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IDAPA 01 – BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
01.01.01 – IDAHO ACCOUNTANCY RULES

DOCKET NO. 01-0101-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-204(1), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

Amend Rule 606 – This rule is being updated to reflect that a firm/licensee that is advised by a peer reviewer or 
team captain that a grade of fail will be recommended on their peer review must notify the Board within 30 days of 
said advisement. Amending this rule is needed to: 

1) Help protect the public, those that rely on reports issued by CPAs; and 

2) To help firms/licensees be in compliance when issuing peer reviewable services for clients.

Amend Rule 617 – This rule is being amended to help the Board take appropriate action to protect the public 
should the Board determine through the peer review process that a firm/licensee's performance and/or reporting 
practices are not or may not be in accordance with applicable professional standards.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 29-31.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no effect to the state general fund.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Kent A. Absec, Executive Director at (208) 334-2490.

Dated this 24th day of October, 2018.

Kent A. Absec, Executive Director
Idaho State Board of Accountancy
Boise, ID 83702
PO Box 83820
Boise, Idaho 83720-0002
Phone: (208) 334-2490
Fax: (208) 334-2615
E-mail: kent.absec@isba.idaho.gov
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1801
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), and 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-204(1), Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Rule 606 – This rule is being updated to reflect that a firm/licensee that is advised by a peer reviewer or team 
captain that a grade of fail will be recommended on their peer review must notify the Board within 30 days of said 
advisement. Amending this rule is needed to:

1) Help protect the public, those that rely on reports issued by CPAs; and

2) Help firms/licensees be in compliance when issuing peer reviewable services for clients.

Rule 617 – This rule is being amended to help the Board take appropriate action to protect the public should the 
Board determine through the peer review process that a firm/licensee's performance or reporting practices, or both, 
are not or may not be in accordance with applicable professional standards.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

This proposed rule change has no associated fee.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking:

There is no negative fiscal impact or effect to the state general fund as a result of this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7 pages 17 and 18.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Kent A. Absec, Executive Director at (208) 334-2490.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

DATED this 27th day of July, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1801
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

606. REPORTING TO THE BOARD (RULE 606).

01. Firm Registration Form. All firms performing any of the services set out in Rule 602 shall 
annually file a firm registration report no later than September 30. The registration shall be on such form as 
prescribed by the Board. Firm registrations filed after September 30 are subject to penalty for non-compliance 
pursuant to Rule 703. (4-11-15)

02. Peer Review Documentation. A firm that has undergone peer review will file a copy of the peer 
review report, letter of comments if any, letter of response if any, and letter accepting the review report issued by the 
administering organization. The letter will be filed within thirty (30) days after receipt. Additionally, a firm must 
notify the Board within thirty (30) days of the date the peer reviewer or a team captain advises the firm that a grade of 
fail will be recommended. The Board reserves the right to obtain all other information relating to the peer review.

(4-6-05)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

617. PENALTY REMEDIES FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY (RULE 617).
A penalty as prescribed in Rule 703 shall be assessed for each act of non-compliance with Subchapter G. The annual 
license of the principal(s) of a non-compliant firm will not be issued until the firm complies with all requirements of 
Subchapter G, provided the licensee has met all licensing requirements. (4-2-03)

01. Corrective Actions. The Board will take appropriate action to protect the public interest if the 
Board determines, through the peer review process or otherwise, that a firm's performance or reporting practices, or 
both, are not, or may not be, in accordance with applicable professional standards, or that the firm does not comply 
with peer review program requirements or with all or some of the reporting, remedial action, or fee penalty 
requirements of this section. The Board’s actions may include, but are not limited to: (        )

a. The annual license of the principal(s) of a non-compliant firm will not be issued until the firm 
complies with all requirements of Subchapter G, provided the licensee has met all licensing requirements; (         )

b. Requiring the firm to develop quality control procedures to provide a reasonable assurance that 
similar occurrences will not occur in the future; (        )

c. Requiring any individual licensee who had responsibility for, or who substantially participated in, 
the engagement(s) to successfully complete specific courses or types of continuing education as specified by the 
Board; (        )

d. Requiring the reviewed firm to engage a Board-approved licensee to conduct a Board-prescribed 
on-site field review of the firm’s work product and practices or perform other investigative procedures to assess the 
degree or pervasiveness of nonconforming work product. The Board-approved licensee engaged by the firm shall 
submit a report of the findings to the Board within thirty (30) days of the completion of the services. The cost of the 
Board-prescribed on-site review or other Board-prescribed procedures will be at the firm’s expense; (        )

e. Requiring the reviewed firm responsible for engagement(s) to submit all or specified categories of 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 01-0101-1801
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1801
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
its compilation or attest working papers and reports to a preissuance evaluation performed by a Board-approved 
licensee in a manner and for a duration prescribed by the Board. Prior to the firm issuing the reports on the 
engagements reviewed, the Board-approved licensee shall submit to a designee of the Board for the purpose of 
recommending that the Board accept a report of the findings, including the nature and frequency of recommended 
actions for the firm. The cost of the Board-approved preissuance evaluation will be at the firm's expense; (        )

f. Initiating an investigation to determine if additional discipline pursuant to Section 54-219, Idaho 
Code, is warranted. Notwithstanding the foregoing, absent an investigation the specific rating of a single peer review 
report is not a sufficient basis to warrant disciplinary action; or (        )

g. Requiring the firm pay a penalty as prescribed in Rule 703 of these rules, for each act of non-
compliance with Subchapter G. (        )

02. Solicitation and Review of Other Sources. The Board may solicit and review licensee reports and 
other information covered by the reports from clients, public agencies, banks, and other users of such information.

(        )
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IDAPA 01 – BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
01.01.01 – IDAHO ACCOUNTANCY RULES

DOCKET NO. 01-0101-1802

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-204(1), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

Pending Rule 108 – Rule will eliminate reference to the former paper-based exam which is no longer applicable. 
The rule will now focus only on the applicable computer-based exam.

Pending Rule 304 – Rule will allow the agency to utilize established substantial equivalency standards of other 
states as established by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy, NASBA, to help make a more 
efficient and less challenging process for reciprocal license applicants. This will allow the agency to gather 
information from the Accountancy Licensing Database electronically instead of requiring a candidate to have another 
jurisdiction supply the information to Idaho on a paper based medium.

Pending Rule 502 – Rule will now allow licensees with a status of CPA-Retired or CPA-Inactive to provide 
volunteer accounting services that they were prohibited from doing in the past or as the current rule stands. 
Individuals in these status' will now be able to serve on Boards of non-profit organizations such as Homeowner 
Associations and assist citizens in the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance, VITA, program, for example.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 32-35.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: This pending rule change has no 
associated fee.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Kent A. Absec, Executive Director at (208) 334-2490.

Dated this 24th day of October, 2018.

Kent A. Absec, Executive Director
Idaho State Board of Accountancy
Boise, ID 83702
PO Box 83820
Boise, Idaho 83720-0002
Phone: (208) 334-2490
Fax: (208) 334-2615
E-mail: kent.absec@isba.idaho.gov
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1802
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), and 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-204(1), Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Rule 108: Rule will eliminate reference to the former paper-based exam which is no longer applicable. The rule 
will now focus only on the applicable computer-based exam.

Rule 304: Rule will allow the agency to utilize established substantial equivalency standards of other states as 
established by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy, NASBA, to help make a more efficient and 
less challenging process for reciprocal license applicants. This will allow the agency to gather information from the 
Accountancy Licensing Database electronically instead of requiring a candidate to have another jurisdiction supply 
the information to Idaho on a paper based medium. 

Rule 502: Rule will now allow licensees with a status of CPA-Retired or CPA-Inactive to provide volunteer 
accounting services that they were prohibited from doing in the past or as the current rule stands. Individuals in these 
status' will now be able to serve on Boards of non-profit organizations such as Homeowner Associations and assist 
citizens in the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance, VITA, program, for example.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

This proposed rule change has no associated fee.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking:

There is no negative fiscal impact or effect to the state general fund as a result of this rulemaking.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, pages 19 and 20.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Kent A. Absec, Executive Director at (208) 334-2490.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

DATED this 27th day of July, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1802
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

108. RETAKE AND GRANTING OF CREDIT (RULE 108).

01. Credit for Sections Prior to Computerization of the CPA Examination. A candidate shall be 
required to pass all test sections of the CPA Examination in order to qualify for a CPA certificate and license. If, at a 
given sitting of the examination prior to the implementation of a computer-based CPA Examination, a candidate 
passes two (2) or more but not all sections, then the candidate shall be given conditional credit for those sections that 
the candidate has passed and need not sit for re-examination in those sections, provided that: (3-16-04)

a. The candidate wrote all sections of the examination for which the candidate does not have credit at 
that sitting; (3-16-04)

b. The candidate attained a minimum grade of fifty (50) on each section not passed at that sitting. 
However, if a candidate passes three (3) sections of the examination, the candidate shall be conditionally credited 
with the sections passed without regard to the grade in the remaining section; (3-16-04)

c. The candidate passes the remaining sections of the CPA Examination within six (6) consecutive 
administrations of the CPA Examination given after the one at which the first sections were passed; and (3-16-04)

d. At each subsequent sitting at which the candidate seeks to pass any additional sections, the 
candidate sits for all sections not yet passed. (3-16-04)

02. Credit for Subjects After Computerization of the CPA Examination. Upon implementation of a 
computer-based CPA Examination, a candidate may take the required test sections individually and in any order. 
Credit for any test section(s) passed shall be valid for eighteen (18) months from the actual date the candidate took 
that test section(s), without having to attain a minimum score on any failed test section(s) and without regard to 
whether the candidate has taken other test sections, provided that: (3-16-04)

a. Candidates must pass all four (4) test sections of the CPA Examination within a rolling eighteen-
month period, which begins on the date that the first test section(s) passed is taken; (3-16-04)

b. Candidates cannot retake a failed test section(s) in the same examination window; and (3-16-04)

c. Candidates who do not pass all four (4) sections of the CPA Examination within the rolling 
eighteen-month period shall lose credit for any test section(s) passed outside the eighteen-month period and that test 
section(s) must be retaken. (3-16-04)

03. Candidates with Conditional Credit Earned on the Paper-Based CPA Examination. Candidates 
who have conditional credit on the paper-based CPA Examination as of the launch date of the computer-based CPA 
Examination are subject to the following transition requirements: (3-16-04)

a. Candidates will retain conditional credits from the paper-based sections for the corresponding 
computer-based sections as follows; (3-16-04)

i. “Auditing” under paper-based corresponds to “Auditing and Attestation” under computer-based;
(3-16-04)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 01-0101-1802
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1802
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
ii. “Financial Accounting and Reporting” under paper-based corresponds to “Financial Accounting 
and Reporting” under computer-based; (3-16-04)

iii. “Accounting and Reporting” under paper-based corresponds to “Regulation” under computer-
based; and (3-16-04)

iv. “Business Law and Professional Responsibilities” under paper-based corresponds to “Business 
Environment and Concepts” under computer-based. (3-16-04)

b. A candidate who attained conditional credit under the paper-based examination will be allowed a 
transition period to complete any remaining test sections. The transition period is the maximum number of 
opportunities that the candidate has remaining, at the launch of the computer-based examination, to complete all 
remaining test sections, or three (3) years from the last day of the month conditional credit was attained, whichever is 
exhausted first. During the candidate’s transition period, any computer-based test section passed is not subject to the 
credit granting provisions of Subsection 108.02. (3-16-04)

c. If a candidate who attained conditional credit under the paper-based examination does not pass all 
remaining test sections during the transition period, conditional credits earned under the paper-based examination 
will expire and the candidate will lose credit for the test sections earned under the paper-based examination. When 
paper-based credit is lost, any computer-based test section passed during the transition period becomes subject to the 
credit granting provisions of Subsection 108.02. (3-16-04)

042. Extending the Term of Credit. The Board may in particular cases extend the term of credit 
validity set forth in Subsections 108.02 and 108.031 upon demonstration by the candidate that the credit was lost by 
reason of circumstances beyond the candidate’s control. (3-16-04)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

304. RECIPROCAL LICENSURE (RULE 304).
If the practice privilege standard set out in Section 54-227, Idaho Code, is not applicable, the Board shall issue a 
license to an applicant provided that the applicant pays the application and licensure fees prescribed in Rule 701 and 
meets the one of the following: (4-2-03)

01. Interstate Reciprocity. The requirements for a reciprocal license under Section 54-210(2), Idaho 
Code;. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, an individual whose principal place of business is not in this state 
and who holds a valid license or permit with unrestricted practice privileges as a Certified Public Accountant from 
any state that the NASBA National Qualification Appraisal Service has verified to be in substantial equivalence with 
the CPA licensure requirements of the AICPA/NASBA Uniform Accountancy Act shall be presumed to have the 
qualifications substantially equivalent to this state’s requirements. (4-2-03)(        )

02. Transfer of Grades. The requirements for transferring CPA Examination grades under Section 54-
210(4), Idaho Code; or (4-2-03)

03. International Reciprocity. The requirements for foreign reciprocal licensure under Section 54-
210(5), Idaho Code, provided that the Board shall rely on the International Qualifications Appraisal Board for 
evaluation of foreign credential equivalency. Such licensees shall report any investigations undertaken, or sanctions 
imposed, by a foreign credentialing body against the licensee’s foreign credential. Suspension or revocation of, or 
refusal to renew, the licensee’s foreign accounting credential by the foreign credentialing body, or conviction of a 
felony or any crime involving dishonesty or fraud under the laws of a foreign country may be evidence of conduct 
reflecting adversely upon the licensee’s fitness to retain the license and may be a basis for Board action. The Board 
shall notify the appropriate foreign credentialing authorities of any sanctions imposed against the licensee. The Board 
shall participate in joint investigations with foreign credentialing bodies and rely on evidence supplied by such bodies 
in disciplinary hearings. (4-2-03)
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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY Docket No. 01-0101-1802
Idaho Accountancy Rules PENDING RULE
(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

502. EXCEPTIONS, EXTENSIONS, AND EXEMPTIONS (RULE 502).

01. Exceptions and Extensions. The Board may make exceptions to the CPE requirements or grant 
extensions of time for completion of the CPE requirements, where reasons of health as certified by a medical doctor 
prevent compliance by the licensee, or other good cause exists. (4-2-03)

a. Licensees asking for exceptions or extensions under these conditions must apply annually on the 
reporting form for the year in which the extension or exemption is sought, and within the time period set for CPE 
reporting, stating the reasons for asking for such exception or extension. Any licensee failing to file a timely 
application shall be subject to the late fee prescribed in Rule 703, in addition to any additional proceeding that may be 
instituted for violation of these rules. (4-2-03)

b. A penalty of no more than fifty percent (50%) of the hours a licensee is short in meeting the 
calendar year CPE requirement may be assessed for extensions. In such cases, the licensee shall be required to 
complete the CPE hours and any assessed penalty no later than April 30. The penalty for non-compliance with ethics 
CPE is to obtain the mandatory hours of ethics CPE plus fifty percent (50%) penalty hours in ethics CPE prior to 
April 30. The penalty for non-compliance with state-specific ethics for Idaho is to complete the course plus fifty 
percent (50%) penalty hours in ethics CPE prior to April 30. (4-11-15)

02. Exemptions for Inactive or Retired. Licensees who elect inactive or retired status shall be exempt 
from any CPE requirements provided that: (3-20-04)

a. The licensees do not perform or offer to perform for the public services involving: (4-2-03)

i. The use of accounting or auditing skills including the issuance of reports on financial statements, or 
of management advisory, financial advisory or consulting services; or (4-2-03)

ii. The preparation of tax returns, or the furnishing of advice on tax matters as a licensee. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, nothing in this section shall preclude a licensee who has elected inactive or retired 
status from providing the following volunteer, uncompensated services: tax preparation services, participating in a 
government-sponsored business mentoring program, serving on the board of directors for a nonprofit or 
governmental organization, or serving on a government-appointed advisory board. If the CPA provides the foregoing 
volunteer, uncompensated services, the CPA has a duty to ensure that they hold the professional competencies 
necessary to offer these services. (4-2-03)(        )

b. Licensees granted such exemption must place the word “inactive” adjacent to their CPA or LPA 
title on any business card, letterhead or any other document or device. The Board shall issue a wall certificate for 
public display that indicates the license is inactive; (4-2-03)

c. Those individuals who are inactive and have reached fifty-five (55) years of age may substitute the 
word “retired” for the word “inactive”; (3-29-10)

d. Licensees granted the exemption as either “inactive” or “retired” shall annually pay the license 
renewal fee as prescribed in Rule 701; and (4-2-03)

e. Licensees granted the exemption must comply with a return to active status competency 
requirement as set out in Rule 510 before they may discontinue use of the word “inactive” or “retired” in association 
with their CPA or LPA title. (4-2-03)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.01.01 – RULES GOVERNING ELECTRICAL INSPECTION TAGS

DOCKET NO. 07-0101-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 62 through 
66.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0101-1801
Rules Governing Electrical Inspection Tags PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Many provisions in IDAPA 07.01.01 have not been updated to account for changes in technology, terminology 
and procedures used by the Division of Building Safety in issuing electrical permits. Further, recent amendments to 
Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology and procedures for electrical facility accounts and issuing 
electrical permits.

This rulemaking updates procedures and terminology for electrical facility accounts and issuing electrical 
permits in IDAPA 07.01.01. These updates align IDAPA 07.01.01 with technology, terminology and procedures 
currently used by the Division of Building Safety in issuing electrical permits and with recently passed amendments 
to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 30-31.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0101-1801
Rules Governing Electrical Inspection Tags PENDING RULE
07.01.01 – RULES GOVERNING ELECTRICAL PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS TAGS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The Idaho Electrical Board is authorized under Sections 54-1005, and 54-1006, Idaho Code, to adopt rules 
concerning the issuance of electrical permits and inspections tags covering electrical installations referred to in 
Section 54-1001, Idaho Code. (2-26-93)(        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 07.01.01, “Rules Governing Electrical Permits and Inspections Tags,” Division 
of Building Safety. These rules include criteria for the use of electrical inspection tags permits for electrical 
installations. (2-26-93)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. DEFINITIONS.

01. Associated Buildings. All buildings, structures, and fixtures used for domestic purposes and in 
connection with the primary or secondary residence, such as garages, sheds, barns, or shops. (2-23-94)

02. Person. Includes an individual, company, firm, partnership, corporation, association or other 
organization. (        )

0058. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. ELECTRICAL INSPECTION TAGS PERMITS.
Electrical Inspection tags permits as authorized by Section 54-1005, Idaho Code, shall each bear a serial number.

(4-2-08)

012. ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS' INSPECTION TAGS.
EPermits for electrical contractors’ inspection tags installations shall be furnished by available for purchase online or 
at the Division of Building Safety by those legally authorized to licensed make electrical contractors upon request
installations under Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code. The serial numbers of such tags electrical permits shall be 
registered in the name of the electrical contractor permit holder to whom they are issued and they shall not be are

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0101-1801
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transferable only as provided in IDAPA 07.01.02, “Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Permits and Inspections,” 
Subsection 011.16. Electrical inspection tags issued to an electrical contractor permits shall be used only for the
electrical installations made by said electrical contractor identified in the permit application and for which said 
electrical contractor permit holder shall assumes full responsibility. (4-2-08)(        )

01. Completion of Electrical Inspection Tag Installation. For each electrical installation made by an 
electrical contractor a permit holder and coming under the provisions of Section 54-1001, Idaho Code, said 
contractor permit holder or his authorized representative shall complete request an electrical inspection tag 
application, issued by from the Division of Building Safety, giving all pertinent information. The name of the 
electrical contractor shall be stated and the tag shall be signed by the electrical contractor or his authorized agent.

(4-2-08)(        )

02. Posting Purchase of Electrical Inspection Tag Permit. BAll electrical permits shall be purchased 
before work is commenced, the electrical contractor or his authorized representative shall place a copy of the 
electrical inspection tag at the location of the service switch and mail or deliver a copy to the power supplier. An 
application, together with the proper inspection fee as herein provided, shall be received by the Division of Building 
Safety within seven (7) calendar days from the time the electrical work is started. Where the total cost of installation 
is unknown, the minimum inspection permit fee as listed in IDAPA 07.01.02, “Rules Governing Fees Ffor Electrical 
Permits and Inspections,” Subsection 011.06 of the fee schedule shall accompany the tag and arrangements shall be 
made, in writing, with the Division of Building Safety or its authorized agent for payment of the balance of the fee
paid. In all cases, payment of the total inspection permit fee shall be made prior to completion of the installation and 
a final inspection. (4-2-08)(        )

a. The Division of Building Safety may refuse to extend credit to any electrical contractor for late 
payment person with outstanding fines, violations or non-payment of any electrical inspection unpaid permit fees 
when due. In such instance, the contractor shall return all unused permits to recorded with the Division. of Building 
Safety forthwith. No further permits will be issued to the contractor unless prepaid in cash or cash equivalent. Such 
contractor Permit holders will not be allowed to purchase further electrical permits unless and until all such unused 
permits have been returned to the Division of Building Safety, Meridian, and all outstanding fees due have been paid 
in full. (4-2-08)(        )

b. Failure to post a copy of the electrical inspection tag at the required location, or failure to submit 
an application of such tag and the proper inspection fee to the Division of Building Safety within seven (7) calendar 
days from the time the electrical installation work is commenced will result in the imposition of a double inspection 
fee. (4-2-08)

c. No electrical inspections shall be provided without the Division of Building Safety receiving an 
application for a tag along with the proper fee prior to the purchase of an electrical permit. (4-2-08)(        )

03. Power Supply Company. Pursuant to Section 54-1005, Idaho Code, a power supply company may 
connect and energize an electrical installation made by an electrical contractor without delay and before the 
installation has passed inspection if the contractor submits to the power supply company a copy of an electrical 
permit purchased by the contractor and the power supply company deems the connection and energization necessary 
to preserve life or property. The contractor shall request that the Division of Building Safety conduct an inspection on 
the next business day. (        )

0132. ELECTRICAL LICENSING PERMITTING AND INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS FOR 
PERSONS EXEMPTION FOR HOME OWNERS AND MAINTENANCE ELECTRICIANS; INSPECTION 
TAG REQUIREMENTS FROM LICENSING.
The licensing provisions of Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, and IDAPA 07.01.03, “Rules Governing Electrical 
Licensing,” do not apply to the following pursuant to Section 54-1016, Idaho Code: (7-1-98)

01. Home Owner Installations. Home owners making installations on their own primary residence, 
secondary residence, and buildings associated with these residences that are not used for commercial purposes.

(4-2-08)

02. Maintenance Electricians. Maintenance electricians employed full-time only to service, maintain, 
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assemble, or repair EXISTING electrical installations located on their employers’ premises. (2-23-94)

03. Procedures for Inspection Tags for Exempt Home Owners. Persons exempt from licensing 
pursuant to Subsection 013.01 of this rule must still Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, shall secure all electrical inspection 
tags permits required by Section 54-1005, Idaho Code, before making any electrical installation. No electrical wiring 
or equipment may be concealed in any manner from access or sight until the work has been inspected and approved 
for cover by the electrical inspector. A final inspection shall be made upon the completion of all electrical work. The 
procedure for obtaining inspection tags electrical permits follows: (4-2-08)(        )

a01. Electrical Permit. Any exempt person shall obtain an application form electrical permit from the 
Division of Building Safety, either online or at its Meridian main office or at designated locations. The application 
form shall be properly completed, signed, and forwarded to the Division of Building Safety, 1090 E. Watertower 
Street, Meridian, Idaho 83642, Pocatello or Coeur d’Alene satellite offices with the proper inspection permit fee as 
provided for in these rules. (4-2-08)(        )

b. Upon receipt of the properly completed application together with the proper inspection fee, the 
Division of Building Safety shall immediately issue an electrical inspection tag for the electrical installation 
designated in the application. (4-2-08)

c. A copy of an electrical inspection tag shall be retained by the Division of Building Safety. A copy of 
an electrical inspection tag shall be forwarded to the applicant and shall be placed on the location of the service, and 
a copy of an electrical inspection tag shall be forwarded to the state electrical inspector who will make the electrical 
inspection as provided by Sections 54-1004 and 54-1005, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)

d02. Notice to Power Supplier. A copy of an electrical inspection tag shall be forwarded or delivered to 
the power supplier by tThe Division of Building Safety shall provide notice to the power supplier to connect 
installations requiring energization once an installation has passed inspection. (4-2-08)(        )

0143. ELECTRICAL PERMIT AND INSPECTION TAG REQUIREMENTS FOR INDUSTRIAL
FACILITY ACCOUNTS.
Companies, firms, associations, or corporations An electrical facility employer account licensee, as defined by 
Section 54-1003A, Idaho Code, who uses licensed or registered employees to make electrical installations coming 
under the provisions of Section 54-1001, Idaho Code, on their licensee’s own premises, must establish an Industrial 
Account with shall obtain a facility account license and purchase electrical permits from the Division of Building 
Safety and secure electrical inspection tags by making application to the Division of Building Safety with the proper 
permit fee as provided in IDAPA 07.01.02, “Rules Governing Fees for Electrical Permits and Inspections, Section 
011. Employees performing non-maintenance electrical installations on an Industrial Account must under a facility 
account shall be licensed electrical journeymen or master electricians or registered electrical apprentices under the 
constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman or master electrician as provided by Section 54-1002(2) in 
Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code. One (1) properly licensed employee journeyman or master electrician shall be 
designated the supervising journeyman electrician for the Industrial facility Aaccount with the Division of Building 
Safety. Individuals employed as maintenance electricians may only perform maintenance electrical installations in 
accordance with Section 54-1016, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)(        )

01. Application Forms. The application form shall be properly completed, signed by the property 
owner or agent of the company, firm, association, or corporation, and forwarded to the Division of Building Safety, 
1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho 83642, with the proper inspection fee as hereinafter provided. (4-2-08)

02. Posting of Electrical Inspection Tag. Upon receipt of a properly completed application from a 
property owner, company, firm, association, or corporation for an electrical inspection tag, together with the proper 
inspection fee, the Division of Building Safety shall immediately issue an electrical inspection tag for the electrical 
installations designated in the application. A copy of an electrical inspection tag shall be retained by the Division of 
Building Safety. A copy of an electrical inspection tag shall be forwarded to the applicant and shall be placed at the 
location of the service switch. A copy of an electrical inspection tag shall be forwarded or delivered to the power 
supplier, and a copy shall be forwarded to the state electrical inspector who will make the electrical inspection as 
provided by Sections 54-1004 and 54-1005, Idaho Code. (4-2-08)
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 18 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0101-1801
Rules Governing Electrical Inspection Tags PENDING RULE
03. Power Supply Company. In the event the power supplier deems it necessary to energize an 
electrical installation without delay to preserve life or property, the power supply company may accept the 
application properly completed and signed, with the proper inspection fee attached, in lieu of the electrical inspection 
tag required by Section 54-1004, Idaho Code, provided the power supply company or its authorized agent shall 
assume the responsibility of forwarding the application and inspection fee to the Division of Building Safety, 1090 E. 
Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho 83642. The Division of Building Safety shall, upon request, furnish application 
forms and self-addressed envelopes to power supply companies operating within the state of Idaho. (4-2-08)

0154. TEMPORARIESY INSTALLATIONS CONNECTED PRIOR TO INSPECTION.
Temporaries Only a licensed electrical contractor may have a power supply company connect and energize a 
temporary service for construction may be energized by power suppliers prior to an inspection being performed. Any 
contractor energizing a temporary service prior to inspection shall assume full responsibility for the installation of the 
temporary service. A power supply company may only connect and energize a temporary service upon receipt of a 
copy of an inspection tag electrical permit purchased from the Division of Building Safety. (4-2-08)(        )

0165. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.01.03 – RULES OF ELECTRICAL LICENSING AND REGISTRATION – GENERAL

DOCKET NO. 07-0103-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 72 through 
74.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

IDAPA 07.01.03.012.02 presumes electrical contractors to be in violation of the law for employing “more than 
two (2) apprentice electricians for each licensed journeyman electrician employed.” IDAPA 07.01.11.011.04 imposes 
a civil penalty on contractors for such violations. Because of these provisions, a contractor could receive a civil 
penalty simply for employing more than two (2) apprentices for each journeyman employed.

This rulemaking makes contractors liable under IDAPA 07.01.03.012.02 and IDAPA 07.01.11.011.04 only if one 
(1) journeyman employed by the contractor supervises more than two (2) apprentices employed by the contractor.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the April 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-4, pages 12-13.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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012. APPRENTICE ELECTRICIAN.

01. Requirements for Apprentice Electrician. (5-3-03)

a. A person wishing to become an apprentice electrician shall register with the Division of Building 
Safety prior to going to work. Said person shall carry a current registration certificate on his person at all times and 
shall present it upon request to personnel of the Division of Building Safety for examination. Each apprentice shall 
register for a period of five (5) years and pay the applicable fee. During the period of registration an apprentice must 
annually complete a minimum of one hundred forty-four (144) hours of an organized sequence of instruction in 
technical subjects related to the electrical trade as approved by the Idaho Electrical Board and the Idaho State Board 
for Professional and Technical Education until a certificate of achievement is earned from the vocational institution 
attended. Each apprentice shall obtain work experience during the period of registration as described in Paragraph 
012.01.b. of these rules and provide the Division with notarized letters from each employer evidencing such work to 
be maintained in the apprentice’s file with the Division. Time toward the work requirements detailed in Paragraph 
012.01.b. of these rules shall not be credited while the apprentice is inactive or not registered. (4-7-11)

b. In order to qualify to take the journeyman electrician examination an apprentice electrician shall 
furnish proof of completion of four (4) years of related instruction for electrical apprentices as approved by the Idaho 
Electrical Board and the Idaho State Board for Professional-Technical Education, and be required to work at least 
three (3) years, defined as a minimum of six thousand (6,000) hours of work experience, under the constant on-the-
job supervision of a journeyman electrician. Such work experience shall include three (3) categories: (4-7-11)

i. Residential; (5-3-03)

ii. Commercial; and (5-3-03)

iii. Industrial installations. (5-3-03)

c. Successful completion of the journeyman examination does not eliminate the requirement to 
complete four (4) years of work experience, defined as eight thousand (8,000) hours, under the constant on-the-job 
supervision of a journeyman electrician in order to be issued a journeyman license. Successful completion of the 
Idaho state journeyman examination notwithstanding, no journeyman license shall be issued until proof of 
satisfaction of the requirements contained in Section 013 of these rules is furnished to the Division. (4-7-11)

d. Experience shall not exceed seventy-five percent (75%) of the work time in any one (1) category. 
The work requirements of Paragraph 012.01.b. of these rules shall not apply to an apprentice registered in an 
apprenticeship program approved by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, 
Office of Apprenticeship. (4-7-11)

e. An apprentice registration shall only be renewed by the Division upon receipt of sufficient 
evidence demonstrating that the apprentice has successfully completed at least two (2) years of an approved sequence 
of instruction and worked two (2) years defined as a minimum of four thousand (4,000) hours of work experience 
under the constant on-the-job supervision of a journeyman electrician in the categories described in Paragraph 
012.01.b. of these rules; provided however, that in no case shall an apprentice registration be renewed more than one 
(1) time by the Division without a recommendation from the Idaho Electrical Board to do so. An apprentice may only 
petition the Electrical Board for registration renewals subsequent to the first renewal. If application to the Division or 
petition to the Board is made pursuant to this paragraph, the Division and the Board, as applicable, shall consider 
whether extenuating circumstances exist which prevent the completion of the instruction or work experience 
requirements for renewal. (3-29-12)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0103-1801
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 22 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0103-1801
Rules of Electrical Licensing & Registration – General PENDING RULE
f. An apprentice who has completed the required number of instructional hours and has not passed the 
journeyman’s examination within two (2) years of completion of the required instructional training hours shall 
provide proof of continuation training in order to be eligible to take the journeyman exam. For the purposes of 
Section 012 of these rules, continuation training is defined as registration in a Board-approved fourth year 
apprenticeship class. (3-29-12)

02. Direct Supervision. It shall be the responsibility of the employing electrical contractor to iensure 
that the apprentices performs electrical work only under the constant on-the-job supervision of a journeyman 
electrician. (3-29-12)(        )

a. Journeyman to Apprentice Ratio. One (1) journeyman shall not supervise more than two (2) 
apprentices. (        )

b. Any contractor who employs more than two (2) violating the journeyman to apprentice electricians 
for each licensed journeyman electrician employed ratio is presumed to be in violation of the direct supervision 
requirements of Section 54-1010, Idaho Code, and of the constant on-the-job supervision requirement of Section 54-
1003A, Idaho Code. This presumption The journeyman to apprentice ratio may be rebutted adjusted on a case-by-
case basis by a showing by the a contractor that of special circumstances exist, which are peculiar to the work done by 
that contractor and which allows for effective supervision by each journeyman electrician of more than two (2) 
apprentice electricians. Prior to employing more than two (2) apprentice electricians for each journeyman 
electrician, aA contractor must obtain permission from the Division of Building Safety to do so adjust the 
journeyman to apprentice ratio. Failure to comply with this requirement will be grounds for suspension or revocation 
of the electrical contractor’s license. (        )
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07.01.03 – RULES OF ELECTRICAL LICENSING AND REGISTRATION – GENERAL

DOCKET NO. 07-0103-1802

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 75 through 
77.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Recent amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology for electrical licensing and 
registration.

This rulemaking updates terminology for electrical licensing and registration in IDAPA 07.01.03. These updates 
align the terminology in IDAPA 07.01.03 with terminology in recently passed amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, 
Idaho Code.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 34-35.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. LICENSURE HISTORY.
An applicant for any electrical registration, or license, or certificate of competency who has been previously licensed 
as a journeyman or master electrician in any recognized jurisdiction is required upon application to the Division of 
Building Safety to disclose such licensure history and provide sufficient proof thereof. An applicant for any electrical 
registration, license, or certificate of competency who has been previously licensed as a journeyman or master 
electrician in any recognized jurisdiction shall not be issued an electrical apprentice registration. (4-11-15)(        )

011. LICENSE APPLICATION FORMS/APPRENTICE REGISTRATION FORMS.
Application forms for Eelectrical Ccontractor, Mmaster Eelectrician, Jjourneyman Eelectrician Licenses, Specialty
and limited Eelectrical installer Llicenses, and registration forms for Aapprentice Eelectricians and Specialty limited
Eelectrical installer Ttrainees shall be printed and made available by the Division of Building Safety, state of Idaho.

(3-29-12)(        )

01. Application Forms. All applications for licenses and all registrations shall be properly completed, 
giving all pertinent information, and all signatures shall be notarized. (4-5-00)

02. Application Fee. All applications for electrical licenses shall be accompanied by the fifteen dollar 
($15) application fee; apprentice and specialty limited electrical installer trainee registration forms shall be 
accompanied by the ten dollar ($10) registration fee as provided by Section 54-1014, Idaho Code. (4-5-00)(        )

03. Application Submission. An application for license shall be submitted to the Division of Building 
Safety and shall be approved by an authorized representative of the Division before any examination is given and 
before any license is issued. (3-29-12)

04. Examination. An applicant for licensure must take the required examination within ninety (90) 
days of the date of application, or the application shall be considered to be null and void. (4-5-00)

05. License. Following the approval by an authorized representative and the successful completion of 
the required examination, the applicant must purchase a license prior to engaging in business within the state of 
Idaho. Applicants who fail to purchase a license within ninety (90) days of the date of successful examination shall be 
required to reapply for licensure, again obtain the approval of an authorized representative, and re-examine. (4-5-00)

06. License Period. All original licenses and registrations shall be issued by the Division immediately 
upon receipt of the licensure fee and other necessary documentation from the applicant which date shall be designated 
as the original license anniversary date and signify the commencement of the licensing period. All license and 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0103-1802
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registration renewals shall be effective in the year renewed as of the original license anniversary date. All license and 
registration periods shall end at midnight on the last day of the final month of the licensing or registration period. 
Licenses and registrations not renewed by this date shall have expired. Any expired license revived within the twelve 
(12) month period following the expiration date will continue to have the original license anniversary date for 
purposes of subsequent renewal. (3-29-10)
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07.01.04 – RULES GOVERNING ELECTRICAL SPECIALTY LICENSING

DOCKET NO. 07-0104-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 78 through 
83.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Many provisions in IDAPA 07.01.04 have not been updated to account for changes in technology, terminology 
and procedures used by the Division of Building Safety for limited electrical (specialty) licensing and registration. 
Further, recent amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology and procedures for limited 
electrical licensing and registration.

This rulemaking updates procedures and terminology for limited electrical licensing and registration in IDAPA 
07.01.04. These updates align IDAPA 07.01.04 with technology, terminology and procedures currently used by the 
Division of Building Safety for limited electrical licensing and registration and with recently passed amendments to 
Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 36-37.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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IDAPA 07
TITLE 01

CHAPTER 04

07.01.04 – RULES GOVERNING LIMITED ELECTRICAL 
SPECIALTY LICENSING AND REGISTRATION

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 07.01.04, “Rules Governing Limited Electrical Specialty Licensing and 
Registration,” Division of Building Safety. These rules set out the special limited types of electrical installations for 
which a specialty limited electrical license is required; the minimum experience requirements for such license; and 
describe the procedure for securing such license. (7-1-97)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 010. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

012. MINIMUM EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS.
Experience gained by an individual while engaged in the practice of one (1) or more of the specialties limited 
categories named below shall not be considered towards the satisfaction of the minimum experience requirements for 
licensing as a journeyman electrician. (11-28-77)(        )

013. SPECIALTY LIMITED EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT.

01. Specialty Journeyman Electrician Limited Electrical Installer. An applicant for a specialty 
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journeyman electrician limited electrical installer license must have at least two (2) years of experience, or more as 
specified for the individual specialty category, with the type of installation for which the license is being applied for, 
in compliance with the requirements of the state in which the experience was received, or as a specialty limited
electrical installer trainee making electrical installations in accordance with the requirements as stated herein.

(4-7-11)(        )

02. Specialty Limited Electrical Installer Trainee. A specialty limited electrical installer trainee shall 
be required to work not less than two (2) years, defined as a minimum of four thousand (4,000) hours of work 
experience, under the constant on-the-job supervision of a specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical installer
of the same specialty limited category to qualify for testing as a specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical 
installer. A person wishing to become a specialty limited electrical installer trainee shall register with the Division of 
Building Safety for a period of three (3) years and pay the applicable fee prior to going to work. Said person shall 
carry a current registration certificate on his person at all times and shall present it upon request to personnel of the 
Division of Building Safety for examination. A specialty limited electrical installer trainee registration shall only be 
renewed by the Division upon receipt of sufficient evidence demonstrating that the trainee has worked at least one (1) 
year defined as a minimum of two thousand (2,000) hours of work experience under the constant on-the-job 
supervision of a specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical installer; provided however, that in no case shall a 
specialty limited electrical installer trainee registration be renewed more than one (1) time by the Division without a 
recommendation from the Idaho Electrical Board to do so. A specialty limited electrical installer trainee may only 
petition the Electrical Board for registration renewals subsequent to the first renewal. If application to the Division or 
petition to the Board is made pursuant to this subsection, the Division and the Board, as applicable, shall consider 
whether extenuating circumstances exist which prevent the completion of the instruction or work experience 
requirements for renewal. Time shall not be credited while the trainee is inactive or not registered. (3-29-12)(        )

014. ELECTRICAL SPECIALTIES INSTALLATIONS REQUIRING A SPECIAL LIMITED 
ELECTRICAL INSTALLER LICENSE.
The following categories of electrical installations shall be considered as limited electrical specialties installations, 
the practice of which shall require a special journeyman electrician, master electrician, or limited electrical installer
license: (4-9-79)(        )

01. Elevator, Dumbwaiter, Escalator, or Moving-Walk Electrical. Any person qualifying for and 
having in his possession a current elevator electrical license may install, maintain, repair, and replace equipment, 
controls, and wiring beyond the disconnect switch in the machine room of the elevator and pertaining directly to the 
operation and control thereof when located in the elevator shaft and machine room. He shall be employed by a 
licensed elevator electrical contractor or electrical contractor, and his installations shall be limited to this category. 
The holder of such specialty limited license may not only countersign a limited electrical contractor’s license 
application as a supervising journeyman except limited electrical installer for work within his specialty this category.

(4-9-79)(        )

02. Sign Electrical. Any person qualifying for and having in his possession a current sign electrical 
license may install, maintain, repair, and replace equipment, controls, and wiring on the secondary side of sign 
disconnecting means; providing the disconnecting means is located on the sign or within sight therefrom. He shall be 
employed by a licensed sign electrical contractor whose or electrical contractor, and his installations shall be limited 
to this category. The holder of such specialty limited license may not only countersign a limited electrical contractor’s 
license application as supervising journeyman except limited electrical installer for work within his specialty this 
category. (3-15-02)(        )

03. Manufacturing or Assembling Equipment. (4-5-00)

a. A licensed specialty limited electrical manufacturing or assembling equipment electrician installer
must be employed by a licensed specialty limited electrical manufacturing or assembling equipment contractor in 
order to work in or electrical contractor, and his installation shall be limited to this category. The holder of a specialty
such limited license in this category may not only countersign a limited electrical contractor's license application as a
supervising journeyman except limited electrical installer for work within this specialty category. (4-5-00)(        )

b. Any person licensed pursuant to Paragraph 014.03.a. of these rules may install, maintain, repair, 
and replace equipment, controls, and accessory wiring, integral to the specific equipment, on the load side of the 
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equipment disconnecting means. Electrical service and feeder are to be installed by others. The licensee may also 
install circuitry in modules or fabricated enclosures for the purpose of connecting the necessary components which 
individually bear a label from a nationally recognized testing laboratory when such equipment is designed and 
manufactured for a specific job installation. All wiring completed shall meet all requirements of Title 54, Chapter 10, 
Idaho Code, all rules promulgated pursuant thereto, and the most current edition of the National Electrical Code.

(7-1-94)

c. Subsection 014.03 of these rules does not apply to a limited electrical manufacturing or assembling 
equipment electrician installer. installing electrical wiring, equipment, and apparatus in modular buildings as that 
term is defined in Section 39-4105, Idaho Code. Only journeyman electricians and electrical apprentices, employed 
by an electrical contractor, may perform such installations. (3-30-07)(        )

04. Limited Energy Electrical License. (9-17-85)(        )

a. Limited energy systems are defined as fire and security alarm systems, class 2 and class 3 signaling 
circuits, key card operators, nurse call systems, motor and electrical apparatus controls and other limited energy 
applications covered by the NEC. (7-1-99)

b. Limited energy systems do not include, and no license of any type is required for, the installation of 
landscape sprinkler controls or communication circuits, wires and apparatus that include telephone systems, telegraph 
facilities, outside wiring for fire and security alarm systems which are used for communication purposes, and central 
station systems of a similar nature, PBX systems, audio-visual and sound systems, public address and intercom 
systems, data communication systems, radio and television systems, antenna systems and other similar systems.

(7-1-99)

c. Unless exempted by Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, any person who installs, maintains, replaces or 
repairs electrical wiring and equipment for limited energy systems in facilities other than one (1) or two (2) family 
dwellings shall be required to have a valid limited energy limited electrical license and must be employed by a 
licensed limited energy specialty limited electrical contractor or electrical contractor. The holder of a specialty such 
limited license may only countersign a limited electrical contractor’s application as a supervising journeyman limited 
electrical installer for work within his specialty this category. (7-1-98)(        )

05. Irrigation Sprinkler Electrical. Any person qualifying for and having in his possession, an 
irrigation system electrical license may install, maintain, repair and replace equipment, controls and wiring beyond 
the disconnect switch supplying power to the electric irrigation machine. The irrigation machine is considered to 
include the hardware, motors and controls of the irrigation machine and underground conductors connecting the 
control centers on the irrigation machine to the load side of the disconnecting device. Disconnect device to be 
installed by others. All such installations performed by individuals under this subsection shall be done in accordance 
with the applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code. He shall be employed by a licensed limited electrical 
contractor whose license is contingent upon the granting of a specialty limited electrical license to an employee, and 
whose his installations shall be limited to this category. The holder of a specialty such limited license may not 
countersign a limited electrical contractor’s license application as supervising specialty journeyman limited electrical 
installer except for work in his specialty within this category. (1-1-92)(        )

06. Well Driller and Water Pump Installer Electrical Licenses. All such installations performed by 
individuals under this subsection shall be done in accordance with the applicable provisions of the approved National 
Electrical Code. He A license holder in this category shall be employed by a licensed well driller and water pump 
installer limited electrical contractor whose or electrical contractor, and his installations shall be limited to this 
category. The holder of such specialty limited license may not only countersign a limited electrical contractor’s 
license application as supervising specialty journeyman except limited electrical installer for work in his specialty
within this category. Any person currently licensed in this category may perform the following types of installations:

(1-14-87)(        )

a. Single or three (3) phase water pumps: install, maintain, repair and replace all electrical equipment, 
wires, and accessories from the pump motor up to the load side, including fuses, of the disconnecting device. 
Disconnecting device to be installed by others. (4-6-05)
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b. Domestic water pumps, one hundred twenty/two hundred forty (120/240) volt, single phase, sixty 
(60) amps or less: Install, maintain, repair and replace all electrical equipment, wires, and accessories from the pump 
motor up to and including the disconnecting device. (7-1-98)

c. Temporarily connect into a power source to test the installations, provided that all test wiring is 
removed before the installer leaves the site. (1-14-87)

d. Individual residential wastewater pumping units. Install, maintain, repair and replace all electrical 
equipment, wires, and accessories from the pump motor up to and including the disconnecting device for systems that 
serve one-family, two-family, or three-family residential installations. (4-11-06)

07. Refrigeration, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Electrical Installer. All such installation, 
maintenance, and repair performed by individuals under this subsection shall be done in accordance with applicable 
provisions of the National Electrical Code. He A license holder in this category shall be employed by a licensed 
limited electrical contractor whose license shall be covered by this category or electrical contractor, and his 
installations shall be limited to this category. The holder of such specialty limited license may not only countersign a 
limited electrical contractor’s license application as a supervising specialty journeyman except limited electrical 
installer for work in his specialty this category. Any person currently licensed in this category may perform the 
following types of installations, which installations shall be limited to factory-assembled, packaged units:

(9-17-85)(        )

a. Heating Units (single phase): install, repair, and maintain all electrical equipment, wires, and 
accessories from the unit up to the load side, including fuses, of the disconnecting device. Disconnecting device to be 
installed by others. (9-17-85)

b. Refrigeration, Air-Conditioning Equipment and Heat Pumps (single phase): install, repair, and 
maintain all electrical equipment, wires, and accessories from the unit up to the load side, including fuses, of the 
disconnecting device. Disconnecting device to be installed by others. (9-17-85)

c. Refrigeration, Air-Conditioning and Heating Systems (three (3) phase): install, maintain, and repair 
all electrical equipment and accessories up to the load side, including fuses, of the disconnecting device. 
Disconnecting device to be installed by others. (9-17-85)

08. Outside Wireman. All such installation, maintenance, and repair not exempt under the provisions 
of Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, performed by individuals under this subsection shall be done in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code. The licensee A license holder in this category shall be 
employed by a licensed limited electrical contractor whose license shall be covered by this category or electrical 
contractor, and his installations shall be limited to this category. The holder of such specialty limited electrical license 
may not only countersign a limited electrical contractor’s license application as a supervising specialty journeyman 
except limited electrical installer for work in his specialty this category. Applicants for this license class category
shall provide documentation of having completed an electrical lineman apprenticeship program or similar program 
approved by the U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship. Any person currently licensed in this category 
may perform the following types of installations: (4-7-11)(        )

a. Overhead distribution and transmission lines in excess of six hundred (600) volts. (4-7-11)

b. Underground distribution and transmission lines in excess of six hundred (600) volts. (4-7-11)

c. Substation and switchyard construction in excess of six hundred (600) volts. (4-7-11)

09. Solar Photovoltaic. All such installation, maintenance, and repair not exempt under the provisions 
of Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, performed by individuals under this Subsection shall be done in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code. The A license holder in this category shall be employed by a 
licensed limited electrical contractor whose license shall be covered by this category or electrical contractor, and his 
installations shall be limited to this category. The holder of such specialty limited electrical license may not only
countersign a limited electrical contractor’s application as a supervising specialty journeyman except limited 
electrical installer for work in his specialty this category. Applicants for this license class category shall provide proof 
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of photovoltaic installer certification by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP) or 
equivalent. Any person licensed in this category may perform the following types of installations: (3-29-12)(        )

a. Solar Photovoltaic DC Systems: Install, maintain, repair, and replace all electrical equipment, 
wires, and accessories up to and including the inverter. (3-29-12)

b. Solar Photovoltaic micro-inverter/AC Systems: Install, maintain, repair, and replace all electrical 
equipment, wires, and accessories up to and including the AC combiner box. (3-29-12)

015. APPLICATIONS FOR SPECIALTY LIMITED ELECTRICAL INSTALLER LICENSES.
An applications for any of the above specialty a limited electrical installer licenses may be obtained from the Division 
of Building Safety. The forms shall be returned with the application fee, as provided by Section 54-1014, Idaho Code, 
with proof of the required two (2) years of experience in the field of specialty limited electrical category, and all the
applications shall be signed and notarized. Upon receiving a passing grade, the applicant may remit the license fee for 
issuance of the license. (3-29-12)(        )

016. LICENSURE PERIOD AND FEES.
All original specialty limited electrical licenses and registrations shall be issued by the Division immediately upon 
receipt of the licensure fee and other necessary documentation from the applicant which date shall be designated as 
the original license anniversary date and signify the commencement of the licensing period. All specialty license and 
registration renewals shall be effective in the year renewed as of the original license anniversary date. All license and 
registration periods shall end at midnight on the last day of the final month of the licensing or registration period. 
Specialty Limited electrical licenses and registrations not renewed by this date shall have expired. Any expired 
license revived within the twelve-month period following the expiration date will continue to have the original 
license anniversary date for the purposes of subsequent renewal. The license fee and renewal fee for each type of 
specialty limited electrical license shall be as provided for by Section 54-1014, Idaho Code, for other journeyman 
licenses. (3-29-10)(        )

017. SPECIALTY LIMITED ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR LICENSE.

01. Qualifications for Specialty Electrical Contractor. Except as herein provided, any person, 
partnership, company, firm, association, or corporation shall be eligible to apply for a specialty limited electrical 
contractor license upon the condition that such applicant will be responsible for supervision of electrical installations 
made by said company, firm, association, or corporation as provided by Section 54-1010, Idaho Code. The 
supervising specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical installer shall be available during working hours to 
carry out the duties of supervising specialty journeyman limited electrical installer, as set forth herein. In addition, the 
applicant shall meet or have at least one (1) full-time employee who meets one (1) of the following criteria:

(3-30-01)(        )

a. Holds a valid specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical installer license issued by the 
Division of Building Safety, in the same category as the specialty limited electrical contractor, and has held a valid 
specialty journeyman electrician’s limited electrical installer license for a period of not less than two (2) years, during 
which time he was employed as a specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical installer for a minimum of four 
thousand (4,000) hours; (3-29-12)(        )

b. Holds a valid specialty journeyman electrician limited electrical installer license issued by the 
Division of Building Safety, in the same category as the specialty limited electrical contractor, and has at least four 
(4) years of experience in the specialty limited electrical category with a minimum of two (2) years practical 
experience in planning, laying out, and supervising electrical installations in this specialty the category.

(3-29-12)(        )

02. Modification to Qualifications. Applicants for specialty limited electrical contractor licenses, or 
individuals countersigning such applications, shall be subject to the same requirements, restrictions, and fees 
applicable to other electrical contractors and countersigning master, as set forth in the current Eelectrical Laws statues
and Rrules with the exception that an electrical contractor requires a master electrician to countersign as a supervising 
master whereas a supervising specialty journeyman limited electrical installer for a specialty limited electrical 
contractor must meet the requirements of Subsection 017.01 of these rules. (4-2-08)(        )
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DOCKET NO. 07-0105-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1003, 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 84 through 
86.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1003, 54-1005 and 54-
1006, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Recent amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology for electrical licensing and 
registration.

This rulemaking updates terminology for electrical licensing and registration in IDAPA 07.01.05. These updates 
align the terminology in IDAPA 07.01.05 with terminology in recently passed amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, 
Idaho Code.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 38-39.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. EXAMINATIONS.
The Electrical Board shall review and approve all versions of examinations prior to administration. (4-5-00)

01. Frequency of Conducting of Examinations. Examinations for all classifications under the 
Electrical Laws and Rules will be given a minimum of four (4) times each year in at least three (3) locations: One (1) 
to be in northern Idaho, one (1) to be in central Idaho, and one (1) to be in southern Idaho. The applicant will be 
notified in writing of the date, time, and location at which the examination will be given, following approval of the 
application. (4-5-00)

02. Professional Testing Services. In lieu of the administration by the Electrical Board of the 
examination for licenses pursuant to this rule, the Electrical Board may contract with a professional testing service to 
administer the examination and require license applicants to pay to the testing service the fee that they have set for the 
examination and to take such examination at the time set by such service. After taking such examination, an official 
copy of the test score shall be provided by the applicant to the Electrical Board before the license will be granted. If 
the examination is conducted in this fashion, the Electrical Board may charge and retain the application fee provided 
for by Section 54-1014, Idaho Code, to cover the cost of reviewing the applicant's application. (4-5-00)

03. Required Scores. The following scores are considered minimum for passing and are required to be 
achieved by the applicant prior to issuance of the appropriate license or certification.

(5-8-09)(        )

04. Failed Examinations. (4-6-05)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0105-1801

Journeyman Electrician - 70%

Specialty Journeyman Electrician 
Limited Electrical Installer - 70%

Electrical Contractor - 75%

Specialty Limited Electrical Contractor - 70%

Electrical Inspector - 705%

Master Electrician - 75%
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a. An applicant receiving less than a passing score on a first or second examination attempt may be 
reexamined. (3-29-12)

b. Before being reexamined after failing an examination the third time, an applicant must: (4-6-05)

i. Wait until the expiration of one (1) year from the date of the failed third examination; or (4-6-05)

ii. Provide proof, satisfactory to the Electrical Board, of completion of a minimum of twenty-four (24) 
hours of Board-approved, related electrical training or continuing education since the date of the failed third 
examination. (4-6-05)

c. Before being reexamined after any further failures, an applicant for reexamination must: (4-6-05)

i. Wait until the expiration of an additional one (1) year from the date of the failed examination; or
(4-6-05)

ii. Provide proof, satisfactory to the Electrical Board, of completion of thirty-two (32) hours of Board-
approved, related electrical training or continuing education since the date of the failed examination. (4-6-05)
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07.01.06 – RULES GOVERNING THE USE OF NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE

DOCKET NO. 07-0106-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1001, 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 87 through 
90.

CORRECTION SUMMARY: This summary corrects an error that occurred during the publication of the proposed 
rulemaking under Docket No. 07-0106-1801 in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-9. 
The error was a transcription error in Section 004, Incorporation by Reference, which was being added to the rule as 
one of the required informational sections, that incorrectly stated that no documents are incorporated by reference 
into the rule. However, Section 011 of this rule does incorporate by reference the National Electrical Code. Section 
004 is now a “RESERVED” section.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1001, 54-1005 and 54-
1006, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

NEC 2017 334.10(3) requires NM cables in structures other than one (1)-, two (2)-, and multi-family dwellings 
(other structures) to “be concealed within walls, floors, or ceilings that provide a thermal barrier of material that has 
at least a fifteen (15)-minute finish rating as identified in listings of fire-rated assemblies.” This rulemaking will 
clarify the Division of Building Safety’s (Division) interpretation that NM cables located in the attics and underfloor 
areas of other structures that are not designed to be occupied are considered concealed.

IDAPA 07.01.06.011.01.k.i. allows “[t]he use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at 250 PSI (e.g. SIDR-7 or DR-9) . 
. . for use as a chase” under certain circumstances. The Division has found that such pipe is not readily available. This 
rulemaking will allow the use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at two hundred (200) PSI, instead of two hundred fifty 
(250) PSI, for use as a chase under certain circumstances. Such pipe is more readily available than, substantially 
similar to, and will accomplish the same purpose as pipe rated at two hundred fifty (250) PSI.

This rulemaking will clarify the Division’s interpretation that cables located in the attics and underfloor areas of 
other structures that are not designed to be occupied are considered concealed. This rulemaking will also allow the 
use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at two hundred (200) PSI, instead of two hundred fifty (250) PSI, for use as a 
chase under certain circumstances.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 40-41.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:

National Electrical Code (NEC) 2017 Article 334.10(3) requires NM cables in structures other than one (1)-, two 
(2)-, and multi-family dwellings (other structures) to “be concealed within walls, floors, or ceilings that provide a 
thermal barrier of material that has at least a fifteen (15)-minute finish rating as identified in listings of fire-rated 
assemblies.” This rulemaking will clarify the Division of Building Safety’s (Division) interpretation that NM cables 
located in the attics and underfloor areas of other structures that are not designed to be occupied are considered 
concealed.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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NEC Article 682.13, IDAPA 07.01.06.011.01.k.i., allows “[t]he use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at 250 PSI 
(e.g. SIDR-7 or DR-9) . . . for use as a chase” under certain circumstances. The Division has found that such pipe is 
not readily available. This rulemaking will allow the use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at two hundred (200) PSI, 
instead of two hundred fifty (250) PSI, for use as a chase under certain circumstances. Such pipe is more readily 
available than, substantially similar to, and will accomplish the same purpose as pipe rated at two hundred fifty (250) 
PSI.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Incorporation By Reference Synopsis (IBRS)

004. (RESERVED)

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL ELECTRICAL 
CODE.

01. Documents. Under the provisions of Section 54-1001, Idaho Code, the National Electrical Code, 
2017 Edition, (herein NEC) is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference for the state of Idaho and shall be in full 
force and effect on and after July 1, 2017, with the following amendments: (3-29-17)

a. Article 110.3(A) and 110.3(B) shall not apply to submersible well pumps installed in swimming 
and marine areas; provided however, such articles shall apply to all other equipment required in the installation of a 
submersible well pump in such areas except for the actual submersible well pump itself. (3-28-18)

b. Article 210.8(A)(7) Sinks. Delete article 210.8(A)(7) and replace with the following: Sinks - 
located in areas other than kitchens where receptacles are installed within one and eight tenths (1.8) meters (six (6) 
feet) of the outside edge of the sink. (3-20-14)

c. Article 210.8(A)(10). Delete article 210.8(A)(10). (3-20-14)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0106-1801
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d. Article 210.8(D). Delete article 210.8(D). (3-20-14)

e. Article 210.52(E)(3). Delete article 210.52(E)(3) and replace with the following: Balconies, Decks, 
and Porches. Balconies, decks, and porches having an overall area of twenty (20) square feet or more that are 
accessible from inside the dwelling unit shall have at least one (1) receptacle outlet installed within the perimeter of 
the balcony, deck, or porch. The receptacle shall not be located more than two (2.0) meters (six and one half (6½) 
feet) above the balcony, deck, or porch surface. (3-20-14)

f. Add a new Article 225.30(F) – One (1)- or Two (2)-Family Dwelling Unit(s). For a one (1)- or two 
(2)-family dwelling unit(s) with multiple feeders with conductors one aught (1/0) or larger, it shall be permissible to 
install not more than six (6) disconnects grouped at one (1) location where the feeders enter the building, provided 
that the feeder conductors originate at the same switchboard, panelboard, or overcurrent protective device location.

(3-28-18)

g. Where the height of a crawl space does not exceed one and four tenths (1.4) meters or four and one 
half (4.5) feet it shall be permissible to secure NM cables, that run at angles with joist, to the bottom edge of joist. 
NM cables that run within two and one tenth (2.1) meters or seven (7) feet of crawl space access shall comply with 
Article 320.23. (3-20-14)

h. Article 334.10(3). Delete Article 334.10(3) and replace with the following: Other structures 
permitted to be of Types III, IV, and V construction. Cables shall be concealed within walls, floors, or ceilings that 
provide a thermal barrier of material that has at least a fifteen (15)-minute finish rating as identified in listings of fire-
rated assemblies. For the purpose of this section, cables located in attics and underfloor areas that are not designed to 
be occupied shall be considered concealed. (        )

hi. Article 675.8(B). Compliance with Article 675.8(B) will include the additional requirement that a 
disconnecting means always be provided at the point of service from the utility no matter where the disconnecting 
means for the machine is located. (3-20-14)

ij. Article 682.10 shall not apply to submersible well pumps installed in swimming and marine areas; 
provided however, such articles shall apply to all other equipment required in the installation of a submersible well 
pump in such areas except for the actual submersible well pump itself. (3-28-18)

jk. Article 682.11. Add the following exception to Article 682.11: This article shall not apply to 
service equipment that is located on or at the dwelling unit and which is not susceptible to flooding. (3-28-18)

kl. Article 682.13. Add the following exceptions to Article 682.13: (3-28-18)

i. Exception No 1. Wiring methods such as HDPE schedule eighty (80) electrical conduit or its 
equivalent or greater, and clearly marked at a minimum “Caution Electrical” to indicate that it contains electrical 
conductors shall be approved. It shall be buried whenever practical, and in accordance with the requirements of the 
authority having jurisdiction. The use of gray HDPE water pipe rated at two hundred (2500) PSI (e.g. SIDR-7 or DR-
9) is suitable for use as a chase only when the following conditions are met: (3-28-18)(        )

(1) When internal conductors are jacketed submersible pump cable. (3-28-18)

(2) When used in continuous lengths, directly buried, or secured on a shoreline above and below the 
water line. (3-28-18)

(3) When submersible pump wiring terminations in the body of water according to 682.13 Exception 
No. 2 are met. (3-28-18)

ii. Exception No 2. Any listed and approved splices required to be made at the submersible well pump 
itself, outside of a recognized submersed pump sleeve or housing, when wires are too large to be housed inside such 
sleeve, shall be covered with a non-metallic, impact resistant material, no less than one quarter (.25) inches thick, 
such as heavy duty heat shrink or other equivalent method approved by the authority having jurisdiction. (Eg. install 
a heat shrink over the sleeve or housing that the submersible well pump is installed in, and then recover (apply heat) 
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the heat shrink over both the HDPE and the water line). At least six (6) inches shall be over the sleeve and at least 
twelve (12) inches over the HDPE and water line. (3-28-18)

iii. Exception No. 3. Pipe, conduit, PVC well casing, or other electrically unlisted tubing may be used 
as a chase, but not as a raceway, to protect conductors or cables from physical damage. Conductors or cables within a 
chase shall be rated for the location. (3-28-18)

lm. Article 682.14. Add the following additional exception to Article 682.14: For installations of 
submersible well pumps installed in public swimming and marine areas, submersible well pumps shall be considered 
directly connected and shall be anchored in place. Ballast is an acceptable form of anchoring. (3-28-18)

mn. Article 682.14(A). Add the following exception to Article 682.14(A): For installations of 
submersible well pumps installed in public swimming and marine areas, motor controller circuits such as remotely 
located stop pushbutton/s, disconnect/s, relay/s or switches shall be permitted as a required disconnecting means. 
Such circuits shall be identified at a minimum as “Emergency Pump Stop”, or “Emergency Stop” with other obvious 
indications on the visible side of the enclosure, that it controls a submersible pump in the body of water. (3-28-18)

no. Article 682.15. Add the following exceptions to Article 682.15: (3-28-18)

i. Exception No. 1. Submersible pumps, and their motor leads, located in bodies of water, and that are 
rated sixty (60) amperes maximum, two hundred fifty (250) volts maximum of any phase, shall have GFCI or Ground 
Fault Equipment Protection designed to trip at a maximum of thirty (30) milliamps or less, protected by means 
selected by a licensed installer, meeting listing or labeling requirements, and inspected by the AHJ prior to 
submersion in bodies of water. (3-28-18)

ii. Exception No. 2. Installations or repair and replacement of submersible pumps located in bodies of 
water, that are rated over sixty (60) amperes, and rated at any voltage, shall be evaluated by a qualified designer or 
experienced licensed contractor, or involve engineering or be engineered, for each specific application, with the goal 
of public safety. Whenever possible, GFCI or Ground Fault Equipment Protection designed to trip at a maximum of 
thirty (30) milliamps or less, meeting listing or labeling requirements, shall be installed, and inspected by the AHJ 
prior to submersion in bodies of water. (3-28-18)

op. Article 550.32(B). Compliance with Article 550.32(B) shall limit installation of a service on a 
manufactured home to those homes manufactured after January 1, 1992. (5-3-03)

pq. Poles used as lighting standards that are forty (40) feet or less in nominal height and that support no 
more than four (4) luminaires operating at a nominal voltage of three hundred (300) volts or less, shall not be 
considered to constitute a structure as that term is defined by the National Electrical Code (NEC). The disconnecting 
means shall not be mounted to the pole. The disconnecting means may be permitted elsewhere in accordance with 
NEC, Article 225.32, exception 3. SEC special purpose fuseable connectors (model SEC 1791–DF or model SEC 
1791-SF) or equivalent shall be installed in a listed handhole (underground) enclosure. The enclosure shall be 
appropriately grounded and bonded per the requirements of the NEC applicable to Article 230-Services. Overcurrent 
protection shall be provided by a (fast-acting – minimum - 100K RMS Amps 600 VAC) rated fuse. Wiring within the 
pole for the luminaires shall be protected by supplementary overcurrent device (time-delay – minimum - 10K RMS 
Amps 600 VAC) in break-a-away fuse holder accessible from the hand hole. Any poles supporting or incorporating 
utilization equipment or exceeding the prescribed number of luminaires, or in excess of forty (40) feet, shall be 
considered structures, and an appropriate service disconnecting means shall be required per the NEC. All luminaire-
supporting poles shall be appropriately grounded and bonded per the NEC. (4-6-05)

qr. Compliance with Article 210.12 Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection. Article 210.12 shall 
apply in full. Exception: In dwelling units Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection shall only apply to all branch 
circuits and outlets supplying bedrooms. All other locations in dwelling units are exempt from the requirements of 
Article 210.12. (3-29-17)

02. Availability. A copy of the National Electrical Code is available at the offices of the Division of 
Building Safety at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150, Meridian, Idaho 83642, 1250 Ironwood Drive, Suite 220, 
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814, and 2055 Garrett Way, Suite 7, Pocatello, Idaho 83201. (3-20-14)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.01.07 – RULES GOVERNING CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

DOCKET NO. 07-0107-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1003 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 91 through 
95.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-0107-1801
Rules Governing Continuing Education Requirements PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1003 and 54-1006, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The Idaho Electrical Board (Board) holds several regular meetings each year. In addition, the Board and Division 
of Building Safety conduct several negotiated rulemaking meetings each year. These meetings are not always well-
attended by industry members. In order to get the electrical industry more involved in the meetings of the Board, the 
Board wants to allow licensees to obtain continuing education credit for attending meetings of the Board.

Further, IDAPA 07.01.07.011 requires journeymen and master electricians to complete twenty-four (24) hours of 
continuing education every three (3) years, including “eight (8) hours of code update . . . eight (8) hours of code-
related training, and eight (8) hours of industry-related training.” IDAPA 07.01.07 does not define code-related 
programs. Additionally, industry members have expressed a desire not to be restricted to obtaining continuing 
education in certain categories other than code update.

This proposed rulemaking will allow licensees to obtain continuing education credit for attending meetings of 
the Board. This proposed rulemaking will also define code-related programs. This proposed rulemaking will also 
require journeymen and master electricians to obtain eight (8) hours of code update for every three (3) year cycle, but 
allow journeymen and master electricians to obtain the remaining sixteen (16) hours of their continuing education for 
every three (3) year cycle in any of the three (3) categories.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 42-43.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

005. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.
Journeymen and master electricians must complete at least twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education instruction 
in every three (3) year period between renewals of such licenses. The twenty-four (24) hours of instruction shall 
consist of eight (8) hours of code update covering changes included in the latest edition of the National Electrical 
Code, eight (8). The remaining sixteen (16) hours may consist of any combination of code-update training, code-
related training, and eight (8) hours of or industry-related training. The Idaho Electrical Board will establish criteria 
for approval of instruction and instructors, and courses and instructors will be approved by the Division of Building 
Safety. Proof of completion of these continuing education requirements must be submitted to the Division of Building 
Safety prior to or with the application for license renewal by any such licensee in order to renew a journeyman or 
master electrician license for the code change year. (4-11-15)(        )

012. COURSE APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS.
Continuing education courses for electricians must cover technical aspects of the electrical trade. For example,
Ccourses related to such as management, supervision, business practices, personal computer skills, or first aid will 
not be approved. Courses will be approved as either code update, code related or industry related based on the criteria 
as defined in this section. (4-2-08)(        )

01. General Course Requirements. (4-2-08)

a. Courses must be at least four (4) hours in length. (4-2-08)

b. Courses must be taught by an instructor approved by the Division of Building Safety. (4-11-15)

c. The presentation should be delivered orally with the assistance of power point or other means of 
visual media. Pre-taped video or audio shall be held to a minimum. (4-2-08)

d. A course evaluation card shall be provided to all participants to evaluate course and presentation. 
The completed evaluation cards must be submitted to the Division of Building Safety. (4-11-15)

e. All programs are subject to audit by representatives of the Division of Building Safety or Idaho 
Electrical Board for content and quality without notice and at no charge. Course and instructor approval are subject to 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0107-1801
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revocation if the minimum requirements of course content or instructor qualifications are not met. (4-2-08)

f. Credit will not be given to a licensee who attended a course prior to that course being approved by 
the Division of Building Safety. (4-2-08)

02. Code-Update Programs. Code-update programs must cover changes to the National Electrical 
Code utilizing pre-approved materials such as the NFPA-IAEI Analysis of Changes. (4-2-08)

03. Code-Related Programs. Code-related programs must cover portions of NFPA 70 other than 
changes to the National Electrical Code. (        )

034. Industry-Related Programs. Industry-related programs shall be technical in nature and directly 
related to the electrical industry. Electrical theory, application of the National Electrical Code, grounding, 
photovoltaic systems, programmable controllers, and residential wiring methods are examples of industry-related 
programs. (4-2-08)

045. Program Approval Procedures. (4-2-08)

a. Program approvals shall be effective for one (1) code cycle. Subsequent applications for the same 
program may incorporate by reference all or part of the original application. (4-2-08)

b. An application for course approval may be obtained from the Division of Building Safety, 1090 E. 
Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho 83642, or from the Division of Building Safety’s website at http://dbs.idaho.gov. 
The application shall include: (4-11-15)

i. The title and general description of the program; (4-2-08)

ii. The name of the sponsor as it will appear on the completion certificate; (4-2-08)

iii. The address and contact person for the sponsor; (4-2-08)

iv. The names of the instructors and dates of approval by the Division of Building Safety or completed 
applications for the instructors; (4-2-08)

v. The hours of instruction to be presented – correspondence or on-line computer based courses must 
provide a minimum of twenty (20) questions to be answered by the student for each hour of credit requested for 
approval. For example four (4) hours of credit would require eighty (80) questions, eight (8) hours of credit would 
require one hundred and sixty (160) questions; (4-2-08)

vi. An outline of the program; (4-2-08)

vii. The cost of the program to the participant; (4-2-08)

viii. A schedule of classes, including locations, dates, and times; (4-2-08)

ix. A list or sample of materials to be used in the program; (4-2-08)

x. A copy of the quiz to be given to the participants, if applicable; (4-2-08)

xi. A copy or sample of the completion certificate; and (4-2-08)

xii. A copy of the evaluation card. (4-2-08)

c. Certificates of Completion. Certificates of completion must contain the following: (4-2-08)

i. The date of the program; (4-2-08)
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ii. The title of the program; (4-2-08)

iii. The location of the program; (4-2-08)

iv. The name of the sponsor; (4-2-08)

v. The number of hours of credit completed; (4-2-08)

vi. The name of the attendee; (4-2-08)

vii. The license number of the attendee; (4-2-08)

viii. The name of the instructor; and (4-2-08)

ix. The Idaho course approval number. (4-2-08)

d. Evaluation Cards. Evaluation cards or forms must be pre-addressed to the Division of Building 
Safety and must include the following: (4-2-08)

i. The date of the program; (4-2-08)

ii. The title of the program; (4-2-08)

iii. The location of the program; (4-2-08)

iv. The instructor’s name; (4-2-08)

v. An evaluation of the course (for example: poor, fair, good, very good, excellent); and (4-2-08)

vi. An evaluation of the instructor’s presentation skills. (4-2-08)

056. Appeals. Appeals for courses that have been denied approval shall be submitted in writing and 
shall be presented to the Idaho Electrical Board within thirty (30) days for review. Decision by the Idaho Electrical 
Board on the appeal shall be final. Any further appeal shall be to the district court as provided by the Idaho 
Administrative Procedure Act (Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code) as an appeal from a final agency action in a 
contested case proceeding. (4-2-08)

067. Instructor Approval Procedures. (4-2-08)

a. Instructor approvals shall be effective for one (1) code cycle. (4-2-08)

b. An application for instructor approval may be obtained from the Division of Building Safety, 1090 
E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho 83642, or from the Division of Building Safety’s website at http://
dbs.idaho.gov. Documentation of the instructor qualifications must be included with the instructor application. The 
minimum qualification for an instructor shall be established by providing proof of one (1) of the following:

(4-11-15)

i. Current and active master or journeyman electrician license; (4-2-08)

ii. An appropriate degree related to the electrical field; or (4-2-08)

iii. Other recognized experience or certification in the subject matter to be presented. (4-2-08)

c. Any person denied instructor approval may appeal to the Idaho Electrical Board within thirty (30) 
days. Decision by the Idaho Electrical Board on the appeal shall be final. Any further appeal shall be to the district 
court as provided by the Idaho Administrative Procedure Act (Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code) as an appeal from a 
final agency action in a contested case proceeding. (4-2-08)
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078. Revocation of Approval. (4-2-08)

a. The Idaho Electrical Board may revoke, suspend, or cancel the approval of any continuing 
education program or instructor if the Idaho Electrical Board determines that the program or instruction does not meet 
the intent of furthering the education of electricians. Grounds for revocation of approval shall include, but not be 
limited to: (4-2-08)

i. Failure of the instructor to substantially follow the approved course materials; (4-2-08)

ii. Failure to deliver instruction for the full amount of time approved for the course; or (4-2-08)

iii. Substantial dissatisfaction with the instructor’s presentation or the content of the course or 
materials by the class attendees or representatives of the Division of Building Safety or Idaho Electrical Board.

(4-2-08)

b. Decision by the Idaho Electrical Board on the appeal shall be final. Any further appeal shall be to 
the district court as provided by the Idaho Administrative Procedure Act (Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code), as an 
appeal from a final agency action in a contested case proceeding. (4-2-08)

089. Requirements for Credit. In order for a licensee to receive credit for attending a class, the 
following requirements must be met: (4-2-08)

a. The class must have prior approval by the Division of Building Safety or a state that is reciprocal 
with Idaho for continuing education; (4-11-15)

b. The instructors must be approved instructors for the program; (4-2-08)

c. The licensee must submit a copy of the certificate of completion to the Division of Building Safety; 
and (4-11-15)

d. The course provider must provide a roster of attendees to include the name, license number, and the 
number of hours to be credited. (4-2-08)

10. Board and Negotiated Rulemaking Meetings. Licensees may receive up to eight (8) hours of 
industry-related continuing education credits by attending eight (8) hours of board meetings or electrical negotiated 
rulemaking meetings. (        )

0911. Schedule of Approved Classes. The Division of Building Safety shall publish a list of approved 
classes at a minimum of once a year. This list shall be forwarded to all states that are members of the continuing 
education reciprocal agreement and shall be made available to any licensee via the Division of Building Safety’s 
website or by mail. (4-11-15)
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07.01.08 – RULES GOVERNING ELECTRICAL INSPECTION TAG APPEALS

DOCKET NO. 07-0108-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 96 through 
98.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Many provisions in IDAPA 07.01.08 have not been updated to account for changes in technology, terminology 
and procedures used by the Division of Building Safety in issuing electrical permits and conducting electrical 
inspections. Further, recent amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology for conducting 
electrical inspections and issuing electrical permits.

This rulemaking updates procedures and terminology for and conducting electrical inspection appeals in IDAPA 
07.01.08. These updates align IDAPA 07.01.08 with technology, terminology and procedures currently used by the 
Division of Building Safety in issuing electrical permits and conducting electrical inspections and with recently 
passed amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 44-45.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
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IDAPA 07
TITLE 01

CHAPTER 08

07.01.08 – RULES GOVERNING ELECTRICAL INSPECTION TAG APPEALS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
The Idaho Electrical Board is authorized under Sections 54-1005 and 54-1006(5), Idaho Code, to adopt rules 
concerning the administrative appeals of electrical inspections tags to the administrator of the Division of Building 
Safety. (7-1-98)(        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 07.01.08, “Rules Governing Electrical Inspection Tag Appeals,” Division of 
Building Safety. The rules contained in this chapter govern the appeal of electrical inspections performed tags issued
by the Electrical Bureau Division of Building Safety on electrical installations that do not meet the requirements of 
state law, the administrative rules promulgated by the Electrical Board, or the National Electrical Code NFPA 70 as 
adopted by Idaho law. (7-1-98)(        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.
This agency has no written interpretations of this chapter. The referenced code may be obtained from the National 
Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101 is available at all 
Division of Building Safety offices. (7-1-98)(        )

003. EXEMPTION FROM ATTORNEY GENERAL’S ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE RULES FOR 
CONTESTED CASES.
Pursuant to Section 67-5206(5), Idaho Code, the procedures contained in Subchapter B, “Contested Cases,” of 
IDAPA 04.11.01, “Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the Attorney General,” Sections 100 through 799 do 
not apply to electrical inspections tag appeals. (7-1-98)(        )

004. REASONS FOR EXEMPTION FROM ATTORNEY GENERAL’S ADMINISTRATIVE 
PROCEDURE RULES.
In order to protect consumers from unsafe electrical installations and to prevent unnecessary delays and increased 
costs in construction projects, the rules of procedure in this chapter are adopted to promote the speedy expedited
resolution of contested cases involving electrical inspections tags. (7-1-98)(        )

005. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no documents that have been incorporated by reference into this rule. (        )

006. OFFICE – OFFICE HOURS – MAILING ADDRESS AND STREET ADDRESS.
The principal place of business of the Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, is in Meridian, Idaho. The office 
is located at 1090 E. Watertower Street, Meridian, Idaho and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Saturday, Sunday 
and legal holidays. The mailing address is: Division of Building Safety, Electrical Bureau, 1090 E. Watertower Street, 
Meridian, Idaho 83642. (        )

007. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0108-1801
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0058. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. APPEALS.
In order to determine the suitability of materials and methods of wiring and to provide for interpretations of the 
provisions of the National Electrical Code NFPA 70, the creation of an electrical appeals board is hereby authorized 
by the administrator of the Division of Building Safety, to be composed of three (3) members of the Idaho Electrical 
Board, or an electrical supervisor and two (2) members of the Idaho Electrical Board, as determined and selected by 
the administrator upon receipt of a written notice of appeal as set forth below. (7-1-98)(        )

01. Notice of Appeal. A person, firm, or corporation making an electrical installation subject to the 
provisions of Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, may appeal, to the administrator, a decision by the Electrical Bureau 
chief, chief electrical inspector, Program Manager or other electrical inspector, that a particular electrical installation 
is not in conformance with Idaho Code, these rules, or the National Electrical Code as adopted by Idaho law. An 
appeal must be lodged by filing a written notice of appeal with the administrator within ten (10) days of the date of 
issuance of a notice of defects correction issued pursuant to Section 54-1004, Idaho Code. The notice of appeal shall 
state in particular the reasons why the appellant contends that the notice of defects is incorrect. (7-1-98)(        )

02. Filing Date. If mailed, the notice of appeal shall be considered filed as of the date of postmark. The 
mailing address for filing such notice of appeal shall be to the administrator, Division of Building Safety, P.O. Box 
83720, Boise 1090 W. Watertower Street, Suite 150, Meridian, Idaho, 83720-0028 83642. (7-1-98)(        )

03. Appeals Board. The members of the Idaho Electrical Board and other persons appointed by the 
administrator to act as the appeals board, are authorized to hold hearings at the Division of Building Safety in Boise
Meridian, Idaho, to determine the merits of an appeal filed pursuant to this rule. (7-1-98)(        )

04. Function of Appeals Board. The members of the Idaho Electrical Board, acting as an appeals 
board, shall not have the authority to grant variances from the National Electrical Code; its sole function as an appeals 
board shall be to determine whether the materials or method of wiring utilized by the appellant meets the 
requirements of the National Electrical Code. (11-5-81)

05. Appeals Hearing Fee. An appeals hearing fee of one hundred dollars ($100) shall be charged to an 
appellant for each appeal brought before the appeals board. The appeals hearing fee shall accompany the notice of 
appeal. When the appeal is found in favor of the appellant, the appeals hearing fee shall be returned to the appellant.

(11-5-81)

06. Conditions Disqualifying Board Member. No Idaho Electrical Board member shall sit on an 
appeals board in which he or his employer, employee, business partner or any person related to him, is the appellant 
in the matter. or where he has a pecuniary interest in the outcome of the matter to be decided by the appeals board.

(7-1-98)

07. Rules of Evidence. The rules of evidence for the hearing are governed by the Idaho Administrative 
Procedures Act, Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (11-5-81)

08. Limitations of Appeal. The filing of an appeal does not stay or discontinue a red tag, disconnect 
order, or notification to the power company not to connect or energize, in situations where the defect is of a nature so 
as to be an imminent threat to life or property. (11-5-81)(        )

09. Preliminary Order. Within five (5) days of the conclusion of the administrative hearing, the 
appeals board shall issue a preliminary order. The preliminary order will become a final order without further notice 
unless reviewed by the administrator, or review is requested by any party to the inspection tag appeal, pursuant to the 
provisions of Section 67-5245, Idaho Code. When a preliminary order is reviewed by the administrator, the 
administrator will issue a final order pursuant to the requirements of Sections 67-5245 and 67-5246, Idaho Code.

(7-1-98)(        )

10. Motions for Reconsideration. Motions for reconsideration of the appeal board’s preliminary order 
or of the administrator’s final order are not allowed. (7-1-98)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.01.11 – RULES GOVERNING CIVIL PENALTIES

DOCKET NO. 07-0111-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 99 through 
101.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 332-7147.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1006, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Recent amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code, updated terminology for electrical facility accounts and 
electrical licensing and registration.

This rulemaking updates terminology for electrical facility accounts and electrical licensing and registration in 
IDAPA 07.01.11. These updates align the terminology in IDAPA 07.01.11 with terminology in recently passed 
amendments to Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho Code.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, pages 46-47.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Warren Wing, Electrical Program Manager, at (208) 
332-7147.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 1st day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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006. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.
The rules contained herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code, 
and are public records. (        )

0047. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. CIVIL PENALTIES.
The following acts shall subject the violator to penalties based on the following schedule. (3-30-01)

01. Electrical Contractor. Except as provided by Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, any person who acts, 
or purports to act as an electrical contractor, as defined by Section 54-1003A, Idaho Code, without a valid Idaho state 
electrical contractor’s license shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the 
first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)

02. Employees. Any person, who knowingly employs a person who does not hold a valid Idaho state 
electrical license or registration as required by Section 54-1010, Idaho Code, and IDAPA 07.01.03, “Rules of 
Electrical Licensing and Registration,” to perform electrical installations, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not 
more than two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)

03. License or Registration. Except as provided by Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, any person 
performing electrical work as a journeyman electrician as defined by Section 54-1003A(2), Idaho Code, specialty 
electrician limited electrical installer as defined by Section 54-1003A(6), Idaho Code, apprentice electrician as 
defined by Section 54-1003A(3), Idaho Code, or a specialty limited electrical installer trainee as defined by Section 
54-1003A(8), Idaho Code, without a valid license or registration shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than 
two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for 
each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)(        )

04. Journeyman to Apprentice Ratio. Any electrical contractor or industrial facility account 
employing electricians in violation of the journeyman to apprentice ratio established by the Idaho Electrical Board 
shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty 
of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)(        )

05. Supervision. Any contractor failing to provide constant on-the-job supervision to apprentice 
electricians or trainees by a qualified journeyman electrician or limited electrical installer shall be subject to a civil 
penalty of not more than two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)(        )

06. Performance Outside Scope of License. Any specialty limited electrical contractor or specialty
limited electrical journeyman installer performing electrical installations, alterations or maintenance outside the 
scope of the specialty contractor’s or installer’s limited electrical license shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)(        )

07. Fees and Permits. Any person failing to pay applicable fees or properly post an electrical permit 
shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty 
of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)

08. Corrections. Any person who fails to make corrections in the time allotted in the notice on any 
electrical installation as set forth in Section 54-1004, Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than 
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two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for 
each offense thereafter. (3-30-01)

09. Failure to Disclose. Any applicant for an electrical registration, license, or certificate of 
competency who upon request fails to disclose any required information including, but not limited to, their complete 
licensure history or the fact that they have been previously licensed as a journeyman or master electrician in any 
recognized jurisdiction, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than two hundred dollars ($200) for the first 
offense and a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense thereafter. (4-11-15)

10. Gross Violation. In the case of continued, repeated or gross violation of Title 54, Chapter 10, Idaho 
Code, or IDAPA 07.01.03, a license revocation shall be initiated for licensees under this chapter and nonlicensees 
shall be subject to prosecution by the appropriate jurisdiction under Idaho law. (3-30-01)

11. Judicial Review. Any party aggrieved by the final action of the Idaho Electrical Board shall be 
entitled to a judicial review thereof in accordance with the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (3-30-01)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.02.06 – RULES CONCERNING IDAHO STATE PLUMBING CODE

DOCKET NO. 07-0206-1702

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2606, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 13-19.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact John Nielsen, Plumbing Program Manager, at (208) 332-7112.

Dated this 30th day of August, 2018.

Ron Whitney
Deputy Administrator
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2606, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 15, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Section 603.5.12 of the 2017 Idaho State Plumbing Code (ISPC) requires potable water supply to beverage 
dispensers or coffee machines to be protected by an air gap or reduced pressure principle backflow prevention 
assembly. Installation of a reduced pressure principle backflow prevention assembly is not necessary to protect 
potable water supply to beverage dispensers or coffee machines because beverage dispensers and coffee machines are 
not considered highly hazardous. Allowing installation of vented backflow preventers instead of reduced pressure 
principle backflow prevention assemblies on beverage dispensers and coffee machines will result in significant cost 
savings for consumers installing beverage dispensers or coffee machines.

Due to the difficulty of complying with a restriction on installing cleanouts under the floor, residential builders 
are increasingly installing large cleanouts above the floor. Plumbers, builders, and home buyers have complained 
about the aesthetics of large cleanouts installed above the floor.

In 2016, the U.S. Department of Energy changed its method for determining the first hour rating (number of 
gallons required) of residential water heaters, resulting in revised ratings. Manufacturers were required to display the 
revised ratings starting in June 2017. Revising the ratings in Table 501.1(1) of the 2017 ISPC to reflect the new 
method for determining ratings will allow plumbing contractors and inspectors to easily match the ratings on 
manufacturer displays with the ratings in Table 501.1(1).

This rulemaking revises Section 603.5.12 to require potable water supply to beverage dispensers or coffee 
machines to be protected by an air gap or vented backflow preventer. This rulemaking also revises Section 707.4 of 
the 2017 ISPC to allow water closets to act as cleanouts and require installation of exterior, two-way cleanouts. 
Finally, this rulemaking replaces the first hour ratings currently in Table 501.1(1) with ratings calculated using the 
U.S. Department of Energy’s revised method for determining ratings.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the October 4, 2017 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 17-10, pages 45-46, in the February 7, 2018 Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-2, 
pages 22-23, and in the May 2, 2018 Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-5, pages 45-46.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:
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Section 603.5.12 of the 2017 Idaho State Plumbing Code (ISPC) requires potable water supply to beverage 
dispensers or coffee machines to be protected by an air gap or reduced pressure principle backflow prevention 
assembly. This rulemaking revises Section 603.5.12 to require potable water supply to beverage dispensers or coffee 
machines to be protected by an air gap or vented backflow preventer.

This rulemaking revises Section 707.4 of the 2017 ISPC to allow water closets to act as cleanouts and require 
installation of exterior, two-way cleanouts.

This rulemaking replaces the first hour ratings currently in Table 501.1(1) of the 2017 ISPC with ratings 
calculated using the U.S. Department of Energy’s revised method for determining ratings.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact John Nielsen, Plumbing Program Manager, at (208) 332-
7112.
 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 6th day of July 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Incorporation By Reference Synopsis (IBRS)

011. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF THE IDAHO STATE PLUMBING 
CODE.
The Idaho State Plumbing Code published in 2017, including Appendices “A, B, C, D, E, G, I, J, K and L,” (herein 
ISPC) is adopted and incorporated by reference with amendments as prescribed by the Idaho Plumbing Board and 
contained in this Section. The Idaho State Plumbing Code is modeled after the 2015 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC). 
The Idaho State Plumbing Code is available at the Division of Building Safety offices located at 1090 E. Watertower 
St., Suite 150, Meridian, Idaho 83642; 1250 Ironwood Dr., Ste. 220, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814; and 2055 Garrett 
Way, Building 1, Suite 4, Pocatello, Idaho 83201. It may also be accessed electronically online at http://
dbs.idaho.gov/. (3-29-17)

01. Section 105.3 Testing of Systems. (3-29-17)

a. Delete and replace the following: Plumbing systems shall be tested and approved in accordance 
with this code or the Authority Having Jurisdiction. Tests may be conducted in the presence of the Authority Having 
Jurisdiction or the Authority Having Jurisdiction’s duly appointed representative. (3-29-17)

b. No test or inspection shall be required where a plumbing system, or part thereof, is set up for 
exhibition purposes and has no connection with a water or drainage system. In cases where it would be impractical to 
provide the required water or air tests, or the presences of the Authority Having Jurisdiction, or for minor installations 
and repairs, the Authority Having Jurisdiction, in accordance with procedures established thereby, shall be permitted 
to make such inspection as deemed advisable in accordance with the intent of this code. Joints and connections in the 
plumbing system shall be gastight and watertight for the pressures required by the test. (3-29-17)

02. Section 218 Definitions. Delete definition of “Plumbing System.” Incorporate definition of 
“Plumbing System” as set forth in Section 54-2604, Idaho Code. (3-29-17)
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03. Section 314.4 Excavations. Add: Where unsuitable or soft material is encountered, excavate to a 
depth not less than two (2) pipe diameters below the pipe and replace with select backfill. Such backfill shall be sand, 
fine gravel, or stone and shall provide lateral support for the pipe. Where rock is encountered, the trench shall be 
excavated to a minimum depth of six (6) inches (152 mm) below the bottom of the pipe. Sand shall be added to 
provide uniform bedding and support for the pipe. The pipe shall not rest on any rock at any point, including joints.

(3-29-17)

04. Section 401.2 Qualities of Fixtures. Replace with the following: Plumbing fixtures shall be 
constructed of dense, durable, non-absorbent materials and shall have smooth, impervious surfaces, free from 
unnecessary concealed fouling surfaces. (3-29-17)

05. Section 403.3 Exposed Pipes and Surfaces. Delete. (3-29-17)

06. Section 407.4 Transient Public Lavatories. Self-closing or self-closing metering faucets may be 
installed on lavatories intended to serve the transient public, such as those in, but not limited to, service stations, train 
stations, airports, restaurants, convention halls, and rest stops. Installed metered faucets shall deliver a maximum of 
zero point two six (0.26) gallons (one point zero (1.0) liter) of water per use. (3-29-17)

07. Section 408.5 Finished Curb or Threshold. Delete the last sentences of the first paragraph and 
replace with the following: The finished floor of the receptor shall slope uniformly from the sides toward the drain 
not less than one-eighth (1/8) inch per foot (20.8 mm/m), nor more than one-half (1/2) inch per foot (41.8 mm/m).

(3-29-17)

08. Section 408.7.5 Tests for Shower Receptors. Delete. (3-29-17)

09. Section 409.4 Limitation of Hot Water in Bathtubs and Whirlpool Bathtubs. Delete.
(3-29-17)

10. Table 501.1(1) First Hour Rating. Delete Table 501.1(1) and replace with the following:

TABLE 501.1(1) FIRST HOUR RATING1

For SI units: one (1) gallon = 3.785 L
Notes:
1 The first hour rating is found on the “Energy Guide” label.
2 Solar water heaters shall be sized to meet the appropriate first hour rating as shown in the table. (        )

101. Section 503.1 Inspection of Chimneys or Vents. Add the following to the end of section 503.1: 
Water heating appliances using Category 3 or 4 exhaust venting shall be tested in its entirety with five (5) pounds of 
air for fifteen (15) minutes. Plastic vents shall be constructed using manufacturer’s instructions. (3-29-17)

112. Section 507.2 Seismic Provisions. Delete. (3-29-17)

123. Section 507.13 Installation in Garages. Replace 507.13 with the following: Any plumbing 
appliance or appurtenance in residential garages and in adjacent spaces that open to the garage and are not part of the 
living space of a dwelling unit shall be installed so that burners, burner-ignition devices or other sources of ignition 
are located not less than eighteen (18) inches (450 mm) above the floor unless listed as flammable vapor ignition 
resistant. (3-29-17)

134. Table 603.2 Backflow Prevention Devices, Assemblies and Methods. (3-29-17)

Number of Bathrooms 1 to 1.5 2 to 2.5 3 to 3.5

Number of Bedrooms 1 2 3 2 3 4 5 3 4 5 6

First Hour Rating,2 Gallons 38 49 49 49 62 62 74 62 74 74 74
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a. Delete from the table the entire row related to freeze resistant sanitary yard hydrant devices.
(3-29-17)

b. Delete the backflow preventer for Carbonated Beverage Dispensers text from the first column of 
the table and replace with the following: Backflow preventer for Carbonated Beverage Dispensers (Reduced Pressure 
Principle Backflow Prevention Assembly). (3-29-17)

145. Section 603.5.7 Outlets with Hose Attachments. Delete and replace with the following: Potable 
water outlets with hose attachments, other than water heater drains, boiler drains, freeze resistant yard hydrants and 
clothes washer connections, shall be protected by a nonremovable hose bibb-type backflow preventer, a 
nonremovable hose bibb-type vacuum breaker, or by an atmospheric vacuum breaker installed not less than six (6) 
inches (one hundred fifty-two (152) mm) above the highest point of usage located on the discharge side of the last 
valve. In climates where freezing temperatures occur, a listed self-draining frost-proof hose bibb with an integral 
backflow preventer or vacuum breaker shall be used. (3-28-18)

156. Section 603.5.12 Beverage Dispensers. Delete and replace with the following: Potable water 
supply to beverage dispensers, carbonated beverage dispensers, or coffee machines shall be protected by an air gap or 
a Reduced Pressure Principle Backflow Prevention Assembly in accordance with ASSE 1013. For carbonated 
beverage dispensers, piping material installed downstream of the backflow preventer shall not be affected by carbon 
dioxide gas. Potable water supply to beverage dispensers and coffee machines shall be protected by an air gap or a 
vented backflow preventer in accordance with ASSE 1022. (3-29-17)(        )

167. Section 603.5.17 Potable Water Outlets and Valves. Delete. (3-29-17)

178. Section 603.5.21 Chemical Dispensers. Add the following new section 603.5.21: The water 
supply to chemical dispensers shall be protected against backflow. The chemical dispenser shall comply with ASSE 
1055 or the water supply shall be protected by one of the following methods: (3-29-17)

a. Air gap; (3-29-17)

b. Atmospheric vacuum breaker (AVB); (3-29-17)

c. Pressure vacuum breaker backflow prevention assembly (PVB); (3-29-17)

d. Spill-resistant pressure vacuum breaker (SVB); or (3-29-17)

e. Reduced-pressure principle backflow prevention assembly (RP). (3-29-17)

189. Section 604.10.1 Tracer Wire. Add the following exception: Where the electrical wiring for the 
pump is installed in the same trench as the water line, from the point of origin to the structure, a tracer wire shall not 
be required. (3-28-18)

1920. Section 605.6.2 Mechanical Joints. Add to the end of the section the following: Listed PE 
(polyethylene), one hundred sixty (160) psi minimum, water service and yard piping may be installed within a 
building (above ground and below ground) with one (1) joint, provided that only listed and approved metallic 
transition fittings shall be used. Polyethylene (PE) plastic pipe or tubing and fitting joining methods shall be installed 
in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation instructions. (3-29-17)

201. Section 609.1 Installation. Delete the following sentence: Building supply yard piping shall be not 
less than twelve (12) inches (305 mm) below the average local frost depth; and replace it with the following: The 
cover shall be not less than forty-two (42) inches (1068mm) below grade. (3-29-17)

212. Section 609.4 Testing. Testing. Deleting the phrase “Except for plastic piping,” at the beginning of 
the third sentence and add the following sentence at the end of the section: Plastic piping is to be tested in accordance 
with manufacturer’s installation standards. (3-25-13)

223. Section 609.10 Water Hammer. Does not apply to residential construction. (3-25-13)
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234. Section 609.11 Pipe Insulation. Delete. (3-29-17)

245. Table 610.3 and Appendix Table A 103.1. Change fixture unit loading value for both public and 
private for bathtub or combination bath/shower, and clothes washers to two (2) fixture units. (3-29-17)

256. Section 610.2 Pressure Loss. Add the following: All new one (1) and two (2) family residences 
built slab on grade or that will have a finished basement at the time of final inspection must have a pre-plumbed water 
softener loop. The kitchen sink must have one (1) hot soft line and one (1) cold soft line and one (1) cold hard line. 
Exterior cold hose bibbs intended for irrigation purposes must be piped with hard water. (3-29-17)

267. Table 611.4 Sizing of Residential Softeners. Amend Footnote 3 to read: Over four (4) bathroom 
groups, softeners shall be sized according to the manufacturer’s standards. (3-29-17)

278. Section 612.0 Residential Sprinkler System. Add the following to the end of the first sentence in 
section 612.1: and the requirements of the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ). (3-29-17)

289. Table 702.1 Drainage Fixture Unit Valves (DFU). Change fixture unit loading value for clothes 
washers, domestic for private to two (2) fixture units. (3-29-17)

2930. Section 703.1 Minimum Size. Add the following at the end of section 703.1: No portion of the 
drainage or vent system installed underground, underground under concrete or below a basement or cellar shall be 
less than two (2) inches in diameter. (3-29-17)

301. Section 704.2 Single Vertical Drainage Pipe. Two inch (2”) and smaller double sanitary tees may 
be used for back to back or side by side fixture trap arms without increasing the barrel size. (3-29-17)

312. Section 704.3 Commercial Sinks. Delete. (3-29-17)

323. Table 703.2 Maximum Unit Loading and Maximum Length of Drainage and Vent Piping. 
Change fixture unit loading value for one and a half (1 1/2) inch horizontal drainage to two (2) fixture units.

(3-29-17)

334. Section 705.5.2 Solvent Cement Joints. Add to the end of the section the following: PVC DWV 
may be joined by the use of one-step solvent cement listed or labeled per U.P.C. Section 301.1.1. (3-29-17)

345. Section 707.4 Locations. Add Delete and replace with the following: Each horizontal drainage 
pipe shall be provided with a cleanout at its upper terminal, and each run of piping, that is more than one hundred 
(100) feet (30,480 mm) in total developed length, shall be provided with a cleanout for each one hundred (100) feet 
(30,480 mm), or fraction thereof, in length of such piping. An additional cleanout shall be provided in a drainage line 
for each aggregate horizontal change in direction exceeding one hundred thirty-five (135) degrees (2.36 rad). A 
cleanout shall be installed above the fixture connection fitting, serving each urinal, regardless of the location of the 
urinal in the building. A clean out shall be installed for double sanitary tees two (2) inches (50 mm) or less in 
diameter that receive the discharge from fixture connections.; the Eexceptions in Section 707.4 shall not apply. A full-
sized accessible cleanout shall be installed in the vertical immediately above the floor or at the base of each waste or 
soil stack. An approved, full-size, two-way cleanout extending to or above the finished grade line shall be installed at 
the junction of the building drain and the building sewer. Cleanouts shall be installed at fifty (50) foot intervals in on 
a horizontal drain lines two (2) inches or smaller. The following exceptions apply (3-29-17)(        )

a. Cleanouts shall be permitted to be omitted on a horizontal drain line less than five (5) feet (1524 
mm) in length unless such line is serving sinks or urinals. (        )

b. Cleanouts shall be permitted to be omitted on a horizontal drainage pipe installed on a slope of 
seventy-two (72) degrees (1.26 rad) or less from the vertical angle (one-fifth (1/5) bend). (        )

c. Excepting the building drain, its horizontal branches, and urinals, a cleanout shall not be required 
on a pipe or piping that is above the floor level of the lowest floor of the building. (        )
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d. If the total developed length of the waste line is less than one hundred (100) feet, a water closet 
shall be permitted to be substituted for an upper terminal cleanout or a base of stack cleanout. (        )

356. Section 710.3(4) Sewage Ejectors and Pumps. Add: Exception (4): One (1) pump shall be 
permitted for “public use” occupancies provided that such tank receives the discharge of not more than one (1) water 
closet and ten (10) fixture units (See Section 710.9 Alarms). (3-29-17)

367. Section 710.5 Size Building Drains and Sewers. Add the following exception: In single family 
dwellings, one (1) fixture unit may be allowed for each gallon per minute of flow from a pump or a sump ejector.

(3-29-17)

378. Section 712.1 Media. In the first sentence, delete the phrase “except that plastic pipe shall not be 
tested with air.” (3-25-13)

389. Section 717.0 Size of Building Sewers. Add the following to the end of section 717.1: Exception: 
The building drain and building sewer is not less than four (4) inches extending from its connection with the city or 
private sewer system and shall run full size to inside the foundation or building lines. (3-29-17)

3940. Section 723.0 General. Delete the following sentence: “Plastic DWV piping systems shall not be 
tested by the air test method.” (3-29-17)

401. Section 801.3.3 Food Handling Fixtures. Add: Food preparation sinks, pot sinks, scullery sinks, 
dishwashing sinks, silverware sinks, commercial dishwashing machines, silverware-washing machines, steam 
kettles, potato peelers, ice cream dipper wells, and other similar equipment and fixtures must be indirectly connected 
to the drainage system by means of an air gap. The piping from the equipment to the receptor must not be smaller 
than the drain on the unit, but it must not be smaller than one (1) inch (twenty-five and four tenths (25.4) mm).

(3-29-17)

412. Section 805.41 General. Add to the end of the first paragraph the following: Provisions must be 
made for the discharge of the water softener to terminate in an approved location. The drain line for a water softener 
must be three-fourths (3/4) inch minimum. A washer box with a dual outlet is an approved location as long as it is on 
the same floor or one (1) floor below the softener unit and the water softener drain line is a minimum three-fourths (3/
4) inch. (3-29-17)

423. Section 807.3 Domestic Dishwashing Machines. A domestic dishwashing machine may be 
installed without the use of an airgap if the drain hose is looped to the bottom side of the counter top and secured 
properly. (3-29-17)

434. Section 906.1 Roof Termination. Delete the existing provision and replace with the following:
(3-29-17)

a. Roof venting. When conventional roof venting is utilized, each vent pipe or stack shall extend 
through its flashing and shall terminate vertically not less than six (6) inches (one hundred fifty-two (152) mm) above 
the roof nor less than one (1) foot (three hundred five (305) mm) from any vertical surface. (4-2-08)

b. Sidewall venting. When sidewall venting is utilized, the vent shall extend flush with the eaves/
gable end, shall turn down using a ninety (90) degree ell, and shall terminate as close to the roof peak as possible. The 
vent end must be properly screened. Sidewall venting is acceptable on new or remodel construction on cabins, log 
homes, and residential or commercial buildings. (4-2-08)

c. Sidewall venting must meet the intent of Section 906.2 of the ISPC. (3-25-13)

445. Section 908.1 Vertical Wet Venting. Add to the end of the section the following: A horizontal wet 
vent may be created provided it is created in a vertical position and all other requirements of Section 908 of the ISPC 
are met. (3-29-17)
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456. Section 909.0 Special Venting for Island Fixtures. Add: Parameters for the limited use of Air 
Admittance Valves (A.A.V.). (3-29-17)

a. An A.A.V. may be used only in residential buildings. (4-2-08)

b. In remodels, an A.A.V. may be used with island fixtures or remotely located sinks such as in bar, 
kitchen, or laundry tray locations. An A.A.V. shall not be used in bathroom groups. (4-2-08)

c. In new construction, an A.A.V. may be used on island fixture sinks. (4-2-08)

d. Each A.A.V. may be used to vent only one (1) floor. (4-2-08)

e. Each A.A.V. must be readily accessible. (4-2-08)

f. The cross-sectional area of venting must remain the same and must meet the largest required 
building drain. (4-2-08)

g. An A.A.V. shall only be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation standards as 
per ASSE 1051. (4-2-08)

h. An A.A.V. may not be used in an attic, crawl space, outside installation, or in connection with 
chemical or acid waste systems. (4-2-08)

467. Section 1002.3 Change of Direction. Trap arms may not exceed one hundred eighty (180) degrees 
of horizontal turn without the use of a cleanout. (3-29-17)

478. Section 1007.0 Trap Seal Protection. Delete section 1007.1 and replace with the following: Floor 
drains or similar traps directly connected to the drainage system and subject to infrequent use shall be protected with 
a trap seal primer or other approved trap seal protection device, except where not deemed necessary for safety or 
sanitation by the Authority Having Jurisdiction. Trap seal primers shall be accessible for maintenance. (3-29-17)

489. Section 1016.1 Discharge. Add the following to the end of section 1016.1: Floor drains installed in 
residential garages shall be permitted to use the interceptor as the fixture trap. (3-29-17)

4950. Section 1502.1 General. Add to this section the following paragraph: Plumbing for a gray water 
system from any fixture up to, but not to include the exterior irrigation system tank shall be inspected by the 
Authority Having Jurisdiction. The Idaho Department of Environmental Quality (IDEQ) shall have jurisdiction to 
inspect and approve the installation of the exterior irrigation system tank and all piping therefrom to the point of 
disposal in accordance with IDAPA 58.01.03, “Individual/Subsurface Sewage Disposal Rules.” Gray water system 
location and design criteria requirements related to irrigation and leaching shall be determined in accordance with the 
requirements as established by the IDEQ. (3-29-17)
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07.03.01 – RULES OF BUILDING SAFETY

DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-4107 and 39-4109, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 22 through 33.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Jeff Egan, Building Program Manager, at (208) 481-1355.

Dated this 1st day of November, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 39-4107 and 39-4109, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Recent amendments to Sections 39-4109 and 39-4116, Idaho Code, remove part IV as it pertains to energy 
conservation from the adopted version of the International Residential Code (IRC). This rulemaking will implement 
those amendments by removing IDAPA 07.03.01.004.02.p. (Chapter 11 Energy Efficiency) from the adopted version 
of the IRC and references to Chapter 11 from the adopted version of the International Energy Conservation Code 
(IECC).

Table C404.5.1 of the adopted version of the IECC identifies maximum piping lengths for hot water piping from 
a hot water source to the termination of the fixture supply pipe. The maximum lengths for public lavatory faucets are 
unnecessarily short. The minimal energy savings that result from these short maximum piping lengths do not justify 
the difficulty and cost of creating design and construction solutions. This rulemaking will increase the maximum 
piping lengths for public lavatory faucets in table C404.5.1. The proposed maximum piping lengths take into 
consideration energy savings while reducing cost and providing for a more efficient installation.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the April 4, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-4, pages 14-15.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:

This rulemaking will implement recent amendments to Sections 39-4109 and 39-4116, Idaho Code, by removing 
IDAPA 07.03.01.004.02.p. (Chapter 11 Energy Efficiency) from the adopted version of the IRC and references to 
Chapter 11 from the adopted version of the IECC. This rulemaking will also increase the maximum piping lengths for 
public lavatory faucets in table C404.5.1 of the adopted version of the IECC.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jeff Egan, Building Program Manager, at (208) 481-
1366.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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Dated this 28th day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo and Incorporation By Reference Synopsis (IBRS)

004. ADOPTION AND INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
Under the provisions of Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, the codes enumerated in this Section are hereby adopted and 
incorporated by reference into IDAPA 07.03.01, “Rules of Building Safety,” Division of Building Safety. Pursuant to 
Section 39-4109, Idaho Code, the effective date of any edition of the codes adopted in this Section, or any 
amendments identified thereto, shall be January 1 of the succeeding year following legislative approval of the 
rulemaking establishing the edition or amendment. Copies of these documents may be reviewed at the office of the 
Division of Building Safety. The referenced codes may be obtained from International Code Council, 5360 Workman 
Mill Road, Whittier, California 90601-2298 or the International Code Council at http://www.iccsafe.org. (3-20-14)

01. International Building Code. 2015 Edition with the following amendments: (3-29-17)

a. Delete section 305.2.3 and replace with the following: Twelve (12) or fewer children in a dwelling 
unit. A facility such as the above within a dwelling unit and having twelve (12) or fewer children receiving such day 
care shall be classified as a Group R-3 occupancy or shall comply with the International Residential Code. (3-20-14)

b. Delete section 308.6.4 and replace with the following: Persons receiving care in a dwelling unit. A 
facility such as the above within a dwelling unit and having twelve (12) or fewer children receiving day care or 
having five (5) or fewer persons receiving custodial care shall be classified as a Group R-3 occupancy or shall comply 
with the International Residential Code. (3-20-14)

c. Delete section 310.5 and replace with the following: Residential Group R-3. Residential Group R-3 
occupancies where the occupants are primarily permanent in nature and not classified as Group R-1, R-2, R-4, E or I, 
including: (3-29-17)

i. Buildings that do not contain more than two (2) dwelling units; (3-20-14)

ii. Boarding houses (nontransient) with sixteen (16) or fewer occupants; (3-20-14)

iii. Boarding houses (transient) with ten (10) or fewer occupants; (3-20-14)

iv. Care facilities that provide accommodations for five (5) or fewer persons receiving care; (3-20-14)

v. Congregate living facilities (nontransient) with sixteen (16) or fewer occupants; (3-20-14)

vi. Congregate living facilities (transient) with ten (10) or fewer occupants; or (3-20-14)

vii. Dwelling units providing day care for twelve (12) or fewer children. (3-20-14)

viii. Lodging houses with five (5) or fewer guest rooms. (3-29-17)

d. Delete section 310.5.1 and replace with the following: Care facilities within a dwelling. Care 
facilities for twelve (12) or fewer children receiving day care or for five (5) or fewer persons receiving care that are 
within a single-family dwelling are permitted to comply with the International Residential Code. (3-20-14)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 07-0301-1801
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e. Delete the last paragraph of section 2107.2.1 Lap Splices, and replace with the following: In 
regions of moment where the design tensile stresses in the reinforcement are greater than eighty percent (80%) of the 
allowable steel tension stress, FS, the lap length of splices shall be increased not less than fifty percent (50%) of the 
minimum required length, but need not be greater than 72 db. Other equivalent means of stress transfer to accomplish 
the same fifty percent (50%) increase shall be permitted. Where epoxy coated bars are used, lap length shall be 
increased by fifty percent (50%). (3-28-18)

f. Add footnote (f) in the header row of the table column labeled “Drinking Fountains” of Table 
2902.1 Minimum Number of Required Plumbing Fixtures, and add footnote (f) under Table 2902.1 to state the 
following: Drinking fountains are not required for an occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer. (3-29-17)

g. Delete footnote (e) contained under Table 2902.1 Minimum Number of Required Plumbing 
Fixtures and replace with the following: For business occupancies, excluding restaurants, and mercantile occupancies 
with an occupant load of thirty (30) or fewer, service sinks shall not be required. (3-29-17)

02. International Residential Code. 2012 Edition with the following amendments: (3-20-14)

a. Delete exception No. 1 contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope. (3-20-14)

b. Delete exception No. 2 contained under IRC section R101.2 - Scope, and replace with the 
following: Owner-occupied lodging houses with five (5) or fewer guestrooms shall be permitted to be constructed in 
accordance with the International Residential Code for One- and Two-family Dwellings. (4-11-15)

c. Delete item No. 7 contained under the “Building” subsection of IRC section R105.2 - Work exempt 
from permit, and replace with the following: Prefabricated swimming pools that are not greater than four (4) feet (one 
thousand, two hundred nineteen (1219) mm) deep. (4-7-11)

d. Add the following item No. 11 at the end of the “Building” subsection of IRC section R105.2 - 
Work exempt from permit: Flag poles. (3-20-14)

e. Delete IRC section R109.1.3 and replace with the following: Floodplain inspections. For 
construction in areas prone to flooding as established by Table R301.2(1), upon placement of the lowest floor, 
including basement, the building official is authorized to require submission of documentation of the elevation of the 
lowest floor, including basement, required in section R322. (3-29-10)

f. IRC Table R302.1(1) Exterior Walls -- delete Table R302.1(1) and replace with the following:

TABLE R302.1(1)
EXTERIOR WALLS

EXTERIOR WALL ELEMENT MINIMUM FIRE-RESISTANCE 
RATING

MINIMUM FIRE 
SEPARATION 

DISTANCE

Walls
Fire-resistance rated

1 hour-tested in accordance with 
ASTM E 119 or UL263 with 
exposure from both sides

< 3 feet

Not fire-resistance rated 0 hours ≥ 3 feet

Projections
Fire-resistance rated 1 hour on the underside ≥ 2 feet to < 3 feet

Not fire-resistance rated 0 hours ≥ 3 feet
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For SI: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.
N/A = Not Applicable (4-11-15)

g. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R302.2 -- Townhouses, and replace with the 
following two (2) exceptions: (3-25-16)

i. When provided with an automatic fire sprinkler system per section R313.1, a common one (1)-hour 
fire-resistance-rated wall assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E 119 or UL 263 is permitted for townhouses if 
such walls do not contain plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts, or vents in the cavity of the common wall. The 
wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides, and shall extend to and be tight against exterior walls and the 
underside of the roof sheathing. Penetrations of electrical outlet boxes shall be in accordance with Section R302.4.

(3-25-16)

ii. Two (2) one (1)-hour fire-resistance-rated wall assemblies (as specified in Section R302.1) or a 
common two (2)-hour fire-resistance-rated wall assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E 119 or UL 263 are 
permitted for townhouses. If two (2) one (1)-hour fire-resistance-rated walls are used, plumbing and electrical 
installations within the wall cavity shall conform to fire-resistance penetration requirements in accordance with 
section R302.4 through R302.4.2 for each of the two (2) one (1)-hour rated walls penetrated. The two (2)-hour fire-
resistance-rated common wall shall not contain plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents within its wall 
cavity. The wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides, and shall extend to and be tight against the exterior 
walls and the underside of the roof sheathing. Penetrations of electrical outlet boxes shall be in accordance with 
Section R302.4. (3-25-16)

h. Delete IRC section R303.4 and replace with the following: R303.4 Mechanical Ventilation. 
Dwelling units shall be provided with whole-house mechanical ventilation in accordance with Section M1507.3

Exception: Where the air infiltration rate of a dwelling unit is equal to 5 air changes per hour or greater when 
tested with a blower door at a pressure of 0.2 inch w.c. (50 pa) in accordance with Section N1102.4.1.2. (4-11-15)

i. Delete the exception contained under IRC section R313.1 -- Townhouse automatic fire sprinkler 
systems, and replace with the following: Exception: Automatic residential fire sprinkler systems shall not be required 
in townhouses where either two (2) one (1)-hour fire-resistance-rated walls or a common two (2)-hour fire-resistance 
rated wall, as specified in exception 2 of section R302.2 is installed between dwelling units or when additions or 
alterations are made to existing townhouses that do not have an automatic residential fire sprinkler system installed.

(3-25-16)

j. Delete IRC section R313.2. (3-29-10)

k. Add the following to IRC section R315.3 - Where required in existing dwellings: Exceptions: 1. 
Work involving the exterior surfaces of dwellings, such as, but not limited to, replacement of roofing or siding, or the 
addition or replacement of windows or doors, or the addition of a porch or deck or electrical permits, are exempt from 
the requirements of this section; and 2. Installation, alteration or repairs of noncombustion plumbing or mechanical 
systems are exempt from the requirements of this section. (3-20-14)

Openings
in

Walls

Not allowed N/A < 3 feet

25% maximum of wall area 0 hours ≥ 3 feet to < 5 feet

Unlimited 0 hours 5 feet

Penetrations All
Comply with Section R302.4 < 3 feet

None required ≥ 3 feet

EXTERIOR WALL ELEMENT MINIMUM FIRE-RESISTANCE 
RATING

MINIMUM FIRE 
SEPARATION 

DISTANCE
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l. Delete IRC section R322.1.10. (3-29-10)

m. Delete IRC section R322.2.2 subparagraph 2.2, and replace with the following: The total net area of 
all openings shall be at least one (1) square inch (645 mm2) for each square foot (0.093 m2) of enclosed area, or the 
opening shall be designed and the construction documents shall include a statement that the design and installation of 
the openings will provide for equalization of hydrostatic flood forces on exterior walls by allowing the automatic 
entry and exit of floodwaters. (3-20-14)

n. Delete IRC section R501.3 and its exceptions. (3-20-14)

o. Delete IRC section R602.10 and replace with the following: Wall bracing. Buildings shall be 
braced in accordance with this section or, when applicable section R602.12, or the most current edition of APA 
System Report SR-102 as an alternate method. Where a building, or portion thereof, does not comply with one (1) or 
more of the bracing requirements in this section, those portions shall be designated and constructed in accordance 
with section R301.1. (3-20-14)

p. Chapter 11 [RE] Energy Efficiency - The following sections and tables of chapter 11 shall be 
amended in accordance with the requirements contained below in Subsection 004.04 of these rules which correspond 
to the appropriate section: (3-20-14)

i. Table N1102.1.1 (Table R402.1.1) - Insulation and Fenestration Requirements by Component;
(3-20-14)

ii. Table N1102.1.3 (Table R402.1.3 - Equivalent U-Factors; (3-20-14)

iii. Table N1102.2.6 (Table R402.2.6) - Steel-Frame Ceiling, Wall and Floor Insulation (R-Value);
(3-20-14)

iv. Section N1102.4.1 (R402.4.1) Building Thermal Envelope; (3-20-14)

v. Section N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1) - Insulation; (3-20-14)

vi. Table N1102.4.1.1 (Table R402.4.1.1) - Air Barrier and Insulation Installation; (3-20-14)

vii. Section N1102.4.1.2 (R402.4.1.2) Testing Option; (3-20-14)

viii. Add Section N1102.4.1.3 (R402.4.1.3) - Visual Inspection Option; (3-20-14)

ix. Add Section N1102.6 (R402.6) - Residential Log Home Thermal Envelope; (3-20-14)

x. Add Table N1102.6 (Table R402.6) - Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope Requirements by 
Component; and (3-20-14)

xi. Section N1104.1 (R404.1) - Lighting Equipment. (3-20-14)

q. Add an Appendix R, titled Tiny Homes to include the following provisions: (3-28-18)

i. Section AR101 Scope. This appendix shall be applicable to tiny houses used as single dwelling 
units. Tiny houses shall comply with this code except as otherwise stated in this appendix. (3-28-18)

ii. Section AR102 Definitions. The following words and terms shall, for the purposes of this appendix, 
have the meanings shown herein. Refer to Chapter 2 of this code for general definitions. (3-28-18)

(1) Tiny House. A dwelling that is four hundred (400) square feet (thirty-seven (37) m) or less in floor 
area excluding lofts. (3-28-18)

(2) Escape and Rescue Roof Access Window. A skylight or roof window designed and installed to  
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satisfy the emergency escape and rescue opening requirements in Section R310. (3-28-18)

(3) Landing Platform.  A landing provided as the top step of a stairway accessing a loft. (3-28-18)

(4) Loft. A floor level located more than thirty (30) inches (762 mm) above the main floor and open to 
it on at least one (1) side with a ceiling height of less than six (6) feet eight (8) inches (2032 mm), used as a living or 
sleeping space. (3-28-18)

(iii) Section AR103 Minimum Ceiling Height. Habitable space and hallways in tiny houses shall have a 
ceiling height of not less than six (6) feet eight (8) inches (2032 mm). Bathrooms, toilet rooms, and kitchens shall 
have a ceiling height of not less than six (6) feet four (4) inches (1930 mm). Obstructions shall not extend below these 
minimum ceiling heights including beams, girders, ducts, lighting and other obstructions. Exception: Ceiling heights 
in lofts are permitted to be less than six (6) feet eight (8) inches (2032 mm) (3-28-18)

iv. Section AR104 Lofts. (3-28-18)

(1) AR104.1 Minimum loft area and dimensions.  Lofts used as a sleeping or living space shall meet the 
minimum area and dimension requirements of Sections AR104.1.1 through AR104.1.3. (3-28-18)

(a) AR104.1.1 Minimum area. Lofts shall have a floor area of not less than thirty-five (35) square feet 
(3.25 m ). (3-28-18)

(b) AR104.1.2 Minimum dimensions.  Lofts shall be not less than five (5) feet (1524 mm) in any 
horizontal dimension. (3-28-18)

(c) AR104.1.3 Height effect on loft area.  Portions of a loft with a sloping ceiling measuring less than 
three (3) feet (914 mm) from the finished floor to the finished ceiling shall not be considered as contributing to the 
minimum required area for the loft. Exception: Under gable roofs with a minimum slope of 6:12, portions of a loft 
with a  sloping ceiling measuring less than 16 inches (406 mm) from the finished floor to the finished ceiling shall not 
be considered as contributing to the minimum required area for the loft. (3-28-18)

(2) AR104.2 Loft Access.  The access to and primary egress from lofts shall be any type described in 
Sections AR104.3 through AR104.6. (3-28-18)

(3) AR104.3. Stairways.  Stairways accessing lofts shall comply with this code or with Sections 
AR104.3.1 through AR104.3.5. (3-28-18)

(a) AR104.3.1 Width.  Stairways accessing a loft shall not be less than seventeen (17) inches (432 mm) 
in clear width at or above the handrail. The minimum width below the handrail shall be not less than twenty (20) 
inches (508 mm). (3-28-18)

(b) AR104.3.2 Headroom.  The headroom in stairways accessing a loft shall be not less than six (6) feet 
two (2) inches (1880 mm), as measured vertically, from a sloped line connecting the tread or landing platform nosings 
in the middle of their width. Exception:  The headroom for a landing platform, where stairways access lofts, shall be 
not less than four (4) feet six (6) inches (1372 mm). (3-28-18)

(c) AR104.3.3 Treads and Risers.  Risers for stairs accessing a loft shall be not less than seven (7) 
inches (178 mm) and not more than twelve (12) inches (305 mm) in height. Tread depth and riser height shall be 
calculated in accordance with one of the following formulas: (3-28-18)

(i) The tread depth shall be twenty (20) inches (508 mm) minus 4/3 of the riser height, or (3-28-18)

(ii) The riser height shall be fifteen (15) inches (381 mm) minus 3/4 of the tread depth. (3-28-18)

(d) AR104.3.4 Landing Platforms.  The top tread and riser of stairways accessing lofts shall be 
constructed as a landing platform where the loft ceiling height is less than six (6) feet two (2) inches (1880 mm) 
where the stairway meets the loft. The landing platform shall be eighteen (18) inches to twenty-two (22) inches (457 
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to 559 mm) in depth measured from the nosing of the landing platform to the edge of the loft, and sixteen (16) to 
eighteen (18) inches (406 to 457 mm) in height measured from the landing platform to the loft floor. (3-28-18)

(e) AR104.3.5 Stairway Handrails.  Handrails shall comply with Section R311.7.8. (3-28-18)

(f) AR104.3.6 Stairway Guards.  Guards at open sides of stairways shall comply with Section R312.1.
(3-28-18)

(4) AR104.4 Ladders.  Ladders accessing lofts shall comply with Sections AR104.4.1 and AR104.4.2.
(3-28-18)

(a) AR104.4.1 Ladder Size and Capacity. Ladders accessing lofts shall have a rung width of not less 
than twelve  (12) inches (305 mm) and ten (10) inches (254 mm) to fourteen (14) inches (356 mm) spacing between 
rungs. Ladders shall be capable of supporting a two hundred (200) pound (75 kg) load on any rung. Rung spacing 
shall be uniform within 3/8-inch (9.5 mm). (3-28-18)

(b) AR104.4.2 Ladder Incline.  Ladders shall be installed at seventy (70) to eighty (80) degrees from 
horizontal. (3-28-18)

(5) AR104.5 Alternating Tread Devices. Alternating tread devices accessing lofts, and handrails of 
alternating tread devices shall comply  with sections 1011.14.1 and 1011.14.2 of the International Building Code, 
excluding the exception. The clear width at and below the handrails shall be not less than twenty (20) inches (508 
mm). (3-28-18)

(6) AR104.6. Ships Ladders.  Ships ladders accessing lofts, and treads and handrails of ships ladders 
shall comply with sections 1011.15.1 and 1011.15.2 of the International Building Code. The clear width at and below 
handrails shall be not less than twenty (20) inches (508 mm). (3-28-18)

(7) AR104.7 Loft Guards.  Loft guards shall be located along the open side of lofts. Loft guards shall 
not be less than thirty-six (36) inches (914 mm) in height or one (1)-half of the clear height to the ceiling, whichever 
is less. (3-28-18)

v. SECTION AR105. Emergency Escape and Rescue Openings. Tiny houses shall meet the 
requirements of Section R310 for emergency  escape and rescue openings. Exception: Escape and rescue roof access 
windows in lofts used as sleeping rooms shall be deemed  to meet three (3) requirements of Section R310 where 
installed such that the bottom of the opening is not more than forty-four (44) inches (1118 mm) above the loft floor, 
provided the escape and rescue roof access window complies with the minimum opening area requirements of 
Section R310. (3-28-18)

03. International Existing Building Code. 2015 Edition. (3-29-17)

04. International Energy Conservation Code. 2015 Edition with the following amendments:
(3-29-17)

a. Delete the Residential Provisions of the 2015 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) set 
forth in chapters 1 [RE] through 6 [RE], including Appendix RA (pages R-1 through R-57), and replace with the 
Residential Provisions of the 2012 IECC set forth therein in chapters 1 [RE] through 5 [RE] (pages R-1 through R-
47) and as such provisions may be further amended herein these rules. (3-29-17)

b. Add the following as new subsection C101.5.3: Industrial, electronic, and manufacturing 
equipment. Buildings or portions thereof that are heated or cooled exclusively to maintain the required operating 
temperature of industrial, electronic, or manufacturing equipment shall be exempt from the provisions of this code. 
Such buildings or portions thereof shall be separated from connected conditioned space by building thermal envelope 
assemblies complying with this code. (3-25-16)

c. Add the following exception No. (10) under section C403.3 Economizers (Prescriptive): Unusual 
outdoor air contaminate conditions – Systems where special outside air filtration and treatment for the reduction and 
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treatment of unusual outdoor contaminants, makes an air economizer infeasible. (3-29-17)

d. Delete Table C404.5.1 and replace with the following:

For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm; 1 foot = 304.8 mm; 1 liquid ounce = 0.030 L; 1 gallon = 128 ounces. (        )

de. Delete the values contained in Table R402.1.1 (Table N1102.1.1) for climate zone “5 and Marine 4” 
and climate zone “6” and replace with the following:

TABLE C404.5.1
PIPING VOLUME AND MAXIMUM PIPING LENGTHS

NOMINAL
PIPE SIZE 
(inches)

VOLUME
(liquid ounces 

per foot length)

MAXIMUM PIPING LENGTH (feet)

Public lavatory faucets Other fixtures 
and appliances

1/4 0.33 31 50

5/16 0.5 N/A - non-standard size 50

3/8 0.75 17 50

1/2 1.5 10 43

5/8 2 7 32

3/4 3 5 21

7/8 4 N/A - non-standard size 16

1 5 3 13

1 1/4 8 2 8

1 1/2 11 1 6

2 or larger 18 1 4
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Clim
Zo

ace 

e

5 a
Mari

6

(3-20-14)(        )

ef. Add the following footnote to the title of Table R402.1.1 - Insulation and Fenestration 
Requirements by Component: k. For residential log home building thermal envelope construction requirements see 
section R402.6. (3-25-16)

fg. Delete the values contained in Table R402.1.3 (Table N1102.1.3) for climate zone “5 and Marine 4” 
and climate zone “6” and replace with the following:

(3-20-14)(        )

gh. Delete Table R402.2.6 (Table N1102.2.6) and replace with the following:

TABLE R402.1.1
INSULATION AND FENESTRATION REQUIREMENTS BY COMPONENT

ate 
ne

Fenestration 
U- Factor

Skylight 
U-factor

Glazed 
Fenestration 

SHGC

Ceiling
R-Value

Wood 
Frame 
Wall

R-Value

Mass 
Wall

R-Value

Floor
R-Value

Basement 
Wall

R-Value

Slab
R-Value

Crawlsp
Wall

R-Valu

nd 
ne 4 0.35 0.60 NR 38 20 or 

13+5h 13/17 30g 10/13 10, 2 ft 10/13

0.35 0.60 NR 49 20 or 
13+5h 15/19 30g 15/19 10, 4 ft 10/13

TABLE R402.1.3
EQUIVALENT U-FACTORS

Climate 
Zone

Fenestration
U-factor

Skylight
U-factor

Ceiling
R-Value

Wood Frame 
Wall

R-Value

Mass Wall 
R-Value

Floor
R-Value

Basement 
Wall

R-Value

Crawlspace 
Wall

R-Value

5 and 
Marine 4 0.35 0.60 0.030 0.057 0.082 0.033 0.059 0.065

6 0.35 0.60 0.026 0.057 0.060 0.033 0.050 0.065

TABLE R402.2.6
STEEL-FRAME CEILING, WALL AND FLOOR INSULATION

(R-VALUE)

Wood Frame
R-value Requirement Cold-formed Steel Equivalent R-valuea

Steel Truss Ceilingsb

R-30 R-38 or R-30 + 3 or R-26 + 5

R-38 R-49 or R-38 +3

R-49 R-38 + 5

a. Cavity insulation R-value is listed first, followed by continuous insulation R-value.
b. Insulation exceeding the height of the framing shall cover the framing. 
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(3-25-16)(        )

hi. Delete section R402.4.1 (N1102.4.1) and replace with the following: Building thermal envelope. 
The building thermal envelope shall comply with sections R402.1.1 and either section R402.4.1.2 or R402.4.1.3. The 
sealing methods between dissimilar materials shall allow for differential expansion and contraction. (3-25-16)(        )

ij. Delete section R402.4.1.1 (N1102.4.1.1) and replace with the following: Installation. The 
components of the building thermal envelope as listed in Table R402.4.1.1 shall be installed in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s instructions and the criteria listed in Table R402.4.1.1, as applicable to the method of construction.

(3-25-16)(        )

jk. Delete the criteria requirement for the “Fireplace” component of Table R402.4.1.1 (Table 
N1102.4.1.1) - Air Barrier and Insulation Installation, and replace with the following: An air barrier shall be installed 
on fireplace walls. (3-20-14)(        )

kl. Delete section R402.4.1.2 (N1102.4.1.2) and replace with the following: Testing option, Building 
envelope tightness and insulation installation shall be considered acceptable when tested air leakage is less than seven 
(7) air changes per hour (ACH) when tested with a blower door at a pressure of 33.5 psf (50 Pa). Testing shall occur 
after rough in and after installation of penetrations of the building envelope, including penetrations for utilities, 
plumbing, electrical, ventilation and combustion appliances. During testing: (3-25-16)(        )

i. Exterior windows and doors, fireplace and stove doors shall be closed, but not sealed; (3-20-14)

ii. Dampers shall be closed, but not sealed, including exhaust, intake, makeup air, backdraft and flue 
dampers; (3-20-14)

iii. Interior doors shall be open; (3-20-14)

iv. Exterior openings for continuous ventilation systems and heat recovery ventilators shall be closed 

Steel Joist Ceilingsb

R-30 R-38 in 2 x 4 or 2 x 6 or 2 x 8 R-49 in any framing

R-38 R-49 in 2 x 4 or 2 x 6 or 2 x 8 or 2 x 10

Steel-Framed Wall
R-13 R-13 + 5 or R-15 + 4 or R-21 + 3 or R-0 + 10

R-19 R-13 + 9 or R-19 + 8 or R-25 + 7

R-21 R-13 + 10 or R-19 + 9 or R-25 + 8

Steel Joist Floor

R-13 R-19 in 2 x 6
R-19 + 6 in 2 x 8 or 2 x 10

R-19 R-19 + 6 in 2 x 6
R-19 + 12 in 2 x 8 or 2 x 10

TABLE R402.2.6
STEEL-FRAME CEILING, WALL AND FLOOR INSULATION

(R-VALUE)

Wood Frame
R-value Requirement Cold-formed Steel Equivalent R-valuea

a. Cavity insulation R-value is listed first, followed by continuous insulation R-value.
b. Insulation exceeding the height of the framing shall cover the framing. 
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and sealed; (3-20-14)

v. Heating and cooling system(s) shall be turned off; (3-20-14)

vi. HVAC ducts shall not be sealed; and (3-20-14)

vii. Supply and return registers shall not be sealed. (3-20-14)

lm. Add the following as section R402.4.1.3 (N1102.4.1.3): Visual inspection option, Building 
envelope tightness and insulation installation shall be considered acceptable when the items listed in Table 
R402.4.1.1, applicable to the method of construction, are field verified. Where required by code official an approved 
party independent from the installer of the insulation shall inspect the air barrier and insulation. (3-25-16)(        )

mn. Add the following section: R402.6 (N1102.6) Residential Log Home Thermal Envelope. 
Residential log home construction shall comply with sections R401 (General), R402.4 (Air Leakage), R402.5 
(Maximum Fenestration U-Factor and SHGC), R403.1 (Controls), R403.2.2 (Sealing), R403.2.3 (Building Cavities), 
sections R403.3 through R403.9 (referred to as the mandatory provisions), Section R404 (Electrical Power and 
Lighting Systems), and either i., ii., or iii. as follows: (3-25-16)(        )

i. Sections R402.2 through R402.3, R403.2.1, R404.1 and Table R402.6; (3-25-16)

ii. Section R405 Simulated Performance Alternative (Performance); or (3-25-16)

iii. REScheck (U.S. Department of Energy Building Codes Program). (4-7-11)

no. Add Table R402.6 (Table N1102.6) Log Home Prescriptive Thermal Envelope Requirements By 
Component to be used only in accordance with item i. of section R402.6 above to appear as follows:
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(3-25-16)(        )

op. Delete section R404.1 (N1104.1) and replace with the following: Lighting equipment (Mandatory). 
A minimum of fifty percent (50%) of the lamps in permanently installed lighting fixtures shall be high-efficacy lamps 
or a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of the permanently installed lighting fixtures shall contain only high efficacy 
lamps. (3-20-14)(        )

05. References to Other Codes. Where any provisions of the codes that are adopted in this Section 
make reference to other construction and safety-related model codes or standards which have not been adopted by the 
involved authority having jurisdiction, to the extent possible, such reference should be construed as pertaining to the 
equivalent code or standard that has been duly adopted by such jurisdiction. (3-29-10)

TABLE R402.6 
LOG HOME PRESCRIPTIVE THERMAL ENVELOPE REQUIREMENTS BY COMPONENT

For SI: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.

Climate 
Zone

Fenestration
U-factora

Skylight 
U-factor

Glazed 
Fenestration

SHGC

Ceiling 
R-value

Min. 
Average 

Log 
Size In 
Inches

Floor
R-value

Basement
Wall

R-valued

Slab 
R-value

& 
Depthb

Crawl 
Space 
Wall

R-valued

5, 6 - High 
efficiency 
equipment 

pathc

0.32 0.60 NR 49 5 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/13

5 0.32 0.60 NR 49 8 30 10/13 10, 2 ft. 10/13

6 0.30 0.60 NR 49 8 30 15/19 10, 4 ft. 10/13

a. The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed fenestration.

b. R-5 shall be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.

c. 90% AFUE natural gas or propane, 84% AFUE oil, or 15 SEER heat pump heating equipment (zonal electric 
resistance heating equipment such as electric base board electric resistance heating equipment as the sole source for 
heating is considered compliant with the high efficiency equipment path).

d. “15/19” means R-15 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-19 cavity insulation at 
the interior of the basement wall. “15/19” shall be permitted to be met with R-13 cavity insulation on the interior of the 
basement wall plus R-5 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home. “10/13” means R-10 
continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity insulation at the interior of the 
basement wall. 
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07.05.01 – RULES OF THE PUBLIC WORKS CONTRACTORS LICENSE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 07-0501-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1907 and 54-1910, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 20-22.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator, at (208) 332-7150.

Dated this 30th day of August, 2018.

Ron Whitney
Deputy Administrator
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1907 and 54-1910, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 15, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Under Section 54-1910(a), Idaho Code, a public works contractor licensee must designate an individual qualified 
by examination (QI). If a QI ceases “to be connected” with the contractor, the contractor must notify the administrator 
of the Division of Building Safety (Division) “in writing within ten (10) days.” If the contractor provides notice in ten 
(10) days, the contractor’s license remains in force “for a reasonable length of time, to be determined by rules of the 
board.” If the contractor does not provide notice in ten (10) days, the contractor’s license is automatically suspended.

There is no rule that defines how long “a reasonable time length of time” is. Further, the Division cannot always 
determine what constitutes written notice that a QI has ceased to be connected with a contractor or when a QI has 
ceased to be connected with a contractor.

This proposed rulemaking will define a QI, determine the “reasonable length of time” a contractor’s license will 
remain in force, and clarify that notice that a contractor’s QI has ceased to be connected with the contractor must be 
provided on forms prescribed by the administrator.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the June 6, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-6, pages 28-29.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator, at (208) 332-7150.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 9th day of July 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

010. DEFINITIONS.
As used in these rules. (7-1-93)

01. Administrator. Refers to the administrator of the Division of Building Safety. (3-20-04)

02. Applicant. Shall mean any person who has filed an application with the administrator. (3-20-04)

03. Board. Refers to the Public Works Contractors License Board which is created within the Idaho 
Division of Building Safety as set forth in Title 54, Chapter 19, Idaho Code. (3-20-04)

04. Compiled. Refers to a type of financial statement in which the information presented is based 
solely upon representations by an organization’s management. (3-20-04)

05. Estimated Cost. For the purposes of the application of Section 54-1903(i), Idaho Code, the term 
“estimated cost” shall refer to the total aggregate amount of the value of all the separate or individual jobs, parts, 
components, or undertakings involved in the construction of a single project when combined and considered as a 
whole, regardless of the types of trades, sub-contracts, work, or other individual aspects involved, and without regard 
to the number of trades or crafts that are involved. (3-29-10)

06. Financial Statement. A balance sheet and income statement prepared in accordance with generally 
accepted accounting principles. (3-20-04)

07. Incidental Work. Shall mean work, the nature of which does not require any additional trade 
licenses and which may be carried out in conjunction with an activity for which the licensee is licensed, but is not 
intended to produce an amount of income over ten percent (10%) of the total bid amount. (3-20-04)

08. Independent Audit Report. A report prepared by an independent certified public accountant 
presenting such auditor’s opinion on the fairness of the organization’s financial statements and prepared in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing standards. (3-20-04)

09. Licensee. Includes any individual proprietor, partnership, limited liability partnership, limited 
liability company, corporation, joint venture, or other business organization holding a current, unrevoked public 
works contractor license. (3-20-04)

10. Petitioner. Shall mean: (7-1-93)

a. Any licensee who has filed with the Board a written request for the change or addition to the types 
of construction for which he is licensed; (7-1-93)

b. Any applicant or licensee requesting a rehearing in any proceeding or appealing from the final 
decision or order of the administrator or the Board; (3-20-04)

c. Any interested person requesting the promulgation, amendment or repeal of a rule; or (7-1-93)

d. Any interested person requesting a declaratory ruling on the applicability of the License Act or of 
any rule or order of the Board. (7-1-93)
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11. Qualified Individual. The person qualifying by examination as to the experience and knowledge 
required by Section 54-1910(a), Idaho Code. (        )

112. Reviewed. Refers to a financial statement that is accompanied by the opinion of a certified public 
accountant stating that, based upon representations by the organization’s management, the reviewer has a reasonable 
basis for expressing limited assurance that there are no material modifications that should be made to the financial 
statements in order for the statements to be in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. (3-20-04)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

113. INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIED BY EXAMINATION.

01. Written Notice. Written notice, required by Section 54-1910(a), Idaho Code, that the Qualified 
Individual of a public works contractor has ceased to be connected with the contractor shall be provided to the 
Administrator on forms prescribed by the Administrator. Such notice must indicate the date the Qualified Individual 
ceased to be connected with the contractor. (        )

02. Reasonable Length of Time. If a public works contractor notifies the Administrator that the 
contractor’s Qualified Individual has ceased to be connected with the contractor, the contractor’s license will remain 
in force for ninety (90) days from the date of the notice. (        )

1134. -- 198. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.07.01 – RULES GOVERNING INSTALLATION OF HEATING, VENTILATION, 

AND AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS, DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

DOCKET NO. 07-0701-1703

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5005, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 23-24.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact John Nielsen, HVAC Program Manager, at (208) 332-7112.

Dated this 30th day of August, 2018.

Ron Whitney
Deputy Administrator
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5005, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 15, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) apprentices must currently complete four (4) years of work 
experience to take the journeyman examination. Further, in 2006, the Idaho HVAC Board (Board) approved giving 
apprentices who successfully complete a full-time, one-year training course credit for one (1) year of work 
experience. The Division of Building Safety stopped giving such credit to apprentices when it discovered that the 
Board’s decision conflicted with a rule requiring that work experience be completed on the job and not in an 
educational setting.

This rulemaking will allow apprentices to take the journeyman examination before completing four (4) years of 
work experience. This proposed rulemaking will also allow apprentices who successfully complete a Board-
approved, full-time, one-year training course to receive credit for up to one (1) year of work experience.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the October 4, 2017 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 17-10, pages 47-48, and in the February 7, 2018 Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 
18-2, pages 24-25.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact John Nielsen, HVAC Program Manager, at (208) 332-
7112.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 6th day of July 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

023. HVAC JOURNEYMAN CERTIFICATES OF COMPETENCY: REQUIREMENTS.

01. Experience. Demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the board, a minimum of four (4) years’ experience 
working in the trade, in compliance with the requirements of the state in which the applicant received his supervision, 
or as a registered HVAC apprentice making HVAC installations on the job under the supervision of a qualified HVAC 
journeyman. Notwithstanding the requirement that an HVAC apprentice demonstrate four (4) years of on-the-job 
work experience under the supervision of a qualified HVAC journeyman, any HVAC apprentice who successfully 
completes a Board-approved, full-time, one (1)-academic-year HVAC training course may receive credit for up to 
one (1) year of on-the-job work experience. (4-11-06)(        )

02. Education. Successfully complete any required apprenticeship training courses. (3-16-04)

03. Examination. Applicants for certification as HVAC journeymen must successfully complete the 
examination designated by the board. (3-16-04)

a. Each HVAC apprentice who desires to take the HVAC journeyman examination shall complete a 
Board-approved training course as described in Subsection 025.02 of these rules prior to the date of the examination 
and provide a certificate of completion with the apprentice’s application for examination. There is no minimum work 
experience requirement to be eligible to take the HVAC journeyman examination. (        )

b. The Division shall not issue a certificate of competency to an HVAC apprentice until the apprentice 
furnishes to the Division proof of satisfaction of the requirements contained in Subsection 023.01 of these rules and 
successful completion of the journeyman examination. (        )

04. Out of State Journeyman Applications. (3-24-17)

a. Exhibition of a license issued by another recognized jurisdiction may be accepted as proof of 
meeting the experience and schooling requirements listed in Subsections 023.01 and 023.02 of these rules. An 
application for a journeyman certificate of competency from an individual previously licensed as a journeyman in 
another jurisdiction recognized by the Idaho HVAC Board shall include satisfactory proof of licensure in such 
jurisdiction. The applicant shall pay all applicable application and examination fees to the Division, and successfully 
complete the journeyman examination administered by the Division. (3-24-17)

b. An application for a journeyman certificate of competency from an individual who has never been 
previously licensed as a journeyman in a jurisdiction recognized by the Idaho HVAC Board shall include evidence 
that demonstrates that the applicant has four (4) years, defined as eight thousand (8,000) hours of HVAC work 
experience or a nature at least equivalent to that which a HVAC apprentice must perform in Idaho, as well as four (4) 
years of schooling equivalent to that which a HVAC apprentice must complete in Idaho. Alternatively, such an 
applicant may submit sufficient proof verifying eight (8) years, defined as a minimum of sixteen thousand (16,000) 
hours of HVAC work experience of a nature at least equivalent to that which a HVAC apprentice must perform in 
Idaho. Upon submission of sufficient proof of having completed such experience and schooling requirements, such 
applicant shall also pay all applicable application and examination fees to the Division, and successfully complete the 
journeyman examination administered by the Division. (3-24-17)
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IDAPA 07 – DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
07.10.01 – RULES GOVERNING THE DAMAGE PREVENTION BOARD, 

DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY

DOCKET NO. 07-1001-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 55-2203 and 55-2211, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 102 through 
105.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration, at (208) 332-7150.

Dated this 28th day of September, 2018.

Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator – Administration
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower St., Ste. 150
P. O. Box 83720
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 332-7150
Fax: (877) 810-2840
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-1001-1801
Rules Governing the Damage Prevention Board PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 55-2203 and 55-2211, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The Damage Prevention Board has authority under Idaho Code sections 55-2203 and 55-2211 to hear contested 
case appeals. The parties requesting these appeals often do not attend the appeal hearings or pay penalties imposed at 
significant cost to the Board and Division of Building Safety.

Idaho Code section 55-2203 requires the Board to “review complaints alleging violations . . . including, . . . 
inaccurate location of facilities [and] untimely location of facilities.” However, locators are not subject to civil 
penalties under IDAPA 07.10.01.

IDAPA 07.10.01.008 refers to underground “utility” owners in several places. However, Title 55, Chapter 22, 
Idaho Code, only refers to underground “facility” owners.

This rulemaking will require parties requesting appeals to pay an appeal bond of $200 to appeal. This rulemaking 
will also change any reference to “underground utility owners” in IDAPA 07.10.01.008 to “underground facility 
owners.” Finally, this rulemaking will define locators and subject them to civil penalties.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the May 2, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-5, pages 51-52.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Ron Whitney, Deputy Administrator - Administration, at 
(208) 332-7150.
 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.
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Rules Governing the Damage Prevention Board PENDING RULE
LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.

01. Governing Procedural Requirements. IDAPA 04.11.01, “Idaho Rules of Administrative 
Procedure of the Attorney General,” Section 100, et seq., shall apply to contested cases, in addition to the provisions 
of Title 55, Chapter 22, Idaho Code. (3-24-17)(        )

02. Appeal Bond. Upon notice of the imposition of training or a civil penalty, the notified party may 
contest the imposition of such before the Damage Prevention Board in accordance with Section 018 of these rules. An 
appeal bond in the amount of two hundred dollars ($200) shall accompany the request for hearing to contest the 
matter. In the case of training, the Division of Building Safety shall refund the bond if the contesting party appears at 
the hearing. In the case of a civil penalty, the Division shall refund any portion of the bond not used to satisfy the 
penalty imposed by the Board or the entire bond if the contesting party prevails at the hearing. (        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

007. DEFINITIONS.

01. Hand Digging. Any excavation involving non-mechanized tools or equipment that when used 
properly will not damage underground facilities. Hand digging includes but is not limited to hand shovel digging, 
manual post hole digging, vacuum excavation, or soft digging. (3-28-18)

02. Locator. A person who identifies and marks the location of an underground facility owned or 
operated by an underground facility owner. (        )

023. Soft Digging. Any excavation using tools or equipment that utilize air or water pressure as the 
direct means to break up soil or earth for removal by vacuum excavation. (3-28-18)

008. FUNDING OF BOARD ACTIVITIES.
Each owner of an underground facility shall pay a fee of ten cents ($.10) each time such owner receives notice from a 
one-number notification service as required by Section 55-2205, Idaho Code. The fee assessed upon the underground 
facility owner shall be collected by the one-number notification service, and shall be payable to the board in accord 
with the following schedule: (3-24-17)

01. Fee Assessed. The fee shall be assessed on an underground facility owner for each notification 
issued by the one-number notification service to the underground facility owner, with the one-number notification 
service required to submit a summary of the number of notices issued in a given month to the board no later than 
fifteen (15) days following the end of the month in which the notices were issued. (3-24-17)

02. Payment Submission. The one-number notification service shall submit payment to the board for 
all payments received from underground facility owners no later than seventy (70) days following the end of the 
month in which the notices were issued to the facility owners. In those cases where the payment from the 
underground utility facility owner is received after the seventy-day (70) period, the one-number service shall include 
late payments in its next payment to the board. (3-24-17)(        )
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DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY Docket No. 07-1001-1801
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03. Notices Issued. The one-number notification service shall also submit a detailed list of notices 
issued, including the facility owner’s contact information, for which payment has not been received within the 
seventy (70) day period following the end of the month in which the notices were issued. Such list shall be updated on 
a monthly basis to reflect the status of all past-due payments due from underground utility facility owners that have 
not been received. (3-24-17)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

020. CIVIL PENALTIES.
The Idaho Damage Prevention Board is authorized under Section 55-2203(17), Idaho Code, to establish by 
administrative rule the fines to be paid for civil penalties issued for violations of Title 55, Chapter 22, Idaho Code. To 
the extent authorized by Section 55-2211, Idaho Code, the acts described in this section shall subject the violator to a 
civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for a second offense and a civil penalty of not more than 
five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each offense that occurs thereafter within eighteen (18) months from an earlier 
violation, and where facility damage has occurred. (3-28-18)

01. Violations of Title 55, Chapter 22, Idaho Code. The following acts shall subject a person to civil 
penalties: (3-28-18)

a. Pre-marking Excavation Site. Any person who fails to adequately pre-mark onsite the path of 
proposed excavation as reasonably required under the circumstances in accordance with Section 55-2205(1)(b), 
Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

b. Notice of Excavation. Any person who fails to provide notice of the scheduled commencement of 
excavation to any underground facility owner through a one-number notification service, or directly to a facility 
owner, as applicable within the prescribed time as required by Section 55-2205(1)(c), Idaho Code, shall be subject to 
a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

c. One-Number Notification to Facility Owner. A one-number notification service that fails to provide 
notice of a scheduled excavation upon notification from an excavator shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

d. Failure to Locate or Mark. An underground facility owner, owner’s agent, or locator who fails to 
locate or mark its underground facilities when responsible to do so in accordance with Section 55-2205(2), Idaho 
Code, or within the prescribed time provided therein, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)(        )

e. Failure to Wait for Locate or Maintain Markings. An excavator who commences excavation prior 
to waiting the time prescribed by Section 55-2205(2), Idaho Code, for all known facilities to be located and marked, 
or an excavator who fails to maintain the markings of underground facilities previously so marked subsequent to the 
commencement of excavation in accordance with Section 55-2205(2), Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty.

(3-28-18)

f. Failure to Cease Excavation or Report Unidentified Facilities. An excavator who does not cease 
excavation in the immediate vicinity upon the discovery of underground facilities therein, whether such facilities be 
active or abandoned, which were not previously identified or located with reasonable accuracy, or does not notify the 
owner or operator of the facilities, or a one-number notification service in accordance with Section 55-2205(4), Idaho 
Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

g. Failure to Identify Facilities in Contract Documents. Project owners who fail to indicate in bid or 
contract documents the existence of underground facilities known by the owner to be located within the proposed 
area of excavation in accordance with Section 55-2207, Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

h. Precautions to Avoid Damage. An excavator who does not engage in any of the activities required 
by Section 55-2207(2), Idaho Code, or use reasonable care to avoid damage to underground facilities shall be subject 
to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)
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i. Reporting of Damage to Facility. An excavator who fails to report to a facility owner and a one-
number notification service any contact or damage to an underground facility caused by such excavator in the course 
of excavation, or fails to alert an appropriate authority upon an actual breach of a facility which causes the release of 
gas or hazardous liquids as required by Section 55-2208(1), Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

j. Reporting to the Board. An excavator or underground facility owner who observes, suffers or 
causes damage to an underground facility or excavator downtime related to the failure of one (1) or more stakeholders 
to comply with the damage prevention regulations and fails to report such information to the board as required by 
Section 55-2208(5), Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

k. Failure to Participate. Any person who fails to participate or cooperate with a one-number 
notification service as required by Section 55-2206, Idaho Code, shall be subject to a civil penalty. (3-28-18)

02. Second Offense. For the purpose of this section, a second offense shall be deemed to be any 
violation of Title 55, Chapter 22, Idaho Code, for which a civil penalty may be imposed in accordance with this 
section which occurs within eighteen (18) months of a previous violation of any provision. (3-28-18)

03. Multiple Violations. Each day that a violation of Title 55, Chapter 22, Idaho Code, occurs for 
which a civil penalty may be imposed as provided herein shall constitute a separate offense. (3-28-18)

04. Judicial Review. Any party aggrieved by the final action of the Idaho Damage Prevention Board 
shall be entitled to a judicial review thereof in accordance with the provisions of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code.

(3-28-18)
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IDAPA 10 – BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 
AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS

10.01.01 – RULES OF PROCEDURE

DOCKET NO. 10-0101-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Section 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The Board finds that it is in the public interest to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 1252 by a rule 
change to ensure the rule is consistent with the law. The Board also finds that clarifying the university requirement at 
the bachelor of science level for applicants with a degree from the U.K. is needed. This clarification means that 
applicants with a B.S. engineering degree from an accredited U.K. university in unconditionally approved. No other 
degree options are unconditionally approved. The clarification came out of dialog with the U.K. Engineering Council 
representatives during the rulemaking process.

The text of the pending rule has been amended in accordance with Section 67-5227, Idaho Code. Only those 
sections that have changes that differ from the proposed text are printed in this bulletin. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 67-73.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no fiscal impact to the general fund. There is minor (less than $10,000) reduction in dedicated funds. No 
fiscal impact is expected because of Senate Bill 1252 as the timing of when a person takes an examination will not 
unduly influence when they are eligible for licensure as a 4-year experience time period governs when they will be 
eligible for licensure, not the examination. The discontinuance of a certificate may have a minor impact on revenue 
estimated as renewal or late fees will not accumulate when this option is selected.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.

Dated this 24th day of August, 2018.

Keith Simila, P.E., 
Executive Director
1510 Watertower St., Ste 110
Meridian, Idaho 83642
Telephone: (208) 373-7210
Fax: (208) 373-7213
Email: keith.simila@ipels.idaho.gov
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Rules of Procedure PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as follows:

The hearing site will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The amendments will implement the provisions of Senate Bill 1252 that relate to repealing examination failure 
requirements, allowing for early testing for professional examinations, and adding a new category for discontinued 
certificates of authorization.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year as a result of this rulemaking:

There is no fiscal impact to the general fund. There is minor (less than $10,000) reduction in dedicated funds. No 
fiscal impact is expected because of Senate Bill 1252 as the timing of when a person takes an examination will not 
unduly influence when they are eligible for licensure as a 4-year experience time period governs when they will be 
eligible for licensure, not the examination. The discontinuance of a certificate may have a minor impact on revenue 
estimated as renewal or late fees will not accumulate when this option is selected.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the June 6, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume No. 18-6, page number 41.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 28th day of June, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED RULE
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 – 10:00 a.m.

Board Office
1510 E. Watertower Street

Meridian, ID 83642
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LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

Substantive changes have been made to the pending rule.
Italicized red text that is double underscored is new text that has been added to the pending rule.

016. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION.

01. Forms. Application forms for licensure as a professional engineer, or professional land surveyor, 
certification as an engineer intern, land surveyor intern or certificates of authorization to practice or offer to practice 
engineering or land surveying by a business entity may be obtained from the office of the Executive Director of the 
Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors. (5-8-09)

02. Completion of Application. Applications shall be made on such forms as may be prescribed by the 
Board. All forms, references, transcripts and other written materials shall be in English pursuant to Section 72-121, 
Idaho Code. An application that is not fully completed by the applicant need not be considered or acted upon by the 
Board. The application by a business entity for a certificate of authorization to practice or offer to practice 
engineering or land surveying must set forth its address, and name and address of the individual, or individuals, duly 
licensed to practice engineering or land surveying in this state, who will be in responsible charge of engineering or 
land surveying services offered or rendered by the business entity in this state. (4-11-15)

03. Dates of Submittal of Applications and Experience Examination Cutoff Date. Submittal of 
applications for licensure or intern certification must occur after passing the required national examinations. 
Examinations may be given in various formats and different submittal registration dates apply depending on the 
examination format. For examinations administered once or twice a year in the Spring and Fall, there is an 
examination assignment cutoff date that varies depending on the actual date of the examination. (3-25-16)(        )

a. For national examinations administered in a computer-based or paper format during testing 
windows, there is no once or twice per year the registration requirements, including the deadline and testing windows, 
are established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) for submittal of the 
application and the applicant, if assigned to the exam, will be allowed to test during the current testing window, if 
open on the date of the letter notifying of assignment, or during the next two (2) available testing windows. Failure to 
test during these periods will void the assignment. (3-25-16)(        )

b. For national examinations administered continuously in a computer-based format, there is no 
deadline for submittal of the application and the applicant, if assigned to the exam, will be allowed to test during a 
nine (9) month period beginning on the date of the letter notifying of assignment. Failure to test during this period 
will void the assignment registering with NCEES. The registration requirements, including the testing windows, are 
established by NCEES. (3-25-16)(        )

c. In order for the Board to be able to verify experience, only experience up to the date of submittal of 
the application for licensure will be considered as valid. Experience anticipated between the date of the application 
submittal and the date of the examination or issuance of license or certificate will not be considered.

(3-25-16)(        )

d. Applications for certification as engineering or surveying interns are submitted after passing the 
Fundamentals of Engineering or the Fundamentals of Surveying examination and providing evidence of graduation 
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with educational credentials required by Subsection 017.023 of this chapter. (3-25-16)(        )

04. Residency Requirement. Except for military personnel stationed in the state of Idaho on military 
orders, and except for persons employed full-time in the state of Idaho, only residents of the state of Idaho and 
students enrolled at an Idaho university or college may qualify for assignment to professional examinations for initial 
licensure or certification as an intern. The board will accept as proof of Idaho residency a valid Idaho issued driver’s 
license, a utility bill issued within the last sixty (60) days with an Idaho address in the name of the applicant, a 
statement from a financial institution issued within the last sixty (60) days to the applicant at an Idaho address, proof 
of current voter registration in Idaho, or current Idaho vehicle registration in the name of the applicant. The board will 
accept as proof of full-time employment in the state of Idaho an affidavit from the Idaho employer stating 
employment status. The Board will accept a valid student identification card as proof of enrollment at an Idaho 
university or college. (3-25-16)

05. Confidentiality of References. All information received from references named by the applicant 
shall be held in confidence by the Board except as provided by Section 74-113, Idaho Code. Neither members of the 
Board nor relatives of the applicant by blood or marriage shall be named or accepted as references. (5-8-09)

06. Minimum Standards -- References. An applicant may not be admitted to the examination until 
satisfactory replies have been received from a minimum of five (5) of his references for professional engineers or 
land surveyors. It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to furnish references with the forms prescribed by the 
Board. (3-29-12)

07. Minimum Boundary Survey Experience. The board shall require a minimum of two (2) years 
boundary survey experience as a condition of professional land surveyor licensure. (3-25-16)

017. EXAMINATIONS AND EDUCATION.

01. Special or Oral Examination. Examinations for licensure as a professional engineer or 
professional land surveyor, or certification as an engineer intern or land surveyor intern will be held on dates and at 
times and places to be determined by the Board. Special oral or written examinations may be given by the Board as 
necessary. (3-29-10)

02. Use of NCEES Examinations. National examinations prepared and graded by the National 
Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) may be used by the Board. Applicants registering for 
a national professional examination must have first passed the fundamentals examination unless exempted per 
Subsection 017.11 of this chapter. (        )

023. Eligibility for Examinations Licensure, Educational Requirements. The application for 
licensure as a professional engineer or professional land surveyor together with a passing score on the written ethics 
questionnaire or Idaho specific land surveying examination, shall be considered in the determination of the 
applicant’s eligibility. Each applicant must meet the minimum requirements as set forth in Section 54-1212, Idaho 
Code, before being assigned to any professional examination licensed. Prescriptive education requirements are as 
follows: (3-25-16)(        )

a. In regard to educational requirements, the Board will consider as unconditionally approved only 
those engineering programs that are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) of ABET, Inc., 
or the bachelor of science programs accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accrediting Board, or those bachelor of 
science engineering programs that are accredited by official organizations recognized by the U.K. Engineering 
Council. Non-EAC/ABET accredited engineering programs, related science programs, and engineering technology 
programs will be considered by the Board on their specific merits, but are not considered equal to engineering 
programs accredited by EAC/ABET. The Board may continue consideration of an application for valid reasons for a 
period of one (1) year, without forfeiture of the application fee. (3-28-18)(        )

b. An applicant who has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in engineering not 
accredited by EAC/ABET or a four (4) year bachelor degree program in engineering technology, or in a related 
science degree program other than engineering must have completed the following before the Board will consider 
them to possess knowledge and skill approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year 
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engineering curriculum as required by Section 54-1212(3)(b), Idaho Code, for certification as an Engineer Intern or 
as required by Section 54-1212(1)(b), Idaho Code, for assignment to the examination for licensure as a professional 
engineer: (3-25-16)(        )

i. Thirty-two (32) college semester credit hours of higher mathematics and basic sciences. The credits 
in mathematics must be beyond algebra and trigonometry and must emphasize mathematical concepts and principles 
rather than computation. Courses in differential and integral calculus are required. Additional courses may include 
differential equations, linear algebra, numerical analysis, probability and statistics and advanced calculus. The credits 
in basic sciences must include at least two (2) courses. These courses must be in general chemistry, general calculus-
based physics, or general biological sciences; the two (2) courses may not be in the same area. Additional basic 
sciences courses may include earth sciences (geology, ecology), advanced biology, advanced chemistry, and 
advanced physics. Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy mathematics or basic 
science requirements. Basic engineering science courses or sequence of courses in this area are acceptable for credit 
but may not be counted twice. (3-25-16)

ii. Sixteen (16) college credit hours in a general education component that complements the technical 
content of the curriculum. Examples of traditional courses in this area are philosophy, religion, history, literature, fine 
arts, sociology, psychology, political science, anthropology, economics (micro and macro), professional ethics, social 
responsibility. Examples of other general education courses deemed acceptable include management (such as 
organizational behavior), accounting, written and oral communications, business, and law. No more than six (6) credit 
hours may come from courses in management, accounting, business, or law. Courses in engineering economics, 
engineering management, systems engineering/ analysis, production, and industrial engineering/management will not 
be counted. Language courses in the applicant's native language are not acceptable for credit; no more than six (6) 
credit hours of foreign language courses are acceptable for credit. Native language courses in literature and 
civilization may be considered in this area. Courses which instill cultural values are acceptable, while routine 
exercises of personal craft are not. (3-25-16)

iii. Forty-eight (48) college credit hours of engineering science and/or engineering design courses. 
Courses in engineering science shall be taught within the college / faculty of engineering having their roots in 
mathematics and basic sciences but carry knowledge further toward creative application of engineering principles. 
Examples of approved engineering science courses are mechanics, thermodynamics, heat transfer, electrical and 
electronic circuits, materials science, transport phenomena, and computer science (other than computer programming 
skills). Courses in engineering design stress the establishment of objectives and criteria, synthesis, analysis, 
construction, testing, and evaluation. Graduate level engineering courses may be included to fulfill curricular 
requirements in this area. Engineering technology courses cannot be considered to meet engineering topic 
requirements. (3-25-16)

iv. The Board may require detailed course descriptions for seminar, directed study, special problem 
and similar courses to ensure that the above requirements are met. (3-25-16)

c. In regard to educational requirements, the Board will consider as unconditionally approved only 
those surveying programs that are accredited either by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC), the 
Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission (ANSAC) or the Engineering Technology Accreditation 
Commission (ETAC) of ABET, Inc. An applicant who has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in a 
related program must have completed a minimum of the following college level academic courses, or their 
equivalents as determined by the Board, before the Board will consider them to possess knowledge and skill 
approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year surveying curriculum as required by 
Section 54-1212(4)(b), Idaho Code, for certification as a Land Surveyor Intern or as required by Section 54-
1212(2)(b), Idaho Code, for assignment to the examination for licensure as a professional land surveyor:

(3-29-17)(        )

i. Eighteen (18) college semester credit hours of mathematics and basic sciences. A minimum of 
twelve (12) credits in mathematics must be beyond basic mathematics, but the credits include college algebra or 
higher mathematics. These courses must emphasize mathematical concepts and principles rather than computation. 
Mathematics courses may include college algebra, trigonometry, analytic geometry, differential and integral calculus, 
linear algebra, numerical analysis, probability and statistics, and advanced calculus. A minimum of six (6) credits 
must be in basic sciences. These courses must cover one or more of the following topics: general chemistry, advanced 
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chemistry, life sciences (biology), earth sciences (geology, ecology), general physics, and advanced physics. 
Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy mathematics or basic science requirements;

(3-29-17)

ii. Sixteen (16) college semester credit hours in a general education component that complements the 
technical content of the curriculum. Examples of traditional courses in this area are religion, history, literature, fine 
arts, sociology, psychology, political science, anthropology, economics, professional ethics, and social responsibility. 
No more than six (6) credit hours of languages other than English or other than the applicant’s native language are 
acceptable for credit. English and foreign language courses in literature and civilization may be considered in this 
area. Courses that instill cultural values are acceptable, while routine exercises of personal craft are not; (3-29-17)

iii. Thirty (30) college semester credit hours of surveying science and surveying practice. Courses shall 
be taught by qualified surveying faculty. Examples of surveying courses are basic surveying, route surveying, 
geodesy, geographic information systems, land development design and planning, global positioning systems, 
photogrammetry, mapping, survey adjustment and coordinates systems, cartography, legal descriptions, and remote 
sensing. Required courses will include a minimum of basic surveying, route surveying, geodesy, surveying law, 
public land survey system and global positioning systems. Graduate-level surveying courses can be included to fulfill 
curricular requirements in this area. (3-29-17)

d. The Board may require an independent evaluation of the engineering education of an applicant who 
has a non-EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree or a non-engineering degree. Such evaluation shall be done 
through an organization approved by the Board and shall be done at the expense of the applicant to ensure that the 
applicant has completed the coursework requirements of Subsection 017.02.b. The Board may table action on the 
application pending receipt of the evaluation, and, in the event the applicant does not provide the evaluation within 
one (1) year, the Board may terminate the application, in which case the application fee shall be forfeited. (4-11-15)

03. Excused Non-Attendance at Exam. In the event that an applicant cannot attend an examination, 
he shall immediately notify the Board to that effect and shall state the reason for non-attendance. Normally, no more 
than one (1) valid excuse and reassignment shall be granted to an applicant. If an applicant fails to appear for two 
(2) administrations of an examination their application may be terminated and they may be required to submit a new 
application and pay a new application fee in order to be reconsidered. (3-30-01)

04. Two Examinations for Engineering Licensure. The complete examining procedure for licensure 
as a professional engineer normally consists of two (2) separate written examinations. The first is the Fundamentals 
of Engineering examination for engineer intern certification, and the second is the Principles and Practice of 
Engineering for professional engineer licensure. The examination shall be a duration as determined by the Board. 
Normally, applicants are eligible to take the Fundamentals of Engineering examination during the last or second-to-
last semester of or after graduation from an accredited bachelor of science engineering program. A certificate as an 
Engineer Intern will be issued only to those student applicants who earn a passing grade on the examination and who 
receive a degree. Having passed the Fundamentals of Engineering examination, applicants will be required to take the 
Principles and Practice of Engineering examination at a later date when qualified by the Board. (3-28-18)

05. Fundamentals of Engineering. The Fundamentals of Engineering examination will cover such 
subjects as are ordinarily given in engineering college curricula and which are common to all fields of practice. The 
examination may also cover subject matters that are specific to the engineering discipline of the applicants’ 
education. (5-8-09)

06. Principles and Practice of Engineering -- Disciplines. The Principles and Practice of Engineering 
examination will cover the practice of engineering to test the applicant’s fitness to assume responsibility for 
engineering works affecting the public health, safety and welfare. Separate examinations will be given to test the 
applicant’s fitness in any discipline for which there is an examination which, in the opinion of the Board, meets the 
requirements of duration and difficulty necessary to adequately test the applicant’s fitness to practice in that particular 
discipline. The Board may use examinations prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and 
Surveying (NCEES) or it may prepare or commission the preparation of, or utilize other state examinations in 
disciplines other than those for which examinations may be available from NCEES. (3-25-16)

07. Three Examinations for Land Surveying Licensure. The complete examining procedure for 
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licensure as a professional land surveyor consists of three (3) separate written examinations. The first is the 
Fundamentals of Surveying examination for land surveyor intern certification, and the second is the Principles and 
Practice of Surveying, and the third is the Idaho specific professional land surveying examination. All examinations 
are required for professional land surveyor licensure. The examination shall be a duration as determined by the 
Board. Having passed the Fundamentals of Surveying examination, applicants will be required to take the Principles 
and Practice of Surveying examination at a later date when qualified by the Board. The examination shall cover the 
theory and principles of surveying, the practice of land surveying and the requirements of legal enactments. The 
Principles and Practice of Surveying examination may consist of separate modules, each of which must be passed. 
Having passed the Principles and Practice of Surveying examination, applicants will be required to pass the Idaho 
specific professional land surveying examination, which tests for knowledge of the laws and rules of Idaho, and the 
legal and technical aspects of land surveying in Idaho. (3-28-18)

08. Oral or Unassembled Examinations. An oral examination or unassembled written examination, 
in addition to the prescribed written examination, may be required for professional engineer and professional land 
surveyor applicants. (7-1-93)

09. Special Examinations. A special examination, written or oral or both, may be required in certain 
instances where the applicant is seeking licensure through comity or reciprocity with another state or political entity 
having required written examinations that are not wholly comparable in length, nature or scope. This examination 
supplements the certified qualifying record of the applicant and establishes a more common basis for judging the 
application and awarding a certificate of qualification or licensure in this state. The length of these special 
examinations shall be determined by the Board, but shall in no case exceed the lengths specified for the regular 
examination. Special examinations may be given at any date and need not conform with regular examination dates.

(5-8-09)

10. Grading. Each Unless otherwise provided in 54-1219, or 54-1223 Idaho Code, each land surveyor 
intern, engineer intern, professional land surveyor and professional engineer applicant must normally attain a scaled
passing score of seventy (70) or above on the entire examination or modules as determined by the Board, before being 
awarded certification or licensure. Examinees on the Principles and Practice of Land Surveying examination must 
normally attain a scaled score of seventy (70) or above on each module of the examination Passing scores on national 
examinations are established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying. A passing score 
on the Idaho specific ethics questionnaire is eighty (80), a passing score on the law and rules module of the Idaho 
specific land surveying examination is ninety (90), and a passing score on the public land surveying module of the 
Idaho specific land surveying examination is seventy-five (75). (3-29-10)(        )

11. Use of NCEES Examinations. Examinations prepared and graded by the National Council of 
Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) for professional engineer, engineer intern, professional land 
surveyors, and land surveyor intern may be used by the Board. The examination for the Idaho specific professional 
land surveyor shall be the examination as determined by the Board. Exemption – Examination on the 
Fundamentals of Engineering. The Board may exempt an exceptional individual who has twelve (12) or more years 
of appropriate engineering experience from the requirement for satisfactory completion of an examination on the 
fundamentals of engineering as specified in 54-1223(2), Idaho Code. The Board will exempt an individual who has 
an earned bachelor’s degree and an earned doctoral degree from an approved engineering program from the 
requirement for satisfactory completion of an examination on the fundamentals of engineering as specified in 54-
1223(3), Idaho Code. (3-25-16)(        )

12. Review of Examination by Examinee. Due to security concerns about the examinations, 
examinees shall not be allowed to review their examinations. Examinees who fail an examination will be provided a 
diagnostic analysis of their performance on the examination if such an analysis is available to the Board. (3-20-04)

13. Proctoring of Examinations. Unless otherwise approved, the Board will not proctor an 
examination for another jurisdiction except State-specific examinations, nor will they request another jurisdiction to 
proctor an examination for an Idaho applicant. (5-8-09)

018. REEXAMINATIONS.
The reexamination policy for each failed national examination will be established by NCEES. Reexamination for 
failed Idaho specific examinations will be allowed until a passing score is attained, but the Board may, in addition, 
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require oral or other examinations. (        )

01. Allowing Reexamination Upon First Failure. An applicant failing a professional examination on 
the first attempt, and having requested reexamination as permitted by law, shall be reassigned to the examination for 
which a failing grade was received. (3-25-16)

02. Allowing Reexamination Upon Two or More Failures. An applicant who has failed a professional 
examination twice or more may be assigned by the Board to reexamination upon written request and evidence of 
having met the requirements set forth in Section 54-1214, Idaho Code. (3-25-16)

019. LICENSEES OR CERTIFICATE HOLDERS OF OTHER STATES, BOARDS, AND COUNTRIES.

01. Interstate Licensure Evaluation. Each application for an Idaho professional engineer license or 
professional land surveyor license submitted by an applicant who is licensed as a professional engineer, or licensed as 
a professional land surveyor, respectively, in one (1) or more states, possessions or territories or the District of 
Columbia, shall be considered by the Board on its merits, and the application evaluated for substantial compliance 
with respect to the requirements of the Idaho law related to experience, examination, and education. A minimum of 
four (4) years of progressive experience after graduation with a bachelor of science degree is required for licensure. 
Individuals who have passed the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) 
examinations for professional engineering or professional land surveying shall be considered to have satisfied the 
examination requirement for issuance of a license as a professional engineer or professional land surveyor provided 
that land surveyor applicants also pass the Idaho specific professional land surveying examination. Prescriptive 
education requirements are as follows: (4-11-15)

a. Graduates from programs accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of the ABET, 
Inc., (EAC/ABET), or graduates of university bachelor of science engineering programs accredited by the Canadian 
Engineering Accrediting Board, or those university bachelor of science engineering programs that are accredited by
official organizations recognized by the U.K. Engineering Council, or graduates of engineering programs with 
coursework evaluated by the board as being substantially equivalent to EAC/ABET degrees, shall be considered to 
have satisfied the educational requirement for issuance of a license as a professional engineer. (3-28-18)(        )

b. The Board may require an independent evaluation of the engineering education of an applicant who 
has a non-EAC/ABET accredited four (4) year bachelor degree. Such evaluation shall be done through an 
organization approved by the Board and shall be done at the expense of the applicant to ensure that they have 
completed the coursework requirements of Subsection 019.01.c. Such evaluation shall not be required if the applicant 
has been licensed in another jurisdiction of the United States for an minimum of ten (10) years and has not had any 
disciplinary action against them and there is none pending, and possesses the education, experience and examination 
credentials that were specified in the applicable registration chapter in effect in this state at the time such certification 
was issued. The Board may table action on the application pending receipt of the evaluation, and, in the event the 
applicant does not provide the evaluation within one (1) year, the Board may terminate the application, in which case 
the application fee shall be forfeited. (4-11-15)

c. An applicant who was originally licensed in another jurisdiction after June 30, 1996, and who has 
completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in engineering technology, or in a related science degree program 
other than engineering must have completed the following before the Board will consider them to possess knowledge 
and skill approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year engineering curriculum as 
required by Section 54-1212(1)(b), Idaho Code: (4-11-15)

i. Thirty-two (32) college semester credit hours of higher mathematics and basic sciences. The credits 
in mathematics must be beyond algebra and trigonometry and must emphasize mathematical concepts and principles 
rather than computation. Courses in differential and integral calculus are required. Additional courses may include 
differential equations, linear algebra, numerical analysis, probability and statistics and advanced calculus. The credits 
in basic sciences must include at least two (2) courses. These courses must be in general chemistry, general calculus-
based physics, or general biological sciences; the two (2) courses may not be in the same area. Additional basic 
sciences courses may include earth sciences (geology, ecology), advanced biology, advanced chemistry, and 
advanced physics. Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy mathematics or basic 
science requirements. Basic engineering science courses or sequence of courses in this area are acceptable for credit 
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but may not be counted twice. (3-25-16)

ii. Sixteen (16) college credit hours in a general education component that complements the technical 
content of the curriculum. Examples of traditional courses in this area are philosophy, religion, history, literature, fine 
arts, sociology, psychology, political science, anthropology, economics (micro and macro), professional ethics, social 
responsibility. Examples of other general education courses deemed acceptable include management (such as 
organizational behavior), accounting, written and oral communications, business, and law. No more than six (6) credit 
hours may come from courses in management, accounting, business, or law. Courses in engineering economics, 
engineering management, systems engineering/ analysis, production, and industrial engineering/management will not 
be counted. Language courses in the applicant's native language are not acceptable for credit; no more than six (6) 
credit hours of foreign language courses are acceptable for credit. Native language courses in literature and 
civilization may be considered in this area. Courses which instill cultural values are acceptable, while routine 
exercises of personal craft are not. (3-25-16)

iii. Forty-eight (48) college credit hours of engineering science and engineering design courses. 
Courses in engineering science shall be taught within the college / faculty of engineering having their roots in 
mathematics and basic sciences but carry knowledge further toward creative application of engineering principles. 
Examples of approved engineering science courses are mechanics, thermodynamics, heat transfer, electrical and 
electronic circuits, materials science, transport phenomena, and computer science (other than computer programming 
skills). Courses in engineering design stress the establishment of objectives and criteria, synthesis, analysis, 
construction, testing, and evaluation. Graduate level engineering courses may be included to fulfill curricular 
requirements in this area. Engineering technology courses cannot be considered to meet engineering topic 
requirements. (3-25-16)

d. In regard to educational requirements, the Board will consider as unconditionally approved only 
those surveying programs that are accredited either by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC), the 
Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission (ANSAC) or the Engineering Technology Accreditation 
Commission (ETAC) of ABET, Inc. An applicant who has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program in a 
related program must have completed a minimum of the following college level academic courses, or their 
equivalents as determined by the Board, before the Board will consider them to possess knowledge and skill 
approximating that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year surveying curriculum as required by 
Section 54-1212(2)(b), Idaho Code, for licensure as a professional land surveyor: (3-29-17)

i. Eighteen (18) college semester credit hours of mathematics and basic sciences. A minimum of 
twelve (12) credits in mathematics must be beyond basic mathematics, but the credits include college algebra or 
higher mathematics. These courses must emphasize mathematical concepts and principles rather than computation. 
Mathematics courses may include college algebra, trigonometry, analytic geometry, differential and integral calculus, 
linear algebra, numerical analysis, probability and statistics, and advanced calculus. A minimum of six (6) credits 
must be in basic sciences. These courses must cover one or more of the following topics: general chemistry, advanced 
chemistry, life sciences (biology), earth sciences (geology, ecology), general physics, and advanced physics. 
Computer skills and/or programming courses may not be used to satisfy mathematics or basic science requirements;

(3-29-17)

ii. Sixteen (16) college semester credit hours in a general education component that complements the 
technical content of the curriculum. Examples of traditional courses in this area are religion, history, literature, fine 
arts, sociology, psychology, political science, anthropology, economics, professional ethics, and social responsibility. 
No more than six (6) credit hours of languages other than English or other than the applicant’s native language are 
acceptable for credit. English and foreign language courses in literature and civilization may be considered in this 
area. Courses that instill cultural values are acceptable, while routine exercises of personal craft are not; (3-29-17)

iii. Thirty (30) college semester credit hours of surveying science and surveying practice. Courses shall 
be taught by qualified surveying faculty. Examples of surveying courses are basic surveying, route surveying, 
geodesy, geographic information systems, land development design and planning, global positioning systems, 
photogrammetry, mapping, survey adjustment and coordinates systems, cartography, legal descriptions, and remote 
sensing. Required courses will include a minimum of basic surveying, route surveying, geodesy, surveying law, 
public land survey system and global positioning systems.Graduate-level surveying courses can be included to fulfill 
curricular requirements in this area. (3-29-17)
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02. International Engineering Licensure Evaluation - Countries or Jurisdictions with Board 
Approved Licensure Process. The board may determine the professional engineering licensure process in other 
countries or jurisdictions within other countries is substantially equivalent to that required 54-1219 Idaho Code. As 
such, the board may waive prescriptive education and examination requirements if the applicant possesses a 
professional engineer license credential, attains a minimum of eight (8) years of experience after licensure, provided 
the applicant has no criminal or outstanding disciplinary action in any country or jurisdiction, and is in good standing 
with the licensing board within that country or jurisdiction. A bona fide licensing process in another country must 
include requirements of experience, education, testing, a code of professional responsibility, regulation of licensees 
including the ability take disciplinary action and the willingness, availability, and capacity of a foreign board to 
release information to the Idaho board in English. (4-11-15)

03. International Engineering Licensure Evaluation - Countries or Jurisdictions without a Board 
Approved Licensure Process. Each application for an Idaho professional engineer license submitted by an applicant 
who is licensed as a professional engineer in one (1) or more foreign countries or jurisdictions within a country, shall 
be considered by the Board on its merits, and the application evaluated for substantial compliance with the 
requirements of Idaho law with respect to experience, examination, and education. A minimum of four (4) years of 
progressive experience after graduation is required for licensure. The Board will require two (2) years of experience 
working in the United States or two (2) years of experience working on projects requiring the knowledge and use of 
codes and standards similar to those utilized in the United States where the experience is validated by a professional 
engineer licensed in the United States. The Board may postpone acting on or deny an application for a license by 
comity if disciplinary or criminal action related to the applicant's practice has been taken or is pending in any country 
or jurisdiction. Applicants must have passed a professional engineering examination administered by NCEES. 
Applicants who meet the residency requirements of 54-1212, Idaho Code, may be assigned to an examination in 
Idaho when qualified by the Board after graduation from a program that meets the education requirements of the 
board. Prescriptive education requirements are as follows: (3-28-18)

a. Graduates of engineering university programs accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accrediting 
Board, or official organizations recognized by the U.K. Engineering Council, or graduates of engineering university 
programs accredited by EAC/ABET or evaluated by the board as being substantially equivalent to EAC/ABET 
programs shall be considered to have satisfied the educational requirement for issuance of a license as a professional 
engineer. (3-28-18)

b. The Board may require an independent credentials evaluation of the engineering education of an 
applicant educated outside the United States who has a non-EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree. Such 
evaluation shall be done through NCEES or another organization approved by the board and shall be done at the 
expense of the applicant. (3-28-18)

c. The Board may require an independent credentials evaluation of the education for an applicant who 
has completed a four (4) year bachelor degree program outside the United States in engineering technology, or in a 
related science degree program other than engineering and must demonstrate completion of the requirements of 
Subsection 019.01.c. before the Board will consider the applicant to possess the knowledge and skill approximating 
that attained through graduation from an approved four (4) year engineering curriculum as required by Section 54-
1212(1)(b), Idaho Code. Such evaluation shall be done through NCEES or another organization approved by the 
Board and shall be done at the expense of the applicant. (4-11-15) 

04. Waiver of Prescriptive Engineering Licensure Evaluation for Unique International Expertise. 
The Board may waive the prescriptive licensure evaluation requirements of 019.03 for international applicants who, 
in the Board's opinion, are qualified by reason of education and experience and offer unique technical expertise, 
provided the licensee meets the requirements of 54-1219 Idaho Code. (4-11-15)

05. Denials or Special Examinations. An application from a licensee of another state, possession or 
territory, District of Columbia, or foreign country may be denied by the Board for any just cause and the application 
fee retained; or the Board may approve the applicant for a special written and/or oral examination. (4-11-15)

06. Business Entity Requirements. No application for a certificate of authorization to practice or offer 
to practice professional engineering or professional land surveying, or both, in Idaho by a business entity authorized 
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to practice professional engineering or professional land surveying, or both, in one (1) or more states, possessions or 
territories, District of Columbia, or foreign countries shall be considered by the Board unless such application 
includes the name and address of the individual or individuals, duly licensed to practice professional engineering or 
professional land surveying or both in this state, who will be in responsible charge of the engineering or land 
surveying services, or both, as applicable, to be rendered by the business entity in Idaho. The said individual or 
individuals must certify or indicate to the Board their willingness to assume responsible charge. (4-11-15)

020. DISCONTINUED, RETIRED, AND EXPIRED LICENSES AND CERTIFICATES.

01. Reinstatement – Disciplinary. Licensees who choose to convert their license to retired status as 
part of a disciplinary action, or in lieu of discipline, or in lieu of compliance with continuing professional 
development requirements, may be reinstated upon written request. The board will consider the reinstatement request 
at a hearing or may waive the hearing for minor violations. (3-25-16)

02. Reinstatement – Nondisciplinary. Licensees who chose to convert their license to retired status 
not as part of a disciplinary action or who want to reinstate an expired license may request reinstatement in writing. 
Reinstatement may require a hearing by the board. (3-25-16)

03. Continuing Professional Development. Licensees requesting reinstatement must demonstrate 
compliance with the continuing professional development requirements described in IDAPA 10.01.04, “Rules of 
Continuing Professional Development,” as a condition of reinstatement. (3-25-16)

04. Practice Not Permitted. Discontinued, Rretired, or expired status does not permit a licensee or 
certificate holder to engage in the practice of professional engineering or professional land surveying.

(3-25-16)(        )

05. Designation. Licensees who chose retired status shall represent themselves with the title of 
Professional Engineer Retired or Professional Land Surveyor Retired or similar designation. (3-25-16)

06. Fee for Renewal. The fee for renewing a retired license shall be as established by the Board.
(3-25-16)

07. Fee for Reinstatement of Retired License. The fee for reinstatement of a retired license to active 
practice shall be as required for renewals in Section 54-1216, Idaho Code. (3-25-16)

08. Fee for Reinstatement of Expired License. The fee for reinstatement of an expired license or 
certificate to active practice shall be as required for delayed renewals in Section 54-1216, Idaho Code. (3-25-16)

09. Eligibility. Unless otherwise approved by the Board, only unexpired licensees are eligible to 
convert to retired status. (3-25-16)

10. Discontinued Certificate of Authorization. Business entities no longer providing engineering or 
land surveying services in Idaho may request their certificates be discontinued. Reinstatement of a discontinued 
certificate may be requested by submitting a new application with the Board. (        )

11. Fee for Reinstatement of Discontinued Certificate of Authorization. The fee for reinstatement 
of a discontinued certificate will be as required for applications in Section 54-1213, Idaho Code. (        )
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10.01.02 – RULES OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY

DOCKET NO. 10-0102-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The amendments will implement a requirement for professional land surveyors to notify affected adjacent 
landowners and the Board prior to setting a monument that represents a material discrepancy with another monument 
for the same property corner and potentially clouding the title of private land.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 74-75.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no fiscal impact to the general fund or the dedicated fund because the rule establishes obligations of 
licensed professional land surveyors to appropriately regard the public in their actions. The amendment does not 
increase the costs to the Board.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.

Dated this 24th day of August, 2018.

Keith Simila, P.E.
Executive Director
1510 Watertower St.
Meridian, Idaho 83642
Telephone: (208) 373-7210
Fax: (208) 373-7213
Email: keith.simila@ipels.idaho.gov
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1208, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: A public hearing concerning this rulemaking will be held as follows:

The hearing site will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The amendments will implement a requirement for professional land surveyors to notify affected adjacent 
landowners and the Board prior to setting a monument that represents a material discrepancy with another monument 
for the same property corner and potentially clouding the title of private land.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year as a result of this rulemaking:

There is no fiscal impact to the general fund or the dedicated fund because the rule establishes obligations of 
licensed professional land surveyors to appropriately regard the public in their actions. The amendment does not 
increase the cost of the Board.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the June 6, 2018 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume number 18-6, page 42.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Keith Simila at (208) 373-7210.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 28th day of June, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED RULE
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 – 10:00 a.m.

Board Office
1510 E. Watertower Street

Meridian, ID 83642
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LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

005. RESPONSIBILITY TO THE PUBLIC.

01. Primary Obligation. All Licensees and Certificate Holders shall at all times recognize their 
primary obligation is to protect the safety, health and welfare of the public in the performance of their professional 
duties. (5-8-09)

02. Standard of Care. Each Licensee and Certificate Holder shall exercise such care, skill and 
diligence as others in that profession ordinarily exercise under like circumstances. (3-29-10)

03. Professional Judgment. If any Licensee’s or Certificate Holder’s professional judgment is 
overruled under circumstances where the safety, health and welfare of the public are endangered, the Licensee or 
Certificate Holder shall inform the employer or client of the possible consequences and, where appropriate, notify the 
Board or such other authority of the situation. (5-8-09)

04. Obligation to Communicate Discovery of Discrepancy. Except as provided in the Idaho Rules of 
Civil Procedure 26(b)(4)(B), if a Licensee or Certificate Holder, during the course of his work, discovers a material 
discrepancy, error, or omission in the work of another Licensee or Certificate Holder, which may impact the health, 
property and welfare of the public, the discoverer shall make a reasonable effort to inform the Licensee or Certificate 
Holder whose work is believed to contain the discrepancy, error or omission. Such communication shall reference 
specific codes, standards or physical laws which are believed to be violated and identification of documents which 
are believed to contain the discrepancies. The Licensee or Certificate Holder whose work is believed to contain the 
discrepancy shall respond within twenty (20) calendar days to any question about his work raised by another Licensee 
or Certificate Holder. In the event a response is not received within twenty (20) days, the discoverer shall notify the 
License or Certificate Holder in writing, who shall have another twenty (20) days to respond. Failure to respond (with 
supportable evidence) on the part of the Licensee or Certificate Holder whose work is believed to contain the 
discrepancy shall be considered a violation of these rules and may subject the Licensee or Certificate Holder to 
disciplinary action by the Board. The discoverer may must notify the Board in the event a response that does not 
answer the concerns of the discoverer is not obtained within the second twenty (20) days A Licensee or Certificate 
Holder shall be exempt from this requirement if their client is an attorney and they are being treated as an expert 
witness. In this case, the Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply. (3-29-12)(        )

05. Obligation to Comply with Rules of Continuing Professional Development. All Licensees shall 
comply with the requirements contained in IDAPA 10.01.04, “Rules of Continuing Professional Development.”

(5-8-09)

06. Obligation to Affected Landowners. Land surveyors have a duty to set monuments at the corners 
of their client’s property boundaries in compliance with 54-1227, Idaho Code. Per Subsection 005.04 above, land 
surveyors also have a duty to notify other licensees of a material discrepancy prior to setting monuments that 
represent a material discrepancy with a prior survey. If a monument is to be set at a location that represents a material 
discrepancy with an existing monument at any corner of record, land surveyors must also notify in writing all affected 
adjoining land owners and the Board prior to setting the new monument. (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 10-0102-1801
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IDAPA 12 – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
12.01.08 – RULES PURSUANT TO THE UNIFORM SECURITIES ACT (2004)

DOCKET NO. 12-0108-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 30-14-605 and 30-14-608, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 76-79.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact jim.burns@finance.idaho.gov, or securitiesrules@finance.idaho.gov.

Dated this 23rd day of August, 2018.

James A. Burns
Securities Bureau Chief
Department of Finance
800 Park Blvd. 
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0031 
Office: (208) 332-8080
Fax: (208) 332-8099
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 30-14-605 and 30-14-608, 
Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 15, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Rule 59 (12.01.08.059) is being eliminated as it provided for the implementation of a federal securities issuer 
exemption that no longer exists.

Rule 103 (12.01.08.103) is being amended to address recent changes in uniform securities examinations as 
adopted by both federal and state securities regulators.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted for this rule as it is simple in nature and negotiation would be ineffective.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jim Burns at (208) 332-8080, 
jim.burns@finance.idaho.gov, or securitiesrules@finance.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 3rd day of July, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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059. NOTICE FILINGS FOR TRANSACTIONS UNDER REGULATION D, RULE 505 (RULE 59).
(RESERVED)

01. Exempt Securities. Pursuant to Section 30-14-203(1), Idaho Code, transactions that are exempt 
securities under 17 CFR 230.505 are exempt from Section 30-14-301, Idaho Code. As a condition of this exemption, 
the issuer shall comply with the requirements in Subsection 059.02 of this rule. (3-24-05)

02. Disqualification. Unless upon a showing of good cause and without prejudice to any other action 
by the Administrator, the Administrator determines that it is not necessary under the circumstances that the 
exemption provided by Subsection 059.01 be denied, the exemption shall not be available for the offer or sale of 
securities if the issuer, any of the issuer’s predecessors, any affiliated issuer, any of the issuer’s directors, officers, 
general partners, beneficial owners of ten percent (10%) or more of any class of its equity securities, any of the 
issuer’s promoters presently connected with the issuer in any capacity, any underwriter of the securities to be offered, 
or any partner, director or officer of such underwriter: (4-11-06)

a. Is subject to any of the disqualifications under 17 CFR 230.262, as in effect on August 24, 2005;
(3-29-17)

b. Is enjoined or restrained by a court of competent jurisdiction in an action instituted by the 
administrator under this chapter or the predecessor act, a state, the securities and exchange commission, or the 
United States from engaging in or continuing an act, practice, or course of business involved in an aspect of a 
business involving securities, commodities, investments, franchises, insurance, banking or finance; (3-29-17)

c. Is currently subject to any state or federal administrative enforcement order or judgment, entered 
within the last five (5) years, finding fraud or deceit in connection with the purchase or sale of any security; or

(3-24-05)

d. Is currently subject to any order, judgment or decree of any court of competent jurisdiction, entered 
within the last five (5) years, temporarily, preliminary or permanently restraining or enjoining such party from 
engaging in or continuing to engage in any conduct or practice involving fraud or deceit in connection with the 
purchase or sale of any security. (3-24-05)

03. Exceptions. Subsection 059.02 of this rule shall not apply if: (3-24-05)

a. The party subject to the disqualification is licensed or registered to conduct securities related 
business in the state in which the order, judgment or decree creating the disqualification was entered against such 
party; (3-24-05)

b. Before the first offer under this exemption, the state securities administrator, or the court or 
regulatory authority that entered the order, judgment, or decree, waives the disqualification; or (3-24-05)

c. The issuer establishes that it did not know and in the exercise of reasonable care, based on a 
factual inquiry, could not have known that a disqualification existed under Subsection 059.02 of this rule. (3-29-17)

04. Notice Filings for Rule 505. The notice filing required for transactions in Idaho under 17 CFR 
230.505, shall consist of the following: (3-24-05)

a. One (1) copy of the SEC filed electronic Form D; (3-29-17)

b. Copy of the private placement memorandum. (3-29-17)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 12-0108-1801
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 c. Each notice shall be filed with the Department no later than ten (10) business days prior to 
effecting a sale in Idaho. (3-24-05)

05. Amendments. During the period of the offering, the issuer shall take steps necessary to insure that 
all material information contained in the notice filing remains current and accurate. (3-24-05)

06. Nonaccredited Investors. In all sales to nonaccredited investors in this state, one (1) of the 
following conditions must be satisfied or the issuer and any person acting on its behalf shall have reasonable grounds 
to believe and after making reasonable inquiry, shall believe that one (1) of the following conditions is satisfied:

(3-24-05)

a. The investment is suitable for the purchaser upon the basis of the facts, if any, disclosed by the 
purchaser as to the purchaser’s other security holdings, financial situation and needs. For the purpose of this 
condition only, it may be presumed that if the investment does not exceed ten percent (10%) of the investor’s net 
worth, it is suitable. (3-24-05)

b. The purchaser either alone or with her purchaser representative(s) has such knowledge and 
experience in financial and business matters that she is or they are capable of evaluating the merits and risks of the 
prospective investment. (3-24-05)

07. Due Diligence. Nothing in this rule is intended to relieve registered securities broker-dealers or 
agents from the due diligence, suitability, or know your customer standards or any other requirements of law 
otherwise applicable to such registered person. (3-24-05)

08. Disclosure. Nothing in this exemption is intended to or should be construed as in any way relieving 
issuers or persons acting on behalf of issuers from providing disclosure to prospective investors adequate to satisfy 
the antifraud provisions of the Act. (3-24-05)

09. Denial, Suspension, Revocation, Condition or Limitation of Exemption. Any issuer relying on the 
exemption under Regulation D, Rule 505 may be subject to the enforcement remedies provided in Section 30-14-204, 
Idaho Code, if it fails to satisfactorily address issues raised by the Department in comment letters or otherwise.

(3-24-05)

10. Issuer Agent Registration. Pursuant to Section 30-14-402(b)(9), Idaho Code, an individual who 
represents an issuer who effects transactions that are exempt securities under 17 CFR 230.505 and exempt from 
Section 30-14-301, Idaho Code, is not exempt from the registration requirements of Section 30-14-402(a), Idaho 
Code, if the individual is compensated in connection with the agent’s participation by the payment of commissions or 
other remuneration based, directly or indirectly, on transactions in those securities. In addition, if such person is 
registered as a broker-dealer or agent in another state or with FINRA, or affiliated with a broker-dealer registered in 
another state, with the SEC or FINRA, then such person must also be similarly registered in Idaho. (3-29-17)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

103. EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS (RULE 103).

01. Examination Required. The following examinations are required for the following applicants:
(3-24-05)

a. Broker-dealer agent application. General agents of securities broker-dealers are required to take and 
pass: (3-24-05)

i. The applicable FINRA examinations; and (3-29-17)(        )

ii. Either the Series 63 or the Series 66 examination. (3-24-05)
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b. Investment adviser representative and investment adviser qualifying officer application. Applicants 
for registration as investment adviser representatives or as an investment adviser qualifying officer shall take and 
pass: (3-24-05)

i. The Series 65; or (3-24-05)

ii. The Series 66 and, the Series 7, and the Securities Industry Essentials examinations.
(3-24-05)(        )

c. Specialized agent of a broker-dealer, issuer agent and qualifying officer for non-FINRA broker-
dealer application. Specialized agents of broker-dealers, issuer agents and qualifying officers for non-FINRA broker-
dealers application are required to take and pass: (3-29-17)

i. The applicable FINRA examination; and (3-29-17)

ii. Either the Series 63 or the Series 66 examination. (3-24-05)

d. Sales of Viaticals. Persons selling viatical investments are required to take and pass the Securities 
Industry Essentials and Series 7 examinations. (3-24-05)(        )

02. Specialized Examination Authority. Any registration granted pursuant to a specialized 
examination will be restricted, and the registrant will be authorized to effect securities transactions only in securities 
of the type specified by the conditions of the license. (3-24-05)

03. Investment Adviser Representatives - Waiver. An applicant for investment adviser 
representative or investment adviser qualifying officer registration may qualify for a waiver of the examination 
requirement if the applicant currently holds one (1) of the following designations: (3-24-05)

a. Certified Financial Planner (CFP) awarded by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, 
Inc.; (3-24-05)

b. Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) awarded by the American College, Bryn Mawr, 
Pennsylvania; (3-24-05)

c. Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) awarded by the Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts;
(3-24-05)

d. Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) awarded by the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants; (3-24-05)

e. Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC) awarded by the Investment Counsel Association of 
America, Inc.; or (3-24-05)

f. Such other professional designation as the Administrator may by rule or order recognize. (3-24-05)

04. Waiver. The Administrator, in his sole discretion, may waive any examination required by this rule 
upon a sufficient showing of good cause and upon any conditions he may impose. (3-24-05)
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IDAPA 12 – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
12.01.09 – RULES PURSUANT TO THE IDAHO CREDIT CODE

DOCKET NO. 12-0109-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 28-46-104(1)(e), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule references incorporated federal laws and regulations that are included within the federal 
Consumer Credit Protection Act and its implementing regulations.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 106-108.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Anthony Polidori at (208) 332-8060.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Anthony Polidori
Consumer Finance Bureau Chief
800 Park Blvd.
P.O. Box 83720
Department of Finance
Boise, ID 83720-0031
Office: (208) 332-8060
Fax: (208) 332-8099
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0109-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Credit Code PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Idaho Code Section 28-46-104(1)(e).

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule incorporates by reference federal laws and regulations that are included within the federal 
Consumer Credit Protection Act and its implementing regulations.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the rule is simple in nature as it merely references incorporated federal laws and regulations.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:

Section 28-41-302, Idaho Code, defines the federal Consumer Credit Protection Act and its implementing 
regulations for incorporation into the Idaho Credit Code and the Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Credit Code. This 
proposed rule incorporates by reference the laws and regulations that are included within the federal Consumer Credit 
Protection Act, thereby promoting consistency in state and federal consumer financial services laws so that Idaho 
consumer financial service providers are not faced with an untenable requirement of complying with conflicting state 
and federal laws.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Anthony Polidori at (208) 332-8060.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 19th day of July, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0109-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Credit Code PENDING RULE
005. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (RULE 5).
The “Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Credit Code,” incorporate by reference the full text of the federal Consumer Credit 
Protection Act, 15 U.S.C., Chapter 41, et seq., and regulations issued pursuant to that act, including the following:

(        )

01. The Truth in Lending Act. Consumer Credit Cost Disclosure Act or “The Truth in Lending Act.” 
As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1601, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. The Truth in Lending Act is 
available for viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-
chap41-subchapI.htm. (        )

02. Regulation Z. As issued by the federal Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection and codified at 
12 CFR 1026, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. Regulation Z is available for viewing online at: 
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol9/xml/CFR-2018-title12-vol9-part1026.xml. (        )

03. Restrictions on Garnishment Act. As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1671, et seq., as amended to and 
including January 1, 2019. The Restrictions on Garnishment Act is available for viewing online at: https://
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-subchapII.htm. (        )

04. Credit Repair Organizations Act. As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1679, et seq., as amended to and 
including January 1, 2019. The Credit Repair Organizations Act is available for viewing online at: https://
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-subchapII-A.htm. (        )

05. Credit Reporting Agencies Act or “Fair Credit Reporting Act.” As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1681, 
et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. The Fair Credit Reporting Act is available for viewing online 
at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-subchapIII.htm.

(        )

06. Regulation V. As set forth in 12 CFR 1022, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. 
Regulation V is available for viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol8/xml/CFR-
2018-title12-vol8-part1022.xml. (        )

07. Equal Credit Opportunity Act. As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1691, et seq., as amended to and 
including January 1, 2019. The Equal Credit Opportunity Act is available for viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/
fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-subchapIV.htm. (        )

08. Regulation B. As set forth in 12 CFR 1002, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. 
Regulation B is available for viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol8/xml/CFR-
2018-title12-vol8-part1002.xml. (        )

09. Debt Collection Practices Act or “Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.” As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 
1692, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act is available for 
viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-
subchapV.htm. (        )

10. Electronic Funds Transfer Act. As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1693, et seq., as amended to and 
including January 1, 2019. The Electronic Funds Transfer Act is available for viewing online at: https://
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-subchapVI.htm. (        )

11. Regulation E. As set forth in 12 CFR 1005, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 2019. 
Regulation E is available for viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol8/xml/CFR-
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0109-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Credit Code PENDING RULE
2018-title12-vol8-part1005.xml. (        )

12. Availability of Documents. Unless otherwise available, the documents incorporated by reference 
may be viewed at the central office of the Idaho Department of Finance, as noted in Section 002 of these rules.

(        )

0056. REFINANCING OF BALLOON PAYMENTS (RULE 56).
Pursuant to the provisions of Section 28-43-307(2)(c), Idaho Code, this rule defines a class of transactions not 
requiring the protection of the debtor’s right to refinance a balloon payment in a regulated consumer credit 
transaction, as otherwise provided in Section 28-43-307, Idaho Code. The creditor will not be obligated to refinance 
the balloon payment on the same terms if the creditor makes available to the debtor at least all of the following four 
(4) options: (7-1-93)

01. Collateral Sale. The debtor is permitted to sell the collateral, applying the proceeds to the 
outstanding balance owed to the creditor, and retain any excess proceeds; or (7-1-93)

02. Collateral Return. The debtor returns the collateral pursuant to a predetermined written agreement 
and is released from further liability or obligation on the balloon payment; or (7-1-93)

03. Payment. The debtor is permitted to pay off the balloon payment and keep the collateral; or
(7-1-93)

04. Refinance. If creditworthy, the debtor is permitted to refinance the balloon payment with the 
creditor at the prevailing terms at that time. However, the interest rate on the refinancing may not exceed, by more 
than five (5) points, the interest rate charged on the original consumer credit transaction. (7-1-93)

0067. -- 999. (RESERVED)
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 113 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol8/xml/CFR-2018-title12-vol8-part1005.xml


IDAPA 12 – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
12.01.10 – RULES PURSUANT TO THE IDAHO RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE PRACTICES ACT

DOCKET NO. 12-0110-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 26-31-103(2)(b), 26-31-204(5), 26-31-302(1)(a), and 
26-31-302(2), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule updates references to incorporated federal laws and regulations, as well as standards adopted by 
a nationally recognized organization (Truth in Lending and Regulation Z, Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act and 
Regulation X, and the NMLS Policy Guidebook).

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 109-110.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Anthony Polidori at (208) 332-8060.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Anthony Polidori
Consumer Finance Bureau Chief
800 Park Blvd.
P.O. Box 83720
Department of Finance
Boise, ID 83720-0031
Office: (208) 332-8060
Fax: (208) 332-8099
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0110-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 26-31-103(2)(b), 26-31-
204(5), 26-31-302(1)(a), and 26-31-302(2), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule updates the versions of the federal laws and regulations that are incorporated by reference, as 
well as standards adopted by a nationally recognized organization (Truth in Lending and Regulation Z, Real Estate 
Settlement Procedures Act and Regulation X, and the NMLS Policy Guidebook).

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the rule is simple in nature as it merely updates references to incorporated federal laws, 
regulations, and standards adopted by a nationally recognized organization.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:

Section 26-31-102, Idaho Code, defines Regulations X and Z, the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, and the 
Truth in Lending Act for incorporation into the Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act and Idaho Mortgage Rules 
pursuant to that Act. This proposed rule promotes consistency in state and federal mortgage-related laws so that Idaho 
mortgage licensees are not faced with an untenable requirement of complying with conflicting state and federal laws. 
Furthermore, the proposed rule updates references to the NMLS Policy Guidebook, thereby promoting consistency in 
nationwide licensing standards for mortgage licensees.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Anthony Polidori at (208) 332-8060. Anyone may 
submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the 
undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 19th day of July, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0110-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act PENDING RULE
005. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (RULE 5).
The “Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act,” incorporate by reference the full text of the 
following: (4-4-13)

01. The Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act. As set forth in 12 U.S.C. 2601, et seq., as amended 
to and including January 1, 20189. The Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act is available for viewing online at: 
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title12/html/USCODE-2016-title12-chap27.htm. (3-28-18)(        )

02. Regulation X. As issued by the federal Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection and codified at 
12 CFR 1024, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 20189. Regulation X is available for viewing online at: 
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol8/xml/CFR-2018-title12-vol8-part1024.xml. (3-28-18)(        )

03. The Truth in Lending Act. As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1601, et seq., as amended to and including 
January 1, 20189. The Truth in Lending Act is available for viewing online at: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/
USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41.htm. (3-28-18)(        )

04. Regulation Z. As issued by the federal Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection and codified at 
12 CFR 1026, et seq., as amended to and including January 1, 20189. Regulation Z is available for viewing online at: 
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2018-title12-vol9/xml/CFR-2018-title12-vol9-part1026.xml. (3-28-18)(        )

05. NMLS Policy Guidebook. The Conference of State Bank Supervisors/American Association of 
Residential Mortgage Regulators NMLS Policy Guidebook for Licensees, published by the Nationwide Mortgage 
Licensing System and Registry as of July 23, 2012 February 2, 2018, and available at https://
mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/policy/Pages/default.aspx. (4-4-13)(        )

06. Availability of Documents. Unless otherwise available, the documents incorporated by reference 
may be viewed at the central office of the Idaho Department of Finance, as noted in Section 002 of these rules.

(4-4-13)
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IDAPA 12 – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
12.01.11 – RULES PURSUANT TO THE IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY ACT

DOCKET NO. 12-0111-1801 (NEW CHAPTER)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 26-2228(4) and 26-2248, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule references incorporated federal law (the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act).

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 111-112.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Anthony Polidori at (208) 332-8060.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2018.

Anthony Polidori
Consumer Finance Bureau Chief
800 Park Blvd.
P.O. Box 83720
Department of Finance
Boise, ID 83720-0031
Office: (208) 332-8060
Fax: (208) 332-8099
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0111-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Collection Agency Act PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 26-2228(4) and 26-2248, 
Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule incorporates by reference federal law (the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act).

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the rule is simple in nature as it merely references incorporated federal law.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:

Section 26-2229A, Idaho Code, incorporates the provisions of the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act into 
the Idaho Collection Agency Act. This proposed rule incorporates the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act by 
reference, thereby promoting consistency in state and federal debt collection laws so that Idaho collection agency 
licensees are not faced with an untenable requirement of complying with conflicting state and federal laws.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Anthony Polidori at (208) 332-8060.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 19th day of July, 2018.
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Docket No. 12-0111-1801
Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Collection Agency Act PENDING RULE
IDAPA 12
TITLE 01

CHAPTER 11

12.01.11 – RULES PURSUANT TO THE IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY ACT

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY (RULE 0).
This chapter is promulgated pursuant to Sections 26-2228(4) and 26-2248, Idaho Code. (        )

001. TITLE AND SCOPE (RULE 1).
The title of this chapter is “Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Collection Agency Act,” which rules are administered by the 
Idaho Department of Finance, and may be cited as IDAPA 12.01.11. These rules interpret the Idaho Collection 
Agency Act, Title 26, Chapter 22, Idaho Code. (        )

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS – AGENCY ACCESS – FILINGS (RULE 2).
Written interpretations of these rules are available by mail from the Idaho Department of Finance, P.O. Box 83720, 
Boise, Idaho 83720-0031. The street address of the agency is Idaho Department of Finance, 800 Park Boulevard, 
Suite 200, Boise, Idaho 83712. The telephone numbers of the agency are (208) 332-8000 - Administration; and (208) 
332-8002 - Consumer Finance Bureau. The telephone number of the facsimile machine for the Consumer Finance 
Bureau is (208) 332-8096. All filings with the Idaho Department of Finance in connection with rulemaking or 
contested cases shall be made with the Director of the Idaho Department of Finance, and shall include an original and 
one (1) copy. (        )

003. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS (RULE 3).
Administrative appeals are not available within the agency. (        )

004. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE (RULE 4).
All rules contained in this chapter are public records. (        )

005. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (RULE 5).
The “Rules Pursuant to the Idaho Collection Agency Act,” incorporate by reference the full text of the following:

(        )

01. Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. As set forth in 15 U.S.C. 1692, et seq., as amended to and 
including January 1, 2019. Fair Debt Collection Practices Act is available for viewing online at: https://
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2016-title15/html/USCODE-2016-title15-chap41-subchapV.htm. (        )

02. Availability of Documents. Unless otherwise available, the documents incorporated by reference 
may be viewed at the central office of the Idaho Department of Finance, as noted in Section 002 of these rules.

(        )

006. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18.01.06 – RULE TO IMPLEMENT UNIFORM COVERAGE FOR NEWBORN 

AND NEWLY ADOPTED CHILDREN

DOCKET NO. 18-0106-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The current rule applies to self-funded health plans subject to registration with the Department, as well as health 
insurers, and addresses coverage for congenital anomalies. There is some language in the rule that refers to premiums 
that denotes health insurance only and causes confusion for self-funded plans given that the term used for payments 
by members covered by a self-funded plan is “contribution” and not “premium.” This rulemaking modifies language 
in Section 012 to include contributions in addition to premiums.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 238-239.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4315.

Dated this 4th day of October, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron, Director
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0106-1801
Uniform Coverage for Newborn & Newly Adopted Children PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The current rule applies to self-funded health plans subject to registration with the Department, as well as health 
insurers, and addresses coverage for congenital anomalies. There is some language in the rule that refers to premiums 
that denotes health insurance only and causes confusion for self-funded plans given that the term used for payments 
by members covered by a self-funded plan is “contribution” and not “premium.” This rulemaking seeks to modify 
language in Section 012 to include contributions in addition to premiums.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, page 131.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS, OBTAINING 
DRAFT COPIES: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Weston Trexler at 
weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4315.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the above contact and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0106-1801
Uniform Coverage for Newborn & Newly Adopted Children PENDING RULE
012. NOTIFICATION AND PAYMENT REQUIREMENTS.

01. Notification and Payment. (4-2-08)

a. If notice and payment of additional premium are required for dependent coverage under the health 
plan contract, the contract may require notice of birth, placement or adoption and payment of required premium as a 
condition of coverage for newborn and newly adopted children. The notification period shall be not less than sixty 
(60) days from the date of birth for a newborn child or, for newly adopted children, sixty (60) days from the earlier of 
the date of adoption or placement for adoption. The due date for payment of any additional premium, if required, 
shall be not less than thirty-one (31) days following receipt by the health plan member of a billing for the required 
premium. (4-2-08)

b. All requirements for notice and payment of premium applied by the health plan for the enrollment 
of newborn or newly adopted children shall be clearly set forth in the health plan contract and provided to the health 
plan members in a manner reasonably calculated to provide notice to the members of the requirements. (4-2-08)

c. If the health plan member fails to provide the required notification, or make the required premium 
payment, the health plan may decline to enroll a dependent child as a newborn or newly adopted child, but shall treat 
a newborn or newly adopted child no less favorably than it treats other applicants who seek coverage at a time other 
than when the applicant was first eligible to apply for coverage. (4-2-08)

d. For self-funded health care plans subject to Chapter 40 or 41, Title 41, Idaho Code, any references 
to premium in Section 012 of this rule should be recognized to be applying to contributions. (        )
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IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18.01.23 – RULES PERTAINING TO IDAHO ACQUISITIONS OF CONTROL 

AND INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY SYSTEMS

DOCKET NO. 18-0123-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-3817, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This rulemaking revises language in Subsection 027.01 regarding extraordinary dividends to be consistent with 
changes made to Section 41-3812, Idaho Code, following enactment of House Bill 454 in 2018.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 240-241.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Nathan Faragher at nathan.faragher@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4314.

Dated this 4th day of October, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron, Director
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0123-1801
Acquisitions of Control/Insurance Holding Company Systems PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-3817, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018. 

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This rulemaking revises language in Subsection 027.01 regarding extraordinary dividends to be consistent with 
changes made to Section 41-3812, Idaho Code, following enactment of House Bill 454 in 2018.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, page 132.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning this proposed rule, contact Nathan Faragher at nathan.faragher@doi.idaho.gov, 
or (208) 334-4314. 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the above contact and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0123-1801
Acquisitions of Control/Insurance Holding Company Systems PENDING RULE
027. EXTRAORDINARY DIVIDENDS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTIONS.

01. Request for Approval. Requests for approval of extraordinary dividends or any other 
extraordinary distribution to shareholders shall include the following: (3-20-14)

a. The amount of the proposed dividend; (12-24-93)

b. The date established for payment of the dividend; (12-24-93)

c. A statement as to whether the dividend is to be in cash or other property and, if in property, a 
description thereof, its cost, and its fair market value, together with an explanation of the basis for valuation;

(12-24-93)

d. A copy of the calculations determining that the proposed dividend is extraordinary. The work paper 
shall include the following information: (12-24-93)

i. The amounts, dates, and form of payment of all dividends or distributions (including regular 
dividends but excluding distributions of the insurer's own securities) paid within the period of twelve (12) 
consecutive months ending on the date fixed for payment of the proposed dividend for which approval is sought and 
commencing on the day after the same day of the same month in the last preceding year; (3-20-14)

ii. Surplus as regards policyholders (total capital and surplus) as of the 31st day of December next 
preceding; (12-24-93)

iii. If the insurer is a life insurer, the net gain from operations for the twelve (12) month period ending 
the 31st day of December next preceding; and (3-20-14)(        )

iv. If the insurer is not a life insurer, the net income less net realized capital gains for the twelve (12) 
month period ending the 31st day of December next preceding and the two preceding twelve (12) month periods; and.

(3-20-14)(        )

v. If the insurer is not a life insurer, the dividends paid to stockholders excluding distributions of the 
insurer’s own securities in the preceding two (2) calendar years. (12-24-93)

e. A balance sheet and statement of income for the period intervening from the last annual statement 
filed with the Director and the end of the month preceding the month in which the request for dividend approval is 
submitted; and (3-20-14)

f. A brief statement as to the effect of the proposed dividend upon the insurer’s surplus and the 
reasonableness of surplus in relation to the insurer’s outstanding liabilities and the adequacy of surplus relative to the 
insurer’s financial needs. (12-24-93)

02. Other Dividends. Subject to Section 41-3812, Idaho Code, each registered insurer shall report to 
the Director all dividends and other distributions to shareholders within fifteen (15) business days following the 
declaration thereof, including the same information required by Subsections 027.01.d. (3-20-14)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0123-1801
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 125 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18.01.24 – ADVERTISEMENT OF DISABILITY (ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS) INSURANCE

DOCKET NO. 18-0124-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

Section 025 of these rules states that the Director may require the filing of “direct response” advertising 
regarding disability accident and sickness policies. Some carriers, typically those seeking to sell limited benefit plans, 
object to filing advertising materials. This results in the Department sending a separate request for this material. The 
Department believes that it's appropriate to review any advertising material, and this change streamlines that 
communication and process. This rulemaking modifies the rule to eliminate the reference to “direct response” 
advertising.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 242-243.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4315.

Dated this 4th day of October, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron, Director
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0124-1801
Advertisement of Disability (Accident and Sickness) Insurance PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Section 025 of the rule states that the Director may require the filing of “direct response” advertising regarding 
disability accident and sickness policies. Some carriers, typically those seeking to sell limited benefit plans, object to 
filing advertising materials. This results in the Department sending a separate request for this material. The 
Department believes that it's appropriate to review any advertising material, and this change would streamline that 
communication and process. This rulemaking seeks to modify the rule to eliminate the reference to “direct response” 
advertising.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, page 133.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS, OBTAINING 
DRAFT COPIES: For assistance on technical questions concerning this proposed rule, contact Weston Trexler at 
weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4315.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the above contact and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0124-1801
Advertisement of Disability (Accident and Sickness) Insurance PENDING RULE
025. FILING FOR PRIOR REVIEW.
The Director may, at his discretion, require the filing with this Department, for review prior to use, of direct response
any accident and sickness insurance advertising material for review prior to use. Such advertising material must be 
filed by the insurer with this Department not less than thirty (30) days prior to the date the insurer desires to use the 
advertisement. (7-1-93)(        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0124-1801
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 128 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18.01.30 – INDIVIDUAL DISABILITY AND GROUP SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY INSURANCE 

MINIMUM STANDARDS RULE

DOCKET NO. 18-0130-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-4207, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This rulemaking follows House Concurrent Resolution 45 adopted in 2018 and meetings that had occurred 
with the Department of Insurance. Health insurers had not covered hearing aids for children based on exclusionary 
language in this rule addressing the individual market. Public meetings were held July 23 and September 6, 2018. 
This rulemaking revises language related to exclusions for hearing aids so that hearing loss interventions will be 
covered with certain parameters. (This rule impacts individual insurance coverage; companion rulemaking will 
address the small group market in IDAPA 18.01.70.)

There are no changes to the pending rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 260-262.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the pending rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or 
(208) 334-4315. 

Dated this 1st day of November, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron
Director Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor 
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043 
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0130-1801
Individual & Group Supplemental Disability Insurance Rule PENDING RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-4207, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This rulemaking follows House Concurrent Resolution 45 adopted in 2018 and some meetings that have already 
occurred with the Department of Insurance. Health insurers have not covered hearing aids for children based on 
exclusionary language in this rule addressing the individual market. This rulemaking seeks to revise language related 
to exclusions for hearing aids so that hearing loss interventions will be covered with certain parameters. (This rule 
impacts individual insurance coverage; companion rulemaking will address the small group market in IDAPA 
18.01.70.)

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, page 134. Public meetings were held July 23 and September 6, 2018.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or 
(208) 334-4315.
 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 7th day of September, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0130-1801
Individual & Group Supplemental Disability Insurance Rule PENDING RULE
011. PROHIBITED POLICY PROVISIONS.

01. Probationary or Waiting Period. Except as provided in Subsection 004.10 pertaining to the 
definition of a preexisting condition, a policy shall not contain provisions establishing a probationary or waiting 
period during which no coverage is provided under the policy. Accident policies shall not contain probationary or 
waiting periods. (3-30-01)

02. Additional Coverage as Dividend. A policy or rider for additional coverage may not be issued as 
a dividend unless an equivalent cash payment is offered as an alternative to the dividend policy or rider. A dividend 
policy or rider for additional coverage shall not be issued for an initial term of less than six (6) months. (3-30-01)

a. The initial renewal subsequent to the issuance of a policy or rider as a dividend shall clearly 
disclose that the policyholder is renewing the coverage that was provided as a dividend for the previous term and that 
the renewal is optional. (3-30-01)

03. Return of Premium or Cash Value Benefit. A disability income policy, accident only policy, 
limited benefit policy, specified disease policy or hospital confinement indemnity policy may contain a “return of 
premium” or “cash value benefit” so long as the return of premium or cash value benefit is not reduced by an amount 
greater than the aggregate of claims paid under the policy, and the insurer demonstrates that the reserve basis for the 
policies is adequate. No other policy subject to this rule shall provide a return of premium or cash value benefit, 
except return of unearned premium upon termination or suspension of coverage, retroactive waiver of premium paid 
during disability, payment of dividends on participating policies, or experience rating refunds. (3-28-18)

04. Federally Operated Hospital. Policies providing hospital confinement indemnity coverage shall 
not contain provisions excluding coverage because of confinement in a hospital operated by the federal government.

(3-30-01)

05. Exclusions. A policy shall not limit or exclude coverage by type of illness, accident, treatment or 
medical condition, except as follows: (3-30-01)

a. Preexisting conditions or diseases, except for congenital anomalies of a covered dependent child;
(3-30-01)

b. Mental or emotional disorders, alcoholism and drug addiction; (3-30-01)

c. Pregnancy, except for complications of pregnancy; (3-30-01)

d. Illness, treatment or medical condition arising out of: (3-30-01)

i. War or act of war (whether declared or undeclared); participation in a felony, riot or insurrections; 
service in the armed forces or units auxiliary to it; (3-30-01)

ii. Suicide (sane or insane), attempted suicide or intentionally self-inflicted injury; (3-30-01)

iii. Aviation; (3-30-01)

iv. With respect to short-term nonrenewable policies, interscholastic sports; and (3-30-01)

v. With respect to disability income protection policies, incarceration. (3-30-01)
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Individual & Group Supplemental Disability Insurance Rule PENDING RULE
e. Cosmetic surgery, except that “cosmetic surgery” shall not include reconstructive surgery when the 
service is incidental to or follows surgery resulting from trauma, infection or other diseases of the involved part, and 
reconstructive surgery because of congenital disease or anomaly of a covered dependent child; (3-30-01)

f. Foot care in connection with corns, calluses, flat feet, fallen arches, weak feet, chronic foot strain or 
symptomatic complaints of the feet; (3-30-01)

g. Care in connection with the detection and correction by manual or mechanical means of structural 
imbalance, distortion, or subluxation in the human body for purposes of removing nerve interference and the effects 
of it, where the interference is the result of or related to distortion, misalignment or subluxation of, or in the vertebral 
column; (3-30-01)

h. Benefits provided under Medicare or other governmental program (except Medicaid), a state or 
federal worker’s compensation law, employers liability or occupational disease law, or motor vehicle no-fault law; 
services performed by a member of the covered person’s immediate family; and services for which no charge is 
normally made in the absence of insurance; (3-30-01)

i. Dental care or treatment; (3-30-01)

j. Eye glasses, hearing aids, and examination for the prescription, or fitting of them; (3-30-01)(        )

k. Rest cures, custodial care, transportation, and routine physical examinations; and (3-30-01)(        )

l. Territorial limitations.; and (3-30-01)(        )

m. Hearing aids, auditory osseointegrated (bone conduction) devices, cochlear implants and 
examination for or fitting of them, except for congenital or acquired hearing loss that without intervention may result 
in cognitive or speech development deficits of a covered dependent child, covering not less than one (1) device every 
thirty-six (36) months per ear with loss and not less than forty-five (45) language/speech therapy visits during the first 
twelve (12) months after delivery of the covered device. (        )

06. Authority of Director to Disapprove. Policy provisions precluded in Section 011 shall not be 
construed as a limitation on the authority of the Director to disapprove other policy provisions in accordance with 
Chapters 21, 22 and 42 of Title 41 of the Idaho Code, or that in the opinion of the Director are unjust, unfair or 
unfairly discriminatory to the policyholder, beneficiary or a person insured under the policy. (3-30-01)
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IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18.01.49 – FIRE PROTECTION SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS

DOCKET NO. 18-0149-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-254, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule revises language in IDAPA 18.01.49 to eliminate Subsection 011.07 providing for an advisory 
board, a board that never formed, corrects a reference to an NFPA standard in Subsection 020.01, and eliminates 
language in Subsection 021.06 concerning fees that tie the fee amount to one percent (1%) of the bid amount. 
Language imposing fees in the amount of two dollars ($2) per sprinkler head payable to the local department or the 
State Fire Marshal will be retained, including the retention of the maximum and minimum fees. The rulemaking also 
clarifies in Subsection 021.06 that the fee applies to each fire protection sprinkler system, which is defined in 
Subsection 004.01 of this rule.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 244-246.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Knute Sandahl at knute.sandahl@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4377.

Dated this 4th day of October, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron, Director
Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-254, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule revises language in IDAPA 18.01.49 to eliminate Subsection 011.07 providing for an advisory 
board, a board that never formed, and to eliminate language in Subsection 021.06 concerning fees that tie the fee 
amount to one percent (1%) of the bid amount. Language imposing fees in the amount of two dollars ($2) per 
sprinkler head payable to the local department or the State Fire Marshal will be retained, including the retention of the 
maximum and minimum fees. The rulemaking also clarifies in Subsection 021.06 that the fee applies to each fire 
protection sprinkler system, which is defined in Subsection 004.01 of this rule.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the in the July 4, 
2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, page 136.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning this proposed rule, contact Knute Sandahl at knute.sandahl@doi.idaho.gov, or 
(208) 334-4377.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the above contact and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0149-1801
Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractors PENDING RULE
011. POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL.
In addition to the powers and duties prescribed in this rule, the State Fire Marshal shall: (7-1-93)

01. Assistants, Inspectors and Other Employees. Appoint an adequate number of assistants, 
inspectors and other employees that may be necessary to carry out the provisions of this rule, prescribe their duties, 
and fix their compensation within the amount appropriated. (7-1-93)

02. Licensing Procedures. Establish procedures for licensing of fire protection sprinkler contractors 
and fitters, set forth the form and content of applications, and investigate and examine all applicants as to their 
qualifications and fitness for such licensing. (7-1-93)

03. Records. Keep records of all licenses issued, suspended or revoked. (1-1-94)

04. Suspension or Revocation of License. Suspend or revoke any license for any cause prescribed by 
this rule, and refuse to grant any license for any cause which would be grounds for revocation or suspension.

(7-1-93)

05. Examinations. Prepare, administer, and grade such applicable examinations and tests for 
applicants as may be required for the purposes of this rule, and determine the score that shall be deemed a passing 
score. (7-1-93)

06. Fees. Collect fees, including applications, testing, licensing, renewals, and duplication fees from 
the applicants, and license holders for the purpose of administering and funding this rule. (7-1-93)

07. Advisory Board. Appoint an advisory board consisting of six (6) members whose duties shall be to 
advise and counsel the State Fire Marshal on matters contained in this rule. One (1) or more representatives from 
each of the following professions or occupations shall be appointed to the board: (1-1-94)

a. Architect. (1-1-94)

b. Mechanical Engineer. (1-1-94)

c. Fire Service Official. (1-1-94)

d. General Contractor. (1-1-94)

e. Licensed Fire Sprinkler Contractor - Two (2). (1-1-94)

f. The terms of the members of the board first appointed shall expire as follows: three (3) members 
two (2) years later, three (3) members three (3) years later. Thereafter, appointments shall be for three (3) years. At its 
first meeting of every calendar year the board shall elect a president from its members, and a secretary who may or 
may not be a member of the board. Members of the board shall serve without compensation. The staff of the office of 
the State Fire Marshal shall provide such assistance as the board may require. (1-1-94)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

020. SERVICE EVIDENCE.
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01. Submission of Plans. Where automatic fire sprinkler systems are installed, the installer shall 
complete the contractor’s material and test certificates NFPA 123 1-10.1. All systems must be under the supervision 
of a contractor or a R.M.E. These persons shall cause proper tests and inspections to be made at prescribed intervals 
and must have general charge of all alterations and additions to the systems under their supervision. (7-1-93)(        )

02. Conformance to Standards. A service tag conforming to the requirements of this chapter shall be 
attached to all systems. (7-1-93)

021. DESIGN REQUIREMENTS.

01. Submission of Plans. Detailed plans in accordance with applicable NFPA standards must be 
submitted by a licensed contractor for approval to the local fire department and to the State Fire Marshal. (7-1-93)

02. Conformance to Standards. The specifications must state that the installation will conform to the 
applicable standards listed in this rule and be approved by the local fire department and the State Fire Marshal.

(7-1-93)

03. Tests. The specifications must include the specific tests required to meet the standards for approval 
of the local fire department and the State Fire Marshal. (7-1-93)

04. Scale. Plans must be drawn to an indicated scale or be suitably dimensioned, and must be made so 
that they can be easily reproduced. (7-1-93)

05. Detail. Plans must contain sufficient detail to evaluate the effectiveness of the system. (7-1-93)

06. Prior Approval of Plans. Plans must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal and the local fire 
department and approved, before work starts. Work may start prior to final plans submitted based on conceptual 
drawings if approved by the local fire department and the State Fire Marshal. A plans review fee of two dollars ($2) 
per sprinkler head up to one thousand (1000) heads per fire protection sprinkler system (maximum two thousand 
dollars ($2,000)) or one hundred dollars ($100) per fire protection sprinkler system if less than fifty (50) sprinkler 
heads or one percent (1%) of the total bid price (whichever is larger) up to the maximum of two thousand dollars 
($2,000) or the minimum of one hundred dollars ($100). The applicable fee must accompany the plans sent to the 
State Fire Marshal. Two (2) sprinkler heads on an arm-over will be considered as one (1) sprinkler head for fee 
purposes. (7-1-93)(        )

07. Corrected Plans. Where field conditions necessitate any substantial change from the approved 
plan, the corrected plan showing the system as installed must be submitted to the local fire department and the State 
Fire Marshal for approval. (7-1-93)

08. Exemption. A City or County may request, and the State Fire Marshal may grant, an exemption 
from the requirements of this Section that plans be submitted to the State Fire Marshal for review and approval. A 
request for exemption shall be made in writing signed by the Fire Chief, his designated representative or elected local 
official and shall set forth the reasons for the request. If the State Fire Marshal determines the request is justified, the 
requesting party will be provided a written notice of exemption. The exemption will continue until terminated by the 
State Fire Marshal. Any such exemption shall not apply to plans or inspections relating to structures owned, leased or 
controlled by the state or any state agency. (4-5-00)
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IDAPA 18 – IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18.01.54 – RULE TO IMPLEMENT THE NAIC MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

MINIMUM STANDARDS MODEL ACT

DOCKET NO. 18-0154-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-4409, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This rulemaking updates the current rule consistent with NAIC Model Regulation 651 to add definitions for the 
2020 Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans and adds more detailed sections with respect to such plans.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 247-276.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4315.

Dated this 4th day of October, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron, Director
Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-4409, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This rulemaking seeks to make updates to the current rule consistent with NAIC Model Regulation 651 to add 
definitions for the 2020 Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans and add more detailed sections with 
respect to such plans.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, page 137.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule:

The materials cited are incorporated into the current rule, however, a correction is made to the reference, namely, 
to the NAIC Model Regulation 651, rather than the NAIC Model Act (650). Additionally, there are some substantive 
changes to the outlines of coverage and plan designs reflecting options and eligibility for Medicare supplement plans 
issued starting on January 1, 2020.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning this proposed rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or 
(208) 334-4315.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the above contact and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. This rule shall be cited in full as Idaho Department of Insurance Rules, IDAPA 18.01.54, 
“Rule to Implement the NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards Model Act.” (3-29-10)

02. Scope. (4-5-00)

a. Except as otherwise specifically provided in Sections 020, 02846, 02951, 03266, and 0377, this 
rule shall apply to: (3-29-10)(        )

i. All Medicare supplement policies delivered or issued for delivery in this state on or after the 
effective date of this rule; and (4-5-00)

ii. All certificates issued under group Medicare supplement policies, which certificates have been 
delivered or issued for delivery in this state. (4-5-00)

b. This rule shall not apply to a policy or contract of one (1) or more employers or labor organizations, 
or of the trustees of a fund established by one (1) or more employers or labor organizations, or combination thereof, 
for employees or former employees, or a combination thereof, or for members or former members, or a combination 
thereof, of the labor organization. (4-5-00)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
This rule incorporates by reference Appendixes A (Refund Calculation and Calculation of Benchmark forms Model 
Regulation 651 pages 651-94 to 651-97), B (Form for Reporting Medicare Supplement Policies, page 651-98), and C 
(Disclosure Statements pages 651-99 to 651-108), and all other outlines of coverage and specific plan designs of the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Model Act Regulation 651 (pages 651-42 to 651-85)
implementing the Medicare supplement insurance minimum standards, July 1, 2009 (2018). The Model Act
Regulation is available from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 2301 McGee Street, Suite 800, 
Kansas City, MO 64108-2662 and from the Idaho Department of Insurance. (3-29-10)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

011. POLICY DEFINITIONS AND TERMS.
No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless the policy or certificate contains definitions or terms which conform to the requirements of 
this section. (4-5-00)

01. Accident, Accidental Injury, or Accidental Means. To employ “result” language and shall not 
include words that establish an accidental means test or use words such as “external, violent, visible wounds” or 
similar words of description or characterization. (3-29-10)

a. The definition shall not be more restrictive than the following: “Injury or injuries for which benefits 
are provided means accidental bodily injury sustained by the insured person which is the direct result of an accident, 
independent of disease or bodily infirmity or any other cause, and occurs while insurance coverage is in force.”
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(4-5-00)

b. The definition may provide that injuries shall not include injuries for which benefits are provided or 
available under any workers’ compensation, employer’s liability or similar law, or motor vehicle no-fault plan, unless 
prohibited by law. (4-5-00)

02. Benefit Period or Medicare Benefit Period. Shall not be defined more restrictively than as 
defined in the Medicare program. (4-5-00)

03. Convalescent Nursing Home, Extended Care Facility, or Skilled Nursing Facility. Shall not be 
defined more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program. (4-5-00)

04. Health Care Expenses. For purposes of Section 02951, expenses of managed care organizations 
associated with the delivery of health care services, which expenses are analogous to incurred losses of insurers.

(3-29-10)(        )

05. Hospital. May be defined in relation to its status, facilities, and available services or to reflect its 
accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals, but not more restrictively than as defined in the 
Medicare program. (4-5-00)

06. Medicare. Shall be defined in the policy and certificate. Medicare may be substantially defined as 
“The Health Insurance for the Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 1965 as then constituted 
or later amended,” or “Title I, Part I of Public Law 89-97, as Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth Congress of the United 
States of America and popularly known as the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then constituted and any later 
amendments or substitutes thereof,” or words of similar import. (3-29-10)

07. Medicare Eligible Expenses. Expenses of the kinds covered by Medicare Parts A and B, to the 
extent recognized as reasonable and medically necessary by Medicare. (4-11-06)

08. Physician. Shall not be defined more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program.
(4-5-00)

09. Sickness. Shall not be defined to be more restrictive than the following: “Sickness means illness or 
disease of an insured person which first manifests itself after the effective date of insurance and while the insurance is 
in force.” The definition may be further modified to exclude sicknesses or diseases for which benefits are provided 
under any workers’ compensation, occupational disease, employer’s liability, or similar law. (4-5-00)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

023. STANDARD MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLANS FOR 1990 STANDARDIZED 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLAN POLICIES OR CERTIFICATES ISSUED FOR DELIVERY 
ON OR AFTER JULY 1, 1992 AND WITH AN EFFECTIVE DATE FOR COVERAGE PRIOR TO JUNE 1, 
2010.

01. Policy Form or Certificate Form. An issuer shall make available to each prospective policyholder 
and certificateholder a policy form or certificate form containing only the basic core benefits, as defined in 
Subsection 021.02. (3-29-10)

02. Medicare Supplement Benefits. No groups, packages, or combinations of Medicare supplement 
benefits other than those listed in this section shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be permitted in 
Subsection 023.07 and in Section 02531 of this rule. (3-29-10)(        )

03. Benefit Plans. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, designation and format to the 
standard benefit plans “A” through “L” listed in this Subsection and conform to the definitions in Section 010 of this 
rule. Each benefit shall be structured in accordance with the format provided in Subsections 021.02, and 021.03 or 
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 140 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0154-1801
Implement NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Model Act PENDING RULE
021.07, and list the benefits in the order shown in this Subsection. For purposes of Section 023, “structure, language, 
and format” means style, arrangement and overall content of a benefit. (3-29-10)

04. Other Designations. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan designations required in 
Subsection 023.03, other designations to the extent permitted by law. (3-29-10)

05. Make-Up of Benefit Plans. (3-29-10)

a. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “A” shall be limited to the basic (core) benefits 
common to all benefit plans, as defined in Subsection 021.02. (3-29-10)

b. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “B” shall include only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible as defined in Paragraph 021.03.a.

(3-29-10)

c. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “C” shall include only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare 
Part B deductible and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a. 
through 021.03.c., and 021.03.h., respectively. (3-29-10)

d. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “D” shall include only the following: The core 
benefit (as defined in Subsection 021.02), plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home recovery benefit as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a., 
021.03.b., 021.03.h., and Subsection 021.05, respectively. (3-29-10)

e. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “E” shall include only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, and preventive medical care as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a., 
021.03.b., 021.03.h., and Subsection 021.04, respectively. (3-29-10)

f. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “F” shall include only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, the Part 
B deductible, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare part B excess charges, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a. through 021.03.c., 021.03.e., and 021.03.h., 
respectively. (3-29-10)

g. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high deductible plan “F” shall include only the 
following: one hundred percent (100%) of covered expenses following the payment of the annual high deductible 
plan “F” deductible. The covered expenses include the core benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the 
Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, one hundred percent 
(100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 
defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a. through 021.03.c., 021.03.e., and 021.03.h., respectively. The annual high deductible 
plan “F” deductible shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services covered by the 
Medicare supplement plan “F” policy, and shall be in addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The annual 
high deductible Plan “F” deductible shall be one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) for 1998 and 1999, and shall 
be based on the calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually thereafter by the Secretary of Health and Human Services 
to reflect the change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the twelve (12) month period ending 
with August of the preceding year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of ten dollars ($10). (3-29-10)

h. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “G” shall include only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, eighty 
percent (80%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country, and 
the at-home recovery benefit as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a., 021.03.b., 021.03.d., 021.03.h., and Subsection 
021.05, respectively. (3-29-10)

i. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “H” shall consist of only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic 
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prescription drug benefit, and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 
021.03.a., 021.03.b., 021.03.f., and 021.03.h., respectively. The outpatient prescription drug benefit shall not be 
included in a Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. (3-29-10)

j. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “I” shall consist of only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, one 
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, basic prescription drug benefit, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and at-home recovery benefit as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a., 021.03.b., 
021.03.e., 021.03.f., 021.03.h., and Subsection 021.05, respectively. The outpatient prescription drug benefit shall not 
be included in a Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. (3-29-10)

k. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “J” shall consist of only the following: The core 
benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare 
Part B deductible, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, extended prescription drug 
benefit, medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country, preventive medical care, and at-home recovery 
benefit as defined in Paragraphs 021.03.a. through 021.03.c., 021.03.e., 021.03.g., 021.03.h., and Subsections 021.04 
and 021.05, respectively. The outpatient prescription drug benefit shall not be included in a Medicare supplement 
policy sold after December 31, 2005. (3-29-10)

l. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high deductible plan “J” shall consist of only the 
following: one hundred percent (100%) of covered expenses following the payment of the annual high deductible 
plan “J” deductible. The covered expenses include the core benefit as defined in Subsection 021.02, plus the 
Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B deductible, one hundred percent (100%) of 
the Medicare Part B excess charges, extended outpatient prescription drug benefit, medically necessary emergency 
care in a foreign country, preventive medical care benefit and at-home recovery benefit as defined in Paragraphs 
021.03.a. through 021.03.c., 021.03.e., 021.03.g., 021.03.h., and Subsections 021.04 and 021.05, respectively. The 
annual high deductible plan “J” deductible shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services 
covered by the Medicare supplement plan “J” policy, and shall be in addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. 
The annual deductible shall be one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) for 1998 and 1999, and shall be based on a 
calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually thereafter by the Secretary of Health and Human Services to reflect the 
change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the twelve (12) month period ending with August of 
the preceding year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of ten dollars ($10). The outpatient prescription drug benefit 
shall not be included in a Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. (3-29-10)

06. Make-Up of Two Medicare Supplement Plans Mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA). (3-29-10)

a. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “K” shall consist of only those benefits described 
in Paragraph 021.07.a. (3-29-10)

b. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan “L” shall consist of only those benefits described 
in Paragraph 021.07.b. (3-29-10)

07. New or Innovative Benefits. An issuer may, with the prior approval of the director, offer policies 
or certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to the benefits provided in a policy or certificate that 
otherwise complies with the applicable standards. The new or innovative benefits may include benefits that are 
appropriate to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered 
in a manner which is consistent with the goals of simplification of Medicare supplement policies. After December 31, 
2005 the innovative benefit shall not include an outpatient prescription drug benefit. (4-11-06)

024. STANDARD MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLANS FOR 2010 STANDARDIZED 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLAN POLICIES OR CERTIFICATES WITH AN EFFECTIVE 
DATE FOR COVERAGE ON OR AFTER JUNE 1, 2010.

01. General Standards. The following standards are applicable to all Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates delivered or issued for delivery in this state with an effective date for coverage on or after June 1, 2010. 
No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare 
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supplement policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit plan standards. Benefit plan standards 
applicable to Medicare supplement policies and certificates with an effective date for coverage before June 1, 2010 
remain subject to the requirements of Section 0213 of this rule. (3-29-10)(        )

a. An issuer shall make available to each prospective policyholder and certificateholder a policy form 
or certificate form containing only the basic (core) benefits, as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule. (3-29-10)

b. If an issuer makes available any of the additional benefits described in Subsection 022.03, or offers 
standardized benefit Plans K or L (as described in Paragraphs 024.02.h. and 024.02.i. of this rule), then the issuer 
shall make available to each prospective policyholder and certificateholder, in addition to a policy form or certificate 
form with only the basic (core) benefits as described in Paragraph 024.01.a., a policy form or certificate form 
containing either standardized benefit Plan C (as described in Paragraph 024.02.c. of this rule) or standardized benefit 
Plan F (as described in Paragraph 024.02.e. of this rule). (3-29-10)

c. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare supplement benefits other than those listed in 
this section shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be permitted in Subsection 024.03 and in Section 
02531 of this rule. (3-29-10)(        )

d. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, designation and format to the standard benefit 
plans listed in this Subsection and conform to the definitions in Section 010 of this rule. Each benefit shall be 
structured in accordance with the format provided in Subsections 022.02 and 022.03 of this rule; or, in the case of 
plans K or L, in Paragraphs 024.02.h. and 024.02.i. of this rule and list the benefits in the order shown. For purposes 
of this section, “structure, language, and format” means style, arrangement and overall content of benefit. (3-29-10)

e. In addition to the benefit plan designations required in Paragraph 024.01.d., an issuer may use other 
designations to the extent permitted by law. (3-29-10)

02. Make-up of 2010 Standardized Benefit Plans. (3-29-10)

a. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan A shall include only the following: The basic 
(core) benefits as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule. (3-29-10)

b. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan B shall include only the following: The basic 
(core) benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part A 
deductible as defined in Paragraph 022.03.a. of this rule. (3-29-10)

c. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan C shall include only the following: The basic 
(core) benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B deductible, and 
medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 022.03. a., 022.03.c., 022.03.d., 
and 022.03.f of this rule, respectively. (3-29-10)

d. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan D shall include only the following: The basic 
(core) benefit (as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule), plus one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined in 
Paragraphs 022.03.a., 022.03.c., and 022.03.f. of this rule, respectively. (3-29-10)

e. Standardized Medicare supplement [regular] Plan F shall include only the following: The basic 
(core) benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B deductible, one 
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country as defined in Paragraphs 022.03.a., and 022.03.c., through 022.03.f. of this rule, respectively. (3-29-10)

f. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan F With High Deductible shall include only the following: 
One hundred percent (100%) of covered expenses following the payment of the annual deductible set forth in 
Subparagraph 024.02.f.ii. (3-29-10)
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 143 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0154-1801
Implement NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Model Act PENDING RULE
i. The basic (core) benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus one hundred percent 
(100%) of the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare 
Part B deductible, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 022.03.a., and 022.03.c., through 022.03.f. of this rule, 
respectively. (3-29-10)

ii. The annual deductible in Plan F With High Deductible shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, 
other than premiums, for services covered by [regular] Plan F, and shall be in addition to any other specific benefit 
deductibles. The basis for the deductible shall be fifteen one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) and shall be 
adjusted annually from 1999 by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to reflect the 
change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the twelve-month period ending with August of the 
preceding year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of ten dollars ($10). (3-29-10)(        )

g. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan G shall include only the following: The basic 
(core) benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 
medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 022.03.a., 022.03.c., 022.03.e., and 
022.03.f. of this rule, respectively. Effective January 1, 2020, the standardized benefit plans described in Paragraph 
025.01.d. (Redesignated Plan G High Deductible) may be offered to any individual who was eligible for Medicare 
prior to January 1, 2020. (3-29-10)(        )

h. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan K is mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall include only the following: (3-29-10)

i. Part A Hospital Coinsurance sixty-first through ninetieth days: Coverage of one hundred percent 
(100%) of the Part A hospital coinsurance amount for each day used from the sixty-first through the ninetieth day in 
any Medicare benefit period. (3-29-10)

ii. Part A Hospital Coinsurance ninety-first through one hundred fiftieth day: Coverage of one 
hundred percent (100%) of the Part A hospital coinsurance amount for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 
used from the ninety-first through the one hundred fiftieth day in any Medicare benefit period; (3-29-10)

iii. Part A Hospitalization After One Hundred Fiftieth Day: Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital 
inpatient coverage, including the lifetime reserve days, coverage of one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part 
A eligible expenses for hospitalization paid at the applicable prospective payment system (PPS) rate, or other 
appropriate Medicare standard of payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an additional three hundred 
sixty-five (365) days. The provider shall accept the issuer’s payment as payment in full and may not bill the insured 
for any balance; (3-29-10)

iv. Medicare Part A Deductible: Coverage for fifty percent (50%) of the Medicare Part A inpatient 
hospital deductible amount per benefit period until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in Subparagraph 
024.02.h.x. (3-29-10)

v. Skilled Nursing Facility Care: Coverage for fifty percent (50%) of the coinsurance amount for each 
day used from the twenty-first day through the one hundredth day in a Medicare benefit period for post-hospital 
skilled nursing facility care eligible under Medicare Part A until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
Subparagraph 024.02.h.x. (3-29-10)

vi. Hospice Care: Coverage for fifty percent (50%) of cost sharing for all Part A Medicare eligible 
expenses and respite care until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in Subparagraph 024.02.h.x.

(3-29-10)

vii. Blood: Coverage for fifty percent (50%), under Medicare Part A or B, of the reasonable cost of the 
first three (3) pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal regulations) 
unless replaced in accordance with federal regulations until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
Subparagraph 024.02.h.x. (3-29-10)
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 144 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0154-1801
Implement NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Model Act PENDING RULE
viii. Part B Cost Sharing: Except for coverage provided in Subparagraph 024.02.h.ix., coverage for fifty 
percent (50%) of the cost sharing otherwise applicable under Medicare Part B after the policyholder pays the Part B 
deductible until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in Subparagraph 024.02.h.x. (3-29-10)

ix. Part B Preventive Services: Coverage of one hundred percent (100%) of the cost sharing for 
Medicare Part B preventive services after the policyholder pays the Part B deductible; and (3-29-10)

x. Cost Sharing After Out-of-Pocket Limits: Coverage of one hundred percent (100%) of all cost 
sharing under Medicare Parts A and B for the balance of the calendar year after the individual has reached the out-of-
pocket limitation on annual expenditures under Medicare Parts A and B of four thousand dollars ($4,000) in 2006, 
indexed each year by the appropriate inflation adjustment specified by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services. (3-29-10)

i. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan L is mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall include only the following: (3-29-10)

i. The benefits described in Subparagraphs 024.02.h.i. through 024.02.h.iii., and 024.02.h.ix.
(3-29-10)

ii. The benefits described in Subparagraphs 024.02.h.iv. through 024.02.h.viii. but substituting 
seventy-five percent (75%) for fifty percent (50%); and (3-29-10)

iii. The benefit described in Subparagraph 024.02.h.x. but substituting two thousand dollars ($2,000) 
for four thousand dollars ($4,000). (3-29-10)

j. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan M shall include only the following: The basic (core) 
benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus fifty percent (50%) of the Medicare Part A deductible, 
skilled nursing facility care, and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Paragraphs 
022.03.b., 022.03.c., and 022.03.f. of this rule, respectively. (3-29-10)

k. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan N shall include only the following: The basic (core) 
benefit as defined in Subsection 022.02 of this rule, plus one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically necessary emergency care in foreign country as defined in 
Paragraphs 022.03.a., 022.03.c., and 022.03.f. of this rule, respectively, with copayments in the following amounts:

(3-29-10)

i. The lesser of twenty dollars ($20) or the Medicare Part B coinsurance or copayment for each 
covered health care provider office visit (including visits to medical specialists); and (3-29-10)

ii. The lesser of fifty dollars ($50) or the Medicare Part B coinsurance or copayment for each covered 
emergency room visit, however, this copayment shall be waived if the insured is admitted to any hospital and the 
emergency visit is subsequently covered as a Medicare Part A expense. (3-29-10)

03. New or Innovative Benefits. An issuer may, with the prior approval of the director, offer policies 
or certificates with new or innovative benefits, in addition to the standardized benefits provided in a policy or 
certificate that otherwise complies with the applicable standards. The new or innovative benefits shall include only 
benefits that are appropriate to Medicare supplement insurance, are new or innovative, are not otherwise available, 
and are cost-effective. Approval of new or innovative benefits must not adversely impact the goal of Medicare 
supplement simplification. New or innovative benefits shall not include an outpatient prescription drug benefit. New 
or innovative benefits shall not be used to change or reduce benefits, including a change of any cost-sharing 
provision, in any standardized plan. (3-29-10)

025. STANDARD MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLANS FOR 2020 STANDARDIZED 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLAN POLICIES OR CERTIFICATES ISSUED FOR DELIVERY 
TO INDIVIDUALS NEWLY ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2020.
The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) requires the following standards are 
applicable to all Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or issued for delivery in this state to 
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individuals newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. No policy or certificate that provides coverage of 
the Medicare Part B deductible may be advertised, solicited, delivered or issued for delivery in this state as a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate to individuals newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. All 
policies must comply with the following benefit standards. Benefit plan standards applicable to Medicare supplement 
policies and certificates issued to individuals eligible for Medicare before January 1, 2020, remain subject to the 
requirements of Section 024 of this rule. (        )

01. Benefit Requirements. The standards and requirements of Section 024 shall apply to all Medicare 
supplement policies or certificates delivered or issued for delivery to individuals newly eligible for Medicare on or 
after January 1, 2020, with the following exceptions: (        )

a. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan C is redesignated as Plan D and shall provide the 
benefits contained in Paragraph 024.02.c. of this rule but shall not provide coverage for one hundred percent (100%) 
or any portion of the Medicare Part B deductible. (        )

b. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F is redesignated as Plan G and shall provide the 
benefits contained in Paragraph 024.02.e. of this rule but shall not provide coverage for one hundred percent (100%) 
or any portion of the Medicare Part B deductible. (        )

c. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plans C, F, and F with High Deductible may not be 
offered to individuals newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. (        )

d. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F With High Deductible is redesignated as Plan G 
With High Deductible and shall provide the benefits contained in Paragraph 024.02.f. of this rule but shall not provide 
coverage for one hundred percent (100%) or any portion of the Medicare Part B deductible; provided further that, the 
Medicare Part B deductible paid by the beneficiary shall be considered an out-of-pocket expense in meeting the 
annual high deductible. (        )

e. The reference to Plans C or F contained in Paragraph 024.01.b. is deemed a reference to Plans D or 
G for purposes of this section. (        )

02. Applicability to Certain Individuals. This section applies only to individuals that are newly 
eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020: (        )

a. By reason of attaining age sixty-five (65) on or after January 1, 2020; or (        )

b. By reason of entitlement to benefits under part A pursuant to section 226(b) or 226A of the Social 
Security Act, or who is deemed to be eligible for benefits under section 226(a) of the Social Security Act on or after 
January 1, 2020. (        )

03. Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons. For purposes of Subsection 041.05 of this rule, in the case 
of any individual newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020, any reference to a Medicare supplement 
policy C or F (including F With High Deductible) shall be deemed to be a reference to Medicare supplement policy D 
or G (including G With High Deductible) respectively that meet the requirements of Subsection 025.01. (        )

04. Offer of Redesignated Plans to Individuals Other Than Newly Eligible. On or after January 1, 
2020, the standardized benefit plans described in Paragraph 025.01.d. may be offered to any individual who was 
eligible for Medicare prior to January 1, 2020 in addition to the standardized plans described in Subsection 024.02 of 
this rule. (        )

026. -- 030. (RESERVED)

02531. MEDICARE SELECT POLICIES AND CERTIFICATES.
This section shall apply to Medicare Select policies and certificates, as defined in this section. No policy or certificate 
may be advertised as a Medicare Select policy or certificate unless it meets the requirements of this section.

(3-29-10)
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01. Definitions. For the purposes of Section 02531: (3-29-10)(        )

a. Complaint. Any dissatisfaction expressed by an individual concerning a Medicare Select issuer or 
its network providers. (4-5-00)

b. Grievance. Dissatisfaction expressed in writing by an individual insured under a Medicare Select 
policy or certificate with the administration, claims practices, or provision of services concerning a Medicare Select 
issuer or its network providers. (4-5-00)

c. Medicare Select issuer. An issuer offering, or seeking to offer, a Medicare Select policy or 
certificate. (4-5-00)

d. Medicare Select policy or Medicare Select certificate. Respectively a Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate that contains restricted network provisions. (4-5-00)

e. Network provider. A provider of health care, or a group of providers of health care, which has 
entered into a written agreement with the issuer to provide benefits insured under a Medicare Select policy. (4-5-00)

f. Restricted network provision. Any provision which conditions the payment of benefits, in whole or 
in part, on the use of network providers. (4-5-00)

g. Service area. The geographic area approved by the director within which an issuer is authorized to 
offer a Medicare Select policy. (4-5-00)

02. Authorization to Issue Medicare Select Policy or Certificate. The director may authorize an 
issuer to offer a Medicare Select policy or certificate, pursuant to Section 02531 of this rule and Section 4358 of the 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1990 if the director finds that the issuer has satisfied all of the 
requirements of this rule. (3-29-10)(        )

03. Filing Requirements. A Medicare Select issuer shall not issue a Medicare Select policy or 
certificate in this state until its plan of operation has been approved by the director. (4-5-00)

04. Proposed Plan of Operation. A Medicare Select issuer shall file a proposed plan of operation with 
the director in a format prescribed by the director. The plan of operation shall contain at least the following 
information: (4-5-00)

a. Evidence that all covered services that are subject to restricted network provisions are available and 
accessible through network providers, including a demonstration that: (4-5-00)

i. Services can be provided by network providers with reasonable promptness with respect to 
geographic location, hours of operation, and after-hour care. The hours of operation and availability of after-hour care 
shall reflect usual practice in the local area. Geographic availability shall reflect the usual travel times within the 
community. (4-5-00)

ii. The number of network providers in the service area is sufficient, with respect to current and 
expected policyholders, either to deliver adequately all services that are subject to a restricted network provision or to 
make appropriate referrals. (4-5-00)

iii. There are written agreements with network providers describing specific responsibilities. (4-5-00)

iv. Emergency care is available twenty-four (24) hours per day and seven (7) days per week. (4-5-00)

v. In the case of covered services that are subject to a restricted network provision and are provided on 
a prepaid basis, there are written agreements with network providers prohibiting the providers from billing or 
otherwise seeking reimbursement from or recourse against any individual insured under a Medicare Select policy or 
certificate. This Subparagraph shall not apply to supplemental charges or coinsurance amounts as stated in the 
Medicare Select policy or certificate. (3-29-10)
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b. A statement or map providing a clear description of the service area. (4-5-00)

c. A description of the grievance procedure to be utilized. (4-5-00)

d. A description of the quality assurance program, including: (4-5-00)

i. The formal organizational structure; (4-5-00)

ii. The written criteria for selection, retention, and removal of network providers; and (4-5-00)

iii. The procedures for evaluating quality of care provided by network providers, and the process to 
initiate corrective action when warranted. (4-5-00)

e. A list and description, by specialty, of the network providers. (4-5-00)

f. Copies of the written information proposed to be used by the issuer to comply with Subsection 
02531.08. (3-29-10)(        )

g. Any other information requested by the director. (4-5-00)

05. Proposed Changes to the Plan of Operation. A Medicare Select issuer shall file any proposed 
changes to the plan of operation, except for changes to the list of network providers, with the director prior to 
implementing the changes. Changes shall be considered approved by the director after thirty (30) days unless 
specifically disapproved. An updated list of network providers shall be filed with the director at least quarterly.

(4-5-00)

06. Restrictions. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall not restrict payment for covered services 
provided by non-network providers if: (4-5-00)

a. The services are for symptoms requiring emergency care or are immediately required for an 
unforeseen illness, injury or a condition; and (4-5-00)

b. It is not reasonable to obtain services through a network provider. (4-5-00)

07. Payment for Full Coverage. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall provide payment for full 
coverage under the policy for covered services that are not available through network providers. (4-5-00)

08. Full and Fair Disclosure. A Medicare Select issuer shall make full and fair disclosure in writing of 
the provisions, restrictions and limitations of the Medicare Select policy or certificate to each applicant. This 
disclosure shall include at least the following: (4-5-00)

a. An outline of coverage sufficient to permit the applicant to compare the coverage and premiums of 
the Medicare Select policy or certificate with: (4-5-00)

i. Other Medicare supplement policies or certificates offered by the issuer; and (4-5-00)

ii. Other Medicare Select policies or certificates. (4-5-00)

b. A description (including address, phone number and hours of operation) of the network providers, 
including primary care physicians, specialty physicians, hospitals and other providers. (4-5-00)

c. A description of the restricted network provisions, including payments for coinsurance and 
deductibles when providers other than network providers are utilized. Except to the extent specified in the policy or 
certificate, expenses incurred when using out-of-network providers do not count toward the out-of-pocket annual 
limit contained in plans K and L. (4-11-06)
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d. A description of coverage for emergency and urgently needed care and other out-of-service area 
coverage. (4-5-00)

e. A description of limitations on referrals to restricted network providers and to other providers.
(4-5-00)

f. A description of the policyholder’s rights to purchase any other Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate otherwise offered by the issuer. (4-5-00)

g. A description of the Medicare Select issuer’s quality assurance program and grievance procedure.
(4-5-00)

09. Medicare Select Policy or Certificate. Prior to the sale of a Medicare Select policy or certificate, 
a Medicare Select issuer shall obtain from the applicant a signed and dated form stating that the applicant has 
received the information provided pursuant to Subsection 02531.08 and that the applicant understands the restrictions 
of the Medicare Select policy or certificate. (3-29-10)(        )

10. Complaints and Grievances. A Medicare Select issuer shall have and use procedures for hearing 
complaints and resolving written grievances from the subscribers. The procedures shall be aimed at mutual 
agreement for settlement and may include arbitration procedures. (4-5-00)

a. The grievance procedure shall be described in the policy and certificates and in the outline of 
coverage. (4-5-00)

b. At the time the policy or certificate is issued, the issuer shall provide detailed information to the 
policyholder describing how a grievance may be registered with the issuer. (4-5-00)

c. Grievances shall be considered in a timely manner and shall be transmitted to appropriate decision-
makers who have authority to fully investigate the issue and take corrective action. (4-5-00)

d. If a grievance is found to be valid, corrective action shall be taken promptly. (4-5-00)

e. All concerned parties shall be notified about the results of a grievance. (4-5-00)

f. The issuer shall report no later than each March 31 to the director regarding its grievance 
procedure. The report shall be in a format prescribed by the director and shall contain the number of grievances filed 
in the past year and a summary of the subject, nature and resolution of such grievances. (4-5-00)

11. Initial Purchase. At the time of initial purchase, a Medicare Select issuer shall make available to 
each applicant for a Medicare Select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate otherwise offered by the issuer. (4-5-00)

12. Comparable or Lesser Benefits. (4-5-00)

a. At the request of an individual insured under a Medicare Select policy or certificate, a Medicare 
Select issuer shall make available to the individual insured the opportunity to purchase a Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate offered by the issuer which has comparable or lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted 
network provision. The issuer shall make the policies or certificates available without requiring evidence of 
insurability after the Medicare Select policy or certificate has been in force for six (6) months. (4-5-00)

b. For the purposes of Subsection 02531.12, a Medicare supplement policy or certificate will be 
considered to have comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one (1) or more significant benefits not included in 
the Medicare Select policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this Paragraph, a significant benefit 
means coverage for the Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part B 
excess charges. (3-29-10)(        )

13. Continuation of Coverage. Medicare Select policies and certificates shall provide for continuation 
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 149 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK



IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0154-1801
Implement NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Model Act PENDING RULE
of coverage in the event the Secretary of Health and Human Services determines that Medicare Select policies and 
certificates issued pursuant to this section should be discontinued due to either the failure of the Medicare Select 
program to be re-authorized under law or its substantial amendment. (3-29-10)

a. Each Medicare Select issuer shall make available to each individual insured under a Medicare 
Select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any Medicare supplement policy or certificate offered by the 
insurer which has comparable or lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted network provision. The issuer 
shall make the policies and certificates available without requiring evidence of insurability. (4-5-00)

b. For the purposes of Subsection 02531.13, a Medicare supplement policy or certificate will be 
considered to have comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one (1) or more significant benefits not included in 
the Medicare Select policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this Paragraph, a significant benefit 
means coverage for the Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part B 
excess charges. (3-29-10)(        )

14. Requests for Data. A Medicare Select issuer shall comply with reasonable requests for data made 
by state or federal agencies, including the United States Department of Health and Human Services, for the purpose 
of evaluating the Medicare Select Program. (4-5-00)

032. -- 035. (RESERVED)

0236. OPEN ENROLLMENT.

01. Offer of Coverage. (3-29-17)

a. An issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of any Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate available for sale in this state, nor discriminate in the pricing of a policy or certificate because of 
the health status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition of an applicant in the case of an 
application for a policy or certificate that is submitted prior to or during the six (6) month period beginning with:

(3-29-17) 

i. The first day of the first month in which an individual is both sixty-five (65) years of age or older 
and is enrolled for benefits under Medicare Part B. (3-29-17)

ii. January 1, 2018 or the first day of the first month of Medicare Part B eligibility due to disability or 
end stage renal disease, whichever is later, for an individual that is both under sixty-five (65) years of age and 
enrolled for benefits under Medicare Part B; or (3-29-17)

iii. The first day of the first month after the individual receives written notice of retroactive enrollment 
under Medicare Part B due to a retroactive eligibility decision made by the Social Security Administration. (3-29-17)

b. Each Medicare supplement policy and certificate currently available from an issuer shall be made 
available to all applicants who qualify under Paragraph 0236.01.a. without regard to age. (3-29-17)(        )

02. Treatment of Preexisting Conditions. (3-29-17)

a. If an applicant qualifies under Subsection 0236.01 and submits an application during the time 
period referenced in Subsection 0236.01 and, as of the date of application, has had a continuous period of creditable 
coverage of at least six (6) months, the issuer shall not exclude benefits based on a preexisting condition.

(3-29-17)(        )

b. If the applicant qualifies under Subsection 0236.01 and submits an application during the time 
period referenced in Subsection 0236.01 and, as of the date of application, has had a continuous period of creditable 
coverage that is less than six (6) months, the issuer shall reduce the period of any preexisting condition exclusion by 
the aggregate of the period of creditable coverage applicable to the applicant as of the enrollment date. The Secretary 
of Health and Human Services shall specify the manner of the reduction under this Subsection. (3-29-17)(        )
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c. Except as provided in Paragraphs 0236.02.a. and 02.b., and Sections 02741 and 0381, nothing in 
this rule shall be construed as preventing the exclusion of benefits under a policy, during the first six (6) months, 
based on a preexisting condition for which the policyholder or certificateholder received treatment or was otherwise 
diagnosed during the six (6) months before the coverage became effective. (3-29-17)(        )

03. Discrimination in Pricing. An issuer shall not discriminate in the pricing of a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate issued pursuant to Subsection 0236.01, except on the basis of the following criteria:

(3-29-17)(        )

a. Issue age; and (3-29-17)

b. Smoking or tobacco use. (3-29-17)

037. -- 040. (RESERVED)

02741. GUARANTEED ISSUE FOR ELIGIBLE PERSONS.

01. Guaranteed Issue. (4-5-00)

a. Eligible persons are those individuals described in Subsection 02741.02 who seek to enroll under 
the policy during the period specified in Subsection 02741.03, and who submit evidence of the date of termination or 
disenrollment or Medicare Part D enrollment with the application for a Medicare supplement policy. (3-29-10)(        )

b. With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness 
of a Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection 02741.05 that is offered and is available for issuance to new 
enrollees by the issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a Medicare supplement policy because of health 
status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and shall not impose an exclusion of benefits 
based on a preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement policy. (3-29-10)(        )

02. Eligible Persons. An eligible person is an individual described here in any part of Subsection 
02741.02: (3-29-10)(        )

a. The individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits that 
supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan terminates, or the plan ceases to provide all such supplemental 
health benefits to the individual; or the individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefits plan that is primary 
to Medicare and the plan terminates or the plan ceases to provide all health benefits to the individual because the 
individual leaves the plan; (4-5-00)

b. The individual is enrolled with a Medicare Advantage organization under a Medicare Advantage 
plan under Part C of Medicare, and any of the following circumstances apply, or the individual is sixty-five (65) years 
of age or older and is enrolled with a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) provider under Section 
1894 of the Social Security Act, and there are circumstances similar to those described below that would permit 
discontinuance of the individual’s enrollment with such provider if such individual were enrolled in a Medicare 
Advantage plan: (4-11-06)

i. The certification of the organization or plan under this part has been terminated; (4-11-06)

ii. The organization has terminated or otherwise discontinued providing the plan in the area in which 
the individual resides; (4-11-06)

iii. The individual is no longer eligible to elect the plan because of a change in the individual’s place of 
residence or other change in circumstances specified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, but not 
including termination of the individual’s enrollment on the basis described in Section 1851(g)(3)(B) of the federal 
Social Security Act (where the individual has not paid premiums on a timely basis or has engaged in disruptive 
behavior as specified in standards under Section 1856), or the plan is terminated for all individuals within a residence 
area; (4-11-06)
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iv. The individual demonstrates, in accordance with guidelines established by the Secretary of Health 
and Human Services: (3-29-10)

(a) That the organization offering the plan substantially violated a material provision of the 
organization’s contract under this part in relation to the individual, including the failure to provide an enrollee on a 
timely basis medically necessary care for which benefits are available under the plan or the failure to provide such 
covered care in accordance with applicable quality standards; or (3-29-10)

(b) The organization, or agent, or other entity acting on the organization’s behalf, materially 
misrepresented the plan’s provisions in marketing the plan to the individual; or (3-29-10)

(c) The individual meets such other exceptional conditions as the Secretary may provide. (3-29-10)

c. The individual is enrolled with: (4-5-00)

i. An eligible organization under a contract under Section 1876 of the Social Security Act (Medicare 
cost); (5-3-03)

ii. A similar organization operating under demonstration project authority, effective for periods before 
April 1, 1999; (4-5-00)

iii. An organization under an agreement under Section 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (health 
care prepayment plan); or (5-3-03)

iv. An organization under a Medicare Select policy; and (4-5-00)

d. The enrollment ceases under the same circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an 
individual’s election of coverage under Paragraph 02741.02.b. (3-29-10)(        )

e. The individual is enrolled under a Medicare supplement policy and the enrollment ceases because:
(4-5-00)

i. Of the insolvency of the issuer or bankruptcy of the non-issuer organization; or (4-5-00)

ii. Of other involuntary termination of coverage or enrollment under the policy; (4-5-00)

iii. The issuer of the policy substantially violated a material provision of the policy; or (4-5-00)

iv. The issuer, or an agent or other entity acting on the issuer’s behalf, materially misrepresented the 
policy’s provisions in marketing the policy to the individual. (4-5-00)

f. The individual was enrolled under a Medicare supplement policy and terminates enrollment and 
subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any Medicare Advantage organization under a Medicare Advantage plan 
under Part C of Medicare, any eligible organization under a contract under Section 1876 of the Social Security Act 
(Medicare cost), any similar organization operating under demonstration project authority, any PACE provider under 
Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, or a Medicare Select policy; and (4-11-06)

g. The subsequent enrollment under Paragraph 02741.02.f. is terminated by the enrollee during any 
period within the first twelve (12) months of such subsequent enrollment (during which the enrollee is permitted to 
terminate such subsequent enrollment under Section 1851(e) of the federal Social Security Act); or (3-29-10)(        )

h. The individual, upon first becoming eligible for benefits under Part A of Medicare, enrolls in a 
Medicare Advantage plan under Part C of Medicare, or with a PACE provider under Section 1894 of the Social 
Security Act, and disenrolls from the plan or program by not later than twelve (12) months after the effective date of 
enrollment. (4-11-06)

i. The individual enrolls in a Medicare Part D plan during the initial enrollment period and at the time 
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of enrollment in Part D, was enrolled under Medicare supplement policy that covers outpatient prescription drugs and 
the individual terminates enrollment in the Medicare supplement policy and submits evidence of enrollment in 
Medicare Part D along with the application for a policy described in Paragraph 02741.05.e. (3-29-10)(        )

03. Guaranteed Issue Time Periods. (5-3-03)

a. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 02741.02.a., the guaranteed issue period begins 
on the later of the date the individual receives a notice of termination or cessation of all supplemental health benefits 
(or, if a notice is not received, notice that a claim has been denied because of a termination or cessation); or the date 
that the applicable coverage terminates or ceases; and ends sixty-three (63) days thereafter; (3-29-10)(        )

b. In the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 02741.02.b., 02741.02.c., 02741.02.f., or 
02741.02.h., whose enrollment is terminated involuntarily, the guaranteed issue period begins on the date that the 
individual receives a notice of termination and ends sixty-three (63) days after the date the applicable coverage is 
terminated; (3-29-10)(        )

c. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 02741.02.e., the guaranteed issue period begins 
on the earlier of: (3-29-10)(        )

i. The date that the individual receives a notice of termination, a notice of the issuer’s bankruptcy or 
insolvency, or other such similar notice if any; and (5-3-03)

ii. The date that the applicable coverage is terminated, and ends on the date that is sixty-three (63) 
days after the date the coverage is terminated; (5-3-03)

d. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 02741.02.b. and Subparagraph 02741.02.e.iii., 
and Subparagraph 02741.02.e.iv., Paragraph 02741.02.f., or 02741.02.h., who disenrolls voluntarily, the guaranteed 
issue period begins on the date that is sixty (60) days before the effective date of the disenrollment and ends on the 
date that is sixty-three (63) days after the effective date; and (3-29-10)(        )

e. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 02741.02.i., the guaranteed issue period begins 
on the date the individual receives notice pursuant to Section 1882(v)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act from the 
Medicare supplement issuer during the sixty-day (60) period immediately preceding the initial Part D enrollment 
period and ends on the date that is sixty-three (63) days after the effective date of the individual’s coverage under 
Medicare Part D; and (3-29-10)(        )

f. In the case of an individual described in Subsection 02741.02 but not described in the preceding 
provisions of Subsection 02741.03, the guaranteed issue period begins on the effective date of disenrollment and ends 
on the date that is sixty-three (63) days after the effective date. (3-29-10)(        )

04. Extended Medigap Access for Interrupted Trial Periods. (5-3-03)

a. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 02741.02.f. (or deemed to be so described, 
pursuant to this paragraph) whose enrollment with an organization or provider described in Paragraph 02741.02.f. is 
involuntarily terminated within the first twelve (12) months of enrollment, and who, without an intervening 
enrollment, enrolls with another such organization or provider, the subsequent enrollment shall be deemed to be an 
initial enrollment described in Paragraph 02741.02.f.; (3-29-10)(        )

b. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 02741.02.h. (or deemed to be so described, 
pursuant to this paragraph) whose enrollment with a plan or in a program described in Paragraph 02741.02.h. is 
involuntarily terminated within the first twelve (12) months of enrollment, and who, without an intervening 
enrollment, enrolls in another such plan or program, the subsequent enrollment shall be deemed to be an initial 
enrollment described in Paragraph 02741.02.h.; and (3-29-10)(        )

c. For purposes of Paragraphs 02741.02.f. and 02741.02.h., no enrollment of an individual with an 
organization or provider described in Paragraph 02741.02.f. or with a plan or in a program described in Paragraph 
02741.02.h. may be deemed to be an initial enrollment under this paragraph after the two-year period beginning on 
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the date on which the individual first enrolled with such an organization, provider, plan or program. (3-29-10)(        )

05. Products to Which Eligible Persons are Entitled. The Medicare supplement policy to which 
eligible persons are entitled under: (4-11-06)

a. Paragraphs 02741.02.a. through 02741.02.e. is a Medicare supplement policy which has a benefit 
package classified as Plan A, B, C, or F (including F with a high deductible), K or L offered by any issuer.

(3-29-10)(        )

b. Subject to Paragraph 02741.05.c., Paragraph 02741.02.g. is the same Medicare supplement policy 
in which the individual was most recently previously enrolled, if available from the same issuer, or, if not so 
available, a policy described in Paragraph 02741.05.a. (3-29-10)(        )

c. After December 31, 2005, if the individual was most recently enrolled in a Medicare supplement 
policy with an outpatient prescription drug benefit, a Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection 02741.05 
is: (3-29-10)(        )

i. The policy available from the same issuer but modified to remove outpatient prescription drug 
coverage; or (4-11-06)

ii. At the election of the policyholder, an A, B, C, F (including F with a high deductible), K or L policy 
that is offered by any issuer; (4-11-06)

d. Paragraph 02741.02.h. shall include any Medicare supplement policy offered by any issuer.
(3-29-10)(        )

e. Paragraph 02741.02.i. is a Medicare supplement policy that has a benefit package classified as Plan 
A, B, C, F (including F with a high deductible), K, or L and that is offered and is available for issuance to new 
enrollees by the same issuer that issued the individual’s Medicare supplement policy with outpatient prescription drug 
coverage. (3-29-10)(        )

06. Notification Provisions. (4-5-00)

a. At the time of an event described in Subsection 02741.02 of this rule because of which an 
individual loses coverage or benefits due to the termination of a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, the 
organization that terminates the contract or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy, or the administrator of the 
plan being terminated, respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights under this Section, and of the 
obligations of issuers of Medicare supplement policies under Subsection 02741.01. Such notice shall be 
communicated contemporaneously with the notification of termination. (3-29-10)(        )

b. At the time of an event described in Subsection 02741.02 because of which an individual ceases 
enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, the organization that offers the contract or agreement, 
regardless of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the issuer offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan, 
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights under this section, and of the obligations of issuers of 
Medicare supplement policies under Subsection 02741.01. Such notice shall be communicated within ten (10) 
working days of the issuer receiving notification of disenrollment. (3-29-10)(        )

07. Discrimination in Pricing. With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall not discriminate in the 
pricing of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate issued pursuant to Subsection 02741.01, except on the basis of 
the following criteria: (3-29-10)(        )

a. Issue age; and (3-29-17)

b. Smoking or tobacco use. (3-29-17)

042. -- 045. (RESERVED)
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02846. STANDARDS FOR CLAIMS PAYMENT.

01. Compliance. An issuer shall comply with Section 1882(c)(3) of the Social Security Act (as enacted 
by Section 4081(b)(2)(C) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) 1987, Pub. L. No. 100-203) 
by: (3-29-10)

a. Accepting a notice from a Medicare carrier on dually assigned claims submitted by participating 
physicians and suppliers as a claim for benefits in place of any other claim form otherwise required and making a 
payment determination on the basis of the information contained in that notice; (4-5-00)

b. Notifying the participating physician or supplier and the beneficiary of the payment determination;
(4-5-00)

c. Paying the participating physician or supplier directly; (4-5-00)

d. Furnishing, at the time of enrollment, each enrollee with a card listing the policy name, number and 
a central mailing address to which notices from a Medicare carrier may be sent; (4-5-00)

e. Paying user fees for claim notices that are transmitted electronically or otherwise; and (4-5-00)

f. Providing to the Secretary of Health and Human Services, at least annually, a central mailing 
address to which all claims may be sent by Medicare carriers. (4-5-00)

02. Certification. Compliance with the requirements set forth in Subsection 02846.01 shall be certified 
on the Medicare supplement insurance experience reporting form. (3-29-10)(        )

047. -- 050. (RESERVED)

02951. LOSS RATIO STANDARDS AND REFUND OR CREDIT OF PREMIUM.

01. Loss Ratio Standards. (4-5-00)

a. A Medicare supplement policy form or certificate form shall not be delivered or issued for delivery 
unless the policy form or certificate form can be expected, as estimated for the entire period for which rates are 
computed to provide coverage, to return to policyholders and certificateholders in the form of aggregate benefits (not 
including anticipated refunds or credits) provided under the policy form or certificate form. (4-5-00)

i. At least seventy-five percent (75%) of the aggregate amount of premiums earned in the case of 
group policies; or (4-5-00)

ii. At least sixty-five percent (65%) of the aggregate amount of premiums earned in the case of 
individual policies; (4-5-00)

b. Calculated on the basis of incurred claims experience or incurred health care expenses where 
coverage is provided by a managed care organization on a service rather than reimbursement basis and earned 
premiums for the period and in accordance with accepted actuarial principles and practices. Incurred health care 
expenses where coverage is provided by a managed care organization shall not include: (4-11-06)

i. Home office and overhead costs; (4-11-06)

ii. Advertising costs; (4-11-06)

iii. Commissions and other acquisition costs; (4-11-06)

iv. Taxes; (4-11-06)

v. Capital costs; (4-11-06)
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vi. Administrative costs; and (4-11-06)

vii. Claims processing costs. (4-11-06)

c. All filings of rates and rating schedules shall demonstrate that expected claims in relation to 
premiums comply with the requirements of this section when combined with actual experience to date. Filings of rate 
revisions shall also demonstrate that the anticipated loss ratio over the entire future period for which the revised rates 
are computed to provide coverage can be expected to meet the appropriate loss ratio standards. Demonstrations shall, 
at a minimum, account for: (3-29-17)

i. Lapse rates; (3-29-17)

ii. Medical trend and rationale for trend; (3-29-17)

iii. Assumptions regarding future premium rate revisions; and (3-29-17)

iv. Interest rates for discounting and accumulating. (3-29-17)

d. For purposes of applying Paragraphs 02951.01.a. and 03056.05.b., only, policies issued as a result 
of solicitations of individuals through the mails or by mass media advertising (including both print and broadcast 
advertising) shall be deemed to be individual policies. (3-29-10)(        )

e. For policies issued prior to July 1, 1992, expected claims in relation to premiums shall meet:
(4-5-00)

i. The originally filed anticipated loss ratio when combined with the actual experience since 
inception; (4-5-00)

ii. The appropriate loss ratio requirement from Subparagraphs 02951.01.a.i. and 02951.01.a.ii. when 
combined with actual experience beginning with July 1, 1992 to date; and (3-29-10)(        )

iii. The appropriate loss ratio requirement from Subparagraphs 02951.01.a.i. and 02951.01.a.ii. over 
the entire future period for which the rates are computed to provide coverage. (3-29-10)(        )

02. Refund or Credit Calculation. (4-5-00)

a. An issuer shall collect and file with the director by May 31 of each year the data contained in the 
applicable reporting form as defined by NAIC Model Regulation (Attachments) and accessible by the Internet 
website at https://doi.idaho.gov for each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. (4-11-06)

b. If on the basis of the experience as reported the benchmark ratio since inception (ratio one (1)) 
exceeds the adjusted experience ratio since inception (ratio three (3)), then a refund or credit calculation is required. 
The refund calculation shall be done on a statewide basis for each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit 
plan. For purposes of the refund or credit calculation, experience on policies issued within the reporting year shall be 
excluded. (4-5-00)

c. For the purpose of Section 02951, policies or certificates issued prior to July 1, 1992, the issuer 
shall make the refund or credit calculation separately for all individual policies (including all group policies subject to 
an individual loss ratio standard when issued) combined and all other group policies combined for experience after 
July 1, 1992. The first report shall be due by May 31, 1994. (3-29-10)(        )

d. A refund or credit shall be made only when the benchmark loss ratio exceeds the adjusted 
experience loss ratio and the amount to be refunded or credit exceeds a de minimis level. The refund shall include 
interest from the end of the calendar year to the date of the refund or credit at a rate specified by the Secretary of 
Health and Human Services, but in no event shall it be less than the average rate of interest for thirteen (13) week 
Treasury notes. A refund or credit against premiums due shall be made by September 30 following the experience 
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year upon which the refund or credit is based. (4-5-00)

03. Annual Filing of Premium Rates. An issuer of Medicare supplement policies and certificates 
issued before or after the effective date of July 1, 1992, in this state shall file annually its rates, rating schedule, and 
supporting documentation including ratios of incurred losses to earned premiums by policy duration for approval by 
the director in accordance with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by the director. The supporting 
documentation shall also demonstrate in accordance with actuarial standards of practice using reasonable 
assumptions that the appropriate loss ratio standards can be expected to be met over the entire period for which rates 
are computed. The demonstration shall exclude active life reserves. An expected third-year loss ratio which is greater 
than or equal to the applicable percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates in force less than three (3) 
years. As soon as practicable, but prior to the effective date of enhancements in Medicare benefits, every issuer of 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates in this state shall file with the director, in accordance with the applicable 
filing procedures of this state: (4-5-00)

a. Appropriate premium adjustments necessary to produce loss ratios as anticipated for the current 
premium for the applicable policies or certificates. The supporting documents necessary to justify the adjustment 
shall accompany the filing. (4-5-00)

b. An issuer shall make premium adjustments necessary to produce an expected loss ratio under the 
policy or certificate to conform to minimum loss ratio standards for Medicare supplement policies and which are 
expected to result in a loss ratio at least as great as that originally anticipated in the rates used to produce current 
premiums by the issuer for the Medicare supplement policies or certificates. No premium adjustment which would 
modify the loss ratio experience under the policy other than the adjustments described herein shall be made with 
respect to a policy at any time other than upon its renewal date or anniversary date. (4-5-00)

c. If an issuer fails to make premium adjustments acceptable to the director, the director may order 
premium adjustments, refunds, or premium credits deemed necessary to achieve the loss ratio required by Section 
02951. (3-29-10)(        )

d. Any appropriate riders, endorsements, or policy forms needed to accomplish the Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate modifications necessary to eliminate benefit duplications with Medicare. The riders, 
endorsements, or policy forms shall provide a clear description of the Medicare supplement benefits provided by the 
policy or certificate. (4-5-00)

04. Public Hearings. The director may conduct a public hearing to gather information concerning a 
request by an issuer for an increase in a rate for a policy form or certificate form issued before or after the effective 
date of July 1, 1992 if the experience of the form for the previous reporting period is not in compliance with the 
applicable loss ratio standard. The determination of compliance is made without consideration of any refund or credit 
for the reporting period. Public notice of the hearing shall be furnished in a manner deemed appropriate by the 
director. (4-5-00)

052. -- 055. (RESERVED)

03056. FILING AND APPROVAL OF POLICIES AND CERTIFICATES AND PREMIUM RATES.

01. Filing of Policy Forms. (3-29-10)

a. An issuer shall not deliver or issue for delivery a policy or certificate to a resident of this state 
unless the policy form or certificate form has been filed with and approved by the director in accordance with filing 
requirements and procedures prescribed by the director. (3-29-10)

b. An issuer shall file any riders or amendments to policy or certificate forms to delete outpatient 
prescription drug benefits as required by the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and Modernization Act of 
2003 only with the director in the state in which the policy or certificate was issued. (3-29-10)

02. Filing of Premium Rates. (3-29-10)
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a. An issuer shall not use or change premium rates for a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
unless the rates, rating schedule, and supporting documentation have been filed with and approved by the director in 
accordance with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by the director. (3-29-10)

b. Except as provided in Subsection 02951.03, the insured shall not receive more than one (1) rate 
increase in any twelve (12) month period. (3-29-10)(        )

03. Except as provided in Paragraph 03056.03.a., an issuer shall not file for approval more than one (1) 
form of a policy or certificate of each type for each standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. (3-29-10)(        )

a. An issuer may offer, with the approval of the director, up to three (3) additional policy forms or 
certificate forms of the same type for the same standard Medicare supplement benefit plan, one (1) or each of the 
following cases: (3-29-17)

i. The inclusion of new or innovative benefits; (4-5-00)

ii. The addition of either direct response or agent marketing methods; (4-5-00)

iii. The addition of either guaranteed issue or underwritten coverage; (4-5-00)

b. For the purposes of Section 03056, “type” means an individual policy, a group policy, an individual 
Medicare Select policy, or a group Medicare Select policy. (3-29-17)(        )

04. Availability of Policy Form or Certificate. Except as provided in Paragraph 03056.04.a., an 
issuer shall continue to make available for purchase any policy form or certificate form issued after the effective date 
of this rule. A policy form or certificate form shall not be considered to be available for purchase unless the issuer has 
actively offered it for sale in the previous twelve (12) months. (3-29-10)(        )

a. An issuer may discontinue the availability of a policy form or certificate form if the issuer provides 
to the director in writing its decision at least thirty (30) days prior to discontinuing the availability of the form of the 
policy or certificate. After receipt of this notice by the director, the issuer shall no longer offer for sale the policy form 
or certificate form in this state. (4-5-00)

b. An issuer that discontinues the availability of a policy form or certificate form pursuant to 
Paragraph 03056.04.a. shall not file for approval a new policy form or certificate form of the same type for the same 
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan as the discontinued form for a period of five (5) years after the issuer 
provides notice to the director of the discontinuance. The period of discontinuance may be reduced if the director 
determines that a shorter period is appropriate. (3-29-10)(        )

c. The sale or other transfer of Medicare supplement business to another issuer shall be considered a 
discontinuance for the purposes of Subsection 03056.04. (3-29-10)(        )

d. A change in the rating structure or methodology shall be considered a discontinuance under this 
Subsection 03056.04 unless the issuer complies with the following requirements: (3-29-10)(        )

i. The issuer provides an actuarial memorandum, in a form and manner prescribed by the director, 
describing the manner in which the revised rating methodology and resultant rates differ from the existing rating 
methodology and existing rates. (4-5-00)

ii. The issuer does not subsequently put into effect a change of rates or rating factors that would cause 
the percentage differential between the discontinued and subsequent rates as described in the actuarial memorandum 
to change. The director may approve a change to the differential which is in the public interest. (4-5-00)

05. Experience of Policy Forms. (4-5-00)

a. Except as provided in Paragraph 03056.05.b., the experience of all policy forms or certificate forms 
of the same type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan shall be combined for purposes of the refund or 
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credit calculation prescribed in Section 02951. (3-29-10)(        )

b. Forms assumed under an assumption reinsurance agreement shall not be combined with the 
experience of other forms for purposes of the refund or credit calculation. (4-5-00)

c. The experience of all policy forms or certificate forms for standardized Medicare supplement 
benefit plans of the same type shall be combined for purposes of the rate change filing. Generally, any applicable 
percentage increase shall be filed and applied uniformly across all standardized plans within the same type, unless 
doing so would violate the federal lifetime loss ratio standards for specific forms within the same type. (3-29-17)

06. Attained Age Rating Prohibited. With respect to Medicare supplement policies that conform to 
the Standard Benefit Plans developed by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners and adopted by the 
State of Idaho July 1, 1992, under IDAPA 18.01.54, “Rule to Implement the NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance 
Minimum Standards Model Act,” sold to residents of this state and all those sold on or after January 1, 1995, it is an 
unfair practice and an unfair method of competition for any issuer, insurer, or licensee to use the increasing age of an 
insured, subscriber or participant as the basis for increasing premiums or prepayment charges for policyholders who 
initially purchase a policy after January 1, 1995. This rule explicitly authorizes both issue age ratings and community 
ratings consistent with the prohibition of attained age ratings and allows companies to resubmit for approval issue age 
ratings previously rejected. (3-29-10)

07. Rating by Area and Gender Prohibited. With respect to Medicare supplement policies that 
conform to the Standard Benefit Plans developed by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners and 
adopted by the State of Idaho, July 1, 1992, under IDAPA 18.01.54, “Rule to Implement the NAIC Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards Model Act,” sold to residents of this State and all those sold on or after 
January 1, 1999, it is an unfair practice and an unfair method of competition for any issuee, issuer, or licensee to use 
area or gender for rating purpose. (3-29-10)

08. Other Rating Requirements. With respect to Medicare supplement policies that conform to the 
Standard Benefit Plans under this rule, sold to residents of this State on or after January 1, 2018: (3-29-17)

a. Any rate adjustments will be uniform between 1990 Standardized and 2010 Standardized plans 
throughout the lifetime of the policies, unless doing so would violate the federal lifetime loss ratio standards for 
specific forms within the same type. (3-29-17)

b. No discount or underwriting factor of less than 1.0 will be available to policies issued outside of 
open enrollment, per Section 0236, or guaranteed issue, per Section 02741, unless the greatest discount or lowest 
underwriting factor is automatically applied to all policies issued under open enrollment and guaranteed issue.

(3-29-17)(        )

c. For issue-ages sixty-five (65) and greater, the filed rate for any given age must not exceed the rate 
for any higher issue-age, similarly rated individual. (3-29-17)

d. For issue-ages sixty-four (64) or less, the premium shall not exceed one hundred fifty percent 
(150%) of the premium for an issue-age sixty-five (65), similarly rated individual, while the individual’s attained age 
is less than sixty-five (65). Upon attaining age sixty-five (65), a policyholder with an issue-age less than sixty-five 
(65) shall be charged the same premium rate as an issue-age sixty-five (65), similarly rated individual. (3-29-17)

e. For any given age, the rating by the issuer shall not differentiate on the basis of the reason for 
eligibility for Medicare Part B. (3-29-17)

057. -- 060. (RESERVED)

0361. PERMITTED COMPENSATION ARRANGEMENTS.

01. Commissions. An issuer or other entity may provide commission or other compensation to an 
agent or other representative for the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only if the first-year 
commission or other first-year compensation is no more than two hundred percent (200%) of the commission or other 
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compensation paid for selling or servicing the policy or certificate in the second year or period. (4-5-00)

02. Compensation in Subsequent Years. The commission or other compensation provided in 
subsequent renewal years must be the same as that provided in the second year or period and must be provided for no 
fewer than five (5) renewal years. (4-11-06)

03. Renewal Compensation. No issuer or other entity shall provide compensation to its agent or other 
producers and no agent or producer shall receive compensation greater than the renewal compensation payable by the 
replacing issuer on renewal policies or certificates if an existing policy or certificate is replaced. (4-5-00)

04. Compensation. For purposes of Section 0361, compensation includes pecuniary or non-pecuniary 
remuneration of any kind relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate, including but not limited to 
bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards, and finder’s fees. (3-29-10)(        )

062. -- 065. (RESERVED)

03266. REQUIRED DISCLOSURE PROVISIONS.

01. General Rules. (4-5-00)

a. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall include a renewal or continuation provision. 
The language or specifications of the provision shall be consistent with the type of contract issued. The provision 
shall be appropriately captioned and shall appear on the first page of the policy, and shall include any reservation by 
the issuer of the right to change premiums. (3-29-10)

b. Except for riders or endorsements by which the issuer effectuates a request made in writing by the 
insured, exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare supplement policy, or is required to reduce or 
eliminate benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all riders or endorsements added to a Medicare 
supplement policy after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal which reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in 
the policy shall require a signed acceptance by the insured. After the date of policy or certificate issue, any rider or 
endorsement which increases benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase in premium during the policy term 
shall be agreed to in writing and signed by the insured, unless the benefits are required by the minimum standards for 
Medicare supplement policies, or if the increased benefits or coverage is required by law. Where a separate additional 
premium is charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or endorsements, the premium charge shall be set 
forth in the policy. (4-5-00)

c. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall not provide for the payment of benefits based on 
standards described as “usual and customary,” “reasonable and customary,” or words of similar import. (4-5-00)

d. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate contains any limitations with respect to preexisting 
conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate paragraph of the policy and be labeled as “Preexisting 
Condition Limitations.” (4-5-00)

e. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall have a notice prominently printed on the first 
page of the policy or certificate or attached thereto, stating in substance that the policyholder or certificateholder shall 
have the right to return the policy or certificate within thirty (30) days of its delivery and to have the premium 
refunded if, after examination of the policy or certificate, the insured person is not satisfied for any reason. (3-29-10)

f. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or certificates which provide hospital or medical expense 
coverage on an expense incurred or indemnity basis to persons eligible for Medicare shall provide to those applicants 
a “Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare” in the form developed jointly by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissions and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and in a type size no smaller than twelve 
(12) point type. Delivery of the Guide shall be made whether or not the policies or certificates are advertised, solicited 
or issued as Medicare supplement policies or certificates as defined in this rule. Except in the case of direct response 
issuers, delivery of the Guide shall be made to the applicant at the time of application and acknowledgment of receipt 
of the Guide shall be obtained by the issuer. Direct response issuers shall deliver the Guide to the applicant upon 
request but not later than at the time the policy is delivered. (4-11-06)
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g. For the purposes of Section 03266, “form” means the language, format, type size, type proportional 
spacing, bold character, and line spacing. (3-29-10)(        )

02. Notice Requirements. (4-5-00)

a. As soon as practicable, but no later than thirty (30) days prior to the annual effective date of any 
Medicare benefit changes, an issuer shall notify its policyholders and certificateholders of modifications it has made 
to Medicare supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format acceptable to the director. The notice shall:

(4-5-00)

i. Include a description of revisions to the Medicare program and a description of each modification 
made to the coverage provided under the Medicare supplement policy or certificate, and (4-5-00)

ii. Inform each policyholder or certificateholder as to when any premium adjustment is to be made 
due to changes in Medicare. (4-5-00)

b. The notice of benefit modifications and any premium adjustments shall be in outline form and in 
clear and simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension. (4-5-00)

c. The notices shall not contain or be accompanied by any solicitation. (4-5-00)

03. Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003 Notice 
Requirements. Issuers shall comply with any notice requirements of the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, 
and Modernization Act of 2003. (4-11-06)

04. Outline of Coverage Requirements for Medicare Supplement Policies. (4-5-00)

a. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all applicants at the time application is presented to 
the prospective applicant and, except for direct response policies, shall obtain an acknowledgment of receipt of the 
outline from the applicant; and (4-5-00)

b. If an outline of coverage is provided at the time of application and the Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate is issued on a basis which would require revision of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage properly 
describing the policy or certificate shall accompany the policy or certificate when it is delivered and contain the 
following statement, in no less than twelve (12) point type, immediately above the company name:

“NOTICE: Read this outline of coverage carefully. It is not identical to the outline of coverage provided upon 
application and the coverage originally applied for has not been issued.” (4-5-00)

c. The outline of coverage provided to applicants pursuant to this section consists of four (4) parts: a 
cover page, premium information, disclosure pages, and charts displaying the features of each benefit plan offered by 
the issuer. The outline of coverage shall be in the language and format prescribed below in no less than twelve (12) 
point type. All plans shall be shown on the cover page, and the plans that are offered by the issuer shall be 
prominently identified. Premium information for plans that are offered shall be shown on the cover page or 
immediately following the cover page and shall be prominently displayed. The premium and mode shall be stated for 
all plans that are offered to the prospective applicant. All possible premiums for the prospective applicant shall be 
illustrated. (3-29-10)

05. Notice Regarding Policies or Certificates Which Are Not Medicare Supplement Policies.
(3-29-10)

a. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or certificate other than Medicare supplement policy 
and policy issued pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. Section 
1395 et seq.), disability income policy; or other policy identified in Paragraph 001.02.b. of this rule, issued for 
delivery in this state to persons eligible for Medicare shall notify insureds under the policy that the policy is not a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to the first page of the outline 
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of coverage delivered to insureds under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is delivered, to the first page of the 
policy, or certificate delivered to insureds. The notice shall be in no less than twelve (12) point type and shall contain 
the following language:

“THIS [POLICY OR CERTIFICATE] IS NOT A MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT [POLICY OR CONTRACT]. 
If you are eligible for Medicare, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare available from 
the company.” (3-29-10)

b. Applications provided to persons eligible for Medicare for the health insurance policies or 
certificates described in Paragraph 03266.04.a. shall disclose, using the applicable NAIC Model Regulation as 
incorporated by reference in Section 004 of this rule and referenced as Appendix C located at the website: https://
doi.idaho.gov, - select Senior Services, see incorporated documents to IDAPA 18.01.54 - “Rule to Implement the 
NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards Model Act”, the extent to which the policy duplicates 
Medicare. The disclosure statement shall be provided as a part of, or together with, the application for the policy or 
certificate. (3-29-10)(        )

067. -- 070. (RESERVED)

03371. REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICATION FORMS AND REPLACEMENT COVERAGE.

01. Application Forms. Application forms shall include the following questions designed to elicit 
information as to whether, as of the date of the application, the applicant currently has another Medicare supplement, 
Medicare Advantage, Medicaid coverage, or another health insurance policy or certificate in force or whether a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate is intended to replace any other accident and sickness policy or certificate 
presently in force. A supplementary application or other form to be signed by the applicant and agent containing such 
questions and statements may be used. (4-11-06)

02. Statements. (4-5-00)

a. You do not need more than one (1) Medicare supplement policy. (4-5-00)

b. If you purchase this policy, you may want to evaluate your existing health coverage and decide if 
you need multiple coverages. (4-5-00)

c. You may be eligible for benefits under Medicaid and may not need a Medicare supplement policy.
(4-5-00)

d. If, after purchasing this policy, you become eligible for Medicaid, the benefits and premiums under 
your Medicare supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, during your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid 
for twenty-four (24) months. You must request this suspension within ninety (90) days of becoming eligible for 
Medicaid. If you are no longer entitled to Medicaid, your suspended Medicare supplement policy (or, if that is no 
longer available, a substantially equivalent policy) will be reinstituted if requested within ninety (90) days of losing 
Medicaid eligibility. If the Medicare supplement policy provided coverage for outpatient prescription drugs and you 
enrolled in Medicare Part D while your policy was suspended, the reinstituted policy will not have outpatient 
prescription drug coverage, but will otherwise be substantially equivalent to your coverage before the date of the 
suspension. (4-11-06)

e. If you are eligible for, and have enrolled in a Medicare supplement policy by reason of disability 
and you later become covered by an employer or union-based group health plan, the benefits and premiums under 
your Medicare supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, while you are covered under the employer or union-
based group health plan. If you suspend your Medicare supplement policy under these circumstances, and later lose 
your employer or union-based group health plan, your suspended Medicare supplement policy (or, if that is no longer 
available, a substantially equivalent policy) will be reinstituted if requested within ninety (90) days of losing your 
employer or union-based health plan. If the Medicare supplement policy provided coverage for outpatient 
prescription drugs and you enrolled in Medicare Part D while your policy was suspended, the reinstituted policy will 
not have outpatient prescription drug coverage, but will otherwise be substantially equivalent to your coverage before 
the date of the suspension. (4-11-06)
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f. Counseling services are available through the Senior Health Insurance Benefit Advisors program 
(SHIBA), to provide advice concerning your purchase of Medicare supplement insurance and concerning medical 
assistance through the state Medicaid program, including benefits as a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a 
Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB). (4-11-06)

03. Questions. See Idaho Appendix A at the end of this rule. (3-29-10)

04. Agents. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies they have sold to the applicant.
(4-5-00)

a. List policies sold which are still in force. (4-5-00)

b. List policies sold in the past five (5) years which are no longer in force. (4-5-00)

05. Direct Response Issuer. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the application or 
supplemental form, signed by the applicant, and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the applicant by the 
insurer upon delivery of the policy. (4-5-00)

06. Notice Regarding Replacement of Medicare Supplement Coverage. Upon determining that a 
sale will involve replacement of Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer, other than a direct response issuer, or its 
agent, shall furnish the applicant, prior to issuance or delivery of the Medicare supplement policy or certificate, a 
notice regarding replacement of Medicare supplement coverage. One (1) copy of the notice signed by the applicant 
and the agent, except where the coverage is sold without an agent, shall be provided to the applicant and an additional 
signed copy shall be retained by the issuer. A direct response issuer shall deliver to the applicant at the time of the 
issuance of the policy the notice regarding replacement of Medicare supplement coverage. (4-5-00)

07. SHIBA and Consumer Assistance Link. The notice required in Subsection 03371.06 for an issuer 
shall be provided in substantially the following form based on the NAIC Model Regulation as incorporated by 
reference in Section 004 of this rule, which includes NAIC Appendixes A, B, and C and all other outlines of coverage 
and specific plan designs. For which can be accessed on the website, go to Idaho Department of Insurance homepage
website at https://doi.idaho.gov/displaypdf?ID=18.01.54&cat=Laws, select Senior Services, see incorporated 
documents to IDAPA 18.01.54 - “Rule to Implement the NAIC Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards 
Model Act”. To obtain a copy of the NAIC Model Regulation, contact SHIBA at the Idaho Department of Insurance 
(208) 334-4250. (3-29-10)(        )

03472. FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR ADVERTISING.
An issuer shall provide a copy of any Medicare supplement advertisement intended for use in this state whether 
through written, radio, or television medium to the director for review or approval by the director. (4-5-00)

03573. STANDARDS FOR MARKETING.

01. Issuer. An issuer, directly or through its producers, shall: (4-5-00)

a. Establish marketing procedures to assure that any comparison of policies by its agents or other 
producers will be fair and accurate. (4-5-00)

b. Establish marketing procedures to assure excessive insurance is not sold or issued. (4-5-00)

c. Display prominently by type, stamp, or other appropriate means, on the first page of the policy the 
following:

“Notice to buyer: This policy may not cover all of your medical expenses.” (4-5-00)

d. Inquire and otherwise make every reasonable effort to identify whether a prospective applicant or 
enrollee for Medicare supplement insurance already has accident and sickness insurance and the types and amounts 
of any such insurance. (4-5-00)
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e. Establish auditable procedures for verifying compliance with this Subsection 03573.01.
(3-29-10)(        )

02. Prohibited Acts and Practices. In addition to the practices prohibited in Chapter 13, Title 41, 
Idaho Code, the following acts and practices are prohibited: (4-5-00)

a. Twisting. Knowingly making any misleading representation or incomplete or fraudulent 
comparison of any insurance policies or insurers for the purpose of inducing, or tending to induce, any person to 
lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate, retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or convert an insurance policy or to take out a 
policy of insurance with another insurer. (4-5-00)

b. High pressure tactics. Employing any method of marketing having the effect of or tending to induce 
the purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or 
recommend the purchase of insurance. (4-5-00)

c. Cold lead advertising. Making use directly or indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to 
disclose in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of marketing is solicitation of insurance and that 
contact will be made by an insurance agent or insurance company. (4-5-00)

03. Prohibited Terms. The terms “Medicare supplement,” “Medigap,” “Medicare wrap-around,” and 
words of similar import shall not be used unless the policy is issued in compliance with this rule. (3-29-10)

074. -- 075. (RESERVED)

0376. APPROPRIATENESS OF RECOMMENDED PURCHASE AND EXCESSIVE INSURANCE.
In recommending the purchase or replacement of any Medicare supplement policy or certificate, an agent shall make 
reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of a recommended purchase or replacement. Any sale of 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate that will provide an individual more than one Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate is prohibited. An issuer shall not issue a Medicare supplement policy or certificate to an individual 
enrolled in Medicare Part C unless the effective date of the coverage is after the termination date of the individual’s 
Part C coverage. (4-11-06)

0377. REPORTING OF MULTIPLE POLICIES.

01. Reporting. On or before March 1 of each year, an issuer shall report the following information for 
every individual resident of this state for which the issuer has in force more than one (1) Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate: (4-5-00)

a. Policy and certificate number, and (4-5-00)

b. Date of issuance. (4-5-00)

02. Grouping by Individual Policyholder. The items set forth above must be grouped by individual 
policyholder. (4-5-00)

078. -- 080. (RESERVED)

0381. PROHIBITION AGAINST PREEXISTING CONDITIONS, WAITING PERIODS, ELIMINATION 
PERIODS AND PROBATIONARY PERIODS IN REPLACEMENT POLICIES OR CERTIFICATES.

01. Waiving of Time Periods. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate replaces another 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate, the replacing issuer shall waive any time periods applicable to preexisting 
conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods and probationary periods in the new Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate for similar benefits to the extent such time was spent under the original policy. (4-5-00)

02. Replacing Policy. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate replaces another Medicare 
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supplement policy or certificate which has been in effect for at last six (6) months, the replacing policy shall not 
provide any time period applicable to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods, and probationary 
periods for benefits similar to those contained in the original policy or certificate. (4-5-00)

03982. PROHIBITION AGAINST USE OF GENETIC INFORMATION AND REQUESTS FOR GENETIC 
TESTING.
This section applies to all policies with policy years beginning on or after May 21, 2009. (3-29-10)

01. Prohibited Provisions. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate: (3-29-10)

a. Shall not deny or condition the issuance of effectiveness of the policy or certificate (including the 
imposition of any exclusion of benefits under the policy based on a preexisting condition) on the basis of the genetic 
information with respect to such individual; and (3-29-10)

b. Shall not discriminate in the pricing of the policy or certificate (including the adjustment of 
premium rates) of an individual on the basis of the genetic information with respect to such individual. (3-29-10)

02. Denial of Coverage. Nothing in Subsection 03982.01 shall be construed to limit the ability of an 
issuer, to the extent otherwise permitted by law, from: (3-29-10)(        )

a. Denying or conditioning the issuance or effectiveness of the policy or certificate or increasing the 
premium for a group based on the manifestation of a disease or disorder of an insured or applicant; or (3-29-10)

b. Increasing the premium for any policy issued to an individual based on the manifestation of a 
disease or disorder of an individual who is covered under the policy (in such case, the manifestation of a disease or 
disorder in one individual cannot also be used as genetic information about other group members and to further 
increase the premium for the group). (3-29-10)

03. Genetic Testing. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not request or 
require an individual or a family member of such individual to undergo a genetic test. (3-29-10)

04. Payment. Subsection 03982.03 shall not be construed to preclude an issuer of a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate from obtaining and using the results of a genetic test in making a determination 
regarding payment (as defined for the purposes of applying the regulations promulgated under part C of title XI and 
Section 264 of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, as may be revised from time to time) 
and consistent with Subsection 03982.01. of this rule. (3-29-10)(        )

05. Information. For purposes of carrying out Subsection 03982.04, an issuer of a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate may request only the minimum amount of information necessary to accomplish the 
intended purpose. (3-29-10)(        )

06. Allowed Genetic Testing. Notwithstanding Subsection 03982.03, an issuer of a Medicare 
supplement policy may request, but not require, that an individual or a family member of such individual undergo a 
genetic test if each of the following conditions is met: (3-29-10)(        )

a. The request is made pursuant to research that complies with part 46 of title 45, Code of Federal 
Regulations, or equivalent Federal regulations, and any applicable State or local law or rules for the protection of 
human subjects in research. (3-29-10)

b. The issuer clearly indicates to each individual, or in the case of a minor child, to the legal guardian 
of such child, to whom the request is made that: (3-29-10)

i. Compliance with the request is voluntary; and (3-29-10)

ii. Non-compliance will have no effect on enrollment status or premium or contribution amounts.
(3-29-10)
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c. No genetic information collected or acquired under Subsection 03982.06 shall be used for 
underwriting, determination of eligibility to enroll or maintain enrollment status, premium rates, or the issuance, 
renewal, or replacement of a policy or certificate. (3-29-10)(        )

d. The issuer notifies the Secretary in writing that the issuer is conducting activities pursuant to the 
exception provided for under Subsection 03982.06, including a description of the activities conducted.

(3-29-10)(        )

e. The issuer complies with such other conditions as the Secretary may by regulation require for 
activities conducted under Subsection 03982.06. (3-29-10)(        )

f. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not request, require, or purchase 
genetic information for underwriting purposes. (3-29-10)

g. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not request, require or purchase 
genetic information with respect to any individual prior to such individual’s enrollment under the policy in 
connection with such enrollment. (3-29-10)

h. If an issuer of Medicare supplement policy or certificate obtains genetic information incidental to 
the requesting, requiring, or purchasing of other information concerning an individual, such request, requirement, or 
purchase shall not be considered a violation of Paragraph 03982.06.g. if such request, requirement, or purchase is not 
in violation of Paragraph 03982.06.f. (3-29-10)(        )

07. Definitions. For the purposes of this section only; (3-29-10)

a. “Issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate” includes third-party administrator, or other 
person acting for or on behalf of such issuer. (3-29-10)

b. “Family member” means, with respect to an individual, any other individual who is a first-degree, 
second-degree, third-degree, or fourth-degree relative of such individual. (3-29-10)

c. “Genetic information” means, with respect to any individual, information about such individual’s 
genetic tests, the genetic tests of family members of such individual, and the manifestation of a disease or disorder in 
family members of such individual. Such term includes, with respect to any individual, any request for, or receipt of, 
genetic services, or participation in clinical research which includes genetic services, by such individual or any family 
member of such individual. Any reference to genetic information concerning an individual or family member of an 
individual who is a pregnant woman, includes genetic information of any fetus carried by such pregnant woman, or 
with respect to an individual or family member utilizing reproductive technology, includes genetic information of any 
embryo legally held by an individual or family member. The term “genetic information” does not include information 
about the sex or age of any individual. (3-29-10)

d. “Genetic services” means a genetic test, genetic counseling (including obtaining, interpreting, or 
assessing genetic information), or genetic education. (3-29-10)

e. “Genetic test” means an analysis of human DNA, RNA, chromosomes, proteins, or metabolites, 
that detect genotypes, mutations, or chromosomal changes. The term “genetic test” does not mean an analysis of 
proteins or metabolites that does not detect genotypes, mutations, or chromosomal changes; or an analysis of proteins 
or metabolites that is directly related to a manifested disease, disorder, or pathological condition that could 
reasonably be detected by a health care professional with appropriate training and expertise in the field of medicine 
involved. (3-29-10)

f. “Underwriting purposes” means: (3-29-10)

i. Rules for, or determination of, eligibility (including enrollment and continued eligibility) for 
benefits under the policy; (3-29-10)

ii. The computation of premium or contribution amounts under the policy; (3-29-10)
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iii. The application of any preexisting condition exclusion under the policy; and (3-29-10)

iv. Other activities related to the creation, renewal, or replacement of a contract of health insurance or 
health benefits. (3-29-10)

083. -- 085. (RESERVED)

086. SEVERABILITY.
If any provision of this rule or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 
invalid, the remainder of the rule and the application of such provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected thereby. (        )

04087. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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18.01.62 – ANNUAL FINANCIAL REPORTING

DOCKET NO. 18-0162-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This pending rule updates IDAPA 18.01.62 to include NAIC Annual Financial Reporting Model Regulation 
#205 provisions supporting the requirement of an independent internal audit function for large insurance companies 
or insurance holding company groups. The requirement applies to insurance companies with over $500 million in 
annual premiums written (or $1 billion if a member of a group). This rulemaking requires a standard best corporate 
governance practice to assist company management and the board of large insurers by implementing sound business 
practices to maintain solvency and honor all policyholder obligations.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the September 5, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-9, pages 277-278.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Nathan Faragher at nathan.faragher@doi.idaho.gov, or (208) 334-4314.

Dated this 4th day of October, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron, Director
Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 41-211, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 19, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This proposed rule updates IDAPA 18.01.62 to include NAIC Annual Financial Reporting Model Regulation 
#205 provisions supporting the requirement of an independent internal audit function for large insurance companies 
or insurance holding company groups. The requirement would apply for insurance companies with over $500 million 
in annual premiums written (or $1 billion if a member of a group). This rulemaking will require a standard best 
corporate governance practice to assist company management and the board of large insurers by implementing sound 
business practices to maintain solvency and honor all policyholder obligations. 

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 18-7, page 138.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning this proposed rule, contact Nathan Faragher at nathan.faragher@doi.idaho.gov, 
or (208) 334-4314.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the above contact and must be delivered on or before September 26, 2018.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 169 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK

https://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2018/07.pdf#page=138
mailto:nathan.faragher@doi.idaho.gov
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/legislative_books/2019/LSOMemos/1801491801G80.pdf


IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE Docket No. 18-0162-1801
Annual Financial Reporting PENDING RULE
026. INTERNAL AUDIT FUNCTION REQUIREMENTS.

01. Exemption. An insurer is exempt from the requirements of this section if: (        )

a. The insurer has annual direct written and unaffiliated assumed premium, including international 
direct and assumed premium but excluding premiums reinsured with the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and 
Federal Flood Program, less than five hundred million dollars ($500,000,000); and (        )

b. If the insurer is a member of a group of insurers, the group has annual direct written and 
unaffiliated assumed premium including international direct and assumed premium, but excluding premiums 
reinsured with the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood Program, less than one billion dollars 
($1,000,000,000). (        )

02. Function. The insurer or group of insurers shall establish an internal audit function providing 
independent, objective and reasonable assurance to the audit committee and insurer management regarding the 
insurer’s governance, risk management and internal controls. This assurance shall be provided by performing general 
and specific audits, reviews and tests and by employing other techniques deemed necessary to protect assets, evaluate 
control effectiveness and efficiency, and evaluate compliance with policies and regulations. (        )

03. Independence. In order to ensure that internal auditors remain objective, the internal audit function 
must be organizationally independent. Specifically, the internal audit function will not defer ultimate judgment on 
audit matters to others, and shall appoint an individual to head the internal audit function who will have direct and 
unrestricted access to the board of directors. Organizational independence does not preclude dual-reporting 
relationships. (        )

04. Reporting. The head of the internal audit function shall report to the audit committee regularly, but 
no less than annually, on the periodic audit plan, factors that may adversely impact the internal audit function’s 
independence or effectiveness, material findings from completed audits and the appropriateness of corrective actions 
implemented by management as a result of audit findings. (        )

05. Additional Requirements. If an insurer is a member of an insurance holding company system or 
included in a group of insurers, the insurer may satisfy the internal audit function requirements set forth in this section 
at the ultimate controlling parent level, an intermediate holding company level or the individual legal entity level.

(        )

0267. -- 999. (RESERVED)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0162-1801
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18.01.70 – RULES GOVERNING SMALL EMPLOYER HEALTH INSURANCE 

AVAILABILITY ACT PLAN DESIGN

DOCKET NO. 18-0170-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-4715, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

This rulemaking follows House Concurrent Resolution 45 adopted in 2018 and meetings that had occurred 
with the Department of Insurance. Health insurers have not covered hearing aids for children based on exclusionary 
language in this rule addressing the small group market. Public meetings were held July 23 and September 6, 2018. 
This rulemaking revises language related to exclusions for hearing aids so that hearing loss interventions will be 
covered with certain parameters. (This rule is a companion to that affecting the individual insurance market in IDAPA 
18.01.30.)

There are no changes to the pending rule, and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 265-268.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the pending rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or 
(208) 334-4315.

Dated this 1st day of November, 2018.

Dean L. Cameron
Director Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W. State Street, 3rd Floor 
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83702-0043 
Phone: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 41-211 and 41-4715, Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This rulemaking follows House Concurrent Resolution 45 adopted in 2018 and some meetings that have already 
occurred with the Department of Insurance. Health insurers have not covered hearing aids for children based on 
exclusionary language in this rule addressing the small group market. This rulemaking seeks to revise language 
related to exclusions for hearing aids so that hearing loss interventions will be covered within certain parameters. 
(This rule is a companion rule to that affecting the individual insurance market IDAPA 18.01.30.)

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules – Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the July 4, 2018, 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-7, page 139. Public meetings were held July 23 and September 6, 2018.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Weston Trexler at weston.trexler@doi.idaho.gov, or 
(208) 334-4315.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 7th day of September, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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016. LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS.
A health benefit plan shall not limit or exclude coverage by type of illness, accident, treatment, or medical condition, 
except as follows: (        )

01. Services Not Medically Necessary. Excluded. Any service not medically necessary or appropriate 
unless specifically included within the coverage provisions. (1-25-95)

02. No Coverage. Custodial, convalescent or intermediate level care or rest cures. (1-25-95)

03. Experimental or Investigational. Services which are experimental or investigational. (1-25-95)

04. Workers' Compensation, Medicare, CHAMPUS. Services eligible for coverage by Workers’ 
Compensation, Medicare or CHAMPUS. (1-25-95)

05. No Charges. Services for which no charges are made or for which no charges would be made in the 
absence of insurance or for which the insured has no legal obligation to pay. (1-25-95)

06. No Medical Diagnosis. Services for weight control, nutrition, and smoking cessation, including 
self-help and training programs as well as prescription drugs, used in conjunction with such programs and services.

(7-1-98)

07. Cosmetic Surgery. Cosmetic surgery and services, except for treatment or surgery for congenital 
anomaly. Mastectomy reconstruction is covered as described in the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act.

(3-15-02)

08. Artificial Insemination, Infertility, Sexual Dysfunction. Artificial insemination and infertility 
treatment. Treatment of sexual dysfunction not related to organic disease. (1-25-95)

09. Induced Infertility. Services for reversal of elective, surgically or pharmaceutically induced 
infertility. (1-25-95)

10. Vision. Vision therapy, tests, glasses, contact lenses and other vision aids. Radial keratotomy, 
myopic keratomileusis and any surgery involving corneal tissue to alter or correct myopia, hyperopia or stigmatic 
error. Vision tests and glasses will be covered for children under the age of twelve (12), except in catastrophic health 
benefit plans. (7-1-98)

11. Limitation Foot Care. For treatment of weak, strained, or flat feet, including orthopedic shoes or 
other supportive devices, or for cutting, removal, or treatment of corns, calluses, or nails other than corrective 
surgery, or for metabolic or peripheral vascular disease. (7-1-98)

12. Manipulative Therapy and Related Treatment. Manipulative therapy and related treatment, 
including heat treatments and ultrasound, of the musculoskeletal structure for other than fractures and dislocations of 
the extremities will be subject to one thousand dollars ($1,000) per year limit, subject to the policy deductible, co-
insurance, or co-payment. (4-5-00)

13. Dental, Orthodontic Services. (7-1-98)

a. For Basic and Standard plans: Dental and orthodontic services, except those needed for treatment 
of a medical condition or injury or as specifically allowed in the policy for children under the age of twelve (12).

(7-1-98)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 18-0170-1801
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b. For Catastrophic plans: Dental care or treatment, except for injury sustained while insured under 
this policy, or as a result of nondental disease covered by the policy. (7-1-98)

14. Hearing Tests. Hearing tests without illness being suspect. (1-25-95)

15. Hearing Aids, Supplies. Hearing aids, auditory osseointegrated (bone conduction) devices, 
cochlear implants and supplies, tinnitus maskers, cochlear implants and exams examination for the prescription or 
fitting of hearing aids them, except for congenital or acquired hearing loss that without intervention may result in 
cognitive or speech development deficits of a covered dependent child, covering not less than one (1) device every 
thirty-six (36) months per ear with loss and not less than forty-five (45) language/speech therapy visits during the first 
twelve (12) months after delivery of the covered device. (1-25-95)(        )

16. Speech Tests. Speech tests and therapy except as specifically allowed in the policy for children 
under the age of twelve (12). (1-25-95)

17. Private Room Accommodation Charges. Private room accommodation charges in excess of the 
institution’s most common semi-private room charge except when prescribed as medically necessary. (1-25-95)

18. Services Performed by a Member of the Insured’s Family. Services performed by a member of 
the insured’s family or of the insured’s spouse’s family. Family includes parents or grandparents of the insured or 
spouse and any descendants of such parents or grandparents. (1-25-95)

19. No Coverage Prior to Effective Date of Coverage. Care incurred before the effective date of the 
person’s coverage. (1-25-95)

20. Covered Injury or Disease. Immunizations and medical exams and tests of any kind not related to 
treatment of covered injury or disease, except as specifically stated in the policy. (1-25-95)

21. Act of War or Armed Conflict. Injury or sickness caused by war or armed international conflict.
(1-25-95)

22. Operation and Treatment, Sexual Change. Sex change operations and treatment in connection 
with transsexualism. (1-25-95)

23. Counseling. Marriage and family and child counseling except as specifically allowed in the policy.
(1-25-95)

24. Acupuncture. (7-1-98)

a. For Basic and Standard plans: Acupuncture except when used as anesthesia during a covered 
surgical procedure. (7-1-98)

b. For Catastrophic plans: Acupuncture. (7-1-98)

25. Private Duty Nursing. Private duty nursing except as specifically allowed in the policy. (1-25-95)

26. Employer Maintained Medical or Dental Care. Services received from a medical or dental 
department maintained by or on behalf of an employer, a mutual benefit association, labor union, trust, or similar 
person or group. (1-25-95)

27. Termination. Services incurred after the date of termination of a covered person’s coverage except 
as allowed by the extension of benefits provision of the policy, if any. (7-1-98)

28. Personal Convenience Items. Expenses for personal hygiene and convenience items such as air 
conditioners, humidifiers, and physical fitness equipment. (1-25-95)
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29. Failure to Keep a Scheduled Visit. Charges for failure to keep a scheduled visit, charges for 
completion of any form, and charges for medical information. (1-25-95)

30. Screening Examinations. Charges for screening examinations except as otherwise provided in the 
policy. (1-25-95)

31. No Allowance. Charges for wigs or cranial prostheses, hair analysis, hair loss and baldness.
(1-25-95)

32. Preexisting Conditions. Pre-existing conditions, except as provided specifically in the policy.
(1-25-95)
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24.01.01 – RULES OF THE BOARD OF ARCHITECTURAL EXAMINERS

DOCKET NO. 24-0101-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-308, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

In 2018, the Legislature passed House Bill 458 which modernizes and reorders the provisions of Chapter 3, Title 
54, Idaho Code. Amendments to rule will facilitate the implementation of House Bill 458, eliminate unnecessary 
language and sections, and remove a 30-day application deadline. These changes will make it easier for licensees and 
those seeking licensure to review rules.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the August 1, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-8, pages 102-109.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 26th day of October, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses 
700 W. State Street 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720 
Phone: (208) 334-3233 
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is July 1, 2018.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Section 54-312, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 15, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

In 2018, the Legislature passed House Bill 458 which modernizes and reorders the provisions of Chapter 3, Title 
54, Idaho Code. Amendments to rule will facilitate the implementation of House Bill 458, eliminate unnecessary 
language and sections, and remove a 30-day application deadline. These changes will make it easier for licensees and 
those seeking licensure to review rules.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(b), Idaho Code, the Governor has found 
that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

On July 1, 2018 House Bill 458 will become effective. This temporary/proposed rule is necessary to implement 
those changes.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because this is a temporary rule.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: 

This rule removes the July 2015 NCARB Certification Guidelines from incorporation by reference.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 22, 2018.

DATED this 20th Day of June, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY (RULE 0).
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Board of Architectural 
Examiners by the provisions of Section 54-31208, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (RULE 4).
The document titled NCARB Certification Guidelines, dated July 2015, referenced in Subsection 250.01, is herein 
incorporated by reference. The document titled NCARB Rules of Conduct as published by the National Council of 
Architectural Registration Boards, Dated July 2014, referenced in Section 750, is hereby incorporated by reference. 
All documents incorporated by reference can be obtained at the office of the Bureau and on the Board website.

(3-29-17)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).

01. AXP. Architectural Experience Program. (3-29-17)

02. Board. The Board of Architectural Examiners as prescribed in Section 54-312, Idaho Code.
(7-1-93)(        )

03. Bureau. The Bureau of Occupational Licenses as prescribed in Sections 54-605 and 67-2602, 
Idaho Code. (3-15-02)(        )

04. Direct Supervision. Direct supervision of an unlicensed individual in the practice of architecture 
means the exercise of management, control, authority, responsibility, oversight and guidance over the unlicensed 
individuals work, activities and conduct. (3-27-13)

05. NAAB. National Architectural Accrediting Board. (3-29-17)

06. NCARB. National Council of Architectural Registration Board. (3-29-17)

07. Responsible Control. Responsible control means that amount of control over and detailed 
knowledge of the content of technical submissions during their preparation as is ordinarily exercised by registered 
architects applying the required professional standard of care. Reviewing, or reviewing and correcting, technical 
submissions after they have been prepared by others does not constitute the exercise of responsible control because 
the reviewer has neither control over nor detailed knowledge of the content of such submissions throughout their 
preparation. (3-27-13)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-0101-1801
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(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

150. PROCEDURES AND DUTIES (RULE 150).

01. Meetings. The Board shall meet at least four (4) times annually at such times and places as 
designated by the Board or the Chairman of the Board. Special meetings may be held at the call of the Chairman or at 
the request of two (2) Board members, and all members shall be notified in writing, thereof. (7-1-98)(        )

02. Voting. A quorum shall be four Board members. A majority vote of Board members present shall 
be considered the action of the Board as a whole. Any motion before the Board shall fail on a tie vote. (7-1-97)

151. -- 19974. (RESERVED)

175. APPLICANT PAST CRIME REVIEW (RULE 175).

01. Review Authority. In reviewing an Applicant for licensure who has been convicted of a felony or 
misdemeanor as set forth in section 54-314(1)(d) Idaho Code, the Board may utilize the follow process and factors to 
determine the applicant's suitability for licensure: (        )

02. Exemption Review. The exemption review shall consist of a review of any documents relating to 
the crime and any supplemental information provided by the applicant bearing upon his suitability for registration. 
The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (        )

a. During the review, the Board shall consider the following factors or evidence: (        )

 i. The severity or nature of the crime; (        )

ii. The period of time that has passed since the crime under review; (        )

iii. The number or pattern of crimes or other similar incidents; (        )

iv. The circumstances surrounding the crime that would help determine the risk of repetition; (        ) 

v. The relationship of the crime to the practice of architecture; and (        )

vi. The applicant's activities since the crime under review, such as employment, education, 
participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors which may be evidence of current 
rehabilitation. (        )

b. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing their current suitability for licensure. (        )

176. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. FEES FOR EXAMINATIONS AND LICENSURE (RULE 200).

01. Fees for Examination. (7-1-97)

a. Examination Fees. Examination fees will be as established by the National Council of Architectural 
Registration Boards (NCARB). (7-1-97)

b. Processing Application Fee. Applicants for licensing by examination must submit a twenty-five 
dollar ($25) processing application fee. There is no additional fee for an initial license. (7-1-98)(        )

02. Annual License Renewal Fee. Annual license renewal fee - Fifty dollars ($50). (3-22-18)
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03. Endorsement License Fee. Endorsement license fee - Fifty dollars ($50). (3-22-18)

04. Temporary License Fee. Temporary license fee – Fifty dollars ($50). (3-22-18)

05. License Reinstatement Fee. License reinstatement fee is as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho 
Code. (3-22-18)

06. No Refund of Fees. No refund of fees shall be made. (3-22-18)

201. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. QUALIFICATIONS OF APPLICANTS FOR EXAMINATION (RULE 250).

01. AREccredited Degree Applicants. All applicants for the Architectural Registration Examination 
(ARE) shall possess a professional degree in architecture from a program that is accredited by the National 
Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or that is approved by the Board. All applicants for the ARE must have 
started or completed the Architectural Experience Program (AXP) requirements. (3-29-17)(        )

02. Experience in Lieu of Degree Applicants. The Board may allow an applicant without an 
architecture degree to sit for the architecture examination upon determining that such applicant has attained the 
knowledge and skill approximating that attained by graduation from an accredited architecture curriculum including 
the submission of a record of eight (8) years or more of experience in architecture work of a character deemed 
satisfactory by the Board. Said experience may include that necessary for completion of the AXP. Two (2) years of 
eight (8) or more years of experience may be accepted if determined that such experience is directly related to 
architecture under the direct supervision of a registered engineer (practicing as a structural, civil, mechanical or 
electrical engineer in the field of building construction) or a registered landscape architect. At least six (6) years of 
such experience must be obtained while working under the direct supervision of a licensed architect. A person is 
qualified for the examination once they have met the experience requirement and started the AXP. (3-29-17)

251. – 299. (RESERVED)

300. APPLICATION (RULE 300).

01. Licensure by Examination. (7-1-93)

a. Application for licensure by examination shall be made on the uniform application form adopted by 
the Board and furnished to the applicant by the Bureau. (4-7-11)(        )

b. Applicants shall furnish all information required by the uniform application form and shall include 
the following: (3-15-02)

i. Certified If applying based upon an accredited degree: Furnish certification of graduation and a 
certified transcript of all subjects and grades received for all college courses taken. (7-1-93)(        )

ii. If graduated from a college or university, furnish certification of graduation and a certified 
transcript of all work completed. (7-1-93)

iii. If applying based upon experience in lieu of an accredited degree: Furnish statement or statements, 
of all actual architectural or other applicable experience signed by the person under whose supervision the work was 
performed, giving kind and type of work done, together with dates of employment. (7-1-93)(        )

iviii. A recent passport photograph taken within the previous year for identification purposes shall be 
submitted by all applicants. (3-30-01)(        )

v. In addition to the above required information, an applicant having credits or a degree or degrees 
from any college or university shall furnish the Board a certified statement from each above institution stating by 
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what accrediting group, if any, such credits or degree or degrees are accredited. (7-1-93)

c. Application shall not be reviewed by the Board until all required information is furnished and the 
required fee is paid. (3-15-02)

d. To be considered by the Board, properly completed applications must be received by the Bureau at 
least thirty (30) days prior to the first day of the month in which the Board will meet Applications received less than 
seven (7) days prior to a Board meeting may be held over to the next meeting. (3-15-02)(        )

02. Licensure by Endorsement -- Blue Cover. General requirements. Application shall be 
accompanied by a current blue cover dossier compiled by the NCARB certifying that the applicant has satisfactorily 
passed the standard NCARB examinations, or NCARB authorized equivalent and shall include letters, transcripts, 
and other documents substantiating all statements relative to education and experience made in said application as 
required by the Board. (3-29-17)

03. Licensure by Endorsement -- Equivalency. (7-1-97)

a. Applicants for licensure by endorsement must submit a complete application, verified under oath, 
to the Board at its official address. The application must be on the forms approved by the Board and submitted 
together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation. (3-29-17)

b. Applicants shall provide proof of holding a current and valid license issued by another state, a 
licensing authority recognized by the Board. (3-29-17)

c. Applicants shall provide proof of satisfactorily passing the NCARB examinations or NCARB 
authorized equivalent examination, as determined by the Board. (3-29-17)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

351. MISCELLANEOUS REQUIREMENTS FOR EXAMINATION (RULE 351). 

01. Personal Interviews. Personal interviews may be administered at the option of the Board. (7-1-93)

3521. -- 374. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

400. MISCELLANEOUS REQUIREMENTS FIRM NAME (RULE 400).

01. Practice of Architecture. Idaho Law prohibits the practice of architecture by any unlicensed 
person or firm for any reason. (7-1-93)

02. Corporations. Corporations organized to do general business in the state of Idaho may not 
practice architecture in the state of Idaho. (7-1-93)

03. Firm Names. Firm names incorporating the use of names of unlicensed individuals are considered 
in violation of Section 54-3105, Idaho Code. A firm may continue to utilize the name of a retired or deceased 
formerly licensed architect so long as their unlicensed status is clearly disclosed. (3-27-13)(        )

401. -- 409. (RESERVED)

410. USE OF AN ARCHITECT'S SEAL (RULE 410).
An architect's seal may be placed on all technical submissions prepared personally by the architect or prepared under 
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the architect's responsible control or as otherwise allowed under the provisions of Section 54-3084, Idaho Code. 
Nothing in this rule shall limit an architect's responsibility to the owner for the work of other licensed professionals to 
the extent established by contract between the owner and architect. (3-27-13)(        )

411. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. CONTINUING EDUCATION (RULE 450).
In order to protect the public health and safety and promote the public welfare, the Board has adopted the following 
rules for continuing education. (3-20-04)

01. Continuing Education Requirement. Each Idaho licensed architect must successfully complete a 
minimum of twelve (12) hours of continuing education in architectural health, safety and welfare in the calendar year 
prior to license renewal. (3-29-17)

a. Each licensee will submit to the Board their annual renewal application form and required fees, and 
will certify that they have complied with annual CE requirements for the previous calendar year. Each licensee will 
provide to the Board together with their application for reinstatement of an expired license form and required fees, 
proof of compliance with annual CE requirements for each year that their license was expired. A license that has been 
canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (3-29-17)

b. A licensee shall be considered to have satisfied their CE requirements for the first renewal of their 
initial license. Licensees who have failed to meet the annual continuing education requirement may petition the 
Board for additional time to complete their continuing education requirements. (3-20-04)

c. A licensee may carryover a maximum of six (6) hours of continuing education to meet the next 
year's continuing education requirement. (3-29-12)

d. One (1) continuing education hour shall be equal to one (1) learning unit, as determined by the 
American Institute of Architects, or one (1) clock hour of education, as determined by the Board. (3-20-04)

02. Architectural Health, Safety and Welfare Requirement. To qualify for continuing education, a 
course must involve architectural health, safety and welfare, which generally relates to the structural integrity or 
unimpairedness of a building or building sites and be germane to the practice of architecture. Courses may include the 
following subject areas: (3-29-17)

a. Legal, which includes laws, codes, zoning, regulations, standards, life safety, accessibility, ethics, 
insurance to protect owners and public. (3-29-12)

b. Building systems, which includes structural, mechanical, electrical, plumbing, communications, 
security, and fire protection. (3-29-12)

c. Environmental, which includes energy efficiency, sustainability, natural resources, natural hazards, 
hazardous materials, weatherproofing, and insulation. (3-29-12)

d. Occupant comfort, which includes air quality, lighting, acoustics, ergonomics. (3-29-12)

e. Materials and methods, which includes construction systems, products, finishes, furnishings, and 
equipment. (3-29-12)

f. Preservation, which includes historical, reuse, and adaptation. (3-29-12)

g. Pre-Design, which includes land use analysis, programming, site selection, site and soils analysis, 
and surveying. (3-29-12)

h. Design, which includes urban planning, master planning, building design, site design, interiors, 
safety and security measures. (3-29-12)
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i. Construction documents, which includes drawings, specifications, and delivery methods. (3-29-12)

j. Construction contract administration, which includes contracts, bidding, contract negotiations.
(3-29-12)

03. Approved Credit. Continuing education courses must be in the subject of architectural health, 
safety and welfare and be presented by: (3-20-04)

a. Providers approved by the National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB) schools of 
architecture; or (3-20-04)

b. Providers approved by the National Council of Architectural Registration Board (NCARB); or
(3-20-04)

c. Providers approved by the American Institute of Architects (AIA); or (3-20-04)

d. Providers as otherwise approved by the Board. All requests for approval or pre-approval of 
continuing education credits must be made to the Board in writing and must be accompanied by a statement that 
includes the name of the instructor or instructors, his or her qualifications, the date, time and location of the course, 
the specific agenda for the course, the number of continuing education hours requested, and a statement of how the 
course is believed to be in the nature of architectural health, safety and welfare. (3-20-04)

04. Verification of Attendance. It shall be necessary for each licensee to maintain verification of 
attendance by securing authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring 
institution substantiating any and all hours attended by the licensee. This verification shall be maintained by the 
licensee for a period of five (5) years and provided to the Board upon request of the Board or its agent. (3-29-12)

05. Failure to Fulfill the Continuing Education Requirements. The license will not be renewed for 
those licensees who fail to certify or otherwise provide acceptable documentation of meeting the CE requirements. 
Licensees who make a false attestation regarding compliance with the CE requirements shall be subject to 
disciplinary action by the Board. (3-20-04)

06. Exemptions. A licensed architect shall be deemed to have complied with the CE requirements if 
the licensee attests in the required affidavit that for not less than ten (10) months of the preceding one (1) year period 
of licensure, the architect has met one (1) of the following criteria: (3-20-04)

a. Has served honorably on active duty in the military service (exceeding ninety (90) consecutive 
days) Meets the military exemption set forth in Section 67-2602A, Idaho Code. (3-20-04)(        )

b. Is a government employee working as an architect and assigned to duty outside the United States.
(3-20-04)

c. Special Exemption. The Board shall have authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual 
hardship, including health (certified by a medical doctor) or other good cause. The architect must provide any 
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole 
discretion of the Board. (3-20-04)

451. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. AFFILIATION (RULE 500).

01. Board Is an Active Member of the Western Conference of the Architectural Registration Boards. 
This Board by approved resolution and payment of the proper fees by the proper authority is an active member of the 
Western Conference of the Architectural Registration Boards. The Board shall designate one or more delegates from 
the Board to attend the annual meeting of the Western Conference and approve payment of the expenses of the 
delegate or delegates by the state of Idaho in accordance with the law. (7-1-93)
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02. Administration of Construction Contracts. Under Section 54-309, paragraph 1-c, “Practice of 
Architecture,” Section 54-305, paragraph 1-f, Grounds for Discipline, the words “Administration of Construction 
Contracts,” in accordance with current knowledge and usage in the profession means “Administration of the 
Contract” as defined in the relevant Contract for Construction or Owner-Architect Agreement as published by the 
American Institute of Architects. (4-5-00)

501. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. INTERPRETATIONS (RULE 550).
The following interpretation of laws relating to architecture in Idaho Code are hereby made by the Board. (7-1-93)

01. Reference to Building. Under Section 54-309, reference to any building wherein the safeguarding 
of life, health, and property is concerned means any building which public or private sector of population may use or 
any building into which the public or private sector of the population is invited either as spectators, visitor, student, 
guest, or employee, or any building where the private or public sector of the population conducts business. (7-1-93)

02. Professional Standards. Under Section 54-305, an architect shall be completely objective and 
truthful in all professional reports, statements, or testimony and shall include therein all relevant and pertinent 
information known to him. (7-1-93)

551. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. RULES OF PROCEDURE UNDER THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT (RULE 700).
All procedures available under the Board of Architects shall be those adopted by the Bureau of Occupational 
Licenses. (7-1-93)

701. -- 749. (RESERVED)

750. CODE OF ETHICS (RULE 750).

01. Rules of Conduct. The NCARB Rules of Conduct are hereby adopted as the Code of Ethics for all 
Idaho licensed architects. (3-15-02)

02. Violation of the Code of Ethics. The Board will take action against a licensee under Section 54-
305(1)(h), Idaho Code, who is found in violation of the Code of Ethics. (7-1-93)

751. COSTS AND FEES IN DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDING (RULE 751).
The Board may order a licensed architect to pay the costs and fees incurred by the Board in the investigation or 
prosecution of the licensee for violation of Section 54-305(1), Idaho Code. (3-18-99)

7521. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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24.08.01 – RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF MORTICIANS

DOCKET NO. 24-0801-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-1106 and 54-1110, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The State Board of Morticians’ pending rule will address what happens to a certificate of authority when a 
mortician or funeral director chooses to place their license on inactive status, or if they choose to return their license 
to active status. The rule change will establish that a licensee’s certificate of authority expires when their license goes 
inactive, and provides that it may be reissued when their license is returned to active status.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 294-295.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 26th day of October, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses 
700 W. State Street 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720 
Phone: (208) 334-3233 
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1110, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The State Board of Morticians’ proposed rule will address what happens to a certificate of authority when a 
mortician or funeral director chooses to place their license on inactive status, or if they choose to return their license 
to active status. The proposed rule change will establish that a licensee’s certificate of authority expires when their 
license goes inactive, and provides that it may be reissued when their license is returned to active status.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the proposed rule was discussed and decided upon during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 29th day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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380. INACTIVE LICENSE.

01. Request for Inactive License. Persons holding an unrestricted mortician or funeral director license 
in this state may apply for inactive status by making written application to the Board on a form prescribed by the 
Board and paying the established fee. (3-22-18)

02. Inactive License Status. (3-22-18)

a. Inactive license renewal notices and licenses will be marked “inactive”. (3-22-18)

b. Inactive license holders may not practice in Idaho while on inactive status. (3-22-18)

c. If a licensee holds a certificate of authority and places their license on inactive status, their 
certificate of authority expires as of the date their license becomes inactive. (        )

cd. All continuing education requirements will be waived for any year or portion thereof that a licensee 
maintains an inactive license and is not actively practicing or supervising in Idaho. (3-22-18)

03. Return to Active License Status. An inactive license holder may convert from inactive to active 
license status by: (3-22-18)

a. Making written application to the Board on a form prescribed by the Board; (3-22-18)

b. Providing documentation to the Board showing successful completion within the previous twelve 
(12) months of the continuing education requirements for renewal of an active license; and (3-22-18)

c. Paying a fee equivalent to the difference between the current inactive fee and the active renewal 
fee. (3-22-18)

d. An inactive licensee who held a certificate of authority at the time their license became inactive 
who returns to active license status pursuant to this rule may be reissued a certificate of authority by paying the 
renewal fee for the certificate of authority. (        )

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-0801-1801
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IDAPA 24 – BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES
24.18.01 – RULES OF THE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-1801-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-4106 and 54-4110, Idaho Code, and Title XI of the 
Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989, United States Code (“FIRREA”).

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

Recent changes made by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) to the minimum qualifications for certain 
classifications of real estate appraiser licenses allows the Idaho Real Estate Appraiser Board to reduce barriers to 
obtaining an Idaho license. Specifically, the change to Section 300, of these rules, removes the requirement for an 
Associate’s degree and lowers the experience requirement for licensed residential real estate appraisers. The change 
to Section 350, of these rules, adds alternative pathways to complete the education requirement and lowers the 
experience requirement for a certified residential real estate appraiser. The change to Section 400, of these rules, 
shortens the time period to complete the requisite experience hours for a certified general real estate appraiser.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the June 6, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-6, pages 86-91.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 26th day of October, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses 
700 W. State Street 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720 
Phone: (208) 334-3233 
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is May 1, 2018.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this 
agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is 
authorized pursuant to Sections 54-4106 and 54-4110, Idaho Code, and Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, 
Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989, United States Code (“FIRREA”).

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than June 20, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule and a non-technical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed 
rulemaking:

Recent changes made by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) to the minimum qualifications for certain 
classifications of real estate appraiser licenses allows the Idaho Real Estate Appraiser Board to reduce barriers to 
obtaining an Idaho license. Specifically, the change to Section 300, of these rules, removes the requirement for an 
Associate’s degree and lowers the experience requirement for licensed residential real estate appraisers. The change 
to Section 350, of these rules, adds alternative pathways to complete the education requirement and lowers the 
experience requirement for a certified residential real estate appraiser. The change to Section 400, of these rules,
shortens the time period to complete the requisite experience hours for a certified general real estate appraiser.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1)(b), Idaho Code, the Governor has 
found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 
(FIRREA), the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) establishes the qualification criteria for real property 
appraisers to obtain a state license to appraise real property related to federally-backed loans. These rule changes 
implement recent changes to the AQB qualification criteria.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the temporary rule is responding to changes made at the federal level, and the proposed changes to 
these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Dicsie Gullick at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before June 27, 2018.

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH 
THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE
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Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board PENDING RULE
DATED this 30th day of April, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

300. LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION APPRAISER 
QUALIFICATION CRITERIA (RULE 300).
The state licensed residential real estate appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of residential real property 
consisting of one (1) to four (4) non-complex residential units having a transaction value less than one million dollars 
($1,000,000) and complex one (1) to four (4) residential units having a transaction value less than two hundred fifty 
thousand dollars ($250,000). Applicants must meet the following education, experience and examination 
requirements in addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being licensed, every licensee must annually 
meet the continuing education requirement. (4-11-06)

01. Education. As a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Licensed 
Residential Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-20-14)

a. Holds an Associate’s Degree or higher from an accredited college or university or document the 
successful completion of thirty (30) semester hours of college-level education. An applicant may receive semester 
hour credit for credits earned through the College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) provided that the accredited 
college or university accepts the CLEP and issues a transcript for the exam; and (3-24-17)

b. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee; and (3-24-17)(        )

cb. Document the successful completion of not less than seventy-five (75) classroom hours of courses 
in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-24-17)

i. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-24-17)

ii. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-24-17)

iii. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – not less than thirty (30) hours specifically 
including: Valuation Principles and Procedures – Sales Comparison Approach; Valuation Principles and Procedures – 
Income Approach; Finance and Cash Equivalency; Financial Calculator Introduction; Identification, Derivation and 
Measurement of Adjustments; Gross Rent Multipliers; Partial Interests; Reconciliation; and Case Studies; and

(3-24-17)

iv. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – not less than fifteen (15) hours specifically 
including: Writing and Reasoning Skills; Common Writing Problems; Form Reports; Report Options and USPAP 
Compliance; Case Studies. (3-24-17)

02. Experience. Prerequisite to sit for the examination: (7-1-97)

a. Document two one thousand (21,000) hours of supervised appraisal experience as a registered 
Appraiser Trainee in no less than twelve six (126) months. Experience documentation in the form of reports or file 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-1801-1801
H – BUSINESS COMMITTEE PAGE 190 2019 PENDING RULE BOOK

http://adminrules.idaho.gov/legislative_books/2019/LSOMemos/2418011801G18.pdf


BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1801-1801
Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board PENDING RULE
memoranda should be available to support the claim for experience. (4-11-06)(        )

b. Of the required two one thousand (21,000) hours, the applicant must accumulate a minimum of one 
thousand five seven hundred-fifty (1,50750) hours from field real estate appraisal experience. The balance of five two
hundred-fifty (50250) hours may include non-field experience, refer to Subsection 250.02.d. (4-11-06)(        )

03. Examination. Successful completion of the Licensed Residential Appraiser examination approved 
by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (4-11-06)

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION APPRAISER 
QUALIFICATION CRITERIA (RULE 350).
The State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of residential properties of 
four (4) or less units without regard to transaction value or complexity. Applicants must meet the following 
education, experience and examination requirements in addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being 
certified every licensee must annually meet the continuing education requirement. (4-11-06)

01. Education. As a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Certified 
Residential Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-20-14)

a. Hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher in any field of study from an accredited degree-granting college 
or university; and, or meet one of the following options: (3-24-17)(        )

i. Possession of an Associate’s degree in a field of study related to business administration, 
accounting, finance, economics or real estate; or (        )

ii. Successful completion of thirty (30) semester hours of college-level courses that cover each of the 
following specific topic areas and hours: English composition (three (3) semester hours), microeconomics (three (3) 
semester hours), macroeconomics (three (3) semester hours), finance (three (3) semester hours), algebra, geometry or 
higher mathematics (three (3) semester hours), statistics (three (3) semester hours), computer science (three (3) 
semester hours), business or real estate law (three (3) semester hours), and two (2) elective courses in any of the 
topics listed above or in accounting, geography, agricultural economics, business management, or real estate (three 
(3) semester hours each); or (        )

iii. Successful completion of at least thirty (30) semester hours of College Level Examination 
Program® (CLEP®) examinations from each of the following subject matter areas: college algebra (three (3) 
semester hours), college composition (six (6) semester hours), college composition modular (three (3) semester 
hours), college mathematics (six (6) semester hours), principles of macroeconomics (three (3) semester hours), 
principles of microeconomics (three (3) semester hours), introductory business law (three (3) semester hours), and 
information systems (three (3) semester hours), or (        )

iv. Any combination of the above criteria (within Subsections 350.01.a.ii. and 350.01.a.iii. of these 
rules) that ensures coverage of all topics and hours identified in Subsection 350.01.a.ii. (        )

b. As an alternative to the requirements in Subsection 350.01.a., above, individuals who have held a 
Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five (5) years may qualify as meeting the requirements of 
Subsection 350.01.a., if it is established that there is no record of any adverse, final, and non-appealable disciplinary 
action affecting the Licensed Residential appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice within the five (5) 
years immediately preceding the date of application for a Certified Residential license. (        )

bc. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and completion of the education required for 
licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser, or hold a current license as a Licensed Residential Real 
Estate Appraiser; and (3-20-14)

cd. Document the successful completion of not less than fifty (50) classroom hours of courses in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-20-14)
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i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically including Statistics; 
Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; and (3-20-14)

ii. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Complex Property, Ownership and Market Conditions; Deriving and Supporting Adjustments; Residential 
Market Analysis; and Advanced Case Studies; and (3-20-14)

iii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than twenty (20) hours, and may include hours over the 
minimum shown in Subsection 350.01.c. of these rules. (3-20-14)

02. Experience. Experience is a prerequisite to sit for the licensure examination: (4-11-06)

a. Document two one thousand five hundred (21,500) hours of appraisal experience in no less than 
twenty-four twelve (2412) months (see Subsection 250.02). Experience documentation in the form of reports or file 
memoranda should be available to support the claim for experience. (4-11-06)(        )

b. Two One thousand two hundred (21,0200) hours of the experience shall be from residential field 
appraisal experience. The balance of five three hundred (5300) hours may include non-field experience, refer to 
Subsection 250.02.d. (4-11-06)(        )

c. Examination. Successful completion of the Certified Residential Appraiser examination approved 
by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (3-21-12)

351. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION APPRAISER 
QUALIFICATION CRITERIA (RULE 400).
The State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of all types of real property. 
Applicants must meet the following examination, education, and experience requirements in addition to complying 
with Section 250. Subsequent to being certified, an individual must meet the continuing education requirement.

(4-2-08)

01. Education. As a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Certified General 
Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-20-14)

a. Hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited degree-granting college or university; and
(3-24-17)

b. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and document the successful completion of not less 
than two hundred twenty-five (225) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows:

(3-20-14)

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically including Statistics; 
Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal), and Real Estate Finance; (3-20-14)

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than thirty (30) hours;
(3-20-14)

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than thirty (30) hours, specifically 
including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case 
Studies; (3-20-14)

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than thirty (30) hours; (3-20-14)

v. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than sixty (60) hours, specifically including 
Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and Collection Law, Estimating Operating 
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Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, 
Direct Capitalization, Discounted Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; (3-20-14)

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than thirty (30) hours, specifically 
including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options and USPAP Compliance, and 
Case Studies; and (3-20-14)

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than thirty (30) hours, and may include hours over the 
minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.b. of these rules; or (3-20-14)

c. Document licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the successful completion 
of not less than one hundred fifty (150) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as 
follows: (3-20-14)

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically including Statistics; 
Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; and (3-20-14)

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-14)

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case 
Studies; and (3-20-14)

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-14)

v. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than forty-five (45) hours, specifically including 
Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and Collection Law, Estimating Operating 
Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, 
Direct Capitalization, Discounted Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (3-20-14)

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options and USPAP Compliance, and 
Case Studies; and (3-20-14)

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than thirty (30) hours. and may include hours over the 
minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.c.; or (3-20-14)

d. Document licensure as a Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the successful completion 
of not less than one hundred five (105) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as 
follows: (3-20-14)

i. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-14)

ii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case 
Studies; and (3-20-14)

iii. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-14)

iv. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than forty-five (45) hours, specifically including 
Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and Collection Law, Estimating Operating 
Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, 
Direct Capitalization, Discounted Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (3-20-14)
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v. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options and USPAP Compliance, and 
Case Studies. (3-20-14)

02. Experience. Experience is a prerequisite to sit for the licensure examination: (4-11-06)

a. Document three thousand (3,000) hours of appraisal experience in no less than thirty eighteen
(3018) months (See Subsection 250.02). Experience documentation in the form of reports or file memoranda should 
be available to support the claim for experience. (4-11-06)(        )

b. One thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of the experience must be non-residential appraisal 
experience. The balance of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours may be solely residential experience or can 
include up to five hundred (500) hours of non-field experience as outlined in Subsection 250.02.d. (4-11-06)

c. Examination. Successful completion of the Certified General Appraiser examination approved by 
the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (3-21-12)
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24.25.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO DRIVING BUSINESSES LICENSURE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2501-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5403, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The Idaho Driving Businesses Licensure Board’s pending rule changes will allow the Board to consider 
applications received less than seven (7) days prior to a board meeting. The rule change also provides a waiver for the 
Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program for individuals who have completed the State Department of Education’s 
instructor training program, and allows a public driver education instructor who was licensed within the last five (5) 
years to qualify for a private driving instructor license. The rule change will eliminate the requirement that an 
instructor have five (5) or more continuous years of driver education experience to teach apprentices in a private 
driving school. The rule change will also provide a provision for the carryover of continuing education hours. These 
changes will reduce regulation, provide flexibility to licensees and applicants, and eliminate barriers to employment.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 340-344.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 26th day of October, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses 
700 W. State Street 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720 
Phone: (208) 334-3233 
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5403, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The Idaho Driving Businesses Licensure Board’s proposed rule changes will allow the Board to consider 
applications received less than seven (7) days prior to a board meeting. The rule change also provides a waiver for the 
Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program for individuals who have completed the State Department of Education’s 
instructor training program, and allows a public driver education instructor who was licensed within the last five (5) 
years to qualify for a private driving instructor license. The rule change will eliminate the requirement that an 
instructor have five (5) or more continuous years of driver education experience to teach apprentices in a private 
driving school. The rule change will also provide a provision for the carryover of continuing education hours. These 
changes will reduce regulation, provide flexibility to licensees and applicants, and eliminate barriers to employment.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the proposed changes to these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 30th day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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150. APPLICATION (RULE 150).
Each applicant for a license, permit, or other authority from the Board must submit a complete application on Board-
approved application forms. The application must be accompanied by required fee(s). The Board will not review 
completed applications received ten (10) or fewer days before a Board meeting Applications received less than seven 
(7) days prior to a Board meeting may be held over to the next meeting. The Board also will not review incomplete 
applications, including applications submitted without the required fee(s). Further, an applicant must provide, or 
facilitate the provision of, any supplemental information or documents requested by the Board. Any application on 
file with the Board where an applicant has failed to respond to a Board request or where the application has lacked 
activity for twelve (12) consecutive months will be deemed denied and will be terminated upon thirty (30) days 
written notice to the applicant unless good cause is established to the Board. (4-7-11)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

201. CONTINUING EDUCATION (RULE 201).
In order to protect the public health and safety and promote the public welfare, the Board has adopted the following 
rules for continuing education. (4-7-11)

01. Continuing Education (CE) Requirement. Beginning July 1, 2012, eEach Idaho licensed driving 
instructor must annually complete a minimum of eight (8) hours of continuing education. (4-7-11)(        )

a. The licensee must certify on the licensee’s renewal application that the licensee has complied with 
the annual CE requirements for the preceding twelve (12) months. The Board may conduct such continuing education 
audits and require verification of attendance as deemed necessary to ensure compliance with the CE requirements.

(4-7-11)

b. A licensee is considered to have satisfied the CE requirements for the first renewal of the initial 
license. (4-7-11)

c. After July 1, 2012, and pPrior to reinstatement of a license lapsed, canceled, or otherwise non-
renewed for less than five (5) years, the applicant must provide proof of attendance of eight (8) hours of continuing 
education for the previous twelve (12) months. A license that has lapsed, been canceled, or otherwise not renewed for 
more than five (5) years may be reinstated in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (4-7-11)(        )

02. Hours. Credit for continuing education hours will only be given for actual time in attendance or for 
the time spent participating in the educational activity. One (1) hour of continuing education is equal to sixty (60) 
minutes. Courses taken by correspondence or on-line may be approved for continuing education if the courses require 
an exam or other proof of successful completion. Only four (4) hours of the required continuing education may be 
from correspondence, on-line, or self-study in each renewal period. The remaining hours must be in an interactive 
setting that allows participants to communicate directly with the instructor. Each licensee must maintain proof of 
attendance or successful completion documentation of all continuing education courses for a period of three (3) years.

(4-7-11)

03. Providers/Sponsors/Subjects of Continuing Education. The continuing education must be 
provided by a nationally or regionally accredited college or university, a national or state driver education and traffic 
safety association such as the Idaho Association of Professional Driving Businesses, Driving School Association of 
the Americas, the American Driver Traffic Safety Education Association, and the American Automobile Association, 
transportation and law enforcement agencies, or other person or entity approved by the Board and must be germane to 
driver education. (4-7-11)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-1501-1802
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04. Verification of Attendance. Each licensee must maintain verification of attendance by securing 
authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring institution substantiating any 
and all hours attended by the licensee. (4-7-11)

05. Failure to Fulfill the Continuing Education Requirements. The license will not be renewed for a 
licensee who fails to certify compliance with CE requirements. A licensee who makes a false attestation regarding 
compliance with the CE requirements is subject to disciplinary action by the Board. (4-7-11)

06. Special Exemption. The Board has authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual 
hardship, including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good cause. Each licensee must provide any 
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole 
discretion of the Board. (4-7-11)

07. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education hours not claimed in the 
current renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of eight (8) hours may be carried forward 
from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one (1) renewal year. (        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

250. DRIVING INSTRUCTOR LICENSE (RULE 250).

01. Application. Each applicant for a driving instructor license must apply as required by Rule 150. 
Each applicant is required to provide his name, date of birth, and contact information, including mailing address and 
telephone number, on the Board-approved application form. (4-7-11)

02. Age. An applicant for a driving instructor license must be at least twenty-one (21) years old.
(4-7-11)

03. Driving Record and Drivers License. Each applicant must submit a copy of a valid driver’s 
license in good standing and a copy of a satisfactory driving record. An unsatisfactory record includes, but is not 
limited to, two (2) moving violations in the past twelve (12) months, or suspension or revocation of a driver’s license 
in the last thirty-six (36) months, or a conviction involving alcohol or controlled substances within the last thirty-six 
(36) months. (4-7-11)

04. Criminal History Background Check. Each applicant must submit to a current, fingerprint-based 
criminal history check conducted by an organization approved by the Board. Each applicant must submit a full set of 
the applicant’s fingerprints, and any relevant fees, to the Bureau which will forward the fingerprints and fees to the 
organization that conducts the fingerprint based criminal history background check. The application will not be 
processed until the completed fingerprint-based criminal history background check has been received. (3-20-14)

05. Medical Certificate. A driving instructor licensee may not provide in-vehicle instruction to 
students if the instructor suffers from a medical condition that may impair the instructor’s ability to safely instruct 
student drivers. Accordingly, each applicant for an instructor’s license must obtain a medical examination performed 
by a licensed medical professional. The examination must be completed within two (2) years preceding the 
application. The applicant must submit a medical examiner’s certificate, issued and signed by a licensed, qualified 
medical professional documenting that the examination occurred and that the applicant does not suffer from any 
physical or mental condition or disease that would impair the applicant’s ability to safely instruct student drivers. If a 
medical condition exists, the applicant must re-certify as the medical professional requires and submit that 
information to the Board. (3-29-17)

06. Education. Each applicant must submit written evidence, satisfactory to the Board, of having 
graduated from a high school or a regionally or nationally accredited college or university, or of having obtained a 
GED. (4-7-11)
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07. Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. Applicants for licensure must demonstrate to the 
Board’s satisfaction that they have successfully completed all required classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel 
training hours from a Board-approved instructor apprenticeship training program or have met the requirements for a 
waiver of the apprenticeship training program as set forth in these rules. The applicant must have undertaken and 
completed the apprenticeship training program within the five (5) year period immediately preceding the application.

(4-11-15)

a. Proof of successful completion must include written certificate from a Board-approved 
apprenticeship training program certifying that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the program. An applicant 
need not have completed all required classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel training hours through a single 
program so long as the last program attended by the applicant ensures itself, and its business licensee certifies to the 
Board that the applicant has satisfactorily completed all required hours through Board-approved apprenticeship 
training programs. (4-7-11)

b. A person may not enroll in an apprenticeship training program unless the person has applied for, 
paid for, and obtained an apprenticeship permit from the Board. The applicant must apply on Board-approved forms, 
which must identify the applicant and the business licensee in whose approved apprenticeship training program the 
applicant will be enrolled. The individual applicant must establish that they are at least twenty-one (21) years old, 
hold a valid driver’s license and a satisfactory driver license record, have passed a fingerprint based criminal history 
background check, and have obtained a medical certificate consistent with the requirements of Subsections 250.02 
through 250.05. An apprenticeship permit automatically expires one (1) year after issuance. The Board also may 
suspend or revoke an apprenticeship permit, and refuse to issue another permit, if the permittee engages in any act or 
omission that would subject the permittee to discipline if the permittee had an instructor’s license. No one may be a 
permittee for more than three (3) years. (3-20-14)

08. Waiver of Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. An applicant shall be entitled to a 
waiver of the apprenticeship training program if they possess the requisite training and experience as set forth below.

(4-11-15)

a. An applicant who holds a current active unrestricted equivalent driving instructor license from 
another state shall qualify for a waiver of the apprenticeship training program requirement. The applicant is 
responsible to provide proof to the Board that they hold a current unrestricted driving instructor license from another 
state, and that said license is equivalent to an Idaho driver instructor license in its qualifications and scope of practice; 
or (4-11-15)

b. An applicant who has held within the past five (5) years an active and unrestricted public driver 
education instructor license issued by the Idaho State Department of Education for at least two (2) years and has 
completed eight (8) hours of continuing education within the prior year or an individual who has completed the Idaho 
State Department of Education driving instructor program within the past five (5) years and has completed eight (8) 
hours of continuing education within the prior year shall qualify for a waiver of the apprenticeship training program 
requirement. The applicant is responsible to provide proof to the Board that they hold a current unrestricted Idaho 
public driver instructor license meet the requirements herein. (4-11-15)(        )

251. -- 274. (RESERVED)

275. INSTRUCTOR APPRENTICESHIP TRAINING PROGRAM (RULE 275).

01. Application for Approval. A business licensee may operate a Board-approved instructor 
apprenticeship training program. The business licensee must apply for program approval on forms provided by the 
Board, and submit with the application such documentation as the Board may require to enable the Board to assess 
whether the proposed program meets the Board’s approval criteria, as specified in Subsections 275.03 through 275.08 
of these rules. (4-7-11)

02. Suspension or Revocation of Approval and Discipline. If an approved program fails to 
consistently adhere to the approval criteria in Subsections 275.03 through 275.08 of these rules, the Board may 
suspend or revoke the approval. Further, if a business licensee that operates an approved program fails to cooperate 
with the Board in any inspection or audit of the program, the licensee may be disciplined. (4-7-11)
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03. Apprentices. The business licensee must ensure that all persons who enroll in the licensee’s 
program possess a valid instructor apprenticeship training permit from the Board. (3-20-14)

04. Instruction and Training Hours. The Board must be satisfied that the program has designed its 
proposed instruction and training to produce safe and effective driving instructors. The business licensee must ensure 
that the program includes at least the following instruction and training components: (4-7-11)

a. Each apprentice must receive at least sixty (60) hours of classroom instruction covering the 
curriculum components for student classroom instruction specified in Subsections 226.01 through 226.10 of these 
rules. These hours must include both a didactic component, in which a program instructor provides in-class 
instruction to the apprentice, and a practical component in which the apprentice provides in-class instruction to 
students. A program instructor must by physically present in the classroom to supervise at least thirty (30) hours of 
the apprentice’s in-class instruction to students may also be completed through on-line or internet based instruction.

(4-7-11)(        )

b. Each apprentice must receive at least one hundred eight (108) hours of behind-the-wheel-training 
covering the curriculum components for student in-car instruction specified in Subsections 226.11 through 226.14 of 
these rules. When an apprentice begins to provide behind-the-wheel driving instruction to students, a program 
instructor must supervise the apprentice by riding in the vehicle with the apprentice and students for the first six (6) 
hours. A program instructor also must ride in the vehicle with the apprentice and students to evaluate the apprentice 
during the final two (2) hours of the apprentice’s behind-the-wheel training. (4-7-11)

05. Instructors. The business licensee must ensure that only licensed driving instructors with five (5) 
or more years of continuous driver education experience are allowed to teach in the program. A list of the instructors 
must accompany the application for approval. (4-7-11)(        )

06. Recordkeeping. The business licensee must ensure that the program maintains progress records for 
each apprentice. A program instructor and the apprentice must sign and date the records each month, and copies of 
the records must be provided to the apprentice. The records must, at a minimum, identify each lesson completed, the 
number of hours of instruction involved in the lesson, the date the apprentice completed the lesson, the instructor who 
taught the lesson, and whether the apprentice passed. When an apprentice’s course of instruction has been completed 
or terminated, the program business licensee must maintain the records of the apprentice’s progress, and the total 
hours recorded and maintained by the program for a period of five (5) years from completion or termination date. 
These records are subject to inspection by the Board at any time. (4-7-11)

07. Certificate of Proficiency. The program must provide each apprentice with a certificate of 
proficiency evidencing all hours satisfactorily completed by the apprentice while in the program, and that the 
apprentice is proficient in all areas covered by the certificate. (4-7-11)

08. Discontinuance of Program. If the business licensee ceases to operate the program, the business 
licensee must provide the program’s current and prior apprentices with any progress or other records that the program 
is required to maintain under this Section. (4-7-11)
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DOCKET NO. 49-0101-1801

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF PENDING RULE
EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2019 Idaho State 
Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 
session, unless the rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution in accordance with Sections 67-5224 
and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved or rejected in part by concurrent resolution, the rule 
becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent 
resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted 
a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-3107, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 
pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with 
an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule removes language pertaining to the executive secretary position which is no longer applicable. 
The rule adds a new section for the written statement of suitability for licensure to enable the Board to consider 
certain factors when reviewing an applicant with criminal history.

There are no changes to the pending rule and it is being adopted as originally proposed. The complete text of the 
proposed rule was published in the October 3, 2018, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 18-10, pages 552-553.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 
rule, contact Sarah Hugues at (208) 334-3233.

Dated this 26th day of October, 2018.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses 
700 W. State Street 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720 
Phone: (208) 334-3233 
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-3107, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 17, 2018. 

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule removes language pertaining to the executive secretary position which is no longer applicable. 
The rule adds a new section for the written statement of suitability for licensure to enable the Board to consider 
certain factors when reviewing an applicant with criminal history.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because the proposed changes to these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jennifer Carr at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 24, 2018.

Dated this 29th day of August, 2018.

LINK: LSO Rules Analysis Memo

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE
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101. OFFICERS.
Officers elected from the Board shall be chairman, and vice-chairman. An executive secretary may be appointed who 
is not a member of the Board. (4-9-09)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

201. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE.
An applicant or licensee who has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a 
felony or crime involving moral turpitude must submit with their application a written statement and any 
supplemental information establishing their current suitability for licensure. (        )

01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board shall consider the following factors or 
evidence: (        )

a. The severity or nature of the crime; (        )

b. The period of time that has passed since the crime under review; (        )

c. The number or pattern of crimes; (        )

d. The circumstances surrounding the crime that would help determine the risk of repetition; (        )

e. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of shorthand reporting; (        )

f. The applicant's activities since the crime under review, such as employment, education, 
participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors which may be evidence of current 
rehabilitation; and (        )

g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. (        )

02. Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (        )

03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing his current 
suitability for licensure. (        )

2012. -- 299. (RESERVED)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 49-0101-1801
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