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IDAPA 13 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME
13.01.02 – RULES GOVERNING HUNTER EDUCATION AND MENTORED HUNTING

DOCKET NO. 13-0102-1601

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2017 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 36-103, 36-104, and 36-412, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending fee 
rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The rules implement a mandatory trapping education program for trappers who purchased their first trapping 
license on or after July 1, 2011, broadens the description of mandatory education, establishes fees for mandatory 
hunter, archery, and trapping education, integrates reference to existing archery education pursuant to Sections 36- 
411 and 36-412, Idaho Code, and deletes an obsolete rule about practical handling and shooting of firearms 
requirement for hunter education certification.

There are no changes to the pending fee rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of 
the proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2016 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 16-10, pages 375 to 377.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: Pursuant to 
Section 36-412, Idaho Code, the fee charged to each student enrolling in Hunter Education, Archery Education, or 
Trapper Education Program will be eight dollars ($8.00).

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There will be no negative fiscal impact on the state general fund.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Brenda Beckley, (208) 287-2884.

DATED this 21st day of November, 2016.

Sharon W. Kiefer, Deputy Director 
Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game
600 S. Walnut Street
P.O. Box 25
Boise, Idaho 83707
Tel: (208) 334-3771 
Fax: (208) 334-4885
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-1601
Rules Governing Hunter Education and Mentored Hunting PENDING FEE RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section(s) 36-103, 36-104, and 36-
412, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 19, 2016.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The rules implement a mandatory trapping education program for trappers who purchased their first trapping 
license on or after July 1, 2011, broadens the description of mandatory education, establishes fees for mandatory 
hunter, archery, and trapping education, integrates reference to existing archery education pursuant to Sections 36-
411 and 36-412, Idaho Code, and deletes an obsolete rule about practical handling and shooting of firearms 
requirement for hunter education certification.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: Pursuant to 
Section 36-412, Idaho Code, the fee charged to each student enrolling in Hunter Education, Archery Education, or 
Trapper Education Program will be eight dollars ($8.00).

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: There 
will be no negative fiscal impact on the state general fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because consensus was not achieved for similar rules for trapping education negotiated in 2015 so affected 
interests were not likely to reach consensus in 2016.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Brenda Beckley, (208) 287-2884. Anyone may submit 
written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and 
must be delivered on or before October 26, 2016.

DATED this 17th day of August, 2016.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-1601
Rules Governing Hunter Education and Mentored Hunting PENDING FEE RULE
IDAPA 13
TITLE 01

CHAPTER 02

13.01.02 - RULES GOVERNING HUNTER MANDATORY EDUCATION AND MENTORED HUNTING

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The Idaho Fish and Game Commission is authorized under Sections 36-103, 36-104(b) and 36-412, Idaho Code, to 
adopt rules concerning education programs in hunting, trapping, and archery. The Idaho Fish and Game Commission 
is authorized to adopt rules concerning a mentored hunting program under Idaho Code Section 36-1508(b).

(4-4-13)(        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited in full as IDAPA 13.01.02.000, et seq., Rules of the Idaho Fish and 
Game Commission, IDAPA 13.01.02, “Rules Governing Hunter Mandatory Education and Mentored Hunting.”

(4-4-13)(        )

02. Scope. These rules establish criteria for education programs in hunting, trapping, and archery, and 
for mentored hunting. (4-4-13)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

100. HUNTER AND ARCHERY EDUCATION.

01. Mandatory Hunter and Archery Education Programs. All students being certified under this 
program must have successfully completed at least ten (10) hours of instruction in firearms or archery safety, wildlife 
management, wildlife law, hunter ethics, first aid/survival, plus practical experience in the handling and shooting of 
firearms or archery equipment. This instruction may be completed through classroom study, home study, an on-line 
computer course, or other approved methods. The Department of Fish and Game shall manage the Hunter Education 
Program pursuant to the Idaho Hunter Education Policy and Procedure Manual. Only certificates for courses which 
meet or exceed the standards of the Idaho course are acceptable from other states or countries. (4-7-11)(        )

02. Fees. A fee as established by Section 36-412(c), Idaho Code, of eight dollars ($8.00) shall be 
charged each student enrolling in the Hunter or Archery Education Program. (3-20-04)(        )

03. Parent to Attend Shooting Clinic with Student. For students under the age of twelve (12), a 
parent, legal guardian or other adult designated by the parent or legal guardian shall attend any Hunter Education 
Shooting Clinic with the student. Preferably, the adult attending the Shooting Clinic exercise should be the same adult 
who will accompany the student into the field while hunting. (4-11-15)

04. Exemption from Practical Handling and Shooting of Firearms Requirement. An active, former, 
or retired member of the United States Armed Forces (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard) or an 
active, former or retired peace officer as defined by Section 19-5101(d), Idaho Code, may be exempted from the 
practical firearms handling and shooting requirement of the Mandatory Hunter Education Program if they received 
training in firearms handling and shooting. To qualify for the exemption the applicant must submit by mail or in 
person a signed affidavit provided by the Department, which certifies the applicant meets the criteria for exemption 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 13-0102-1601
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME Docket No. 13-0102-1601
Rules Governing Hunter Education and Mentored Hunting PENDING FEE RULE
due to training in the practical handling and shooting of firearms provided through either the Armed Forces or as a 
peace officer. (3-29-12)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

102. TRAPPER EDUCATION.

01. Mandatory Trapper Education Program. All persons who purchased their first Idaho trapping 
license on or after July 1, 2011, must be certified as having successfully completed Department of Fish and Game 
trapper education, or provide proof that such person holds the equivalent of such a certificate obtained either in Idaho 
or from an authorized agency or association in another state or country. Persons being certified in Department of Fish 
and Game trapper education must have successfully completed instruction including safe trapping methods and rules, 
non-target species avoidance techniques, wildlife identification, and good conduct and respect for the rights and 
property of others. Persons who have successfully completed wolf trapping education in Idaho or in another state or 
country are not exempt from certification as having successfully completed trapper education. (        )

02. Fee. A fee of eight dollars ($8.00) shall be charged each student enrolling in the Trapper Education 
Program. (        )

03. Effective Date. On and after July 1, 2018, no person who purchased their first Idaho trapping 
license on or after July 1, 2011 shall be issued a trapping license unless that person presents a certificate of 
completion in trapper education issued by the Department of Fish and Game or presents proof of equivalent 
certification obtained in Idaho or from an authorized agency or association in another state or country. (        )

04. Exemption. Persons who are acting pursuant to Section 36-1107, Idaho Code, are exempt from the 
provisions of IDAPA 13.01.02.102. (        )

1023. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 20 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS
20.03.16 – RULES GOVERNING OIL AND GAS LEASING ON IDAHO STATE LANDS

DOCKET NO. 20-0316-1601

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2017 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become 
final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being 
imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The pending fee rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution unless the rule is rejected.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Title 47, Chapter 8, Section 47-802, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: 

• Section 050.04 of IDAPA 20.03.16 identifies a setback of 200 feet from a residence for oil and gas wells, 
whereas, IDAPA 20.07.02 – Rules Governing the Conservation of Oil and Natural Gas in the State of Idaho 
identifies a 300 foot setback. To resolve the inconsistency, Section 050.04.04 has been eliminated from 
IDAPA 20.03.16 in the Pending Rule and the Department will use IDAPA 20.07.02 to establish a minimum 
setback for residences and then implement more stringent setback distances through lease stipulations, when 
appropriate, on a lease by lease basis.

• Section 050.08 contains a typographical error. The Department has changed the word “regarding” in the Pro-
posed rule with “regrading” in the Pending rule.

• The Attorney General’s office determined that IDAPA 20.03.16.103 – Public Records is in conflict with the 
Public Records Law and recommended that this section of the rule be deleted in its entirety. It is being 
removed in this Pending rule.

The text of the pending fee rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those 
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The original text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 5, 2016 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 16-10, page 521.

FEE SUMMARY: The following fee increases reflect cost recovery levels for administrative efforts on behalf of the 
Department of Lands and are in line with other oil and gas producing states in the western United States. The existing 
fees are at 1988 dollar levels. Title 58, Chapter 1, Section 58-127, Idaho Code, and Title 47, Chapter 8, Sections 47-
801, 47-802, 47-805, and 47-807, Idaho Code, authorize the Department to issue oil and gas leases and establish fees.

The existing application/nomination fee for lease tracts is $25. The Department is proposing raising the 
application/nomination fee to $250 per lease tract, which is the current application fee for all other leasing 
applications on state endowment trust lands (as approved by the Land Board). If approved this would result in a 
positive impact on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues. The number of lease tracts nominated per year has 
been highly variable during the last 10 years, the average being approximately 20-40 lease tracts per year, with one 
year including more than 200.

The existing rental rate per acre for oil and gas leases is $1.00 per acre annually. The Department is proposing 
raising the rental rate to $3.00 per acre annually, consistent with other western oil and gas producing states. The 
Department is also proposing a minimum annual rental of $250.00 to avoid the issuance of leases with unavoidably 
small acreages that would otherwise yield a rental rate that would cost more to administer than the revenue returned. 
This increase in rent would result in a positive impact on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues. The 
Department currently leases approximately 70,000 acres for oil and gas. The increase in revenue would slowly be 
realized as oil and gas leases carrying the $1.00 per acre rental rate expire over the next 10 years, subjecting the leases 
to the new rental rate (if approved).
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0316-1601
Rules Governing Oil & Gas Leasing on Idaho State Lands PENDING FEE RULE
The existing administrative fee for assignments is $1.00 per document. The Department is proposing raising the 
assignment fee to $100.00 in order to achieve cost recovery for processing. This increase in revenue would result in a 
positive impact on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues. Request for lease assignments historically have 
been highly variable, with only seven lease assignments in the last three years.

The existing rule language for shut-in oil and gas wells (wells suspended from production at the request of the 
operator and subject to approval by the Director) does not identify a rental rate associated with the shut-in period. The 
Department is proposing a doubling of the existing annual rental rate in the lease for the shut-in fee which is 
consistent with other western oil and gas producing states and would provide revenue to the endowed beneficiary that 
would otherwise be generated through royalty payments. This increase in revenue would result in a positive impact 
on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues.

FISCAL IMPACT: This Proposed rule will have no impact, negative or positive, on the General Fund because the 
oil and gas leasing program impacts only Dedicated (Earnings Reserve) Funds. The proposed fee increases (described 
above in the Fee Summary) will result in incremental increases in Dedicated Fund revenues, with the actual increases 
dependent on future oil and gas activities initiated by the industry.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee 
rule, contact Mike Murphy (208) 334-0200 ext. 0290.

DATED this 18th of November 2016

Mike Murphy, Bureau Chief - Endowment Leasing
Idaho Department of Lands
300 N. 6th Street, Suite 103
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0050
Phone: (208) 334-0290
Fax: (208) 334-5342

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Idaho Code Title 47, Chapter 8, 
Section 47-802.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as follows: 

The hearing site will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

Thursday, October 13th, 2016 - 9:00 am

Idaho Department of Lands
300 N. 6th Street, Suite 103

Garnet West Room
Boise, ID 83702
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0316-1601
Rules Governing Oil & Gas Leasing on Idaho State Lands PENDING FEE RULE
DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule changes:
•  Clarify the lease nomination and lease auction process (including the option to use on-line auctions)
•  Allow Idaho Code Title 47, Chapter 8, Section 47-801 to determine the lease length and remove the redun-

dant language in the existing rule language
•  Improve lease area language to minimize unnecessary small acreage leases
•  Adjust the lease tract application/nomination fee, the annual lease rental rate per acre (and a minimum 

annual rental rate), the assignment fee, and the shut-in fee (see Fee Summary below) to current day cost 
recovery levels

•  Update definitions to current day terms
•  Adjust rule formatting to comply with current Administrative Rule standards and for general, non-substan-

tive housekeeping

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

The following fee increases reflect cost recovery levels for administrative efforts on behalf of the Department of 
Lands and are in line with other oil and gas producing states in the western United States. The existing fees are at 
1988 dollar levels. Idaho Code Title 58, Chapter 1, Section 58-127 and Idaho Code Title 47, Chapter 8, Sections 47-
801, 47-802, 47-805, and 47-807 authorize the Department to issue oil and gas leases and establish fees.

The existing application/nomination fee for lease tracts is $25. The Department is proposing raising the 
application/nomination fee to $250 per lease tract, which is the current application fee for all other leasing 
applications on state endowment trust lands (as approved by the Land Board). If approved this would result in a 
positive impact on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues. The number of lease tracts nominated per year has 
been highly variable during the last 10 years, the average being approximately 20-40 lease tracts per year, with one 
year including more than 200.

The existing rental rate per acre for oil and gas leases is $1.00 per acre annually. The Department is proposing 
raising the rental rate to $3.00 per acre annually, consistent with other western oil and gas producing states. The 
Department is also proposing a minimum annual rental of $250.00 to avoid the issuance of leases with unavoidably 
small acreages that would otherwise yield a rental rate that would cost more to administer than the revenue returned. 
This increase in rent would result in a positive impact on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues. The 
Department currently leases approximately 70,000 acres for oil and gas. The increase in revenue would slowly be 
realized as oil and gas leases carrying the $1.00 per acre rental rate expire over the next 10 years, subjecting the leases 
to the new rental rate (if approved).

The existing administrative fee for assignments is $1.00 per document. The Department is proposing raising the 
assignment fee to $100.00 in order to achieve cost recovery for processing. This increase in revenue would result in a 
positive impact on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues. Request for lease assignments historically have 
been highly variable yet there have been only six assignments in the last three years.

The existing rule language for shut-in oil and gas wells (wells suspended from production at the request of the 
operator and subject to approval by the Director) does not identify a rental rate associated with the shut-in period. The 
Department is proposing a doubling of the existing annual rental rate in the lease for the shut-in fee which is 
consistent with other western oil and gas producing states and would provide revenue to the endowed beneficiary that 
would otherwise be generated through royalty payments. This increase in revenue would result in a positive impact 
on Dedicated Fund (Earnings Reserve) revenues.

FISCAL IMPACT: This Proposed Rule will have no impact, negative or positive, on the General Fund because the 
oil and gas leasing program impacts only Dedicated (Earnings Reserve) Funds. The proposed fee increases (described 
above in the Fee Summary) will result in incremental increases in Dedicated Fund revenues, with the actual increases 
dependent on future oil and gas activities initiated by the industry.
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0316-1601
Rules Governing Oil & Gas Leasing on Idaho State Lands PENDING FEE RULE
NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 6, 2016 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 16-7 page 75.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: No documents are incorporated 
by reference in these rules.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Mike Murphy (208) 334-0200 ext. 0290.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 26, 2016.

DATED this 8th day of September, 2016.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are promulgated by the Idaho State Board of Land Commissioners pursuant to Title 47, Chapter 8 and 
Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, and are intended to satisfy the Board’s mandate (Idaho Constitution, Art. 9) to 
maximize return on state lands by encouraging leasing, production of oil and gas, prevention of waste, and protection 
of the oil, gas and other natural resources of state lands This Chapter is adopted under the legal authorities of 
Sections 58-104(1), 58-104(6), 58-104(9), 58-105, and 58-127, Idaho Code; Section 58-307, Idaho Code; Title 47, 
Chapter 7, Idaho Code; Title 47, Chapter 8, Idaho Code; and Title 67, Chapter 51, Idaho Code. (10-11-88)(        )

001. -- 002. (RESERVED)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules will be cited as IDAPA 20.03.16, “Rules Governing Oil and Gas Leasing on 
Idaho State Lands.” (        )

02. Scope. These rules apply to the exploration and extraction of oil and gas resources situated in state-
owned mineral lands. (        )

03. Other Laws. In addition to these rules, the lessee shall comply with all applicable federal, state and 
local laws, rules and regulations. The violation of any applicable law, rule or regulation shall constitute a breach of 
any lease issued in accordance with these rules. (        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
The Idaho Department of Lands maintains written interpretations of its rules which may include, but may not be 
limited to, written procedures manuals and operations manuals and other written guidance, which pertain to the 
interpretation of the rules of this chapter. Copies of interpretations, subject to the exemptions in Title 9, Chapter 3, 
Idaho Code, Sections 9-340A through 9-340H, are available for public inspection and copying at the Director’s office 
of the Idaho Department of Lands, 300 North 6th Street, Suite 103, Boise, Idaho. (        )

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 20-0316-1601
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0316-1601
Rules Governing Oil & Gas Leasing on Idaho State Lands PENDING FEE RULE
01. Appeal to Board. All decisions of the director are appealable to the Board. An aggrieved party 
desiring to take such an appeal shall, within thirty (30) days after notice of the director’s decision, file with the 
director a written notice of appeal setting forth the basis for the appeal. (10-11-88)

02. Hearing. The Board shall hear the appeal at the earliest practical time or in its discretion appoint a 
hearing officer to hear the appeal, within sixty (60) days after filing of the notice of appeal. The hearing officer will 
make findings and conclusions that the Board may accept, reject or modify. The decision of the Board after hearing or 
upon a ruling concerning the hearing officer’s findings and conclusions shall be final. (10-11-88)

03. Judicial Review. Judicial review of the final decision of the Board shall be in accord with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, by filing a petition in the district court in Ada 
County, or the county where the Board heard the appeal and made its final decision, within thirty (30) days after 
notice of the Board’s decision. Service of the Board’s decision may be by personal service or by certified mail to the 
lessee. (10-11-88)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Idaho Department of Lands is 300 North 6th Street, Suite 103, Boise, Idaho 
83702 and it is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except legal holidays. The mailing address is: 
Idaho Department of Lands, P.O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0050. The telephone number of the office is (208) 
334-0200 and the fax number is (208) 334-3698. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACTION COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 51, Idaho Code 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Board. The Idaho State Board of Land Commissioners or its authorized representative, or where 
appropriate, the state of Idaho. (10-11-88)

02. Commission. The Idaho Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. (10-11-88)

03. Collateral Surety Bond and Corporate Surety Bond. See Subsections 080.04.a. and 080.04.b.
(10-11-88)

04. Department. The Idaho Department of Lands, Boise office business address is 300 North 6th 
Street, Suite 103, Boise, Idaho 83720. (10-11-88)

05. Director. The director of the Idaho Department of Lands or his authorized representative.
(10-11-88)

06. Discretion. Exercising authority to make a decision, choice or judgment without being arbitrary, 
capricious or illegal. (10-11-88)

07. Exploration. The activities related to the search for oil and gas including without limitation aerial, 
geographical and geophysical surveys and studies, seismic work, core drilling and the drilling of test wells Activities 
related to the various geological and geophysical methods used to detect and determine the existence and extent of 
hydrocarbon deposits. (10-11-88)(        )

08. Final Board Approval. Approval of a lease occurs after the lease is signed by the Governor, the 
Secretary of State and the director on behalf of the Board after approval of the lease by a majority of the Board. All 
S - RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 11 2017 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0316-1601
Rules Governing Oil & Gas Leasing on Idaho State Lands PENDING FEE RULE
approved leases shall first be signed by the lessee and then by the above-entitled state officials. (10-11-88)

09. Lease. An oil and gas lease in accord with these rules A written agreement between the 
Department and a Person containing the terms and conditions upon which the Person will be authorized to use state 
lands. (10-11-88)(        )

10. Legal Subdivision. See Subsection 071.04. (10-11-88)

11. Lessee. The person to whom a lease has been issued and his successor in interest or assignee(s). 
More than one (1) person may be entered as an applicant on the application form but only one (1) person shall be 
designated in the application for lease or assignment as the lessee of record with sole responsibility for the lease under 
these rules. (10-11-88)

12. Lessor. The Board on behalf of the state of Idaho. (10-11-88)

13. Motorized Exploration Equipment. Seismic, stratigraphic, core or other drilling equipment, 
whether portable or vehicular, vibrator vehicles and other similar equipment Motorized exploration equipment 
means the equipment used in exploration which may appreciably disturb or damage the land or resources thereon as 
defined in Idaho Code 47-703A. (10-11-88)(        )

14. Oil and Gas. Oil, gas, casinghead gas, casinghead gasoline, all other hydrocarbons and other 
carbonaceous substances present in the earth and produced therefrom in a gaseous or liquid form and shall include 
sulfur and such other gaseous substances and elements as shall be produced in a gaseous or liquid form in 
association with or separate from oil and gas including carbon dioxide and helium, but shall not include coal, lignite, 
oil shale or similar hydrocarbons, or synthetic fuels derived therefrom. (10-11-88)

14. Natural Gas Plant Liquids. Natural Gas Plant Liquids means hydrocarbon compounds in raw gas 
that are separated as liquids at gas processing plants, fractionating plants, and cycling plants. Natural Gas Plant 
Liquids obtained include ethane, liquefied petroleum gases (propane and the butanes), and pentanes plus any heavier 
hydrocarbon compounds. Component products may be fractionated or mixed. (        )

15. Oil and Gas. Oil and gas means oil or gas or both. (        )

156. Person. (7-1-93)

a. An individual of legal age; (7-1-93)

b. Any firm, association or corporation that is qualified to do business in the state of Idaho; (7-1-93)

c. Or any public agency or governmental unit, including without limitation, municipalities.
(10-11-88)

167. Production in Paying Quantities. That gross income from oil and/or gas produced and saved 
(after deduction of taxes and royalty) that exceeds the cost of operation. (10-11-88)

178. State Lands. Lands, including the beds of navigable waters within Idaho, in which the title to 
mineral rights are owned by the state of Idaho and that are under the jurisdiction and control of the Board or any other 
state agency. (10-11-88)

19. Tract. Tract means an expanse of land representing the surface expression of the underlying 
mineral estate that includes oil and gas rights owned by the State. A tract: (        )

a. May be identified by its public land survey system of rectangular surveys which subdivides and 
describes land in the United States in the public domain and is regulated by the U.S. Department of the Interior, 
Bureau of Land Management; (        )

b. Is of no particular size; (        )
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c. Shall be a maximum size of 640 acres or one section, unless otherwise determined by the Director;
(        )

d. May be irregular in form; (        )

e. Is contiguous; (        )

f. May lie in more than one township or one section; (        )

g. May have a boundary defined entirely or in part by natural monuments such as streams, divides, or 
straight lines connecting prominent features of topography; (        )

h. May include the mineral estate beneath navigable waters of the State; and (        )

i. May be combined with other tracts to form a Lease. (        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

016. WITHDRAWAL OF LANDS.
At any time prior to final Board approval of a lease, the Board reserves the right to withdraw state lands entirely from 
oil and gas leasing if consistent with its constitutional and statutory duties and in the state’s best interests; provided 
that the Department shall refund application fee. (10-11-88)(        )

017. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. QUALIFIED APPLICANTS AND LESSEES.
Any person as defined in Subsection 010.15 shall be qualified to lease the oil and gas resources in state lands or take 
or hold an interest therein, provided that n who is not then in default of any contract with the state of Idaho or any 
Department or agency thereof is a qualified applicant and lessee. No member of the Board or employee of the 
Department may take or hold such lease; and provided further, that the Board may in its discretion deny a lease or 
assignment to any person who has forfeited a lease as per Subsection 071.01 or until delinquent rentals plus interest 
on any previous lease have been paid in full. (10-11-88)(        )

021. EXPLORATION.

01. Written Permit Required. Any exploration with appreciable surface disturbing activity, including, 
but not limited to, motorized exploration equipment on state lands is prohibited except by written permit for 
exploration signed for a period of time as determined by the dDirector,. which shall be valid for ninety (90) days or 
less for each section of state lands not withdrawn or leased under these rules. However, no test well shall be drilled 
prior to award of a lease and compliance with Section 055 This permit is in addition to any permit required by the 
Commission. (10-11-88)(        )

02. Permit Conditions. The permit shall contain such conditions as the director determines will 
protect the existing surface uses and resources of the state. The permit applicant shall pay in advance the fee required 
by Section 120; however, when the permit applicant is also the lessee, no fee is required. (10-11-88)(        )

022. APPLICATIONS -- CONTENT -- FEE.

01. Filing. An application for a lease may be filed with the Department in Boise during regular 
business hours (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.) on a department form or exact copy thereof. The application shall contain the 
following: name, address, telephone number, signature of the applicant, the Department’s tract number and legal 
description of the lands applied for, and the twenty-five dollars ($25) nonrefundable application fee. The 
Department’s tract number and legal description for each tract shall be obtained from the competitive tract list.

(10-11-88)
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02. Establishing Priority. Individuals not attending a competitive auction under Section 025 may file 
an application establishing a priority for purposes of Rule 025.02. (10-11-88)

03. Competitive Bidding. Individuals bidding at a competitive auction will file an application in 
accord with Subsection 028.04. (10-11-88)

023. SIZE AND COMPOSITION OF LEASABLE TRACT.

01. Maximum Size. Each lease shall include all available state lands within a section and shall not 
exceed six hundred and forty (640) acres in size, unless available state lands in the section exceed six hundred and 
forty (640) acres. Available state lands means lands not withdrawn or leased per these rules. (10-11-88)

02. Navigable Water Courses. Operations in or under the beds of navigable water courses shall not be 
authorized except in extraordinary circumstances and only with express written approval of the Board upon such 
conditions and security as the Board deems appropriate. An applicant may need to obtain a stream channel alteration 
permit from the Department of Water Resources prior to commencing operations in the beds of any water courses.

(10-11-88)

024. (RESERVED)

025. COMPETITIVE BIDDING.

01. Highest Bid. Subject to Section 016 and Subsection 025.02 a lease shall be acquired by competitive 
bidding and shall be awarded to the qualified bidder with the highest bid. If no application for a particular tract is 
timely filed and in the absence of any bids for such tract at an auction, that tract will be offered on an over-the-
counter basis on the first of the month following the sale to the first qualified applicant. The tract offering period 
shall be open for a six (6) month period of the auction year. (10-11-88)

02. First Applicant When No Bid. In the absence of any bid at an auction on a particular tract, a lease 
shall be awarded to the person who filed an application first in time in accord with these rules. If an application with 
a priority in time is withdrawn per Subsection 027.04, and in the absence of any bid at an auction for that particular 
tract, the lease shall be awarded to the person who filed an application with next priority in time. (10-11-88)

03. Simultaneous Filings. Applications received by the Department over the counter or by mail on the 
same day shall be considered as simultaneous filings and shall be resolved by competitive bidding at an auction at a 
time and place designated by the director. (10-11-88)

026. AUCTIONS - SCHEDULE.

01. Time. Public auctions shall be scheduled as needed by the director. Public auctions will normally 
be held in Boise and commence at 9:30 a.m. (10-11-88)

02. Notice. A notice of lease auction shall be published no less than thirty (30) days prior to the date of 
the auction in two (2) newspapers of general circulation in Idaho and in one (1) or more major trade journals of the 
Department’s choice, and mailed to persons on the Department mailing list. The notice shall be posted in the offices 
of the Department in Boise and in the county courthouse at the county seat of the county where the land is located. 
The notice shall state the date, time and place of auction, information concerning the tracts offered and special lease 
stipulations, if any. All tracts on the competitive tract list will be open for competitive bidding. (10-11-88)

027. DESIGNATING TRACTS BY APPLICATION.

01. Application for Auction. Any person who desires that a tract of state land be offered for oil and gas 
leasing at the next scheduled auction shall make application in compliance with Sections 022 and 023 at least sixty 
(60) days prior to the date set for auction. Each application shall be deemed an offer to lease the lands described in 
the amount of the minimum required first year’s rental and shall constitute an undertaking to pay, within ten (10) 
business days after the auction, the required first year’s rental for the lease. (10-11-88)
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02. Designation of Other Tracts. The director may also designate tracts to be offered at an auction.
(10-11-88)

03. Filing. Applications for purposes of priority in time for purposes of Subsection 025.02 made after 
publication of a notice of lease offering shall be filed with the Department in Boise at least ten (10) business days 
prior to the date of the auction. (10-11-88)

04. Withdrawal of Application. Any application may be withdrawn by the applicant if a request for 
such withdrawal is received by the Department in Boise at least seven (7) business days prior to the date fixed for the 
auction, but the twenty-five dollars ($25) application fee will not be refunded. (10-11-88)

028. AUCTION PROCEDURE.

01. Oral Auction. For oral auction, all bidders shall register with the Department during the seven (7) 
business days prior to the auction or during a ninety (90) minute period immediately preceding the auction. 
Registration shall include the name, address and signature of the bidder, the assignment of a bidding number, the 
submission of either a power of attorney or a designation of agent executed by the applicant, and payment of the ten 
dollars ($10) bidding fee; provided that persons who have timely filed an application and paid the twenty-five dollars 
($25) application fee for a tract to be offered at a particular auction do not need to pay the bidding fee for that 
auction. Immediately after completion of the auction, each winning bidder shall supplement his registration by listing 
the name and address of the applicant for the lease, and if the bidder is not an employee of the applicant, he shall 
submit a copy of a power of attorney executed by the applicant. A qualified applicant pursuant to Section 020 or a 
designated agent may bid for a competitive lease. (10-11-88)

02. Cash Bonus Bid. The method of bidding will generally be by cash bonus bid at oral auction. The 
minimum opening bid shall be a twenty-five cent ($.25) bonus per acre. The successful bonus bid for an offered tract 
at auction shall be the number of dollars bid multiplied by the number of acres in the offered tract plus the first year’s 
rental per Subsection 041.03. The Board reserves the right to specify in the notice of offering any other method of 
competitive bidding that, in its discretion, it determines to be in the best interests of the state. (10-11-88)

03. Right to Reject Bids. The director reserves the right to reject any or all bids. The Board and 
Department expressly disclaim any liability for inconvenience or loss caused by errors that may occur concerning 
lease offerings. (10-11-88)

04. Winning Bidder Payments. Winning bidders who have not previously submitted an application for 
the tract bid upon shall submit by check or money order to the Department’s representative immediately after the 
completion of an oral auction, the application fee for each lease per Section 120. Within ten (10) business days 
thereafter, winning bidders shall submit to the Department a completed, signed application for each section, if not 
previously filed, and the bonus bid by check or money order, and the pro-rata share of the cost of advertising based 
upon the percentage of acreage acquired, computed from the total acres leased. A check that is subsequently not 
honored for any reason other than error by a bank may disqualify the applicant from leasing under these rules until 
the dishonored check is paid and for one (1) year thereafter. (10-11-88)

05. Execution of Lease. The completed lease shall be executed by the lessee within thirty (30) days 
from the date of mailing, or if personally delivered to the applicant or his agent by the Department, within thirty (30) 
days from the date of receipt. An individual who executes a lease on behalf of another person shall submit a power of 
attorney which outlines his delegated authority. (10-11-88)

029. Competitive Tract List.
A list of available state lands will be published for distribution. This list shall contain a tract number for each tract 
designated by the Department, the legal description of each tract and the number of acres per tract. (10-11-88)

030. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. TERM.
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01. Ten Year Lease. All leases shall have a term of ten (10) years from the anniversary date. The 
anniversary date of the lease shall be the first day of the month after final Board approval. The lease shall have a 
primary term consisting of lease years one (1) through five (5), inclusive, and a secondary term consisting of lease 
years six (6) through ten (10), inclusive. At the expiration of the tenth year, the lease shall continue in force so long as 
production of oil and gas continues in paying quantities, or as long as the lessee conducts diligent and continuous 
drilling operations at a depth of one thousand (1,000) feet or deeper, or at a lesser depth than one thousand (1,000) 
feet if approved by the director, or the lessee reworks a former well under authorized permit from the commission on 
the leased land. (10-11-88)

02. Diligent Drilling. Diligent and continuous drilling operations means no delay or cessation of 
drilling for a period greater than one hundred twenty (120) days, unless extended in writing by the director. The 
director must receive a written request for an extension at least ten (10) days prior to the expiration of the one 
hundred twenty (120) day period. (10-11-88)

03. Notification at End of Lease Period. The lessee shall notify the director in writing prior to the 
expiration of the tenth year of his lease that drilling or reworking operations has commenced and will extend beyond 
the expiration date of the lease. Rental payment, in the amount required by Section 041 for the eleventh and each 
succeeding year, shall be received by the Department prior to the expiration date and shall entitle the lessee to hold 
the lease only so long as drilling or rework operations are pursued in accord with these rules. There will be no refund 
of unused rental. (10-11-88)

04. Abandonment. During the eleventh or succeeding year of any lease, cessation of production for a 
period of six (6) months shall be considered as abandonment. The lease will then automatically terminate at its next 
anniversary date unless the director determines that such cessation of production is justified or the well meets the 
requirements of a shut in gas well under Subsection 040.05. (10-11-88)

05. Suspension of Production. The director may grant a suspension of production not to exceed two 
(2) years upon a written request showing that the lessee is unable to market oil or gas. If such well is shut in and the 
director approves suspension of production requirements after expiration of the ten (10) year term, the lease shall be 
considered as if the well was producing in paying quantities under Subsection 040.01. The lessee shall pay rental for 
each year during which the well is shut pursuant to Section 041. The lessee may request continuation of this 
suspension, provided such request is received in writing by the director at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration 
date of the period of suspension. (10-11-88)

041. RENTALS.

01. Advance Annual Rental. The lessee shall pay to the state of Idaho an advance annual rental for 
each acre under lease. The annual rental and bonus bid for the first year shall be due and payable within ten (10) 
business days after the auction pursuant to Subsection 028.04. Subsequent rental payments must be received in the 
Department in Boise on or before the anniversary date of the lease. Rental payments shall be made directly to the 
Department and not through any bank or depository. Failure to pay the exact rental due may result in cancellation of 
the lease. (10-11-88)

02. Delinquent Rental. Rental is delinquent if not paid on or before the due date. Should rental be 
delinquent, the Department will send a single notice of delinquent payment by certified mail to the lessee. If payment 
is not received by the Department within thirty (30) days from the date of mailing, the Department may cancel the 
lease without further notice to the lessee or may assess the greater of the following; either a twenty-five ($25) late 
payment charge or interest at the rate of one percent (1%) for each calendar month or fraction thereof, compounded 
monthly, for late payments from the date the rental is due. The Department is not responsible for notifying lessees of 
rentals due prior to the due date notwithstanding any billing practices of the Department. (10-11-88)

03. Bonus Bid. The lessee shall pay the offered bonus bid and the first year’s rental of one dollar ($1) 
per acre of the lease. For the second year through the tenth year, lessee shall pay in advance an annual rental one 
dollar ($1) for each acre or part thereof under lease. For leases extended into the eleventh year and/or longer, the 
advanced annual rental shall be three dollars ($3) for each acre or part thereof under lease, unless the lease is 
producing in paying quantities. In such instances the annual rental shall be one dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) for each 
acre or part thereof under the lease. (10-11-88)
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022. LEASE ACQUISITION PROCESS.

01. Acquiring a Lease. A lease shall be acquired for the exclusive right and privilege to explore for 
and produce oil and gas by oral auction, online auction, or such other method of competitive bidding authorized by 
the Board, in its discretion, determined to be in the best interest of the state, and shall be awarded to the winning 
bidder at close of auction. The winning bidder at auction shall be issued the lease by the Department on the first day 
of the month following Final Board Approval. The Board and Department reserve the right to reject any or all 
nominations or bids, and expressly disclaim any liability for inconvenience or loss caused by errors that may occur 
concerning lease offerings. (        )

02. Lease Provisions. (        )

a. Term. All oil and gas leases shall have a term as provided by Idaho Code 47-801 as amended and 
shall continue from year to year thereafter for so long as production of oil and gas continues in paying quantities, or 
as long as the lessee conducts diligent and continuous drilling operations. (        )

b. Advance Annual Rental. The lessee shall pay to the state of Idaho an advance annual rental for each 
lease of $3.00 per acre with a minimum of $250.00 per lease. (        )

c. Diligent Drilling. Diligent and continuous drilling operations means no delay or cessation of 
drilling for a period greater than one hundred twenty (120) days, unless extended in writing by the Director. The 
Director must receive a written request for an extension at least ten (10) days prior to the expiration of the one 
hundred twenty (120) day period. (        )

d. Notification at End of Lease Period. The lessee shall notify the Director in writing prior to the 
expiration of the final year of his lease that drilling or reworking operations has commenced and will extend beyond 
the expiration date of the lease. Advance Annual Rental, in the amount required by Section 022 for any additional and 
each succeeding year, shall be received by the Department prior to the expiration date and shall entitle the lessee to 
hold the lease only so long as drilling or rework operations are pursued in accord with these rules. There will be no 
refund of unused rental. (        )

e. Abandonment. During any additional or succeeding year of any lease, cessation of production for a 
period of six (6) months shall be considered as abandonment. The lease will then automatically terminate at its next 
anniversary date unless the Director determines that such cessation of production is justified or the well meets the 
requirements of a shut in well under Subsection 022f. (        )

f. Suspension of Production. The Director may grant a suspension of production not to exceed one (1) 
year upon a written application showing that the lessee is unable to market oil or gas from a well located on the leased 
premises capable of oil and gas production in paying quantities due to a lack of suitable production facilities or a 
suitable market for the oil or gas and such conditions are outside the reasonable control of lessee and the lease is not 
being otherwise maintained in force and effect. If such well is shut in and the Director approves the application for 
suspension of production requirements prior to the expiration or termination of the lease then the lease shall be 
extended in accordance with the terms of Idaho Code § 47-801 for a period of one year if the lessee timely submits an 
application in a form approved by the Director and, upon approval of said application, pays a shut-in royalty in the 
amount equal to double the annual rental provided for by these rules for each well capable of producing oil or gas in 
paying quantities. The lessee must remit the shut-in royalty payment while the lease is otherwise maintained in force 
and effect. Payment of shut-in royalty after the expiration or other termination of the lease will not revive or extend 
the lease. The lessee may request continuation of this suspension of production, provided such request is received in 
writing by the Director at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the period of suspension. (        )

03. Nominating a Tract for Auction. A tracts may be nominated for auction either by application to 
the Department at least 90 days prior to a Department defined close of auction date, or by Department nomination at 
least 90 days prior to a Department defined close of auction date. Any qualified Person may nominate a tract for lease 
auction by submitting a nomination to the Department in Boise, and paying the nomination fee in an amount 
determined by the Board, during regular business hours (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.) on the Department nomination form. 
Each nominated tract shall be a maximum size of 640 acres or one section. The nominating Person may propose that 
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multiple tracts be included in a single lease. Each nomination for a tract for auction shall be deemed an offer by the 
nominating Person to lease the tract for the advance annual rental amount as defined in Subsection 02 above. (        )

04. Withdrawing a Tract for Auction. Any Person nominating a tract for auction may withdraw their 
nomination if a request for such withdrawal is received by the Department in Boise at least ten (10) business days 
prior to the opening date of auction. The nomination fee shall not be refunded. (        )

05. Auction Conditions. The Department shall determine the conditions associated with the auction, 
including, but not limited to: when or if a tract will be offered for auction; whether the tract is to be removed from the 
auction; whether multiple tracts will be combined in a single lease at the discretion of the Department; and any 
disclaimers, additional information, and any other such terms and conditions associated with the auction of the tracts. 
Any such terms and conditions, disclaimers, and additional information shall be posted on the Department’s website.

(        )

06. Lease Information for Auction. For each lease to be auctioned, the Department shall provide on 
the website: a lease number designated by the Department; the legal description; the lease length; the number of 
acres; a minimum bid per acre; a lease template; any lease stipulations; any other lease information; a specific date 
designated for the beginning and ending dates that a bidder may conduct due diligence; a specific date designated for 
the opening of auction; and a close of auction date. A notice of lease auction shall be published at least once per week 
for the four consecutive weeks prior to the date of auction in a newspaper in general circulation in the county in 
which the nominated lease is located and in a newspaper in general circulation in Ada County. (        )

07. Auction Procedure. The Department shall determine the procedures associated with the auction, 
including, but not limited to place of auction, time of auction, and bidder registration procedure. Additional auction 
procedures are as follows. (        )

a. Bid Increments. The minimum bid increment shall be one dollar ($1.00). (        )

b. Winning Bid. At close of auction, the winning bid for a Lessee shall be the number of dollars bid 
multiplied by the number of acres in the Lease, with fractions of an acre rounded up to the next whole acre. If, at close 
of auction, a bid for a Lease has not been submitted by a bidder, then the Lease shall be awarded to the nominating 
applicant. The entry of a bid constitutes an enforceable contractual obligation. (        )

c. Amount Due. The amount due for a lease shall be the winning bid, plus the first year’s annual rental 
amount as per Subsection 02 above, plus the nomination fee. If the winning bid was submitted by the nominator of 
the tract(s), then the nomination fee will already have been submitted to the Department and shall not be included in 
the amount due. The nominator will be refunded the nomination fee if they are not the winning bidder. (        )

d. Transfer of Funds. Unless otherwise required in the notice of auction, the winning bidder for each 
lease shall have five (5) full business days after close of auction to complete the transfer of funds to the Department. 
Failure of the winning bidder to transfer funds within the period specified constitutes a breach of contract, and the 
state may pursue any action or remedy at law or in equity against the winning bidder. (        )

08. Execution of Lease. The completed Lease shall be executed by the winning bidder within thirty 
(30) days from the date of mailing after close of auction, or if personally delivered to the applicant or his agent by the 
Department, within thirty (30) days from the date of receipt. An individual who executes a Lease on behalf of another 
Person shall submit a power of attorney which outlines his delegated authority. (        )

0423. -- 044. (RESERVED)

045. ROYALTIES.

01. Royalty Payments. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, the lessee shall pay to the state of 
Idaho in money or in kind to the state at its option a royalty of no less than twelve and one-half percent (12-1/2%) of 
the oil and/or gas or natural gas plant liquids produced and saved. The lessee shall make payments in cash unless 
written instructions for payment in kind are received from the state. Royalty shall be due on all production from the 
leased premises except that consumed for the direct operation of the producing wells and that lost through no fault of 
S - RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 18 2017 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LANDS Docket No. 20-0316-1601
Rules Governing Oil & Gas Leasing on Idaho State Lands PENDING FEE RULE
the lessee. (10-11-88)(        )

02. Royalty Not Reduced. Where royalties are paid in cash, costs of marketing, transporting and 
processing oil and/or gas or natural gas plant liquids or all of them produced shall be borne entirely by the lessee, and 
such cost shall not reduce the lessor’s royalty directly or indirectly. If the director elects to take royalty in kind, the 
state shall reimburse the lessee for reasonable additional storage and transportation costs. (10-11-88)(        )

03. Oil Royalty Calculation. When paid in cash, the royalty shall be calculated upon the reasonable 
market value of the oil at the well which shall not be less than the price actually paid or agreed to be paid to the 
lessee at the well by its purchaser; in no event shall the royalties be based upon a market value at the well less than 
the posted price in the field for such oil, or upon a market value at the well less than the prevailing price received by 
other producers in the field for oil of like grade and gravity at the time such oil is run into pipelines or storage tanks.

(10-11-88)

04. Gas Royalty Calculation. On gas, including casinghead gas or other gaseous substances, the 
royalty shall be calculated upon the reasonable market value at the well or on the price received by lessee at the well, 
whichever is greater, of all gas produced and saved from the leased premises. Where gas is sold under a contract that 
has been approved by the state of Idaho, the reasonable market value of such gas for determining the royalties 
payable shall be the price at which such gas is sold under such contract; provided, however, that no approval by the 
state of Idaho of the terms of any such agreement shall operate to make the state a party thereto or obligate it in any 
way except as herein provided, and the lessee agrees to hold the state harmless from any such obligation. (10-11-88)

05. Due Date. Royalties shall be due and payable monthly in the Department in Boise on or before the 
last day of the calendar month following the month in which the oil and/or gas was produced. Each royalty payment 
shall be accompanied by the production report described in Section 056. (10-11-88)

03. Oil, Gas, and Natural Gas Plant Liquids Royalty Calculation and Reporting. All royalty owed 
to the Lessor hereunder and not paid in kind at the election of the Lessor shall be paid to the Lessor in the following 
manner: (        )

a. Payment of royalty on production of oil shall be due and must be received by the Lessor on or 
before the 65th day after the month of production; (        )

b. Payment of royalty on production of gas and natural gas plant liquids shall be due and must be 
received by the Lessor on or before the 95th day after the month of production; (        )

c. All royalty payments must be completed in the form and manner approved by the Department, 
including but not limited to, the gross amount and disposition of all oil, gas, and natural gas plant liquids produced 
and the market value of the oil, gas, and natural gas plant liquids; (        )

d. Lessee must maintain, and make available to the Lessor upon request, copies of all documents, 
records or reports confirming the gross production, disposition and market value including gas meter readings, 
pipeline receipts, gas line receipts and other checks or memoranda of the amount produced and put into pipelines, 
tanks, or pools and gas lines or gas storage, and any other reports or records which the Lessor may require to verify 
the gross production, disposition and market value; and (        )

e. Each royalty payment shall be accompanied by a check stub, schedule, summary or other 
remittance advice showing, by the assigned Lessor lease number, the amount of royalty being paid on each lease.

(        )

065. 04. Overriding Royalty. All assignments of overriding royalty without a working interest made 
directly by the lessee and not included with an assignment of lease shall be filed with the Department in Boise with 
the recording processing fee within ninety (90) days from the date of execution; provided that it shall be the lessee’s 
responsibility and not the Department’s, to record process such assignments by third parties. Any assignment which
creatinges an overriding royalty, which when added to overriding royalties previously created and to the royalty 
payable to the state aggregates in excess of seventeen and a half percent (17 1/2%) exceeds the royalty previously 
payable to the state by greater than five percent (5%), shall be deemed a violation of the terms of the lease unless such 
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an assignment expressly provides that the obligation to pay such excess overriding royalty shall be suspended when 
the average production of oil per well per day, averaged on a monthly basis, is fifteen (15) barrels or less.

(10-11-88)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

050. LAND USE, SURFACE RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS.

01. Use and Occupancy. Notwithstanding other leases for other uses of state lands, the lessee shall be 
entitled to use and occupy so much of the surface of the leased lands as may be required for all purposes reasonably 
incident to exploration, drilling and production and marketing of oil and gas produced from the leased land, including 
the right to construct and maintain all works, buildings, plants, waterways, roads, communication lines, pipelines, 
reservoirs, tanks pumping stations or other structures necessary to full enjoyment and development; provided that 
lessee’s operation shall not unreasonably interfere with or endanger operations under any lease, license, claim, permit 
or other authorized, lawful use. (10-11-88)

02. Prevention of Injury or Damage. The lessee, its assignees, agents, and/or contractors shall take 
all reasonable precautions to prevent injury or damage to persons, real and personal property and to prevent waste or 
damage to the oil, gas and other surface and subsurface natural resources and the surrounding environment, including 
but not limited to, vegetation, livestock, fish and wildlife and their natural habitat, streams, rivers, lakes, timber, 
forest and agricultural resources. The Lessee, his assignees, agents and/or contractors shall compensate the Board, his 
surface lessees, grantees or contract purchasers for any damage resulting by reason of their operations or any damage 
resulting from their failure to take all reasonable precautions to prevent injury or damage to persons, real and personal 
property and to prevent waste or damage to the oil, gas and other surface and subsurface natural resources and 
surrounding environment as set forth above. The lessee, its assignees, agents and/or contractors shall comply with all 
environmental laws, rules and regulations as they pertain to its operation. (10-11-88)

03. Blowout or Spill. The lessee shall report to the director any blowout, fire, uncontrolled venting, or 
oil spill on the leased land within twenty-four (24) hours and shall confirm this report in writing within ten (10) days. 

(10-11-88)
 

04. Distance From Residence. No well shall be drilled within two hundred (200) feet of any occupied 
residence or barn without the written consent of the owner of such building. (10-11-88)

054. Fences. The lessee shall not at any time fence any watering place upon leased lands where it is the 
only accessible and feasible watering place upon the lands within a radius of one (1) mile, without first having 
secured the written consent of the director. (10-11-88)

065. Timber Removal. The lessee shall not unreasonably interfere with the removal of timber 
purchased prior or subsequent to the issuance of an oil and gas lease. The lessee may remove any timber required for 
ingress or egress or necessary for operations. The lessee shall pay for any timber cut or removed on a current 
stumpage price basis as determined by the director, and proceeds therefrom shall accrue to the state agency that has 
custody and control over the leased lands. (10-11-88)

076. Potable Water Discovery. If the lessee finds only potable water in any well drilled for exploration 
or production of oil and gas, and the water is of such quality and quantity as to be valuable and usable for agricultural, 
domestic, or other purposes, the Board may acquire the well with whatever casing is installed in the well at the fair 
market value of the casing upon the assumption by its surface lessee, grantee, or contract purchaser of all future 
liabilities and responsibilities for the well, with the approval of the commission and in compliance with Section 058; 
provided that the surface lessee, grantee, or contract purchaser shall also comply with applicable laws and rules of the 
Department of Water Resources. (10-11-88)

087. Reclamation. The lessee shall reclaim all state lands disturbed by its exploration and operations at 
least consistent with previous use by the surface owner, including segregating and protecting topsoil and regarading 
to approximate previous contour. If substantial removal of topsoil has occurred as determined by the director, the 
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lessee shall replace the topsoil and revegetate to the extent necessary to minimize erosion. (10-11-88)(        )

098. Entry by Director. The director shall be permitted at all reasonable times to go in and upon the 
leased lands and premises to inspect the operations and the products obtained and to post any lawful notice. The 
director may at any time require that reasonable tests, surveys, samples, etc., be taken in accord with his instruction, 
without cost to the state of Idaho, to assure compliance with these rules. The director may at any reasonable time 
inspect and copy at his own expense all of lessee’s books and records pertaining to a lease under these rules. Upon 
failure of lessee to take timely, corrective measures ordered by the director or the Board or the commission, the 
director may shut down lessee’s operations if he determines they are unsafe or are causing or can cause waste or 
pollution, to oil, gas or other resources; or the director may terminate the lease in accord with these rules, and may 
cause damage or unsafe conditions to be repaired or corrected at the expense of the lessee and forfeiture of bond 
under these rules. (10-11-88)

109. Other Uses. Subject to Subsection 050.01, the director may issue leases for other uses of state 
lands leased under these rules. All lessees shall have the right of reasonable ingress and egress at all times during the 
term of the lease. (10-11-88)

110. Disposal of Leased Lands. The Board reserves the right to sell or otherwise dispose of the surface 
of the leased lands; provided that any sale of surface rights made subsequent to execution of the lease shall be subject 
to all terms and provisions of the oil and gas lease during its life including extensions and continuations under Rule 
040. (10-11-88)

051. DILIGENT EXPLORATION REQUIRED.
The lessee shall perform diligent exploration during the entire term of a lease. Diligent exploration means that the 
lessee shall provide continuing efforts as a reasonably prudent operator toward achieving production, including, 
without limitation, performing geological and geophysical surveys and/or the drilling of a test well. To qualify as 
diligent exploration for each year of the secondary term the lessee shall: (10-11-88)(        )

01. Drill One Well. Drill at least one (1) well upon the leased premises or upon adjacent state leases or 
upon unitized lands in which the leasehold is included pursuant to Section 090, of such diameter and to such depth as 
may be necessary to make a reasonable test for oil and gas; or (10-11-88)

02. Pay in Advance. Pay in advance a delayed drilling penalty of one dollar ($1) per acre per year for 
the remainder of the secondary term. (10-11-88)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

056. PRODUCTION REPORT.
The lessee shall file with the Department on a Department form or on a reasonable facsimile a sworn monthly report 
on all production for each lease. The report must be received by the Department no later than the end of the calendar 
month following the month for which the report is prepared. If production should cease during any month, the reason 
for cessation shall be explained on the report. (10-11-88)

057. EXPLORATION AND OPERATIONS RECORDS -- CONFIDENTIALITY.
All production reports filed with the director and information obtained pursuant to Subsection 050.09 shall be held 
confidential for one (1) year, unless otherwise directed by the lessee; provided that the Board may utilize such 
information in asserting or defending its rights under these rules in litigation or administrative hearings. (10-11-88)

0586. WATER RIGHTS.
The lessee shall comply with all state laws and rules regulating the appropriation of water rights. No water rights 
developed or obtained by the lessee in conjunction with operations under a lease shall be sold, assigned or otherwise 
transferred without written approval of the director. Upon surrender, termination or expiration of the lease, the lessee 
shall take all actions required by the director to assign to the Board all water rights, including applications and 
permits, subject to applicable laws regrading the transfer or assignment of permits to appropriate water. (10-11-88)
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057. -- 059. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

061. -- 064. (RESERVED)

065. OVERRIDING ROYALTY.
All assignments of overriding royalty without a working interest made directly by the lessee and not included with an 
assignment of lease shall be filed with the Department in Boise with the recording fee within ninety (90) days from the 
date of execution; provided that it shall be the lessee’s responsibility and not the Department’s, to record such 
assignments by third parties. Any assignment creating an overriding royalty, which when added to overriding 
royalties previously created and to the royalty payable to the state aggregates in excess of seventeen and a half 
percent (17 1/2%), shall be deemed a violation of the terms of the lease unless such an assignment expressly provides 
that the obligation to pay such excess overriding royalty shall be suspended when the average production of oil per 
well per day, averaged on a monthly basis, is fifteen (15) barrels or less. (10-11-88)

0661. -- 069. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

071. TERMINATION - CANCELLATION OF LEASE.

01. Cause. Except as otherwise provided in these rules, the director may terminate the lease for any 
substantial violation of these rules, the lease, or the rules of the commission, ninety (90) days after notice of the 
violation has been given to lessee by personal service or by certified mail to the lessee, unless: (10-11-88)

a. The violation has been corrected; or (10-11-88)

b. The violation is one that cannot be corrected within the notice period and the lessee has in good 
faith commenced within the notice period to correct the violation and proceeds diligently to complete corrective 
action within a time period set by the director. If sent by certified mail, such notice shall be deemed served upon 
mailing. (10-11-88)

02. Failure to Pay Rental. The director may terminate a lease for failure to pay rentals or royalties 
thirty (30) days after mailing of notice of delinquent rental Failure to pay rent on or before the due date shall result in 
the termination of the Lease without notice or opportunity to cure. Time is of the essence for payment of rent and it is 
a material term of the Lease. (10-11-88)(        )

03. Surrender After Termination. Upon the expiration or termination of the lease, the lessee shall 
quietly and peaceably surrender possession of the premises to the state. Thereafter, lessee’s obligations under these 
rules that have accrued prior to the date of expiration or termination shall continue in full force and effect. (10-11-88)

04. Other Wells. Default by the lessee in the performance of any of the conditions or provisions of the 
lease concerning a well or wells on any legal subdivision of the leasehold shall not affect the right of the lessee to 
continue the possession or operation of any other well or wells, situated upon any other legal subdivision of the 
leasehold. The term “legal subdivision” as herein used shall mean a subdivision as established by the United States 
land survey that most nearly approximates in size the area allocated to one well under any approved well spacing 
program; provided that if no special program has been approved, “legal subdivision” shall mean the parcel upon 
which such well is located, but in any event not less than forty (40) acres surrounding such well. Where such a default 
involving one (1) or more wells results in cancellation, and the lessee has other wells on the lease not in default, such 
cancellation shall result in the division of the defaulting acreage from the lease and resultant reduction in the size of 
the lease held by the lessee. (10-11-88)

05. Equipment Removal. Upon the expiration of the lease, or its earlier termination or surrender 
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pursuant to these rules, the lessee shall, within a period of ninety (90) days, remove from the premises all materials, 
tools, appliances, machinery, structures; equipment subject to removal, but not removed within the ninety (90) day 
period, or any extension that may be granted because of adverse climatic conditions during that period, shall, at the 
option of the director, become property of the state of Idaho; or the director may cause the property to be removed at 
the lessee’s expense. (10-11-88)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

081. -- 084. (RESERVED)

085. PREFERENTIAL RIGHTS UPON DISCOVERY OF UNLEASED GEOTHERMAL RESOURCES 
AND OTHER MINERALS.
A lessee who shall discover any mineral, including geothermal resources, on the leasehold shall have a right of first 
refusal to a state lease covering such minerals, including geothermal resources; provided they are not included 
within a mineral location under Section 47-703, Idaho Code, a mineral lease, or mineral lease application. The right 
shall continue for a period of sixty (60) days after discovery of minerals, provided the lessee shall notify the director 
within thirty (30) days after the discovery and shall make application to lease the minerals within sixty (60) days after 
the date of discovery. Notwithstanding, nothing herein shall require the Board to issue a mineral lease or geothermal 
resource lease. (10-11-88)

0861. -- 089. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

103. PUBLIC RECORDS. (RESERVED)
Applications are not public records until the day after the next regularly scheduled auction. Leases, assignments and 
relinquishments, after approval by the Board or the director as required by these rules, are public records available 
for public inspection during regular business hours. (10-11-88)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

120. FEES.
The following are the fees established under these rules: (10-11-88)

01. Exploration Permit. One hundred dollars ($100) per linear mile or a minimum of one hundred 
dollars ($100) per section. (10-11-88)

02. Nonrefundable Application Nomination Fee. Twenty-five dollars ($25) per application for lease
The nomination fee shall be set by the Board at a minimum of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00) per Tract.

(10-11-88)(        )

03. Bidding Fee. Ten dollars ($10) per auction (unless an application has been timely filed for the 
scheduled auction). (10-11-88)

04. Application for Approval. Application for approval twenty dollars ($20) per lease involved of 
assignment in the assignment. (10-11-88)

053. RecordProcessing Fee. Recording fee five dollars ($5) The processing fee shall be set by the Board 
at a minimum of one hundred dollars ($100) per each document. (10-11-88)(        )

064. Fee Adjustment. The Board may annually adjust these fees without formal rule-making 
procedures. (10-11-88)
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IDAPA 58 – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
58.01.07 – RULES REGULATING UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK SYSTEMS

DOCKET NO. 58-0107-1601

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the Board of Environmental Quality (Board) and is now 
pending review by the 2017 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Sections 67-5224(5)(c) and 67-
5291, Idaho Code, this pending fee rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved by concurrent 
resolution of the legislature. If approved, the rule will become final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent 
resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that the Board has adopted 
a pending rule. This action is authorized by Chapters 1 and 88, Title 39, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: A detailed summary of the reason for adopting the rule is set forth in the initial 
proposal published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, August 3, 2016, Vol. 16-8, pages 144-155. DEQ received no 
public comments, and the rule has been adopted as initially proposed. The Rulemaking and Public Comment 
Summary can be obtained at www.deq.idaho.gov/58-0107-1601 or by contacting the undersigned.

IDAHO CODE SECTION 39-107D STATEMENT: This rule does not regulate an activity not regulated by the 
federal government, nor is it more stringent than federal regulations. This rule is broader in scope than federal 
regulations with respect to the collection of fees. In 2016, the Idaho Legislature revised Idaho Code § 39-8802(2)(d) 
to allow for collection of UST fees under Idaho Code § 39-119 (Senate Bill 1244).

FEE SUMMARY: DEQ must negotiate a fee structure to ensure there is sufficient funding to maintain an 
underground storage tank program and retain state program approval. Fees would not exceed one hundred dollars 
($100.00) per tank per year. Collection of UST fees is authorized by Idaho Code § 39-119. In 2016, the Idaho 
Legislature revised Idaho Code § 39-8802(2)(d) to allow for collection of UST fees under Idaho Code § 39-119 
(Senate Bill 1244).

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year when the pending 
rule will become effective: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this 
rulemaking, contact Kristi Lowder at kristi.lowder@deq.idaho.gov or (208) 373-0347.

Dated this 2nd day of November, 2016.

Paula J. Wilson
Hearing Coordinator
Department of Environmental Quality
1410 N. Hilton
Boise, Idaho 83706-1255
(208) 373-0418 / Fax No. (208) 373-0481
paula.wilson@deq.idaho.gov

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized by Chapters 1 and 88, Title 39, Idaho Code. 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: No hearings have been scheduled. Pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), Idaho Code, 
a public hearing will be held if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency. 
Written requests for a hearing must be received by the undersigned on or before August 17, 2016. If no such written 
request is received, a public hearing will not be held.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: This rulemaking has been initiated to adopt into state rules the newly revised federal 
Technical Standards and Corrective Action Requirements for Owners and Operators of Underground Storage Tanks 
(USTs), 40 CFR Part 280, and to establish a fee structure. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) updated 40 
CFR Part 280 on October 13, 2015 amending the 1988 federal regulations by increasing emphasis on properly 
operating and maintaining underground storage tank equipment. In order to retain state program approval/primary 
enforcement authority that was approved by EPA on February 28, 2012, Idaho is required to adopt the newly revised 
40 CFR Part 280 and re-submit a state program approval application package by October 13, 2018. Additionally, 
these new regulations and successive federal grant reductions have made it impossible to maintain the minimum 
program effort necessary to retain state program approval. DEQ must negotiate a fee structure to ensure there is 
sufficient funding to maintain an underground storage tank program and retain state program approval. Fees would 
not exceed one hundred dollars ($100) per tank per year. Collection of UST fees is authorized by Section 39-119, 
Idaho Code. Senate Bill 1244 (2016) revised Section 39-8802(2)(d), Idaho Code, to allow for collection of UST fees 
under Section 39-119, Idaho Code.

The revised 40 CFR Part 280 includes the secondary containment and operator training provisions found in the 
Energy Policy Act of 2005. EPA is giving the states the option to adopt the new provisions or retain their existing 
secondary containment and operator training rules. DEQ proposes to retain its existing, less stringent, secondary 
containment and operator training rules (IDAPA 58.01.07.100 and 300) and incorporate the remainder of 40 CFR Part 
280 by reference.

In addition, DEQ proposes revisions that would simplify inspections, include a fee structure, remove duplicate 
definitions now found in 40 CFR Part 280, include a training requirement overlooked during the 2007 rulemaking, 
and provide for alternative periodic testing of containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of piping.

Owners and operators of underground storage tanks, cities, counties, bankers, lenders, realtors, petroleum 
marketers, consultants, representatives of the Idaho Petroleum Storage Tank Fund Board of Trustees, and citizens of 
the state of Idaho may be interested in commenting on this proposed rule. The proposed rule text is in legislative 
format. Language the agency proposes to add is underlined. Language the agency proposes to delete is struck out. It is 
these additions and deletions to which public comment should be addressed.

After consideration of public comments, DEQ intends to present the final proposal to the Board of 
Environmental Quality in the fall of 2016 for adoption of a pending rule. The rule is expected to become final and 
effective upon the conclusion of the 2017 legislative session if adopted by the Board and approved by the Legislature.

FEE SUMMARY: DEQ must negotiate a fee structure to ensure there is sufficient funding to maintain an 
underground storage tank program and retain state program approval. Fees would not exceed one hundred dollars 
($100) per tank per year. Collection of UST fees is authorized by Section 39-119, Idaho Code. In 2016, the Idaho 
Legislature revised Section 39-8802(2)(d), Idaho Code, to allow for collection of UST fees under Section 39-119, 
Idaho Code, (Senate Bill 1244).

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the incorporation by reference is necessary:

Adoption of federal regulations is necessary to maintain program primacy. Incorporation by reference allows 
DEQ to keep its rules up to date with federal regulation changes and simplifies compliance for the regulated 
community. Information for obtaining a copy of the federal regulations is included in the rule.

In compliance with Section 67-5223(4), Idaho Code, DEQ prepared a brief synopsis detailing the substantive 
difference between the previously incorporated material and the latest revised edition or version of the incorporated 
material being proposed for incorporation by reference. The Overview of Incorporations by Reference can be 
obtained at www.deq.idaho.gov/58-0107-1601 or by contacting the undersigned.
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NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: The text of the proposed rule was drafted based on discussions held and concerns 
raised during negotiations conducted pursuant to Section 67-5220, Idaho Code, and IDAPA 58.01.23.810-815. The 
Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the April 2016 issue of the Idaho 
Administrative Bulletin, and a preliminary draft rule was made available for public review. Meetings were held on 
April 28 and May 26, 2016. Members of the public participated in the negotiated rulemaking process by attending the 
meetings and by submitting written comments. The negotiated rulemaking record, which includes the negotiated rule 
drafts, written public comments, documents distributed during the negotiated rulemaking process, and the negotiated 
rulemaking summary, is available at www.deq.idaho.gov/58-0107-1601.

All comments received during the negotiated rulemaking process were considered by DEQ when making 
decisions regarding development of the rule. At the conclusion of the negotiated rulemaking process, DEQ formatted 
the final draft (Draft No. 4) for publication as a proposed rule. DEQ is now seeking public comment on the proposed 
rule.

IDAHO CODE SECTION 39-107D STATEMENT: This proposed rule does not regulate an activity not regulated 
by the federal government, nor is it more stringent than federal regulations. This proposed rule is broader in scope 
than federal regulations with respect to the collection of fees. In 2016, the Idaho Legislature revised Section 39-
8802(2)(d), Idaho Code, to allow for collection of UST fees under Section 39-119, Idaho Code, (Senate Bill 1244).

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year when the pending 
rule will become effective: Not applicable.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS AND SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For 
assistance on technical questions concerning this rulemaking, contact Kristi Lowder at 
kristi.lowder@deq.idaho.gov or (208) 373-0347.

Anyone may submit written comments by mail, fax or email at the address below regarding this proposed rule. 
DEQ will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or before August 31, 2016.

DATED this 3rd Day of August, 2016.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
Any reference to any document identified in Subsection 004.01 shall constitute the full adoption by reference into 
IDAPA 58.01.07. (4-2-08)

01. Documents Incorporated by Reference. Technical Standards and Corrective Action 
Requirements for Owners and Operators of Underground Storage Tanks, 40 CFR Part 280, revised as of July 1, 
20017. with the following exceptions: (4-2-08)(        )

a. 40 CFR 280.12, the definition of “Replaced” is excluded; (        )

b. 40 CFR 280.12, the definition of “Under-dispenser containment or UDC” is excluded; (        )

c. 40 CFR 280.20, the introductory paragraph sentence, “In addition, except for suction piping that 
meets the requirements of §280.41(b)(1)(ii)(A) through (E), tanks and piping installed or replaced after April 11, 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 58-0107-1601
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2016 must be secondarily contained and use interstitial monitoring in accordance with §280.43(g).”, is excluded;
(        )

d. 40 CFR 280.20(f), is excluded; (        )

e. 40 CFR 280.34(b)(9), the citation to §280.245 is excluded; (        )

f. 40 CFR 280.41(a)(1), “installed on or before April 11, 2016…” is excluded; (        )

g. 40 CFR 280.41(a)(2), is excluded; (        )

h. 40 CFR 280.41(b)(1), “installed on or before April 11, 2016…” is excluded; (        )

i. 40 CFR 280.41(b)(2), is excluded; (        )

j. 40 CFR 280.42, Note to paragraph (a), “for tank installed on or before October 13, 2015.” is 
excluded; (        )

k. 40 CFR 280.42(e), “installed on or before October 13, 2015…” is excluded; and (        )

l. 40 CFR Part 280 Subpart J is excluded. (        )

02. Hazardous Substance Underground Storage Tank Systems. (4-2-08)

a. The following items only apply to hazardous substance underground storage tank systems and do 
not apply to petroleum underground storage tank systems: (4-2-08)

i. The definition of “Hazardous substance UST system” in 40 CFR 280.12 and use of this term or 
regulations regarding hazardous substance in 40 CFR Part 280; and (4-2-08)

ii. 40 CFR 280.42 and any reference to 40 CFR 280.42 in 40 CFR Part 280. (4-2-08)

b. All other provisions of 40 CFR Part 280 and all provisions of IDAPA 58.01.07 shall apply to 
hazardous substance underground storage tank systems. (4-2-08)

03. Consistency. In the event of conflict or inconsistency between the language in IDAPA 58.01.07 
and that found in 40 CFR Part 280, IDAPA 58.01.07 shall prevail. (4-2-08)

04. Stringency. IDAPA 58.01.07 shall be no more stringent than federal law or regulations governing 
underground storage tank systems. (4-2-08)

05. Availability of Referenced Material. The federal regulations adopted by reference can be 
obtained at the following locations: (4-2-08)

a. U.S. Government Printing Office, www.ecfr.gov; and (4-2-08)

b. Department of Environmental Quality, Hearing Coordinator, 1410 N. Hilton, Boise, ID 83706-
1255, (208)373-0502. (4-2-08)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS.
For the purpose of the rules contained in IDAPA 58.01.07, “Rules Regulating Underground Storage Tank Systems,” 
the following definitions apply: (4-2-08)
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01. Board. The Idaho Board of Environmental Quality. (4-2-08)

02. Community Water System. A public water system that serves at least fifteen (15) service 
connections used by year-round residents of the area served by the system or regularly serves at least twenty-five (25) 
year-round residents. (4-2-08)

03. Department. The Idaho Department of Environmental Quality. (4-2-08)

04. Director.The Director of the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality or his authorized agent.
(4-2-08)

05. Existing. Solely for purposes of determining when secondary containment is required, existing is 
when a petroleum underground storage tank, piping, motor fuel dispensing system, facility, public water system or 
potable drinking water well is in place when a new installation or replacement of a tank, piping, or motor fuel 
dispensing system begins. (4-2-08)

06. EPA. The United States Environmental Protection Agency. (4-2-08)

07. Installation of a New Motor Fuel Dispenser System. The installation of a new motor fuel 
dispenser and the equipment necessary to connect the dispenser to the petroleum underground storage tank system. 
This equipment may include flexible connectors, risers, or other transitional components that are beneath the 
dispenser, below the shear valve, and connect the dispenser to the piping. It does not mean the installation of a motor 
fuel dispenser installed separately from the equipment needed to connect the dispenser to the petroleum underground 
storage tank system. (4-2-08)

08. Installer. Any person who installs a new or replacement petroleum underground storage tank 
system. (4-2-08)

09. Motor Fuel. Petroleum or a petroleum-based substance that is motor gasoline, aviation gasoline, 
No. 1 or No. 2 diesel fuel, or any grade of petroleum-blended gasohol, and is typically used in the operation of a 
motor engine. This includes blended petroleum motor fuels such as biodiesel and ethanol petroleum blends. (4-2-08)

109. New Underground Storage Tank. Has the same meaning as “underground storage tank or UST” 
in 40 CFR 280.12, except that such term includes tanks that have been previously used and meet the requirements of 
40 CFR 280.20(a). (4-2-08)

110. Non-Community Water System. A public water system that is not a community water system. A 
non-community water system is either a transient non-community water system or a non-transient non-community 
water system. (4-2-08)

12. Person. An individual, trust, firm, joint stock company, federal agency, corporation, state, 
municipality, commission, political subdivision of a state, or any interstate body. “Person” also includes a 
consortium, a joint venture, a commercial entity, and the United States government. (4-2-08)

131. Piping. A hollow cylinder or a tubular conduit constructed of non-earthen materials that routinely 
contains and conveys regulated petroleum substances from the petroleum underground storage tank(s) to the 
dispenser(s) or other end-use equipment. It does not mean vent, vapor recovery, or fill lines that do not routinely 
contain regulated petroleum substances. (4-2-08)

102. Potable Drinking Water Well. Any hole (dug, driven, drilled, or bored) that extends into the earth 
until it meets ground water which supplies water for a non-community public water system or otherwise supplies 
water for household use (consisting of drinking, bathing, and cooking, or other similar uses). Such wells may provide 
water to entities such as a single-family residence, group of residences, businesses, schools, parks, campgrounds, and 
other permanent or seasonal communities. (4-2-08)

153. Product Deliverer. Any person who delivers or deposits product into a petroleum underground 
storage tank. This term may include major oil companies, jobbers, petroleum transportation companies, or other 
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product delivery entities. (4-2-08)

164. Public Water System. A system for the provision to the public of water for human consumption 
through pipes or, after August 5, 1998, other constructed conveyances, if such system has at least fifteen (15) service 
connections or regularly serves an average of at least twenty-five (25) individuals daily at least sixty (60) days out of 
the year. Such term includes: any collection, treatment, storage, and distribution facilities under control of the 
operator of such system and used primarily in connection with such system; and, any collection or pretreatment 
storage facilities not under such control which are used primarily in connection with such system. Such term does not 
include any “special irrigation district.” A public water system is either a “community water system” or a “non-
community water system.” (4-2-08)

175. Red Tag. A tamper-resistant tag, device, or mechanism attached to the tank’s fill pipes that clearly 
identifies a petroleum underground storage tank as ineligible for product delivery. The tag or device shall be visible to 
the product deliverer and shall clearly state that it is unlawful to deliver to, deposit into, or accept product into the 
ineligible petroleum underground storage tank. (4-2-08)

18. Repair. Solely for purposes of determining when secondary containment is required, as it applies to 
petroleum underground storage tanks, piping, and motor fuel dispensers systems, repair means any activity that does 
not meet the definition of replace. (4-2-08)

196. Replace. As it applies to petroleum underground storage tanks and piping, replace is defined as 
follows: (4-2-08)

a. Petroleum Underground Storage Tank. Replace means to remove an existing tank and install a new 
tank. (4-2-08)

b. Piping. Replace means to remove and put back in one hundred (100) percent of the piping, 
excluding connectors, connected to a single petroleum underground storage tank system. This definition does not 
alter the requirement in 40 CFR 280.33(c) to replace metal pipe sections and fittings that have released product as a 
result of corrosion or other damage. A replacement of metal pipe section and fittings pursuant to 40 CFR 280.33(c) 
shall be considered a replacement under this definition only if one hundred (100) percent of the metal piping, 
excluding connectors, is replaced. (4-2-08)

20. Secondary Containment. A release detection and prevention system that meets the requirements of 
40 CFR 280.43(g). The piping shall have an inner and outer barrier and a method of monitoring the space between 
the inner and outer barriers for a leak or release. (4-2-08)

217. Under-Dispenser Spill Containment. Containment underneath a dispenser that will prevent leaks 
from the dispenser from reaching soil or ground water. Such containment must: (4-2-08)

a. At installation or modification, be liquid-tight on its sides, bottom, and at any penetrations; and
(4-2-08)

b. Be compatible with the substance conveyed by the piping; and either (4-2-08)

c. Allow for visual inspection and access to the components in the containment system; or (4-2-08)

d. Be monitored for releases using a release detection method that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 
280.43(g). (4-2-08)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

100. ADDITIONAL MEASURES TO PROTECT GROUND WATER FROM CONTAMINATION.

01. Notification. An owner, operator or designee must: (4-2-08)
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a. Provide written notice to the Department thirty (30) days prior to the installation of a new piping 
system or a new or replacement petroleum underground storage tank. (4-2-08)

b. Provide notice to the Department twenty-four (24) hours prior to the installation of a replacement 
piping system. (4-2-08)

02. Notification Forms. The written notice required in Subsection 100.01.a. shall be made upon forms 
provided by the Department. (4-2-08)

03. Requirements for Petroleum UST Systems. Owners, operators, and installers of a new or 
replacement petroleum underground storage tank or piping system shall comply with the following requirements.

(4-2-08)

a. Each new petroleum underground storage tank, or piping connected to any such new tank, installed 
after February 23, 2007, or any existing petroleum underground storage tank, or existing piping connected to such 
existing tank, that is replaced after February 23, 2007, shall have secondary containment and be monitored for leaks if 
the new or replaced petroleum underground storage tank or piping is within one thousand (1,000) feet of any existing 
public water system or any existing potable drinking water well. At a minimum, secondary containment systems must 
be designed, constructed, and installed to contain regulated substances released from the tank system until they are 
detected and removed, prevent the release of regulated substances to the environment at any time during the 
operational life of the petroleum underground storage tank system, and be checked for evidence of a release at least 
every thirty (30) days. The following conditions are excluded: (4-2-08)

i. Suction piping that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 280.41(b)(21)(ii)(A) through (vE);
(4-2-08)(        )

ii. Piping that manifolds two (2) or more petroleum underground storage tanks together; (4-2-08)

iii. Existing piping to which new piping is connected to install a dispenser; and (4-2-08)

iv. Tanks identified in 40 CFR 280.10(b). (4-2-08)

b. If the owner installs, within one (1) year, a potable drinking water well at the new facility that is 
within one thousand (1,000) feet of the petroleum underground tanks, piping, or motor fuel dispenser system as part 
of the new underground storage tank facility installation, secondary containment and under-dispenser containment 
are required, regardless of whether the well is installed before or after the petroleum underground tanks, piping, and 
motor fuel dispenser system are installed. (4-2-08)

c. The notice required in Subsection 100.01 shall indicate whether the new or replacement installation 
is within one thousand (1,000) feet of an existing public water system or any existing potable drinking water well. If 
the owner and installer certify that the installation is not within one thousand (1,000) feet of an existing public water 
system or any existing potable drinking water well, the owner, operator or designee shall provide and maintain 
documentation showing that a reasonable investigation of water systems and drinking water wells was undertaken. A 
reasonable investigation includes, but is not limited to, a search of the records of: (4-2-08)

i. The public or private water service provider in the area which the new or replacement installation is 
located (if any); (4-2-08)

ii. The city or county in which the new or replacement installation is located; (4-2-08)

iii. The Idaho Department of Water Resources; and (4-2-08)

iv. The Idaho Department of Environmental Quality. (4-2-08)

d. In the case of a replacement of an existing petroleum underground storage tank or existing piping 
connected to the petroleum underground storage tank, Section 100 shall apply only to the specific petroleum 
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underground storage tank or piping being replaced, not to other petroleum underground storage tanks and connected 
pipes comprising such system. (4-2-08)

e. Each installation of a new motor fuel dispenser system shall include under-dispenser spill 
containment if the new dispenser is within one thousand (1,000) feet of any existing public water system or any 
existing potable drinking water well. (4-2-08)

04. Requirements for Hazardous Substance UST Systems. Owners, operators, and installers of a 
new or replacement hazardous substance underground storage tank or piping system shall have secondary 
containment as required in 40 CFR 280.42. (4-2-08)

05. Certification. Owners and operators shall also comply with the certification requirements of 40 
CFR 280.22(f) as incorporated by reference into these rules. (4-2-08)

101. ALTERNATIVE PERIODIC TESTING OF CONTAINMENT SUMPS USED FOR INTERSTITIAL 
MONITORING OF PIPING.

01. Applicability. (        )

a. The alternative test method in Subsection 101.02 shall only be used for containment sumps that are 
performing continuous interstitial monitoring as a piping release detection method where an electronic sump sensor is 
installed and connected to an electronic monitoring device, such as an automatic tank gauge, or where the piping 
within a containment sump is continuous to a containment sump which has an electronic sump sensor installed and 
connected to an electronic monitoring device, such as an automatic tank gauge. (        )

i. The sump sensor in Subsection 101.01.a. must be positioned in the containment sump according to 
manufacturer instructions and at the lowest possible point in the containment sump. (        )

ii. The sump sensor in Subsection 101.01.a. must be wired and programmed appropriately to shut 
down power to the submersible turbine pump (positive shutdown) when the sensor is in contact with liquid in any 
containment sump. (        )

iii. If new dispensers are added and Subsection 101.01.a.ii. cannot be achieved (no electrical conduit, 
not enough sensor ports, etc.), an electronic stand-alone dispenser containment sump sensor may be used if it is wired 
appropriately to shut down power to the dispenser when the sensor is in contact with liquid in the dispenser 
containment sump. (        )

b. The Department may not allow the alternative test method in Subsection 101.02 if it determines the 
containment sump, penetration fittings, or containment sump sensors are not constructed or positioned in a manner 
that will accommodate the alternative testing or prevent releases to the environment (i.e., penetration fittings are too 
close to the containment sump bottom). (        )

02. Alternative Test Method Allowed. (        )

a. As an alternative to the allowable test method in 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii)(A)-(C), containment 
sumps used for interstitial monitoring of piping may be tested as follows: (        )

i. Temporarily remove any interstitial monitoring containment sump sensors before conducting the 
test; (        )

ii. Add water to the containment sump up to a point directly beneath the first containment sump 
penetration fitting from the bottom of the containment sump. The water must be allowed to settle for at least fifteen 
(15) minutes; (        )

iii. Place a measuring stick that has one sixteenth (1/16th) inch increments into the lowest point in the 
containment sump and extending above the water level in the sump; and (        )
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iv. Document the initial water level measurement as measured from the bottom of the containment 
sump. After one (1) hour, document the ending water level measurement. If the water level changes less than one 
eighth (1/8th) inch, the containment sump passes the integrity test. If the water level changes one eighth (1/8th) inch 
or greater, the containment sump fails the integrity test. (        )

b. Upon completion of the test, remove all water and properly dispose of it. Reinstall any interstitial 
monitoring sensors. Reinstall all containment sump lids, gaskets, and covers. (        )

1012. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. RELEASE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

01. Information to be Reported. (4-2-08)

a. In addition to the requirements in IDAPA 58.01.02, “Water Quality Standards,” Subsection 851.01, 
owners or operators shall report the following information regarding confirmed petroleum underground storage tank 
releases to the Department on forms provided by the Department: (4-2-08)

i. The release source; and (4-2-08)

ii. The release cause. (4-2-08)

b. Releases less than twenty-five (25) gallons that are cleaned up within twenty-four (24) hours, and 
which do not cause a sheen on nearby surface water, do not need to be reported. (4-2-08)

02. Release Sources. Release sources may include, but are not limited to the following: (4-2-08)

a. Petroleum Underground Storage Tanks; (4-2-08)

b. Piping; (4-2-08)

c. Dispensers, which include the dispenser and equipment used to connect the dispenser to the piping. 
A release from a suction pump or components located above the shear valve would be an example of a release from 
the dispenser; (4-2-08)

d. Submersible turbine pump area, which includes the submersible turbine pump head (typically 
located in the tank sump), the line leak detector, and the piping that connects the submersible turbine pump to the 
petroleum underground storage tank; and (4-2-08)

e. Delivery problem, which identifies releases that occurred during product delivery to the petroleum 
underground storage tank. Typical causes associated with this source are spills and overfills. (4-2-08)

03. Release Causes. Release causes may include, but are not limited to the following: (4-2-08)

a. Spills which may occur when the delivery hose is disconnected from the fill pipe of the petroleum 
underground storage tank or when the nozzle is removed from the vehicle at the dispenser; (4-2-08)

b. Overfills which may occur from the fill pipe at the petroleum underground storage tank or when the 
nozzle fails to shut off at the dispenser; (4-2-08)

c. Physical or mechanical damage of all types except corrosion. Examples include a puncture of the 
petroleum underground storage tank or piping, loose fittings, broken components, and components that have changed 
dimension like elongation or swelling; (4-2-08)

d. Corrosion of a metal tank, piping, flex connector, or other component; and (4-2-08)

e. Installation problem that occurs specifically because the underground storage tank system was not 
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installed properly. (4-2-08)

04. Requirements. The reporting required in Section 200 shall be reported to the Department within 
ninety (90) days of a confirmed release. The reporting requirement in Section 200 shall not relieve owners or 
operators from the obligation to comply with 40 CFR Part 280 Subpart E “Release Reporting, Investigation, and 
Confirmation,” IDAPA 58.01.02, “Water Quality Standards,” Section 851, “Petroleum Release Reporting, 
Investigation, and Confirmation,” and IDAPA 58.01.02, “Water Quality Standards,” Section 852, “Petroleum Release 
Response and Corrective Action.” (4-2-08)(        )

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. TRAINING REQUIREMENTS.

01. Requirements. The Department shall adopt a training program to help owners and operators 
comply with the requirements of these rules. The training program requirements shall: (4-2-08)

a. Be consistent with 42 U.S.C. 6991i(a), as amended by the Underground Storage Tank Compliance 
Act, (Pub.L. 109-58, title XV, sec. 1524(a), Aug. 8, 2005); (4-2-08)

b. Be developed in cooperation with petroleum underground storage tank owners and tank operators;
(4-2-08)

c. Take into consideration training programs implemented by petroleum underground storage tank 
owners and operators as of August 8, 2005; (4-2-08)

d. Provide for training to be conducted on site or at another mutually convenient location; and
(4-2-08)

e. Be appropriately communicated to petroleum underground storage tank owners and operators.
(4-2-08)

02. Operator Designation. For each petroleum underground storage tank system regulated under these 
rules, the owner or operator shall: (4-2-08)

a. Designate: (4-2-08)

i. The class A operator, who is the individual(s) having primary responsibility for on-site operation 
and maintenance of the petroleum underground storage tank system. This does not require that the class A operator be 
on site; (4-2-08)

ii. The class B operator, who is the individual(s) having daily on-site responsibility for the operation 
and maintenance of the petroleum underground storage tank system. This does not require that the class B operator be 
on site at all times; and (4-2-08)

iii. The class C operator, who is the daily, on-site individual(s) having primary responsibility for 
addressing emergencies presented by a spill or release from the petroleum underground storage tank system. The 
class C operator can be designated by the class A or B operator. (4-2-08)

b. Maintain a record at the facility where the petroleum underground storage tank is located listing 
each person designated in Subsections 300.02.a.i., 300.02.a.ii., and 300.02.a.iii. (4-2-08)

c. Notify the Department in writing of the individual(s) designated in Subsections 300.02.a.i. and 
300.02.a.ii. within thirty (30) days of the designation. (4-2-08)

03. Training. The owner or operator of each petroleum underground storage tank system regulated 
under these rules shall ensure that the individual(s) identified in Subsections 300.02.a.i. and 300.02.a.ii. participate in 
the training conducted by the Department or a state of Idaho approved third party. (4-2-08)
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a. The individual(s) identified in Subsections 300.02.a.i. or 300.02.a.ii. shall provide training to the 
persons identified in Subsection 300.02.a.iii. (4-2-08)

b. The individual(s) identified in Subsection 300.02.a.iii. must be trained before assuming 
responsibility for responding to emergencies. (4-2-08)

c. The individual(s) identified in Subsections 300.02.a.i. and 300.02.a.ii. shall repeat the training 
within thirty (30) days if the petroleum underground storage tank system for which they have responsibility is 
determined to be out of compliance with these rules. (4-2-08)

d. The individual(s) identified in Subsections 300.02.a.i. and 300.02.a.ii. shall be trained within thirty 
(30) days of assuming operation and maintenance duties. (        )

04. Unattended Sites. In the case of unattended sites, a sign must be posted in a location visible from 
the dispensers indicating emergency shut-off procedures and emergency contact phone numbers. (4-2-08)

301. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. INSPECTIONS.

01. Department Authority. In order to fulfill the statutory requirements of Chapter 88, Title 39, Idaho 
Code, officers, employees or representatives of the Department, or third-party inspectors as described in Subsection 
400.02, are authorized to inspect petroleum underground storage tanks, contents of the tanks, and associated 
equipment and records relating to such tanks, contents, and associated equipment. (4-2-08)

02. Third-Party Inspections. (4-2-08)

a. Third-party inspectors must be certified, licensed, or registered by an approved state program to 
perform on-site inspections. At a minimum, third-party inspectors must meet the requirements listed in Subsections 
400.02.a.i. through 400.02.a.v.: (4-2-08)

i. Be trained in the state-specific inspection protocols and procedures, and perform inspections 
pursuant to such protocols and procedures; (4-2-08)

ii. Successfully complete the state’s required training program. The training program for third-party 
inspectors must be comparable to the training program for Department inspectors; (4-2-08)

iii. Not be the owner or operator of the petroleum underground storage tank, an employee of the owner 
or operator of the petroleum underground storage tank, or a person having daily on-site responsibility for the 
operation and maintenance of the petroleum underground storage tank; (4-2-08)

iv. Use an inspection report form developed by the Department. Review of applicable records and 
other activities that can be accomplished off-site may be combined with activities conducted at the site to fulfill the 
on-site inspection requirement; and (4-2-08)

v. Complete and submit the inspection report to the Department in the manner and time frame 
established by the Department. All third-party inspection reports must be submitted electronically to the Department 
for review and for the Department to make a compliance determination for each site. If requested by the Department, 
third-party inspectors shall provide all supporting documentation for its inspection reports. (4-2-08)

b. Third-party inspection procedures must contain an audit program, developed by the Department, to 
monitor third-party inspectors on a routine basis. The audit program must include a sufficient number of on-site 
inspections to effectively assess inspector performance. (4-2-08)

c. If a third-party inspector fails to demonstrate to the approved state program adequate competence 
and proficiency to perform petroleum underground storage tank inspections, or the approved state program otherwise 
S - RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE PAGE 34 2017 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0107-1601
Rules Regulating Underground Storage Tank Systems PENDING FEE RULE
determines it is not appropriate for the third-party inspector to conduct on-site inspections as part of a third-party 
inspection program, the approved state program must take appropriate action against the third-party inspector as 
provided by law. (4-2-08)

03. Inspections. All inspections shall be done in accordance with the provisions of Section 39-108, 
Idaho Code. At a minimum, an on-site inspection must assess compliance with the provisions of these rules and 40 
CFR Part 280. following: (4-2-08)(        )

a. Notification; (4-2-08)

b. Corrosion protection; (4-2-08)

c. Overfill prevention in place and operational; (4-2-08)

d. Spill prevention in place and operational; (4-2-08)

e. Tank and piping release detection; (4-2-08)

f. Reporting suspected releases; (4-2-08)

g. Records of tank and piping repairs; (4-2-08)

h. Secondary containment where required; (4-2-08)

i. Financial responsibility; and (4-2-08)

j. Temporary closure. (4-2-08)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

601. FEE SCHEDULE FOR UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS.
All regulated underground storage tanks shall pay an annual underground storage tank fee provided in Section 39-
119, Idaho Code. The fee shall be assessed to regulated underground storage tanks as provided in Section 601.(        )

01. Fee Criteria. (        )

a. Compartment and siphon-manifolded underground storage tanks shall be treated as separate 
underground storage tanks. (        )

b. Temporarily out of use tanks are included in Section 601. (        )

02. Fee Amount and Schedule. (        )

a. Annual fees shall be paid for each fee year beginning January 2. 2018, and continuing for each 
succeeding year. (        )

b. The annual fee per underground storage tank is one hundred dollars ($100). The annual fee shall 
not exceed one hundred dollars ($100) and will be re-calculated each year if the fee balance exceeds thirty-five 
thousand dollars ($35,000). Any fee balance above thirty-five thousand dollars ($35,000) will be used to reduce the 
following year’s fee. (        )

c. New underground storage tanks installed after January 2 will not pay a fee until the following 
January. (        )

03. Billing. (        )
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a. An annual fee invoice will be generated and mailed in November for each owner listed in the 
Department’s Underground Storage Tank Database. (        )

b. Owners will have one (1) month to notify the Department in writing if the number of underground 
storage tanks is incorrect. (        )

04. Payment. Payment of the annual fee shall be due on January 2, unless it is a Saturday, a Sunday, or 
a legal holiday, in which event the payment shall be due on the successive business day. Fees paid by check or money 
order shall be made payable to the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality and sent to 1410 North Hilton Street, 
Boise, ID 83706-1255. (        )

05. Delinquent Unpaid Fees. An owner will be delinquent in payment if the annual fee has not been 
received by the Department by March 1. (        )

06. Enforcement. Failure to comply with Section 601 shall be subject to enforcement and penalties 
pursuant to the enforcement provisions of Section 39-108, Idaho Code, (Idaho Environmental Protection and Health 
Act), and Section 39-8811(2), Idaho Code, (Idaho Underground Storage Tank Act). (        )

07. Nonrefundable. The annual fee required by these rules shall be nonrefundable. (        )

08. Fee Report. Prior to February 1 of each year, the Director shall report to the Governor and the 
Idaho Legislature on the use of fees collected the previous year. At a minimum, the report shall include: (        )

a. A list of all tanks subject to inspection; (        )

b. The type of inspection and regulatory authority or guidance used; and (        )

c. A detailed accounting of how fee funds were spent. (        )
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