records required for schools of cosmetology

as set forth in Subsection 500.06 of these rules. ( )
08. Change in Ownership or Location. ( )
a. Licenses are not transferable. ( )
b. A new application must be submitted to the Board and a license issued for a new or additional
location or a change of ownership of an existing school. ( )
09. Cessation of School. When a school ceases to operate as a school, the school must provide each
enrolled student his/her records of instruction at or before the cessation of operations. ( )

502. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR COURSES OF INSTRUCTION.
A licensed school must maintain the following educational program standards for each course of instruction for

which it is approved to teach. ( )
01. Barber. Coursework must include courses in the following content areas: ( )
a. Haircut; ( )
b. Blow dry (does not include haircut); C )
c. Shampoo; ( )
d. Shave and Beard Trim; ( )
e. Facial; ( )
f. Hair and Scalp Treatment; ( )
g. Curling Iron; and ( )
h. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
02. Barber-Stylist. Coursework must include courses in the following content areas: ( )
a. Haircut; ( )
b. Style/blow dry (does not include haircut); ( )
c. Shampoo; ( )
d. Permanent Wave; ( )
e. Shave and Beard Trim; ( )
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f. Facial; ( )
g. Color/Bleach/Rinse; ( )
h. Hair and Scalp Treatment; ( )
i Curling Iron; and ( )
je Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
03. Cosmetology. A record of the operations completed by each student shall be maintained and
include the following: ( )

a.
braiding/free styli

Creative hair styling which shall include hair styles, wet sets/styling, thermal styles, fingerwaving,

ng; (
b. Scalp Treatments; ( )
c. Permanent Waves (All Methods); ( )
d. Haircutting/shaping which shall include scissor and razor/clipper; ( )
e. Bleaching; ( )
f. Tinting; ( )
g. Semi Permanent/Temporary Color; ( )
h. Frosting/Highlights; ( )
i. Facials; ( )
j- Makeup Application; ( )
k. Waxing; ( )
L Manicures which shall include plain and oil; ( )
m. Pedicures ( )
n. Artificial Nails; and ( )
0. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
04. Esthetics. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include the
following: ( )
a. Massage and manipulation application of lotions, creams, tonics, solutions, skin care masks, and
similar cosmetic preparations and their effects on the skin and body; ( )
b. Cleansing, steaming, exfoliation, and extraction procedures; ( )
c. Cosmetics and makeup application; ( )
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d. Machine Application: use of mechanical or electrical equipment; ( )
e. Bacteriology, disinfection and sterilization, and safety precautions; ( )
f. Human anatomy, physiology and histology of skin care; ( )
g. Follicle growth cycle and hair removal procedures; ( )
h. Skin analysis, conditions, disorders, and diseases; and ( )
i Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
05. Nail Technology. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and
include the following: ( )
a. Form nails; ( )
b. Finished tips; ( )
c. Wraps and mends; ( )
d. Basic manicures and pedicures; and ( )
e. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
06. Haircutter. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include
the following: ( )
a. Haircutting and Hair shaping; ( )
b. Creative hair styling which shall include hair styles, wet sets/styling, thermal styles, fingerwaving,
braiding/free styling; ( )
c. Use of cutting implements; ( )
d. Basic shampooing and conditioning; and ( )
e. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
07. Electrology. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include
the following: ( )
a. Bacteriology, disinfection and sterilization, safety precautions, anatomy, and physiology;  ( )
b. Electricity which shall include the nature of electrical current, principles of operating electrical
devices and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment; ( )
c. Electrolysis which shall include the use and study of galvanic current; ( )
d. Thermolysis, including the use and study of high frequency current, automatic and manual; ( )
e. A combination of high frequency and galvanic currents; ( )
f. The study and cause of hypertrichosis; and ( )
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g. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of
instruction. ( )
08. Instructor. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include the
following: ( )
a. Lesson planning; ( )
b. Audio-Visual aid preparation; ( )
c. Theory class; ( )
d. Practical demonstrations; ( )
e. Testing and evaluation theory; ( )
f. Testing and evaluation; and ( )
g. Clinic floor supervision. ( )

503. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. APPRENTICE REGISTRATION AND APPRENTICESHIPS.

The Board may issue a registration as an apprentice to allow a person to engage in the practice of cosmetology, nail
technology, esthetics, electrology, or makeup artistry while completing the required instructional hours for a license
or certificate. An apprentice may only practice under direct supervision as provided below. ( )

01. Application and Qualifications. An applicant must submit a completed application on a form
approved by the Board, pay the required fee, and meet the following qualifications: ( )

a. Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 %) years of age; ( )

b. Have successfully completed at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an equivalent
education as determined by the board as evidenced in a manner identified in Subsection 300.02 of these rules; ( )

c. Have certification from the establishment that the applicant is enrolled as an apprentice in the
establishment; ( )
d. Identify the names and license numbers of the licensed cosmetologists, electrologists, estheticians,
and nail technicians employed in the establishment in which the applicant will serve as an apprentice; and ( )
e. Identify the name(s) and license number(s) of the licensed cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or
nail technology instructor who will instruct the applicant during the apprenticeship. ( )
02. Instruction. The instructor for any apprenticeship must submit to the Board a curriculum for the

entire course of apprenticeship instruction. The Board must approve the curriculum prior to the beginning of
instruction. The curriculum must cover the subjects relating to the profession for which the apprentice is pursuing

licensure as set forth in Section 54-5815(1)(g), Idaho Code. ( )

03. Supervision. There must be at least one (1) licensed instructor and one (1) separate supervising
licensee for each apprentice in the establishment at all times when an apprentice is being trained, except that an
electrology apprentice may be supervised solely by the electrology instructor. ( )

a. The instructor must be licensed to teach the profession for which the registrant is pursuing licensure
and the supervising licensee must be licensed to practice the profession for which the apprentice is pursuing
licensure. ( )
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b. An instructor may not train more than three (3) currently registered apprentices, except that an
electrology instructor may not train more than one (1) currently registered electrology apprentice. ( )

c. An establishment may not have more than six (6) currently registered apprentices, unless otherwise
approved by the Board. ( )

d. An establishment or an instructor under current discipline may not supervise an apprentice. ( )

e. An apprentice shall not be permitted to render any clinical service to patrons until the apprentice
has completed at least five percent (5%) of the required hours of instruction. ( )

04. Recordkeeping. Establishments employing an apprentice shall keep a daily work record of the
attendance of the apprentice and a record of the types of instruction given and the work performed by the apprentice
as set forth below. ( )

a. An apprentice must be given monthly progress records, and the monthly record shall be signed and
dated by the apprentice and the instructor. The establishment shall maintain the records for a period of five (5) years
following completion or termination of the apprentice instruction. ( )

b. When an apprentice’s course of instruction has been completed or terminated, the completed
operations and number of hours of instruction are to be recorded by the establishment on the Record of Instruction
Form. The instructor must submit the Record of Instruction to the Board within fourteen (14) days of the completion
of the apprenticeship. The establishment must maintain a copy of the Record of Instruction for a period of five (5)

years from completion or termination date. ( )
c. Attendance, instruction, and work records must be kept in the establishment in which the
apprentice is employed. ( )
d. Apprenticeship records are subject to inspection by the Board at any time. ( )
05. Termination of Registration. A registration as an apprentice is valid from the date of issuance
until the apprentice is no longer enrolled as an apprentice in the establishment identified on the apprentice’s
application. ( )
a. When an apprentice discontinues a course of study, the establishment must complete a Record of

Instruction Form with the total number of hours worked and the types of instruction given to the apprentice. The
Record of Instruction Form must be submitted to the Board within thirty (30) days of the discontinuance of the
apprenticeship. If an apprentice discontinues a course of instruction and does not transfer to another salon within
sixty (60) days, the apprentice registration is automatically canceled and is to be submitted to the Board along with
the Record of Instruction. ( )

b. When an establishment where apprentices are being trained ceases operation as an establishment,
the establishment must submit the records of instruction for each apprentice to the Board within thirty (30) days.
)

c. An apprentice who has discontinued a course of study must apply for and be granted a new
registration under Subsection 550.01 of these rules, prior to resuming instruction. ( )

06. Out of State Apprenticeship. An applicant who has received instruction as an apprentice in
another state must file with the Board a copy of the record of instruction from the out of state apprenticeship. For
purposes of this section, the record of instruction will be a statement which gives detailed information regarding
operations and hours of instruction, and which is to be verified by the licensing agency or instructor(s) in the state in
which the instruction was obtained. ( )

551. -- 699. (RESERVED)

H — BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 36 2019 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2801-1802
Rules of the Barber & Cosmetology Services Licensing Board PENDING FEE RULE

700. SCOPE OF PRACTICE.
All licensees shall practice in a competent manner consistent with their level of education, training, and experience.

)
701. -- 709. (RESERVED)

710. PRACTICE OUTSIDE OF A LICENSED ESTABLISHMENT.

All licensees and certificants must practice in a place or establishment that is licensed for such practice, except as
provided for in Section 54-5804, Idaho Code, or when the services provided by the licensee or certificant are limited
to the following: ( )

01. Hair Styling. Arranging, styling, dressing of the hair. Trimming of the hair may be performed
when it is incidental to the arranging, styling, or dressing of the hair, including facial hair such as beards, mustaches,

and eyebrows. ( )
02. Coloring. Wash out topical color, tinted powder, spray or chalk to temporarily camouflage the hair.
03. Extensions. Application of extensions with non-permanent adhesive or thread, such as clip in hair,
halos, wig and toupees. ( )
04. Temporary Hair Removal. Tweezing of hairs on the face and neck. ( )
0s. Cleansing. Cleansing of the face for the limited purpose of removing makeup and debris and
cosmetic preparations for the application of makeup. ( )
06. Nail Services. Application of nail polish by painting without the use of a lamp or light, removal of
polish that is incidental to the painting of the nail, and shaping of the nail with a single-use emery board. ( )
07. Makeup Application. Application of makeup. ( )
08. Safety and Disinfection. All licensees and certificants must comply with the safety and
disinfection rules applicable to the services being performed, regardless of the location where the services are
performed. ( )

711. -- 799. (RESERVED)

800. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.
A licensee shall not engage in unprofessional conduct in the course of his/her practice. Unprofessional conduct is
conduct which has endangered or is likely to endanger the health, welfare, or safety of the public and includes, but is

not limited to, the following: ( )
01. Use of MMA. Use of Methyl Methacrylate acid (MMA); ( )
02. Use of Skin Cutting Instruments. Use of skin cutting instruments, including razor-type callus
shavers, credo blades, microplane, or other rasps or graters designed to remove corns or calluses by cutting below the
skin surface. The presence of such instruments creates a presumption of the instrument's use; ( )
03. Use of UV Sterilizers. Use of ultraviolet (UV) sterilizers for disinfection. This does not prohibit
the use of ultraviolet dryers or lamps used to dry or cure nail products; ( )
04. Use of Roll-on Wax. Use of roll-on wax, except that single-use roll-on wax cartridges are
acceptable when they are disposed of immediately after use; ( )
05. Double-Dipping. Placing an item or instrument that has been used on a person into a wax pot or
other container that holds wax, a compound, solution, or other cosmetic preparation that will be used for more than
one (1) than patron. This prohibited practice is commonly referred to as double-dipping; ( )
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06. Reuse of Single-Use or Porous Items. Use of single-use or porous items on more than one (1)
patron. The presence of used single-use or porous items, which have not been disposed of, creates a presumption of
the item’s use or intended use on more than one patron. ( )

07. Apprentices. Failure to adequately supervise, instruct, or train an apprentice; ( )

08. Inspections and Investigations. Interference with an inspection or investigation conducted by or
on behalf of the Board, ( )

09. Disease Transmission Prevention. Performing a service on a patron who has an open sore or a
known contagious disease of a nature that may be transmitted by performing the procedure, unless the licensee takes
medically-approved measures to prevent transmission of the disease; or ( )

10. Practice Outside Scope of Training. Performing services or using machines or devices outside the
licensee’s area of training, expertise, competence, or scope of practice for the license held. ( )

801. - 849. (RESERVED)

850. INSPECTION OF ESTABLISHMENTS, SCHOOLS AND FACILITIES.

All establishments, schools, and facilities shall be subject to inspection by the Board or its agents during business
hours without notice to ensure the safe operation of each establishment, school, or facility and to ensure continued
compliance with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, and these rules. ( )

01. Form. The Board may adopt a form which identifies those general items that will be inspected and
a level of compliance necessary for issuance or renewal of a license and for which a failure to meet that level is
grounds for discipline. Violations of the Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, or these rules that are not listed on the form
but that are found during inspection are also grounds for discipline. ( )

02. Classification Card. Following an inspection, each establishment, school, and facility, except for
retail thermal styling equipment dealers, will receive classification as follows: 100%-90% = “A”; 89%—-80% = “B”;
79% and below = “C.” The “C” classification denotes an unacceptable level of compliance and a reinspection is
required. ( )

03. Reinspection. A facility, school, or establishment not found to be at an acceptable level of
compliance must make improvements within thirty (30) days. The Board may allow an establishment, school, or
facility to continue to operate during that period. The Board may take action prior to any reinspection when the
circumstances represent an immediate danger to the public health, safety, or welfare. ( )

851. SAFETY AND DISINFECTION FOR ESTABLISHMENTS AND SCHOOLS.

All establishments and schools must take every precaution to prevent the transfer of disease-causing pathogens
between people and comply with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. At a minimum the establishment or school must
meet the following requirements: ( )

01. Premises. Establishments and schools must be separated from living areas by substantial walls and/
or closable doors. All establishments and schools must be maintained in an orderly manner and shall be heated,
lighted, and ventilated so as to be safe and comfortable to the operators and patrons. Floors, walls, ceilings, furniture,
and all other fixtures shall be kept clean and in good repair at all times. ( )

02. Instrument Cleaning. All instruments and items used by operators shall be thoroughly cleaned
after each use and prior to disinfection. (

03. Instrument Disinfection or Sterilization. All instruments and items used by operators shall be
disinfected or sterilized after cleaning and prior to use on each patron, with a disinfectant or sterilant as defined in
these rules. All disinfectant must be mixed and changed according to the manufacturers’ instructions. Disinfection
methods such as immersion, sprays, and wipes may be used. Contact time listed on the disinfectant’s label must be
adhered to in all circumstances. Items or surfaces must remain completely immersed in disinfectant, or visibly wet if
using sprays or wipes, for the full amount of contact time. ( )
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04. Single-Use and Porous Instruments. Instruments and items that are intended for single use or that
are porous shall be immediately disposed of in a waste container after each use on a patron or given to the patron to take
home for personal use, provided that the instruments may not be brought back to the establishment for future use. ()

05. Towels. Clean towels shall be used for each patron. Towels and linens that have been used must be
placed in a container that has vented sides to reduce the growth of pathogens, and the container must be disinfected
on a weekly basis with a disinfectant and as directed on the disinfectant manufacturer’s label. When laundered,
towels and linens must be dried until hot to the touch. A clean paper or cloth neckband shall be used to provide a
barrier to infection which shall be maintained between each patron’s neck and all multi-use capes. Paper towels and

paper neckstrips shall be disposed of after one (1) use. ( )
06. Storage of Equipment. ( )
a. After towels, linens, and items or instruments, except for electrical instruments, are cleaned and
disinfected, they must be stored in clean, closed cabinets, drawers, or containers. ( )
b. After electrical instruments are cleaned and disinfected, they must be stored in a clean place and in
such a manner that the cord may not come into contact with portions of the instrument that are clean and disinfected
or other items that are cleaned or disinfected. ( )
c. Items that have been used, and are not single-use or porous items, must be kept in a closed, covered
container with solid sides that is clearly identified as containing used items. Containers for used items must be
disinfected on a daily basis. ( )
07. Dispensers. All solutions and compounds shall be clearly labeled, maintained, and dispensed in a
manner to prevent contamination of the unused portion. All single-use applicators used to dispense a solution or
compound shall be disposed of in a waste container after one (1) use. ( )
08. Waxes and Waxing Services. Paraffins, waxes and all other solutions or compounds shall be

covered and maintained free of any foreign contaminants. Only disinfected or unused, single-use items may be placed
into a container that holds wax or paraffins. Waxes and paraffins must be dispensed for use on a patron in the

following manner: ( )
a. Wax may be removed from a multi-use wax pot for use on a patron by one of the following
methods: ( )
i. Single-use spatula disposed of after a single dip/application; ( )
) ii. Disinfected plastic spatulas with one disinfected spatula used for each dip into the wax pot; or  (
iil. Placement of all wax needed for entire service in a single-use, disposable cup or a container that

can be properly cleaned and disinfected, such as a stainless steel bowl. The cup, any remaining wax, and all single-
use applicators must be immediately disposed of at the conclusion of the service. This is the only instance in which a

single applicator may be used for an entire service. ( )
b. Paraffin wax must be portioned out for each patron in a bag or other container, or dispensed in a
manner that prevents contamination of the unused supply. All portions used on a patron must be disposed of
immediately following use. ( )
09. Makeup Services. All makeup and makeup services must follow the requirements in Section 852
of these rules. ( )
10. Nail Services. A licensee must comply with the following disinfection procedures between every
patron: ( )
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a. All pedicure bowls, basins or tubs must be cleaned and disinfected prior to each use as follows: (
)
i. Empty pedicure bowl. ( )
ii. Remove all removable parts, including screens, foot plates, impellers and fans. ( )
1il. Clean removable parts with soap or detergent and water, rinse, and immerse parts in disinfectant
following manufacturer's directions for proper contact time. ( )
iv. Scrub bowl with soap or detergent and rinse with clean water. ( )
\ Replace removable cleaned and disinfected parts. ( )
vi. Fill bowl and add disinfectant to achieve proper concentration. ( )
Vii. Allow disinfectant solution to sit, or run through system for bowls with circulating water for the
manufacturer’s recommended contact time. ( )
Viil. Drain the tub, rinse and air dry or wipe dry with clean paper towel. ( )
b. Metal drill bits may be soaked in acetone to remove nail product. When removed from the acetone,
they must be cleaned using soap, water, and a brush, and then rinsed prior to immersion in disinfectant. Drill bits must
remain in disinfectant for the full contact time. ( )

11. Water Supply and Hand Washing. Water supplies shall be from an approved source. Sufficient
basins with hot and cold running water, approved drainage systems, soap and single-use towels shall be conveniently
located within the work area. Operators and students shall wash their hands with running water and soap prior to
providing service to any patron. When hand washing is not practicable, hand sanitizer of at least seventy percent
(70%) alcohol may be used. ( )

12. Restroom Facilities. Clean, adequate and convenient restroom facilities, located and accessible
from within the building where the shop or school is located, shall be available for use by operators and patrons. A
basin with hot and cold running water, approved drainage systems, soap and single-use towels shall be provided
within said facilities. All operators and students must wash their hands with running water and soap and then dry their
hands with a single-use towel after using the restroom. ( )

13. Safety. Clearly identifiable first-aid kit must be readily accessible on the premises. No animals are
allowed in shops or schools except service dogs trained to do work or perform tasks for persons with disabilities. The
definition of service animals and disabilities shall be as set forth in U.S. Department of Justice Regulations at 28 C.F.
R. Section 36.104 effective August 11, 2016. ( )

14. Licenses and Classification Cards. All establishments and schools must be licensed prior to their
operation and must be under the direct supervision of a licensed operator. A current establishment and/or school
license, valid operator license(s), a copy of these safety and disinfection rules, and a valid classification card shall be
conspicuously displayed in the work area of each establishment or school for the information of operators, Board
agents, and the public. «C )

852. SAFETY AND DISINFECTION FOR RETAIL COSMETICS DEALER FACILITIES AND
MAKEOVER OR GLAMOUR PHOTOGRAPHY BUSINESSES.

All retail cosmetic dealers and makeover or glamour photography businesses must take every precaution to prevent
the transfer of disease-causing pathogens between people and must comply with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. At
a minimum the dealer or business must meet the following requirements: ( )

01. Cake, Loose, or Liquid Makeup. All makeup that comes in a cake, loose, or liquid form, must be
transferred to a palette with a disinfected or single-use spatula for use with a single customer and in a manner to
prevent any contamination. Any excess make-up must be disposed of immediately following use on or by a customer.
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«C )
02. Makeup Pencils. Make-up pencils that require a sharpener must be sharpened prior to each use.

Sharpeners must be cleaned and disinfected in accordance with Subsections 851.02 and 851.03 of these rules.
Eyeliner that does not require a sharpener must have a portion transferred to a palette with a disinfected or single-use

spatula for use on a single customer. ( )
03. Mascara. Single-use applicators must be used in the application of mascara. ( )
04. Brushes and Implements. All implements and applicators, including brushes, that are used on
customers or made available to be used by customers must be stored, cleaned, and disinfected or disposed of in
accordance with Section 851 of these rules. ( )
05. Displays. All make-up should be covered when not in use. When make-up displays are accessible
to the public, single-use applicators for all make-up must be readily available. ( )
06. Water Supply and Restroom Facilities. The facility or business must meet the requirements in
Subsections 851.11 and 851.12 of these rules. ( )
07. First-aid Kit. The facility or business must have a clearly identifiable first-aid kit readily
accessible on the premises. ( )
08. Licenses and Classification Card. All retail cosmetics dealers and glamour or makeover

photography businesses must be licensed prior to their operation. A current license, a copy of these safety and
disinfection rules, and a valid classification card shall be conspicuously displayed in the work area of each facility for
the information of employees, Board agents, and the public. ( )

853. SAFETY AND DISINFECTION FOR RETAIL THERMAL STYLING DEALER FACILITIES.
All retail thermal styling equipment dealers must take every precaution to prevent the transfer of disease-causing
pathogens between people and must comply with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. At a minimum the dealer must

meet the following requirements: ( )
01. Cleaning, Disinfection, and Storage. All implements and electrical equipment used on a customer
must be cleaned, disinfected, and stored in accordance with Subsections 851.02, 851.03, 851.04, and 851.06 of these
rules. C )
02. First-aid Kit. The facility or business must have a clearly identifiable first-aid kit readily
accessible on the premises. ( )
03. Registration and Classification Card. All retail thermal styling equipment dealers must be

registered prior to their operation. A current registration, a copy of these safety and disinfection rules, and a valid
classification card shall be conspicuously displayed in the work area of each facility for the information of
employees, Board agents, and the public. ( )

854. -- 999, (RESERVED)
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