AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES REVIEW

Table of Contents

2010 Legislative Session

IDAPA 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE	
02.01.04 - Rules Governing the Idaho Preferred® Promotion Program Docket No. 02-0104-0902	2
02.01.05 - Rules Governing Certificates of Free Sale Docket No. 02-0105-0901 (New Chapter)	5
02.06.03 - Rules Pertaining to the Idaho Nursery and Florists Law Docket No. 02-0603-0901	10
02.06.04 - Idaho Department of Agriculture, Phytosanitary and Post-Entry Certification Rules Docket No. 02-0604-0901	15
02.06.33 - Organic Food Product Rules Docket No. 02-0633-0901	20
IDAPA 48 - IDAHO GRAPE GROWERS AND WINE PRODUCERS COMMISSION	
48.01.01 - Rules of Procedure of the Idaho Grape Growers and Wine Producers Commission	
Docket No. 48-0101-0902	24
IDAPA 51 - IDAHO BEEF COUNCIL	
51.01.01 - Idaho Beef Council Rules Docket No. 51-0101-0901	28

IDAPA 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

02.01.04 - RULES GOVERNING THE IDAHO PREFERRED® PROMOTION PROGRAM

DOCKET NO. 02-0104-0902

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-122, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending fee rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The proposed rule changes will allow ISDA to charge Idaho Preferred® participants for promotional materials such as stickers, banners, signs, aprons, shopping bags, etc. The proposed fee language is similar to Section 301.02 allowing fees to be assessed for Idaho Preferred® activities.

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in Book 1 of the October 7, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 28 and 29.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 22-122, Idaho Code:

Current rules allow for collection of fees for promotional activities, but not materials. This rule will allow ISDA to charge Idaho Preferred® participants for promotional materials. Fees collected will offset costs to produce promotional materials increasing the dedicated account by approximately \$3000 annually.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee rule, contact Laura Johnson, Section Manager at (208) 332-8533 or Leah Clark, Trade Specialist at (208) 332-8684.

DATED this 2nd day of November, 2009.

Brian J. Oakey, Deputy Director Idaho State Department of Agriculture 2270 Old Penitentiary Rd. P.O. Box 790, Boise, ID 83701 Phone: (208) 332-8503 / Fax: (208) 334-2170

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-112, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The proposed rule changes will allow ISDA to charge Idaho Preferred® participants for promotional materials such as stickers, banners, signs, aprons, shopping bags, etc. The proposed fee language is similar to Section 301.02 allowing fees to be assessed for Idaho Preferred® activities.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Current rules allow for collection of fees for promotional activities, but not materials. This rule will allow ISDA to charge Idaho Preferred® participants for promotional materials. Fees collected will offset costs to produce promotional materials increasing the dedicated account by approximately \$3000 annually.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Informal negotiated rulemaking was conducted. Input was solicited from all Idaho Preferred® participants.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Idaho Preferred® Promotion Program

Docket No. 02-0104-0902 PENDING FEE RULE

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Laura Johnson, Section Manager at (208) 332-8533 or Leah Clark, Trade Specialist at (208) 332-8684.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2009.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

303. DISTRIBUTION OF PROMOTIONAL MATERIAL.

<u>01.</u> <u>Authorized Use.</u> The Idaho Preferred® program shall have	ave the authority to
provide retail and food service outlets, farmers' markets, schools, media,	fairs, and other such
businesses, organizations, and venues the opportunity to promote Idaho f	food and agricultural
products using the program logo and promotional materials. Open distrib	ution of any and all
point-of-sale materials, signage, advertising, identification placards, and otl	ner such promotional
material, in accordance with this chapter and other applicable laws and pre	cedent, is acceptable
use and not considered an infringement on the ownership rights of any	mark or seal of an
supporting organization as defined in this chapter.	(3-30-07) ()

<u>02.</u>	<u>Fees</u> . The I	Department ma	y assess a fee for	promotional	<u>l materials sucl</u>	<u>ı as, bu</u>	t not
limited to, banı	ners, sticker	s, signs, apron	s, shopping bags,	etc.		(

IDAPA 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

02.01.05 - RULES GOVERNING CERTIFICATES OF FREE SALE DOCKET NO. 02-0105-0901 (NEW CHAPTER)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-112, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in Book 1 of the October 7, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 30 through 33.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 22-112, Idaho Code:

This rule will provide for the Department to begin charging a fee for certificates of free sale not to exceed \$50 each. Idaho is one of the very few states that do not charge for this service. The new fee rule is expected to generate \$20,000 - \$30,000 to the dedicated fund.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: There will be no impact to the general fund.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee rule, contact Laura Johnson, 208-332-8533.

DATED this 13th day of October, 2009.

Brian J. Oakey, Deputy Director Idaho State Department of Agriculture 2270 Old Penitentiary Road P.O. Box 790, Boise, Idaho 83701 Phone: (208) 332-8500

Fax: (208) 334-2170

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-112, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Certificates of free sale are most commonly used by processed food companies exporting products internationally. The certificate states that the products are manufactured and distributed generally throughout the state of Idaho and the United States and are in accordance with health laws and sanitary regulations of said state. Idaho is one of only a few states in the country that does not charge a fee for the service. This rule provides for fees as well as application procedures and requirements.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

This rule will provide for the Department to begin charging a fee for certificates of free sale not to exceed \$50 each. Idaho is one of the very few states that does not charge for this service. The new fee rule is expected to generate \$20,000 - \$30,000 to the dedicated fund.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: There will be no impact to the general fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the September 2, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Volume 09-9, page 16.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Laura Johnson at (208) 332-8533.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28,

2009.

DATED this 6th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

IDAPA 02 TITLE 01 CHAPTER 05

02.01.05 - RULES GOVERNING CERTIFICATES OF FREE SALE

000. This ch	LEGAL AUTHORITY. hapter is adopted under the legal authority of Section 22-112, Idaho Code.	()
001.	TITLE AND SCOPE.		
of Free	01. Title . The title of this chapter is IDAPA 02.01.05, "Rules Governing Certe Sale."	ificate ())
	O2. Scope . These rules govern the issuing of certificates of free sale and eant procedures for obtaining Certificates of Free Sale. The official citation of this characteristic of the Sale. The official citation of this characteristic of the Sale.		
002. There a	WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS. are no written interpretations of these rules.	()
	ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS. as are entitled to appeal agency actions authorized under these rules pursuant to Ter 52, Idaho Code.	itle 67	7,
004. There a	INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE. are no documents incorporated by reference in this chapter.	()
005. NUMI	OFFICE OFFICE HOURS MAILING ADDRESS TELEPHONE AND BERS.	D FA	X
at 2270	01. Office . The central office of the Idaho State Department of Agriculture is Old Penitentiary Road, Boise, Idaho 83712.	locate	d)
Friday,	02. Office Hours . Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mountain Time, Monday to except holidays designated by the State of Idaho.	throug (<u>h</u>

Depar	03. tment of	Mailing Address . The mailing address for the central office is Idaho Agriculture, P.O. Box 790, Boise, Idaho 83701.	o Sta	te)
at the	04. central o	Telephone Number . The telephone number for the Market Development Doffice is (208) 332-8530.	Divisio (on)
office	05. is (208)	Fax Number . The fax number for the Market Development Division at the 334-2879.	centr (al)
	ules cor	O PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE. Italined herein have been promulgated according to the provisions of Talaho Code, and are public records.	itle 6	7,
007	- 009.	(RESERVED).		
010.	DEFI	NITIONS.		
	01.	Applicant . Any person applying for certification under these rules.	()
	of Idaho	Certificate of Free Sale. A certificate issued by the Department for pressed in Idaho to certify that the products are distributed generally through and the United States and are in accordance with Idaho health laws and secondaries.	out th	ne
	03.	Department . The Idaho State Department of Agriculture.	()
directo	04. or's desi	Director . The director of the Idaho State Department of Agriculture gnee.	or th	ne)
011	099.	(RESERVED).		
100.	APPL	ICATION FOR CERTIFICATION - PROCEDURES.		
mail) a	01. and mus	Application . Application must be made in writing (which includes ele t include, but will not be limited to, the following information:	ectron (ic)
	a.	Company name;	()
	b.	Physical address of packing or processing facility; and	()
	c.	List of products to be certified.	()
	02.	Application Forms . No application form(s) are necessary.	()
	03.	Multiple Certificates. Multiple certificates may be requested at one time.	()
101	- 109.	(RESERVED).		

110. APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS.

01.	Applicant	Health	Inspecti	on. The I	Departme	nt may r	equest	a copy	of a	ın
applicants'	most recent	state, fee	deral or	third-party	health	inspection	n, if a	ipplicable.	Suc	:h
inspection	records will be	kept on f	ile for on	e (1) year.					()

02. Applicant Licenses or Registrations. If the applicant is regulated by the Department, the applicant must meet all state laws and Department regulations.

111. -- 119. (RESERVED).

120. SPECIAL REQUESTS.

- **01. Customized Certificates**. The applicant may request customized text for the certificate of free sale in order to meet the import requirements of a specific country. The Department will make every effort to comply with the request.
 - **02. Additional Charges**. There will be no additional charges for special requests.

121. -- 299. (RESERVED).

300. FEES AND CHARGES.

- **01. Certification Fees.** The Director will establish certification fees annually under this chapter. Fees will not exceed fifty dollars (\$50) each. Fees will be set by July 1 of each year.
- **02. Notary Charges**. Notary certification will be provided for each certificate at no additional charge.
- **03. Shipping and Delivery Charges**. There will be no fees for mailing costs unless the applicant requests express mailing.
- **04. Express Mailing**. The applicant will be responsible for express mailing charges. The applicant may provide an account number for the carrier, pre-paid air bill or be invoiced for the actual costs.
- **05. Payment**. The applicant will be sent and invoice for fees and charges and will be responsible for payment within thirty (30) days. The Department will not issue a certificate of free sale to any company with an outstanding account balance.

301. -- 999. (RESERVED).

IDAPA 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

02.06.03 - RULES PERTAINING TO THE IDAHO NURSERY AND FLORISTS LAW DOCKET NO. 02-0603-0901

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-2314, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

USDA APHIS PPQ published, on July 8, 2009, in the Federal Register (Docket No. APHIS -2006-0137), effective October 1, 2009, their intent to charge to the states that issue federal phytosanitary certificates for the export of agricultural commodities a \$12 administrative fee for each certificate issued by the state. The Department currently charges an hourly rate of \$20 for this service. The Department proposes to drop the hourly rate and initiate a fee of \$60 per certificate issued to cover the federal administrative fee and increased costs to the program. The fees under this rule have not been adjusted since 1986. Section 02.06.03.050, was revised to reference Section 02.06.04.500 of the Phytosanitary and Post-Entry Certification Rules to synchronize the fees and services between the two rules and thus ensuring that all exporters will be subject to the same fee schedule. Technical changes were also made to include proper formatting and sections required by the Office of Administrative Rules.

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in Book 1 of the October 7, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 72 through 74.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 22-2314, Idaho Code:

To change the charge to issue phytosanitary certificates on nursery stock from an hourly rate of \$20 to \$60 per certificate.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

Based on 2008 figures this change would generate \$9,000 of which \$1,800 would be

remitted to USDA APHIS and the remaining \$7,200 would remain with the program to cover the cost of the program.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee rule, contact Michael E. Cooper, Bureau Chief at (208) 332-8620.

DATED this 2nd day of November, 2009.

Brian J. Oakey, Deputy Director Idaho State Department of Agriculture 2270 Old Penitentiary Road P.O. Box 790, Boise, Idaho 83701 Phone: (208) 332-8500

Fax: (208) 334-2170

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is October 1, 2009.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-2314, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

USDA APHIS PPQ published on July 8, 2009, in the Federal Register (Docket No. APHIS-2006-0137), effective October 1, 2009, their intent to charge to the states that issue federal phytosanitary certificates for the export of agricultural commodities a \$12 administrative fee for each certificate issued by the state. The Department currently charges an hourly rate of \$20 for this service. The Department proposes to drop the hourly rate and initiate a fee of \$60 per certificate issued to cover the federal administrative fee and increased costs to the program. The fees under this rule have not been adjusted since 1986.

Section 02.06.03.050 of this rule will be revised to reference IDAPA 02.06.04, "Phytosanitary and Post-Entry Certification Rules," Section 500, "Fees and Charges," to synchronize the fees and services between the two rules and thus ensuring that all exporters will be subject to the same fee schedule. Technical changes will also be made to include proper formatting and sections required by the Office of the Administrative Rules Coordinator.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

Compliance with changes to federal regulations.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that the fee or charge being imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

Based on 2008 figures this change would generate \$9,000 of which \$1,800 would be remitted to USDA APHIS and the remaining \$7,200 would remain with the program to cover the cost of the program.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220, Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not conducted because an informal meeting was held with the Idaho Nursery and Landscape Association Board of Directors at their annual meeting on July 28, 2009, in Stanley, Idaho. In addition, all of the major exporting nurseries were informed of the proposed fee changes in person.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Michael E. Cooper at (208) 332-8620.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2009.

DATED this 20th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

000. -- 009. (RESERVED).

	RTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Pertaining to the Idaho Nursery and Florists Law	Docket No. 02-0603-0901 PENDING FEE RULE
<u>000.</u> This c	LEGAL AUTHORITY. hapter is adopted under the legal authority of Title 22, Chapter	23, Idaho Code. ()
<u>001.</u>	TITLE AND SCOPE.	
Nurse	01. <u>Title</u> . The title of this chapter is IDAPA 02.06.03, "Rries and Florists Law."	Rules Pertaining to the Idaho ()
	<u>O2.</u> <u>Scope</u> . These rules establish a fee schedule for specions under which a shipping permit will be issued under the start of the st	
002. There	WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS. are no written interpretations of these rules.	()
	ADMINISTRATIVE APPEAL. is no provision for administrative appeal before the Department. Hearing and appeal rights are pursuant to Title 67, Chapter 5	
<u>004.</u> IDAP	INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE. A 02.06.03 does not incorporate any material by reference.	()
<u>005.</u>	OFFICE OFFICE HOURS MAILING ADDRESS AN	ND STREET ADDRESS.
<u>Friday</u>	01. Office Hours. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mour except holidays designated by the state of Idaho.	ntain Time, Monday through ()
<u>Depar</u>	<u>Mailing Address</u> . The mailing address for the center of Agriculture, P.O. Box 790, Boise, Idaho 83701.	entral office is Idaho State ()
locate	<u>03.</u> <u>Street Address</u> . The central office of the Idaho State Idah	Department of Agriculture is ()
<u>006.</u> These	PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE. rules are public records available for inspection and copying at	t the department. ()
condit	PURPOSE. urpose of these rules is to establish a fee schedule for speci- ions under which a shipping permit will be issued under the ts, Title 22, Chapter 23, Idaho Code.	ial services and to set forth authority of Nurseries and (4-13-86)
0 11 07	049. (RESERVED).	
will b	SPECIAL SERVICE. nurseries or florists require additional inspections and special se charged. Refer to IDAPA 02.06.04, "Phytosanitary and Post n 500, "Fees and Charges," for a complete schedule of services	t-Entry Certification Rules,"

- 01. Description of Additional Inspections and Special Services. Additional inspections and special services are those services and functions performed by the Department in addition to services routinely performed as part of the nursery inspection activities, including but not limited to the following:

 (4-13-86)
- *a.* Inspections for and issuance of phytosanitary certificates and other certificates required for entrance of nursery stock into other states and foreign countries; (4-13-86)
- **b.** Services performed to determine compliance with import regulations of other states and foreign countries; and (4-13-86)
- e. Supervising or monitoring application of pesticide, including fumigants, on nursery stock for phytosanitary purposes. (4-13-86)
- 92. Special Service Fee Schedule. A nursery grower, dealer, or individual who requires additional inspections and special services as outlined in Chapter 23, Title 22, Idaho Code, shall pay a fee in accordance with the following schedule:

 (4-13-86)
- a. A minimum fee of twenty dollars (\$20) per service call and a charge of twenty dollars (\$20) per hour after the first hour will be made.

 (4-13-86)
- b. If less than three (3) working days' notice is given for a special service call, a fee of forty dollars (\$40) will be assessed in addition to the minimum twenty dollar (\$20) fee and subsequent hourly charge.

 (4-13-86)
- e. If the entire shipment is brought to a designated location at a time specified by an agent of the Department of Agriculture, the minimum charge for inspection will be ten dollars (\$10), and a charge of twenty dollars (\$20) per hour after the first hour will be made. (4-13-86)
- d. The inspection charges shall include fees for issuance of any appropriate certificates. (4-13-86)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

101. -- *14*9<u>99</u>. (RESERVED).

150. EFFECTIVE DATE.

These rules shall be in effect on and after April 13, 1986.

(4-13-86)

151. -- 999. (RESERVED).

IDAPA 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

02.06.04 - IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, PHYTOSANITARY AND POST-ENTRY CERTIFICATION RULES

DOCKET NO. 02-0604-0901

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 22-103(22), 22-107, 22-702, and 22-2006, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

USDA APHIS PPQ published on July 8, 2009, in the Federal Register (Docket No. APHIS -2006-0137), starting October 1, 2009, their intent to charge to the states that issue federal phytosanitary certificates for the export of agricultural commodities a \$12 federal administrative fee for each certificate issued by the state. The Department currently charges \$40 for each certificate it issues. The Department proposes to increase the fee to \$60 to cover the federal administrative fee and increased costs to the program. This fee has not been adjusted since 2004.

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in Book 1 of the October 7, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 75 through 77.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased.

This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 22-2314, Idaho Code: To change the charge to issue federal phytosanitary certificates from \$40 to \$60 per certificate.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

Based on 2008 figures, this change would generate an additional \$74,140 of which, \$44,484 would be remitted to USDA APHIS to cover the administrative fees and the remaining \$29,656 would remain with the program to cover the increased cost of the program.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Phytosanitary & Post-Entry Certification Rules

Docket No. 02-0604-0901 PENDING FEE RULE

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee rule, contact Michael E. Cooper, Bureau Chief at (208) 332-8620.

DATED this 2nd day of November, 2009.

Brian J. Oakey, Deputy Director Idaho State Department of Agriculture 2270 Old Penitentiary Road P.O. Box 790, Boise, Idaho 83701

Phone: (208) 332-8500 Fax: (208) 334-2170

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is October 1, 2009.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 22-103(22), 22-107, 22-702, and 22-2006, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

USDA APHIS PPQ published on July 8, 2009, in the Federal Register (Docket No. APHIS-2006-0137), starting October 1, 2009, their intent to charge to the states that issue federal phytosanitary certificates for the export of agricultural commodities a \$12 federal administrative fee for each certificate issued by the state. The Department currently charges \$40 for each certificate it issues. The Department proposes to increase the fee to \$60 to cover the federal administrative fee and increased costs to the program. This fee has not been adjusted since 2004.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section(s) 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following

reasons:

Compliance with federal regulation changes.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that the fee or charge being imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 22-2314, Idaho Code: To change the charge to issue federal phytosanitary certificates from \$40 to \$60 per certificate.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

Based on 2008 figures, this change would generate an additional \$74,140 of which, \$44,484 would be remitted to USDA APHIS to cover the administrative fees and the remaining \$29,656 would remain with the program to cover the increased cost of the program.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220, Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not conducted because informal meetings were held with the Idaho Eastern Oregon Seed Association at their annual membership and board of directors meetings over the past two years. The most recent membership meeting was held June 23-24, 2009. The Idaho Nursery and Landscape Association Board of Directors were informed of the proposed change July 28, 2009 at their annual meeting in Stanley, Idaho. In addition, all of the major exporting nurseries were informed of the proposed fee changes in person.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary and proposed rule, contact Michael E. Cooper at (208) 332-8620.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2009.

DATED this 20th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

500. FEES AND CHARGES.

01. Phytosanitary Certificates.

(3-16-04)

a. Federal Phytosanitary Inspection Certificates or like documents: *forty* sixty dollars

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Phytosanitary & Post-Entry Certification Rules

Docket No. 02-0604-0901 PENDING FEE RULE

(3-16-04)(

- State Phytosanitary Inspection Certificates or like documents: twenty-five dollars (\$25) per certificate.
- Phytosanitary Certification and Like Inspections and Official Treatment 02. Observations. (2-1-95)
- Officially Drawn Samples: (i.e., purity and germ samples, referee samples, lab analysis) - twenty dollars (\$20) per sample. (3-16-04)
 - Submitted Samples: twenty dollars (\$20) per item submitted. (3-16-04)b.
- Treatment Observations: for official verification of seed and plant treatment, seed lot fumigation, cold storage treatments, and treatment of agricultural products brought into the state in violation of a state quarantine, fees are thirty dollars (\$30) per hour (including travel time), and any per diem incurred. Per diem will be at established state rates. $\frac{(3-16-04)}{(3-16-04)}$
- Rush service fees will be one hundred dollars (\$100) per certification which will be in addition to the normal phytosanitary certification charges outlined in this Section 500.

(2-1-95)

- Request for phytosanitary or treatment observation services after normal working hours, on weekends, or holidays are subject to overtime and state per diem charges in addition to the normal charges outlined in this section. (2-1-95)
 - 03. **Area Inspections**. Area Inspection: fourteen cents (\$.14) per hundred-weight. (3-16-04)
 - 04. **Field or Lot Inspections.**

(2-1-95)

Application for Field Inspection: five dollars (\$5) per application. a.

(3-16-04)

- Acreage Inspection Fee: three dollars and fifty cents (\$3.50) per acre per b. inspection. A minimum of fifty dollars (\$50) per inspection will be charged when the total acreage submitted by any one (1) applicant is fifteen (15) acres or less. (3-16-04)
- **Post-Entry Quarantine Inspections.** The inspection fee is two hundred dollars (\$200) for the required two (2) year quarantine and an additional one hundred dollars (\$100) per year for each year beyond the initial two (2) years, if required. For rejected applications, twentyfive dollars (\$25) of the two hundred dollar (\$200) inspection fee is non-refundable, and will be retained to cover administrative costs. (2-1-95)
 - 06. **Plant Pathological Laboratory Services**. Fees available upon request. (2-1-95)
 - Special Project Fee. **07.**

Special projects not covered by the existing fee schedule may be billed at twenty-<u>a.</u>

	ENT OF AGRICULTURE ary & Post-Entry Certification Rules	Docket No. 02-0604-0901 PENDING FEE RULE
	(\$25) per hour with a minimum twenty-five dollar (\$25 imited to, the following:	i) fee. Special projects include, ()
<u>i.</u>	Research;	<u>()</u>
<u>ii.</u>	Lot history verification;	<u>()</u>
<u>iii.</u>	Data entry;	()
<u>iv.</u>	Sales and purchases;	<u>()</u>
<u>v.</u>	Transfer of lots into ISDA database;	()
<u>vi.</u>	ISDA training of private company personnel;	()
<u>vii.</u>	Special plant pest detection surveys; or	()
<u>viii.</u>	Any other circumstance approved by the Director.	(3-16-04) ()

IDAPA 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

02.06.33 - ORGANIC FOOD PRODUCT RULES

DOCKET NO. 02-0633-0901

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-1103, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 7, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 85 through 87.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 22-1103, Idaho Code.

The pending rule will not impose or increase fees but rather discontinue the late fees of \$250 for certification and \$100 for registration.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

There will be no impact to the general fund.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending rule, contact Brandon Lamb, Agricultural Program Manager, at 208-332-8675.

DATED this 4th day of November, 2009.

Brian J. Oakey, Deputy Director Idaho State Department of Agriculture 2270 Old Penitentiary Road P.O. Box 790, Boise, Idaho 83701

Phone: (208) 332-8500 / Fax: (208) 334-2170

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED FEE RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 22-1103, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

To change the application and registration deadline from March 31st to July 1st and to discontinue the late fees of \$250 for certification and \$100 for registration. The existing March 31st deadline does not provide organic producers and handlers with sufficient time to make cropping decisions.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

To change the application and registration deadline from March 31st to July 1st and to discontinue the late fees of \$250 for certification and \$100 for registration.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: There will be no impact to the general fund.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Informal negotiations were conducted with industry. The Organic Food Advisory Council met October 27, 2008 and recommended the changes.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Brandon Lamb, Agricultural Program Manager, 208-332-8675.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2009.

DATED this 19th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

300. REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS, DEADLINES AND FEES.

- **01. Registration Requirements and Deadlines**. All applicants applying for registration with the Department, shall submit the application to the Department on forms prescribed by the Department. (3-19-07)
- a. All organic producers/handlers in Idaho with five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or less annual gross organic sales shall register with the Department by <u>March 31</u> July 1st of each year.

 (3-19-07)(
- **b.** All organic producers/handlers in Idaho certified by agents other than the Department shall register with the Department within thirty (30) days of initial certification and by *March 31st* July 1st of each year thereafter.

 (3-19-07)(____)
- **c.** All agents certifying producers/handlers in Idaho shall register with the Department within thirty (30) days of issuing their first Idaho producer/handler certificate. (3-19-07)
- **d.** Agents shall provide the Department, by January 2 of each year, a list of Idaho producers/handlers, addresses, and telephone numbers for each certificate issued during the prior calendar year. (3-19-07)
 - 02. Registration Fees, *Late Fees*.

(3-19-07)()

a. The annual registration fee is fifty dollars (\$50).

(3-19-07)

- **b.** Applications for registration postmarked after the deadline listed in Subsection 300.01.a. will be assessed a late fee of one hundred dollars (\$100). (3-19-07)
- **eb.** A person who produces and handles their own organic food products shall pay only one (1) annual registration fee. (3-19-07)

301. CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS, DEADLINES AND FEES.

- **01. Certification Requirements and Deadlines**. All applicants applying for certification with the Department, shall submit the application to the Department on forms prescribed by the Department by *March 31st* July 1st of each year. (3-19-07)(____)
- **a.** All organic food producers/handlers in Idaho with annual gross organic sales of more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) shall be certified with the Department, unless certified by agents other than the Department accredited under the National Organic Program. (3-19-07)
- **b.** Producers/handlers with annual gross organic income of five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or less may select certification in place of registration. (3-19-07)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Organic Food Product Rules

Docket No. 02-0633-0901 PENDING FEE RULE

- **c.** All organic food producers and organic handlers certifying with the Department are subject to an annual on-site inspection. (3-19-07)
- **d.** Applications for crop producer certification will not be accepted if postmarked after June 1st. (3-19-07)
 - **ed.** Livestock producer and handler applications will be accepted throughout the year. (3-19-07)

02. Certification Fees, *Late Fees*.

(3-19-07)()

- **a.** Organic producers/handlers with annual gross organic income of more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) up to fifteen thousand dollars (\$15,000) or producers with annual gross income of five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or less requesting certification One hundred twenty-five dollars (\$125). (3-19-07)
- **b.** Organic producer/handler with annual gross organic income of more than fifteen thousand dollars (\$15,000) –Two hundred dollars (\$200). (3-19-07)
- **c.** A person who produces and handles their own organic food products shall pay only one (1) annual certification fee based on gross annual organic sales. (3-19-07)
- d. Applications for producer/handler certification postmarked after March 31st will be assessed a late fee of two hundred-fifty dollars (\$250).

 (3-19-07)

03. Certification Inspection Fees.

(3-19-07)

- **a.** The hourly rate is thirty-five dollars (\$35) including travel time. (3-19-07)
- **b.** Travel time from an inspector's normal duty station to the inspection site and return to normal duty station will be compensable time charged to the applicant. (3-19-07)
- c. There will be a minimum charge of thirty-five dollars (\$35) plus mileage for any inspection. (3-19-07)
- **d.** A mileage rate as approved by the Board of Examiners will be included in the inspection fees. (3-19-07)
- **e.** The costs for chemical residue analysis of soil or organically grown food products may be assessed against the producer or handler. (3-19-07)
- **f.** Inspections conducted on weekends, holidays, or after normal office hours will be charged at an hourly rate of forty-seven dollars and fifty cents (\$47.50) including travel time with a minimum charge of one (1) hour plus mileage. (3-19-07)
- **g.** Upon approval by the Department, private inspectors may be utilized *for operations that submitted their application after March 31 or under special circumstances*. The applicant shall bear the total cost of the private inspection.

 (3-19-07)(_____)

IDAPA 48 - IDAHO GRAPE GROWERS AND WINE PRODUCERS COMMISSION

48.01.01 - RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE IDAHO GRAPE GROWERS AND WINE PRODUCERS COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 48-0101-0902

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-3605(15), Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change.

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in the October 7, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-10, pages 494 through 495.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

The Commission may receive additional revenue from the proposed changes. Idaho Code provides persons subject to the tax with an opportunity to opt out of the tax. The Commission is not able to determine whether more taxpayers will opt out due to the revisions.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Moya Shatz, Executive Director, (208) 455-8354.

DATED this 2nd day of November, 2009.

Moya Shatz, Executive Director Idaho Grape Growers and Wine Producers Commission 117 9th Ave., Ste. 2

P. O. Box 1218, Caldwell, ID 83606

Telephone: (208) 455-8354 Facsimile: (208) 455-8364

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE PROPOSED FEE RULE

AUTHORITY: In complance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-3605(15), Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be held as follows:

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 28, 2009 -- 9:30 to 11:00 a.m.

J.R. WILLIAMS BUILDING East Conference Room 700 West State St., Boise, Idaho

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

Section 54-3610, Idaho Code, was revised to authorize the proposed rule changes in the 2009 legislative session. Increase to the tax rates applicable to grape growers and wineries in Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

The tax on wine production is revised to four cents (\$.04) per gallon, seven dollars (\$7) per ton of grapes, and six dollars and sixty-eight cents (\$6.68) per one hundred sixty-seven (167) gallons of grape juice produced outside of Idaho. The tax is phased in over a three (3) year period with a cap for taxes on wineries imposed in the first year.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking:

The Commission may receive additional revenue from the proposed changes. Idaho Code provides persons subject to the tax with an opportunity to opt out of the tax. The Commission is not able to determine whether more taxpayers will opt out due to the revisions.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220, Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not conducted because of the simple nature of the rulemaking.

GRAPE GROWERS & WINE PRODUCERS COMMISSION Rules of Procedure of the Commission

Docket No. 48-0101-0902 PENDING FEE RULE

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION **OF** WRITTEN **COMMENTS:** For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Moya Shatz, Executive Director, (208) 455-8354.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2009.

DATED this 24th day of August, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

020.	TAX A	AND LATE PAYMENT PENALTY.	
		Levy and Rate of Tax . In accordance with Section 54-3610, Idaho Code, posed on wineries and grapes used, grown, or purchased for the production rate of tax shall be: (3	
during	a. the pre	One hundred dollars (\$100) Four cents (\$.04) per winery gallon of wine previous calendar year. (3-19-07)	
the pu	b. rpose of	Five Seven dollars (\$57) per acre ton of grapes cultivated harvested in Id f vinification during the previous calendar year. (3-19-07)	
Idaho :	c. for the p	Five Seven dollars (\$57) per ton for grapes purchased from producers production of wine in Idaho during the previous calendar year. (3-19-07)	
gallon: produc	d. s, or an ction of	Five Six dollars and sixty-eight cents (\$56.68) per one hundred sixty-severy portion thereof, of grape juice purchased from producers outside Idaho wine in Idaho during the previous calendar year. (3-19-07)	for the
in ove	<u>e.</u> r a three	The tax rates set forth in Paragraphs 020.01.a. through 020.01.d., shall be e-year (3) period as follows:	phased ()
	<u>i.</u>	Thirty-three percent (33%) in fiscal year 2010;	()
	<u>ii.</u>	Sixty-six percent (66%) in fiscal year 2011; and	()
<u>that th</u> (\$1,00		One hundred percent (100%) in fiscal year 2012 and all subsequent years, num tax levied upon any winery for fiscal year 2010 shall be one thousand	

grower or winery shall not exceed three be one hundred dollars (\$3100) annually.(3-19-07)(

Maximum Minimum Levy. The total minimum taxes paid by any individual

- **O3.** Payment of Tax. The *producer cultivating* grower harvesting grapes for the production of wine shall pay the tax levied upon the *producer* grower. Each winery shall pay the tax levied upon the winery. Purchasers of grapes grown or grape juice produced outside Idaho shall pay taxes levied on such grapes and grape juice. All taxes shall be paid on or before June 30 of each year.

 (3-19-07)(_____)
- **04.** Late Payment Penalty. Persons making payment of the levied tax after the date set forth in this chapter shall be subject to a late payment penalty of fifteen percent (15%) per annum on the amount due. In addition to the late payment penalty, the Commission shall be entitled to recover all costs, fees, and reasonable attorney's fees incurred in the collection of the tax and penalty provided for in Section 020 of these rules. (3-19-07)
- **05. Opt Out Alternative**. A grower or producer may opt out of the levy of tax by submitting a letter to the Commission no later than June 30 of each year stating intent to opt out of the application of the provisions of Title 54, Chapter 36, Idaho Code, for the upcoming fiscal year. The letter shall include the grower or producer's name and address. (3-19-07)

IDAPA 51 - IDAHO BEEF COUNCIL 51.01.01 - IDAHO BEEF COUNCIL RULES

DOCKET NO. 51-0101-0901

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2010 Idaho State Legislature for final approval. Pursuant to Section 67-5224(5)(c), Idaho Code, this pending rule will not become final and effective until it has been approved, amended, or modified by concurrent resolution of the legislature because of the fee being imposed or increased through this rulemaking. The rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified in the concurrent resolution.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a pending fee rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 25-2906, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule with an explanation of the reasons for the change:

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in the September 2, 2009 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 09-9, pages 330 through 333.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased. This fee or charge is being imposed pursuant to Section 25-2907, Idaho Code:

The increase to one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) per head is needed in order to counter the effects of inflation and provide needed funding to maintain our consumer demand building programs and sustain growth in the beef industry.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year:

There is no negative fiscal impact to the general fund as a result of this rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending fee rule, contact Traci O'Donnell, Executive Director, (208) 376-6004.

DATED this 24th day of September, 2009.

Traci O'Donnell
Executive Director
Idaho Beef Council
2118 Airport Way, Boise, ID 83705

Telephone: (208) 376-6004 Facsimile: (208) 376-6002

THE FOLLOWING NOTICE PUBLISHED WITH THE TEMPORARY AND PROPOSED RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is July 1, 2009.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1) and 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has adopted a temporary rule, and proposed rulemaking procedures have been initiated. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 25-2906, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than September 16, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons for adopting a temporary rule and a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

The Idaho Beef Council was created in 1967 by the Idaho Legislature to promote the Idaho cattle industry and to support a national beef marketing effort. Idaho's initial checkoff was ten cents (\$.10) per head. It increased to twenty-five cents (\$.25) per head in 1981, and again in 1984 to fifty cents (\$.50). The collection rate was raised to one dollar (\$1)-per-head with the passage of the 1985 Farm Bill.

The Beef Checkoff Program is a self-help program aimed at building consumer demand for beef. This is accomplished through a combination of initiatives, including consumer advertising, research, public relations, and promotional program activities. Since 1986, the Beef Checkoff has been assessed at one dollar (\$1) per head in the state of Idaho. We have faced diminished buying power as a result of inflation. We have seen a large increase in our operating costs, media expenses, postage, printing, etc., the past 20 years. In addition, our checkoff collections have decreased 20% since 2001. The increase to one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) per head was needed in order to counter the effects of inflation and provide needed funding to maintain our consumer demand building programs and sustain growth in the beef industry. The proposed rule changes reflect the increase in the amount of the checkoff assessment from one dollar (\$1) per head to one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) per head effective July 1, 2009. The rule changes will also provide refund information on the Idaho state assessment, up to fifty cents (\$.50) per head.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1)(c), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

2009 House Bill No. 101 authorized the Council to increase, to one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) per head, the assessment on cattle sold in this state. The increase is needed

IDAHO BEEF COUNCIL Idaho Beef Council Rules

Docket No. 51-0101-0901 PENDING FEE RULE

immediately in order to counter the effects of inflation and provide needed funding so that the Council can maintain its marketing efforts and sustain growth in the beef industry.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the Governor has found that the fee or charge being imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein:

Pursuant to Section 25-2907, Idaho Code, the increase to one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) per head is needed in order to counter the effects of inflation and provide needed funding to maintain our consumer demand building programs and sustain growth in the beef industry.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220, Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not conducted because of the need for temporary rulemaking.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Traci O'Donnell, Executive Director, (208) 376-6004.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before September 23, 2009.

DATED this 30th day of July, 2009.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TEXT OF THE PENDING FEE RULE

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

These rules shall be cited in full as IDAPA 51.01.01, "Idaho Beef Council Rules," Title 01, Chapter 01. These rules provide for a coordinated <u>federal and state</u> program of beef promotion and research funded by a one dollar <u>and fifty cents</u> (\$1.50) assessment on each head of cattle marketed in the state of Idaho.

(7-1-93)(_____)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

The Idaho Beef Council operates under the rules and regulations of the National Beef Promotion

IDAHO BEEF COUNCIL Idaho Beef Council Rules

Docket No. 51-0101-0901 PENDING FEE RULE

and Research Order. 7 CFR 1260 (Federal Register July 18, 1986).

(____

004<u>5</u>. -- 006. (RESERVED).

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS.

As used in these rules, unless the context requires otherwise:

(7-1-93)

- **01.** Assessment. An amount of money levied upon the sale of each head of cattle. This amount shall be one dollar (\$1) in conformity with the National Beef Promotion and Research Order.

 (7-1-93)
- *Q2.* Checkoff. The one dollar (\$1) assessment collected by the Brand Inspector, upon the sale of each head of cattle, which is remitted to the Idaho Beef Council in accordance with the National Beef Promotion and Research Order.

 (7-1-93)
- 93. Collection Fee. The amount of money paid to the State Brand Inspector for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in collecting the one dollar (\$1) per head assessment.
- 94. Idaho Credit. That portion of the one dollar (\$1) that shall be administered by the Idaho Beef Council. That portion shall be fifty cents (\$.50). The remaining portion shall be remitted to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board in accordance with the National Beef Promotion and Research Order.

 (7-1-93)

0140. -- 099. (RESERVED).

100. HNCOME FUNDING.

01. National Beef Promotion and Research Order. The Idaho Beef Council will operate under the rules and regulations of the National Beef Promotion and Research Order issued July 18, 1986, from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, as long as that order is in effect. The regulations governing assessments and exemptions will be as stated in that order. In Idaho that order will be interpreted as follows:

021. Assessments. (7-1-93)

- a. In conformity with the National Beef Promotion and Research Order, eEach producer shall pay an assessment of one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) per head of cattle at the time the cattle are sold. The assessment shall be collected by the State Brand Inspector or his agent. Assessments collected will be remitted to the Idaho Beef Council, a qualified state council, together with a remittance report. This assessment consists of: (7-1-93)(_____)
 - i. One dollar (\$1) required by the National Beef Promotion and Research Order, and

IDAHO BEER Idaho Beef C	COUNCIL Council Rules	Docket No. 51-0101-0901 PENDING FEE RULE
		()
<u>ii.</u>	Fifty cents (\$.50) authorized by Section 25-2907(1), Id	laho Code. ()
slaughter, the	Producers selling or marketing cattle in interstate comer individual sale of cattle. When cattle leave Idaho assessment will be made at the time of brand inspection pasture where no change of ownership occurs, the prom	for the purpose of sale or on. When cattle leave Idaho
assessed by the All assessment state of original	When cattle enter Idaho for sale or slaughter, the assent has not been paid when the cattle left their state of the Idaho Brand Inspector, but they will be considered cat this will be remitted to the Idaho Beef Council, with the Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch and the Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment after payment has been received from the State Branch Idaho Beef Council will pay to the originating statement after payment after paymen	origin. These cattle will be tle from their state of origin. ese cattle indicated by their te the assessments due them
	Importers of cattle, beef, and beef products into the the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board eral Register, July 18, 1986, 7 CFR 1260.172)	
commission, of cattle to facattle are being ownership are acquired own	The assessment implemented by this rule does not apple that the seller's only share in the proceeds of a sale handling fee or other service fee; or if the seller certifies cilitate the transfer of ownership of such cattle to a third and resold not later than ten (10) days from the date on ad certifies that the assessment was collected from the ership. A completed certificate of "non-producer status" is agent at the time of inspection. If no certificate is produced.	of cattle or beef is a sales that he acquired ownership party, establishes that such which the person acquired he seller when the person must be given to the brand
collected The addition, the head markete	<u>Collection</u> . The State Brand Inspector shall collect the time and manner as the fee charged for state brand assessment will be submitted each month to the Beef Constate Brand Inspector will submit monthly, a written act d, number of cattle assessed and not assessed (along will exemption forms), total collections, and state of origin of the collections.	nspection. <i>Checkoff dollars</i> puncil, less collection fee. In counting of total number of th copies of the appropriate
<u>03.</u>	Refunds.	()
be mailed to	Any person from whom an assessment is collected has nan fifty cents (\$.50) per head (Section 25-2907, Idaho Centre than the Idaho Beef Council within ninety (90) calendar the refund request must include the:	Code). Refund requests must

<u>i.</u>

Name and address of the producer;

IDAHO BEE Idaho Beef (F COUNCIL Council Rules	Docket No. 51-0101-0901 PENDING FEE RULE		
<u>ii.</u> livestock mar	Name and address of the entity collecting the assested:	ssment (brand inspector or ()		
<u>iii.</u>	Number of head on which a refund is requested;	()		
<u>iv.</u>	Total amount of refund requested;	()		
<u>v.</u>	Date of assessment;	()		
<u>vi.</u>	Producer's signature; and	()		
<u>vii.</u>	Proof of payment of the assessment (such as the brand	inspection slip). ()		
	The Idaho Beef Council will process the requested refund request that is received by the Idaho Beef Council of the calendar quarter shall be paid at the end of the nex (RESERVED).	less than fifteen (15) days		
	URSEMENTS.			
assessment in	Collection Fee, Brand Inspector. The Idaho Beef Conspector for the reasonable and necessary expenses incur an amount determined by the Beef Council and the Stercent (5%) of gross collections.	rred in the collection of the		
O2. National Beef Promotion and Research Board. Of the one dollar (\$1) national assessment, the Idaho Beef Council will receive shall forward fifty cents (\$.50) credit per head of cattle assessed. The remaining fifty cents (\$.50) will be forwarded to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. (Federal Register, July 18, 1986, 7 CFR 1260). (7-1-93)()				
promotion pr remaining af	National Idaho Beef Promotion Program Council. (b) of the Idaho credit shall be paid by the Idaho Beef ogram for use in promotion, research and educational at the payment of collection fee and disbursement to the Natard shall be retained by the Idaho Beef Council and use	Council to a national beef vetivities. Assessment funds ational Beef Promotion and		