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IDAPA 24 - BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES

24.05.01 - RULES OF THE BOARD OF DRINKING WATER
AND WASTEWATER PROFESSIONALS

DOCKET NO. 24-0501-0901
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by
the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho
Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended,
or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or
increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this
agency has adopted a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2406,
Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The proposed rule updates the Board’s web address as it has changed. The rule reduces
the fees for endorsement, original license, and the license renewal to reduce the Board’s cash
balance. The rule also creates, defines, and sets forth the qualifications for a Class 1
Restricted license and Very Small Wastewater System license. The Very Small Wastewater
license is based upon DEQ rule changes that now allow for a very small wastewater facility
license. The Class 1 Restricted license is designed to assist facilities with part-time operators
and staff to allow more flexible qualifications for a license to run a specific facility. This rule
will also clarify an ambiguity in the qualifications for a land application license. Changes
from the proposed rule are being made in section 300.02.c. to the required courses. Courses
required along with experience are an approved six-hour pumps and motors course and an
approved six-hour lagoon operation and maintenance course or an approved six-hour large
soil absorption system course for a combined total of one hundred twelve (112) hours.

The text of the pending rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227,
Idaho Code. Only those sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are
printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in Book 2 of
the October 7, 2009 Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 118 through 125.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or
increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 54-2407, Idaho Code:

Idaho Code 54-2407 allows the Board to establish fees. The changes would reduce the
amount of fees collected for the dedicated funds of the Board of Drinking and Wastewater
Professionals by approximately $38,190 per year based on 3461 licensees and 358
applicants.
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FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no impact on general funds.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions
concerning this pending fee rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208 334-3233.

DATED this 8th day of December, 2009.

Tana Cory

Bureau Chief

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
1109 Main St. Ste. 220

Boise, ID 83702

(208) 334-3233 Ph.

(208) 334-3945,fax

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED FEE RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to
Section 54-2406, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as
follows:

THURSDAY - OCTOBER 22, 2009 - 10:00 a.m.

BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
1109 Main St., Ste. 220
Boise, ID

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule updates the Board’s web address as it has changed. The rule reduces
the fees for endorsement, original license, and the license renewal to reduce the Board’s cash
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balance. The rule also creates, defines, and sets forth the qualifications for a Class 1
Restricted license and Very Small Wastewater System license. The Very Small Wastewater
license is based upon DEQ rule changes that now allow for a very small wastewater facility
license. The Class 1 Restricted license is designed to assist facilities with part-time operators
and staff to allow more flexible qualifications for a license to run a specific facility. This rule
will also clarify an ambiguity in the qualifications for a land application license.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or
increased:

Per Section 54-2407, Idaho Code, allows the Board to establish fees. The changes would
reduce the amount of fees collected for the dedicated funds of the Board of Drinking and
Wastewater Professionals by approximately $38,190 per year based on 3,461 licensees and
358 applicants.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year
as a result of this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220, ldaho Code, negotiated
rulemaking was not conducted because the Board of Drinking Water and Wastewater
Professionals has been working with licensees, municipalities, the Department of Environment
Quality and the Idaho Rural Water Association on qualifications for a Class 1 Restricted License.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact
Cherie Simpson at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28,
2009.

DATED this 17th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

005. ADDRESS OF IDAHO BOARD OF DRINKING WATER AND WASTEWATER
PROFESSIONALS (RULE 5).

The office of the Board of Drinking Water and Wastewater Professionals is located within the
Bureau of Occupational Licenses, Owyhee Plaza, 1109 Main Street, Suite 220, Boise, ldaho
83702-5642. The phone number of the Board is (208) 334-3233. The Board’s FAX number is
(208) 334-3945. The Board’s e-mail address is wwp@ibol.idaho.gov. The Board’s official web

site s can be found at http://www.ibol.idaho.govAswp-htm. £3-36-66)( )
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).

01. Board. The Idaho Board of Drinking Water and Wastewater Professionals.
(3-24-05)

02. Bureau. The Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses. (3-24-05)

03. Class | Restricted License. Class | restricted license means a water or wastewater
license associated with a specific class | system. A restricted license is available for water
distribution or _treatment or for wastewater collection or treatment. A restricted license is not
transferable and does not qualify for endorsement. ( )

024. DEQ. The Idaho Department of Environmental Quality. (3-24-05)

045. Direct Supervision. Supervision in a way that will ensure the proper operation
and maintenance of the public drinking water or public wastewater system. Supervision shall
include, but not be limited to, providing written, hands-on, or oral instruction as well as
verification that the instructions are being completed. The supervisor has an active on-site and on-

call presence at the specific facility. (2-26-08)
056. Endorsement. Endorsement (often referred to as “reciprocity”) is that process by
which a person licensed in another jurisdiction may apply for a license in Idaho. (3-24-05)
067. EPA. The United States Environmental Protection Agency. (3-24-05)

0#8. Experience. One (1) year of experience is equivalent to one thousand six hundred
hours (1,600) worked. (2-26-08)

089. Operating Personnel. Operating personnel means any person who is employed,
retained, or appointed to conduct the tasks associated with the day-to-day operation and
maintenance of a public drinking water system or a public wastewater system. Operating
personnel shall include every person making system control or system integrity decisions about
water quantity or water quality that may affect public health. (3-24-05)

08910. Person. A human being, municipality, or other governmental or political
subdivision or other public agency, or public or private corporation, any partnership, firm,
association, or other organization, any receiver, trustee, assignee, agent or other legal
representative of the foregoing or other legal entity. (3-24-05)

181. Public Drinking Water System or Public Water System. Public drinking water
system or public water system means a system for the provision to the public of water for human
consumption through pipes or other constructed conveyances, if such system has at least fifteen
(15) service connections or regularly serves an average of at least twenty-five (25) individuals
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daily at least sixty (60) days of the year. Such term includes any collection, treatment, storage, and
distribution facilities under control of the operator of such system, and used primarily in
connection with such system, and any collection or pretreatment storage facilities not under such
control which are used primarily in connection with such system. Every community and
nontransient noncommunity water system, and each transient water system using a surface water
source or ground water source directly influenced by surface water, shall be operated by a
certified drinking water operator. (3-24-05)

122.  Public Wastewater System or Wastewater System. Public wastewater system or
wastewater system means those systems, including collection systems and treatment systems, that
are owned by a city, county, state or federal unit of government, a nonprofit corporation, district,
association, political subdivision or other public entity, or that generate or collect two thousand
five hundred (2,500) or more gallons a day; or that have been constructed in whole or in part with
public funds. This does not include any wastewater treatment system operated and maintained
exclusively by a single family residence or any wastewater system consisting solely of a gravity
flow, nonmechanical septic tank and subsurface treatment and distribution system, or industrial
wastewater systems under private ownership. (3-24-05)

123. State. The State of Idaho. (3-24-05)
(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

175. LICENSE TYPES AND CLASSIFICATIONS (RULE 175).
The Board shall issue each of the following licenses under the provisions of Chapter 24, Title 54,

Idaho Code. (3-24-05)
01. Drinking Water Distribution Operator. (3-24-05)
a Class Operator-In-Training. (3-24-05)
b. Class Very Small Water System. (3-24-05)
C. Class | Restricted. )
ed. Class I. (3-24-05)
de. Class I1. (3-24-05)
ef. Class I11. (3-24-05)
fq. Class IV. (3-24-05)
02. Drinking Water Treatment Operator. (3-24-05)
a. Class Operator-In-Training. (3-24-05)
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=
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Class | Restricted.

Class I.

Class I1.

Class IlI.

Class IV.

Wastewater Treatment Operator.

Class Operator-In-Training.

Class Very Small Wastewater System.

Lagoon.

Class | Restricted.

Class I.

Class II.

Class I11.

Class IV.

Land Application.

Wastewater Collection Operator.

Class Operator-In-Training.

Class Very Small Wastewater System.

Class | Restricted.

Class I.

Class II.
Class I11.
Class IV.

Wastewater Laboratory Analyst.

)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)

)
(3-24-05)

)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)

)

)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
(3-24-05)
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a. Class I. (3-24-05)
b. Class I1. (3-24-05)
C. Class IlI. (3-24-05)
d. Class IV. (3-24-05)
06. Backflow Assembly Tester. (3-24-05)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

200. FEES FOR EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE (RULE 200).
The fees for each license type and classification shall be as follows: (3-24-05)

01.  Application Fee. Application fee -- twenty-five dollars ($25). (3-24-05)

02. Examination Fee. The examination fees shall be those fees charged by the
Association of Boards of Certification (ABC) or other approved examination provider. (3-24-05)

03. Endorsement Fee. Endorsement fee -- forty thirty-five dollars ($435).

04.  Original License Fee. Original license fee -- forty thirty-five dollars ($435).
3-36-06}

05.  Annual Renewal Fee. Annual renewal fee -- forty thirty-five dollars ($435).
3-36-06}

06. Reinstatement Fees. Reinstatement fee -- twenty-five dollars ($25). (3-24-05)

07. Refund of Fees. No refund of fees shall be made to any person who has paid such
fees for application, examination, reexamination, or reinstatement of a license. (3-24-05)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

300. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE (RULE 300).
Applicants shall submit an application together with the required fees and such documentation as
IS required. (3-24-05)

01. Examination Requirement. Applicants must pass a written examination for each

ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY & TECHNOLOGY Page 8 2010 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-0501-0901
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individual classification in each type of licensure with a minimum score of seventy percent
(70%). For those classifications of Class Il through 1V, successful completion of the examinations
from the immediate lower type and classification shall be a prerequisite to examination eligibility
for the next higher classification of the same type, except that applicants for wastewater collection
operator or wastewater laboratory analyst or drinking water distribution operator licenses may
apply for any classification examination for which they hold the required education and
experience. (3-30-06)

a. The examination will reflect different levels of knowledge, ability and judgment
required for the established license type and class. The Board will administer examinations at
such times and places as the Board may determine. (3-24-05)

b. The examination for all types and classes of licensure shall be validated and
provided by the Association of Boards of Certification (ABC). The American Backflow
Prevention Association (ABPA) backflow assembly tester examination is also approved for
backflow assembly tester licensure. (5-8-09)

C. Applicants who fail an examination must make application to retake the same type
and class examination and pay the required examination fees prior to retaking the examination.
(3-24-05)

d. Applicants must take and pass the examination within one (1) year of application
approval. After one (1) year a new application and applicable fees must be submitted. (3-30-07)

02. Education and Experience Requirements. Only actual verified on-site operating
experience at a treatment, distribution or collection system will be acceptable. (3-24-05)

a. Each applicant for an Operator-In-Training License must have a high school
diploma or GED and pass the Class | exam or pass the very small water system exam.  (5-8-09)

b. To qualify for a Very Small Water System license an operator must have a high
school diploma or GED and ere-hundred eighty-eight (36688) hours of acceptable operator-in-
training experience at a water system and complete an approved six-hour water treatment or
chlorination course and an approved six-hour water distribution course for a combined total of

one hundred (100) hours. 5-8-09) )

C. To qualify for a Very Small Wastewater System license, an operator must have a
high school diploma or GED and fifty (50) hours of acceptable operator-in-training experience at
a wastewater collection system and fifty (50) hours of acceptable operator-in-training experience
at a wastewater treatment system and complete an approved six-hour pumps and motors course;
and an approved six-hour lagoon operation and maintenance course; or an approved six-hour
large soil absorption system course for a combined total of one hundred twelve (112) hours.

)

d. To qualify for a Class | Restricted water or wastewater license an operator must
have a high school diploma or GED and obtain two hundred sixty (260) hours of acceptable work
experience with the system in one (1) year and work a full operating year with the system and
complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education relevant to the license and pass the relevant
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Class | examination. Upon obtaining one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours of supervised
operating experience for each license, the operator shall be eligible to apply for an unrestricted
Class | license. There is no limit on the amount of time needed to obtain the necessary experience
to qualify for the unrestricted license. A restricted license is limited to a specific system. ( )

€e. To qualify for a Class | license an applicant must have a high school diploma or
GED and one (1) year of acceptable experience at a Class | or higher system. To upgrade an OIT
license to a Class | the applicant must provide documented proof to the Board of having
completed one (1) year of supervised operating experience in a Class | or higher public drinking
water or wastewater system, and payment of the required fees. (2-26-08)

ef. To qualify for a Class Il treatment or lab analyst license 11 an applicant must have a
high school diploma or GED and three (3) years of acceptable Class | operating experience at a
Class I or higher system. (2-26-08)

eg. To qualify for a Class Il treatment or lab analyst Il license an applicant must have
a high school diploma or GED and two (2) years of post high school education in the
environmental control field, engineering or related science; and four (4) years of acceptable Class
I operating experience of a Class Il or higher system, including two (2) years of experience in
daily on-site charge, supervision of personnel, or management of a major segment of a system in
the same or next lower class. (2-26-08)

fh. To qualify for a Class IV treatment or lab analyst IV license an applicant must
have a high school diploma or GED; and four (4) years of post high school education in the
environmental control field, engineering or related science; and four (4) years of acceptable Class
I11 operating experience at a Class I11 or higher system, including two (2) years of experience in
daily on-site charge, supervision of personnel, or management of a major segment of a system in

the same or next lower class. (2-26-08)

gi. To qualify for a Class Il collection or distribution license an operator must have a
high school diploma or GED and three (3) years of acceptable operating experience at a Class | or
higher system. (3-24-05)

hy. To qualify for a Class Il collection or distribution license an operator must have a
high school diploma or GED and two (2) years of post high school education in the environmental
control field, engineering or related science; and four (4) years of acceptable operating experience
of a Class | or higher system, including two (2) years of experience in daily on-site charge,
supervision of personnel, or management of a major segment of a system in the same or next
lower class. (3-24-05)

ik. To qualify for a Class 1V collection or distribution license an operator must have a
high school diploma or GED; and four (4) years of post high school education in the
environmental control field, engineering or related science; and four (4) years of acceptable
operating experience at a Class | or higher system, including two (2) years of experience in daily
on-site charge, supervision of personnel, or management of a major segment of a system in the
same or next lower class. (3-24-05)

il To qualify for a lagoon license, an operator must have a high school diploma or
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GED and twelve (12) months of acceptable supervised operating experience at a Lagoon system.
(3-24-05)

km. To qualify for a Wastewater Land Application license, an operator must have a
high school diploma or GED, a current wastewater treatment license that is at least Class | or
higher, and minimum six (6) months of hands-on operating experience at a wastewater land
application system. The wastewater land application operator that is a responsible charge or
substitute responsible charge operator must be licensed at the type and class equal to or greater
than the classification of the wastewater system. £3-24-05)( )

in. To qualify for a backflow assembly tester license, an applicant must have a high
school diploma or GED, and shall document ‘successful completion of a Board-approved
backflow assembly tester training program in compliance with the Cross Connection Control
Accepted Procedure and Practice Manual and consisting of theory instruction, practical
instruction, and a practical examination in compliance with the USC Test procedures. (3-30-06)

mo.  To qualify for an original wastewater laboratory analyst license, an applicant must
hold a current water treatment, wastewater treatment or lagoon license. (3-24-05)

03. Substituting Education for Experience. Applicants may substitute approved
education for operating and responsible charge experience as specified below. (3-24-05)

a. No substitution for operating experience shall be permitted for licensure as a very
small system operator or a Class | operator. (3-24-05)

b. For Classes II, Il and 1V, substitution shall only be allowed for the required
experience when fifty percent (50%) of all stated experience (both operating and responsible
charge) has been met by actual on-site operating experience. (3-24-05)

C. For Class I, a maximum of one and one-half (1%2) years of post high school
education in the environmental control field, engineering or related science may be substituted for
one and one-half (1%%) years of operating experience. (3-24-05)

d. For Class 111 and IV, a maximum of two (2) years of post high school education in
the environmental control field, engineering or related science may be substituted for two (2)
years of operating experience; however the applicant must still have one (1) year of responsible

charge experience. (3-24-05)
e. Education substituted for operating experience may not be also credited toward the
education requirement. (3-24-05)
f. One (1) year of post high school education may be substituted for one (1) year
experience up to a maximum of fifty percent (50%) of the required operating or responsible
charge experience. (3-24-05)

04. Substituting Experience for Education. Where applicable, approved operating
and responsible charge experience may be substituted for education as specified below: (3-24-05)

ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY & TECHNOLOGY  Page 11 2010 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-0501-0901
Board of Drinking Water and Wastewater Professionals PENDING FEE RULE

a. One (1) year of operating experience may be substituted for two (2) years of grade
school or one (1) year of high school with no limitation. (3-24-05)

b. For Class 11l and 1V, additional responsible charge experience (that exceeding the
two-year class requirements) may be substituted for post high school education on a two (2) for
one (1) basis: two (2) years additional responsible charge equal one (1) year post high school

education. (3-24-05)
05. Substituting Experience for Experience. Related experience may be substituted
for experience up to one-half (¥2) of the operating experience requirement for Class I, 11l and IV.
Experience that may be substituted includes but is not limited to the following: (3-24-05)
a. Experience as an environmental or operations consultant; (3-24-05)
b. Experience in an environmental or engineering branch of federal, state, county, or
local government; (3-24-05)
C. Experience as a wastewater collection system operator; (3-24-05)
d. Experience as a wastewater treatment plant operator; (3-24-05)
e. Experience as a water distribution system operator and/or manager; (3-24-05)
f. One (1) year of post high school education may be substituted for one (1) year
experience up to a maximum of fifty percent (50%) of the required operating or responsible
charge experience. (3-24-05)
g. Experience in waste treatment operation and maintenance. (3-24-05)

06. Equivalency Policy. Substitutions for education or experience requirements
needed to meet minimum requirements for license will be evaluated upon the following
equivalency policies: (3-24-05)

a. High School - High School diploma equals GED or equivalent as approved by the
Board equals four (4) years. (3-24-05)

b. College - Thirty-five (35) credits equal one (1) year (limited to curricula in
environmental engineering, environmental sciences, water/wastewater technology, and/or related
fields as determined by the Board). (3-24-05)

C. Continuing Education Units (CEU) for operator training courses, seminars, related
college courses, and other training activities. Ten (10) classroom hours equal one (1) CEU; forty-
five (45) CEUs equal one (1) year of college. (3-24-05)
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IDAPA 58 - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
58.01.01 - RULES FOR THE CONTROL OF AIR POLLUTION IN IDAHO
DOCKET NO. 58-0101-0901 (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the Board of Environmental Quality (Board)
and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending
rule will become final and effective if approved during the Second Regular Session of the Sixtieth
Idaho Legislature by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 and 67-5291,
Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and
effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that the
Board has adopted a pending fee rule. This action is authorized by Sections 39-105, 39-107, and
39-116B, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: A detailed summary of the reason for adopting the rule is set
forth in the initial proposal published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, June 3, 2009,
Vol. 09-6, pages 105 through 109. The proposed rule has not been revised in response to
public comments received; however, the rule has been revised at Sections 518 and 519. The
remainder of the rule has been adopted as proposed. After further internal discussion and
review, the inspection station and technician license fee requirements set out in Subsections
518.03 and 519.02 have been removed. The financial aspects of running and administering
the program will be dealt with as part of the overall procurement process with the selected
contractors or subcontractors. Section 39-116B, Idaho Code, only details a motor vehicle
registration fee not to exceed $20 per vehicle. The Rulemaking and Public Comment
Summary can be obtained at http://www.deq.idaho.gov/rules/air/
58 0101 0901 pending.cfm or by contacting the undersigned.

FEE SUMMARY: This rule includes an inspection fee that shall not exceed $20 per vehicle
(Section 524). Imposition of the fee is authorized by Section 39-116B(2)(g), Idaho Code.

IDAHO CODE SECTION 39-107D STATEMENT: This rule does not regulate an activity not
regulated by the federal government nor is it more stringent than federal regulations. The Clean
Air Act requires, in marginal ozone nonattainment areas, a vehicle inspection and maintenance
program. This rule is broader in scope than the federal law as it applies to sources in an area not
yet designated nonattainment. In addition, promulgation of this rule is required by Section 39-
116B, ldaho Code.

This rule constitutes an important preemptive step for the Treasure Valley to take to
attempt to avoid an ozone nonattainment designation. The ozone national ambient air
guality standard is a standard designed to protect human health and the environment. It is
clear under federal law that scientists have determined that a vehicle inspection and
maintenance program is an important control measure to implement for ozone reduction.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any
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negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during
the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions
concerning  this rulemaking, contact Martin Bauer at (208) 373-0440 or
martin.bauer@deq.idaho.gov.

Dated this 13th day of October, 2009.

Paula J. Wilson, Hearing Coordinator
Department of Environmental Quality
1410 N. Hilton, Boise, Idaho 83706-1255
(208)373-0418 / Fax No. (208)373-0481
paula.wilson@deg.idaho.gov

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking. This action is authorized by Sections 39-105, 39-
107, and 39-116B, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this proposed rulemaking will
be held as follows:

TUESDAY - JULY 14, 2009 - 3:30 pm

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Conference Room B
1410 N. Hilton, Boise, Idaho

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for
accommodation must be made no later than five (5) days prior to the hearing. For arrangements,
contact the undersigned at (208) 373-0418.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The purpose of this rulemaking is to implement Idaho Code §
39-116B, which requires the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to enter into
rulemaking to establish the minimum requirements for a vehicle emissions testing program
when ambient air quality concentrations are at or above 85% of a national ambient air
guality standard and motor vehicle emissions constitute one of the two top contributing
sources to the concentrations. These minimum requirements will assist affected local entities
in determining whether to (1) enter into a joint exercise of powers agreement to implement
the vehicle emissions testing program or (2) establish an alternative program in lieu of
vehicle emissions testing. If local entities do not choose either one of the two options, DEQ
must implement the vehicle emissions program.
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Cities, counties, and all citizens in areas required to implement vehicle emissions testing
may be interested in commenting on this proposed rule. After consideration of public
comments, DEQ intends to present the final proposal to the Board of Environmental
Quality at the October 2009 Board meeting for adoption as a pending rule. The rule is
expected to be final and effective upon the adjournment of the 2010 legislative session if
adopted by the Board and approved by the Legislature.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: The text of the proposed rule has been drafted based on
discussions held and concerns raised during negotiations conducted pursuant to Idaho Code
Section 67-5220 and IDAPA 58.01.23.810-815. On January 7, 2009, the Notice of Negotiated
Rulemaking was published in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-1, page 450. On
March 2, 2009, a preliminary draft negotiated rule was made available for public review.
Meetings were held on February 3, 2009 and March 17, 2009. Several members of the public
participated in this negotiated rulemaking process by attending the meetings and by
submitting written comments.

IDAHO CODE SECTION 39-107D STATEMENT: This proposed rule does not regulate an
activity not regulated by the federal government nor is it more stringent than federal regulations.
The Clean Air Act requires, in marginal ozone nonattainment areas, a vehicle inspection and
maintenance program. This proposed rule is broader in scope than the federal law as it applies to
sources in an area not yet designated nonattainment. In addition, promulgation of this rule is
required by Idaho Code 39-116B.

This proposed rule constitutes an important preemptive step for the Treasure Valley to take to
attempt to avoid an ozone nonattainment designation. The ozone national ambient air quality
standard is a standard designed to protect human health and the environment. It is clear under
federal law that scientists have determined that a vehicle inspection and maintenance program is
an important control measure to implement for ozone reduction.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any
negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during
the fiscal year: Not applicable.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS AND SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this rulemaking, contact Martin
Bauer at (208) 373-0440 or martin.bauer@deg.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments by mail, fax or e-mail at the address below regarding

this proposed rule. DEQ will consider all written comments received by the undersigned on or
before July 14, 2009.

DATED this 1st day of May, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE
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17. MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE PROGRAM.

01. Purpose. The purpose of Sections 517 through 526 is to set forth the minimum
standards for a motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program, established pursuant to

Section 39-116B, Idaho Code, for reqistered motor vehicles as defined in Section 49-123, Idaho
Code. This program is designed to follow the basic inspection and maintenance program defined
in 40 CFR 51.352.

)

02.  Applicability. Sections 517 through 526 apply only to the counties of Ada and
Canyon and the cities of Boise, Eagle, Garden City, Meridian, Kuna, Star, Caldwell, Greenleaf,

Melba, Middleton, Nampa, Notus, Parma, and Wilder. ( )
03. Options. ( )
a. Section 39-116B, Idaho Code, provides the counties and cities listed in Subsection
517.02 with the following implementation options. The counties and cities may: ( )
I. Enter into a joint exercise of powers agreement with the Director to implement a
motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program; or ( )

il. Obtain Department approval to implement an alternative motor vehicle emissions
control strategy that will result in emissions reductions equivalent to that of a motor vehicle

inspection and maintenance program. ( )
b. If neither of the options listed in Subsection 517.03.a. are selected, the Department
shall implement the motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program. ( )

04. Governing Authority. For the purpose of Sections 517 through 526, governing
authority means the governing entity responsible for the development and implementation of the

motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program. The governing entity may be the counties and
cities listed in Subsection 517.02 or the Department. The governing authority shall adopt Sections

517 through 526 of these rules. )
05. Exemptions. Sections 517 through 526 do not apply to the following: C )
a. Electric or hybrid motor vehicles; )
b. Motor vehicles with a model year less than five (5) years old; )
C. Motor vehicles with a model year older than 1981; )
d. Classic automobiles as defined by Section 49-406A, Idaho Code; C )
e. Motor vehicles with a maximum vehicle gross weight of less than fifteen hundred
(1500) pounds; )
f. Motor vehicles registered as motor homes as defined by Section 49-114, Idaho
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Code; )
a. Motorized farm equipment; and C )
h. Registered motor vehicles engaged solely in the business of agriculture. ( )

518. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING AUTHORIZED INSPECTION STATIONS
OR RETEST STATIONS.

01. General.

)

a. No person or enterprise shall in any manner represent any place as an inspection
station or retest station unless such station is operated under a valid license issued by the

governing authority. ( )
b. No license for any inspection station or retest station may be assigned, transferred
or used by other than the original applicant for that specific station. ( )

02.  Applications for License. Applications for license as an inspection station or
retest station shall be made on the forms provided by the governing authority. No license shall be

issued unless the governing authority finds that the facilities, tools and equipment of the applicant
comply with the requirements set forth in Subsections 518.03 or 518.04.

)

03. Requirements for Licensed Inspection Stations. In order to qualify for issuance
and continuance of an inspection station license, an establishment must meet the following

requirements: ( )
a. Must have a permanent location; ( )
b. Must sign a contract Dledqmq the station will not make any emissions related
adjustments or repairs on the vehicles it emissions tests: ( )
C. Must ensure that at least one employee, who has been issued an emissions
technician license by the governing authority, is on duty at all times of station operation; ( )
d. Must demonstrate the ability to perform the emissions test and comply with
reporting and recordkeeping requirements established by the governing authority; ( )
e. Must obtain and maintain in force appropriate business liability insurance; and
)
f. Must have the tools, equmment and supplies, as required by the governing
authority, available for performance of the emissions test. ( )

04. Requirements for Licensed Retest Stations. In order to qualify for issuance and
continuance of a retest station license, an establishment must meet the requirements listed in
Subsection 518.03 with the exception of Subsection 518.03.b.

)
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05. Approval Procedure. ( )
a. Applications received by the governing authority will be reviewed for
completeness and an inspection of the facility will be performed. An inspection report will be
prepared for the governing authority’s review. ( )

b. Stations which meet the requirements of Subsections 518.01 through 518.04 will
be granted an inspection station license or retest station license and issued a station sign. The
station sign and license shall be posted in a conspicuous place, readily visible to the public. The
station sign and license shall remain the property of the governing authority. ( )

06. Revocation of Inspection Station or Retest Station License. The governing
authority has the authority to issue warnings and suspend or revoke a station license upon a

shovyi_nq t_hat emission tests are not being performe_d in accor_dance with these rules and any other
specifications or procedures enacted by the governing authority. ( )

519. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING AUTHORIZED EMISSIONS
TECHNICIANS.

01.  Applications for License. Application for a license as an emissions technician
shall be filed with the governing authority. Applications for the emissions technician license shall

be completed on forms provided by the governing authority. ( )

02. Requirements for Issuance of an Emissions Technician License. An applicant
must demonstrate the knowledge and skill necessary to perform an emissions test of motor

vehicle engines. The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR
51.367, incorporated by reference into these rules at Section 107. ( )

03. Revocation of Emissions Technician License. The governing authority has the
authority to issue warnings and suspend or revoke an emissions technician license upon a

showing that emission tests are not being performed in accordance with these rules or any other
specifications or procedures enacted by the governing authority. ( )

520. INSPECTION FREQUENCY.

The inspections shall occur no more than once every two (2) years. If the owner of the motor
vehicle obtains a waiver pursuant to Section 526, the motor vehicle must be inspected the
following vyear. ( )

521. TEST PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.357(a),

incorporated by reference into these rules at Section 107.

)

522. TEST STANDARDS.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.357(b),
incorporated by reference into these rules at Section 107. ( )

523. TEST EQUIPMENT.
The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.358,

ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY, & TECHNOLOGY  Page 18 2010 PENDING FEE RULE BOOK



DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY Docket No. 58-0101-0901
Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in Idaho PENDING FEE RULE

incorporated by reference in to these rules at Section 107. ( )

524. INSPECTION FEE.

The fee for a motor vehicle inspection, as established in Section 39-116B(2)(q), Idaho Code, shall
not exceed twenty dollars ($20) per vehicle. This fee is necessary to carry out the provisions of
Sections 517 through 526 and to fund an air quality public awareness and outreach program.

)

525. PUBLIC OUTREACH.

The governing authority shall issue a pamphlet for distribution to owners of motor vehicles. The
pamphlet shall include, but not be limited to, the reasons for and the methods of the inspection.
The governing authority may also establish and operate an informational hotline, website, or any
other means of outreach that is deemed to be efficient and effective by the governing authority.

)

526. WAIVERS.

The governing authority shall require the minimum standards set forth in 40 CFR 51.360(a),
incorporated by reference into these rules at Section 107. If the owner of the motor vehicle obtains
a waiver, the motor vehicle must be inspected the following year. ( )

01. Financial Hardship. If repairs required under Section 526 pose a financial
hardship on the owner of the motor vehicle, the governing authority shall have the authority to

issue a waiver without requiring expenditure of the amounts listed in 40 CFR 51.360(a). Such
determination of hardship shall be made on a case-by-case basis by the governing authority.

)

02. Public Service Vehicles Operating Less than 1,000 Miles Per Year. For public
service vehicles owned by a governmental entity and operated less than one thousand (1,000)

miles per vear, the governing authority shall have the authority to issue a waiver without requiring
expenditure of the amounts listed in 40 CFR 51.360(a). ( )

5327.--549. (RESERVED).
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