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IDAPA 07 - DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

07.01.06 - RULES GOVERNING THE USE OF NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE

DOCKET NO. 07-0106-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1001 and 54-
1006(5), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 45 through 48.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

The adoption of the 2014 National Electrical Code is expected to cost DBS approximately 
$5,000. This cost includes the cost of new code books and training associated with the 
implementation of the new code. Local jurisdictions will encounter similar costs.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 24th day of October, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0106-1301
Rules Governing the Use of National Electrical Code PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 54-1001 and 54-1006(5), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Currently, the 2008 edition of the National Electrical Code (NEC) is the standard by which all 
electrical installations in Idaho must be performed. The 2014 edition of the NEC will be adopted 
with this rulemaking. Adoption and amendment of the 2014 NEC was the result of negotiated 
rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the electrical 
industry, local building officials, code development officials, board members, and other interested 
stakeholders. The board skipped the adoption of the 2011 NEC in favor of resolving code issues 
within the industry through a collaborative and negotiated rulemaking process. Specifically, the 
2014 NEC provides for arc fault circuit interrupter (AFCI) breakers to be installed for all circuits 
supplying outlets in dwelling unit family rooms, dining rooms, living rooms, parlors, dens, 
bedrooms, recreation rooms, closets, hallways, or similar rooms or areas. However, since 2008 
the Board has only required AFCI breakers to be utilized for circuits supplying dwelling unit 
bedrooms as reflected in existing administrative rule amendment. At numerous board and 
collaborative meetings conducted over the past several years, the Board considered the input of 
contractors, manufacturers, consumers, and other affected industry participants before 
determining to retain the existing rule amendment regarding AFCI breakers. This rulemaking 
would result in adoption of 2014 NEC and retain the existing amendment that requires the use of 
such AFCI circuit breakers to be utilized only in dwelling unit bedrooms. The proposed rule 
would adopt the 2014 edition of the National Electric Code (NEC) along with several 
amendments to that code related to circuits and receptacles located near sinks, in laundry rooms 
and kitchens, and on decks and porches. The proposed rule would also eliminate earlier 
amendments to the bonding requirements which have been adequately addressed in the 2014 
NEC.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 5 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0106-1301
Rules Governing the Use of National Electrical Code PENDING RULE
FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

The adoption of the 2014 National Electrical Code is expected to cost DBS approximately 
$5,000. This cost includes the cost of new code books and training associated with the 
implementation of the new code. Local jurisdictions will encounter similar costs.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-5, pages 57 and 58.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

Section 54-1001, Idaho Code, requires all electrical installations in the state of Idaho to be 
made substantially in accord with the National Electrical Code as newer editions shall be adopted 
from time to time by the Idaho Electrical Board. Currently, the 2008 edition of the National 
Electrical Code (NEC) is the standard by which all electrical installations in Idaho must be 
performed. The 2014 edition of the NEC will be adopted with this rulemaking. The proposed rule 
will also adopt the 2014 edition of the National Electric Code (NEC) along with several 
amendments to that code related to circuits and receptacles located near sinks, in laundry rooms 
and kitchens, and on decks and porches.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

011. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL 
ELECTRICAL CODE, 200814 EDITION.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0106-1301
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0106-1301
Rules Governing the Use of National Electrical Code PENDING RULE
01. Documents. Under the provisions of Section 54-1001, Idaho Code, the National 
Electrical Code, 200814 Edition, (herein NEC) is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference 
for the state of Idaho and shall be in full force and effect on and after July 1, 200814, with the 
exception of the following amendments: (4-2-08)(        )

a. Article 210.8(A)(7) Sinks. Delete article 210.8(A)(7) and replace with the 
following: Sinks - located in areas other than kitchens where receptacles are installed within one 
and eight tenths (1.8) meters (six (6) feet) of the outside edge of the sink. (        )

b. Article 210.8(A)(10). Delete article 210.8(A)(10). (        )

c. Article 210.8(D). Delete article 210.8(D). (        )

d. Article 210.52(E)(3). Delete article 210.52(E)(3) and replace with the following: 
Balconies, Decks, and Porches. Balconies, decks, and porches having an overall area of twenty 
(20) square feet or more that are accessible from inside the dwelling unit shall have at least one 
(1) receptacle outlet installed within the perimeter of the balcony, deck, or porch. The receptacle 
shall not be located more than two (2.0) meters (six and one half (6½) feet) above the balcony, 
deck, or porch surface. (        )

ae. Where the height of a crawl space does not exceed one point and four tenths (1.4) 
meters or four point five and one half (4.5) feet it shall be permissible to secure NM cables, that 
run at angles with joist, to the bottom edge of joist. NM cables that run within two point and one 
tenth (2.1) meters or seven (7) feet of crawl space access shall comply with Article 320.23.

(3-29-10)(        )

bf. Article 675.8(B). Compliance with Article 675.8(B) will include the additional 
requirement that a disconnecting means always be provided at the point of service from the utility 
no matter where the disconnecting means for the machine is located. (5-3-03)(        )

cg. Article 550.32(B). Compliance with Article 550.32(B) shall limit installation of a 
service on a manufactured home to those homes manufactured after January 1, 1992. (5-3-03)

dh. Poles used as lighting standards that are forty (40) feet or less in nominal height 
and that support no more than four (4) luminaires operating at a nominal voltage of three hundred 
(300) volts or less, shall not be considered to constitute a structure as that term is defined by the 
National Electrical Code (NEC). The disconnecting means shall not be mounted to the pole. The 
disconnecting means may be permitted elsewhere in accordance with NEC, Article 225.32, 
exception 3. SEC special purpose fuseable connectors (model SEC 1791–DF or model SEC 1791-
SF) or equivalent shall be installed in a listed handhole (underground) enclosure. The enclosure 
shall be appropriately grounded and bonded per the requirements of the NEC applicable to Article 
230-Services. Overcurrent protection shall be provided by a (fast-acting – minimum - 100K RMS 
Amps 600 VAC) rated fuse. Wiring within the pole for the luminaires shall be protected by 
supplementary overcurrent device (time-delay – minimum - 10K RMS Amps 600 VAC) in break-
a-away fuse holder accessible from the hand hole. Any poles supporting or incorporating 
utilization equipment or exceeding the prescribed number of luminaires, or in excess of forty (40) 
feet, shall be considered structures, and an appropriate service disconnecting means shall be 
required per the NEC. All luminaire-supporting poles shall be appropriately grounded and bonded 
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 7 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0106-1301
Rules Governing the Use of National Electrical Code PENDING RULE
per the NEC. (4-6-05)

ei. Compliance with Article 210.12 Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection. (4-2-08)

i. Definition. Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter is a device intended to provide protection 
from the effects of arc faults by recognizing characteristics unique to arcing and by functioning to 
de-energize the circuit when an arc fault is detected. (4-2-08)

ii. Dwelling Unit Bedrooms. All one hundred twenty (120)-volt, single phase, fifteen 
(15)-ampere and twenty (20)-ampere branch circuits supplying outlets installed in dwelling unit 
bedrooms shall be protected by a listed arc-fault circuit interrupter, combination type installed to 
provide protection of the branch circuit. (4-2-08)

f. Compliance with Article 680.26 Bonding. (4-2-08)

i. Performance. The bonding required by this section shall be installed to eliminate 
voltage gradients in the pool area as prescribed. FPN: This section does not require that the eight 
(8) AWG or larger solid copper bonding conductor be extended or attached to any remote 
panelboard, service equipment, or any electrode. (4-2-08)

ii. Bonded Parts. The parts specified in 680.26(B)(1) through (B)(5) shall be bonded 
together. (4-2-08)

(1) Metallic Structural Components. All metallic parts of the pool structure, including 
the reinforcing metal of the pool shell, coping stones, and deck, shall be bonded. The usual steel 
tie wires shall be considered suitable for bonding the reinforcing steel together, and welding or 
special clamping shall not be required. These tie wires shall be made tight. If reinforcing steel is 
effectively insulated by an encapsulating nonconductive compound at the time of manufacture and 
installation, it shall not be required to be bonded. Where reinforcing steel is encapsulated with a 
nonconductive compound, provisions shall be made for an alternate means to eliminate voltage 
gradients that would otherwise be provided by unencapsulated, bonded reinforcing steel. (4-2-08)

(2) Underwater Lighting. All forming shells and mounting brackets of no-niche 
luminaries (fixtures) shall be bonded unless a listed low-voltage lighting system with nonmetallic 
forming shells not requiring bonding is used. (4-2-08)

(3) Metal Fittings. All metal fittings within or attached to the pool structure shall be 
bonded. Isolated parts that are not over one hundred (100) mm (four (4) inches) in any dimension 
and do not penetrate into the pool structure more than twenty-five (25) mm (one (1) inch) shall 
not require bonding. (4-2-08)

(4) Electrical Equipment. Metal parts of electrical equipment associated with the pool 
water circulating system, including pump motors and metal parts of equipment associated with 
pool covers, including electric motors, shall be bonded. Metal parts of listed equipment 
incorporating an approved system of double insulation and providing a means for grounding 
internal nonaccessible, non-current-carrying metal parts shall not be bonded. Where a double-
insulated water-pump motor is installed under the provisions of this rule, a solid eight (8) AWG 
copper conductor that is of sufficient length to make a bonding connection to a replacement motor 
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 8 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0106-1301
Rules Governing the Use of National Electrical Code PENDING RULE
shall be extended from the bonding grid to an accessible point in the motor vicinity. Where there is 
no connection between the swimming pool bonding grid and the equipment grounding system for 
the premises, this bonding conductor shall be connected to the equipment grounding conductor of 
the motor circuit. (4-2-08)

(5) Metal Wiring Methods and Equipment. Metal-sheathed cables and raceways, 
metal piping, and all fixed metal parts except those separated from the pool by a permanent 
barrier shall be bonded that are within the following distances of the pool: (4-2-08)

(a) Within one and five tenths (1.5) meters (five (5) feet) horizontally of the inside 
walls of the pool. (4-2-08)

(b) Within three and seven tenths (3.7) meters (twelve (12) feet) measured vertically 
above the maximum water level of the pool, or any observation stands, towers, or platforms, or 
any diving structures. (4-2-08)

iii. Common Bonding Grid. The parts specified in 680.26B shall be connected to a 
common bonding grid with a solid copper conductor, insulated, covered, or bare, not smaller than 
eight (8) AWG. Connection shall be made by exothermic welding or by pressure connectors or 
clamps that are labeled as being suitable for the purpose and are of stainless steel, brass, copper, 
or copper alloy. The common bonding grid shall be permitted to be any of the following: (4-2-08)

(1) The structural reinforcing steel of a concrete pool where the reinforcing rods are 
bonded together by the usual steel tie wires or the equivalent. (4-2-08)

(2) The wall of a bolted or welded metal pool. (4-2-08)

(3) A solid copper conductor, insulated, covered, or bare, not smaller than eight (8) 
AWG. (4-2-08)

(4) Rigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit of brass or other identified 
corrosion-resistant metal conduit. (4-2-08)

iv. Connections. Where structural reinforcing steel or the walls of bolted or welded 
metal pool structures are used as a common bonding grid for nonelectrical parts, the connections 
shall be made in accordance with 250.8. (4-2-08)

v. Pool Water Heaters. For pool water heaters rated at more than fifty (50) amperes 
that have specific instructions regarding bonding and grounding, only those parts designated to 
be bonded shall be bonded, and only those parts designated to be grounded shall be grounded.

(4-2-08)

02. Availability. This document A copy of the National Electrical Code is available at 
the offices of the Division of Building Safety at 1090 E. Watertower Street., Suite 150, Meridian, 
Idaho 83642, 1250 Ironwood Drive, Suite 220, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814, and 2055 Garrett 
Way, Suite 7, Pocatello, Idaho 83201. (4-2-08)(        )
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IDAPA 07 - DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

07.01.10 - RULES GOVERNING CERTIFICATION AND APPROVAL 
OF ELECTRICAL PRODUCTS AND MATERIALS 

DOCKET NO. 07-0110-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1001 and 54-
1006(5), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 49 through 51.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No impact to the general or dedicated funds. Positive impact through cost savings is expected 
for those who may install non-listed industrial machinery through the use of a field evaluation 
process that includes the ability to utilize a professional engineer.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 24th day of October, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0110-1301
Certification & Approval of Electrical Products & Materials PENDING RULE
Fax: 1-877-810-2840

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 54-1001 and 54-1006(5), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The existing rule uses incorrect terminology to identify an appropriate testing laboratory 
which certifies and lists products. Additionally, the existing rule does not adequately describe 
who may perform a field evaluation, nor the standards of what constitutes an adequate field 
evaluation. Finally, amendment is necessary to provide additional flexibility for the installation of 
industrial machinery by allowing an evaluation of such by a licensed professional engineer. The 
proposed rule would provide that approval of all electrical products and materials for installation 
in Idaho may be achieved either through certification and listing by a nationally recognized 
testing laboratory, or through a field evaluation process. The rule would require that field 
evaluations be performed by approved evaluation bodies that meet minimum requirements, and 
that such evaluations be performed in accordance with recognized practices and procedures. 
Further, in the case of industrial machinery only, the rule would allow as an alternate method that 
such evaluation may be performed by a qualified electrical engineer not involved in the design or 
installation of the equipment.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

No impact to the general or dedicated funds. Positive impact through cost savings is expected 
for those who may install non-listed industrial machinery through the use of a field evaluation 
process that includes the ability to utilize a professional engineer.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0110-1301
Certification & Approval of Electrical Products & Materials PENDING RULE
NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted. Although formal negotiated rulemaking did not occur prior to the 
promulgation of this rulemaking, the matter was formally designated as an agenda topic before 
the Electrical Board at six (6) different board meetings over the course of two years. The Board 
was satisfied that all stakeholders and interested parties were recognized and had an opportunity 
to participate in the adoption process. The final proposed rule is the product of the input of 
multiple stakeholders; although not all favored its adoption.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

011. CERTIFICATION AND APPROVAL OF ELECTRICAL PRODUCTS AND 
MATERIALS.
In the state of Idaho, all materials, devices, fittings, equipment, apparatus, fixtures luminaires, and 
appliances installed or to be used in installations that are supplied with electric energy shall be 
approved as provided in one (1) of the following methods: (2-26-93)(        )

01. Testing Laboratory. Be tested, examined, and certified (Listed) by an accredited 
electrical product Nationally Recognized tTesting lLaboratory (NRTL). The Division of Building 
Safety, Electrical Bureau, shall maintain an up-to-date list of products and equipment approved 
by such testing laboratories as well as an updated list of accredited products which shall be used 
and installed in accordance with the certification (Listing). (12-17-92)(        )

02. Approval of Electrical Inspector. Be approved by the electrical inspector provided 
such an assembly, product, or equipment is installed under an electrical permit issued by the 
Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, and conforms to the National Electrical Code and 
recognized industry standards. Where in the judgment of the Electrical Bureau a field evaluation 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0110-1301
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0110-1301
Certification & Approval of Electrical Products & Materials PENDING RULE
is necessary to determine the acceptability of the assembly, product, or equipment to recognized 
industry standards, this field evaluation shall be completed by an accredited electrical product 
testing laboratory. The Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, shall maintain a list of 
accredited electrical testing laboratories approved to complete such field evaluations. Such 
approval shall not be required for types of products that are regularly certified (Listed) or for 
certified (Listed) products as determined by the list maintained by the Division of Building Safety, 
Electrical Bureau. Such approval shall be obtained prior to installation. If approval is denied, the 
particular reasons for denial shall be stated through issuance of a notice of defects pursuant to 
Section 54-1004, Idaho Code. Field Evaluation. Non-listed electrical equipment may be 
approved for use through a field evaluation process performed in accordance with recognized 
practices and procedures such as those contained in the 2012 edition of NFPA 791 - 
Recommended Practice and Procedures for Unlabeled Electrical Equipment Evaluation published 
by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). Such evaluations shall be conducted by:

(12-17-92)(        )

a. The authority having jurisdiction (AHJ); (        )

b. A field evaluation body (FEB) approved by the authority having jurisdiction. The 
field evaluation body shall meet minimum recognized standards for competency, such as NFPA 
790 - Standard for Competency of Third-Party Field Evaluation Bodies, 2012 edition, published 
by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA); or (        )

c. In the case of industrial machinery only, as defined by NFPA 79 - Electrical 
Standard for Industrial Machinery, 2012 edition, a field evaluation may be performed by a 
professional engineer currently licensed to practice electrical engineering by the state of Idaho 
and who is not involved in the design of the equipment being evaluated or the facility in which the 
equipment is to be installed. (        )

03. Availability of NFPA Standards. The most recent edition of NFPA 790 - 
Standard for Competency of Third-Party Field Evaluation Bodies, and NFPA 791 - 
Recommended Practice and Procedures for Unlabeled Electrical Equipment Evaluation published 
by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) are available at the Division of Building 
Safety offices located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150, Meridian, Idaho 83642, 1250 
Ironwood Drive, Suite 220, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814, and 2055 Garrett Way, Building 1, Suite 
4, Pocatello, Idaho 83201. (        )
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IDAPA 07 - DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

07.03.01 - RULES OF BUILDING SAFETY

DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-4107 and 39-
4109, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 45 through 52.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No impact to the General Fund; some increased short-term costs to jurisdictions enforcing the 
codes for obtaining code materials and training of inspectors. Amendments to the new code result 
in decreases in costs to builders that offset minor cost increases associated with new provisions 
contained in the code. However, no significant additional costs of conformance with the new 
versions of the codes were brought forward in discussions before the Board.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 26th day of September, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
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DIVISION OF BUIDLING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0301-1301
Rules of Building Safety PENDING RULE
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 39-4107 and 39-4109, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Adoption and amendment of the 2012 editions of the International Residential Code and 
International Energy Conservation Code was the result of negotiated rulemaking and the 
deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the building industry, local 
building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other interested stakeholders. 
Code amendment proposals submitted to the Board by the collaborative group resulted in the 
Board’s recognition that amending several provisions could save contractors and property owners 
significant expense without an adverse effect on health or safety. Specifically, amendments to the 
building code bring it into conformity with existing state laws which allow day care facilities 
within a residence. Amendments to the residential and energy codes restore many critical 
provisions back to the levels contained in the 2009 codes, and/or provide more economical 
alternate methods to ensure compliance with code requirements. All of which was advocated by 
the collaborative group and is more widely accepted within the industry. This rulemaking would 
result in the adoption of the 2012 International Residential Code (IRC) and 2012 International 
Energy Conservation Code (IECC) as building standards within Idaho among all jurisdictions. It 
would also make further amendments to the 2012 IRC and 2012 IECC related to energy code 
requirements and alternate methods of compliance, as well as amend the International Building 
Code (IBC) related to daycare facilities within residences.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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No impact to the General Fund; some increased short-term costs to jurisdictions enforcing the 
codes for obtaining code materials and training of inspectors. Amendments to the new code result 
in decreases in costs to builders that offset minor cost increases associated with new provisions 
contained in the code. However, no significant additional costs of conformance with the new 
versions of the codes were brought forward in discussions before the Board.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-5, pages 60 and 61.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

Adoption and amendment of the 2012 editions of the International Residential Code and 
International Energy Conservation Code was the result of negotiated rulemaking and the 
deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the building industry, local 
building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other interested stakeholders. 
Code amendment proposals submitted to the Board by the collaborative group resulted in the 
Board’s recognition that amending several provisions could save contractors and property owners 
significant expense without an adverse effect on health or safety. Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, 
requires the adoption of the above-referenced codes for the state of Idaho, and allows the Board to 
adopt subsequent editions and amendments thereto as it determines necessary.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 13th day of August 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
Under the provisions of Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, the codes enumerated in this Section are 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference into IDAPA 07.03.01, “Rules of Building Safety,” 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1301
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DIVISION OF BUIDLING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0301-1301
Rules of Building Safety PENDING RULE
Division of Building Safety. Pursuant to Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, Tthe effective date of a 
2009 any edition of any of the codes adopted in this Section, with or any amendments identified 
thereto, shall be January 1, 2011 of the succeeding year following legislative approval of the 
rulemaking establishing the edition or amendment. Until such time, the 2006 edition of any such 
code enumerated in this Section without amendment will remain effective pursuant to Section 39-
4109, Idaho Code. Copies of these documents may be reviewed at the office of the Division of 
Building Safety. The referenced codes may be obtained from International Code Council, 5360 
Workman Mill Road, Whittier, California 90601-2298 or the International Code Council at http://
www.iccsafe.org. (3-29-10)(        )

01. International Building Code. 2012 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)

a. Delete section 305.2.3 and replace with the following: Twelve (12) or fewer 
children in a dwelling unit. A facility such as the above within a dwelling unit and having twelve 
(12) or fewer children receiving such day care shall be classified as a Group R-3 occupancy or 
shall comply with the International Residential Code. (        )

b. Delete section 308.6.4 and replace with the following: Persons receiving care in a 
dwelling unit. A facility such as the above within a dwelling unit and having twelve (12) or fewer 
children receiving day care or having five (5) or fewer persons receiving custodial care shall be 
classified as a Group R-3 occupancy or shall comply with the International Residential Code.

(        )

c. Delete section 310.5 and replace with the following: Residential Group R-3. 
Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily permanent in nature and not classified 
as Group R-1, R-2, R-4, E or I, including: (        )

i. Buildings that do not contain more than two (2) dwelling units; (        )

ii. Boarding houses (nontransient) with sixteen (16) or fewer occupants; (        )

iii. Boarding houses (transient) with ten (10) or fewer occupants; (        )

iv. Care facilities that provide accommodations for five (5) or fewer persons receiving 
care; (        )

v. Congregate living facilities (nontransient) with sixteen (16) or fewer occupants;
(        )

vi. Congregate living facilities (transient) with ten (10) or fewer occupants; or (        )

vii. Dwelling units providing day care for twelve (12) or fewer children. (        )

d. Delete section 310.5.1 and replace with the following: Care facilities within a 
dwelling. Care facilities for twelve (12) or fewer children receiving day care or for five (5) or 
fewer persons receiving care that are within a single-family dwelling are permitted to comply 
with the International Residential Code. (        )
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 17 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK
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ae. Delete footnote (f) contained under Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures, and replace with the following: Drinking fountains are not required for an 
occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer. (4-4-13)

bf. Add the following Delete footnote to (g) contained under Table 2902.1 Minimum 
Number of Required Plumbing Fixtures and replace with the following: (g) For business 
occupancies, excluding restaurants, and mercantile occupancies with an occupant load of thirty 
(30) or fewer, service sinks shall not be required. (4-4-13)(        )

02. International Residential Code. 200912 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)(        )

a. Delete the exception No. 1 contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope.
(4-7-11)(        )

b. Delete item No. 2 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Fences not over six (6) feet 
(one thousand, eight hundred twenty-nine (1,829) mm) high may be exempted from the 
requirement for a building permit in the absence of any other applicable land use regulations 
governing the installation, height, type or other aspect. (4-7-11)

c. Delete item No. 7 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Prefabricated swimming 
pools that are not greater than four (4) feet (one thousand, two hundred nineteen (1219) mm) 
deep. (4-7-11)

d. Add the following item No. 11 at the end of the “Building” subsection of IRC 
section R105.2 - Work exempt from permit: Flag poles. (        )

de. Delete IRC section R109.1.3 and replace with the following: Floodplain 
inspections. For construction in areas prone to flooding as established by Table R301.2(1), upon 
placement of the lowest floor, including basement, the building official is authorized to require 
submission of documentation of the elevation of the lowest floor, including basement, required in 
section R322. (3-29-10)

ef. IRC Table R302.1 Exterior Walls -- delete the figures contained in the last column 
of the table under the heading Minimum Fire Separation Distance for the “Walls” and 
“Projections” elements, and replace with the following:

Minimum Fire Separation Distance

Walls (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Walls (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet

Projections (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Projections (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet
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(3-29-10)(        )

fg. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R302.2 -- Townhouses, and 
replace with the following: Exception: A common one-hour or two-hour fire resistance rated wall 
assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E 119 or UL 263 is permitted for townhouses if such 
walls do not contain plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents in the cavity of the 
common wall. The wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides and shall extend to and be 
tight against the exterior walls and the underside of the roof sheathing. Penetrations of electrical 
outlet boxes shall be in accordance with section R302.4. (3-29-10)

h. Delete IRC section R303.4. (        )

gi. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R313.1 -- Townhouse automatic 
fire sprinkler systems, and replace with the following: Exception: Automatic residential fire 
sprinkler systems shall not be required in townhouses where a two-hour fire-resistance rated wall 
is installed between dwelling units or when additions or alterations are made to existing 
townhouses that do not have an automatic residential fire sprinkler system installed. (3-29-10)

hj. Delete IRC section R313.2. (3-29-10)

ik. Add the following to IRC section R315.23 - Where required in existing dwellings: 
Exceptions: 1. Work involving the exterior surfaces of dwellings, such as, but not limited to, 
replacement of roofing or siding, or the addition or replacement of windows or doors, or the 
addition of a porch or deck or electrical permits, are exempt from the requirements of this section; 
and 2. Installation, alteration or repairs of noncombustion plumbing or mechanical systems are 
exempt from the requirements of this section. (4-4-13)(        )

jl. Delete IRC section R322.1.10. (3-29-10)

km. Delete IRC section R322.2.2 subparagraph 2.2, and replace with the following: 
The total net area of all openings shall be at least one (1) square inch (645 mm2) for each square 
foot (0.093 m2) of enclosed area, or the opening shall be designed and the construction 
documents shall include a statement that the design and installation of the openings will provide 
for equalization of hydrostatic flood forces on exterior walls by allowing the automatic entry and 
exit of floodwaters. (3-29-10)(        )

ln. Delete section N1102.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

o. Chapter 11 [RE] Energy Efficiency - The following sections and tables of chapter 
11 shall be amended in accordance with the requirements contained below in Subsection 004.04 
of these rules which correspond to the appropriate section: (        )

i. Table N1102.1.1 (Table R402.1.1) - Insulation and Fenestration Requirements by 
Component; (        )

ii. Table N1102.1.3 (Table R402.1.3 - Equivalent U-Factors; (        )
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C
e 
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iii. Table N1102.2.6 (Table R402.2.6) - Steel-Frame Ceiling, Wall and Floor 
Insulation (R-Value); (        )

iv. Section N1102.4.1 (R402.4.1) Building Thermal Envelope; (        )

v. Section N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1) - Insulation; (        )

vi. Table N1102.4.1.1 (Table R402.4.1.1) - Air Barrier and Insulation Installation;
(        )

vii. Section N1102.4.1.2 (R402.4.1.2) Testing Option; (        )

viii. Add Section N1102.4.1.3 (R402.4.1.3) - Visual Inspection Option; (        )

ix. Add Section N1102.6 (R402.6) - Residential Log Home Thermal Envelope;(        )

x. Add Table N1102.6 (Table R402.6) - Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope 
Requirements by Component; and (        )

xi. Section N1104.1 (R404.1) - Lighting Equipment. (        )

03. International Existing Building Code. 2012 Edition. (4-4-13)

04. International Energy Conservation Code. 200912 Edition with the following 
amendments. (4-7-11)(        )

a. Delete the values contained in Table R402.1.1 (Table N1102.1.1) for climate zone 
“5 and Marine 4” and climate zone “6” and replace with the following: (        )

Table R402.1.1
INSULATION AND FENESTRATION REQUIREMENTS BY COMPONENT

(        )

ab. Add the following footnote to the title of Table 402.1.1 - Insulation and 
Fenestration Requirements by Component: k. For residential log home building thermal envelope 
construction requirements see section 402.6.

(4-7-11)

limate 
Zone

Fenestratio
n U- Factor

Skylight 
U-factor

Glazed 
Fenestrati
on SHGC

Ceiling
R-

Value

Wood 
Frame 
Wall

R-Value

Mass 
Wall

R-Value

Floor
R-Value

Baseme
nt Wall
R-Value

Slab
R-Value

Crawlspac
Wall

R-Value

5 and 
arine 4

0.35 0.60 NR 38
20 or 
13+5h 13/17 30g 10/13 10, 2 ft 10/13

6 0.35 0.60 NR 49
20 or 
13+5h 15/19 30g 15/19 10, 4 ft 10/13
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c. Delete the values contained in Table R402.1.3 (Table N1102.1.3) for climate zone 
“5 and Marine 4” and climate zone “6” and replace with the following:

Table R402.1.3
EQUIVALENT U-FACTORS

(        )

d. Delete Table R402.2.6 (Table N1102.2.6) and replace with the following:

TABLE R402.2.6
STEEL-FRAME CEILING, WALL AND FLOOR INSULATION

(R-VALUE)

Climate 
Zone

Fenestration
U-factor

Skylight
U-factor

Ceiling
R-Value

Wood Frame 
Wall

R-Value

Mass Wall 
R-Value

Floor
R-Value

Basement 
Wall

R-Value

Crawlspace 
Wall

R-Value

5 and 
Marine 4

0.35 0.60 0.030 0.057 0.082 0.033 0.059 0.065

6 0.35 0.60 0.026 0.057 0.060 0.033 0.050 0.065

WOOD FRAME
R-VALUE 

REQUIREMENT
COLD-FORMED STEEL EQUIVALENT R-VALUEa

Steel Truss Ceilings

R-30 R-38 or R-30 + 3 or R-26 + 5

R-38 R-49 or R-38 +3

R-49 R-38 + 5

Steel Joist Ceilings

R-30 R-38 in 2 x 4 or 2 x 6 or 2 x 8 R-49 in any framing

R-38 R-49 in 2 x 4 or 2 x 6 or 2 x 8 or 2 x 10

Steel-Framed Wall

R-13 R-13 + 5 or R-15 + 4 or R-21 + 3 or R-0 + 10

R-19 R-13 + 9 or R-19 + 8 or R-25 + 7

R-21 R-13 + 10 or R-19 + 9 or R-25 + 8

Steel Joist Floor

R-13
R-19 in 2 x 6
R-19 + 6 in 2 x 8 or 2 x 10

a. Cavity insulation R-value is listed first, followed by continuous insulation R-value.
b. Insulation exceeding the height of the framing shall cover the framing. 
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(        )

e. Delete section 402.4.1 (N1102.4.1) and replace with the following: Building 
thermal envelope. The building thermal envelope shall comply with sections R402.1.1 and either 
section R402.4.1.2 or R402.4.1.3. The sealing methods between dissimilar materials shall allow 
for differential expansion and contraction. (        )

f. Delete section 402.4.1.1 (N1102.4.1.1) and replace with the following: 
Installation. The components of the building thermal envelope as listed in Table R402.4.1.1 shall 
be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions and the criteria listed in Table 
R402.4.1.1, as applicable to the method of construction. (        )

g. Delete the criteria requirement for the “Fireplace” component of Table R402.4.1.1 
(Table N1102.4.1.1) - Air Barrier and Insulation Installation, and replace with the following: An 
air barrier shall be installed on fireplace walls. (        )

h. Delete section 402.4.1.2 (N1102.4.1.2) and replace with the following: Testing 
option, Building envelope tightness and insulation installation shall be considered acceptable 
when tested air leakage is less than seven (7) air changes per hour (ACH) when tested with a 
blower door at a pressure of 33.5 psf (50 Pa). Testing shall occur after rough in and after 
installation of penetrations of the building envelope, including penetrations for utilities, 
plumbing, electrical, ventilation and combustion appliances. During testing: (        )

i. Exterior windows and doors, fireplace and stove doors shall be closed, but not 
sealed; (        )

ii. Dampers shall be closed, but not sealed, including exhaust, intake, makeup air, 
backdraft and flue dampers; (        )

iii. Interior doors shall be open; (        )

iv. Exterior openings for continuous ventilation systems and heat recovery ventilators 
shall be closed and sealed; (        )

v. Heating and cooling system(s) shall be turned off; (        )

vi. HVAC ducts shall not be sealed; and (        )

vii. Supply and return registers shall not be sealed. (        )

R-19
R-19 + 6 in 2 x 6
R-19 + 12 in 2 x 8 or 2 x 10

WOOD FRAME
R-VALUE 

REQUIREMENT
COLD-FORMED STEEL EQUIVALENT R-VALUEa

a. Cavity insulation R-value is listed first, followed by continuous insulation R-value.
b. Insulation exceeding the height of the framing shall cover the framing. 
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i. Add the following as section 402.4.1.3 (N1102.4.1.3): Visual inspection option, 
Building envelope tightness and insulation installation shall be considered acceptable when the 
items listed in Table 402.4.1.1, applicable to the method of construction, are field verified. Where 
required by code official an approved party independent from the installer of the insulation shall 
inspect the air barrier and insulation. (        )

bj. Delete section 402.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

ck. Add the following section: R402.6 (N1102.6) Residential Log Home Thermal 
Envelope. Residential log home construction shall comply with sections 401 (General), 402.4 
(Air Leakage), 402.5 (Maximum Fenestration U-Factor and SHGC), 403.1 (Controls), 403.2.2 
(Sealing), 403.2.3 (Building Cavities), sections 403.3 through 403.9 (referred to as the mandatory 
provisions), Section 404 (Electrical Power and Lighting Systems), and either Subparagraph 
004.04.b.i., ii., or iii. as follows: (4-7-11)(        )

i. Sections 402.2 through 402.3, 403.2.1, 404.1 and Table 402.6; (4-7-11)

ii. Section 405 Simulated Performance Alternative (Performance); or (4-7-11)

iii. REScheck (U.S. Department of Energy Building Codes Program). (4-7-11)

dl. Add Table R402.6 (Table N1102.6) Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope 
Requirements By Component to be used only in accordance with Subparagraph 004.04.b.i. above 
to appear as follows:

TABLE R402.6 
LOG HOME PRESCRIPTIVE THERMAL ENVELOPE REQUIREMENTS BY 

COMPONENT
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(4-7-11)(        )

m. Delete section R404.1 (N1104.1) and replace with the following: Lighting 
equipment (Mandatory). A minimum of fifty percent (50%) of the lamps in permanently installed 
lighting fixtures shall be high-efficacy lamps or a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of the 
permanently installed lighting fixtures shall contain only high efficacy lamps. (        )

05. References to Other Codes. Where any provisions of the codes that are adopted 
in this Section make reference to other construction and safety-related model codes or standards 
which have not been adopted by the involved authority having jurisdiction, to the extent possible, 
such reference should be construed as pertaining to the equivalent code or standard that has been 
duly adopted by such jurisdiction. (3-29-10)

For SI: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.

CLIMATE 
ZONE

FENESTRATI
ON U-

FACTORa

SKYLIG
HT U-

FACTOR

GLAZED 
FENESTRATIO

N
SHGC

CEILING 
R-

VALUE

Min. 
Avera

ge 
LOG 

Size in 
inches

FLOOR
R-

VALUE

BASEME
NT

WALL
R-

VALUEd

SLAB 
R-

VALUE
& 

DEPTH
b

CRAWL 
SPACE 
WALL

R-
VALUEd

5, 6 - High 
efficiency 
equipment 

pathc

0.32 0.60 NR 49 5 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/13

5 0.32 0.60 NR 49 8 30 10/13 10, 2 ft. 10/13

6 0.30 0.60 NR 49 8 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/13

a. The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed fenestration.

b. R-5 shall be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.

c. 90% AFUE natural gas or propane, 84% AFUE oil, or 15 SEER heat pump heating equipment (zonal electric 
resistance heating equipment such as electric base board electric resistance heating equipment as the sole source for 
heating is considered compliant with the high efficiency equipment path).

d. “15/19” means R-15 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-19 cavity insulation 
at the interior of the basement wall. “15/19” shall be permitted to be met with R-13 cavity insulation on the interior of the 
basement wall plus R-5 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home. “10/13” means R-10 
continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity insulation at the interior of the 
basement wall. 
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DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1302

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-4107 and 39-
4109, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 53 through 57.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No fiscal impact to the General Fund or to the Agency, but may in certain situations, result in 
savings to the owner or builder.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 26th day of September, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 39-4107 and 39-4109, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Amendment of the 2012 edition of the International Residential Code was the result of 
negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the 
building industry, local building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other 
interested stakeholders. This amendment will create more flexibility in building residential 
structures by adding an alternate method contractors may use when bracing a one and two-family 
dwelling residential wall by allowing such to be braced in accordance with the APA–Engineered 
Wood Association publication SR-102. This rulemaking would amend the International 
Residential Code by adding an alternate method of bracing walls in one and two-family dwellings 
by including the most recent edition of the APA System Report SR-102 as an additional standard.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

No fiscal impact to the General Fund or to the Agency, but may in certain situations result in 
savings to the owner or builder.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted under Docket No. 07-0301-1301. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate 
Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, 
Vol. 13-5, pages 60 and 61.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 26 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK

http://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2013/05.pdf#page=60


DIVISION OF BUIDLING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0301-1302
Rules of Building Safety PENDING RULE
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

Amendment of the 2012 edition of the International Residential Code was the result of 
negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the 
building industry, local building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other 
interested stakeholders. This amendment will create more flexibility in building residential 
structures by adding an alternate method contractors may use when bracing a one and two-family 
dwelling residential wall by allowing such to be braced in accordance with the APA–Engineered 
Wood Association publication SR-102. This rulemaking would amend the International 
Residential Code by adding an alternate method of bracing walls in one and two-family dwellings 
by including the most recent edition of the APA System Report SR-102 as an additional standard. 
Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, requires the adoption of the above-referenced codes for the state of 
Idaho, and allows the Board to adopt subsequent editions and amendments thereto as it 
determines necessary.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 13th day of August 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
Under the provisions of Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, the codes enumerated in this Section are 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference into IDAPA 07.03.01, “Rules of Building Safety,” 
Division of Building Safety. The effective date of a 2009 edition of any of the codes adopted in 
this Section with any amendments identified thereto shall be January 1, 2011. Until such time, the 
2006 edition of any such code enumerated in this Section without amendment will remain 
effective pursuant to Section 39-4109, Idaho Code. Copies of these documents may be reviewed 
at the office of the Division of Building Safety. The referenced codes may be obtained from 
International Code Council, 5360 Workman Mill Road, Whittier, California 90601-2298 or the 
International Code Council at http://www.iccsafe.org. (3-29-10)

01. International Building Code. 2012 Edition with the following amendments:

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1302
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(4-4-13)

a. Delete footnote (f) contained under Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures, and replace with the following: Drinking fountains are not required for an 
occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer. (4-4-13)

b. Add the following footnote to Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures: (g) For business occupancies, excluding restaurants, and mercantile 
occupancies with an occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer, service sinks shall not be required.

(4-4-13)

02. International Residential Code. 200912 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)(        )

a. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope. (4-7-11)

b. Delete item No. 2 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Fences not over six (6) feet 
(one thousand, eight hundred twenty-nine (1,829) mm) high may be exempted from the 
requirement for a building permit in the absence of any other applicable land use regulations 
governing the installation, height, type or other aspect. (4-7-11)

c. Delete item No. 7 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Prefabricated swimming 
pools that are not greater than four (4) feet (one thousand, two hundred nineteen (1219) mm) 
deep. (4-7-11)

d. Delete IRC section R109.1.3 and replace with the following: Floodplain 
inspections. For construction in areas prone to flooding as established by Table R301.2(1), upon 
placement of the lowest floor, including basement, the building official is authorized to require 
submission of documentation of the elevation of the lowest floor, including basement, required in 
section R322. (3-29-10)

e. IRC Table R302.1 Exterior Walls -- delete the figures contained in the last column 
of the table under the heading Minimum Fire Separation Distance, and replace with the following:

(3-29-10)

f. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R302.2 -- Townhouses, and 
replace with the following: Exception: A common one-hour or two-hour fire resistance rated wall 

Minimum Fire Separation Distance

Walls (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Walls (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet

Projections (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Projections (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet
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assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E 119 or UL 263 is permitted for townhouses if such 
walls do not contain plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents in the cavity of the 
common wall. The wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides and shall extend to and be 
tight against the exterior walls and the underside of the roof sheathing. Penetrations of electrical 
outlet boxes shall be in accordance with section R302.4. (3-29-10)

g. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R313.1 -- Townhouse automatic 
fire sprinkler systems, and replace with the following: Exception: Automatic residential fire 
sprinkler systems shall not be required in townhouses where a two-hour fire-resistance rated wall 
is installed between dwelling units or when additions or alterations are made to existing 
townhouses that do not have an automatic residential fire sprinkler system installed. (3-29-10)

h. Delete IRC section R313.2. (3-29-10)

i. Add the following to IRC section R315.2 - Where required in existing dwellings: 
Exceptions: 1. Work involving the exterior surfaces of dwellings, such as, but not limited to, 
replacement of roofing or siding, or the addition or replacement of windows or doors, or the 
addition of a porch or deck or electrical permits, are exempt from the requirements of this section; 
and 2. Installation, alteration or repairs of noncombustion plumbing or mechanical systems are 
exempt from the requirements of this section. (4-4-13)

j. Delete IRC section R322.1.10. (3-29-10)

k. Delete IRC section R322.2.2 paragraph 2.2, and replace with the following: The 
total net area of all openings shall be at least one (1) square inch (645 mm2) for each square foot 
(0.093 m2) of enclosed area, or the opening shall be designed and the construction documents 
shall include a statement that the design and installation of the openings will provide for 
equalization of hydrostatic flood forces on exterior walls by allowing the automatic entry and exit 
of floodwaters. (3-29-10)

l. Delete IRC section R602.10 and replace with the following: Wall bracing. 
Buildings shall be braced in accordance with this section or, when applicable section R602.12, or 
the most current edition of APA System Report SR-102 as an alternate method. Where a building, 
or portion thereof, does not comply with one (1) or more of the bracing requirements in this 
section, those portions shall be designated and constructed in accordance with section R301.1.

(        )

lm. Delete section N1102.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

03. International Existing Building Code. 2012 Edition. (4-4-13)

04. International Energy Conservation Code. 2009 Edition with the following 
amendments. (4-7-11)

a. Add the following footnote to the title of Table 402.1.1 - Insulation and 
Fenestration Requirements by Component: k. For residential log home building thermal envelope 
construction requirements see section 402.6. (4-7-11)
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b. Delete section 402.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

c. Add the following section: 402.6 Residential Log Home Thermal Envelope. 
Residential log home construction shall comply with sections 401 (General), 402.4 (Air Leakage), 
402.5 (Maximum Fenestration U-Factor and SHGC), 403.1 (Controls), 403.2.2 (Sealing), 403.2.3 
(Building Cavities), sections 403.3 through 403.9 (referred to as the mandatory provisions), 
Section 404 (Electrical Power and Lighting Systems), and either Subparagraph 004.04.b.i., ii., or 
iii. as follows: (4-7-11)

i. Sections 402.2 through 402.3, 403.2.1, 404.1 and Table 402.6; (4-7-11)

ii. Section 405 Simulated Performance Alternative (Performance); or (4-7-11)

iii. REScheck (U.S. Department of Energy Building Codes Program). (4-7-11)

d. Add Table 402.6 Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope Requirements By 
Component to be used only in accordance with Subparagraph 004.04.b.i. above to appear as 
follows:

TABLE 402.6 
LOG HOME PRESCRIPTIVE THERMAL ENVELOPE REQUIREMENTS BY 

COMPONENT

: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.
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0.32 0.60 NR 49 5 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10

0.32 0.60 NR 49 8 30 10/13 10, 2 ft. 10

0.30 0.60 NR 49 8 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10
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(4-7-11)

05. References to Other Codes. Where any provisions of the codes that are adopted 
in this Section make reference to other construction and safety-related model codes or standards 
which have not been adopted by the involved authority having jurisdiction, to the extent possible, 
such reference should be construed as pertaining to the equivalent code or standard that has been 
duly adopted by such jurisdiction. (3-29-10)

The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed fenestration.

R-5 shall be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.

90% AFUE natural gas or propane, 84% AFUE oil, or 15 SEER heat pump heating equipment (zonal electric resistance he
ent such as electric base board electric resistance heating equipment as the sole source for heating is considered complia

e high efficiency equipment path).

“15/19” means R-15 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-19 cavity insulation at the in
basement wall. “15/19” shall be permitted to be met with R-13 cavity insulation on the interior of the basement wall plus R-5
uous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home. “10/13” means R-10 continuous insulated sheathing on the
r or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity insulation at the interior of the basement wall. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-4107 and 39-
4109, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 58 through 62.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No impact to the General Fund. Amendment to the International Residential Code would 
result in decreases in costs to operators of owner-occupied lodging houses (bed and breakfast 
property) as a result of the elimination of fire sprinkler requirements in those with three or fewer 
guestrooms. No significant additional costs of conformance with the newer edition of the code 
were brought forward in discussions before the Board.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 26th day of September, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 39-4107 and 39-4109, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Amendment of the 2012 edition of the International Residential Code was the result of 
negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the 
building industry, local building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other 
interested stakeholders. This amendment will allow owner-occupied lodging house occupancies 
(bed and breakfasts) with three or fewer guestrooms to be constructed or remodeled in accordance 
with the Residential Code instead of the commercial Building Code, and allow such to be 
operated without the installation of fire sprinklers. It will, however, require that smoke and carbon 
monoxide alarms be installed. This is expected to be a cost saving to owners of such occupancies 
who reside in them, relieving them from having to install fire sprinklers and comply with other 
requirements of the commercial Building Code if they are remodeled. This rulemaking would 
amend the International Residential Code to allow owner-occupied lodging house occupancies 
(bed and breakfasts) with three or fewer guestrooms to be constructed or remodeled in accordance 
with the Residential Code instead of the commercial Building Code. It also would allow such bed 
and breakfasts to be operated without the installation of fire sprinklers, but require that smoke and 
carbon monoxide alarms are installed.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

No impact to the General Fund. Amendment to the code would result in decreases in cost to 
operators of owner-occupied lodging houses (bed and breakfast property) as a result of the 
elimination of fire sprinkler requirements in those with three or fewer guestrooms. No significant 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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additional costs of conformance with the newer edition of the code were brought forward in 
discussions before the board.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted under Docket No. 07-0301-1301. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate 
Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, 
Vol. 13-5, pages 60 and 61.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

Amendment of the 2012 edition of the International Residential Code was the result of 
negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the 
building industry, local building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other 
interested stakeholders. This amendment will allow owner-occupied lodging house occupancies 
(bed and breakfasts) with three of fewer guestrooms to be constructed or remodeled in accordance 
with the Residential Code instead of the commercial Building Code, and allow such to be 
operated without the installation of fire sprinklers. It will; however, require that smoke and carbon 
monoxide alarms be installed. This is expected to be a cost saving to owners of such occupancies 
who reside in them, relieving them from having to install fire sprinklers and comply with other 
requirements of the commercial Building Code if they are remodeled. Section 39-4109, Idaho 
Code, requires the adoption of the above-referenced codes for the state of Idaho, and allows the 
Board to adopt subsequent editions and amendments thereto as it determines necessary.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 13th day of August 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
Under the provisions of Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, the codes enumerated in this Section are 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference into IDAPA 07.03.01, “Rules of Building Safety,” 
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Division of Building Safety. The effective date of a 2009 edition of any of the codes adopted in 
this Section with any amendments identified thereto shall be January 1, 2011. Until such time, the 
2006 edition of any such code enumerated in this Section without amendment will remain 
effective pursuant to Section 39-4109, Idaho Code. Copies of these documents may be reviewed 
at the office of the Division of Building Safety. The referenced codes may be obtained from 
International Code Council, 5360 Workman Mill Road, Whittier, California 90601-2298 or the 
International Code Council at http://www.iccsafe.org. (3-29-10)

01. International Building Code. 2012 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)

a. Delete footnote (f) contained under Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures, and replace with the following: Drinking fountains are not required for an 
occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer. (4-4-13)

b. Add the following footnote to Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures: (g) For business occupancies, excluding restaurants, and mercantile 
occupancies with an occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer, service sinks shall not be required.

(4-4-13)

02. International Residential Code. 200912 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)(        )

a. Delete the exception No. 1 contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope.
(4-7-11)(        )

b. Delete exception No. 2 contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope, and replace 
with the following: Owner-occupied lodging houses with three (3) or fewer guestrooms shall be 
permitted to be constructed in accordance with the International Residential Code for One- and 
Two-family Dwellings. Such occupancies shall be required to install smoke alarms and carbon 
monoxide alarms in accordance with sections R314 and R315 respectively of the International 
Residential Code for One- and Two-family Dwellings. (        )

bc. Delete item No. 2 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Fences not over six (6) feet 
(one thousand, eight hundred twenty-nine (1,829) mm) high may be exempted from the 
requirement for a building permit in the absence of any other applicable land use regulations 
governing the installation, height, type or other aspect. (4-7-11)

cd. Delete item No. 7 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Prefabricated swimming 
pools that are not greater than four (4) feet (one thousand, two hundred nineteen (1219) mm) 
deep. (4-7-11)

de. Delete IRC section R109.1.3 and replace with the following: Floodplain 
inspections. For construction in areas prone to flooding as established by Table R301.2(1), upon 
placement of the lowest floor, including basement, the building official is authorized to require 
submission of documentation of the elevation of the lowest floor, including basement, required in 
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section R322. (3-29-10)

ef. IRC Table R302.1 Exterior Walls -- delete the figures contained in the last column 
of the table under the heading Minimum Fire Separation Distance, and replace with the following:

(3-29-10)

fg. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R302.2 -- Townhouses, and 
replace with the following: Exception: A common one-hour or two-hour fire resistance rated wall 
assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E 119 or UL 263 is permitted for townhouses if such 
walls do not contain plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents in the cavity of the 
common wall. The wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides and shall extend to and be 
tight against the exterior walls and the underside of the roof sheathing. Penetrations of electrical 
outlet boxes shall be in accordance with section R302.4. (3-29-10)

gh. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R313.1 -- Townhouse automatic 
fire sprinkler systems, and replace with the following: Exception: Automatic residential fire 
sprinkler systems shall not be required in townhouses where a two-hour fire-resistance rated wall 
is installed between dwelling units or when additions or alterations are made to existing 
townhouses that do not have an automatic residential fire sprinkler system installed. (3-29-10)

hi. Delete IRC section R313.2. (3-29-10)

ij. Add the following to IRC section R315.2 - Where required in existing dwellings: 
Exceptions: 1. Work involving the exterior surfaces of dwellings, such as, but not limited to, 
replacement of roofing or siding, or the addition or replacement of windows or doors, or the 
addition of a porch or deck or electrical permits, are exempt from the requirements of this section; 
and 2. Installation, alteration or repairs of noncombustion plumbing or mechanical systems are 
exempt from the requirements of this section. (4-4-13)

jk. Delete IRC section R322.1.10. (3-29-10)

kl. Delete IRC section R322.2.2 paragraph 2.2, and replace with the following: The 
total net area of all openings shall be at least one (1) square inch (645 mm2) for each square foot 
(0.093 m2) of enclosed area, or the opening shall be designed and the construction documents 
shall include a statement that the design and installation of the openings will provide for 
equalization of hydrostatic flood forces on exterior walls by allowing the automatic entry and exit 
of floodwaters. (3-29-10)

lm. Delete section N1102.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-

Minimum Fire Separation Distance

Walls (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Walls (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet

Projections (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Projections (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet
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burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

03. International Existing Building Code. 2012 Edition. (4-4-13)

04. International Energy Conservation Code. 2009 Edition with the following 
amendments. (4-7-11)

a. Add the following footnote to the title of Table 402.1.1 - Insulation and 
Fenestration Requirements by Component: k. For residential log home building thermal envelope 
construction requirements see section 402.6. (4-7-11)

b. Delete section 402.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

c. Add the following section: 402.6 Residential Log Home Thermal Envelope. 
Residential log home construction shall comply with sections 401 (General), 402.4 (Air Leakage), 
402.5 (Maximum Fenestration U-Factor and SHGC), 403.1 (Controls), 403.2.2 (Sealing), 403.2.3 
(Building Cavities), sections 403.3 through 403.9 (referred to as the mandatory provisions), 
Section 404 (Electrical Power and Lighting Systems), and either Subparagraph 004.04.b.i., ii., or 
iii. as follows: (4-7-11)

i. Sections 402.2 through 402.3, 403.2.1, 404.1 and Table 402.6; (4-7-11)

ii. Section 405 Simulated Performance Alternative (Performance); or (4-7-11)

iii. REScheck (U.S. Department of Energy Building Codes Program). (4-7-11)

d. Add Table 402.6 Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope Requirements By 
Component to be used only in accordance with Subparagraph 004.04.b.i. above to appear as 
follows:

TABLE 402.6 
LOG HOME PRESCRIPTIVE THERMAL ENVELOPE REQUIREMENTS BY 

COMPONENT

I: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.

ATE 
NE

FENESTRATION 
U-FACTORa

SKYLIGHT 
U-

FACTOR

GLAZED 
FENESTRATION

SHGC

CEILING 
R-

VALUE

Min. 
Average 

LOG 
Size in 
inches

FLOOR
R-

VALUE
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WALL

R-VALUEd

SLAB 
R-

VALUE
& 

DEPTH
b

CRA
SPA
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R
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iency 
ment 
thc

0.32 0.60 NR 49 5 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/1
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05. References to Other Codes. Where any provisions of the codes that are adopted 
in this Section make reference to other construction and safety-related model codes or standards 
which have not been adopted by the involved authority having jurisdiction, to the extent possible, 
such reference should be construed as pertaining to the equivalent code or standard that has been 
duly adopted by such jurisdiction. (3-29-10)

5 0.32 0.60 NR 49 8 30 10/13 10, 2 ft. 10/1

6 0.30 0.60 NR 49 8 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/1

The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed fenestration.

R-5 shall be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.

90% AFUE natural gas or propane, 84% AFUE oil, or 15 SEER heat pump heating equipment (zonal electric resistance 
ing equipment such as electric base board electric resistance heating equipment as the sole source for heating is considere
liant with the high efficiency equipment path).

“15/19” means R-15 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-19 cavity insulation at the
ior of the basement wall. “15/19” shall be permitted to be met with R-13 cavity insulation on the interior of the basement wa
R-5 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home. “10/13” means R-10 continuous insulated sheath
e interior or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity insulation at the interior of the basement wall. 
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07.03.01 - RULES OF BUILDING SAFETY

DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1304

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-4107 and 39-
4109, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 63 through 67.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No impact to the General Fund or the jurisdictions enforcing building codes, including the 
Division. Construction savings to builders and property owners was identified by proponents of 
the amendment.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 26th day of September, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 39-4107 and 39-4109, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Amendment of the 2012 edition of the International Residential Code was the result of 
negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the 
building industry, local building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other 
interested stakeholders. This amendment will eliminate a new provision of the IRC which 
requires floors in residences not already fire resistance rated to be enhanced with an additional 
structural fire protection on the underside of the floor assembly. This will be a cost saving to 
builders and property owners by eliminating the additional expense of installing fire protection 
membranes on the floor assemblies. The existence of the original provision in the Residential 
Code prior to amendment is primarily due to the short amount of time that may potentially exist 
for a fire to cause failure in manufactured I-joists which are commonly installed in residences. It 
provided additional protection to firefighters and officials who may be present to provide fire and 
life-safety services during a fire. However, several exceptions to the additional flooring protection 
requirement are already contained under the existing code provision. This rulemaking would 
amend the International Residential Code by deleting a section, including the exceptions thereto, 
that requires floor assemblies in one- and two-family dwellings which are not already fire-
resistance rated to be enhanced by installing additional wallboard, wood or equivalent fire 
protection to the underside of the floor.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

No fiscal impact to the General Fund or the jurisdictions enforcing building codes, including 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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the Division. Construction savings to builders and property owners was identified by proponents 
of the amendment.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted under Docket No. 07-0301-1301. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate 
Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, 
Vol. 13-5, pages 60 and 61.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

Amendment of the 2012 edition of the International Residential Code was the result of 
negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting of members of the 
building industry, local building officials, code development officials, Board members, and other 
interested stakeholders. This amendment will eliminate a new provision of the IRC which 
requires floors in residences not already fire resistance rated to be enhanced with an additional 
structural fire protection on the underside of the floor assembly. This will be a cost saving to 
builders and property owners by eliminating the additional expense of installing fire protection 
membranes on the floor assemblies. The existence of the original provision in the Residential 
Code prior to amendment is primarily due to the short amount of time that may potentially exist 
for a fire to cause failure in manufactured I-joists which are commonly installed in residences. It 
provided additional protection to firefighters and officials who may be present to provide fire and 
life-safety services during a fire. However, several exceptions to the additional flooring protection 
requirement are already contained under the existing code provision. Section 39-4109, Idaho 
Code, requires the adoption of the above-referenced codes for the state of Idaho, and allows the 
Board to adopt subsequent editions and amendments thereto as it determines necessary.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 13th day of August 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1304
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 41 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK

http://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2013/05.pdf#page=60
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/legislative_books/2014/9-13_Memos/070301-01-02-03-04-070301.pdf


DIVISION OF BUIDLING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0301-1304
Rules of Building Safety PENDING RULE
004. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
Under the provisions of Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, the codes enumerated in this Section are 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference into IDAPA 07.03.01, “Rules of Building Safety,” 
Division of Building Safety. The effective date of a 2009 edition of any of the codes adopted in 
this Section with any amendments identified thereto shall be January 1, 2011. Until such time, the 
2006 edition of any such code enumerated in this Section without amendment will remain 
effective pursuant to Section 39-4109, Idaho Code. Copies of these documents may be reviewed 
at the office of the Division of Building Safety. The referenced codes may be obtained from 
International Code Council, 5360 Workman Mill Road, Whittier, California 90601-2298 or the 
International Code Council at http://www.iccsafe.org. (3-29-10)

01. International Building Code. 2012 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)

a. Delete footnote (f) contained under Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures, and replace with the following: Drinking fountains are not required for an 
occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer. (4-4-13)

b. Add the following footnote to Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required 
Plumbing Fixtures: (g) For business occupancies, excluding restaurants, and mercantile 
occupancies with an occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer, service sinks shall not be required.

(4-4-13)

02. International Residential Code. 200912 Edition with the following amendments:
(4-4-13)(        )

a. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope. (4-7-11)

b. Delete item No. 2 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Fences not over six (6) feet 
(one thousand, eight hundred twenty-nine (1,829) mm) high may be exempted from the 
requirement for a building permit in the absence of any other applicable land use regulations 
governing the installation, height, type or other aspect. (4-7-11)

c. Delete item No. 7 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section 
R105.2 - Work exempt from permit, and replace with the following: Prefabricated swimming 
pools that are not greater than four (4) feet (one thousand, two hundred nineteen (1219) mm) 
deep. (4-7-11)

d. Delete IRC section R109.1.3 and replace with the following: Floodplain 
inspections. For construction in areas prone to flooding as established by Table R301.2(1), upon 
placement of the lowest floor, including basement, the building official is authorized to require 
submission of documentation of the elevation of the lowest floor, including basement, required in 
section R322. (3-29-10)

e. IRC Table R302.1 Exterior Walls -- delete the figures contained in the last column 
of the table under the heading Minimum Fire Separation Distance, and replace with the following:
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(3-29-10)

f. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R302.2 -- Townhouses, and 
replace with the following: Exception: A common one-hour or two-hour fire resistance rated wall 
assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E 119 or UL 263 is permitted for townhouses if such 
walls do not contain plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents in the cavity of the 
common wall. The wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides and shall extend to and be 
tight against the exterior walls and the underside of the roof sheathing. Penetrations of electrical 
outlet boxes shall be in accordance with section R302.4. (3-29-10)

g. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R313.1 -- Townhouse automatic 
fire sprinkler systems, and replace with the following: Exception: Automatic residential fire 
sprinkler systems shall not be required in townhouses where a two-hour fire-resistance rated wall 
is installed between dwelling units or when additions or alterations are made to existing 
townhouses that do not have an automatic residential fire sprinkler system installed. (3-29-10)

h. Delete IRC section R313.2. (3-29-10)

i. Add the following to IRC section R315.2 - Where required in existing dwellings: 
Exceptions: 1. Work involving the exterior surfaces of dwellings, such as, but not limited to, 
replacement of roofing or siding, or the addition or replacement of windows or doors, or the 
addition of a porch or deck or electrical permits, are exempt from the requirements of this section; 
and 2. Installation, alteration or repairs of noncombustion plumbing or mechanical systems are 
exempt from the requirements of this section. (4-4-13)

j. Delete IRC section R322.1.10. (3-29-10)

k. Delete IRC section R322.2.2 paragraph 2.2, and replace with the following: The 
total net area of all openings shall be at least one (1) square inch (645 mm2) for each square foot 
(0.093 m2) of enclosed area, or the opening shall be designed and the construction documents 
shall include a statement that the design and installation of the openings will provide for 
equalization of hydrostatic flood forces on exterior walls by allowing the automatic entry and exit 
of floodwaters. (3-29-10)

l. Delete IRC section R501.3 and its exceptions. (        )

lm. Delete section N1102.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

Minimum Fire Separation Distance

Walls (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Walls (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet

Projections (fire-resistance rated): < Three (3) Feet

Projections (not fire-resistance rated): ≥ Three (3) Feet
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03. International Existing Building Code. 2012 Edition. (4-4-13)

04. International Energy Conservation Code. 2009 Edition with the following 
amendments. (4-7-11)

a. Add the following footnote to the title of Table 402.1.1 - Insulation and 
Fenestration Requirements by Component: k. For residential log home building thermal envelope 
construction requirements see section 402.6. (4-7-11)

b. Delete section 402.4.3 and replace with the following: Fireplaces. New wood-
burning fireplaces shall have tight-fitting flue dampers and outdoor combustion air. (4-4-13)

c. Add the following section: 402.6 Residential Log Home Thermal Envelope. 
Residential log home construction shall comply with sections 401 (General), 402.4 (Air Leakage), 
402.5 (Maximum Fenestration U-Factor and SHGC), 403.1 (Controls), 403.2.2 (Sealing), 403.2.3 
(Building Cavities), sections 403.3 through 403.9 (referred to as the mandatory provisions), 
Section 404 (Electrical Power and Lighting Systems), and either Subparagraph 004.04.b.i., ii., or 
iii. as follows: (4-7-11)

i. Sections 402.2 through 402.3, 403.2.1, 404.1 and Table 402.6; (4-7-11)

ii. Section 405 Simulated Performance Alternative (Performance); or (4-7-11)

iii. REScheck (U.S. Department of Energy Building Codes Program). (4-7-11)

d. Add Table 402.6 Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope Requirements By 
Component to be used only in accordance with Subparagraph 004.04.b.i. above to appear as 
follows:

TABLE 402.6 
LOG HOME PRESCRIPTIVE THERMAL ENVELOPE REQUIREMENTS BY 

COMPONENT

I: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.

ATE 
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FENESTRATION 
U-FACTORa
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U-
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CEILING 
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R-VALUEd

SLAB 
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0.32 0.60 NR 49 5 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/1

5 0.32 0.60 NR 49 8 30 10/13 10, 2 ft. 10/1

6 0.30 0.60 NR 49 8 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/1
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(4-7-11)

05. References to Other Codes. Where any provisions of the codes that are adopted 
in this Section make reference to other construction and safety-related model codes or standards 
which have not been adopted by the involved authority having jurisdiction, to the extent possible, 
such reference should be construed as pertaining to the equivalent code or standard that has been 
duly adopted by such jurisdiction. (3-29-10)

The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed fenestration.

R-5 shall be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.

90% AFUE natural gas or propane, 84% AFUE oil, or 15 SEER heat pump heating equipment (zonal electric resistance 
ing equipment such as electric base board electric resistance heating equipment as the sole source for heating is considere
liant with the high efficiency equipment path).

“15/19” means R-15 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-19 cavity insulation at the
ior of the basement wall. “15/19” shall be permitted to be met with R-13 cavity insulation on the interior of the basement wa
R-5 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home. “10/13” means R-10 continuous insulated sheath
e interior or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity insulation at the interior of the basement wall. 
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IDAPA 07 - DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

07.03.11 - RULES GOVERNING MANUFACTURED/MOBILE 
HOME INDUSTRY LICENSING

DOCKET NO. 07-0311-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 44-2104, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 68 through 78.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No impact on the General Fund, and a $2K reduction in revenue to the Manufactured Housing 
account. Favorable impact on individuals who service manufactured or mobile homes and will 
not be required to obtain a license.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 26th day of September, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 44-2104, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

In the 2013 legislative session, the requirement that individuals and companies who provide 
service and repair work on manufactured and mobile homes was eliminated from the 
manufactured home licensing provisions of the Idaho Code. Amendments in this rulemaking will 
eliminate the corresponding rule requirements for manufactured and mobile home service 
companies to obtain a license to perform such work. Additionally, several definitions and terms 
contained in the rule chapter are amended to be more consistent with their statutory definitions.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

No impact on the General Fund, and a $2K reduction in revenue to the Manufactured Housing 
account. Favorable impact on individuals who service manufactured or mobile homes and will 
not be required to obtain a license.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because the rulemaking is simple in nature.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 16th day of August 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The administrator of the Idaho Division of Building Safety and the Idaho Manufactured Housing 
Board are authorized to promulgate rules necessary to implement the provisions of Title 44, 
Chapters 21 and 22, Idaho Code, including the establishment of a mandatory statewide 
manufactured home setup code, as well as to define and prohibit deceptive practices, and to 
establish administrative penalties. (3-29-10)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 07.03.11, “Rules Governing 
Manufactured/Mobile Home Industry Licensing,” Division of Building Safety. (3-24-05)

02. Scope. These rules apply to persons engaged in the business of manufacturing, 
selling, or installing or servicing manufactured or mobile homes for purposes of human habitation 
(living and sleeping) in the state of Idaho. (3-24-05)(        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
The Division may from time to time provide legal opinions regarding these rules. To the extent 
not privileged, these documents will be made available for inspection at the Division's main 
office, 1090 E. Watertower Street., Suite 150, Meridian, Idaho 83642. (3-24-05)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS.
For the purposes of these rules, the following terms will be used, as defined below: (5-25-94)

01. Administrator. The administrator of the Division of Building Safety of the state 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0311-1301
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of Idaho. (3-24-05)

02. Board. The Manufactured Housing Board. The composition and duties of the 
Board are set forth at Section 44-2104, Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

03. Bond. The performance bond required by Section 44-2103, Idaho Code. (5-25-94)

04. Branch Office. An enclosed structure accessible and open to the public, at which 
the business of the manufactured/mobile home retailer is conducted simultaneously with and 
physically separated from his principal place of business. There shall be displayed on the exterior 
a sign permanently affixed to the land or building with letters clearly visible to the major avenue 
of traffic. The sign shall provide the business name of the retailer. (3-29-10)

05. Business. Occupation, profession, or trade. (5-25-94)

06. Deceptive Practice. Intentionally publishing or circulating any advertising 
concerning mobile or manufactured homes which: (5-25-94)

a. Is misleading or inaccurate in any material respect; (3-29-10)

b. Misrepresents any of the products or services sold or provided by a manufacturer, 
manufactured/mobile home retailer, salesman, or service or installation company.(3-29-10)(        )

07. Division. The Division of Building Safety for the state of Idaho. (5-25-94)

08. Installer. A person who owns a business which installs manufactured/mobile 
homes at the sites where they are to be occupied by the consumer. The term does not include the 
purchaser of a manufactured/mobile home or a manufactured/mobile home retailer who does not 
install manufactured/mobile homes. A retailer who does install manufactured/mobile homes is an 
installer. The term also does not include concrete contractors or their employees. (3-29-10)

09. Installation. The term includes “setup” and is the complete operation of fixing in 
place a manufactured/mobile home for occupancy. (5-25-94)

10. Manufactured Home. A structure, constructed after June 15, 1976, in according 
to accordance with the HUD manufactured home construction and safety standards, and is
transportable in one (1) or more sections, which:, (3-24-05)

a. Iin the traveling mode, is eight (8) body feet or more in width or is forty (40) body 
feet or more in length;, or (5-25-94)

b. Wwhen erected on site, is three hundred twenty (320) or more square feet in size;,
and which (5-25-94)

c. Iis built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as a dwelling with or 
without a permanent foundation when connected to the required utilities;, and (5-25-94)

d. Iincludes the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, and electrical systems contained 
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therein;, (5-25-94)

e. Eexcept that such term shall include any structure which meets all the 
requirements of this definition subsection except the size requirements and with respect to which 
the manufacturer voluntarily files a certification required by the secretary of Housing and Urban 
Development and complies with the standards established under 42 U.S.C. Section 5401, et seq.

(5-25-94)(        )

11. Manufactured Home Retailer. Except as otherwise provided in these rules:
(3-29-10)

a. Any person engaged in the business of selling or exchanging new and used units; 
or (5-25-94)

b. Any person or who buys, sells, lists, or exchanges three (3) or more new and used 
units in any one (1) calendar year. (5-25-94)

12. Manufactured/Mobile Home Salesman. Except as otherwise provided in these 
rules: Any person employed by a manufactured/mobile home dealer retailer or resale broker for a 
salary, commission, or compensation of any kind to sell, list, purchase, or exchange or to 
negotiate for the sale, listing, purchase, or exchange of new, used, brokered, or third-party owned
units, except as otherwise provided in Title 44, Chapter 21, Idaho Code. (3-24-05)(        )

13. Manufactured/Mobile Home Service Company. Any person who owns or is the 
responsible managing employee of a business that has grossed more than two thousand five 
hundred dollars ($2,500) in any one (1) year from the service of manufactured or mobile homes. 
The term does not include a manufactured/mobile home retailer or owner. The term also does not 
include licensed electrical or plumbing contractors, carpet and vinyl installers, painting or 
concrete contractors, tape and texture installers, cabinet installers, public utilities, or the 
employees of any of the occupations listed in this sentence. Finally, the term does not include 
manufactured/mobile home installers. (3-29-10)

143. Manufacturer. Any person engaged in the business of manufacturing facility 
which has been certified by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to 
construct prefabricated manufactured homes in accordance with the Manufactured Housing 
Construction Safety Standards Act of 1974 that are offered for sale, lease, or exchange in the state 
of Idaho. (5-25-94)(        )

154. Mobile Home. A factory-assembled structure similar to a manufactured home, but 
built to a mobile home code or structures generally constructed prior to June 15, 1976, the date of 
enactment of the Federal Manufactured Housing and Safety Standards Act (HUD Code), and 
equipped with the necessary service connections and made so as to be readily movable as a unit or 
units on their own running gear and designed to be used as a dwelling unit or units with or without 
a permanent foundation. (5-25-94)(        )

165. Person. A natural person, corporation, partnership, trust, society, club, association, 
or other organization. (5-25-94)
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176. Principal Place of Business. An enclosed structure accessible and open to the 
public The primary physical location at which the business of a manufactured home retailer or 
resale broker is lawfully conducted. eEach of the following requirements are shall be met to 
qualify as the principal place of business: (5-25-94)(        )

a. The business of the manufactured/ or mobile home retailer or resale broker is 
lawfully conducted here; (3-29-10)(        )

b. The office or offices of the retailer or resale broker is or are located here;
(3-29-10)(        )

c. The public may contact the retailer, resale broker, or salesman here;
(3-29-10)(        )

d. The offices are accessible and open to the public; and (        )

de. The greatest portion of the retailer’s business is conducted here. The books and 
other records of a retailer must be kept and maintained at the retailer’s principal place of business 
and be open to inspection during normal business hours by any authorized agent of the Division. 
Moreover, there shall be displayed on the exterior a sign permanently affixed to the land or 
building with letters clearly visible to the major avenue of traffic. The sign shall provide the 
business name of the retailer. (3-29-10)

187. Responsible Managing Employee (RME). The person designated by the 
employer to supervise other employees, either personally or through others. (5-25-94)

19. Service. Service includes, but is not limited to, the installation or repair of 
awnings, roofing, skirting, siding, remodeling, material alterations, attached carports or decks, 
on or in manufactured/mobile homes. (5-25-94)

2018. Unit. A mobile or manufactured home. (5-25-94)

219. Used Manufactured Home or Mobile Home. A manufactured home or mobile 
home, respectively, which has been: (5-25-94)

a. Sold, rented, or leased and occupied prior to or after the sale, rental, or lease; or
(5-25-94)

b. Registered with or been the subject of a certificate of title issued by the Idaho 
Department of Transportation or the appropriate authority of any state, the District of Columbia, 
or foreign state or country. (5-25-94)

011. (RESERVED)

012. LICENSE REQUIRED.
It shall be unlawful to engage in business as a manufacturer, manufactured/mobile home retailer, 
resale broker, manufactured/mobile home salesman, responsible managing employee, or 
manufactured/mobile home service company or installer without being duly licensed by the 
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Division pursuant to Title 44, Chapter 21, Idaho Code, and these rules. No issued licenses are 
transferable. (3-29-10)(        )

01. Minimum Age Requirement. No license will be issued to a person under 
eighteen (18) years of age at the time of license application. (5-25-94)

02. Designated License Holder. Any applicant for a license under these rules who is 
not a natural person must designate a natural person to be license holder and represent the 
corporation, partnership, trust, society, club, association, or other organization for all licensing 
purposes under these rules including, but not limited to, testing and education. (3-24-05)

a. The authorization to act as designated license holder must be in writing, signed by 
the applicant and the person designated, and filed with the Division along with the application.

(5-25-94)

b. Any person designated under Subsection 012.02 of these rules shall represent one 
(1) applicant only, and shall immediately notify the Division in writing if his working relationship 
with the applicant has been terminated. The license will be issued in the name of the designated 
license holder with the name of the organization he represents also noted on the license. The 
license holder shall be considered by the Division to be the licensee, even if the license holder is 
the designated representative of an organization. (5-25-94)

c. The applicant and the person designated under Subsection 012.02 of these rules 
agree by acceptance of the designation that the designated person shall act as agent of the 
applicant for all purposes under Title 44, Chapters 21 and 22, Idaho Code, and all rules 
promulgated thereunder. (5-25-94)

03. Proof of License. Proof of the existence of any license issued pursuant to these 
rules shall be carried upon the person of the responsible managing employee or supervisor of any 
installation or any person who is personally involved with the service of any manufactured/mobile 
home at all times during the performance of the service or installation work. Such proof shall be 
furnished upon demand of any person. Moreover, any license issued to a manufactured/mobile 
home retailer, resale broker, responsible managing employee, or salesman must be posted in a 
conspicuous place on the business premises of the employer for whom the holder of the license is 
licensed. The license of a manufacturing facility or branch office shall also be posted in a 
conspicuous place at the location licensed. (3-29-10)(        )

04. Real Estate Brokers. Licensed real estate brokers or real estate salesmen 
representing licensed real estate brokers shall not be required to obtain a license under these rules 
in order to sell or lease a used unit that is currently carried on the tax rolls as personal property 
and that otherwise falls within the exemption contained in Section 44-2102(2), Idaho Code.

(3-24-05)

05. License for Manufacturers. In order to engage in business in the state of Idaho or 
to be entitled to any other license or permit required by these rules each manufacturer must be 
licensed by the Division. (3-24-05)

06. License for Branch Office of Manufactured/Mobile Home Retailer or Resale 
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Broker. (3-29-10)

a. The Division shall require as a condition of licensing and bonding any information 
it deems necessary for each location where a manufactured/mobile home retailer or resale broker 
maintains a branch office. The mere listing of manufactured/mobile homes for sale does not 
constitute a branch office, but the use of a mobile home park or a state sales office by a licensee 
for the sale or offering for sale of manufactured/mobile homes does constitute the maintenance of 
a branch office. A branch office manager may not manage more than one (1) branch office.

(3-29-10)

b. To open a branch office, a retailer or resale broker must: obtain a license from the 
Division to operate the branch office; and provide for direct supervision of the branch office, 
either by himself or by employing a branch office manager. (3-29-10)

c. If the branch office is closed, the retailer or resale broker shall immediately deliver 
the license to the Division. (3-29-10)

07. License to Engage in Business as Manufactured/Mobile Home Retailer, Resale 
Broker, Manufacturer, Service Company, or Installer; Application; Bond; Issuance, 
Expiration, and Renewal. (3-29-10)(        )

a. Applications for a manufacturer's, retailers, resale brokers, service company or 
installer's license must be filed upon forms supplied by the Division, and the applicant shall 
furnish: (3-29-10)

i. Any proof the Division may deem necessary that the applicant is a manufacturer, 
retailer, resale broker, service company or installer; (3-29-10)(        )

ii. Any proof the Division may require that the applicant has a principal place of 
business; (5-25-94)

iii. Any proof the Division may require of the applicant's good character and 
reputation and of his fitness to engage in the activities for which the license is sought; (5-25-94)

iv. In the case of a retailer in new manufactured homes, an instrument in the form 
prescribed by the Division executed by or on behalf of the manufacturer certifying that the 
applicant is an authorized franchise dealer for the make concerned; (3-29-10)

v. A reasonable fee and proof of bond fixed by rule; and (5-25-94)

vi. In the case of a retailer, resale broker, service company, or installer, proof of 
passing the examination required by these rules. (3-29-10)(        )

b. Within thirty (30) days after receipt of a completed application, the Division shall 
issue or deny the license. (5-25-94)

c. Each license is valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance and may 
be renewed for like consecutive period upon application to and approval by the Division.
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(5-25-94)

d. If any installer’s or service company's working relationship with his employer is 
terminated, the employer shall immediately deliver the license of the terminated installer or 
service company to the Division. (5-25-94)(        )

08. License for Manufactured/Mobile Home Salesman. (5-25-94)

a. A person shall not act as a salesman in this state for a person who sells or leases 
any manufactured/mobile home subject to the provisions of Title 44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho 
Code, without having first received a license from the Division. Before issuing such a license, the 
Division shall require: (1) an application, signed by the applicant and verified by his employer, 
stating that he desires to act as a salesman and providing his residential address and the name and 
address of his employer; (2) a statement as to whether any previous application of the applicant 
has been denied or license revoked; (3) payment of the license fee established by rule; and (4) any 
other relevant information the Division deems necessary. (5-25-94)

b. Within thirty (30) days after receipt of a completed application, the Division shall 
issue or deny the license. (5-25-94)

c. Each license is valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance and may 
be renewed for like consecutive period upon application to and approval by the Division.

(5-25-94)

d. A person licensed pursuant to Subsection 012.08 of these rules shall not engage in 
sales activity other than for the account of, or for and on behalf of, a single employer who is a 
licensed retailer or resale broker. (3-29-10)

e. If a salesman ceases to be employed by a licensed retailer or resale broker, his 
license to act as a salesman is automatically suspended and his right to act in that capacity 
immediately ceases. He shall not engage in such activity until reemployed by a licensed retailer or 
resale broker. If the salesman's working relationship with his employer is terminated, the 
employer shall immediately deliver his license to the Division. (3-29-10)

09. License for Responsible Managing Employee. (5-25-94)

a. A person shall not act as a responsible managing employee for an installer or 
service company without first having been issued a license by the Division. Before issuing such a 
license the Division shall require: (3-29-10)(        )

i. An application, signed by the applicant and verified by his employer, stating that 
he desires to act as a responsible managing employee and providing his residential address and 
the name and address of his employer; (5-25-94)

ii. A statement as to whether any previous application of the applicant has been 
denied or license revoked; (5-25-94)

iii. Payment of the license fee established by rule; and (5-25-94)
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iv. Any other relevant information the Division deems necessary. (5-25-94)

b. Within thirty (30) days after receipt of a completed application, the Division shall 
issue or deny the license. (5-25-94)

c. Each license is valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance and may 
be renewed for like consecutive period upon application to and approval by the Division.

(5-25-94)

d. A person licensed pursuant to Subsection 012.09 of these rules shall not engage in 
such activity other than for the account of, or for and on behalf of, a single employer who is a 
licensed service company or installer. (5-25-94)(        )

e. If a responsible managing employee ceases to be employed by an installer or 
service company, his license to act as a responsible managing employee is automatically 
suspended and his right to act in that capacity immediately ceases. He shall not engage in such 
activity until reemployed by a licensed installer or service company. (3-29-10)(        )

f. If the responsible managing employee's working relationship with his employer is 
terminated, the employer shall immediately deliver his license to the Division. (5-25-94)

013. THE DIVISION'S MAILING ADDRESS.
Any correspondence or notices required by these rules or Title 44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho Code, 
shall be addressed to the Division of Building Safety, 1090 E. Watertower Street., Suite 150
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (3-24-05)(        )

014. PROOF OF EDUCATION REQUIRED.

01. Satisfactory Proof for Initial Application Submission. An application for a 
license as a manufactured/mobile home installer must include proof satisfactory to the Division 
that the applicant has completed the following number of hours of initial education in order to be 
approved: (4-7-11)

a. Installers, and dealers retailers who are installers: eight (8) hours. (4-7-11)(        )

b. The course of initial education must be approved by the Division and shall include 
information relating to the provisions of these rules, Title 44, Chapters 21 and 22, Idaho Code, 
and the Manufactured Housing Construction Safety Standards Act of 1974. (4-7-11)

02. Satisfactory Proof for License Renewal. The Division shall not renew any 
installer license, or dealer retailer license of any dealer who is also an installer, issued pursuant to 
Title 44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho Code, or these rules until the licensee has submitted proof 
satisfactory to the Division that he has, during one (1) year immediately preceding the renewal of 
the license, completed at least four (4) hours of continuing education. (4-7-11)(        )

03. Continuing Education Course. The course of continuing education must be 
approved by the Division and shall include information relating to the following: (4-7-11)
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a. Manufactured housing or mobile home parks which will enable a person to give 
better service to the members of the general public and tenants of manufactured/mobile home 
parks; (4-7-11)

b. The construction, including components and accessories, rebuilding, servicing, 
installation, or sale of manufactured/mobile homes; (4-7-11)

c. Legislative issues concerning manufactured/mobile home housing and 
manufactured/mobile home parks, including pending and recently enacted state or federal 
legislation; and (4-7-11)

d. These rules, Title 44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho Code, and the Manufactured 
Housing Safety Standards Act of 1974. (4-7-11)

015. EXAMINATION OF APPLICANT FOR LICENSE.

01. Required Examinations. Effective January 1, 1995, the Division shall require a 
written examination of each applicant for a license, other than a license being renewed, as a 
manufactured/mobile home retailer, resale broker, service company or installer. The examination 
shall include, but may not be limited to, the following subjects: Title 44, Chapters 21 and 22, 
Idaho Code; these rules and IDAPA 07.03.12, “Rules Governing Manufactured or Mobile Home 
Installations”; and the Manufactured Housing Construction Safety Standards Act of 1974. To 
avoid the requirement of an examination and be considered a renewal, any licensee must renew 
his license within six (6) months of its expiration date. (3-29-10)(        )

02. Approval of Examination and Grade. Examinations for all classifications under 
these rules shall be approved by the Division and the Board. No license shall be issued unless the 
applicant receives a final grade of seventy percent (70%) or higher. (5-25-94)

03. Retesting. If an applicant for a license fails the written examination offered by the 
Division twice, he must wait at least thirty (30) days before retesting. (5-25-94)

016. DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST LICENSEES.
The Division may deny, suspend, refuse to renew, or revoke any license issued under Title 44, 
Chapter 21, Idaho Code, or these rules or reissue the license subject to reasonable conditions upon 
any of the following grounds: (3-24-05)

01. Violation of Rules and Statutes. For any willful or repeated violation of these 
rules, IDAPA 07.03.12, “Rules Governing Manufactured or Mobile Home Installations,” or Title 
44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho Code. (3-29-10)

02. Failure to Have Principal Place of Business. With regards only to a 
manufactured/mobile home retailer or resale broker, failure of the applicant or licensee to have a 
principal place of business. (3-29-10)

03. Revocation of License. The revocation of the license of the employer of a 
responsible managing employee or salesman is grounds for the revocation of the license of the 
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installer, responsible managing employee or salesman. (3-29-10)

04. False Information. Material misstatement in the application or otherwise 
furnishing false information to the Division. (5-25-94)

05. Proof of Employment. Failure of a salesman or applicant for licensing as a 
salesman to establish by proof satisfactory to the Division that he is employed by a licensed 
retailer or resale broker. (3-29-10)

06. Disclosing Contents of Examination. Obtaining or disclosing the contents of an 
examination given by the Division. (5-25-94)

07. Deceptive Practice. The intentional publication, circulation, or display of any 
advertising which constitutes a deceptive practice as that term is defined in Subsection 010.06 of 
these rules. (3-24-05)

08. Failure to Provide Business Name. Failure to include in any advertising the name 
of the licensed retailer, resale broker, service company, or installer, or the name under which he is 
doing business. (3-29-10)(        )

09. Encouraging Falsification. Intentionally inducing an applicant or licensee to 
falsify his credit application. (5-25-94)

10. Poor Workmanship. Performing workmanship which is grossly incompetent or 
repeatedly below the standards adopted by Title 44, Chapters 21 and 22, these rules, IDAPA 
07.03.12, “Rules Governing Manufactured or Mobile Home Installations,” the Federal 
Manufactured Housing and Safety Standards Act of 1974, or the latest Idaho adopted editions of 
the International Building Code, the National Electrical Code, the Uniform Plumbing Code, and 
the International Mechanical Code, then in effect. (3-29-10)

11. Installation Supervisor Required. Failure to have a licensed responsible 
managing employee personally supervise any installation or service of a manufactured/mobile 
home. (3-29-10)(        )

12. Failure of Organizations to License its Employees. Failure of an organization to 
have its employees maintain any license as required by these rules. (3-24-05)

13. Failure to Honor Warranties. Failure to honor any warranty or other guarantee 
given by a licensee for construction, workmanship, or material as a condition of securing a 
contract, or of selling, leasing, reconstructing, improving, repairing, or installing any 
manufactured/mobile home, or accessory structure. (3-29-10)

14. Revocation or Denial of License. Revocation or denial of a license issued 
pursuant to these rules or an equivalent license by any other state or U.S. territory. (3-29-10)

15. Failure to Maintain Any Required License. Failure of the licensee to maintain 
any other license required by any city or county of this state. (5-25-94)
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16. Failure to Respond to Notice. Failure to respond to a notice served by the 
Division as provided by law within the time specified in the notice. (5-25-94)

17. Failure to Permit Access to Documentary Materials. Failure or refusing to 
permit access by the Division to relevant documentary materials after being requested to do so by 
the Division. (5-25-94)

18. Conviction of Misdemeanor. Conviction of a misdemeanor for violation of any of 
the provisions of Title 44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho Code. (5-25-94)

19. Conviction of Felony. Conviction or withheld judgment for a felony in this state, 
any U.S. territory, or country. (3-29-10)

20. Dealing with Stolen Manufactured or Mobile Homes. To knowingly purchase, 
sell, or otherwise acquire or dispose of a stolen manufactured or mobile home. (5-25-94)

21. Violation of Permit or Inspection Requirements. To knowingly violate any 
permit or inspection requirements of any city or county of this state. (5-25-94)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

019. FEES.

01. Fees for Issuance and Renewal of License. The following fees for the issuance 
and renewal of a license will be charged, and no application for licensing pursuant to these rules 
will be accepted by the Division unless it is accompanied by the appropriate fee: (5-25-94)

a. Manufactured/mobile home retailer or resale broker’s license: four hundred forty 
dollars ($440). Retailers who are also installers will not have to pay an installer's license fee in 
order to hold both licenses. (3-29-10)

b. Manufacturer license: four hundred forty dollars ($440); (3-24-05)

c. Manufactured/mobile home service company or installer license: two hundred 
twenty dollars ($220); (3-29-10)(        )

d. Manufactured/mobile home salesman's license: forty-five dollars ($45). (3-24-05)

e. Responsible managing employee license: forty-five dollars ($45). (3-29-10)

02. Performance Bonding Requirements. No application for licensing pursuant to 
these rules shall be accepted unless it is accompanied by evidence of the following performance 
bond: (3-24-05)

a. Manufacturer: twenty thousand dollar ($20,000) bond; (5-25-94)
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b. Manufactured/mobile home retailer: twenty thousand dollar ($20,000) bond;
(3-29-10)

c. Manufactured/mobile home resale broker: thirty thousand dollar ($30,000) bond;
(3-29-10)

d. Manufactured/mobile home service company or installer: five thousand dollar 
($5,000) bond. Retailers who are also installers will not be required to post an installer's bond in 
order to hold both licenses. (3-29-10)(        )

e. Responsible managing employee. No bond. (3-29-10)

03. Money or Securities Deposit in Lieu of Performance Bond. A money or 
securities deposit shall be accepted by the Division in lieu of the performance bonding 
requirement as set forth at Title 44, Chapter 21, Idaho Code, and Subsection 019.02 of these rules, 
under the following circumstances: (3-29-10)

a. Any such money or securities deposit shall be in a principal sum equal to the face 
amount of the performance bond required for the applicable licensing category; (3-29-10)

b. Any such money deposit shall be deposited in a time certificate of deposit which 
provides on its face that the principal amount of such certificate of deposit shall be payable to the 
Division upon presentment and surrender of the instrument; (7-1-96)

c. Any such time certificate of deposit shall have a maturity date of one (1) year from 
the effective date of licensure and shall have an automatic renewal provision for subsequent years;

(7-1-96)

d. Any such time certificate of deposit shall be provided to the Division at the time of 
application for licensure and shall be retained by the Division during the effective period of 
licensure unless otherwise expended by the Division to insure completion of the licensee's 
performance; (7-1-96)

e. Any such time certificate of deposit shall be returned to an unsuccessful applicant 
for licensure; (7-1-96)

f. The principal amount of any such time certificate of deposit, to the extent not 
otherwise expended to insure completion of the licensee's performance, shall be returned to the 
depositor by the Division on or before ninety (90) days subsequent to the occurrence of any of the 
following events: voluntary surrender or return of a license; expiration of a license; lapse of a 
license; or revocation or suspension of a license; and (7-1-96)

g. Any interest income earned by reason of the principal amount of the time 
certificate of deposit shall be the property of the licensee. (7-1-96)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

022. CIVIL PENALTIES.
The following acts shall subject the violator to penalties based on the following schedule:

(3-29-10)

01. Industry Licensing. Except as provided for by Section 44-2106, Idaho Code, any 
person who engages in the business of a manufacturer, retailer, resale broker, salesman, installer, 
service company, or responsible managing employee (RME) as defined in Section 44-2101A, 
Idaho Code, without being duly licensed by the Division shall be subject to a civil penalty of not 
more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-29-10)(        )

02. Deceptive Practice. In accordance with Section 44-2106(2), Idaho Code, any 
retailer, resale broker, installer, salesman, service company, or RME who intentionally publishes 
or circulates any advertising that is misleading or inaccurate in any material respect or that 
misrepresents any of the products or service sold or provided by a manufacturer, retailer, resale 
broker, installer, service company, or RME, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than five 
hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand 
dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-29-10)(        )

03. Dealing with Stolen Manufactured or Mobile Homes. In accordance with 
Section 44-2106(2), Idaho Code, any person who knowingly purchases, sells, or otherwise 
acquires or disposes of a stolen manufactured or mobile home shall be subject to a civil penalty of 
not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). (3-29-10)

04. Failure to Maintain a Principal Place of Business. In accordance with Section 
44-2106(2), Idaho Code, any person who is a retailer or resale broker duly licensed by the 
Division and who fails to maintain a principal place of business within Idaho, shall be subject to a 
civil penalty of not more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense and a civil penalty 
of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-29-10)

05. Violation of Rules and Statutes. Any person who knowingly violates any of the 
provisions of these rules, IDAPA 07.03.12, “Rules Governing Manufactured or Mobile Home 
Installations,” or the provisions of Title 44, Chapters 21 or 22, Idaho Code, shall be subject to a 
civil penalty of five hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense and one thousand dollars ($1,000) 
for each offense thereafter. (3-29-10)

06. Gross Violation. In case of continued, repeated, or gross violations of these rules 
or IDAPA 07.03.12, “Rules Governing Manufactured or Mobile Home Installations,” a license 
revocation may be initiated for licensed individuals under Title 44, Chapter 21, Idaho Code. Non-
licensed individuals shall be subject to prosecution by the appropriate jurisdiction under Idaho 
law. (3-29-10)

07. Judicial Review. Any party aggrieved by the final action of the Administrator 
shall be entitled to a judicial review thereof in accordance with the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 
52, Idaho Code. (3-29-10)
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IDAPA 07 - DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

07.05.01 - RULES OF THE PUBLIC WORKS CONTRACTORS LICENSE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 07-0501-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1907 and 54-
1910, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 52 through 55.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 24th day of October, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 54-1907 and 54-1910, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Current rule requires that an applicant for licensure as a public works contractor submit a 
written application accompanied by a notarization. This rulemaking will provide flexibility to the 
administrator to accept applications submitted via electronic means other than facsimile. In 
accordance with the statutory requirement applicants will still be required to submit a sworn 
statement or attestation as to the truthfulness and accuracy of the information provided in the 
application. It also clarifies that an extension of time in which to renew a license shall be granted 
only until such time as the application is acted upon by the administrator. The rulemaking would 
clarify that acceptable formats for communications with the Division and applications for public 
works contractor licensure include electronic submissions by an applicant. It also provides that an 
extension of time in which to renew a license shall authorize operation as a licensed contractor 
only until such time as the administrator completes action on the renewal application.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: None.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because this rulemaking is administrative in nature and provides 
the Division with the ability to accept and process applications for licenses electronically via an 
on-line method.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

100. BOARD OFFICE -- LOCATION, HOURS, MAILING ADDRESS, TELEPHONE 
NUMBER, FACSIMILE NUMBER.
The address of the Board office, and its mailing address, is 1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150,
Meridian, Idaho 83642. Office hours are from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m., daily. The office is closed on 
weekends and holidays. The Board telephone number is (208) 334-4057, and the facsimile 
number is (208) 855-9666. (3-20-04)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

102. COMMUNICATION.
All written communications, forms and documents concerning any matter covered by the Act or 
these rules shall be addressed to the administrator and not to members of the Board or staff. All 
communications are deemed officially received only when delivered to the Board office of the 
administrator. Documents may be submitted by facsimile but not by other in electronic or 
computerized means format acceptable to the administrator. (3-20-04)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

105. LICENSE RENEWAL -- FILING DEADLINES; PETITIONS FOR EXTENSION 
OF TIME TO FILE; LAPSED LICENSES.

01. Filing Deadline. Applications for renewal of a license shall be filed by the last 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0501-1301
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working day of the month in which the license expires. (3-20-04)

02. Extension of Time. A petition for an extension of time in which to renew shall be 
filed by the last working day of the month in which the license expires. The petition shall be 
accompanied by a fee in the amount of the prorated portion of the annual license fee for the class 
of license applied for, with a minimum fee of at least fifty dollars ($50). The fee for this service is 
required in addition to the licensing and renewal fees provided for in Section 201 of these rules 
and shall be paid to the Division at the time of application for licensure. Petitions not 
accompanied by the required fees or filed after the license has expired will not be honored.

(3-21-12)

i. The petition shall specify the number of days for which the extension is being 
requested. (3-20-04)

ii. Under no circumstances shall an extension exceed sixty (60) days. Petitions for 
more than sixty (60) days will not be honored. (3-20-04)

03. Approval of Petition. Approval of a petition for an extension of time shall 
authorize operation as a contractor until actual issuance of such the administrator completes 
action on the renewal license for the ensuing licensing period application, provided the 
application for renewal is filed with the Board within the extended time specified.

(3-19-99)(        )

04. Failure to File. If the licensee fails to file a timely application for renewal or 
petition for extension, the license shall lapse and expire on the last day of the license period. 
Licenses not renewed in a timely manner shall be considered delinquent for a period of one (1) 
year from the last day of the license period and may be renewed at any time during that year. 
Licenses delinquent for more than a period of one (1) year must be reinstated and the applicant for 
reinstatement must apply as if for a new license. (3-20-04)

05. Expedited Licensure. Upon an applicant’s request and payment of a fee of one 
hundred dollars ($100), the Division shall expedite its review and determination of a license 
application. The fee for this service is required in addition to the licensing and renewal fees 
provided for in Section 201 of these rules and shall be paid to the Division at the time of 
application for licensure. (3-21-12)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

110. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE -- DOCUMENTATION; APPRAISALS; 
REFERENCES; BONDING; AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

01. Application Documentation. To obtain a license, the applicant shall submit to the 
administrator, on such forms and in a format as the administrator shall prescribe, including 
electronically, accompanied by the required fee for the class of license applied for, a complete
written, notarized application for such license. All of the information submitted by the applicant 
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shall specifically pertain to work that is similar in scope and value to that for which licensure is 
being requested or which is being requested in a petition to change or add types of construction. 
The information contained in such application forms shall include: (3-20-04)(        )

a. A complete statement of the general nature of applicant's contracting business, 
including a concise description of the applicant's experience and qualifications as a contractor and 
a list of clients for whom work has been performed; (3-20-04)

b. A description of the value and character of contract work completed and for whom 
performed during the three (3) year period prior to filing the application; (3-20-04)

c. A general description of applicant's machinery and equipment; and (3-30-07)

d. An annual financial statement, as herein defined, that covers a period of time 
ending no more than twelve (12) months prior to the date of submission of the application, 
indicating compliance with such financial requirements as the Board may prescribe by rule. The 
applicant’s financial statement may be supplemented with: (4-4-13)

i. Bonding. As authorized by Section 54-1910(e), Idaho Code, a letter from 
applicant's bonding company, not an insurance agent, stating the amount of the applicant's 
bonding capability per project and in the aggregate, including supporting documentation;

(3-30-07)

ii. Guaranty. Documentation, satisfactory to the administrator, of the existence of a 
written guaranty agreement between the applicant and a third-party in which the third-party 
guarantor agrees to assume financial responsibility for payment of any obligations of the 
applicant for any particular project as may be determined by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
The guaranty agreement, along with financial statements meeting the requirements of Paragraph 
110.01.e. of this rule, shall be submitted with the license application. (3-30-07)

e. For Class A, AA, AAA, and Unlimited license applications, financial statements 
shall be accompanied by an independent auditor’s report or be reviewed. For Class B and CC 
license applications, financial statements must be accompanied by an independent audit report or 
be reviewed or compiled by a certified public accountant. For Class C and Class D license 
applications, financial statements must be accompanied by an independent audit report or be 
reviewed, compiled, or on the form provided by the administrator, and include such additional 
information as may be required by the administrator to determine the applicant's fitness for a 
license. (3-27-13)

f. The name, social security number, and business address of an individual applicant 
or, if the applicant is a partnership, its tax identification number, business address, and the names 
and addresses of all general partners; and if the applicant is a corporation, association, limited 
liability company, limited liability partnership, or other organization, its tax identification number, 
business address, and the names and addresses of the president, vice president, secretary, 
treasurer, and chief construction managing officers, or responsible managing employee.

(3-20-04)

g. Applicants requesting a licensing class higher than that for which the applicant is 
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currently licensed shall provide documentation, satisfactory to the administrator, of having 
performed projects, similar in scope and character to those for which license is requested. The 
monetary value of those jobs must fall within a range not less thatn thirty percent (30%) below 
that for which the applicant is currently licensed. (4-11-06)(        )

02. Application for Change in Licensing Class. Requests for a licensing class higher 
than that for which the applicant is currently licensed shall be accompanied by the information in 
Subsection 110.01 of these rules, and the applicable fee. Licenses granted under Subsection 
110.02 of these rules shall be valid for a period of twelve (12) months from the date of issuance.

(4-11-06)

03. Extension of Time to File Financial Statement. The administrator may grant an 
extension of time to file the annual financial statement if the licensee provides an interim 
compiled balance sheet and income statement for the applicant’s fiscal year-to-date, duly certified 
as true by the applicant, and if a partnership, limited liability company, or limited liability 
partnership by a member thereof, and if a corporation, by its executive or financial officer. Such 
renewal application shall be filed prior to the first day of such renewal licensing period. In the 
event an extension is granted, the renewal license shall be valid for a period of twelve (12) months 
from the date of the issuance of the renewal license. (3-20-04)

04. Appraisals. The administrator may require submission of an independent 
appraisal of any real or chattel property reported by an applicant or licensee. Such appraisals shall 
be conducted by a disinterested person or firm established and qualified to perform such services.

(3-20-04)

05. References. The administrator may require an applicant for an original or renewal 
license to furnish such personal, business, character, financial, or other written references as 
deemed necessary and advisable in determining the applicant’s qualifications. (3-20-04)
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DOCKET NO. 07-0701-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-5001, 54-
5004(1) and 54-5005(2), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 56 through 60.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

No impact to the general fund; some increased short-term costs to the Division and 
jurisdictions enforcing the codes for obtaining new code materials and training of inspectors. No 
significant additional costs to the industry of conformance with the new editions of the codes 
were brought forward in discussions before the Board.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 
332-8986.

DATED this 24th day of October, 2013.

Steve Keys
Deputy Administrator - Operations
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83720-0048
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Phone: (208) 332-8986
Fax: 1-877-810-2840

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 54-5001, 54-5004(1) and 54-5005(2), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The HVAC codes published by the International Code Council are adopted by the state of 
Idaho pursuant to Idaho Code and they represent the standards by which all HVAC installations 
are made throughout the state. Currently, the 2009 editions of the codes are used as the standard; 
however, newer versions have been published in the form of the 2012 editions and would be 
adopted with this rulemaking. Adoption and amendment of the 2012 editions of the HVAC codes 
was the result of negotiated rulemaking and the deliberations of a collaborative group consisting 
of members of the HVAC and building industry, local building officials, code development 
officials, board members, and other interested stakeholders. This rulemaking adopts the 2012 
editions of the International Mechanical Code, the International Fuel Gas Code, and Parts V and 
VI of the International Residential Code related to HVAC installations. Amendments to the 
International Mechanical Code and International Residential Code reflect changes agreed to in the 
course of developing a consensus among stakeholders. Amendments include an exception relating 
to the gauge of sheet metal in certain circumstances and related amendments for the support of 
such exhaust ducts. Additionally, amendments are made providing alternative prescriptive 
methods addressing the methodology for satisfying make-up air ventilation requirements. Finally, 
existing amendments providing alternatives to equipment sizing requirements are also eliminated.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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No impact to the general fund; some increased short-term costs to the Division and 
jurisdictions enforcing the codes for obtaining new code materials and training of inspectors. No 
significant additional costs to the industry of conformance with the new editions of the codes 
were brought forward in discussions before the Board.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-5, pages 62 and 63.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

The HVAC codes published by the International Code Council are adopted by the State of 
Idaho pursuant to Idaho Code, and they represent the standards by which all HVAC installations 
are made throughout the state. Currently, the 2009 editions of the codes are used as the standard; 
however, newer versions have been published in the form of the 2012 editions. This rulemaking 
adopts the 2012 editions of the International Mechanical Code, the International Fuel Gas Code, 
and Parts V and VI of the International Residential Code related to HVAC installations, with 
amendments. Section 54-5001, Idaho Code, requires the adoption of the above-referenced codes 
for the state of Idaho, and allows the Board to adopt subsequent editions and amendments thereto 
as it determines necessary.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Steve 
Keys, Deputy Administrator - Operations, at (208) 332-8986.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 23rd day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF THE 
INTERNATIONAL MECHANICAL CODE, 200912 EDITION.

01. International Mechanical Code. The 200912 Edition, including appendix “A,” 
(herein IMC) is adopted and incorporated by reference with the following amendments:

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0701-1301
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(4-7-11)(        )

a. Where differences occur between the IMC and Title 54, Chapter 50, Idaho Code 
and IDAPA 07, Title 07, the provisions in Idaho Code and IDAPA rules shall apply. (4-11-06)

b. All references to the International Plumbing Code (IPC) shall be construed as 
referring to the Uniform Idaho State Plumbing Code (UISPC) as adopted and amended by the 
Idaho State Plumbing Board. (4-11-06)(        )

c. All references to the International Code Council Electrical Code (ICC EC) shall be 
construed as referring to the National Electrical Code (NEC) as adopted and amended by the 
Idaho State Electrical Board. (4-11-06)

d. Section 109. Delete. (7-1-10)

e. Section 312. Sizing requirements shall be as established by the authority having 
jurisdiction. (4-11-06)

fe. Section 401.1 Scope. Add the following: Exception: The principles specified in 
ASHREA 62-2010 may be used as an alternative to this chapter to demonstrate compliance with 
required ventilation air for occupants. (4-7-11)

f. Section 504.6.1 Material and size. Add the following exception: Dryer duct may 
be constructed of 0.013 (30 gage) or equivalent if prefabricated 0.016 (28 gage) ducts and fittings 
are not available. (        )

g. Table 603.4 Duct Construction Minimum Sheet Metal Thickness for Single 
Dwelling Units. Add the following exception to the Table: Round duct, enclosed rectangular ducts 
and fittings less than fourteen (14) inches may be constructed of 0.013 (30 gage) or equivalent if 
prefabricated 0.016 (28 gage) ducts and fittings are not available. (        )

02. Availability of the International Mechanical Code. The 200912 Edition is 
available at the Division of Building Safety offices located at 1090 E. Watertower St., Suite 150, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642, 1250 Ironwood Dr., Ste. 220, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814, and 2055 
Garrett Way, Building 1, Suite 4, Pocatello, Idaho 83201. (4-7-11)(        )

005. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF THE 
INTERNATIONAL FUEL GAS CODE, 200912 EDITION.

01. International Fuel Gas Code. The 200912 Edition, including appendixes “A, B, 
C, and D,” (herein IFGC) is adopted and incorporated by reference with the following 
amendments: (4-7-11)(        )

a. Where differences occur between the IFGC and Title 54, Chapter 50, Idaho Code 
and IDAPA 07, Title 07, the provisions in Idaho Code and IDAPA rules shall apply. (4-11-06)

b. All references to the International Plumbing Code (IPC) shall be construed as 
referring to the Uniform Idaho State Plumbing Code (UISPC) as adopted and amended by the 
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Idaho State Plumbing Board. (4-11-06)(        )

c. All references to the International Code Council Electrical Code (ICC EC) shall be 
construed as referring to the National Electrical Code (NEC) as adopted and amended by the 
Idaho State Electrical Board. (4-11-06)

d. Section 109. Delete. (7-1-10)

e. Section 406.4. Change the last sentence to: Mechanical gauges used to measure 
test pressure shall have a range such that the highest end of the scale is not greater than two (2) 
times the test pressure nor lower than one and one-half (1.5) times the test pressure. (4-11-06)

f. Section 406.4.1. Test Pressure. Not less than twenty (20) psig (140kPa gauge) test 
pressure shall be required for systems with a maximum working pressure up to ten (10) inches 
water column. For systems with a maximum working pressure between ten (10) inches water 
column and ten (10) psig (70kPa gauge); not less than sixty (60) psig (420kPa gauge) test pressure 
shall be required. For systems over ten (10) psig (70kPa gauge) working pressure, minimum test 
pressure shall be no less than six (6) times working pressure. (4-11-06)

g. Section 406.4.2. The test duration shall not be less than twenty (20) minutes.
(4-11-06)

h. Section 408.4. Sediment Trap. Delete the last sentence and replace it with the 
following: Illuminating appliances, ranges, clothes dryers, outdoor grills, decorative vented 
appliances for installation in vented fireplaces, and gas fireplaces need not be so equipped.

(4-7-11)

i. Add a new section 503.4.1.2 as follows: Testing. All plastic pipe within a dwelling 
used for venting flue gases shall be tested at five (5) psi for fifteen (15) minutes. (4-4-13)

j. Section 505.1.1. Addition. An interlock between the cooking appliance and the 
exhaust hood system shall not be required for appliances that are of the manually operated type 
and are factory equipped with standing pilot burner ignition systems. (4-11-06)

02. Availability of the International Fuel Gas Code. The 200912 Edition is 
available at the Division of Building Safety offices located at 1090 E. Watertower St., Suite 150 
Meridian, Idaho 83642, 1250 Ironwood Dr., Ste. 220, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814, and 2055 
Garrett Way, Building 1, Suite 4, Pocatello, Idaho 83201. (4-7-11)(        )

006. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF PART V 
(MECHANICAL) AND PART VI (FUEL GAS) OF THE INTERNATIONAL 
RESIDENTIAL CODE FOR ONE (1)- AND TWO (2)-FAMILY DWELLINGS, 200912
EDITION.

01. Part V (Mechanical) and Part VI (Fuel Gas) of the International Residential 
Code for One (1)- and Two (2)-Family Dwellings. The 200912 Edition, including appendixes 
“A, B, C, and D,” (herein IRC) is adopted and incorporated by reference with the following 
amendments: (4-7-11)(        )
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a. Where differences occur between the IRC and Title 54, Chapter 50, Idaho Code, 
and IDAPA 07, Title 07, Chapter 01, the provisions in Idaho Code and IDAPA rules shall apply.

(4-7-11)

b. All references to the International Plumbing Code (IPC) shall be construed as 
referring to the Uniform Idaho State Plumbing Code (UISPC) as adopted and amended by the 
Idaho State Plumbing Board. (4-7-11)(        )

c. All references to the International Code Council Electrical Code (ICC EC) shall be 
construed as referring to the National Electrical Code (NEC) as adopted and amended by the 
Idaho State Electrical Board. (4-7-11)

d. Add the following as section M1201.3 and section G2402.4 (201.4): Alternative 
materials, design and methods of construction equipment. The provisions of this part of the code 
are not intended to prevent the installation of any material or to prohibit any design or method of 
construction not specifically prescribed by this code, provided that any such alternative has been 
approved. An alternative material, design or method of construction shall be approved where the 
authority having jurisdiction finds that the proposed design is satisfactory and complies with the 
intent of the provisions of this code, and that the material, method or work offered is, for the 
purpose intended, at least the equivalent of that prescribed in this code. Compliance with the 
specific performance-based provisions of this part of the code in lieu of specific requirements of 
this code shall also be permitted as an alternate. (4-4-13)

e. Add the following as section M1201.3.1 and section G2402.4.1 (201.4.1): Tests. 
Whenever there is insufficient evidence of compliance with the provisions of this part of the code, 
or evidence that a material or method does not conform to the requirements of this part of the 
code, or in order to substantiate claims for alternative materials or methods, the authority having 
jurisdiction shall have the authority to require tests as evidence of compliance to be made at no 
expense to the jurisdiction. Test methods shall be as specified in this code or by other recognized 
test standards. In the absence of recognized and accepted test methods, the authority having 
jurisdiction shall approve the testing procedures. Tests shall be performed by an approved agency. 
Reports of such tests shall be retained by the authority having jurisdiction for the period required 
for retention of public records. (4-4-13)

f. Add the following as section M1203.1: Carbon monoxide alarms. For new 
construction, an approved carbon monoxide alarm shall be installed outside of each separate 
sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms in dwelling units within which fuel-fired 
appliances are installed and in dwelling units that have attached garages. (4-4-13)

g. Add the following as section M1203.2: Where required in existing dwellings. 
Where work requiring a permit occurs in existing dwellings that have attached garages or in 
existing dwellings within which fuel-fired appliances exist, carbon monoxide alarms shall be 
provided in accordance with Subsection 006.01.f. of these rules. (4-4-13)

h. Add the following as section M1203.3: Alarm requirements. Single station carbon 
monoxide alarms shall be listed as complying with UL 2034 and shall be installed in accordance 
with this code and the manufacturer’s installation instructions. (4-4-13)
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i. Section M1401.3. Sizing requirements shall be as established by the authority 
having jurisdiction M1502.4.1 Material and size. Add the following exception: Dryer duct may be 
constructed of 0.013 (30 gage) or equivalent if prefabricated 0.016 (28 gage) ducts and fittings are 
not available. (4-7-11)(        )

j. Delete Section M1502.4.2 Duct Installation and replace with the following: 
Exhaust ducts shall be supported at four (4) foot (1,219 mm) intervals and secured in place. The 
insert end of the duct shall extend into the adjoining duct or fitting in the direction of airflow. 
Ducts shall not be joined with screws or similar fasteners that protrude into the inside of the duct.

(        )

k. Section M1507.3.1 System Design. Add the following to the end of the section: 
Outdoor air shall be ducted predominantly horizontal to avoid chimney effect. Outdoor air ducts 
will contain an accessible back draft damper and be designed to have an open cross section of 
twenty (20) square inches per one thousand (1,000) square feet of conditioned space. (        )

l. Table M1601.1.1 (2) Gages of Metal Ducts and Plenums Used for Heating or 
Cooling. Add the following exception: Round duct, enclosed rectangular ducts and fittings less 
than fourteen (14) inches may be constructed of 0.013 (30 gage) or equivalent if prefabricated 
0.016 (28 gage) ducts and fittings are not available. (        )

jm. Section G2417.4 (406.4). Change the last sentence to: Mechanical gauges used to 
measure test pressure shall have a range such that the highest end of the scale is not greater than 
two (2) times the test pressure nor lower than one and one-half (1.5) times the test pressure.

(4-7-11)

kn. Section G2417.4.1 (406.4.1). Test Pressure. Not less than twenty (20) psig (one 
hundred forty (140) kPa gauge) test pressure shall be required for systems with a maximum 
working pressure up to ten (10) inches water column. For systems with a maximum working 
pressure between ten (10) inches water column and ten (10) psig (seventy (70) kPa gauge), not 
less than sixty (60) psig (four hundred twenty (420) kPa gauge) test pressure shall be required. For 
systems over ten (10) psig (seventy (70) kPa gauge) working pressure, minimum test pressure 
shall be no less than six (6) times working pressure. (4-7-11)

lo. Section G2417.4.2 (406.4.2). The test duration shall not be less than twenty (20) 
minutes. (4-7-11)

mp. Add a new section G2427.4.1.2 as follows: Testing. All plastic pipe within a 
dwelling used for venting flue gases shall be tested at five (5) psi for fifteen (15) minutes.

(4-4-13)

02. Availability of the International Residential Code for One (1)- and Two (2)-
Family Dwellings. The 200912 Edition is available at the Division of Building Safety offices 
located at 1090 E. Watertower St.,Suite 150 Meridian, Idaho 83642, 1250 Ironwood Dr., Ste. 220, 
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814, and 2055 Garrett Way, Building 1, Suite 4, Pocatello, Idaho 83201.

(4-7-11)(        )
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IDAPA 09 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

09.01.30 - UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT ADMINISTRATION RULES

DOCKET NO. 09-0130-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is approved, amended or modified by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes 
final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the 
concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 72-1333, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

A new rule is being promulgated to repeal the tel-a-claim reporting method for unemployment 
insurance benefit claimants. The current tel-a-claim system cannot accommodate enhanced work 
search reporting requirements the Department is requiring to reduce benefit fraud and lower 
employer taxes. Replacing it with a new call-in system would be costly. Because of reduced 
federal funding, the Department does not have the money to build a new tel-a-claim system. 
Instead, enhanced work search reporting requirements will be added to the Department’s existing 
internet-based reporting system. This internet-based system can be accessed from personal 
computers or computers with public access such as those in public libraries or in the Department’s 
25 local offices.

A new rule is being promulgated to amend the current “reasonable length of time” job 
attached classification standard with a maximum 12 week standard. This rule change will require 
benefit claimants to look for work and hopefully find new employment sooner than waiting for 
their former employers to rehire them if their temporary layoff period will exceed 12 weeks. Of 
the surrounding states, Montana is the only one without a limit on the rehire period. The other 
surrounding states range from 4 weeks in Oregon to 12 weeks in Wyoming.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 79 through 82.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
There will be no fiscal impact.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
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concerning this pending rule, contact Joshua McKenna 332-3570 ext. 3919.

DATED this 1st of October, 2013.

Joshua McKenna
Benefits Bureau Chief
Idaho Department of Labor
317 West Main Street
Boise, Idaho 83735
Phone 332-3570 ext. 3919
Fax 334-6125

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 72-1333, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

A new rule is being promulgated to repeal the tel-a-claim reporting method for unemployment 
insurance benefit claimants. The current tel-a-claim system cannot accommodate enhanced work 
search reporting requirements the Department is requiring to reduce benefit fraud and lower 
employer taxes. Replacing it with a new call-in system would be costly. Because of reduced 
federal funding, the Department does not have the money to build a new tel-a-claim system. 
Instead, enhanced work search reporting requirements will be added to the Department’s existing 
internet-based reporting system. This internet-based system can be accessed from personal 
computers or computers with public access such as those in public libraries or in the Department’s 
25 local offices.

A new rule is being promulgated to amend the current “reasonable length of time” job 
attached classification standard with a maximum 12-week standard. This rule change will require 
benefit claimants to look for work and hopefully find new employment sooner than waiting for 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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their former employers to rehire them if their temporary layoff period will exceed 12 weeks. Of 
the surrounding states, Montana is the only one without a limit on the rehire period. The other 
surrounding states range from 4 weeks in Oregon to 12 weeks in Wyoming.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: There will be no fiscal impact to the General Fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, pages 36 and 37.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Joshua McKenna 332-3570 ext. 3919.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 24th of July, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

550. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.
Each claimant shall report weekly or biweekly for benefits as directed. When filing claim reports, 
a claimant shall use the reporting method assigned by the Department. Failure to file timely 
reports in a manner required by this rule shall result in ineligibility for benefits for the week(s) 
claimed. Ref. Section 72-1366(1), Idaho Code. (3-29-12)

01. In-Person Reports. A claimant reporting in person must hand the report to an 
authorized employee of the local office or place it in a receptacle identified for that purpose. The 
Department will not accept reports deposited under or through the doors of the office. Reports 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 09-0130-1301
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filed in person at a local office shall be considered timely when filed within nine (9) calendar days 
immediately following the week(s) being claimed, except if the ninth day is a holiday, the 
reporting period shall be extended to include the next working day. (3-29-12)

02. Mailed Reports. Reports that are mailed shall be considered timely when the 
envelope containing the report is postmarked within nine (9) calendar days immediately 
following the week(s) being claimed, except if the ninth day is a holiday, the report period shall be 
extended to include the next working day. (3-29-12)

03. Telephone/Internet Reports. Reports filed by telephone to the Idaho Tel A Claim 
system or via the internet shall be considered timely when made between 12:01 a.m. Mountain 
Time of the Sunday following the week being claimed and midnight Mountain Time of the 
Saturday following the week being claimed. (3-29-12)(        )

04. Facsimile Reports. Reports filed by facsimile shall be considered timely when 
transmitted on a form provided by the Department to a telephone number designated by the 
Department to receive such documents within nine (9) calendar days immediately following the 
week(s) being claimed, except if the ninth day is a holiday, the reporting period shall be extended 
to include the next working day. Reports shall be deemed filed upon receipt by the Department.

(3-29-12)

05. Electronic Mail Reports. Reports filed by electronic mail shall be considered 
timely when electronically mailed in a format provided by the Department to an email address 
designated by the Department to receive such documents within nine (9) calendar days 
immediately following the week(s) being claimed, except if the ninth day is a holiday, the 
reporting period shall be extended to include the next working day. Reports shall be deemed filed 
upon receipt by the Department. (3-29-12)

06. When Report Missing. If a claimant establishes, by credible and corroborated 
evidence, that a missing report was properly filed as required by this rule, a replacement report 
shall be considered timely. (3-29-12)

551. -- 574. (RESERVED)

575. SEEKING WORK.
Ref. Sec. 72-1366(4), (6), Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

01. Attitude and Behavior. A claimant’s attitude and behavior must be conducive to a 
positive reaction by employers to his job search. (3-19-99)

02. Effort to Secure Employment. A claimant will be expected to do what is 
normally done by unemployed persons that are seeking work. (3-19-99)

03. Employer's Hiring Practices. An employer’s reluctance to hire a claimant 
because of his appearance or physical condition is not a determining factor in ruling on the 
claimant’s eligibility. (3-19-99)

04. Job Attachment Classifications. For the purpose of administering the work 
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search requirements of Section 72-1366(4) and (6), Idaho Code, claimants will be classified 
according to their attachment to an employer or industry, as follows: (3-19-99)

a. Code R-Recall, U-Union or X-Both. Claimants who have a firm attachment to an 
employer, industry or union, or who are temporarily or seasonally unemployed, and expect to 
return to their former jobs or employers in a reasonable length of time not to exceed a maximum 
of twelve (12) weeks. (3-19-99)(        )

b. Code B. Claimants who possess marketable skills in an occupation, but have no 
immediate prospects for reemployment, and whose employment expectations (i.e., wages, hours, 
etc.) are realistic in relation to the normal labor market supply and demand in their areas of 
availability. (3-19-99)

c. Code C. Claimants who have no marketable skills or whose skills have become 
obsolete and who are unable to return to their former occupations, or who have a special need for 
employment-related services. (3-19-99)

d. Code D. Claimants who are assigned to a training course under the provisions of 
Section 72-1366(8), Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

05. Jobs Availability. A claimant will not be required to make useless employer 
contacts if there are no jobs available in the area due to seasonal factors. (3-19-99)

06. No Employment Prospects. A claimant shall apply for and accept a lower or 
beginning pay rate for employment if he has no prospects for a better paying job in the locality.

(3-19-99)

07. Registering and Reporting on Work-Seeking Activity. A claimant must register 
for work and report as required to be eligible for benefits. Ref. Sec. 72-1366(1), (2), Idaho Code.

(4-11-06)

08. Seasonal Availability. A claimant who is regularly employed on a seasonal basis 
shall be available for other types of work in the off-season to be eligible for benefits. (3-19-99)

09. Work-Seeking Requirement Categories. Claimants shall seek work in 
accordance with the following categories of work-seeking activity, as instructed by a Department 
representative or as notified by the Department via electronic claims messaging. A claimant must 
meet the requirements of the code to which the claimant is assigned. A claimant’s category of 
work-seeking activity will be determined and modified based on the claimant’s prevailing local 
labor market conditions and/or the average county unemployment rates. Claimants that have not 
registered for work when filing their claims and that are required to secure employment must 
register with the local office within two (2) weeks of filing an initial claim for benefits. Failure to 
comply with work-seeking requirements may result in a denial of benefits. (4-11-06)

a. Code O claimants must: (3-15-02)

i. Maintain regular contact with their employer(s) or union. Code O claimants may 
also be required to engage in one (1) or more of the following activities to increase their prospects 
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of returning to work or securing employment: (3-15-02)

ii. Make local inquiries; (3-19-99)

iii. Maintain contact with the local office; (4-11-06)

iv. Check “help-wanted” ads in newspapers or trade publications; (3-15-02)

v. Attend a Job Search Workshop; or (3-15-02)

vi. Engage in other work search activities such as resume preparation or labor market 
research, as prescribed by a Department representative. (4-11-06)

b. Code 1 claimants will be required to engage in one (1) or more of the following 
activities to increase their prospects of securing employment: (3-15-02)

i. Make at least one (1) employer contact each week in the manner prescribed by the 
local office; (4-11-06)

ii. Attend a Job Search Workshop; (3-15-02)

iii. Expand work search efforts to surrounding areas or states; (3-15-02)

iv. Send resumes to firms/businesses that hire people with their skills; (3-15-02)

v. Enroll in and attend a specific training program to meet the requirements of the 
claimant’s employment plan; or (3-15-02)

vi. Engage in other work search activities such as resume preparation or labor market 
research, as prescribed by a Department representative. (4-11-06)

c. Code 2 claimants will be required to engage in one (1) or more of the following 
activities to increase their prospects of securing employment: (3-15-02)

i. Make at least two (2) employer contacts per week in the manner prescribed by the 
local office; (4-11-06)

ii. Attend a Job Search Workshop; (3-15-02)

iii. Expand work search efforts to surrounding areas or states; (3-15-02)

iv. Send resumes to firms/businesses that hire people with their skills; (3-15-02)

v. Enroll in and attend a specific training program to meet the requirements of the 
claimant’s employment plan; or (3-15-02)

vi. Engage in other work search activities such as resume preparation or labor market 
research, as prescribed by a Department representative. (4-11-06)
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d. Code 3 claimants will be required to engage in one (1) or more of the following 
activities to increase their prospects of securing employment: (3-15-02)

i. Make at least three (3) employer contacts per week in the manner prescribed by the 
local office; (4-11-06)

ii. Attend a Job Search Workshop; (3-15-02)

iii. Expand work search efforts to surrounding areas or states; (3-15-02)

iv. Send resumes to firms/businesses that hire people with their skills; (3-15-02)

v. Enroll in and attend a specific training program to meet the requirements of the 
claimant’s employment plan; or (3-15-02)

vi. Engage in other work search activities such as resume preparation or labor market 
research, as prescribed by a Department representative. (4-11-06)
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IDAPA 09 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

09.01.35 - UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX ADMINISTRATION RULES

DOCKET NO. 09-0135-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is approved, amended or modified by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes 
final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the 
concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section72-1333, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

A new rule is being promulgated to require employers to report contributions online unless a 
waiver is granted by the Department. Waivers will be granted to employers if the online filing 
requirement poses a significant burden. The Department currently allows the reporting of 
contributions by either paper or online filing. The online reporting of employer contributions will 
allow the Department to process quarterly reports from nearly 50,000 employers more quickly 
with fewer resources and at a lower cost. The online reporting system corrects errors hundreds of 
employers typically make in paper reports. This will help employers avoid thousands of dollars in 
fines for reporting less quarterly taxes by the reporting deadline than the employer legally owes.

A new rule is being promulgated to revise the current “independently established” prong of 
the independent contractor test for unemployment insurance tax purposes with a more straight 
forward, common sense economic reality test. The current test has 15 factors and is too 
complicated to enforce and gives employers poor guidance as to which workers may or may not 
be independent contractors. The economic reality test is currently used by the U.S. Department of 
Labor and the Social Security Administration and focuses on whether workers are economically 
dependent upon the business to which they render services.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 83 through 89.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
There will be no fiscal impact.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
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concerning this pending rule, contact Michael Johnson 332-3570 ext. 3082.

DATED this 1st of October, 2013.

Michael Johnson
Bureau Chief
Idaho Department of Labor
317 West Main Street
Boise, Idaho 83735
Phone 332-3570 ext. 3082
Fax 334-6125

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 72-1333, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 19, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

A new rule is being promulgated to require employers to report contributions online unless a 
waiver is granted by the Department. Waivers will be granted to employers if the online filing 
requirement poses a significant burden. The Department currently allows the reporting of 
contributions by either paper or online filing. The online reporting of employer contributions will 
allow the Department to process quarterly reports from nearly 50,000 employers more quickly 
with fewer resources and at a lower cost. The online reporting system corrects errors hundreds of 
employers typically make in paper reports. This will help employers avoid thousands of dollars in 
fines for reporting less quarterly taxes by the reporting deadline than the employer legally owes.

A new rule is being promulgated to revise the current “independently established” prong of 
the independent contractor test for unemployment insurance tax purposes with a more straight 
forward, common sense economic reality test. The current test has 15 factors and is too 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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complicated to enforce and give employers poor guidance as to which workers may or may not be 
independent contractors. The economic reality test is currently used by the U.S. Department of 
Labor and the Social Security Administration and focuses on whether workers are economically 
dependent upon the business to which they render services.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: There will be no fiscal impact to the General Fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, pages 38 and 39.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Michael Johnson 332-3570 ext. 3082.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 24th of July, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

011. GENERAL PROVISIONS.
The following Unemployment Insurance Tax Administration Rules are adopted pursuant to 
Section 67-4702, Idaho Code. (4-11-06)

01. Quarterly Reporting. Subject employers shall report all wages paid for services 
in covered employment each calendar quarter. In the event a subject employer does not pay wages 
during a calendar quarter, the employer shall file a quarterly report indicating that no wages were 
paid. Ref. Section 72-1337, Idaho Code. (3-22-07)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 09-0135-1301
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02. Contribution Due Date. Contributions are due on or before the last day of the 
month following the calendar quarter except if the last day of the month falls on a weekend or 
holiday, in which case the next workday is the due date. Ref. Section 72-1349, Idaho Code.

(3-19-99)

03. Penalties and Interest on Bankruptcy. Penalty and/or interest shall not be 
assessed on amounts covered in the Department’s Proof of Claim with the Bankruptcy Court for 
the period after the filing date of the Bankruptcy Petition and ending with the conclusion of 
bankruptcy proceedings and distribution of assets. Post petition penalty and interest shall be 
compromised, provided the amount due is paid in full by a date established after the termination 
of the bankruptcy proceedings. Ref. Section 72-1356, Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

04. Lien Interest. Lien interest on a delinquent account shall be assessed against the 
remaining unpaid balance computed from the day following the recording of a tax lien, at a rate 
established by law. (See Section 056). Ref. Section 72-1360, Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

05. Penalty and Interest During Controversy. Penalty and/or interest shall be 
compromised for periods when a valid controversy exists if amounts determined to be due are 
paid in full by a date established at the conclusion of the issue. Ref. Sections 72-1354 and 72-
1360, Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

06. Confidential Information. Information obtained from an employer shall be held 
as confidential and shall not be released without the consent of the employer except as provided in 
IDAPA 09.01.08, “Rules on Disclosure of Information,” Section 011 or when disclosure is 
necessary for collection of any amount due under the employment security law, or as otherwise 
provided by law or these rules. Ref. Sections 9-340 and 72-1342, Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

07. Filing of an Employer Appeal. (3-30-01)

a. An appeal shall be in writing, signed by an interested party or representative, and 
shall contain words that, by fair interpretation, request the appeal process for a specific 
determination or redetermination of the Department. The appeal may be filed by delivering it, or 
faxing it, to any Idaho Labor local office or to the UI Compliance Bureau of the Idaho Department 
of Labor, 317 W. Main Street, Boise, Idaho 83735. The date of personal delivery shall be noted on 
the appeal and shall be deemed the date of filing. A faxed appeal that is received by an Idaho 
Department of Labor local office or the UI Compliance Bureau by 5 p.m. (as of the time zone of 
the office receiving the appeal) on a business day shall be deemed filed on that date. A faxed 
appeal that is received by an Idaho Department of Labor local office or the UI Compliance Bureau 
on a weekend or holiday or after 5 p.m. on a business day shall be deemed filed on the next 
business day. An appeal may also be filed by mailing it to any Idaho Department of Labor local 
office or to the UI Compliance Bureau, Idaho Department of Labor, 317 W. Main Street, Boise, 
Idaho 83735. If mailed, the appeal shall be deemed to be filed on the date of mailing as 
determined by the postmark on the request. Ref. Section 72-1361, Idaho Code. (3-22-07)

b. An appeal should be accompanied by a specific statement, information or evidence 
which provides an explanation as to why the original determination is erroneous. (3-30-01)
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c. In cases where a determination of amounts due is made by the Department 
pursuant to Section 72-1358, Idaho Code, the reports shall replace the determination and will be 
used to establish the employer’s liability if (i) the employer files reports for the periods covered 
by the determination before the determination becomes final, and (ii) the Department determines 
that the reports are accurate and complete. If the Department determines the reports are not 
accurate or complete, the reports shall be treated as an appeal of the determination. (3-30-01)

08. Determinations. Determinations shall be in writing, signed by an authorized 
representative of the director, and shall contain provisions which advise the interested parties of 
their right to appeal the determination within fourteen (14) days from the date of mailing, or the 
date of electronic transmission to an electronic-mail address approved by the Department, of the 
determination in accordance with Sections 72-1361 and -1368(5), Idaho Code. (7-1-10)

09. Determination of Payment Date. Each amount shall be deemed to have been paid 
on the date that the Department receives payment thereof in cash or by check or other order for 
the payment of money honored by the drawer on presentment; provided, that if sent through the 
mail, it shall be deemed to have been paid as of the date mailed as determined by the postmark on 
the envelope containing same, or the date of the check in lieu of a postmark. Provided further, that 
in the case of payments received by means of garnishment, execution, or levy, the amount 
received shall be deemed to have been paid as of the date that the order of garnishment, execution, 
or levy is served. Ref. Section 72-1349, Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

10. Release of Lien upon Payment in Full. An amount secured by a lien shall be 
deemed to be satisfied when payment in full is received by the Department in the form of cash, 
money order, or other certified funds, or proof presented that a check or other negotiable 
instrument has been honored by its drawer upon presentment. Ref. Section 45-1908, Idaho Code.

(3-19-99)

11. Contribution Reports. Each contribution shall be accompanied by an employer’s 
contribution report. All contribution reports shall be filed electronically with the department 
unless the employer has petitioned the department in writing for a waiver and the department has 
granted a waiver allowing the filing of a non-electronic contribution report. All contribution 
reports shall be in a form or medium prescribed and furnished or approved for such purpose by 
the department, giving such information as may be required, including number of individuals 
employed and wages paid or payable to each, which must be signed, or furnished, or 
acknowledged by the covered employer or, on their behalf by someone having personal 
knowledge of the facts therein stated, and who has been authorized by the covered employer to 
submit the information. Ref. Section 72-1349, Idaho Code. (4-11-06)(        )

a. Common paymaster arrangements as referenced by Internal Revenue Code Section 
3306 are prohibited for Idaho unemployment insurance purposes. Each covered employer shall 
complete and submit an Idaho business registration form and the Department will assign to the 
covered employer a unique unemployment insurance account number. The covered employer 
must file quarterly reports under its assigned unemployment insurance account number. The 
workers of one (1) covered employer may not be reported using the assigned unemployment 
insurance account number of a different covered employer or related entity. Ref. Sections 72-1325 
and 72-1315, Idaho Code. (3-22-07)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

112. DETERMINING STATUS OF WORKER.

01. Determining if Worker Is an Employee. In making a determination as to whether 
a worker is performing services in covered employment, it shall be determined whether the 
worker is an employee. To determine whether a worker is an employee, the following factors may 
be considered: (3-22-07)

a. The way in which the business entity represented its relationship with the worker 
prior to the investigation or litigation, including representations to the Internal Revenue Service;

(3-19-99)

b. Statements made to the Department; (3-19-99)

c. Method of payment to the worker, in particular whether federal, state, and FICA 
taxes are withheld from paychecks; and (3-19-99)

d. Whether life, health, or other benefits are provided to the worker at the business 
entity’s expense. (3-19-99)

02. Determining if Worker Is an Independent Contractor. If it cannot be 
determined that a worker is an employee pursuant to Subsection 112.01 above, then a 
determination shall be made whether the worker is an “independent contractor” pursuant to the 
terms of Section 72-1316(4), Idaho Code. For the purposes of that section and these rules, an 
independent contractor is a worker who meets the requirements of both Sections 72-1316(4)(a) 
and (b), Idaho Code. (3-19-99)

03. Proving Worker Is Free from Control or Direction in His Work. To meet the 
requirement of Section 72-1316(4)(a), Idaho Code, the alleged employer must prove that a worker 
has been and will continue to be free from control or direction in the performance of his work, 
both under his contract of service and in fact. The following factors may be considered in this 
determination: (3-22-07)

a. Whether the alleged employer has control over: (3-19-99)

i. The details of the work; (3-19-99)

ii. The manner, method or mode of doing the work; and (3-19-99)

iii. The means by which the work is to be accomplished, but without reference to 
having control over the results of the work. (3-19-99)

b. The freedom from direction and control must exist in theory (under a contract of 
service) and in fact; and (4-11-06)
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c. The employer must demonstrate that it lacked a right to control the worker.
(4-11-06)

04. Proving Worker Is Engaged in Independently Established Business. To meet 
the requirement of Section 72-1316(4)(b), Idaho Code, it must be proven that a worker is engaged 
in an independently established trade, occupation, profession or business. The following factors 
may are significant and shall be considered in making this determination, although no single 
factor is regarded as controlling: (3-22-07)(        )

a. Skills, qualifications, and training required for the job The level of skill required to 
perform the work; (3-19-99)(        )

i. A worker who performs routine tasks requiring little or no training is indicative of 
the worker’s status as an employee. (        )

ii. A worker who performs work requiring skills marketable as a trade, occupation, 
profession or business, such as an electrician, attorney, physician, or CPA, is indicative of the 
worker’s status as an independent contractor. (        )

iii. A worker who performs work requiring special licensing or compliance with 
regulatory requirements is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor. (        )

iv. A worker who receives all or substantially all of the worker’s job training from the 
alleged employer is indicative of the worker’s status as an employee. (        )

b. Method of payment, benefits, and tax withholding The extent to which the worker’s 
services are an integral part of the alleged employer’s business; (3-19-99)(        )

i. A worker who performs the primary type of work that the alleged employer is in 
business to provide to its customers or clients is indicative of the worker’s status as an employee. 
For example, an automotive repair business hires an additional mechanic to help in its service 
repair shop. Since the work provided by the worker is the primary type of work the automotive 
repair business provides to its customers, the work is indicative of the worker’s status as an 
employee. (        )

ii. A worker who performs a specific job that is secondary to an integral part of the 
employer’s business is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor. For 
example, if a manufacturing business requiring routine electrical work within its manufacturing 
facility hires an independent electrical company to provide that service, the electrical work 
performed is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor. (        )

iii. A worker who supervises the alleged employer’s employees is indicative of the 
worker’s status as an employee. (        )

iv. If the success of a business depends to an appreciable degree upon the 
performance of certain services, the worker performing those services is indicative of that 
worker’s status as an employee. (        )
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v. If a worker is not required to work solely for the alleged employer and there is a 
separate contractual relationship for each job that ends upon the completion of that job, the work 
is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor. (        )

c. Right to negotiate agreements with other workers The permanency of the 
relationship; (3-19-99)(        )

i. The longer a worker works solely for a single alleged employer, the more 
indicative it is of the worker’s status as an employee. (        )

ii A worker who makes the worker’s services available to the general public for hire 
on a regular and consistent basis is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor.

(        )

iii. A worker whose hours worked are regularly scheduled, rather than sporadic or 
occasional, is indicative of the worker’s status as an employee. (        )

iv. Work with a specific ending date that ends the working relationship between the 
worker and the alleged employer is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor.

(        )

v. Work that is open ended allowing the worker to continue working for the same 
alleged employer as long as performance standards are met, is indicative of the worker’s status as 
an employee. (        )

d. Right to choose sales techniques or other business techniques A worker’s 
investment in facilities and equipment; (3-19-99)(        )

i. A worker who is reimbursed for work-related purchases, materials or supplies, or 
is furnished work-related materials or supplies by the alleged employer is indicative of the 
worker’s status as an employee. (        )

ii. A worker who uses the tools and equipment of the alleged employer is indicative 
of the worker’s status as an employee. (        )

iii. A worker’s significant investment in tools and equipment compared to the cost of 
the tools and equipment provided by the alleged employer is indicative of the worker’s status as 
an independent contractor. (        )

iv. A worker who is financially responsible to the alleged employer for damage to 
equipment or tools is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor. (        )

v. A worker’s investment in physical facilities used by the worker in performing 
services is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor. (        )

vi. A worker’s lack of investment in physical facilities indicating a dependence on the 
alleged employer for whom the worker’s services are performed is indicative of the worker’s 
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status as an employee. (        )

e. Right to determine hours Whether a worker is customarily engaged in an outside 
trade, occupation, profession, or business providing the same type of services the worker provides 
for the alleged employer engaging his services; (3-19-99)(        )

i. A worker who provides one (1) type of service for an alleged employer, while 
providing the same type of service to others for hire, is indicative of the worker’s status as an 
independent contractor. (        )

ii. A worker who provides one (1) type of service for an alleged employer, while 
providing a different type of service to others for hire, is indicative of the worker’s status as an 
employee of the alleged employer. (        )

iii. A worker who advertises independently via yellow pages, business cards, web 
pages, or other types of media is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent contractor.

(        )

f. Whether a worker is customarily engaged in an outside trade, occupation, 
profession, or business providing the same type of services the worker provides for the business 
engaging his services A worker’s opportunities for profit and loss; (4-4-13)(        )

i. A worker required to carry business related expenses such as insurance, bonding, 
or workers compensation coverage is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent 
contractor. (        )

ii. A worker’s ability to earn a profit by performing work more efficiently or suffer a 
loss because of the work performed is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent 
contractor. (        )

iii. A worker who is subject to a risk of economic loss due to significant investments 
or a bona fide liability for expenses is indicative of the worker’s status as an independent 
contractor. (        )

g. Special licensing or regulatory requirements for performance of work; Other 
factors when viewed fairly in light of all the circumstances that may or may not indicate that the 
worker was engaged in an independently established trade occupation, profession, or business. 
These factors may include control of the premises, right to determine hours, or who sets the rate 
of pay. (3-19-99)(        )

h. Whether the work is part of the employer’s general business; (3-19-99)

i. The nature and extent of the work; (3-19-99)

j. The term and duration of the relationship; (3-19-99)

k. The control of the premises; (3-19-99)
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l. Whether the worker has the authority to hire subordinates; (3-19-99)

m. Whether the worker owns or leases major items of equipment or incurs substantial 
unreimbursed expenses, provided, that in a case where a worker leases major items of equipment 
from the alleged employer:

(3-19-99)

i. The terms of the lease; and (3-19-99)

ii. The actions of the parties pursuant to those terms must be commercially 
reasonable as measured by applicable industry standards. (3-19-99)

n. Whether either party would be liable to the other party upon peremptory or 
unilateral termination of the business relationship; and, (3-19-99)

o. Other factors which, viewed fairly in light of all the circumstances in a given case, 
may indicate the existence or lack of an independently established trade occupation, profession or 
business. (3-19-99)

05. Meeting Criteria for Covered Employment. A worker who meets one (1), but 
not both, of the tests in Subsections 112.03 and 112.04 above shall be found to perform services in 
covered employment. (3-19-99)

06. Evidence of Contractual Liability for Termination. For purposes of making a 
determination under Section 72-1316(4), Idaho Code, and this regulation, the party alleging that 
summary termination by either party would result in contractual liability must present some 
evidence upon which to base such allegation. Ref. Section 72-1316(4), Idaho Code. (3-19-99)
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EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is approved, amended or modified by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes 
final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the 
concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

Current Idaho Code requires that if an applicant for licensure as a professional land surveyor 
has not graduated from an approved four year surveying program they must have a four year 
degree in a related science and demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that they possess 
knowledge and skill approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four year 
surveying program. Since 2010 the Board has had rules which defined what satisfied that 
requirement. Last year the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying 
developed standards for an approved surveying program based on accreditation requirements. The 
board has adopted those standards, with some modification, in lieu of those in place since 2010 in 
order to utilize nationalized standards.

The pending rule is changed from the proposed rule. There is one addition college course 
added to the list of example college courses that may be taken to fulfill the education 
requirements for certification as a land surveyor intern and for comity licensure with other states. 
The added college course is Survey Adjustment and Coordinates Systems. This course is an 
optional course and not a required course.

The pending rule is adopted as amended. The text of the pending rule has been amended in 
accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those sections that have changes that differ 
from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the proposed rule was 
published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, pages 40 through 46.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no fiscal impact to the state general or agency dedicated funds.
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.

DATED: August 8, 2013.

Keith Simila, P.E.
Executive Director
1510 Watertower St.
Meridian, Idaho 83642
Telephone: (208) 373-7210
Fax: (208) 373-7213
Email: keith.simila@ipels.idaho.gov

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as 
follows:

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Current Idaho Code requires that if an applicant for licensure as a professional land surveyor 
has not graduated from an approved four year surveying program they must have a four year 
degree in a related science and demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that they possess 
knowledge and skill approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four year 
surveying program. Since 2010 the Board has had rules which defined what satisfied that 
requirement. Last year the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying 
developed standards for an approved surveying program based on accreditation requirements. The 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

Monday, July 8, 2013, 9:00 A.M.

1510 E. Watertower Street
Meridian, Idaho 83642
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board is considering adopting those standards with some modification in lieu of those in place 
since 2010 in order to utilize nationalized standards.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased:

There is no fee associated with this rule change.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
as a result of this rulemaking:

There is no fiscal impact to the state general fund or the agency dedicated fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 13-5, page 67.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

There are no materials incorporated by reference.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Keith 
Simila, (208) 373-7210.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before July 24, 2013.

DATED: June 7, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

017. EXAMINATIONS.

01. Special or Oral Examination. Examinations for licensure as a professional 
engineer or professional land surveyor, or certification as an engineer intern or land surveyor 
intern will be held on dates and at times and places to be determined by the Board. Special oral or 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 10-0101-1301
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written examinations may be given by the Board as necessary. (3-29-10)

02. Eligibility for Examinations, Educational Requirements. The application for 
licensure as a professional engineer, professional land surveyor or certification as an engineer 
intern or land surveyor intern, together with the written examination, shall be considered in the 
determination of the applicant’s eligibility. Each applicant must meet the minimum requirements 
as set forth in Section 54-1212, Idaho Code, before being assigned to any examination. (3-29-10)

a. In regard to educational requirements, the Board will consider as unconditionally 
approved only those engineering programs which are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation 
Commission (EAC) of ABET, Inc. Non-EAC/ABET accredited engineering programs, related 
science programs, and engineering technology programs will be considered by the Board on their 
specific merits, but are not considered equal to engineering programs accredited by EAC/ABET. 
The Board may continue consideration of an application for valid reasons for a period of one (1) 
year, without forfeiture of the application fee. (3-29-10)

b. An applicant who has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in 
engineering not accredited by EAC/ABET or a four (4) year bachelor degree program in 
engineering technology, or in a related science degree program other than engineering must have 
completed the following before the Board will consider them to possess knowledge and skill 
approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year engineering 
curriculum as required by Section 54-1212(3)(b), Idaho Code, for assignment to the examination 
for certification as an Engineer Intern or as required by Section 54-1212(1)(b), Idaho Code, for 
assignment to the examination for licensure as a professional engineer: (3-29-12)

i. Thirty-two (32) college semester credit hours of higher mathematics and basic 
sciences. The credits in mathematics must be beyond algebra and trigonometry and must 
emphasize mathematical concepts and principles rather than computation. Courses in calculus and 
differential equations are required. Additional courses may include linear algebra, numerical 
analysis, probability and statistics and advanced calculus. The credits in basic sciences must 
include courses in chemistry and calculus-based general physics with a minimum of a two (2) 
semester (or equivalent) sequence in one or the other. Additional basic sciences courses may 
include life sciences (biology), earth sciences (geology, ecology), and advanced chemistry or 
physics. Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy mathematics or 
basic science requirements. Basic engineering science courses or sequence of courses in this area 
are acceptable for credit but may not be counted twice. (3-29-12)

ii. Sixteen (16) college credit hours in a general education component that 
complements the technical content of the curriculum. Examples of traditional courses in this area 
are philosophy, religion, history, literature, fine arts, sociology, psychology, political science, 
anthropology, economics, professional ethics, social responsibility. No more than six (6) credit 
hours of languages other than English or other than the applicant’s native language are acceptable 
for credit. English and foreign language courses in literature and civilization may be considered in 
this area. Courses which instill cultural values are acceptable, while routine exercises of personal 
craft are not. (3-29-12)

iii. Forty-eight (48) college credit hours of engineering science and engineering 
design. Courses shall be taught within the college / faculty of engineering having their roots in 
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mathematics and basic sciences but carry knowledge further toward creative application of 
engineering principles. Examples of approved engineering science courses are mechanics, 
thermodynamics, heat transfer, electrical and electronic circuits, materials science, transport 
phenomena, and computer science (other than computer programming skills). Courses in 
engineering design stress the establishment of objectives and criteria, synthesis, analysis, 
construction, testing, and evaluation. Graduate level engineering courses can be included to fulfill 
curricular requirements in this area. Engineering technology courses cannot be considered to meet 
engineering topic requirements. (3-29-12)

iv. Standard, regularly scheduled courses from accredited university programs, (on 
campus, correspondence, video, etc.) are normally acceptable without further justification other 
than transcript listing. The Board may require detailed course descriptions for seminar, directed 
study, special problem and similar courses to insure that the above requirements are met. (7-1-93)

v. Graduate level engineering courses, i.e. courses which are available only to 
graduate students, are normally not acceptable since the Board believes graduate engineering 
courses may not provide the proper fundamental foundation to meet the broad requirements of 
professional engineering. (7-1-93)

c. Beginning July 1, 20104, an applicant who has completed a four (4) year bachelor 
degree program in a related science must have completed a minimum of the following college 
level academic courses, or their equivalents as determined by the Board, before the Board will 
consider them to possess knowledge and skill approximating that attained through graduation 
from an approved four (4) year surveying curriculum as required by Section 54-1212(4)(b), Idaho 
Code, for assignment to the examination for certification as a Land Surveyor Intern or as required 
by Section 54-1212(2)(b), Idaho Code, for assignment to the examination for licensure as a 
professional land surveyor: (5-8-09)(        )

i. Three (3) credits in Surveying Law and Boundary Descriptions Eighteen (18) 
college semester credit hours of mathematics and basic sciences. A minimum of twelve (12) 
credits in mathematics must be beyond basic mathematics, but the credits include college algebra 
or higher mathematics. These courses must emphasize mathematical concepts and principles 
rather than computation. Mathematics courses may include college algebra, trigonometry, 
analytic geometry, differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, numberical analysis, 
probability and statistics, and advanced calculus. A minimum of six (6) credits must be in basic 
sciences. These courses must cover one (1) or more of the following topics: general chemistry, 
advanced chemistry, life sciences (biology), earth sciences (geology, ecology), general physics, 
and advanced physics. Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy 
mathematics or basic science requirements; (3-30-07)(        )

ii. Three (3) credits in Route Surveying Sixteen (16) college semester credit hours in a 
general education component that complements the technical content of the curriculum. Examples 
of traditional courses in this area are philosophy, religion, history, literature, fine arts, sociology, 
psychology, political science, anthropology, economics, professional ethics, and social 
responsibility. No more than six (6) credit hours of languages other than English or other than the 
applicant’s native language are acceptable for credit. English and foreign language courses in 
literature and civilization may be considered in this area. Courses that instill cultural values are 
acceptable, while routine exercises of personal craft are not; and (3-30-07)(        )
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iii. Three (3) credits in Public Land Surveying; Thirty (30) college semester credit 
hours of surveying science and surveying practice. Courses shall be taught by qualified surveying 
faculty. Examples of surveying courses are basic surveying, route surveying, geodesy, geographic 
information systems, land development design and planning, global positioning systems, 
photogrammetry, mapping, survey adjustment and coordinates systems, and remote sensing. 
Required courses shall include a minimum of three (3) credit hours each in basic surveying, route 
surveying, geodesy, surveying law, surveying office practice, land development design and 
planning, public land survey system and global positioning systems, and shall account for a 
minimum of twenty-four (24) semester credit hours. Graduate-level surveying courses can be 
included to fulfill curricular requirements in this area. (3-30-07)(        )

iv. Three (3) credits in Surveying Software Applications; (3-30-07)

v. Three (3) credits in Research and Evidence in Surveying; (3-30-07)

vi. Three (3) credits in Surveying Adjustments and Coordinate Systems; (3-30-07)

vii. Three (3) credits in Subdivision Planning and Platting; (3-30-07)

viii. Three (3) credits in Geodesy; and (3-30-07)

ix. Three (3) credits in Survey Office Practice and Business Law in Surveying.
(3-30-07)

d. The Board may require an independent evaluation of the engineering education of 
an applicant who was educated outside the United States. Such evaluation shall be done through 
an organization approved by the Board and shall be done at the expense of the applicant. Such 
evaluation shall not be required if the applicant has received a master’s degree or Doctor of 
Philosophy degree from an U.S. institution which has a bachelor degree program accredited by 
the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, Inc. in the discipline of the applicant’s 
master’s degree or Doctor of Philosophy degree, and, in addition, has completed the coursework 
requirements of Subsection 017.02.b. The Board may table action on the application pending 
receipt of the evaluation, and, in the event the applicant does not provide the evaluation within 
one (1) year, the Board may terminate the application, in which case the application fee shall be 
forfeited. (3-29-10)

03. Excused Non-Attendance at Exam. In the event that an applicant cannot attend 
an examination, he shall immediately notify the Board to that effect and shall state the reason for 
non-attendance. Normally, no more than one (1) valid excuse and reassignment shall be granted to 
an applicant. If an applicant fails to appear for two (2) administrations of an examination their 
application may be terminated and they may be required to submit a new application and pay a 
new application fee in order to be reconsidered. (3-30-01)

04. Two Examinations for Engineering Licensure. The complete examining 
procedure for licensure as a professional engineer normally consists of two (2) separate written 
examinations. The first is the Fundamentals of Engineering examination for engineer intern 
certification, and the second is the Principles and Practice of Engineering for professional 
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engineer licensure. The examination shall be a duration as determined by the Board. Normally, 
applicants are eligible to take the Fundamentals of Engineering examination during the last or 
second-to-last semester of or after graduation from an accredited bachelor of science engineering 
program. A certificate as an Engineer Intern will be issued only to those student applicants who 
earn a passing grade on the examination and who receive a degree. Having passed the 
Fundamentals of Engineering examination, applicants will be required to take the Principles and 
Practice of Engineering examination at a later date when qualified by experience. (3-29-10)

05. Fundamentals of Engineering. The Fundamentals of Engineering examination 
will cover such subjects as are ordinarily given in engineering college curricula and which are 
common to all fields of practice. The examination may also cover subject matters that are specific 
to the engineering discipline of the applicants’ education. (5-8-09)

06. Principles and Practice of Engineering -- Disciplines. The Principles and 
Practice of Engineering examination will cover the practice of engineering to test the applicant’s 
fitness to assume responsibility for engineering works affecting the public health, safety and 
welfare. Separate examinations will be given to test the applicant’s fitness in any discipline for 
which there is an examination which, in the opinion of the Board, meets the requirements of 
duration and difficulty necessary to adequately test the applicant’s fitness to practice in that 
particular discipline. The Board may use examinations prepared by the National Council of 
Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) or it may prepare or commission the 
preparation of examinations in disciplines other than those for which examinations may be 
available from NCEES. (4-22-94)

07. Two Examinations for Land Surveying Licensure. The complete examining 
procedure for licensure as a professional land surveyor consists of two (2) separate written 
examinations. The first is the Fundamentals of Surveying examination for land surveyor intern 
certification, and the second is the Principles and Practice of Surveying for professional land 
surveyor licensure. The examination shall be a duration as determined by the Board. Having 
passed the Fundamentals of Surveying examination, applicants will be required to take the 
Principles and Practice of Surveying examination at a later date when qualified by experience. 
The examination shall cover the theory and principles of surveying, the practice of land surveying 
and the requirements of legal enactments. The Principles and Practice of Surveying examination 
may consist of separate modules, each of which must be passed. (3-29-10)

08. Oral or Unassembled Examinations. An oral examination or unassembled 
written examination, in addition to the prescribed written examination, may be required for 
professional engineer and professional land surveyor applicants. (7-1-93)

09. Special Examinations. A special examination, written or oral or both, may be 
required in certain instances where the applicant is seeking licensure through comity or 
reciprocity with another state or political entity having required written examinations that are not 
wholly comparable in length, nature or scope. This examination supplements the certified 
qualifying record of the applicant and establishes a more common basis for judging the 
application and awarding a certificate of qualification or licensure in this state. The length of these 
special examinations shall be determined by the Board, but shall in no case exceed the lengths 
specified for the regular examination. Special examinations may be given at any date and need not 
conform with regular examination dates. (5-8-09)
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 98 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS & LAND SURVEYORS Docket No. 10-0101-1301
Rules of Procedure PENDING RULE
10. Grading. Each land surveyor intern, engineer intern and professional engineer 
applicant must normally attain a scaled score of seventy (70) or above on the entire examination 
or modules as determined by the Board, before being awarded certification or licensure. 
Examinees on the Principles and Practice of Land Surveying examination must normally attain a 
scaled score of seventy (70) or above on each module of the examination. (3-29-10)

11. Use of NCEES Examinations. Examinations prepared and graded by the National 
Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) for professional engineer, 
engineer intern, professional land surveyors, and land surveyor intern may be used by the Board. 
The examination for the field of structural engineering shall be the examination as determined by 
the Board. (3-29-10)

12. Review of Examination by Examinee. Due to security concerns about the 
examinations, examinees shall not be allowed to review their examination. Examinees who fail an 
examination will be provided a diagnostic analysis of their performance on the examination if 
such an analysis is available to the Board. (3-20-04)

13. Proctoring of Examinations. Unless otherwise approved, the Board will not 
proctor an examination for another jurisdiction except State-Specific examinations nor will they 
request another jurisdiction to proctor an examination for an Idaho applicant. (5-8-09)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

019. LICENSEES OR CERTIFICATE HOLDERS OF OTHER STATES AND 
BOARDS.

01. Interstate Licensure Evaluation. Each application for Idaho professional 
engineer license or professional land surveyor license submitted by an applicant who is licensed 
as a professional engineer, or licensed as a professional land surveyor, respectively, in one (1) or 
more states, territories or foreign countries, shall be considered by the Board on its merits, and the 
application evaluated for substantial compliance with respect to the requirements of the Idaho 
law. Graduates of programs accredited by organizations signatory to the “Washington Accord” 
and graduates from programs evaluated by ABET as being substantially equivalent to EAC/
ABET programs shall be considered to have satisfied the educational requirement for issuance of 
a license as a professional engineer. Individuals who have passed examinations considered by the 
Board to be of comparable difficulty and duration as those utilized by the Board shall be 
considered to have satisfied the examination requirement for issuance of a license as a 
professional engineer or professional land surveyor. (5-8-09)

a. The Board may require an independent evaluation of the engineering education of 
an applicant who was educated outside the United States. Such evaluation shall be done through 
an organization approved by the Board and shall be done at the expense of the applicant. Such 
evaluation shall not be required if the applicant has been licensed in another jurisdiction of the 
United States for an minimum of ten (10) years and has not had any disciplinary action against 
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them and there is none pending, and possesses the education, experience and examination 
credentials that were specified in the applicable registration chapter in effect in this state at the 
time such certification was issued. The Board may table action on the application pending receipt 
of the evaluation, and, in the event the applicant does not provide the evaluation within one (1) 
year, the Board may terminate the application, in which case the application fee shall be forfeited.

(5-8-09)

b. An applicant who was originally licensed in another jurisdiction after June 30, 
1996 and who has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in engineering not 
accredited by EAC/ABET or a four (4) year bachelor degree program in engineering technology, 
or in a related science degree program other than engineering must have completed the following 
before the Board will consider them to possess knowledge and skill approximating that attained 
through graduation from an approved four (4) year engineering curriculum as required by Section 
54-1212(1)(b), Idaho Code: (3-29-12)

i. Thirty-two (32) college semester credit hours of higher mathematics and basic 
sciences. The credits in mathematics must be beyond algebra and trigonometry and must 
emphasize mathematical concepts and principles rather than computation. Courses in calculus and 
differential equations are required. Additional courses may include linear algebra, numerical 
analysis, probability and statistics and advanced calculus. The credits in basic sciences must 
include courses in chemistry and calculus-based general physics with a minimum of a two (2) 
semester (or equivalent) sequence in one or the other. Additional basic sciences courses may 
include life sciences (biology), earth sciences (geology, ecology), and advanced chemistry or 
physics. Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy mathematics or 
basic science requirements. Basic engineering science courses or sequence of courses in this area 
are acceptable for credit but may not be counted twice. (3-29-12)

ii. Sixteen (16) college credit hours in a general education component that 
complements the technical content of the curriculum. Examples of traditional courses in this area 
are philosophy, religion, history, literature, fine arts, sociology, psychology, political science, 
anthropology, economics, professional ethics, social responsibility. No more than six (6) credit 
hours of languages other than English or other than the applicant’s native language are acceptable 
for credit. English and foreign language courses in literature and civilization may be considered in 
this area. Courses which instill cultural values are acceptable, while routine exercises of personal 
craft are not. (3-29-12)

iii. Forty-eight (48) college credit hours of engineering science and engineering 
design. Courses shall be taught within the college / faculty of engineering having their roots in 
mathematics and basic sciences but carry knowledge further toward creative application of 
engineering principles. Examples of approved engineering science courses are mechanics, 
thermodynamics, heat transfer, electrical and electronic circuits, materials science, transport 
phenomena, and computer science (other than computer programming skills). Courses in 
engineering design stress the establishment of objectives and criteria, synthesis, analysis, 
construction, testing, and evaluation. Graduate level engineering courses can be included to fulfill 
curricular requirements in this area. Engineering technology courses cannot be considered to meet 
engineering topic requirements. (3-29-12)

c. An applicant who was originally licensed in another jurisdiction after June 30, 
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20104 who has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in a related science must have 
completed a minimum of the following college level academic courses, or their equivalents as 
determined by the Board, before the Board will consider them to possess knowledge and skill 
approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year surveying 
curriculum as required by Section 54-1212(2)(b), Idaho Code, for licensure as a professional land 
surveyor: (3-30-07)(        )

i. Three (3) credits in Surveying Law and Boundary Descriptions Eighteen (18) 
college semester credit hours of mathematics and basic sciences. A minimum of twelve (12) 
credits in mathematics must be beyond basic mathematics, but the credits include college algebra 
or higher mathematics. These courses must emphasize mathematical concepts and principles 
rather than computation. Mathematics courses may include college algebra, trigonometry, 
analytic geometry, differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, numberical analysis, 
probability and statistics, and advanced calculus. A minimum of six (6) credits must be in basic 
sciences. These courses must cover one or more of the following topics: general chemistry, 
advanced chemistry, life sciences (biology), earth sciences (geology, ecology), general physics, 
and advanced physics. Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy 
mathematics or basic science requirements; (3-30-07)(        )

ii. Three (3) credits in Route Surveying Sixteen (16) college semester credit hours in a 
general education component that complements the technical content of the curriculum. Examples 
of traditional courses in this area are philosophy, religion, history, literature, fine arts, sociology, 
psychology, political science, anthropology, economics, professional ethics, and social 
responsibility. No more than six (6) credit hours of languages other than English or other than the 
applicant's native language are acceptable for credit. English and foreign language courses in 
literature and civilization may be considered in this area. Courses that instill cultural values are 
acceptable, while routine exercises of personal craft are not; and (3-30-07)(        )

iii. Three (3) credits in Public Land Surveying; Thirty (30) college semester credit 
hours of surveying science and surveying practice. Courses shall be taught by qualified surveying 
faculty. Examples of surveying courses are basic surveying, route surveying, geodesy, geographic 
information systems, land development design and planning, global positioning systems, 
photogrammetry, mapping, survey adjustment and coordinates systems, and remote sensing. 
Required courses shall include a minimum of three (3) credit hours each in basic surveying, route 
surveying, geodesy, surveying law, surveying office practice, land development design and 
planning, public land survey system and global positioning systems, and shall account for a 
minimum of twenty-four (24) semester credit hours. Graduate-level surveying courses can be 
included to fulfill curricular requirements in this area. (3-30-07)(        )

iv. Three (3) credits in Surveying Software Applications; (3-30-07)

v. Three (3) credits in Research and Evidence in Surveying; (3-30-07)

vi. Three (3) credits in Surveying Adjustments and Coordinate Systems; (3-30-07)

vii. Three (3) credits in Subdivision Planning and Platting; (3-30-07)

viii. Three (3) credits in Geodesy; and (3-30-07)
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ix. Three (3) credits in Survey Office Practice and Business Law in Surveying.
(3-30-07)

02. Denials or Special Examinations. An application from a licensee of another state, 
territory or foreign country may be denied by the Board for any just cause and the application fee 
retained; or the Board may approve the applicant for a special written and/or oral examination.

(3-29-10)

03. Business Entity Requirements. No application for a certificate of authorization to 
practice or offer to practice professional engineering or professional land surveying, or both, in 
Idaho by a business entity authorized to practice professional engineering or professional land 
surveying or both in one (1) or more states, territories or foreign countries shall be considered by 
the Board unless such application includes the name and address of the individual or individuals, 
duly licensed to practice professional engineering or professional land surveying or both in this 
state, who will be in responsible charge of the engineering or land surveying services, or both, as 
applicable, to be rendered by the business entity in Idaho. The said individual or individuals must 
certify or indicate to the Board their willingness to assume responsible charge. (5-8-09)
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IDAPA 10 - IDAHO BOARD OF LICENSURE OF PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS

10.01.02 - RULES OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY

DOCKET NO. 10-0102-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is approved, amended or modified by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes 
final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the 
concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The current Rules of Professional Responsibility prohibit a licensee from soliciting or 
accepting a contract from a government authority on which an existing “principal or officer” of 
his organization serves as a member of the elected policy and governing body. In the course of 
investigating a recent complaint, the undefined term “principal” became an issue which caused 
the rule to be scrutinized. Rather than define “principal,” the Board is proposing that additional 
terms be used to more specifically name positions within a business entity about which this rule is 
intended. In addition, current rules prohibit a licensee from participating in decisions with respect 
to professional services by their firm. Rather than try to identify all such possible occurrences, the 
Board is proposing a rule which states that those persons are subject to the statutory provisions 
concerning ethics in government, and stating that a violation of those statutes is a violation of the 
Rules of Professional Responsibility.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, pages 47 through 49.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
There is no fiscal impact to the state general or agency dedicated funds.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.
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DATED: August 8, 2013.

Keith Simila, P.E., Executive DirectorTelephone: (208) 373-7210
1510 Watertower St.Fax: (208) 373-7213
Meridian, Idaho 83642Email: keith.simila@ipels.idaho.gov

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as 
follows:

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The current Rules of Professional Responsibility prohibit a licensee from soliciting or 
accepting a contract from a government authority on which an existing “principal or officer” of 
his organization serves as a member of the elected policy and governing body. In the course of 
investigating a recent complaint, the undefined term “principal” became an issue which caused 
the rule to be scrutinized. Rather than define “principal,” the Board is proposing that additional 
terms be used to more specifically name positions within a business entity about which this rule is 
intended. In addition, current rules prohibit a licensee from participating in decisions with respect 
to professional services by their firm. Rather than try to identify all such possible occurrences, the 
Board is proposing a rule which states that those persons are subject to the statutory provisions 
concerning ethics in government, and stating that a violation of those statutes is a violation of the 
Rules of Professional Responsibility.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: There is no fee associated with this rule change.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

Monday, July 8, 2013, 9:00 A.M.

1510 E. Watertower Street
Meridian, Idaho 83642
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impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
as a result of this rulemaking:

There is no fiscal impact to the state general fund or the agency dedicated fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 13-5, page 68.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

There are no materials incorporated by reference.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Keith 
Simila, (208) 373-7210.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before July 24, 2013.

DATED: June 7, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

008. CONFLICT OF INTEREST.

01. Conflict of Interest to Be Avoided. Each Licensee or Certificate Holder shall 
conscientiously avoid conflict of interest with an employer or client, and, when unavoidable, shall 
forthwith disclose the circumstances in writing to the employer or client. In addition, the Licensee 
or Certificate Holder shall promptly inform the employer or client in writing of any business 
association, interests, or circumstances which could influence a Licensee’s or Certificate Holder’s 
judgment or quality of service, or jeopardize the clients’ interests. (5-8-09)

02. Compensations From Multiple Parties on the Same Project. A Licensee or 
Certificate Holder may accept compensation, financial or otherwise, from more than one (1) party 
for services on the same project, or for services pertaining to the same project, provided the 
circumstances are fully disclosed, in writing, in advance and agreed to by all interested parties.

(5-8-09)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 10-0102-1301
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03. Solicitation From Material or Equipment Suppliers. A Licensee or Certificate 
Holder shall not solicit or accept financial or other valuable considerations from material or 
equipment suppliers for specifying or recommending the products of said suppliers, except with 
full disclosure as outlined in Subsection 008.02. (5-8-09)

04. Gratuities. A Licensee or Certificate Holder shall not solicit or accept gratuities, 
gifts, travel, lodging, loans, entertainment or other favors directly or indirectly, from contractors, 
their agents or other third parties dealing with a client or employer in connection with work for 
which the Licensee or Certificate Holder is responsible, which can be construed to be an effort to 
improperly influence the Licensee’s or Certificate Holder’s professional judgment. Minor 
expenditures such as advertising trinkets, novelties and meals are excluded. Neither shall a 
Licensee or Certificate Holder make any such improper offer. (5-8-09)

05. Solicitation From Agencies. A Licensee, a Certificate Holder or a representative 
thereof shall not solicit or accept a contract from a governmental authority on which an existing 
principal or officer, director, employee, member, partner, or sole proprietor of his organization 
serves as a member of the elected or appointed policy and governing body of such governmental 
authority or serves as a member of an entity of such governmental authority having the right to 
contract or recommend a contract for the services of a Licensee or a Certificate Holder.

(5-8-09)(        )

06. Professional Services Decisions of Agencies. A Licensee, Certificate Holder or 
representative thereof serving as a member, of the governing body of a governmental authority, 
whether elected or appointed, or an advisor or consultant to a governmental board, commission or 
department shall not participate in decisions with respect to professional services to be offered, 
that have been offered or may have been performed by that person’s associates, firm or employer 
for the concerned governmental body upon which that person serves, whether such professional 
services are commissioned by an entity of the said governmental body or by another person or 
entity at all times be subject to the statutory provisions concerning ethics in government, Section 
59-701, Idaho Code, et seq. A violation of the Ethics in Government Act will be considered a 
violation of these rules. (5-8-09)(        )

07. Unfair Advantage of Position and Work Outside Regular Employment. When 
a Licensee or an individual Certificate Holder is employed in a full time position, the person shall 
not use the advantages of the position to compete unfairly with other professionals and shall not 
accept professional employment outside of that person’s regular work or interest without the 
knowledge of and written permission or authorization from that person’s employer. (5-8-09)
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IDAPA 10 - IDAHO BOARD OF LICENSURE OF PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS

10.01.04 - RULES OF CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

DOCKET NO. 10-0104-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is approved, amended or modified by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes 
final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the 
concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The draft amendments will clarify what records must be kept to document continuing 
professional development.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, pages 50 and 51.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no fiscal impact to the state general or agency dedicated funds.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.

DATED: August 8, 2013.

Keith Simila, P.E.
Executive Director
1510 Watertower St.
Meridian, Idaho 83642
Telephone: (208) 373-7210
Fax: (208) 373-7213
Email: keith.simila@ipels.idaho.gov
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as 
follows:

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The amendments will clarify what records must be kept to document continuing professional 
development.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased:

There is no fee associated with this rule change.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
as a result of this rulemaking:

There is no fiscal impact to the state general fund or the agency dedicated fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the May 1, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 13-5, page 69.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

Monday, July 8, 2013, 9:00 A.M.

1510 E. Watertower Street
Meridian, Idaho 83642
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There are no materials incorporated by reference.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Keith 
Simila, (208) 373-7210.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before July 24, 2013.

DATED: June 7, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

008. RECORD KEEPING.
Maintenance of records to support credits claimed is the responsibility of the Licensee. Records 
required include, but are not limited to: (7-1-99)

01. Log. A log showing the type of activity claimed, sponsoring organization, 
location, duration, instructor’s or speaker’s name, and PDH credits earned. Time sheets or expense 
sheets signed by the Licensee documenting the Continuing Professional Development activity 
claimed (sponsoring organization, location, duration, instructor’s or speaker’s name), time and/
or expense related thereto, and claimed PDH credits earned shall be an acceptable log; and

(5-8-09)(        )

02. Attendance Verification. Attendance verification records in the form of 
completion certificates or other documents supporting evidence of attendance; Time sheets or 
expense sheets signed by the Licensee documenting the Continuing Professional Development 
activity claimed (sponsoring organization, location, duration, instructor’s or speaker’s name), 
time and/or expense related thereto, and claimed PDH credits earned shall be acceptable if 
attendance certificates are not available; or (7-1-99)(        )

03. Records. Records may be maintained by a repository for same. (5-8-09)

04. Documented Self-Study. In order to qualify in this category, the licensee must 
prepare and retain an abstract of the material studied, the date the activity occurred and the 
number of PDH’s claimed, and a bibliographic reference of the material studied. A photocopy of 
pertinent parts of the material studied, annotated with the date the activity occurred and the 
number of PDH’s claimed, shall be deemed to meet this requirement. (5-8-09)

05. Record Retention. All continuing professional development records must be 
maintained for a period of six (6) years and copies must be provided to the Board upon request for 
audit purposes. (5-8-09)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 10-0104-1301
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IDAPA 14 - BOARD OF REGISTRATION 
FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

14.01.01 - RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE BOARD OF REGISTRATION 
FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

DOCKET NO. 14-0101-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2808, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 133 through 136.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208-334-3233.

DATED this 28th day of October, 2013.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.
P O Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063
Phone: 208-334-3233
Fax: 208-334-3945
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 54-2808, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The Board is amending its rules to define ‘responsible charge’ and to clarify when a geologist 
may seal work prepared by someone else. This change will ensure the safety and welfare of the 
public.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because the rule change is simple in nature and was discussed 
during a noticed open meeting of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Cherie Simpson at 208 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DATED this 21st day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

010. DEFINITIONS.
For the purposes of these rules, the following definitions apply: (3-26-08)

01. Act. The legislation enacted by the First Regular Session of the Forty-first 
Legislature (Chapter 137, 1971 Session Laws), and compiled at Sections 54-2801, et seq., Idaho 
Code, providing for registration of professional geologists. (3-26-08)

02. Applicant. Any person who has made application for registration under the Act 
and who has neither been granted registration nor had the Application denied by the Board.

(3-26-08)

03. Application. An Application consists of completed form or forms prescribed by 
the Board and all official transcripts, reference statements, and a signed code of ethics. (3-26-08)

04. Board. The Idaho Board of Registration for Professional Geologists as provided 
for in the Act. (7-1-93)

05. Geologist-in-Training. The interim designation given to any person who has met 
the academic requirements and successfully passed the fundamental and academic geological 
portion of the professional examination but has not yet completed the requisite years of 
experience and passed the practices of geology examination as provided in the Act. The 
Geologist-in-Training designation is applicable for a period of ten (10) years from notification of 
the successful completion of the fundamentals of geology examination. If after ten (10) years the 
Geologist-in-Training has not met all requirements for registration as a professional geologist, the 
Geologist-in-Training certification is withdrawn and the Applicant must re-apply for registration. 
The possession of a Geologist-in-Training certificate by an Applicant does not entitle the 
Applicant to practice professional geology without supervision as provided in the Act. (3-26-08)

06. Registrant. Any person currently registered as a professional geologist under 
provisions of the Act. (7-1-93)

07. Responsible Position. A position wherein a person, having independent control, 
direction, or supervision of a geological project, investigates and interprets geologic features.

(7-1-93)

08. Responsible Charge. Responsible charge means the control and direction of 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 14-0101-1301
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geology work, requiring initiative, professional skill, independent judgment, and professional 
knowledge of the content of relevant documents during their preparation. (        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

01. Filing of Documents. All correspondence, including remittances and renewal 
fees, shall be directed to the office of the Board. (3-26-08)

02. Meetings. The Board shall meet at least once each year at the call of the chairman; 
the Board shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman at such annual meeting. In addition to this 
annual meeting, the chairman may call special meetings from time to time when, in his opinion, it 
is deemed necessary, or upon the written request of any three (3) members of the Board. (4-9-09)

03. Officers. Officers elected from the Board shall be chairman and vice-chairman.
(4-9-09)

a. The chairman shall be the executive head of the Board; shall, when present, 
preside at meetings; shall appoint committees; and shall perform all the duties pertaining to the 
office of chairman. (3-26-08)

b. The vice-chairman shall, in the absence or incapacity of the chairman, exercise the 
duties and possess all the powers of the chairman. (7-1-93)

04. Committees. Regular or special committees may be appointed by the chairman, as 
necessary, to perform special duties and shall present reports to the Board at the time specified or 
at the earliest regular or special meeting of the Board. (7-1-93)

05. Quorum. As provided in the Act, a quorum shall be at least three (3) members of 
the Board legally holding office at the time of meeting. Official business of the Board shall be 
conducted only at Board meetings with a quorum present. (7-1-93)

06. Certificates. Certificates of registration shall be issued to each Registrant, as 
prescribed by the Act, on forms adopted by the Board. Certificates shall be displayed by 
Registrants in their place of business. A new certificate may be issued by the Board, to replace 
one lost, destroyed or mutilated. Each certificate shall bear an individual number, as assigned to 
that particular Registrant by the Board, which number shall be included in the annual roster of 
Registrants prepared by the secretary. (7-1-93)

07. Seals. (7-1-93)

a. The official seal of the Board shall consist of a seal of the state of Idaho 
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surrounded with the words “Board of Registration for Professional Geologists.” (7-1-93)

b. The Board has adopted a similar seal for use by each registrant. The seal may be a 
rubber stamp, crimp, or electronically generated image. Whenever the seal is applied, the 
Registrant’s signature and date shall also be included. If the signature is handwritten, it shall be 
adjacent to or across the seal. No further words or wording are required. A facsimile signature 
generated by any method will not be acceptable unless accompanied by a digital signature. SEE 
“APPENDIX A” AT END OF THIS CHAPTER. (3-26-08)

c. The seal, signature, and date shall be placed on all final specifications, reports, 
information, and calculations, whenever presented to a client or any public or governmental 
agency. Any such document presented to a client or public or governmental agency that is not 
final and does not contain a seal, signature, and date shall be clearly marked as “Preliminary,” 
“Draft,” “Not for Construction,” or with similar words to distinguish the document from a final 
document. (3-26-08)

d. The seal, signature, and date shall be placed on all original documents. The 
application of the Registrant’s seal, signature, and date shall constitute certification that the work 
thereon was done by him or under his supervision. Each plan or drawing sheet shall be sealed and 
signed by the Registrant or Registrants responsible for each sheet. In the case of a business entity, 
each plan or drawing sheet shall be sealed and signed by the Registrant or Registrants involved. 
The supervising professional geologist shall sign and seal the title or first sheet. Copies of 
electronically produced documents, listed in Paragraph 100.08.b. of these rules, distributed for 
informational uses such as for bidding purposes or working copies, may be issued with the 
Registrant’s seal and a notice that the original document is on file with the Registrant’s signature 
and date. The words “Original Signed By:” and “Date Original Signed:” shall be placed adjacent 
to or across the seal on the electronic original. The storage location of the original document shall 
also be provided. Only the title page of reports, specifications, and like documents need bear the 
seal, signature, and date of the Registrant. (3-26-08)

e. The seal and signature shall be used by Registrant only when the work being 
stamped was under the Registrant’s supervision responsible charge. Upon sealing, Registrant 
takes full professional responsibility for that work. After-the-fact ratification by the sealing of 
documents relating to work that was not performed by the Registrant but by an unregistered 
subordinate or other unregistered individual and without thorough technical review throughout 
the project by the sealing Registrant is prohibited. (3-26-08)(        )

f. In the event a Registrant in responsible charge of a project leaves employment, is 
transferred, is promoted, becomes incapacitated, dies, or is otherwise not available to seal, sign, 
and date final documents, the duty of responsible charge for the project shall be accomplished by 
successor Registrant by becoming familiar with and reviewing, in detail, and retaining the project 
documents to date. Subsequent work on the project must clearly and accurately reflect the 
successor Registrant’s responsible charge. The successor Registrant shall seal, sign, and date all 
work product in conformance with Section 54-2815, Idaho Code. (        )

08. Address Change. Each Applicant and Registrant shall notify the Board within 
sixty (60) days of any and all changes of address, giving both old and new address. (7-1-93)
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09. Board Report. The Board shall publish on its website, among other things:
(4-9-09)

a. Copy of the Act; (7-1-93)

b. Rules of the Board; (4-9-09)

c. Minutes of the meetings; (4-9-09)

d. Financial report; (4-9-09)

e. Roster of Registrants; and (4-9-09)

f. Code of ethics. (4-9-09)
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IDAPA 15 - OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR
DIVISION OF HUMAN RESOURCES

15.04.01 - RULES OF THE DIVISION OF HUMAN RESOURCES 
AND PERSONNEL COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 15-0401-1302

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-5226, Idaho 
Code, and Section 67-5309, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The Division of Human Resources (DHR) is adding definitions and clarifying rules so 
consistency is achieved across agencies. Two definitions were added, Administrative Leave and 
Salary Equity Increase, as the terms were already addressed in Executive Policy or 2006 Agency 
Guidance Memorandum, but the purpose was not consistently understood and applied. Two 
definitions regarding Veterans, Disabled Veteran and Veteran, were added to match the statute 
change to Section 67-502(17), Idaho Code, approved during the 2013 legislative session (SB 
1045a). Also, the definitions of Merit Increase and Under fill were revised. In addition, other 
DHR rules were updated to add or clarify verbiage.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 104 through 117.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Michelle Peugh, HR Specialist, Sr. at 208-854-3073.

DATED this November 22, 2013.
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Vicki Tokita, Administrator
Division of Human Resources
304 N. 8th Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0066
Phone: 208-334-2263
Fax: 208-854-3088

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 67-5309, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The changes clarify the rules so consistency is achieved across agencies and brings the rules 
in compliance with Section 65-502(17), Idaho Code, which was amended in the 2013 Legislature 
by SB1045a. The requirement of service in active duty during a war or in a combat zone has been 
removed from the definition of “veteran” and “disabled veteran” has been added to clarify 
language in related rules. Definitions for ‘Administrative Leave’ and ‘Salary Equity Increase’ 
have been added, as the terms were already addressed in Executive Policy or 2006 Agency 
Guidance Memorandum, but the purpose was not consistently understood and applied. 
Definitions for ‘Merit Increase’ and ‘Underfill’ were revised. Other rule sections were updated to 
add or clarify language.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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was published in the June 5, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-6, page 41.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

No documents were incorporated by reference into this rule.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Michelle Peugh, HR Specialist Sr., 208-854-3073.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments 
must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 2013.

DATED this August 15, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

010. DEFINITIONS -- A THROUGH E.
Each of the terms defined in these rules have the meaning given herein unless a different meaning 
is clearly required by the context. Additional definitions are contained in Section 67-5302, Idaho 
Code. (7-1-87)

01. Administrative Leave. Temporary paid leave from a job assignment where pay 
and benefits remain intact. (        )

012. Administrator. The Administrator of the Division of Human Resources in the 
Office of the Governor or delegate for those responsibilities assigned by the administrator to a 
specific appointing authority. (5-8-09)

023. Agency Classification. A classification of positions unique to an agency. (5-8-09)

034. Allocation. The assignment of a classification to a pay grade in the compensation 
schedule. (3-16-04)

045. Appeal. Any written request for relief from dismissal, demotion, suspension, or 
other adverse action filed with the Commission by an employee, appointing authority, or 
applicant. The meaning of appeal includes application, petition, or protest. (3-16-04)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 15-0401-1302
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056. Appellant. An employee, appointing authority, or applicant filing an appeal or a 
petition for review with the Commission. (3-16-04)

067. Appointing Authority. The officer, board, commission, person or group of 
persons authorized by statute or lawfully delegated authority to hire, dismiss or otherwise 
significantly impact the employment status of individuals in any agency. (Ref. Section 67-
5302(3), Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

078. Appointment, Limited. The appointment of a person to a classified position 
where the work is projected to be of limited duration, for which the person has qualified by 
examination. (3-16-04)

089. Appointment, Nonclassified. The appointment of a person to a position exempt 
from the application of these rules by the provisions of Section 67-5303, Idaho Code. (7-1-87)

0910. Appointment, Permanent. The appointment of a person to a classified position 
who has been certified by the appointing authority to have successfully completed the required 
probationary period and whose employment is permanent, subject to removal or discipline only 
under the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 53, Idaho Code, and the rules of the Division of Human 
Resources and Idaho Personnel Commission. (3-16-04)

101. Appointment, Probationary. The appointment of a person to a classified position 
for which the person has qualified by examination but is serving a work trial period as a condition 
for certification to permanent appointment. (4-5-85)

112. Appointment, Project Exempt. The appointment of a person to a nonclassified 
position established under federal grants, which by law restricts employment eligibility to specific 
individuals or groups on the basis of non-merit selection requirements. (Ref. Section 67-5303(m), 
Idaho Code) (3-16-04)

123. Appointment, Provisional. The appointment of a person to a position in classified 
service for which the person has not qualified by examination pending the establishment of a 
register for the classification of such position. (3-16-04)

134. Appointment, Seasonal. An appointment to a regular position in classified 
service with intermittent work periods. (Ref. Section 67-5302(31), Idaho Code) (3-16-04)

145. Appointment, Temporary. The appointment of a person to a nonclassified 
position which is of a limited duration, and in which hours worked will not exceed one thousand 
three hundred eighty-five (1,385) hours during any twelve (12) month period for any one (1) 
agency. Temporary appointments may occur for intermittent periods of time and include recurring 
assignments. (Ref Section 67-5302(33), Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

156. Base Pay. The rate paid for performing a job, excluding bonuses, shift 
differentials, overtime or other compensation premiums. (5-8-09)

167. Certifiable Range. An examination score and a rank on an eligibility register 
sufficiently high to be among the top twenty-five (25) available names, plus names of all 
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individuals with scores identical to the twenty-fifth ranking eligible, for certification to fill a 
position in the classification for which the register was established. (4-7-11)

178. Classified Service. That body of positions in state agencies subject to Title 67, 
Chapter 53, Idaho Code, as defined therein and excludes temporary, project exempt, and 
nonclassified appointments. (5-8-09)

189. Commission. As utilized in these rules, refers to the Idaho Personnel Commission 
as established in Section 67-5307, Idaho Code. (5-8-09)

1920. Compensation Plan. The overall system of salary administration for classified 
service including Sections 67-5309B and 67-5309C, Idaho Code; the classification and 
compensation schedules, Division of Human Resources and Idaho Personnel Commission rules 
and policies, and agency policies governing employee pay. (5-8-09)

201. Compensation Schedule. The pay grades established by the Division of Human 
Resources and associated rates of pay. (Ref. Section 67-5309B, Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

212. Consultant. An independent contractor who provides professional or technical 
advice, counsel, or service. (Ref. Rule Section 050) (5-8-09)

23. Disabled Veteran. Those veterans separated under honorable conditions who:
(        )

a. Have served on active duty in the armed forces and have a current service-
connected disability rating of ten percent (10%) or more or are receiving compensation related to 
a service-connected disability including retirement benefits or pension from the military or the 
department of veterans affairs; or (        )

b. Are Purple Heart recipients. (Ref. Section 65-502(4), Idaho Code) (        )

224. Dismissal. The separation of an employee from classified service with cause 
assigned by the appointing authority pursuant to Section 190 of these rules. (5-8-09)

235. Due Process. As related to Idaho’s Personnel System for permanent classified 
employees, the activities required to address an individual’s constitutional right to notice and an 
opportunity to be heard. (Ref. Section 67-5315, Idaho Code) (3-16-04)

246. Employment History. The information available to the public without the 
employee’s consent in accordance with Section 9-340(C), Idaho Code, for every agency for which 
a current or former public official works, including the official reasons for separation from 
employment but not including accrued leave balances or usage. (5-8-09)

257. Examination. The application of written tests, oral interviews, performance tests, 
investigation, physical evaluation, evaluation of education and experience, or any other measure 
of job-related knowledge and ability, including performance in probationary periods. (4-5-85)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

012. DEFINITIONS -- K THROUGH O.
Each of the terms defined in these rules will have the meaning given herein unless a different 
meaning is clearly required by the context. Additional definitions are contained in Section 67-
5302, Idaho Code. (5-8-09)

01. Key Employee. An individual specifically hired for an at-will or nonclassified 
position for which there is no, or only a limited, selection process. Examples may include a 
private secretary or deputy to an official who holds a confidential relationship to the appointing or 
employing officer. (Ref. Section 65-502(5), Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

02. Layoff. An involuntary reduction in hours of work or separation of an incumbent 
in the classified service either by reduction in force due to shortage of work or funds, or 
abolishment of positions. (4-5-85)

03. Light or Limited Duty. A general term describing a temporary limited assignment 
in relation to recovery from injury, illness or other limiting condition as approved by the 
appointing authority. (3-16-04)

04. Merit Increase. The advancement of an employee’s compensation within a pay 
grade based upon performance in accordance with Section 67-5309B(3) and (4), Idaho Code.

(5-8-09)(        )

05. Merit Increase Matrix. A pay distribution tool used to advance employee pay 
based on performance and market data. (5-8-09)

06. Military Duty. Training and service performed by an inductee, enlistee or 
reservist or any entrant into the armed forces of the United States, not including active duty 
training as a reservist in the armed forces of the United States or as a member of the National 
Guard of the United States, when the call is for training only. (Ref. Section 65-502(6), Idaho 
Code) (5-8-09)

07. Minimum Qualification Specialty. A minimum qualification required for one (1) 
or more positions in a classification that is in addition to the other minimum qualifications 
required for all positions in the classification. (3-16-04)

08. Occasional or Sporadic Work. Work that is voluntarily performed by an 
employee in a different capacity from the employee’s regular work and is infrequent, irregular or 
occurring in scattered instances. (7-1-87)

09. On-Call Time. Time when an employee is required to carry a pager, cellular 
phone, or to leave word at home or with the agency where the employee may be reached if needed 
to work, and the employee can use the time effectively for personal purposes. (5-8-09)

013. DEFINITIONS -- P THROUGH Z.
Each of the terms defined in these rules will have the meaning given herein unless a different 
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meaning is clearly required by the context. Additional definitions are contained in Section 67-
5302, Idaho Code. (5-8-09)

01. Pay Line Exception. A temporary assignment of pay grade, pursuant to Section 
67-5309D, Idaho Code, in excess of the pay grade allocated pursuant to Section 67-5309B, Idaho 
Code, as approved by the administrator. (5-8-09)

02. Permanent Employee. An employee in the classified service who has 
successfully completed entrance probation. Permanent employees remain subject to separation as 
set forth in these rules and Section 67-5309(n), Idaho Code. (5-8-09)

03. Promotion. The advancement through the competitive process of an employee 
with permanent status from a position which he occupies in one (1) classification to a position in 
another classification having a higher paygrade. (5-8-09)

04. Reduction in Pay. A reduction of an employee’s salary from one (1) pay rate to a 
lower rate within the pay grade to which the employee’s classification is allocated. (3-16-04)

05. Register. A list of names of persons or the name of one (1) person who has been 
determined to be eligible for employment in a classification on the basis of examination and merit 
factors as established by the administrator. An adequate register lists at least five (5) names of 
eligible candidates currently available for consideration for each vacancy in the classification for 
which the register was established. (3-16-04)

06. Resignation. The voluntary quitting or abandonment of state employment, 
excluding retirement. (5-8-09)

07. Respondent. The party whose interests are adverse to those of the appellant.
(7-1-93)

08. Salary Equity Increase. The advancement of an employee’s compensation within 
a pay grade based upon factors such as market demand, compression within the agency or 
classification, or inequities, and the employee’s performance, in accordance with Section 67-
5309B(3), Idaho Code. (        )

089. Suspension. An enforced period of absence, with or without pay, for disciplinary 
purposes, for felony charges, or pending investigation of charges made against an employee 
pursuant to Section 190 of these rules. (5-8-09)

0910. Termination. The separation of an entrance or voluntary probationary employee 
from classified service for unsatisfactory service during the probationary period without cause 
assigned by the appointing authority pursuant to Section 152 of these rules. (5-8-09)

101. Transfer. A change of work location of an employee in which the employee 
changes from one (1) position to another in the same classification or to another classification in 
the same pay grade. (3-16-04)

112. Underfill. The filling of a classification of position with an employee in a 
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classification of lower pay grade to accommodate a training period as approved by the 
administrator. Appointment to a position established at a higher classification while being 
compensated at a lower pay grade during completion of a training plan. Underfills must be 
approved in advance by the administrator. (3-16-04)(        )

123. USERRA. Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act, 38 
U.S.C. Sections 4301 through 4333. Prohibits employment discrimination against persons 
because of their service in the Armed Forces Reserve, the National Guard, or other uniformed 
services. (5-8-09)

14. Veteran. Any person who has been discharged or released from active duty in the 
armed forces under honorable conditions provided they have served on active duty for a minimum 
of one hundred eighty (180) consecutive days. “Active duty” means full-time duty in the active 
military service of the United States. Such term includes full-time training duty, annual training 
duty, and attendance, while in the active military service, at a school designated as a service 
school by law or by the secretary of the military department concerned. (Ref. Section 65-502(17), 
Idaho Code) (        )

135. Workweek. A period of seven (7) consecutive days beginning 12:01 a.m. Sunday. 
(Ref. Section 073) (12-10-90)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

020. VETERANS PREFERENCE.
Except for key employee positions, preference must be given to qualified veterans in as defined 
by Section 65-502, Idaho Code who meet the minimum qualifications for a position at initial 
employment and for retention. (5-8-09)(        )

01. Qualified Veteran. To receive the preference, the person must have: (5-8-09)

a. Served on active duty in the armed forces during a war, in a campaign, or 
expedition for which a campaign badge has been authorized, or served on active duty during the 
period beginning April 28, 1952 and ending July 1, 1955; (5-8-09)

b. Served on active duty as defined in 38 U.S.C. Section 101(21) at any time in the 
armed forces for a period of more than one hundred eighty (180) consecutive days, any part of 
which occurred after January 31, 1955 and before October 15, 1976; (5-8-09)

c. Served on active duty as defined in 38 U.S.C. Section 101(21) in the armed forces 
during the period beginning on August 2, 1990 and ending on January 2, 1992; (5-8-09)

d. Served on active duty as defined in 38 U.S.C. Section 101(21) at any time in the 
armed forces for a period of more than one hundred eighty (180) consecutive days, any part of 
which occurred during the period beginning on September 11, 2001 and ending on the date 
prescribed by Presidential proclamation or by law as the last date of Operation Iraqi Freedom. 
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(Ref. Section 67-502(14), Idaho Code, and 5 U.S.C. Section 2108); or (5-8-09)

e. Served as may be further defined in 38 U.S.C. Section 101(11). (5-8-09)

021. Disabled Veteran Defined (for Preference Points on Competitive Exam) Initial 
Appointment. Veterans, Ddisabled veterans, Purple Heart recipients, and their spouses, 
unmarried widows, or unmarried widowers, or spouses, when qualified under state law will have 
additional points added to a passing score and placed on the register in accordance with the 
provisions set forth in Section 102 of these rules. (Ref. Rule Subsection 093.03, and Sections 65-
502(2), 503, and 504(3), and 67-5309(f), Idaho Code) (5-8-09)(        )

032. Retention. Veterans (as defined in Title 65, Chapter 5, Idaho Code) will receive 
the equivalent of three (3) years of satisfactory service in additional points awarded towards the 
total calculation of retention points in a reduction of work force determination. (Ref. Rule Section 
141 and Section 65-501, Idaho Code) (5-8-09)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

067. RECLASSIFICATION OF POSITIONS.

01. Procedure. Positions may be reclassified in the same pay grade, upward, or 
downward as determined by an analysis by the Division of Human Resources’ staff of the duties 
and responsibilities assigned by appointing authorities to specific positions. An incumbent 
occupying a reclassified position shall be properly classified by an appointing authority within 
thirty (30) calendar days of being notified by the administrator that the duties and responsibilities 
assigned to the position are not properly classified. (4-5-85)(        )

02. Effective Date. Reclassifications of positions shall not be effective until they are 
approved by the administrator, but may be retroactive to the beginning of the pay period during 
which approval is granted. Reclassification of an employee shall not precede the effective date of 
the reclassification of the position. (3-30-01)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

071. MERIT INCREASE MATRIX.
Salary increases must be based on a merit increase matrix approved by the Division of Human 
Resources. Shift and geographic premium pay, bonuses, reinstatements, transfers, promotions, 
salary equity increases, and recruitment and retention awards are not subject to a matrix.

(5-8-09)(        )

072. OPERATION OF COMPENSATION PLAN.
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01. Authorized Pay Rate. No employee in the state classified service will be paid at a 
rate less than the minimum nor greater than the maximum rate of the pay grade assigned to the 
classification. (5-8-09)

02. Starting Salary. The starting salary for a new appointee may be anywhere within 
the pay grade assigned to the employee’s classification and is at the appointing authority’s 
discretion considering available budget, market, and relation to existing staff salaries. (5-8-09)

03. Payline Exceptions. Temporary assignments to a new pay grade may be made by 
the administrator. Such assignments apply to an entire classification for the purpose of 
recruitment or retention and will be reviewed annually to determine the need for continuance.

(5-8-09)

04. Salary Equity Increases. An appointing authority may, with approval by the 
administrator, advance an employee’s salary within a pay grade based upon factors such as market 
demand, to address compression within an agency or classification, or inequities. In accordance 
with Section 67-5309B(3), Idaho Code, the employee’s performance must be considered. (        )

045. Salary After Reappointment from Layoff. Employees appointed by the agency 
that laid them off (Ref. Rule Subsection 101.01 and Section 146) will be paid in the current pay 
grade for the classification to which reappointed or at the same payrate the employee received 
immediately preceding layoff, whichever is greater, but not to exceed the maximum of the current 
pay grade. (5-8-09)

056. Salary Upon Transfer. (7-10-88)

a. A transfer between agencies (Ref. Rule Section 125) in the same classification or 
one of equal pay grade does not require a change in the employee’s salary, but a lower or higher 
rate may be negotiated between the employee and the appointing authority. (5-8-09)

b. If the transfer is to a classification of lower pay grade (demotion), the employee’s 
salary is negotiable between the employee and appointing authority within the lower pay grade.

(3-16-04)

067. Salary Upon Reinstatement. Unless related to reemployment after a lay off, the 
salary of a reinstated employee (Ref. Rule Section 124) is negotiable between the employee and 
appointing authority in the current pay grade for the classification in which the employee has 
reinstatement privileges. (5-8-09)

078. Salary Upon Downward Reassignment. When a classification is reassigned 
downward the employee’s salary will be protected to the maximum within the new pay grade.

(3-16-04)

089. Salary Upon Return from Military Duty. An employee who returns to state 
service from active military duty in accordance with the provisions of Section 65-508, Idaho 
Code, and USERRA will be paid at the comparable rate in the current pay grade for the 
classification to which he was assigned prior to leaving for military service. (5-8-09)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

101. TYPES OF ELIGIBILITY REGISTERS.
There are four (4) kinds of eligibility registers: (4-5-85)

01. Reemployment Preference Registers. Registers with reemployment preference 
for a given classification will contain the names of classified employees of permanent status who 
have been laid off except limited service appointments. (See Section Ref. Rules 140 of these rules
and 144). (4-7-11)(        )

02. Agency Promotional Registers. Agency promotional registers for a given 
classification will contain the names of classified employees in a given agency who successfully 
passed an agency promotional examination for the class. (Ref. Rule Subsection 086.05) (5-8-09)

03. Statewide Promotional Registers. Statewide promotional registers for a given 
classification will contain the names of all classified employees in all state agencies who 
successfully passed a statewide promotional examination for the class. (Ref. Rule Subsection 
086.05) (5-8-09)

04. Open Competitive Registers. Open competitive registers for a given 
classification will contain the names of applicants who successfully passed an open competitive 
examination for the classification. (5-8-09)

102. PLACEMENT ON REGISTER.

01. Score Order. Eligible candidates will be placed on the register for a given 
classification ranked in descending numerical order based on their final score on the examination 
for such classification. (5-8-09)

02. Veterans' Preference. Eligible veterans or surviving spouses entitled to five (5) 
point preference will be placed on the open competitive register in accordance with their final 
score on the examination augmented by preference points. (Ref. Rule Subsection 093.03 and 
Section 65-504, Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

03. Disabled Veterans’ Preference. Preference will be awarded to disabled veterans 
as follows: (        )

a. Eligible ten percent (10%) or more dDisabled veterans, Purple Heart recipients, or 
surviving spouses of any eligible disabled veterans who cannot qualify for any public 
employment because of a service-connected disability, and unmarried widows or widowers of 
disabled veterans entitled to ten (10) point preference will be placed on the open-competitive 
register in order of their final score on the examination augmented by preference points. (Ref. 
Rule Subsection 093.03 and Sections 65-503 and 65-504, Idaho Code) (        )

b. Disabled Vveterans who have a current service-connected disability of thirty 
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percent (30%) or more will be offered an interview when their final score on the hiring list places 
them within the top twenty-five (25) qualified candidates. If more than ten (10) disabled veterans 
with a disability rating of thirty percent (30%) or greater disabled veterans more place in the top 
twenty-five (25) qualified scores of a hiring list, at least ten (10) will be offered an interview. 
(Ref. Rule Subsection 093.03 and Section 65-504, Idaho Code) (3-29-12)(        )

04. Veterans' Preference Points for Initial Appointment Only. The additional 
points added by reason of veterans’ preference will be used the first time a qualified veteran is 
hired by a state agency and not for the purpose of promotions. (Ref. Section 65-504, Idaho Code) 
Initial appointments do not include: (5-8-09)

a. Jobs held by patients, inmates, or students employed at a state institution; (5-8-09)

b. Temporary or casual employment; or (5-8-09)

c. An office filled by election. (5-8-09)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

109. CERTIFICATION AND SELECTION.
Whenever a vacancy in a classified position is to be filled by a competitive recruitment process, 
the appointing authority shall make selection from a hiring list created from eligibility registers 
certified by the Division of Human Resources’ staff. Non-promotional internal or external 
transfers or reinstatements do not require registers certified by the Division of Human Resources.

(3-16-04)(        )

110. NUMBER OF NAMES ON REGISTER.
The Division of Human Resources’ staff shall certify a hiring list from the eligibility register, in 
the order of their scores, a sufficient number of names so that the appointing authority shall be 
able to select for appointment from among twenty-five (25) eligible candidates for each position 
to be filled. If appointments are to be made to more than one (1) position, one (1) additional name 
shall be added for each vacancy so that the appointing authority shall have twenty-five (25) names 
to consider for each vacancy. The names of all eligible candidates with scores identical to the 
twenty-fifth ranking eligible candidate on the register shall be provided to appointing authorities 
for selection purposes. (4-7-11)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

141. CALCULATION OF RETENTION POINTS. 
There will be an evaluation of all employees in the classification in the agency or organizational 
unit affected by the reduction in force based on a retention point system. Retention points are 
derived from experience as described in performance evaluations, and classified credited state 
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service, and veterans preference as described in Subsection 141.03. Qualified veterans are given 
preference through additional retention points. (Ref. Subsection 141.03), The appointing authority 
will determine a process for the impartial assessment of evaluations to assign points as follows: 

(5-8-09)(        )

01. No Performance Evaluation on File for a Twelve-Month Period. All credited 
state service for which there is no performance evaluation will receive seventy-five thousandths 
(.075) points per hour. A supervisor’s failure to document performance in a timely manner cannot 
be used to disadvantage an employee during retention point calculation. (5-8-09)

a. Grace period. Supervisors have ninety (90) days after each two thousand eighty 
(2,080) hours an employee works to complete the performance evaluation documentation. During 
that ninety (90) day time frame, the evaluation may be written to cover the two thousand eighty 
(2,080) hours or extended to also cover the time frame up to the date of the evaluation. (3-16-04)

b. Changes in prior periods not allowed. Once an evaluation has been signed by the 
supervisor, employee, manager, and other applicable reviewers, the document may not be 
changed, unless the change is a result of a problem solving dispute resolution. (3-16-04)

02. Calculation of Retention Points Since Last Evaluation. The most recent 
performance evaluation should be used to pro-rate retention points when calculating credited state 
service since that evaluation, unless that evaluation occurred more than two thousand eighty 
(2,080) hours from the date of calculation. In such cases, points are calculated in conformance 
with Subsection 141.01 of these rules. (5-8-09)

03. Qualified Veterans Preference. Veterans as defined in Title 65, Chapter 5, Idaho 
Code, will receive preference by the addition of retention points equivalent to three (3) years of 
service at a level that achieves performance standards. (Ref. Section 65-501, Idaho Code)

(5-8-09)(        )

04. Calculation Date Cutoff. No points will be calculated for the sixty (60) days prior 
to the effective date of the layoff. (3-16-04)

05. Audit of Retention Points. Each employee is entitled to an audit of retention 
points by an independent auditor designated by the administrator in cases of dispute between the 
appointing authority and the employee. The request for audit must be filed with the appointing 
authority within five (5) calendar days of the employee’s receipt of layoff notification. The 
decision of the independent auditor is binding on both parties unless an appeal is filed within 
thirty-five (35) calendar days from the date of the auditor’s notification to the affected parties.

(5-8-09)

Exemplary Performance - .100 points

Solid Sustained Performance - .075 points

Achieves Performance Standards - .050 points

Does Not Achieve Performance Standards - .0 points
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

180. NONDISCIPLINARY DEMOTION REQUIRED. (RESERVED)
An appointing authority shall make a nondisciplinary demotion when the position occupied by an 
employee is reclassified to a classification allocated to a lower pay grade in accordance with 
assigned responsibilities pursuant to Rule 067. (3-16-04)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

190. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.

01. Cause for Disciplinary Actions or Separation From State Service. Dismissal, 
suspension, demotion, or the reduction in pay, of a classified employee, may occur for any of the 
following causes during the employee’s employment: (5-8-09)

a. Failure to perform the duties and carry out the obligations imposed by the state 
constitution, state statutes, or rules of the agency or the Division of Human Resources and Idaho 
Personnel Commission. (5-8-09)

b. Inefficiency, incompetency, or negligence in performing duties, or job 
performance that fails to meet established performance standards. (5-8-09)

c. Physical or mental incapability for performing assigned duties, if a reasonable 
accommodation cannot be made for the disabling condition. (5-8-09)

d. Refusal to accept a reasonable and proper assignment from an authorized 
supervisor. (4-5-85)

e. Insubordination or conduct unbecoming a state employee or conduct detrimental 
to good order and discipline in the agency. (5-8-09)

f. Intoxication or being under the influence of alcohol, or the misuse of medications 
or controlled substances, while on duty. (5-8-09)

g. Careless, negligent, or improper use or unlawful conversion of state property, 
equipment, or funds. (4-5-85)

h. Use of any influence which violates the principles of the merit system in an 
attempt to secure a promotion or privileges for individual advantage. (4-5-85)

i. Conviction of official misconduct in office, or conviction of any felony, or 
conviction of any other crime involving moral turpitude. (4-5-85)
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j. Acceptance of gifts in exchange for influence or favors given in the employee’s 
official capacity. (5-8-09)

k. Habitual pattern of failure to report for duty at the assigned time and place.
(4-5-85)

l. Habitual improper use of sick leave. (4-5-85)

m. Unauthorized disclosure of confidential information from official records.(4-5-85)

n. Absence without leave. (4-5-85)

o. Misstatement or deception in application for employment. (4-5-85)

p. Failure to obtain or maintain a current license or certificate lawfully required as a 
condition in performance of duties. (4-5-85)

q. Prohibited participation in political activities. (Ref. Section 67-5311, Idaho Code)
(4-5-85)

02. Suspension for Investigation. An appointing authority may suspend with pay
place an employee on administrative leave for investigation of disciplinary causes enumerated in 
Subsection 190.01 of these rules. Each suspension for investigation will be superseded by 
reinstatement to duty, dismissal, or disciplinary demotion, or suspension within thirty (30) 
calendar days of the suspension for investigation or within an extension of an additional thirty 
(30) calendar days approved by the administrator. Further extensions may be granted with the 
approval of the Administrator. (5-8-09)(        )

03. Disciplinary Suspension. An appointing authority may suspend without pay an 
employee for discipline for causes enumerated above. Disciplinary suspension of an employee 
with permanent status is subject to appeal by the employee to the Commission. (5-8-09)

04. Suspension on Felony Charges. An appointing authority may suspend without 
pay an employee upon the issuance of a complaint, an information or indictment for felony 
charges. Such suspensions may remain in effect during the time such charges are pending. Full 
reinstatement of all benefits and salary that the employee would have otherwise been entitled 
must be provided by the appointing authority to the employee upon a subsequent finding that 
charges or information were without grounds or the employee was not found guilty. For the 
purpose of this rule, a judgment withheld under Rule 33(d) of the Idaho Rules of Criminal 
Procedure is a conviction. (5-8-09)

05. Notice to Administrator. Whenever an appointing authority considers it 
necessary to take disciplinary action against an employee, he must notify the employee and the 
administrator concurrently in writing; and must set forth the specific rules violated and the 
reasons for the action. Suspensions with pay for investigation (Ref. Rule Subsection 190.02) may 
be made without prior notice to the employee; in this case, the appointing authority must notify 
the administrator as soon as practical. (5-8-09)
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

210. PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS.

01. Performance Evaluations. Each agency must adopt and maintain a system of 
employee performance evaluations provided it meets the shall use the statewide online 
performance evaluation system; however, another system may be used, provided it meets the
basic objectives of the state’s online performance evaluation system as approved in advance by 
the administrator. Agency records and supporting documentation are subject to review by the 
Division of Human Resources and the employee’s overall performance rating must be transmitted 
to the administrator. (5-8-09)(        )

02. Approval of Form. The Division of Human Resources’ staff will make available a 
standard format for this purpose of the statewide online performance evaluation system. An 
appointing authority may utilize another form provided it meets the basic performance criteria 
and ratings and is approved in advance by the administrator. (5-8-09)(        )

03. Purpose. The purpose of performance evaluation is to provide an objective 
evaluation by the immediate supervisor of an employee’s performance in comparison with 
established expectations for the position; and to identify an employee’s strengths and weaknesses 
and where improvement is necessary. All performance evaluations must be discussed with 
affected employee who will be allowed opportunity to submit written comments regarding the 
evaluation contents. (5-8-09)

04. Use of Evaluations. Performance evaluations should be used in connection with 
promotions, transfers, demotions, retentions, separations, and reassignments (Ref. Section 67-
5309(h), Idaho Code); and used as the affirmative certification for merit increases, and bonuses, 
and salary equity increases (Ref. Section 67-5309B, Idaho Code); and for certifying a 
probationary employee to permanent status (Ref. Rule Section 151). Other uses of performance 
evaluations are optional with the appointing authority. (5-8-09)(        )

05. Evaluation Schedule. All classified employees must be evaluated after one 
thousand forty (1,040) hours of credited state service from the date of initial appointment or 
promotion and after each for their performance during probationary periods for appointments and 
promotions and for every two thousand eighty (2,080) hours of credited state service thereafter 
(generally, an annual basis). (Ref. Sections 67-5309(h) and (j), 67-5309B(6), Idaho Code.) Part-
time employees must be evaluated on an annual basis. (5-8-09)(        )

06. Retention of Evaluation. A copy of the performance evaluation must be retained 
in agency records, and a copy must be furnished to the employee. The performance rating must be 
transmitted to the administrator. Agency records and supporting documentation are subject to 
review by the Division of Human Resources. All performance evaluation documents must be 
copied and forwarded with the employee when an interagency promotion, demotion or transfer 
occurs. (5-8-09)(        )
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07. Supervisors’ Requirements. Supervisors are required to manage performance on 
a consistent basis including completion of performance evaluations on all employees under their 
direct supervision. (Ref. Section 67-5309B(6), Idaho Code) (3-16-04)(        )

211. -- 219. (RESERVED)

220. RECORDS.

01. Employee Service Records. (7-1-93)

a. For each employee in classified service, the Division of Human Resources 
maintains a service record which must include all personnel transactions pertinent to the 
employee’s employment history. (Ref. Section 67-5309(o), Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

b. Service records or a facsimile thereof for classified employees must be maintained 
permanently by the administrator. (5-8-09)

cb. Any employee may at all reasonable times during business hours review his 
service record maintained in the Division of Human Resources or maintained in any agency. 
Except for material used to screen and test for employment, all information maintained in an 
employee’s service record must be made available to the employee or designated representative 
upon request. File contents may be corrected if found in error according to the procedure 
contained in Section 9-342, Idaho Code. (5-8-09)

02. Administrative Records. The administrator must permanently maintain a record 
of the proceedings of the Commission and a record of all hearings of appeals. (5-8-09)

03. Employee Personnel Action Documents. The appointing authority must furnish 
each employee with notice of every personnel action affecting the employee’s status, pay, tenure, 
or other terms and conditions of employment, including a copy of their performance evaluations.

(5-8-09)

04. Transfers, Reemployment and Promotions Between Agencies. When an 
employee seeks a transfer, reemployment, or promotion between agencies, the appointing 
authority of the hiring agency, or designee, is entitled to examine the employee’s service record 
and performance information before the hiring decision is made. (Ref. Section 67-5309(o), Idaho 
Code) (4-7-11)

a. All performance evaluation documents must be copied by the former agency and 
forwarded to the new agency when an interagency promotion, demotion, or transfer occurs.

(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
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250. SPECIAL LEAVES.

01. Leave of Absence Without Pay. (7-1-93)

a. Approval. In addition to workers’ compensation, family medical leave, disability, 
or other statewide leave policies, the appointing authority may grant an employee leave without 
pay for a specified length of time when such leave would not have an adverse effect upon the 
agency. The request for leave must be in writing and must establish reasonable justification for 
approval. (5-8-09)

b. Reemployment. The appointing authority approving the leave of absence assumes 
full responsibility for returning the employee to the same position or to another position in a 
classification allocated to the same pay grade for which the employee meets minimum 
qualifications. (7-1-87)

c. Exhaustion of Accrued Leave. Unless prohibited by workers compensation, family 
medical leave, disability, or other statewide leave policies, the appointing authority has discretion 
on whether the employee is required to exhaust accrued vacation leave, earned administrative 
leave or compensatory time off for overtime before commencing leave without pay. (Ref. Section 
240) (5-8-09)

d. Resignation. If vacation leave, earned administrative leave and compensatory time 
off for overtime are not exhausted and the employee resigns from state service while on leave, he 
will be paid for such accruals in accordance with Sections 67-5334 and 67-5328, Idaho Code.

(5-8-09)

02. Leave Defaults. When an employee does not have accrued sick leave to cover an 
entire absence the following leave types will be used to the extent necessary to avoid leave 
without pay: accrued compensatory time and vacation. If abuse of sick leave is suspected see 
Subsection 240.07 of these rules. (5-8-09)

03. Military Leave With Pay. Employees who are members of the National Guard or 
reservists in the armed forces of the United States engaged in military duty ordered or authorized 
under the provisions of law, are entitled each calendar year to one hundred twenty (120) hours of 
military leave of absence from their respective duties without loss of pay, credited state service or 
evaluation of performance. Such leave is separate from vacation, sick leave, holiday, or 
compensatory time off for overtime. (Ref. Section 46-216, Idaho Code). (5-8-09)

04. Military Leave Without Pay. An employee whose employment is reasonably 
expected to continue indefinitely, and who leaves his position either voluntarily or involuntarily in 
order to perform active military duty, has reemployment rights as defined in Subsection 124.05 of 
these rules. The employee will either be separated from state service or placed in “inactive” 
status, at the option of the appointing authority. (5-8-09)

05. Leave of Absence With Pay. A period of absence from duty with the approval of 
the appointing authority, or as required or allowed by law or these rules, during which time the 
employee is compensated. Leaves of absence with pay have no adverse effect on the status of the 
employee and include the following leaves: (5-8-09)
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a. Vacation leave; (5-8-09)

b. Sick leave; (5-8-09)

c. Special leave situations; and (5-8-09)(        )

d. Compensatory time off for overtime worked.; and (5-8-09)(        )

e. Administrative leave. (        )

06. Court and Jury Services and Problem-Solving and Due Process Leave.
(7-1-98)

a. Connected with Official State Duty. When an employee is subpoenaed or required 
to appear as a witness in any judicial or administrative proceeding in any capacity connected with 
official state duty, he is not considered absent from duty. The employee is not entitled to receive 
compensation from the court. Expenses (mileage, lodging, meals, and miscellaneous expenses) 
incurred by the employee must be reimbursed by his respective agency in accordance with agency 
travel regulations. (5-8-09)

b. Private Proceedings. When an employee is required to appear as a witness or a 
party in any proceeding not connected with official state duty, the employee must be permitted to 
attend. The employee may use accrued leave or leave without pay. (5-8-09)

c. Jury Service. When an employee is summoned by proper judicial authority to 
serve on a jury, he will be granted a leave of absence with pay for the time which otherwise the 
employee would have worked. The employee is entitled to keep fees and mileage reimbursement 
paid by the court in addition to salary. Expenses in connection with this duty are not subject to 
reimbursement by the state. (5-8-09)

d. Problem-solving and due process procedures. Any employee who has been 
requested to serve as a mediator as provided by an agency problem-solving or due process 
procedure or to appear as a witness or representative during such a proceeding will be granted 
leave with pay, without charge to vacation leave or compensatory time off for overtime, to 
perform those duties. (5-8-09)

e. Notification. An employee summoned for court and jury service or requested to 
serve as a grievance panelist, witness, or representative must notify his supervisor as soon as 
possible to obtain authorization for leave of absence. (5-8-09)(        )

07. Religious Leave. Appointing authorities will make reasonable accommodations to 
an employee’s need for leave for religious observances. Such leave is charged to the employee’s 
accrued vacation leave or compensatory time off for overtime. (5-8-09)

08. Leave During Facility Closure or Inaccessibility. (7-1-93)

a. Authorization. When a state facility is closed or declared inaccessible because of 
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severe weather, civil disturbances, loss of utilities or other disruptions, affected employees are 
authorized administrative leave of absence with pay to cover their scheduled hours of work during 
the closure or inaccessibility. (5-8-09)(        )

b. Early release. When the appointing authority or designated representative 
authorizes early release of employees, the resulting time off will be charged to administrative
leave of absence with pay. (5-8-09)(        )

09. Red Cross Disaster Services Leave. Employees who have been certified by the 
American Red Cross as disaster service volunteers will be granted up to one hundred twenty (120) 
hours of paid leave in any twelve (12) month period to participate in relief services pursuant to 
Section 67-5338, Idaho Code. (5-8-09)

10. Employee Assistance Program Leave. Up to two (2) hours per visit will be 
granted for utilization of the Employee Assistance Program (EAP) during normal working hours. 
This leave is limited to the number of free program visits provided in the state’s Behavioral 
Health Program. (5-8-09)

11. Bone Marrow and Organ Donor Leave With Pay. (5-8-09)

a. Approval. Upon request, a full-time employee will be granted five (5) work days’ 
leave with pay to serve as a bone marrow donor or thirty (30) work days’ leave with pay to serve 
as an organ donor. The employee must provide the appointing authority with written verification 
that the employee is the person serving as the donor. Paid leave, as provided in these rules, is 
limited to one-time bone marrow and one-time organ donor leave per employee. (Ref. Section 67-
5343, Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

b. Use. An employee who is granted such leave of absence will receive compensation 
without interruption during the leave period. For purposes of determining credited state service, 
pay advancement, performance awards, or any benefit affected by a leave of absence, the service 
of the employee is considered uninterrupted by the paid leave of absence. (Ref. Section 67-5343, 
Idaho Code) (5-8-09)

251. ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE.
Administrative leave may be granted by an appointing authority for employee investigations, due 
process procedures, severe weather, emergencies or incidents that could jeopardize agency 
operations, or the safety of others. Administrative leave for other reasons must be approved by the 
administrator. (        )

2512. -- 259. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 17 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

17.02.09 - MEDICAL FEES

DOCKET NO. 17-0209-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
on sine die, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or modified by concurrent resolution in 
accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is acted on by 
concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent 
resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 72-508; 72-720; 
72-721; 72-722; 72-723; and 72-803, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 240 through 243.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
There is no fiscal impact.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Patti Vaughn, Medical Fee Schedule Analyst, (208) 334-
6084.

DATED this 5th day of November, 2013.

Mindy Montgomery, Director
Industrial Commission
700 S. Clearwater Lane
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0041
Phone: (208) 334-6000
Fax: (208) 334-2321

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 72-508, 72-720, 72-721, 72-722, 72-723, and 72-803, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This Rule adjusts the dispensing fees for pharmacies allowed under the pharmaceutical fee 
schedule. These fees were determined in collaboration with interested stakeholders. Under the 
physician fee schedule, a correction is made to a range of CPT codes in the conversion factor table 
that had been improperly included in Surgery Group 2.   This Rule seeks to make permanent the 
changes already in effect by the Temporary Rule.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: There is no fiscal impact.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: There is no negative fiscal impact. 

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because the rule complies with the requirements of Section 72-
803, Idaho Code, requiring the Commission to adopt, and adjust as necessary each year, rules 
governing the approval of fees for medical services in workers’ compensation cases.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:   No documents have been incorporated by reference into this rule.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Patti 
Vaughn, Medical Fee Schedule Analyst 208-334-6084.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.
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DATED this 26th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

031. ACCEPTABLE CHARGES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES PROVIDED BY 
PHYSICIANS UNDER THE IDAHO WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW.
Pursuant to Section 72-508 and Section 72-803, Idaho Code, the Industrial Commission 
(hereinafter “the Commission”) hereby adopts the following rule for determining acceptable 
charges for medical services provided by physicians under the Idaho Workers' Compensation 
Law. (4-7-11)

01. Acceptable Charge. Payors shall pay providers the acceptable charge for medical 
services provided by physicians. (4-7-11)

02. Adoption of Standard for Physicians. The Commission hereby adopts the 
Resource-Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, as amended, as the 
standard to be used for determining the acceptable charge for medical services provided under the 
Idaho Workers' Compensation Law by physicians. (4-7-11)

03. Conversion Factors. The following conversion factors shall be applied to the 
fully-implemented total facility or non-facility Relative Value Unit (RVU) as determined by place 
of service found in the latest RBRVS, as amended, that was published before December 31 of the 
previous calendar year for a medical service identified by a code assigned to that service in the 
latest edition of the Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology (CPT), published by the 
American Medical Association, as amended:

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 17-0209-1301

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE

SERVICE 
CATEGORY

CODE RANGE(S) DESCRIPTION
CONVERSION 

FACTOR

Anesthesia 00000 - 09999 Anesthesia $60.33

Surgery -
Group One

22000 - 22999
23000 - 24999
25000 - 27299
27300 - 27999
29800 - 29999
61000 - 61999
62000 - 62259
63000 - 63999

Spine
Shoulder, Upper Arm, & Elbow

Forearm, Wrist, Hand, Pelvis & Hip
Leg, Knee, & Ankle

Endoscopy & Arthroscopy
Skull, Meninges & Brain

Repair, Neuroendoscopy & Shunts
Spine & Spinal Cord

$135.00
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(7-1-13)(        )

04. Anesthesiology. The Conversion Factor for the Anesthesiology CPT Codes shall 
be multiplied by the Anesthesia Base Units assigned to that CPT Code by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as of 
December 31 of the previous calendar year, plus the allowable time units reported for the 
procedure. Time units are computed by dividing reported time by fifteen (15) minutes. Time units 
will not be used for CPT Code 01996. (4-7-11)

05. Adjustment of Conversion Factors. The conversion factors set out in this rule 
shall be adjusted each fiscal year (FY) by the Commission to reflect changes in inflation or 
market conditions in accordance with Section 72-803, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

06. Services Without CPT Code, RVU or Conversion Factor. The acceptable 
charge for medical services that do not have a current CPT code, a currently assigned RVU, or a 
conversion factor will be the reasonable charge for that service, based upon the usual and 
customary charge and other relevant evidence, as determined by the Commission. Where a 

Surgery -
Group Two 

28000 - 28999
64000550 - 64999

Foot & Toes
Nerves & Nervous System

$124.00

Surgery - 
Group Three 

10000 - 19999
 20000 - 21999
29000 - 29799
30000 - 39999
40000 - 49999
50000 - 59999
60000 - 60999
62260 - 62999
64000 - 64549
65000 - 69999

Integumentary System
Musculoskeletal System

Casts & Strapping
Respiratory & Cardiovascular

Digestive System
Urinary System

Endocrine System
Spine & Spinal Cord

Nerves & Nervous System
Eye & Ear

$88.54

Radiology 70000 - 79999 Radiology $88.54

Pathology & 
Laboratory

80000 - 89999 Pathology & Laboratory
To Be 

Determined

Medicine - 
Group One

90000 - 90799
94000 - 94999
97000 - 97799
97800 - 98999

Immunization, Injections, & Infusions
Pulmonary / Pulse Oximetry

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Acupuncture, Osteopathy, & Chiropractic

$49.00

Medicine - 
Group Two

90800 - 92999
93000 - 93999
95000 - 96020
96040 - 96999
99000 - 99607

Psychiatry & Medicine
Cardiography, Catheterization, Vascular Studies

Allergy / Neuromuscular Procedures
Assessments & Special Procedures

E / M & Miscellaneous Services

$70.00

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE

SERVICE 
CATEGORY

CODE RANGE(S) DESCRIPTION
CONVERSION 

FACTOR
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service with a CPT Code, RVU, and conversion factor is, nonetheless, claimed to be exceptional 
or unusual, the Commission may, notwithstanding the conversion factor for that service set out in 
Subsection 031.03, above, determine the acceptable charge for that service, based on all relevant 
evidence in accordance with the procedures set out in Section 0345, below. (4-7-11)(        )

07. Coding. The Commission will generally follow the coding guidelines published 
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and by the American Medical Association, 
including the use of modifiers. The procedure with the largest RVU will be the primary procedure 
and will be listed first on the claim form. Modifiers will be reimbursed as follows: (4-7-11)

a. Modifier 50: Additional fifty percent (50%) for bilateral procedure. (4-7-11)

b. Modifier 51: Fifty percent (50%) of secondary procedure. This modifier will be 
applied to each medical or surgical procedure rendered during the same session as the primary 
procedure. (4-7-11)

c. Modifier 80: Twenty-five percent (25%) of coded procedure. (4-7-11)

d. Modifier 81: Fifteen percent (15%) of coded procedure. This modifier applies to 
MD and non-MD assistants. (4-7-11)

08. Medicine Dispensed By Physicians. Reimbursement to physicians for any 
medicine shall not exceed the acceptable charge calculated for that medicine as if provided by a 
pharmacy under Section 033 of this rule without a dispensing or compounding fee. 
Reimbursement to physicians for repackaged medicine shall be the Average Wholesale Price 
(AWP) for the medicine prior to repackaging, identified by the National Drug Code (NDC) 
reported by the original manufacturer. Reimbursement may be withheld until the original 
manufacturer's National Drug Code (NDC) is provided by the physician. (7-1-13)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

033. ACCEPTABLE CHARGES FOR MEDICINE PROVIDED BY PHARMACIES.
Pursuant to Section 72-508 and Section 72-803, Idaho Code, the Commission hereby adopts the 
following rule for determining acceptable charges for medicine provided by a pharmacy under the 
Idaho Workers' Compensation Law. (7-1-13)

01. Acceptable Charge. Payors shall pay providers the acceptable charge for 
medicine provided by a pharmacy. (7-1-13)

02. Adoption of Standards for Pharmacies. The following standards shall be used to 
determine the acceptable charge for medicine provided by pharmacies. (7-1-13)

a. Brand/Trade Name Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge 
for brand/trade name medicine shall be the Average Wholesale Price (AWP), plus a two five
dollar ($25) dispensing fee. (7-1-13)(        )
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b. Generic Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for generic 
medicine shall be the Average Wholesale Price (AWP), plus an five eight dollar ($58) dispensing 
fee. (7-1-13)(        )

c. Compound Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for 
compound medicine shall be the sum of the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) for each drug 
included in the compound medicine, plus a five dollar ($5) dispensing fee and a two dollar ($2) 
compounding fee. All components of the compound medicine shall be identified by their original 
manufacturer's National Drug Code (NDC) when submitted for reimbursement. Payors may 
withhold reimbursement until the original manufacturer's NDC assigned to each component of the 
compound medicine is provided by the pharmacy. Components of a compound medicine without 
an NDC may require medical necessity confirmation by the treating physician prior to 
reimbursement. (7-1-13)

d. Prescribed Over-The Counter (OTC) Medicine. The standard for determining the 
acceptable charge for prescribed over-the-counter (OTC) medicine filled by a pharmacy shall be 
the reasonable charge, but no plus a two dollar ($2) dispensing fee. (7-1-13)(        )

03. Disputes. The Commission shall determine the acceptable charge for medicine 
provided by a pharmacy that is disputed based on all relevant evidence in accordance with the 
procedures set out in Section 035 of this rule. (7-1-13)
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IDAPA 17 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

17.02.10 - ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION UNDER 
THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAW -- SECURITY FOR COMPENSATION -- 

INSURANCE CARRIERS

DOCKET NO. 17-0210-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
sine die, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or modified by concurrent resolution in 
accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is acted on by 
concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent 
resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 72-508, 72-301, 
72-304 and 72-302, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 244 through 250.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
There is no negative fiscal impact resulting from this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Jane McClaran, Financial Officer, (208) 334- 6042.

DATED this 25th day of November, 2013.

Mindy Montgomery, Director
Industrial Commission
700 S. Clearwater Lane
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0041
Phone: (208) 334-6000
Fax: (208) 334-2321
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 72-508, 72-301, 72-304 and 72-302, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This rule establishes an annual deductible policy reporting period of March 3rd to coincide 
with the premium tax due date; and requires the mandatory data elements in the proof of coverage 
reporting. This rule change also removes the Appendices B and C reporting forms from the rule 
but directs insurance carriers to the Commission's address or website to obtain report forms.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: There is no fiscal impact to the General Fund or to the Commission’s fund as a result of 
these proposed changes.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: There is no negative fiscal impact resulting from this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because a subcommittee of the Commission’s Advisory 
Committee, which included insurance carrier representatives and self-insured employers, has 
been providing input to the Industrial Commission in the drafting of these rules.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jane 
McClaran, (208) 334-6042.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 18, 
2013.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
No documents have been incorporated by reference into these rules. (        )

005. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
Idaho Industrial Commission office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., 
except holidays designated by the state of Idaho. The mailing address for filing documents is 
Idaho Industrial Commission, PO BOX 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0041. The Commission office is 
located at 700 S. Clearwater Lane, Boise, ID 83712. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
This rule is subject to and in compliance with the Public Records Act. (        )

0047. -- 009. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

011. (RESERVED)

0112. RULES GOVERNING QUALIFICATION OF INSURANCE CARRIER TO 
UNDERWRITE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LIABILITY.

01. Deposit With State Treasurer. To receive the approval of the Industrial 
Commission to write Worker’s Compensation coverage under Section 72-301, Idaho Code, a 
carrier whose application has been approved by the Director of Insurance to underwrite casualty 
and surety insurance under Sections 41-506 and 41-507, Idaho Code, shall initially deposit 
security in the amount of two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) with the State Treasurer, 
under the provisions of Section 72-302, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

02. Application. Before the Commission shall approve any insurance carrier to do 
business under the Workers’ Compensation Law, said carrier shall apply to the Industrial 
Commission for permission to write compensation insurance and said application shall include 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 17-0210-1301
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the following: (4-7-11)

a. A statement from the Director of the Idaho Department of insurance that the 
insurance carrier has been granted authority under the insurance laws of the state of Idaho to write 
casualty or surety insurance; (4-7-11)

b. The latest audited financial statement of said carrier; (4-7-11)

c. The name and address of the agent for service of process in Idaho; (4-7-11)

d. The name and address of the Idaho resident licensed adjuster or adjusters with 
authority to make compensation payments and adjustments of claims arising under the Act. If 
more than one (1) adjuster is utilized in Idaho, a list of every such adjuster and all corresponding 
policyholders shall be provided; (4-7-11)

e. A statement that the carrier will provide such blank forms as are, or may be, 
prescribed by the Commission and distributed to such employers as it may insure. (4-7-11)

f. A statement that all surety bonds covering the payment of compensation will be 
filed with the Idaho State Treasurer in compliance with the law for all employers insured. All 
carriers will use the continuous bond form set out herein. (4-7-11)

SURETY BOND

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS:

That we, ______________________________________________________________________, 
as Principal, and _________________________________________, as Surety, are held and 
firmly bound unto the State of Idaho and the beneficiaries of awards rendered under the Workers’ 
Compensation Law of the State of Idaho, for all sums said Principal is liable for by reason of 
workers’ compensation policies issued to employers in the State of Idaho, insuring such 
employers’ liability under Title 72, Idaho Code, the Workers’ Compensation Law. Under the 
authority of Chapter 3, Title 72, Idaho Code, the liability of the Surety on this bond shall in no 
event exceed an amount equal to the total amount of all outstanding and unpaid compensation 
awards against the Principal.

In case of any default by the Principal or in the event said Principal shall fail to pay, by reason of 
insolvency, or because a receiver has been appointed therefor, or by reason of refusal, neglect or 
delay to pay any final award or awards, the State of Idaho and any beneficiaries under the 
Workers’ Compensation Law shall have a right of action at law against said Surety immediately 
upon default by said Principal.

This bond is issued for an indefinite term to begin on the _______ day of 
____________________, 20___, and will continue in full force and effect until terminated in 
either of the following two (2) manners: This bond may be cancelled by the Surety by filing sixty 
(60) days’ written cancellation notice by registered mail with the Industrial Commission of the 
State of Idaho. This bond may be cancelled by the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho by 
written notice to the Surety hereon, which notice shall specify the date of termination of the bond.
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have caused their names to be signed and this 
instrument to be sealed by the respective parties thereto this ______ day of ________________, 
20___. (4-7-11)

g. A statement that renewal certificates on said bonds will be issued and filed with 
the Industrial Commission immediately, if said bonds are to be renewed. (4-7-11)

h. A statement that the cancellation of surety contracts will be made as set forth in the 
law, if said contracts are cancelled; (4-7-11)

i. A statement that said carrier will deposit, in addition to the security required for 
authorization to write Workers’ Compensation coverage by these rules, such further security 
equal to all unpaid outstanding awards of compensation; (4-7-11)

j. A statement that said carrier will comply with the statutes of the state of Idaho and 
rules of the Industrial Commission to the end that payments of compensation shall be sure and 
certain and not unnecessarily delayed; and (4-7-11)

k. A statement that said carrier will make such reports to the Commission as it may 
require in reference to matters under the Workers’ Compensation Law, including IC Form 36A, 
Report of Outstanding Awards – Insurance Carriers; which must be filed quarterly with the 
Commission. (4-7-11)

0123. RULES GOVERNING INSURANCE CARRIERS. 
An insurance carrier must apply for and receive the approval of the Industrial Commission to 
write workers’ compensation insurance pursuant to Section 72-301, Idaho Code. After receiving 
such approval, an insurance carrier shall comply with the following: (4-7-11)

01. Maintain Statutory Security Deposits with the State Treasurer. (4-7-11)

a. Each insurance carrier shall maintain with the Idaho State Treasurer a security 
deposit in the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) if approved by the commission 
prior to July 15, 1988, or two hundred and fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) if approved 
subsequent to that date. (4-7-11)

b. In addition to the security required in Subsection 0123.01.a., of this rule, each 
insurance carrier shall deposit an amount equal to the total unpaid outstanding awards of said 
insurance carrier. Such deposit shall be in the form permitted by Section 72-301, Idaho Code. 
Surety bonds shall be in the form set forth in Subsection 0112.02.f. of these rules. If a surety bond 
is deposited, the surety company shall be completely independent of the principal and authorized 
to transact such business in the state of Idaho. A partial release of security deposited hereunder 
must be requested in writing and approved by the Commission. (4-7-11)(        )

c. Securities which are maintained to satisfy the requirements of this rule may be 
held in the federal reserve book-entry system, as defined in Section 41-2870(4), Idaho Code, and 
interests in such securities may be transferred by bookkeeping entry in the federal reserve book-
entry system without physical delivery of certificates representing such securities. (4-7-11)
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 147 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION Docket No. 17-0210-1301
Security for Compensation -- Insurance Carriers PENDING RULE
02. Appoint Agent for Service of Process. Each insurance carrier shall appoint the 
Director of the Department of Insurance as its agent to receive service of legal process. (4-7-11)

03. Maintain Resident Idaho Office. Each insurance carrier shall maintain an Idaho 
licensed resident adjuster or adjusters, or its own adjusting offices or officers resident in Idaho 
who have been appointed and have been given authority as to claims arising under the Act.

(4-7-11)

a. Each authorized insurance carrier shall notify the Commission Secretary in writing 
of any change of the designated resident adjuster(s) for every insured Idaho employer within 
fifteen (15) days of such change. (4-7-11)

b. Each authorized insurance carrier will ensure that every in-state adjuster can 
classify and identify all claims adjusted on behalf of said insurance carrier, and that the in-state 
adjuster will provide such information to the Industrial Commission upon request. (4-7-11)

04. Supply Forms. Each insurance carrier shall supply such forms as are or may be 
prescribed by the Commission pursuant to the Workers’ Compensation Law and distribute them 
to all employers it insures. A list of required forms is available from the public information 
section Employer Compliance Bureau of the Industrial Commission, 700 S. Clearwater Lane, P. 
O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0041, telephone (208)334-6000, or on the Commission’s 
website at www.iic.idaho.gov. (4-7-11)(        )

05. Comply with Industrial Commission Reporting Requirements. Each insurance 
carrier shall file such reports as the Industrial Commission may require concerning matters under 
the Workers’ Compensation Law. (4-7-11)

06. Report Proof of Coverage. (4-7-11)

a. Each insurance carrier shall report proof of coverage information to a third party 
designated by the Industrial Commission as its agent to receive, process, and forward the proof of 
coverage information required by these rules to the Commission. The name and address of the 
Commission’s designated agent(s) is available upon request from the Employer Compliance 
Bureau of the Industrial Commission, 700 S. Clearwater Lane, P. O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 
83720-0041; telephone (208) 334-6000, or on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov.

(4-7-11)(        )

b. As an alternative to Subsection 0123.06.a., an insurance carrier may be allowed to 
report proof of coverage information directly to the Industrial Commission in an electronic format 
prescribed by the Commission by first making a written request to the Commission and obtaining 
the Commission’s permission. A formal written agreement with the Commission is required prior 
to the electronic transmission of proof of coverage data to the Commission. (4-7-11)(        )

c. The Industrial Commission hereby adopts the International Association of 
Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions’ (IAIABC) electronic proof of coverage record 
layout and transaction standards as the required reporting mechanism for new policies, renewal 
policies, endorsements, cancellations, and non-renewals of policies. A copy of the record layout, 
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data element requirements, and transaction standards is available upon request from the Employer 
Compliance Bureau, of the Industrial Commission, 700 S. Clearwater Lane, P. O. Box 83720, 
Boise, Idaho 83720-0041; telephone (208) 334-6000, or on the Commission’s website at 
www.iic.idaho.gov. Each insurance carrier shall report data for all mandatory elements in the 
current IAIABC proof of coverage record layout and transaction standards on each policy 
reported. (4-7-11)(        )

d. The most recent proof of coverage information contained in the Industrial 
Commission’s database shall be presumed to be correct for the purpose of determining the 
insurance carrier providing coverage. (4-7-11)

07. Report New Policy, Renewal Policy, and Endorsement Information Within 
Thirty Days. Each insurance carrier shall report the issuance of any new workers’ compensation 
policy, renewal policy, or endorsement to the Industrial Commission or its designated agent 
within thirty (30) days of the effective date of the transaction. (4-7-11)

08. Report Cancellation and Non-Renewal of Policy Within Time Prescribed by 
Statute. Each insurance carrier shall report the cancellation and/or nonrenewal of any workers’ 
compensation insurance policy to the Industrial Commission or its designated agent within the 
time frames prescribed by Section 72-311, Idaho Code. Receipt of cancellation or nonrenewal 
notices by the Commission’s designated agent shall be deemed to have been received by the 
Commission. (4-7-11)

09. Report Election of Coverage on Form IC52 or Similar Format. Each insurance 
carrier shall report election of coverage or revocation of election of coverage on or in a format 
substantially the same as Form IC52, “Election of Coverage,” which follows this chapter as 
Appendix A. This report shall be submitted to the Industrial Commission in writing on eight and 
one-half by eleven inch (8 1/2” x 11”) paper. (4-7-11)

10. Report Deductible Policy. On or before March 3rd of each year, every insurance 
carrier shall submit a report of all deductible policies that were issued and in effect during the 
previous calendar year. That report shall be submitted in a form substantially similar to the current 
“Deductible Policy Report” available upon request from the Fiscal Bureau of the Industrial 
Commission, telephone (208) 334-6000, or on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov. 
The report shall include the following information: insured name, policy number, effective and 
expiration dates, deductible amount, the premium charged for the policy before credit for the 
deductible and the final premium after credit for the deductible. (        )

101. Report Outstanding Awards. Each insurance carrier shall report to the Industrial 
Commission at the end of each calendar quarter, or more often as required by the Commission, 
any outstanding award. (4-7-11)

a. The report of outstanding awards shall be filed with the Industrial Commission by 
the end of the month following the end of each calendar quarter. (4-7-11)

b. The report shall be filed even if there are no outstanding awards. In that event, the 
carrier shall certify the fact that there are no outstanding awards to be reported. (4-7-11)
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c. The report shall be submitted on or in a format that is substantially the same as the 
current Form IC36A, “Report of Outstanding Awards – Insurance Carriers” which follows this 
chapter as Appendix B available upon request from the Fiscal Bureau of the Industrial 
Commission, telephone (208) 334-6000, or on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov. 
The report may be produced as a computerized spreadsheet or database printout and shall be 
submitted to the Commission in writing on paper no larger than eight and one-half inches by 
eleven inches (8 ½” x 11”) in size. (4-7-11)(        )

d. The report shall be signed and certified to be correct by a corporate officer. If an 
insurance carrier has designated more than one adjuster for workers’ compensation claims in 
Idaho, a corporate officer of the insurance carrier shall prepare, certify and file a consolidated 
report of outstanding awards. (4-7-11)

e. The report shall list all outstanding awards, commencing with the calendar quarter 
during which the award is made or benefits are first paid, whichever occurs earlier. (4-7-11)

112. Comply with Law and Rules. Each insurance carrier shall comply with the 
statutes of the state of Idaho and the rules of the Industrial Commission to ensure that payments of 
compensation shall be sure and certain and not unnecessarily delayed. (4-7-11)

0134. -- 050. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

271. RULES GOVERNING REPORTING INDEMNITY PAYMENTS AND MAKING 
PAYMENT OF INDUSTRIAL SPECIAL INDEMNITY FUND ASSESSMENT.
Pursuant to Section 72-327, Idaho Code, the state insurance fund and every insurance carrier 
authorized to transact workers’ compensation insurance in Idaho shall report annually to the 
Industrial Commission the total gross amount of indemnity benefits paid on Idaho workers’ 
compensation claims during the applicable reporting period. (4-7-11)

01. Filing. The report of indemnity payments shall be filed with the Industrial 
Commission simultaneously with the first Semi-Annual Premium Tax Report which, pursuant to 
Section 72-523, Idaho Code, is due each year on March 3rd. (4-7-11)

02. Form. The report of indemnity payments shall be submitted in writing on, or in a 
format substantially the same as Form IC327, “Report of Indemnity Payments,” contained in 
Appendix C at the end of this chapter available upon request from the Fiscal Bureau of the 
Industrial Commission, telephone (208) 334-6000, or on the Commission’s website at 
www.iic.idaho.gov. (4-7-11)(        )

03. Report Required When No Indemnity Paid. If an entity required to report under 
this rule has no claims against which indemnity payments have been made during the reporting 
period, a report shall be filed so indicating. (4-7-11)

04. Penalty for Late Filing. A penalty shall be assessed by the Commission for filing 
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the report of indemnity payments later than March 3 each year. (4-7-11)

a. A penalty of two hundred dollars ($200) shall be assessed for late filing of seven 
(7) days or less. (4-7-11)

b. A penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day shall be assessed for late filing of 
more than seven (7) days. (4-7-11)

c. A penalty assessed by the Commission shall be payable to the Industrial 
Commission and shall be submitted with the April 1 payment of the industrial special indemnity 
fund assessment, following notice by the Commission of the penalty assessment. (4-7-11)

05. Estimating Indemnity Payments for Entities That Fail to Report Timely. If an 
entity required to report indemnity payments under these rules fails to report within the time 
allowed in these rules, the Commission will estimate the indemnity payments for that entity by 
using the indemnity amount reported for the preceding reporting period and adding twenty 
percent (20%). (4-7-11)

06. Adjustment for Overpayments or Underpayments. Overpayments or 
underpayments, including those resulting from estimating the indemnity payments of entities that 
fail to report timely, will be adjusted on the billing for the subsequent period. (4-7-11)

272. -- 999. (RESERVED)

APPENDIX A

IC52 ELECTION OF COVERAGE

The undersigned hereby notifies the Industrial Commission of the following:

_ Household domestic service

_ Casual employment

_ Employment of outworkers

_ Employment of members of an employer's family dwelling in his household. (Applies 
only to sole-proprietorships)

_ Employment as the owner of a sole proprietorship

_ Employment of a working member of a partnership or a limited liability company (Circle 

Check the appropriate box

_ Election _ Revocation of Election
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either partnership or Limited Liability Company; if the election applies only to certain partners/
members, name the covered partners/members.)

_ Employment of an officer of a corporation who at all times during the period involved 
owns not less than ten percent (10%) of all of the issued and outstanding voting stock of the 
corporation and, if the corporation has directors, is also a director thereof (If the election applies 
only to certain corporate officers, name the covered officers)

_ Employment for which a rule of liability for injury, occupational disease, or death is 
provided by the laws of the United States

_ Pilots of agricultural spraying or dusting planes

_ Associate real estate brokers and real estate salesmen paid solely by commission

_ Volunteer ski patrollers

_ Officials of athletic contests involving secondary schools

(Name of Insurance Company)

Policy Number _________________________________________________

Insured Name __________________________________________________

Effective Date of Election/Revocation ________________________

_________________________________               ____________________________________
(Signature of authorized representative)                   (Employer's signature)

[APPENDIX B  is being deleted]

[APPENDIX C is being deleted]
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IDAPA 17 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

17.02.11 - ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION UNDER 
THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAW -- SECURITY FOR COMPENSATION -- 

SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS

DOCKET NO. 17-0211-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
sine die, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or modified by concurrent resolution in 
accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is acted on by 
concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent 
resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 72-508, 72-301, 
72-304 and 72-302, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 251 through 257.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
There is no negative fiscal impact resulting from this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Jane McClaran, Financial Officer, (208) 334-6042.

DATED this 25th day of November, 2013.

Mindy Montgomery, Director
Industrial Commission
700 S. Clearwater Lane
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0041
Phone: (208) 334-6000
Fax: (208) 334-2321
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 72-508, 72-301, and 72-304, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This rule change allows the Industrial Commission to require a self-insured employer to 
provide a Guaranty Resolution that confirms the agreement of joint venturers or a parent 
corporation to guarantee the payment of all Idaho workers' compensation claims of employees of 
the self-insured employer. The rule also provides no credit for excess insurance coverage 
provided by a surplus lines carrier. The rule change also allows the Industrial Commission to 
presume that the most recent proof of coverage information contained in the Industrial 
Commission's database is correct for purposes of determining coverage by a self-insured 
employer. The rule also removes reporting forms from the rule and provides that the forms are 
available from the Commission or on the Commission's website.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased:

There is no fiscal impact to the General Fund or to the Commission’s fund as a result of these 
proposed changes. There is a potential positive fiscal impact to the dedicated Industrial 
Administration fund, but the amount is unknown.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking:

There is no negative fiscal impact resulting from this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because a subcommittee of the Commission’s Advisory 
Committee, which included insurance carrier representatives and self-insured employers, has 
been providing input to the Industrial Commission in the drafting of these rules.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jane 
McClaran, (208) 334-6042.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
No documents have been incorporated by reference into these rules. (        )

005. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
Idaho Industrial Commission office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., 
except holidays designated by the state of Idaho. The mailing address for filing documents is 
Idaho Industrial Commission, PO BOX 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0041. The Commission office is 
located at 700 S. Clearwater Lane, Boise, ID 83712. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
This rule is subject to and in compliance with the Public Records Act. (        )

0047. -- 01109.(RESERVED)

0120. DEFINITIONS.
For the purposes of this chapter, the following definitions are applicable: (4-7-11)

01. Compensation. All benefits payable under the provisions of the Idaho Workers 
Compensation Law. (3-29-12)

02. Indemnity Benefits. All payments made to or on behalf of workers’ compensation 
claimants, including temporary or permanent disability benefits, permanent partial impairment 
benefits, death benefits paid to dependents, retraining benefits, and any other type of income 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 17-0211-1301
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benefits, but excluding medical and related benefits. (4-7-11)

03. Indemnity Claim. Any claim made for the payment of indemnity benefits.
(4-7-11)

04. Payroll. The gross amount paid by an employer for salaries, wages or 
commissions earned by its own direct employees, but not including any money paid to another 
entity or received from another entity for leased employees. (4-7-11)

011. -- 012. (RESERVED)

013. RULES GOVERNING QUALIFICATIONS OF SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS.
In order to be considered for approval by the Industrial Commission to self-insure under Section 
72-301, Idaho Code, an employer shall comply with the following requirements: (4-7-11)

01. Payroll. Have an average annual Idaho payroll over the preceding three (3) years 
of at least four million dollars ($4,000,000); (4-7-11)

02. Application. Submit a completed application, available from the Industrial 
Commission’s Fiscal Section Bureau, along with the application fee of two hundred fifty dollars 
($250), to the Idaho Industrial Commission, Attention: Fiscal Section Bureau, at 700 S. 
Clearwater Lane, PO Box 83720-0041, Boise, Idaho 83720-0041; telephone (208) 334-6000.

(4-7-11)(        )

03. Documentation. Submit documentation satisfactory to the Commission 
demonstrating the sound financial condition of the employer, such as the most recent CPA 
reviewed or, if available, audited, financial statement; (4-7-11)

04. Adjuster. Designate in writing a licensed Idaho resident adjuster; (4-7-11)

05. Previous Claims. Provide a history of all workers’ compensation claims filed with 
the employer or the employer’s workers’ compensation carrier, as well as all compensation paid, 
during the previous five (5) calendar years. (3-29-12)

06. Excess Insurance. Provide an insurance plan that must include excess insurance 
coverage and copies of all proposed policies of excess workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage. (3-29-12)(        )

07. Actuarial Study. Provide an actuarial study prepared by a qualified actuary 
determining adequate rates for the proposed self-funded worker’s compensation plan based upon 
a fifty percent (50%) confidence level. (3-29-12)

08. Feasibility Study. Provide a self-insurance feasibility study that includes an 
analysis of the advantages and disadvantages of self insurance as compared to current coverage, 
and the related costs and benefits. (3-29-12)

09. Custodial Agreement. Set up a custodial agreement with the State Treasurer for 
securities required to be deposited under Sections 72-301 and 72-302, Idaho Code; (4-7-11)
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10. Supplemental Information. Provide supplemental information as requested;
(4-7-11)

11. Initial Security Deposit. Prior to final approval, deposit an initial security deposit 
with the Idaho State Treasurer in the form permitted by Section 72-301, Idaho Code, or a self-
insurer’s bond in substantially the form set forth in Subsection 014.02, of this rule, in the amount 
of one hundred and fifty thousand dollars ($150,000), plus five percent (5%) of the first ten 
million dollars ($10,000,000.00) of the employer’s average annual payroll in the state of Idaho for 
the three (3) preceding years; along with such additional security as may be required by the 
Commission based on prior claims history; (4-7-11)

12. Initial Guaranty Agreement. The Commission may allow or, where financial 
reports or other factors such as the high risk industry of the employer indicate the need, require an 
employer that is organized as a joint venture or a wholly owned subsidiary to provide a guaranty 
agreement from each member of the joint venture or the parent company. This guaranty 
agreement confirms the continuing agreement of each of the joint venture members or the parent 
company to guarantee the payment of all Idaho workers’ compensation claims of employees of 
that joint venture or subsidiary employer seeking to become self-insured. The guaranty agreement 
shall be in substantially the same form as the current sample Indemnity and Guaranty Agreement 
and, as applicable, the companion Consent of the Board of Directors, available from the 
Commission and posted on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov. (        )

123. Written Approval. Obtain written approval from the Industrial Commission.
(4-7-11)

014. CONTINUING REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS.
Upon receiving the approval of the Industrial Commission to be a self-insured employer under 
Section 72-301, Idaho Code, to continue such approval a self-insured employer shall comply with 
the following requirements: (4-7-11)

01. Payroll Requirements. Maintain an average annual Idaho payroll over the 
preceding three (3) years of at least four million dollars ($4,000,000). Any self-insured employer 
that does not meet the payroll requirement of this rule for two consecutive semi-annual premium 
tax reporting periods shall be allowed to maintain their self-insured status for six (6) months from 
the end of the last reporting period in order to permit them time to increase their payroll or obtain 
workers’ compensation coverage with an insurance carrier authorized to write workers’ 
compensation insurance in the state of Idaho. (3-29-12)

02. Security Deposit with Treasurer. (4-7-11)

a. Maintain a primary security deposit with the Idaho State Treasurer in the form 
permitted by Section 72-301, Idaho Code, a self-insurer’s bond in substantially the form set forth 
below, or in such other form approved by the Commission, in the amount of one hundred fifty 
thousand dollars ($150,000), plus five percent (5%) of the employers' average annual payroll in 
the state of Idaho for the three (3) preceding years, not in excess of ten million dollars 
($10,000,000). In addition thereto, the self-insured employer shall deposit additional security in 
such amount as the Commission determines is necessary to secure the self-insured employer’s 
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total unpaid liability for compensation under the Workers’ Compensation Law. No approved 
security shall be accepted for deposit above its par value. Additional deposits of approved security 
may be required semi-annually if the market value of an approved investment falls below its par 
value or if the total value of the employer’s security deposit falls below the total security required 
to be maintained on deposit when calculated in accordance with this rule. (3-29-12)(        )

b. Self-insured employers shall receive a credit for the primary security deposit 
against the self-insured employer’s obligation to post the additional security required by 
Subsection 014.02.a. of this rule. (3-29-12)

c. Excess insurance coverage approved by the Commission may apply as a credit 
against the self-insured employer’s obligation to post the additional security required by 
Subsection 014.02.a. of this rule. The Commission must be provided with thirty (30) days 
advance written notice of any change or cancellation of an approved excess insurance policy. No 
credit will be given for any excess insurance coverage provided by a surplus lines carrier, as 
described in Chapter 12, Title 41, Idaho Code. (3-29-12)(        )

d. All security deposited by the self-insured employer shall be maintained as 
provided by Section 72-302, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)

e. Any withdrawal or partial release of security deposited hereunder must be 
requested in writing and approved by the Commission. (4-7-11)

SELF-INSURER'S COMPENSATION BOND

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, THAT ___________________________________, 
a corporation of the State of ___________, hereinafter called the Principal, as Principal, and the 
_______________________________, a surety corporation authorized to transact a surety 
business in the State of Idaho, as Surety, are held and firmly bound unto the State of Idaho, for the 
use and benefit of all those employees of the Principal to whom or to the dependents of whom the 
Principal may, during the life of this bond, become liable for benefits under the Idaho Workers’ 
Compensation Law, as hereinafter more fully referred to, in the sum equal to and limited by the 
sum or sums that may become due and/or payable by said Principal to said employees under the 
terms, provisions and limitations of said Workers’ Compensation Law, and in accordance with the 
terms, agreements, conditions and limitations of this obligation not exceeding, however, the sum 
of _____________ dollars, for the payment of which, well and truly made, the Principal well and 
truly binds itself, its successors and assigns, and the Surety binds itself, its successors and assigns, 
jointly and severally, well and truly by these presents. 

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapters 1 to 8, 
both inclusive, known as the Workers’ Compensation Law and all amendments thereto, and 
Principal has elected to secure compensation to its employees by depositing and maintaining with 
the Industrial Commission of Idaho a surety bond issued and executed by the surety herein 
named, which surety is duly qualified to transact such business in the state of Idaho subject to the 
approval of the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho.

NOW, THEREFORE, the condition of this obligation is such that if the said Principal shall 
pay compensation according to the terms, provisions, and limitations of Idaho Code, Title 72, 
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Chapter 1 to 8, both inclusive, known as the Workers’ Compensation Law and all amendments 
thereto, to its injured employees or the dependents of its killed employees contemplated by the 
terms of and covered under the said law, and shall furnish medical, surgical, nursing and the 
hospital services and attention and funeral expenses as provided for in said law (all of which shall 
be understood to be included in the term “compensation” as hereinafter used), then this obligation 
shall be null and void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect, subject, however to the 
following express conditions and agreements:

That any employee or the dependent of any employee of the Principal entitled to 
compensation under said Workers’ Compensation Law, shall have the right to enforce in his own 
name the liability of the Surety hereunder, in whole or in part, for such compensation, either by at 
any time filing a separate claim against the Surety or by at any time making the Surety a part of 
the original claim against the employer; provided, however, that payment in whole or in part of 
such compensation by either the Principal or the Surety shall, to the extent thereof, be a bar to the 
recovery against the other of the amount so paid.

That as between the employee and the Surety, notice to or knowledge of the occurrence of 
injury on the part of the employer shall be deemed notice to or knowledge, as the case may be, on 
the part of the Surety; that the obligation of the Surety, and the Surety, shall in all things be bound 
by and subject to the orders, findings, decisions or awards rendered against the Principal for the 
payment of compensation under the provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Law aforesaid, and 
that the insolvency or bankruptcy of the Principal and its discharge therein, shall not relieve the 
Surety from the payment of compensation for injuries, including death resulting therefrom, 
sustained during the life of this bond by an employee of the Principal covered under the Workers’ 
Compensation Law.

That upon request of the Industrial Commission of Idaho, it will make such changes in this 
form of bond by endorsement to be attached hereto or by the execution of a surety bond replacing 
this one, as the said Commission may deem requisite, to bring this bond into conformity with its 
rulings as to the form of surety bond required of employers under Idaho Code, Title 72, Chapters 
1 to 8, both inclusive, known as the Workers’ Compensation Law and all amendments thereto.

This bond is issued for an indefinite term to begin on the _____ day of _______________, 
20__, and will continue in full force and effect until terminated in either of the following two 
manners: This bond may be cancelled by the Surety by filing sixty (60) days written cancellation 
notice by registered mail with the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho. This bond may be 
cancelled by the Industrial Commission of the State of Idaho by written notice to the Surety 
hereon, which notice shall specify the date of termination of the bond.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, the said Principal and said Surety have caused these 
presents to be executed in due form this _____ day of _______________, 20__.

Countersigned

By

Resident Agent Principal
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Samples of this form are available from the Fiscal Section Bureau of the Industrial Commission, 
700 S. Clearwater Lane, P. O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0041, Telephone (208) 334-6000, 
or on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov. (4-7-11)(        )

03. Continue or Provide Guaranty Agreement. (        )

a. A self-insured employer that is organized as a joint venture or a wholly owned 
subsidiary shall continue in effect any guaranty agreement that the Commission has previously 
allowed or required, until termination is permitted by the Commission. (        )

b. Where an adverse change in financial condition or other relevant factors such as 
claims history or industry risk indicates the need, a self-insured employer that is organized as a 
joint venture or a wholly owned subsidiary may be allowed to, or shall upon request, provide a 
guaranty agreement from each member of the joint venture or the parent company. This guaranty 
agreement confirms the continuing agreement of each of the joint venture members or the parent 
company to guarantee the payment of all Idaho workers’ compensation claims of employees of 
that joint venture or subsidiary self-insured employer. The guaranty agreement shall be in 
substantially the same form as the current sample Indemnity and Guaranty Agreement, and as 
applicable, the companion Consent of the Board of Directors, available from the Commission and 
posted on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov. (        )

034. Maintain a Licensed Resident Adjuster. Maintain a resident licensed claims 
adjuster located within the state of Idaho who shall have full authority to service said claims on 
behalf of the employer including, but not limited to, the following: (4-7-11)

a. Investigate and adjust all claims for compensation; (4-7-11)

b. Pay all compensation benefits due; (4-7-11)

c. Accept service of claims, applications for hearings, orders of the Commission, and 
all process which may be issued under the Workers’ Compensation Law; (4-7-11)

d. Enter into compensation agreements and lump sum settlements with Claimants;
(4-7-11)

e. Provide at the employer’s expense necessary forms to any employee who wishes to 
file a claim under the Workers’ Compensation Law. (4-7-11)

045. File Reports. Report to the Industrial Commission semi-annually, or more often as 
required by the Commission, total unpaid liability on all open claims. (3-29-12)

SEAL 

SEAL By

By
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a. The semi-annual report of total unpaid liability shall be filed with the Industrial 
Commission by the end of the months of January and July. (3-29-12)

b. The report shall provide the aggregate number of open claims, including indemnity 
with medical and medical only claims, along with the amount of any compensation paid on open 
claims, as of the end of each June and December. (3-29-12)

c. The report shall be filed even if there are no open claims. In that event, the 
employer shall certify the fact that there are no open claims to be reported. (3-29-12)

d. The report shall be submitted on or in a format that is substantially the same as the 
current Form IC-211, “Self-Insured Employer Report of Total Unpaid Liability,” which follows 
this chapter as Appendix A available from the Fiscal Bureau of the Industrial Commission or on 
the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov. The report may be produced as a computerized 
spreadsheet or database printout and shall be submitted to the Commission in writing on paper no 
larger than eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 ½” x 11”) in size. (3-29-12)(        )

e. The report shall be signed and certified to be correct by a corporate officer. If an 
employer has designated more than one adjuster for workers’ compensation claims in Idaho, a 
corporate officer of the employer shall prepare, certify and file a consolidated report of all unpaid 
liability. (3-29-12)

f. A self-insured employer shall also make such other reports to the Commission as it 
may require in reference to matters under the Workers’ Compensation Law. (4-7-11)

056. Submit to Audits by Industrial Commission. Each year a self-insured employer 
shall provide the Industrial Commission with a copy of its annual financial statements, or other 
acceptable documentation. Each self-insured employer shall submit to audit by the Commission 
or its designee at any time and as often as it requires to verify the amount of premium such self-
insured employer would be required to pay as premium to the State Insurance Fund, and to verify 
compliance with the provisions of these rules and the Idaho Workers’ Compensation Law. For the 
purpose of determining such premium for uninsured contractors of a self-insured employer, the 
most recent proof of coverage information contained in the Industrial Commission’s database 
shall be presumed to be correct for the purpose of determining such coverage. (4-7-11)(        )

067. Comply with Law and Rules. Comply with the statutes of the state of Idaho and 
the rules of the Industrial Commission to the end that payment of compensation shall be sure and 
certain and not unnecessarily delayed. The Commission may withdraw its approval of any 
employer to operate as a self-insurer if it shall appear to the Commission that workers secured by 
said self-insured employer are not adequately protected and served, or the employer is failing to 
comply with the provisions of these rules or the Workers’ Compensation Law. (4-7-11)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
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271. RULE GOVERNING REPORTING INDEMNITY AND MEDICAL PAYMENTS 
AND MAKING PAYMENT OF INDUSTRIAL SPECIAL INDEMNITY FUND 
ASSESSMENT.
Pursuant to Section 72-327, Idaho Code, every authorized self-insurer authorized to self-insure its 
workers’ compensation obligations in Idaho shall report annually to the Industrial Commission 
the total gross amount of indemnity benefits paid on Idaho workers’ compensation claims during 
the applicable reporting period. (4-7-11)

01. Filing. The report of indemnity and medical payments shall be filed with the 
Industrial Commission simultaneously with the first Semi-Annual Premium Tax Report; which, 
pursuant to Section 72-523, Idaho Code, is due each year on March 3rd. (3-29-12)

02. Form. The report of indemnity and medical payments shall be submitted in 
writing on, or in a format substantially the same as the current Form IC2-327, “Workers’ 
Compensation Claims Involving Medical Payments Only and Claims Involving Indemnity 
Payments Report,” contained in Appendix B at the end of this chapter available from the Fiscal 
Bureau of the Industrial Commission or on the Commission’s website at www.iic.idaho.gov.

(3-29-12)(        )

03. Report Required When No Indemnity Paid. If an entity required to report under 
this rule has no claims against which indemnity payments have been made during the reporting 
period, a report shall be filed so indicating. (4-7-11)

04. Penalty for Late Filing. A penalty shall be assessed by the Commission for filing 
the report of indemnity and medical payments later than March 3rd each year. (3-29-12)

a. A penalty of two hundred dollars ($200) shall be assessed for late filing of seven 
(7) days or less. (4-7-11)

b. A penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day shall be assessed for late filing of 
more than seven (7) days. (4-7-11)

c. A penalty assessed by the Commission shall be payable to the Industrial 
Commission and shall be submitted with the April 1 payment of the industrial special indemnity 
fund assessment, following notice by the Commission of the penalty assessment. (4-7-11)

05. Estimating Indemnity Payments for Entities That Fail to Report Timely. If an 
entity required to report indemnity and medical payments under these rules fails to report within 
the time allowed in these rules, the Commission will estimate the indemnity payments for that 
entity by using the indemnity amount reported for the preceding reporting period and adding 
twenty percent (20%). (3-29-12)

06. Adjustment for Overpayments or Underpayments. Overpayments or 
underpayments, including those resulting from estimating the indemnity payments of entities that 
fail to report timely, will be adjusted on the billing for the subsequent period. (4-7-11)

272. -- 999. (RESERVED)
[APPENDIX A and APPENDIX B are being removed]
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IDAPA 18 - IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

18.01.04 - RULES PERTAINING TO BAIL AGENTS

DOCKET NO. 18-0104-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This rulemaking will delete Section 016 from Rule 18.01.04 to conform the rule to the 
interpretation of Section 41-1042, Idaho Code, consistent with the Idaho Supreme Court’s holding 
in Two Jinn v. Idaho Department of Insurance, 154 Idaho 1, 293 P.3d 150 (2013.)

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 157 and 158.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Tom Donovan, at 208-334-4214 or 
tom.donovan@doi.idaho.gov or Dale Freeman at 208-334-4321, dale.freeman@doi.idaho.gov.

DATED this 25th day of September, 2013.

William W. Deal
Director
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W. State St - 3rd floor
Boise ID 83720
208-334-4250
208-334-4398 (fax)
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0104-1301
Rules Pertaining to Bail Agents PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section, 41-211, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This rulemaking will delete Section 016 from Rule 18.01.04 to conform the rule to the 
interpretation of Section 41-1042, Idaho Code, consistent with the Idaho Supreme Court’s holding 
in Two Jinn v. Idaho Department of Insurance, 154 Idaho 1, 293 P.3d 150 (2013).

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the July 3, 2013, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 13-7, page 64.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Tom 
Donovan, at 208-334-4214, or tom.donovan@doi.idaho.gov or Dale Freeman at 208-334-4321, 
dale.freeman@doi.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 8th day of August, 2013.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0104-1301
Rules Pertaining to Bail Agents PENDING RULE
LSO Rules Analysis Memo

016. ALLOWABLE BAIL AGENT CHARGES AND FEES. (RESERVED)

01. Charges for Bail Transaction. A bail agent shall not directly or indirectly impose 
or seek to impose any fees or charges except for those permitted under Section 41-1042, Idaho 
Code, as a part of any application, issuance, effectuation or continuation of a bail bond. (4-7-11)

02. Charges for Additional Services. Charges and fees outside the scope of Section 
41-1042, Idaho Code, such as charges for returning a defendant to custody after a breach of the 
bail bond contract, must be negotiated separately after the bail bond has been effectuated. 
Negotiations for additional charges shall not be entered into as a part of the application, issuance 
and effectuation of a bail bond and shall not be a condition of or requirement for entering into or 
continuing a bail bond contract. Any fees or charges that are negotiated separately shall be 
reasonable in relation to the expenses or services for which the fee or charge is imposed and must 
be accompanied by a statement that clearly explains that any agreement to pay fees or charges is 
not a requirement or condition to the validity of the existing bail bond. (4-7-11)

03. Collateral. Except as provided in Section 017.03 of this rule, collateral accepted in 
connection with the bail bond transaction shall be used solely for reimbursement of penal 
amounts paid to the courts in the case of forfeiture of the bail bond. (4-7-11)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0104-1301
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IDAPA 18 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

18.01.23 - RULES PERTAINING TO THE IDAHO INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY 
SYSTEM REGULATORY ACT

DOCKET NO. 18-0123-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-
3817, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 258 through 281.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Tom Donovan at (208)334-4214, 
tom.donovan@doi.idaho.gov.

DATED this 31st day of October, 2013.

William W. Deal, Director
Department of Insurance
700 West State Street - 3rd Floor
Boise ID 83720-0043
Phone: (208)334-4250
Fax: (208)334-4398

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0123-1301
The Idaho Insurance Holding Company System Regulatory Act PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
sections 41-211 and 41-3817, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This rulemaking will update the existing rule consistent with changes made to Title 41, 
Chapter 38, Idaho Code during the 2013 legislative session in House Bill 197 affecting insurance 
holding company systems. Changes will include, but not be limited to, setting forth the elements 
of the new filing requirements for a new Form F – Enterprise Risk Report.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 13-7, page 65.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Thomas A. Donovan at (208) 334-4214, tom.donovan@doi.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 30th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0123-1301
The Idaho Insurance Holding Company System Regulatory Act PENDING RULE
18.01.23 - RULES PERTAINING TO THE IDAHO ACQUISITIONS OF CONTROL AND 
INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY SYSTEMS REGULATORY ACT

000. (RESERVED) LEGAL AUTHORITY
These rules are promulgated by the Director of the Department of Insurance pursuant to the 
authority of sections 41-211 and 41-3817, Idaho Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be referred to as IDAPA 18.01.23, “Rules Pertaining to the
Idaho Acquisitions of Control and Insurance Holding Company Systems Regulatory Act.”

(7-1-99)(        )

02. Scope. The purposes of these rules are: To set forth rules and procedural 
requirements which the Director deems necessary to carry out the provisions of the Idaho 
Acquisitions of Control and Insurance Holding Company Systems Regulatory Act, compiled as 
Sections 41-3801 through 41-3821 Title 41, Chapter 38, Idaho Code, also hereinafter referred to 
as “the Act.” The information called for by these rules is hereby declared to be necessary and 
appropriate in the public interest and for the protection of policyholders and shareholders of this 
state. (7-1-99)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
All contested cases shall be governed by the provisions of Title 41, Chapter 2, and Title 67, 
Chapter 52, Idaho Code and IDAPA 04.11.01, “Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the 
Attorney General.” (7-1-99)(        )

004. -- 010. (RESERVED)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
No documents have been incorporated by reference into these rules. (        )

005. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING ADDRESS, STREET ADDRESS AND 
WEB ADDRESS.

01. Office Hours. The Department of Insurance is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except 
Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays. (        )

02. Mailing Address. The department’s mailing address is: Idaho Department of 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0123-1301
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0123-1301
The Idaho Insurance Holding Company System Regulatory Act PENDING RULE
Insurance, P.O. Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0043. (        )

03. Street Address. The department’s principal place of business is 700 West State 
Street, 3rd Floor, Boise, ID 83720-0043. (        )

04. Web Site Address. The department’s website is http://www.doi.idaho.gov. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
Any records associated with these rules are subject to the provisions of the Idaho public records 
law within Title 9, Chapter 3, Idaho Code. (        )

007. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Executive Officer. Chief executive officer, chief operating officer, chief financial 
officer, treasurer, secretary, controller, and any other individual performing functions 
corresponding to those performed by the foregoing officers under whatever title. (        )

02. Ultimate Controlling Person. That person who is not controlled by any other 
person. (        )

03. Section 41-3802, Idaho Code. Unless the context otherwise requires, other terms 
found in these rules and in Section 41-3802, Idaho Code, are used as defined therein. Other 
nomenclature or terminology is used as provided for in Title 41, Idaho Code, or industry usage if 
not defined therein. (        )

011. FORMS -- GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.

01. Forms Intended to Be Guides. Forms A, B, C, D, and E, and F are intended to be 
guides in the preparation of statements required by Sections 41-38024, 41-3808, 41-38069 and 
41-380710, of the Act Idaho Code. They are not intended to be blank forms which are to be filled 
in. The statements filed shall contain the numbers and captions of all items, but the text of the 
items may be omitted provided the answers thereto are so prepared in such a manner as to indicate 
to the reader the clearly the scope and coverage of the items without the necessity of his referring 
to the text of the items or the instructions thereto. All instructions, whether occurring under the 
items of the form or elsewhere therein, are to be omitted. Unless expressly provided otherwise, if 
any item is inapplicable or the answer thereto is in the negative, an appropriate statement to that 
effect shall be made. (7-1-99)(        )

02. Filings of Statement. Each statement, including exhibits and all other papers and 
documents filed as a part thereof, shall be filed with the Director electronically and at least one 
hard copy by personal delivery or mail addressed to:

Director of Insurance 
700 West State Street, 3rd Floor
Boise, Idaho 83720
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0123-1301
The Idaho Insurance Holding Company System Regulatory Act PENDING RULE
A copy of Form C shall be filed in each state in which an insurer is authorized to do business, if 
the Commissioner of that state has notified the insurer of its request in writing, in which case the 
insurer has thirty (30) days from receipt of the notice to file such form. The statement shall be 
manually signed in the manner prescribed on the form. At least one (1) of the copies shall be 
signed in the manner prescribed on the form. Unsigned copies shall be conformed. If the signature 
of any person is affixed pursuant to a power of attorney or other similar authority, a copy of such 
power of attorney or other authority shall also be filed with the statement. (12-24-93)(        )

03. Format. Statements should be prepared on paper eight and one half by eleven 
inches (8 1/2” x 11”) in size and preferably bound at the top or the top left-hand corner. Exhibits 
and financial statements, unless specifically prepared for the filing, may be submitted in their 
original size. All copies of any statement, financial statements, or exhibits shall be clear, easily 
readable and suitable for photocopying. Statements should be prepared electronically. Statements 
shall be easily readable and suitable for review and reproduction. Debits in credit categories and 
credits in debit categories shall be designated so as to be clearly distinguishable as such on 
photocopies. Statements shall be in the English language and monetary values shall be stated in 
United States currency. If any exhibit or other paper or document filed with the statement is in a 
foreign language, it shall be accompanied by a translation into the English language and any 
monetary value shown in a foreign currency normally shall be converted into United States 
currency. (12-24-93)(        )

04. Hearing. If an applicant requests a hearing on a consolidated basis under Section 
41-3806(3), Idaho Code, in addition to filing the Form A with the Director, the applicant shall file 
a copy of Form A with the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners) in 
electronic form. (        )

012. FORMS -- INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE, SUMMARIES AND 
OMISSIONS.

01. Incorporation by Reference. Information required by any item of Form A, Form 
B, Form D, or Form E, or Form F may be incorporated by reference in answer or partial answer to 
any other item. Information contained in any financial statement, annual report, proxy statement, 
statement filed with a governmental authority, or any other document may be incorporated by 
reference in answer or partial answer to any item of Form A, Form B, Form D, or Form E, or 
Form F provided such document or paper is filed as an exhibit to the statement. Excerpts of 
documents may be filed as exhibits if the documents are extensive. Documents currently on file 
with the Director which were filed within three (3) years need not be attached as exhibits. 
References to information contained in exhibits or in documents already on file shall clearly 
identify the material and shall specifically indicate that such material is to be incorporated by 
reference in answer to the item. Matter shall not be incorporated by reference in any case where 
such incorporation would render the statement incomplete, unclear or confusing. (7-1-99)(        )

02. Summaries or Outlines. Where an item requires a summary or outline of the 
provisions of any document, only a brief statement shall be made as to the pertinent provisions of 
the document. In addition to such statement, the summary or outline may incorporate by reference 
particular facts parts of any exhibit or document currently on file with the Director which was 
filed within three (3) years and may be qualified in its entirety by such reference. In any case 
where two (2) or more documents required to be filed as exhibits are substantially identical in all 
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material respects except as to the parties thereto, the dates of execution, or other details, a copy of 
only one (1) of such documents need be filed with a schedule identifying the omitted documents 
and setting forth the material details in which such documents differ from the documents a copy 
of which is filed. (12-24-93)(        )

013. FORMS -- INFORMATION UNKNOWN OR UNAVAILABLE AND EXTENSION 
OF TIME TO FURNISH.
If it is impractical to furnish any required information, document or report at the time it is required 
to be filed, there shall be filed with the Director a separate document: (        )

01. Identfication. Identifying the information, document or report in question; (        )

02. Impracticality. Stating why the filing thereof at the time required is impractical; 
and (        )

03. Extension. Requesting an extension of time for filing the information, document 
or report to a specified date. The request for extension shall be deemed granted unless the Director 
within twenty-eight (28) days after receipt thereof enters an order denying the request. (        )

0134. FORMS -- ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND EXHIBITS.
In addition to the information expressly required to be included in Form A, Form B, Form C, 
Form D, and Form E, there shall be added and Form F, the Director may request such further 
material information, if any, as may be necessary to make the information contained therein not 
misleading. The person filing may also file such exhibits as it may desire in addition to those 
expressly required by the statement. Such exhibits shall be so marked as to indicate clearly the 
subject matters to which they refer. Changes to Forms A, B, C, D, or E, or F shall include on the 
top of the cover page the phrase: “Change No. [insert number] to” and shall indicate the date of 
the change and not the date of the original filing. (7-1-99)(        )

014. DEFINITIONS.

01. Executive Officer. Any individual charged with active management and control in 
an executive capacity (including a President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Controller and 
any other individual performing functions corresponding to those performed by the foregoing 
officers) of a person, whether incorporated or unincorporated. (12-24-93)

02. Ultimate Controlling Person. That person who is not controlled by any other 
person. (12-24-93)

03. Terms Defined in Holding Company Act. Unless the context otherwise requires, 
other terms found in these rules are used as defined in Section 41-3801 of the Act. Other 
nomenclature or terminology is according to the Insurance Code, or the industry usage if not 
defined by the code. (12-24-93)

015. SUBSIDIARIES OF DOMESTIC INSURERS.
The authority to invest in subsidiaries under Section 41-3803, Idaho Code, is in addition to any 
authority to invest in subsidiaries which may be contained in any other provision of Title 41, 
Idaho Code. (        )
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0156. ACQUISITION OF CONTROL -- STATEMENT FILING.
A person required to file a statement pursuant to Section 41-38024, of the Act Idaho Code, shall 
furnish the required information on Form A, which is hereby made a part of this rule. Such person 
shall also furnish the required information on Form E, hereby made a part of this rule and 
described in Section 019. of this chapter. (7-1-99)(        )

017. AMENDMENTS TO FORM A.
The applicant shall promptly advise the Director of any changes in the information furnished on 
Form A arising subsequent to the date upon which the information was furnished but prior to the 
Director's disposition of the application. (        )

018. ACQUISITION OF SECTION 41-3804(1)(D) INSURERS.

01. Name of the Domestic Insurer. If the person being acquired is deemed to be a 
“domestic insurer” solely because of the provisions of Section 41-3804(1)(d), Idaho Code, the 
name of the domestic insurer on the cover page should be indicated as follows: “ABC Insurance 
Company, a subsidiary of XYZ Holding Company.” (        )

02. References to Insurer. Where a Section 41-3804(1)(d) insurer is being acquired, 
references to “the insurer” contained in Form A shall refer to both the domestic subsidiary insurer 
and the person being acquired. (        )

0169. PRE-ACQUISITION NOTIFICATION.

01. Pre-Acquisition Notification -- Domestic Insurer. If a domestic insurer, 
including any person controlling a domestic insurer, is proposing a merger or acquisition pursuant 
to Section 41-3802(1)(a), Idaho Code, that person shall file a pre-acquisition notification form, 
Form E, which was developed pursuant to Section 41-3805B8(3)(a), Idaho Code. (7-1-99)(        )

02. Pre-Acquisition Notification - Non-Domiciliary Insurer. If a non-domiciliary 
insurer licensed to do business in this state is proposing a merger or acquisition pursuant to 
Section 41-3805B8, Idaho Code, that person shall file a pre-acquisition notification form, Form E. 
No pre-acquisition form need be filed if the acquisition is beyond the scope of Section 41-
3805B8, Idaho Code, as set forth in Section 41-3805B8(2), Idaho Code. (7-1-99)(        )

03. Expert Opinion. In addition to the information required by Form E, the director 
may wish to require an expert opinion as to the competitive impact of the proposed acquisition.

(7-1-99)

01720. ANNUAL REGISTRATION OF INSURERS -- STATEMENT FILING.
An insurer required to file a statement pursuant to Section 41-38069, of the Act Idaho Code, shall 
furnish the required information on Form B, which is hereby made a part of these rules.

(12-24-93)(        )

01821. SUMMARY OF REGISTRATION -- STATEMENT FILING.
An insurer required to file an annual registration statement pursuant to section 41-38069, of the 
Act Idaho Code, is also required to furnish information required on Form C, hereby made a part of 
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these rules. An insurer shall file a copy of Form C in each state in which the insurer is authorized 
to do business, if requested by the Commissioner of that state. (12-24-93)(        )

01922. AMENDMENTS TO FORM B.

01. Amendment to Form B. An amendment to Form B shall be filed within fifteen 
(15) days after the end of any month in which there is a material change to the information 
provided in the annual registration statement. (7-1-99)

02. Form B Format. Amendments shall be filed in the Form B format with only those 
items which are being amended reported. Each amendment shall include at the top of the cover 
page “Amendment No. [insert number] to Form B for [insert year]” and shall indicate the date of 
the change and not the date of the original filings. (7-1-99)

0203. ALTERNATIVE AND CONSOLIDATED REGISTRATIONS.

01. Filing on Behalf of Affiliated Insurers. Any authorized insurer may file a 
registration statement on behalf of any affiliated insurer or insurers which are required to register 
under Section 41-38069, of the Act Idaho Code. A registration statement may include information 
regarding any insurer in the insurance holding system, even if such insurer is not authorized to do 
business in this state. In lieu of filing a registration statement on Form B, the authorized insurer 
may file a copy of the registration statement or similar report which it is required to file in its state 
of domicile, provided: (12-24-93)(        )

a. The statement or report contains substantially similar information required to be 
furnished on Form B; and (12-24-93)

b. The filing insurer is a the principal insurance company in the insurance holding 
company system. (12-24-93)(        )

02. Statement That Filing Insurer Is the Principal Insurer. The question of whether 
the filing insurer is the principal insurance company in the insurance holding system is a question 
of fact and an insurer filing a registration statement or report in lieu of Form B on behalf of an 
affiliated insurer, shall set forth a simple statement of facts which will substantiate the filing 
insurer’s claim that it, in fact, is the principal insurer in the insurance holding system. (12-24-93)

03. Unauthorized Insurer. With the prior approval of the Director, an unauthorized 
insurer may follow any of the procedures which could be done by an authorized insurer under 
Subsection 0203.01.a. above of this rule. (7-1-99)(        )

04. Consolidated Registration Statements. Any insurer may take advantage of any
of the provisions of Section 41-38069(8), or 41-38069(9), of the Act Idaho Code, without 
obtaining prior approval of the Director. The Director, however, reserves the right to require 
individual filings if he deems such filings necessary in the interest of clarity, ease of 
administration ofr the public good. (12-24-93)(        )

021. EXEMPTIONS.
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01. Registration in Domiciliary State. A foreign or alien insurer otherwise subject to 
Section 41-3806 of the Act shall not be required to register pursuant to said Section of the Act:

(12-24-93)

a. If it is admitted in the domiciliary state of the principal insurer (as that term is 
defined in Section 024) and if said state is subject to disclosure requirements and standards 
adopted by statute or regulation which are substantially similar to those contained in Section 41-
3806 of the Act, provided, the Director may require a copy of the registration statement or other 
information filed with the domiciliary state; or (12-24-93)

b. Until July 1, 1973. (12-24-93)

02. Alien Insurer. The state of entry of an alien insurer shall be deemed to be its 
domiciliary state for purposes of Section 017. (7-1-99)

03. Application by Insurer Not Otherwise Exempt. Any insurer not otherwise exempt 
or excepted from Section 017 may apply for an exemption from the requirements of Section 41-
3806 of the Act by submitting a statement to the Director setting forth its reasons for being 
exempt. (7-1-99)

0224. DISCLAIMERS AND TERMINATION OF REGISTRATION.

01. Information Required. A disclaimer of affiliation or a request for termination of 
registration, claiming that a person does not, or will not, upon the taking of some proposed action, 
control another person (hereinafter referred to as the “subject”) shall contain the following 
information: (12-24-93)

a. The number of authorized, issued and outstanding voting securities of the subject;
(12-24-93)

b. With respect to the person whose control is denied and all affiliates of such person, 
the number and percentage of shares of the subject’s voting securities which are held of record or 
known to be beneficially owned, and the number of shares concerning which there is a right to 
acquire, directly or indirectly; (12-24-93)

c. All material relationships and bases for affiliation between the subject and the 
person whose control is denied and all affiliates of such person: (12-24-93)

d. A statement explaining why such person should not be considered to control the 
subject. (12-24-93)

02. Request Deemed Granted. A request for termination of registration shall be 
deemed to have been granted unless the Director, within thirty (30) days after he receives the 
request, notifies the registrant otherwise. (12-24-93)

0235. TRANSACTIONS SUBJECT TO PRIOR NOTICE - NOTICE FILING.

01. Form D. An insurer required to give notice of a proposed transaction pursuant to 
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section 41-380710, of the Act Idaho Code, shall furnish the required information on Form D, 
hereby made a part of these rules set forth in Subsection 025.02. (12-24-93)(        )

02. Agreements. Agreements for cost sharing services and management services shall 
at a minimum and as applicable: (        )

a. Identify the person providing services and the nature of such services; (        )

b. Set forth the methods to allocate costs; (        )

c. Require timely settlement, not less frequently than on a quarterly basis, and 
compliance with the requirements in the Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual; (        )

d. Prohibit advancement of funds by the insurer to the affiliate except to pay for 
services specified in the agreement; (        )

e. State that the insurer will maintain oversight for functions provided to the insurer 
by the affiliate and that the insurer will monitor services annually for quality assurance; (        )

f. Define books and records of the insurer to include all books and records developed 
or maintained under or related to the agreement; (        )

g. Specify that all books and records of the insurer are and remain the property of the 
insurer and are subject to control of the insurer; (        )

h. State that all funds and invested assets of the insurer are the exclusive property of 
the insurer, held for the benefit of the insurer and are subject to the control of the insurer; (        )

i. Include standards for termination of the agreement with and without cause; (        )

j. Include provisions for indemnification of the insurer in the event of gross 
negligence or willful misconduct on the part of the affiliate providing the services; (        )

k. Specify that, if the insurer is placed in receivership or seized by the Director under 
Title 41, Chapter 33, Idaho Code: (        )

i. All of the rights of the insurer under the agreement extend to the Director; and
(        )

ii. All books and records shall immediately be made available to the Director, and 
shall be turned over to the Director immediately upon the Director’s request; (        )

l. Specify that the affiliate has no automatic right to terminate the agreement if the 
insurer is placed in receivership pursuant to Title 41, Chapter 33, Idaho Code; and (        )

m. Specify that the affiliate shall continue to maintain any systems, programs, or other 
infrastructure notwithstanding a seizure by the Director under Title 41, Chapter 33, Idaho Code, 
and will make them available to the Director, for so long as the affiliate continues to receive 
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timely payment for services rendered. (        )

026. ENTERPRISE RISK REPORT.
The ultimate controlling person of an insurer required to file an enterprise risk report pursuant to 
Section 41-3809(12), Idaho Code, shall furnish the required information on Form F, located at the 
end of this chapter. (        )

0247. EXTRAORDINARY DIVIDENDS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTIONS.

01. Notice to Director. No insurer subject to registration under the provisions of the 
Act shall pay any extraordinary dividend or make any other extraordinary distribution to its 
stockholders until sixty (60) days after the Director has received notice of the declaration thereof 
and has not within such period disapproved such payment, or the Director has approved such 
payment within such sixty (60) day period. Such notice shall include the following information:
Request for Approval. Requests for approval of extraordinary dividends or any other 
extraordinary distribution to shareholders shall include the following: (12-24-93)(        )

a. The amount of the proposed dividend; (12-24-93)

b. The date established for payment of the dividend; (12-24-93)

c. A statement as to whether the dividend is to be in cash or other property and, if in 
property, a description thereof, its cost, and its fair market value, together with an explanation of 
the basis for valuation; (12-24-93)

d. A copy of the calculations determining that the proposed dividend is extraordinary. 
The work paper shall include the following information: (12-24-93)

i. The amounts, and dates, and form of payment of all dividends or distributions
(including regular dividends but excluding distributions of the insurer's own securities) paid 
within the period of twelve (12) consecutive months ending on the date fixed for payment of the 
proposed dividend for which approval is sought and commencing on the day after the same day of 
the same month in the last preceding year; (12-24-93)(        )

ii. Surplus as regards policyholders (total capital and surplus) as of the 31st day of 
December next preceding; (12-24-93)

iii. If the insurer is not a life insurer, the net gain income from operations for the 
twelve (12) month period ending the 31st day of December next preceding; (12-24-93)(        )

iv. If the insurer is not a life insurer, the net income less realized capital gains for the 
twelve (12) month period ending the 31st day of December next preceding and the two preceding 
twelve (12) month periods; and (12-24-93)(        )

v. If the insurer is not a life insurer, the dividends paid to stockholders excluding 
distributions of the insurer’s own securities in the preceding two (2) calendar years. (12-24-93)

e. A balance sheet and statement of income for the period intervening from the last 
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annual statement filed with the Director and the end of the month preceding the month in which 
the request for dividend approval is submitted; and (12-24-93)(        )

f. A brief statement as to the effect of the proposed dividend upon the insurer’s 
surplus and the reasonableness of surplus in relation to the insurer’s outstanding liabilities and the 
adequacy of surplus relative to the insurer’s financial needs. (12-24-93)

02. Other Dividends. Subject to Section 41-380912, of the Act Idaho Code, each 
registered insurer shall report to the Director all dividends and other distributions to shareholders 
within fifteen (15) business days following the declaration thereof, including the same 
information required by Subsections 0287.01.d.i. through 028.01.d.v. (12-24-93)(        )

0258. ADEQUACY OF SURPLUS.
The factors set forth in Section 41-380811, of the Act Idaho Code, are not intended to be an 
exhaustive list. In determining the adequacy and reasonableness of the insurer’s surplus, no single 
factor shall be is necessarily controlling. The Director, instead, will consider the net effect of all 
of these factors, plus other factors bearing on the financial condition of the insurer. In comparing 
the surplus maintained by other insurers, the Director will consider the extent to which each of 
these factors varies from company to company and in determining the quality and liquidity of 
investments in subsidiaries, the Director will consider the individual subsidiary and may discount 
or disallow its valuation to the extent that the individual investments so warrant. (10-1-93)(        )

0269. -- 999. (RESERVED)

FORM A
STATEMENT REGARDING THE
ACQUISTION OF CONTROL OF

OR MERGER WITH A DOMESTIC INSURER

___________________________________________________________
(Name of Domestic Insurer)

BY

___________________________________________________________
(Name of Acquiring Person, Applicant)

Filed with the Insurance Department of Idaho ____________________

(state of domicile of insurer being acquired)

Dated:__________________________, 20____

Name, title, address and telephone number of individual to whom notices and correspondence 
concerning this statement should be addressed:
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____________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________

Form A

ITEM 1. INSURER AND METHOD OF ACQUISITION.

State the name and address of the domestic insurer to which this application relates and a brief 
description of how control is to be acquired.

ITEM 2. IDENTITY AND BACKGROUND OF THE APPLICANT.

a. State the name and address of the applicant seeking to acquire control over the 
insurer.

b. If the applicant is not an individual, state the nature of its business operations for 
the past five (5) years or for such lesser period as such person and any predecessors thereof shall 
have been in existence. Briefly describe the business intended to be done by the applicant and the 
applicant’s subsidiaries.

c. Furnish a chart or listing clearly presenting the identities of the interrelationships 
among the applicant and all affiliates of the applicant. No affiliate need be identified if its total 
assets are equal to less than one half (1/2) of one percent (l%) of the total assets of the ultimate 
controlling person affiliated with the applicant. Indicate in such chart or listing the percentage of 
voting securities of each such person which is owned or controlled by the applicant or by any 
other such person. If control of any person is maintained other than by ownership or control of 
voting securities, indicate the basis of such control. As to each person specified in such chart or 
listing, indicate the type of organization (e.g., corporation, trust, partnership) and the state or other 
jurisdiction of domicile. If court proceedings looking toward involving a reorganization or 
liquidation are pending with respect to any such person, indicate which person, and set forth the 
title of the court, nature of proceedings and the date when commenced.

ITEM 3. IDENTITY AND BACKGROUND OF INDIVIDUALS ASSOCIATED 
WITH THE APPLICANT.

On the biographical affidavit, include a third party background check, and Sstate the following 
with respect to (1) the applicant if he is an individual or (2) all persons who are directors, 
executive officers or owners of ten percent (10%) or more of the voting securities of the applicant 
if the applicant is not an individual:
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a. Name and business address;

b. Present principal business activity, occupation or employment, including position 
and office held and the name, principal business and address of any corporation or other 
organization in which such employment is carried on;

c. Material occupations, positions, offices or employments during the last five (5) 
years, giving the starting and ending dates of each and the name, principal business and address of 
any business corporation or other organization in which each such occupation, position, office or 
employment was carried on; if any such occupation, position, office or employment required 
licensing by or registration with any federal, state or municipal governmental agency, indicate 
such fact, the current status of such licensing or registration, and an explanation of any surrender, 
revocation, suspension or disciplinary proceedings in connection therewith.

d. Whether or not such person has ever been convicted in a criminal proceeding 
(excluding minor traffic violations) during the last ten (10) years and, if so, give the date, nature 
of conviction, name and location of court, and penalty imposed or other disposition of the case.

ITEM 4. NATURE, SOURCE AND AMOUNT OF CONSIDERATION.

a. Describe the nature, source and amount of funds or other considerations used or to 
be used in effecting the merger or other acquisition of control. If any part of the same is 
represented or is to be represented by funds or other consideration borrowed or otherwise 
obtained for the purpose of acquiring, holding, or trading securities, furnish a description of the 
transaction, the names of the parties thereto, the relationship, if any, between the borrower and the 
lender, the amounts borrowed or to be borrowed, and copies of all agreements, promissory notes 
and security arrangements relating thereto.

b. Explain the criteria used in determining the nature and amount of such 
consideration.

c. If the source of the consideration is a loan made in the lender’s ordinary course of 
business and if the applicant wishes the identity of the lender to remain confidential, he must 
specifically request that the identity be kept confidential.

ITEM 5. FUTURE PLANS FOR INSURER.

Describe any plans or proposals which the applicant may have to declare as an extraordinary 
dividend, to liquidate such the insurer, to sell its assets to or merge it with any person or persons 
or to make any other material change in its business operations or corporate structure or 
management.

ITEM 6. VOTING SECURITIES TO BE ACQUIRED.

State the number of shares of the insurer’s voting securities which the applicant, its affiliates and 
any person listed in Item 3 plan to acquire, and the terms of the offer, request, invitation, 
agreement or acquisition, and a statement as to the method by which the fairness of the proposal 
was arrived at.
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ITEM 7. OWNERSHIP OF VOTING SECURITIES.

State the amount of each class of any voting security of the insurer which is beneficially owned or 
concerning which there is a right to acquire beneficial ownership by the applicant, its affiliates or 
any person listed in Item 3.

ITEM 8. CONTRACTS, ARRANGEMENTS, OR UNDERSTANDINGS WITH 
RESPECT TO VOTING SECURITIES OF THE INSURER.

Give a full description of any contracts, arrangements or understandings with respect to any 
voting security of the insurer in which the applicant, its affiliates or any persons listed in Item 3 is 
involved, including but not limited to transfer of any of the securities, joint ventures, loan or 
option arrangements, puts or calls, guarantees of loans, guarantees against loss or guarantees of 
profits, division of losses or profits, or the giving or withholding of proxies. Such description shall 
identify the persons with whom such the contracts, arrangements or understandings have been 
entered into.

ITEM 9. RECENT PURCHASES OF VOTING SECURITIES.

Describe any purchases of any voting securities of the insurer by the applicant, its affiliates or any 
person listed in Item 3 during the twelve (12) calendar months preceding the filing of this 
statement. Include in such the description the dates of purchase, the names of the purchasers, and 
the consideration paid or agreed to be paid therefor. State whether any such shares so purchased 
are hypothecated.

ITEM 10. RECENT RECOMMENDATIONS TO PURCHASE.

Describe any recommendations to purchase any voting security of the insurer made by the 
applicant, its affiliates or any person listed in Item 3, or by anyone based upon interviews or at the 
suggestion of the applicant, its affiliates or any person listed in Item 3 during the twelve (12) 
calendar months preceding the filing of this statement.

ITEM 11. AGREEMENTS WITH BROKER-DEALERS.

Describe the terms of any agreement, contract or understanding made with any broker-dealer as to 
solicitation of voting securities of the insurer for tender, and the amount of any fees, commissions 
or other compensation to be paid to broker-dealers with regard thereto.

ITEM 12. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND EXHIBITS.

a. Financial statements, and exhibits, and three-year financial projections of the 
insurer(s) shall be attached to this statement as an appendix, but list under this item the financial 
statements and exhibits so attached.

b. The financial statements shall include the annual financial statements of the 
persons identified in Item 2(c)) for the preceding five (5) fiscal years (or for such lesser period as 
such applicant and its affiliates and any predecessors thereof shall have been in existence), and 
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similar information covering the period from the end of such person’s last fiscal year, if such the
information is available. Such The statements may be prepared on either an individual basis, or, 
unless the Director otherwise requires, on a consolidated basis if such consolidated statements are 
prepared in the usual course of business.

b. The financial statements shall include the annual financial statements of the 
persons identified in Item 2(c)) for the preceding five (5) fiscal years (or for such lesser period as 
such applicant and its affiliates and any predecessors thereof shall have been in existence), and 
similar information covering the period from the end of such person’s last fiscal year, if such 
information is available. Such statements may be prepared on either an individual basis, or, unless 
the Director otherwise requires, on a consolidated basis if such consolidated statements are 
prepared in the usual course of business.

The annual financial statements of the applicant shall be accompanied by the certificate of an 
independent public accountant to the effect that such statements present fairly the financial 
position of the applicant and the results of its operations for the year then ended, in conformity 
with generally accepted accounting principles or with requirements of insurance or other 
accounting principles prescribed or permitted under law. If the applicant is an insurer which is 
actively engaged in the business of insurance, the financial statements need not be certified, 
provided they are based on the Annual Statement of such person filed with the insurance 
department of the person’s domiciliary state and are in accordance with the requirements of 
insurance or other accounting principles prescribed or permitted under the law and regulations of 
such state.

c. File as exhibits copies of all tender offers for, requests or invitations for, tenders of, 
exchange offers for, and agreements to acquire or exchange any voting securities of the insurer 
and (if distributed) of additional soliciting material relating thereto, any proposed employment, 
consultation, advisory or management contracts concerning the insurer, annual reports to the 
stockholders of the insurer and the applicant for the last two fiscal years, and any additional 
documents or papers required by Form A or Sections 0121 and 0143.

ITEM 13. AGREEMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTERPRISE RISK 
MANAGEMENT

Applicant agrees to provide, to the best of its knowledge and belief, the information required by 
Form F within fifteen (15) days after the end of the month in which the acquisition of control 
occurs.

ITEM 134. SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION.

Signature and certifications required as follows:

SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of Section 41-38024, of the Act 
Idaho Code, _________________________ 

(Name of Applicant)
 as caused this application to be duly signed on its behalf
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in the City of _____________ and State of _____________
on the _______ day_______________20____.

Pursuant to the requirements of Section 41-38024, of the ActIdaho Code,
(Name of Applicant) has caused this application to be duly signed on its behalf in the City of 
_____________ and State of _____________ on the _______ day_______________20____.

(SEAL)
_____________________________
(Name of Applicant) 

BY:
____________________________
(Name) (Title)

ATTEST:

___________________________
(Signature of Officer)

___________________________
(Title)

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed
the attached application dated ___________________ 20____,
for and on behalf of __________________________________

(Name of Applicant)
that (s)he is the __________________________(Title of Officer) of such company and that (s)he 
is authorized to execute and file such instrument. Deponent further says that (s)he is familiar with 
such the instrument and the contents thereof, and that the facts therein set forth are true to the best 
of his/her knowledge, information and belief.

(Signature)________________________

(Type or print name beneath)________________________

The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed the attached application dated 
___________________, 20____, for and on behalf of ________________________________ 
(Name of Applicant); that (s)he is the __________________________(Title of Officer) of such 
company and that (s)he is authorized to execute and file such instrument. Deponent further says 
that (s)he is familiar with suchthe instrument and the contents thereof, and that the facts therein 
set forth are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information and belief.
(Signature)________________________
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(Type or print name beneath)________________________

FORM B

INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY SYSTEM ANNUAL REGISTRATION 
STATEMENT

Filed with the Insurance Department of the State of Idaho

By

Name of Registrant

On behalf of the following insurance companies:

Name Address

___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________

Date:______________________, 20____.

Name, Title, Address and telephone number of individual to whom notices and correspondence 
concerning this statement should be addressed:
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________

ITEM 1. IDENTIFTY AND CONTROL OF REGISTRANT.

Furnish the exact name of each insurer registering or being registered (hereinafter called “the 
Registrant”), the home office address and principal executive offices of each; the date on which 
each Registrant became part of the insurance holding company system; and the method(s) by 
which control of each Registrant was acquired and is maintained.

ITEM 2. ORGANIZATIONAL CHART.

Furnish a chart or listing clearly presenting the identities of and interrelationships among all 
affiliated persons within the insurance holding company system. No affiliate need be shown if its 
total assets are equal to less than one half (1/2) of one percent (1%) of the total assets of the 
ultimate controlling person within the insurance holding company system. The chart or listing 
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should show the percentage of each class of voting securities of each affiliate which is owned, 
directly or indirectly, by another affiliate. If control of any person within the system is maintained 
other than by the ownership or control of voting securities, indicate the basis of such control. As 
to each person specified in such the chart or listing, indicate the type of organization (e.g., 
corporation, trust, partnership) and the state or other jurisdiction of domicile.

ITEM 3. THE ULTIMATE CONTROLLING PERSON.

As to the ultimate controlling person in the insurance holding company system, furnish the 
following information:

a. Name.

b. Home office address.

c. Principal executive office address.

d. The organizational structure of the person, i.e., corporation, partnership, 
individual, trust, etc.

e. The principal business of the person.

f. The name and address of any person who holds or owns ten percent (10%) or more 
of any class of voting security, the class of such security, the number of shares held of record or 
known to be beneficially owned, and the percentage of class so held or owned.; and

g. If court proceedings looking toward involving a reorganization or liquidation are 
pending, indicate the title and location of the court, the nature of proceedings and the date when 
commenced.

ITEM 4. BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION.

If the ultimate controlling person is a corporation, an organization, a limited liability company, or 
other legal entity, Ffurnish the following information for the directors and executive officers of 
the ultimate controlling person: the individual’s name and address, his or her principal occupation 
and all offices and positions held during the past five (5) years, and any conviction of crimes other 
than minor traffic violations during the past ten (10) years. If the ultimate controlling person is an 
individual, furnish the individual's name and address, his or her principal occupation and all 
offices and positions held during the past five (5) years, and any conviction of crimes other than 
minor traffic violations.

ITEM 5. TRANSACTIONS, RELATIONSHIPS AND AGREEMENTS.

a. Briefly describe the following agreements in force, relationships subsisting and 
transactions currently outstanding or which have occurred during the last calendar year between 
the Registrant and its affiliates:

(1)a. Loans, and other investments, and or purchases, sales or exchanges of securities of 
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the affiliates by the insurer Registrant or of the insurer Registrant by its affiliates;

(2)b. Purchases, sales or exchanges of assets;

(3)c. Transactions not in the ordinary course of business;

(4)d. Guarantees or undertakings for the benefit of an affiliate which result in an actual 
contingent exposure of the insurer’s Registrant's assets to liability, other than insurance contracts 
entered into in the ordinary course of the insurer’s Registrant's business;

(5)e. All management and agreements, service contracts and all cost-sharing 
arrangements;

(6)f. Reinsurance agreements;

(7)g. Dividends and other distributions to shareholders;

(8)h. Consolidated tax allocation agreements; and

(9)i. Any pledge of the insurer’s Registrant's stock and/or of the stock of any subsidiary 
or controlling affiliate, for a loan made to any member of the insurance holding company system.

b. No information need be disclosed if such information is not material for purposes 
of Section 41-3809, Idaho Code. Sales, purchases, exchanges, loans or extensions of credit, or
investments or guarantees involving one-half of one percent (1%) or less of the Registrant’s 
admitted assets as of the 3lst day of December next preceding shall not be deemed material.

c. The description shall be in a manner as to permit the proper evaluation thereof by 
the Commissioner Director, and shall include at least the following: the nature and purpose of the 
transaction, the nature and amounts of any payments or transfers of assets between the parties; the 
identity of all parties to such the transaction; and relationship of the affiliated parties to the 
Registrant.

ITEM 6. LITIGATION OR ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS.

Provide Aa brief description of any litigation or administrative proceedings of the following types, 
either then pending or concluded within the preceding fiscal year, to which the ultimate 
controlling person or any of its directors or executive officers was a party or of which the property 
of any such person is or was the subject; give the names of the parties and the court or agency in 
which such litigation or proceeding is or was pending: 

(a). Criminal prosecutions or administrative proceedings by any government agency or 
authority which may be relevant to the trustworthiness of any party thereto; and 

(b).  pProceedings which may have a material effect upon the solvency or capital 
structure of the ultimate holding company including, but not necessarily limited to, bankruptcy, 
receivership or other corporate reorganizations.
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ITEM 7. STATEMENT REGARDING PLAN OR SERIES OF TRANSACTIONS.

The insurer shall furnish a statement that transactions entered into since the filing of the prior 
year’s annual registration statement are not part of a plan or series of like transactions, the purpose 
of which is to avoid statutory threshold amounts and the review that might otherwise occur.

ITEM 8. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND EXHIBITS.

a. Financial statements and exhibits should be attached to this statement as an 
appendix, but list under this item the financial statements and exhibits so attached.

b. If the ultimate controlling person is a corporation, an organization, a limited 
liability company, or other legal entity, Tthe financial statements shall include the annual financial 
statements of the ultimate controlling person in the insurance holding company system as of the 
end of the person’s latest fiscal year. 

If at the time of the initial registration, the annual financial statements for the latest 
fiscal year are not available, annual statements for the previous fiscal year may be filed and 
similar financial information shall be filed for any subsequent period to the extent such 
information is available. Such financial statements may be prepared on either an individual basis, 
or unless the Commissioner Director otherwise requires, on a consolidated basis if such 
consolidated statements are prepared in the usual course of business. 

Other than with respect to the foregoing, such financial statement shall be filed in a 
standard form and format adopted by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 
unless an alternative form is accepted by the Director. Documentation and financial statements 
filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission or audited GAAP financial statements shall 
be deemed to be an appropriate form and format.

Unless the Commissioner Director otherwise permits, the annual financial 
statements shall be accompanied by the certificate of an independent public accountant to the 
effect that such statements present fairly the financial position of the ultimate controlling person 
and the results of its operations for the year then ended, in conformity with generally accepted 
accounting principles or with requirements of insurance or other accounting principles prescribed 
or permitted under law. If the ultimate controlling person is an insurer which is actively engaged 
in the business of insurance, the annual financial statements need not be certified, provided they 
are based on the Annual Statement of such insurer filed with the insurance department of the 
insurer’s domiciliary state and are in accordance with requirements of insurance or other 
accounting principles prescribed or permitted under the law and regulations of such that state.

Any ultimate controlling person who is an individual may file personal financial 
statements that have been reviewed rather than audited by an independent public accountant. The 
review shall be conducted in accordance with standards for review of personal financial 
statements published in the Personal Financial Statements Guide by the American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountants. Personal financial statements shall be accompanied by the 
independent public accountant's Standard Review Report stating that the accountant is not aware 
of any material modifications that should be made to the financial statements in order for the 
statements to be in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles.
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c. Exhibits shall include copies of the latest annual reports to shareholders of the 
ultimate controlling person and proxy material used by the ultimate controlling person; and any 
additional documents or papers required by Form B or Sections 0121 and 013 of these rules.

ITEM 9. FORM C REQUIRED.

A Form C, Summary of Changes to Registration Statement, must be prepared and filed with this 
Form B.

ITEM 10. SIGNATURES AND CERTIFICATION.

FORM C - SUMMARY OF REGISTRATION STATEMENT

Signatures and certification of the form as follows:
SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of Section 41-38069, of the Act Idaho Code,
the Registrant has caused this registration statement
to be duly signed on its behalf in the City
of ___________________ and the State of _________________
on the day of ___________________, 20____.
 (SEAL)

(Name of Registrant) 
BY
(Name)

Attest:
(Signature of Officer)

(Title)
CERTIFICATION

The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed
the attached registration statement dated ________________
20____, for and on behalf of ____________________________;

(Name of Company)
that (s)he is the ___________________________________ of such,

(Name of Company)
company and that (s)he has authority to execute and file such instrument. Deponent further says 
that (s)he is familiar with such instrument and that the facts therein set forth are true to the best 
of his/her knowledge, information and belief.
(Signature) 
(Type or print name beneath)
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Furnish a brief description of all items in the current annual registration statement which represent 
changes from the prior year’s annual registration statement. The description shall be in a manner 
as to permit the proper evaluation thereof by the Commissioner Director, and shall include 
specific references to Item numbers in the annual registration statement and to the terms 
contained therein.

Changes occurring under Item 2 of Form B insofar as changes in the percentage of each class of 
voting securities held by each affiliate is concerned, need only be included where such changes 
are ones which result in ownership or holdings of ten percent (10%) or more of voting securities, 
loss or transfer of control, or acquisition or loss of partnership interest.

Changes occurring under Item 4 of Form B need only be included where: an individual is, for the 
first time, made a director or executive officer of the ultimate controlling person; a director or 
executive officer terminates his or her responsibilities with the ultimate controlling person; or in 
the event an individual is named president of the ultimate controlling person.

If a transaction disclosed on the prior year’s annual registration statement has been changed, the 
nature of such change shall be included. If a transaction disclosed on the prior year’s annual 
registration statement has been effectuated, furnish the mode of completion and any flow of funds 
between affiliates resulting from the transaction.

The insurer shall furnish a statement that transactions entered into since the filing of the prior 
year’s annual registration statement are not part of a plan or series of like transactions whose 
purpose it is to avoid statutory threshold amounts and the review that might otherwise occur.

Filed with the Insurance Department of the State of Idaho

By

Name of Registrant

On Behalf of Following Insurance Companies
Name Address
Date: , 20

Name, Title, Address and telephone number of
Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence
Concerning This Statement Should Be Addressed:

SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION.
Signature and certification required as follows:

SIGNATURE
Pursuant to the requirements of section 41-38069, of the Act Idaho Code,
the Registrant has caused this summary of changes to registration
statement to be duly signed on its behalf in the City of
_____________________ and State of_______________________
on the ______________ day of_____________, 20____.
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FORM D - PRIOR NOTICE OF A TRANSACTION

ITEM 1. IDENTITY OF PARTIES TO TRANSACTION.

Furnish the following information for each of the parties to the transaction:

a. Name.

b. Home office address.

(SEAL)
(Name of Registrant)
By
(Name) (Title)

Attest:

(Signature of Officer)
(Title)

CERTIFICATI
ON

The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed the attached summary of 
changes to registration statement dated __________, 20____, for and on behalf of 
______________________ (Name of Applicant); that (s)he is the

(Name of Company)
__________________________________________ (Title of Officer) of such company and 
(Title of Officer) that (s)he is authorized to execute and file such instrument. Deponent further 
says that (s)he is familiar with such instrument and the contents thereof, and that the facts therein 
set forth are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information and belief.

(Signature)
(Type or print name beneath) 

Filed with the Insurance Department of the State of Idaho

By

Name of Registrant

On Behalf of Following Insurance Companies

Name Address
Date: , 20
Name, Title, Address and telephone number of
Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence
Concerning This Statement Should Be Addressed:
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c. Principal executive office address.

d. The organizational structure, i.e. corporation, partnership, individual, trust, etc.

e. A description of the nature of the parties’ business operations.

f. Relationship, if any, of other parties to the transaction to the insurer filing the 
notice, including any ownership or debtor/creditor interest by any other parties to the transaction 
in the insurer seeking approval, or by the insurer filing the notice in the affiliated parties.

g. Where the transaction is with a non-affiliate, the name(s) of the affiliate(s) which 
will receive, in whole or in substantial part, the proceeds of the transaction.

ITEM 2. DESCRIPTION OF THE TRANSACTION.

Furnish the following information for each transaction for which notice is being given:

a. A statement as to whether notice is being given under section 41-3810(2)(a), (b), 
(c), (d), or (e), of the Act (f) or (g), Idaho Code.

b. A statement of the nature of the transaction.

c. A statement of how the transaction meets the ‘fair and reasonable’ standard of 
section 41-3810(1)(a), Idaho Code.

cd. The proposed effective date of the transaction.

ITEM 3. SALES, PURCHASES, EXCHANGES, LOANS, EXTENSIONS OF 
CREDIT, GUARANTEES OR INVESTMENTS.

Furnish a brief description of the amount and source of funds, securities, property or other 
consideration for the sale, purchase, exchange, loan, extension of credit, guarantee, or investment, 
whether any provision exists for purchase by the insurer filing notice, by any party to the 
transaction, or by any affiliate of the insurer filing notice, a description of the terms of any 
securities being received, if any, and a description of any other agreements relating to the 
transaction such as contracts or agreements for services, consulting agreements and the like. If the 
transaction involves other than cash, furnish a description of the consideration, its cost and its fair 
market value, together with an explanation of the basis for evaluation.

If the transaction involves a loan, extension of credit or a guarantee, furnish a description of the 
maximum amount which the insurer will be obligated to make available under such loan, 
extension of credit or guarantee, the date on which the credit or guarantee will terminate, and any 
provisions for the accrual of or deferral of interest.

If the transaction involves an investment, guarantee or other arrangement, state the time period 
during which the investment, guarantee or other arrangement will remain in effect, together with 
any provisions for extensions or renewals of such investments, guarantees or arrangements. 
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Furnish a brief statement as to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer’s surplus.

No notice need be given if the maximum amount which can at any time be outstanding or for 
which the insurer can be legally obligated under the loan, extension of credit or guarantee is less 
than, (a) in the case of non-life insurers, the lesser of three percent (3%) of the insurer’s admitted 
assets or twenty-five percent (25%) of surplus as regards policyholders or, (b) in the case of life 
insurers, three percent (3%) of the insurer’s admitted assets, each as of the 31st day of December 
next preceding.

ITEM 4. LOANS OR EXTENSIONS OF CREDIT TO A NON-AFFIALIATE.

If the transaction involves a loan or extension of credit to any person who is not an affiliate, 
furnish a brief description of the agreement or understanding whereby the proceeds of the 
proposed transaction, in whole or in substantial part, are to be used to make loans or extensions of 
credit to, to purchase the assets of, or to make investments in, any affiliate of the insurer making 
such loans or extensions of credit, and specify in what manner the proceeds are to be used to loan 
to, extend credit to, purchase assets of or make investments in any affiliate. Describe the amount 
and source of duns funds, securities, property or other consideration for the loan or extension of 
credit and, if the transaction is one involving consideration other than cash, a description of its 
cost and its fair market value together with an explanation of the basis for evaluation. Furnish a 
brief statement as to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer’s surplus.

No notice need be given if the loan or extension of credit is one which equals less than, in the case 
of non-life insurers, the lesser of three percent (3%) of the insurer’s admitted assets or twenty-five 
percent (25%) of surplus as regards policyholders or, with respect to life insurers, three percent 
(3%) of the insurer’s admitted assets, each as of the 31st day of December next preceding.

ITEM 5. REINSURANCE.

If the transaction is a reinsurance agreement or modification thereto, as described by section 41-
380710(2)(c)(ii), of the Act Idaho Code, or a reinsurance pooling agreement or modification 
thereto as described by section 41-3810(2)(c)(i), Idaho Code, furnish a description of the known 
and/or estimated amount of liability to be ceded and/or assumed in each calendar year, the period 
of time during which the agreement will be in effect, and a statement whether an agreement or 
understanding exists between the insurer and non-affiliate to the effect that any portion of the 
assets constituting the consideration for the agreement will be transferred to one or more of the 
insurer’s affiliates. Furnish a brief description of the consideration involved in the transaction, and 
a brief statement as to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer’s surplus.

No notice need be given for reinsurance agreements or modifications thereto if the reinsurance 
premium or a change in the insurer’s liabilities in any of the next three (3) years, in connection 
with the reinsurance agreement or modification thereto is less than five percent (5%) of the 
insurer’s surplus as regards policyholders, as of the 31st day of December next preceding. Notice 
shall be given for all reinsurance pooling agreements including modifications thereto.

ITEM 6. MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS, SERVICE AGREEMENTS AND COST-
SHARING ARRANGEMENTS.
For management and service agreements, furnish:
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a. A brief description of the managerial responsibilities, or services to be performed.

b. A brief description of the agreement, including a statement of its duration, together 
with brief descriptions of the basis for compensation and the terms under which payment or 
compensation is to be made.

For cost-sharing arrangements, furnish:

a. A brief description of the purpose of the agreement.

b. A description of the period of time during which the agreement is to be in effect.

c. A brief description of each party’s expenses or costs covered by the agreement.

d. A brief description of the accounting basis to be used in calculating each party’s 
costs under the agreement.

e. A brief statement as to the effect of the agreement upon the insurer’s policyholder 
surplus.

f. A statement regarding the cost allocation methods that specifies whether proposed 
charges are based on “cost or market.” If market based, state the rationale for using market instead 
of cost, including justification for the company’s determination that amounts are fair and 
reasonable.

g. A statement regarding compliance with the NAIC Accounting Practices and 
Procedure Manual regarding expense allocation.

ITEM 7. SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION.

Signature and certification required as follows:
SIGNATURE
Pursuant to the requirements of Section 41-380710, of the Act Idaho Code,
has caused this notice to be duly signed on its behalf in
the City of___________________ and State of ____________
on the ___________ day of_____________, 20____.
(SEAL)
(Name of Applicant)
By
(Name) (Title)

Attest:
(Signature of Officer)

(Title)
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FORM E 

PRE-ACQUISITION NOTIFICATION FORM REGARDING THE POTENTIAL 
COMPETITIVE 

IMPACT OF A PROPOSED MERGER OR ACQUISITION BY A NON-DOMICILIARY 
INSURER DOING BUSINESS IN THIS STATE OR BY A DOMESTIC INSURER

_________________________
Name of Applicant

_________________________
Name of Other Person
Involved in Merger or
Acquisition

Filed with the Insurance Department of Idaho

______________________________________________________________________________

Dated:_________________________, 20 __

Name, title, address and telephone number of person completing this statement:

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

CERTIFICATI
ON
The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly
executed the attached notice dated _______________, 20____,
for and on behalf of___________________; that (s)he is the
__________________________________________________________ 
(Name of Applicant)(Title of Officer)
of such company and that (s)he is authorized to execute and file such instrument. Deponent 
further says that (s)he is familiar with such instrument and the contents thereof, and that the facts 
therein set forth are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information and belief.

(Signature)
(Type or print name beneath)
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______________________________________________________________________________

ITEM 1. NAME AND ADDRESS.

State the names and addresses of the persons who hereby provide notice of their 
involvement in a pending acquisition or change in corporate control.

ITEM 2. NAME AND ADDRESSES OF AFFILIATED COMPANIES.

State the names and addresses of the persons affiliated with those listed in Item 1. 
Describe their affiliations.

ITEM 3. NATURE AND PURPOSE OF THE PROPOSED MERGER OR 
ACQUISITION.

State the nature and purpose of the proposed merger or acquisition.

ITEM 4. NATURE OF BUSINESS.

State the nature of the business performed by each of the persons identified in response to 
Item 1 and Item 2.

ITEM 5. MARKET AND MARKET SHARE.

State specifically what market and market share in each relevant insurance market the 
persons identified in Item 1 and Item 2 currently enjoy in this state. Provide historical market and 
market share data for each person identified in Item 1 and Item 2 for the past five years and 
identify the source of such data. Provide a determination as to whether the proposed acquisition or 
merger, if consummated, would violate the competitive standards of the state as stated in Section 
41-3808(4), Idaho Code. If the proposed acquisition or merger would violate competitive 
standards, provide justification of why the acquisition or merger would not substantially lessen 
competition or create a monopoly in the state.

For purposes of this question, market means direct written insurance premium in this state 
for a line of business as contained in the annual statement required to be filed by insurers licensed 
to do business in this state.

FORM F

ENTERPRISE RISK REPORT

Filed with the Insurance Department of the State of Idaho

By

____________________________________
Name of Registrant/Applicant
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On Behalf of/Related to Following Insurance Companies

Name Address

__________________________________

__________________________________

__________________________________

__________________________________

Date:____________________, 20_____

Name, Title, Address and telephone number of Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence 
Concerning This Statement Should Be Addressed:

__________________________________

__________________________________

__________________________________

ITEM 1. ENTERPRISE RISK.

The Registrant/Applicant, to the best of its knowledge and belief, shall provide information 
regarding the following areas that could produce enterprise risk as defined in Section 41-3802(3), 
Idaho Code, provided such information is not disclosed in the Insurance Holding Company 
System Annual Registration Statement filed on behalf of itself or another insurer for which it is 
the ultimate controlling person:

a. Any material developments regarding strategy, internal audit findings, compliance 
or risk management affecting the insurance holding company system.

b. Acquisition or disposal of insurance entities and reallocating of existing financial 
or insurance entities within the insurance holding company system.

c. Any changes of shareholders of the insurance holding company system exceeding 
ten percent (10%) or more of voting securities.

d. Developments in various investigations, regulatory activities or litigation that may 
have a significant bearing or impact on the insurance holding company system.

e. Business plan of the insurance holding company system and summarized 
strategies for the next 12 months.
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f. Identification of material concerns of the insurance holding company system 
raised by a supervisory college, if any, in the last year.

g. Identification of insurance holding company system capital resources and material 
distribution patterns.

h. Identification of any negative movement, or discussions with rating agencies 
which may have caused, or may cause, potential negative movement in the credit ratings and 
individual insurer financial strength ratings assessment of the insurance holding company system 
(including both the rating score and outlook).

i. Information on corporate or parental guarantees throughout the holding company 
and the expected source of liquidity should such guarantees be called upon.

j. Identification of any material activity or development of the insurance holding 
company system that, in the opinion of senior management, could adversely affect the insurance 
holding company system.

The Registrant/Applicant may attach the appropriate form most recently filed with the U.S. 
Securities and Exchange Commission, provided the Registrant/Applicant includes specific 
references to those areas listed in Item 1 for which the form provides responsive information. If 
the Registrant/Applicant is not domiciled in the U.S., it may attach its most recent public audited 
financial statement filed in its country of domicile, provided the Registrant/Applicant includes 
specific references to those areas listed in Item 1 for which the financial statement provides 
responsive information.

ITEM 2: OBLIGATION TO REPORT.
If the Registrant/Applicant has not disclosed any information pursuant to Item 1, the Registrant/
Applicant shall include a statement affirming that, to the best of its knowledge and belief, it has 
not identified enterprise risk subject to disclosure pursuant to Item 1.
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IDAPA 18 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

18.01.50 - ADOPTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE

DOCKET NO. 18-0150-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is January 1, 2014. The pending 
rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2014 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of 
the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or modified by concurrent 
resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is 
acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5224 and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby 
given that this agency has adopted a pending rule and is also adopting this rule as a temporary 
rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-253, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its 
supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a concise explanatory statement of the 
reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the 
proposed rule and the text of the pending rule:

To revise language in IDAPA 18.01.50 to adopt the 2012 edition of the International Fire 
Code. This adoption will include revisions made to previous editions of the International Fire 
Code. This rule will bring the adopted edition of the International Fire Code current with the 
edition of the Building Code adopted by the Legislature in 2013.

In accordance with Section 67-5226, Idaho Code, the full text of the temporary rule is being 
published in this Bulletin following this notice. There are no changes to the pending rule and it is 
being adopted as originally proposed. The original text of the proposed rule was published in the 
October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 282 through 287.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1) (a), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reason:

Necessary to protect the public health, safety or welfare.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning the pending or temporary rule, contact Mark Larson, State Fire Marshal, at 208-334-
4371, mark.larson@doi.idaho.gov.

DATED this 30th day of October, 2013.
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Mark Larson, State Fire Marshal
Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W. State Street - 3rd Floor
Boise, ID 83720-0043
208-334-4371
208-334-4398 (fax)

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
section(s) 41-211 and 41-253, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

To revise language in IDAPA 18.01.50 to adopt the 2012 edition of the International Fire 
Code. This adoption will include revisions made to previous editions of the International Fire 
Code. This rule will bring the adopted edition of the International Fire Code current with the 
edition of the Building Code adopted by the Legislature in 2013.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking 
was published in the July 3, 2013, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, page 67.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: The 2012 International Fire Code is being incorporated.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 198 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK

http://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2013/07.pdf#page=67


DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0150-1301
Adoption of the International Fire Code PENDING RULE
ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
(Mark Larson, State Fire Marshal, 208-334-4371, mark.larson@doi.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 30th day of August 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

01. 200912 International Fire Code. In accordance with Section 67-5229, Idaho 
Code, and pursuant to the authority provided by Section 41-253, Idaho Code, the State Fire 
Marshal hereby adopts the 200912 edition of the International Fire Code as published by the 
International Code Council. Any revisions, additions, deletions and/or appendices to the 200912
International Fire Code are included herein. (4-7-11)(        )

02. Availability of Referenced Material. Copies of the 200912 edition of the 
International Fire Code are available for public inspection at the office of the State Fire Marshal. 
The 200912 International Fire Code and supplements thereto may be purchased by writing the 
International Code Council, Northwest Resource Center, 2122 112th Ave NE, Suite C, Bellevue, 
WA 98004 or online through the electronic store on the Council’s website at http://
www.iccsafe.org/Pages/default.aspx. (4-7-11)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

011. DEPARTMENT OF FIRE PREVENTION, SECTION 103.2 -- APPOINTMENTS, 
INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
Delete the following language in section 103.2 of the International Fire Code: “… and the fire 
code official shall not be removed from office except for cause and after full opportunity to be 
heard on specific and relevant charges by and before the appointing authority.” (3-29-12)(        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0150-1301
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

016. PERMIT REQUIRED, SECTION 105.1.1, INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
A permit, if required by the local jurisdiction, shall be obtained from the designated official prior 
to engaging in activities requiring a permit within the local jurisdiction. Delete “the required 
permit” from the last sentence of Section 105.1.1 of the International Fire Code and add “a permit 
if required by the authority having jurisdiction.” (4-2-08)(        )

017. VIOLATION PENALTIES, SECTION 109.34, INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
In Section 109.3, Violation Penalties, International Fire Code, delete the sentence that includes 
“shall be guilty of a,” and replace with the word “misdemeanor.” In the first sentence of Section 
109.4 of the International Fire Code, delete “[SPECIFY OFFENCE], punishable by a fine of not 
more than [AMOUNT] dollars, or by imprisonment not exceeding [NUMBER OF DAYS], or 
both such fine and imprisonment” and add the word “misdemeanor”. (4-2-08)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

020. DEFINITION OF CODE OFFICIAL, SECTION 202, INTERNATIONAL FIRE 
CODE.
Add “or as appropriate the Idaho State Fire Marshal” to the end of the definition for code official
FIRE CODE OFFICIAL in Section 202 of the International Fire Code. (5-3-03)(        )

021. CHAPTER 5 FIRE SERVICE FEATURES.
Make the following changes within Chapter 5 of the International Fire Code; (        )

01. Section 501. (4-7-11)

a. To section 501.3 after the phrase, Construction documents for proposed, add the 
word “driveways.” (4-7-11)

b. To section 501.4 after the phrase, When fire apparatus access roads, add the word 
“driveways.” (4-7-11)

02. Section 502. To section 502, add the following definition in, DRIVEWAY. A 
vehicular ingress and egress route that serves no more than five (5) single family dwellings, not 
including accessory structures. (4-7-11)

03. Section 503. (4-7-11)

a. To section 503, add the following definition, “FIRE STATION, A building, or 
portion of a building that provides, at a minimum, all weather protection for fire apparatus. 
Temperatures inside the building used for this purpose must be maintained at above thirty-two 
(32) degrees Fahrenheit.” (4-7-11)
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b. To section 503 add the words, “AND DRIVEWAYS” to the section heading.
(4-7-11)

c. To section 503.1.1 add the following sentence, “Driveways shall be provided and 
maintained in accordance with Sections 503.7 through 503.11.” (4-7-11)(        )

d. To section 503.6 delete the sentence, The installation of security gates across a fire 
apparatus access road shall be approved by the fire chief. (4-7-11)

e. Add the following section, “503.7 Driveways. Driveways shall be provided when 
any portion of an exterior wall of the first story of a building is located more than 150 feet 
(45720mm) from a fire apparatus access road. Driveways shall provide a minimum unobstructed 
width of 12 feet (3658mm) and a minimum unobstructed height of 13 feet 6 inches (4115mm). 
Driveways in excess of 150 feet (45720mm) in length shall be provided with turnarounds. 
Driveways in excess of 200 feet (60960mm) in length and 20 feet (6096mm) in width may require 
turnouts in addition to turnarounds.” (4-7-11)

f. Add the following section, “503.7.1 Limits. A driveway shall not serve in excess 
of five single family dwellings.” (4-7-11)

g. Add the following section, “503.7.2 Turnarounds. Driveway turnarounds shall 
have an inside turning radius of not less than 30 feet (9144mm) and an outside turning radius of 
not less than 45 feet (13716mm). Driveways that connect with an access road or roads at more 
than one point may be considered as having a turnaround if all changes of direction meet the 
radius requirements for driveway turnarounds.” (4-7-11)

h. Add the following section, “503.7.3 Turnouts. Where line of sight along a 
driveway is obstructed by a man-made or natural feature, turnouts shall be located as may be 
required by the fire code official to provide for safe passage of vehicles. Driveway turnouts shall 
be of an all-weather road surface at least 10 feet (3048mm) wide and 30 feet (9144mm) long.”

(4-7-11)

i. Add the following section, “503.7.4 Bridge Load Limits. Vehicle load limits shall 
be posted at both entrances to bridges on driveways and private roads. Design loads for bridges 
shall be established by the fire code official.” (4-7-11)

j. Add the following section, “503.7.5 Address markers. All buildings shall have a 
permanently posted address, which shall be placed at each driveway entrance and be visible from 
both directions of travel along the road. In all cases, the address shall be posted at the beginning of 
construction and maintained thereafter. The address shall be visible and legible from the road on 
which the road on which the address is located. Address signs along one-way roads shall be 
visible from both the intended direction of travel and the opposite direction. Where multiple 
address’s are required at a single driveway, they shall be mounted on a single post, and additional 
signs shall be posted at locations where driveways divide.” (4-7-11)

k. Add the following section, “503.7.6 Grade. The gradient for driveways shall not 
exceed 10 percent unless approved by the fire code official.” (4-7-11)
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l. Add the following section, “503.7.7 Security Gates. Where security gates are 
installed, they shall have an approved means of emergency operation. The security gates and 
emergency operation shall be maintained operational at all times.” (4-7-11)

m. Add the following section, “503.7.8 Surface. Driveways shall be designed and 
maintained to support the imposed loads of local responding fire apparatus and shall be surfaced 
as to provide all weather driving capabilities.” (4-7-11)

04. Section 507. To section 507.2 Type of water supply. delete the existing language 
and add the following, “A water supply shall consist of water delivered by fire apparatus, 
reservoirs, pressure tanks, elevated tanks, water mains or other sources approved by the fire code 
official capable of providing the required fire flow. Exception. The water supply required by this 
code shall only apply to structures served by a municipal fire department or a fire protection 
district and within ten miles (16093m) of a responding fire station.” (4-7-11)

022. -- 026. (RESERVED)

027. AUTOMATIC SPRINKLER SYSTEMS, SECTION 903.2.7 GROUP M, 
INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE ALTERNATIVE AUTOMATIC FIRE-
EXTINGUISHING SYSTEMS, SECTION 904.1.1, INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
Add the following language to Item 4: “…or mattresses exceeds 5000 square feet (464m2). the 
beginning of section 904.1.1 of the International Fire Code, “If required by the authority having 
the jurisdiction,”. (3-29-12)(        )

028. PORTABLE FIRE EXTINGUISHERS, SECTION 906.2.1, INTERNATIONAL 
FIRE CODE.
Add the following language to the beginning of section 9.6.2.1 of the International Fire Code, “If 
required by the authority having jurisdiction,”. (        )

0289. – 036. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

038. CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS FOR EXISTING BUILDINGS, SECTION 
1101.1, INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
Add the following language to the end of section 1101.1 of the International Fire Code, “only, if 
in the opinion of the fire code official, they constitute a distinct hazard to life or property.” (        )

0389. -- 040. (RESERVED)

041. EXPLOSIVES AND FIREWORKS, CHAPTER 3356, INTERNATIONAL FIRE 
CODE.
Delete Sections 335601.1.3, 335601.2.2, 335601.2.3, 335601.2.4.1, 335601.2.4.2, and 3308.1 
through 3308.3 sections 5608.2, 5608.2.1, and 5608.3 of the International Fire Code.

(4-7-11)(        )
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042. -- 045. (RESERVED)

046. UNDERGROUND TANKS OUT OF SERVICE FOR ONE YEAR, SECTION 
345704.2.13.1.3 INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
Add to Section 345704.2.13.1.3, International Fire Code, the following paragraph: Upon approval 
of the Chief underground tanks that comply with the performance standards for new or upgraded 
underground tanks set forth in Title 40 Section 280.20 or 280.21 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations may remain out of service indefinitely so long as they remain in compliance with the 
operation, maintenance and release detection requirements of the federal rule. (5-3-03)(        )

047. -- 0501. (RESERVED)

051. CHAPTER 46, CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS FOR EXISTING BUILDINGS.
To section 4601.1 delete the period and add, “only if in the opinion of the fire code official, they 
constitute a distinct hazard to life or property. (4-7-11)

052. REFERENCED STANDARDS, CHAPTER 4580, INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE.
Beginning on Page 418 439, of the NFPA Referenced Standards, make the following changes to 
the listed editions:

Delete Add Delete Add Delete Add

10-2007 10-2010 25-2008 120-2004 120-2010

11-2005 11-2010 12-2005 12-2008 241-2004 241-2009

12A-2004 12A-2009 59A-2006 59A-2009 484-2006 484-2009

13-2007 13-2010 80-2007 80-2010 484-2006 484-2009

13D-2007 13D-2010 92A-2005 495-2006 495-2010

13R-2007 13R-2010 52-2006 52-2010 498-2006 498-2010

14-2007 14-2010 72-2007 72-2010 750-2006 750-2010

17-2002 17-2009 101-2006 101-2009 1123-2006 1123-2010

17A-2002 17A-2009 110-2005 110-2010 701-2004 701-2010

20-2007 20-2010 211-2006 211-2010 703-2006 703-2009

22-2003 22-2008 260-2003 260-2009 111-2005 111-2010

24-2003 24-2010 261-2003 261-2009

Delete Add Delete Add

10-2010 10-2013 111-2010 111-2013

13-2010 13-2013 170-2009 170-2012
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(4-7-11)(        )

13D-2010 13D-2013 204-2007 204-2012

13R-2010 13R-2013 211-2010 211-2013

14-2010 14-2013 241-2009 241-2013

17-2009 17-2013 260-2009 260-2013

17A-2009 17A-2013 261-2009 261-2013

20-2010 20-2013 289-2009 289-2013

22-2008 22-2013 318-2009 318-2012

24-2010 24-2013 385-2007 385-2012

51-2007 51-2013 409-2010 409-2011

51A-2011 51A-2012 495-2010 495-2013

52-2010 52-2013 498-2010 498-2013

55-2010 55-2013 505-2010 505-2013

59A-2009 59A-2013 654-2011 654-2013

61-2008 61-2013 720-2005 720-2012

72-2010 72-2013 1122-2008 1122-2013

80-2010 80-2013 1124-2012 1124-2013

99-2010 99-2012 1127-2008 1127-2013

105-2010 105-2013 2001-2011 2001-2013

110-2010 110-2013

Delete Add Delete Add
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24.02.01 - RULES OF THE BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

DOCKET NO. 24-0201-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-521, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 323 and 324.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208-334-3233.

DATED this 28th day of October, 2013.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.
P O Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063
Phone: 208-334-3233
Fax: 208-334-3945

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 54-521, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This rule change will allow licensed barber instructors and licensed barber styling instructors 
to renew their licenses without completing the required twenty (20) hours of continued education. 
Continuing education has been difficult for licensed instructors to obtain and the Board of Barber 
Examiners has determined this requirement is not necessary for public protection. The Board is 
also removing the grandfather provision as it is no longer applicable.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because the rules are simple in nature and were discussed during a 
noticed open meeting of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Cherie Simpson at 208 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

DATED this 29th day of August, 2013.
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LSO Rules Analysis Memo

200. APPLICATIONS (RULE 200).

01. Complete Application for License. All applications for license shall be made on 
forms furnished by the Bureau of Occupational Licenses and received in that office at least thirty 
(30) days prior to the date of examination. All information requested on the application together 
with any required supporting documentation and the required fees must be received by the Bureau 
of Occupational Licenses before any application will be considered complete. (3-13-02)

02. Photographs Required. One (1) passport photograph taken within the six (6) 
months prior to submission of the application, shall be provided. (Section 54-509, Idaho Code).

(3-13-02)

03. Licensed Barber Instructor Continued Education. Every licensed barber 
instructor must obtain twenty (20) hours of continued education approved by the board within the 
twelve (12) months preceding license renewal application. No more than eight (8) hours credit 
may be obtained in seminars, trade shows, etc. (3-13-02)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. GRANDFATHER RIGHTS (RULE 300).
Any person who held a current Idaho barber license on July 1, 2001 shall be issued an Idaho 
barber-stylist license upon written request to the Board and without payment of additional fees 
until June 30, 2003. (3-13-02)

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-0201-1301
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24.08.01 - RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF MORTICIANS 

DOCKET NO. 24-0801-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1107, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the September 4, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 182 through 185.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208-334-3233.

DATED this 28th day of October, 2013.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.
P O Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063
Phone: 208-334-3233
Fax: 208-334-3945

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section 54-1107, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The Board of Morticians has been working with the Idaho Funeral Service Association to 
establish alkaline hydrolysis as an approved cremation process and to clarify that funeral directors 
can sign certain records. The Board is updating its discipline rule to include Funeral Directors.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because the rule is simple in nature and was discussed during a 
noticed open meeting of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Cherie Simpson at 208 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 9th day of August, 2013.
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450. FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT AND CREMATORY ESTABLISHMENT (RULE 
450).
All applicants for establishment license shall submit a completed application on a form approved 
by the Board. All newly licensed establishments and all branch or satellite facilities must meet the 
same requirements for licensure.

(4-2-08)

01. Contents of Application. Each applicant for a license to operate a funeral 
establishment or crematory establishment in Idaho shall document the following: (4-2-08)

a. Name and address of owner whether individual or entity; and (4-2-08)

b. Notarized signature of applicant or authorized agent; and (4-2-08)

c. Name and license number of responsible licensee; and (4-2-08)

d. Other such information as the board may require. (4-2-08)

02. Change in Ownership or Location. Any change in the ownership or location of a 
funeral establishment shall constitute a new funeral establishment for the purposes of licensure.

(7-1-93)

03. Funeral Establishment. All funeral establishments shall be required to provide 
each of the following: (4-2-08)

a. An operating room and necessary equipment for embalming; (4-2-08)

b. A selection room for caskets and merchandise which may include video, catalogs, 
and electronic depiction of caskets and merchandise; (4-2-08)

c. A chapel where funeral or other religious ceremonies may be held; and (4-2-08)

d. A room for viewing and visitation. (4-2-08)

04. Funeral Firm. Every funeral firm in the state of Idaho and/or licensee thereof 
shall give or cause to be given to the person or persons making funeral arrangements or arranging 
for the disposition of the dead human body at the time of said arrangements and prior to rendering 
that service or providing that merchandise, a written statement showing to the extent then known 
the following: (7-1-93)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-0801-1301
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a. The price of the service that the person or persons have selected and what is 
included therein. (7-1-93)

b. The prices of each of the supplementary items of service and/or merchandise 
requested. (7-1-93)

c. The amount involved for each of the items for which the firm will advance monies 
as an accommodation for the family. (7-1-93)

d. The method of payment. (7-1-93)

e. If the quoted price includes a basic component of a funeral or a part thereof which 
is not desired, then a credit thereof should be granted. (7-1-93)

05. Crematory Establishment. All crematory establishments shall be required to 
provide each of the following: (4-2-08)

a. Detailed information regarding each retort, specifically documenting that each 
retort and accompanying equipment is listed by an approved testing agency as listed in the 
Uniform Fire Code or in the case of alkaline hydrolysis, a pressurized vessel heated to 150 C (330 
F) for a minimum recommended period of thirty (30) minutes, thereby meeting or exceeding the 
United States Center for Disease Control (CDC) requirements for the complete destruction of 
human pathogens; and (4-2-08)(        )

b. One (1) set of blueprints for the proposed new construction or remodeling where 
the retort is to be located. The blueprints must be approved by the local building department as 
being in compliance with applicable building codes and ordinances. (4-2-08)

451. (RESERVED)

452. MINIMUM STANDARDS (RULE 452).

01. Reasonable Sanitation and Safety Required. In the interest of the protection of 
the public welfare, no license will be issued on an application to operate a funeral establishment 
or crematory unless it is apparent that the establishment or crematory can and will be operated in 
a reasonably sanitary and safe manner and that all pertinent federal, state, and local permits have 
been obtained when operating an alkaline hydrolysis retort. (4-11-06)(        )

02. Reduction of Cremated Remains. No crematory will be licensed or operated 
unless it is capable of reducing human remains to cremains containing not more than five percent 
(5%) of the weight of the body immediately after death. (3-16-04)

03. Delay Before Cremation. No dead human body, regardless of cause of death, is to 
be cremated, nor is actual cremation of such a body to be commenced, unless the county coroner 
in the county in which the death occurred gives his written authorization to cremate the body.

(3-16-04)

04. Embalming. If a dead human body is to be held longer than twenty-four (24) 
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hours prior to burial, cremation, or other disposition, the body must be either embalmed or 
refrigerated at thirty-six degrees Fahrenheit (36F) or less until buried, cremated, or otherwise 
disposed of. (4-11-06)

05. Casket Not Necessary. It is not necessary for the body to be in a casket for 
cremation to take place. (3-16-04)

a. This is not to be construed to mean that the crematory must cremate without a 
casket; and (3-16-04)

b. It will not prevent the operators from developing their own internal requirements 
for aesthetic or sanitary reasons. (3-16-04)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

455. RESPONSIBILITY, INSPECTION, AND CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS 
(RULE 455).

01. Responsibility for Record. Records regarding the burial, cremation, and other 
disposition of human bodies must be made as soon as reasonably possible after the burial, 
cremation, or other disposition and must be dated and signed by the licensed mortician or funeral 
director who supervised or was otherwise directly responsible for the burial, cremation, or other 
disposition. (4-11-06)(        )

02. Inspection of Records. Records regarding the receipt, burial, cremation, and other 
disposition of human bodies must be maintained at the funeral establishment and crematory and 
be open for inspection at any reasonable time by the Board or its designated representatives.

(4-11-06)

03. Confidentiality of Records. Any disclosure of information obtained by the Board 
in connection with licensure activities and records of funerals or cremations must comply with 
Idaho Public Records Act 9-337 et seq., Idaho Code. (4-11-06)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

501. DISCIPLINE (RULE 501).

01. Civil Fine. The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars 
($1,000) upon a licensede mortician for each violation of Section 54-1116, Idaho Code.

(3-18-99)(        )

02. Costs and Fees. The Board may order a licensede mortician to pay the costs and 
fees incurred by the Board in the investigation or prosecution of the licensee for if found in
violation of Section 54-1116, Idaho Code. (3-18-99)(        )
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24.18.01 - RULES OF THE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

DOCKET NO. 24-1801-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-4106, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 340 through 354.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208-334-3233.

DATED this 28th day of October, 2013.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.
P O Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063
Phone: 208-334-3233
Fax: 208-334-3945

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Section(s) 54-4106, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The Board is amending its rules to comply with recent Appraiser Qualification Board (AQB) 
changes in federal law and regulation regarding state licensed or certified appraisers. These new 
changes must be effective by January 1, 2015. The Board is also adopting a rule to address 
appraisers’ duties when testifying in a court proceeding.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because the Board is amending its rules to comply with changes in 
federal law and regulation as mandated by the federal Appraiser Qualification Board (AQB). 
These rule changes have been discussed in multiple noticed open meetings since the spring of 
2012.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule:

The Board has adopted the Uniform Standards of Professional Practice (USPAP) and are 
updating to the 2014-2015 edition as published January 1, 2014.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Cherie Simpson at 208 334-3233. 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.
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DATED this 21st day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (RULE 4).
The document titled “Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP),” 20124-
20135 Edition published by the Appraisal Foundation and effective January 1, 20124 as 
referenced in Subsection 700, is herein incorporated by reference and is available for review at the 
Board’s office and may be purchased from the Appraisal Foundation, Distribution Center, P. O. 
Box 381, Annapolis Junction, MD 20701-0381. (3-21-12)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).
The definitions numbered one through sixteen (1-16), appearing at Section 54-4104, Idaho Code 
are incorporated herein by reference as if set forth in full. (3-29-10)

01. Accredited. Accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or national 
accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 
Education. (        )

012. Advisory Committee. A committee of state certified or licensed real estate 
appraisers appointed by the board to provide technical assistance relating to real estate appraisal 
standards and real estate appraiser experience, education and examination requirements that are 
appropriate for each classification of state certified or licensed real estate appraiser. (7-1-93)

023. Appraisal Foundation. The Appraisal Foundation means the Appraisal 
Foundation established on November 30, 1987, as a not-for-profit corporation under the laws of 
Illinois. (7-1-97)

034. Appraiser Qualifications Board. Appraiser Qualifications Board of the 
Appraisal Foundation establishes the qualifications criteria for licensing, certification and 
recertification of appraisers. (7-1-97)

045. Appraisal Standards Board. The Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation develops, publishes, interprets and amends the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice (USPAP) on behalf of appraisers and users of appraisal services. (7-1-97)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-1801-1301
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056. Bureau. The Bureau means the Bureau of Occupational Licenses, as prescribed in 
Sections 54-4106(2)(a) and 67-2601, Idaho Code. (3-13-02)

067. Chief. The Bureau Chief of the Bureau of Occupational Licenses as established by 
Section 67-2602, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

078. Classroom Hour. Fifty (50) minutes out of each sixty (60) minute hour in a setting 
which may include a classroom, conference/seminar, on-line or a virtual classroom. (4-4-13)

089. Field Real Estate Appraisal Experience. Personal inspections of real property, 
assembly and analysis of relevant facts, and by the use of reason and the exercise of judgment, 
formation of objective opinions as to the market or other value of such properties or interests 
therein and preparation of written appraisal reports or other memoranda showing data, reasoning, 
and conclusion. Professional responsibility for the valuation function is essential. (4-6-05)

0910. FIRREA. Title XI, Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act 
of 1989, as amended, was designed to ensure that more reliable appraisals are rendered in 
connection with federally related transactions. (7-1-93)(        )

10. Nationally Recognized Appraisal Organization. An appraisal organization which 
is a sponsor of The Appraisal Foundation. (4-2-08)

11. Real Estate. In addition to the previous definition in Section 54-4104(11), Idaho 
Code, will also mean an identified parcel or tract of land, including improvements, if any.

(3-29-10)

12. Real Property. In addition to the previous definition in Section 54-4104(11), 
Idaho Code, will also mean one or more defined interests, benefits, or rights inherent in the 
ownership of real estate. (3-29-10)

13. Residential Unit. Real estate with a current highest and best use of a residential 
nature. A residential unit includes a kitchen and a bathroom. (3-29-10)

14. Specialized Appraisal Services. Services which include situations in which an 
appraiser is employed or retained to provide appraisal services that do not fall within the defined 
term “appraisal assignments.” Specialized appraisal services relate to the employer’s or client’s 
individual needs or investment objectives and commonly include specialized marketing and 
financing studies as well as analysis, opinions, and conclusions rendered in connection with 
activities such as real estate brokerage, mortgage banking, and real estate counseling, including 
real estate tax counseling. (7-1-97)

15. Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice or USPAP. Those 
uniform standards adopted by the Appraisal Foundation’s Appraisal Standards Board. These 
standards may be altered, amended, interpreted, supplemented, or repealed by the Appraisal 
Standards Board (ASB) from time to time. (3-13-02)

16. USPAP Course. For the purposes of licensure and license renewal, any reference 
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to the approved USPAP course shall mean the National USPAP Course provided by Appraisal 
Qualifications Board Certified USPAP Instructors and Educational Providers. (4-6-05)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

250. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE (RULE 250).
All applicants for licensure in any real estate appraiser classification must comply with the 
following education, experience and examination requirements in addition to meeting those 
requirements set forth in Sections 275, 300, 350, and 400 below. (4-11-06)

01. Education. If an individual has completed the education requirements on or 
before December 31, 2007, the individual must submit a complete application to the board before 
January 1, 2011. If an individual has not completed their educational requirement on or before 
December 31, 2007, or submits an application on January 1, 2011 or later, the individual must 
complete the educational requirements which became effective January 1, 2008 and any 
subsequent requirements adopted prior to the individual’s application date. Classroom Hhours 
will be credited only for courses with content that follows the Required Core Curriculum as 
outlined by the Appraisal Qualification Board. (4-2-08)(        )

a. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement may only be granted where the 
length of the educational offering is at least fifteen (15) hours, and the individual successfully 
completes a closed-book examination pertinent to the educational offering. In addition, distance 
education courses intended for use as qualifying education must include a written, closed-book 
final examination - proctored by an official approved by the college or university or by the 
sponsoring organization. The term “written” as used herein refers to an exam that might be 
written on paper or administered electronically on a computer workstation or other device. Oral 
exams are not acceptable. The testing must be in compliance with the examination requirements 
of this section. (4-11-06)(        )

b. Credit for the classroom hour requirement may be obtained from the following:
(7-1-97)

i. Colleges or Universities. (7-1-97)

ii. Community or Junior Colleges. (7-1-97)

iii. Courses approved by the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (4-2-08)

iv. State or Federal Agencies or Commissions. (7-1-97)

v. Other providers approved by the Board. (7-1-97)

c. Only those courses completed preceding the date of application will be accepted 
for meeting educational requirements. (3-18-99)
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d. Course credits that are obtained from the course provider by challenge 
examination without attending the course will not be accepted. (4-11-06)

e. Prior to January 1, 2008, various appraisal courses may be credited toward the 
classroom hour education requirement. Applicants must demonstrate that their education 
involved coverage of those topics listed in Subsection 250.01.e. that are required for the license 
classification for which application is being made. Licensed Residential and Certified Residential 
must include emphasis in one (1) to four (4) unit residential properties; Certified General must 
include emphasis in nonresidential properties. Credit toward education requirements may be 
obtained through completion of a degree in Real Estate from: (        )

i. An accredited degree-granting college or university that has been approved by the 
Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business; or (        )

ii. A regional or national accreditation agency that is recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education and whose curriculum has been reviewed and approved by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board. (3-29-10)(        )

i. Basic appraisal principles. (4-11-06)

ii. Basic appraisal procedures. (4-11-06)

iii. The fifteen (15) hour national USPAP course. (4-11-06)

iv. Market analysis and highest and best use. (4-11-06)

v. Appraiser site valuation and cost approach. (4-11-06)

vi. Sales comparison approach. (4-11-06)

vii. Sales income approach. (4-11-06)

viii. Report writing and case studies. (4-11-06)

ix. Statistics, modeling and finance. (4-11-06)

x. Advanced applications and case studies. (4-11-06)

xi. Appraisal subject matter electives. (4-11-06)

f. Advanced courses will be those courses for which an introductory or basic course 
is required as a prerequisite. Typically classes titled “Introductory,” “Basic,” or “Principles” 
will not be accepted for advanced requirements. Applicants with a college degree from a foreign 
country may have their education evaluated for equivalency by one (1) of the following:

(4-11-06)(        )

i. An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; (        )
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ii. The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers 
(AACRAO); (        )

iii. A foreign degree credential evaluation services company that is a member of the 
National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); or (        )

iv. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides equivalency 
evaluation reports accepted by an accredited degree-granting domestic college or university or by 
a state licensing board that issues credentials in another discipline. (        )

02. Experience. (7-1-97)

a. The work product claimed for experience credit must be in conformity with 
USPAP. (3-21-12)

b. All appraisal experience must be obtained as a registered trainee or as a licensed 
appraiser. (4-11-06)

c. Only experience gained during the five (5) years immediately preceding 
application will be considered for evaluation. (4-11-06)

d. Acceptable non field appraisal experience includes, but is not limited to the 
following: Fee and Staff appraisal analysis, ad valorem tax appraisal, condemnation appraisal, 
technical review appraisal, appraisal analysis, review appraisal, real estate counseling, highest and 
best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study. (4-11-06)

e. Each applicant applying for licensure must verify completion of the required 
experience via affidavit, under oath subject to penalty of perjury, and notarized on a form 
provided by the Board. (4-11-06)

i. The Board requires submission of a log that details hours claimed for experience 
credit. The log must include the following: (3-29-10)

(1) Type of property; (3-29-10)

(2) Address of the property; (3-29-10)

(3) Report date; (3-29-10)

(4) Description of work performed; (3-29-10)

(5) Number of work hours; (3-29-10)

(6) Complexity; (3-29-10)

(7) Approaches to value; (3-29-10)

(8) Appraised value; (3-29-10)
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(9) Scope of supervising appraiser's review; and (3-29-10)

(10) Supervision. (3-29-10)

ii. The Board reserves the right to contact an employer for confirmation of length and 
extent of experience claimed. This may require an employer to submit appraisal reports and/or an 
affidavit. (7-1-97)

iii. The Board may request submission of written reports or file memoranda that 
substantiate an applicant’s claim for experience credit. (4-11-06)

f. Ad valorem tax appraisers must demonstrate the use of techniques to value 
properties similar to those used by appraisers and effectively use the process as defined in 
Subsection 010.089, Field Real Estate Appraisal Experience in order to receive experience credit.

(3-29-10)(        )

03. Examination. Successful completion of an examination appropriate to the license 
classification being applied for and approved by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the 
Appraisal Qualifications Board. (4-11-06)

251. -- 274. (RESERVED)

275. REGISTERED TRAINEE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER (RULE 275).

01. Qualification. Each applicant for registration as an appraiser trainee must meet the 
following requirements: (4-11-06)

a. Education. Beginning July 1, 2006, Within the five-year period preceding 
application, all applicants for registration as a trainee must document completion of at least 
seventy-five (75) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows:

(4-11-06)(        )

i. Basic Appraisal Principles - not less than thirty (30) hours specifically including 
Real Property Concepts and Characteristics, Legal Considerations, Influences on Real Estate 
Values, Types of Value, Economic Principles, Overview of Real Estate Markets and Analysis, and 
Ethics and How They Apply in Appraisal Theory and Practice; and (4-11-06)

ii. Basic Appraisal Procedures - not less than thirty (30) hours specifically including 
Overview of Approaches to Value, Valuation Procedures, Property Description, and Residential 
Applications; and (4-11-06)

iii. National USPAP Course - not less than fifteen (15) hours. (4-11-06)

b. Experience. All applicants for registration as a trainee must retain and identify at 
least one (1) licensed real estate appraiser who agrees to provide the supervision required by law 
and rule. The supervising appraiser shall: (4-11-06)
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i. Hold Have held a current and unrestricted Idaho license as a Certified Residential 
Appraiser or a Certified General Appraiser for at least three (3) years prior to providing 
supervision; and (4-11-06)(        )

ii. Submit evidence of completion of an approved four-hour continuing education 
course regarding the role of a supervising appraiser. (3-29-10)

iii. Not have been disciplined by the Board or any other state or jurisdiction within the 
previous four (4) years that effects the supervisory appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in 
appraisal practice; and (3-21-12)(        )

iv. Not be registered to provide supervision responsibilities to more than three (3) 
appraiser trainees at any one (1) time; and (4-11-06)

v. Be responsible for the training and direct supervision of the appraiser trainee; and
(4-11-06)

vi. Accept responsibility for all appraisal reports by signing and certifying that the 
report is in compliance with USPAP; and (4-11-06)

vii. Review and sign all appraiser trainee appraisal report(s); and (4-11-06)(        )

viii. Personally inspect each appraised property with the appraiser trainee until the 
supervising appraiser determines the appraiser trainee is competent in accordance with the 
Competency Provision of USPAP for the property type. (4-11-06)

c. Examination. Each trainee applicant shall document successful passage of 
examinations in each of the prerequisite courses required for registration as a trainee. (4-11-06)

d. Beginning January 1, 2015, prior to registration as an appraiser trainee, each 
trainee applicant must complete a trainee appraiser course that complies with the content 
requirements established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board. This course is in addition to the 
education requirements set forth in Section 275. (        )

02. Scope and Practice. An Appraiser Trainee shall not be involved in the appraisal 
of any property that exceeds the lawful scope of practice of the supervising appraiser. The 
appraiser trainee shall be subject to USPAP. (4-11-06)

a. Each appraiser trainee is permitted to have more than one (1) supervising appraiser 
provided a supervising appraiser is not registered to more than three (3) trainees at any one (1) 
time. (4-11-06)

b. An appraisal log shall be maintained for each supervising appraiser by the 
appraiser trainee and shall include no less than the following for each appraisal: (4-11-06)

i. Type of property. (4-11-06)

ii. Date of report. (4-11-06)
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iii. Address of subject property. (4-11-06)

iv. Description of work performed by the trainee and the scope of review and 
supervision of the supervisor. (4-11-06)

v. Number of actual work hours. (4-11-06)(        )

vi. Signature and license number of the supervising appraiser. (4-11-06)

c. An appraiser trainee shall be entitled to obtain copies of all appraisal reports 
prepared by the trainee. (4-11-06)

03. Continuing Education. Prior to the second renewal and for each continuing 
education cycle thereafter as provided in Section 275 of this rule, an appraiser trainee shall be 
required to obtain: (3-21-12)

a. The equivalent of thirty (30) classroom hours of instruction in approved courses or 
seminars during the twenty-four (24) month period preceding the renewal. Once every twenty-
four (24) months, registered appraiser trainees will be required to attend an approved seven-hour 
USPAP update course or the equivalent. The course must cover the most recent USPAP edition.

(3-21-12)

b. All continuing education shall be in compliance with Subsections 401.01 through 
401.05. If the licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content 
during any one (1) continuing education cycle, the licensee only will receive continuing education 
credit for one (1) of the courses. (3-29-10)(        )

c. Continuing education credit may also be granted for participation, other than as a 
student, in appraisal educational processes and programs. Examples of activities for which credit 
may be granted are teaching, program development, authorship of textbooks, or similar activities 
that are determined to be equivalent to obtaining continuing education. Credit for educational 
processes and programs continuing education shall not exceed one-half (1/2) of the total 
continuing education credits required for a renewal period. (4-11-06)(        )

d. The purpose of continuing education is to ensure that the appraiser trainee 
participates in a program that maintains and increases skill, knowledge and competence in real 
estate appraising. (4-11-06)

276. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION 
APPRAISER QUALIFICATION CRITERIA (RULE 300).
The state licensed residential real estate appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of 
residential real property consisting of one (1) to four (4) noncomplex residential units having a 
transaction value less than one million dollars ($1,000,000) and complex one (1) to four (4) 
residential units having a transaction value less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars 
($250,000). Applicants must meet the following education, experience and examination 
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requirements in addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being licensed, every 
licensee must annually meet the continuing education requirement. (4-11-06)

01. Education. Prior to January 1, 2008, as a prerequisite to taking the examination 
for licensure as an Idaho Licensed Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall present evidence 
satisfactory to the board of having successfully completed not less than ninety (90) classroom 
hours of courses in subjects related specifically to real estate appraisal that have been approved 
by the board. Each applicant must have successfully completed not less than seventy-five (75) 
classroom hours of study related to those topics outlined under Subsection 250.01.e., the basic 
principles of real estate appraising. Not less than fifteen (15) and no more than twenty (20) 
classroom hours of studies within the last five (5) years specifically relating to the USPAP, and 
Code of Ethics will be credited to the classroom hour requirement. Beginning on January 1, 2008, 
aAs a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Licensed Residential Real 
Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-29-10)(        )

a. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee; and (4-11-06)

b. Document the successful completion of not less than seventy-five (75) classroom 
hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (4-11-06)

i. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours; and (4-11-06)

ii. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours; and (4-11-06)

iii. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches - not less than thirty (30) 
hours specifically including Valuation Principles and Procedures - Sales Comparison Approach; 
Valuation Principles and Procedures - Income Approach; Finance and Cash Equivalency; 
Financial Calculator Introduction; Identification, Derivation and Measurement of Adjustments; 
Gross Rent Multipliers; Partial Interests; Reconciliation; and Case Studies; and (4-11-06)

iv. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies - not less than fifteen (15) hours 
specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills; Common Writing Problems; Form Reports; 
Report Options and USPAP Compliance; Case Studies. (4-11-06)

c. Beginning January 1, 2015, hold an Associate’s Degree or higher from an 
accredited college or university or document the successful completion of thirty (30) semester 
hours of college-level education. An applicant may receive semester hour credit for credits earned 
through the College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) provided that the accredited college or 
university accepts the CLEP and issues a transcript for the exam. (        )

02. Experience. Prerequisite to sit for the examination: (7-1-97)

a. Document two thousand (2,000) hours of supervised appraisal experience as a 
registered Appraiser Trainee in no less than twelve (12) months. Experience documentation in the 
form of reports or file memoranda should be available to support the claim for experience.

(4-11-06)
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b. Of the required two thousand (2,000) hours, the applicant must accumulate a 
minimum of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours from field real estate appraisal experience. 
The balance of five hundred (500) hours may include non field experience, refer to Subsection 
250.02.d. (4-11-06)

03. Examination. Successful completion of the Licensed Residential Appraiser 
examination approved by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications 
Board. (4-11-06)

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION 
APPRAISER QUALIFICATION CRITERIA (RULE 350).
The State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of 
residential properties of four (4) or less units without regard to transaction value or complexity. 
Applicants must meet the following education, experience and examination requirements in 
addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being certified every licensee must 
annually meet the continuing education requirement. (4-11-06)

01. Education. Prior to January 1, 2008, as a prerequisite to taking the examination 
for licensure as an Idaho Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall present 
evidence satisfactory to the board of having successfully completed not less than one hundred 
twenty (120) classroom hours of courses in subjects related specifically to real estate appraisal 
that have been approved by the board. Each applicant must have successfully completed not less 
than ninety (90) classroom hours of study related to those topics outlined under Subsection 
250.01.e., the basic principles of real estate appraising and thirty (30) classroom hours of 
advanced residential or non-residential specialized courses relating to the topics specified at 
Subsection 250.01.e. Not less than fifteen (15) and no more than twenty (20) classroom hours of 
studies within the last five (5) years specifically relating to the USPAP, and Code of Ethics; will be 
credited to the classroom hour requirement. Beginning on January 1, 2008, aAs a prerequisite to 
taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser, each 
applicant shall: (3-30-07)(        )

a. Hold an Associate Degree or higher from an accredited college or university or 
document successful completion of no less than twenty-one (21) college semester credit hours in 
English Composition, Principles of Economics (micro or macro), Finance, Algebra, Geometry or 
higher mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, and Business or Real Estate Law; and (4-2-08)

b. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and completion of the education 
required for licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser or hold a current license as 
a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser; and (4-11-06)

c. Document the successful completion of not less than fifty (50) classroom hours of 
courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (4-11-06)

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance - not less than fifteen (15) hours specifically 
including Statistics; Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; 
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and (4-11-06)

ii. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours specifically including Complex Property, Ownership and Market Conditions; Deriving and 
Supporting Adjustments; Residential Market Analysis; and Advanced Case Studies; and

(4-11-06)

iii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - not less than twenty (20) hours and may 
include hours over the minimum shown in Subsection 350.01.c. (4-11-06)

d. On or after January 1, 2015, hold a Bachelor’s Degree or higher from an accredited 
degree-granting college or university; and (        )

e. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and completion of the education 
required for licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser, or hold a current license as 
a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser; and (        )

f. Document the successful completion of not less than fifty (50) classroom hours of 
courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (        )

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance - not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Statistics; Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; 
and (        )

ii. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours, specifically including Complex Property, Ownership and Market Conditions; Deriving and 
Supporting Adjustments; Residential Market Analysis; and Advanced Case Studies; and (        )

iii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - not less than twenty (20) hours, and may 
include hours over the minimum shown in Subsection 350.01.c. of these rules. (        )

02. Experience. Experience is a prerequisite to sit for the licensure examination:
(4-11-06)

a. Document two thousand five hundred (2,500) hours of appraisal experience in no 
less than twenty-four (24) months (see Subsection 250.02). Experience documentation in the form 
of reports or file memoranda should be available to support the claim for experience. (4-11-06)

b. Two thousand (2,000) hours of the experience shall be from residential field 
appraisal experience. The balance of five hundred (500) hours may include non field experience, 
refer to Subsection 250.02.d. (4-11-06)

c. Examination. Successful completion of the Certified Residential Appraiser 
examination approved by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications 
Board. (3-21-12)

351. -- 399. (RESERVED)
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400. CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION 
APPRAISER QUALIFICATION CRITERIA (RULE 400).
The State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of all 
types of real property. Applicants must meet the following examination, education, and 
experience requirements in addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being 
certified, an individual must meet the continuing education requirement. (4-2-08)

01. Education. Prior to January 1, 2008, as a prerequisite to taking the examination 
for licensure as an Idaho State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall 
present evidence satisfactory to the board of having successfully completed not less than one 
hundred eighty (180) classroom hours of courses in subjects related specifically to real estate 
appraisal approved by the board. Each applicant must have successfully completed not less than 
one hundred sixty (160) classroom hours of study related to those topics outlined under 
Subsection 250.01.e. Not less than fifteen (15) and no more than twenty (20) classroom hours of 
studies within the last five (5) years specifically relating to the USPAP, and Code of Ethics; and 
one hundred (100) classroom hours of advanced non residential specialized courses relating to 
the topics specified at Subsection 250.01.e. Beginning on January 1, 2008, aAs a prerequisite to 
taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Certified General Real Estate Appraiser, each 
applicant shall: (3-30-07)(        )

a. Hold a Bachelors Degree or higher from an accredited college or university or 
document successful completion of no less than thirty (30) college semester credit hours in 
English Composition, Micro Economics, Macro Economics, Finance, Algebra, Geometry or 
higher mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, and Business or Real Estate Law, and two (2) 
elective courses in accounting, geography, ag economics, business management, or real estate; 
and (4-2-08)

b. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and document the successful 
completion of not less than two hundred twenty-five (225) classroom hours of courses in subjects 
related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-29-10)

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours specifically 
including Statistics; Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance;

(3-29-10)

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than thirty 
(30) hours; (3-29-10)

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than thirty (30) hours 
specifically including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of 
Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case Studies; (3-29-10)

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than thirty (30) 
hours; (3-29-10)

v. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than sixty (60) hours specifically 
including Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and 
Collection Law, Estimating Operating Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and 
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Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, Direct Capitalization, Discounted 
Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; (3-29-10)

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than thirty (30) hours 
specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options 
and USPAP Compliance, and Case Studies; and (3-29-10)

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than thirty (30) hours and may include 
hours over the minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.b.; or (3-29-10)

c. Document licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the 
successful completion of not less than one hundred fifty (150) classroom hours of courses in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-29-10)

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours specifically 
including Statistics; Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; 
and (4-11-06)

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than fifteen 
(15) hours; and (3-29-10)

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours 
specifically including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of 
Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case Studies; and (3-29-10)

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than fifteen (15) 
hours; and (3-29-10)

v. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than forty-five (45) hours 
specifically including Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy 
and Collection Law, Estimating Operating Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and 
Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, Direct Capitalization, Discounted 
Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (3-29-10)

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) 
hours specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report 
Options and USPAP Compliance, and Case Studies; and (3-29-10)

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than thirty (30) hours and may include 
hours over the minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.c.; or (3-29-10)

d. Document licensure as a Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the 
successful completion of not less than one hundred five (105) classroom hours of courses in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-29-10)

i. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than fifteen 
(15) hours; and (3-29-10)
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ii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours 
specifically including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of 
Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case Studies; and (3-29-10)

iii. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than fifteen (15) 
hours; and (3-29-10)

iv. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than forty-five (45) hours 
specifically including Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy 
and Collection Law, Estimating Operating Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and 
Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, Direct Capitalization, Discounted 
Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (3-29-10)

v. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) 
hours specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report 
Options and USPAP Compliance, and Case Studies. (3-29-10)

e. On or after January 1, 2015, hold a Bachelor’s Degree or higher from an accredited 
degree-granting college or university; and (        )

f. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and document the successful 
completion of not less than two hundred twenty-five (225) classroom hours of courses in subjects 
related to real estate appraisal as follows: (        )

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance - not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Statistics; Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal), and Real Estate Finance;

(        )

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use - not less than thirty 
(30) hours; (        )

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach - not less than thirty (30) hours, 
specifically including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of 
Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case Studies; (        )

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach - not less than thirty (30) 
hours; (        )

v. General Appraiser Income Approach - not less than sixty (60) hours, specifically 
including Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and 
Collection Law, Estimating Operating Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and 
Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, Direct Capitalization, Discounted 
Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; (        )

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies - not less than thirty (30) 
hours, specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report 
Options and USPAP Compliance, and Case Studies; and (        )
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 229 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1801-1301
Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board PENDING RULE
vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - not less than thirty (30) hours, and may 
include hours over the minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.b. of these rules; or (        )

g. Document licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the 
successful completion of not less than one hundred fifty (150) classroom hours of courses in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (        )

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance - not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Statistics; Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; 
and (        )

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use - not less than 
fifteen (15) hours; and (        )

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach - not less than fifteen (15) hours, 
specifically including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of 
Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case Studies; and (        )

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours; and (        )

v. General Appraiser Income Approach - not less than forty-five (45) hours, 
specifically including Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy 
and Collection Law, Estimating Operating Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and 
Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, Direct Capitalization, Discounted 
Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (        )

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours, specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report 
Options and USPAP Compliance, and Case Studies; and (        )

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - not less than thirty (30) hours. and may 
include hours over the minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.c.; or (        )

h. Document licensure as a Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the 
successful completion of not less than one hundred five (105) classroom hours of courses in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (        )

i. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use - not less than 
fifteen (15) hours; and (        )

ii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach - not less than fifteen (15) hours, 
specifically including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of 
Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case Studies; and (        )

iii. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours; and (        )
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iv. General Appraiser Income Approach - not less than forty-five (45) hours, 
specifically including Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy 
and Collection Law, Estimating Operating Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and 
Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, Direct Capitalization, Discounted 
Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (        )

v. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies - not less than fifteen (15) 
hours, specifically including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report 
Options and USPAP Compliance, and Case Studies. (        )

02. Experience. Experience is a prerequisite to sit for the licensure examination:
(4-11-06)

a. Document three thousand (3,000) hours of appraisal experience in no less than 
thirty (30) months (See Subsection 250.02). Experience documentation in the form of reports or 
file memoranda should be available to support the claim for experience. (4-11-06)

b. One thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of the experience must be nonresidential 
appraisal experience. The balance of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours may be solely 
residential experience or can include up to five hundred (500) hours of nonfield experience as 
outlined in Subsection 250.02.d. (4-11-06)

c. Examination. Successful completion of the Certified General Appraiser 
examination approved by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications 
Board. (3-21-12)

401. CONTINUING EDUCATION (RULE 401).
All certified/licensed appraisers must comply with the following continuing education 
requirements: (7-1-97)

01. Purpose of Continuing Education. The purpose of continuing education is to 
ensure that the appraiser participates in a program that maintains and increases his skill, 
knowledge and competency in real estate appraising. (7-1-97)

02. Hours Required. The equivalent of thirty (30) classroom hours of instruction in 
courses or seminars during the twenty-four (24) months prior to renewal is required. If the 
licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content during any one 
(1) continuing education cycle, the licensee only will receive continuing education credit for one 
(1) of the courses. (3-21-12)

a. A classroom hour is defined as fifty (50) minutes out of each sixty (60) minute 
segment. The educational setting may include a classroom, conference/seminar, on-line or a 
virtual classroom. (4-4-13)

b. If the educational offering is taken on-line or in a virtual classroom, the course 
must include successful completion of prescribed course mechanisms required to demonstrate 
knowledge of the subject matter. (        )
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bc. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement may be granted only where the 
length of the educational offering is at least two (2) hours. (7-1-97)

cd. Credit for the classroom hour requirement may be obtained by accredited courses 
which have been approved by the Appraisal Qualification Board and by courses approved by Real 
Estate Appraiser Boards of states with reciprocity with Idaho. All other courses must have 
approval of the Board, which shall require the continuing education provider to submit the 
educational course approval application and application fee as set forth in these rules along with 
the documentation including the instructors and their qualifications, course content, length of 
course, and its location. Courses shall be approved for a period of four (4) years. (4-4-13)

de. Once every twenty-four (24) months, Idaho State Certified/Licensed Real Estate 
Appraisers and registered trainees will be required to attend an approved seven (7) hour USPAP 
update course or the equivalent. The course must cover the most recent USPAP edition. (3-21-12)

03. Credit for Appraisal Educational Processes and Programs. Continuing 
education credit may also be granted for participation, other than as a student, in appraisal 
educational processes and programs. Examples of activities for which credit may be granted are 
teaching, program development, authorship of textbooks, or similar activities which are 
determined to be equivalent to obtaining continuing education. Credit for educational processes 
and programs continuing education shall not exceed one-half (1/2) of the total continuing 
education credits required for a renewal period. (4-2-08)

04. Credit for Attending the Licensure Board Meetings. Continuing education 
credit may be granted for a maximum of two (2) hours each continuing education cycle for time 
spent attending one (1) Board meeting. Members of the board shall not be entitled to continuing 
education credit for board service. (3-21-12)

05. Requirement When a Certificate/License Is Cancelled. For each year (less than 
five (5)) in which a license is lapsed, canceled, or otherwise non-renewed, fifteen (15) hours of 
continuing education must be documented, including a seven (7) hour USPAP update course, 
prior to reinstatement. The course must cover the most recent USPAP edition. (3-21-12)
 

06. Special Exemption. The Board shall have authority to make exceptions for 
reasons of individual hardship, including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good 
cause. The appraiser must provide any information requested by the Board to assist in 
substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole discretion of the Board.

(3-29-10)

402. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. RECIPROCITY (RULE 450).
Applicant must comply with Section 54-4115, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

01. File Application. File applications on forms provided by the Board. (7-1-93)

02. Submit Statement Verifying Certification/Licensure. Submit current notarized 
statement verifying certification/licensure in good standing in another state. (7-1-93)
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03. Reciprocal License Issued. No reciprocal license will be issued where the 
applicant was originally licensed in a state other than that upon which the reciprocity application 
is based. (7-1-97)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

526. -- 5439. (RESERVED)

540. APPRAISALS IN LITIGATION (RULE 540).
Licensed or certified appraisers providing opinions of value in litigation shall comply with 
USPAP Standard 1 including maintaining a work file in support of the opinion of value in 
litigation. (        )

541. -- 549. (RESERVED)
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 233 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAPA 24 - BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES

24.25.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO DRIVING BUSINESSES LICENSURE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2501-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5403, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the July 3, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-7, pages 73 through 78.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208-334-3233.

DATED this 28th day of October, 2013.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.
P O Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063
Phone: 208-334-3233
Fax: 208-334-3945

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is May 3, 2013.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is 
hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures 
have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5403, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than July 17, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its 
supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance 
and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

House Bill 127 which passed in the 2013 legislative session allows the Bureau to collect and 
pay such fees as required for fingerprint based criminal history background checks. Idaho State 
Police will no longer collect fees from individuals. In order for applicants to meet the background 
check requirement the Bureau needs to be able to process the fee on behalf of the applicant.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1)(a) and (b), Idaho 
Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following 
reasons:

House Bill 127 which passed in the 2013 legislative session allows the Bureau to collect and 
pay such fees as are required for fingerprint based criminal history background checks. The Rules 
of the Driving Businesses Licensure Board need to be amended to comply with the change in the 
statute regarding the collection and payment of the fees. The rule is also being amended to clarify 
the process for permitting apprentices in order to assure public protection.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because: The Rules of the Driving Businesses Licensure Board 
need to be amended to comply with the change in the statute regarding the collection and payment 
of the fees and to clarify the apprentice permit process.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
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following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed 
rule, contact Cherie Simpson at 208 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before July 24, 2013.

DATED this 3rd day of June, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

225. DRIVING BUSINESS LICENSE (RULE 225).
A driving business license enables a licensee to operate a driver education business at one (1), 
principal classroom location as designated in the application. The licensee may also utilize 
secondary locations for classroom instruction, so long as the business does not conduct driver 
education at any given secondary location for more than sixty (60) days in a one-year period. A 
driving business license is not transferable. The business licensee must conspicuously display the 
license at the business’s principal classroom location. Each applicant must apply as required by 
Rule 150. (4-7-11)

01. Applicant Identity. The applicant must provide such identifying information as 
may be requested by the Board including, without limitation, the following: (4-7-11)

a. The applicant’s legal name (i.e., the name of the natural person or business entity 
to be issued the license) and assumed business name(s), if any. (4-7-11)

b. The applicant’s social security number, if the applicant has no employees and is a 
natural person (including a sole proprietor acting under an assumed business name). If the 
applicant has employees or is not a natural person (e.g., is a general or limited partnership, 
corporation, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company), then the applicant must 
provide its employer identification number. (4-7-11)

c. The names and addresses of the applicant’s officers and shareholders having a 
twenty-five percent (25%) or greater ownership interest (if a corporation), members and managers 
(if a limited liability company), and partners (if a partnership). (4-7-11)

d. The applicant’s contact information, including its mailing address, physical 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-2501-1301
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address, and telephone number. (4-7-11)

02. Criminal History Background Check. The applicant, if a natural person, and all 
persons listed under Paragraph 225.01.c. and Subsection 225.05 of these rules, must submit to a 
current, fingerprint-based criminal history check conducted by an organization approved by the 
Board. Each applicant must ensure that such persons submit a full set of their fingerprints, and 
any relevant fees, directly to the organization that conducts the criminal history check, and that 
the organization delivers the results directly to the Bureau which will forward the fingerprints and 
fees to the organization that conducts the fingerprint based criminal history background check. 
The Board application will not be processed the application until the Bureau has received all the 
completed fingerprint-based criminal history background checks. (4-7-11)(        )

03. Classroom Locations and Certificates of Occupancy. Each applicant must list 
all principal and secondary classroom locations to be utilized by the business. The applicant must 
provide a certificate of occupancy issued to the building/room by the local fire marshal or the fire 
marshal’s designated agent, for each classroom location other than a location in a public or private 
school building, government building, church, or synagogue. (4-7-11)

04. Certificate of Vehicle Insurance. The certificate of vehicle insurance for each 
vehicle utilized by the driving business for driver education must accompany the application. The 
minimum coverage will include: (4-7-11)

a. Medical Payment for each person - five thousand dollars ($5,000); and either
(4-7-11)

b. Limit of liability (Combined single limit) - five hundred thousand ($500,000) to 
apply to bodily injury and/or property damage; or (4-7-11)

c. Limit of liability (Split limit). Bodily injury - two hundred-fifty thousand 
($250,000) per person/ five hundred thousand ($500,000) each accident; Property damage - two 
hundred-fifty thousand ($250,000) each accident. (4-7-11)

05. List of Licensed Instructors. Before beginning to offer driver education, and at 
all times while offering driver education, a driving business must employ or have contracted with 
one (1) or more licensed driving instructors to teach the classroom instruction phase and behind-
the-wheel training phase of the driver education to be provided by the business. The driving 
business must submit to the Bureau a current list of such licensed instructors with the application, 
and keep such list current after licensure. (4-7-11)

06. Vehicles. An applicant for a driving business license must submit to the Bureau a 
list of the vehicles that the business will utilize when offering driver education. A business 
licensee may not utilize vehicles that do not appear on the list. Each vehicle must have dual 
control brake pedals, safety restraints for all passengers, a side view mirror on each side of the 
vehicle, and an additional rear view mirror or compatible viewing device for the exclusive use of 
the instructor. A driving business must ensure that students are not allowed in a listed vehicle 
unless the vehicle is in a safe and proper operating condition. (4-7-11)

a. Initial Inspection. An applicant may not include a vehicle on a business’s vehicle 
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list unless the vehicle has passed a vehicle inspection performed by an ASE mechanic or vehicle 
technician within the two (2) month period preceding the application. The inspection must be 
documented on the Board-approved inspection form included at Appendix A to these rules, or on 
such other similar forms as may be approved by the Board. The person who inspected the vehicle 
must sign the form, certifying that the vehicle generally is in a safe and proper operating 
condition, and that each inspected item passed inspection or, if found to be in need of repair, was 
repaired on a given date. The application must be accompanied by a separate, signed form for 
each listed vehicle. (4-7-11)

b. Annual Inspection. A business licensee must ensure that each vehicle passes an 
inspection every twelve (12) months, and that the inspection is performed by an ASE mechanic or 
vehicle technician documented on the Board-approved form referenced in Paragraph 225.06.a. of 
these rules. If a vehicle fails an annual inspection, the business licensee must withdraw the vehicle 
from service. The business licensee may not use the vehicle for behind-the-wheel training until 
the vehicle passes a subsequent inspection and the business licensee has submitted to the Bureau 
the inspection form evidencing that the vehicle has passed. (4-7-11)

c. Incident Inspection. If a vehicle incident occurs that requires an investigation and 
report by law enforcement, or in which the damage exceeds one thousand five hundred dollars 
($1,500), the business licensee must withdraw the vehicle from service. The business licensee 
may not use the vehicle for behind-the-wheel training until the vehicle passes inspection by an 
ASE mechanic or vehicle technician and the business licensee has submitted to the Bureau the 
inspection form evidencing that the vehicle has passed. (4-7-11)

d. Signage. The business licensee must ensure that the outside of each vehicle is 
equipped with safely secured signs. Signs must include “Student Driver,” “Driver Education,” 
“Driver Training,” “Driving School,” or similar language that clearly designates the vehicle as a 
driver training vehicle. (4-7-11)

07. Course of Instruction. Each applicant, for an original business license, must 
provide with its application the course of instruction the applicant will use when instructing 
students. The applicant must demonstrate, to the Board’s satisfaction, that the course of 
instruction is designed to produce safe and effective drivers and is educationally sound. The 
course of instruction must be based on the minimum curriculum components outlined in Rule 
226, and shall consist of: (4-7-11)

a. Not less than thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction; and (4-7-11)

b. Not less than six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel practice driving; and (4-7-11)

c. Not less than six (6) hours of student, in-vehicle observation of other persons (e.g., 
parents, other student drivers, etc.) driving the vehicle. (4-7-11)

08. On-line Instruction. In addition to, or in lieu of offering classroom instruction at a 
physical classroom location, a business licensee may offer classroom instruction to students via 
the internet if the instruction content meets the requirements of these rules and is approved by the 
Board. (4-7-11)
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09. Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. A driving business may offer a 
Board-approved instructor apprenticeship training program under the conditions specified in Rule 
275. (4-7-11)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

250. DRIVING INSTRUCTOR LICENSE (RULE 250).

01. Application. Each applicant for a driving instructor license must apply as required 
by Rule 150. Each applicant is required to provide his name, date of birth, and contact 
information, including mailing address and telephone number, on the Board-approved application 
form. (4-7-11)

02. Age. An applicant for a driving instructor license must be at least twenty-one (21) 
years old. (4-7-11)

03. Driving Record and Drivers License. Each applicant must submit a copy of a 
valid driver’s license in good standing and a copy of a satisfactory driving record. An 
unsatisfactory record includes, but is not limited to, two (2) moving violations in the past twelve 
(12) months, or suspension or revocation of a driver’s license in the last thirty-six (36) months, or 
a conviction involving alcohol or controlled substances within the last thirty-six (36) months.

(4-7-11)

04. Criminal History Background Check. Each applicant must submit to a current, 
fingerprint-based criminal history check conducted by an organization approved by the Board. 
Each applicant must submit a full set of the applicant’s fingerprints, and any relevant fees, directly 
to the organization that conducts the criminal history check, and ensure that the organization 
delivers the results directly to the Bureau which will forward the fingerprints and fees to the 
organization that conducts the fingerprint based criminal history background check. The Board
application will not be processed the application until the completed fingerprint-based criminal 
history background check has been received. (4-7-11)(        )

05. Medical Certificate. A driving instructor licensee may not provide in-vehicle 
instruction to students if the instructor suffers from a medical condition that may impair the 
instructor’s ability to safely instruct student drivers. Accordingly, each applicant for an 
instructor’s license must obtain a medical examination conducted in accordance with the Federal 
Motor Carriers Safety Regulations (49 CFR 391.41-391.49). The examination must occur within 
the thirty (30) days preceding the application. The applicant must submit a medical affidavit or 
certificate, issued and signed by a licensed, qualified medical professional documenting that the 
examination occurred and that the applicant does not suffer from any physical or mental condition 
or disease that would impair the applicant’s ability to safely instruct student drivers. If a medical 
condition exists, the applicant must re-certify as the medical professional requires and submit that 
information to the Board. (4-7-11)

06. Education. Each applicant must submit written evidence, satisfactory to the 
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Board, of having graduated from a high school or a regionally or nationally accredited college or 
university, or of having obtained a GED. (4-7-11)

07. Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. Applicants for licensure must 
demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction that they have successfully completed all required 
classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel training hours from a Board-approved instructor 
apprenticeship training program. The applicant must have undertaken and completed the 
apprenticeship training program within the five (5) year period immediately preceding the 
application. (4-7-11)

a. Proof of successful completion must include written certificate from a Board-
approved apprenticeship training program certifying that the applicant has satisfactorily 
completed the program. An applicant need not have completed all required classroom instruction 
and behind-the-wheel training hours through a single program so long as the last program 
attended by the applicant ensures itself, and its business licensee certifies to the Board that the 
applicant has satisfactorily completed all required hours through Board-approved apprenticeship 
training programs. (4-7-11)

b. A person may not enroll in an apprenticeship training program unless the person 
has applied for, paid for, and obtained an apprenticeship permit from the Board. The applicant 
must apply on Board-approved forms, which must identify the applicant and the business licensee 
in whose approved apprenticeship training program the applicant will be enrolled. The individual 
applicant must establish that they are at least twenty-one (21) years old, hold a valid driver’s 
license and a satisfactory driver license record, have passed a fingerprint based criminal history 
background check, and have obtained a medical certificate consistent with the requirements of 
Subsections 250.02 through 250.05. An apprenticeship permit automatically expires one (1) year 
after issuance. The Board also may suspend or revoke an apprenticeship permit, and refuse to 
issue another permit, if the permittee engages in any act or omission that would subject the 
permittee to discipline if the permittee had an instructor’s license. No one may be a permittee for 
more than three (3) years. (4-7-11)(        )

251. -- 274. (RESERVED)

275. INSTRUCTOR APPRENTICESHIP TRAINING PROGRAM (RULE 275).

01. Application for Approval. A business licensee may operate a Board-approved 
instructor apprenticeship training program. The business licensee must apply for program 
approval on forms provided by the Board, and submit with the application such documentation as 
the Board may require to enable the Board to assess whether the proposed program meets the 
Board’s approval criteria, as specified in Subsections 275.03 through 275.08 of these rules.

(4-7-11)

02. Suspension or Revocation of Approval and Discipline. If an approved program 
fails to consistently adhere to the approval criteria in Subsections 275.03 through 275.08 of these 
rules, the Board may suspend or revoke the approval. Further, if a business licensee that operates 
an approved program fails to cooperate with the Board in any inspection or audit of the program, 
the licensee may be disciplined. (4-7-11)
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03. Apprentices. The business licensee must ensure that all persons who enroll in the 
licensee’s program possess a valid instructor apprenticeship training permit from the Board, are at 
least twenty-one (21) years old, hold a valid driver license and a satisfactory drivers record, have 
passed a criminal history background check, and have obtained a medical certificate consistent 
with the requirements of Subsections 250.02 through 250.05. (4-7-11)(        )

04. Instruction and Training Hours. The Board must be satisfied that the program 
has designed its proposed instruction and training to produce safe and effective driving 
instructors. The business licensee must ensure that the program includes at least the following 
instruction and training components: (4-7-11)

a. Each apprentice must receive at least sixty (60) hours of classroom instruction 
covering the curriculum components for student classroom instruction specified in Subsections 
226.01 through 226.10 of these rules. These hours must include both a didactic component, in 
which a program instructor provides in-class instruction to the apprentice, and a practical 
component in which the apprentice provides in-class instruction to students. A program instructor 
must by physically present in the classroom to supervise at least thirty (30) hours of the 
apprentice’s in-class instruction to students. (4-7-11)

b. Each apprentice must receive at least one hundred eight (108) hours of behind-the-
wheel-training covering the curriculum components for student in-car instruction specified in 
Subsections 226.11 through 226.14 of these rules. When an apprentice begins to provide behind-
the-wheel driving instruction to students, a program instructor must supervise the apprentice by 
riding in the vehicle with the apprentice and students for the first six (6) hours. A program 
instructor also must ride in the vehicle with the apprentice and students to evaluate the apprentice 
during the final two (2) hours of the apprentice’s behind-the-wheel training. (4-7-11)

05. Instructors. The business licensee must ensure that only licensed driving 
instructors with five (5) or more years of continuous driver education experience are allowed to 
teach in the program. A list of the instructors must accompany the application for approval.

(4-7-11)

06. Recordkeeping. The business licensee must ensure that the program maintains 
progress records for each apprentice. A program instructor and the apprentice must sign and date 
the records each month, and copies of the records must be provided to the apprentice. The records 
must, at a minimum, identify each lesson completed, the number of hours of instruction involved 
in the lesson, the date the apprentice completed the lesson, the instructor who taught the lesson, 
and whether the apprentice passed. When an apprentice’s course of instruction has been 
completed or terminated, the program business licensee must maintain the records of the 
apprentice’s progress, and the total hours recorded and maintained by the program for a period of 
five (5) years from completion or termination date. These records are subject to inspection by the 
Board at any time. (4-7-11)

07. Certificate of Proficiency. The program must provide each apprentice with a 
certificate of proficiency evidencing all hours satisfactorily completed by the apprentice while in 
the program, and that the apprentice is proficient in all areas covered by the certificate. (4-7-11)

08. Discontinuance of Program. If the business licensee ceases to operate the 
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program, the business licensee must provide the program’s current and prior apprentices with any 
progress or other records that the program is required to maintain under this Section. (4-7-11)
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28.02.07 - RULES GOVERNING THE ADMINISTRATION 
OF THE IGEM GRANT PROGRAM

DOCKET NO. 28-0207-1301 (NEW CHAPTER)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 67-4702 and 
67-4729, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 2, 2013, Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-10, pages 389 through 391.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no negative fiscal impact to the general fund.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Megan Ronk at 208-334-2470.

DATED this 26th day of November 2013.

Megan Ronk
Division Administrator/Chief Administrative Officer
Idaho Department of Commerce
700 W State Street
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208-334-2470
Fax: 208-334-2631
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 67-4702 and 67-4729, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than October 16, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

These rules establish procedures for the administration of the IGEM (Idaho Global 
Entrepreneurial Mission) Grant Program.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because of the need to adopt a temporary rule which confers a 
benefit through the establishment and administration of this grant program.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule contact 
Megan Ronk, Chief Communications & Governmental Affairs Officer, Idaho Department of 
Commerce at (208) 334-2470.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 
2013.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DATED this 30th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

IDAPA 28
TITLE 02

CHAPTER 07

28.02.07 - RULES GOVERNING THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE IGEM GRANT 
PROGRAM

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are promulgated under the legal authority of Sections 67-4702 and 67-4729, Idaho 
Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. The title of this chapter shall be cited as IDAPA 28.02.07, Idaho Department 
of Commerce, “Rules Governing the Administration of the IGEM Grant Program.” (        )

02. Scope. These rules establish procedures for the administration of the IGEM Grant 
Program. (        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
In accordance with Section 67-5201(19)(b)(iv), Idaho Code, any written interpretations of these 
rules are available from the Idaho Department of Commerce. (        )

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
The award of grants under the IGEM Grant Program is a discretionary action to be performed by 
the Idaho Department of Commerce. There is no provision for administrative appeal under these 
rules. (        )

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents incorporated by reference into the rules. (        )

005. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The headquarters of the Idaho Department of Commerce is in Boise, Idaho. Office hours are from 
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. The Department’s mailing address 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 28-0207-1301
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for information regarding the IGEM Grant Program is: Idaho Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 
83720, Boise ID 83720-0093. The street address is 700 West State Street, Boise, Idaho. The 
telephone number is (208) 334-2470 and the FAX number is (208) 334-2631. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
All rules contained in this chapter are subject to the provisions of the Idaho Public Records Act, 
Title 9, Chapter 3, Idaho Code. (        )

007. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
As used in this chapter: (        )

01. Department. Idaho Department of Commerce. (        )

02. Eligible Applicant. Idaho research universities: Boise State University, Idaho 
State University, and University of Idaho. (        )

03. IGEM Council. Idaho Global Entrepreneurial Mission Council as defined in 
Section 67-4726, Idaho Code. (        )

04. IGEM Executive Committee. The IGEM Executive Committee is made up of the 
IGEM Council chairman, the director of the Idaho Department of Commerce, and the Idaho State 
Board of Education member of the IGEM Council. (        )

05. IGEM Grant Program. A grant program established by the IGEM Council for 
the purpose of funding projects intended to further the purpose as described in Section 100 of 
these rules. (        )

06. University. As used in these rules, University means Boise State University, Idaho 
State University, and the University of Idaho. (        )

011. ABBREVIATIONS.
As used in this chapter: (        )

01. IGEM. Idaho Global Entrepreneurial Mission. (        )

02. RFP. Request for Proposal. (        )

012. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. PURPOSE.
The IGEM Grant Program funds commercialization grants supporting University and industry 
research partnerships for the purpose of enhancing technology transfer and commercialization of 
research and technologies developed at the Universities to create high-quality jobs and new 
industries in the private sector in Idaho. (        )

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)
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200. REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL (RFP).
The IGEM Council will release a RFP outlining the process and requirements for Eligible 
Applicants to apply for IGEM Grant Program awards. The RFP shall include requirements for 
performance measures and reporting. Awarded programs that fail to meet the requirements set 
forth in the RFP may be terminated. (        )

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. SELECTION PREFERENCE.
In selecting IGEM proposals for award, the IGEM Council shall give greater weight to proposals 
that partner with Idaho based entities. (        )

301. MATCHING REQUIREMENT.
All approved awards must contain a match requirement. The match may be monetary or in-kind 
as established in the RFP. (        )

302. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. TERMINATION OF FUNDING.
Funding for projects may be terminated by the Department at any time for failure to meet the 
program requirements set out in the RFP or for the misuse of IGEM funds. Upon receipt of a 
written notice of termination from the Department, the grantee must immediately stop all 
expenditures of IGEM funds and return all unspent IGEM funds to the Department. The 
Department will make a final payment to the grantee based on the work completed, allowable 
costs incurred, and the documentation provided by the grantee as required by these rules. (        )

401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. COMMERCIALIZATION REVENUE.
Any commercialization revenue generated through the IGEM University research initiative and 
by IGEM funded research faculty will be distributed as outlined in Section 67-4731, Idaho Code.

(        )

501. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-4733, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the September 4, 2013, Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 189 through 193.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no negative fiscal impact on the state general fund. House Bill 100 formally 
established the Idaho Opportunity Fund in the Idaho State Treasury. In Fiscal Year 2014 the Idaho 
Opportunity Fund will be funded as follows:

• $400,000 ongoing appropriation in Department of Commerce budget (General Fund); and
• $3,000,000 in onetime funding in Department of Commerce budget (General Fund).

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Megan Ronk at 208-334-2470.

DATED this 26th day of November 2013.

Megan Ronk
Division Administrator/Chief Administrative Officer
Idaho Department of Commerce
700 W State Street
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208-334-2470
Fax: 208-334-2631
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is August 1, 2013.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is 
hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures 
have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-4733, Idaho Code, and 
Sections 67-4732 through 67-4736, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its 
supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance 
and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

These comprehensive rules will govern the Idaho Opportunity Fund as enacted in House Bill 
100. House Bill 100 formally established the Idaho Opportunity Fund and added five new 
Sections to 67-4732 through 67-4736, Idaho Code. These rules are necessary to outline the 
specific parameters for the award and disbursement of Idaho Opportunity Fund grants to cities 
and counties.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1)(b) and (c), Idaho 
Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following 
reasons:

This temporary rule is being adopted to bring the rule into compliance with the statutory 
changes made by House Bill 100. The temporary rule also confers a benefit to cities and counties 
that may be eligible for these funds.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

House Bill 100 formally established the Idaho Opportunity Fund in the Idaho State Treasury. 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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In Fiscal Year 2014 the Idaho Opportunity Fund will be funded as follows:

$400,000 ongoing appropriation in Department of Commerce budget (General Fund); and
$3,000,000 in onetime funding in Department of Commerce budget (General Fund).

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, it was not 
feasible to conduct negotiated rulemaking because of the need to adopt this rule as a temporary 
rule.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: Not applicable.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed 
rule, contact Megan Ronk, Chief Communications & Governmental Affairs Officer, Idaho 
Department of Commerce at (208) 334-2470.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 31st day of July, 2013

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

IDAPA 28
TITLE 03

CHAPTER 01

28.03.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO OPPORTUNITY FUND

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are promulgated under the legal authority of Section 67-4733, Idaho Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 28-0301-1301
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01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 28.03.01, “Rules of the Idaho 
Opportunity Fund.” (        )

02.  Scope. These rules implement House Bill H100, enacted by the First Regular 
Session of the Sixty-second Legislature and signed into law on March 21, 2013. These rules 
amend Chapter 47, Title 67, Idaho Code, by the addition of new sections 67-4732 through 67-
4736, Idaho Code. The three (3) new sections provide a short title and legislative intent, provide 
rulemaking authority to the Director of the Department of Commerce create the Opportunity Fund 
in the State Treasury, provide for the makeup and use of the fund, provide that agreements are 
required for disbursement of funds and provide for annual reporting by the Director of the 
Department of Commerce. (        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
The Department has no written interpretations of these rules. (        )

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
The award of grants under the Opportunity Fund are made at the discretion of the Director of the 
Department of Commerce. In light of the discretionary nature of awarding these grants, there is no 
administrative appeal under these rules. (        )

004. OFFICE -- OFFICE HOURS -- MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The mailing address of the Department for information regarding the Opportunity Fund Act is: 
700 West State Street, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83702-0093; the telephone number is (208) 334-
2470; and the facsimile number is (208) 334-2631. Documents may be filed at the state office 
during regular business hours of 8am to 5pm, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. (        )

005. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
All rules contained in this chapter are subject to and in compliance with the Idaho Public Records 
Act (title 9, chapter 3, Idaho Code). (        )

006. -- 009. (RESERVED)

013. DEFINITIONS.

01. Company Performance Agreement. An agreement between a local government 
and a Grantee Business, in addition to any requirements in rules adopted by the Department.

(        )

02. Department. Idaho Department of Commerce. (        )

03. Grantee Business. A non-governmental company or organization that receives 
funding through a Company Performance Agreement. (        )

04. Local Government Grant Agreement. An agreement between the Department 
and one (1) or more local governments. (        )

06. Public Cost. Any cost incurred by the state of Idaho or local government of the 
state of Idaho for the purpose of promoting economic development to retain, expand, or attract 
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quality jobs in industries deemed vital to the health of the local and statewide economy. Public 
costs do not include impact fees or easements. (        )

014. GRANT AWARDS.

01. Funding. The Director of the Department may, in his sole discretion, award 
Opportunity Fund grants to local government for public costs incurred with the purpose to retain, 
expand or attract jobs which shall include: (        )

a. Construction of or improvements to new or existing water, sewer, gas or electric 
utility systems for new or existing buildings to be used for industrial or commercial operations;

(        )

b. Flood zone or environmental hazard mitigation; or (        )

c. Construction, upgrade or renovation of other infrastructure related items including, 
but not limited to, railroads, broadband, parking lots, roads or other public costs that are directly 
related to specific job creation or expansion projects. (        )

02. Local Match. The local government must provide allowable local match. 
Allowable match includes those costs which are allowable within the Opportunity Fund and must 
be provided by the local government as cash, in-kind services, fee waivers (such as development 
impact fees), donation of assets, the provision of infrastructure or a combination thereof. The 
match must represent a material commitment from the local government that is commensurate 
with the local government’s financial condition. The Director of the Department has the authority 
to approve other forms of local match or waive the local match requirements. (        )

03. Local Government Grant Agreements. Local Government Grant Agreements 
will be entered into between the Department and one (1) or more local governments, and shall 
contain the following provisions: (        )

a. A commitment on the part of the local government to match, in whole or in part, 
the funds allocated by the Department; (        )

b. A provision requiring the local government to recapture any funds to which the 
local government is entitled under the Company Performance Agreement; (        )

c. A provision requiring repayment from the local government to the Department for 
any funds used for unapproved purposes or disbursed prior to compliance with the Company 
Performance Agreement or achievement of the job creation or other performance targets; (        )

d. A provision allowing the Department access to records possessed by the local 
government necessary to ensure compliance with the Company Performance Agreement and with 
the requirements of the Opportunity Fund; (        )

e. A provision establishing a schedule for the disbursement of funds from the 
Opportunity Fund to the local government that reflects the disbursement schedule established in 
the Company Performance Agreement; and (        )
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f. Any other lawful provision the Department deems necessary to ensure the proper 
use of state funds. (        )

04. Company Performance Agreements. Company Performance Agreements will be 
entered into between one (1) or more local governments and a Grantee Business, and may contain 
the following provisions: (        )

a. A commitment to create or retain a specified number of jobs within a specified 
salary range at a specific location; (        )

b. A commitment regarding the time period in which the jobs will be created or 
retained and the minimum time period for which the jobs must be maintained; (        )

c. A commitment to complete the construction related to the agreed upon capital 
expenditures; (        )

d. A provision that a reasonable percentage of the total amount of the grant be 
withheld until specified performance targets are met; (        )

e. A provision that a reasonable percentage of the total amount of the grant be 
withheld until the specified number of jobs are maintained for a specified period of time; (        )

f. A commitment to provide proof satisfactory to the local government and the 
Department of new jobs created or existing jobs retained and the salary level of those jobs;(        )

g. A provision that funds received under the Company Performance Agreement may 
be used only for a purpose as authorized by the Opportunity Fund; (        )

h. A provision allowing the Department or the local government to inspect the 
records of the Grantee Business as required to confirm compliance with the Company 
Performance Agreement or with the requirements of the Opportunity Fund. The provision shall 
limit the access of the Department and/or local government to only those records of the Grantee 
Business that are necessary to ensure compliance; (        )

i. A provision establishing the method for determining compliance with the 
Company Performance Agreement; (        )

j. A provision establishing a schedule for disbursement of funds under the Company 
Performance Agreement that allows disbursement of funds only in proportion to the amount of 
performance completed under the Company Performance Agreement; (        )

k. A provision requiring repayment of grant funds and corresponding terms for 
repayment, if applicable, in the event a Grantee Business subsequently fails to comply with the 
terms of the Company Performance Agreement; (        )

l. A provision that any repayments of grant funds required if the performance targets 
are not achieved may be prorated to reflect a partial attainment of job creation or other 
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performance targets; and (        )

m. Any other lawful provision the Department or the local government finds 
necessary to ensure the proper use of state or local funds. (        )

05. Disbursements. Funds will be disbursed from the Opportunity Fund to the local 
government as defined in the Local Government Grant Agreement and after the local government 
has demonstrated that the Grantee Business has complied with the terms of the Company 
Performance Agreement. (        )

06. Award Amounts. The amount of each grant shall be determined by the Director, 
in his sole discretion. (        )

016. REPORTING.

01. Quarterly. The Director of the Department shall report to the Economic Advisory 
Council quarterly on the grant activity and performance. (        )

02. Annually. The Director of the Department shall publish an annual report regarding 
the state of the Opportunity Fund no later than September 30 each year. The report shall contain 
information on the commitment of funds, disbursement and use of the funds, the number of jobs 
committed and created, the total capital expenditures resulting from grant funds and the median 
wage of total jobs created. The annual report will be made available to the Governor, the Joint 
Finance-Appropriations Committee and the public. (        )

017. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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28.03.04 - RULES OF THE BUSINESS AND JOBS DEVELOPMENT GRANT FUND 

DOCKET NO. 28-0304-1301 (CHAPTER REPEAL)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-4733, Idaho 
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule was published in the September 4, 2013, Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 194 and 195.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no negative fiscal impact to the general fund. A $400,000 ongoing appropriation in 
Department of Commerce budget (General Fund) that was available to the Department for 
Business & Jobs Development Fund grants is now available to the Department under the new 
Idaho Opportunity Fund per changes made to the department’s budget for FY2014.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Megan Ronk at 208-334-2470.

DATED this 26th day of November 2013.

Megan Ronk
Division Administrator/Chief Administrative Officer
Idaho Department of Commerce
700 W State Street
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208-334-2470
Fax: 208-334-2631
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is August 1, 2013.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is 
hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures 
have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-4733, Idaho Code, and 
Sections 67-4732 through 67-4736, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its 
supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance 
and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The grants issued through the Business & Jobs Development Fund provide funding to Idaho 
cities and counties for infrastructure development to support the retention of existing businesses 
and recruitment of new businesses to the state. In compliance with House Bill 100, the 
Department has adopted a new temporary rule, which is promulgated under Docket No. 28-0301-
1301 and published in this Bulletin, to replace this program. The new chapter, IDAPA 28.03.01, 
“Idaho Opportunity Fund,” provides the same funding with new and additional parameters. 
Therefore, this chapter is repealed in its entirety.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(b), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

In compliance with House Bill 100 this rule is being repealed in its entirety and replaced by a 
new temporary rule that is being promulgated in this Bulletin under Docket No. 28-0301-1301.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased:

No fees or charges are being imposed as a result of this rulemaking.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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There is no negative fiscal impact to the general fund. A $400,000 ongoing appropriation in 
Department of Commerce budget (General Fund) that was available to the Department for 
Business & Jobs Development Fund grants is now available to the Department under the new 
Idaho Opportunity Fund per changes made to the department’s budget for FY2014.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 
rulemaking was not conducted because of the need to adopt a temporary rule.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: Not applicable.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed 
rule, contact Megan Ronk, Chief Communications & Governmental Affairs Officer, Idaho 
Department of Commerce at (208) 334-2470.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

DATED this 31st day of July, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

IDAPA 28.03.04 IS BEING REPEALED IN ITS ENTIRETY

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 28-0301-1301
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IDAPA 33 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

33.01.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 33-0101-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
at the conclusion of the legislative session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or 
modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. 
If the pending rule is acted on by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon 
adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2007 and 54-
2036(3), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule expands the scope of courses for which the Commission may grant licensee 
education credit to include Professionalism and Business Success.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the August 7th, 2013 Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-8, pages 296 through 298.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Jeanne Jackson-Heim, (208) 334-3285.

DATED this 9th day of October, 2013.

Jeanne Jackson-Heim
Executive Director
Agency: Idaho Real Estate Commission
Physical Address: 575 E. Parkcenter Blvd. Suite 180 
Boise ID 83706
(208) 334-3285; (208) 334-2050 (fax)
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is June 13, 2013.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is 
hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed regular rulemaking 
procedures have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2007 and 54-
2036(3).

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as 
follows:

The hearing site will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation 
must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its 
supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance 
and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Expands the scope of courses for which the Commission may grant licensee education credit 
to include Professionalism and Business Success.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

The temporary rule confers a benefit to licensees by expanding the topics for which licensee 
Continuing Education credit may be awarded. This will provide greater opportunity for enhanced 
professional development and consumer protection.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated 

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE

Tuesday, August 27, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. (MDT)

Idaho Real Estate Commission
575 E. Parkcenter Blvd., Suite 180

Boise ID 83706
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rulemaking was not conducted because the Commission has already consulted with industry 
representatives about the text of the proposed change and they are in agreement with the 
desirability and need for this rule change.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the 
following is a brief synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into 
this rule: None.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Jeanne Jackson-Heim, (208) 334-3285.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 28, 
2013.

DATED this 3rd day of July, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

402. APPROVED TOPICS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION.
The primary purpose of continuing education is to help assure that licensees possess the 
knowledge, skills, and competency necessary to function in the real estate business in a manner 
that protects and serves the public interest, or that promotes the professionalism and business 
proficiency of the licensee. The knowledge or skills taught in an elective course must enable 
licensees to better serve real estate consumers. (5-8-09)(        )

01. Topics Approved by the Commission. Approved topic areas for continuing 
education, as provided for in Sections 54-2023 and 54-2036, Idaho Code, include the following as 
they pertain to real estate brokerage practice and actual real estate knowledge: (5-8-09)

a. Real estate ethics; (3-20-04)

b. Legislative issues that influence real estate practice; (3-20-04)

c. Real estate law; contract law; agency; real estate licensing law and administrative 
rules; (3-20-04)

d. Fair housing; affirmative marketing; Americans with Disabilities Act; (3-20-04)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 33-0101-1301
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e. Real estate financing, including mortgages and other financing techniques;
(3-20-04)

f. Real estate market measurement and evaluation; (3-20-04)

g. Land use planning and zoning; land development; construction; energy 
conservation in building; (3-20-04)

h. Real estate investment; (3-20-04)

i. Accounting and taxation as applied to real property; (3-20-04)

j. Real estate appraising; (3-20-04)

k. Real estate marketing procedures; (5-8-09)

l. Real estate inspections; (3-20-04)

m. Property management; (3-20-04)

n. Timeshares, condominiums and cooperatives; (3-20-04)

o. Real estate environmental issues and hazards, including lead-based paint, 
underground storage tanks, radon, etc.; (5-8-09)

p. Water rights; (3-20-04)

q. Brokerage office management and supervision; (3-30-07)

r. Use of technology; (5-8-09)

s. Licensee safety; (3-30-07)

t. Negotiation skills; (3-30-07)

u. Business success. (        )

02. Other Topics. Upon written request, the Commission may also approve any other 
topic that directly relates to real estate brokerage practice and that directly contributes to the 
accomplishment of the primary purpose of continuing education. (5-8-09)

03. Topics Not Eligible for Continuing Education Credits. The following activities 
shall not be eligible for approval for compliance with the continuing education requirement:

(3-20-04)

a. Those which are specifically exam preparation in nature; (3-20-04)

b. Real estate topics not directly related to real estate brokerage practice. (5-8-09)
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IDAPA 59 - PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF IDAHO

59.01.06 - RETIREMENT RULES OF THE PUBLIC EMPLOYEE 
RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF IDAHO (PERSI) 

DOCKET NO. 59-0106-1301

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by 
the 2014 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective 
December 6, 2011, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or modified by concurrent 
resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is 
approved, amended or modified by concurrent resolution, the rule becomes final and effective 
upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 59-1314(1) and 
72-1405, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons 
for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule 
and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The proposed rule adds new Rule 174. As a qualified governmental plan under the Internal 
Revenue Code, PERSI is not subject to ERISA but is subject to the pre-ERISA (as of September 
1, 1974) vesting requirements (26 IRC Section 411(e)(2)). This rule sets out PERSI’s good faith 
interpretation of those requirements.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The 
complete text of the proposed rule published in the September 4, 2013, Idaho Administrative 
Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, pages 234 and 235.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 
N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions 
concerning this pending rule, contact Joanna L. Guilfoy, PERSI, 287-9271.

DATED this 1st day of October, 2013.

Don Drum
Executive Director
Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho
607 N. 8th Street, Boise, ID 83702
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0078
Phone: 208-287-9230
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Fax: 208-334-3408

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that 
this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to 
Sections 59-1314(1) and 72-1405, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be 
scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an 
agency, not later than September 18, 2013.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for 
accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency 
address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and 
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Add new Rule 174. As a qualified governmental plan under the Internal Revenue Code, 
PERSI is not subject to ERISA but is subject to the pre-ERISA (as of September 1, 1974) vesting 
requirements (26 IRC Section 411(e)(2)). This rule sets out PERSI’s good faith interpretation of 
those requirements.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or 
increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal 
impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year 
resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to IDAPA 04.11.01.811, negotiated rulemaking was 
not conducted because it would be inconsistent with the Retirement Board’s exclusive fiduciary 
responsibility for plan operations.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN 
COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact 
Joanna L. Guilfoy, Deputy Attorney General, PERSI, 287-9271.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written 
comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 25, 
2013.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE WAS PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES Page 264 2014 PENDING RULE BOOK



PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT SYSTEM Docket No. 59-0106-1301
Retirement Rules of PERSI PENDING RULE
DATED this 12th day of August, 2013.

LSO Rules Analysis Memo

163. -- 1743. (RESERVED)

174. PRE-ERISA VESTING RULES (RULE 174).

01. Termination or Partial Termination. Upon the effective date of any termination 
or partial termination or upon a complete discontinuation of contributions: (        )

a. No persons who were not theretofore members shall be eligible to become 
members; (        )

b. No further benefits shall accrue; and (        )

c. The accrued benefits of all members not theretofore vested and not theretofore 
forfeited shall immediately become fully vested. (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 59-0106-1301
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