COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES REVIEW

Table of Contents

2011 Legislative Session

IDAPA 16 - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE 16.06.02 - Rules Governing Standards for Child Care Licensing Docket No. 16-0602-1002 (Fee Rule)	2
IDAPA 17 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION	
17.02.11 - Administrative Rules of the Industrial Commission Under the Workers' Compensation Law - Security for Compensation - Self-Insured Employers Docket No. 17-0211-1001 (New Chapter - Fee Rule)	6

IDAPA 16 - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE

16.06.02 - RULES GOVERNING STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE LICENSING DOCKET NO. 16-0602-1002 (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2011 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-1111, 39-1209, 39-1210, 39-1211, 39-1213, 56-1003, 56-1004A, and 56-1005, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule for the daycare licensing fees was published in the July 7, 2010 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 10-7, pages 80 and 81.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 39-1107, Idaho Code:

Section 39-1107, Idaho Code, established a maximum licensing fee for a basic daycare license not to exceed \$175 for daycare centers, and \$100 for group daycare facilities and a family daycare home voluntarily licensed. Criminal history and background checks are the responsibility of the applicant and are based on the actual cost of the check.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

The Department estimates that the cost for the State Fiscal Year 2011 will be approximately \$69,000, which is the difference for licensing fees collected and expenditures for health and safety inspections. This cost will be covered by the Federal Child Care Development Funds which is 100 percent federally funded.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending rule, contact Marian Woods at (208) 334-0683.

DATED this 12th day of November, 2010.

Tamara Prisock DHW - Administrative Procedures Section 450 W. State Street - 10th Floor P.O. Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0036 (208) 334-5564 phone; (208) 334-6558 fax dhwrules@dhw.idaho.gov e-mail

THIS NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY & PROPOSED FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of this temporary rule is **July 1, 2010.**

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed regular rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-1111, 39-1209, 39-1210, 39-1211, 39-1213, 56-1003, 56-1004A, and 56-1005, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than July 21, 2010.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Title 39, Chapter 11, Idaho Code, established a statewide system for the protection of children in daycare facilities which included licensing fees. The rule amendments in this docket provide requirements for licensing and inspections fees for daycare licensing that were effective on January 1, 2010.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1)(a) and (b), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of children in daycare and to comply with amendments to statutes that were effective on January 1, 2010.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE Rules Governing Standards for Child Care Licensing

Docket No. 16-0602-1002 PENDING FEE RULE

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fee or charge being imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

Section 39-1107, Idaho Code, established a maximum licensing fee for a basic daycare license not to exceed \$175 for daycare centers, and \$100 for group daycare facilities and a family daycare home voluntarily licensed. Criminal history and background checks are the responsibility of the applicant and are based on the actual cost of the check.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

The Department estimates that the cost for the State Fiscal Year 2011 will be approximately \$69,000, which is the difference for licensing fees collected and expenditures for health and safety inspections. This cost will be covered by the Federal Child Care Development Funds which is 100 percent federally funded.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220, Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not conducted during 2010, because extensive rulemaking negotiations were held in 2009 under Docket No. 16-0602-0901, to meet new statutory requirements effective January 1, 2010.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Landis Rossi (208) 334-5688.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before July 28, 2010.

DATED this 27th day of May, 2010.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 16-0602-1002

301. -- 3919. (RESERVED).

320. DAYCARE LICENSING FEES.

The nonrefundable licensing fee must be paid to the Department prior to the issuance of a daycare license or renewal.

	NT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE rning Standards for Child Care Licensing	Docket No. 16-0602-1002 PENDING FEE RULE
01. unlicensed da	Daycare Licensing Fee Amounts. The maximum aycare or renewal must not exceed the following amounts.	
<u>a.</u> (\$175).	Daycare center license fee must not exceed on	e hundred seventy-five dollars ()
<u>b.</u>	Group daycare facility license fee must not exceed	l one hundred dollars (\$100).
<u>c.</u> (\$100).	Family daycare home voluntary license fee must	not exceed one hundred dollars ()
(\$25). The fi	Daycare Fire Inspection Fee. Daycare fire inspectent or fire district official. The fire inspection fee care inspection fee will be deducted from the licensing the inspection and amount paid.	n not exceed twenty-five dollars
<u>321 399.</u>	(RESERVED).	

IDAPA 17 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

17.02.11 - ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION UNDER THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW - SECURITY FOR COMPENSATION - SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS

DOCKET NO. 17-0211-1001 (NEW CHAPTER - FEE RULE) NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2011 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 72-508, 72-520, 72,721, 72-722, and 72-723, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 6, 2010 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 10-10, pages 317 through 326.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending rule, contact Jane McClaran at 208-334-6042.

DATED this November 18, 2010.

Mindy Montgomery, Director Industrial Commission 700 S. Clearwater Lane PO Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0041

Phone: 208-334-6059 Fax: 208-334-5145

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED FEE RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section(s) 72-508, 72-520, 72-721, 72-722, and 72-723, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 20, 2010.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The current chapter, IDAPA 17.02.03 (Security for Compensation), is being repealed and two new chapters are being adopted to clarify each entity's rules. This new chapter, IDAPA 17.02.11 (Self-Insured Employers), adopts rules governing self-insured employers that clarify terms, provide a more detailed application process and outline continuing reporting and security deposit requirements necessary to maintain self insured status.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

The fiscal impact to the industrial administration fund under this proposal is nominal due to the implementation of a \$250 application fee for self-insured employers. Self-insured applications average only 2-3 per year. The Commission's authority is contained in Section 72-508, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not conducted because a subcommittee of the Commission's Advisory Committee, including insurance carrier representatives and self-insured employers, has been providing input to the Industrial Commission on the drafting of these rule revisions.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jane McClaran, 334-6042.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 27, 2010.

DATED this 1st day of September, 2010.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 17-0211-1001

IDAPA 17 TITLE 02 CHAPTER 11

17.02.11 - ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION UNDER THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW -- SECURITY FOR COMPENSATION -- SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS

LEGAL AUTHORITY. 000. These rules are adopted and promulgated by the Industrial Commission pursuant to the provisions of Sections 72-508, 72-301 and 72-304, Idaho Code. 001. TITLE AND SCOPE. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 17.02.11, "Administrative Rules of the Industrial Commission Under the Workers' Compensation Law -- Security for Compensation -- Self-Insured Employers." These rules shall apply to all employers securing compensation under the Workers' Compensation Law. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS. No written interpretations of these rules exist.) 003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS. There is no administrative appeal from decisions of the Industrial Commission in workers' compensation matters, as the Commission is exempted from contested-cases provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act.

(RESERVED).

004. -- 011.

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

Security For	Compensation - Sen-Insured Employers	PENDING FEE RULE
	NITIONS. ses of this chapter, the following definitions are applicable:	(
benefits, deat	Indemnity Benefits . All payments made to or on behalf of valuding temporary or permanent disability benefits, permanent benefits paid to dependents, retraining benefits, and any excluding medical and related benefits.	ent partial impairmen
02.	Indemnity Claim. Any claim made for the payment of inde	emnity benefits. (
	Payroll. The gross amount paid by an employer for earned by its own direct employees, but not including any extended from another entity for leased employees.	
In order to be	considered for approval by the Industrial Commission to select Code, an employer shall comply with the following requirer	lf-insure under Section
of at least four	Payroll . Have an average annual Idaho payroll over the proper million dollars (\$4,000,000);	eceding three (3) years
to the Idaho In	Application . Submit a completed application, available a Fiscal Section, along with the application fee of two hundred dustrial Commission, Attention: Fiscal Section, at 700 S. Cle Boise, Idaho 83720-0041; telephone (208) 334-6000.	ed fifty dollars (\$250)
	Documentation . Submit documentation satisfactory g the sound financial condition of the employer, such as f available, audited, financial statement;	
04.	Adjuster. Designate in writing a licensed Idaho resident adj	juster; (
05. the employer calendar years	Previous Claims . Provide a history of workers' compensation the employer's workers' compensation carrier during s.	
06. securities requ	Custodial Agreement . Set up a custodial agreement with aired to be deposited under Sections 72-301 and 72-302, Idah	
07.	Supplemental Information. Provide supplemental information	ation as requested;
		,

08. Initial Security Deposit. Prior to final approval, deposit an initial security deposit with the Idaho State Treasurer in the form permitted by Section 72-301, Idaho Code, or a self-insurer's bond in substantially the form set forth in Subsection 014.02, of this rule, in the amount of one hundred and fifty thousand dollars (\$150,000), plus five percent (5%) of the first ten million dollars (\$10,000,000.00) of the employer's average annual payroll in the state of Idaho for the three (3) preceding years; along with such additional security as may be required by the

INDUSTRIAL COMN Security For Comp	MISSION ensation - Self-Insured Employers	Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE
Commission based or	n prior claims history;	()
09. Writt	en Approval. Obtain written approval fi	rom the Industrial Commission.
Upon receiving the a	NG REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-IN approval of the Industrial Commission to Code, to continue such approval a self-tements:	to be a self-insured employer under
preceding three (3) originally approved (\$2,000,000) if such provided, however, t 1974 need not complement the payroll requiperiods shall be allow last reporting period	years of at least four million dollars (by the Commission subsequent to Apriemployer was originally approved by that any employer who was an approve y with the provisions of this section. Any direments of this rule for two consecutive wed to maintain their self-insured status for in order to permit them time to increase with an insurance carrier authorized of Idaho.	\$4,000,000), if such employer was il 30, 1984, and two million dollars e Commission prior to May 1, 1984; ed self-insured employer on July 1, y self-insured employer that does not e semi-annual premium tax reporting for six (6) months from the end of the ase their payroll or obtain workers'
02. Secur	ity Deposit with Treasurer.	()
Section 72-301, Idah the amount of one lemployers' average a excess of ten million Commission subseque was originally appro- insured employer sh	ain a security deposit with the Idaho State o Code, or a self-insurer's bond in substitution that the state of Idaho for the state of Idaho for the deposit of the state of Idaho for the state of Idaho for the deposit of the state of Idaho for the state	tantially the form set forth below, in 1000), plus five percent (5%) of the the three (3) preceding years, not in yer was originally approved by the ollars (\$5,000,000) if such employer, 1984. In addition thereto, the self-mount equal to all outstanding and
b. All so provided by Section	ecurity deposited by the self-insured 72-302, Idaho Code.	employer shall be maintained as ()
	withdrawal or partial release of secuand approved by the Commission.	urity deposited hereunder must be
	SELF-INSURER'S COMPENSAT	ION BOND
a corporation of the suspension business in the State of all	State of, hereinafter called, a surety corporatio of Idaho, as Surety, are held and firmly be those employees of the Principal to who g the life of this bond, become liable for	bound unto the State of Idaho, for the om or to the dependents of whom the

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

Compensation Law, as hereinafter more fully referred to, in the sum equal to and limited by the sum or sums that may become due and/or payable by said Principal to said employees under the terms, provisions and limitations of said Workers' Compensation Law, and in accordance with the terms, agreements, conditions and limitations of this obligation not exceeding, however, the sum of ______ dollars, for the payment of which, well and truly made, the Principal well and truly binds itself, its successors and assigns, and the Surety binds itself, its successors and assigns, jointly and severally, well and truly by these presents.

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapters 1 to 8, both inclusive, known as the Workers' Compensation Law and all amendments thereto, and Principal has elected to secure compensation to its employees by depositing and maintaining with the Industrial Commission of Idaho a surety bond issued and executed by the surety herein named, which surety is duly qualified to transact such business in the state of Idaho subject to the approval of the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho.

NOW, THEREFORE, the condition of this obligation is such that if the said Principal shall pay compensation according to the terms, provisions, and limitations of Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapter 1 to 8, both inclusive, known as the Workers' Compensation Law and all amendments thereto, to its injured employees or the dependents of its killed employees contemplated by the terms of and covered under the said law, and shall furnish medical, surgical, nursing and the hospital services and attention and funeral expenses as provided for in said law (all of which shall be understood to be included in the term "compensation" as hereinafter used), then this obligation shall be null and void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect, subject, however to the following express conditions and agreements:

1. That any employee or the dependent of any employee of the Principal entitled to compensation under said Workers' Compensation Law, shall have the right to enforce in his own name the liability of the Surety hereunder, in whole or in part, for such compensation, either by at any time filing a separate claim against the Surety or by at any time making the Surety a part of the original claim against the employer; provided, however, that payment in whole or in part of such compensation by either the Principal or the Surety shall, to the extent thereof, be a bar to the recovery against the other of the amount so paid.

That as between the employee and the Surety, notice to or knowledge of the occurrence of injury on the part of the employer shall be deemed notice to or knowledge, as the case may be, on the part of the Surety; that the obligation of the Surety, and the Surety, shall in all things be bound by and subject to the orders, findings, decisions or awards rendered against the Principal for the payment of compensation under the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Law aforesaid, and that the insolvency or bankruptcy of the Principal and its discharge therein, shall not relieve the Surety from the payment of compensation for injuries, including death resulting therefrom, sustained during the life of this bond by an employee of the Principal covered under the Workers' Compensation Law.

That upon request of the Industrial Commission of Idaho, it will make such changes in this form of bond by endorsement to be attached hereto or by the execution of a surety bond replacing this one, as the said Commission may deem requisite, to bring this bond into conformity with its rulings as to the form of surety bond required of employers under Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapters 1 to 8, both inclusive, known as the Workers' Compensation Law and all amendments thereto.

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

20, and wil manners: This notice by regi cancelled by	It is issued for an indefinite term to begin on the day of ll continue in full force and effect until terminated in either of the follows bond may be cancelled by the Surety by filing sixty (60) days written car istered mail with the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho. This bon the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho by written notice to the notice shall specify the date of termination of the bond.	ncellation d may be
	IMONY WHEREOF, the said Principal and said Surety have caused these d in due form this day of, 20	presents
Countersi	igned	
By		
	Resident Agent Principal	
	SEAL	
SEAL	Ву	
	By	
	of this form are available from the Fiscal Section of the Industrial Commis Lane, P. O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0041, Telephone (208) 334-60	
	Maintain a Licensed Resident Adjuster . Maintain a resident license ed within the state of Idaho who shall have full authority to service said comployer including, but not limited to, the following:	
a.	Investigate and adjust all claims for compensation;	()
b.	Pay all compensation benefits due;	()
c. all process wh	Accept service of claims, applications for hearings, orders of the Commishich may be issued under the Workers' Compensation Law;	sion, and
d.	Enter into compensation agreements and lump sum settlements with Clair	mants;
e. file a claim un	Provide at the employer's expense necessary forms to any employee who nder the Workers' Compensation Law.	wishes to
04. quarter, or me compensation	File Reports . Report to the Industrial Commission at the end of each core often as required by the Commission, all outstanding and unpaid and in.	
a.	The report of outstanding and unpaid awards shall be filed with the	Industrial

Page 12

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

	9		•	_		1		`	
h	The report	shall be filed	even if	there are no	o outstanding	awards	In that	event	the
								C v Ciit,	uic
employer shall	certify the	fact that there	e are no	outstanding	g awards to b	e reporte	d.	()

Commission by the end of the month following the end of each calendar quarter.

- **c.** The report shall be submitted on or in a format that is substantially the same as Form IC36B, "Report of Outstanding Awards Self-Insured Employers," which follows this chapter as Appendix A. The report may be produced as a computerized spreadsheet or database printout and shall be submitted to the Commission in writing on paper no larger than eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 ½" x 11") in size.
- **d.** The report shall be signed and certified to be correct by a corporate officer. If an employer has designated more than one adjuster for workers' compensation claims in Idaho, a corporate officer of the employer shall prepare, certify and file a consolidated report of all outstanding and unpaid compensation awards.
- **e.** The report shall list all outstanding awards at the beginning and end of the reporting period, commencing with the calendar quarter during which the award is made or benefits are first paid, whichever occurs first, along with the amount of any compensation paid on each claim during the reporting period.
- **f.** A self-insured employer shall also make such other reports to the Commission as it may require in reference to matters under the Workers' Compensation Law.
- **O5. Submit to Audits by Industrial Commission**. Each year a self-insured employer shall provide the Industrial Commission with a copy of its annual financial statements, or other acceptable documentation. Each self-insured employer shall submit to audit by the Commission or its designee at any time and as often as it requires to verify the amount of premium such self-insured employer would be required to pay as premium to the State Insurance Fund, and to verify compliance with the provisions of these rules and the Idaho Workers' Compensation Law. ()
- **06.** Comply with Law and Rules. Comply with the statutes of the state of Idaho and the rules of the Industrial Commission to the end that payment of compensation shall be sure and certain and not unnecessarily delayed. The Commission may withdraw its approval of any employer to operate as a self-insurer if it shall appear to the Commission that workers secured by said self-insured employer are not adequately protected and served, or the employer is failing to comply with the provisions of these rules or the Workers' Compensation Law.

015. -- 050. (RESERVED).

051. REQUIREMENTS FOR MAINTAINING IDAHO WORKERS' COMPENSATION CLAIMS FILES.

All self-insured employers and licensed adjustors servicing Idaho workers' compensation claims shall comply with the following requirements:

01. Idaho Office. All self-insured employers and licensed adjusters servicing Idaho workers' compensation claims shall maintain an office within the state of Idaho. The offices shall be staffed by adequate personnel to conduct business. The self-insured employer shall designate a

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

licensed adjuster to make decisions regarding claims pursuant to Section 72-305, Idaho Code. As staffing changes occur and, at least annually, the self-insured employer or licensed adjuster shall

regarding	the Industrial Commission Secretary the names of those authorized to make claims pursuant to Section 72-305, Idaho Code. Answering machine r toll free numbers outside of the state will not suffice.		
	Claim Files . All Idaho workers' compensation claim files shall be state of Idaho in either hard copy or immediately accessible electronic finclude, but are not limited to:		
a.	First Report of Injury and Claim for Benefits;	()
b.	Copies of bills for medical care;	()
c.	Copy of lost-time computations, if applicable;	()
	Correspondence reflecting reasons for any delays in payments (ports, clarification, questionable items on bills, etc.), the resolution of such or denial of compensability;		
e.	Employer's Supplemental Report; and	()
f.	Medical reports.	()
offices.	Correspondence . All original correspondence involving adjusti Idaho workers' compensation claims shall be mailed from and maintain		
	Date Stamp . Each of the documents listed in Subsections 051.02 and amped with the name of the receiving office on the day received, and by endor acting on behalf of the self-insured employer.		
employer.	Notice and Claim. All First Reports of Injury, Claims for Beneficial illnesses and fatalities shall be sent directly to the in-state adjuster of The original copy of the First Report of Injury, Claim for Benefits and all illness and fatality shall be sent directly to the Industrial Commission.	r self-insur	red
06. must be iss	Compensation . All compensation, as defined by Section 72-102, sued from the in-state office.	Idaho Coo	de,
07. drafts are p	$oldsymbol{\omega}$	tate of Idah (no;
	The Commission may, upon receipt of a written Application for We me the provisions of Subsections 051.06 and 051.07 of this rule to permit to sign and issue checks outside the state of Idaho.		
b.	An Application for Waiver must be accompanied by an affidavit	signed by	an

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

officer or principal of the self-insured employer, attesting to the fact that the self-insured employer is prepared to comply with all statutes and rules pertaining to prompt payment of compensation.

- c. All waivers shall be effective from the date the Commission issues the order granting the waiver. A waiver shall remain in effect until revoked by the Industrial Commission. At least annually, staff of the Industrial Commission may review the performance of any self-insured employer for which a waiver under this rule has been granted to assure that the self-insured employer is complying with all statutes and rules pertaining to prompt payment of compensation.
- **d.** If at any time after the Commission has granted a waiver, the Commission receives information permitting the inference that the self-insured employer has failed to provide timely benefits to any claimant, the Commission may issue an order to show cause why the Commission should not revoke the waiver; and, after affording the self-insured employer an opportunity to be heard, may revoke the waiver and order the self-insured employer to comply with the requirements of Subsections 051.06 and 051.07 of this rule.
- **08.** Copies of Checks. Copies of checks and/or electronically reproducible copies of the information contained on the checks must be maintained in the in-state files for Industrial Commission audit purposes. A copy of the first check, showing signature and date, shall be sent to the Industrial Commission the same day of issuance.
 - **O9. Prompt Claim Servicing**. Prompt claim servicing includes, but is not limited to:
- **a.** Payment of medical bills in accordance with the provisions of IDAPA 17.02.09, Medical Fees, Sections 031, 032, 033, and 034.
- **b.** Payment of income benefits on a weekly basis, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.
- **10. Audits**. The Industrial Commission will perform periodic audits to ensure compliance with the above requirements.
- 11. Non-Compliance. Non-compliance with the above requirements may result in the revocation of the authority of a self-insured employer to self-insure its workers' compensation obligations in the state of Idaho, or such lesser sanctions as the Industrial Commission may impose.
- 052. -- 180. (RESERVED).
- 181. RULE PROHIBITING USE OF SICK LEAVE OR OTHER ALTERNATIVE COMPENSATION.
- **01.** Employee Not Required to Take Sick Leave in Lieu of Compensation. No employer obligated to pay workers' compensation benefits to an employee as provided by the Workers' Compensation Law may require an employee to accept "sick leave" or other

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

comparable benefit in lieu of the workers' compensation benefits provided by law. Section 72-318(2), Idaho Code, specifically provides that no agreement by an employee to waive his rights to compensation under the Workers' Compensation Law shall be valid.

O2. Election of Sick Leave or Alternative Compensation Prohibited. Further, the Commission construes Section 181 as preventing an employee from electing to accept "sick leave" or other comparable benefit from an employer in lieu of workers' compensation benefits to which the employee is entitled under the Workers' Compensation Law, and therefore such elections or agreements are prohibited.

182. -- 270. (RESERVED).

271. RULE GOVERNING REPORTING INDEMNITY PAYMENTS AND MAKING PAYMENT OF INDUSTRIAL SPECIAL INDEMNITY FUND ASSESSMENT.

Pursuant to Section 72-327, Idaho Code, every authorized self-insurer authorized to self-insure its workers' compensation obligations in Idaho shall report annually to the Industrial Commission the total gross amount of indemnity benefits paid on Idaho workers' compensation claims during the applicable reporting period.

- **01. Filing**. The report of indemnity payments shall be filed with the Industrial Commission simultaneously with the first Semi-Annual Premium Tax Report; which, pursuant to Section 72-523, Idaho Code, is due each year on March 3rd.
- **02. Form**. The report of indemnity payments shall be submitted in writing on, or in a format substantially the same as Form IC327, "Report of Indemnity Payments," contained in Appendix B at the end of this chapter.
- **03. Report Required When No Indemnity Paid**. If an entity required to report under this rule has no claims against which indemnity payments have been made during the reporting period, a report shall be filed so indicating.
- **04. Penalty for Late Filing**. A penalty shall be assessed by the Commission for filing the report of indemnity payments later than March 3 each year.
- **a.** A penalty of two hundred dollars (\$200) shall be assessed for late filing of seven (7) days or less.
- **b.** A penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) per day shall be assessed for late filing of more than seven (7) days.
- **c.** A penalty assessed by the Commission shall be payable to the Industrial Commission and shall be submitted with the April 1 payment of the industrial special indemnity fund assessment, following notice by the Commission of the penalty assessment.
- 05. Estimating Indemnity Payments for Entities That Fail to Report Timely. If an entity required to report indemnity payments under these rules fails to report within the time allowed in these rules, the Commission will estimate the indemnity payments for that entity by using the indemnity amount reported for the preceding reporting period and adding twenty

	COMMISSION Compensation	Docket No. 17-0211-10 PENDING FEE RUI								
rcent (20%)						(
06. derpayment to report to	Adjustment of s, including thos imely, will be ad	se resulti	ing from	estimating the	indemnity pa	yments	rpayments of of entities that			
2 999.	(RESERVED)	•								
			APPE	NDIX A						
IC36B I	REPORT OF O	UTSTA l	NDING A	AWARDS – SI	ELF-INSURI	ED EMF	PLOYERS			
(Nam	ne of Self-Insured I	Employer)							
			Calendar \	/ear:						
	1		_	arch qJune qSe	1					
(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	(5)	(6)	(7)	(8)			
Date of Injury	Claimant Name (as shown on First Report of Injury)	Type of Claim	Total Awards		Total Compensati on Paid to Date	-ments	Unpaid Balance [(4) minus (5)]			
TOTALS										
I, the under certify that	inal to: Fiscal Sorsigned corporate this report is con	e office mplete a	8372 r of the a nd accura	0-0041 bove named state to the best	self-insured e of my knowle	mployei edge.	, do hereby			

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION Docket No. 17-0211-1001 Security For Compensation - Self-Insured Employers PENDING FEE RULE Date: Name and Title of Preparer: **Company:** Address: E-Mail Address: **Telephone:** Of Page APPENDIX B **IC327 REPORT OF INDEMNITY PAYMENTS** EXHIBIT A to SEMI-ANNUAL PREMIUM TAX REPORT Reporting Entity Name: Reporting Period: January 1 - June 30 (Year) July 1 - December 31 (Year) Date of Preparation: 1. **Total Claims:** 2. **Total Number of Indemnity Claims:** 3. Payments Made During the Reporting Period on Indemnity Claims: Total Amount of All Payments (including Medical): a. b. Total Amount of All Indemnity Payments: Certification State of) ss. County of , being first duly sworn on oath, state that I have read the foregoing report which sets forth certain information relating to indemnity payments made during the reporting period, that I know the contents, and that I certify the report is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Docket No. 17-0211-1001 PENDING FEE RULE

Signature of Preparer
Title of Preparer
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me on this day of
Notary Public for
Residing at
My term expires: