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MEMORANDUM

Rules Review Subcommittee of the Senate Health & Welfare Committee and the House Health
& Welfare Committee

Principal Legislative Research Analyst - Brooke Brourman

October 01, 2013

SUBJECT: Bureau of Occupational Licenses - State Board of Podiatry

IDAPA 24.11.01 - Rules of the State Board of Podiatry (Docket No. 24-1101-1301) - Fee Rule

The Bureau of Occupational Licenses, on behalf of the State Board of Podiatry, submits notice of pro-
posed fee rulemaking.

The proposed rule changes are as follows:

(1) Updates the edition of a code of ethics document that is incorporated by reference;
(2) Eliminates the requirement that applications for licensure be filed within a certain time frame;

(3) Eliminates the requirement that applicants for licensure provide documentation of high school
graduation;

(4) Clarifies the required examination for licensure and the required passing grade;

(5) Effective January 1, 2015, increases the continuing education requirements for licensure by
endorsement applicants and for Idaho licensed podiatrists;

(6) Eliminates general provisions that require Board meetings take place on a certain date;

(7) Provides that the failure of a licensee to provide proof of continuing education compliance
upon request of the Board is grounds for disciplinary action;

(8) Allows for carryover of continuing education hours; and

(9) Provides an exemption to continuing education requirements based on individual hardship at
the discretion of the Board.

The fee rule changes are as follows:

(1) Eliminates a $25.00 administrative fee;

(2) Eliminates a re-exam fee; and
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(3) Provides for a refund of a license fee if a license is not issued.

In regards to the proposed fee rule, we note that Section 54-606, Idaho Code, requires the $25.00 admin-
istration fee and requires that the Board establish by rule a reexamination fee. Therefore, regardless of
whether the Board eliminates the administration fee in rule, this fee will still be required by statute. More-
over, the Board's rule will be out of compliance with the governing statute if it eliminates the re-exam fee.

The Bureau states that there is no negative fiscal impact on the state general fund as a result from this
rulemaking.

The Board's proposed fee rule changes are not consistent with Idaho Code. The Board's other proposed
rule changes are authorized pursuant to Section 54-605, Idaho Code.

cc: Bureau of Occupational Licenses
Tana Cory, Bureau Chief, & Cherie Simpson
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