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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.39.10 - RULES OF THE IDAHO ELECTRICAL BOARD
DOCKET NO. 24-3910-2401
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is April 19, 2024.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-2604(1), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

During the 2024 Legislative Session, the Idaho Legislature did not pass a concurrent resolution approving the
pending rules adopted by the Idaho Electrical Board. Pursuant to state law, the existing temporary rules expired upon
sine die. These temporary rules reauthorize the expired provisions with some modifications to the sections on ground-
fault circuit interrupters to move the relevant sections back to the requirements set in 2017.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(a), Idaho Code, the Governor has found
that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

Protection of the public health, safety, or welfare.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fee or charge being imposed or
increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Krissy Veseth at 208-577-2491.

DATED this 19th Day of April, 2024.

Russell Barron

Administrator

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
11341 W Chinden Blvd.

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

208-334-3233
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3910-2401
Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE

FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE TEMPORARY RULE FOR DOCKET NO. 24-3910-2401

(If extended, this temporary rule will be replaced by the pending rule
promulgated under docket number 24-3910-2402 on July 1, 2025.)

24.39.10 — RULES OF THE IDAHO ELECTRICAL BOARD

100. LICENSURE AND REGISTRATION.

01. Journeyman. An applicant must pass an examination designated by the Board and either (a)
submit evidence of a minimum of eight thousand (8,000) hours of work experience as an apprentice making electrical
installations in accordance with the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience
and satisfactory completion of a four-year sequence of instruction approved by the Idaho Division of Career-
Technical Education, or (b) submit proof of sixteen thousand (16,000) hours of electrical experience in accordance
with the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience. (3-28-23)

a. Examination. An applicant may sit for the exam after showing proof of completion of either the
approved 4-year sequence of instruction or 16,000 hours of electrical experience. (3-28-23)

b. Provisional Journeyman License. A provisional journeyman license can be issued to an applicant
who has completed the 16,000 hours of electrical experience but has not yet passed the examination. (3-28-23)

c. Work experience in appliance repair, motor winding, or communications will not count towards
the requirements to take the journeyman examination or obtain a provisional journeyman or journeyman license.
(3-28-23)

d. No more than two thousand (2,000) hours of work experience gained while engaged in the practice
of a limited electrical installer or trainee may be counted toward the satisfaction of the experience requirements for
journeyman licensure. (3-28-23)

02. Master. A master electrician does not need to also hold a journeyman license. (3-28-23)

03. Limited Electrical Installer. An applicant must submit evidence of a minimum of four thousand
(4,000) hours of work experience in the same limited category in accordance with the requirements of the jurisdiction
in which the applicant obtained the experience. (3-28-23)

04. Electrical Contractor and Limited Electrical Contractor. Applicant or its entity designee must
pass an examination designated by the Board and submit an application signed by the applicant or an official
representative of the entity making the application and countersigned by the supervising electrician. (3-28-23)

a. An entity applicant (such as, corporation, partnership, company, firm, or association) must
designate in writing an individual to represent it for examination purposes. Any such demgnee shall be a supervisory
employee and may not represent any other applicant for a contractor’s license. (3-28-23)

b. In the event the working relationship between a contractor and its designee terminates, the
contractor will notify the Division in writing within ten (10) days of the date of termination. The contractor may not
purchase permits or make electrical installations unless another duly qualified designee passes the contractor’s
examination on behalf of the contractor. (3-28-23)

05. Continuing Education. To renew, journeymen and master electricians must provide proof of
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3910-2401
Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE

completion, durmg the prior three-year license cycle, consisting of sixteen (16) hours of Idaho Electrical Code
training and eight (8) hours of any combination of National Electrical Code code-update training, code-related
training, industry-related training, or independent study. 4-19-24)T

101. - 199. (RESERVED)
200. PRACTICE STANDARDS.

01. Electrical Contracting Work. Contracting work includes electrical maintenance or repair work, in

addition to new electrical installations, unless such work is expressly exempted by Section 54-1016, Idaho Code.
(3-28-23)
02. Contractor Scope. A contractor’s allowable scope of work is the same as the scope of its licensed
employee. (3-28-23)
03. Supervision. (3-28-23)
a. The master, journeyman,_residential electrician, or limited electrical installer shall be designated

the supervising electrician; must be available during working hours to carry out the duties of supervising, as set forth
herein; and will be responsible for supervision of electrical installations made by said contractor as provided by

Section 54-1010, Idaho Code. 3-28-23)(4-19-24)T
1. A master electrician, journeyman, residential electrician. or limited electrical installer is not

qualified for one (1) year as the supervising electrician if his contractor license was revoked.  3-28-23)(4-19-24)T

ii. An individual contractor may act as his own supervising master, journeyman, residential
electrician. or limited electrical installer upon the condition that he holds an active master, journeyman,_residential
electrician, or limited electrical installer license. B-28-23)(4-19-24)T

b. The employing contractor or limited electrical contractor must ensure each apprentice, trainee, and
provisional journeyman performs electrical work only under the constant on-the-job supervision and training of a
master, journeyman, residential electrician, or installer. 3-28-233(4-19-24)T

c. A journeyman who is an employee of a company, corporation, firm, or association with a facility
account may sign as supervising electrician for that facility account in addition to signing as supervising journeyman
for his own contractor’s license so long as the journeyman is listed as the owner. (3-28-23)

04. Connecting and Energizing Prior to Inspections. At the request of a licensed electrical

contractor and upon receipt of a copy of an electrical permit, a power supply company may connect and energize an
electrical service, to the line side of the service disconnect, prior to a passed inspection in the following situations: to
preserve life or property or to provide temporary service for construction. Any contractor energizing an electrical
installation prior to an inspection assumes full responsibility for the installation. (3-28-23)

0s. Limited Electrical Installations. A limited electrical installer must be employed by an electrical
contractor or limited electrical contractor in the same restricted category and may only countersign a limited electrical
contractor’s license application as supervising limited electrical installer for work within the same restricted category.
Limited electrical installations must comply with the National Electrical Code, as amended herein. The following
categories of electrical installations constitute limited electrical installations, the practice of which shall require an
electrical contractor or limited electrical contractor license and supervision by a journeyman, master electrician, or
limited electrical installer: (3-28-23)

a. Elevator, Dumbwaiter, Escalator, or Moving-Walk Electrical. An elevator electrical limited
licensee is only authorized to install, maintain, repair, and replace equipment, controls, and wiring beyond the
disconnect switch in the machine room of the elevator and pertaining directly to the operation and control thereof
when located in the elevator shaft and machine room. (3-28-23)

b. Sign Electrical. A sign electrical limited licensee is only authorized to install, maintain, repair, and
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3910-2401

Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE
replace equipment, controls, and wiring on the secondary side of sign disconnecting means; provided the
disconnecting means is located on the sign or within sight therefrom. (3-28-23)

c. Manufacturing or Assembling Equipment. A licensed limited electrical manufacturing or

assembling equipment installer is only authorized to install, maintain, repair, and replace equipment, controls, and
accessory wiring, integral to the specific equipment, on the load side of the equipment disconnecting means.
Electrical service and feeder are to be installed by others. The licensee may also install circuitry in modules or
fabricated enclosures for the purpose of connecting the necessary components which individually bear a label from a
nationally recognized testing laboratory when such equipment is designed and manufactured for a specific job
installation. (3-28-23)

1. This subsection does not apply to a limited electrical manufacturing or assembling equipment
installer installing electrical wiring, equipment, and apparatus in modular buildings as that phrase is defined in
Section 39-4105, Idaho Code. Only journeyman electricians and electrical apprentices, employed by an electrical
contractor, may perform such installations. (3-28-23)

d. Limited Energy Electrical. Limited energy systems are defined as fire and security alarm systems,
class 2 and class 3 signaling circuits, key card operators, nurse call systems, motor and electrical apparatus controls
and other limited energy apphcatlons covered by the NEC. Unless exempted by Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, any
person who installs, maintains, replaces or repairs electrical wiring and equipment for limited energy systems in
facilities other than one (1) or two (2) family dwellings shall be required to have a valid limited energy limited
electrical license. (3-28-23)

1. Limited energy systems do not include, and no license of any type is required for, the installation of
landscape sprinkler controls or communication circuits, wires and apparatus that include telephone systems, telegraph
facilities, outside wiring for fire and security alarm systems which are used for communication purposes, and central
station systems of a similar nature, PBX systems, audio-visual and sound systems, public address and intercom
systems, data communication systems, radio and television systems, antenna systems and other similar systems.

(3-28-23)

e. Irrigation Sprinkler Electrical. An irrigation system electrical limited licensee is only authorized to
install, maintain, repair and replace equipment, controls and wiring beyond the disconnect switch supplying power to
the electric irrigation machine. The irrigation machine is considered to include the hardware, motors and controls of
the irrigation machine and underground conductors connecting the control centers on the irrigation machine to the
load side of the disconnecting device. Disconnect device to be installed by others. (3-28-23)

f. Well Driller and Water Pump Installer. A license holder in this category is only authorized to
perform the following types of installations: (3-28-23)

1. Single or three (3) phase water pumps: install, maintain, repair and replace all electrical equipment,
wires, and accessories from the pump motor up to the load side, including fuses, of the disconnecting device.
Disconnecting device to be installed by others. (3-28-23)

ii. Domestic water pumps, one hundred twenty/two hundred forty (120/240) volt, single phase, sixty
(60) amps or less: install, maintain, repair and replace all electrical equipment, wires, and accessories from the pump
motor up to and including the disconnecting device. (3-28-23)

iil. Temporarily connect into a power source to test the installations, provided that all test wiring is
removed before the installer leaves the site. (3-28-23)

iv. Individual residential wastewater pumping units. Install, maintain, repair and replace all electrical
equipment, wires, and accessories from the pump motor up to and including the disconnecting device for systems that
serve one-family, two-family, or three-family residential installations. (3-28-23)

g. Refrigeration, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Electrical Installer. A license holder in this category
is only authorized to perform the following types of installations, which installations shall be limited to factory-
assembled, packaged units: (3-28-23)
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3910-2401
Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE

1. Heating Units (single phase): install, repair, and maintain all electrical equipment, wires, and
accessories from the unit up to the load side, including fuses of the disconnecting device. Disconnecting device to be
installed by others. (3-28-23)

il. Refrigeration, Air-Conditioning Equipment and Heat Pumps (single phase): install, repair, and
maintain all electrical equipment, wires, and accessories from the unit up to the load side, including fuses, of the
disconnecting device. Disconnecting device to be installed by others. (3-28-23)

iil. Refrigeration, Air-Conditioning and Heating Systems (three (3) phase): install, maintain, and repair
all electrical equipment and accessories up to the load side, including fuses, of the disconnecting device.
Disconnecting device to be installed by others. (3-28-23)

h. Outside Wireman. Applicants for this license category shall provide documentation of having
completed an electrical lineman apprenticeship program or similar program approved by the U.S. Department of
Labor, Office of Apprenticeship. Any person currently licensed in this category is only authorized to perform the

following types of installation (3-28-23)
1. Overhead distribution and transmission lines in excess of six hundred (600) volts (3-28-23)
il. Underground distribution and transmission lines in excess of six hundred (600) volts. (3-28-23)
ii. Substation and switchyard construction in excess of six hundred (600) volts. (3-28-23)
i. Solar Photovoltaic. Applicants for this license category shall provide proof of photovoltaic installer
certification by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP) or equivalent. Any person
licensed in this category is only authorized to perform the following types of installations: (3-28-23)
1. Solar Photovoltaic DC Systems: Install, maintain, repair, and replace all electrical equipment,
wires, and accessories up to and including the inverter. (3-28-23)
ii. Solar Photovoltaic micro-inverter/AC Systems: Install, maintain, repair, and replace all electrical
equipment, wires, and accessories up to and including the AC combiner box. (3-28-23)
06. Certification and Approval of Electrical Products and Materials. All materials, devices,
fittings, equipment, apparatus, luminaires, and appliances installed or to be used in installations that are supplied with
electric energy must be approved as provided in one (1) of the following methods: (3-28-23)
a. Testing Laboratory. Be tested, examined, and certified (Listed) by a Nationally Recognized Testing
Laboratory (NRTL). (3-28-23)
b. Field Evaluation. Non-listed electrical equipment may be approved for use through a field

evaluation process performed in accordance with recognized practices and procedures such as those contained in the
2012 edition of NFPA 791 - Recommended Practice and Procedures for Unlabeled Electrical Equipment Evaluation
published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). Such evaluations shall be conducted by:  (3-28-23)

1. A field evaluation body approved by the authority having jurisdiction. The field evaluation body
shall meet minimum recognized standards for competency, such as NFPA 790 - Standard for Competency of Third-
Party Field Evaluation Bodies, 2012 edition, published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA); or

(3-28-23)

ii. In the case of industrial machinery only, as defined by NFPA 79 - Electrical Standard for Industrial
Machinery, 2012 edition, a field evaluation may be performed by a professional engineer currently licensed to
practice electrical engineering by the state of Idaho and who is not involved in the design of the equipment being
evaluated or the facility in which the equipment is to be installed. (3-28-23)

c. Availability of NFPA Standards. The most recent edition of NFPA 790 - Standard for Competency
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3910-2401
Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE

of Third-Party Field Evaluation Bodies and NFPA 791 - Recommended Practice and Procedures for Unlabeled
Electrical Equipment Evaluation published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) are available at the
Division. (3-28-23)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

501.-9599.  (RESERVED)
600. IDAHO ELECTRICAL CODE.

01. Documents. Under the provisions of Section 54-1001. Idaho Code, the National Electrical Code,
2023 Edition, (herein NEC) is amended as follows: (4-19-24)T
a. Article 110.3(A) and 110.3(B). Shall not apply to submersible well pumps installed in swimming
and marine areas; provided however, such articles shall apply to all other equipment required in the installation of a
submersible well pump in such areas except for the actual submersible well pump itself. (4-19-24)T
b. Article 210.8 (A). Delete reference to 250-volt receptacles. (4-19-24)T
C. Article 210.8(A)(7). Sinks. Delete article 210.8(A)(7). (4-19-24)T
d. Article 210.8(A)(8). Delete and replace with the following: Sinks - located in areas other than
kitchens where receptacles are installed within one and eight tenths (1.8) meters (six (6) feet) of the outside edge of
the sink. (4-19-24)T
e. Article 210.8(A)(11). Delete article 210.8(A)(11) Laundry Areas. (4-19-24)T
f. Article 210.8(B). Delete articles (3). (4). and (14). (4-19-24)T
g. Article 210.8(B)(7). Delete and replace with the following: Sinks - located in kitchens and any
other area where receptacles are installed within one and eight tenths (1.8) meters (six (6) feet) of the outside edge of
the sink. (4-19-24)T
h. Article 210.8(D)(1). Automotive vacuum machines shall only require GFCI protection where
receptacles are installed within one and eight tenths (1.8) meters (six (6) feet) from the top inside edge or rim or from
the conductive support framing of the automotive vacuum. (4-19-24)T
i. Article 210.8(D). Delete articles (4), (5). (7). (8). (9). (10), (11), and (12). (4-19-24)T
je Article 210.8(F). Delete articles (1) and (2). (4-19-24)T
k. Article 210.12(B). Shall apply in full. Exception: In one- and two-family dwelling units, Arc-Fault
Circuit-Interrupter Protection shall only apply to all branch circuits and outlets supplying bedrooms. All other
locations in such units are exempt from the requirements of Article 210.12(B). (4-19-24)T
L Article 210.52(E)(3). Delete and replace with the following: Balconies, Decks. and Porches.

Balconies. decks. and porches having an overall area of twenty (20) square feet or more that are accessible from
inside the dwelling unit shall have at least one (1) receptacle outlet installed within the perimeter of the balcony, deck,
or porch. The receptacle shall not be located more than two (2.0) meters (six and one half (6%) feet) above the

balcony. deck, or porch surface. (4-19-24)T
m. Article 230.67 Surge Protection. Delete NEC Article 230.67. (4-19-24)T
n. Article 230.85 Emergency Disconnects. Delete Article 230.85. (4-19-24)T
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3910-2401

Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE
0. Article 314.27(C) Boxes at Ceiling-Suspended (Paddle) Fan Outlets. Delete second paragraph.
(4-19-24)T

Article 334.10(3). Delete and replace with the following: Other structures permitted to be of Types

1L, 1V, an(i V construction. Cables shall be concealed within walls, floors, or ceilings that provide a thermal barrier of
material that has at least a fifteen (15)-minute finish rating as identified in listings of fire-rated assemblies. For the

purpose of this section, cables located in attics and underfloor areas that are not designed to be occupied shall be

considered concealed. (4-19-24)T
q. Article 334.15(C). Where the height of a crawl space does not exceed one and four tenths (1.4)

meters or four and one half (4.5) feet, it shall be permissible to secure NM cables, that run at angles with joist, to the

bottom edge of joist. NM cables that run within two and one tenth (2.1) meters or seven (7) feet of crawl space access

shall comply with Article 320.23. (4-19-24)T
r. Pole Lighting. Poles used as lighting standards along roadways only (parking areas are not

roadways_ ) that are forty (40) feet or less in nominal height and that support no more than four (4) luminaires
operating at a nominal voltage of three hundred (300) volts or less to ground, shall not be considered a structure as it

is defined as equipment by the NEC. The disconnecting means may be mounted to the pole or elsewhere in
accordance with NEC, Article 225.32, exception 3. Special purpose fuseable connectors (model SEC 1791-DF or

model SEC 1791-SF) or equivalent shall be installed in a listed handhole (underground) enclosure. The enclosure

shall be appropriately grounded and bonded per the requirements of the NEC applicable to Article 230- Services.
Overcurrent protection shall be provided by a (fast-acting — minimum - 100K RMS Amps 600 VAC) rated fuse.

Wiring within the pole for the luminaires shall be protected by supplementary overcurrent device (time-delay —
minimum - 10K RMS Amps 600 VAC) in break-a-away fuse holder accessible from the hand hole. Any poles

supporting or incorporating utilization equipment or exceeding the prescribed number of luminaires, or in excess of
forty (40) feet, may be considered structures, and an appropriate service disconnecting means shall be required per

the NEC. All luminaire- supporting poles shall be appropriately grounded and bonded per the NEC. A service may

not need a Watt Hour Meter. (4-19-24)T
s. Article 422.5(A)(1). Shall only apply where receptacles are installed within one and eight tenths
(1.8) meters (six (6) feet) from the top inside edge or rim or from the conductive support framing of the automotive
vacuum machine. (4-19-24)T
t. Article 422.5(A). Delete articles (4), (5). and (7). (4-19-24)T
u. Article 480.7(B) Battery Emergency Disconnect. Delete. (4-19-24)T
V. Article 675.8(B). Compliance with Article 675.8(B) will include the additional requirement that a
disconnecting means always be provided at the point of service from the utility no matter where the disconnecting
means for the machine is located. (4-19-24)T

W. Article 682.10. Shall not apply to submersible well pumps installed in swimming and marine areas;
provided however, such articles shall apply to all other equipment required in the installation of a submersible well

pump in such areas except for the actual submersible well pump itself. (4-19-24)T
X. Article 682.11. Add the following exception: This article shall not apply to service equipment that
is located on or at the dwelling unit and which is not susceptible to flooding. (4-19-24)T
\A Article 682.13. Add the following exceptions: (4-19-24)T
Z Exception No 1. Wiring methods such as HDPE schedule eighty (80) electrical conduit or its

eguivalen_t or greater and clearly marked at a minimum “Caution Electrical” to indicate that it contains electrical

conductors shall be approved. It shall be buried whenever practical, and in accordance with the requirements of the
authority having jurisdiction. The use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at two hundred (200) PSI (e.g. SIDR-7 or DR-

9) is suitable for use as a chase only when the following conditions are met: when internal conductors are jacketed
submersible pump cable; when used in continuous lengths, directly buried, or secured on a shoreline above and below
the water line; when submersible pump wiring terminations in the body of water according to 682.13 Exception No. 2
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Rules of the Idaho Electrical Board TEMPORARY RULE
are met. (4-19-24)T
i Exception No 2. Any listed and approved splices requlred to be made at the submersible well pump

itself, outside of a recognized submersed pump sleeve or housing, when wires are too large to be housed inside such
sleeve, shall be covered with a non-metallic, impact resistant material, no less than one quarter (.25) inches thick
such as heavy-duty heat shrink or other equivalent method approved by the authority having jurisdiction. (e.g. install

a heat shrink over the sleeve or housing that the submersible well pump is installed in, and then recover (apply heat)

the heat shrink over both the HDPE and the water line). At least six (6) inches shall be over the sleeve and at least
twelve (12) inches over the HDPE and water line. (4-19-24)T

ii. Exception No. 3. Pipe, conduit, PVC well casing, or other electrically unlisted tubing may be used

as a chase, but not as a raceway, to protect conductors or cables from physical damage. Conductors or cables within a
chase shall be rated for the location. (4-19-24)T

aa, Article 682.14. Add the following additional exception: For installations of submersible well

pumps installed in public swimming and marine areas, submersible well pumps shall be considered directly
connected and shall be anchored in place. Ballast is an acceptable form of anchoring. (4-19-24)T

bb. Article 682.14(A). Add the following exception: For installations of submersible well pumps
installed in public swimming and marine areas, motor controller circuits such as remotely located stop pushbutton/s,
disconnect/s, relay/s or switches shall be permitted as a required disconnecting means. Such circuits shall be
identified at a minimum as “Emergency Pump Stop”, or “Emergency Stop” with other obvious indications on the

visible side of the enclosure, that it controls a submersible pump in the body of water. (4-19-24)T
cc. Article 682.15. Add the following exceptions: (4-19-24)T

Exception No. 1. Submersible pumps. and their motor leads, located in bodies of water, and that are
rated sixty (60) amperes maximum, two hundred fifty (250) volts maximum of any phase, shall have GFCI or Ground
Fault Equipment Protection designed to trip at a maximum of thirty (30) milliamps or less, protected by means
selected by a licensed installer, meeting listing or labeling requirements, and inspected by the AHJ prior to

=

submersion in bodies of water. (4-19-24)T
il. Exception No. 2. Installations or repair and replacement of submersible pumps located in bodies of

water, that are rated over sixty (60) amperes. and rated at any voltage, shall be evaluated by a qualified designer or

experienced licensed contractor, or involve engineering or be engineered, for each specific application, with the goal
of public safety. Whenever possible, GFCI or Ground Fault Equipment Protection designed to trip at a maximum of

thirty (30) milliamps or less, meeting listing or labeling requirements, shall be installed. and inspected by the AHJ

prior to submersion in bodies of water. (4-19-24)T

dd. Article 690.12 Rapid Shut Down. Add following Exemptions: (4-19-24)T

i Detached structures whose sole purpose is to house PV system equipment shall not be considered
bulldlngs and thus may have roof mounted PV systems without rapid shutdown equipment according to this

exception. (4-19-24)T

il. PV system circuits installed on or in buildings without the presence of a utility supplied power

source shall not be required to comply with Article 690.12 where all of the following apply: the minimum distance to
bring electric utility power lines or service conductors to the building is 1000 feet or greater; the building has a

minimum setback distance of 100 feet from any building or structure located on adjacent properties; A lockable
service entrance rated AC disconnect is installed outside at a readily accessible location; and the AC disconnect has a
permanent placard or label with the following words or equivalent:

WARNING
SOLAR PV SYSTEM IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH RAPID SHUTDOWN
The warning placard or label shall comply with Article 110.21(B). (4-19-24)T
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ee. Article 690.12(A) Exception. PV system circuits originating within or from arrays not attached to

buildings that terminate on the exterior of buildings or inside nearest the point of entrance, and PV system circuits
installed in accordance with Article 230.6 shall not be considered controlled conductors for the purposes of this

section. (4-19-24)T
ff. Article 706.5: Listing. Energy storage systems shall be listed. This shall not apply to lead-acid
batteries. (4-19-24)T

gg. Article 706.15(B) Off Grid Systems. Add the following Exception: For one-family and two-family
dwellings, a disconnecting means or its remote control shall be located at a readily accessible location.  (4-19-24)T

02. Availability. A copy of the 2023 National Electrical Code is available at the offices of the Division.
(4-19-24)T

601. — 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.39.30 - RULES OF BUILDING SAFETY (BUILDING CODE RULES)
DOCKET NO. 24-3930-2501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is January 1, 2025.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-2604, Idaho Code, as well as Section 39-4112, Idaho
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rule is in response to intent language found in the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licenses' FY2025 appropriation bill (Senate Bill 1442) directing the Division and Boards to address cash balances
that are lower than thirty five percent (35%) and higher than one hundred and twenty five percent (125%) of the five-
year rolling average of expenditures. The permitting fees found in Rule 400 have been decreased by thirty percent
(30%).

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the Governor has found
that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

Decreasing permit fees for the Idaho Building Code Board reduces additional costs on industry and licensees.
These reductions in fees will be a benefit to construction projects and industry in the state of Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that the fee or charge being
imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

Fees can be found in Rule 500 pursuant to Section 39-4112, Idaho Code. There are no newly imposed or
increased fees in this temporary rule. Instead, all permitting fees were decreased by thirty percent (30%).

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Krissy Veseth, Bureau Chief, at (208) 577-2491.

DATED this 29th day of November, 2024.

Krissy Veseth

Bureau Chief

11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Bldg. #4
Boise, ID 83714

Phone: (208) 577-2491

Email: krissy.veseth@dopl.idaho.gov.

H — BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 12 2025 TEMPORARY RULE BOOK


mailto: krissy.veseth@dopl.idaho.gov 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3930-2501
Rules of Building Safety (Building Code Rules) TEMPORARY RULE

FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE TEMPORARY RULE FOR DOCKET NO. 24-3930-2501

24.39.30 — RULES OF BUILDING SAFETY (BUILDING CODE RULES)

500. PERMITS AND PLAN REVIEW.

01. Annual Permit. In lieu of an individual permit for each minor alteration to an already approved
building, the Division may issue an annual permit upon application therefor to any state agency or state governmental
organization regularly employing one (1) or more qualified trade persons in the building, structure or on the premises
or campus owned or operated by the applicant for the permit. The agency to whom an annual permit is issued shall
keep a detailed record of alterations made under such annual permit. The Division shall be allowed access to such
records upon request or such records shall be filed with the Division as designated. The permit holder shall request

inspections and make the work accessible for inspection as required by the adopted codes and herein. (7-1-24)
02. Plans Not Required. Plans are not required for group U occupancies of Type V conventional light-
frame wood construction. (7-1-24)
03. Fees. (7-1-24)
a. Technical Service Fee. One hundred dollars ($100) per hour. (7-1-24)
b. Building Permit Fees. The determination of value or valuation will be made by the administrator

and includes the total value of all construction work for which a permit is issued.

TABLE 3-b - BUILDING PERMIT FEES

Total Valuation Fee

$1 to $500 = $23.5016.45

$23-5016.45 for the first $500 plus $3-052.14 for each additional $100, or
fraction thereof, to and including $2,000

$69.2548.48 for the first $2,000 plus $449.80 for each additional $1,000, or
fraction thereof, to and including $25,000

$394-75274.23 for the first $25,000 plus $46-407.07 for each additional $1,000,
or fraction thereof, to and including $50,000

$643.75450.63 for the first $50,000 plus $74.90 for each additional $1,000, or
fraction thereof, to and including $100,000

$993.75695.63 for the first $100,000 plus $5-603.92 for each additional $1,000,
or fraction thereof, to and including $500,000

$3,233.752.,263.63 for the first $500,000 plus $4-#53.33 for each additional
$1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $1,000,000

$5,608-753.926.13 for the first $1,000,000 plus $3-652.56 for each additional
$1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $5,000,000

$501 to $2,000 =

$2,001 to $25,000 =

$25,001 to $50,000 =

$50,001 to $100,000 =

$100,001 to $500,000 =

$500,001 to $1,000,000 =

$1,000,001 to $5,000,000
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3930-2501
Rules of Building Safety (Building Code Rules) TEMPORARY RULE

TABLE 3-b - BUILDING PERMIT FEES

Total Valuation Fee

$20,208.7514,146.13 for the first $5,000,000 plus $2-751.93 for each additional
$1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $10,000,000

$33,958-7#523.771.13 for the first $10,000,000 plus $21.40 for each additional
$1,000, or fraction thereof

$5,000,001 to $10,000,000

$10,000,001 and up

GH24(1-1-25)T

c. Fees for Annual Permits. A fee for inspections performed on annual permits shall be charged at the

rate of one hundred dollars ($100) per inspection. The Division shall bill the applicant for annual permits and failure
of the applicant to pay the fee within sixty (60) days may result in cancellation of the annual permit. (7-1-24)
d. Plan Review Fees. Plan review fees shall be charged at an hourly rate of one hundred dollars ($100)

per hour up to a maximum of sixty-five percent (65%) of the calculated building permit fee with a minimum required
fee of forty percent (40%) of the calculated building permit fee. All requests for plan review services shall be
accompanied by a payment in the amount of at least forty percent (40%) of the calculated building permit fee. Upon
completion of the plan review, any additional fees, above the minimum required, are due to the Division by the
requesting party. (7-1-24)
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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.39.31 — RULES FOR FACTORY BUILT STRUCTURES
DOCKET NO. 24-3931-2501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is January 1, 2025.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-2604, Idaho Code, as well as Section 39-4303, Idaho
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rule is in response to intent language found in the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licenses' FY2025 appropriation bill (Senate Bill 1442) directing the Division and Boards to address cash balances
that are lower than thirty five percent (35%) and higher than one hundred and twenty five percent (125%) of the five-
year rolling average of expenditures. The permitting fees found in Rule 500 have been decreased by twenty percent
(20%).

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the Governor has found
that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

Decreasing permit fees for Factory Built Structures reduces additional costs on industry and licensees. These
reductions in fees will be a benefit to construction projects and industry in the state of Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that the fee or charge being
imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

Fees can be found in Rule 500 pursuant to Section 39-4303, Idaho Code. There are no newly imposed or
increased fees in this temporary rule. Instead, all permitting fees were decreased by twenty percent (20%).

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Krissy Veseth, Bureau Chief, at (208) 577-2491.

DATED this 29th day of November, 2024.

Krissy Veseth

Bureau Chief

11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Bldg. #4
Boise, ID 83714

Phone: (208) 577-2491

Email: krissy.veseth@dopl.idaho.gov
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3931-2501
Rules for Factory Built Structures TEMPORARY RULE

FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE TEMPORARY RULE FOR DOCKET NO. 24-3931-2501

24.39.31 — RULES FOR FACTORY BUILT STRUCTURES

500. PERMITS, PLAN REVIEWS, AND INSPECTIONS.

01. Modular Building Permit Fees. Permits must be obtained from the Division prior to the
construction of structures governed by 39-4303, Idaho Code. Other than as specified in this section, the permit fee
schedule for Modular Buildings is as provided in Table 1-A plus ninety dollars ($90) and two and one-half percent
(2.5%) of the plumbing, electrical, and HVAC installation costs. The determination of value or valuation is based on
the total value of all construction work for which a permit is issued.

TABLE 1-A - MODULAR BUILDING PERMIT FEES
TOTAL VALUATION FEE
$1 to $500 $23-5018.80
$23-5018.80 for the first $500 plus $3-852.44 for each additional
$100, or fraction thereof, to and including $2,000

$69.2555.40 for the first $2,000 plus $4411.20 for each
additional $1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $25,000

$394-75313.40 for the first $25,000 plus $46-408.09 for each
additional $1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $50,000

$643.75515 for the first $50,000 plus $75.60 for each additional
$1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $100,000

$993.75795 for the first $100,000 plus $5-604.48 for each
additional $1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including $500,000

$3,233-752,587 for the first $500,000 plus $4-#53.80 for each
additional $1,000, or fraction thereof, to and including
$1,000,000

$5,608-754.,487 for the first $1,000,000 plus $3-652.92 for
each additional $1,000, or fraction thereof

$501 to $2,000

$2,001 to $25,000

$25,001 to $50,000

$50,001 to $100,000

$100,001 to $500,000

$500,001 to $1,000,000

$1,000,001and up

GH24(1-1-25)T

02. Modular Plan Review. The Modular Building fee includes an additional amount equal to sixty-

five percent (65%) of the permit fee calculated in accordance with Table 1-A. A fee of sixty-five dollars ($65) per

hour applies to additional plan review required by changes, additions, or revisions to plans. (7-1-24)

03. Manufactured/Mobile Home Installation Permit Fees. Permits must be obtained from the

Division prior to the site installation governed by 44-2202, and 39-4004, Idaho Code in accordance with the

following schedule: (7-1-24)
a. Single Section Unit. The permit fee is one hundred-fifty twenty dollars ($15620).

GH24(1-1-25)T
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3931-2501

Rules for Factory Built Structures TEMPORARY RULE
b. Double Section Unit. The permit fee is-twe_one hundred sixty dollars ($260160).

“G1249(1-1-25)T
More Than Two Sections. The permit fee for a home consisting of more than two (2) sections is two

hundredﬁfty dollars ($25600). G124(1-1-25T
04. In-Plant Inspection Agency Fees. In-plant inspection fees for manufactured homes produced by
Idaho Manufactures as per 39-4003 A and 39-4004 of Idaho Code is set at forty-five dollars ($45) per floor. (7-1-24)
0s. Inspections at Manufacturing Plants. The Division conducts inspections at the manufacturing
plant to determine compliance with codes adopted by Title 39, Chapters 40 and 41, Idaho Code, and Title 54,
Chapters 10, 26, and 50, Idaho Code. (7-1-24)
06. Manufactured Home Site Installation Inspections. Installation permits must be obtained from

the Division for installations in areas where there is no approved local program, or from a city or county that has by
ordinance adopted building codes pursuant to Section 39-4116, Idaho Code, and whose installation program has been
approved by the Division. All installations must be inspected and approved by the authority having jurisdiction
before the manufactured home is occupied. (7-1-24)

a. Installation inspections shall be conducted in accordance with the Idaho Manufactured Home
Installation Standard or the Design Approval Primary Inspection Agency of the manufactured home. (7-1-24)

07. Modular Site Installation Inspection. In order to complete the installation of an Idaho approved
Modular Building, approval and inspection of the installation by the enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the
site location is required. (7-1-24)

08. Qualifications of Inspectors. All inspectors must be properly certified for the type of inspection
being conducted. The Factory Built Structures Board recognizes certifications granted through the National
Certification Program Construction Code Inspector program (NCPCCI), the National Inspection Testing Certification
program (NITC), the International Association of Electrical Inspectors (IAEI), and the International Code Council

(ICO). (7-1-24)
09. Minimum Training Requirements for Inspectors. All manufactured home installation inspectors
must complete eight (8) hours of training or instruction germane to the profession. (7-1-24)
10. Rights and Limitations of Local Enforcement Agencies for Modular Buildings. (7-1-24)
a. A local enforcement agency has the right to require a complete set of plans and specifications
approved by the Division for each Modular Building to be installed within its jurisdiction, to require that all permits
be obtained before delivery of any unit. (7-1-24)
b. A local enforcement agency does not have the right to: open for inspection any Modular Building

or component bearing an Insignia to determine compliance with any codes or ordinances; require by ordinance or
otherwise that Modular Buildings meet any requirements not equally applicable to on-site construction; or to charge
permit or plan review fees for any portion of the structure prefabricated or assembled at a place other than the
Building Site. (7-1-24)

11. Division Approval. A city or county that has by ordinance adopted a building code pursuant to
Section 39-4116, Idaho Code, is eligible to participate in the inspection of manufactured and mobile homes. Such
local installation inspection program must be approved by the Division to provide inspection services if the following
minimum criteria is met: (7-1-24)

a. Inspections are conducted by the city or county employing inspectors holding a valid certification
as residential building inspector from the International Code Council; (7-1-24)

b. Inspectors attended training sessions provided or approved by the Division and receive a certificate
evidencing successful completion thereof. (7-1-24)
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DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3931-2501
Rules for Factory Built Structures TEMPORARY RULE

c. Voluntary Withdrawal. A city or county may voluntarily withdraw from participation in the
program to inspect manufactured homes upon providing to the Administrator of the Division thirty (30) days written
notice of its intention to do so. (7-1-24)

d. Quality Assurance. Any inspected installation is subject to quality assurance reviews by Division of
Occupational and Professional Licenses. Findings made by the Division pursuant to such reviews will be forwarded
to the inspection authority having jurisdiction. (7-1-24)

i. All inspectors and approved programs are subject to review. (7-1-24)

12. Modular Insignia and Serial Number. (7-1-24)

a. Assigned Insignia are not transferable and are void when not affixed as assigned. (7-1-24)

b. Each Modular Building must bear a legible identifying serial number. Each section of a multiple

Modular Building must have the same identifying serial number followed by a numerical sequence identifier or a
letter suffix, or both. (7-1-24)
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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.39.50 — RULES OF THE PUBLIC WORKS CONTRACTORS LICENSE BOARD
DOCKET NO. 24-3950-2501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is January 1, 2025.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-2604, Idaho Code, as well as Section 54-1904, Idaho
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rule is in response to intent language found in the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licenses' FY2025 appropriation bill (Senate Bill 1442) directing the Division and Boards to address cash balances
that are lower than thirty five percent (35%) and higher than one hundred and twenty five percent (125%) of the five-
year rolling average of expenditures. The amendment to the fee table found in Rule 400 will allow the Board to
quickly adjust fees downwards to address the currently high cash balance, while reducing the cost of licensure for
licensees.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the Governor has found
that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

Decreasing fees for the Idaho Public Works Contractors Board reduces additional costs on industry and
licensees. These reductions in fees will be a benefit to licensees and industry in the state of Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that the fee or charge being
imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

Fees can be found in Rule 400 pursuant to Section 54-1904, Idaho Code. There are no newly imposed or
increased fees in this temporary rule. Instead “Not more than” language was added to all items on the fee table,
capping fees at their current level while allowing the Board greater flexibility in reducing fees.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Krissy Veseth, Bureau Chief, at (208) 577-2491.

DATED this 29th day of November, 2024.

Krissy Veseth

Bureau Chief

11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Bldg. #4
Boise, ID 83714

Phone: (208) 577-2491

Email: krissy.veseth@dopl.idaho.gov

H — BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 19 2025 TEMPORARY RULE BOOK


mailto: krissy.veseth@dopl.idaho.gov

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-3950-2501
Rules of the Public Works Contractors License Board TEMPORARY RULE

FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE TEMPORARY RULE FOR DOCKET NO. 24-3950-2501

24.39.50 — RULES OF THE PUBLIC WORKS CONTRACTORS LICENSE BOARD

400. FEES.
01. Public Works Contractor.
License Class Initial Fee Renewal Fee
Not to exceed Not to exceed
Unlimited $550 $440
AAA $450 $360
AA $350 $280
$250 $160
B $150 $120
CC $125 $100
c $100 $80
D $50 $40
G249(1-1-25T
02. Construction Manager:
. . Fee
License Activity (Not to exceed)
Initial Licensing $200
License Renewal $200
Inactive License $50
License Reinstatement $200
Certificate of Authority $100
GA24(1-1-25)T
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