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IDAPA 05 - IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE CORRECTIONS
05.01.02 - RULES AND STANDARDS FOR SECURE JUVENILE DETENTION CENTERS
DOCKET NO. 05-0102-1501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(3), and 20-504(12), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the September 2, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-9 pages 37 - 47.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: No fiscal impact on the General Fund.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending
rule, contact Karen Skow, (208) 884-7323.

DATED this 30th Day of September, 2015.

Sharon Harrigfeld, Director

Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections
954 W. Jefferson, Boise, ID 83702

PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0285
Phone: (208) 334-5100

FAX: (208) 334-5120

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 20-504A(2), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 16, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:
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These changes were made in an effort to provide better clarity. All changes were vetted by the Standards
Committee which consists of juvenile detention administrators.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the changes will only increase clarity to existing rules and to strike the outdated rules.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Karen Skow, (208) 884-7323.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 23, 2015.

DATED this 6th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 05-0102-1501

212. STAFF REQUIREMENTS AND STAFF DEVELOPMENT.

01. Twenty-Four Hour Supervision. The detention center shall be staffed by detention center
employees on a twenty-four (24) hour basis when juvenile offenders are being housed. (3-30-07)
02. Staffing. The detention center shall have staff to perform all functions relating to security,

supervision, services and programs as needed to operate the detention center. The detention center shall have policy
and procedures in place governing staffing and shall submit a staffing plan to the department prior to licensing and
renewal. The following staffing plan is a recommendation only, and is not mandatory. It is recommended that each
secure juvenile facility shall maintain staff ratios of a minimum of one to eight (1:8) plus one (1) during resident
waking hours and one to sixteen (1:16) during resident sleeping hours, except during limited and discrete exigent
circumstances, which shall be fully documented. (3-20-14)

a. If the detention center houses eight (8) or fewer juvenile offenders, there should be at least one (1)
direct care staff and one (1) other staff awake at all times. (3-30-07)

b. If the detention center houses more than eight (8) juvenile offenders, there should be one (1) direct
care staff for each eight (8) juvenile offenders plus one (1) additional staff awake at all times. Example: if the
detention center houses thirty-two (32) juvenile offenders, four (4) direct care staff would be recommended (one (1)
staff to eight (8) juvenile offenders), plus one (1) additional staff for a total of five (5) staff. (3-29-12)

03. Gender of Employees. At least one (1) of the detention center employees on duty should be female
when females are housed in the detention center and at least one (1) should be male when males are housed in the
detention center. An employee of the same gender as the juvenile offender being detained shall be on duty at the time
of intake. (3-30-07)
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04. Minimum Qualifications. (3-30-07)

a. Direct care staff, at the time of employment, shall meet the minimum criminal history background
and certification requirements as provided in IDAPA 11.11.02, “Rules of the Idaho Peace Officer Standards and
Training Council for Juvenile Detention Officers.” (3-30-07)

b. Direct care volunteers, before starting volunteer services, shall meet the minimum criminal history
background requirements as provided in IDAPA 11.11.02, “Rules of the Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training
Council for Juvenile Detention Officers.” (3-30-07)

c. The agency shall conduct criminal background records checks at least every five (5) years of
current employees, contractors, and volunteers who may have contact with residents as outlined in PREA Standard
Section 115.317. (3-20-14)

05. Training and Staff Development Plan. Each juvenile detention center shall develop a staff
training and development plan based on the policy and procedures of the detention center. The plan shall also ensure
that all juvenile detention officers earn the juvenile detention officer certificate as mandated in IDAPA 11.11.02,

“Rules of the Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training Council for Juvenile Detention Officers.” (3-30-07)

a. All new direct care staff shall be provided orientation training. The orientation and training plan

shall address areas including, but not limited to: (3-29-12)

1. First aid/CPR; (3-30-07)

il. Security procedures; (3-30-07)

iil. Supervision of juvenile offenders; (3-30-07)

iv. Suicide prevention; (3-20-14)

V. Fire and emergency procedures; (3-30-07)

vi. Safety procedures; (3-30-07)

Vvii. Appropriate use of physical intervention, and demonstrate an adequate level of proficiency as
determined by a P.O.S.T. certified appropriate use of force instructor using a P.O.S.T. approved grading matrix;

B336-6H(__ )

viii. Report writing; (3-30-07)

iX. Juvenile offender rules of conduct; (3-30-07)

X. Rights and responsibilities of juvenile offenders; (3-30-07)

xi. Fire and emergency procedures; (3-30-07)

Xii. Safety procedures; (3-30-07)

xiil. Key control; (3-30-07)

Xiv. Interpersonal relations; (3-30-07)

XV. Social/cultural life styles of the juvenile population; (3-30-07)

XVi. Communication skills; (3-29-12)
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XVil. Mandatory reporting laws and procedures; (3-20-14)
xviii.  Professional boundaries; and (3-20-14)
XiX. All training as outlined in section 115.331 of the PREA Standards. (3-20-14)
b. All direct care staff who are considered part-time, on-call, or working fewer than forty (40) hours

per week and any direct care staff who works in a facility classified as Rural Exception, must obtain a part-time
juvenile detention officer certification as mandated by IDAPA 11.11.02, “Rules of the Idaho Peace Officer Standards

and Training Council for Juvenile Detention Officers.” ( )
be. Ongoing training shall be provided at the minimum rate of twenty-eight (28) hours for each
subsequent year of employment, which shall include, but not be limited to: (3-20-14)
i. A total of eight (8) hours of appropriate use of force, and demonstrate an adequate level of
proficiency as determined by a P.O.S.T. certified appropriate use of force instructor using a P.O.S.T. approved grading
matrix; and {32044 )
1. All ongoing training as outlined in section 115.331 of the PREA Standards: and ( )
iil. All other trainings that require recertification. (3-20-14)
ed. Volunteers and contractors shall be trained commensurate to their level of contact with juvenile
offenders. (3-29-12)
de. Each facility shall maintain accurate training documentation. (3-20-14)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

216. DOCUMENTATION.

01. Shift Log. The detention center shall maintain documentation including time notations on each
shift which includes the following information, at a minimum: (3-30-07)
a. Direct care staff on duty; (3-30-07)
b. Time and results of security or well-being checks and head counts; (4-5-00)
c. Names of juvenile offenders received or discharged with times recorded; (3-30-07)
d. Names of juvenile offenders temporarily released or returned for such purposes as court
appearances, work/education releases, furloughs, or other authorized absences from the detention center with times
recorded; (3-30-07)
e. Time of meals served,; (4-5-00)

f. Times and shift activities, including any action taken on the handling of any routine incidents;
(3-29-12)
g. Notation and times of entry and exit of all visitors, including physicians, attorneys, volunteers, and
others; (4-5-00)
h. Notations and times of unusual incidents, problems, disturbances, escapes; (3-29-12)
i. Notations and times of any use of emergency or restraint equipment; and (4-5-00)
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Rules & Standards for Secure Juvenile Detention Centers PENDING RULE
j- Notation and times of perimeter security checks. (4-5-00)
02. Housing Assignment Roster. The detention center shall maintain a master file or roster board
indicating the current housing assignment and status of all juvenile offenders detained. (3-30-07)
03. Visitor’s Register. The detention center shall maintain a visitor’s register in which the following
will be recorded: (3-30-07)
a. Name of each visitor; (4-5-00)
b. Time and date of visit; (4-5-00)
c. Juvenile offender to be visited; and (3-30-07)
d. Relationship of visitor to juvenile offender and other pertinent information. (3-30-07)
04. Juvenile Detention Records. The detention center shall classify, retain and maintain an accurate
and current record for each juvenile offender detained in accordance with the provisions of Title 31, Chapter 8,
Section 31-871, Idaho Code. The record shall contain, at a minimum, the following: (3-30-07)
a. Booking and intake records; (4-5-00)
b. Record of court appearances; (4-5-00)
c. Documentation of authority to hold; (4-5-00)
d. Probation officer or caseworker, if assigned; (4-5-00)
e. Itemized inventory forms for all clothing, property, money, and valuables taken from the juvenile
offender; (3-30-07)
F 3-30-67
ef. Classification records and information about a resident’s personal history and behavior to reduce
the risk of sexual abuse by or upon a resident; (3-20-14)
hg. Documentation of education as outlined in PREA Standard Section 115.333; (3-20-14)
#h. Rule infraction reports; (4-5-00)
Fi. Records of disciplinary actions; (4-5-00)
j. Grievances filed and their dispositions; (4-5-00)
k. Release records; (4-5-00)
#l. Personal information and emergency contact information; (4-5-00)
#m. Documentation of a completed intake medical screening; (3-29-12)
en. Visitor records; (4-5-00)
PoO. Incident reports; (4-5-00)
4D. Photographs. (4-5-00)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

223. SAFETY AND EMERGENCY PROCEDURES.

01. Written Polrcy and Procedures The detentron center shall have wrrtten pohcy and procedures
that address fire safety; ‘ 5 q

plans for responding to ernergency smlatrons ' 6’—59—9—@1 )

02. Compliance with Fire Code. The detention center shall comply with local and state fire codes. A
request for an annual inspection shall be made to the local fire marshal or authorized agency. The detention center
shall maintain documentation of this inspection. (3-30-07)

224. DETENTION CENTER SECURITY.

01. Security and Control Policy. The detention center’s policy and procedures manual shall contain
all procedures for detention center security and control, with detailed instructions for implementing these procedures,
and are reviewed at least annually and updated as needed. The manual shall be made available to all staff. (3-30-07)

02. Personal Observation. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures that

govern the observation of all juvenile offenders and shall, at a minimum,

require direct care staff to personally observe all juvenile offenders every thirty (30) minutes on an 1rregular schedule

and the time of such checks shall be logged. More frequent checks should be made of juvenile offenders who are
violent, suicidal, mentally ill, or who have other special problems or needs warranting closer observation.

3-30-05(__)

03. Cross Gender Supervision. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures
governing supervision of female juvenile offenders by male employees and male juvenile offenders by female
employees which shall be based on privacy needs and legal standards. Except in emergencies, detention center
employees shall not observe juvenile offenders of the opposite sex in shower areas. Reasonable accommodation of
privacy needs shall be observed. (4-2-08)

04. Head Counts. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures which shall outline a
system to physically count or account for all juvenile offenders, including juvenile offenders on work release,
educational release, or other temporary leave status who may be absent from the detention center for certain periods
of the day. At least three (3) documented counts shall be conducted every twenty-four (24) hours. At least one (1)

count shall be conducted each shift and there shall be at least four (4) hours between each count. (3-30-07)
0S. Camera Surveillance. Camera surveillance equipment shall not be used in place of the personal
observation of juvenile offenders. (3-29-12)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

226. PERIMETER SECURITY CHECKS AND SECURITY INSPECTIONS.

01. Perimeter Security Checks. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures which
govern the frequency and performing of perimeter security checks. (3-30-07)

02. Securlty Inspectlons The detentlon center &MW%&%EW@%&H—&OWH&O’%

and nrocedures that require tlmelV notn‘" Cdtlon to the detentlon center admmlstrator or designee of any structural or

security deficiencies. The detention center administrator shall promptly correct any identified problems. The facility
shall maintain documentation of any corrective action. 3-36-675) )
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

228. SECURITY DEVICES.

01. Key Control. The detention center shall have policy and procedures in place to govern key and tool
control. (3-30-07)
02. Security Devices. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures that govern the

use of security devices. Detention center employees shall use only security equipment on which they have been
properly trained and is issued through, or authorized by, the detention center administrator. Eertifieation The facility
B330-04( )

shall maintain documentation of proper training-shet-be-kept-in-detentionrecords.

03. Weapons Locker. The detention center shall provide a weapons locker or similar arrangement at
security perimeter entrances for the temporary storage of weapons belonging to law enforcement officers who must
enter the detention center. (3-30-07)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

234. MEALS.

01. Providing Meals. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures which govern the
providing of meals. Three (3) meals, at least two (2) of which includes a hot entree, shall be served daily. (3-29-12)

a. Meals must be served at approximately the same time every day. No more than fourteen (14) hours
shall elapse between the evening meal and breakfast the next day unless an evening snack is served. If snacks are
provided, up to sixteen (16) hours may elapse between the evening meal and breakfast. (4-5-00)

b. Juvenile offenders out of the detention center attending court hearings or other approved functions
when meals are served shall have a meal provided upon their return if they have not already eaten. (3-30-07)

c. If meals are provided to staff, the menu should be the same as provided to juvenile offenders.

(3-30-07)

d. The health authority or a medical employee shall be notified when a juvenile offender does not eat

three (3) consecutive meals. (3-30-07)

02. Hse-of-Food Withholding of Meals as Disciplinary Sanction Prohibited. The detention center
shall have written policy and procedures which dictate that feed meals shall not be withheld from juvenile offenders,

nor the menu varied as a disciplinary sanction. 3-36-07)( )
03. Control of Utensils. The detention center shall have a control system for the issuance and return of
all food preparation and eating utensils. (3-30-07)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

245. PERSONAL HYGIENE.

01. Personal Hygiene Items. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures which
shall govern the provision of, without charge, the following articles necessary for maintaining proper personal
hygiene: (3-30-07)

a. Soap; (4-5-00)
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b. Toothbrush; (4-5-00)
c. Toothpaste; (4-5-00)
d. Comb or brush; (3-30-07)
e. Shaving equipment upon request; (3-30-07)
f. Products for female hygiene needs; and (3-30-07)
g. Toilet paper. (3-30-07)
02. Removal of Personal Hygiene Items. The detention center shall have written policy and

procedures that govern the removal of personal hygiene items from juvenile offenders’ sleeping areas. Removal must
be based upon sufficient reason to believe that the juvenile offender’s access to the items poses a risk to the safety of

juvenile offenders, staff or others, or poses a security risk to the detention center. (3-30-07)
03. Clothing and Linens. The detention center shall provide for the issue of clean clothing, bedding,

linens, and towels to new juvenile offenders held overnight. At a minimum, the following shall be provided:
(3-30-07)
a. A set of standard detention center clothing or uniform,; (3-30-07)
b. A set of standard detention center bedding and linens: ( )
bc. Fire-retardant mattress; (4-5-00)
& Pillow-andpillow-ease: 4-5-00)
& Bro(2)-sheets-or-one{l)lsheet-andone{l)mattresscover: 4-5-60)
ed. Sufficient blankets to provide comfort under existing temperature conditions; and (4-5-00)
fe. One (1) clean towel. (4-5-00)
04. Laundry Services. Laundry services shall be sufficient to allow required clothing, bedding, and
towel exchanges for juvenile offenders. (3-30-07)
a. Clothing and towels used by the juvenile offender while in the detention center shall be laundered
or exchanged at least twice each week. (3-30-07)
b. Linen shall be changed and laundered or exchanged at least once weekly or more often, as
necessary. (4-5-00)
c. Blankets in use shall be laundered or exchanged at least monthly, or before re-issue to another
juvenile offender. (3-30-07)
0s. Clothing and Linen Supplies. The detention center inventory of clothing, bedding, linen, and
towels shall exceed the maximum population to ensure that a reserve is always available. (3-30-07)

246. -- 249. (RESERVED)
250. HEALTH SERVICES.
01. Written Policy and Procedures. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures to

govern the delivery of reasonable medical, dental, and mental health services. These written policy and procedures
must at a minimum address, but are not limited to the following: (3-30-07)
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a. Intake medical screening must be documented and performed on all juvenile offenders upon
admission to the detention center. (3-29-12)
1. The medical screening should include inquiry of current illness and health problems, dental
problems, sexually transmitted and other infectious diseases, medication taken and special health requirements, if
any, the use of alcohol or drugs, mental illness and/or suicidal behavior. (3-29-12)
ii. The screening should also include observations of unusual behavior, including state of
consciousness, mental status, appearance, conduct, tremor, sweating, body deformities, physical injuries, trauma
markings, bruises, rashes, evidence of body vermin, and ease of movement; (3-29-12)
b. Handling of juvenile offenders’ requests for medical treatment; (3-30-07)
c. Non-emergency medical services; (4-5-00)
d. Emergency medical and dental services; (4-5-00)
e (B3-36-07
fe. Use of @# a vehicle for emergency vehiele transport; {4-5-065( )
&
A, Emergency on-call physician and dental services when the emergency health care facility is not
located nearby; (4-5-00)
ig. First-aid and CPR instructions and training, including the availability of first-aid supplies; (4-5-00)
Fh. Screening, referral, and care of juvenile offenders who may be suicide-prone, or experience
physical, mental or emotional disabilities; (3-30-07)
i, Arrangements for providing close medical supervision of juvenile offenders with special medical or
psychiatric problems; (3-30-07)
1. Delousing; (3-29-12)
#ik. Infectious disease control and medical isolation; (4-5-00)
nl. Temporary, immediate isolation, and proper examination by the medical employee of juvenile
offenders suspected of having contagious or infectious diseases; (3-30-07)
em. Management of pharmaceuticals, including storage in a secure location; and (3-30-07)
pn. Notification of next of kin or appropriate authorities in case of serious illness, injury or death.
(3-30-07)
02. Medical Judgments. Except for regulations necessary to ensure the safety and order of the
detention center, all matters of medical, mental health, and dental judgment shall be the sole province of the health
authority, who shall have final responsibility for decisions related to medical judgments. (3-30-07)
03. Informed Consent. Permission to perform medical, surgical, dental or other remedial treatment
shall be obtained from parents, spouse, guardian, court or other competent person as stated in Title 16, Chapter 16,
Section 16-1627, Idaho Code. (3-30-07)

04. Health Appraisal. A health appraisal for each juvenile offender shall be provided by the health
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authority or medical employee within fourteen (14) days of admission. (3-30-07)
251. -- 254. (RESERVED)
255.  RULES AND DISCIPLINE.

01. Written Policy and Procedures. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures for
maintaining discipline and regulating juvenile offenders’ conduct. The following general principle shall apply:

(3-30-07)

a. The conduct of juvenile offenders shall be regulated in a manner which encourages and supports

appropriate behavior, with penalties for negative behavior; (3-30-07)

b. The detention center shall have written rules of conduct which specify prohibited acts, the penalties

that may be imposed for various degrees of violation, and the disciplinary procedures to be followed; (3-30-07)

c. Disciplinary action shall be of a nature to regulate juvenile offenders’ behavior within acceptable

limits and shall be taken at such times and in such degrees as necessary to accomplish this objective; (3-30-07)
d. The behavior of juvenile offenders shall be controlled in an impartial and consistent manner;

(3-30-07)

e. Disciplinary action shall not be arbitrary, capricious, retaliatory, or vengeful; (4-5-00)

f. Corporal or unusual punishment is prohibited, and care shall be taken to insure juvenile offenders’

freedom from personal abuse, humiliation, mental abuse, personal injury, disease, property damage, harassment, or

punitive interference with daily functions of living, such as eating or sleeping; (3-30-07)

g. Use of restraints or use of physical force as punishment is prohibited; (3-30-07)

h. Withholding of f6ed meals or variation of diet as punishment is prohibited; and {4-3-00)( )

i. Juvenile offenders shall not be subject to any situation in which juvenile offenders impose

discipline on each other. (3-30-07)

02. Resolution of Rule Infractions. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures to

define and govern the resolution of rule infractions. (3-30-07)

03. Grievance Procedures. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures for juvenile

offenders which will identify grievable issues and define the grievance process. (3-30-07)

04. Criminal Law Violations. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures to govern

the handling of incidents that involve the violation of federal, state, or local criminal law, including prompt referral to

the appropriate authority for possible investigation and prosecution. (3-30-07)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

261. ADMISSION.

01. Orientation Materials. Written policy and procedures shall provide that new juvenile offenders
receive orientation materials, including conduct rules. If, at any time, a literacy or language barrier is recognized, the
detention center shall make good faith efforts to assure that the juvenile offender understands the material. (3-30-07)

02. Written Procedures for Admission. The detention center shall have written policy and procedures
for admission of juvenile offenders which shall address, but are not limited to, the following: (3-30-07)
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a. Determination that the juvenile offender is lawfully detained in the detention center; (3-29-12)
b. The classification of juvenile offenders in regard to sleeping, housing arrangements, and
programming; (3-30-07)
c. If the juvenile offender shows signs of illness, injury, is incoherent, or unconscious, he shall not be
admitted to the detention center until the detaining officer has provided written documentation from medical
personnel or a physician of examination, treatment, and fitness for confinement; (3-29-12)
d. A complete search of the juvenile offender and possessions; (3-30-07)
e. The care and disposition of personal property; B3-36-07)( )
f. Provision of shower and the issuance of detention clothing and personal hygiene articles; (3-30-07)
g. The provision of medical, dental and mental health screening; (3-30-07)
h. Male and female juvenile offenders shall not occupy the same sleeping room; (3-30-07)
i. The recording of basic personal data and information; (3-30-07)
J- Providing assistance to juvenile offenders in notifying their families of their admission and the
discussion of procedures for mailing and visiting; (3-29-12)
k. The fingerprinting and photographing in accordance with Title 20, Chapter 5, Section 20-516(8),
Idaho Code; and (3-29-12)
L. The administration of the MAY SI or other approved risk tool. (3-29-12)

03. Court Appearance Within Twenty-Four Hours. According to Title 20, Chapter 5, Section 20-
516(4), Idaho Code, written policy and procedures shall ensure that any juvenile offender placed in detention or
shelter care be brought to court within twenty-four (24) hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays for a
detention hearing to determine where the juvenile offender will be placed until the next hearing. Status offenders shall
not be placed in any jail or detention center, but instead may be placed in juvenile shelter care facilities.  (3-30-07)

04. Limitations of Detention. Written policy and procedures shall limit the use of detention in
accordance with Title 20, Chapter 5, Section 20-516, Idaho Code. (3-30-07)
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IDAPA 05 - IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE CORRECTIONS
05.02.01 - RULES FOR RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT PROVIDERS
DOCKET NO. 05-0201-1501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(10) and 20-504(12), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the September 2, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-9 pages 48 - 53.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending
rule, contact Jessica Moncada, (208) 334-5100 x. 410.

DATED this 30th Day of September, 2015.

Sharon Harrigfeld, Director

Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections
954 W. Jefferson, Boise, ID 83702

PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0285
Phone: (208) 334-5100

FAX: (208) 334-5120

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(3) and 20-504(12),
Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 16, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:
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The minor changes made to this rule are in an effort to clarify the currently existing rules, and as requested
during the 2015 legislative session. The changes include:

In the definition of “body cavity search” the term medical “authority” has been changed to medical “health
professional” for consistency in the rule; adds the words “provider employee” to clarify that staff at the
residential treatment provider are prohibited from transporting juveniles in their personal vehicles unless an
emergency situation exists.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because many contracted providers are already in compliance with these rules, and the changes made will
only increase clarity and decrease any duplicative efforts made by contracted providers.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jessica Moncada, (208) 334-5100 ext. 410.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 23, 2015.

DATED this 6th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 05-0201-1501

010. DEFINITIONS.
01. Adult. A person eighteen (18) years of age or older. (4-11-15)

02. Assessment. The process of gathering information to determine risk and program needs for the
purpose of guiding placement decisions and to develop the individualized treatment/service plan. (4-11-15)

03. Body Cavity Search. The examination and possible intrusion into the rectal or vaginal cavities to
detect contraband. It is performed only by the medical e##heri#y health professional. 45 )

04. Body Search, Clothed. Also referred to as a Pat Search. A search during which a juvenile offender
is not required to remove their clothing, with the exception of such items as a jacket, hat, socks and shoes. (4-11-15)

05. Body Search, Unclothed. Also referred to as a Strip Search. A search during which a juvenile
offender is required to remove all clothing that is conducted by a medical health professional. (4-11-15)
06. Clinical Supervisor. Person who supervises juvenile services coordinators and clinicians in

assigned regions and reviews and approves case management documentation. This responsibility also includes
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oversight of the regional observation and assessment process, and assisting in the maintenance and development of
programs. (4-11-15)

07. Commit. To transfer legal custody to the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. (4-11-15)

08. Community Service Hours. Hours of community service performed by a juvenile offender in
response to a court order or which may be imposed following a formal disciplinary process within a residential
treatment provider program for damages to the facility or program. (4-11-15)

09. Community Treatment Team. A team including the juvenile services coordinator, residential
treatment provider case manager, juvenile probation officer, family, and others, as necessary, who work together to
provide input into each juvenile offender’s service implementation plan, implement their respective sections of that

plan, and monitor and report progress on treatment goals. (4-11-15)

10. Contraband. Any item not issued or authorized by the residential treatment provider.  (4-11-15)

11. Confidential Information. Information that may only be used or disclosed as provided by state or

federal law, federal regulations, or state rule. (4-11-15)

12. Court. District court or magistrate’s division thereof. (4-11-15)

13. Criminogenic Risks and Needs. Assessed juvenile offender risk factors or attributes of juvenile
offenders that are directly linked to criminal behavior and, when changed, influence the probability of recidivism.

(4-11-15)

14. Department. The Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. (4-11-15)

15. Detention. Refers to the temporary placement of juveniles who require secure custody for their

own or the community’s protection in physically restricting facilities. (4-11-15)

16. Director. The director of the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. (4-11-15)

17. Escape/Attempted Escape. Attempting to leave or leaving a facility without permission, or

attempting to leave or leaving the lawful custody of any officer or other person responsible for juvenile’s supervision

without permission. (4-11-15)

18. Facility. The physical plant associated with the operation of residential or nonresidential programs.

(4-11-15)

19. Facility Treatment Team. The group of staff employed by the department or by the residential
treatment provider who have input into developing the juvenile offender’s service implementation plan, who provide
direct services to juvenile offenders, and who monitor and report on the progress on meeting the goals in that plan.
The facility treatment team is responsible for working with the community treatment team to develop and implement
the service implementation plan. (4-11-15)

20. Incident Report. A written document reporting any occurrence or event, or any other incident
which threatens the safety and security of staff, juvenile offenders or others, or which threatens the security of the
program and which requires a staff response. (4-11-15)

21. Interns. A paraprofessional staff who is pursuing a degree and who, as a part of documented
coursework with a college or university, may provide counseling or other services to juvenile offenders in the
department’s custody or their families, under direct supervision of qualified staff. (4-11-15)

22. Judge. A district or a magistrate judge. (4-11-15)

23. Juvenile. A person less than eighteen (18) years of age or who was less than eighteen (18) years of
age at the time of any act, omission or status bringing the person within the purview of the Juvenile Corrections Act.
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Rules for Residential Treatment Providers PENDING RULE
(4-11-15)

24, Juvenile Offender. A person under the age of eighteen (18), at the time of any act, omission, or

status and who has been adjudicated as being within the purview of the Juvenile Corrections Act. (4-11-15)
25. Juvenile Records. Information concerning the juvenile offender’s delinquent or criminal, personal,

and medical history, behavior and activities. (4-11-15)
26. Juvenile Services Coordinator. An individual, employed by the department, who provides

ongoing coordination of services for juvenile offenders committed to the custody of the department. Services include
but are not limited to: case coordination/management, family services, and reintegration. In all cases, the juvenile
services coordinator collaborates with the facility case manager in providing these services. The juvenile services
coordinator communicates information with families, communities, courts, and with other IDJC employees
throughout a juvenile’s commitment. (4-11-15)

27. Legal Custody. The relationship created by the court’s decree which imposes upon the custodian
responsibilities of physical possession of the juvenile offender, the duty to protect, train and discipline him and to
provide him with food, shelter, education and ordinary medical care. (4-11-15)

28. Legal Guardian. A person appointed as guardian of a minor under the laws of Idaho. For the
purposes of this title, legal guardian does not include and shall not be construed to include the owner, operator or the
agent of an owner or operator of a detention center, observation and assessment center, secure facility, residential
facility or other facility having temporary or long-term physical custody of the juvenile offender. (4-11-15)

29. Mechanical Restraints. Mechanical devices used to prevent an uncontrollable juvenile offender
from injuring themselves or others. (4-11-15)

30. Medical Health Professional. An individual who meets the applicable state’s criteria as a licensed
LPN, RN, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, physician or the equivalent. (4-11-15)

31. Mental Health Professional. An individual who possesses a master’s degree and meets the
applicable state’s criteria as a licensed LPC, LMFT, LCPC, LCSW, LMSW, psychologist or the equivalent. (4-11-15)

32. Observation and Assessment Evaluation. Written documentation of assessment tool results,
observations, interviews, risks, and any special considerations resulting in the creation of the service plan, which
includes the initial reintegration plan. (4-11-15)

33. Observation and Assessment Program. A residential or nonresidential program designed to
complete assessments of juveniles in the custody of the department. (4-11-15)

34. Physical Restraint. Any method of physical control of a juvenile offender which involves staff
touching or holding a juvenile offender to limit or control the juvenile offender’s actions. (4-11-15)

3s. PREA. A federal act promulgating standards that promote zero tolerance toward sexual abuse of
juvenile offenders by staff or by other juvenile offenders. Also known as Public Law 108-79 or the Prison Rape
Elimination Act. (4-11-15)

36. Program Director. The administrator of the residential treatment provider for juvenile offenders.
(4-11-15)

37. Progress Report. A written report summarizing progress toward the goals and objectives set in the
service implementation plan. (4-11-15)

38. Quality Improvement Services Bureau. Department employees responsible for overseeing
residential treatment provider’s compliance with contract terms and these rules. (4-11-15)

39. Referral Packet. The information necessary for a potential residential treatment provider to
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determine whether the program can appropriately meet the identified criminogenic risks and needs of the juvenile
being referred. (4-11-15)

40. Region. Subunits of the department organized by geographical areas and including all services and
programs offered by the department in that area. (4-11-15)

41. Regional Facility. Department-operated juvenile correctional centers located in each region of the
state. (4-11-15)

42. Reintegration Plan. That part of the juvenile offender’s service plan which specifically addresses
the terms, conditions and services to be provided as the juvenile offender moves to a lower level of care or leaves the
custody of the department. (4-11-15)

43. Relapse Prevention Plan. A document completed by the juvenile, used to identify interventions
for problem behavior, positive supports, and high risk people and places. (4-11-15)

44. Release from Department Custody. Termination of the department’s legal custody of a juvenile.
(4-11-15)

45. Residential Treatment Provider. Also known as Provider. A residential program under contract
with the department to supervise juvenile offenders, provide accountability and competency development in the least
restrictive setting, consistent with public safety. (4-11-15)

46. Restitution. Financial payment intended to reimburse victims for loss, damage, or harm caused by
a juvenile offender. Restitution must be court ordered. Providers may not impose restitution against a juvenile
offender without a court order. (4-11-15)

47. Restricted Clinical Information. Any record, document or other information legally protected
from dissemination to the general public by statute or rule, such as psychological evaluations, therapy notes, therapy
journals, sex histories, polygraph results, psychological testing, or other legally confidential information. (4-11-15)

48. Room Confinement. Instances in which juvenile offenders are confined in the room in which they
usually sleep, rather than being confined in an isolation room. (4-11-15)

49. Separation or Isolation. Any instance when juvenile offenders are confined alone for over fifteen
(15) minutes in a room other than the room in which they usually sleep. (4-11-15)

50. Service Implementation Plan. A written document produced and regularly updated by a
residential treatment provider with input from the community treatment team. This plan describes interventions and
objectives to address the service plan goals including the areas of community protection, accountability, and
competency development. (4-11-15)

51. Service Plan. A written document produced during the observation and assessment period
following commitment to the department that defines the juvenile offender’s criminogenic needs and risks, strengths,
goals, and recommendations for family and reintegration services. The service plan addresses the relevant needs and
services for each juvenile offender in areas such as mental health, medical, education, substance abuse, and social

skills. (4-11-15)
52. Sexual Abuse. Includes any type of contact which is sexual in nature and directed toward a
juvenile offender by staff or by juvenile offenders as well as sexual harassment which includes repeated and
unwelcomed sexual advances, comments, gestures, voyeurism, implied threats, and coercion. (4-11-15)
53. Staffings. Regularly scheduled meetings of the community and facility treatment team members to

review progress on treatment goals and objectives identified in each juvenile offender’s service implementation plan.
(4-11-15)

54. Subcontractor. A person or business which has contracted with the residential treatment provider
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for provision of some portion of work or services. (4-11-15)

55. Suicide Risk Assessment. An evaluation performed by a mental health professional to determine
the level of immediate risk of a juvenile offender attempting suicide, and to apply this information in developing a
safety plan for the juvenile offender. (4-11-15)

56. Suicide Risk Screening. An evaluation that is used to quickly determine, based upon known
history and current behavior, whether a juvenile offender presents any identifiable risk of immediate suicidal
behavior, and to call in a mental health professional to complete a suicide risk assessment. (4-11-15)

57. Superintendent. The person who has responsibility and oversight of a regional facility and over
the region of the state where the regional facility is located. (4-11-15)

58. Transfer. Any movement of a juvenile offender in the custody of the department from one (1)
residential treatment provider to another without a release from department custody. (4-11-15)

59. Treatment. Any program of planned services developed to meet risks and needs of juvenile
offenders and their families, as identified in an assessment, and as related to activities designed to teach alternate
behaviors and to support change in the beliefs that drive those behaviors. Treatment as referenced in this context also

includes the maintenance of conditions that keep juvenile offenders, staff and the community safe. (4-11-15)
60. Variance. The means of complying with the intent and purpose of a residential treatment provider
rule in a manner other than that specifically prescribed in the rule. (4-11-15)
61. Vocational Services. Any service provided related to assessment, education, guidance or training
in the area of work or basic living skills. (4-11-15)
62. Volunteer. A person from the community who freely chooses to do or provide both direct or
indirect services to juvenile offenders or staff at a facility or juvenile correctional center. This person is not compelled
to do so and is not compensated for the services. (4-11-15)
63. Waiver. The non-application of one (1) or more of these rules based upon a request by the
residential treatment provider and a written decision issued by the department. (4-11-15)
64. Work Program. A public service work project which employs juveniles at a reasonable wage for
the purpose of reimbursing victims of juvenile offender’s delinquent behavior. (4-11-15)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

205. TRANSPORTATION.

01. Transportation for Service Plan. It shall be the responsibility of the residential treatment provider
to provide all transportation associated with the juvenile offender’s service implementation plan. The family may be
relied upon to provide transportation for passes and some other community contacts as long as this does not present
any undue risk or burden to the juvenile offender, family, or community. (4-11-15)

02. Transportation for Court Proceedings. It is the provider’s responsibility to immediately notify
the juvenile offender’s juvenile services coordinator of court dates and appearances. Arrangements for transportation
related to court appearances, as well as related to transfer or release of juvenile offenders from department custody,
must be made between the residential treatment provider and the juvenile services coordinator. (4-11-15)

03. Transport in Personal Vehicles. Juveniles in the custody of the department will not be transported
in personal provider employee vehicles unless an emergency situation exists and is substantiated by documentation.

tHAH(__)
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EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(3) and 20-504(12), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the September 2, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-9 pages 54 - 57.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending
rule, contact Jessica Moncada, (208) 334-5100 x. 410.

DATED this 30th Day of September, 2015.

Sharon Harrigfeld, Director

Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections
954 W. Jefferson, Boise, ID 83702

PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0285
Phone: (208) 334-5100

FAX: (208) 334-5120

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(3) and 20-504(12),
Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 16, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:
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The minor changes made to this rule are in an effort to clarify the currently existing rules, and as requested
during the 2015 legislative session. The changes include:

In the definition of “body cavity search” the term medical “authority” has been changed to medical “health
professional” for consistency in the rule; adds provisions for unclothed body and body cavity searches that
state that “unclothed body searches must be conducted with an adult in the room, in addition to the medical
health professional, who is of the same gender as the juvenile offender being searched...”; clarifies that body
cavity searches may only be conducted “in a medical facility outside of the residential treatment provider.”

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because many contracted providers are already in compliance with these rules, and the changes made will
only increase clarity and decrease any duplicative efforts made by contracted providers.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jessica Moncada, (208) 334-5100 x. 410.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 23, 2015.

DATED this 6th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 05-0202-1501

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Body Cavity Search. The examination and possible intrusion into the rectal or vaginal cavities to
detect contraband. It is performed only by the medical e#theori#y health professional. 45 )

02. Body Search, Clothed. Also referred to as a Pat Search. A search during which a juvenile offender
is not required to remove their clothing, with the exception of such items as a jacket, hat, socks and shoes. (4-11-15)

03. Body Search, Unclothed. Also referred to as a Strip Search. A search during which a juvenile
offender is required to remove all clothing that is conducted by a medical health professional. (4-11-15)

04. Education Plan. A written plan for general education students outlining the coursework they will
complete each year towards meeting the Idaho Common Core Standards recommended coursework for their grade
level based on assessed academic, emotional, developmental and behavioral needs, and competencies. Students
qualifying for Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) services will have an Individual Education Plan
(IEP) in lieu of an education plan. (4-11-15)
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0s. General Education Student. A student who does not qualify for special education services under
the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). (4-11-15)
06. Health Services. Including, but not limited to, routine and emergency medical, dental, optical,
obstetrics, mental health, or other related health service. (4-11-15)
07. Independent Living Services. Services that increase a juvenile offender's ability to achieve
independence in the community. (4-11-15)
08. Individual Community Pass. Any instance in which a juvenile offender leaves the residential

treatment provider's facility for a planned activity, without direct supervision by at least one (1) residential treatment
provider or department staff. Regular school or work attendance, regular participation in off-site treatment sessions or
groups and other regular off-site activities specifically included in the service implementation plan or written
reintegration plan and approved by the juvenile services coordinator are not included in this definition. Individual

community passes include, but are not limited to: (4-11-15)
a. Day passes with family or other, approved individuals; (4-11-15)
b. Day or overnight home visits; (4-11-15)
c. Recreational activities not otherwise approved as a part of a group activity; and (4-11-15)
d. Funeral leave. (4-11-15)
09. Individual Education Plan (IEP). A written document (developed collaboratively by parents and

school personnel) which outlines the special education program for a student with a disability and is based on
assessed academic, emotional, developmental and behavioral needs, and competencies. This document is developed,
reviewed, and revised at an IEP meeting at least annually. (4-11-15)

10. Medical Health Assessment. A thorough review to determine a juvenile offender's comprehensive
health needs. This information is used to develop the medical terms of a juvenile offender's service plan.  (4-11-15)

11. Medical Health Professional. An individual who meets the applicable state's criteria as a licensed
LPN, RN, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, physician or the equivalent. (4-11-15)
12. Medical Health Screening. A process used to quickly identify a juvenile offender's immediate
health needs and to determine if there are any immediate needs related to a chronic health condition. (4-11-15)
13. Mental Health Assessment. A thorough review to determine a juvenile offender's comprehensive
mental health needs. This information is used to develop the medical terms of a juvenile offender's service plan.
(4-11-15)
14. Mental Health Screening. A process used to quickly identify a juvenile offender's immediate
mental health needs and to determine if there are any immediate needs related to a chronic mental health condition.
(4-11-15)
15. Privileged Mail. Mail between the juvenile offender and their attorneys, legal aid services, other

agencies providing legal services to juvenile, or paraprofessionals having legitimate association with such agencies;
judges and clerks of federal, state and county courts; public officials and their authorized representatives acting in
their official capacities; and the communications with clergy of the juvenile's faith. (4-11-15)

16. Staff Secure Facility. Secure residential facility with awake staff twenty-four (24) hours a day,

seven (7) days a week for intensive supervision of juvenile offenders. This includes architecturally secure residential
facilities. (4-11-15)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
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220. SEARCHES FOR CONTRABAND.

01. Searches of Personal Items. Routine searches of personal items being introduced into the program
may be conducted by staff prior to the juvenile offender taking possession of his property, or when the juvenile
offender is returning to the program from an individual community pass. Search of a juvenile offender's belongings
may be done at any time and must be minimally intrusive. (4-11-15)

02. Policies and Procedures Governing Consequences. The provider must have written policies and
procedures establishing the consequences for juvenile offenders found with contraband. (4-11-15)

03. Visitor Searches. (4-11-15)

a. Prior to visitors being allowed in the program, they must be given rules established by the provider
that govern their visit and advised that they may be subject to a search by trained staff. They must sign a statement of
receipt of these rules and it shall be placed in the provider's file. (4-11-15)

b. Visitors may be required to submit personal items for inspection. If there is reason to believe that
additional searches are necessary, admission to the facility shall be denied. Visitors who bring in items that are
unauthorized, but not illegal, will have these items taken and locked in an area inaccessible to the juvenile offenders

during the visit. These items will be returned to the visitors upon their exit from the facility. (4-11-15)
c. All visitor searches must be documented. When contraband is found, a written report must be
completed and submitted to the juvenile services coordinator. If necessary, the appropriate law enforcement agency
will be notified. (4-11-15)
04. Clothed Body Searches. (4-11-15)
a. Clothed body searches of juvenile offenders may be conducted whenever the provider believes it is

necessary to discourage the introduction of contraband into the program, or to promote the safety of staff, juvenile
offenders, and visitors. A clothed body search may be used when a juvenile offender is returning from a visit, outside
appointment, or activity. (4-11-15)

b. Clothed body searches must be conducted in the manner required by the rules of the Idaho
Department of Health and Welfare under IDAPA 16.06.02, “Standards for Child Care Licensing.” Clothed body
searches of juvenile offenders will be conducted by staff of the same gender as the juvenile offender. Clothed body
searches will be conducted using a pat down search on the outside of the juvenile's clothing. The staff member must
have had appropriate training in conducting clothed body searches. (4-11-15)

05. Unclothed Body Searches. Unclothed body searches of juvenile offenders may only be conducted
by a medical health professional and with prior written authorization from the program director or designee.
Unclothed body searches must be conducted with an adult in the room, in addition to the medical health professional,
who is of the same gender as the juvenile offender being searched. Unclothed body searches must be based upon a
reasonable belief that the juvenile is concealing contraband or signs of abuse. Immediately after conducting an
unclothed body search the provider must notify the department's regional superintendent and the Quality
Improvement Services Bureau. The provider must complete an incident report according to the requirements of
IDAPA 05.02.01.241, “Rules for Residential Treatment Providers.” 4—H3H( )

06. Body Cavity Searches. Body cavity searches of juvenile offenders may only be conducted in a
medical facility outside of the residential treatment provider, by a medical health professional, and with prior written
authorization from the program director or designee. Body cavity searches of juveniles will not be performed by staff,
interns, or volunteers under any circumstances. Looking into a juvenile's mouth, ears, or nose does not constitute a
body cavity search. Body cavity searches must be based upon a reasonable belief that the juvenile is concealing
contraband. Immediately after conducting a body cavity search the provider must notify the department's regional
superintendent and the Quality Improvement Services Bureau. The provider must complete an incident report
according to the requirements of IDAPA 05.02.01.241, “Rules for Residential Treatment Providers.” {47445} )
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07. Documentation of Searches. All searches must be documented in terms of reason for the search,
who conducted the search, what areas were searched, and what type of contraband was found, if any. If a search
yields contraband, the juvenile services coordinator must be notified and it shall be reported according to the
requirements of IDAPA 05.02.01.241, “Rules for Residential Treatment Providers.” If necessary, the appropriate law
enforcement agency should be notified. (4-11-15)

08. Contraband Disposal. All contraband found in the possession of juvenile offenders, visitors, or
staff must be confiscated by staff and secured under lock and key in an area inaccessible to juvenile offenders. Local
law enforcement must be notified in the event illegal drugs, paraphernalia, or weapons are found. It shall be the
responsibility of the program director, in consultation with the department, to dispose of all contraband not
confiscated by police. (4-11-15)
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NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(3) and 20-504(12), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the September 2, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-9 pages 58 - 61.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending
rule, contact Jessica Moncada, (208) 334-5100 x. 410.

DATED this 30th Day of September, 2015.

Sharon Harrigfeld, Director

Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections
954 W. Jefferson, Boise, ID 83702

PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0285
Phone: (208) 334-5100

FAX: (208) 334-5120

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 20-504(3) and 20-504(12),
Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 16, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:
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The minor changes made to this rule are in an effort to clarify the currently existing rules, and as requested
during the 2015 legislative session. The changes include:

In the definition of “body cavity search” the term medical “authority” has been changed to medical “health
professional” for consistency in the rule; adds provisions for unclothed body and body cavity searches that
state that “unclothed body searches must be conducted with an adult in the room, in addition to the medical
health professional, who is of the same gender as the juvenile offender being searched...”; clarifies that body
cavity searches may only be conducted “in a medical facility outside of the residential treatment provider.”

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because many contracted providers are already in compliance with these rules, and the changes made will
only increase clarity and decrease any duplicative efforts made by contracted providers.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jessica Moncada, (208) 334-5100 x. 410.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 23, 2015.

DATED this 6th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 05-0203-1501

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Body Cavity Search. The examination and possible intrusion into the rectal or vaginal cavities to
detect contraband. It is performed only by the medical e#theori#y health professional. 4—H5H )

02. Body Search, Clothed. Also referred to as a Pat Search. A search during which a juvenile offender
is not required to remove their clothing, with the exception of such items as a jacket, hat, socks and shoes. (4-11-15)

03. Body Search, Unclothed. Also referred to as a Strip Search. A search during which a juvenile
offender is required to remove all clothing that is conducted by a medical health professional. (4-11-15)

04. Education Plan. A written plan for general education students outlining the coursework they will
complete each year towards meeting the Idaho Common Core Standards recommended coursework for their grade
level based on assessed academic, emotional, developmental and behavioral needs, and competencies. Students
qualifying for Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) services will have an Individual Education Plan
(IEP) in lieu of an education plan. (4-11-15)
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05. General Education Student. A student who does not qualify for special education services under
the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). (4-11-15)
06. Health Services. Including, but not limited to, routine and emergency medical, dental, optical,
obstetrics, mental health, or other related health service. (4-11-15)
07. Independent Living Services. Services that increase a juvenile offender’s ability to achieve
independence in the community. (4-11-15)
08. Individual Community Pass. Any instance in which a juvenile offender leaves the residential

treatment provider’s facility for a planned activity, without direct supervision by at least one (1) residential treatment
provider or department staff. Regular school or work attendance, regular participation in off-site treatment sessions or
groups and other regular off-site activities specifically included in the service implementation plan or written
reintegration plan and approved by the juvenile services coordinator are not included in this definition. Individual

community passes include, but are not limited to: (4-11-15)
a. Day passes alone or with family or other, approved individuals; (4-11-15)
b. Day or overnight home visits; (4-11-15)
c. Recreational activities not otherwise approved as a part of a group activity; and (4-11-15)
d. Funeral leave. (4-11-15)

09. Individual Education Plan (IEP). A written document (developed collaboratively by parents and
school personnel) which outlines the special education program for a student with a disability and is based on
assessed academic, emotional, developmental and behavioral needs, and competencies. This document is developed,
reviewed, and revised at an IEP meeting at least annually. (4-11-15)

10. Medical Health Professional. An individual who meets the applicable state’s criteria as a licensed
LPN, RN, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, physician or the equivalent. (4-11-15)

11. Privileged Mail. Mail between the juvenile offender and their attorneys, legal aid services, other
agencies providing legal services to juvenile, or paraprofessionals having legitimate association with such agencies;
judges and clerks of federal, state and county courts; public officials and their authorized representatives acting in
their official capacities; and the communications with clergy of the juvenile’s faith. (4-11-15)

12. Reintegration Placement. The placement of a juvenile offender receiving independent living and

reintegration skills services from the provider. This placement may be with a host family, in a group setting, or in an
apartment. (4-11-15)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

220. SEARCHES FOR CONTRABAND.

01. Searches of Personal Items. Routine searches of personal items being introduced into the program
or residence may be conducted by staff prior to the juvenile offender taking possession of their property, or when the
juvenile offender is returning to the program or residence from an individual community pass. Search of a juvenile

offender’s belongings or residence may be done at any time and must be minimally intrusive. (4-11-15)
02. Policies and Procedures Governing Consequences. The reintegration provider must have written
policies and procedures establishing the consequences for juvenile offenders found with contraband. (4-11-15)
03. Clothed Body Searches. (4-11-15)
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a. Clothed body searches of juvenile offenders may be conducted whenever the reintegration provider
believes it is necessary to discourage the introduction of contraband into the facility, or to promote the safety of staff,
juvenile offenders, and visitors. A clothed body search may be used when a juvenile offender is returning from a visit,
outside appointment, or activity. (4-11-15)

b. Clothed body searches must be conducted in the manner described in the rules of the Idaho
Department of Health and Welfare under IDAPA 16.06.02, “Standards for Child Care Licensing.” Clothed body
searches of juvenile offenders will be conducted by staff of the same gender as the juvenile offender. Clothed body
searches will be conducted using a pat down search outside the juvenile’s clothing on each quadrant. (4-11-15)

04. Unclothed Body Searches. Unclothed body searches of juvenile offenders may only be conducted
by a medical health professional and with prior written authorization from the program director or designee.
Unclothed body searches must be conducted with an adult in the room, in addition to the medical health professional,
who is of the same gender as the juvenile offender being searched. Unclothed body searches must be based upon a
reasonable belief that the juvenile is concealing contraband or signs of abuse. Immediately after conducting an
unclothed body search the provider must notify the department’s regional superintendent and the Quality
Improvement Services Bureau. The provider must complete an incident report according to the requirements of
IDAPA 05.02.01.241, “Rules for Residential Treatment Providers.” HA-H—455)( )

05. Body Cavity Searches. Body cavity searches of juvenile offenders may only be conducted in a
medical facility outside of the residential treatment provider, by a medical health professional and with prior written
authorization from the program director or designee. Body cavity searches of juveniles will not be performed by staff,
interns, or volunteers under any circumstances. Looking into a juvenile’s mouth, ears, or nose does not constitute a
body cavity search. Body cavity searches must be based upon a reasonable belief that the juvenile is concealing
contraband. Immediately after conducting a body cavity search the provider must notify the department’s regional
superintendent and the Quality Improvement Services Bureau. The provider must complete an incident report
according to the requirements of IDAPA 05.02.01.241, “Rules for Residential Treatment Providers.” <4443} )

06. Documentation of Searches. All searches must be documented in terms of reason for the search,
who conducted the search, what areas were searched, and what type of contraband was found, if any. If a search
yields contraband, the juvenile services coordinator must be notified and it shall be reported according to the
requirements of IDAPA 05.02.01.241, “Rules for Residential Treatment Providers.” If necessary, the appropriate law
enforcement agency should be notified. (4-11-15)

07. Contraband Disposal. All contraband found in the possession of juvenile offenders, visitors, or
staff must be confiscated by staff and secured under lock and key in an area inaccessible to juvenile offenders. Local
law enforcement must be notified in the event illegal drugs, paraphernalia, or weapons are found. It shall be the
responsibility of the program director, in consultation with the department, to dispose of all contraband not
confiscated by police. (4-11-15)
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11.05.01 - RULES GOVERNING ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL
DOCKET NO. 11-0501-1401
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or as specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 23-901, 23-392, 23-1330 and 23-1408, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the September 2, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-9, pages 82-85.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending
rule, contact Capt. Russell Wheatley, Idaho State Police Alcohol Beverage Control (208) 884-7060 or
abc@isp.idaho.gov and reference Docket Number 11-0501-1401.

DATED this 24th day of November, 2015.

Colonel Ralph W. Powell, Director

Idaho State Police

700 S. Stratford Dr., Meridian, ID 83642
Tel: (208) 884-7003 / Fax: (208) 884-7090

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 23-901, 23-392, 23-1330 and
23-1408, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 16, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:
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Provide a definition for the term “Actual Use” as it pertains to an alcohol license and establishes criteria which
define the minimum standards for placing a newly issued or transferred license into use for purposes of clarification
and compliance.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the October 1, 2014
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 14-10, page 183.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Capt. Russell Wheatley, Idaho State Police Alcohol
Beverage Control (208) 884-7060 or abc@isp.idaho.gov and reference Docket Number 11-0501-1401.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 23, 2015.

DATED this 5th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 11-0501-1401

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Licensee. Any person who has received a license from the Director under any of the provisions of
Title 23, Chapters 9, 10 or 13, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)
02. Licensed Premises. Any premises for which a license has been issued under any of the provisions

of Title 23, Chapters 9, 10 or 13, Idaho Code. All areas included on the floor plan submitted to the Director with the
licensee’s application for a license constitute the licensed premises. In the event of loss or move of the physical
licensed premises, the licensee has ninety (90) days to secure and occupy a new premises in which to display the
license. All licenses must be prominently displayed in a suitable premises and remain in actual use by the licensee
and available for legitimate sales of alcoholic beverages by the drink. An additional sixty (60) days may be granted

by the Director, upon petition by the license holder. (3-6-07)
a. Actual Use. A liquor-by-the-drink license is in actual use when all of the following requirements
are satisfied: ( )
i The license must be prominently displayed in a premise that is suitable for carrying on the business
of selling liquor-by-the-drink. ( )
1. Except as provided in Section 23-908(4). Idaho Code, the business using the license must be open

to the public with liquor-by-the-drink available for sale and consumption therein for at least twenty (20) hours per
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week, and the hours of sale must occur during the times specified in Section 23-927. Idaho Code.

iii. The business must make at least twenty (20) sales of liquor-by-the-drink per week.

C )
C )

03. New Licenses. For purposes of Section 23-908(4), Idaho Code, a “new license” is one that has
become available as an additional license within a city’s limits under the quota system after July 1, 1980. The

requirement of Section 23-908(4), Idaho Code, that a new license be placed into actual use by the licensee and remain
in use for at least six (6) consecutive months is satisfied if the licensee makes actual sales of liquor by the drink

during at least eight (8) hours per day, no fewer than six (6) days per week. (3-6-07)

04. Multipurpose Arena. (4-4-13)

a. For purposes of Section 23-944(3), Idaho Code, a Multipurpose Arena is a: (4-4-13)

1. Publicly or privately owned or operated arena, coliseum, stadium, or other facility where sporting

events, concerts, live entertainment, community events, and other functions are presented for a ticketed price of

admission or one whose premises are leased for private events such as receptions; (4-4-13)
ii. Facility that is licensed to sell liquor by the drink at retail for consumption upon the premises; and

(4-4-13)

iil. Facility that has been endorsed by the director. (4-4-13)

b. A Multipurpose Arena facility must apply annually for an endorsement on its alcohol beverage

license. (4-4-13)

c. To receive a Multipurpose Arena endorsement under this Section will require the facility to have

food available including, but not limited to, hamburgers, sandwiches, salads, or other snack food. The director may
also restrict the type of events at a Multlpurpose Arena facility at which beer wine, and liquor by the drink may be
served. The director will also consider the seating accommodations, eating facilities, and circulation patterns in such
a facility, and other amenities available at a Multipurpose Arena facility before the director will endorse the license.
(4-4-13)

d. A licensee that applies for a Multipurpose Arena endorsement must submit with the application an
operating/security plan to the director and the local law enforcement agency for review and approval. Once approved,
the plan remains in effect until the licensee requests a change or the director determines that a change is necessary due
to demonstrated problems or conditions not previously considered or adequately addressed in the original plan. The
plan must be submitted in a format designated by the director and must contain all of the following elements:

(4-4-13)

1. How the Multipurpose Arena facility will prevent the sale and service of alcohol to persons under
twenty-one (21) years of age and those who appear to be intoxicated; (4-4-13)
il. The ratio of alcohol service staff and security staff to the size of the audiences at events where

alcohol is being served; (4-4-13)
iil. Training provided to staff who serve, regulate, or supervise the service of alcohol; (4-4-13)

iv. The facility's policy on the number of alcoholic beverages that will be served to an individual

patron during one (1) transaction; (4-4-13)
V. A list of event type/categories to be held in the facility at which alcohol service is planned, along

with a request for the level of alcohol service at each event; and (4-4-13)
vi. Diagrams and designation of alcohol service areas for each type of event category with identified
restrictions of minors. (4-4-13)
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e. Prior to the first of each month, the licensee must provide a schedule of events for the upcoming
month to the director and local law enforcement office. This schedule must show the date and time of each event
during which alcohol service is planned. The licensee must notify the director and local law enforcement at least
twenty-four (24) hours in advance of any events where alcohol service is planned that were not included in the
monthly schedule. (4-4-13)

f. To prevent persons who are under twenty-one (21) years of age or who appear intoxicated from
gaining access to alcohol, the director may require that an operating plan include additional mandatory requirements
if it is determined that the plan does not effectively prevent violations of liquor laws and regulations, particularly
those that prevent persons under twenty-one (21) years of age or who are apparently intoxicated from obtaining
alcohol. (4-4-13)

If premises, licensed as a Multipurpose Arena, subsequently ceases to meet the qualifications of a
Multlpurpose Arena, the restrictions contained in Section 23-943, Idaho Code, shall apply and the posting of signs as
provided for in Section 23- 945, Idaho Code, shall be required. The licensee shall advise the director, by mail, that his

premises no longer constitute a Multipurpose Arena, so that the license may be modified accordingly. (4-4—13)

05. Partition. A partition, as used in Section 23-944 Idaho Code, is defined as a structure separating

the place from the remainder of the premises. Access through the structure to the place will be controlled to prevent

minors from entering the place. The structure must be: (3-6-07)

a. Permanently fixed from the premises ceiling to the premises floor. (3-6-07)

b. Made or constructed of solid material such as glass, wood, metal or a combination of those

products. (3-6-07)
c. Designed to prevent an alcoholic beverage from being passed over, under or through the structure.

(3-6-07)

d. All partitions must be approved by the Director. (3-6-07)

06. Place. For the purposes of Section 23-943, Idaho Code, “Place” as defined by Section 23-942(b),
for a one (1) room restaurant without a barrier or partition, refers to the immediate bar area wherein there is seating
alongside a counter or barrier that encloses bar supplies and equipment that are kept, and where alcoholic beverages
are mixed, poured, drawn or served for consumption. (3-6-07)

07. Restaurant. The term Restaurant, as defined by Section 23-942(c), Idaho Code, is further defined
as an establishment maintained, advertised and held out to the public as primarily a food eating establishment, where
individually priced meals are prepared and regularly served to the public, primarily for on-premises consumption.
The establishment must also have a dining room or rooms, kitchen and cooking facilities for the preparation of food,
and the number, and type of employees normally used in the preparing, cooking and serving of meals. Primarily as
defined for the purposes of Section 010, also includes that the licensee must show to the director the following:

(3-6-07)

a. An established menu identifying the individually priced meals for consumption; (3-20-04)

b. Food service and preparation occurs on the premises by establishment employees; (3-20-04)

c. Stoves, ovens, refrigeration equipment or such other equipment usually and normally found in
restaurants are located on the premises of the establishment; (3-20-04)
d. The licensee must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Director, through appropriate business

records, that the establishment is advertised and held out to the public as primarily a food eating establishment, or that
at least forty percent (40%) of the establishments consumable purchases are derived from purchases of food and non-
alcoholic beverages. (3-20-04)

08. Stock Transfer. For the purposes of Section 23-908, Idaho Code, the sale or exchange of stock in a
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closely held corporation holding a license is deemed a transfer of the license. However, the sale or exchange of shares
in a family corporation among family members, is not a transfer. (3-6-07)
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EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or as specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 18-8301 through 18-833, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule will provide a mechanism for Idaho State Police to provide a determination as to what
convictions in other jurisdictions are “substantially equivalent” to a conviction under Idaho’s statutes that require a
person to be registered as a sex offender in Idaho. This determination will be made before a person moves to, begins
working in or becomes a student in Idaho.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the October 7, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-10, pages 140-143.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no negative fiscal impact on the state general fund or dedicated funds.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending
rule, contact Dawn Peck, Manager, Bureau of Criminal Identification, (208) 884-7130.

DATED this 24th day of November, 2015.

Colonel Ralph W. Powell
Director

Idaho State Police

700 S. Stratford Dr.

Meridian, ID 83642

(208) 884-7003/(208) 884-7090

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is September 1, 2015.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this
agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is
authorized pursuant to Sections 18-8301 through 18-8331, Idaho Code.
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PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed
rulemaking:

The amendment to this rule will provide a mechanism for Idaho State Police to provide a determination as to
what convictions in other jurisdictions are “substantially equivalent” to a conviction under Idaho’s statutes that
require a person to be registered as a sex offender in Idaho. This determination will be made before a person moves
to, begins working in or becomes a student in Idaho.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(a), Idaho Code, the Governor has found
that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

This rule is necessary to comply with the Idaho Supreme Court’s opinion in Doe v. State of Idaho, Docket No.
42372 (June 30, 2015).

FEE SUMMARY: No fees are imposed by this rule.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no negative fiscal impact on the state general fund or dedicated funds.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because there was no substantive change to the rule and no new federal regulations were adopted.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Dawn Peck, Manager, Bureau of
Criminal Identification, (208) 884-7130.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2015.

DATED this 28th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 11-1003-1501

010. DEFINITIONS.
The terms defined in Section 67-3001, Idaho Code, will have the same meaning in these rules. In addition, the
following terms shall have the meanings set forth below: (3-29-12)
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01. Bureau. “Bureau” means the Bureau of Criminal Identification, Idaho State Police. (3-18-99)
02. Central Registry. “Central Registry” means the state-level records system containing information,
photographs and fingerprints relating to persons required to register as a sex offender under Title 18, Chapters 83 and
84, Idaho Code. (3-18-99)
03. Department. “Department” means the Idaho State Police. (3-18-99)
04. Director. “Director” means the director of the Idaho State Police. (3-18-99)

05. Substantially Equivalent-e+S#ifar. “Substantially Equivalent” means any sex offense related
crime, regardless of whether a felony or misdemeanor, that consists of similar elements defined in Title 18 of the
Idaho Criminal Code. It does not mean exactly the same, nor exactly identical to. 3-29-42)( )

06. Working Days. “Working Days” means each day except Saturday, Sunday, or a legal state holiday.
(3-18-99)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

012. SEX OFFENDER CENTRAL REGISTRY -- ADMINISTRATION.

01. Central Registry Established. Pursuant to Title 18, Chapter 83, Idaho Code, the department
establishes a sex offender central registry in the bureau of criminal identification. The bureau is responsible for
administration of the central registry pursuant to the requirements set forth in Title 18, Chapters 83 and 84, Idaho
Code and these rules. (3-18-99)

02. Forms. The following forms and procedures will be used to provide notice to and collect
information from persons required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Title 18, Chapters 83 and 84, Idaho Code.
(3-29-12)

a. “Idaho Sex Offender Registry Form.” This three (3) page form notifies an offender of register
requirements and collects from an offender information required for registration or any change of address or status, as
required by statute. (3-29-12)

b. “Idaho Sex Offender Registry Homeless - Location Verification Form.” This one (1) page form is
used during weekly reporting to collect from an offender the information required when the offender does not provide
a physical address at the time of registration. (3-29-12)

03. Registration Location. An offender who is required to register either as an adult under Title 18,
Chapter 83, Idaho Code, or as a juvenile under Title 18, Chapter 84, Idaho Code, must notify and register at the
sheriff’s office in the county where the offender’s primary address is located. (3-29-12)

04. Photographs and Fingerprints. Whenever the Idaho Sex Offender Registry Form is used to
register an offender, it will be submitted to the central registry with the offender’s photograph, fingerprints, and
palmprints. (3-29-12)

a. An offender’s photograph will be in color. The sheriff will forward a copy of the photograph with
tagging information so it may easily be located by registry staff in the department of transportation photo database.
Photographs submitted to the central registry will be a copy of the new photographs taken at the time of each
registration. From collected registration fees, the sheriff will pay to the state the cost of photography materials
lawfully required by a state agency or department. (3-29-12)

b. The sheriff will also submit the required fingerprints on the federal bureau of investigation form
FD-249. For each registrant, the sheriff will forward one (1) FBI fingerprint card with each registration Form.
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(3-29-12)

c. The sheriff will also submit the required palmprints on the federal bureau of investigation form. For
each registrant, the sheriff will forward one (1) set of FBI palmprint cards with each registration form, unless a set
was previously submitted. (3-29-12)

0s. Notification to Local Law Enforcement. Lists of all offenders registered within a county are
available on the sex offender registry web site located at http:/isp.idaho.gov/sor id/. The bureau will notify the
appropriate county law enforcement agency with jurisdiction any time the bureau becomes aware of a change of
status or change of residence of a registered sex offender; and of a registered offender’s intent to reside in an agency’s
jurisdiction. Whenever practical, the bureau will provide notification using the Idaho law enforcement
telecommunication system (ILETS). (3-29-12)

06. Notification to Other Jurisdictions. Within one (1) working day of receiving notification that a
registered sex offender is moving to another jurisdiction, the bureau will notify the receiving jurisdiction’s designated
sex offender registration agency of the move by mail or electronic means. (3-29-12)

07. Expungement of Central Registry Information. (3-18-99)

a. Upon receipt of a certified copy of a death certificate recording the death of a person registered
with the central registry, the bureau will expunge all records concerning the person from the central registry.
(3-18-99)

b. Upon receipt of a duly attested copy of a pardon issued by the governor of the jurisdiction where
the conviction was entered and then reported to the central registry, the bureau will expunge all records concerning
the conviction from the central registry. If the pardoned person has no other conviction requiring registration, the
bureau will expunge all references concerning the person from the central registry. (3-29-12)

c. Upon receipt of a duly attested document from a court clerk that a conviction previously reported to
the central registry has been reversed by the court of conviction, the bureau will expunge all records concerning the
conviction from the central registry, provided that the person has no other conviction requiring registration. (3-29-12)

1. Expungement of a record will not occur in cases where a court has ordered a dismissal for a

withheld judgment. (3-29-12)

d. Pursuant to Section 18-8310(5), Idaho Code, if a person is exempted from the registration

requirement by court order, the bureau will expunge all records and references concerning the offender from the

central registry. (3-29-12)

08. Determination of Substantially Equivalent or Similar Crime. (3-29-12)

a. A person convicted of a sex offense in another jurisdiction and who moves to, works in, or becomes

a student in Idaho may be required to register as a sex offender in Idaho pursuant to Title 18, Chapters 83 or 84, Idaho

Code. 64—9—97\1 )

b. The bureau shall determine if a person's out-of-jurisdiction conviction is substantially equivalent or

similar to an Idaho sex related offense, as defined by Idaho's Criminal Code, for the purposes of requiring a person to

register in Idaho. (3-29-12)
C. The bureau may make all substantially equivalent determinations using the following documents:

(]

i Police Report (of the incident related to the sex offense); ( )

1. Indictment or Information or other lawful charging document; ( )

1il. Judgment or Order (of sex-offense conviction); ( )
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iv. Psychosexual Evaluation Report; and ( )
V. Order of Probation. ( )
d. If a person seeks a substantially equivalent determination by the bureau before moving to, working

in, or bec;ming a student in Idaho, that person shall provide a completed application and attach certified copies of all
above-named documents to the bureau. If all documents are not provided as required by this rule, the application and

any documents provided shall be returned to the applicant. ( )
€. The bureau shall issue a substantially equivalent determination within sixty (60) days upon receipt
of a completed application and the required documents. ( )

ef. The bureau’s deeision determination is en-ageney-action a declaratory ruling as defined by Chapter
52, Title 67, Idaho Code. 32942

g Judicial review of the bureau's deeision determination shall be made in accordance with Chapter

52, Title 67, Idaho Code. 3-20-12)( )
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EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or as specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 19-5107, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The text of the pending rule differs from the text of the proposed rule due to the following:

1. It was recently discovered that POST does not qualify as a law enforcement agency and
therefore must pay for the processing of fingerprint cards. The pending rule text now
requires the agencies to maintain records check results and verify an applicant’s compliance
with the minimum standards for employment to the POST Council.

2. Repetitive language in reference to misdemeanor conviction was deleted.

3. Language was deleted that prohibited the consideration of misdemeanor convictions prose-
cuted pursuant to Title 18, Chapter 15, Idaho Code.

The text of the pending rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the October 7, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-10, pages 144-168.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the pending
rule, contact Victor McCraw at (208) 884-7251.

DATED this 19th day of November, 2015.

Victor R. McCraw

POST Division Administrator

Idaho State Police/Peace Officer Standards & Training
700 S. Stratford Dr.

Meridian, ID 83642

Phone (208) 884-7251

Fax (208) 884-7295
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THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 19-5107, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

Language modified to encompass all disciplines POST now trains; “shall” changed to “will” and “must”
pursuant to direction in Rule Writer’s Manual; makes all academies open campus, greatly enhancing law enforcement
agencies’ ability to hire single parents who cannot put their children in daycare for ten weeks while they attend a live-
in academy; language in reference to attending every academy class and not being late to class is deleted, as those
issues are addressed in policy and in the disciplinary matrix; fingerprint requirements were updated to reflect current
Bureau of Criminal Identification requirements; the Physical Readiness Testing was deleted from the challenge
requirements to enhance agencies’ ability to hire retired officers from other states; no certification is ever reactivated,
so the language was corrected to reflect recertification; added decertification investigation language where missing to
make the language identical to other similar sections; vo-tech programs are now called “college programs,” so
language was updated to reflect that; language in reference to being able to challenge (Subsection 176.05) was
corrected from “may” to “will”; revamps the instructor and school certification rules to decrease the amount of
regulation and increase the amount of support offered by POST to improve training.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: NA

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because representatives of the affected interests were involved in the drafting and approval of the rule.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Victor McCraw at (208) 884-7251.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2015.

DATED this 28th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

Italicized red text that is double underscored is new text that has been added to the pending rule.
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THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 11-1101-1501

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Act. Title 19, Chapter 51, of the Idaho Code. (4-5-00)
02. Adult Probation and Parole Officer. Any employee of the Idaho Department of Correction who
is responsible for the supervision of offenders on probation or parole. (3-30-07)
03. Agency. A law enforcement agency which is a part of or administered by the state or any political

subdivision thereof and which is responsible for the prevention and detection of crime and the enforcement of penal,
traffic or highway laws of this state or any political subdivision; a juvenile detention center; a juvenile probation
department; the Idaho Department of Correction; or a private prison contractor of the State Board of Correction that is
responsible for the first-line supervision, security, protection, and risk reduction of offenders housed in the facility.
(4-2-08)

04. Agency Head. A chief of police of a city, sheriff of a county, or chief administrator of any law
enforcement agency of the state of Idaho or any political subdivision thereof who is responsible for the prevention
and detection of crime and the enforcement of penal, traffic or highway laws of this state or any political subdivision;
the chief administrator of a juvenile detention center; the chief administrator of a juvenile probation department; the
director of the Idaho Department of Correction; or the chief administrator of a private prison contractor of the State
Board of Correction that is responsible for the first-line supervision, security, protection, and risk reduction of

offenders housed in the facility. (4-2-08)
05. Applicant. Any person applying to participate in a POST training program or applying for POST
certification. (4-2-08)
06. Basic Adult Probation and Parole Academy. A basic course of instruction for Adult Probation
and Parole Officers as recognized by POST Council. (4-2-08)
07. Basic Correction Academy. A basic course of instruction for Correction Officers as recognized by
POST Council. (4-2-08)
08. Basic Detention Academy. A basic course of instruction for Detention Officers as recognized by
POST Council. (4-2-08)
09. Basic Juvenile Detention Academy. A basic course of instruction for Juvenile Detention Officers
as recognized by POST Council. (4-2-08)
10. Basic Juvenile Probation Academy. A basic course of instruction for Juvenile Probation Officers
as recognized by POST Council. (4-2-08)
11. Basic Patrol Academy. A basic course of instruction for Patrol Officers as recognized by POST
Council. (4-2-08)
12. College Credit. A unit of work towards a baccalaureate or vocational degree accepted by a college
or university of higher education accredited by the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges or other POST-
accepted U.S. regional accrediting agency. (3-18-15)
13. Correction Officer. Any employee of an Idaho Department of Correction facility or private prison
contractor of the State Board of Correction who is responsible for the first-line supervision, security, protection, and
risk reduction of offenders housed in the correction facility. (3-30-07)
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14. Correction Standards and Training Council. An advisory group to the POST Council that is
comprised of members from academia and law enforcement agencies. The purpose of the Correction Standards and
Training Council is to advise POST Council in the planning, development, and operation of the Basic Correction

Academy and the Basic Adult Probation and Parole Academy. (4-2-08)
15. Council. The Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training Council. (4-2-08)
16. County Detention Officer. An employee in a county jail who is responsible for the safety, care,
protection, and monitoring of county jail inmates. (4-5-00)

17. Crime of Deceit. Any offense described in Section 18-1301 et seq., Idaho Code, (Bribery), Section
18-1401 et seq. (Burglary), Sections 18-1901 (Fictitious Stock Subscription), 18-1902 (Exhibition of False Papers to
Public Officers), 18-1903 (Use of False Name in Prospectus), 18-1904 (Illegal Dividends and Reductions of Capital),
18-1905 (Falsification of Corporate Books), 18-1906 (Fraudulent Reports by Officers), 18-2202(1) (Computer
Crime), 18-2302 (False Swearing as to Qualifications as Voter), 18-2304 (Procuring Illegal Votes), 18-2305
(Intimidation, Corruption and Frauds), 18-2306 (Illegal Voting or Interference with Election), 18-2307 (Attempting to
Vote When Not Qualified or to Repeat Voting), 18-2309 (Officers Attempting to Change Result), 18-2310 (Forging or
Counterfeiting Returns), 18-2311 (Adding to or Subtracting From Votes), 18-2316 (Tampering with Certificates of
Nomination or Ballots), 18-2320 (Bribery of Electors), Section 18-2401 et seq. (Theft), Section 18-2601 et seq.
(Falsifying Evidence -- Offering Forged or Fraudulent Documents in Evidence), Section 18-2701 et seq. (Bribery of
Executive Officers), Sections 18-3105 (False Statement by Commission Merchant, Broker, Agent, Factor or
Consignee to Principal or Consignor), 18-3106 (Drawing Check Without Funds -- Drawing Check With Insufficient
Funds -- Prima Facie Evidence of Intent -- Standing of Person Having Acquired Rights -- Probation Conditions), 18-
3123 (Forgery of a Financial Transaction Card), 18-3124 (Fraudulent Use of a Financial Transaction Card), 18-3125
(Criminal Possession of Financial Transaction Card and FTC Forgery Devices), 18-3125A (Unauthorized Factoring
of Credit Card Sales Drafts), 18-3126 (Misappropriation of Personal Identifying Information), 18-3127 (Receiving or
Possessing Fraudulently Obtained Goods or Services), 18-3201 (Officer Stealing, Mutilating or Falsifying Public
Records), 18-3202 (Private Person Stealing, Mutilating or Falsifying Public Records), 18-3203 (Offering False or
Forged Instrument for Record), 18-3204 (False Certificates or Other Instruments from Officers), 18-3206 (Mutilating
Written Instruments), Section 18-3601 et seq. (Forgery), Sections 18-4616 (Defacing Marks on Logs or Lumber), 18-
4617 (Stealing Rides on Trains), 18-4621 (Stealing Electric Current --Tampering with Meters), 18-4622 (Stealing
Electric Current -- Accessories Liable as Principals), 18-4624 (Taken or Converted Merchandise as Theft), 18-4626
(Willful Concealment of Goods, Wares or Merchandise -- Defense for Detention), 18-4630 (Illegal Use of
Documents), 18-4701 (Alteration of Bills), 18-4702 (Alteration of Enrolled Copies), 18-4703 (Offering Bribes to
Legislators), 18-4704 (Legislators Receiving Bribes), Section 18-5401 et seq. (Perjury), Section 18-6501 et seq.
(Robbery), Sections 18-8201 (Money Laundering and Illegal Investment -- Penalty -- Restitution), 41-293 (Insurance
Fraud), 41-294 (Damage to or Destruction of Insured Property), 41-1306 (False Financial Statements), 49-228
(Receiving or Transferring Stolen Vehicles), 49-231 (Farm Implements -- Purchasing or Selling When Identifying
Number Altered or Defaced a Felony), 49-232 (Fraudulent Removal or Alteration of Numbers Prohibited), 49-518
(Altering or Forging Certificate -- Stolen Cars -- Destroying or Altering Engine or Decal Number -- Use of Fictitious
Name -- Fraud), or any attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any of the foregoing offenses, or any
racketeering offense under Section 18-7801 et seq., Idaho Code, in which any of the foregoing offenses constitutes at
least one (1) of the predicate acts, or any other crime defined in the Idaho Code involving any form of theft or
including fraudulent intent as an element, or an offense equivalent to any of the foregoing in any other jurisdiction.
(4-2-08)

18. Direction. Direction, at its broadest term, allows an employing agency to utilize a Level II reserve
officer to work under the immediate presence and direction of a full-time peace officer of the same agency. This does
not allow a Level II reserve officer to operate alone in his official capacity. He ske# must be under direct observation
and control of the agency’s full-time peace officer. 3-29-12)( )

19. Field Training. Training in which an individual receives formal instruction on the job for special
and defined purposes. (7-1-93)

20. Full Time. Employment of one hundred sixty (160) hours or more per month for ninety (90)
consecutive calendar days. (4-2-08)
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21. In-Service Training. Training designed to refresh or add to an individual’s capabilities to do the
task to which they are or may be assigned. (7-1-93)

22. Juvenile Detention Center. A juvenile detention facility that is part of or administered by the
county or any political subdivision thereof and is responsible for the safety, care, protection, and monitoring of
juvenile offenders. (4-2-08)

23. Juvenile Detention Officer. Any employee of a juvenile detention center who is responsible for
the safety, care, protection, and monitoring of juvenile offenders held in the detention center. (4-2-08)

24, Juvenile Probation Officer. Any employee of a juvenile probation department who is responsible
for preparing social history reports to the court, making recommendations regarding conditions of probation, and the
supervision of juvenile offenders' compliance with court orders. (4-2-08)

25. Juvenile Training Council. An advisory group to the POST Council that is composed of the
Director of the Department of Juvenile Corrections, a Magistrate, a county Juvenile Detention Director, a county
Chief Probation Officer, a county Commissioner, a county Clerk, and a county Sheriff. The purpose of the Juvenile
Training Council is to advise POST Council in the planning, development, and operation of the Juvenile Detention
and Juvenile Probation Academies. (4-2-08)

26. Law Enforcement Profession. As used in agreements authorized pursuant to Section 19-5112,
Idaho Code, means an employee of a police or law enforcement agency that is a part of or administered by the state or
any political subdivision thereof and whose duties include and primarily consist of the prevention and detection of
crime and the enforcement of penal, traffic or highway laws of this state or any political subdivision; an employee in
a county jail who is responsible for the safety, care, protection, and monitoring of county jail inmates; an employee of
a juvenile detention center that is part of or administered by the county or any political subdivision thereof and who is
responsible for the safety, care, protection, and monitoring of juvenile offenders held in the detention center; an
employee of a county juvenile probation department who is responsible for preparing social history reports to the
court, making recommendations regarding conditions of probation, and the supervision of juvenile offenders’
compliance with court orders; an employee of an Idaho Department of Correction facility or private prison contractor
of the State Board of Correction who is responsible for the first-line supervision, security, protection, and risk
reduction of offenders housed in the correction facility; or an employee of the Idaho Department of Correction who is
responsible for the supervision of offenders on probation or parole. (4-2-08)

27. Manual. This book of Rules as adopted by the Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training

Council. (4-5-00)
28. Part Time. Employment of less than one hundred sixty (160) hours per month for ninety (90)
consecutive calendar days. (4-2-08)
29. Part-Time Juvenile Detention Officer. Any employee of a juvenile detention center that is part of

or administered by the county or any political subdivision thereof and who is responsible for the safety, care,
protection, and monitoring of juvenile offenders held in the detention center, and does not meet the definition of
“employee” as defined in Section 59-1302, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

30. Peace Officer. Any employee of a police or law enforcement agency which is a part of or
administered by the state or any political subdivision thereof and whose duties include and primarily consist of the
prevention and detection of crime and the enforcement of penal, traffic or highway laws of this state or any political
subdivision. “Peace officer” also means an employee of a police or law enforcement agency of a federally recognized
Indian tribe who has satisfactorily completed the peace officer standards and training academy and has been
deputized by a sheriff of a county or a chief of police of a city of the state of Idaho. (4-5-00)

31. POST. The Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training Program. (7-1-93)

32. POST Basic Training Academy. The Basic Adult Probation and Parole Academy, the Basic
Correction Academy, the Basic Detention Academy, the Basic Juvenile Detention Academy, the Basic Juvenile
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Probation Academy, or the Basic Patrol Academy. (4-2-08)

33. POST Certified Instructor. Any person certified by the Idaho POST Council as being qualified to

instruct or assess students in a course of instruction which meets POST standards for certification or training credit.
)

334. Prosecutor. A city prosecuting attorney, city assistant prosecuting attorney, county prosecuting
attorney, county deputy prosecuting attorney, attorney general, deputy attorney general, United States attorney, or
assistant United States attorney. (4-2-03)

35. Reserve Peace Officer. An individual assigned by an agency to perform the duties of a peace
officer on a part-time basis. All reserve officers ska# must be under supervision as set forth in these rules unless they
hold a current Part-Time Basic certificate. {4-2-08H )

36. School. Any school, college, university, academy, or local training program which offers law
enforcement training and includes within its meaning the combination of course curriculum, instructors and facilities,
or any training session as certified by POST. (7-1-93)

37. School Director or Coordinator. An individual charged with the responsibility of conducting a
training school under the provisions of the Act. (7-1-93)

38. Specification. A description of a requirement supplementing a section of the Rules. (7-1-93)

39. Supervision. Supervision allows the employing agency to utilize a Level I reserve officer to work
by himself without the immediate presence or direction of a full-time peace officer, but acting under the overall on-
duty supervision of an on-duty, full-time peace officer. This may allow a Level I reserve officer to work alone in his
jurisdiction, without immediate oversight of an agency full-time peace officer, as long as there were another full-time
peace officer of the agency working at the same time to provide supervision of the Level I reserve officer’s activities.

(3-29-12)

40. Temporary. Employment of less than ninety (90) consecutive calendar days. (7-1-93)

41. Trainee. An officer participating in any POST approved training program. (3-15-02)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
041. THE RECORDS SYSTEM.

01. Training File. The Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training Council will maintain a training
file on all Idaho law enforcement officers. Officer certifications granted and eertified POST-approved training
schools attended by officers will be recorded in these files. {4-5-065( )

02. Notification of Employment/Termination. The agency head of any agency whose officers are

required to attend a POST Basic Training Academy sha# must notify the Council of all presently employed officers
every January and July. The names of all officers hired after submission of the original list must be submitted to the
Council within fifteen (15) days of employment. The termination of an officer’s employment must also be relayed to
the Council within fifteen (15) days of such action on an appropriate form designated by the Council. (4-2-08)( )

03. Training Record. A training record listing all eertified POST-approved courses an officer has
completed, the hours credit, and other pertinent data will be kept along with the officer’s file. {4-5-065( )
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054. Instructors. Names of certified instructors will be maintained. (4-5-00)

065. Instructors and Schools. A list of approved instructors and schools will be maintained. (4-5-00)
042. PROCEDURE.

01. Application. Each individual officer may apply for certification when they have met the
requirements. When they are certified by the Council, this is entered into their file. (Refer to “Certification of Peace,
Detention, Juvenile Detention, and Juvenile Probation Officers.”) (4-2-08)

02. Roster. School coordinators will furnish to the Council a “Course Attendance Roster” on the
appropriate form designated by the Council upon the completion of each certified training school. (Refer to “Sekoof
Formation-and-Certifieation Required Documentation for School or Course Approval.”) {4-2-08) )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

056. CRIMINAL RECORD.

01. Fingerprints. The applicant she# must be fingerprinted on #ve—(2)-cepies—of the standard FBI
Applicant fingerprint fer#+ card, and a search made by the hiring agency of local, state, and national fingerprint files
to disclose any criminal record. The original copies of all records check results sha# must be retained by the POSF
Couneit hiring agency. The hiring agency must verify the applicant’s compliance with the minimum standards for
employment outlined in this section to the POST Council upon _submission_of the appropriate notification of

employment form designated by the Council. (4%93)%
02. Conviction. The term “conviction” sha# includes: 42035 )
a. Any conviction in a federal, tribal, state, county, or municipal court; (3-15-02)
b. A voluntary forfeiture of bail, bond, or collateral deposited to secure a defendant’s appearance in
court as final disposition; (3-15-02)
c. The payment of a fine; (3-15-02)
d. A plea of guilty, nolo contendere; or (3-15-02)
e. A finding of guilt, notwithstanding the form of judgment or withheld judgment, regardless of

whether the sentence is imposed, suspended, deferred, or withheld, and regardless of whether the plea or conviction is
set aside or withdrawn, or the case or charge is dismissed or reduced, or the record expunged under Section 19-2604,
Idaho Code, or any other comparable statute or procedure, where the setting aside of the plea or conviction, or
dismissal or reduction of the case or charge, or expungement of the record is based upon lenity or the furtherance of
rehabilitation rather than upon any defect in the legality or factual basis of the plea, finding of guilt, or conviction.

(3-29-12)

03. Misdemeanor Conviction. A misdemeanor conviction of any federal, state, or local crime may be

grounds for rejection of an applicant, subject to the following provisions: (3-20-14)
a. An applicant shaH# must be rejected who has been convicted of any misdemeanor sex crime or

crime of deceit, unless the conviction occurred more than five (5) years prior to application and the applicant’s
agency head files a written request for review with the POST Council. In the case of a willful concealment or petit
theft conviction, the applicant may be accepted upon approval of the POST Division Administrator, and the Division
Administrator sha# will have the discretion to refer the application to the POST Council. In all other cases, the POST
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Council shatf must review the application and determine whether the applicant ske#f will be certifiable in the State of

Idaho. B2 )

b. An applicant sAaH must be rejected who has been convicted of one (1) or more misdemeanor DUI
offenses within the two (2) years immediately preceding application. No waivers to this rule sha# will be granted by
the POST Council.

c. An applicant sha# must be rejected who has been convicted of two (2) or more misdemeanor DUI
offenses within the five (5) years immediately preceding application. No waivers to this rule sha# will be granted by

the POST Council. (B320449( )

d. An applicant who is not subject to the provisions of subsections (b) and (c) above may be rejected if
the applicant has been convicted of one (1) or more misdemeanor DUI offenses within ten (10) years prior to
application. Such an applicant may be accepted upon approval of the POST Division Administrator, provided the
applicant’s agency head, with knowledge of the facts and circumstances concerning the offense or violation,
recommends approval. The POST Division Administrator ske# will have the discretion to refer the application to the
POST Council. This rule is not a basis for rejection of an applicant if the conviction occurred ten (10) or more years
prior to application.

fe. An applicant may be rejected who has been convicted of any other misdemeanor offense swo-{2)-e#
mfe—yea%s—bﬁt—less—fkaﬁ wzthm the ten (10) years pf%r—te zmmedzately p;ecedzng apphcatlon Hthemisdemeanor
4 . H p 2 HHeH 4-the Such an applicant may
be accepted upon approval of the POST Division Admlmstrator pr0V1ded the apphcant s agency head, with
knowledge of the facts and circumstances concerning the offense or violation, recommends approval. The POST
Division Administrator sheH will have the discretion to refer the application to the POST Council. This rule is not a
basis for rejection of an applicant if the conviction occurred ten (10) or more years prior to application.

04. Felony Conviction. An applicant sha# must be rejected who has been convicted of any felony
crime, the punishment for which could have been imprisonment in a federal or state penal institution, unless the
felony conviction occurred before the applicant was eighteen (18) years of age and ten (10) or more years prior to
application. If the conviction occurred before the applicant was eighteen (18) years of age and ten (10) or more years
prior to application, the applicant may be accepted upon approval of the POST Division Administrator, provided the
applicant’s agency head, with knowledge of the facts and circumstances concerning the offense or violation,
recommends approval. The POST Division Administrator ska# will have the discretion to refer the application to the
POST Council. For the purpose of this rule, a felony conviction ska# will be considered a felony conviction
regardless of whether the conviction is later reduced to a misdemeanor conviction under Section 19-2604, Idaho
Code, or any other comparable statute or procedure, where the reduction is based upon lenity or the furtherance of
rehabilitation rather than upon any defect in the legality or factual basis of the felony conviction. No waivers to this
rule skt will be granted by the POST Council. 32014 )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

071. BASIC TRAINING ACADEMY.
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01. Begin Academy Within Six (6) Months of Appointment. Every peace-and-detention officer shertt
must begin the respective POST Bas1c Trammg Academy w1th1n 51x (6) months from the date of their appointment as
a full-time officer. Every peace ¢ officer shaH must successfully

complete the respective POST Basw Trammg Academy, mcludmg the ﬁeld training portion, within twelve (12)
months from the date of their appointment as a full-time officer. This time period includes probationary time.

052. Completion. A trainee ske#f must successfully complete the Basic Training Academy within six
(6) months of the date they enroll in such course. In a case of delay of more than six (6) months, the entire course

shat must be repeated. 471 )
063. Field Training. The field training portion ska# must be completed to be eligible for certification.
)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

096. LAPSE OF PEACE OFFICER CERTIFICATION.

The certification of any peace officer skl will be considered lapsed if the officer does not serve as a peace officer in
Idaho for three (3) consecutive years. Provided, however, that an Idaho POST-certified peace officer who remains in
an administrative, jail, communications, or civil division duty assignment with a police or law enforcement agency
that is a part of or administered by the state of Idaho or any political subdivision thereof or in a duty assignment as a
tribal police officer with a federally recognized Indian tribe within Idaho and whose duties include and primarily
consist of the prevention and detection of crime and the enforcement of penal, traffic or highway laws of this state or
any political subdivision ske# will retain their POST certification provided they satisfy the continuing training
requirements of Sections 360 through 363 and work at least one hundred twenty (120) hours per year. The three-year
period provided herein she# will be tolled during any time period that a peace officer is the subject of a POST

decertification investigation and is no longer employed in law enforcement. B-212K )
01. Three to Five Years. A peace officer who has been out of full-time law enforcement status from
three (3) to five (5) years and who wants to reaetivate-certification-shetf be recertified must meet the following POST
requirements: (B3-2112) )
a. Submit a POST Certification Patrol Challenge Packet; (4-2-03)
b. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
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equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
c. Attend an approved course of study in Idaho law and pass the POST Idaho law exam,; (4-2-03)
d. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-2-03)
1. The POST patrol certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner set

forth in Subsection 101.02.b.; (3-21-12)
ii. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and 203 )
i The POST Physical-Reads Tost-and 3 27 12
e. Satisfy the probationary period requirement of Section 065. (4-2-08)
02. Over Five Years. A peace officer who has been out of full-time law enforcement status for over

five (5) years shatt must attend the POST Basic Patrol Academy to reactivate-eertification be recertified. The Council
may waive this requirement on a showing of good cause by the officer supported by clear and convincing evidence
that during a substantial part of the time out of full-time law enforcement, the officer was engaged in an occupation
requiring law enforcement training, skill, and experience. This evidence shaH must be submitted with a POST
Certification Patrol Challenge Packet. Upon receiving a waiver, the officer she#f must meet the following POST

requirements: (B3-24H125( )
a. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
b. Attend an approved course of study in Idaho law and pass the POST Idaho law exam,; (4-2-03)
c. Attend and pass Idaho POST-certified courses in Emergency Vehicle Operation, Arrest Techniques,
Handgun Retention, and Practical Problems; (4-2-03)
d. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-2-03)
i. The POST patrol certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner set
forth in Subsection 101.02.b.; (3-21-12)
1. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and 4-2-03)( )
i The POST Physical-Reads Tost-and 327 12
e. Satisfy the probationary period requirement of Section 065. (4-2-08)
03. Over Eight Years. A peace officer who has been out of full-time law enforcement status for over
eight (8) years shaff must attend the POST Basic Patrol Academy to be recertified. No waiver of this requirement
shedt will be granted by the Council. B3-24H125( )

04. Exception. The provisions of Subsections 096.01 through 096.03 shaH do not apply to officers
holding a part-time basic certificate who satisfy the continuing training requirements of Sections 360 through 363 and
work at least one hundred twenty (120) hours per year within the law enforcement profession. (B3-24H125( )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

101. THE BASIC AND PART-TIME BASIC CERTIFICATE.
In addition to the requirements set forth in Section 098 of these rules, the requirements in Section 101 are necessary
for award of the basic certificate and the part-time basic certificate. (3-21-12)
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01. Probation. The applicant shaff must have satisfactorily completed at least a six (6) month
probationary period, which may include basic patrol academy time. The probationary period may be extended by the
appointing agency which could delay certification until the probationary period is satisfactorily completed. This six
(6) months' time sAa# must be continuous with the agency the officer is appointed to when applying for certification.

The probationary period shaff must not extend over one (1) year for certification purposes. 42035 )
02. Basic Training. The applicant ske# must have satisfactorily completed: 4203 )
a. The POST Basic Patrol Academy as required by the Council in Section 071; or (4-2-03)
b. Be a graduate of a college law enforcement program, the curriculum of which has been certified by

the Council as being equivalent to the POST Basic Patrol Academy, and sk#e# must have passed the POST patrol
certification examination approved by the Council. The applicant ska# will be allowed two (2) attempts to pass the
examination. The attempts ska# must be no less than thirty (30) days apart and no more than six (6) months apart. If
an officer fails both attempts or fails to retake the examination within six (6) months, he ska# must successfully
complete the POST Basic Patrol Academy to be certified. (B3-2112) )

03. Field Training. The applicant s#e# must have satisfactorily completed forty (40) hours of POST-
approved field training. 4-2-63)

04. College Law Enforcement Program Graduates. Graduates from Idaho POST-certified college
law enforcement programs s#e#f must also comply with the requirements of Subsection 073.02. (B3-2112) )

0s. Patrol and Detention College Law Enforcement Program or POST Academy Graduates. An
applicant who is appointed to a peace officer position from three (3) to five (5) years after satisfactorily completing
both the patrol and detention officer training through an Idaho POST-certified college law enforcement program or
the Idaho POST Academy, ska# will be eligible for peace officer certification in Idaho without attending the POST

Basic Patrol Academy, provided the officer: (B3-2112) )
a. Was appointed to a county detention officer position in Idaho within three (3) years from
graduating from the college law enforcement program or POST Academy; (3-21-12)
b. Possesses detention officer certification from Idaho; (4-2-08)
c. Submits a POST Certification Patrol Challenge Packet; (4-2-08)
d. Discloses information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. ( )

de. Attends an approved course of study in Idaho law and passes the POST Idaho law exam; (4-2-08)

ef. Passes the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-2-08)
The POST patrol certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner set
forth in Subsectlon 101.02.b.; (4-2-08)
ii. The POST Firecarms Qualification Course; and 208 )
it The POST Physical-Readi Tost—and 327 12
fa. Satisfies the probationary period requirement of Section 065. (4-2-08)

102. CHALLENGING THE BASIC PATROL ACADEMY.

Any peace officer presently appointed by a duly constituted Idaho law enforcement agency who, within the last five
(5) years, has been employed and certified or commissioned by another state or the federal government as a peace
officer or a student who has satisfactorily completed a Basic Police Academy equivalent to the Idaho POST Basic
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Patrol Academy within the last three (3) years may be eligible for certification in the state of Idaho without attending
the Basic Patrol Academy, provided the officer: (3-29-10)

01. Submission of Challenge Packet. Submits a POST Certification Patrol Challenge Packet to POST
Council, which ske#f must include copies of POST training records from other states to substantiate the officer's
training; and transcripts, certificates, diplomas, or other documents that substantiate the officer’s education and

experience; (B3-24—42)( )

02. Discloses Decertification Information. Discloses information regarding any decertification
investigation or proceeding or the substantial equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)

03. Law Course Attendance. Attends an approved course of study in Idaho law and passes the POST

Idaho law exam; (4-2-03)
04. Passes Required Tests. Passes the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist:

(4-2-03)

a. The POST patrol certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner set

forth in Subsection 101.02.b.; (3-21-12)

b. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and (4-2-03)

05. Completes Probationary Period. Completes his probationary period as required by Subsection

101.01. (3-21-12)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

171. LAPSE OF DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION.

The certification of any county detention officer will be considered lapsed if the officer does not serve as a county
detention officer in Idaho for three (3) consecutive years. Provided, however, that an Idaho POST-certified county
detention officer who remains in an administrative, patrol, communications, or civil division duty assignment with a
police or law enforcement agency that is a part of or administered by the state of Idaho or any political subdivision
thereof and whose duties include and primarily consist of the prevention and detection of crime and the enforcement
of penal, traffic or highway laws of this state or any political subdivision will retain their POST certification provided
they satisfy the continuing training requirements of Sections 360 through 363 and work at least one hundred twenty
(120) hours per year. The three-year period provided herein ska# will be tolled during any time period that a county
detention officer is the subject of a POST decertification investigation and is no longer employed in law enforcement.

B-2910)( )

01. Three to Five Years. A county detention officer who has been out of full-time law enforcement

status from three (3) to five (5) years and who wants to reaetivate-certification be recertified must meet the following
POST requirements: 3-29-10)( )
a. Submit a POST Certification Detention Challenge Packet; (4-2-03)

b. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
c. Attend an approved course of study in Idaho detention legal issues and pass the POST Idaho
detention legal issues exam; (4-2-03)
d. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-2-03)
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1. The POST detention certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner
set forth in Subsection 176.02.c.; (4-2-08)
ii. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and 203 )
e. Satisfy the probationary period requirement of Section 065. (4-2-08)
02. Over Five Years. A county detention officer who has been out of full-time law enforcement status

for over five (5) years must attend the POST Basic Detention Academy to reactivatecertification be recertified. The
Council may waive this requirement on a showing of good cause by the officer supported by clear and convincing
evidence that during a substantial part of the time out of full-time law enforcement, the officer was engaged in an
occupation requiring law enforcement training, skill, and experience. This evidence must be submitted with a POST
Certification Detention Challenge Packet. Upon receiving a waiver, the officer must meet the following POST

requirements: 3-29-10)( )
a. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
b. Attend an approved course of study in Idaho detention legal issues and pass the POST Idaho
detention legal issues exam; (4-2-03)
c. Attend and pass Idaho POST-certified courses in Arrest Techniques, Handgun Retention, and
Practical Problems; (4-2-03)
d. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-2-03)
1. The POST detention certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner
set forth in Subsection 176.02.c.; (4-2-08)
1i. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and {4-6-05)( )
i The POST PhysicalEi Tost B . el 4-6-05
e. Satisfy the probationary period requirement of Section 065. (4-2-08)
03. Over Eight Years. A county detention officer who has been out of full-time law enforcement status
for over eight (8) years must attend the POST Basic Detention Academy to be recertified. No waiver of this
requirement will be granted by the Council. (4-6-05)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

176. THE LEVEL I CERTIFICATE.
In addition to the requirements set forth in Section 173 of these rules, the requirements in Section 176 are necessary
for award of the Level I Certificate. (4-2-03)

01. Probation. The applicant shaff must have satisfactorily completed at least a six (6) month
probationary period, which may include basic detention academy time. The probationary period may be extended by
the appointing agency which could delay certification until the probationary period is satisfactorily completed. This
six (6) months’ time sha# must be continuous with the agency the officer is appointed to when applying for
certification. The probationary period sha# must not extend over one (1) year for certification purposes.

H4-2-03)( )
02. Basic Training. The applicant ske# must have satisfactorily completed: 4-2-03)( )
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a. The POST Basic Detention Academy as required by the Council in Section 071; (4-2-03)
b. The POST Patrol-to-Detention Transition Academy; or (4-2-03)
c. Be a graduate of a college law enforcement ve-teek program, the curriculum of which has been

certified by the Council as being equivalent to the POST Basic Detention Academy, and sha# must have passed the
POST detention certification examination approved by the Council. The applicant shaH will be allowed two (2)
attempts to pass the examination. The attempts s#a# must be no less than thirty (30) days apart and no more than six
(6) months apart. If an officer fails both attempts or fails to retake the examination within six (6) months, he sha#
must successfully complete the POST Basic Detention Academy to be certified.

03. Jail Training. The applicant she# must have satisfactorily completed forty (40) hours of POST-
approved jail training. 4-2-63

04. Jo—Teer College Law Enforcement Program Graduates. Graduates from Idaho POST-certified
college law enforcement vo-tee# programs shaH must also comply with the requirements of Subsection 073.02.

42-03(__)

0s. Patrol and Detention Jo-Feek College Law Enforcement Program or POST Academy
Graduates. An applicant who is appointed to a detention officer position from three (3) to five (5) years after
satisfactorily completing both the patrol and detention officer training through an Idaho POST-certified college law
enforcement ve-teek program or the Idaho POST Academy, #e3 will be eligible for detention officer certification in

Idaho without attending the POST Basic Detention Academy, provided the officer: A7 )
a. Was appointed to a peace officer position in Idaho within three (3) years from graduating from the
vo-teeh college law enforcement program or POST Academy; 7 )
b. Possesses peace officer certification from Idaho; (4-2-08)
c. Submits a POST Certification Detention Challenge Packet; (4-2-08)
d. Discloses information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
e. Attends an approved course of study in Idaho detention legal issues and passes the POST Idaho
detention legal issues exam; (4-2-08)
f. Passes the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-2-08)
1. The POST detention certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner
set forth in Subsection 176.02.c.; (4-2-08)
. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and 4-2-08)( )
i The POST PhysicalEi Tost B . el 4-2-08
g. Satisfies the probationary period requirement of Section 065. (4-2-08)

1717. CHALLENGING THE BASIC DETENTION ACADEMY.

Any county detention officer presently appointed by a duly constituted Idaho law enforcement agency who, within
the last five (5) years, has been employed and certified or commissioned by another state or the federal government as
a detention officer or a student who has satisfactorily completed a Basic Detention Academy equivalent to the Idaho
POST Basic Detention Academy within the last three (3) years may be eligible for certification in the state of Idaho
without attending the Basic Detention Academy, provided the officer: (3-29-10)

01. Submission of Challenge Packet. Submits a POST Certification Detention Challenge Packet to
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POST Council, which must include copies of POST training records from other states to substantiate the officer's
training; and transcripts, certificates, diplomas, or other documents that substantiate the officer’s education and
experience; (4-6-05)

02. Discloses Decertification Information. Discloses information regarding any decertification
investigation or proceeding or the substantial equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)

03. Detention Legal Issues Course Attendance. Attends an approved course of study in Idaho

detention legal issues and passes the POST Idaho detention legal issues exam,; (4-6-05)
04. Passes Required Tests. Passes the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist:

(4-2-03)

a. The POST detention certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner

set forth in Subsection 176.02.c.; (4-2-08)

b. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and (4-2-03)

& Fhe POST Physical FitnessFest-Beattery: H4-2-63)

05. Completes Probationary Period. Completes his probationary period as required by Subsection

176.01. (4-2-03)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

251. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

01. Purpose. The Instructor Certificatesion process ae is established for the purpose of recognizing
eompetenee training, assessing. and approving a person as an instructor of law enforcement subjects and/or general

subjects pertinent to law enforcement personnel. 4-2-03)( )

The Counc1l w1ll certlfv am)llcants who meet the requlrements set forth in Sectlons 250 through 256 and are deemed
qualified to develop and instruct training courses to POST standards. Certificates sha# will be issued to the agency
head or school director for award to the applicant.

053. POST Training Credit. #o The POST Council will grant training credit shet—be—giver for

attendance-at-a-sehooi—+tanght successful completion of training sponsored and conducted by the POST Council or
instructed entirely by one (1) or more instruretorswho-arenot POST-certified instructors, or an approved instructor as

defined in Subsection 07 of this section, provided the tramm;_ is Droperlv documented and meets establlshed POST
tandards regardmg measurable, verlﬁable training. ey a o d o

074. Quality. Instructor certification eannot—insure—geod is not a guarantee of quality instruction.
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Therefore it sha-l-l w111 be the contrnulng responsrblhty of gen01es> school dlrectors ea&eeemlma{eﬁ—te—see—t-kaf

POST Academv and Reglonal Tralnm;_ Spemallsts to supervise, monitor, and audlt 1nstruct0rs and courses t

=]

iensure
that instructional excellence is maintained. 47 )

05. Suspension. Instructor certification may be suspended by the POST Division Administrator

whenever an instructor significantly or repeatedly fails to develop, document, conduct, or report training activities
according to POST standards. or fails to abide by the POST Instructor Code of Ethics. ( )

a. Suspensrons are not pumtlve, and will only be initiated for the purpose of maintaining the integrity
of POST standards and training activities. ( )

b. Suspensions are temporary and will remain in effect no longer than one (1) year, pending review.

[

C. A suspens1on will initiate an immediate review of the suspended instructor's certification to
determine if a revocation is warranted. ( )

086. Revocation. Instructor certification may be revoked by the Council whenever an instructor is
deemed to be unqualified to continue #eeehing instructing. Review of instructor certification may be initiated upon
the request of an agency head, school director or coordinator, POST Division Administrator, or other reliable source.
Such review may also be initiated by the Council in the absence of external requests or complaints.  (4-2-63)( )

097. Exeeptiorrss POST Approval in Lieu of Certification. Judges, attorneys, educators, doctors

federal officials, state ofﬁmals and other non-police personnel
be utilized as “Approved” instructors when their #alents—are expertise is deemed
appropriate. The POST Counc11 may grant training credit for training provided by an independent expert when the

expert: 7 )
a. Has completed a POST-approved instructor orientation course; or ( )

b. Acts as a presenter, guest speaker, or panel member of a course facilitated by a POST-certified
instructor; or C )
C. Acts as a presenter, guest speaker, or panel member at a management or executive-level course or

seminar (for management or executive credit only). ( )

252. REQUIREMENTS FOR INSTRUCTORS OF LAW ENFORCEMENT SUBJECTS.
The requirements in Sections 250 through 252 are necessary for eweard—ef—the instructor certificateion for law
enforcement subjects and/or general subjects pertinent to law enforcement personnel: 4-2-03)( )

01. Law Enforcement Experience. The applicant ske# must have a minimum of three (3) years of law
enforcement experience, possess a current or previous Idaho POST professional certification, and may not have been
previously decertified as a public safety official of any jurisdiction. 4-2-03)( )

Cormpredl

032. Instructor Development Course. The applicant shat-have must satisfactorily completed—a# the
ldaho POST Instructor Development Course approved by the Councﬂ The—Council-may-weaive-thisrequirementin

043. Subsequent Applications. A current POST-certified instructor in good standing is not required to

complete the Instructor Development Course a;_aln when makrng apphcatron for an 1nstructor eeﬁtﬁe&ﬁen
endorsement in an addrtronal sub]ect e —who A etor—De
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054. Conducted Energy Device Instructor Certifieationr Endorsement. An-applicant POST Certified
Instructor applying for Conducted Energy Device Instructor Qa%ﬁe&&eﬁ—ska# Endorsement must provide proof of
successful completion of the device manufacturer’s “operator” and “instructor” courses

for-the—Conducted-Enerey
Device-they-will- be-instrneting-in to obtain or maintain POST instructor endorsement for the device. 474X )

2543. PROCEDURES FOR POST INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION.

01. Application for the Instructor Development Course. After meetmg the requ1rements set out in
Sections 250, arnd 251, and either 252 o233, the applicant shafl must submit
Speeiadist a completed POST “Certified Instructor Packet;”” to his POST Regional Training Specialist, which sha#

must include: 4-2-03)( )
a. Three-3)H-etters A signed attestation of recommendation eligibility for certification;4-2-63)( )

The applicant's

02. Evelnationr Completion of the Instructor Development Course. Applicants for Instructor
Certification must attend and successfully complete all of the requirements of the POST Instructor Development
Course. 4-2-03)( )

03. POST Instructor Certification. Pending written notification of certification, Instructor

Development Course graduates may only observe or co-instruct courses which generate data or records for POST
certification, recognition, or credit. Applicants may only act as a lead instructor as part of the evaluation process
conducted by a POST Regional Training Specialist. ( )

a. Waithintwo—(2)weeks—after—submitting—the—peacket—tThe applicant sha# must contact his POST
Regional Training Specialist upon successful completion of the POST Instructor Development Course to set up a
tlme for the Tra1n1ng Spec1al1st to mem-fef evaluate a class the appl1cant is lnstructmg %n—addb&eﬁ—te—e-v&l-ua-ﬁﬁg—ﬂ%e

Apollcants who fall to arrange for and complete an evaluatlon w1thm one ( 1)
calendar year of completion of the Instructor Development Course may be required to complete a POST Instructor
Orientation Course prior to proceeding with the certification process. 4-2-03)( )
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#3c. Reconmendation- AfCr emst

eomplete evaluating the applicant for compliance Wlth POST standards for cert1ﬁcat10n as an 1nstruct0r the POST
Regional Training Specialist sha# will attach his comments and recommendation to the Certified Instructor pPacket

and forward it to the POST Division Administrator.

d. The POST Division Administrator ske#f will review the POST Regional Training Specialist’s
evaluation and recommendation, and upon approval, issue the POST Instructor eCertification.

€. POST will notify applicants in writing of their certification status. ( )

254. PROCEDURES FOR HIGH LIABILITY INSTRUCTOR ENDORSEMENT.
01. Requirements. POST Certified Instructors must obtain additional endorsements to instruct topics
related to Defensive Tactics, Firearms, Conducted Energy Devices, Emergency Vehicle Operations, and any other

topic deemed as “high liability” by the POST Council. High liability topic instructor endorsement must be maintained
as required by Subsection 256.02.¢e.

)

02. Application. After meeting the requirements set out in Sections 250 through 253, the applicant
must submit a completed POST High Liability Instructor Endorsement Application Packet to his POST Regional

Training Specialist. Upon notification from the POST Regional Training Specialist, the applicant may begin
observation of instruction in the topic for which the application was submitted. The POST High Liability Instructor

Endorsement Application Packet must include: ( )
a. A resume of experience and schools attended in preparation for instructing the selected subject;

)

b. The applicant's agency head's or school director's signature. ( )

03. Completion of a High Liability Instructor School. An applicant for High Liability Instructor
Endorsement must attend and successfully complete all of the requirements of the POST instructor course specific to

the high liability area he intends to instruct. ( )
a. The POST Regional Training Specialist will verify the high liability instructor school roster bearing
the applicant's name. ( )
b. Upon notification from the POST Regional Training Specialist, the applicant may begin co-

instruction of the topic for which the application was submitted. in preparation for evaluation as an endorsed
instructor in the high liability area.

[

04. Evaluation. Prior to evaluation by a POST Regional Training Specialist, high liability instructor

endorsement applicants are not approved to act as a lead instructor for any course offered for POST training credit in
the topic for which the application was submitted. Within one (1) calendar year after completing the high liability

instructor school, the applicant must arrange and complete a practical evaluation conducted by his POST Regional
Training Specialist. In addition to evaluating the quality of instruction provided by the applicant, the Training
Specialist will take into consideration documented observation and co-instructor experience, and recommendations
of currently endorsed instructors.

)

05. Recommendation. After ensuring all requirements are met and the High Liability Endorsement
Instructor Packet is complete, the POST Regional Training Specialist will attach his recommendation to the packet
and forward it to the POST Division Administrator. The POST Division Administrator or his designee will review the
POST Regional Training Specialist's evaluation and recommendation, and upon approval, issue the endorsement.

)

06. Multiple Endorsements. A current POST-endorsed high liability instructor making application for
instructor endorsement in an additional high liability topic must meet the requirements of this section for the

additional topic prior to endorsement in that topic area.

[
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255. EXPIRATION.

01. Valld Instructor Certlf catlon Instructor certlﬁcatlon s—h&ﬂ w1ll remam Vahd fé%a—pef%si—ef—m

indefinitely, prov1ded the 1nstruct0r remains in good standmg and comphes w1th all POST regu1rements for refreshe

training. 471 )
a. Instructors who fail to instruct for a period of two (2) years will be deemed inactive and may not
instruct as a POST instructor until they have reapplied as required in Subsection 253.01. ( )
b. Inactive instructors must complete a POST-approved instructor orientation course. The POST

Regional Training Specialist will verify and approve the POST-approved instructor orientation course roster or course
record. The POST Division Administrator will then re-issue the instructor certification.

E

02. Valid High Liability Endorsement. Instructor endorsements will remain valid for two (2) years,
with the exception of Firearms endorsements which will remain valid for one (1) vear, provided the instructor

remains in good standing and complies with all POST requirements for refresher training. ( )
a. High Liability Instructors who fail to instruct for a period of two (2) years will be deemed inactive

with respect to the relevant endorsement(s) and may not instruct as a POST instructor in the topic area(s) until they

have reapplied as required in Subsection 254.02. ( )
b. Inactive high liability instructors must be re-evaluated by a POST Regional Training Specialist.

)

C. After ensuring all requirements are met and the High Liability Endorsement Instructor Packet is

complete, the POST Regional Training Specialist will attach his recommendation to the packet and forward it to the
POST Division Administrator. The POST Division Administrator or his designee will review the POST Regional

Training Specialist's evaluation and recommendation, and upon approval, re-issue the endorsement.

023. Conducted Energy Device. A POST-eertified endorsed Conducted Energy Device instructor she#f
must maintain valid certification through the manufacturer for each Conducted Energy Device they are POST-
eertified endorsed to instruct. If their certification through the manufacturer becomes invalid for any reason, their
POST Conducted Energy Device Instructor €ertification Endorsement for that device sha# will immediately be

deemed inactive. 47— )
256. RENEWAL OF HIGH LIABILITY ENDORSEMENT.

ik

01. Notification. At the end of the eertification endorsement period, the POST Council will send
notification to the instructor, provided the instructor still meets the qualifications for instructor certification and

endorsement. 4—H3H( )
02. Requirements. To renew the eertifieation endorsement, the instructor must submit the following to
POST Council: (4-11-15) )
a. A teaching log indicating the instruction of at least one (1) class during the last eertification
endorsement period, 4-2-03)( )
b
¢b. A firearms qualification score sheet witnessed by a current POST-eertified endorsed firearms

instructor other than the renewing instructor. The qualification course must be the POST Council-approved course
pertinent to the topic the instructor is certified to teach. This requirement applies only to POST-eertified endorsed

firearms instructors who are renewing their firearms instructor eertifieation endorsement. HA-H—H55( )
dc. Instructors must meet reeertification endorsement requirements in compliance with Council and
applicable industry standards. HA-H—H55( )
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ed. In addition to the above subsections, instructors of topics related to Defensive Tactics, Firearms,
and Emergency Vehicle Operations must complete a minimum of eight (8) hours of continuing instructor training
every two (2) years, to include use of force law, liability, and further instructor training specific to the knowledge and

skills to teach in the eertified endorsed instructional topic area(s). 4—HH3H( )

fe. Conducted Energy Device instructors must submit proof of successful completion of the
manufacturer’s recertification requirements for each Conducted Energy Device they are POST-eertifiedendorsed to

instruct. HA-H—455( )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

281. POST TRAINING CREDIT: APPROVAL OF FORMAL SCHOOLS FORMAHON AND
EERTHHEAHON OTHER COURSES OF INSTRUCTION.

282. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

01. Purpose. School eertification and course approval is established for the purpose of recognizing
sehools training deemed adequate to effectively teach law enforcement subjects and/or general subjects pertinent to

law enforcement personnel. 4-2-03)( )

02. CertificationApproval. The Councﬂ shall—eertify may approve schools
or courses that meet established POST standards regarding

measurable, verifiable training eowrses. 4-2-03)( )

053. Appeal. In the event that eertifieation approval is denied, appeal may be made directly to the

Council. {93 )
064. No POST Training Credit. No POST training credit s#a# will be given for attendance at a school
that has not been eertified approved by the Council. 4-2-03)( )

075. POST—Gemﬁed pproved School or Course A—Seheel—spem’e#edﬂaﬁd—eﬁ%éuﬁed—by—fhe—PQS?

In addmon to tramm;_ mstructed accordms_ to Subsectlon 251 04 of these rules the POST Council

will grant traimng credit for schools and organized collections or series of courses according to the following criteria:
H4-2-03)( )

a. A school or course facilitated by a POST-certified or approved instructor which is taught in whole
or in part by one (1) or more instructors who are not POST-certified or approved will be considered a POST-approved
school provided the training meets the requirements of Section 284. ( )

b. A school or course provided by a third party will be considered a POST-approved school provided
the sponsoring agency provides documentation meeting the pre-approval status requirements of Subsection 284.02,
and if applicable, Sections 306 through 310. All schools or courses approved pursuant to this subsection are subject to
the provisions of Section 285, “Course Evaluation Fee.” ( )

C. A school or course which is taught or delivered outside of the state of Idaho will be considered a
POST-approved school provided the trainee provides either documentation of POST course approval of the host state
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or documentation of International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement Standards and Training (IADLEST)
national course certification and provides a certificate indicating successful completion of the training within thirty

(30) days of the completion of the training session. ( )
d. Any management or executive-level school or course attended for the purpose of compliance with

Sections 119 or 120 of these rules by a trainee currently holding a command level rank will be considered a POST-

approved school provided the trainee provides a certificate indicating successful completion of the training within
thirty (30) days of the completion of the training session. ( )

283. EXAMINATIONS.
Written examinations may be required of each trainee in each school eertified approved by the Council for thirty-five

(35) or more POST training hours. 4-2-03)( )

2864. PROCEDURES REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION FOR SCHOOL OR COURSE APPROVAL.

01. Applieatiorr Documentation.
Documentation must be submltted to b the POST certlﬁed or approved instructor actlng as the lead mstructor or
facilitator for the training Ree 3

and skedl must include:
a. A course outline; (4-2-03)
b. A course description of the subject material being offered and the time period to be devoted to each
subject area; (4-2-03)
€ A-sehedute-of-classes: 4-2-03)
dc. A statement about the law enforcement personnel to whom it sha# will be directed; (4=2-63)( )
ed. A resume on each instructor, unless the instructor is a POST-certified or approved instructor; and
4263 )
fe. A lesson plan meeting the guidelines presented in the POST Instructor Development and POST

Instructor Orientation Courses, unless the lesson plan is permanently on file at the sponsoring agency. including all

performance objectives and any documentation of the assessment method(s) used to verify student participation and/
or measure the students’ completion of the performance objectives. 4-2-03)( )
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eemﬁed— Submlssmn Deadlmes The documentatlon llsted in Subsectlon 284 01 must be submltted to the POST

Regional Training Specialist within the following timeframes to be eligible for POST training credit: (4-2-63}( )

For pre-approval status. documentation should be submitted as early as possible and must be

ubmltted no later than thirty (30) days prior to the start of the training session, school, or course. All third-party
training must be pre-approved, with the exception of management or executive-level training. ( )

e eHH - ~ EHHHHE Documentatlon should be
submltted as eaer as possible and must be submltted no later than th1rtV ( 30) days followmg_ the completion of a

training session, school, or course, including management or executive-level training. 4-2-03)( )
043. Course Attendance Roster. The-school-directorsheall-submit-the-original-copy-of-the An original

or electronic POST Course Attendance Roster to—thePOST Regional—Training—-Specialist—-within—sevenr must be
submitted by the POST-certified or approved instructor acting as the lead instructor or facilitator no later than thirty
(#30) days of following the completion of #ke a training session, school, or course for POST training credit approval.
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2985. COURSE EVALUATION FEE.

01. Fee Schedule. The entity making application ske# will be charged a course evaluation fee at the
time of application. The course evaluation fee schedule is as follows: 4-2-03)( )
a. The fee for evaluating a one (1) to four (4) hour course sha# will be two hundred dollars ($200).
b. The fee for evaluating a five (5) to eight (8) hour course ska# will be four hundred dollars ($400).
4-2-03 )
c. The fee for evaluating a nine (9) to sixteen (16) hour course ske# will be six hundred dollars
($600). 4-2-03 )
d. The fee for evaluating a seventeen (17) to twenty-four (24) hour course sha# will be eight hundred
dollars ($800). 4-2-03 )
e. The fee for evaluating a twenty-five (25) to forty (40) hour course sha# will be one thousand
dollars ($1,000). “42-03H( )
f. The fee for evaluating a course in excess of forty (40) hours ske## will be a combination of the
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above as determined by the POST Division Administrator. (4-2-03)( )
02. Exception. The course evaluation fee she#f will not be charged for courses developed and
conducted by governmental agencies. (4-2-03)( )
03. Waiver. The course evaluation fee may be waived in whole or in part at the discretion of the POST
Division Administrator. (4-2-03)

29986.--305. (RESERVED)

306. EERTHICATHONOF-SEHOOELS APPROVAL OF TRAINING UTILIZING ALTERNATIVE
METHODS OF TRAINING DELIVERY.

307. ALTERNATIVE METHODS OF TRAINING DELIVERY.
Alternative methods of training delivery ska# will include, but not be limited to, the following types of technology:
4-2-031

01. Videotape; (4-2-03)
02. Television-Based; (4-2-03)
03. Computer-Based,; (4-2-03)
a. Simulator; (4-2-03)
04. Web-Based,; (4-2-03)
a. Distance learning; (4-2-03)
b. On-line interactive; and (4-2-03)
0s. Correspondence. (4-2-03)

308. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

01. Minimum Length. Each course ske# must be a minimum of two (2) hours in length.

42-03(__)

02. Notification. Notification of approval or denial of the request for eertificationshat! approval will
be sent in the form of a letter from the POST Regional Training Specialist to the applicant. If approval is granted, the
letter shaff will indicate how many POST training hours ske# will be awarded for completion of the training.

4-2-03)( )

03. Examinations. (4-2-03)

a. Upon completion of the course, each trainee ska# must be given an examination to assess their
knowledge of the course material. The examination s#e# must be proctored by an Idaho POST-certified instructor or
a subject matter expert approved by POST prior to the examination. 4-2-03)( )
b. Only those trainees receiving a passing score on the examination ske# will be awarded POST

training hours for the course. 4-2-03)( )
04. POST Training Credit. To receive credit on their POST training record, the trainee sha# must

submit the following to POST: 4-2-03)( )
a. The certificate of completion; (4-2-03)
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b. A signed statement from their agency head or school director verifying participation and
completion of the course. 4-2-03)( )

05. Falsification of Information. The POST Council may proceed with decertification proceedings
against any officer who falsifies any information. (4-2-03)

06. Liability Disclaimer. A liability disclaimer indemnifying the state of Idaho sAa# must be printed
on all commercially-developed or distributed training materials eertified approved by POST Council. (4-2-03)( )

309. REQUIREMENTS.
In addition to the requirements set forth in Sections 281 and 282 of these rules, the requirement in Sections 306
through 311 are necessary for evaluation of the request for certification of a school utilizing an alternative method of

training delivery. (4-2-03)
01. Training Medium. The training medium utilized she# must be indicated on the Application for
Certification of School.
02. Specialized Equipment. Any specialized equipment, software, network access, etc. needed for the
evaluation process s#e#f must be provided to POST free-of-charge by the applicant at the time of application.
(4-2-03)( )
03. Course Evaluation Fee. A course evaluation fee sha# will be charged pursuant to Section 2985 of
these rules. 42-03)__ )

310. RECORDS.
A course file shaH must be maintained by the epplicant host agency or facilitating instructor and sha# must be readily

available to POST Council. The file ska# must include: 42035 )
01. Name. The name of the course provider; (4-2-03)
02. The Lesson Plan,; (4-2-03)
03. Objectives. The course learning objectives; (4-2-03)
04. Hours Awarded. The number of POST training hours awarded; (4-2-03)
05. Attendance. The attendance policy and the methodology for ascertaining and validating trainee
attendance and participation, such as secure password, attendance roster, encrypted passcode, etc. (4-2-03)
06. Assessment Record. The trainee assessment record; (4-2-03)
07. Certificate of Completion. The names of the trainees awarded a certificate of completion and the
date they completed the course; and (4-2-03)
08. Course Evaluations. The Course Evaluations By The Trainees. (4-2-03)

311. CERTIFICATES OF COMPLETION.
The applicant—shatl host agency or facilitating instructor will issue a certificate of completion to each trainee
successfully completing the training course. The certificate sha# will include the following information:

4-2-03( )
01. Course Provider. The name of the course provider; (4-2-03)
02. Trainee. The name of the trainee successfully completing the course; (4-2-03)
03. Date. The date the trainee completed the course; (4-2-03)
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04. Hours. The number of course hours completed; and (4-2-03)

05. Course Administrator Facilitator. The name of the persor POST-certified or POST-approved
instructor responsible for the general administration of the course. 4-2-03)( )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

351. SELF-SPONSORED STUDENT PROGRAM SELECTION STANDARDS.

01. Requirement. Every Self-Sponsored Student skheff must meet the minimum standards for
employment (Sections 050 through 065) of this manual. {4-2-08) )
02. Procedures. (3-20-97)
a. The applicant sha# will be required to complete and submit to the POST Council a comprehensive

application and personal history packet, along with #+e—2} a sets of fingerprints on the standard FBI applicant
fingerprint cards. A non-refundable application fee is required and must accompany the application. {3-26-97 )

b. In order to determine the applicant’s suitability as a Self-Sponsored Student, the POST Council
shedt will conduct a thorough criminal and personal hlstory background 1nvest1gat10n The ﬁngerprlnt cards—s—ha%Z w1ll
be submltted to the Bureau of Cr1m1na1 Ident1ﬁcatlon e 2

o—the-+BlHfo 4 2 ; d-ch All results of the background
1nvest1gatlon wrll be con51dered conﬁdentral and processed accordrngly 3-26-97K )

c. The applicant must also successfully complete a polygraph, psychological evaluation, physical
agility test, and a Police Officer Selection written examination approved by POST Council. (3-20-97)
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11.11.04 - RULES OF THE IDAHO PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING COUNCIL
FOR CORRECTION OFFICERS AND ADULT PROBATION AND PAROLE OFFICERS

DOCKET NO. 11-1104-1501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or as specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 19-5107, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The text of the pending rule differs from the text of the proposed rule due to a recent discovery that POST does
not qualify as a law enforcement agency and therefore must pay for the processing of fingerprint cards. The pending
rule text now requires the agencies to maintain records check results and verify an applicant’s compliance with the
minimum standards for employment to the POST Council.

The text of the pending rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the October 7, 2015 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-10, pages 169-174.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the pending
rule, contact Victor McCraw at (208) 884-7251.

DATED this 19th day of November, 2015.

Victor R. McCraw

POST Division Administrator

Idaho State Police/Peace Officer Standards & Training
700 S. Stratford Dr.

Meridian, ID 83642

Phone (208) 884-7251

Fax (208) 884-7295

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 19-5107, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2015.
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The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

Fingerprint requirements were updated to reflect current Bureau of Criminal Identification requirements; “shall”
changed to “will” and “must” pursuant to direction in Rule Writer’s Manual; no certification is ever reactivated, so
the language was corrected to reflect recertification; the Physical Agility Testing was deleted from the challenge
requirements to enhance agencies’ ability to hire retired officers from other states; firearms qualification was added to
the correction officer challenge requirements, as this is a required job task for correction officers; added
decertification investigation language where missing to make the language identical to other similar sections.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the rule is simple in nature and representatives of the affected interests were involved in the
drafting and approval of the rule.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Victor McCraw at (208) 884-7251.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2015.

DATED this 28th Day of August, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

Italicized red text that is double underscored is new text that has been added to the pending rule.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 11-1104-1501

036. CRIMINAL RECORD.

01. Fingerprints. The applicant must be fingerprinted on #we(2)-ecopies-of the standard FBI Applicant
fingerprint fer## card, and a search made by the hiring agency of local, state, and national fingerprint files to disclose
any criminal record. The original copies of all records check results must be retained by the POST-Couneil hiring
agency. The hiring agency must verify the applicant's compliance with the minimum standards for employment
outlined in this section to the POST Council upon submission of the appropriate notification of employment form

designated by the Council. HA1H-06)( )
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02. Conviction. The term “conviction” includes: (4-11-06)
a. Any conviction in a federal, tribal, state, county, or municipal court; (4-11-06)
b. A voluntary forfeiture of bail, bond, or collateral deposited to secure a defendant’s appearance in
court as final disposition; (4-11-06)
c. The payment of a fine; (4-11-06)
d. A plea of guilty, nolo contendere; or (4-11-06)
e. A finding of guilt regardless of whether the sentence is imposed, suspended, deferred, or withheld,

and regardless of whether the plea or conviction is set aside or withdrawn, or the case or charge is dismissed, or the
record expunged under Section 19-2604, Idaho Code, or any other comparable statute or procedure, where the setting
aside of the plea or conviction, or dismissal of the case or charge, or expungement of the record is based upon lenity
or the furtherance of rehabilitation rather than upon any defect in the legality or factual basis of the plea, finding of
guilt, or conviction. (4-11-06)

03. Misdemeanor Conviction. A misdemeanor conviction of any federal, state, or local crime may be
grounds for rejection of the applicant. (4-11-06)

a. An applicant must be rejected who has been convicted of any misdemeanor sex crime, crime of
deceit, or drug offense unless the conviction occurred more than five (5) years prior to application and the apphcant s
agency head files a written request for review with the POST Council. In the case of a willful concealment or petit
theft conviction, the applicant may be accepted upon approval of the POST Division Administrator. The Division
Administrator will have the discretion to refer the application to the POST Council. In all other cases, the POST
Council must review the application and determine whether the individual will be certifiable as a correction officer in
the state of Idaho. (4-11-06)

b. An applicant with any other misdemeanor conviction will be accepted upon approval of their
agency head provided the conviction occurred more than two (2) years prior to application and the applicant's agency
head submits written documentation that, with knowledge of the facts and circumstances concerning the offense or
violation, he approves the applicant. If the conviction occurred during the two (2) years immediately preceding
application, the POST Council must review the application and determine whether the individual will be certifiable as
a correction officer in the state of Idaho. (4-11-06)

04. Felony Conviction. An applicant must be rejected who has been convicted of any felony crime, the
punishment for which could have been imprisonment in a federal or state penal institution. For the purpose of this
rule, a felony conviction will continue to be considered a felony conviction regardless of whether the conviction is
later reduced to a misdemeanor conviction under Section 19-2604, Idaho Code, or any other comparable statute or
procedure, where the reduction is based upon lenity or the furtherance of rehabilitation rather than upon any defect in
the legality or factual basis of the felony conviction. No waivers will be granted by the POST Council, except where,
since the time of the conviction, the crime for which the defendant was convicted has, by statute, been reduced to a
misdemeanor or decriminalized in the jurisdiction where the conviction occurred. In such cases, the POST Council
must review the application and determine whether the individual will be certifiable as a correction officer in the state
of Idaho. (4-11-06)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

051. LAPSE OF CORRECTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION.

The certification of any correction officer skea#f will be considered lapsed if the officer does not serve as a correction
officer in Idaho for three (3) consecutive years. Provided, however, that an Idaho POST-certified correction officer
who remains in an administrative duty assignment with the Idaho Department of Correction sha# will retain their
POST certification provided they do not leave employment with the Idaho Department of Correction and satisfy the
continuing training requirement of at least twenty (20) hours per year. The three-year period provided herein she#f
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will be tolled during any time period that a correction officer is the subject of a POST decertification investigation
and is no longer employed in law enforcement. 4—413)( )

01. Three to Five Years. A correction officer who has been out of full-time correction officer status
from three (3) to five (5) years and who wants to reactivate-certification-shedt be recertified must meet the following
POST requirements: {44143 )

a. Submit a POST Certification Correction Challenge Packet; (4-11-06)

b. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)

c. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-11-06)

1. The POST correction certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner
set forth in Subsection 053.02.b. of these rules; and 4-H-06)( )

ii. The POST Correction-OfficerPhysieat-Agitity-Test Firearms Qualification Course; and
406} )

d. Satisfactorily complete a probationary period of not less than six (6) months. (4-11-06)

02. Over Five Years. A correction officer who has been out of full-time correction officer status for
over five (5) years shaff must attend the POST Basic Correction Academy or a POST-certified private prison
contractor's correction officer training program to regetivate-certifieation be recertified. The Council may waive this
requirement on a showing of good cause by the officer supported by clear and convincing evidence that during a
substantial part of the time out of full-time correction officer status, the officer was engaged in an occupation
requiring correction officer training, skill, and experience. This evidence shat! must be submitted with a POST
Certification Correction Challenge Packet. Upon receiving a waiver, the officer sk#a# must meet the following POST

requirements: 44143 )

a. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial

equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)

b. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-11-06)

1. The POST correction certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner

set forth in Subsection 053.02.b. of these rules; a#nd 4—1H-06)( )
ii. The POST Correction-OfficerPhysieat-Agitity-Test Firearms Qualification Course; and

(4-11-06) )

c. Satisfactorily complete a probationary period of not less than six (6) months. (4-11-06)

03. Over Eight Years. A correction officer who has been out of full-time correction officer status for

over eight (8) years ske#f must attend the POST Basic Correction Academy or a POST-certified private prison
contractor's correction officer training program to be recertified. No waiver of this requirement sha# will be granted

by the Council. Al )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

054. CHALLENGING THE BASIC CORRECTION ACADEMY.

Any correction officer presently appointed by the Idaho Department of Correction or by a private prison contractor of
the State Board of Correction who, within the last five (5) years, has been employed and certified or commissioned by
another state or the federal government as a correction officer or a student who has satisfactorily completed a Basic
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Correction Academy equivalent to the Idaho POST Basic Correction Academy within the last three (3) years will be
eligible for certification in the state of Idaho without attending the Basic Correction Academy, provided the officer:
(4-11-006)

01. Submission of Challenge Packet. Submits a POST Certification Correction Challenge Packet to
POST Council, which must include copies of POST training records from other states to substantiate the officer's
training; and transcripts, certificates, diplomas, or other documents that substantiate the officer’s education and

experience; (4-11-06)
02. Discloses Decertification Information. Discloses information regarding any decertification
investigation or proceeding or the substantial equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof; ( )

023. Passes Required Tests. Passes the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist:

(4-11-06)

a. The POST correction certification examination approved by the Council, conducted in the manner

set forth in Subsection 053.02.b. of these rules; a#nd 4—1H-06)( )
b. The POST Correction-OfficerPhysieat-Agitity-Test Firearms Qualification Course; and

(4-11-06) )

034. Completes Probationary Period. Completes his probationary period as required by Subsection

053.01. (4-11-06)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

062. LAPSE OF ADULT PROBATION AND PAROLE OFFICER CERTIFICATION.

The certification of any adult probation and parole officer ske# will be considered lapsed if the officer does not serve
as an adult probation and parole officer in Idaho for three (3) consecutive years. Provided, however, that an Idaho
POST-certified adult probation and parole officer who remains in an administrative duty assignment with the Idaho
Department of Correction ska# will retain their POST certification provided they do not leave employment with the
Idaho Department of Correction and satisfy the continuing training requirement of at least twenty (20) hours per year.
The three-year period provided herein ske#f will be tolled during any time period that an adult probation and parole
officer is the subject of a POST decertification investigation and is no longer employed in law enforcement.

44134 )

01. Three to Five Years. An adult probation and parole officer who has been out of full-time adult
probation and parole officer status from three (3) to five (5) years and who wants to reaetivatecertification-shatl be
recertified must meet the following POST requirements: 4—413)( )
a. Submit a POST Certification Adult Probation and Parole Challenge Packet; (4-11-06)

b. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial
equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
c. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-11-06)

1. The POST adult probation and parole certification examination approved by the Council,
conducted in the manner set forth in Subsection 053.02.b. of these rules; (4-2- 08)
1i. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and 4-2-08)( )

d. Satisfactorily complete a probationary period of not less than six (6) months. (4-11-06)
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02. Over Five Years. An adult probation and parole officer who has been out of full-time adult
probation and parole officer status for over five (5) years shaff must attend the POST Basic Adult Probation and
Parole Academy to reactivate-certification be recertified. The Council may waive this requirement on a showing of
good cause by the officer supported by clear and convincing evidence that during a substantial part of the time out of
full-time adult probation and parole officer status, the officer was engaged in an occupation requiring adult probation
and parole officer training, skill, and experience. This evidence she# must be submitted with a POST Certification
Adult Probation and Parole Challenge Packet. Upon receiving a waiver, the officer sha# must meet the following

POST requirements: {4413 )

a. Disclose information regarding any decertification investigation or proceeding or the substantial

equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof. (3-29-10)
b. Attend and pass Idaho POST-certified courses in Arrest Techniques and Practical Problems;

(4-11-06)

c. Pass the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist: (4-11-06)

1. The POST adult probation and parole certification examination approved by the Council,

conducted in the manner set forth in Subsection 053.02.b. of these rules; (4-2-08)

il. The POST Firearms Qualification Course; and {4-2-08) )

d. Satisfactorily complete a probationary period of not less than six (6) months. (4-11-06)

03. Over Eight Years. An adult probation and parole officer who has been out of full-time adult

probation and parole officer status for over eight (8) years she# must attend the POST Basic Adult Probation and
Parole Academy to be recertified. No waiver of this requirement ska# will be granted by the Council. f4—4—43)( )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

065. CHALLENGING THE BASIC ADULT PROBATION AND PAROLE ACADEMY.

Any adult probation and parole officer presently appointed by the Idaho Department of Correction who, within the
last five (5) years, has been employed and certified or commissioned by another state or the federal government as an
adult probation and parole officer or a student who has satisfactorily completed a Basic Adult Probation and Parole
Academy equivalent to the Idaho POST Basic Adult Probation and Parole Academy within the last three (3) years
will be eligible for certification in the state of Idaho without attending the Basic Adult Probation and Parole
Academy, provided the officer: (4-11-06)

01. Submission of Challenge Packet. Submits a POST Certification Adult Probation and Parole
Challenge Packet to POST Council, which must include copies of POST training records from other states to
substantiate the officer's training; and transcripts, certificates, diplomas, or other documents that substantiate the

officer’s education and experience; (4-11-06)
02. Discloses Decertification Information. Discloses information regarding any decertification
investigation or proceeding or the substantial equivalent from any other jurisdiction and the results thereof; ( )

023. Attends and Passes POST-Certified Courses. Attends and passes Idaho POST-certified courses
in Arrest Techniques and Practical Problems; (4-11-06)

034. Passes Required Tests. Passes the following tests administered by a POST Training Specialist:
(4-11-06)
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a. The POST adult probation and parole certification examination approved by the Council,

conducted in the manner set forth in Subsection 053.02.b. of these rules; (4-2-08)
b. The POST Firearms Qualification Course;-a#d 4-2-08)( )
- The POSTAdsltProbeati | Parole-OfficerPhysical-Agility-Test 4-2-08
045. Completes Probationary Period. Completes his probationary period as required by Subsection

064.01 of these rules. (4-11-06)
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DOCKET NO. 50-0101-1501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2016 Idaho State
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 20-223, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule updates and revises the rules to include changes passed through the legislative session for 2015.

Changes made to the pending rule include report information in the restoration of firearms and clarifies victim’s
information and notifications.

The text of the pending rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the
proposed rule was published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 15-10, pages 618-644.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the pending
rule, contact Mary Schoeler 208-334-2520.

DATED this 25th day of November 2015.

Sandy Jones
Executive Director
3506 Elder St
Boise, Idaho 83705
208-334-2520

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 20-223, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2015.
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The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

To update and revise the rules to include changes passed through the legislative session for 2015; to implement
violation hearing officers’ authority to impose sanctions; mirror statutory language from JRI and correct minor
clerical errors. To allow the implementation of firearm restoration guidelines, implement the firearm application to
include conditions to be met; to make additions to confidential evaluations of substance abuse; additional explanation
of executive director’s authority to recall a decision; additional explanation of conditions of parole contract; remove
ambiguous terms such as “excessive” in excessive alcohol use; removal of instructional parole due to no benefit of
parolee; to include the authority of Violation Hearing Officers to implement 90/180 day sanctions without appearing
before the commission; to clarify public records requests regarding hearing officer reports and interviews as
confidential; and further clarify and mirror statutory language in rules; to include guidelines for Foreign National
Treaty transfer; to remove institutional parole.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: NA

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because The Commission of Pardons and Parole is updating its administrative rules to reflect current
operating processes and legislation passed in the 2015 session. The commission will be correcting minor clerical
errors and mirroring statutory language found when implementing the Justice Reinvestment Initiative and further
clarifying the Justice Reinvestment Initiative parole guidelines to be placed into current practice. The Commission
anticipates prosecuting attorneys, law enforcement agencies, the judiciary, and the Idaho Department of Corrections
will support the proposed rules. It is unlikely that defense attorneys, offenders and their families will support the rule
changes, as they will be perceived as disadvantageous to these groups’ interest. Consequently, negotiated rulemaking
is not a viable option and will unnecessarily expend commission resources.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Mary Schoeler, Paralegal (208) 334-2520.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2015.

DATED this 2nd Day of September, 2015.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

Italicized red text that is double underscored is new text that has been added to the pending rule.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 50-0101-1501
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010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Abscond. An offender who has fled supervision, whose whereabouts are unknown, and for whom a
warrant for a violation of supervision has been issued or requested. (4-11-15)
02. Case Worker/Manager. For purposes of reference, the case worker/manager is an Idaho

Department of Correction employee who is involved with assisting offenders/parolees regarding their problems,
needs, and adjustments. Such case worker/manager may have the title of psycho-social rehabilitation specialist,

counselor, social worker, psych-tech, or clinician. (4-11-15)
03. Commission. The Idaho Commission of Pardons and Parole. (4-11-15)
04. Commission Warrant. Warrant of arrest for alleged parole violation issued by the executive
director or a commissioner. This warrant is a non-bondable warrant. (3-23-98)
0s. Commutation. Clemency powers granted to the commission, or the governor, or both, which allow
for a sentence to be modified. (4-11-15)
06. Concurrent Sentence. Sentence served at the same time as another. (3-23-98)
07. Conditions of Parole. Conditions under which an offender is released to parole supervision.
(4-11-15)
08. Confidential. Privileged from disclosure. (3-23-98)
09. Consecutive Sentence. Sentence served upon completion of another sentence or before beginning
another sentence. (3-23-98)
10. Decision. A determination arrived at after consideration, a conclusion. (3-23-98)
11. Detainer. A document authorizing the detention of an offender in custody for a new felony crime
or parole violation. Offender may be housed in a county jail or a correctional institution in state or out of state.
(4-11-15)
12. Determinate Sentence. Fixed portion of the sentence. During this time period an offender is not
eligible for release on parole. (4-11-15)
13. DOR. Disciplinary Offense Report. A report describing rule violations, behavioral issues, or both,
committed by an offender while incarcerated. (4-11-15)
14. Early Parole Discharge. Release from further custody of parole supervision prior to the maximum
expiration date and after statutory minimum of one (1) year of their sentence has been completed. (4-11-15)
15. Escape. Flight from confinement. (3-23-98)
16. Evidence Based Program. A treatment program evaluated using an experimental methodological
design, with outcomes reviewed by a variety of scientific professionals, and deemed effective in the delivery method
and the desired participant population outcomes. (4-11-15)
17. Executive Session. Any meeting or part of a meeting of the commission which is closed to the
public for deliberation on certain matters, as set forth in Section 20-213A, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)
18. Fixed Term. Portion of sentence during which the convicted person is not eligible for parole.
(3-23-98)
19. Full Term Release Date. The date an offender completes the term of sentence without good time
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credits. (4-11-15)

20. Good Time Release Date. The date an offender completes the term of sentence, minus statutory

good time credits when applicable. Good time credit applies to offenses committed prior to July 1, 1986, and for

which an offender is confined to a correctional institution for a definite term other than life. (4-11-15)

21. Hearing. The opportunity to be interviewed by the commission, a commissioner, or other

designated commission staff. (4-11-15)

22. Hearing Officer. An impartial person employed by the commission and selected by the executive

director to conduct an interview and take testimony from an offender regarding offender’s history, criminal record,

social history, present condition of offender, and offense. (4-11-15)

23. Hearing Session. A series of hearings conducted by the commission. (3-23-98)

24, Indeterminate Sentence. Portion of sentence following the determinate sentence, during which

time an offender is eligible for release on parole. (4-11-15)

25. Institutional Parole. Parole granted on one (1) or more consecutive sentences where the offender/

parolee remains incarcerated on other consecutive sentences. If released to parole on the remaining consecutive

sentences, the parole becomes regular parole. (4-11-15)

26. Jacket, File, or Case Review. Review of central file, commission file, and/or additional

information submitted, without testimony or interview of offender or parolee. (4-11-15)

27. NCIC. National Crime Information Center. (3-23-98)

28. Non Restricted Sentence. Sentence not restricted by statute. (3-23-98)

29. Non Technical Violation. Violation of parole by absconding or a new felony or vielent

misdemeanor er#nfiaetion conviction. A—HH55( )

30. Offender. A person under the legal care, custody, supervision, or authority of the board or
correction, including a person within or without Idaho pursuant to agreement with another state or contractor.

(4-11-15)

31. On-Site Parole Violation Hearing. Parole violation hearing to determine guilt or innocence which

must be held reasonably near the site of the alleged violation(s). (4-11-15)

32. Open Parole Date. Tentative parole granted without setting an actual tentative release date and

subject to release by commission authorization; offender’s parole eligibility date has passed when a tentative parole
date is granted. A tentative parole date will become an open parole date if the tentative parole date passes without the
offender being released to an acceptable plan on the specific date. (4-11-15)

33. Pardon. Clemency powers granted to the commission or the governor that allows release from
consequences of conviction of a crime and restores a persons’ civil rights. (4-11-15)

34. Parole. Conditional release from a penal institution under a contractual agreement between the
Commission of Pardons and Parole and offender. Parole is not a right, but is a matter of grace. (4-11-15)

35. Parole Eligibility Date. The earliest date that an offender may be eligible for parole release, which
coincides with the date that the indeterminate portion of the offender's sentence begins. In the event there are multiple
sentences, the sentence having the latest indeterminate begin date will be used as the offender's parole eligibility date.

(4-11-15)

36. Parole Hearing Interview. An interview conducted by a hearing officer for the purpose of
gathering information and testimony from the offender regarding the offender's history, criminal record, social
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history, present condition, instant offense, and other factors, when the offender is scheduled for a forthcoming parole
consideration hearing. (4-11-15)

37. Parole Violation Hearing. A fact-finding hearing conducted by a hearing officer to determine a
subject's guilt or innocence of alleged violations of parole. The hearings are conducted for both technical and non-
technical violations, and may be held on-site, or at a location as determined by the executive director or the hearing
officer. (4-11-15)

38. Parolee. Offender being supervised on parole. (4-11-15)

39. Permanently Incapacitated. As defined in Section 20-223, Idaho Code, permanently
incapacitated means a person who, by reason of an existing physical condition which is not terminal, is permanently

and irreversibly physically incapacitated. (4-11-15)
40. Rescission. Cancellation of a previous decision. (4-11-15)
41. Reprieve. Temporary suspension of the execution of sentence; delay a punishment. (3-23-98)
42. Restricted Sentence. Sentence restricted by Idaho Statutes, by carrying a mandatory minimum to
be served prior to parole eligibility. (4-11-15)
43. Return of Service. The document that establishes what legal documents were served on whom, by
whom, and when. (4-11-15)
44, Revocation/Violation File. File containing the documents pertinent to a particular violation/
revocation proceeding. (4-11-15)
45. Risk Assessment. Validated tool developed to determine risk of recidivating based on offender
criminogenic needs. (4-11-15)
46. Session. See “Hearing Session.” (4-11-15)
47. Statutory Release Date. Maximum full-term expiration date, minus any good time credits
accumulated during incarceration. The maximum full-term date may change upon forfeiture of time on parole due to
a violation of that parole. (4-11-15)
48. Substantive Conditions of Parole. Conditions of parole which relate to the rehabilitation of a

parolee including, but not limited to, performance of community service, use of alcohol, use of a motor vehicle,
limitations on financial matters, use of drugs, associations with other felons, employment requirements, residence
requirements, traveling outside of their district, etc. (4-11-15)

49. Technical Violation. Violation of parole by not conforming to conditions of parole, but not to
include absconding or a new criminal conviction-e#infraction. HA-H—H5)( )

50. Terminally Ill. As defined by Section 20-223, Idaho Code, terminally ill shall mean a person who
has an incurable condition caused by illness or disease and who is irreversibly terminally ill. (3-23-98)

51. Victim. As defined by Section 19-5306, Idaho Code, “Any individual who suffers direct or
threatened physical, financial or emotional harm as the result of the commission of a crime or juvenile offense.”
Including as defined by Section 19-5304, Idaho Code, “will mean a person or entity, who suffers economic loss or
injury as the result of the defendant’s criminal conduct and will also include the immediate family of a minor and the

immediate family of the actual victim in homicide cases.” HA-H—H55( )
52. Witness. Anyone who observes a hearing, appears as attorney for the subject of a hearing, or others
who provide written or verbal testimony. (3-23-98)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

102. HEARING SESSIONS.

01. Number of Hearings Scheduled. The executive director or designee will schedule hearing
sessions according to the number of hearings sekeduted required for the specific month. {55 )

02. Designation of Presiding Officer. The executive director may designate one (1) of the members of

the commission as the presiding officer to conduct individual hearings or a hearing session, or a business meeting.
(4-11-15)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

108. RIGHTS, POWERS, AND AUTHORITY OF THE COMMISSION.

01. Commutation, Pardon, Restoration of Firearms. and Remission. The commission succeeds to
and has all rights, powers and authority of the Board of Pardons as granted and provided by the provision of the
constitution of the state of Idaho, in reference to commutation, pardon, restoration of firearms, and remission of fines.

{4—H—3H )

02. Decision to Release to Parole. The commission has the power to decide whether or not any
offender eligible for parole may be released to parole. (4-11-15)
03. Advisory Commission to Board of Correction. The commission may act as the advisory

commission to the board of correction. The commission has any and all authority necessary to fulfill the duties and
responsibilities and other duties imposed upon it by law under Section 20-201, Idaho Code and other applicable
provisions of Idaho law. (4-11-15)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

150. COMMISSION AND STAFF.

01. Commission Members. (3-23-98)
a. The commission is composed of five (5) members appointed by the governor for three (3) year

terms; vacancies for unexpired terms will be for the remainder of the term and appointees may be reappointed.
(4-11-15)
1. No more than three (3) members will be from one (1) political party. (4-11-15)
ii. Appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the senate. (3-23-98)
b. The commissioners are compensated as provided by Sections 20-210, 59-509(I), and 67-2008,
Idaho Code. (4-11-15)
02. Commission Staff. (3-23-98)
a. The executive director is the official representative for the commission and is responsible for the
managing and administration of commission business and will have other duties and responsibilities as assigned by
the governor. (4-11-15)
i The commission has delegated to the executive director the authority to approve recommended

conditions of parole following the hearing process, issue commission warrants, issue parole release documents, and
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all other official documents pertaining, but not limited to paroles, commutations, pardons, restoration of firearms and
remissions of fines. 23989 )

ii. The executive director shall assume all authority and duties as may be delegated by the commission
and the governor. (3-30-01)

b. The commission, the executive director, and all staff will maintain professional integrity in all
matters of commission business. (3-23-98)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

200. HEARING PROCESS.
01. Information for Scheduled Commission Hearings. (3-30-01)

a. A schedule of commission hearings will be prepared prior to a hearing session and may be updated
as necessary at any time. The hearing schedule will be available five (5) business days prior to a hearing session. The
hearing schedule may be revised due to offender movement between institutions or other circumstances and may not
be published earlier. A person may obtain the offender’s hearing date by contacting the commission office. (4-11-15)

b. The hearing schedule will reflect the date, location and starting time of each hearing session and a
list of offenders scheduled for hearings and will be publ1shed on the commission website. (4-11-15)

02. Location of Hearings. The executive director will determine the location of hearings, based upon
available information when the schedule is set. Due to circumstances beyond the commission’s control, it may be
necessary to change the location and date of a hearing or hearing session. (4-11-15)

a. It may be necessary to continue a hearing to a later date to allow for the offender’s personal
appearance or for other unforeseen reasons. (4-11-15)

03. Interview Method. For parole hearing, commutation hearings, a#d pardon hearings, remission of
fines hearing, and restoration of firearms hearing, an interview may be conducted by face-to face, by telephone, or by
other electronic means. The interview may be conducted by a hearing officer or other designee of the executive
director. If an interview is not required, the offender may simply appear before the commission for a hearing.

=)

i. An in-depth investigational report explaining the offender’s social history, criminal history, present
condition, and offense will be prepared for the commission. The in-depth investigational report is exempt from public
disclosure pursuant to Section 20-223, Idaho Code. 4—H—15H )

ii. The commission will determine if they will conduct another hearing or make a decision based upon
the report. (3-30-01)

04. Psychological Reports, Mental Health Evaluations, Sex Offender Risk Assessment (SORA),
Substance Abuse Evaluation, or Other. 4—H—15H )

a. A psychological report, or SORA, or both, will be prepared for the commission for all offenders
serving a commitment for a sex offense, or whose history and conduct indicate an offender may be a sexually
dangerous person as described in Section 20-223, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)

b. The commission, the executive director, or a hearing officer can order any psychological report,
evaluation, or assessment for an offender serving a commitment for any crime. (4-11-15)

c. All psychological, e# SORA, substance abuse evaluations, and mental health reports will be
maintained in a confidential manner. HAH—H55( )
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05. Interview/Hearing. The offender who is the subject of an interview/hearing may be required to be
present at a scheduled interview/hearing. (4-11-15)

a. Parole Consideration Hearing. The offender who is the subject of a hearing may be required to be
present at a scheduled hearing. If the offender declines to be present at a parole consideration hearing, the offender is
required to complete and submit the Inmate Refusal to Participate in Parole Interview/Hearing Process form and state
the reason for not participating to the commission. A decision may be made by the commission based upon available

information. HA-H—H55)( )

b. Parole Revocation/Violation. The parolee is required to be present at the revocation/violation
hearing, with the exception of an absentia revocation hearing as explained in Subsection 400.06.h. (4-11-15)

c. Commutation. The offender is required to be present at the scheduled commutation hearing, unless
the commission determines otherwise. (4-11-15)

d. Pardon and Remission of Fine. The offender ef-the-hearing is encouraged to be present at the
hearing; the commission may make such appearance mandatory or may make a final decision based upon the

information which is available. HA-H—455)( )

e. Medical Parole. The offender is encouraged to be present at the hearing; the commission may make
such an appearance mandatory or may make a final decision based on information available. (4-11-15)

f. Restoration of Firearms. The offender is encouraged to be present at the hearing. The commission
may make such appearance mandatory or may make a final decision based upon the information that is available.

)

06. Witnesses and Documents. The commission allows for the effender/parelee participation of
attorneys, families of the subject, victims, and others who have a direct relationship to the specific hearing or

offender/parolee of the hearing. HH15H( )

a. Persons who want to participate in a hearing must notify the commission staff five (5) days in
advance of the scheduled hearing. Children under the age of sixteen (16) will not be allowed to attend the hearings
without prior approval of the executive director. (4-11-15)

b. All written documents and letters to be considered must be submitted seven (7) days in advance of
the scheduled hearing to ensure they will be considered; other documents may be allowed by unanimous consent
from the commissioners present. (4-11-15)

c. An attorney or others as determined by the executive director or commission may be seated with
the offender/parolee at the hearing. (3-23-98)

d. Verbal testimony by witnesses, victims, and attorneys may be limited by the number of persons
allowed to give testimony and by a certain time limit. The commission will allow the attorney representing the
offender/parolee a designated time frame to provide information to the commission. Victims will be allowed to
testify. Victim testimony is normally taken following comments of offender’s attorney and family or friends of the
offender/parolee. All persons who testify will direct their comments to the commission. Persons will keep their
comments to the relevance of parole. (4-11-15)

e. Contacts from the public to an individual commissioner outside of the hearing process, are to be
forwarded to the executive director in order that all commissioners will receive the information. (3-23-98)

07. Conflict of Interest. A commissioner who has personal knowledge of a case will make such
knowledge available to the sitting commissioners prior to the scheduled hearing, and the sitting members of the
commission will decide whether that commissioner should be disqualified from participating in deliberation and
voting. (4-11-15)
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a. A commissioner may remove themselves from the hearing. The commissioner may step down from
the panel and leave the room during the hearing and deliberations. ( )
08. Decisions. (3-23-98)

a. Any decision of the commission requires a majority vote of three (3) or more commissioners.
(4-11-15)
b. Decisions will be given orally following the hearing and deliberation of a case by the commission.
Written notice of the decision may be submitted at a later date. The decision may be sent to the offender in writing
with specific information/conditions. (4-11-15)
c. Following the decision being given orally, further testimony is allowed only at the discretion of the
commission, or the executive director, or hearing officer. (4-11-15)
d. In the case of a review by the commission without a commission hearing, the decision will be
published within a reasonable time. Individual written decisions may not be submitted, but will be available on the
commission’s website in a published list of a session’s action taken. (4-11-15)
de. Any decision made by the commission may be reconsidered at any time. The commission or
executive director may bring forward any case determined to need reconsideration before the next hearing session as
described in Section 105. {3-23-98K )
09. Rules of Conduct at Hearings. (3-23-98)
a. All persons attending any hearing will conduct themselves in a manner which does not disrupt the
proceedings or they may be removed from the hearing room and/or facility. (3-23-98)
b. All persons attending a hearing or hearing session, must abide by security policies of the

department of correction, the facility where the hearing is being held, and pertinent statutes; number of witnesses
allowed in the hearing room will be in line with life and safety codes; and all persons may be screened through metal
detectors or similar technology and will be subject to search. (4-11-15)

c. Audio recording or video recording of any hearing or any hearing session may be allowed at the
discretion of the commission or the executive director; such recordings will proceed only at the direction of the
commission or the executive director as to the placement, manner and type of equipment. (4-11-15)

d. The media is invited to attend any hearing or session of the commission. (3-23-98)

1. Interviews with offenders or witnesses will not be allowed during the hearing process and the
commission and staff will not be responsible for arranging any interviews. (4-11-15)

ii. During the hearing process, interviews with victims are not allowed without the express consent of
the victim. (3-23-98)

ii. Arrangements for interviewing the commission or staff should be made in advance. (4-11-15)
10. Official Record of Hearing/Review. The official record of a hearing or case review will be the
summary minutes of that hearing or review, once signed, and the original record will be maintained in the
commission office. (3-30-01)
201. -- 249. (RESERVED)
250. PAROLE.

01. Parole Determination. The commission will use clear, evidence-based parole guidelines in
making parole determinations, while still maintaining discretion of individual cases. (4-11-15)
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a. The commission may release an offender to parole on or after the date of parole eligibility, or not at
all. During a minimum term of confinement, an offender will not be eligible for parole, discharge, credit, or reduction
of sentence for good conduct, except for meritorious conduct reduction service, or as provided in Section 20-101D,

Idaho Code. (4-11-15)
b. Parole consideration is determined by the individual merits of each case. (4-11-15)
c. The commission uses evidence based parole consideration factors that are embedded in the clear

parole guidelines; these guidelines will include the use of a validated risk and needs assessment. The commission still
retains the discretion to deny parole of individual cases based on countervailing, discrete, individual case factors.

Factors considered include, but are not limited to: (4-11-15)
1. Seriousness and aggravation and/or mitigation involved in the crime. (3-23-98)
ii. Prior criminal history of the offender. (4-11-15)
iil. Failure or success of past probation and parole. (3-23-98)
iv. Institutional history to include conformance to established rules, involvement in programs and jobs
custody level at time of the hearing, and overall behavior. (3-23-98)
V. Evidence of the development of a positive social attitude and the willingness to fulfill the
obligations of a good citizen. (3-23-98)
Vi. Information or reports regarding physical or psychological condition. (3-23-98)
vii. The strength and stability of the proposed parole plan, including adequate home placement and
employment or maintenance and care. (3-23-98)
viii. Outcome of a validated risk and needs assessment. (4-11-15)
02. Primary Review. For offenders eligible for parole Aa review for the purpose of settlng the initial

parole hearing will be conducted on all offenders;
. tThe commission is not responsible for the setting of a hearing until an official
sentence calculation document has been received. HA-H—455( )

a. The executive director or a designee will conduct the review following receipt of the sentence
calculation from the department of correction, records office. The month and year of the initial parole hearing will be
established based upon the sentence calculation. (4-11-15)

i In cases of an offender serving a court-retained jurisdiction and have a current sentence, the
primary review will not be scheduled on that case until the court-retained jurisdiction has been adjudicated. ¢ )

il. In cases where the offender has a death sentence a primary hearing will not be scheduled. ( )

iil. In cases of specified minimum terms, the initial hearing will be set approximately six (6) months

prior to the offender’s parole eligibility date based on the sentence calculation. (4-11-15)

1#v. In cases of offenses committed on or after February 1, 1987, and a minimum fixed term has been

specified, the initial hearing may be scheduled six (6) months prior to the parole eligibility date, during the month of

parole eligibility, or as noted in Subsection 250.02.b.vi. (4-11-15)
HiV. Consecutive Sentences. All fixed terms will be served before the indeterminate terms commence.

(3-23-98)

#Vi. Concurrent Sentences. The initial hearing will not be scheduled until all fixed terms have been
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served. (4-11-15)

Vii. If an offender escapes prior to the primary review or the initial hearing, the review or hearing will
be conducted within a reasonable time of notification of the offender’s return to custody, taking into consideration
any additional commitments and the time to conduct an interview and report. (4-11-15)

viil. If an offender is committed to the department of correction and such offender is eligible for parole
immediately, or within the first six (6) months of their incarceration, the initial parole hearing will be scheduled
within six (6) months from the month the commission was notified of the commitment. 15 )

bix. The commission is not responsible for the accuracy of the sentence calculation as determined by
the department of correction, records office. (4-11-15)

03. General Conditions of Parole. The commission establishes rules and conditions for every
offender released to parole. Rules and conditions of parole will be provided in writing and acknowledged by the
parolee. Parolee will sign the agreement indicating the parolee’s understanding of the conditions of parole.

Conditions of parole include: A—HH3H( )

a. The parolee is required to enter into and comply with an agreement of supervision with the board of
correction. The agreement of supervision shall include provisions setting forth potential sanctions for a violation of
the conditions imposed and potential rewards for compliance with the conditions imposed, as such sanctions and

rewards are set forth in rules of the board. HA-H—55( )
b. Parolee will go directly to the destination approved by the commission and, upon arrival, report as
instructed to the parole officer or person whose name and address appear on the arrival notice; any deviation in travel
plans will require prior permission from the commission staff. (3-23-98)
c. The parolee will: (4-11-15)
1. Work diligently in a lawful occupation or a program approved by the commission or supervising
officer and not change employment or designated program without written permission from the commission or
supervising officer. (3-23-98)
ii. Support dependents to the best of parolee’s ability. (4-11-15)
iil. Live within lawful income without incurring unnecessary indebtedness. (3-23-98)
d. The parolee must submit a complete and truthful report to the assigned parole officer.  (4-11-15)
e. If at any time it becomes necessary to communicate with the assigned parole officer or other
official designee who is unavailable, communication will be directed to the district section supervisor. (4-11-15)
f. The parolee will: (3-23-98)
1. Obey all municipal, county, state, and federal laws. (3-23-98)
ii. Conduct himself or herself in a manner that is not, nor intended to be, harmful to himself or herself
or others. (4-11-15)
1il. Follow written or oral instructions of the parole officer or commission. (3-23-98)
1v. Not purchase, own, sell, or have in the parolee’s control, to include storing in residence, vehicle,
etc., any type of firearm for whatever purpose. (4-11-15)
V. Not have any dangerous weapons used or intended to be used for other than normal purposes, such
as knives for household use. (3-23-98)
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g. The parolee will: (4-11-15)
i. Abstain from exeessive use of alcoholic beverages. £3-23-98K )
ii. Abstain completely from the possession, procurement, use, or sale of narcotics or controlled
substances, except as prescribed by a licensed medical practitioner. (3-23-98)
1il. Freely cooperate and voluntarily submit to medical and chemical tests and examinations for the
purpose of determining if parolee is using or under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or other substances, which may
be at the parolee’s expense. (4-11-15)
iv. Participate in treatment programs as specified by the commission or ordered by the parole officer.
(3-23-98)
h. The parolee will submit to a search of person or property, or both, to include residence and vehicle,
at any time and place by any agent of field services or the commission, and the parolee waives the constitutional right
to be free from such searches. (4-11-15)
i. The parolee is fully advised that written permission is required to: (3-23-98)
1. Willfully change employment; (3-23-98)
ii. Willfully change residence; and (3-23-98)
ii. Leave the assigned district. (3-23-98)
je The parolee will make himself available for supervision and will not actively avoid supervision.
(3-23-98)
04. Special Conditions of Parole. (3-23-98)
a. In addition to general conditions of parole, the commission may add special conditions appropriate
to the individual case. (3-23-98)
b. The commission delegates the authority to the executive director to add additional special

conditions, before an offender has been released to parole or while on parole, enee after the offender has signed a
statement agreeingto acknowledging the special conditions. The commission will establish the special conditions of
parole using the offender’s most current risk and needs assessment to guide the imposition of necessary conditions.

=)
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065. Medical Parole. The commission may parole an offender for medical reasons during the
determinate portion of a sentence. (4-11-15)

a. Consideration will occur when the offender is permanently incapacitated or terminally ill and when
the commission reasonably believes the offender no longer poses a threat to the safety of society. (4-11-15)

b. An offender or designated department of correction personnel may petition the commission to
consider medical parole. (4-11-15)

c. The commission may conduct an actual hearing or review of the case, or may designate
commission staff to provide additional information and will require specific medical information in reference to the
condition, the treatment or care plan if released, and any other information deemed necessary. (4-11-15)

d. An annual report will be submitted to the house and senate judiciary committees of the legislature
and will contain aggregate health information and the names, medical condition, current status, and crime of all
persons granted medical parole. (4-11-15)

076. Discharge from Parole. (3-23-98)

a. When the maximum sentence has expired, a final discharge will be issued by the commission,
unless a commission warrant was issued before the full term release date. (4-11-15)

b. The commission may issue a final order of discharge prior to completion of the maximum sentence
when the commission believes such a discharge is compatible with the parolee’s welfare and that of society, and
subject to the following requirements. When notification of a discharge is received, the victims will be notified of the
request and allowed to respond. The commission may, without a hearing, consider the request. (4-11-15)

1. The commission will not consider an early discharge from parole in any case until the parolee has
served at least one (1) year on parole as outlined in Section 20-233, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)

il. The commission will not consider an early discharge for a parolee who has a sex crime or violent
crime until one-third (1/3) of the remaining time from the parole release date to the maximum expiration date has
been served on parole; or until five (5) years have been served on parole on a life sentence for any crime. (3-23-98)

iil. A parole officer or other designated agent can petition the commission to consider an early
discharge upon reaching the timelines established in Subsection 250.09.b.1. (4-11-15)

iv. Any decision by the commission to grant an early discharge will not be effective until the official
discharge document has been signed by the executive director or a commissioner. (3-23-98)

c. If a decision has been made by the commission to grant an early discharge, and adverse information
is received that was not previously available, the document will not be signed and the discharge will not be effective.
The executive director may issue a commission warrant based upon the new information and the discharge grant will
automatically be voided without further action by the commission. Such adverse information will be submitted to the
commission at the next available hearing session for reconsideration. If the executive director does not issue a
warrant, the information will be referred to the commission for reconsideration. (4-11-15)

d. If the parolee is incapacitated, the commission may consider or grant, or both, an early discharge
after one (1) year for any crime. (4-11-15)

087. Detainers. (3-23-98)

a. The commission may grant a parole to any county, state, or federal detainer which has been lodged
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against an offender. (4-11-15)

i. While in the custody of the detaining jurisdiction, the parolee is serving parole and is subject to all
rules of the housing facility and may be required to submit monthly reports to commission staff or the supervising
authority. (4-11-15)

il. If the parolee is released from custody by the detaining jurisdiction, the parolee must contact the
commission office immediately and must report to the nearest probation and parole office within five (5) days of
release or as otherwise instructed by the commission staff. The parolee must abide by all regular rules of parole and
any special conditions ordered by the commission. (4-11-15)

b. The commission may grant a parole to a federal immigration detainer in order that the offender may
be deported to the country of citizenship. (4-11-15)

1. If the parolee is granted a release on bond or is allowed to remain in the United States, the parolee
must contact the commission office immediately and must contact the nearest probation and parole office within five
(5) days of release or as otherwise instructed by the commission staff. (4-11-15)

ii. If the parolee is deported from the United States to the country of citizenship, the parolee is not to
return to the United States and doing so is considered a violation of the parole contract. (4-11-15)

iil. The commission considers this type of parole grant an unsupervised parole, but the parolee is not
obligated to submit monthly reports nor maintain contact with the commission as long as he remains outside of the
United States. (4-11-15)

098. Special Progress Reports. A special progress report may be submitted by the supervising
authority to request modification of a special condition of parole or advise of problems that have developed.
(4-11-15)

409. Interstate Compact. The commission may grant parole and transfer supervision of an offender to
another state under the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision outlined in Section 20-301, Idaho Code.

(4-11-15)

a. An offender must be eligible for transfer of supervision to another state under the Interstate
Compact and the receiving state must accept the transfer before the offender is released on parole. (4-11-15)
i. Any person under state parole who applies for a transfer of supervision to another state shall be
required to post an application fee pursuant to Section 20-225A, Idaho Code, payable to Idaho Department of
Correction, in addition to the commission's bond. (4-11-15)
b. Any offender granted parole under the Interstate Compact may be required to post a bond prior to

release or prior to such acceptance under the Interstate Compact. The amount of the bond set by the commission is
five hundred dollars ($500.) (4-11-15)
1. A bond may be posted by the offender, the offender’s family, or other interested party. The bond

must be posted at the commission office. A cashier check or money order shall be the only acceptable means of
posting bond. (4-11-15)
ii. Failure to successfully complete parole may be grounds for forfeiture of the bond. (4-11-15)

iil. Upon successful completion of parole, the amount of the bond may be returned to payee, less an

amount for administrative costs as determined by the commission rule. (4-11-15)
iv. A request must be made for return of the bond within one (1) year of discharge of the offense for

which the offender was serving parole. (4-11-15)

251. -- 299. (RESERVED)
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300. VICTIMS.

01. Program Process for Victims. The commission has established a progra#s process for victims of
criminal offenses for which an offender is currently incarcerated and is not serving a eowrt-ordered retained
jurisdiction. Victims of non-adjudicated cases may be given courtesy treatment. This includes victims who may not
be in the instant offense and those removed from the instant offense as a result of the plea bargain process. The
victims may be located in the hearing officer report or from another victim coordinator or the prosecutor. The Victim
Hitrness Coordinator will verify the victims with the prosecutor when not included with the instant offense.

HAH ()

a. The commission will establish a record for victims of offenders who may be considered for parole,
early discharge, or commutation, or pardon. To establish a victim record, the commission must receive official written
notice from the clerk of the sentencing court or the county prosecutor’s office; the commission will use all tools at its
disposal and will exercise all due diligence to notify victims of their rights if this official notice has not been received.
If the commission has not received official notice of the victim, the commission or staff may be advised of the
victim’s identity directly by the victim, victim’s family or other individual. Commission staff will verify the name or
names of the victim(s) with the county prosecutor and a record will be established. HA-H—H55( )

b. The commission will notify feged the victims of effenders-of-the-instant-offense-of their right to be
notified of parole, early discharge, and commutation hearings and the decision-ofthesefhearings:. Notification will
inform victims of #he## right to submit written statements or information; and; their right to provide testimony.

g
c. Notice of rights, hearings, decisions, early discharges, and parole releases will be sent to the victim
of record to the last known address, and it is the resp0n51b111ty of the victim to provide any change of address.
(4-11-15)
d. A victim may request not be notified or contacted. (4-11-15)
e. Victims will receive notices of releases to parole and offenders who have abscondedi—b#¢. ¢7The

commission is not responsible to advise of any other releases such as offender transfers to other facilities, release by
completion of the sentence, or escapes from custody as these are not under the authority of the commission.

HAH ()

02. Confidentiality of Victim’s Address and Written Testimony. The victim’s record maintained by
the commission #¢ will include ﬂee—add-reﬁ contact mformanon and written testlmony or information will be
maintained in a confidential manner a# 1 y so#. The commission may
only release to the Idaho Department of Correctlons the victim’s contact lnformatlon B3-23-98) )

03. Testimony of Victim. (3-23-98)

a. The victim is invited to attend any and all hearings, except executive sessions, pertinent to the case
and to provide testimony. (4-11-15)

b. The executive director and the commission may consent to allow for the victim’s testimony away
from the actual hearing process. Testimony may be given to the executive director or commissioner(s) at the
commission office or other locations, or the victim may be allowed to testify before the commission during a hearing
session, but at a time separate from the actual hearing with the offender. Such testimony will be made a part of the
record. (4-11-15)

c. If the commission was not officially notified of the victim and does become aware of the victim’s
desire to be heard following a hearing, any scheduled release to parole may be held in abeyance until a decision is
made by the commission. (3-23-98)

1. The commission may review any written testimony by the victim and may elect to take no further
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action, or may schedule another hearing, or may void the release date and reconsider the parole grant. (4-11-15)

ii. The executive director may schedule a hearing without the vote of the commission to allow for the
victim’s testimony. (3-23-98)

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)
350. PAROLE PLAN AND RELEASE PROCEDURES.
01. Parole Plan.

—H—5H( )
& (4-11-15)
ba. The proposed parole plan ##ts¢# should be available at the parole hearing interview and parole

consideration hearing and ##s¢ should include a stable residence, employment, or a maintenance and care plan, and
treatment for alcohol or drug problems, mental health problems, sex offender treatment, after care treatment, or any
other treatment deemed necessary. This plan will be formulated using the validated risk and needs assessment that is
used by the department of correction. The plan will be developed to manage and mitigate offender risk and will

address the offender’s needs. HA-H—455( )
€b. Educational programs may be considered, but the offender must demonstrate how normal living,
treatment, and transportation expenses, etc., will be paid for. (4-11-15)

ec. All parole plans will be investigated by the supervising authority in the area in which the
prospective parolee plans to reside, and necessary information will be submitted along with the investigation request.
An Idaho plan can take a minimum of six (6) weeks and an out of state plan up to three (3) months to submit,
investigate, and plan for release. (4-11-15)

02. Interstate Compact Parole Plan. The commission may grant parole and transfer supervision of an
offender to another state under the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision Act, as outlined in Subsection
250.12. (4-11-15)

03. Tentative Parole Dates. All parole release dates granted by the commission are tentative.
(3-23-98)

a. The parole plan must be approved and received at the commission office before the actual release
date can be set to allow time for processing the release. (4-11-15)

b. If the offender should have disciplinary problems following the parole hearing, or the commission
receives information that was not available at the time of the hearing, the commission may reconsider the decision,
and the tentative parole date may be voided. (4-11-15)

04. Contract. Prior to any release to parole, the offender must sign a contract with the commission and
must aegreete acknowledge all general and special conditions of parole. A5 )

a. The parolee will be giver issued reporting instructions that will include the address and the
telephone number of the supervising office. HA—H—455( )
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351. - 399. (RESERVED)

400. PAROLE REVOCATION PROCESS.

01. Initiated. The parole revocation process is initiated by a written or verbal report describing the
conditions of parole which are alleged to have been violated. The parolee is required to be present at the violation or
revocation hearing, unless waived by the offender with the exception of an absentia revocation hearing as explained
in Subsection 400.06.h. (4-11-15)

02. Warrants. A warrant may be issued for the offender’s arrest. (3-23-98)

a. A supervising agency may issue an investigative warrant referred to as an agent’s warrant. The
agent’s warrant authorizes local law enforcement to transport the parolee to the appropriate jurisdiction to be housed
pending an appearance before the commission. (4-11-15)

b. A commission warrant may be signed by the executive director or by a member or members of the
commission. Issuance of this warrant suspends the offender’s parole until a determination has been made on the
merits of the case. (4-11-15)

i. If the location of the offender is unknown, the warrant will be entered into NCIC, I-HOT, or other
law enforcement data base and will designate which states the commission will extradite the offender from once
arrested. At any time the executive director or designee may change the area of extradition. (4-11-15)

il. If an offender is being held in custody on new charges in a state other than Idaho, the warrant may
be placed as a detainer only and written notice of this action will be submitted to the holding facility; if the detainer is
officially served on the offender without notice of this action to the commission, the commission will not be held
responsible for the time limits prescribed by law for service of charges. HA-H—H55( )

ii. If the offender is arrested in a state other than Idaho and refuses extradition to Idaho, it may be
necessary to request a governor’s warrant; during the time period in which the subject refuses to waive extradition,
time incarcerated will not be credited toward the sentence. (3-23-98)

c Parolees who have allegedly absconded from supervision are considered to be a Fugitive from
Justice, starting from the day a Fugitive Warrant is issued by the commission and ending upon the day of arrest on
that warrant. Per Idaho Code Section 20-228 upon issuance of a Fugitive Warrant parole is suspended and that time
that a parolee is considered to be a Fugitive from Justice will not be counted towards the time on parole, or as part of

the sentence. ( )

03. Due Process. Every parolee arrested on a commission warrant for alleged violation(s) of parole is
entitled to pertinent due process including notice of the date, time and location of any and all hearings involved in the
revocation process, the right to appear at a hearing and address the allegations, and to confront and cross-examine
person(s) who have given adverse information on which the charges have been based. (4-11-15)

04. Intermediate Sanctions on Feehnieal Parole Violations and Absconding Supervision. If the
violation does not result from a conviction of a new felony or violent misdemeanor, then the parolee will be afforded
the opportunity to serve an intermediate sanction rather than proceeding through the formal parole violation process.

g

a. For a first parole violation other than absconding, #The commission or hearing officer will cause

the parolee to be confined for a period of up to ninety (90) days effective immediately upon-enteringthe-deeision-on
the-initialviolation- upon cither: HHEH )
i The date of waiver document, which indicates the parolee's acknowledgment of guilt and
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acceptance of sanctions in lieu of a violation hearing; or ( )

1. Notice of the hearing officer’s decision in event the parolee did not waive the hearing. ( )

b. For a second parole violation other than absconding, the commission or hearing officer will cause
the parolee to be confined for a period of up to one hundred eighty (180) days effective immediately #pon-entering

the-deeision- upon either: 15 )

i The date of waiver document, which indicates the parolee's acknowledgment of guilt and
acceptance of sanctions in lieu of a violation hearing or entering the decision: or ( )

il. Notice of the hearing officer’s decision in event the parolee did not waive the hearing. ( )

c. For a third or subsequent parole violation other than by absconding, a dispositional hearing will be
convened during a regular session of the commission to execute an order of parole revocation and determine the
period of time the parole violator will be returned to state custody. 4—H15)( )

For a f rst vzolatzon by abscondzng, the commlss1on or hearmg off icer w111 cause th parolee to be conﬁned for a

period of up to one hundred eighty (180) days effective immediately upon eﬁfef%g—fke—deeﬁ-teﬁr either:
B A e -y ()

i The date of waiver document, which indicates the parolee's acknowledgment of guilt and
acceptance of sanctions in lieu of a violation hearing or entering the decision, or ( )

ii. Notice of the hearing officer's decision in event the parolee did not waive the hearing. ( )

e. For a second or subsequent parole violation by absconding s#pervision, a dispositional hearing
during a regular session of the commission will be convened to execute an order of parole revocation and determine
the period of time the parole violator will be returned to state custody. HH15H( )

f. During any period of confinement on an intermediate sanction, the commission or hearing officer
may reduce the period of confinement by up to thirty (30) days if the commission or hearing officer finds that there
has been no instance of misconduct during the period of time the parolee is confined. 4—HH3H( )

g. Upon successful completion of a term of intermediate sanctioning under this section, the parolee
will be released to parole supervision unless prior to completing the sanction. the parolee is convicted of a violent
misdemeanor or felony crime. If convicted of a violent misdemeanor or felony crime, the parolee will proceed
through the formal violation process. HH15H( )

h. The commission or hearing officer will establish-eriteria use the intermediate sanctions pursuant to
Section 20-229B, Idaho Code. to determine theecessary length of confinement-wp-to-the-atowed periods—of-tine.

The criteria may include the parolee’s supervision history, stability in the community, severity and type of
violation(s), risk and needs assessment score, and the violations report by the parole officer. (4-11-15)

i When the member or members or hearing officer, having heard the matter, conclude that the
allegations of violation of the conditions of parole have not been proven by a preponderance of evidence, or those that
have been proven by a preponderance of the evidence are not sufficient cause for the revocation of parole, then the
parolee w111 be remstated on parole on the same or modlﬁed condmons of parole %—Wﬁ—\ﬁ#—%ﬁﬁdﬁ‘

HHFH )

05. Witnesses. The alleged parole violator or the accusing parole officer may present witnesses in

support of the claims of the allegations or in defense of the charges. (3-23-98)
a. The commission has no subpoena power to compel any witness to attend a hearing. The alleged
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parole violator may make a timely written request to the commission office for certain adverse witnesses to be
available for cross-examination, and such request must include the name, address, telephone number, and relationship
to the case; the hearing officer will make reasonable efforts to request their participation. (4-11-15)

b. If it is determined by the hearing officer or the executive director that the identification of an
informant or the personal appearance of a witness would subject such person to risk or harm, confrontation or cross-
examination will not be allowed and the record will reflect such determination. (3-23-98)

c. It is the alleged parole violator’s responsibility and the accusing parole officer’s responsibility to
notify their witnesses of the date, time, and location of any and all hearings or change of hearings. (4-11-15)

06. Attorney. The alleged parole violator may utilize the services of an attorney at any hearing
conducted during the revocation process. (3-23-98)

a. An attorney will be paid at the alleged parole violator’s expense unless it is determined by a hearing
officer for the commission, the executive director, or the commission that there is a colorable claim that the alleged
violation(s) did not occur, that the alleged parole violator does not understand the proceedings, or is otherwise
incapable of representing himself. (3-23-98)

b. It is the alleged parole violator’s responsibility to notify his attorney of the date, time, and location
of any and all hearings or change of hearings. The alleged parole violator’s attorney may make a request of the
commission office of any hearings and if requested in wrltm;_y the commlsslon off' ice w1ll prov1de the attorney w1th

any-and-adl copies of reports and or documents;—#-a¢ ) h . b y 18
a-request-tothe-commission-office that are public records dccordm; to the Dubllc records act. M—H—H)g )
07. Hearings. The alleged parole violator will be advised of any and all hearing dates and locations

within a reasonable time frame. The hearing officer or executive director will determine the location of all hearings.
(4-11-15)
a. The subject may request continuance or waiver of any hearing which is subject to the final
determination of the hearing officer, executive director, or the commission. (3-23-98)
b. The type of charges addressed in the allegations will determine the kinds of hearings available to
the alleged parole violator. (3-23-98)
i. Non-technical Violations. If the alleged parole violator is ekareedwith-a—econvietionfor convicted

of a vietent misdemeanor, or new felony-eriminal-convietion, or is charged with absconding frem—supervision, the
subject is not entitled to a preliminary or on-site hearing, but is entitled to a hearing to determine guilt or innocence
within a reasonable time following service of the charges. 4—H15H( )

ii. Technical Violations. If the alleged parole violator is charged with a violation of the conditions of
parole other than a v#efent misdemeanor, or new felony criminal conviction, or absconding fron—supervision, the
subject is entitled to a preliminary hearing eeﬁduefed—by—éhe—supaqmg—a-bﬁ%m within a reasonable amount of
time. An on-site hearing will be conducted by-a-hearing-officer—The-hearingis to determine guilt or innocence within
thirty (30) days from the date the accused was served with the charges of the violation. HA-H—45)( )

c. Preliminary Hearing. A technical parole violator is entitled to a preliminary hearing to establish
whether or not there is probable cause to believe the violations may have occurred, and such hearing will be
conducted by staff of the supervising authority or as otherwise directed by the executive director. The alleged parole
violator is entitled to a verbal or written decision within a reasonable time following the preliminary hearing.

(4-11-15)

d. On-Site Hearing. A technical parole violator is entitled to an on-site hearing conducted by a hearing
officer. The on-site hearing is conducted reasonably near the site of the alleged parole violation(s). The executive
director or hearing officer will determine where the hearing will be conducted. In situations where the violation(s)
occurred outside the state of Idaho, the executive director or hearing officer will determine the location of the hearing.
Based on Interstate Compact rules, an on-site hearing may not be possible if charged and arrested in a state other than
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Idaho. (4-11-15)
e. Violation Hearing. In most cases, a hearing officer will conduct a fact-finding or violation hearing

and will make a finding on each allegation as to the guilt or innocence and may dismiss some or all allegations. If a
hearing officer is unavailable, the executive director will appoint someone to conduct the hearing. The offender is
entitled to a verbal or written decision within twenty (20) days of the violation hearing. (4-11-15)

f. Revocation. Pursuant to a violation hearing or waiver of such hearing and a finding of guilt was
made on one (1) or more of the violations, the commission will consider whether or not parole will be revoked.
(5-3-03)

1. The commission has full discretion in granting reinstatement on parole or revocation of parole. A
hearing with the offender may be conducted or the decision may be made along with deliberation on an Absentia
Parole Revocation. (see Subsections 406-66-+h-+ 400.07.g.i. and 400-66+-- 400.07.g.ii.) The Commission will
consider whether the parole will be reinstated or revoked and will state the reasoning if parole is revoked.

tH—AH(_)

Absentia Hearing. The commission can revoke parole without the subject’s appearance if the
subject has signed the proper commission form waiving the right to appear before the commission. The commission

will determine if parole will be considered once the revocation decision has been made. (3-23-98)
1. If new criminal charges result in a new commitment and incarceration, the subject can admit guilt
and waive an appearance at a violation or revocation hearing. (3-23-98)
il. If the subject has absconded supervision and is reincarcerated in another state without a new
conviction, the subject can admit guilt and waive an appearance at a violation or revocation hearing. (3-23-98)
08. Miscellaneous Revocation Information. (3-23-98)
a. The executive director will determine who will conduct all hearings involved in the revocation
process. (3-23-98)
b. The commission, through the executive director shall designate the county, state, or other facility

where the alleged parole violator shall be held. The commission’s order shall be sufficient authority by law to direct
any county sheriff or the board of correction to hold an alleged parole violator in custody until such time as the

commission directs his removal or transfer. (3-23-98)
c. The alleged parole violator can request a continuance of any hearing. The hearing officer, executive
director, or the commission will determine if the continuance will be granted. If the alleged parole violator requests a
continuance of any hearing, said request will constitute a waiver of any and all time limits involved. (4-11-15)
09. Inability to Assist in Defense. (3-23-98)
a. Specific time limits pertinent to the case may be waived. (3-23-98)
b. At the hearing officer or executive director’s discretion, an attorney may be appointed for the
offender at commission expense. (4-11-15)
c. A psychological evaluation may be requested by the commission and mental health treatment may
be deemed appropriate. (4-11-15)
d. A status update of the case will be made at regular intervals, and the executive director will
determine how the case will proceed. (3-23-98)
10. Findings/Decisions. (3-23-98)
a. At any time following arrest on a commission warrant, the executive director or the commission
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will decide if the parolee will be released to continue parole. (5-3-03)
b. If it is determined at the preliminary hearing that there is no probable cause to support the charges,
the parolee will be released to continue parole. (3-23-98)
c. After a violation hearing, the hearing officer will prepare a report of findings summarizing the
violation hearing, to include testimony, and will make specific findings for each allegation. (4-11-15)
1. The hearing officer may make a finding of guilt but may recommend to the executive director that
the offender be reinstated on parole without further proceedings. (3-23-98)
ii. The offender is entitled to receive a copy of all reports of findings of hearings. (3-23-98)
11. Forfeiture of Time on Parole. If parole is revoked, the time during which the offender was on

parole from the parole release date to the arrest date on an agent’s warrant and/or commission warrant may be
forfeited, in whole or in part, and may not be deemed a part of the sentence for which the offender was committed.

(4-11-15)
a. The time the offender is incarcerated on an agent’s warrant and a commission warrant will be
credited toward the sentence. (4-11-15)
b. If the offender was incarcerated at any time during the parole period and such incarceration was on
an agent’s warrant and/or commission warrant, this time will be credited toward the sentence; this includes a
reinstatement case. (3-23-98)
c. The offender will not receive credit for incarceration time if the incarceration was for a new crime
and the commission and parole officer did not initiate violation proceedings. (3-23-98)
d. The offender must provide the hearing officer or the executive director with dates of incarceration
and the location of the incarceration. (3-23-98)
(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
500. SELF-INITIATED PROGRESS REPORT.
An offender may appeal the last parole decision of the commission. (4-11-15)
01. Petition. An offender making a request for reconsideration of parole denial must initiate the
process by submitting an application. (4-11-15)
a. The only acceptable form is the one provided by the commission, and it must be signed by the
petitioner. (3-23-98)
1. The petition must be the original petition. (4-11-15)
il. The Case Manager is to include with the petition, once signed by the offender and the Case Manger,
the disciplinary history, classes history, and the assessments. (4-11-15)
b. The petition must be completed correctly per instructions on the form or it may be returned.
(3-23-98)
c. The petition must state the reason reconsideration is requested and the circumstances that have
changed since the last hearing. (3-23-98)
d. A petition may be filed by any offender who is currently incarcerated. (4-11-15)
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e. Following the initial submission, the commission may consider but one (1) application from any
one (1) person in any twelve (12) month period. (4-11-15)
1. A petition may be submitted six (6) months after a qualified hearing. A qualified hearing includes:
(4-11-15)
(a) Regular parole hearings; (4-11-15)
(b) Parole revocation hearings; (4-11-15)
(c) Hearing officer reviews; and (4-11-15)
(d) SIPR hearings. (4-11-15)
ii. A petition may be submitted once every twelve (12) months if a hearing is not granted. (4-11-15)
f. Petitions may be considered at any time by the commission. (3-30-01)
g. Petitions must be received no later than the first day of the month prior to the next month’s hearing
session. A5 )
h. Review or deliberation on the petition by the commission will be conducted in executive session.
(3-23-98)
i. Any petition may be continued for additional information or for further consideration.  (3-23-98)
je The petitioner will be sent written notice of the decision. (3-23-98)
k. The petition is limited to no more than four (4) pages; the petition may be returned before
submission to the commission if the document exceeds this number. (3-23-98)
|8 The petition must be readable or it may be returned. (5-3-03)
02. Hearing. The scheduling of a hearing is at the complete discretion of the commission.  (3-23-98)
a. If a speeiat hearing is scheduled, the commission will determine the date of the hearing.
{3-23-98)( )
b. If a speefed hearing is scheduled, the previous decision of the commission #ay-be is considered null
and void. {3-23-98)( )
03. Amended Decision. The commission may elect to amend any decision without conducting another
hearing. (3-23-98)

501. -- 549. (RESERVED)
550. PARDON.

A pardon may be considered for a person having been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony crime. (3-23-98)
01. General. An application for a pardon may not be considered until a period of time has elapsed
since the applicant’s discharge from custody as defined below. (3-23-98)
a. Applications for pardon for non-violent and non-sex crimes may be submitted for consideration no
sooner than three (3) years after completion of the sentence. (3-23-98)
b. Applications for pardon for violent or sex crimes or other crimes against a person may be submitted
five (5) years after completion of the sentence. (3-23-98)
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02. Application. A pardon application can be obtained from the commission office or on the
commission website. (4-11-15)
a. The application must be completed and returned to the commission office. (3-23-98)
i. The completed application must include the reasons why the pardon is requested. (3-23-98)

ii. The applicant may attach letters of recommendation or other documents to support the request.
(3-23-98)
iil. The applicant must include copies of all court judgment and conviction documents for each crime a
pardon is requested for. (4-11-15)
iv. A pardon may be requested only once during a twelve-month (12) period unless otherwise stated by
the commission. (4-11-15)
b. Following receipt of the completed application, a request for an investigation will be made of
correctional field personnel or hearing officer in the area in which the applicant resides, and the report shall include,
but shall not be limited to the following: (3-23-98)( )
i. A criminal record check of the applicant. (3-23-98)
ii. The applicant’s employment history since completion of sentence. (3-23-98)
iil. The applicant’s status as a good citizen. (3-23-98)

iv. An interview with the applicant should be conducted and a summary of the interview provided.
(3-23-98)
V. Evidence of all restitution and fines as ordered by the sentencing court are paid. ( )
Vi. Any additional information as deemed necessary or appropriate. (3-23-98)
c. If the applicant is residing in a jurisdiction which refuses to conduct an investigation of the case,
the applicant may be required to come to Idaho for an interview with a parole officer or hearing officer, or the
interview may be conducted by electronic means. A normal investigation will then be completed. (4-11-15)
03. Report. Pursuant to the receipt of the completed report, a review may be conducted at the next
scheduled hearing session of the commission. Once the report is received, staff may determine if additional
information is needed. (4-11-15)
a. The commission will conduct such review in executive session. (3-23-98)
b. The commission will determine whether a hearing will be granted and the applicant will be advised
of the decision. (3-23-98)
c. Any application may be continued for further consideration or additional information.  (3-23-98)
04. Hearing. The scheduling of a hearing is at the complete discretion of the commission. If a pardon
hearing is scheduled, the commission will determine the date of the hearing. (4-11-15)
a. Notice of a pardon hearing shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation at least once a
week for four (4) consecutive weeks immediately prior to the hearing. (3-23-98)
b. A copy of the publication will be mailed to the prosecuting attorney of the county from which the
petitioner was sentenced. (3-23-98)
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c. Written notice of the hearing date, time, and location will be sent to the applicant at the address
given on the application or as otherwise requested. (3-23-98)
1. The applicant’s appearance at the hearing is not mandatory but is encouraged. (3-23-98)
ii. The commission may continue the hearing to a later date in order for the applicant to make a
personal appearance and such continuance will not require additional publication of the hearing. (3-23-98)
d. All rules of procedure governing hearings will apply at a pardon hearing. (3-23-98)
e. The decision and supporting documents regarding the decision to grant or deny a pardon will be
filed with the secretary of state. (3-23-98)
1. Dissenting votes of the commissioners voting are submitted to the office of the secretary of state
and become a matter of public record. (3-23-98)
ii. All written material considered in the decision process, with the exception of the presentence

investigation report, e#d victim information, mental health records. criminal history information, and medical
records, will be submitted to the office of the secretary of state and will be a matter of public record. 3-23-98)( )

f. The applicant will be given written notice of the decision and such notice will be sent to the last
known address. (3-23-98)
05. Authority to Grant. The commission has full and final authority to grant pardons, except with
respect to sentences for murder, voluntary manslaughter, rape, kidnapping, lewd and lascivious conduct with a minor
child, and manufacture or delivery of controlled substances. (3-23-98)
a. In the cases listed in this section, the commission’s decision to grant a pardon shall constitute a
recommendation only to the governor. (3-23-98)
b. Following such hearing, the commission will provide all information that was considered and a
copy of the summary minutes to the governor. (3-23-98)
c. No pardon for the offenses listed in this section will be effective until presented to and approved by
the governor, and any pardon recommendations not so approved within thirty (30) days of the pardon hearing shall be
deemed denied. (3-23-98)
d. The granting of a pardon does not expunge the crime from the Idaho criminal history. ( )

551. RESTORATION OF FIREARMS RIGHTS UNDER SECTION 18-310, IDAHO CODE.

01. General. An application for restoration of the civil right to ship, transport, possess, or receive a
firearm may be considered upon final discharge under Section 18-310(3), Idaho Code. This is not a pardon for the
conviction of a crime, nor is the Idaho criminal record expunged. HA-H—55( )

02. Application. An application may not be made until five (5) years after the date of final discharge.

(4-11-15)

a. An application may be obtained from the commission office or on the commission website.

(4-11-15)

b. The application must be the original and returned to the commission office. (4-11-15)

1. The application must request the restoration of the right to ship, transport, possess, or receive a
firearm under Section 18-310, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)
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ii. The application must be in writing and legible. (4-11-15)
iil. All court conviction and dismissal documents must accompany the application. (4-11-15)
iv. An application may be submitted once every twelve (12) months, or at the commission’s discretion.
(4-11-15)
V. The petition must state the reason for the request. (4-11-15)
vi. Review or deliberation on the petition will be conducted in executive session. (4-11-15)
C. Following receipt of the completed application, a request for an investigation will be made of
correctional field personnel or hearing officer in the area where the applicant resides. The report shall include, but
shall not be limited to, the following: ( )
i A criminal record check of the applicant. ( )
1. The applicant’s employment history since completion of sentence. ( )
iii. The applicant’s status as a good citizen. ( )

iv. An interview with the applicant should be conducted and a summary of the interview provided.
C )
V. Evidence of all restitution and fines ordered by the sentencing court have been paid. ( )
03. Report. Pursuant to the receipt of the completed report, a review may be conducted at the next
scheduled hearing session of the commission. Once the report is received, staff may determine if additional
information is needed. ( )
a. The commission will conduct such review in executive session. ( )
b. The commission will determine whether a hearing will be granted and the applicant will be advised
of the decision. ( )
[ Any application may be continued for further consideration or additional information. ( )

034. Hearing. The scheduling of a hearing is at the complete discretion of the commission or the

executive director. (4-11-15)
a. If a hearing is scheduled, the commission will determine the date of the hearing. (4-11-15)
b. Any petition may be continued for additional information. (4-11-15)

045. Authority to Grant. The commission has the full and final authority and discretion to grant
restoration of civil rights to ship, transport, possess, or receive a firearm under Section 18-310, Idaho Code.(4-11-15)

056. Exceptions. See the exceptions listed in Section 18-310, Idaho Code. (4-11-15)
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5532.--599.  (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

800. FOREIGN NATIONAL TREATY.
Under Section 20-104, Idaho Code. an offender may be transferred, upon request, to his country of citizenship if a

treaty exists between his country and the United States. The commission’s decision is only a recommendation to the

Governor as the Governor will have final approval of the transfer. ( )
01. Request for Transfer. An offender may request a transfer to his country of citizenship. ( )
a. The offender makes an application and a release request to the Idaho Department of Correction’s

central records. The release shall provide consent to the release of medical, psychological, programming, educational

records. and other such information as relevant. The Attorney General will request the PSI. ( )
b. Upon gathering the documentation, central records will forward the application and packet to the
commission. ( )
i The commission will set the matter for consideration at a time and place of its choosing. ( )

(@) The commission has complete discretion and authority to make a recommendation to the Governor.

)

2) The commission may request additional information from the parties, the offender making the
application, the offender’s victim, or any other source the commission deems appropriate. ( )
[€))] The offender is not entitled to be present, to have counsel, to present witnesses or evidence, to have

any particular evidence considered or to designate the location or time. ( )
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il. Following the commission’s consideration, a non-binding recommendation will be issued to the
Governor. A copy of the recommendation will be sent to the Department’s central records. ( )
[@D)] The offender is not entitled to appeal the commission’s recommendation. ( )
2) The offender may reapply two (2) years from the date of denial by either the Governor or the
commission. ( )
1il. If the Governor approves the transfer and the receiving state accepts the offender for transfer, the
packet is sent to the Department of Justice. ( )
02. Eligibility Requirements for Transfer. ( )
a. The offender must be a citizen of the country to which he is requesting a transfer. ( )
b. The offender must not have a life sentence. ( )
C. The offender cannot be less than two (2) years from his parole eligibility date. ( )
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